# Amicus Curiae Brief — Drebick v. City of Olympia, Washington (No. 06-223)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1321%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

AOTION FILED @
EP 13 2006 No. 06-223

a eee ane err =m a

In The
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

¢

JOHN DREBICK and JANE DOE DREBICK,
husband and wife, d/b/a DREBICK INVESTMENTS,

Petitioners,

v.
CITY OF OLYMPIA, a Washington code City,
Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Washington Supreme Court

S

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS
CURIAE AND BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE
MASTER BUILDERS ASSOCIATION OF PIERCE
COUNTY IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS JOHN
DREBICK AND JANE DOE DREBICK, HUSBAND
AND WIFE, D/B/A DREBICK INVESTMENTS

¢

CAROLYN A. LAKE

Counsel of Record

CONOR MCCARTHY

GOODSTEIN LAW GRouP PLLC
On behalf of

The Master Builders Association
of Pierce County

1001 Pacific Avenue — Suite 400
Tacoma, WA 98402
253.779.4000 office
253.229.6727 cell

253.779.4411 fax

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
The Master Builders Association
of Pierce County

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.2(b), the Master
Builders Association of Pierce County (Washington State)
(hereinafter “MBA”) moves to file the attached brief in
support of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Consent has
been given by Petitioner and that consent will be lodged
with this Court. Respondent, however, has withheld
consent thus necessitating the filing of this motion. _

MBA seeks to supplement Petitioner-Drebick’s argu-
ments by illustrating that there is a wide split of authority
among the lower state and federal courts over the question
of whether legislatively imposed exactions and monetary
exactions are subject to the “essential nexus” and “roughly
proportional” standards enunciated by this Court in
Nollan v. California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825
(1994) and Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994).

MBA also seeks to demonstrate that unfair and
disproportionate exactions can, and do, occur whether they
are imposed legislatively or adjudicatively or whether such
exactions include a dedication of land or are monetary in
nature.

The opinion below holds that the heightened scrutiny
set forth by this Court in Dolan is not applicable to legisla-
tively imposed monetary exactions. As a result, the lower
court’s ruling stands for the proposition that when mone-
tary conditions are imposed legislatively on property
owners, the conditions need not be roughly proportional to
the impact created by the proposed development. The
accompanying brief of amicus curiae suggests that this is a
serious conflict that should be resolved by this Court. For

these reasons, MBA respectfully requests permission to
file the attached brief amicus curiae.

DATED: September 13, 2006
Respectfully submitted, .

CAROLYN A. LAKE

Counsel of Record

CONOR MCCARTHY

GOODSTEIN LAw GRouP PLLC

On behalf of The Master
Builders Association of
Pierce County

1001 Pacific Avenue — Suite 400

Tacoma, WA 98402

253.779.4000 office

253.229.6727 cell

253.779.4411 fax

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
The Master Builders
Association of Pierce County

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SPE OE FF CREE MN corsdescicncntercvevovienicorensetevernees i
I. INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE...................... 1

II. REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION... 2
ide PAPAIN, ercthcitiinctibeismiiclcnabseibdoiiabutsices’ seaaittn 4

A. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED

B.

C.

TO RESOLVE IMPORTANT ISSUES .

AS TO WHICH THERE IS A WELL-
ESTABLISHED CONFLICT AMONGST
STATE AND FEDERAL COURTS .............

1. State And Federal Courts Are Split As
To Whether Dolan Applies To Monetary

2. State And Federal Courts Are Split As

To Whether Dolan Applies To Legisla-
I oiaiccovetacincdescnbasddasuteisscpencnins

DOLAN APPLIES TO MONETARY EX-
Fs ET ha th vivian hessinenitennaithecliectiviiieavwiticsiennee

DOLAN APPLIES TO LEGISLATIVE
FF TE scheint ensectb inden donatnciocsiesvmtacstaidens

1. The Fifth Amendment Applies To Fees
Adopted By Legislative Action As Well
As Adjudicative Action .............cccccseseeeees

2. Concern For A Heightened Risk Of Ex-

tortion Requires Dolan’s Application to
Legislatively Adopted Fees.................06

3. Deference To Legislative Acts Does Not

Require Ignoring The Takings Clause....

eI asstveanipiadidasncciaa can desatianesons

10

10

15

18
20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

| Page
CASES
Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980)......... eee eneneel 19
Altimus v. Oregon, 115 S. Ct. 44 (1994)... ceccccccceeeceseees 11
Arcadia Development Corp. v. City of Bloomington,

1996 Minn. App. LEXIS 930 (August 13, 1996)............ 6
Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960)................. 8
Art Piculell Group v. Clackamas County, 1996 Ore.

App. LEXIS 1107 (July 31, 1996).............csccccccssesesssosseres 6
Benchmark Land Co. v. City of Battle Ground, 146

Pe CD casi raccdidcotavasoniass tecbvinersteneemrnaientes 12,13
Bi-Metallic Co. v. Colorado, 239 U.S. 441 (1915)............. 16
Blue Jeans Equities West v. City and County of San

Francisco, 221 Cal.App.3d 1072 (1992) ...........sesscseereeees 4
Board Of Trustees Of Keene State College et al. v.

GE, SI Ar eae GE CAO oc konnacetnvetsparidssctiaensasenenciohins 8
California Building Industry Association v. Governing

Board of Newhall School District, 206 Cal.App.3d

PA Os Asictrskncccishcs teil acs tbakeiuteciasapasiizisieweesieits 17
Chicago, B. & Q.R. Co. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226

RII iicccsssachas-scaicsts bacisiclusmadiv unis declan eacenmseianahsourinaastakenabaniieviess 8
City of Olympia v. Drebick, No. 29018-9-II, 2004

WL 102850 (Wash.App. Div. 2 Jan. 22, 2004).............. 14
City of Portsmouth v. Schlesinger, 57 F.3d 12 (1st

Re BIS id oiackcaiess ib seaseahaneieionarkemtmataeomemunon em 4,9
Clajon Production Corp. v. Petera, 70 F.3d 1566

CCN I is cnicdidarn cidintvedietidereiteantedlriemmepiieniodenenin 5

Commercial Builders v. City of Sacramento, 941
Fe Ee Ie Ge ROPE iin ota ncicncdccneantesriariocesetnndavinniens 5

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
College Station v. Turtle Rock, 680 S.W.2d 802 (Tex.

BREE SOS RPR CEE SE DER OPES tet BOERC BOR Sees OST APU OR LTE 4,7
Collis v. Bloomington, 246 N.W.2d 19 (1976)................. 4,7
Curtis v. Town of South Thomaston, 708 A.2d 657

I es 6
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 114 S.Ct. 2309, 129

Ii a a passim
Ehrlich v. City of Culver City, 512 U.S. 1231, 114

I I a calidad 8
Ehrlich v. City of Culver City, 911 P.2d 429 (Cal.

1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 929 (1996) ...... 4,5, 6, 15, 19
Garneau v. City of Seattle, 147 F.3d 802 (9th Cir.

UME Chica icsdislisucalicascubiatecovccsthekiuiedclietintsinamedtceiidaeueaanaune 5
Harris v. City of Wichita, 862 F.Supp. 287 (D. Kan.

ND av bcabdaa tes sods duiuoadsadcs ond wodaeteausiunaianadbadie evescbskaibunibdies 6
Home Builders Association of Central Arizona v.

City of Scottsdale, 902 P.2d 1347 (Ariz. 1995)......... 4, 6,8
Home Builders Association of Central Arizona uv.

City of Scottsdale, 930 P.2d 993 (Ariz. 1997)............... 5
Horn v. County of Ventura, 596 P.2d 1134 (1979)............. 16
Isla Verde Int'l Holdings, Inc. v. City of Camas, 146

Wash.2d 740, 49 P.3d 867 (2002) ..........eeeeceeeeeeee 9,12,13
J.C. Reeves Corp. v. Clackamas County, 887 P.2d

I BN cies cats ic bunts iat a lauseds sencedciideeninanciniesesienmncae 6, 11
James v. County of Kitsap, 152 Wash.2d 574, 115

I ga tek 9,10

Jenad, Inc. v. Scarsdale, 218 N.E.2d 673 (N.Y.

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

Page
Jordan v, Village of Menomonee Falls, 137 N.W.2d
A LPAI Dac seknintnatininssthdiisneissechelechasacdainial ees uicten: 7
Krupp v. Breckenridge Sanitation District, 19 P.3d
Ue CE: a irccssnrsscnseiccnsscaseuachicindotiateincdeidecetmekakotnssasens 6
Loyola Marymount Univ. v. Los Angeles Unified
School District, 45 Cal.App.4th 1256 (1996) ................0. 6
Manocherian v. Lenox Hill Hospital, 643 N.E.2d
479 (N.Y. 1994), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct. 1961
GUINIEE Pos cissdesuiinlbvasiscertinhisiininian obinesiisucsddhcghe aamaiianaegdaiidinbandac puss 6, 7
McCarthy v. City of Leawood, 894 P.2d 836 (Kan.
IIE ss: vcishiccsceinuvaubnnctocschincceamatdosasawensaamaibuetedadatabastaaca’ 4
Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306
SD iasicnidessiedin csconcieniiaisesjvcieetesvaaghndiadeauaadiaiegeieniin 16
National Association of Home _ Builders uv.
Chesterfield County, 907 F.Supp. 166 (E.D. Va.
1995), aff’d, 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 18838 (4th
Che Sale W6 SO s 4,6
Nixon v. United States, 506 U.S. 224 (1993) .......... ee 19
Nollan v. California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S.
SUNN PED sin iikaden dock dactcconeca sacs tunic abaaaiaaial 8, 10, 11, 15, 18
Northern Illinois Home Builders Association, Inc. v.
County of Du Page, 649 N.E.2d 384 (IH. 19985)........ 4,6,9
Parking Association of Georgia, Inc. v. City of
Petites, TIS Ce. TI GI) acs cvcccncnecntcceciincssnvssnces 6,7
Remmenga v. California Coastal Comm’n, 163
a ame BI CI ii vsitscrecnterccecsnsitsintietelasnbncveceinte 4

Rogers Machinery, Inc. v. Washington County, 45
P.3d 966 (Or. Ct. App. 2002), cert. denied, 538
SE; Bie Ce ikctiniiesecab ceeds ckccantapeengicianille

TABLE OF Al ‘ORITIES — Continued

TE sibcinces pit ccapustaneedsdatebiiies inchbiabomeniiiapeerionpentpovseeneanth 6, 11

San Remo Hotel L.P. v. City of San Francisco, 41
FT Cs MOD sk kins eahinieguigcinbebininervsddeecadeiaboretssvesivses 5

Southeast Cass Water Resource District ov.
Burlington Northern Railroad Co., 527 N.W.2d
884 (N.D. 1995).............. pasllgdnigcenanienkepnial Maastvanientedaisrinns 6

Stubblefield Construction Co. v. City of San
Bernardino, 32 Cal.App.4th 687 (1995), cert.

I Ble ils Radiat nisisscokndpenntiactnivsbeodscacistserenseceaies 17
Trimen Development Company v. King County, 877
ee Uy MOEN ichicteisniasctirbnrvaicbiioiecmmbateimenceseee’ 4,6,9
U.S. v. Winstar Corp., 1996 U.S. LEXIS 4266 (July
Fc datiistiedl vebplidcsincialinkatciidanocadpabacenaisuswieameneyeoud 18,19
Waters Landing Limited Partnership v. Montgomery
Cousty, G60 A. 26 FIZ CHG. 19S) oo ccicceccecsesecscorccersccatvevess 6
STATUTES
ee ee I caiacahstsksbi delientecasscasduasdsisassucdscopacienins 9,12,13
RULES
UN I II OB pagina cen scans ocnctesinceobenvecevedecootiiees 2
UNINC AUCIEE TOMI BOGE vesosicdcdccisniscesveccossedeacsntcscomoncuesanss 3

Supreme Court Rule 37(6)............ssssssscsssecccceeesers PERU EE 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
UB, Ce i csavapecsecnevecces 8,15
CEB, Ce, ei atiialeninsstinceescosesseoseoesevvesvesees 8
U.S. Constitution, Contract Clause. ............sccccccssesssscsees 19

OTHER AUTHORITY

“Governor Holds The Key To Affordable Housing,”
President’s Letter, BIAW’s Building Insight Pub-
Hceticets, A Se later btrdeiiehccersaccereseresoevereceseoess 18

1

I, INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE'’

The Master Builders Association of Pierce County is a ~
“not-for-profit” corporation organized under the laws of the
State of Washington. The Master Builders Association of
Pierce County (MBA) consists of nearly two thousand
home building professionals and related service providers.
The MBA promotes the interests of the home building
industry through membership involvement, legislative
action, networking and education while maintaining the
highest ethical standards.’

