# Reply Brief — Tilton v. Remeidio (No. 06-167)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1268%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

(® FILED
No. 06-167 SEP 12 2006
Pe a
Supreme Court of the United States
¢

JEANNE WOODFORD, DEWEY WOOTEN,
ANTHONY P. KANE, H. WILLIAMS,
D.A. DACANAY, AND L.A. NIENHUIS,

Petitioners,
v.

ROMIRICO REMEIDIO,
Respondent.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

¢

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONERS

¢

BILL LOCKYER
Attorney General of the
State of California
JAMES M. HUMES
Chief Assistant Attorney General
MANUEL M. MEDEIROS
State Solicitor General
FRANCES T. GRUNDER
Senior Assistant Attorney General
THOMAS S. PATTERSON*
Deputy Attorney General
State Bar No. 202890
455 Golden Gate Avenue,
Suite 11000
San Francisco, CA 94102-7004
Telephone: (415) 703-5727
Facsimile: (415) 703-5843
Counsel for Petitioners
*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (4062) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

I. There Is Widespread Conflict Among the
Circuits Over How Courts Should Address In-

mate-Retaliation Claims.............:cccccccssecseeeeeeeees ss
II. The Rule Applied Below Cannot Be Reconciled
with Turner v. Safley or Hartman v. Moore ...... 4

A. Turner v. Safley Permits Objectively Rea-
sonable Restrictions on Inmate Expression
Regardless of Whether the Restrictions
Are Imposed by a Prison Regulation or an
Officials’ Independent Conduct .................. 4

B. The Court’s Rationale in Hartman uv.
Moore Counsels that Objective Reason-
ableness Should Be the Standard in In-
mate-Retaliation Cases.................cccccssscseess 6

acc liedoccstgehvasvncsesescosenssavesccosevects

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Ali v. Dixon, 912 F.2d 86 (4th Cir. 1990)............ ccc eeeeeeeeeeeees 5
Beard v. Banks, 126 S. Ct. 2572 (2006)... ceeeeeseseeeees 5
Cornell v. Woods, 69 F.3d 1383 (8th Cir. 1995) ..0...........0000. 3
Hartman v. Moore, 126 S. Ct. 1695 (2006).............. 1, 4, 6, 7
Henderson v. Baird, 29 F.3d 464 (8th Cir. 1994)............ L.3
Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460 (1983) 0... eesseeeeeeseeeeeees 7
Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499 (2005) 0.0... eee 5
Layne v. Vinzant, 657 F.2d 468 (1st Cir. 1981)............... 3, 4
McDonald v. Hall, 610 F.2d 16 (1st Cir. 1979)... ee 3
Morris v. Powell, 449 F.3d 682 (5th Cir. 2006).................... 7
Mt. Healthy City Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ. v. Doyle,
ST Br beidcisenibtnnbiccstcicencicecedn 3

Orebaugh v. Caspart, 910 F.2d 526 (8th Cir. 1990)........ 3

Overton v. Bazetta, 539 U.S. 126 (2003) ..........c cece eeeeeeeees 5
Peterson v. Shanks, 149 F.3d 1140 (10th Cir. 1998)............ 3
Phelps v. Dunn, 965 F.2d 93 (6th Cir. 1992)... eee 5
Shaw v. Murphy, 532 U.S. 223 (2001) ............ceccesseseeesenes 5
Superintendent v. Hill, 472 U.S. 445 (1985)... eee 1
Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) ...........ceceeeees 1, 4, 5, 7
Washington v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210 (1990)......... ce eeeseeeees 5
STATUTES

BE UG; B FIG ceric sivisc secssttecnnesinivesvcesveertnasnercanninnn 7

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONERS

Respondent’s only serious argument is that no conflict
exists among the circuit courts. However, the circuits are
in broad disagreement over how to handle inmate-
- retaliation claims. They conflict on: (1) whether an adverse
action against an inmate can be challenged as retaliatory
even though the action is objectively legitimate; and (2) if
so, what standards for pleading and proof of retaliatory
causation apply. (Pet. 7-10; Br. Amici States 1-4.) By
taking this case, the Court will be able to resolve these
persistent conflicts in a manner that is consistent with
Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. .78 (1987), and Hartman uv.
Moore, 126 S. Ct. 1695 (2006).

