# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hertz Corp., The v. Cates (No. 06-54)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1164%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

-_—s
i
\

06-54. JUL 10 2006
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme s.
. Prams Cout, US

No. 06-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

THE HERTZ CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
v.

PRISCILLA CATES, individually and as guardian
of the person of BOBBY RAY CATES,
an incapacitated person,

Respondent.

—s

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FirtH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

———~ ecaaeaenaaele
an a otc mene

BiAZENA PsuRNY*

WESSON H. TRIBBLE
3050 Post Oak Boulevard
Suite 1350
Houston, TX 77056
(713) 622-0444

* Counsel of Record Attorneys for Petitioner

201989 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This diversity action involves a conflict of laws
question as to whether The Hertz Corporation’s (“Hertz” or
“petitioner”) liability for the negligence of its lessee, Matthew
Creamer (“Creamer”), is governed by Texas or Florida law.
The Fifth Circuit resolved the conflict of laws issue in favor
of Florida law. The Fifth Circuit affirmed Priscilla Cates’
(“Cates” or “respondent’”’) judgment against Creamer, vacated
the summary judgment for Hertz granted on grounds that
Texas had the most significant relationship to the parties and
occurrence, and remanded to the district court for
determination of Hertz’s liability under Florida law for the
judgment entered against Creamer under Texas law.

The claim was brought by Priscilla Cates, a Texas
resident, against Matthew Creamer and Lamae Creamer,
Florida residents, and Hertz, a Delaware corporation with a
principle place of business in New Jersey, in the United States
District Court, for the Northern District of Texas, Wichita
Falls Division. The claim arises out of an automobile accident
that occurred in Texas. The injury and the conduct causing
injury, including Cates’ contributory negligence, occurred in
Texas. Cates asserted the application of Florida law to
determine Hertz’s liability for Cates’ judgment against
Creamer notwithstanding that (a) Cates had no prior contact
with Florida; (b) Cates brought the action in Texas forum;
(c) the negligence issue and Cates’ recovery of damages was
governed by Texas law; and (d) Cates did not present a legal
authority on the application of the doctrine of depecage to
personal injury actions arising out of automobile accidents
involving parties of multiple states. In holding that Florida
law determines Hertz’s liability for Cates’ judgment against

li

Creamer, entered under Texas law, the Fifth Circuit’s decision
does not comport with the Full Faith and Credit Clause of
the United States Constitution, and conflicts with the United
States Supreme Court’s decision in Allstate Ins. Co. v. Hague,
449 U.S. 302 (1981) and Sun Oil Co. v. Wortman, 486 U.S.
717 (1988). Additionally, the Fifth Circuit’s analysis of the
conflict of law principles directly conflicts with the Third
Circuit.

Three questions are presented:

1. Does the Full Faith and Credit Clause require the
forum state, Texas, to supplement its laws by Florida’s
judicial doctrine of dangerous instrumentality if to do so
would contravene the policy of the law of Texas, when such
policy is reflected in the statutes and decisions of its courts?

2. Were the contacts with the forum state, Texas, in light
of Allstate Ins. Co. v. Hague, 449 U.S. 302 (1981),
insignificant and attenuated, such that the application of
Texas law was arbitrary or fundamentally unfair to require a
reversal?

3. Was the application of Florida’s dangerous
instrumentality doctrine to afford redress for economic
damages to the Texas plaintiff, when such damages are arising
out of the defendant’s inability to meet a judgment entered
under Texas law, constitutionally permissible when Florida
had only “minimal” interest in the adjudication of the
vicarious liability issue?

iii
LIST OF PARTIES

The parties below are listed in the caption. The original
proceeding was brought against Lamae Creamer and Matthew
Creamer as co-defendants. The claims against Lamae
Creamer were dismissed with prejudice. Co-defendant
Matthew Creamer is not a party to this action.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The Hertz Corporation is a Delaware corporation with a
principle place of business in New Jersey. From 1994 to 2005,
Hertz was a wholly owned subsidiary of Ford Motor
Company, a wholly owned subsidiary of Ford Holdings, Inc.
On December 21, 2005, Hertz Global Holdings, Inc. acquired
all of Hertz’s common stock from Ford Holdings, Inc.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS |

CRIES LI PRROEII EDD oo ccc cccdesecvecues
Se Ge PRE, pov bn ed av sa ree ebe eset
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT .

pe Bes Py |. ee era enorme er kn

TABLE OF APPENDICES ................... :
Oa
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .............

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED .................

PEPE METS SIE CUE ps ced coe tenwwsicnnas

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. REVIEW IS NECESSARY TO CONFIRM
THAT THE APPLICATION OF TEXAS’
SUBSTANTIVE LAW IN THIS CASE WAS
CONSTITUTIONALLY PERMISSIBLE ...

10

Contents
Page

A. The Texas Supreme Court Has Never
Adopted Or Interpreted Restatement
(Second) of Conflicts of Laws § 174. The
Fifth Circuit Erroneously Applied § 174
In Its Choice-Of-Law Analysis. ....... 10

B. The Fifth Circuit Erred in Not Including
In Its Choice-Of-Law Analysis Texas
Public Policy Reflected In The Texas
Supreme Court’s Decision Invalidating
Vicarious Liability in Bailments ...... 12

C. The Fifth Circuit Erred in Not
Considering In Its Choice-Of-Law
Analysis Texas Public Policy Underlying
Its Proportional Responsibility Laws .. 14

D. The Fifth Circuit Erred in Not
Classifying The Issues As Substantive
Of Procedural For Conflict-of-Law
SE sc awe eek oe eae eaes 15

E. The Fifth Circuit Decision Creates A
Conflict As To Whether The Application
Of The Forum State’s Substantive Law
Can Be Invalidated When The Forum
State’s Contacts With The Litigation Is
Not Transient In Nature ............. 16

EE Gee cc sakes e ca pu ee eee ESS 19

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:
Allstate Ins. Co. v. Hague,

ras PU RUE i dene aweaseedkueccsans ii, 9, 10
Baker v. General Motors Corp.,

rye gtk Sexes). : Geen serene ics ie atenecace 9
Bartley v. Budget Rent-A-Car Corp.,

919 S.W.2d 747

(Tex. App. -- Amarillo 1996, no writ) .......... 7,14

Bertrand v. Mutual Motor Co.,
38 S.W.2d 417
(Tex.Civ.App.— Eastland 1931, writref'd) ... 12, 13

Budget Rent-A-Car System, Inc. v. Chappell,
407 F.34 166 Gd Cir. 2005) «occ ci ccc cess 16, 18

Cates ex rel. Cates v. Creamer,
No. CIV.A.7:60CV0121-R, 2001 WL 1196058
ck Oy Ae. eR ery le er ear ]

Cates v. Creamer,
No. 7:00-CV-121-R, 2001WL 1338396
Cy PU 27, EEE Sots oct cwbaue ears |

Cates v. Creamer,
BOE re ae Ce Ge Be oc ckctnceskevauns ]

vii

Cited Authorities
Page

Cox v. Thee Evergreen Church,

SER eB ogee Rs er em 13
Duncan vy. Cessna Aircraft Co.,

665 S.W.2d 414 (Tex. 1984) ............. 10, 11, 15
Franchise Tax Bd. of California v. Hyatt,

Bk ts ee er rer er 9
Garcia v. Plaza Oldsmobile Ltd.,

EE Poe BU GP Ge BOO) ovis caccevenweseues 16,18
Gutierrez v. Collins,

~ ee wo Rete Aol 7, ) 9,10, 11
Henry Schein, Inc. v. Stromboe,

102 S.W.3d 675 (Tex. 2002) ......... era wa eowts 11
In re Chanel Financial, Inc.,

102 B.R. 549 (Bkrtcy. N.D. Tex. 1988) ........ 16
Lee v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,

797 F. Supp. 1362 (N.D. Tex. 1992),

aff'd 32 F.3d 566 (Sth Cir. 1994) ............. 11
Morris v. LTV Corp.,

Tao Pe eae Coen Gk. 1064) i. cece cccwss 15, 16

Pacific Employers Ins. Co.
v. Industrial Accident Comm'n,
A eS ee Ea ee re 9

vili

Cited Authorities
Page
Rollins Leasing Corp. v. Barkley,
S31 5. WZ Gs Cs Be ce cei cece cece. 6, 11, 13
Schneider v. Esperanza Transmission Co., “i
TGA SW. 26 Sie CE, BPE ceive vcccccccccs 7
Southern Cotton Oil Co. v. Anderson,
BR eg | 6
Sun Oil Co. v. Wortman,
Pg es er ii, 9
Susco Car Rental System v. Leonard,
112 So. 832 (Fla. 1959) ..... ee 6
Constitutions and Statutes:
U.S. Const., Art. IV, § 1 (Full Faith & Credit Clause)
66 é kya be Eek ek c'e we eecee 2,8
ye Bia Rew Be l

Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Cope. ANN.
BSR LR 14

ix

Cited Authorities
Page

Restatement and Secondary Authorities:
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF ConFLicts OF LAws

8 Ir Pai a pn PRON: passim
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF CONFLICTS OF LAWS

ROUTER su hee see dvs acoder eateeured passim
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF CONFLICTS OF Laws

Bef. 2: ) Bt peepee ener she sm ee ane passim
Texas Rules of Form, School of

Law Publications, Inc. (2003) ............... 13

John T. Montford & Will G. Barber,
1987 Texas Tort Reform,
25 Hous. L. Rev. 59, 80-101 (1988) ........... 14

x

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court
Of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit Dated And Filed
eS euekae ors

Appendix B — Memorandum Opinion And Order
Of The United States District Court For The
Northern District Of Texas, Wichita Falls
Division, Signed August 6, 2001 And Filed August
EE a Fas eke ARR ae ee

Appendix C — Memorandum Opinion And Order
Of The United States District Court For The
Northern District Of Texas, Wichita Falls
Division, Dated And Filed October 17, 2001 ....

Appendix D — Order Of The United States Court
Of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit Denying The
Petition For Rehearing And The Petition For
Rehearing En Banc Dated And Filed April 11,
» ERE Ae RE tare EO eee Fh oe rane

38a

l

OPINION BELOW

The initial opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit is reported at Cates v. Creamer, 431
F.3d 456 (5" Cir. 2005). The Fifth Circuit affirmed in part,
vacated in part, and remanded the April 4, 2003 amended
judgment of the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Texas, Wichita Falls Division (not reported in
F. Supp. 2d). The amended judgment incorporates the August
/, 2001 Court’s Memorandum and Order published at Cates
ex rel. Cates v. Creamer, 2001 WL 1196058 (not reported in
F. Supp. 2d), and affirmed on October 17, 2001 in Cates v.
Creamer published 2001 WL 1338396 (not reported in
F. Supp. 2d). See Appendices A - D.

The Fifth Circuit’s Opinion was rendered on November
28, 2005. The Petition for Pane] Rehearing and the Petition
for Rehearing En Banc were denied on April 11, 2006.
See Appendix D.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

U.S.C.A. Constitution of the United States, Article IV,
Section 1:

Full Faith and Credit Clause.

Full Faith and Credit shall be given in each State
to the public Acts, Records, and judicial
Proceedings of every other State. And the
Congress may by general Laws prescribe the
Manner in which such Acts, Records and
Proceedings shall be proved, and the Effect
thereof.

Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws, Section 6 (1971):
Choice-Of-Law Principles
(1) Acourt, subject to constitutional restrictions,
will follow a statutory directive of its own state
on choice of law.
(2) When there is no such directive, the factors
relevant to the choice of the applicable rule of law

include:

(a) the needs of the interstate and
international systems,

(b) the relevant policies of the forum,

3

(c) the relevant policies of other interested
states and the relative interests of those
states in the determination of the particular
issue,

(d) the protection of justified expecta-
tions,

(e) the basic policies underlying the
particular field of law,

(f) certainty, predictability and uniformity
of result, and

(g) ease in the determination and
application of the law to be applied.

Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws, Section 145
(1971):

The General Principle.

(1) The rights and liabilities of the parties with
respect to an issue in tort are determined by the local
law of the state which, with respect to that issue,
has the most significant relationship to the
occurrence and the parties under the principles stated
in § 6.

(2) Contacts to be taken into account in applying
the principles of § 6 to determine the law applicable
to an issue include:

(a) the place where the injury occurred,

4

(b) the place where the conduct causing
the injury occurred,

(c) the domicile, residence, nationality,
place of incorporation and place of
business of the parties, and

(d) the place where the relationship, if
any, between the parties is centered.

These contacts are to be evaluated according to their
relative importance with respect to the particular
issue.

Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws, Section 174
(1971):

Vicarious Liability.
The law selected by application of the rule of § 145

determines whether.one-person is liable for the tort
of another person.

The relevant comments to provisions of Restatement (Second)
of Conflict of Laws § 174 are set out in Appendix E.

5

STATEMENT OF FACTS

On June 29, 1998, Florida residents Lamae Creamer and
Matthew Creamer rented a van from Hertz in Florida to drive
to Texas for a family reunion. The Hertz agent verified that
Lamae Creamer had a valid Florida driver’s license. Matthew
_ Creamer also had a valid Florida driver’s license. Ms.
Creamer signed a rental agreement that created a bailment.
The agreement did not contain a choice-of-law provision.

The Creamers began driving at around noon on June 29.
Creamer drove the first eight hours of the trip, at which time
Ms. Creamer began to drive. She drove through the night
into Texas while Creamer slept in the van. When he woke
up, he saw that the van was parked on the side of the road
and Ms. Creamer was asleep. He moved to the driver’s seat
and resumed driving. He went momentarily to sleep while
driving and hit Bobby Cates’ car, which was parked or stalled
on the road. Cates was apparently standing in front of the
opened front passenger door and sustained severe injuries in
the collision. Cates was intoxicated and his driver’s license
had been suspended due to a DWI. As a result of the injuries,
Cates is incapacitated and resides at a long-term care facility.

Matthew and Lamae Creamer are Florida residents. Cates
is a Texas resident. Hertz is a Delaware corporation with its
principal place of business in New Jersey, with authority to
conduct business in Texas.

6

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This diversity action involves a conflict of laws question
as to whether Texas or Florida’s law determines Hertz’s
liability for negligence of its lessee, Matthew Creamer.
Florida applies strict vicarious liability to automobile
owners by its judicially created doctrine of dangerous
instrumentality.’ The Texas Supreme Court rejected vicarious
liability in bailments.*? Respondent Cates asserts that under
the Texas’ choice-of-law rules the court must focus the
analysis on the particular issue in dispute rather than on the
case as a whole. The disputed issue here is whether Hertz is
liable for Cates’ judgment against Creamer entered under
Texas law. Cates asserts that Florida has the “most significant
relationship” to the particular issue of Hertz’s vicarious
liability for Creamer’s negligence.

Cates filed her Complaint against the Creamers and Hertz
in the Northern District of Texas, Wichita Falls Division on
June 29, 2000. Cates asserted claims against Matthew
Creamer and Lamae Creamer for negligence,. predicated on
Texas law, and against Hertz under Florida’s dangerous

1. Southern Cotton Oil Co. v. Anderson, 86 So. 629, 631-34
(Fla. 1920). Under this doctrine, an owner/lessor of a vehicle is
vicariously liable for damages caused by the negligent operation of
the vehicle by the person to whom it has been entrusted. Susco Car
Rentai System v. Leonard, 112 So. 832, 835 (Fla. 1959).

2. Rollins Leasing Corp. v. Barkley, 531 S.W.2d 603 (Tex.
1976).

7

instrumentality doctrine or, alternatively, under Texas’
neg/igent entrustment laws.* |

Hertz moved for summary judgment on the basis that
Texas had “the most significant relationship” to the parties
and occurrence, and Florida had no policy interest in
determination of the issues. On August 7, 2001, the district
court granted summary judgment in favor of Hertz on the
issue of negligent entrustment and dismissed Cates’ claims
against Hertz.

Cates’ action against the Creamers proceeded to trial or
July 9, 2002. Hertz did not participate at trial. The jury founa
the Creamers not negligent. On November 8, 2002, the
District Court signed an order granting a new trial.

Cates’ action against the Creamers proceeded to a second
trial, again without Hertz, on February 3, 2003. Cates’
negligence was submitted to the jury under the Texas
comparative negligence statute. The second jury found
Creamer seventy percent negligent and Cates thirty percent
negligent. The jury assessed actual damages of $3,080,000.
An amended judgmen: was signed on April 4, 2003, awarding
Cates $2,156,000 in actual damages from Creamer plus

3. The elements constituting negligent entrustment are:
“(1) entrustment of a vehicle by the owner; (2) to an unlicensed,
incompetent, or reckless driver; (3) that the owner knew or should
have known to be unlicensed, (4) that the driver wus negligent on
the occasion in question and (5) that the driver’s negligence
proximately caused the accident.” Schneid:r v. Esperanza
Transmission Co., 744 S8.W.2d 595, 596 (Tex. °° Proof of a valid
driver’s license is prima facie evidence of 4 _ ver’s competency.
Bartley v. Budget Rent-A-Car Corp., 919 S.W.2d /47, 752 (Tex. App.
— Amarillo 1996, no writ).

8

prejudgment interest of $851,782.47. All claims against
Lamae Creamer were dismissed with prejudice. The
Amended Judgment also dismissed all claims against Hertz
in accordance with the District Court’s Memorandum
Opinion aad Order previously entered on August 7, 2001.

Cates filed her Notice of Appeal on April 18, 2003. The
Fifth Circuit’s decision was entered on November 28, 2005.
Petitioner timely filed its Petition for Rehearing Before Panel
on December 12, 2005. On December 12, 2005, petitioner
and cross-appellant filed their Appellee’s and Cross-
Appellant’s Joint Motion For Leave to File Out Of Time
Petition for Rehearing En Banc (the “Motion”). The Fifth
Circuit granted the Motion on February 2, 2006. Petitioner
timely filed its Petition for Rehearing En Banc on February
2, 2006. On April 11, 2006, the Fifth Circuit denied the
Petition for Rehearing Before Panel and the Petition for
Rehearing En Banc.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Whether the strict vicarious liability of automobile
owners created by Florida’s doctrine of dangerous
instrumentality is contrary to Texas public policy, when such
policy is reflected in the statutes and decisions of its courts,
and whether the Full Faith and Credit Clause, U.S. Const.,
Art. IV, § 1, requires Texas to give full faith and credit to the
dangerous instrumentality doctrine of Florida to replace its
doctrine of negligent entrustment, are important questions
which require resolution, and on which this Court’s review
is warranted.

This Court has previously ruled that the full faith and
credit obligation “is exacting” with respect to a final

9

judgment rendered by a court with adjudicatory authority over
the subject matter and persons governed by the judgment,
Baker v. General Motors Corp., 522 U.S. 222, 223 (1998),
but is less demanding with respect to choice of laws.
Franchise Tax Bd. of California v. Hyatt, 538 U.S. 488
(2003). The Clause does not compel a State to substitute the
statutes of other States for its own statutes dealing with a
subject matter concerning which it is competent to legislate.
Id. at 489; citing Sun Oil Co. v. Wortman, 486 U.S.-717, 722
(1988); Pacific Employers Ins. Co. v Industrial Accident
Comm'n, 306 U.S. 493, 501(1939). In Allstate Ins. Co.
v. Hague, 449 U.S. 302 (1981), this Court held that for a
State’s substantive law to be selected in a constitutionally
permissible manner, the State must have “a significant contact
or significant aggregation of contacts, creating state interests,
such that choice of its law is neither arbitrary nor
fundamentally unfair.” Jd. at 313.

The Fifth Circuit erred in not considering in its conflict-
of-laws analysis the constitutional limitations set forth in
§ 6 of the Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws and
adopted by the Supreme Court of Texas in Gutierrez v.
Collins, 583 S.W.2d 312 (Tex. 1979), for tort choice of law
issues. The Fifth Circuit concluded that the interest analysis
of § 6, which implicates the constitutional inquiry, provided
“little impact” on its decision.‘

The Fifth Circuit erred in not analyzing the basic policies
underlying Texas’ proportional liability laws.° The Fifth
Circuit recognized that Florida’s interest in having its law

4. Opinion, p. 18a.

5. Opinion, p. 18a, Fn. 8.

10

applied to the vicarious liability issue was only “minimal,” ®
but it failed to state a public policy or constitutional grounds
for invalidating a Texas U.S. District Court’s decision to
apply Texas law to a case over which it had proper
jurisdiction.

In consequence, the Fifth Circuit’s decision does not
comport with the constitutional choice-of-law test enunciated
by this Court in the holding in Hague, and this Court’s review
is warranted.

I. REVIEW IS NECESSARY TO CONFIRM THAT
THE APPLICATION OF TEXAS’ SUBSTANTIVE
LAW IN THIS CASE WAS CONSTITUTIONALLY
PERMISSIBLE

A. The Texas Supreme Court Has Never Adopted Or
Interpreted Restatement (Second) of Conflicts of
Laws § 174. The Fifth Circuit Erroneously
Applied § 174 In Its Choice-Of-Law Analysis.

Texas has adopted the “most significant relationship”
test for tort choice-of-law issues in Gutierrez v. Collins, 583
S.W.2d 312, 318 (Tex. 1979). The Court in Gutierrez
specifically adopted §§ 6 and 145 of the Restatement
(Second) of Conflicts for “all conflicts cases sounding in
tort.” Jd. at 318. In Duncan v. Cessna Aircraft Co., the Court
reiterated that it adopted the “most significant relationship

6. Opinion, p. 18a.

7. The Court explained that “this methodology offers a rational
yet flexible approach to conflicts problems,” ... “offers the courts
some guidelines without being too vague or too restrictive, ... and
“includes ‘most of the substance’ of all the modern theories.” /d.

11

test set forth in §§ 6 and 145 of the Restatements (Second)
of Conflict of Laws.” 665 S.W.2d 414, 421 (Tex. 1984).
In Henry Schein, Inc. v. Stromboe, the Texas Supreme Court
stated again that § 6 and § 145 apply in “all future tort cases”
and indicated that the analysis under § 6 and § 145, in a tort
case involving a Texas resident, is likely to result in the
application of Texas law. 102 S.W.3d 675 (Tex. 2002).

Additionally, Texas courts of appeal have noted that the
“most significant relationship” test that Texas follows is
“embodied” or “enunciated” in §§ 6 and 145 of the
Restatement (Second) of Conflicts. As well, Texas district
courts have noted that the Texas Supreme Court has not
adopted all sections of the Restatements for all choice-of-
law issues. See Lee v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 797 F. Supp.
1362, 1367 (N.D. Tex. 1992), aff’d, 32 F.3d 566 (5" Cir.
1994).®

Further, the Texas Supreme Court rejected vicarious
liability in bailments in Rollins Leasing Corp. v. Barkley,
$31 S.W.2d 603, 605 (Tex. 1976). In consequence, the Texas
courts have never adopted or interpreted § 174 for use in
choice of law decisions. Section 174 directly addresses
vicarious liability and instructs that “[t]he law selected by
application of the rule of § 145 determines whether one
person is liable for the tort of another person.” Restatement
(Second) of Conflicts of Laws § 174.

8. The Court in Lee stated that ‘[t]he most significant
relationship methodology was adopted by the Texas Supreme Court
for tort choice-of-law issues in Gutierrez v. Collins, 583 S.W.2d 312,
318 (Tex. 1979), and for all other choice-of-law issues, with limited
exceptions, in Duncan v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 665 $.W.2d 414, 421
(Tex. 1984).” [emphasis added]

~

12

Section 145 instructs that “(t]he rights and liabilities of
the parties with respect to an issue in tort are determined by
the local law of the state which, with respect to that issue,
has the most significant relationship to the occurrence and
the parties under the principles stated in § 6.” Restatement
(Second) of Conflicts of Laws § 145.