The MBA actively challenges impact fee abuse issues
such as the fee which is the subject of this case. For
example, on February 28, 2006 the City of Bonney Lake,
Washington within Pierce County voted to increase park
impact fees from $2000 per single family lot to $2893 per
lot. MBA provided testimony twice in opposition to the
increase.

The City of Puyallup, Washington within Pierce
County recently increased its park impact fees from $491
SF/$323 MF to $2300 for both Single Family and Multi-
family units. The City of Puyallup also adopted a road
impact fee at $3030 per Single Family unit. The MBA
opposed these huge increases.

In addition, the Master Builders Association of Pierce
County is one of fifteen local homebuilders associations
under the umbrella of the Building Industry Association
of Washington (BIAW) representing more than 12,254

, Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37(6), counsel of amicus
authored the brief in whole. Amicus solely funded the preparation and
filing of this brief.

* The Master Builders Association of Pierce County’s Vision State-
ment is

1. Be the leader and advocate of affordable housing.
2. Bea strong and financially viable association.

3. Provide tangible membership values.
4

Maintain a positive public image.

2

member companies who are threatened by onerous regula-
tions. BLAW works to reduce the scope of government and
expand free enterprise. BLAW submitted an amicus curiae
brief in this present case before the Court of Appeals and
the Washington State Supreme Court.’

The MBA Amici’s interests lie in countering local
governments’ funding needs with the needs of the new ©
home buyer for affordable shelter. Local jurisdictions in
Washington State continue to increase impact fees used to
fund facilities and services used by the public in general
but charged to an isolated segment of the population — the
development community.

Heightened scrutiny applied to such fees would
demonstrate to an apprehensive home buyer that the fee
paid directly mitigated the impact from the new home:
Additionally, a 10-20% miscalculation could result in
significant savings. According to the National Association
of Home Builders, even a $1,000 increase in the purchase
price of a home can force 21,000 potential buyers out of the
market. The Truth About Regulations and the Cost of
Housing (NAHB, 1995) p. 6

II. REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Court should accept certiorari for at least the
following reasons. First, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule
10.1(b), review is supported when a state court of last
resort has decided a federal question in a way that con-
flicts with another state court of last resort, or with a
United States court of appeals.

* The Building Industry Association of Washington Mission
Statement declares that “The Building Industry Association of Wash-
ington is the voice of the housing industry in the state of Washington.
The Association is dedicated to ensuring and enhancing the vitality of
the building industry for the benefit of its members and the housing
needs of the citizens.” To accomplish this purpose, the Association’s
primary focus is to interact with the Legislative, Regulatory, Judicial
and Executive Agencies of Washington’s government.

3

Second, Supreme Court Rule 10(c) provides for review
when a state court of last resort has decided an important
question of federal law which has not been, but should be,
settled by this Court, or has decided a federal question in a
way that conflicts with applicable decisions: of this Court.
Both grounds support review of this case.

Certiorari should be granted to clarify the well-
established conflict in various state and federal courts
regarding whether the standard articulated in Dolan v.
City of Tigard, 114 S. Ct. 2309, 129 L. Ed. 2d 304 (1994)
(hereinafter “Dolan”) applies to legislatively enacted
monetary exactions and whether public agencies possess a
compensable property interest in maintaining the per-
petuation of land-use designations.

Monetary exactions or fees should be held to the same
level of scrutiny as those involving dedications. If mone-
tary exactions receive less scrutiny, local governments can
impose onerous fees on one population segment (the
development community) for facilities or services which
serve the general community as a whole, and avoid the
requirement of establishing a nexus between the event
triggering the exaction and the resulting fee. The law does
not permit public agencies to do indirectly what it does not
permit them to do directly.

Additionally, there remains a heightened risk of
disproportionality and/or extortion for legislatively author-
ized fees. Legislative acts do not enjoy absolute deference
to the extent that constitutional protections be abandoned.
The Constitution applies equally to legislative as well as
adjudicative acts.

.- Nor is the political process adequate protection
against legislative abuse. When legislatively applied,
notice is not required or often provides to the targeted fee
payor, the payor may not yet be invested in the issue (as in
the case of fee imposed on future home buyers), and if
applied to an isolated segment, the balance of the voting
constituents likely will not object.

Il. ARGUMENT

A. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO
RESOLVE IMPORTANT ISSUES AS TO
WHICH THERE IS A WELL-ESTABLISHED
CONFLICT AMONGST STATE AND FED-
ERAL COURTS

1. State And Federal Courts Are Split As
To Whether Dolan Applies To Monetary
Exactions As Well As Dedications.

There is a well-developed split on whether Dolan
extends heightened scrutiny solely to permit conditions
that require the dedication of real property and the con-
comitant loss of the right to exclude, or whether Dolan
applies to monetary exactions as well.

Courts that have applied, or approved of applying a
heightened scrutiny to development fees include state
cases such as Ehrlich v. City of Culver City, 911 P.2d 429
(1996) (hereinafter “Ehrlich”), Northern Illinois Home
Builders Association, Inc. v. County of Du Page, 649 N.E.2d
384 (Ill. 1995); Home Builders Association of Central
Arizona v, City of Scottsdale, 902 P.2d 1347 (Ariz. 1995);
Trimen Development Company v. King County, 877 P.2d
187 (Wash. 1994); College Station v. Turtle Rock, 680
S.W.2d 802 (Tex. 1984); Collis v. Bloomington, 246 N.W.2d
19 (1976); Jenad, Inc. v. Scarsdale, 218 N.E.2d 673 (N.Y.
1966), and Remmenga v. California Coastal Comm’n, 163
Cal.App.3d 623, 628 (1985).

At least two federal cases have suggested that Dolan
is relevant in assessing impact fees. City of Portsmouth v.
Schlesinger, 57 F.3d 12 (1st Cir. 1995) (relying in part on
Dolan to strike down an affordable housing impact fee);
National Association of Home Builders v. Chesterfield
County, 907 F.Supp. 166, 168 (E.D. Va. 1995), aff’d, at
1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 18838 (4th Cir. July 30, 1996).

Conversely, some state courts have either directly
limited Dolan’s applicability to dedications, or implied
such is true. McCarthy v. City of Leawood, 894 P.2d 836
(Kan. 1995); Blue Jeans Equities West v. City aud County

5

of San Francisco, 221 Cal.App.3d 1072 (1992). So too have
some federal courts. Clajon Production Corp. v. Petera, 70
F.3d 1566 (10th Cir. 1995); Commercial Builders v. City of
Sacramento, 941 F.2d 872 (9th Cir. 1991).

Finally, a number of states merely express confusion
over the issue. Garneau v. City of Seattle, 147 F.3d 802,
811 (9th Cir. 1998) (there is “considerable doubt” about the
applicability of the Dolan rough propor*ionality test to
“legislative, as opposed to administrative exactions.”);
Home Builders Association of Central Arizona v. City of
Scottsdale, 930 P.2d 993, 1000 (Ariz. 1997) (the question
“has not been settled”); Rogers Machinery, Inc. v. Washing-
ton County, 45 P.3d 966, 976 (Or. Ct. App. 2002), cert.
denied, 538 U.S. 906 (2003) (A “split of authority exists in
lower courts as to whether Dolan is limited to develop-
ment conditions imposed through adjudicatory decisions or
whether it extends to those imposed as a result of gener-
ally applicable legislation”).

2. State And Federal Courts Are Split As
To Whether Dolan Applies To Legisla-
tive Actions.

A number of state courts have seized on Justice
Rehnquist’s notation’ that the exaction in Dolan was
imposed on a building permit, issued as an “adjudicative”
act, to find that heightened scrutiny does not apply to
exactions imposed pursuant to legislatively-adopted
ordinances of general application. See San Remo Hotel L.P.
v. City of San Francisco, 41 P.3d 87, 105-06 (Cal. 2002)
(Court refusing to apply Nollan/Dolan’s standards to
legislative impact fee); e.g.; Homebuilders Association v.
City of Scottsdale, 930 P.2d 993, 1000 (Ariz. 1997) (Dolan’s
rough proportionality test does not apply to water service
fee enacted by ordinance and uniformly applied to all
properties); Ehrlich v. City of Culver City, 911 P.2d 429,
444 (Cal. 1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 929 (1996) (Dolan

* Dolan, supra, 114 S. Ct. at 2316, n.8.

6

inapplicable to fees imposed legislatively); Krupp v.
Breckenridge Sanitation District, 19 P.3d 687 (Colo. 2001)
(Dolan inapplicable to sanitation district fee imposed
legislatively); Rogers Machinery, 45 P.3d at 967, 982
(Dolan inapplicable to traffic impact fee assessed by
ordinance), Ehrlich, supra; Loyola Marymount Univ. v. Los
Angeles Unified School District, 45 Cal.App.4th 1256
(1996); Home Builders Association of Central Arizona uv.
City of Scottsdale, 902 P.2d 1347 (Ariz. 1995); Southeast
Cass Water Resource District v. Burlington Northern
Railroad Co., 527 N.W.2d 884 (N.D. 1995); Waters Landing
Limited Partnership v. Montgomery County, 650 A.2d 712
(Md. 1995); Parking Association of Georgia v. City of
Atlanta, 450 S.E.2d 200 (Ga. 1994); Arcadia Development
Corp. v. City of Bloomington, 1996 Minn. App. LEXIS 930
(August 13, 1996). So too has at least one federal court.
Harris v. City of Wichita, 862 F.Supp. 287 (D. Kan. 1994).

Other state courts have held that legislative exactions
are subject to Dolan’s heightened scrutiny. Curtis v. Town
of South Thomaston, 708 A.2d 657, 660 (Me. 1998) (Dolan
applied to fire protection ordinance requiring developers to
construct fire pond); Manocherian v. Lenox Hill Hospital,
643 N.E.2d 479 (N.Y. 1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1109
(1995) (Nollan applied to statute requiring apartment
owners to renew certain leases with non-private hospital
employees); Art Piculell Group v. Clackamas County, 1996
Ore. App. LEXIS 1107 (July 31, 1996); J.C. Reeves Corp. v.
Clackamas County, 887 P.2d 360 (Or. 1994); Schultz v. City
of Grants Pass, 884 P.2d 569 (Or. 1994); Northern Illinois
Home Builders Association, Inc. v. County of Du Page, 649
N.E.2d 384 (Ill. 1995); -Trimen Development Company v.
King County, 877 P.2d 187 (Wash. 1994) (A county ordi-
nance requiring developers seeking to build housing either
dedicate land for public parks or pay a fee must meet
Dolan’s “rough proportionality” test). So too has at least
one federal court. National Association of Home Builders v.
Chesterfield County, 907 F.Supp. 166, 168 (E.D. Va. 1995)
(“(IJn order for any specific exaction implemented under a
zoning ordinance to pass constitutional muster ... ” it
must meet Dolan’s rough proportionality standard.), aff’d,

7

at 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 18838 (4th Cir. July 30, 1996).
Manocherian v. Lenox Hill Hospital, 643 N.E.2d 479, 483
_(N.Y. 1994), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 1961, 1962 (1995).

One existing and one former member of this Court are
on record as supporting granting certiorari to address this
issue. In dissenting from the denial of a writ of certiorari
the Justices stated:

It is not clear why the existence of a taking
should turn on the type of governmental entity
responsible for the taking. A city council can take
property just as well as a planning commission
can. Moreover, the general applicability of the
ordinance should not be relevant in a takings
analysis.... The distinction between sweeping
legislative takings and particularized adminis-
trative takings appears to be a distraction with-
out a constitutional difference.

Parking Association of Georgia, Inc. v. City of Atlanta, 115
S. Ct. 2268 (1995) (Thomas, J., and O’Connor, J., dissent-
ing).

B. DOLAN APPLIES TO MONETARY EXAC-
TIONS

The Supreme Court’s decision in Dolan itself strongly
suggests that the rough proportionality standard is appli-
cable to monetary exactions. This is because several of the
cases relied upon by this Court for the rough proportional-
ity standard in Dolan involved takings challenges to fees.”
E.g., Jordan v. Village of Menomonee Falls, 137 N.W.2d
442 -(Wis. 1965); Collis v. Bloomington, 246 N.W.2d 19
(Minn. 1976); College Station v. Turtle Rock, 680 S.W.2d

* Justice Stevens recognized this point in his dissent, noting that
the cases cited by the majority “involve challenges t6 provisions .
requiring developers to dedicate either a percentage of the entire parcel
... Or an equivajent vajue in cash... to help finance the construction of
roads, utilities, schools, parks, and playgrounds.” Dolan at 129 L.Ed.2d
326 (Stevens, J., dissenting).