I. There Is Widespread Conflict Among the Cir-
cuits Over How Courts Should Address Inmate-
Retaliation Claims.

Although the circuits vary widely over how to adjudi-
cate inmates’ retaliation claims, Respondent denies the
existence of any conflict among the circuits. (Opp. 5-10.)
His key argument contends that the Eighth Circuit does
not bar inmates from challenging objectively legitimate
discipline (discipline supported by some evidence) in
conflict with the ruling below. See Henderson v. Baird, 29
F.3d 464, 469 (8th Cir. 1994); Orebaugh v. Caspari, 910
F.2d 526, 528 (8th Cir. 1990). But the Eighth Circuit’s rule
is clear: when an inmate challenges a disciplinary viola-
tion as retaliatory, and there is “some evidence of the
violation, the finding essentially checkmates his retalia-
tion claim.” Henderson, 29 F.3d at 469 (applying the some-
evidence standard announced in Superintendent v. Hill,
472 U.S. 445 (1985), to hold that the retaliation claim
failed). This is in stark contrast to the rule applied below,

2

which allows inmates to challenge objectively legitimate
discipline as long as there is a dispute over the prison
officials’ subjective motive in administering the discipline.

In an attempt to explain away this conflict, Respon-
dent contends that the Eighth Circuit’s retaliatory-
discipline cases, Henderson and Orebaugh, are distin-
guishable from the case here. (Opp. 6-7.) Specifically, he
contends that the inmates’ First Amendment expression in
those cases was the same conduct for which they were
disciplined, whereas Respondent was disciplined for
conduct separate from the rules-violation charges. (Opp. 6-
7.)

But Respondent’s recitation of Henderson’s and
Orebaugh’s facts is mistaken, regardless of Respondent’s
failure to show why such a difference would have elimi-
nated the conflict. In Henderson, the inmate alleged that
he was charged with assault in retaliation for requesting
witnesses at a disciplinary hearing and reporting to the
F.B.I. that prison officials harassed him. Henderson, 29
F.3d at 465-66, 469 (noting that the magistrate judge had
denied the defendants’ summary-judgment motion based
on the inmate’s contact with the F.B.I.). The inmate did
not assert that his protected conduct was the assault
itself; indeed, he disputed that he committed an assault.
Id. at 466. And in Orebaugh, the inmate claimed that he
was charged with violating a light-duty order in retalia-
tion for filing a grievance about confiscated property.
Orebaugh, 910 F.2d at 527. He did not allege that disobey-
ing the light-duty order was protected conduct. Because
the Eighth Circuit bars retaliatory-discipline cases if the

3

discipline was objectively legitimate, it squarely conflicts
with the decision below.’

Respondent’s argument also errs by contending that
there is no real difference between the circuits that follow
a burden-shifting standard (purportedly modeling the
standard in Mt. Healthy City Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ. v.
Doyle, 429 U.S. 274 (1977)), and those that follow a but-for
test. (Opp. 9-10.) Here too, much of the argument is based
on a misperception of the cases. For instance, he contends
that Peterson v. Shanks, 149 F.3d 1140, 1144-45 (10¢h Cir.
1998), applied a but-for test in name only because it found
“the retaliation claims to be wholly unsupported and
‘speculative.” (Opp. 10.) Although the court did state at
one point that “Peterson’s remaining allegations of retalia-
tion are based on mere speculation,” that was only after it
analyzed several other retaliation claims under the but-for
test in light of at least some evidence of retaliatory motive.
Id. at 1143-45 (emphasis added) (noting the inmate’s claim
that the warden made explicit and menacing threats to
him). Respondent also suggests that the First Circuit has
not adopted the but-for test in Layne v. Vinzant, 657 F.2d
468 (lst Cir. 1981), because its reference to the test was
mere dicta. (Opp. 9.) Respondent overlooks the case cited
in Layne, McDonald v. Hall, 610 F.2d 16, 18-19 (1st Cir.