The Fifth Circuit erroneously rests its choice-of-law
analysis and decision on the comments contained in § 174,
and fails to include the principles stated in § 6, which
implicate the constitutional limitations. (See Appendix E.)

B. The Fifth Circuit Erred in Not Including In Its
Choice-Of-Law Analysis Texas Public Policy
Reflected In The Texas Supreme Court’s Decision
Invalidating Vicarious Liability in Bailments

The Fifth Circuit erred in not examining the public policy
behind the vicarious liability laws of each state, Texas and
Florida, reflected in the decisions of the states’ courts. The
Fifth Circuit recognized that Florida’s dangerous
instrumentality doctrine may not have an extraterritorial
reach, stating that “no Florida precedent exist” to resolve
the question “whether the Florida law of vicarious liability
may be applied to benefit non-Florida residents in a situation
~ such as the case at hand.”’®

Texas courts have repeatedly rejected vicarious liability
in bailments if there is no agency or control relationship. In
Bertrand v. Mutual Motor Co., 38 S.W.2d 417, 418 (Tex.
Civ. App.— Eastland 1931, writ ref'd), the Texas Supreme
Court approved the rule that the bailor of an automobile,

9. Opinion, p. 18a.

13

who had no control over its operation by the bailee, was not
liable to a third party for injuries arising from the bailee’s
negligence.'®

In Rollins, the Texas Supreme Court, approving the rule
in Bertrand and strongly criticizing the doctrine of “imputed
contributory negligence,” rejected vicarious liability in
bailment relationships. 531 S.W.2d 605. In so doing, the
Court stated: “This test recognizes that in the absence of some
type of control relationship, there is no more reason in logic
to automatically impute contributory negligence than there -
is to so impute primary negligence.” /d.

In Cox v. Thee Evergreen Church, 836 S.W.2d 167 (Tex.
1992), the Texas Supreme Court reiterated the holding in
Rollins, stating: “When we decided Rollins in 1975, we were
the last jurisdiction to abandon the outdated bailment/agency
analogy and with it went the doctrine of imputed contributory
negligence between a bailor and a bailee.” Jd. at 177.

The Fifth Circuit’s error in not conducting the analysis
of Texas public policy, enunciated in the Texas Supreme
Court’s decisions, warrants this Court’s review.

10. “Writ refused” [writ ref’d] indicates that the “judgement
of the court of civil appeals is correct. Such cases have equal
precedential value with the Texas Supreme Court’s own opinions.”
Texas Rules of Form, School of Law Publications, Inc., Austin, 2003.

14

C. The Fifth Circuit Erred in Not Considering In
Its Choice-Of-Law Analysis Texas Public Policy
Underlying Its Proportional Responsibility Laws

Respondent’s judgment against Creamer, for which she
seeks to hold Petitioner liable, was rendered under Texas’
proportional responsibility laws.'' The legislative history of
the Texas Tort Reform, and the public policy underlying the
enactment, is reflected in Bartley v. Budget Rent-A-Car
Corp., 919 S.W.2d 747, 754 (Tex. App.— Amarillo 1996, no
writ), a case factually identical to the case at bar, on which
Petitioner relied for its analysis and reasoning.

The Court in Bartley, quoting Montford & Barber in
1987 Texas Tort Reform, stated the public policy underlying
the proportional responsibility as follows:

The major purposes-of the legislation were to
make the Texas civil justice system fairer, more
predictable by favorably affecting the affordability
and availability of liability insurance, and thus,
by making the system fairer and more predictable,
to promote economic development and growth in
Texas.

Id. at 756; Montford & Barber, supra, at 69-70.

The Fifth Circuit found Bartley unhelpful to its analysis
because it did not address § 174." Texas courts have not
adopted or interpreted § 174. Because the Fifth Circuit did
not include Bartley in its choice-of-law analysis, the Fifth

ll. Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code. Ann. §§ 33.001, ef seq.

12. Opinion, p. 18a, Fn. 8.

15

Circuit concluded, erroneously, that Texas had only a
“minimal interest” in having its laws apply to the vicarious
liability issue and invalidated the Texas U.S. District Court’s
application of Texas law to the controversy before the court.

D. The Fifth Circuit Erred in Not Classifying The
Issues As Substantive Or Procedural For Conflict
of Law Purposes

The general conflict-of-laws rule in Texas is that
“questions of substantive law are controlled by the laws of
the state where the cause of action arose, but. . . matters of
remedy and of procedure are governed by the laws of the
state where the action is sought to be maintained.” Morris v.
LTV Corp., 725 F.2d 1024 (Sth Cir. 1984). Since the Fifth
Circuit statement in Morris, the Texas Supreme Court
abandoned the /ex /oci rules for substantive issues in favor
of the Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws’ most
significant relationship approach. Duncan, 665 S.W.2d at
421. The Texas choice of law rule for substantive issues now
provides:

[I]n all choice of law cases, except those contract
cases in which the parties have agreed to a valid
choice of law clause, the law of the state with the
most significant relationship to the particular
substantive issue will be applied to resolve that issue.

Duncan, 665 S.W.2d at 421.

Since the decision in Duncan, the Texas courts have
neither overruled nor questioned the vitality of Morris for
the proposition that matters of remedy are governed by the
laws of the state where the action is sought to be maintained,

16

and continue to follow the Fifth Circuit’s analysis in Morris.
In re Chanel Financial, Inc., 102 B.R. 549, 550 (Bkrtcy. N.D.
Tex. 1988). Federal courts in Texas must follow the Texas
conflict rule even though applying the rule would bar the
plaintiff's recovery. Morris, 725 F.2d at 1027.

The critical question before the Fifth Circuit was whether
vicarious liability is substantive or remedial for conflict-of-law
purposes. Petitioner asserted below that vicarious liability is
remedial, and relied on Morris for its analysis. The Fifth Circuit
has not conducted this analysis.

E. The Fifth Circuit Decision Creates A Conflict As
To Whether The Application Of The Forum State’s
Substantive Law Can Be Invalidated When The
Forum State’s Contacts With The Litigation Is Not
Transient In Nature

The Fifth Circuit’s holding that Florida law governs
Hertz’s vicarious liability for the respondent’s judgment
against Creamer, based on the Court’s determination that
“the most relevant relationship [of the parties] is that which
arises from the lease of the automobile,” '* cannot be
reconciled with the Third Circuit’s holding in Budget Rent-
A-Car System, Inc. v. Chappell, 407 F.3d 166 (3d Cir. 2005)
and in Garcia v. Plaza Oldsmobile Ltd., 421 F.3d 216
(3d Cir. 2005).

In Budget, the Third Circuit considered a choice of law
question on facts similar to this case. The automobile rental
company, as an owner of the automobile, brought a diversity
action against the renter and passenger seeking a declaratory
judgment as to which state’s substantive law (New York’s,

13. Opinion, p. 16a.

17

Michigan’s or Pennsylvania’s) governed its vicarious liability
to the renter’s passenger. The passenger brought vicarious
liability and negligent entrustment counterclaims against the
company and a cross-claim against the renter. The injured
passenger was a New York resident and the renter was a
Michigan resident who had rented the car in Michigan (and
previously driven to New York). The accident occurred, and
the lawsuit was brought, in Pennsylvania. The district court
applied Pennsylvania law.

The Third Circuit conducted a thorough analysis of
public policies of each state, and the relative interests of those
states in the determination of the controversy. New York had
an unlimited vicarious liability statute whereas Pennsylvania
followed the common-law rule that, absent an agency
relationship, an automobile owner was not liable for the
negligence of its driver. Jd. at 172. The Third Circuit
determined that the New York legislature, in enacting
§ 388(1) of New York’s Vehicle and Traffic Laws, “intended
that the insured party be afforded a financially responsible
insured person against whom to recover for injures.” /d. at
170. Additionally, New York’s Courts of Appeal construed
§ 388(1) as having extraterritorial application. The Third
Circuit found that the interest of New York, the injured
passenger s domicile, in having its statute applied was “clear,
direct, and compelling.” The Third Circuit reversed the
district court’s application of its own law on the basis that
Pennsylvania had only a transient interest to the parties, and
had no interest in securing a recovery for the injured counter-
plaintiff and no interest in limiting Budget’s liability. The
Third Circuit determined that the interest of Michigan, the
place of the rental agreement, in having its statute applied
was “uncertain and tenuous at best.” Jd.

18

The Fifth Circuit’s determination that Florida, the place of
the rental agreement in this case, had a paramount interest in
having its dangerous instrumentality doctrine applied to the
vicarious liability issue creates a conflict with the Third Circuit’s
decision.

In Garcia, the Third Circuit, with the participation of then-
Judge Alito, considered again a conflict-of-law issue whether
Pennsylvania common law or New York’s statutory law
governed Plaza’s liability. A Pennsylvania driver, Garcia, who
was injured in a motor vehicle accident in Pennsylvania, brought
a diversity action against the New York driver and Plaza
Oldsmobile, a New York corporation with a principal place of
business in that state. Garcia asserted that New York statutory —
law applied, whereas Plaza asserted that Pennsylvania law
applied. The district court applied New York law. /d. at 219. ~

As in the decision in Budget, the Third Circuit conducted
an “interest analysis” of the policies of all interested states and
then - based on the results of that analysis - determined whether
the case involved a true of false conflict or whether it was an
“unprovided for” case. /d. at 220. The Third Circuit determined
that Pennsylvania had an interest in providing for the plaintiff's
recovery, and that New York’s vicarious liability law was not
so offensive to the policy of Pennsylvania as to prevent the
application of New York law. Accordingly, the Third Circuit
upheld the district court’s decision.

The Fifth Circuit erred in not conducting this “interest
analysis” of the policies underlying Texas law, and in not taking
into account the respondent’s domicile, place of injury, and place
of conduct causing injury, as well as the contractual nature of
the rental agreement. Review is necessary so that this Court
may remedy the Fifth Circuit’s error and bring a certainty to the
proper reach of Florida’s dangerous instrumentality doctrine.

19

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, petitioner respectfully
requests that the Supreme Court grant review of this matter.

Respectfully submitted,

BLAZENA Psurny*
WESSON H. TRIBBLE

3050 Post Oak Boulevard
Suite 1350

Houston, TX 77056
(713) 622-0444

* Counsel of Record Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
DATED AND FILED NOVEMBER 28, 2005

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 03-10404
PRISCILLA S. CATES, Individually and as Guardian of
the Person and Estate of Bobby Ray Cates,
an Incapacitated Person,
Plaintiff-Appellant-Cross-Appellee,
versus
MATTHEW SCOTT CREAMER,
Defendant-Appellee-Cross-Appellant,
LAMAE CREAMER; HERTZ CORPORATION,
Defendants-Appellees.
Appeal from the United States District Court for
the Northern District of Texas, Wichita Falls
- 3DC No. 7:00-CV-121
Before JOLLY, JONES and DEMOSS, Circuit Judges.

E. GRADY JOLLY, Circuit Judge:

The lease for the Hertz rental car was executed in Florida.
The wreck and Bobby Cates’s injuries occurred in Texas.

2a

Appendix A

The defendant driver, Matthew Scott Creamer, momentarily
went to sleep while driving. Mr. Cates’s car had stalled on
the side of the highway when Creamer hit it, severely injuring
Bobby Cates. The first jury found no negligence and returned
its verdict for the defendant, Creamer. The district court
granted a new trial. The second jury found Creamer 70% at
fault for the accident and awarded damages to the plaintiff.
The court, however, applied Texas law and exonerated Hertz
from liability. Cates hopes to collect the award from Hertz
based on the Florida law relating to vicarious liability.
Creamer hopes to reinstate the first jury’s verdict, which
means we have to decide whether Creamer’s falling asleep
at the wheel was fault-free. If we uphold the grant of a new
trial and the verdict of the second jury, then we must decide
whether Texas or Florida law applies to determine Hertz’s
vicarious liability. If Texas law applies, Hertz prevails in this
appeal. If Florida law applies, Cates prevails.

