# Opposition Brief — El Paso Tennessee Pipeline Co. Co. v. Yolton (No. 06-201)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1300%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

No. 06-201 OFFIC ERK
cree meiner te nn ncaa perme tt U.S.
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

EL PASO TENNESSEE PIPELINE CO..,
Petitioner,
V.

GLADYS YOLTON, WILBUR MONTGOMERY, ELSIE TEAS,
ROBERT BETKER, EDWARD MAYNARD, GARY HALSTED
AND CNH AMERICA LLC,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROGER J. MCCLOW *
KLIMIST, MCKNIGHT, SALE,
McCCLOwW & CANZANO, P.C.
- 400 Galleria Officentre, Suite 117
Southfield, MI 48034
(248) 354-9650

Counsel for Respondents Yolton,
Montgomery, Teas, Betker,
* Counsel of Record Maynard and Halsted

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

© Se

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether this Court should decline to review the inter-
locutory decision of the Sixth Circuit which involves the
application of traditional principles of contract interpretation
in a Section 301 breach of contract action.

II. Whether this Court should decline to review the inter-
locutory decision when there is no disagreement among the
Circuits as to the basic principles of contract interpretation
applicable to a Section 301 breach of contract action for
retiree health care benefits.

(i)

11
PARTIES TO THE BRIEF

This Brief in Opposition is filed by Respondents Gladys
Yolton, Wilbur Montgomery, Elsie Teas, Robert Betker,
Edward Maynard, Gary Halsted. In this Brief, these Re-
spondents are referred to as the Plaintiffs.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .....000.:c-cccscorssescessseeeseeseseeees i
Pe A RE I pnctvnctitsntincenibitestibimsibinciniveaita ii
TAREE, GE FAA Fe BE nae vcccecesresescserevssssvessnvisanenenens Vv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .........cccccoccoosssscsecsessesees l
A. The Collective Bargaining Agreements ............ I
a -: a s sicciinccisitinaisticinibichinkeicccnities 4
Gi: FU ei icicccctevdidcareemaghiebtnaniibotenbdeviccesiabestnn 4
D. The District Court’s Preliminary Injunction...... 5

E. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision on Interlocutory
PA siicsinitiiatatiiiaahcssicenbaiiicciahinbieceliesigiianaadesuaius 6
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT..................0+. 6
A. This Petition Involves an Interlocutory Appeal .. 6
B. There is No Split Among the Circuits................ 7

1. El Paso’s Reading of Ten Outcome Deter-

minative “Rules” Demonstrates Only That

the Results Below are Dictated by the
Unique Facts of Each Case............scsecseseees 8

a. The Circuits Agree on the Appropriate

Application of the Extrinsic Evidence
aire scsiscnsticisicerianldbebieatibiemsdabberbadstbensiaciasteaCbhiais 9

b. The Circuits Agree That No Automatic
Presumptions Apply .............:sscessesseeeees 11

c. The Effect of Swesific Words or
FN iiicicctrnsiaiihets oipatntieniibineninss 13

i. El Paso’s “Will Continue” Argument... 14

(iii)

iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS-—Continued
Page
li. El Paso’s Pension Linkage Argument.. 16

iii. E] Paso’s Durational Clause Argu-
OIE, i sicsscesivinisacisnrcinninr Ramco 18

2. Retiree Claims are Frequently Rejected
Within the Sixth Circuit and Frequently
'Provail in Otter Circuits .......2...cccesssssessscseses 18

C. The Sixth Circuit’s Preliminary Decision
Raises No Issues of Importance and Does Not
Conflict With Any Federal Policy ................00 20

CONCLUSION

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Abbruscato v. Empire Blue Cross & Blue Shield,

OE re FE Cals BUS) srctennsctiiernnisicncinctnine 19
Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202

és EEE docipiclabinicscccinsnediinscencndnisescnaessaidiotindbadanmeieediabs 20
American Construction Co. v. Jacksonville T. &

Be Cig HG UB. S72 CRG rreccccesstcecienitecsinens 6

Anderson vy. Alpha Portland Industries, Inc., 836
F.2d 1512 (8th Cir. 1988), cert. denied sub
nom Anderson v. Slattery Group Inc., 489 U.S.

ee dicciccasenecisainditiconetataeercepeienabiauuiiiiintesin 9, 10, 18
Barnett v. Ameren Corp., 436 F.3d 830 (7th Cir.

ee iiicses issiinestadeaivitaeshaitccdiciininiipibineiiicdihiuibaceilbaden 10
Bazzone v. Automotive Industries Welfare Fund,

860 F.2d 1088, 1988 WL 58340 (9th Cir.

Saat snvicitpssiecilesip thanicdiecanditoniibaiadeaayatianiiniaahabipiioaaadas 11
Bidlack v. Wheelabrator Corp., 993 F.2d 603 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 909 (1993)......9, 10, 15, 20
Bittinger v. Tecumseh Products. Co., 83 F.

Supp.2d 851 (E.D. Mich. 1998), aff'd 201 F.3d

400 (6th Cir. 1999) (unpublished opinion)........ 19
Bower v. Bunker Hill Co., 725 F.2d 1221 (9th

aah: SU siniasiadabasacpcssihisamiephteicsibeunistinatadbietieh dialiaashebes 9
Cherry v. Auburn Gear, Inc., 441 F.3d 476 (7th

Ries SI liciicucanconsahideireciidmeesonseceabaouicnadanicecacuie 10, 20
Chiles v. Ceridian Corp., 95 F.3d 1505 (10th Cir.

PPI icscichcietaceciiacnilobcthieisatatinesetin lenis hchaltestiieialilaaieal 19
Diehl v. Twin Disc, Inc., 102 F.3d 301 (7th Cir.