8

802 (1984); Jenad, Inc. v. Scarsdale, 218 N.E.2d 673 (N.Y.
1966).

In addition, this Court’s decision to vacate and re-
mand the Court of Appeal’s original decision in Ehrlich v.
City of Culver City, 512 U.S. 1231, 114 S. Ct. 2731 (1994)
was a clear signal that the principles set forth in Nollan v.
California Coastal Comm’n, 483 U.S. 825 (1987), and
Dolan apply to monetary exactions.® The Arizona Court of
Appeals took note of this significant action in Home
Builders Association of Central Arizona v. City of Scotts-
dale, 902 P.2d 1347, 1352 (1995), “we agree that the
Ehrlich remand implies that a monetary fee is subject
both to a takings analysis, and... to a Dolan analysis.”

The Constitution supports this position. The Takings
Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the United States Consti-
tution, made applicable to the States through the Fourteenth
Amendment, Chicago, B. & Q.R. Co. v. Chicago, 166 U.S.
226, 236 (1897), provides: “[Nlor shall private property be
taken for public use, without just compensation.” U.S.
Const. amend. V. The principal purpose of the Takings
Clause is “to bar Government from forcing some people
alone to bear public burdens which, in all fairness and
justice, should be borne by the public as a whole.” Arm-
strong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960).

There is scant justification for subjecting impact fees
to a lesser degree of scrutiny than dedication require-
ments. Monetary exactions are the functional equivalent
of dedications. Treating fees and dedications differently
creates a giant loophole in the Nollan/Dolan doctrine.

Allowing fees to be reviewed under a lesser degree of
scrutiny provides government the incentive and ability to
demand mitigation through fees exclusively. Nothing
prevents government from exacting a fee, exercising its

* “Whenever this Court grants certiorari and vacates a court of
appeals judgment in order to allow that court to reconsider its decision
in the light of an intervening decision of this Court, the Court is acting
on the merits.” Board Of Trustees Of Keene State College et al. v.
Sweeney, 439 U.S. 24, 25-26 (1978).

9

power of eminent domain, and using the fee revenue to
pay for the acquisition or improvement. From the property
owner’s perspective, the owner is no less diminished by a
monetary fee, than by a dedication requirement.

Post-Dolan cases recognize this proposition and are in
accord with it. In City of Portsmouth v. Schlesinger, 57 F.3d
12 (1st Cir. 1995), the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First
Circuit suggested that Dolan’s rough proportionality
standard applies to impact fees that were imposed on a
development project by the City of Portsmouth, New
Hampshire.

In Trimen Development Company v. King County, 877
P.2d 187, 192 (1994), the Washington Supreme Court
applied Dolan’s heightened scrutiny to a park impact fee,
holding that to be valid, an impact fee must be “required
to mitigate the direct impact of the development.” And in
Northern Illinois Home Builders Association, Inc. uv.
County of Du Page, 649 N.E.2d 384 (Ill. 1995), the Illinois
Supreme Court subjected a transportation impact fee to
Dolan’s heightened scrutiny.

Of interest, a very recent Post-Dolan Washington
Supreme Court case held that dedications and fees should
be evaluated similarly. In James v. County of Kitsap, 152
Wash.2d 574, 115 P.3d 286 (2005), the Washington Su-
preme Court relied on Jsla Verde, 146 Wash.2d at 761, 49
P.3d 867’, to hold that development conditions must be
tied to a specific, identified impact of a development on a
community, whether the condition is an open space
set aside or an impact fee. However, neither /sla Verde

" “For instance, in Isla Verde Int'l Holdings, Inc. v. City of Camas,
146 Wash.2d 740, 49 P.3d 867 (2002), we reviewed an action brought by
a developer under LUPA, challenging a perm’. .endition as invalid
because it was a tax, fee, or charge prohibitew “» RCW 82.02.020.
Although Isla Verde did not involve impact fees, but a permit condition
requiring a 30 percent open space set aside, we concluded this condition
was a “tax, fee, or charge” under RCW 82.02.020 and was invalid
because it did not fall within an exception to that provision.”

10

or James relies on Dolan; instead these cases were decided
on statutory grounds. Jd.

C. DOLAN APPLIES TO LEGISLATIVE AC-
TIONS

1. The Limitations Of The Fifth Amend-
ment Apply To Fees Adopted By A Legis-
lative Action As Well As An Adjudicative
Action.

The conditions in Dolan, like the City’s transportation
impact fee here, were imposed under the authority of an
ordinance of general application. The City of Tigard’s
Comprehensive Development Code required all property
owners in the Central Business District to comply with
certain dedication requirements for pedestrian/bicycle
pathways and greenway/drainage space. Dolan, supra, 129
L. Ed. 2d at 311-313. As Justice Souter recognized:

The majority characterizes this case as involving
an ‘adjudicative decision’ to impose permit condi-
tions ... , but the permit conditions were imposed
pursuant to Tigard’s Community Development
Plan.

Dolan, supra, 129 L. Ed. 2d at 334 (Souter, J., dissenting).

Thus, the nature of the exaction involved in Dolan
and in this case are identical on this point: each was
imposed on a specific project pursuant to an essentially
legislative determination applicable to all development
projects.

_ Indeed, Nollan v. California Coastal Commission, 483
U.S. 825 (1987) makes clear that the exaction imposed was
made pursuant to a legislative act, the California Coastal
Act of 1976: The Superior Court ... finding, in part to
avoid issues of constitutionality, “that the California
Coastal Act of 1976, Cal. Pub. Res. Code Ann. at 30000 et
seq. (West 1986), authorized the Commission to impose
public access conditions on coastal development permits
for the replacement of an existing single-family home with

11

a new one only where the proposed development would
have an adverse impact on public access to the sea.

Unfortunately, lower courts and public agencies have
misread the Dolan and the Nollan decision by seizing
upon the “adjudicative decision” language used by the
majority in Dolan, supra, 114 S.Ct. at 2316, n.8, as
limiting the application of Dolan and Nollan.

Subsequent to its decision in Dolan, the Supreme
Court has confirmed that Dolan applies to legislative acts.
In Altimus v. Oregon, 115 S.Ct. 44 (1994), this Court
vacated and remanded the case to the Court of Appeals of
Oregon “for further consideration in light of Dolan v. City
of Tigard.” Altimus involved a takings challenge to an
exaction imposed as a condition to a project requesting a
zoning change — a legislative act. (See footnote 5, supra.)

Post-Dolan cases have recognized that heightened
scrutiny is appropriate where an exaction is being applied
to a particular project, notwithstanding whether the
government approval being sought is nominally “legisla-
tive” or “adjudicative.” In J.C. Reeves Corp. v. Clackamas
County, 887 P.2d 360 (Or. 1994), the Court applied Dolan’s
rough proportionality standard to exactions imposed
pursuant to a county-wide zoning ordinance:

[T]he county relies on the fact that some of the
improvements are required by its zoning ordi-
nance. As we said in Schultz v. Grants Pass ...
however, “the character of the [condition] re-
mains the type that is subject to the analysis in
Dolan” ..., whether it is legislatively required or
a case-specific formulation. The nature, not the
source, of the imposition is what matters. Our
conclusion is not at odds with the Supreme
Court’s differentiation between adjudicative con-
ditions and particular properties and generally-
applicable legislative regulations. ... A condition
on the development of particular property is not
converted into something other than that by rea-
son of legislation that requires it to be imposed.

Id. at 365, n.1 (citation omitted). See also, Schultz v.
City of Grants Pass, 884 P.2d 569 (Or. 1994) (Dolan’s

12

heightened scrutiny standard applicable to city’s exaction,
notwithstanding the fact that the exaction was imposed
pursuant to city-wide ordinance of general application).

At least two post-Dolan Washington decisions are in
accord, although neither are decided on constitutional
basis. In July, 2002, the Washington Supreme Court
decided two pivotal cases that refine the authority of
municipalities to impose conditions requiring set-asides
and impact fees. These cases mandate that any dedication
or fee must be roughly proportional to the actual impacts
of the proposed project, and place the burden of demon-
strating proportionality on the local jurisdiction. See
Benchmark Land Co. v. City of Battle Ground, 146 Wn.2d
685 (2002); Isla Verde Int'l Holdings v. City of Camas, 146
Wn.2d 740 (2002).

The Washington Supreme Court case of Benchmark
emphasizes the long standing requirement that an essen-
tial nexus between the actual impacts caused by the
proposed development and conditions imposed on the
development. The related case of Isla Verde held that
dedication or payment of impact fees that are not reasona-
bly necessary as a direct result of the proposed develop-
ment violate RCW 82.02.020.

The Court mandates that any fees or dedications must
be attributable to specific impacts from the proposed
development. Plat conditions or other development extrac-
tions which are not factually supported as required in
these recent holdings, are incorrect as a matter of law.

In Benchmark, the City of Battle Ground conditioned
approval of a development permit, requiring the developer
to make improvements to a street adjoining the develop-
ment. The city’s required improvements were frontage
based on the city code standards, but were not tied to the
specific impacts of the project. The Court found that the
requirements were intended to remedy an existing defi-
ciency, and bore little relation to the proposed project. The
Court held that the conditions were not supported by
substantial evidence; because there was no showing that
“the required expenditure for street improvements was not

13

directly related to traffic generated by the development.”
Benchmark, 146 Wn.2d at 695. The holding clearly speci-
fies that any fees or dedications must be attributable to
specific impacts from the proposed development.

In Isla Verde, the Court also applied the proportional-
ity requirement to the specific statutory framework set
forth in RCW 82.02.020, to invalidate a 30 percent open
space set-aside condition required by the City of Camas.
Isla Verde, 146 Wn.2d at 752. The Court recognized that
RCW 82.02.020 does not only prohibit City-imposed taxes
on the development of real property, but also fees and
charges, including dedications as well. Jd. at 753, n.8. The
only exception is where the city is able to demonstrate that
the condition imposed is needed as direct result of the
project’s impact. Jd. at 759. The Court also stated that the
burden of proving the required relationship between the
condition and the impact of the development rested on the
city. Id. at 756.

Because the Court recognized that RCW 82.02.020
applies not only to taxes and fees, but also to requirements
and conditions such as open space set-asides, (Id. at 757),
the Court invalidated the City’s open space requirement,
holding that Camas failed to produce sufficient evidence
that “the 30 percent open space set aside is reasonably
necessary as a direct result of the proposed subdivision
or reasonably necessary to mitigate a direct impact that is
a consequence of the proposed subdivision.” Jd. at 759.
Finally, the Court emphasized that, not only must the
requirement be “reasonably necessary,” but that “develop-
ment conditions must be tied to a specific, identified
impact of a development ... as a direct result of the
proposed development or plat,” Jd. at 761.

The Court stressed that RCW 82.02.020 does not
permit conditions that satisfy a “reasonably necessary”
standard for all new development collectively, it specifi-

cally requires that a condition be “reasonably necessary as
a direct result of the proposed development or plat.” Jsla
Verde at 879. Emphasis added.

14

Thus in these post Dolan, pre-Drebick cases, the
Washington Supreme Court made it clear that cities and
counties cannot simply point to an adopted code provision
as authority to impose development extractions (in this
case, frontage improvements). Instead, the Supreme Court
held that-the jurisdiction is required to undergo an indi-
vidualized analysis for each project, and can only impose a
condition on development if it is shown that the condition
is needed to mitigate an impact actually caused by the
proposed project.

The Court of Appeals’ decision in the present case
followed this clear line of reasoning consistent with Nollan/
Dolan. City of Olympia v. Drebick, No. 29018-9-II, 2004
WL 102850 (Wash.App. Div. 2 Jan. 22, 2004), when it
invalidated the City of Olympia’s traffic impact fee. The
Court found that an impact fee formula which was based
on an averaging of traffic volumes did not relate to the
actual impacts of a proposed project. The Court of Appeals
correctly invalidated the City’s assessment, and found that
impact fees must relate to the actual impacts of the
development.

