# Opposition Brief — Mining and Minerals Division of the New Mexico Energy Minerals and Natural Resources Department v. Manning (No. 06-242)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1340%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

No. 06-242

au The
~ Supreme Court of the United States

°

MINING AND MINERALS DIVISION OF THE
NEW MEXICO ENERGY MINERALS ANT)
NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

EDWINA MANNING, et al.,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of New Mexico

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JEANNE CAMERON WASHBURN, ESQ.
DOMENICI LAW FIRM, P.C.

320 Gold SW, Suite 1000
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
505-883-6250

Counsel for Respondents

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-4964
OR CALL COLLECT €502) 342 2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Petitioners have presented compelling reasons to
grant the Petition, where the decision of the New Mexico
Supreme Court does not conflict with this Court’s Takings
Clause jurisprudence, with this Court’s decision in Alden
v. Maine, 527 U.S. 706 (1999) or with any decisions of
another state court of last resort or of the United States
Court of Appeals.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
SOU RL BOS incctnenncenininkinmemcininideaaninal 1
DUTT T vncviisiciecitceninnadieiniliamsatiiaentialiitiiiaiiaaia aia 2
I. The New Mexico Supreme Court’s decision is

II.

iif.

consistent with the self-executing nature of the
Takings Clause and does not conflict with deci-
sions of this Court or other state courts ............

The New Mexico Supreme Court’s decision
does not conflict with this Court’s decision in
TER Bi: FI vincciictetanaiineiipiaditinantiniccidiiraiaiaiintaiats

The position advocated by the Petitioners
would leave the citizens of the State of New
Mexico without the right to sue the State for
just compensation for regulatory takings, in
direct violation of the rights guaranteed by the
OIG oncccstnccisicnnteniinnnsdunisiitinbiastinmetinatmiiii

COU Ae crewwennecreninstsertnsnonnnmnmenunenans

lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT DECISIONS
Alden v. Maine, 527 U.S. 706 (1999)............cceeseesee sees passim
Brown v. Legal Foundation of Washington, 123 S.Ct.

TD srsiasabieiitschresiicicteasassesdeoieeselibehascacabtinaeminieneubaamenitiiae 6
Chicago B. & Q. R. Co. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226

aI hiasscodiciebidisasesisipheslinadisaduniiaiaandemneantinnaliaedtadmpeaceiuedt 2, 6, 10
First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.

County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987) ........ 3, 4, 5,6
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 112 S.Ct.

er TTTEIITTET ineiinischasieteeishcnkantdeh dhephctleneeonieatciessesideeieieidaineasiatlonsoneediin 6
Nollan v. California Coastal Comm’n, 483 U.S. 825

AREER a ee eS ER ET CR RCN ETT ETE TO 6
Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606

reset isssccveiiecidehetiahiteandasnnesheciasieimibintiicsbceialsbieinieiia 3, 6, 10, 11, 12
Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922) ............ 3
San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego, 450

ns EN a UIT Uhceiiciviieiecesininbicessnnieaniciaidacidaiaiatickatiniennaniembniet 4,7
Tahoe-Sierra Preservation Council, Inc. v. Tahoe

Regional Planning Agency, 122 S.Ct. 1465 (2002) ......... 6
Williamson Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank,

a aes ee 1 incdcinesndiisiscinacipdeonicnenlesbiuisaddincamieiaiaieinhenedeicuets 3
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
DLX, Inc. v. Commonwealth of Kentucky, 381 F.3d

I aa aiel 5,12
Hendler v. United States, 952 F.21i 1364 (Fed.Cir.

TTI i faceaoleadideieiesetdemit ah celitclaadbatebatieclaadileieetianiediesideiniidetaenbosominaliedi 5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

OTHER JURISDICTIONS
Alper v. Clark County, 571 P.2d 810 (Nev. 1977)
Avenal v. State, 886 So.2d 1085 (La. 2004)

Bell Atlantic-Virginia, Inc. v. Arlington County, 486
S.E.2d 297 (Va. 1997)

Benson v. State, 710 N.W.2d 131 (S.D. 2006)

Boise Cascade Corp. v. State, 991 P.2d 563
(Ore.Ct.App. 1999)

Heughs Land, L.L.C. v. Holladay City, 113 P.3d
1024 (Utah 2005)