SUPT dissieissigimuninnieitr baat 10, 19, 20
Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S.

i See E TEE TARAS RAN COS SI MS 9,17

Golden v. Kelsey-Hayes Co., 73 F.3d 648 (6th
Cir.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 807 (1996)........ 13, 16, 17

V1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Golden v. Kelsey-Hayes Co., 954 F.Supp. 1173
GRR es SI BI Paanivenininiiersitiebedetistiicitbaenibanilneiak 17
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Brothers &
Cg Be Chee PB CNP OO iencicttittniinsinitmagbavninsands 7
Joyce v. Curtiss-Wright Corp., 992 F. Supp. 259
(W.D.N.Y. 1997), aff'd 171 F.3d 130 (2d Cir.
FD cinitsieiiiiesiptinisicttpinianisdeteniiasicanhteaiachiensanianitatiias 16, 17
Keffer v. H.K. Porter Co., Inc., 872 F.2d 60 (4th
rk ee iieilininlaiiaithicnlantnidadchdinleseitigshichriiiesbledasietiaces 7, 10
LaForest v. Former Clean Air Holding Co., 376
FF ee Oe Ce Ns A nictisccesiichadinsiniinnesdatnntinnnsina 7
Litton Financial Printing v. N.L.R.B., 501 U.S.
BE Ce iciihainicchiaisinertnicaiaidiainadacbitadisiahiataslaaidaian 20
Local 150-A, Food & Commercial Workers v.
Dubuque Packing Co., 756 F.2d 66 (8th Cir.
Pi islicintndedicaikiuntinaneilsiibameimbtdsaas decunidoaassieaies 9
Machinists v. Masonite Corp., 122 F.3d 228 (Sth
is a Raabiicieitesciieeicsibiiuniidiidisisbscentandeaiiie gc 9,10, 11
Maurer v. Joy Technologies, Inc., 212 F.3d 907
CR i See cv icsissspiceiihscietntecenabenondivinensiieesioiora 11, 12,19
McCoy v. Meridian Automotive Systems, Inc.,
390 F.3d 417 (6th Cir. 2004)... 9, 12, 16, 17
Murphy v. Keystone Steel & Wire Co., 61 F.3d
Se CFs EE sisinnnstenesicininisbdpeniainesatonnias 19
Pabst Brewing Co. v. Corrao, 161 F.3d 434 (7th
Es Pe ciniidnantitnttccnieniististdumsiosiadinbiandbheginokenien 19
Paperworkers v. Champion International Corp.,
FOB F.26 UBS2 CGR Cie. TSO) a rvcsccccccrccceincssevese 10

Rossetto v. Pabst Brewing Co., 217 F.3d 539 (7th

Cir. 2000), cert denied, 531 U.S. 1192 (2001).... 10, 11, 19
Senior v. NSTAR Electric & Gas Corp., 449 F.

BG FO TIRE GA, BON cihicesitinsininintacalilsitintrcinioniines 11, 13

ei

Vil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Senn v. United Dominion Industries, Inc., 951

F.2d 806 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 509

CF FS GEG ccchtiiceivnsiaicesesinicticinitn ee ae a 14, 15, 19
Steelworkers v. Connors Steel Co., 855 F.2d

1499 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied sub nom

H.K. Porter Co. Inc., v. Steelworker, 489 U.S.

RU Ce hiccviincnctcisvvininciuieithbutibagaienuciccuineiienian 7, 10
Steelworkers v. Textron, Inc., 836 F.2d 6 (Ast Cir.

NOD siiscinivicsvsscidescicte lirica cael tiadcasuictaaniail 7
Stewart v. KHD Deutz of America, Corp., 980

F.2d 698 (11th Cir. 1993).........ccccccesees 9, 10, 14, 16, 19
Teamsters Welfare Fund v. Rolls-Royce Motor

Cars, Inc., 989 F.2d 132 (3d Cir. 1993)............ 10
UAW v. Cadillac Malleable Iron Co., 728 F.2d

BF CU ae, FTE pniiracncticicetitamidstasicemmbaaiase 13

UAW v. Cleveland Gear Corp., 1983 WL 2174
in _ (N.D. Ohio 1983), aff'd 1984 U.S. App. és
LEXIS 13700 (6th Cir. 1984) (unpublished
CUIINA, ccksrcincsteniincisiaciespesttibguusdsvcahabianaiananheds 19
UAW v. BVR Liquidating, Inc., 190 F.3d 768 (6th
Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1067 (2000)... 12, 14
UAW v. Roblin Industries, Inc., 561 F. Supp. 288

CWB DIGI, TUS D sccresacierlsicubsctenerrbicabanliacadanacl 19
UAW v. Skinner Engine Co., 188 F.3d 130 (3d
CR, Re Picci coliocansicsiaichelbniiepipisiondeidiotareiibbintnteaneians 9, 10, 14

UAW v. Yard-Man, Inc., 716 F.2d 1476 (6th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1007 (1984)........ 12, 13
Vallone v. CNA Financial Corp., 375 F.3d 623

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 543 U.S. 1021 (2004)... 16, 17
Virginia Military Institute v. United States, 508

So PE NUP ID voedinesvatissteesesennsitbneiadudetanaiubaaiis 7
Zielinski v. Pabst Brewing Co., F.3d .

2006 WL 2567468 (7th Cir. 2006) .............:c000- 19

Viil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
OTHER AUTHORITIES Page

Ossi, It Doesn't Add Up: The Broken Promises of
Lifetime Health Benefits, Medicare and Act
counting Rule FAS 106 Do Not Equal Satis-
factory Medical Coverage for Retirees, 13 J.
of Contemp. Health L. & Policy 233 (1996)..... 3

ree

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 06-201

EL PASO TENNESSEE PIPELINE CoO.,
Petitioner,
Vv.

GLADYS YOLTON, WILBUR MONTGOMERY, ELSIE TEAS,
ROBERT BETKER, EDWARD MAYNARD, GARY HALSTED
AND CNH America LLC,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

es

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. The Collective Bargaining Agreements

Beginning in 1970, Tenneco Corporation (now El Paso)
was the parent and sole shareholder of Case Corporation
(now CNH America LLC), a manufacturer of farm and con-
struction equipment.’ Pet. 2a.

' Case was known as J.I. Case Company prior to 1990 when it changed
its name to Case Corporation. Pet. App. 40a. In 2004, Case changed its
name to CNH America LLC.

2
Case and the UAW were parties to a series of collective
bargaining agreements (CBAs) which included Group Insur-
ance Plans (GIPs) addressing benefits for various categories

of employees as well as retirees and their surviving spouses.
Pet. App. 3a.