Ultimately, we uphold the district court’s grant of a new
trial to Cates and, consequently, the verdict of the second
trial. We further hold that Florida law applies to the vicarious
liability issue and remand the case to the district court for
further proceedings applying Florida law.

I

A

On June 29, 1998, Florida residents Matthew and Lamae
Creamer rented a mini-van from Hertz Corporation (“Hertz”)

3a
Appendix A

in Florida.' They planned to travel from Panama City, Florida
to Spearman, Texas for a family reunion. They apparently
told the Hertz agent that they planned to make the 24-hour
trip without stopping for the night by alternating drivers. The
Creamers signed a rental agreement that stated: “This
agreement is solely for the purpose of creating a bailment
that allows You to use the car as permitted by this agreement.”
Under the agreement, the Creamers could drive the minivan
anywhere in the United States and Canada, but they were
obligated to return it to Florida. The agreement referenced
Florida’s financial responsibility and “no fault” personal
injury laws but did not contain a choice-of-laws provision.

The Creamers began driving at around noon on June 29.
Matthew Creamer (“Creamer”) drove approximately eight
hours from Panama City to New Orleans, Louisiana, at which
time Mrs. Creamer began to drive. She drove through the
night into Texas while Creamer slept in the car. He awoke
near daybreak to discover that the car was pulled over to the
side of the road and that Mrs. Creamer was asleep. He then
resumed driving and set the cruise control to 70 miles per
hour, the highway’s speed limit. Creamer fell asleep at the
wheel and awoke as he hit Bobby Ray Cates’s (“Mr. Cates”)
parked car. Tragically, Mr. Cates was standing in front of the
front passenger door and the impact of the collision projected
him several feet into the roadway.

1. Hertz is incorporated in Delaware and its principal place of
business is New Jerscy.

4a

Appendix A

As a result of the severe head injuries he sustained,
Mr. Cates is unable to work and is almost completely
incapacitated. Mr. Cates’s medical expenses exceed
$200,000. He resides at a long-term care facility. Priscilla
Cates (“Cates”) is his legal guardian.

B

—

Cates filed a diversity suit in the Northern District of
Texas against Creamer for negligent operation of a motor
vehicle under Texas law, seeking compensation for medical
expenses and lost wages. She also sued Hertz under Florida’s
“dangerous instrumentality doctrine,” which imposes
vicarious liability on the owner/lessor of a vehicle who
entrusts it to a lessee who operates it negligently, causing
damages. Hertz moved for summary judgment, contending
that Texas law, not Florida law, controls the vicarious liability
issue. Texas does not recognize the dangerous instrumentality
doctrine; instead, it has adopted the doctrine of negligent
entrustment, which provides that for Cates to make Hertz
vicariously liable she must show: “(1) entrustment of a
vehicle by the owner; (2) to an unlicensed, incompetent, or
reckless driver; (3) that the owner knew or should have
known to be unlicensed, (4) that the driver was negligent on
the occasion in question and (5) that the driver’s negligence
proximately caused the accident.” Schneider v. Esperanza
Transmission Co., 744 S.W.2d 595, 596 (Tex.1987). The
district court granted Hertz’s motion and dismissed Cates’s
suit against Hertz after finding that Cates could not make a
prima facie case of negligent entrustment against Hertz
under Texas law. It subsequently denied Cates’s motion to
reconsider its summary judgment order.

5a

Appendix A

The first trial, with Creamer as the sole defendant, began
on July 9, 2002. Creamer denied that he was liable and argued
that Cates was contributorily negligent. The jury returned a
verdict in which it found that Creamer was not negligent.
The district court, however, granted Cates’s motion for new
trial. The second jury returned a verdict in favor of Cates,
finding that Creamer was 70% negligent and Mr. Cates
was 30% negligent. The jury assessed actual damages of
$3,080,000.00. The district court entered judgment of
$2,156,000 plus prejudgment interest of $851,782.47.

This appeal and cross appeal present two issues. First,
Cates appeals the summary judgment dismissing Hertz,
contending that Florida law, not Texas law, controls the issue
of vicarious liability. Creamer cross-appeals the grant of
Cates’s motion for new trial. He urges that the district court
abused its discretion in granting the motion for new trial
because the first verdict was not against the great weight of
the evidence. Creamer requests that we reinstate the first
verdict. We will address this issue first.

I

We review a district court’s grant of a motion for new
trial for abuse of discretion. Govt Fin. Servs. One Lid.
Partnership v. Peyton Place, Inc., 62 F.3d 767, 774
(Sth Cir. 1995). Where a motion for a new trial is granted,
we scrutinize that decision more closely. Scott v. Monsanto
Co., 868 F.2d 786, 789 (Sth Cir. 1989) (noting that when a
motion for new trial is granted “the broad discretion allowed
to the trial court is tempered by the deference due to a
jury[ J”). We review a grant of summary judgment de novo,

6a

Appendix A

applying the same standard as the district court. U.E. Texas
One-Barrington, Ltd. v. Gen. Star Indem. Co., 332 F.3d 274,
276 (Sth Cir. 2003). Finally, we review a district court’s
conflict of laws determination de novo. Spence v. Glock, 227
F.3d 308, 311 (Sth Cir. 2000).

Il
A

A district court can grant a motion for new trial if the
first trial was unfair or if the jury verdict was against the
great weight of the evidence. Monsanto, 868 F.2d at 789.
Several factors guide us in the review of a district court’s
order granting a new trial: We consider the simplicity of the
issues, “pernicious occurrences” at trial, and the extent to
which the evidence is in dispute. /d. (quoting Smith v.
Transworld Drilling Co., 773 F.2d 610, 613 (Sth Cir. 1985)).
If we determine that one or more of the above factors supports
the district judge, we generally affirm the grant of a new
trial. Shows v. Jamison Bedding, Inc., 671 F.2d 927, 931 (Sth
Cir. 1982). However, even if we find that all three of these
factors weigh against the grant of a new trial, we may still
apply an overriding consideration and affirm the district
court’s order of a new trial by determining “independently[ ]
that the jury verdict was against the great weight of the
evidence.” /d.

We will assume that each of the three factors tilts against
the grant of a new trial here. The question thus becomes
whether the fourth consideration, standing alone, supports

Ta

Appendix A

the grant of a new trial. See Shows, 671 F.2d at 931. We have
frequently affirmed district court grants of motions for new
trials on evidentiary grounds alone. See, e.g., Shows; United
States v. Horton, 622 F.2d 144 (Sth Cir. 1980); Bazile v. Bisso
Marine Co., Inc., 606 F.2d 101 (Sth Cir. 1979); Massey v.
Gulf Oil Corp., 508 F.2d 92 (Sth Cir. 1975); Weyerhaeuser
v. Bucon Construction Co., 430 F.2d 420 (Sth Cir. 1970).

Creamer argues that he presented sufficient evidence for
the jury to find in his favor. He maintains that falling asleep
at the wheel creates only a rebuttable inference of negligence.
Creamer further argues that he successfully rebutted that
inference by submitting evidence that Mr. Cates was drunk
at the time of the accident, that Mr. Cates did not turn on his
hazard lights after pulling over, that Mr. Cates’s car may not
have been entirely off the road,” that Creamer had no reason
to anticipate that he would fall asleep at the wheel because
he was well-rested when he began driving that morning, and
that Creamer had nodded off only momentarily.

Cates counters that Creamer did not present any evidence
that justified or excused his falling asleep at the wheel and
thus did not rebut the inference of negligence. She further
argues that any evidence tending to show Mr. Cates’s
negligence goes only to comparative negligence and does
not relieve Creamer of responsibility. She also contends that
Creamer’s contention that Mr. Cates’s car was in the roadway

2. Creamer argues that the jury could have concluded that
Catcs’s car was in the road from Creamer’s testimony that his car
had just hit the roadway’s rumble strips when he collided with Cates’s
parked car.

8a

Appendix A

is meritless because it is controverted by the police officer’s
report, which found that Mr. Cates’s car was legally parked
on the shoulder. Finally, Cates argues that the danger of a
crash is foreseeable when the driver falls asleep while
traveling 70 miles per hour. These facts, Cates argues,
foreclose any doubt as to the foreseeability of the accident.

B

We agree with Cates that the district court did not abuse
its discretion in concluding that the first jury verdict was
against the great weight of the evidence. This conclusion is
clearly supportable when evaluated under Texas law. Texas
case law acknowledges that “[i]t is hardly possible to yield
to sleep without having premonitory symptoms of its
approach [.]” McMillian v. Sims, 112 S.W.2d 793, 797
(Tex.Civ.App.1937, writ dism. agr.). When a driver ignores
these warnings and falls asleep while driving, as Creamer
concedes, an inference of negligence arises. /d. (citing Potz
v. Williams, 113 Conn. 278, 155 A. 211, 212 (Conn. 1931)).
Creamer cannot point to any evidence that he did not
experience these premonitory symptoms of sleep. Creamer’s
evidence that he was well-rested before driving shows only
that he exercised due care before he became sleepy; it shows
neither that he had no warning signs of sleepiness nor that
he was excused or justified in ignoring such signs. Moreover,
the evidence relating to Cates's fault does not go to exonerate
Creamer—it goes to establish comparative fault for the injury.
Because we find that Creamer did not rebut the inference of
negligence arising from his nodding off at the wheel, we
affirm the district court’s holding that the first jury verdict—

9a

Appendix A

relieving Creamer of all liability—was against the great
weight of the evidence.

We now turn to consider whether the district court erred
in applying Texas law instead of Florida law, which had the
effect of relieving Hertz of all liability.’

IV
A

We review de novo a district court’s choice of law
determination. /n re Air Disaster at Ramstein Air Base,
Germany, 81 F.3d 570, 576 (Sth Cir. 1996).

Cates argues that the district court erred in its conflict
of laws analysis, specifically, by failing to follow the narrow
issue-by-issue approach set forth in the Second Restatement
on Conflicts of Laws, which Texas has adopted. See Duncan
v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 665 S.W.2d 414, 421 (Tex.1984). She
contends that the court should have focused on the facts and
circumstances surrounding the issue of vicarious liability—
not on the issue of general negligence. In support of her
argument she cites § 174 of the Second Restatement on
Conflict of Laws, which provides that

[t]he local law of the state which has the most
significant relationship to the occurrence and the
parties with respect to the issue of vicarious

3. Cates does not challenge the district court’s analysis of
Texas’s negligent entrustment law.

10a

Appendix A

liability should be applied in determining whether
one person is liable for the tort of another person.‘

Hertz argues that § 174 should not be applied to this
case because it contains a specifically felevant limitation: In
determining which state’s law should apply to an issue of
vicarious liability, “the forum will be influenced by rules of
vicarious liability prevailing in other states.” Restatement
¢Second) Conflict of Laws § 174 cmt. b (1971). Hertz asserts
that state laws have overwhelmingly rejected vicarious
liability arising from the dangerous instrumentality doctrine.
Thus, Hertz concludes, the prevailing view of the majority
of the states should persuade the forum court not to apply
vicarious liability under Florida law.