SDDS, Inc. v. State, 650 N.W.2d 1(S.D. 2002)
Sibson v. State, 282 A.2d 664 (N.H. 1971)
Tamm v. Burns, 610 A.2d 590 (Conn. 1992)

Wisconsin Retired Teachers v. Wisconsin Educ.
Assoc., 558 N.W.2d 83 (Wis. 1997)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND RULES
U.S. Constitution Article I

U.S. Constitution Fifth Amendment
U.S. Constitution Fourteenth Amendment
U.S. Supreme Court Rule 10

INTRODUCTION

The Petitioners have requested this Court to review a
decision by the New Mexico Supreme Court that recog-
nizes the right of private citizens to sue the State in state
court for just compensation when the State takes private
property for public use. The Court below held that the
State cannot invoke the doctrine of sovereign immunity to
prevent private citizens from bringing such suits because
the right of just compensation is guaranteed by the Tak-
ings Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the United States _
Constitution, as applied to the States by the Fourteenth
Amendment. The Petitioners, who are regulatory agencies
of the State of New Mexico, argue that the decision below
is contrary to this Court’s decision in Alden v. Maine, 527
U.S. 706 (1999) and that the doctrine of sovereign immu-
nity acts as a bar against claims for just compensation
against the State in the state courts. After reviewing this
Court’s Takings Clause precedent, the Alden decision and
other court decisions addressing the same question, the
New Mexico Supreme Court held that “the Takings Clause
creates a cause of action against a state which is action-
able in state court and to which the state may not assert
immunity” and that the Alden decision does not change
the historical application of the Takings Clause to the
States. (Petitioners Appendix (App.) 17, 32 and 20, 437).

The New Mexico Supreme Court’s decision recognized
the State’s obligation, under the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments, to pay just compensation for the taking of
private property, which is a long-standing requirement
established by this Court. Other state courts which have
addressed the relationship between the just compensation
requirement and state sovereign immunity have also
found that sovereign immunity is not a bar to a takings

claim brought in state court. State courts in Oregon and
South Dakota, as well as the Sixth Circuit Court of Ap-
peals, have directly addressed the effect of the Alden
decision on state sovereign immunity for just compensa-
tion claims. All three courts determined, as did the New
Mexico Supreme Court, that Alden does not extend a
State’s sovereign immunity to bar claims for just compen-
sation brought pursuant to the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments. The New Mexico Supreme Court’s decision
is not in conflict with decisions from Federal or state
courts or any decisions of this Court.

The Petitioners have failed to demonstrate that the
decision of the New Mexico Supreme Court conflicts with
any decisions of another state court of last resort or of the
United States Court of Appeals or with any United States
Supreme Court precedent. See Sup. Ct. R. 10. Petitioners

have presented no “compelling reasons” for granting their
Petition for Writ of Certiorari and the Petition should be
denied.

ARGUMENT

The New Mexico Supreme Court’s decision is
consistent with the self-executing nature of
the Takings Clause and does not conflict with
decisions of this Court or other state courts.

The Mannings sued the Petitioners in state district
court for regulatory takings pursuant to the Takings
Clause of the Fifth Amendment. It has long been estab-
lished that the Takings Clause is “applicable to the States
through the Fourteenth Amendment, Chicago, B. & Q. R.
Co. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226 (1897) [and] prohibits the

3

government from taking private property for public use
without just compensation.”. Palazzolo v. Rhode Island,
533 U.S. 606, 617 (2001). This Court has also long recog-
nized that, in addition to physical occupation, a takings
may occur through state regulatory action. As Justice
Holmes stated, “while property may be regulated to a
certain extent, if a regulation goes too far it will be recog-
nized as a taking.” Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260
U.S. 393, 415 (1922).

The Takings Clause creates an individual right to the
remedy of just compensation and the States are required
to provide “reasonable, certain and adequate provision for
obtaining compensation.” Williamson Planning Comm’n v.
Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 194 (1985) (quoted author-
ity omitted); First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.
County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 321 (1987). The
purpose of the Takings Clause is to ensure that, in the
event private property is taken by the government for
public use, the property owner will be provided just
compensation for the property so taken. The payment of
just compensation is a Constitutional remedy that is
fundamental to the protection of private property rights
and is a specific limitation on governmental power. As
explained in First English, the Takings Clause

does not prohibit the taking of private property,
but instead places a condition on the exercise
of that power. This basic understanding of the
Amendment makes it clear that it is designed not
to limit the government interference with prop-
erty rights per se, but rather to secure compensa-
tion in the event of otherwise proper interference
amounting to a taking. Thus, government action
that works a taking of property rights necessarily

4

implicates a constitutional obligation to pay just
compensation.