In 1971, Case agreed to pay the entire cost of health care
benefits for retirees and surviving spouses over age 65 begin-
ning January 1, 1972. Pet. App. 42a. The GIPs contained a
section entitled: “Provisions Applicable to Employees Retired
on Company Pension and Surviving Spouses Receiving Com-
pany Pension.” That section provided that Case “shall pay the
full premium cost of [health care] coverages” for “Employees
who retire under the J I Case Pension Plan for Hourly Paid
Ernployees, or their surviving spouses eligible to receive a
Spouse’s pension under the provisions of that Plan... .” Pet.
App. 4la-42a. ~

In a December 30, 1971 letter, Case’s Benefits Manager
explained these benefits to retirees: “Retirees and Surviving
Spouses, age 65 or older, are not required to pay a premium,
either for themselves or any dependent. Instead, the coverage
shall be fully paid by the Company.” In response to the
question: “Will my spouse be able to keep this coverage if I
pass away?” he answered: “/f you have elected the Spouse’s
Optional Form of Pension and your spouse will receive a
pension as a result, your spouse will be able to keep this cov-
erage for the remainder of her lifetime. . . .” (emphasis
added). Pet. App. 58a.

In the 1974 negotiations, Case extended fully paid cover-
age to retirees and surviving spouses regardless of age. The
language of the GIPs relating to retiree health care benefits
remained substantially unchanged from 1974 to 1990. Pet.
App. 42a.

In 1987, Case and the UAW negotiated a Plant Shutdown
Agreement for the Rock Island, Bettendorf and Terre Haute

3

plants. The Shutdown Agreement provided enhanced retire-
ment options which included retiree health care benefits. The
Shutdown Agreement described “hospitalization/medical in-
surance” (as well as retiree life insurance and pensions) as
“vested residual rights.” Pet. App. 43a.

The CBA, at Article XVI, Section 4 contained the follow-
ing two provisions:

4A. The insurance plan agreed to between the parties
will run concurrently with this Agreement and is hereby
made part of this Agreement.

4C. The pension plan agreed to between the parties will
run concurrently with this Agreement and is hereby
made part of this Agreement. Pet. App. 3a.

Case’s benefit representatives at the various plants consis-
tently informed retirees verbally and in writing that they
would have unchanged, fully paid health care benefits for
their lifetimes and that their surviving spouses would also
have lifetime health care benefits. Pet. App. 57a-60a.

On November 5, 1993, Case Corporation and the UAW
initialed an Extension Agreement to extend the 1990 CBA
through February 5, 1995. Section 9 of the Extension Agree-
ment, entitled “FAS 106 Out-Year Cost Limiters,”” refers to a
“Letter of Agreement” that the cost to the company of pro-
viding benefits to retirees after April 1, 1998 would not
exceed a specified dollar amount. Pet. App. 44a-45a.

? FAS 106 is an accounting standard promulgated by the Financial
Accounting Standards Board requiring companies to report post-retire-
ment health care obligations. on their financial statements on an accrual
basis. Companies used various methods to reduce the FAS 106 figure.
See Ossi, It Doesn't Add Up: The Broken Promises of Lifetime Health
Benefits, Medicare and Account-ing Rule FAS 106 Do Not Equal
Satisfactory Medical Coverage for Retirees, 13 J. of Contemp. Health L.
& Policy 233 (1996).

B. The Reorganization

In 1994, Case Corporation was a still wholly owned sub-
sidiary of Tenneco Corporation. Pet. App. 40a. In early 1994,
Tenneco’s Board of Director’s decided to “reorganize” to fa-
cilitate a public offering of its “equity interests in Tenneco’s
farm and construction equipment business . . .” (defined as
the “Case Business”). CNH Pet. App. 82a.’ The Reorganiza-
tion Agreement was between Tenneco, Case Corporation and
a new corporation (Case Equipment Corporation) that Ten-
neco incorporated for that purpose. Pet. App. 2a-3a, 45a-47a.
Tenneco assigned all of the Case Business to Case Equipment
except for Tenneco’s ownership of Case stock, certain de-
mand notes and subordinated debt and certain Retained
Assets and the Retained Liabilities. Pet. App. 2a-3a. In the
Employee Benefit and Compensation Allocation Agreement,
(“Allocation Agreement”), Tenneco assumed Case’s post-
retirement health and life insurance obligations (the “Re-
tained Liabilities”) for pre-reorganization retirees. Case
Equipment “assumed” the existing CBAs including the 1990
CBA under which many Plaintiffs retired. Pet. App. 5a-6a,
CNH Pet. App. 84a.

At 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 1994, Case Corporation changed
its name to Tenneco Equipment Corporation. One minute
later, Case Equipment Corporation changed its name to Case
Corporation. CNH Pet. App. 83a. Thereafter, Tenneco began
paying the full cost of the plaintiff's health care benefits. Pet.
App. 6a.

C. The Dispute

In 1996, Tenneco merged with El Paso. Pet App. 47a. In
October 1997, El Paso notified retirees that they had to pay

El Paso did not include the district court’s post- December 31, 2003
orders in its Appendix. As to these orders, Plaintiffs will cite to CNH’s
Petition Appendix as CNH Pet. App. _.

5

$56 a month for their health care coverage beginning April 1,
1998. Pet. App. 7a. In November 1997, Case Corporation
notified retirees and surviving spouses that it would pay this
contribution through the end of 1998. Pet. App. 49a. During
the 1998 negotiations with the UAW, Case Corporation
agreed to fund a VEBA trust to pay health care contributions
for pre-reorganization retirees. Pet. App. 49a. In August
2002, when VEBA funds were exhausted, El Paso informed
retirees that they would have to pay $290 per month for their
health care benefits. Pet. App. 49a. In October 2002, Plain-
tiffs sued Case and El Paso. Pet. App. 49a.

~In September 2002, Case Corporation changed its name to
Case, LLC. Pet. App. 40a. In January 2004, Case, LLC
changed its name to CNH America LLC. CNH Pet. App. 91a.

D. The District Court’s Preliminary In junction

On December 31, 2003, the district court granted Plaintiffs’
motion for preliminary injunction. It concluded that, based
on the express language of the GIP, retirees were entitled to
lifetime health care benefits. Pet. App. 53a-57a. The court
then found that “[e]ven if the parties’ intent were not clear
based on the express language of the various labor agree-
ments,” there was substantial extrinsic evidence confirming
Case’s intent to provide fully paid lifetime health care bene-
fits. Pet. App. 57a-60a. The court further concluded that El
Paso, as Tenneco’s successor, had assumed Case’s obligation
to provide the benefits. CNH Pet. App. 67a-69a.