* The opposition also mistakenly cites Cornell v. Woods, 69 F.3d
1383 (8th Cir. 1995), for the proposition that the Eighth Circuit
distinguishes between expressive conduct that violates prison rules and
expressive conduct that does not. (Opp. 7.) Cornell makes no such
distinction. But it does explain that the Eighth Circuit treats retalia-
tory-transfer cases differently from retaliatory-discipline cases. Cornell
v. Woods, 69 F.3d at 1388-89. It addresses retaliatory-discipline cases
under the some-evidence standard and retaliatory-transfer cases under
the but-for test. Id.

4

1979), in which the First Circuit ordered the district court
to apply the but-for test on remand.

In sum, the circuit conflict is widespread, as the
petition and amici states explain. This Court’s direction is
needed to establish a single, uniform standard for inmate-
retaliation cases that will eliminate the confusion among
the lower courts and the disparity by which inmates’
retaliation suits are decided across the circuits.

II. The Rule Applied Below Cannot Be Reconciled
with Turner v. Safley or Hartman v. Moore.

A. Turner v. Safley Permits Objectively Rea-
sonable Restrictions on Inmate Expression
Regardless of Whether the Restrictions Are
Imposed by a Prison Regulation or an Offi-
cial’s Independent Conduct.

The rule applied below conflicts with Turner v. Safley,
482 U.S. 78 (1987), because it allows inmates to challenge
objectively legitimate state actions simply by casting doubt
on the state actor’s motivation. Turner does not instruct
courts to fixate on officials’ subjective motivations; instead,
it tells courts to examine whether there is a “logical
connection between the regulation and the asserted goal.”
Id. at 89. If the restriction is objectively reasonable, it
withstands the test and is constitutional. Jd.

Respondent tries to reconcile the decision below. with
Turner by positing that Turner applies only when an
inmate’s constitutional rights are restricted directly by a
prison rule or regulation, not by an official’s action apart
from a regulation. (Opp. 11.) But this Court “made quite
clear that the standard of review [it] adopted in Turner
applies to all circumstances in which the needs of prison

administration implicate constitutional rights.” Washing-
ton v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210, 224 (1990). But cf. Johnson v.
California, 543 U.S. 499 (2005) (holding that strict scru-
tiny applies to inmates’ racial-discrimination claims).
Thus, the courts of appeals have not hesitated to apply
Turner to cases in which officials’ conduct — rather than a
regulation — is challenged. E.g., Phelps v. Dunn, 965 F.2d
93, 98-100 (6th Cir. 1992) (analyzing under Turner a
homosexual inmate’s claim that the prison chaplain and
deputy warden excluded him from leadership roles in
religious services); Ali v. Dixon, 912 F.2d 86, 89-91 (4th
Cir. 1990) (holding under Turner that an inmate’s religious
rights were not violated when officers failed to call him by
his newly adopted Muslim name).

It is true that this Court has only had opportunities to
apply the 7urner standard to cases in which prison rules
or regulations were challenged. E.g., Beard v. Banks, 126
S. Ct. 2572 (2006) (reviewing restriction on high-security
inmates’ access to newspapers, magazines, and photo-
graphs); Overton v. Bazetta, 539 U.S. 126 (2003) (address-
ing prisoner-visiting regulations); Shaw v. Murphy, 532
U.S. 223 (2001) (considering regulation of inmate commu-
nication). But this is not surprising, since regulations
control nearly every aspect of prison operations, and most
inmate restrictions are thereby related to some rule or
’ policy. Regardless, the Court’s purpose in Turner was to
establish a generally applicable legal standard. Turner,
482 U.S. at 85 (“Our task . . . is to formulate a standard of
review for prisoners’ constitutional claims that is respon-
sive both to the policy of judicial restraint regarding
prisoner complaints and to the need to protect constitu-
tional rights.” (internal quotation marks and citation
omitted)). And this Court permitted objectively reasonable

6

restrictions on inmates’ constitutional rights, thereby
barring inmates from challenging reasonable restrictions
by calling into question the officials’ subjective motiva-
tions.