482 US. at 314-15.

The Takings Clause is self-executing and the right to
claim just compensation does not require the passage of -
any type of legislation, either by Congress or by the States,
in order for it to be enforceable. Once a taking occurs, the
government entity that took the property, whether it be
local, state or federal, is required by the Constitution to
pay just compensation. As explained by Justice Brennan,

[ajs soon a private property has been taken,
whether through formal condemnation proceed-
ings, physical invasion, or regulation, the land-
owner has already suffered a constitutional
violation, and the self-executing character of the
constitutional provision with respect to compen-
sation is triggered ... This Court has consis-
tently recognized that the just compensation
requirement of the Fifth Amendment is not pre-
catory: once there is a ‘taking,’ compensation
must be awarded.

San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego, 450 U.S. 621,
654 (1981) (Brennan dissenting). Justice Brennan ex-
plained that, although the Constitution “does not embody
any specific procedure or form of remedy that the States™
must adopt,” it does require “that the landowner must be
able meaningfully to challenge a regulation that allegedly
effects a ‘taking,’ and recover just compensation if it does
so. He may not be forced to resort to piecemeal litigation or
otherwise unfair procedures in order to receive his due.”
Id. at 660 (citations omitted).

5

The Court in First English followed Justice Brennan’s
dissent and found that the Takings Clause is self-
executing and just compensation is required if a taking
occurs. The Court explained that it has long been recog-
nized “that a landowner is entitled to bring an action in
inverse condemnation as a result of the self-executing
character of the constitutional provision with respect to
compensation ... [T]he Court has frequently repeated the
view that, in the event of a taking, the compensation
remedy is required by the Constitution.” 482 U.S. at 315-
16.

Because the just compensation clause is self-
executing, an individual may sue the government for just
compensation, sovereign immunity notwithstanding. See
First English, 482 U.S. at 316 n.9 (rejecting the United
States government’s argument that sovereign immunity
principles compel the conclusion that the Takings Clause
does not provide a damages remedy); Hendler v. United
States, 952 F.2d 1364, 1371 (Fed.Cir. 1991) (noting that
because a federal takings suit is “based upon the constitu-
tional provision protecting property rights, and the provi-
sion was considered to be self-executing with respect to
compensation, it escaped the problems of sovereign immu-
nity”); DLX, Inc. v. Commonwealth of Kentucky, 381 F.3d
511, 527 (6th Cir. 2004) (First English makes clear that
the Fifth Amendment Takings clause is a self-executing
remedy, notwithstanding sovereign immunit;’). In the DLX
decision, the Sixth Circuit cited to numerous authorities
that have found “that the Fifth Amendment’s requirement
for just compensation forces the states to provide a judicial
remedy in their own courts, the sovereign immunity States
traditionally enjoy in their own courts notwithstanding.”
Id. As the First English Court explained, “many provisions

6

of the Constitution are designed to limit the flexibility and
freedom of governmental authorities, and the Just Com-
pensation Clause of the Fifth Amendment is one of them.”
482 U.S. at 321.

Since determining, in First English, that the Takings
Clause is self-executing, the Court has heard just compen-
sation claims directed against a State or state entity.
Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606 (2000); Brown v.
Legal Foundation of Washington, 123 S.Ct. 1406 (2003);
Nollan v. California Coastal Comm’n, 483 U.S. 825, 829
(1987); Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 112 S.Ct.
2886 (1992); Tahoe-Sierra Preservation Council, Inc. v.
Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 122 S.Ct. 1465 (2002). In
Palazzolo, Brown, and Tahoe-Sierra, all decided after
Alden, the Court specifically stated that the Takings
Clause applies to the States through the Fourteenth
Amendment, thus reinforcing the conclusion that incorpo-
ration of the self-executing Takings Clause in the Four-
teenth Amendment waived the states’ sovereign immunity.
Palazzolo, 533 U.S. at 617; Tahoe-Sierra, 122 S.Ct. at ftnt
1; Brown, 123 S.Ct. at ftnt 6 (each citing to Chicago B. &
Q. R. Co.). There are no Supreme Court decisions, either
before or after Alden, that indicate that the doctrine of
sovereign immunity bars claims for just compensation
brought against a State in state court.