B

(1)

Hertz’s argument that we should disregard the Florida
rule on vicarious liability because only three states have
adopted the dangerous instrumentality doctrine ignores the
broader and more relevant consideration. Although § 174
requires us to “be influenced by the rules of vicarious liability
prevailing in other states[,]” it also directs that “a relationship
which forms the basis for the imposition of vicarious liability
in a substantial number of states” will likely be adequate for

— —_— oe ———

4. Further support for this proposition is found in the
Restatement’s statement that “[c]ach issue is to receive separate
consideration if it is one which would be resolved differently under
the local law rule of two or more of the potentially interested states.”
Restatement (Second) Conflict of Laws § 145 cmt. d (1971).

lla

Appendix A

such an imposition, “even if it would not result in such
liability under the forum’s local law.” Restatement (Second)
Conflict of Laws § 174 cmt. b. The relevant inquiry, thus,
is not how many states have adopted the precise rule that
prevails in Florida, but how many states recognize vicarious
liability in comparable relationships between bailor and
bailee. We note that at least nineteen states, including the
District of Columbia, arguably impose vicarious liability on
automobile lessors in some circumstances, oftén under the
principles of agency.° At least eight of those jurisdictions
would likely impose vicarious liability on automobile lessors

5. See 59 Bus. Law. 1161; N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 388
(McKinney 1996 & Supp.2004); Shuck v. Means, 302 Minn. 93, 226
N.W.2d 285, 287 (1975); Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.401; Burton v.
Gardner Motors, Inc., 117 Cal. App.3d 426, 429, 172 Cal. Rptr. 647,
649 (1981); Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-154a (2003); Enter. Leasing Co.
S. Cent., Inc. v. Hughes, 833 So.2d 832, 837-38 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App.
2002); Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. 29-A § 1652; RI Stat. § 31-34-4; Curtis
v. Cuff, 537 A.2d 1072, 1074 (D.C. 1987); Iowa Code § 321.493;
Del.Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6102(a) (1995); Bell v. Reid, 118 Ill. App.
3d 310, 73 Ill. Dec. 868, 454 N.E.2d 1117, 1119 (1983) (holding
that the vehicle owner is liable for negligence of the driver unless
the owner can rebut the presumption of agency); Williams v. Wheeler,
252 Md. 75, 249 A.2d 104, 110-11 (1969) (holding that the owner of
a vehicle who was not driving at the time of the accident cannot be
held vicariously liable unless there was evidence of agency); Mass.
Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 231 § 85A; Harvey v. Craw, 110 N.J.Super. 68,
264 A.2d 448, 451 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1970), cert. dismissed,
56 N.J. 479, 267 A.2d 61 (1970) (noting that the owner/lessor may
be held vicariously liable unless the presumption of agency is
rebutted); Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 47, § 8-102(c); Wis. Stat. Ann.
§§ 344.51(2), 344.01(2)(d) (1999); McGrew v. Stone, 998 S.W.2d 5,
6 (Ky. 1999); Nev.Rev.Stat. § 482.305.

12a

Appendix A

in the same manner that Florida does.® We think that this
establishes an adequate basis for a Texas court to impose
Florida’s law of vicarious liability despite the fact that Texas
itself does not recognize vicarious liability under these
circumstances. Accordingly, we reject Hertz’s argument that
the imposition of vicarious liability on these facts is so
aberrant that we should disregard a § 174 analysis.

(2)

Section 174 directs forum courts to apply “[t]he local
law of the state which has the most significant relationship
to the occurrence and the parties with respect to the issue of
vicarious liability” in deciding “whether one person is liable
for the tort of another.” Restatement (Second) Conflict of
Laws § 174 cmt. a (1971). The district court mistakenly
focused solely on the factors generally relevant to tort cases
without following the directive of §§ 145 and 174 to apply
the conflicts analysis with respect to the individual issues
that may arise in a given tort case. Here, the specific issue is
whether Florida or Texas law should apply to the question
of Hertz’s vicarious liability for Creamer’s negligence.

Our finding that the district court erred in its analysis by
not focusing on § 174, however, does not determine the

6. See Burton v. Gardner Motors, Inc., 117 Cal. App. 3d 426,
172 Cal. Rptr. 647, 649 (1981); Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-154a (2003);
Enter. Leasing Co. S. Cent., Inc. v. Hughes, 833 So.2d 832, 837-38
(Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 2002); Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. 29-A § 1652; RI Stat.
§ 31-34-4; Curtis v. Cuff, 537 A.2d 1072, 1074 (D.C. 1987); lowa
Code § 321.493; Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.401.

13a

Appendix A

ultimate question in this case: whether the court erroneously
held that Texas, not Florida, law should apply on the question
of vicarious liability. We must now conduct an analysis of
that ultimate question.

(3)
(a)

As we have already noted, Texas has adopted the
Restatement (Second) on Conflict of Laws and the “most
significant relationship” test outlined in §§ 6 and 145 of the
Restatement. See Duncan, 665 S.W.2d at 420-21. Section
145 directs that the law of the state with the most significant
relationship to the particular issue in tort should govern that
issue. Restatement (Second) Conflict of Laws § 145(1)
(1971). Section 6 requires us to consider the relative interests
of the respective states in having their laws applied to
this case.

Comment a of § 145 states that §§ 156-174 “dealf ] with
particular issues in tort” with greater precision as compared
to § 145, which is “cast in terms of great generality.” This
comment concludes that “the best way to bring precision into
the field is by attempting to state special rules for particular
torts and for particular issues in tort.” /d.’

7. The Restatement’s framework does not provide a precise
method for analyzing its provisions. See Gann v. Fruehauf Corp.,
52 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Sth Cir. 1995) (noting that the factors and
principles in the Second Restatement “defy mechanical application”
and are not to be “precisely followed in every instance[ ]}”).

14a

Appendix A

We therefore turn once again to § 174, which directs us
to consider

(1) whether the relationship between the
defendant and the other person makes the
imposition of vicarious liability reasonable and
(2) whether there is a reasonable relationship
between the defendant and the state whose local
law is to be applied.

§ 174 cmt. a. As to the first inquiry, the rental agreement
created a bailment relationship between Creamer and Hertz
in Florida. Comment b of § 174 states that a bailment
relationship establishes “an adequate relationship” for the
imposition of vicarious liability. As to the second inquiry,
there is clearly a reasonable relationship between Hertz and
Florida law: Hertz does business in Florida, and the rental
contract that provides the potential basis for the imposition
of vicarious liability refers to Florida law. Furthermore, the
rental agreement required the Creamers to return the car to
Hertz in Florida. On this basis, we are persuaded that the
bailor-bailee relationship between Hertz and Creamer
establishes an adequate basis for the imposition of vicarious
liability against Hertz and that-Hertz had a reasonable
relationship with the state of Florida. We thus find that
§ 174 weighs in favor of applying Florida law to the vicarious
liability issue.

(b)

Continuing our analysis of the relevant Restatement
provisions, § 174 next requires us to apply “the rule of
§ 145.” We thus turn to § 145, which provides a list of

15a

Appendix A

contacts that should be considered in determining what state
law applies to a specific issue in a tort case. These contacts
include:

(a) the place where the injury occurred,

(b) the place where the conduct causing the
injury occurred,

(c) the domicil, residence, nationality, place
of incorporation and place of business of the
parties, and

(d) the place where the relationship, if any,
between the parties is centered.

Hertz emphasizes that both the injury and the conduct
causing the injury in this case occurred in Texas. These
factors, however, are meant to be “evaluated according to
their relative importance with respect to the particular issue.”
§ 145. We also evaluate these contacts qualitatively instead
of quantitatively. Spence v. Glock, Ges.m.b.H., 227 F.3d 308,
312 (Sth Cir. 2000).

That both the injury and the conduct causing the injury
occurred in Texas would weigh heavily in favor of applying
Texas law to the issue of Creamer’s negligence that caused
an injury to a Texas citizen on a Texas road. But those contacts
are less important in determining which state’s law should
apply to the issue of Hertz’s vicarious liability for those
injuries caused by its lessee. More relevant to Hertz’s
vicarious liability is the place where the relationship of the

16a
Appendix A

parties is centered. See § 145(2)(d). The most relevant
relationship is that which arises from the lease of the
automobile. Although Cates may have a real interest in the
lease, Cates, a Texas resident, essentially has no relationship
with the lease. Texas has no relationship with the lease, and
Hertz has no relationship with Texas concerning this lease.
Creamer has no relationship with the state of Texas arising
from the lease. Creamer, however, is a Florida resident and
is a party to the lease. Hertz is the other party to the lease
and does its relevant business in Florida. Florida is the situs
where the lease was executed. In short, Florida, not Texas,
has the most significant relationship to the issue of Hertz’s
vicarious liability.

(c)

Now that we have identified the most significant
contacts, § 145 directs that these contacts are to be considered
under the principles provided in § 6. Section 6 requires us to
engage in an analysis of the relative interests of the respective
states. Specifically, we should assess:

(a) the needs of the interstate and international
systems,

(b) the relevant policies of the forum,
(c) the relevant policies of other interested

states and the relative interests of those states in
the determination of the particular issue,

(d) the protection of justified expectations,

17a

Appendix A

(e) the basic policies underlying the
particular field of law,

(f) certainty, predictability, and uniformity of
result, and.

(g) ease in the determination and application
of the law to be applied.

We note that the interests we consider are those that are
specifically relevant to the issue of vicarious liability. Our
analysis of these factors leads us to conclude that Texas has
only a minimal interest in having its law apply to the vicarious
liability issue. Texas’s interest in avoiding judgments against
defendant bailors is not implicated here because Hertz is not
a Texas corporation and did not conduct the business relating
to this rental agreement in Texas. Furthermore, although
Texas has the greater interest in seeing Cates compensated
for her husband’s injuries and in avoiding the burden of
providing medical care for Mr. Cates, it is Florida law, not
Texas law, which offers greater protection of those interests.

Florida’s interests in having its law applied to the
vicarious liability issue in this case, however, are also
minimal. Florida’s dangerous instrumentality doctrine
protects plaintiffs from impecunious drivers by imposing
liability on the owners of the vehicles, but here, the plaintiff
is not a Florida resident. Further, although Florida may have
an interest in regulating the conduct of vehicle bailors to
reduce the incidence of accidents, we are not persuaded that
that interest extends beyond Florida’s borders.

18a

Appendix A

Thus, because the interests of neither state clearly
predominate over those of the other, the interest analysis of
§ 6 provides little impact on our decision. We are, however,
persuaded by our reading of the most significant relationship
test of §§ 145 and 174 that Florida clearly has the greater
connection to the facts and circumstances as they relate to
the vicarious liability issue.* We therefore conclude that the
district court erred in applying Texas law to the issue of
Hertz’s vicarious liability. Because the district court did not
conduct a vicarious liability inquiry under Flo.ida law,
we remand this case to it for determination, under Florida
law, of Hertz’s vicarious liability for Cates’s judgment a
gainst Creamer. On remand, the district court should focus
particularly on whether the Florida law of vicarious liability
may be applied to benefit non-Florida residents in a situation
such as the case at hand. It seems that the district court will
have to make an Erie guess to resolve this question, as no
Florida precedent exists to resolve the question.

V

In sum, we conclude that the district court did not abuse
its discretion in granting Cates’s motion for new trial because
Creamer did not present evidence rebutting the inference of
negligence that arose from his falling asleep at the wheel.

8. The dissent criticizes our failure to cite Bartley v. Budget
Rent-A-Car Corp., 919 S.W.2d 747 (Tex.App.1996), for its reasoning.
As previously noted, Texas has adopted the Restatement (Second)
of Conflicts of Laws, and § 174 is the section that directly addresses
vicarious liability. We find Bartley, because it fails to address § 174,
unhelpful to our analysis.

19a

Appendix A

The first jury’s verdict denying relief to Cates was, therefore,
against the great weight of the evidence. We further hold
that the district court erred in failing to analyze the conflict
of laws question in the specific context of the vicarious
liability issue and in failing to apply § 174 of the Restatement.
Our own analysis of that section leads us to conclude that
Florida, not Texas, law should apply to the vicarious liability
issue because the bailment relationship, which is the basis
for vicarious liability here, is centered in Florida and because
§ 174 specifically states that a bailment relationship is an
adequate basis for the imposition of vicarious liability.
Accordingly, we AFFIRM Cates’s judgment against Creamer,
VACATE the judgment for Hertz, and REMAND to the
district court for determination of Hertz’s vicarious liability
under Florida law for the judgment entered against Creamer.