B. The Court’s Rationale in Hartman v. Moore
Counsels that Objective Reasonableness
Should Be the Standard in Inmate-
Retaliation Cases. ,

The decision below is also at odds with Hartman uv.
Moore, 126 S. Ct. 1695 (2006), which holds that if a crimi-
nal prosecution is objectively reasonable — that is, sup-
ported by probable cause — it cannot be challenged as
retaliatory. The opposition attempts to discount Hartman’s
significance simply by stating that it is not a inmate-
retaliation case. (Opp. 11.) But this misses the point.

Unless inmate-retaliation cases are subject to an objec-
tive-reasonableness standard like retaliatory-prosecution
cases, an odd incongruence occurs. Under Hartman, a free
citizen who is charged with a criminal violation but later
acquitted is barred from pursuing a retaliation claim as long
as the criminal charge was objectively reasonable. Hartman,
126 S.Ct. at 1707. Yet under the rule applied below, a
prisoner who is not only charged with, but also convicted of
violating a prison rule, can challenge the conviction as
retaliatory despite its objective legitimacy.

This incongruence transfers to the respective officers
as well. The officer on the street who induced the criminal
prosecution has his decision reviewed for objective reason-
ableness. Id. But the correctional officer who files discipli-
nary charges against a prisoner has his subjective motives
probed regardless of how reasonable his action was —

indeed, even when the charges resulted in a conviction.
This inconsistency is exacerbated by the fact that inmates
are not limited to impugning officers’ motives only when
they are charged with a rules violation. Rather, they can
bring retaliation suits nearly any time officers take ad-
verse action against them. E.g., Morris v. Powell, 449 F.3d
682, 685-86 (5th Cir. 2006) (holding that an inmate may
bring a retaliation claim for any adverse action that would
chill an inmate of ordinary firmness from exercising First
Amendment rights in the future).

Such a result does not square with Hartman’s ration-
ale. The Court explained in Hartman that in order to show
causation in a retaliatory-prosecution case, the plaintiff
must overcome the presumption of legitimacy that is
afforded to prosecutorial decisions. Hartman, 126 S. Ct. at
1706. And it is appropriate to require the plaintiff to do
this by showing a lack of probable cause because there is
ordinarily ample evidence demonstrating whether prob-
able cause existed. Jd. at 1706. Likewise, this Court __
affords a high presumption of legitimacy to prison admin-
istrators’ decisions because of the intractable challenges
they must address. Turner, 482 U.S. at 84-85; see also
Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460, 474 (1983) (describing how
administrators must be wary of subtle security threats
that have potentially disastrous consequences). And also
similar to the retaliatory-prosecution context, there exists
a ready body of evidence to demonstrate whether there
was a reasonable basis for adverse action against an
inmate. Prisons keep their own extensive records, and
under the Prison Litigation Reform Act, 42 U.S.C.
§ 1997e(a), prisoners must exhaust their administrative
remedies before filing suit, creating even more-detailed
documentation concerning the adverse action.

8

For these reasons, prisoners who bring retaliation
claims should be required to plead and prove an absence of
objective reasonableness in the same way that retaliatory-
prosecution plaintiffs must plead and prove a lack of
probable cause.

:s
Vv

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above and in the petition for a
writ of certiorari, the petition should be granted.

Dated: September 12, 2006

Respectfully submitted,

BILL LOCKYER
Attorney General of the State
of California
JAMES M. HUMES
Chief Assistant Attorney General
MANUEL M. MEDEIROS
State Solicitor General
FRANCES T. GRUNDER
Senior Assistant Attorney General
THOMAS S. PATTERSON*
Deputy Attorney General
State Bar No. 202890
455 Golden Gate Avenue,
Suite 11000
San Francisco, CA 94102-7004
Telephone: (415) 703-1113
Facsimile: (415) 703-5843
Counsel for Petitioners
*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1268%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