The decision below, by recognizing the right of the
Mannings to bring a claim of just compensation against
the State in state court, is consistent with the Constitu-
tional requiremeuts and with the precedent of this Court.
By holding that sovereign immunity does not act as a bar
to claims for just compensation, the Court’s decision
provides the Mannings, and other similarly situated
parties in New Mexico, the “opportunity to challenge a

regulation that allegedly effects a taking, and recover just
compensation if it does so,” as required by the decisions of
this Court. San Diego Gas & Electric Co., 450 U.S. at 660.
The Court correctly recognized that, if the Petitioners
were allowed to invoke the doctrine of sovereign immunity
to bar claims for just compensation, “then the private
individual is without a remedy in state court, even though
both the State and Federal Constitutions obligate the
State to pay.” (Petitioners App. 10, 720). Rather than
creating a “new constitutional damages remedy,” as
alleged by the Petitioners, the decision below ensures that
private citizens have a means to pursue just compensation
for the taking of private property by the State, which is
exactly the remedy provided by the Constitution.

Other state courts that have addressed the question of
whether sovereign immunity prohibits takings claims
against the State in state court have reached the same
conclusion as the New Mexico Supreme Court. The courts
of Oregon, South Dakota, Nevada, Connecticut, Utah,
Louisiana, Virginia, Wisconsin and New Hampshire have
all held that sovereign immunity is not a defense to
takings claims, based either on the Takings Clause or on
similar state constitutional provisions, brought against the
State in state court. Boise Cascade Corp. v. State, 991 P.2d
563 (Ore. 1999); SDDS, Inc. v. State, 650 N.W.2d 1 (S.D.
2002); Benson v. State, 710 N.W.2d 131 (S.D. 2006); Alper
v. Clark County, 571 P.2d 810 (Nev. 1977) (Takings Clause
is self-executing against the state); Tamm vu. Burns, 610
A.2d 590 (Conn. 1992) (sovereign immunity not a defense
to claims for just compensation arising under the state
constitution); Heughs Land, L.L.C. v. Holladay City, 113
P.3d 1024 (Utah 2005) (state constitutional requirement
of just compensation for a taking is self-executing and

~

therefore not barred by state sovereign immunity); Avenal
v. State, 886 So.2d 1085 (La. 2004) (same); Bell Atlantic-
Virginia, Inc. v. Arlington County, 486 S.E.2d 297 (Va.
1997) (same); Wisconsin Retired Teachers v. Wisconsin
Educ. Assoc., 558 N.W.2d 83 (Wis. 1997) (same); Sibson v.
State, 282 A.2d 664 (N.H. 1971) (same). The decision of the
New Mexico Supreme Court is consistent with the deci-
sions of other state courts that allow private parties to sue
the State for just compensation in state court.

II. The New Mexico Supreme Court’s decision
does not conflict with this Court’s decision in
Alden v. Maine.

The New Mexico Supreme Court’s conclusion that
Alden “did not alter the historical practice of applying the

Takings Clause to the states, and nothing in that opinion
permits a state to bar a claim for ‘just compensation’ from
its courts” (Petitioners App.17, [32) is consistent with both
the Alden decision itself and with decisions from Oregon,
South Dakota and the Sixth Circuit, which have addressed
the same issue.

The Alden decision concerned the authority of Con-
gress, pursuant to its powers under Article I of the Consti-
tution, to subject the States to private suits in state court.
527 U.S. at 710 (“We hold that the powers delegated to
Congress under Article I of the United States Constitution
do not include the power to subject nonconsenting States
to private suits for damages in state court”). The Court in
Alden acknowledged the difference between claims as-
serted against a State under a Congressional statute and
claims asserted based on obligations arising under the
Constitution. Jd. at 740. While state constitutional sover-
eignty is a right the States “retain today,” that right can be

9

“altered by the plan of the Convention or certain constitu-
tional amendments.” Jd. at 713. In addressing the scope of
a State’s sovereign immunity, the Alden Court stated:

The constitutional privilege of a State to assert
its sovereign immunity in its own courts does not
confer upon the State a concomitant right to dis-
regard the Constitution or valid federal law. The
States and their officers are bound by the obliga-
tions imposed by the Constitution and by federal
statutes that comport with constitutional design

' ... Sovereign immunity, moreover, does not bar
all judicial review of state compliance with the
Constitution and valid federal law. Rather, cer-
tain limits are implicit in the constitutional prin-
ciple of state sovereign immunity.