AFFIRMED in part; VACATED in part and REMANDED.

20a

Appendix A

DeMOSS, Circuit Judge, concurring in part and dissenting
in part:

Insofar as the majority opinion upholds the district
court’s grant of a new trial to Cates and, consequently, the
verdict of the second trial, I concur. However, I respectfully
dissent from the portion of the majority’s opinion that holds
that Florida law applies to the issue of vicarious liability.

This case is undisputedly based on diversity jurisdiction,
and our responsibility in diversity cases is to determine what
the substantive law of the forum state is, not what we think
it should be. See Am. Nat’! Gen. Ins. Co. v. Ryan, 274 F.3d
319, 328 (Sth Cir. 2001); Boardman v. United Servs. Auto.
Ass'n, 742 F.2d 847, 851 (Sth Cir. 1984). Moreover, once
we have determined what the law is, our duty is to apply it,
not to define its contours. Boardman, 742 F.2d at 851. I
dissent from the majority’s opinion because the majority uses
the wrong approach in determining what Texas’s conflicts
law is and in doing so, reaches the wrong result.

The majority cites a Texas Supreme Court case, Duncan
v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 665 S.W.2d 414 (Tex.1984), for the
proposition that Texas follows the Restatement (Second) of
Conflict of Laws to determine choice of law in tort cases and
appears to conclude that Texas would adopt section 174
of the Restatement in the vicarious liability context. The
majority then provides a quite voluminous analysis of how
section 174 applies to the facts of this case. But the Texas
Supreme Court has never applied the most-significant-
relationship test in a vicarious liability case. Consequently,

2la

Appendix A

it is unclear (1) whether Texas’s highest court would adopt
section 174 as controlling law in the vicarious liability
context and (2) how that same court would interpret that
section even if it did. Moreover, where a state’s highest court
has not yet spoken on an issue, we have stated that we will
look to the state’s appellate courts for guidance unless we
are convinced that the highest court of the state would not
adopt the appellate courts’ reasoning. Primrose Operating
Co. v. Nat'l Am. Ins. Co., 382 F.3d 546, 564-65 (Sth Cir.
2004). The best evidence of what the Texas Supreme Court
would do in this case can be found in Bartley v. Budget Rent-
A-Car Corp., 919 8.W.2d 747 (Tex.App.— Amarillo 1996),
which I describe below in my discussion of how this case
should have been decided.? Remarkably, the majority makes
no mention at all of Bartley and fails to indicate why it
believes the supreme court of Texas would not follow the
reasoning set out there. And even if the majority has good
reason not to follow Bartley, it fails to consider the next best
solution in a choice of law case in which guidance from the
State’s supreme court is lacking: certification.

I have spoken out on the importance of certification
several times in the past, see, e.g., Tanks v. Lockheed Martin
Corp., 417 F.3d 456, 468 (Sth Cir. 2005) (DeMoss, J.,

9. There is another Texas appeals court case that not only agrees
with Bartley but also agrees with the district court below that Texas
law should apply in a case like this. Perkins v. Dynasty Group Auto,
No. 08-01-00493-CV, 2003 WL 22810452, at *3-*4 (Tex.App.—
E] Paso Nov. 25, 2003) (unpublished). However, because that case is
not published, [ only cite it here to bolster my contention that Bartley
is the best evidence of what the Texas Supreme Court would do.

22a

Appendix A

specially concurring); Compass Bank v. King, Griffin &
Adamson P.C., 388 F.3d 504, 506-07 (Sth Cir. 2004)
(DeMoss, J., dissenting), and one reason I dissent here is to
emphasiz<¢ my position regarding that important judicial tool.
As I have said before, certifying an unanswered question to
a State’s supreme court is a preferable course of action to our
trying to make an Erie guess as to the question of state law
involved. Granted, we have refused to certify when the state’s
law is clear, but the law is anything but clear here—section
174 is ambiguous, and it has never been adopted or inter-
preted by a Texas court. This Circuit used to subscribe to a
federalist policy of seeking guidance in diversity cases from
“the one court constitutionally entitled to supply it,” the
supreme court of the forum state. Boardman, 742 F.2d at
851; see also Puckett v. Rufenacht, Bromagen, & Hertz, Inc.,
903 F.2d 1014, 1021 n. 13 (Sth Cir. 1990) (“This course [of
certifying questions directly to the supreme court of the forum
state] has been pursued often by the Fifth Circuit and has
been enthusiastically endorsed by the Supreme Court.”).
However, the majority’s refusal to even consider certification
indicates this Circuit’s increasing animosity towards the use
of certification in diversity cases. I urge the Court to return
to these principles of federalism. As former Chief Judge
Brown aptly stated ir Boardman, quoting his own law review
article, “Federal courts should hesitate to ‘trade judicial robes
for the garb of prophet’ ... when an available certification
procedure renders the crystal ball or divining rod unnecessary.”
Boardman, 742 F.2d at 851 (quoting John R. Brown,
Certification—Federalism in Action, 7 Cums. L. Rev. 455,
455 (1977)). We should heed Judge Brown’s advice and use
the great tool of certification more freely.

23a

Appendix A

Another reason I dissent is that even if the majority uses
the right approach, I believe it reaches the wrong result.
First, Bartley is a good indicator of how the Texas Supreme
Court would decide this case. Not only are Bartley’s facts
substantially similar (a Texas plaintiff suing a Michigan car
rental agency for the negligence of a driver), but also the
underlying policy reason for selecting Texas substantive law
is the same. In Bartley, the Seventh Court of Appeals of Texas
declined to apply the law of Michigan, the state where the
car rental agency was located, because it found that layering
Michigan’s “no fault” liability scheme on top of Texas’s
system of “proportional responsibility and recovery” would
have an unjust result, especially when the limited damages
aspect of Michigan law was not also imported. Bartley, 919
S.W.2d at 755-56. The Bartley court found it determinative
that the plaintiff sought a recovery unlimited by law through
application of part of a Michigan law that, if applied in its
entirety, would have limited recovery. Jd. at 755. In this case,
the plaintiff attempts to recover $2,156,000.00 from the
defendant car rental agency under Florida’s dangerous
instrumentality doctrine. Yet the plaintiff does not seek
apnlication of the rest of Florida’s laws, which limit
the liability of lessors who rent or lease a motor vehicle for
less than one year. See Fla. Stat. Ann. § 324.021(9)(b)(2)
(generally limiting a lessor’s liability to $100,000 per
individual and $300,000 per incident (unless the lessor does
not carry adequate insurance)); see also Fischer v.
Alessandrini, 907 So.2d 569, 570- 71 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.2005)
(discussing the policy for limiting recovery under the
dangerous instrumentality doctrine). I do not see how the
majority can ignore Bartley on these facts, especially where

24a

Appendix A

~

“applying the law of the forum, Texas, will further its own
policy of serving the interest of certainty, predictability and
uniformity of result, thereby providing ease in the determination
and application of the law.” Bartley, 919 S.W.2d at 756.

The second reason I believe the majority reaches the
wrong result is that it misinterprets sections 174 and 145 of
the Restatement. First, the comments to section 174 do not
cover the situation where party A, a domiciliary of state X,
rents a car from B rental agency in state X and, with
permission, drives to state Y and negligently injures party C
there. Furthermore, comment c states, .

Vicarious liability may also be imposed by
application of the local law of some state other
than that of conduct and injury. So, for example,
vicarious liability may be imposed under the local
law of the state where the relationship between
the one sought to be held liable and the tortfeasor
is centered. Application of the local law of this
state to impose vicarious liability is particularly
likely if this state has some relationship to the
injured plaintiff.

Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws § 174 cmt. c (1971)
(emphasis added). Here, Florida has no relationship to the-
injured plaintiff. Therefore, section 174 does not provide a
concrete answer as to whether vicarious liability should be
imposed on the car rental agency in our case, contrary to the
majority’s assertion.

25a

Appendix A

Turning to section 145, the majority incorrectly interprets
the fourth contact to be considered under that section in
determining what state law applies to a specific issue in a
tort case—” the place where the relationship, if any, between
the parties is centered.” See id. § 145(2)(d). The majority
states that the relevant relationship is “that which arises from
the lease of the automobile.” But there was no relationship
between the parties prior to the accident in this case, and at
least one Texas court has held that section 145’s fourth
contact is irrelevant in that situation. Bartley, 919 S.W.2d
at 755. Because the majority finds this contact to be
determinative in Part B.3.b of its opinion, | believe its result
is flawed.

Because I have not been able to convince the majority to
certify the conflicts question presented in this case to the
Texas Supreme Court, I suggest what I believe is the next
best option for the district court on remand: Now that we
have affirmed the $2,156,000.00 judgment in favor of Cates
against Creamer, the district court should dismiss without
prejudice Cates’s claim against Hertz, and thereby permit
Cates to sue Hertz in Florida on the theory that Florida’s
vicarious liability law makes Hertz liable to pay the judgment
against Creamer. See Manshack v. Southwestern Elec. Power
Co., 915 F.2d 172, 174 (Sth Cir. 1990) (“[T]he courts have
generally followed the traditional principle that dismissal
should be allowed unless the defendant will suffer some plain
legal prejudice other than the mere prospect of a second
lawsuit.”). Although some courts have held that dismissal is
not appropriate when the plaintiff will reinstate the action in
a forum that will apply a different body of substantive law,

26a

Appendix A

see, e.g., Rodriguez v. Marks Bros. Pickle Co., 102 F.R.D.
104 (E.D. Wis. 1984), that is not the case here. The majority
Opinion requires the district court in Texas to apply Florida
state law, and that is the same body of substantive law that a
Florida court would apply if the claim against Hertz were
brought there. No prejudice to the defendant would result.
Manshack, 915 F.2d at 174 (finding no prejudice where the
same choice of law principles would apply in state court).

For the above reasons, I respectfully dissent from the
portion of the majority’s opinion that holds that Florida law
applies to the issue of vicarious liability, and I recommend
that the district court below dismiss the claim against Hertz
without prejudice so that the plaintiff can bring her claim
against Hertz in Florida state court.

27a

APPENDIX B — MEMORANDUM OPINION AND
ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS,
WICHITA FALLS DIVISION,

SIGNED AUGUST 6, 2001 AND
FILED AUGUST 7, 2001

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

WICHITA FALLS DIVISION

Civil Action No.: 7:00-CV-121-R
PRISCILLA S. CATES, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS

GUARDIAN OF THE PERSON OF AND ESTATE OF
BOBBY RAY CATES, AN INCAPACITATED PERSON,
Plaintiffs,

vs.

MATTHEW SCOTT CREAMER, LAMAE CREAMER,
AND THE HERTZ CORPORATION,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiffs Prisc:'la and Bobby Ray Cates (collectively
the “Cates”) have asserted claims against Matthew and Lamae
Creamer (collectively the “Creamers”) for negligence and
against the Hertz Corporation (“Hertz”) under Florida’s
dangerous instrumentality doctrine or, alternatively, under
Texas’s negligent entrustment laws. Now before this Court

28a

Appendix B

is Hertz’s Motion for Summary Judgment, filed July 3, 2001.'
For the reasons stated below, Hertz’s Motion is GRANTED.

I. BACKGROUND FACTS

On June 29, 1998 the Creamers rented a 1998 Ford
Windstar from a Hertz agency in Panama City, Florida. This
vehicle was registered and licensed in Florida. The Creamers
told Philip Long (“Long”), the Hertz agent, that they were
- traveling from Panama City to Spearman, Texas and that they
planned to make the twenty-four hour drive by alternating
drivers through the night. Long checked Mrs. Creamer’s
driver’s licence and credit card, but failed to check Mr.
Creamer’s driver’s license. Moreover, he did not add Mr.
Creamer as an authorized driver to the vehicle.