On March 9, 2004, the court granted El Paso’s motion for
reconsideration, concluding that it had “overlook[ed] the fact
that, as the signatory to the CBAs, Case LLC retained liability
for Plaintiffs’ health care costs despite E] Paso’s subsequent
assumption of those liabilities ... .” CNH Pet. App. 80a. On
September 3, 2004, the district court granted summary judg-
ment for CNH on its indemnity cross-claim against E] Paso.
Pet. App. 30a.

E. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision on Interlocutory
Appeal

On January 17, 2006, the Sixth Circuit affirmed, con-
cluding that the district court had not abused its discretion in
issuing the preliminary injunction. The Sixth Circuit also
affirmed the March 9, 2004 decision that Case was directly
liable to the retirees and the September 3, 2004 decision
granting summary judgment for Case on its indemnification
cross claim.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Nothing about this interlocutory decision is worthy of
review by this Court. The Sixth Circuit simply determined
that the district court did not abuse its discretion in making a
preliminary determination, based on those facts then avail-
able, that Plaintiffs were likely to ultimately prevail.

The district court engaged in a preliminary, garden-variety
exercise in contract interpretation. This dispute will ulti-
mately require examination of CBAs going back three dec-
ades and the facts surrounding the negotiation and admini-
stration of those CBAs before there can be a final determina-
tion of the intent of the parties. Because CNH claimed below
that it did not sign the CBA’s, the ultimate resolution of this
case will also require a detailed factual inquiry into Case’s
corporate history, Tenneco’s 1994 reorganization and the op-
erations of the entities involved.

These issues still to be decided, by definition, present fact-
specific questions. The final outcome is not foreordained by
the preliminary rulings of the courts below. Moreover, there
is no conflict in the Circuits. The petition should be denied.

A. This Petition Involves an Interlocutory Appeal

This Court has long disfavored the grant of certiorari with
respect to interlocutory decisions. American Construction
Co. v. Jacksonville T. & K.R. Co., 148 U.S. 372, 384 (1893);

7

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Brothers & Co., 240 U.S.
251, 258 (1916) (certiorari should be granted as to interlocu-
tory decisions only in “extraordinary” cases).

As the cases cited by CNH in its parallel Petition illustrate,
this Court has generally found interlocutory decisions “ex-
traordinary” only when they involve fundamental constitu-
tional rights. CNH Opp. 7-8.*

There is nothing extraordinary about this case. The district
court issued a preliminary injunction requiring the continua-
tion of health care coverage while the action below continues,
as courts have often done. See e.g. Steelworkers v. Textron,
Inc., 836 F.2d 6 (1st Cir. 1986); LaForest v. Former Clean
Air Holding Co., 376 F.3d 48 (2d Cir. 2004); Keffer v. H_K.
Porter Co., Inc., 872 F.2d 60, 61 (4th Cir. 1989); Steel-
workers v. Connors Steel Co., 855 F.2d 1499, 1500 (11th Cir.
1988), cert denied sub nom H.K. Porter Co., Inc., v. Steel-
workers, 489 U.S. 1096 (1989). As the Sixth Circuit noted
below: “As the injunction issued by the district court is a
preliminary injunction, the defendants may continue to press
their arguments below... .” Pet. App. 20a. After a final
decision is rendered, either party can then petition for a
review of all issues that turn out to be, in fact, dispositive.
See Virginia Military Institute v. United States, 508 U.S. 946
(1993).

B. There is No Split Among the Circuits

El Paso barely mentions the Sixth Circuit’s interlocutory
decision below in its arguments for certiorari review of that
decision. As set forth above, the decision below is a routine
decision affirming a preliminary injunction and therefore
inappropriate for review by this Court. Putting this dis-
positive -point aside, Plaintiffs show below that there is no

* References to Plaintiffs’ Opposition to CNH’s Petition will be shown
as “CNH Opp. vs

8

split among the Circuits with respect to the analytical
framework by which collectively bargained retiree health care
disputes are decided.

E] Paso canvasses dozens of Circuit decisions in an effort
to show a substantive conflict. El Paso seizes on any factual
similarity between a case in which an employer prevailed and
one in which the employer did not and pronounces a conflict
based on those results. As shown below, El Paso’s “con-
flicts” evaporate on even a cursory review of the cases.

1. El Paso’s Reading of Ten Outcome Deter-
minative “Rules” Demonstrates Only That the
Results Below are Dictated by the Unique Facts
of Each Case

El Paso posits ten conflicting and outcome determinative
“rules” it believes can be extracted from various Circuit deci-
sions in retiree health care disputes over the last twenty-five
years. Pet. 9-16, 18-21. In fact, as set forth in the Opposition
to CNH Petition, the Circuits are in substantial agreement on
the analytical approach in these cases.

The rules El Paso would read into various Circuit decisions
involving retiree health care disputes are so numerous that
repeating them would not be useful here, except to note that
they involve: 1) consideration of extrinsic evidence; 2) whether
the contractual analysis should begin with a presumption for
or against vesting; and 3) whether certain specific words in a

Sh ales Sees TER AREER: oe RS oR ren nner RE

9

CBA operate to vest benefits or not.” As we show below,
there is no Circuit conflict on any of these points.

a. The Circuits Agree on the Appropriate
Application of the Extrinsic Evidence Rule

El Paso asserts that the Circuits disagree about when ex-
trinsic evidence can be admitted in retiree health care disputes.
Pet. 9. To the contrary, the Circuits which have addressed this
question have all recognized and applied the centuries-old rule
that extrinsic evidence may be considered to resolve am-
biguities in a written contract.® Because of the fact dependent

* El Paso also argues that the Circuits disagree on how to analyze re-
tiree plans that are not the product of collective bargaining. Pet. 13. This
case involves a collectively bargained plan and is not, therefore, a vehicle
for reviewing the analytical tools in examining unilaterally created bene-
fit plans. Respondents note in passing, however, that unilateral plans—
unlike collectively bargained plans—typically grant discretionary inter-
pretive authority to the employer, resulting in arbitrary and capricious
review of the employers’ interpretation of plan language regarding vest-
ing. See Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115
(1989). In contrast, the typical retiree health care dispute arising out of
collectively bargained plans is subject to de novo review.