In invalidating Olympia’s development condition, the
Court clearly stated that (1) the government must identify
a “public” impact as opposed to a private one, (2) the
government must show that the proposed project will
create or exacerbate the impact, (3) the government must
show that the fee or exaction “tends to solve” or alleviate
the impact, and (4) that the proposed solution is “roughly
proportional” to the impact of the proposed project, 1.e.
that it will alleviate the impacts caused by the project
itself. .

Unfortunately, the Washington Supreme Court re-
versed.

This Court should accept review to correct this change
of course, and provide clarity on a nation-wide basis.

15

2. Concern For A Heightened Risk Of Ex-
tortion Requires Dolan’s Application to
Legislatively Adopted Fees.

The Washington Supreme Court sidestepped the
Nollan/Dolan test by its limited decision to an interpreta-
tion of the requirements of the local impact fee statutes
(App. at A-8-A-11; App. at G and H), and on its refusal to
apply the Nollan and Dolan standards to the exactions at
issue (App. A-11-A-12).

However, despite ducking the critical constitutional
issues, the Court’s scathing comments directed to dissent
sow the seeds for a significant withering of future applica-
tion of Nollan/Dolan in Washington state: “The dissent
does not explain that neither Nollan nor Dolan concerned
the imposition of impact fees but addressed instead the
authority of a local government to condition development
approved on a property owner’s dedication of a portion of
land for public use.” App. at A-11-A-12. The majority cites
Ehrlich v. City of Culver City, 911 P.2d 429, 444 (Cal.), cert.
denied, 519 U.S. 929 (1996), for the proposition that
Nollan and Dolan do not apply to legislatively prescribed
development fees. Jd. at A-12-A-13.

This Court should reinforce application of the consti-
tutional analysis of Nollan/Dolan by upholding the consti-
tutional construction of the local impact fee statutes, as
urged by the dissent. App. at A-33-A-37. Citing the Court
of Appeals decision, the dissent noted that “the most
important conclusion to be drawn from the legislative
history is the legislature’s deliberate use of the identical
terms the United States Supreme Court used to describe
the ‘nexus’ requirement of the Fifth Amendment: ‘reasona-
bly related to.’” App. at A-33. The majority, “defeats the
Nollan and the Washington State Legislature’s definition
lof ‘reasonably related’}.” App. at A-36.

The Washington Court’s rationale in part was baged
on deference owed to legislatively adopted fees, as opposed
to administrative conditions. However, preservation of this
Court’s constitutional protections against extortion-like

16

fees requires that legislative actions not be treated differ-
ently from exaction imposed administratively. The height-
ened risk of extortion exists no less for legislatively
adopted fees, and arguably presents a greater risk. _

Current residents, looking out for their own interests,
generally believe that it is better to shift favility costs to
their future and yet unknown neighbors, rather than pay
for such facilities themselves. The existing residents have
no quarrel with legislators who pass along a dispropor-
tionate share of facility costs to the upcoming but not yet
present community members. |

In contrast, the new home buyer has the least political
clout to remedy extortionate fees because he or she is an
empty chair at that political table, unaware, uninterested
or residing outside of the public agency’s jurisdiction at the
time of the fee’s adoption.

In addition, there is no requirement that a new or
future home buyer be given notice of a legislatively
adopted fee and therefore this class of affected parties is
the least able to become involved in the “political process.”

Elected officials and current residents, aware of these
facts, often argue in favor of the adoption of fees which pay
for public facilities not entirely, or not in the least, caused
by new development. Elected officials realize that since
the ultimate fee payor is not currently a constituent, has
no notice, and may not yet be interested in the issue until

* Where a rule of conduct applies to more than a few people it is
impracticable that every one should have a direct voice in its adoption.
The Constitution does not require all public acts to be done in town
meeting or an assembly of the whole. General statutes within the state
power are passed that affect the person or property of individuals,
sometimes to the point of ruin, without giving them a chance to be
heard. Bi-Metallic Co. v. Colorado, 239 U.S. 441, 445 (1915).

“{O)nly those governmental decisions which are adjudicative in
nature are subject to procedural due process principles. Legislative
action is not burdened by such requirements.” Horn v. County of
Ventura, 596 P.2d 1134, 1137 (1979); see also, Mullane v. Central
Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313 (1950).

17

the new home threshold is crossed, he or she is unlikely to
express his or her displeasure with the fee by voting the
decision maker out of office.° As a-result, the risk of extor-
tion by legislation for it is just as high, if not higher than it
is for those which are individually imposed.

Further, a legislatively adopted fee may be adopted
years prior to its actual imposition and on an entire city or
county. Fees imposed on adjudicatory land use approvals
occur closer in time to the purchase of a new home and on
a geographically specific project and are therefore more
likely to provide notice to thé new home buyer.

Impact fees are fees tacked onto the cost of a newly
constructed house to pay for the occupants’ supposed
impact on the area’s roads, parks and schools. Depending
on the jurisdiction, impact fees can range from a few
thousand dollars to over $20,000. Not coincidentally,
jurisdictions charging impact fees typically boast the least
affordable housing markets.

... because impact fees are charged only on new
“homes, not on existing homes, they don’t ensure
those who have a new impact on a community ac-
tually pay to mitigate that impact. Here’s an ex-
ample: A family with six school age children could
move into Olympia from elsewhere, purchase an
existing “family” home and pay no impact fee,
even though they will be impacting the city’s

* See, e.g., California Building Industry Association v. Governing
Board of Newhall School District, 206 Cal.App.3d 212, 218 (1988) (“...
the exactions were imposed not on an electorate which, unsurprisingly,
voted overwhelmingly to approve them, but rather solely on the
developers of new residential projects.”); Stubblefield Construction Co.
v. City of San Bernardino, 32 Cal.App.4th 687, 711 (1995), cert. denied,
116 S. Ct. 300 (“It is not uncommon or unusual! for a legislator to oppose
a project and to use all means within his or her power to defeat it. After
all, a legislator is supposed to respond to the concerns of his or her
constituents ... Whether their concerns were proper or justified is not
the issue here. The point is that their elected representative decided to
oppose the project, and did so vigorously.” Emphasis added. ).

18

schools, roads, parks, etc. Meanwhile, an “empty-
nester” couple that sells that “family home” in
Olympia and purchases a newly constructed
“move-down home” up the street, will pay exorbi-
tant impact fees, even though they are having no
new impact (in fact — they’ve already paid for it!).
Hardly a fair and efficient way to pay for growth.

“Governor Holds The Key To Affordable Housing,” Presi-
dent’s Letter, BIAW’s Building Insight Publication, August
2006.

Legislatively adopted fees, no less than excessive
regulations and onerous procedures, limit the number of
homes that can be built, increase the cost of those that are
built, and reduce the affordability of all homes. The result,
sometimes intended, is to restrict those who can live in
some areas to only the wealthiest. The greatest impact
falls on those with limited incomes, such as young fami-
lies, first time home buyers, minorities, and others with
- limited incomes. These classes of persons in Washington
State deserve the constitutional protections that Nollan/
Dolan affords.

3. Deference To Legislative Acts Does Not
Require Ignoring The Takings Clause.

The separation of powers doctrine supports that
greater deference be paid to a public agency’s legislative,
as opposed to adjudicative, actions. Yet, nowhere does this
policy of greater deference require a reviewing Court to
ignore Constitutional protections.

In U.S. v. Winstar Corp., 1996 U.S. LEXIS 4266 (July
1, 1996) (hereinafter “Winstar”), this Court stated that
complete deference to a legislative assessment is not
appropriate when the state’s self-interest is at stake. Jd. at
100, n.41. The Court further noted that a stricter level of
scrutiny applies in such cases. Jd. The Court characterized
self-interest as an:

19

[I]Jnstance in which the government seeks to
shift the costs of meeting its legitimate public
responsibilities to private parties: [Citation omit-
ted.] The government may not ‘force some people
alone to bear public burdens which . . . should be
borne by the public as a whole.” Id.

The Court’s clarification was in response to the govern-
ment’s claim that the Sovereign Acts Doctrine applied and
therefore absolute deference must be accorded to the
Legislature’s public and generally applicable act."

Although Winstar applied the prohibitions of a differ-
ent provision of the U.S. Constitution, i.e., the Contract
Clause, this Court found that the deference generally
granted to legislative determinations is not applicable
where the interpretation or application of a Constitutional
provision is at issue. As this Court has stated, “whether
the action of [either the Legislative or Executive Branch]
exceeds whatever authority has been committed, is itself a
delicate exercise in constitutional interpretation, and is a
responsibility of this Court as ultimate interpreter of the
Constitution.” Nixon v. United States, 506 U.S. 224, 238
(1993).

* The Court also cited Dolan for this proposition noting that all
regulations have their costs. Winstar, supra, at 76-77. As this Court
noted, supra, the exactions in Dolan were based on legislative enact-
ments.

“ The government in Winstar argued that a standard almost
identical to the Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980) test should be
applied to the public and general act of the legislature, i.e., whether the
act “advance[s] the general welfare.” Winstar Corp., supra, at 93-94.
The Ehrlich Court suggested that the test for legislative actions should
be whether they substantially advance a legitimate governmental
purpose. As this Court rejected the test proffered by the government in
Winstar, so should it reverse the California Court’s deferential standard
applied to legislatively enacted, generally applicable fees.

20

IV. CONCLUSION

Therefore, for the reasons stated above and in the
Brief for Petitioners, the MBA Amicus pray that this Court
grant certiorari and reverse the Washington Supreme
Court’s opinion by applying Dolan to monetary exactions
and by applying Dolan to legislative actions.

Respectfully submitted,

CAROLYN A. LAKE

Counsel of Record

CONOR MCCARTHY

GOODSTEIN LAW GROUP PLLC
On behalf of

The Master Builders Association
of Pierce County

1001 Pacific Avenue — Suite 400
Tacoma, WA 98402
253.779.4000 office
253.229.6727 cell

253.779.4411 fax

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
The Master Builders Association
of Pierce County

or pay money to public agencies as a condition to granting
land use, subdivision, and even non-discretionary
construction approvals. In this case, a city required a
developer — in fact requires all developers within its
jurisdiction — to pay a fee that was based not on the specific
impact of a particular development, but on the average
impact of all anticipated development in the city. This case
thus presents two issues of great importance te NAHB and
its members.

First, do the requirements of Nollan and Dolan apply to
impact fees that are imposed on property owners as a
condition of permit approval, where those fees have the
same economic impact on property owners as dedications
of land? This Court’s previous pronouncements place
impact fees with such effects squarely within the category
of “exactions,” a form of taking that constitutionally
requires just compensation. NAHB members need this
Court’s protection when impact fees threaten to become
“not a valid regulation of land use but ‘an out-and-out plan
of extortion’” (Nollan, 483 U.S. at 837), just as much as
they do when the government requires a dedication of land.

Second, may a local government avoid Dolan’s
requirement of “rough proportionality,” and its attendant
burden on the local government of making an
individualized determination, by passing a legislative
exaction on an area-wide basis? NAHB members need this
Court to rule that government may not use its permitting
power to force a// new developments to pay more th in their
fair share, any more than government may require one
development to pay more than its fair share.

The protection from over-reaching and excessive
governmental exactions embodied in Dolan is particularly
important in the context of affordable housing. By shifting
disproportionate costs of public services on to new housing,

exactions that do not comport with Dolan erect more
imposing barriers to affordability. These barriers
compound what is already a significant and serious social
problem plaguing this country.

The lower courts have reached inconsistent and
conflicting results when faced with these issues. Absent a
clear ruling from this Court, NAHB members in different
jurisdictions face inconsistent treatment under what is
supposed to be a uniform national Takings Clause. The
Takings Clause is intended to prevent what occurred in this
case and what home builders endure time and again: a local
government forcing one landowner to bear the entire
economic cost of providing a public good, when “in all
fairness and justice,” that cost “should be borne by the
public as a whole.” Armstrong v. United States, 364 U\S.
40, 49 (1960).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Exactions are a type of taking that can trigger the
payment of just compensation under the Fifth Amendment.
Impact fees are one category of exaction. In the exaction
context, the requirements of the Takings Clause assure
property owners that the government must make an
individualized determination of whether an impact fee is
“roughly proportional” to the impact of a proposed
development; and further guarantee that, when it is not, the
government will be required to pay back the excess.

Exactions have the same economic impact on property
owners whether they are imposed by legislation or
adjudication, and Dolan’s requirements of individualized
determination and “rough proportionality” should apply
regardless of how the exaction is imposed.

By imposing excessive costs on development when
impact fees or other exactions are levied without meeting
the requirements of Dolan, local governments discourage
the construction of affordable housing.