Long then spoke with Mr. Creamer about insurance
coverage. The Creamers had an automobile liability policy
with Allstate Insurance Company with coverage limits of
$20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. Long indicated
that the Creamers may not be covered under their own policy
and suggested Hertz’s insurance coverage. The Creamers
purchased loss damage waiver coverage, which protected the
vehicle but did not offer liability coverage. Mrs. Creamer
then initialed a provision waiving Hertz’s primary liability
protection and personal injury protection under Florida law.

1. Hertz was seven days late in filing its Motion for Summary
Judgment and the Cates have objected. Although June 26, 2001 was
the deadline for joint submission of dispositive motions, the Cates
have failed to establish that they have been prejudiced by Hertz’s
minimal tardiness. Therefore, the Cates’ objection is overruled.

29a

Appendix B

The Creamers then loaded the van and began driving
around noon. Mr. Creamer drove approximately eight hours
from Panama City to the outskirts of New Orleans, Louisiana.
Mrs. Creamer then drove through the night while
Mr. Creamer slept in the front passenger seat. Mr. Creamer
awoke near daybreak and realized the car was stopped on
the side of the road and Mrs. Creamer was sleeping.
He moved to the driver seat and resumed driving. At some
point he fell asleep while driving and awoke as he hit the
Cates’ 1977 Chevrolet on U.S. Highway 81, about three miles
south of Bowie, Texas. Mr. Cates was standing in front of
the open front passenger door when the accident occurred
and the impact projected him several feet into the roadway.

As a result of the accident, Mr. Cates sustained severe
head injuries and is now unable to care for himself. He resides
at a long-term care facility and Mrs. Cates has been appointed
his guardian. Mr. Cates’ medical expenses exceed $200,000
and he can no longer engage in employment as a result of his
condition. The Cates have initiated the present lawsuit to
recover for Mr. Cates’ personal injuries. The Cates argue that
Florida law should control this case. Hertz disagrees.

Il. LEGAL ANALYSIS

A. Standard of Review

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure allows
summary judgment only when there is no genuine issue as
to any material fact and the moving party is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); Celotex
Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986); Melton vy.

30a

Appendix B

Teachers Ins. & Annuity Ass'n. of Am., 114 F.3d 557, 559
(Sth Cir. 1997). An issue is “material” if it involves a fact
that might affect the outcome of the suit under governing
law. See Burgos v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 20 F.3d
633, 635 (Sth Cir. 1994). The court must decide all reasonable
doubts and inferences in the light most favorable to the party
opposing the motion. See Walker v. Sears, Roebuck & Co.,
853 F.2d 355, 358 (Sth Cir. 1988); Thornbrough v. Columbus
& Greenville R.R. Co., 760 F.2d 633, 640 (Sth Cir. 1985).
In addition, when both parties have submitted contradictory
evidence, factual controversies are resolved in favor of the
nonmovant. See Little v. Liquid Air Corp., 37 F.3d 1069, 1075
(Sth Cir. 1994). As long as there appears to be some support
for the disputed allegations such that “reasonable minds could
differ as to the import of the evidence,” the motion must be
denied. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,
250 (1986).

The party moving for summary judgment bears the initial
burden of identifying those portions of the pleadings,
depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on
file, together with affidavits, if any, which it believes
demonstrate the absence of a genuine issue of material fact.
See Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323. Where the nonmoving party
bears the burden of proof on a claim upon which summary
judgment is sought, the moving party may discharge its
summary judgment burden by showing that there is an
absence of evidence to support the nonmoving party’s case.
See id. at 325. Once the moving party has satisfied this
burden, the nonmoving party must go beyond the pleadings
and by its own affidavits or by depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on file set forth specific facts

3la

Appendix B

showing a genuine issue for trial. See id. at 324; Anderson,
477 U.S. at 256-57. Summary judgment will be granted
“against a party who fails to make a showing sufficient to
establish the existence of an element essential to that party’s
case, and on which that party will bear the burden of proof
at trial .” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322.

_

B. Choice of Law

In diversity cases, such as the matter presently before
this Court, federal courts must apply the choice of law rules
for the forum state. See Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Mfg.
Co., 313 U.S. 487, 496 (1941). Texas courts use the “most
significant relationship test” as set out in the Restatement
(Second) of Conflict of Laws (the “Restatement’’) to evaluate
choice of Jaw in a tort case. Gutierrez v. Collins, 583 S.W.2d
312, 318 (Tex. 1979). Section 6 of the Restatement outlines
the general principles that inform a choice of law
determination. Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws at
§ 6. Without a statutory directive, the factors relevant to the
choice of applicable rule of law include:

(a) the needs of the interstate and international
systems, (b) the relevant polices of the forum, (c)

the relevant policies of other interested states and

the relative interests of those states in the
determination of the particular issue, (d) the
protection of justified expectations, (e) the basic
policies underlying the particular field of law, (f)
certainty, predictability and uniformity of result, -
and (g) ease in the determination and application

of the law to be applied. Jd.

32a

Appendix B

More specifically, section 145 addresses choice of law
analysis in tort cases. Jd. at § 145. In applying the principles
of section 6 to a tort case, the Court should consider (a) the
place where the injury occurred, (b) the place where the conduct
causing the injury occurred, (c) the domicile, residence,
nationality, place of incorporation and place of business of
the parties, and (d) the place where the relationship, if any,
between the parties is centered. /d. Courts should evaluate
these contacts for their quality, addressing their relative
importance with respect to each particular case, rather than
for quantity. Gutierrez, 583 S.W.2d at 319.

Mr. Cates sustained personal injuries from a collision
that occurred in Texas. Without legal authority, Cates urges
this court to classify the place of injury as fortuitous, thereby
minimizing the role this factor plays in the determination of
choice of law. The argument, however, overlooks the fact
that the Cates lived in Texas during the time period leading
up to the accident. It is not fortuitous that Cates was injured
in Texas because he lived in Texas and was very unlikely to
have been injured in any other place. See Crisman v. Cooper
Indus., 748 S.W.2d 273, 278-79 (Tex.App.—Dallas 1988)
(holding that Texas law cannot apply when a defective trailer
was @perated solely im Florida thereby allowing injuries to
occur only in Florida).

Furthermore, the doctrine of fortuity generally applies
only to aircraft injuries where the plaintiffs were on board
the plane during the crash. Jn re: Air Crash Disaster near
Chicago, Illinois on May 25, 1979, 644 F.2d 594, 615 (7th
Cir. 1981). These plaintiffs do not include bystanders on the
ground. /d. Even applying the airplane rationale to this case,

33a

Appendix B

Cates’ argument fails because at the time of the crash he was
effectively a bystander who became involved in the accident
when the crash vehicle driven by Mr. Creamer collided with
his car. Thus, in the absence of appropriate facts, the doctrine
of fortuity will not be applied in this case. As a result, this
first factor indicates that Texas law should govern this matter
because the injury occurred in Texas.

The second factor to evaluate is where the conduct
causing the injury occurred. The Cates argue that their injuries
are not their actual personal injuries, but rather their inability
to adequately recover damages from the Creamers their for
personal injuries. Then, without discussion, the Cates
conclude that this injury occurred in Florida where the car
was rented. This reliance is misplaced. The Cates have not
sustained financial injuries but rather personal injuries for
which they seek compensatory damages.* The conduct
leading to the personal injuries was Mr. Creamer falling
asleep at the wheel and subsequently striking the Cates’ car.
This conduct occurred in Texas, not Florida, and therefore
this second factor supports the application of Texas law.

The third factor for the Court to consider is the domicile,
residence, nationality, place of incorporation, and place of
business of the parties. The Cates are Texas residents. Hertz
is a Delaware corporation with its principal place of business
in New Jersey. The Cates assert that Hertz has subjected itself
to Florida law by conducting business within the state. This
argument neglects to consider that Hertz operates in many

2. However, even if the Court were to deem the injury to be
financial in nature, the conduct causing it results from Texas law
which precludes recovery under dangerous instrumentality laws.

34a

Appendix B

states, including Texas, and can therefore be subjected to
the laws of a multitude of states. Furthermore, compensation
of an injured plaintiff is primarily a concern of the state in
which the plaintiff is domiciled. Torrington Co. v. Stutzman,
2000 WL 1862923,*16 (Tex.2000). Texas has the most direct
interest in the Cates’ recovery, and therefore, Texas law should
govern such recovery. /d.

The final factor concerns the place where the relationship
between the parties, if any, is centered. Section 145 indicates
that this relationship is one between plaintiff anid defendant.
See Restatement at § 145. The Cates concede that they had
no relationship with Hertz and therefore this factor should
be moot. Nevertheless, without authority, the Cates argue
that the relationship the Court should consider is that between
the co-defendants. This relationship was indeed formed in
Florida, but because this is not the type of relationship
envisioned by the Restatement, this Court will not consider
it further.

The three relevant factors of the significant relationship
test uniformly suggest that Texas law be applied in this case.
Texas has the most significant relationship to the case, and
therefore, section 145 mandates application of Texas law.
Accord Bartley v. Budget Rent-A-Car Corp., 919 S.W.2d 747,
755- 56 (Tex.1996).

In determining under section 6 the law of the state
controlling the rights and liabilities of the parties with respect
to the issue in tort, the only contact of importance is the Cates’
residence in Texas and Hertz’s incorporation in Delaware,
its principal place of business in New Jersey, and its residence
in a variety of states including Florida. See id. at 755. The

35a

Appendix B

Cates seek application of the dangerous instrumentality.
doctrine of Florida tort law to replace Texas’ doctrine of
negligent entrustment.

Texas implemented a system of proportional responsibility
and recovery in causes of action based upon torts. Jd. The
purpose of this legislation was to make the Texas civil justice
system fairer and more predictable by favorably affecting
the affordability and availability of liability insurance,
thereby promoting economic development in the state.
See id. These policies would be frustrated if Florida’s
dangerous instrumentality law were imposed on the Texas
system. The Cates have not suggested a Florida policy that
would be advanced by the export of Florida’s state tort laws.

Moreover, a decision to use Texas law allows the state
to protect the litigation interests of its own residents.
See Stutzman, 2000 WL 1862923 at *16. Accordingly, under
the guidance of sections 6 and 145, this Court will apply
Texas law in this matter because Texas has the most
significant relationship to the case.

C. Negligent Entrustment

Under Texas tort law, the Cates concede that their only
cause of action against Hertz is for negligent entrustment.
The elements of negligent entrustment are (1) entrustment
of a vehicle by the owner, (2) to an unlicensed, incompetent,
or reckless driver, (3) that the owner knew or should have
known to be unlicensed, (4) the driver was negligent on the
occasion in question, and (5) the driver’s negligence
proximately caused the accident. Schneider v. Esperanza
Transmission Co., 744 §.W.2d 595, 596 (Tex.1988); Williams

36a
Appendix B

v. Steves Indus., Inc., 699 S.W.2d 570, 571 (Tex.1985)
(overruled on other grounds). Knowledge of the driver’s
incompetency at the time of the entrustment is an essential
element to establish negligence. Monreo v. Grider, 884
S.W.2d 811, 815 (Tex.App.—Dallas 1994). Hertz disputes
that the Windstar was entrusted to an unlicensed,
incompetent, or reckless driver.

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor
Vehicles report reveals that Mr. Creamer had a valid Florida
driver’s license at the time he rented the vehicle. Even if, as
the Cates allege, Hertz failed to properly check the driver’s
license of Mr. Creamer, the license existed in good standing
at the time of rental. Therefore, Hertz did not entrust the
vehicle to an unlicensed driver. Thus, the Cates must proceed
on the argument that Mr. Creamer was either an incompetent
or reckless driver.