® See UAW vy. Skinner Engine Co., 188 F.3d 130, 142-146 (3d Cir. 1999),
Machinists v. Masonite Corp., 122 F.3d 228, 233 (5th Cir. 1997) (“Because
the agreements are ambiguous, the district court should have considered
extrinsic evidence of intent”); McCoy v. Meridian Automotive Systems, Inc.,
390 F.3d 417, 422 (2004) (“When ambiguities exist . . . the court may
examine extrinsic evidence of the parties’ intent.”); Bidlack v. Wheelabrator
Corp., 993 F.2d 603, 609 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,-510 U.S. 909 (1993)
(directing consideration of extrinsic evidence where contractual terms were
inconclusive); Anderson v. Alpha Portland Industries, Inc., 836 F.2d 1512,
1517 (8th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1051 (1989) (“{I]f the contract
is deemed ambiguous, then the court may weigh extrinsic circumstances to
aid in its construction,” quoting Local 150-A, Food & Commercial Workers
v. Dubuque Packing Co., 756 F.2d 66, 69 (8th Cir 1985) with approval);
Bower v. Bunker Hill Co., 725 F.2d 1221, 1224 (9th Cir. 1984); Stewart v.
KHD Deutz of America, Corp., 980 F.2d 698, 702 (11th Cir. 1993) (“Once
it is established that the contract is ambiguous, . . . extrinsic evidence is
admissible to explain that ambiguity”).

10

nature of these cases, courts have almost always found it
necessary to examine extrinsic evidence to determine whether
the parties to a CBA intended to establish vested benefits.’ In
unusual cases courts have found that written language
unambiguously promises retirees vested health care,® or clearly
does not.’ There is simply no disagreement on the application
of this fundamental principle.

E] Paso asserts that the Third Circuit, in UAW v. Skiner
Engine Co., 188 F.3d 130 (3d Cir. 1999), held that the tradi- -
tional extrinsic evidence rule does not apply in retiree health
care disputes. Pet. 9. In fact, the Skinner panel explicitly con-
firmed that it does apply. The court stated that a contract
clause is ambiguous when it is subject to reasonable alterna-
tive interpretations and that “[rjeference must often be made
to the ‘contract language, the meanings suggested by counsel,
and the extrinsic evidence offered in support of each
interpretation.’” 188 F.3d at 142, quoting Teamsters Welfare
Fund v. Rolls-Royce Motor Cars Inc., 989 F.2d 132, 133 (3d
Cir. 1993). The Skinner court found the retiree health care

- “will continue” language presented in that case unambiguous,

however, only after examining prior contracts that indicated
the “will continue” language did not address duration, but
whether there had been a change in benefits from the previous
contract. 188 F.3d at 142-143. In fact, in Skinner, the court

” See Keffer v. H.K. Porter Co., Inc., 872 F.2d 60, 64 (4th Cir. 1989);
Machinists v. Masonite Corp., 122 F.3d at 233; Paperworkers v. Cham-
pion International Corp., 908 F.2d 1252, 1261 (Sth Cir. 1990); Bidlack v.
Wheelabrator Corp., 993 F.2d at 609-610 ; Rossetto v. Pabst Brewing
Co., 217 F.3d 539, 546-547 (7th Cir. 2000); Anderson v. Alpha Portland
Industries, Inc., 836 F.2d 1512, 1518 (8th Cir. 1988), cert. denied sub
nom Anderson v. Slattery Group, Inc., 489 U.S. 1051 (1989); Stewart v.
KHD Deutz of America, Corp. 980 F. 2d at 703.

® See Steelworkers v Connors Steel Co., 855 F.2d 1499, 1504 (11th Cir.
1988); Diehl v. Twin Disc, Inc., 102 F.3d 301, 307 (7th Cir. 1996).

* See Barnett v. Ameren Corp., 436 F.3d 830, 835 (7th Cir. 2006);
Cherry v. Auburn Gear, Inc., 441 F.3d 476, 483-486 (7th Cir. 2006).

11

stated that extrinsic evidence could have changed the result.
Thus, the court stated that the “out-come of this case would
no doubt be different” if the company’s former CEO had
testified that, in agreeing to include the phrases “will con-
tinue” and “shall remain” in the CBA, the company intended
that language to mean that retiree benefits were vested. . /d. at
147. See also infra at 14-15, and CNH Opp. 16.

b. The Circuits Agree That No Automatic Pre-
sumptions Apply
El Paso next argues that the Circuits disagree as to whether
an automatic presumption for or against vesting should be
applied in resolving retiree health care disputes. This issue
has long been laid to rest. All Circuits to address the issue
agree that no automatic presumption should apply.'® El Paso
nevertheless argues that_the Seventh Circuit applies an
automatic presumption that retiree health care benefits are not
vested and that the Sixth Circuit applies a presumption that
benefits are vested. Pet. 11. As the Circuit decisions show,
neither assertion is correct.

In the Seventh Circuit, as Judge Posner observed in Ros-
setto v. Pabst Brewing Co., 217 F.3d 539, 544 (7th Cir.
2000), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1192 (2001), a presumption
would arise only in the atypical situation where a contract
contains no language that could reasonably be construed to
vest retiree benefits:

Our presumption against vesting, it is important to
emphasize, ‘icks in only if all the court has to go on is

7

'° Maurer v. Joy Technologies, Inc., 212 F.3d 907, 917 (6th Cir, 2000)
(no presumption for vesting); Machinists v. Masonite Corp., 122 F.3d
228, 231 (Sth Cir. 1997) (no presumption against vesting); Senior v.
NSTAR Electric & Gas Corp., 449 F. 3d 206, 217 (ist Cir. 2006)(no
presumption for or against vesting); Rosetto v. Pabst Brewing Co., 217
F.3d 539, 544 (7th Cir. 2000)(same); Bazzone v. Automotive Industries
Welfare Fund, 860 F.2d 1088, 1988 WL 58340 *4 (9th Cir. 1988) (un-
reported decision)(recognizing Yard-Man does not create a presumption)

12

silence. . . . The presumption is thus a default rule, that
is, a rule to be applied when there is no other evidence.