ARGUMENT

I. THE FIFTH AMENDMENT APPLIES EQUALLY
TO EXACTIONS THAT ARE IMPACT FEES AND
EXACTIONS THAT REQUIRE DEDICATIONS
OF LAND.

As explained in the petition for certiorari, some of the
courts that have refused to apply the WNollan-Dolan
requirements to impact fees have viewed such fees as
somehow categorically—-different from mandatory
dedications of land. However, no _ abstract
conceptualization or “critical leap” is necessary to equate
these economic burdens. Cf, McCarthy v. City of
Leawood, 894 P.2d 836, 845 (Kan. 1995). Practically
speaking, impact fees are simply one variety of exaction.
In the land use context they must meet the constitutional
requirements set forth in Nollan and Dolan to make sure
that land use regulations do not over-reach by requiring the
property owners who need a permit to bear economic costs
that should be borne by the public as a whole.

Lingle v. Chevron U.S.A., Inc., 544 U.S. 528 (2005)
summarized the kinds of takings that trigger the payment of
just compensation. First, the “paradigmatic taking... is a
direct government appropriation or physical invasion of
private property.” /d. at 537. Second, “government
regulation of private property may, in some instances, be so
onerous that its effect is tantamount to a direct
appropriation or ouster.” Jd. Lingle further clarified the
“theories” available for “a plaintiff seeking to challenge a
government regulation as an uncompensated taking” (/d. at

548) as encompassing regulations which: force a physical
occupation, e.g., Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV
Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982); deprive a property owner of all
economically viable use of the property, e.g., Lucas v.
South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992); or
“go too far” so as to become the functional equivalent of a
traditional taking, e.g., Penn Central Transportation Co. v.
City of New York, 438 U.S. 104 (1978).

The final category of regulatory taking is “a land-use
exaction violating the standards set forth in Nollan and
Dolan.” Lingle, 544 U.S. at 548. Exactions are a special
application of the doctrine of “unconstitutional conditions,”
which provides that the government may not require a
person to give up a constitutional right — such as the right to
receive just-compensation when property is taken for a
public use — in exchange for a discretionary benefit
conferred by the government where the benefit has little or
no relationship to the property. Dolan, 512 U.S. at 385.

The lower courts have developed a _ detailed
understanding of exactions. They come in_ four
recognizable categories: “(1) mandatory dedications of land
for roads, schools or parks, as a condition to plat approval,
(2) fees-in-lieu of mandatory dedication, (3) water or
sewage connection fees, and (4) impact fees.” B.A.M.
Development, L.L.C. v. Salt Lake County, 128 P.3d 1161,
1169 (Utah 2006).

The key to Dolan’s application of the Takings Clause to
exactions in the land use context is that, in substance, it
prevents governments from over-charging new
development for the external, public costs it creates. Under
Dolan, the exaction must be roughly proportional to the
impact of the new development, as measured in an
individualized determination made by the permitting body.
If not proven to be roughly proportional, the Fifth

Amendment requires that compensation be paid for the
excess. In this regard, disproportionate impact fees clearly
fall within Dolan’s ambit just like other forms of
exactions.’

Under the proper application of Nollan and Dolan, the
“taking” only occurs where, and to the extent that, the
monetary exaction exceeds what may be charged to the
particular development under the rough proportionality test.
Where a monetary exaction goes beyond the impact of the
development, the local government is requiring the new
development to shoulder a burden that should be borne by
the public as a whole, and thus effects a taking. The
constitutionally-required just compensation is then a return
of that portion of the monetary fee constituting
overpayment. In this regard, takings analysis is more finely
tuned than substantive due process analysis when applied to
impact fees. The former requires that an excess be paid
back to the developer but allows the government to keep
the justifiable portion of the fee. The latter simply
invalidates the entire fee.

Even though this Court has made it clear that takings
claims involving land use exactions in the form of physical
dedications of property are evaluated under the Dolan
“rough proportionality” test, the lower courts appear to

2 Some argue that five justices in Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel,
524 U.S. 498 (1998) agreed that the Takings Clause did not
apply to the mere payment of money, thus resolving the
applicability of Dolan to impact fees. However, one of the five
was Justice Kennedy, who confined his objection to a monetary
obligation that was not imposed with respect to or on a particular
property. 524 U.S. at 540. Impact fees are, of course, imposed
with respect to development that occurs on a particular property,
and so Justice Kennedy’s opinion in Eastern Enterprises did not
resolve the issue.

believe that applying Dolan to impact fees and monetary
exactions “is a compiex question and is not completely
resolved.” Dudek v. Umatilla County, 69 P.3d 751, 757
(Ore Ct. App. 2003). Compare Ehrlich v. City of Culver
City, 12 Cal.4" 854, 911 P.2d 429 (1996), cert. denied, 519
U.S. 929 (1996) (at least those monetary land use exactions
that are imposed “on an individual and discretionary basis”
are subject to Dolan scrutiny) with Town of Flower Mound
v. Stafford Estates Limited Partnership, 135 $.W.3d 620
(Tex. 2004) (all monetary land use exactions are subject to
Dolan, whether imposed on an individual, discretionary
basis or area-wide) and Twin Lakes Dev. Corp. v. Town of
Monroe, | N.Y.3d 98, 105, 801 N.E.2d 821, 825 (2003),
cert. denied, 541 U.S. 974 (2004); Smith v. Town of
Mendon, 4 N.Y.3d 1, 12, 822 N.E.2d 1214, 1219 (2004)
(Dolan scrutiny applies to dedications of land and to fees-
in-lieu of land dedications).

This Court should clear the air. From a land owner’s
perspective, there is no practical distinction between
exactions requiring land dedications and _ exactions
requiring the payment of money. Each has an identifiable
economic impact on the builderor property owner. Each is
susceptible of the same kind of abuse by government. Each
can be easily remedied by application of the just
compensation requirement. (In fact, it may be easier to
“require just compensation for monetary exactions than for
exactions of real estate. When the latter cannot meet the
rough proportionality standard, a court must determine the
value of the excess land that was taken by the permitting
authority. This step is unnecessary when the taking is
accomplished by an excessive fee — all the court need do is
order a payment back of the over-charge.)

In the end, “[f]rom the property owner’s point of view,
it may matter little whether his land” is taken through

conditions that demand disproportionate 1d dedication or
excessive payment of impact fees. See San Diego Gas &
Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego, 450 U.S. 621, 652 (Brennan,
J., plurality dissent), adopted in First English Evangelical
Lutheran Church of Glendale v. Los Angeles County, 482
U.S. 304 (1987). “{T]he Constitution measures a takings of
property not by what a State says, or by what it intends, but
by what it does.” Hughes v. Washington, 389 U.S. 290,
298 (1967) (Stewart, J., concurring). This Court should
hold that all land use exactions, whether of land or of
money, are subject to Dolan.

Il. THIS COURT NEEDS TO CONFIRM AGAIN
THAT THE “ROUGH PROPORTIONALITY”
AND INDIVIDUALIZED DETERMINATION
REQUIREMENTS OF DOLAN APPLY EQUALLY
TO LEGISLATIVE EXACTIONS AND TO
ADMINISTRATIVE OR QUASI-JUDICIAL
EXACTIONS.

This Court should grant certiorari in this case and
reverse the Washington Supreme Court because that court
incorrectly focused on a false distinction between
legislative and adjudicative exactions. This Court has not
made such a distinction, but instead has previously applied
the Takings Clause to legislative actions, both in general
and in Dolan itself. Nevertheless, the lower courts are
confused, and this Court needs to set the record straight.

A. This Court Has Long Recognized the General
Principle that Legislation Can Effect a Taking.

This Court has frequently — and recently — held that a
legislative enactment can result in an unconstitutional
taking. For example, in Babbitt v. Youpee, 519 U.S. 234,
243 (1997) and Hodel v. Irving, 481 U.S. 704, 716-18
(1987), this Court twice held the escheat provision of the -

Indian Land Consolidation Act (25 U.S.C. § 2206)
unconstitutional. And, in Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, 524
U.S. 498, 529-37 (1998), the plurality opinion held the
application of the Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act
of 1922 (2 U.S.C. § 9701-9722) unconstitutional for
requiring millions of dollars in health care contributions
based on a predecessor company’s activities decades
earlier. Thus, the notion that government exactions are
somehow immune from takings analysis if they are
imposed by legislation has no basis as a general principle.

Most of this Court’s previous holdings in this regard,
however, did not involve exactions in the land use context.
Given a plethora of lower court decisions seeking to avoid
the mandate of Dolan, this Court should now make it clear
that exactions that are not roughly proportional to the
impact of a proposed development require just
compensation, regardless of how the exactions are imposed.

This simple conclusion makes sense. As stated before
by Justice Thomas, “It is not clear why the existence of a
taking should turn on the type of governmental entity
responsible for the taking. A city council can take property
just as well as a planning commission can....The
distinction between sweeping legislative takings and
particularized administrative takings appears to be a
distinction without a constitutional difference.” Parking
Ass'n of Georgia, Inc., 515 U.S. 1116, 1118 (1995)
(Thomas, J., dissenting).

B. Dolan Itself Involved an Exaction Imposed by
Legislation.

The Takings Clause requirement that exactions be
roughly proportional was decreed in a case that was itself
instigated by a legislative requirement instead of an ad hoc
administrative uetermination. At issue in Dolan were

10

dedications required pursuant to the Tigard, Oregon
Community Development Code (“CDC”). As this Court
explained in Dolan:

The CDC requires property owners in the area
zoned Central Business District to comply with a
15% open space and landscaping requirement, .. .
The CDC requires that new development facilitate [a
plan for a pedestrian/bicycle pathway] by dedicating
land for pedestrian pathways where provided for in
the pedestrian/bicycle pathway plan.”

512°U.S. at 377-78.° Thus, the predicate for the numerous
decisions which turn on whether the exaction is imposed by
legislative or administrative means is not justified by
reference to this Court’s original decision.

There is, of course, language in Dolan that may suggest
a distinction between legislative and administrative actions.
But it is a false distinction. The language appears in a
discussion of cases involving general land use restrictions:

First, [those - cases] involved _ essentially
legislative determinations classifying entire areas of
the city, whereas here the city made an adjudicative
decision to condition petitioner’s application for a
building permit on an individual parcel.

> Some analyses point to footnote 8 in Dolan, which states,

“Here, by contrast, the City made an adjudicative decision to
condition petitioner’s application for a building permit on an
individual parcel.” 512 U.S. at 391 (emphasis added). However,
Justice Souter, in his dissent, clarified the situation by pointing
out that footnote 8 misstated the genesis of the condition: “The
majority characterizes this case as involving an ‘adjudicative
decision’ to impose permit conditions [citations omitted], but the
permit conditions were imposed pursuant to Tigard’s
Community Development Code.” 512 U.S. at 413, n.*.

11

512 U.S. at 385. Those seeking to avoid the rough
proportionality requirement seize on the above term
“legislative determination.” But the contrast emphasized
by the Court was between classifications, on the one hand,
and conditions, on the other. While the requirement of
rough proportionality does not apply to the first (City of
Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes at Monterey, Ltd., 526 U.S.
687, 703 (1999)), it does apply to the second, regardless of
whether the condition applies to all properties in an area by
legislative decree, or just one property by administrative
determination.

C. There is Great Confusion in the Lower Courts.

“The lower courts are in conflict over whether Dolan’s
test for property regulation should be applied in cases
where the alleged taking occurs through an Act of the
legislature.” Parking Ass’n of Georgia, Inc., 515 US.
1116, 1117 (1995) (Thomas, J., dissenting).

The problem is widespread and the consequent results
inconsistent. In addition to the cases cited by petitioners,
the Illinois Appellate Court held in Amoco Oil Co. v.
Village of Schaumburg, 277 Ill. App. 3d 926, 941-43, 661
N.E.2d 380, 390-91 (1 Dist. 1995), leave to appeal denied,
667 N.E.2d 1055 (Ill. 1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 976
(1996), that there is no reason to differentiate between
exactions imposed legislatively or by adjudication.

On the other hand, cases holding that exactions imposed
by legislation need not meet Dolan’s rough proportionality
test include Wisconsin Builders Ass'n v. Wisconsin Dep’t of
Transportation, 285 Wis.2d 473, 504, 702 N.W.2d 433,
448 (2005); Wonders v. Pima County, 89 P.3d 810, 816
(Ariz. Ct. App. 2004); Homebuilders Ass'n v. Tualatin Hills
Park & Recreation Dist., 62 P.3d 404, 409 (Ore. Ct. App.
2003); Home Builders Ass'n v. City of Napa, 108 Cal.