Id. at 754-55. The Fourteenth Amendment, through which
the Takings Clause is made applicable to the States,
“required the States to surrender a portion of the sover-
eignty that had been preserved to them by the original
Constitution ... By imposing explicit limits on the powers
of the States and granting Congress power to enforce
them, the Amendment fundamentally altered the balance
of state and federal power struck by the Constitution.” Jd.
at 756. This Court, in Alden, recognized that the Four-
teenth Amendment is a specific limitation on state author-
ity. As already discussed, the self-executing nature of the
Takings Clause means that Congressional action is not
required to enable private parties to sue to enforce the
right to just compensation. The discussion in Alden sup-
ports the conclusion that, based on the specific limitations
of state power imposed by the Fourteenth Amendment, a
State may be sued in state court for just compensation.

10

In Palazzolo, decided two years after Alden v. Maine,
the property owner sued the State of Rhode Island for the
taking of his property without just compensation in
violation of the Fifth Amendment to the United States
- Constitution. While there were a number of concurring
and dissenting decisions, all of the Justices agreed that, if
the State of Rhode Island took Mr. Palazzolo’s property
without paying him compensation, his remedy was to sue
the State for _a takings under the Fifth Amendment.
Justice Kennedy, delivering the Opinion of the Court,
stated that “(t]he Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment,
applicable to the States through the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, Chicago, B. & Q. R. Co. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226
(1897), prohibits the government from taking private
property for public use without just compensation.” 533
U.S. at 617. Throughout the opinion, the Court discusses
the application of the Takings Clause to States and state
agencies. For example, the Court explained that the
“Takings Clause ... in certain circumstances allows a
landowner to assert that a particular exercise of the
State’s regulatory power is so unreasonable or onerous as
to compel compensation.” Jd, at 627. Justice O’Conn»z,
concurring, discussed the takings issue in terms of state
power over property rights. Jd. at 632. Justice Stevens
stated that, “[t]hough States and local governments have
broad powers to adopt regulations limiting land usage,
those powers are constrained by the Constitution and by
other provisions of state law ... A taking is a discrete
event, a government acquisition of private property for
which the state is required to provide just compensation.”
Id. at 638.

In an attempt to circumvent or limit its duty to pay
just compensation under the Takings Clause, the State of

11

Rhode Island argued that a current property owner could
not bring a takings claim based on a regulatory enactment
that had been passed before he acquired the property. Id.
at 626. The Court rejected the State’s argument, finding
that, under the State’s reasoning, “the postenactment
transfer of title would absolve the State of its obligation to
defend any action restricting land use, no matter how
extreme or unreasonable. A State would be allowed, in
effect, to put an expiration date on the Takings Clause.
This ought not to be the rule. Future generations, too,
have a right to challenge unreasonable limitations on the
use and value of land.” Jd. at 627. Explaining that the
State may not “secure a windfall for itself” by avoiding a
takings claim, the Court quoted an earlier decision in
which it was held that a state, based on its interpretation
of the law, “may not transform private property into public
property without compensation.” Jd. (Citing to Webb’s
Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 164
(1980). The Court also stated that “[a]ssuming a taking is
otherwise established, a State may not evade a duty to
compensate on the premise that the landowner is left with
a token interest.” Jd. at 631. The Supreme Court un-
equivocally rejected the attempt by the State of Rhode
Island to limit its duty to pay just compensation under the
Fifth Amendment.

The decision of the New Mexico Supreme Court below
is consistent with this Court’s recognition in Alden that
sovereign immunity “does not bar all judicial review of
state compliance with the Constitution and valid federal
law” and that specific provisions of the Constitution, such
as the Fourteenth Amendment, impose certain limits on
state action and state sovereign immunity. 527 U.S. at
754. The decision is also consistent with this Court’s

12

statements in Palazzolo that a State may not take private
property without paying just compensation and may not
limit its duty to pay just compensation under the Fifth
Amendment.