Similarly, since it decided UAW vy. Yard-Man Inc., 716 (6th
Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1007 (1984), the Sixth Cir-
cuit has repeatedly stated that it does not apply any presump-
tion in favor of vesting. As the Sixth Circuit stated below:

El Paso and CNH America misinterpret the term “infer-
ence” and confuse it with a legal presumption. Under
Yard-Man we may infer an intent to vest from the
context and already sufficient evidence of such intent.
Absent such other evidence, we do not start our analysis
presuming anything. . . . “[t]here is no legal presumption
that benefits vest and that the burden of proof rests on
plaintiffs.” Maurer, 212 F.3d at 917. This Court has
never inferred an intent to vest in the absence of either
explicit contractual language or extrinsic evidence
indicating such an intent. Rather, the inference functions
more to provide a contextual understanding about the
nature of labor-management negotiations over retiree
benefits.

Pet. App. 12a.

Although the Third Circuit in its 1999 Skinner decision
phrased the Sixth Circuit’s position on this issue in terms of a
presumption, 188 F.3d at 140 (“We cannot agree with Yard-
Man that there exists a presumption of lifetime benefits . . .”),
there is no longer any doubt that the Sixth Circuit does not
apply a presumption. The Sixth Circuit has emphasized that
no presumption applies three times since Skinner was decided
—in the decision below, in Maurer v. Joy Technologies, Inc.,
212 F.3d 907, 917 (6th Cir, 2000) and in McCoy v. Merid-
ian Automotive Systems, Inc., 390 F.3d 417, 422 (6th Cir.
2004)."'

'' Bl Paso argues that there is some confusion on this question within
the Sixth Circuit by noting that the word “presumption” appears in UAW

13

The First Circuit recognized the settled state of Sixth
Circuit law on this question in Senior v. NSTAR Electric &
Gas Corp., 449 F. 3d 206, 217 (1st Cir. 2006). It rejected
plaintiff's claim that Yard-Man created a presumption in
favor of vesting, noting that: “In Yolton, 435 F.3d 571[(6th
Cir. 2006)], the court said: ‘All that Yard-Man and subse-
quent cases instruct is that the court should apply ordinary
principles of contract interpretation. Jd. at 580.’”

The Yard-Man inference is simply one tool among many
used to interpret CBAs.'? As the Sixth Circuit explained in
Golden v. Kelsey-Hayes Co., 73 F.3d 648, 656 (6th Cir.), cert.
denied, 519 U.S. 807 (1996):

the Yard-Man inference, and the other teachings of the
opinion regarding contract interpretation and the con-
sideration of extrinsic evidence, simply guide courts
faced with the task of discerning the intent of the parties
from vague or ambiguous CBAs.

c. The Effect of Specific Words or Phrases

Finally, E] Paso attempts to articulate a Circuit conflict by
asserting that cases El Paso characterizes as having identical

v. BVR Liquidating, Inc., 190 F.3d 768 (6th Cir. 1999). That reference,
however, appeared in the court’s characterization of a party’s argument,
not in the panel’s articulation of the Yard-Man decision. The panel itself
Clearly stated that Yard-Man permitted an “inference,” and that “Yard-
Man does not shift the burden of proof to the employer.” 190 F.3d at 772,
quoting Golden v. Kelsey-Hayes Co., 73 F.3d 648, 656 (6th Cir. 1996),
which in turn quoted UAW v. Cadillac Malleable Iron Co., 728 F.2d 807,
808 (6th Cir. 1984), for the proposition that “there is no legal presumption
based on the status of retired employees.”

'? In any case, neither the district court nor the Sixth Circuit relied on
the Yard-Man inference. The Sixth Circuit noted that, while the district
court mentioned the inference, its “analysis does not in any sense rely on
an inference. . . . Instead, the district court interpreted the language of the ,
agreement and found evidence that the defendants intended to confer life-
time benefits upon the plaintiffs.” Pet. App. 14a. (emphasis in original).

—

retiree health care provisions were decided differently by
different Circuits. Pet. 18-21. The cited cases actually in-
volve quite different language in different contexts. They are
not at all in conflict.

i. El Paso’s “Will Continue” Argument

El Paso first argues that Circuits differ on whether the words
“will continue” automatically vest benefits. The answer from
the Circuits, not surprisingly, is that it depends on the factual
context. El Paso argues that the Sixth Circuit’s decision in
UAW v. BVR Liquidating, Inc., 190 F.3d 768 (6th Cir. 1999),
cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1067 (2000), the Third Circuit’s
decision in Skinner, the Seventh Circuit’s decision in Senn v.
United Dominion Industries, Inc., 951 F.2d 806 (7th Cir.
1992), cert. denied, 509 U.S. 903 (1993) and the Eleventh
Circuit’s decision in Stewart v. KHD Deutz of America, Corp.,
980 F.2d 698 (11th Cir. 1993), all adopted conflicting rules
with respect to the same retiree health care provisions. A
cursory review of the cases shows that the language examined
in each of the cases was dramatically different.

In BVR Liquidating, the company had agreed, in a prior
contract, that retiree health care benefits would be paid for
retirees “until death,” that is, that the coverage would not
continue for surviving spouses after the retiree’s death. A
subsequent contract expanded the coverage to include sur-
viving spouses and therefore the prior language that termi-
nated coverage at the retiree’s death was removed. 190 F.3d
at 770 n. 5. The new, more expansive provision stated that
the retirees would have coverages “continued for themselves,
their spouses, surviving spouses, and eligible dependents.” /d.
After examining the entire contract, including durational
clauses, the Sixth Circuit found the language ambiguous,
reviewed extrinsic evidence and concluded that the benefits
were vested. Jd. at 774-775.

In Skinner, a CBA provided that the company “will con-
tinue to provide” medical coverage. 188 F.3d at 135. The

15

Third Circuit noted, however, that this language had been
changed from contract to contract depending on whether the
new contract continued previous coverage or changed the
previous coverage. If the latter, the contract contained “will
be instituted,” for example, rather than “will continue.” The
Third Circuit found, based on this history, that “will con-
tinue” referred to whether there had been a change in cov-
erage, not to duration. 188 F.3d at 142-143. The Third
Circuit also relied on the fact that the retiree health care
language did not specifically mention retirees at all:

the CBA provisions make no material distinction
between active employees and retirees in this regard.
The only reasonable conclusion—if one begins with the
uncontroversial premise that benefits for active
employees were not vested—is that benefits for retirees
were likewise not vested.