12

Rptr.2d 60, 65 (2001), cert. denied, 535 U.S. 954 (2002);
Arcadia Dev. Corp. v. City of Bloomington, 552 N.W.2d
281, 286 (Minn. Ct. App. 1996); and Harris v. Wichita, 862
F. Supp. 287, 294 (D. Kan. 1994).

The Supreme Court of Utah called it an “unruly judicial
chorus on this issue,” but that court found it unnecessary to
add its voice because the Utah legislature had stepped in to
resolve the issue. B.A.M. Development, L.L.C. v. Salt Lake
County, 128 P.3d 1161, 1171 (Utah 2006). Utah Code
Ann. § 17-27a-507 applies Dolan’s rough proportionality
test to all exactions, whether imposed legislatively or
administratively.’

A pending bill in Congress would resolve the issue by
applying the constitutional test equally to both legislative
and adjudicative exactions, as well as to required
dedications of both land and fees. H.R. 4772, The Private
Property Rights Implementation Act of 2006, 109th Cong.,
2d Sess. (2006).° While it passed the Judiciary Committee
by voice vote on July 12, 2006, there has not yet been
action on H.R. 4772 by the full House.

‘ The dissent in the Washington Supreme Court in this case

believed that the Washington state legislature had likewise
applied the Dolan rough proportionality test by statute, but the
majority held otherwise. City of Olympia v. Drebick, 156
Wash.2d 289, 303-04, 320, 126 P.3d 802, 808-09, 817 (2006).

> Section 5 of H.R. 4772 provides: “If the party injured seeks to
redress the deprivation of a property right or privilege under this
section that is secured by the Constitution by asserting a claim
that concerns -- (1) an approval to develop real property that is
subject to conditions or exactions, then the person acting under
color of State law is liable if any such condition or exaction,
whether legislative or adjudicatory in nature, including but not
limited to the payment of a monetary fee or a dedication of real
property from the injured party, is unconstitutional.”

13

One commentator reviewed 29 cases construing Dolan
and concluded that the lower courts are simply confused.
“The survey of the caselaw reveals that the lower courts’
application of the legislative/adjudicative distinction is
inconsistent.” Note, The Distinction between Legislative
and Adjudicative Decisions in Dolan v. City of Tigard, 75
N.Y.U. L. Rev. 242, 256 (2000). The conflict in the lower
courts makes the grant of certiorari all the more compelling
in this case. See Parking Ass’n of Georgia, Inc., 515 U.S.
1116, 1118 (1995) (Thomas, J., dissenting).

D. The Legislative/Administrative Distinction is
Beset by Practical Difficulties and Gives Rise
to Perverse Incentives.

This Court should clear up the post-Do/an confusion not
only because inconsistent lower courts are misapplying the
law but also because the distinction between exactions by
legislation and exactions by administrative determination
cannot be so easily drawn. It is another false distinction
that encourages municipalities to shift public costs away
from voters and on to those who have no voice in municipal
affairs. “The takings clause . . . protects against this
majoritarian tyranny . . . by insisting that the costs imposed
by government use or regulation of priva‘e property are
borne by all to whom the benefits inure.” James L.
Huffman, Dolan v. Tigard: Another Step in the Right
Direction, 25 Envtl. L. 143, 152 (1995).

As a practical matter, it is difficult to determine just
when a particular action should be characterized as
legislative or administrative, especially in the land use
context. “[(I]n reality, the discretionary powers of
municipal authorities exist along a continuum and seldom
fall into the neat categories of a fully predetermined
legislative exaction or a completely discretionary

14

administrative determination as to the appropriate
exaction.” Note, The Distinction between Legislative and
Adjudicative Decisions in Dolan v. City of Tigard, 75
N.Y.U. L. Rev. 242, 266 (2000). In Town of Flower
Mound v. Stafford Estates L.P., 135 §.W.2d 620, 641 (Tex.
2004), the Texas Supreme Court rejected the argument that
Dolan only applied to adjudicative decisions, and
commented, “Nor are we convinced that a workable
distinction can always be drawn between actions
denominated adjudicative and legislative.”

The Texas Supreme Court was correct. Courts struggle
with the application of such a distinction, particularly in the
land use context. Are special use approvals legislative or
quasi-judicial? The law seems to vary. See, e.g., Klaeren
v. Village of Lisle, 202 Ill.2d 164, 183, 781 N.E.2d 223, 234
(2002) (overruling prior cases and holding that special use
approvals are administrative or quasi-judicial). How about
variances? The courts differ. Compare Topanga Ass’n for
a Scenic Community v. County of Los Angeles, 11 Cal.3d
506, 517, 522 P.2d 12, 19 (1974) (grant of a variance is a
quasi-judicial, administrative act) with Hawthorne v.
Village of Olympia Fields, 204 I1!.2d 243, 253, 790 N.E.2d
832, 839 (2004) (action by village board on request for a
variance is legislative). The rezoning of a single parcel of
land? One line of cases holds it to be legislative (Arnel
Development Co. v. City of Costa Mesa, 620 P.2d 565, 567
(Cal. 1980)), while another finds it to be quasi-judicial (see
Harris v. County of Riverside, 904 F.2d 497 (9" Cir. 1990);
Nasierowski Bros. Investment Co. v. City of Sterling
Heights, 949 F.2d 890, 895-897 (6" Cir. 1991); City of
Louisville v. McDonald, 470 S.W.2d 173, 176-78 (Ky.
1971)).

The seemingly easy distinction applying Dolan’s rough
proportionality test to administrative or quasi-judicial

15

exactions but not to those imposed by legislative fiat is in
fact fraught with practical difficulties. It is also bad public
policy, because the distinction allows municipalities the
too-easy opportunity to simply push the costs attendant to
development on a_ small number of individuals.
Furthermore, in many cases of residential development the
payor is an out-of-town corporation and those residents
ultimately bearing the cost of the impact fee (through
higher home prices) are the buyers of the homes yet to be
built — two groups who lack the right to vote in municipal
elections.° Thus, the idea that the democratic process could
be a sufficient check on extortionate impact fees is not
supportable. See Town of Flower Mound, 135 S.W.3d at
640-41.

Immunizing legislatively imposed exactions from
Dolan’s rough proportionality requirement grants the
government carte blanche to require a developer to pay for
problems that the new development did not create.
Certiorari should be granted to correct any trend in the law
that is contrary to Dolan.

Ill. IMPROPER EXACTIONS HURT AFFORDABLE
HOUSING.

The confusion in the law is bad enough. Worse is the
consequence of continued confusion: more improper
exactions on homebuilders, and less affordable housing for
the public. This Court should grant certiorari now to stop
municipalities from continuing to impose what amounts to
a silent tax that limits the stock of affordable housing:

° As the late Sen. Russell B. Long, former chair of the Senate
Finance Committee, commented in the context of tax reform,
“Don’t tax you, don’t tax me, tax that fellow behind the tree.”
Fred R. Shapiro, The Oxford Dictionary of American Legal
Quotations, 401 (Oxford University Press 1993).

or pay money to public agencies as a condition to granting
land use, subdivision, and even non-discretionary
construction approvals. In this case, a city required a
developer — in fact requires all developers within its
jurisdiction — to pay a fee that was based not on the specific
impact of a particular development, but on the average
impact of all anticipated development in the city. This case
thus presents two issues of great importance to NAHB and
its members.

First, do the requirements of Nollan and Dolan apply to
impact fees that are imposed on property owners as a
condition of permit approval, where those fees have the
same economic impact on property owners as dedications
of land? This Court’s previous pronouncements place
impact fees with such effects squarely within the category
of “exactions,” a form of taking that constitutionally
requires just compensation. NAHB members need this
Court’s protection when impact fees threaten to become
“not a valid regulation of land use but ‘an out-and-out plan
of extortion’” (Nollan, 483 U.S. at 837), just as much as
they do when the government requires a dedication of land.

Second, may a local government avoid Dolan’s
requirement of “rough proportionality,” and its attendant
burden on the local government of making an
individualized determination, by passing a legislative
exaction on an area-wide basis? NAHB members need this
Court to rule that government may not use its permitting
power to force a// new developments to pay more than their
fair share, any more than government may require one
development to pay more than its fair share.

The protection from over-reaching and excessive
governmental exactions embodied in Dolan is particularly
important in the context of affordable housing. By shifting
disproportionate costs of public services on to new housing,

exactions that do not comport with Dolan erect more
imposing barriers to affordability. These _ barriers
compound what is already a significant and serious social
problem plaguing this country.

The lower courts have reached inconsistent and
conflicting results when faced with these issues. Absent a
clear ruling from this Court, NAHB members in different
_ jurisdictions face inconsistent treatment under what is
supposed to be a uniform national Takings Clause. The
Takings Clause is intended to prevent what occurred in this
case and what home builders endure time and again: a local
government forcing one landowner to bear the entire
economic cost of providing a public good, when “in all
fairness and justice,” that cost “should be borne by the
public as a whole.” Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S.
40, 49 (1960).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Exactions are a type of taking that can trigger the
payment of just compensation under the Fifth Amendment.
Impact fees are one category of exaction. In the exaction
context, the requirements of the Takings Clause assure
property owners that the government must make an
individualized determination of whether an impact fee is
“roughly proportional” to the impact of a proposed
development; and further guarantee that, when it is not, the
government will be required to pay back the excess.

Exactions have the same economic impact on property
owners whether they are imposed by legislation or
adjudication, and Dolan’s requirements of individualized
determination and “rough proportionality” should apply
regardless of hew the exaction is imposed.

By imposing excessive costs on development when
impact fees or other exactions are levied without meeting
the requirements of Dolan, locatgevernments discourage
the construction of affordable housing.

ARGUMENT

I. THE FIFTH AMENDMENT APPLIES EQUALLY
TO EXACTIONS THAT ARE IMPACT FEES AND
EXACTIONS THAT REQUIRE DEDICATIONS
OF LAND.

As explained in the petition for certiorari, some of the
courts that have refused to apply the WNollan-Dolan
requirements to impact fees have viewed such fees as
somehow categorically different from mandatory
dedications of land. However, no _ abstract
conceptualization or “critical leap” is necessary to equate
these economic burdens. Cf, McCarthy v. City of
Leawood, 894 P.2d 836, 845 (Kan. 1995). Practically
speaking, impact fees are simply one variety of exaction.
In the land use context they must meet the constitutional
requirements set forth in Nollan and Dolan to make sure_
that land use regulations do not over-reach by requiring the
property owners who need a permit to bear economic costs
that should be borne by the public as a whole.

Lingle v. Chevron U.S.A., Inc., 544 U.S. 528 (2005)
summarized the kinds of takings that trigger the payment of
just compensation. First, the “paradigmatic taking... is a
direct government appropriation or physical invasion of
private property.” /d. at 537. Second, “government
regulation of private property may, in some instances, be so
onerous that its effect is tantamount to a direct
appropriation or ouster.” Jd. Lingle further clarified the
“theories” available for “a plaintiff seeking to challenge a
government regulation as an uncompensated taking” (/d. at

548) as encompassing regulations which: force a physical
occupation, e.g., Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV
Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982); deprive a property owner of all
economically viable use of the property, e.g., Lucas v.
South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992); or
“go too far” so as to become the functional equivalent of a
traditional taking, e.g., Penn Central Transportation Co. v.
City of New York, 438 U.S. 104 (1978).

The final category of regulatory taking is “a land-use
exaction violating the standards set forth in Nollan and
Dolan.” Lingle, 544 U.S. at 548. Exactions are a special
application of the doctrine of “unconstitutional conditions,”
which provides that the government may not require a
person to give up a constitutional right — such as the right to
receive just compensation when property is taken for a
public use — in exchange for a discretionary benefit
conferred by the government where the benefit has little or
no relationship to the property. Dolan, 512 U.S. at 385.

The lower courts have developed a _ detailed
understanding of exactions. They come in_ four
recognizable categories: “(1) mandatory dedications of land
for roads, schools or parks, as a condition to plat approval,
(2) fees-in-lieu of mandatory dedication, (3) water or
sewage connection fees, and (4) impact fees.” B.A.M.
Development, L.L.C. v. Salt Lake County, 128 P.3d 1161,
1169 (Utah 2006).

The key to Dolan’s application of the-Takings Clause to
exactions in the land use context is that, in substance, it
prevents governments from _ over-charging new
development for the external, public costs it creates. Under
Dolan, the exaction must be roughly proportional to the
impact of the new development, as measured in an
individualized determination made by the permitting body.
If not proven to be roughly proportional, the Fifth

Amendment requires that compensation be paid for the
excess. In this regard, disproportionate impact fees clearly
fall within Dolan’s ambit just like other forms of
exactions.”