The Oregon and South Dakota state courts and the
Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals have also concluded that
Alden does not bar claims for just compensation against a
State in state court. The Sixth Circuit found that “a close
reading of Alden reveals that it would present no bar” to
takings claims against States in their own courts. DLX,
381 F.3d at 527. Sovereign immunity is not a bar to claims
against the State because the Constitution requires the
State to provide the remedy of just compensation in its
ewn courts. Jd. The Oregon Court of Appeals concluded
that “Alden should not be read so broadly as to dictate that
states may not be sued in state courts on federal takings
claims unless they have-specifically waived their sovereign
immunity.” Boise Cascade Corp. v. State, 991 P.2d at 568.
Based on the self-executing nature of the Fifth Amend-
ment, as applied to the States through the Fourteenth
Amendment, the Oregon Court held, as did the New
Mexico Supreme Court, that “a state may be sued in state
court for takings in violation of the federal constitution.”
Id. In 2002, the South Dakota Supreme Court reached the
same conclusion, which it reiterated in 2006. SDDS, Inc. v.
State, 650 N.W.2d at 8-9; Benson v. State, 710 N.W.2d 131.

The New Mexico Supreme Court’s determination that
the decision in Alden does not change the applicability of
the Takings Clause to the States and that nothing in the
opinion allows the States to rely on the doctrine of sover-
eign immunity to bar claims for just compensation in state
courts is consistent with both this Court’s discussion in

13

Alden and with decisions of other state and federal courts
which have addressed the issue.

III. The position advocated by the Petitioners
would leave the citizens of the State of New
Mexico without the right to sue the State for
just compensation for regulatory takings, in
direct violation of the rights guaranteed by
the Constitution.

Hf the position taken by the Petitioners were to pre-
vail, there would be serious impacts on both the citizens of
the State and potentially the State itself. The result of
the such a decision would be to leave the citizens of
New Mexico without constitutional protection against the
uncompensated taking of private property, which is one of
the fundamental rights guaranteed by the United States
Constitution. Additionally, because the Supreme Court has
held that a State must provide just compensation when
private property is taken, if the State cannot be sued for
just compensation for regulatory takings, and thus does
not provide a remedy, there is a risk that the legislature
will be prevented from enacting statutes that impact
private property rights.

As recognized by the New Mexico Supreme Court, the
position taken by the Petitioners creates an untenable
paradox. (Petitioners App. 10, 920). Under existing New
Mexico law, the State can be sued for just compensation
when private property is taken pursuant to the power of
eminent domain. (Jd., J19). In the proceedings below, the
Petitioners acknowledged that, if an agency with the
power of eminent domain takes private property for public
use, the State must pay just compensation. However, the
Petitioners would deny private individuals, who are

14

subject to regulatory takings by agencies that do not have
the power of eminent domain, the right to sue the State in
state court for just compensation, even though the Consti-
tution obligates the State to pay. Recognizing the potential
effect of the Petitioners position, the New Mexico Supreme
Court stated:

If we were to relieve the state from paying for
takings when agencies do not have statutory
eminent domain authority, then paradoxically we
would bar practically every regulatory taking
claim against a state agency. A regulatory tak-
ings claim, by definition, does not invoke emi-
nent domain powers because the state claims
only to regulate the use of land and not to con-
demn its title. But the protections of the Fifth
Amendment do not rest on such formalistic dis-
tinctions. A regulatory taking can be just as dev-
astating to property rights as a taking by
eminent domain, and the right of the landowner
to compensation is just as central to the promise
of the Bill of Rights in either instance.

(Petitioners App. 11, 922). The Court’s decision allowing
private citizens to sue the State in state court for just
compensation pursuant to the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments ensures that the property rights of all
citizens of the State of New Mexico will be afforded the
protection promised by the United States Constitution.

«

CONCLUSION

The Petitioners have failed to establish any compel-
ling reasons for this Court to grant the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari. The decision below does not conflict with any

15

decisions of this Court, or with any decisions of a Federal
Court of Appeals or a state court of last resort. Therefore,
Respondents respectfully request that the Petition be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

JEANNE CAMERON WASHBURN, ESQ.
DOMENIC! LAW FIRM, P.C.

320 Gold SW, Suite 1000
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
505-883-6250

Counsel for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1340%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