A prior accident or traffic violation does not create an
inference or conclusion that a driver is incompetent or
reckless. /d. In a scenario such as this where a party rents a
vehicle from a clerk with whom he is not acquainted, a
driver’s license generally serves as the only possible test of
competency. Since Mr. Creamer did not know the Hertz
representative and he maintained a valid driver’s license at
the time of rental, the facts indicate that Mr. Creamer was
competent at the time of rental.

The Cates argue that Mr. Creamer’s admission of his
intent to drive non-stop alternating with his wife between
shifts of driving and sleeping indicated that they would be
driving in a reckless manner. Texas courts have held that
negligent entrustment does not exist when drivers rotate

37a

Appendix B

throughout a long distance trip, even when the party
entrusting the vehicle saw the driver consuming alcohol soon
before the trip. Rodriguez v. Sciano, 18 S.W.3d 725, 728
(Tex.App.—San Antonio 2000) (upholding summary
judgment against the plaintiffs where the only facts
supporting negligent entrustment were that the drivers drove
in shifts). Under the circumstances of this case, where the
Creamers, like the drivers in Rodriguez, simply planned to
drive in shifts, there is no evidence that at the time of rental
Mr. Creamer was a reckless driver. Because the Cates have
presented insufficient evidence to show that Mr. Creamer
was either unlicensed, incompetent, or reckless when he and
Mrs. Creamer rented the Windstar, the Cates cannot establish
this element of their negligent entrustment claim against
Hertz. Therefore, the Cates are not able to establish a prima
facie case of negligent entrustment and Hertz is entitled to
summary judgment on the claim.

iil. CONCLUSION

For the aforementioned reasons, Hertz’s Motion for
Summary Judgment is GRANTED. The Cates’ claims
against Hertz are DISMISSED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Signed this 6 day of August, 2001.

s/ Jerry Buchmeyer

CHIEF JUDGE JERRY BUCHMEYER
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

38a

APPENDIX C — MEMORANDUM OPINION AND

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS,

WICHITA FALLS DIVISION, DATED AND FILED
OCTOBER 17, 2001

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
WICHITA FALLS DIVISION
7:00-CV-121-R
PRISCILLA S. CATES, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS
GUARDIAN OF THE PERSON OF AND ESTATE OF

BOBBY RAY CATES, AN INCAPACITATED PERSON,
Plaintiffs,

vs.

MATTHEW SCOTT CREAMER, LAMAE CREAMER,
AND THE HERTZ CORPORATION,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

On August 7, 2001, this Court’s Memorandum Opinion
and Order granted Defendant Hertz’s Motion for Summary
Judgment (filed July 3, 2001). Now before this Court is
Plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration of Summary
Judgment. Plaintiffs Motion is DENIED for the reasons
stated herein.

39a

Appendix C

Motions for reconsideration are permitted only in limited
situations, primarily “ ‘to correct manifest errors of law or
fact or to present newly discovered evidence.’ ” Waltman v.
Int’! Paper Co., 875 F.2d 468, 473 (5 th Cir. 1989) (quoting
Keene Corp. v. Int'l Fidelity Ins. Co., F.Supp. 656, 665
(N.D.II1.1982), aff’d 735 F.2d 1367; aff'd 736 F.2d (7th Cir.
1984)). In their Motion for Reconsideration of Summary
Judgment, Plaintiffs contend that this Court erred in its choice
of Texas law and argue that Florida law applies. Having taken
all of Plaintiffs’ choice of law arguments into consideration
once again, this Court finds that Plaintiffs fail to elucidate
any manifest errors of fact or law, or to present any newly
discovered evidence.

The central issue of this case, the Cates’ and Creamers’
car accident, occurred in Texas. The relationship between
the Cates and the Creamers was thus created in Texas.
Plaintiffs Priscilla and Bobby Cates lived in Texas. The Court
notes that Florida’s law could be more generous to Plaintiffs’
recovery; however, the most significant state contact in terms
of quality and quantity is Texas. Therefore, the Court is
satisfied with its application of Texas’ Most Significant
Relationship Test in holding that Texas law applies in
this tort case. The claims against Hertz remain dismissed.
Plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration of Summary Judgment
is DENIED.

40a

Appendix C
It is so ORDERED.

SIGNED THIS 17 DAY OF OCTOBER, 2001.

s/ Jerry Buchmeyer

CHIEF JUDGE JERRY BUCHMEYER
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

4la

APPENDIX D — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

DENYING THE PETITION FOR REHEARING AND

THE PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC DATED
AND FILED APRIL 11, 2006

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 03-10404

PRISCILLA S. CATES, Individually and as Guardian of
the Person and Estate of Bobby Ray Cates,
an Incapacitated Person

Plaintiff-Appellant-Cross-Appellee
v.
MATTHEW SCOTT CREAMER;
Defendant-Appellee-Cross-Appellant
LAMAE CREAMER; HERTZ CORPORATION
Defendants-Appellees

Appeals from the United States District Court for
the Northern District of Texas, Wichita Falls

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND
REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion 11/28405,5 Cir, , F3d_ )

42a

Appendix D

Before JONES, Chief Judge, JOLLY and DeMOSS, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(XX) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and no
member of this panel nor judge in regular active service on
the court having requested that the court be polled on
Rehearing En Banc, (Fep. R. App. P. and 5™ Cir. R. 35) the
Petition for Rehearing En Banc is also DENIED.

( ) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and the
court having been polled at the request of one of the members
of the court and a majority of the judges who are in regular
active service not having voted in favor, (Fep. R. App. P. and
5™ Cir. R. 35) the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is also
DENIED.

( ) A member of the court in active service having
regested a poll on the reconsideration of this cause en banc,
and a majority of the judges in active service not having voted
in favor, Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

s/ [illegible] Jolly
United States Circuit Judge

DeMOSS, Circuit Juuge, concurring in part and dissenting
in part.

43a

APPENDIX E — STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED
Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws § 174 (1971)

Topic 1. Torts
Title C. Important Issues

§ 174. Vicarious Liability

The law selected by application of the rule of § 145
determines whether one person is liable for the tort of another
person.

Comment:

a. Rationale. The local law of the state which has the most
significant relationship to the occurrence and the parties with
respect to the issue of vicarious liability should be applied
in determining whether one person is liable for the tort of
another person. This state should be selected in accordance
with the choice-of-law principles stated in § 6. These
principles require that the forum consider (1) whether the
relationship between the defendant and the other person
makes the imposition of vicarious liability reasonable and
(2) whether there is a reasonable relationship between the
defendant and the state whose local law is to be applied.

b: Relationship to tortfeasor. One person should not be held
liable for the tort of another person unless his relationship to
the other person makes the imposition of such liability
appropriate. In making this determination, the forum will
not be guided exclusively by its own local rules of vicarious
liability. The fact that vicarious liability would not be
imposed by the local law of the forum will not of itself be

44a

Appendix E

decisive. It is enough that the forum believes that the
relationship between the defendant and the other person
affords a fair and reasonable basis for the imposition of such
liability. In reaching its decision as to what is fair and
reasonable, the forum will be influenced by rules of vicarious
liability prevailing in other states. It is unlikely that a
relationship which forms the basis for the imposition of
vicarious liability in a substantial number of states will be
held inadequate by the forum even if it would not result in
such liability under the forum’s local law. Generally speaking,
any arrangement whereby one person has been authorized to
assist in carrying out the business affairs of another person
will provide an adequate relationship for this purpose. And
the same is true of the relationship between bailor and bailee
and of the relationships involved in the family purpose
doctrine which concerns automobiles (see Comment e).

Illustrations:

1. In state X, A enters into an agreement with B whereby B
is to transport A’s goods from X to state Y in B’s truck. In Y,
B negligently runs his truck over C and injures him. C brings
suit in X against A to recover for his injuries. Under X local
law, the relationship between A and B would be that of
employer and independent contractor and A would not be
vicariously liable for B’s torts. Under Y local law, however,
the relationship between A and B would be that of master
and servant anc A would be liable. The X court will hold
that A’s relationship to B provides a reasonable basis for the
imposition upon A of vicarious liability.

45a

Appendix E

2. In state X, A gives B the use of his automobile and
authorizes him to drive it into state Y. In Y, B negligently
runs the car over C and injures him. C brings suit in X against
A to recover for his injuries. Under X locai law, A would not
be iiable for B’s torts. Y, however, has a statute which makes
the owner of an automobile liable for injuries resulting from
the negligent operation of the automobile by one who is using
it with the owner’s permission, express or implied. The X
court will hold that A’s relationship to B provides a reasonable
basis for the imposition upon A of vicarious liability.

3. Aand B, husband and wife, are domiciled in state X. With
A’s knowledge, B goes to state Y on a vacation and there she
assaults C. C brings suit in X against A to recover for his
injuries. Under X local law, a husband is not liable as such
for his wife’s torts. The contrary is true, however, under the
local law of Y which still retains the almost universally
discarded common law rule. The X court will find that the
relationship between A and B is not such as to make the
imposition of vicarious liability reasonable.

Comment:

c. Relationship to state. One person should not be held liable
for the tort of another person by application of the local law
of a state to which he has no reasonable relationship. The
forum will use its own judgment and will apply its own rules
in determining whether such a reasonable reiationship exists
(See § 7).

To date, the majority of the decisions have been concerned
with the question whether vicarious liability should be

46a

Appendix E

imposed under the local law of the state where the
complained-of conduct and the resulting injury occurred.
These decisions indicate that vicarious liability will be
imposed under the local law of the state of conduct and injury
if the tortfeasor entered the state on the instructions of the
one sought to-be held vicariously liable. The same will be
true if the one sought to be held liable authorized, but did
not direct, the tortfeasor to enter the state (see Illustration
4), or simply if he had reason to foresee that the tortfeasor
might enter the state (see Illustration 5) or might take action
elsewhere that would have tortious consequences in the state.

Illustrations:

4. In state X, A lends his automobile to B without placing
any restriction upon its use. B takes the automobile to Y, a
neighboring state, and there negligently injures C. C brings
suit in X against A to recover for his injuries. Under X local
law, A would not be liable for B’s torts. Y, however, has a
statute which makes the owner of an automobile liable for
injuries resulting from the negligent operation of the
automobile by one who is using it with the owner’s
permission, express or implied. The X court will hold that
A’s relationship to Y provides a reasonable basis for the
application of the Y statute to hold A vicariously liable.

5. Same facts as in Illustration 4 except that A forbids B to
take the automobile to Y. A knows, however, that B has a
pressing reason to go to Y and that he sought the loan of the
automobile for this purpose. The X court will hold that A’s
relationship to Y provides reasonable basis for the application
of the Y statute to hold A vicariously liable.

47a

Appendix E

Comment ¢ (cont.):

Vicarious liability may also be imposed by application of
the local law of some state other than that of conduct and
injury. So, for example, vicarious liability may be imposed
under the local law of the state where the relationship between
the one sought to be held liable and the tortfeasor is centered.
Application of the local law of this state to impose vicarious
liability is particularly likely if this state has some
relationship to the injured plaintiff (see Illustration 6). There
are undoubtedly still other situations where vicarious liability
may be imposed.

Illustration:

6. In state X, A, who is domiciled in X, reats a car from the
B rental agency. With C, who is also domiciled in X, as a
guest passenger, A drives into Y, an adjoining state, and there
negligently injures C. Under an X statute, the bailor of an
automobile is liable for injuries caused by the negligence of
the bailee. No such liability is imposed upon the bailor by Y
local law. B will be held liable to C.

Comment:

d. Independent contractor. An employer will be held liable
for the torts of an independent contractor if he would be so
liabll under the law selected by application of the rule of
this Section.

e. Family purpose doctrine. A person will be held liable for
the torts of a member of his family who is driving the person’s

48a

Appendix E

automobile with his permission if he would be so liable under
the law selected by application of the rule of this Section.

f. Principal-agent. A principal will be held liable for the tort
of an agent if he would be so liable under the law selected by
application of the rule of this Section.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1164%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