Under the proper application of Nollan and Dolan, the
“taking” only occurs where, and to the extent that, the
monetary exaction exceeds what may be charged to the
particular development under the rough proportionality test.
Where a monetary exaction goes beyond the impact of the
development, the local government is requiring the new
development to shoulder a burden that should be borne by
the public as a whole, and thus effects a taking. The
constitutionally-required just compensation is then a return
of that portion of the monetary fee constituting
overpayment. In this regard, takings analysis is more finely
tuned than substantive due process analysis when applied to
impact fees. The former requires that an excess be paid
back to the developer but allows the government to keep
the justifiable portion of the fee. The latter simply
invalidates the entire fee.

Even though this Court has made it clear that takings
claims involving land use exactions in the form of physical
dedications of property are evaluated under the Dolan
“rough proportionality” test, the lower courts appear to

2 Some argue that five justices in Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel,

524 U.S. 498 (1998) agreed that the Takings Clause did not
apply to the mere payment of money, thus resolving the
applicability of Dolan to impact fees. However, one of the five
was Justice Kennedy, who confined his objection to a monetary
obligation that was not imposed with respect to or on a particular
property. 524 U.S. at 540. Impact fees are, of course, imposed
with respect to development that occurs on a particular property,
and so Justice Kennedy’s opinion in Eastern Enterprises did not
resolve the issue.

believe that applying Dolan to impact fees and monetary
exactions “is a complex question and is not completely
resolved.” Dudek v. Umatilla County, 69 P.3d 751, 757
(Ore Ct. App. 2003). Compare Ehrlich v. City of Culver
City, 12 Cal.4" 854, 911 P.2d 429 (1996), cert. denied, 519
U.S. 929 (1996) (at least those monetary land use exactions
that are imposed “on an individual and discretionary basis”
are subject to Dolan scrutiny) with Town of Flower Mound
v. Stafford Estates Limited Partnership, 135 S$.W.3d 620
(Tex. 2004) (all monetary land use exactions are subject to
Dolan, whether imposed on an individual, discretionary
basis or area-wide) and Twin Lakes Dev. Corp. v. Town of
Monroe, 1 N.Y.3d 98, 105, 801 N.E.2d 821, 825 (2003),
cert. denied, 541 U.S. 974 (2004); Smith v. Town of
Mendon, 4 N.Y.3d 1, 12, 822 N.E.2d 1214, 1219 (2004)
(Dolan scrutiny applies to dedications of land and to fees-
in-lieu of land dedications).

This Court should clear the air. From a land owner’s
perspective, there is no practical distinction between
exactions -requiring land dedications and _ exactions
requiring the payment of money. Each has an identifiable
economic impact on the builder or property owner. Each is
susceptible of the same kind of abuse by government. Each
can be easily remedied by application of the just
compensation requirement. (In fact, it may be easier to
“require just compensation for monetary exactions than for
exactions of real estate. When the latter cannot meet the
rough proportionality standard, a court must determine the
value of the excess land that was taken by the permitting
authority. This step is unnecessary when the taking is
accomplished by an excessive fee — all the court need do is
order a payment back of the over-charge.)

In the end, “[fjrom the property owner’s point of view,
it may matter little whether his land” is taken through

conditions that demand disproportionate land dedication or
excessive payment of impact fees. See San Diego Gas &
Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego, 450 U.S. 621, 652 (Brennan,
J., plurality dissent), adopted in First English Evangelical
Lutheran Church of Glendale v. Los Angeles County, 482
U.S. 304 (1987). “{T]he Constitution measures a takings of
property not by what a State says, or by what it intends, but
by what it does.” Hughes v. Washington, 389 U.S. 290,
298 (1967) (Stewart, J., concurring). This Court should
hold that all land use exactions, whether of land or of
money, are subject to Dolan.

Il. THIS COURT NEEDS TO. CONFIRM AGAIN
THAT THE “ROUGH PROPORTIONALITY”
AND INDIVIDUALIZED DETERMINATION
REQUIREMENTS OF DOLAN APPLY EQUALLY
TO LEGISLATIVE EXACTIONS AND TO
ADMINISTRATIVE OR QUASI-JUDICIAL
EXACTIONS.

This Court should grant certiorari in this case and
reverse the Washington Supreme Court because that court
incorrectly focused on a false distinction between
legislative and adjudicative exactions. This Court has not
made such a distinction, but instead has previously applied
the Takings Clause to legislative actions, both in general
and in Dolan itself. Nevertheless, the lower courts are
_confused, and this Court needs to set the record straight.

A. This Court Has Long Recognized the General
Principle that Legislation Can Effect a Taking.

This Court has frequently — and recently — held that a
legislative enactment can result in an unconstitutional
taking. For example, in Badbitt v. Youpee, 519 U.S. 234,
243 (1997) and Hodel v. Irving, 481 U.S. 704, 716-18
(1987), this Court twice held the escheat provision of the

Indian Land Consolidation Act (25 U.S.C. § 2206)
unconstitutional. And, in Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, 524
U.S. 498, 529-37 (1998), the plurality opinion held the
application of the Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act
of 1922 (2 U.S.C. § 9701-9722) unconstitutional for
requiring millions of dollars in health care contributions
based on a predecessor company’s activities decades
earlier. Thus, the notion that government exactions are
somehow immune from takings analysis if they are
imposed by legislation has no basis as a general principle.

Most of this Court’s previous holdings in this regard,
however, did not involve exactions in the land use context.
Given a plethora of lower court decisions seeking to avoid
the mandate of Dolan, this Court should now make it clear
that exactions that are not roughly proportional to the
impact of a proposed development require just
compensation, regardless of how the exactions are imposed.

This simple conclusion makes sense. As stated before
by Justice Thomas, “It is not clear why the existence of a
taking should turn on the type of governmental entity
responsible for the taking. A city council can take property
just as well as a planning commission can... .The
distinction between sweeping legislative takings and
particularized administrative takings appears to be a
distinction without a constitutional difference.” Parking
Ass’n of Georgia, Inc., 515 US. 1116, 1118 (1995)
(Thomas, J., dissenting).

B. Dolan Itself Involved an Exaction Imposed by
Legislation.

The Takings Clause requirement that exactions be
roughly proportional was decreed in a case that was itself
instigated by a legislative requirement instead of an ad hoc
administrative determination. At issue in Dolan were

10

dedications required pursuant to the Tigard, Oregon
Community Development Code (“CDC”). As this Court
explained in Dolan:

The CDC requires property owners in the area
zoned Central Business District to comply with a
15% open space and landscaping requirement, .. .
The CDC requires that new development facilitate [a
plan for a pedestrian/bicycle pathway] by dedicating
land for pedestrian pathways where provided for in
the pedestrian/bicycle pathway plan.”

512 U.S. at 377-78.° Thus, the predicate for the numerous
decisions which turn on whether the exaction is imposed by
legislative or administrative means is not justified by
reference to this Court’s original decision.

There is, of course, language in Dolan that may suggest
a distinction between legislative and administrative actions.
But it is a false distinction. The language appears in a
discussion of cases involving general land use restrictions:

First, [those cases] involved _ essentially
legislative determinations classifying entire areas of
the city, whereas here the city made an adjudicative
decision to condition petitioner’s application for a
building permit on an individual parcel.

> Some analyses point to footnote 8 in Dolan, which states,

“Here, by contrast, the City made an adjudicative decision to
condition petitioner’s application for a building permit on an
individual parcel.” 512 U.S. at 391 (emphasis added). However,
Justice Souter, in his dissent, clarified the situation by pointing
out that footnote 8 misstated the genesis of the condition: “The
majority characterizes this case as involving an ‘adjudicative
decision’ to impose permit conditions [citations omitted], but the
permit conditions were imposed pursuant to Tigard’s
Community: Development Code.” 512 U.S. at 413, n.*.

11

512 U.S. at 385. Those seeking to avoid the rough
proportionality requirement seize on the above term
“legislative determination.” But the contrast emphasized
by the Court was between classifications, on the one hand,
and conditions, on the other. While the requirement of
rough proportionality does not apply to the first (City of
Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes at Monterey, Ltd., 526 U.S.
687, 703 (1999)), it does apply to the second, regardless of
whether the condition applies to all properties in an area by
legislative decree, or just one property by administrative
determination.

C. There is Great Confusion in the Lower Courts.

“The lower courts are in conflict over whether Dolan’s
test for property regulation should be applied in cases
where the alleged taking occurs through an Act of the
legislature.” Parking Ass’n of Georgia, Inc., 515 US.
1116, 1117 (1995) (Thomas, J., dissenting).

The problem is widespread and the consequent results
inconsistent. In addition to the cases cited by petitioners,
the Illinois Appellate Court held in Amoco Oil Co. v.
Village of Schaumburg, 277 Ill. App. 3d 926, 941-43, 661
N.E.2d 380, 390-91 (1* Dist. 1995), leave to appeal denied,
667 NN.E.2d 1055 (Ill. 1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 976
(1996), that there is no reason to differentiate between
exactions imposed legislatively or by adjudication.

On the other hand, cases holding that exactions imposed
by legislation need not meet Dolan’s rough proportionality
test include Wisconsin Builders Ass'n v. Wisconsin Dep’t of
Transportation, 285 Wis.2d 473, 504, 702 N.W.2d 433,
448 (2005); Wonders v. Pima County, 89 P.3d 810, 816
(Ariz. Ct. App. 2004); Homebuilders Ass’n v. Tualatin Hills
Park & Recreation Dist., 62 P.3d 404, 409 (Ore. Ct. App.
2003); Home Builders Ass’n v. City of Napa, 108 Cal.

12

Rptr.2d 60, 65 (2001), cert. denied, 535 U.S. 954 (2002);
Arcadia Dev. Corp. v. City of Bloomington, 552 N.W.2d
281, 286 (Minn. Ct. App. 1996); and Harris v. Wichita, 862
F. Supp. 287, 294 (D. Kan. 1994).

The Supreme Court of Utah called it an “unruly judicial
chorus on this issue,” but that court found it unnecessary to
add its voice because the Utah legislature had stepped in to
resolve the issue. B.A.M. Development, L.L.C. v. Salt Lake
County, 128 P.3d 1161, 1171 (Utah 2006). Utah Code
Ann. § 17-27a-507 applies Dolan’s rough proportionality
test to all exactions, whether imposed legislatively or
administratively.

A pending bill in Congress would resolve the issue by
applying the constitutional test equally to both legislative
and adjudicative exactions, as well as to required
dedications of both land and fees. H.R. 4772, The Private
Property Rights Implementation Act of 2006, 109th Cong.,
2d Sess. (2006).*° While it passed the Judiciary Committee
by voice vote on July 12, 2006, there has not yet been
action on H.R. 4772 by the full House.

* The dissent in the Washington Supreme Court in this case

believed that the Washington state legislature had likewise
applied the Defan rough proportionality test by statute, but the
majority held otherwise. City of Olympia v. Drebick, 156
Wash.2d 289, 303-04, 320, 126 P.3d 802, 808-09, 817 (2006).

> Section 5 of H.R. 4772 provides: “If the party injured seeks to
redress the deprivation of a property right or privilege under this
section that is secured by the Constitution by asserting a claim
that concerns -- (1) an approval to develop real property that is
subject to conditions or exactions, then the person acting under
color of State law is liable if any such condition or exaction,
whether legislative or adjudicatory in nature, including but not
limited to the payment of a monetary fee or a dedication of real
property from the injured party, is unconstitutional.”

13

One commentator reviewed 29 cases construing Dolan
and concluded that the lower courts are simply confused.
“The survey of the caselaw reveals that the lower courts’
application of the legislative/adjudicative distinction is
inconsistent.” Note, The Distinction between Legislative
and Adjudicative Decisions in Dolan v. City of Tigard, 75
N.Y.U. L. Rev. 242, 256 (2000). The conflict in the lower
courts makes the grant of certiorari all the more compelling
in this case. See Parking Ass’n of Georgia, Inc., 515 U.S.
1116, 1118 (1995) (Thomas, J., dissenting).