Id. at 144:

After examining other parts of the CBA and, as noted
above, extrinsic evidence, the Third Circuit in Skinner
determined that the contract provisions were not ambiguous
and held, based on the particular facts described above, that
the benefits were not vested. /d. at 147.

El Paso claims that the Seventh Circuit in Senn applied yet
a third outcome-determinative rule to “will continue” contract
language. In fact, as the Seventh Circuit later pointed out in
Bidlack v. Wheelabrator, 993 F.3d at 608, the language in
Senn did not merely say that retiree benefits “will continue:”

The language in Senn was weaker: it was that the
company “will continue for retired employees” a spe-
cified premium contribution. And the final agreement
between the company and the union in that case, which
could be thought declaratory of earlier understandings,
said that coverage “shall be continued during the term of
this agreement.”

ei

16

The other case cited by El Paso in support of its “will
continue” argument, Stewart v. KHD Deutz of America, Inc.,
980 F.2d 698 (11th Cir. 1988), did not involve “will con-
tinue” language at all. Rather, the contract provided that cov-
erage “shall be provided . . . during retirement.” 980 F.2d at
701-702. Because the contract also contained a reservation of
rights clause, the Eleventh Circuit found it ambiguous and
remanded for consideration of extrinsic evidence. /d. at
703-704.

As the Circuit decisions cited by El Paso above show,
neither the Sixth Circuit, in BVR Liquidating, nor the Third,
Seventh or Eleventh Circuits based their decisions on a
myopic reading of a two-word phrase such as “will continue.”
Rather, all the Circuits to address collectively bargained
retiree health care disputes have applied traditional rules of

P contract interpretation to the unique facts of each case.’

ii. El Paso’s Pension Linkage Argument

El Paso next asserts that two Sixth Circuit decisions,
Golden v. Kelsey-Hayes, supra, and McCoy v. Meridian Auto-
motive Systems, supra, were decided differently than two
decisions E] Paso claims had identical governing documents
—the Second Circuit’s decision in Joyce v. Curtiss-Wright
Corp., 171 F.3d 130 (2d Cir. 1999) and the Seventh Circuit’s
decision in Vallone v. CNA Financial Corp., 375 F.3d 623 °
(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 543 U.S. 1021 (2004).

Again, a review of the facts shows that these decisions
turned on very different written provisions. The decisions are
not at all inconsistent.

'? See CNH Opp. 13-20.

17

In Golden, the court articulated—as one factor'*—that the
CBA provided that retirees were eligible for health care
benefits if they were eligible for a company pension. 73 F.3d
at 656. The court in McCoy addressed similar pro-
visions—and additional extrinsic evidence—and reached the
same result. 390 F.3d at 423-424.

In Joyce and Vallone, the courts rejected vesting claims
because explicit reservation of rights clauses gave the em-
ployers the right to modify their benefits. In Joyce, the
Second Circuit rejected a vesting argument where a summary
plan description given to retirees specifically stated that their
retiree medical benefits “are of a contractual nature, and they
may be modified from time to time or terminated as a result
of contractual negotiations.”'* 171 F.3d at 132. In Vallone,
the Seventh Circuit examined a plan unilaterally promulgated
by the employer. The plan documents contained a reservation
of rights provision which stated that the retiree coverages
“may be amended, revoked, or suspended at the Company’s
discretion at any time, even after your retirement.” 375 F.3d
at 636.'°

'4 The Sixth Circuit in Golden also relied on many other facts as well,
including language in the SPDs and the fact that the company continued
to provide retiree health care long after it sold the facilities in question.
Golden, 73 F.3d at 656-57. The district court subsequently found a
“veritable mountain of evidence” to support its finding that retiree health
care benefits had vested. Golden v. Kelsey-Hayes Co., 954 F. Supp. 1173,
1187-88 (E.D. Mich. 1997).

'S See Joyce v. Curtis-Wright Corp., 992 F. Supp. 259, 263-263 (W.D.
N.Y. 1997), setting forth factual details.

'® The Seventh Circuit’s Vallone decision was also based on the court’s
finding that the plan documents granted the company discretion in
interpreting the plan, and that the company’s interpretation must therefore
be upheld unless it was arbitrary and capricious, as held in Firestone Tire
& Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989). 375 F.3d at 631-632.
This grant of discretion is typical of unilaterally-promulgated benefit
plans and rare in collectively bargained plans. Collectively bargained

18
iii. El Paso’s Durational Clause Argument

El Paso notes that an Eighth Circuit case interpreted a
durational clause as being inconsistent with vesting, and
argues that this decision is inconsistent with the Sixth Cir-
cuit’s determination in the decision below that a general
durational clause in the Case CBAs did not preclude vesting.
Pet. 20-21. The two decisions are not at all inconsistent. In
Anderson v. Alpha Portland Industries, Inc., 836 F.2d 1512
(8th Cir. 1987), cited by El Paso, the CBA specifically
provided that retiree insurance coverage could be “amended,
modified or supplemented in collective bargaining between
the parties.” The Eighth Circuit therefore decided those
benefits could be modified. 836 F.2d at 1514-1515. The
general durational clause examined by the Sixth Circuit
below is dramatically different. That clause merely provides
that the insurance plan would run concurrently with the CBA.
Unlike the durational clause in Anderson, the general
durational clause examined by the courts below does not
mention retirees and contains no statement that retiree
benefits could be modified by subsequent negotiations. Pet.
App. 13a-14a. It is simply not possible to conjure a conflict
between the decision below and the Eighth Circuit’s decision
in Anderson.

2. Retiree Claims are Frequently Rejected Within
the Sixth Circuit and Frequently Prevail in
Other Circuits

El Paso seeks to extract outcome-determinative rules from
a variety of factually distinct cases. As showr above, the
Circuits have not applied any such rules, but have applied
traditional rules of contract interpretation to widely disparate
factual situations. The absence of any outcome-determinative

retiree disputes, therefore, are typically reviewed under a de novo standard
under which the employer and retiree interpretations of applicable retiree
healt: care provisions are entitled to equal weight.

19

rules is further demonstrated by noting that retirees frequently
fail in the Sixth Circuit'’ and frequently prevail in other
Circuits. '*

El] Paso argues that a substantive split must exist because
retirees have prevailed more often in Sixth Circuit decisions
than in Seventh Circuit decisions. Pet. 15 n.5. As the cases
cited by El Paso in support of this argument show, how-
ever, a majority of the Sixth Circuit cases, due to geo-
graphical realities, arose out of auto industry contracts,
with their own distinct patterns and history.'? In contrast
the Seventh Circuit cases arise out of a more diverse
group of industries—brewery,” electrical,”’ steel,?” and

'” See e.g. UAW v. Cleveland Gear Corp., 1983 WL 2174 (N.D. Ohio 1983),
affd 1984 U.S. App. LEXIS 13700 (6th Cir. 1984) (unpublished opinion);
Bittinger v. Tecumseh Products Co., 83 F. Supp.2d 851 (E.D. Mich. 1998), aff'd
201 F.3d 400 (6th Cir. 1999); Maurer v. Joy Technologies, Inc., 212 F.3d 907, 919
(6th Cir. 2000)(summary judgment against certain retirees); UAW v. Roblin
Industries, Inc., 561 F. Supp. 288 (W.D. Mich. 1983).

'* See e.g. Abbruscato v. Empire Blue Cross & Blue Shield, 274 F.3d
90 (2d Cir. 2001); Diehl v. Twin Disc, Inc., 102 F.3d 301 (7th Cir. 1996);
Rossetto v. Pabst Brewing Co., Inc. 217 F.3d 539, (7th Cir. 2000); Chiles
v. Ceridian Corp. 95 F.3d 1505 (10th Cir. 1996) and Stewart v. KHD
Deutz of America, Inc., 980 F.2d 698 (11th Cir. 1993).

'? See e.g. UAW v. Cleveland Gear Corp., 1983 WL 2174 (N.D. Ohio
1983), aff'd 1984 U.S. App. LEXIS 13700 (6th Cir. 1984) (unpublished
opinion); Bittinger v. Tecumseh Products Co., 83 F. Supp.2d 851 (E.D.
Mich. 1998), affd 201 F.3d 400 (6th Cir. 1999); Maurer v. Joy
Technologies,inc., 212 F.3d 907, 919 (6th Cir. 2000)(summary judgment
against certain retirees); UAW v. Roblin Industries, Inc., 561 F. Supp. 288
(W.D. Mich. 1983).

*° See Zielinski v. Pabst Brewing Co., _ F.3d _, 2006 WL 2567468
(7th Cir. 2006); Rossetto v. Pabst Brewing Co., 217 F.3d 539 (7th Cir.
2000); Pabst Brewing Co. v. Corrao, 161 F.3d 434 (7th Cir. 1998).

”" Barnett v. Ameren Corp., 436 F.3d 830 (7th Cir. 2006).

- Murphy v. Keystone Steel & Wire Co., 61 F.3d 560 (7th Cir. 1995);
Senn v. United Dominion Industries, Inc., 951 F.2d 806 (7th Cir. 1992).

20 .

auto,’ each with its own pattern and history. The difference
in results reflects the differences in the industry contracts, not
any substantive difference in the applicable legal standards.

C. The Sixth Circuit’s Preliminary Decision Raises No
Issues of Importance and Does Not Conflict With
Any Federal Policy

El Paso argues that crucial issues of national importance
are at stake in this case. Pet. 21-25. But, as described above,
and in Plaintiffs’ Brief in Opposition to CNH’s Petition, the
decision below was a routine preliminary injunction decision
which applied ordinary, hornbook principles of contract
construction.

E] Paso’s assertion rests on its claim that different Circuits
have applied conflicting outcome-determinative rules. As
shown above and in the ‘CNH Opposition Brief, however, all
Circuits are in agreement on the traditional rules of contract
construction to be applied in resolving collectively bargained
retiree health care disputes wherever they arise.

El Paso proposes, in effect, that all courts should abandon
traditional contractual analysis, which seeks to determine the
intent of the parties to CBAs, and instead adopt an outcome-
determinative rule regardless of what the evidence as to- the
parties’ intent actually is.2* El Paso cites Litton Financial

3 Bidlack v. Wheelabrator Corp., 993 F.2d 603 (7th Cir. 1993); Diehl
v. Twin Disc., Inc., 102 F.3d 301 (7th Cir. 1996); and Cherry v. Auburn
Gear, Inc., 441 F.3d 476 (7th Cir. 2006).

24 £1 Paso, like CNH, claims that the alleged “conflict” exacerbates the
“evil of forum shopping.” Pet. 24-25. Putting aside the fact that Plaintiffs,
UAW, its witnesses and voluminous documents are within the forum
chosen, El Paso, like CNH, never before complained about the venue
which it acknowledges was properly selected by Plaintiffs.

5 El Paso also cites this court’s decision in Allis-Chalmers Corp. v
Lueck, 471 U.S. 202° (1985), which held that federal law, rather than state,
applies to disputes arising out of collective bargaining agreements. That

re a eccentric A A CC CE CE — —

Printing v. N.L.R.B., 501 U.S. 190 (1991) in support of this
proposal. Pet. 9-10. The Litton decision, to the contrary,
endorses the traditional approach to contractual interpretation
adopted by the Circuits in retiree health care cases arising
under a CBA. Litton addressed the question of whether a
dispute (unrelated to retiree health care) which arose after the
termination of a CBA was arbitrable under that agreement’s
grievance procedure. In Litton, the Court stated that whether
rights continue beyond the termination of a CBA is “deter-
mined by contract interpretation. Rights which accrued or
vested under the agreement, will, as a general rule, survive
termination of the agreement.” 501 U.S. at 207.

All Circuits are in accord.
CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, El Paso’s request for
review should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ROGER J. MCCLOW *

KLIMIST, MCKNIGHT, SALE,
MCCLOW & CANZANO, P.C.
400 Galleria Officentre, Suite 117
Southfield, MI 48034

(248) 354-9650

Counsel for Respondents Yolton,
Montgomery, Teas, Betker,
* Counsel of Record Maynard and Halsted

proposition is uniformly accepted by all Circuits and the company does
not attempt to show otherwise.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1300%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