D. The Legislative/Administrative Distinction is
Beset by Practical Difficulties and Gives Rise
to Perverse Incentives.

This Court should clear up the post-Dolan confusion not
only because inconsistent lower courts are misapplying the
law but also because the distinction between exactions by
legislation and exactions by administrative determination
cannot be so easily drawn. It is another false distinction
that encourages municipalities to shift public costs away
from voters and on to those who have no voice in municipal
affairs. “The takings clause . . . protects against this
majoritarian tyranny . . . by insisting that the costs imposed
by government use or regulation of private property are
borne by all to whom the benefits inure.” James L.
Huffman, Dolan v. Tigard: Another Step in the Right
Direction, 25 Envtl. L. 143, 152 (1995).

As a practical matter, it is difficult to determine just
when a particular action should be characterized as
legislative or administrative, especially in the land use
context. “{I]n reality, the discretionary powers of
municipal authorities exist along a continuum and seldom
fall into the neat categories of a fully predetermined
legislative exaction or a completely discretionary

14

administrative determination as to the appropriate
exaction.” Note, The Distinction between Legislative and
Adjudicative Decisions in Dolan v. City of Tigard, 75
N.Y.U. L. Rev. 242, 266 (2000). In Town of Flower ~
Mound v. Stafford Estates L.P., 135 $.W.2d 620, 641 (Tex.
2004), the Texas Supreme Court rejected the argument that
Dolan only applied to adjudicative decisions, and
commented, “Nor are we convinced that a workable
distinction can always be drawn between actions
denominated adjudicative and legislative.”

The Texas Supreme Court was correct. Courts struggle
with the application of such a distinction, particularly in the
land use context. Are special use approvals legislative or
quasi-judicial? The law seems to vary. See, e.g., Klaeren
v. Village of Lisle, 202 Ill.2d 164, 183, 781 N.E.2d 223, 234
(2002) (overruling prior cases and holding that special use
approvals are administrative or quasi-judicial). How about
variances? The courts differ. Compare Topanga Ass’n for
a Scenic Community v. County of Los Angeles, 11 Cal.3d
506, 517, 522 P.2d 12, 19 (1974) (grant of a variance is a
quasi-judicial, administrative act) with Hawthorne v.
Village of Olympia Fields, 204 Ill.2d 243, 253, 790 N.E.2d
832, 839 (2004) (action by village board on request for a
variance is legislative). The rezoning of a single parcel of
land? One line of cases holds it to be legislative (Arnel
Development Co. v. City of Costa Mesa, 620 P.2d 565, 567
(Cal. 1980)), while another finds it to be quasi-judicial (see
Harris v. County of Riverside, 904 F.2d 497 (9" Cir. 1990);
Nasierowski Bros. Investment Co. v. City of Sterling
Heights, 949 F.2d 890, 895-897 (6" Cir. 1991); City of
Louisville v. McDonald, 470 S.W.2d 173, 176-78 (Ky.
1971)). :

The seemingly easy distinction applying Dolan’s rough
proportionality test to administrative or quasi-judicial

15

exactions but not to those imposed by legislative fiat is in
fact fraught with practical difficulties. It is also bad public
policy, because the distinction allows municipalities the
too-easy opportunity to simply push the costs attendant to
development on a _ small number of individuals.
Furthermore, in many cases of residential development the
payor is an out-of-town corporation and those residents
ultimately bearing the cost of the impact fee (through
higher home prices) are the buyers of the homes yet to be
built — two groups who lack the right to vote in municipal
elections.° Thus, the idea that the democratic process could
be a sufficient check on extortionate impact fees is not
supportable. See Town of Flower Mound, 135 S.W.3d at
640-41.

Immunizing legislatively imposed exactions from
Dolan’s rough proportionality requirement grants the
government carte blanche to require a developer to pay for
problems that the new development did not create.
Certiorari should be granted to correct any trend in the law
that is contrary to Dolan.

Ill. IMPROPER EXACTIONS HURT AFFORDABLE
HOUSING.

The confusion in the law is bad enough. Worse is the
consequence of continued confusion: more improper
exactions on homebuilders, and less affordable housing for
the public. This Court should grant certiorari now to stop
municipalities from continuing to impose what amounts to
a silent tax that limits the stock of affordable housing.

° As the late Sen. Russell B. Long, former chair of the Senate
Finance Committee, commented in the context of tax reform,
“Don’t tax you, don’t tax me, tax that fellow behind the tree.”
Fred R. Shapiro, The Oxford Dictionary of American Legal
Quotations, 401 (Oxford University Press 1993).

16

The question of just how much a developer is required
to pay when new development is proposed is more than
academic. It directly affects the ability and willingness of
developers to provide badly needed housing. Economists
may argue over just who bears the incidence of exactions —
the homebuyer, the developer, or the landowner who sells
to the developer — but there is no question that there is an
impact. James C. Nicholas, Arthur C. Nelson and Julian
Conrad Juergensmeyer, A Practitioner’s Guide to
Development Impact Fees 61-68 (American Planning
Ass’n, 1991). Moreover, there is general consensus that it
is the homebuyer who ultimately foots the bill for exactions
in the long run.’ Alan A. Altshuler and José A. Gomez-
Ibanez, Regulations for Revenue: The Political Economy of
Land Use Exactions 98 (Brookings Institution/Lincoln
Institute of Land Policy, 1995); Development Exactions 55
(James E. Frank and Robert M. Rhodes, eds. 1987); and
Thomas Snyder, Michael A. Stegman and David H.
Moreau, Paying for Growth: Using Development Fees to
Finance Infrastructure 100 (Urban Land Institute, 1986).

Through various fees and assessments, as well as
requirements for offsite improvements, communities
can force developers to pay for infrastructure and
public services associated with new development.
Using their power to regulate land use, localities
have gradually shifted the burden of supplying such
infrastructure and services from the community at
large to developers. Developers pass the costs along

” Research shows that the average building company makes a
net profit of only 5.4% before taxes. NAHB, Cost of Doing
Business: The Business of Building — Measuring Your Success 7
(2004). Given the narrow profit margin, builders pass on as
much of the cost of municipal exactions to home buyers as
possible.

17

to new homebvyers, in some cases adding
substantially to the total cost of new housing.

Impact fees are regressive because they are
assessed on a per-unit basis, rather than as a percent
of the value of the home. Those who depend on
affordable housing are forced to absorb fees that are
a substantial percentage of the sales price of any
home they purchase. For example, exactions,
dedications, and fees account for as much as 30
percent of the cost of housing in New Jersey.

One consequence of high fee schedules is that
developers opt to build housing only for the higher
end of the single-family market where fees can be
absorbed more easily as a proportion of sales
price.... Those who depend on more affordable
housing are clearly disadvantaged when new
development shifts to the upper income single-
family end of the market.

“Not In My Back Yard,” Removing Barriers to Affordable
Housing, Report to President Bush and Secretary Kemp by
the Advisory Commission on Regulatory Barriers to
Affordable Housing, HUD 5806 (1991) at 2-10-11
(footnotes omitted).

The statements contained in “Not In My Back Yard” are
as true today as in 1991. A California study a decade later
confirmed the same conclusion and made several key

points.

e California development fees are extremely high.
Single-family homebuilders in California in
1999 paid an average of $24,325 per unit in
residential development fees, based on the
results of a sample of 89 cities and counties.
Owners of new infill homes paid an average of

x

18

$20,327 per unit. Apartment developers paid an
average of $15,351 per new apartment unit.

* * *

Fee-setting is not routinely linked with capital
improvements planning. Local capital facilities
fees are usually determined using an average
cost methodology, e.g., historical or projected
capital costs are divided by the current or project
future population to yield a per capita or per
household cost. As a result, the link between
fees and longterm capital improvements
programming (assuming such activities take
place) is typically a weak one.

second issue of concern regarding local

development fees concerns their contribution to the
high cost of housing. Theory suggests, and some
empirical studies demonstrate, that fees contribute
directly to higher housing prices, especially during
periods of high housing demand. Among the key
findings of the research in this area:

California’s high residential development fees
significantly contribute to its high housing costs
and prices. Among the sample of California
jurisdictions, fees account for an average of ten
percent of the median price of new single-family
homes.

The contribution of fees to home prices is
greatest in affordable markets. Among
individual communities in the sample,
development fees accounted for less than five
percent of new home prices in expensive
communities. At the opposite end of the price
spectrum, fees accounted for more than 15

19

percent of new home prices in many jurisdictions
that provide a_ significant share of their

_ respective region’s affordable housing — making
the fee issue all the more significant. .

John D. Landis, Michael Larice, Deva Dawson and Lan
Deng, Pay to Play: Residential Development Fees in
California Cities and Counties, 1999 (Division of Housing
Policy Development of the California Department of
Housing and Community Development, 2001) at 1-3.

All this in a climate in which California alone will have
to produce, on average, 220,000 housing units each year
until 2020 just to keep up with the expected growth in
population. John D. Landis, Raising the Roof: California
Housing Development Projections and Constraints, 1997-
2020 (Division of Housing Policy Development of the
California Department of Housing and Community
Development, 2000) at 7-1.

It is not just California. A study of housing prices in
King County, Washington came to exactly the same
conclusion. Shishir Mathur, Paul Waddell and Hilda
Blanco, The Effect of Impact Fees on the Price of New
Single-Family Housing, 41 Urban Studies 1303, 1308-11
(2004). The decision in this case will, if left unchecked,
unfortunately make it all the more difficult to obtain
affordable housing in that state. Based on recent census
data and typical lending practices, each $1,000 increase in
the price of a $100,000 house drives 420,000 households
out of the home buying market. NAHB, Determining the
Numbers of Households Priced Out of a Market (2004).
Unwarranted exactions on development sooner or later
translate into higher home prices, and thus have a direct
adverse effect on the nation’s supply of affordable housing.

20

There is no practical way in which badly needed
affordable housing can be provided unless the exactions
imposed on new developments are limited to those roughly
proportional to the impacts they create. This Court should
grant certiorari to affirm the discipline imposed by the
constitution on excessive government impact fees.

CONCLUSION

Developers in general, and NAHB in particular, do not
dispute that new development should mitigate the impacts it |
creates. All that they ask is that they not be required to pay
more than an amount roughly proportional to the impacts
created — to be required to do no more than mitigate those
impacts ~ which is what Dolan stands for. If all that is —
required to avoid the test of rough proportionality is to
enact an exactions rate sheet, then Dolan’s promise is
gutted.

Accordingly, NAHB respectfully requests the Court to
grant the petition for writ of certiorari, and reverse the
decision of the Washington state supreme court.

Respectfully submitted,
Deborah R. Meshulam

(Counsel of Record)
Duane J. Desiderio Stephen R. Mysliwiec
Mary Lynn Pickel Thomas F. Geselbracht

Jesse W. Dodson

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
National Association of Home Builders

APPENDIX A

Cases in which NAHB has participated in the United
States Supreme Court include Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447
U.S. 255 (1980); San Diego Gas and Electric Co. v. City of
San Diego, 450 U.S. 621 (1981); Williamson County
Regional Planning Comm'n v.: Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S.
172 (1985); MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County,
477 U.S. 340 (1986); First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church v. Los Angeles County, 482 U.S. 304 (1987);
Nollan v. California Coastal Comm’n, 483 U.S. 825
(1987); Pennell v. City of San Jose, 485 U.S. 1 (1988); Yee
v. City of Escondido, 503 U.S. 519 (1992); Lucas v. South
Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992); Dolan v.
City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994); Babbitt v. Sweet Home
Chapter of Communities for a Greater Ore., 515 U.S. 687
(1995); Suitum v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 520
U.S. 725 (1997); City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes at
Monterey, Ltd., 526 U.S. 687 (1999); Solid Waste Agency
of N. Cook County v. U.S. Army Corps of Eng’rs, 531 U.S.
159 (2001); Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606
(2001); Tahoe-Sierra Preservation Council, Inc. v. Tahoe
Regional Planning Agency, 535 U.S. 302 (2002); Borden
Ranch P'ship v. U.S. Army Corps of Eng’rs, 537 U.S. 99
(2002); City of Cuyahoga Falls. v. Buckeye Community
Hope Foundation, 538 U.S. 188 (2003); So. Fla. Water
Mgmt. Dist. v. Miccosukee Tribe of Indians, 541 U.S. 95
(2004); San Remo Hotel, L.P. v. City and County of San
Francisco, 545 U.S. 323 (2005); Lingle v. Chevron U.S.A.,
Inc., 544 U.S. 528 (2005); Kelo v. City of New London, 125
S.Ct. 2655 (2005); S.D. Warren Co. v. Maine Bd. Env’tal
Protection, 126 S.Ct. 1843 (2006); and Rapanos v. United
States, 126 §.Ct. 2208 (2006).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1321%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
