# Opposition Brief — Gonzales v. Penuliar (No. 05-1630)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1075%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S

“FILED
} i) ‘AUG 2 3 2006
CLERK.
No. 05-1630
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ALBERTO R. GONZALES, ATTORNEY GENERAL,
Petitioner,
Vv.

NOPRING PAULINO PENULIAR,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit
OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
CARTER G. PHILLIPS JOEL S. FELDMAN
PAUL J. ZIDLICKY MELANIE JO TRIEBEL*
SIDLEY AUSTIN LLP SIDLEY AUSTIN LLP
1501 K Street, N.W. One South Dearborn
Washington, D.C. 20005 Chicago, Illinois 60603
(202) 736-8000 (312) 853-7000
Counsel for Respondent
August 23, 2006 * Counsel of Record

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 2000

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the court of appeals correctly apply Taylor v. United
States to conclude that California Vehicle Code Section
10851(a) (Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle), which includes as
principal offenders aiders and abettors and accessories after
the fact, is not categorically a “theft offense” under the United
States Immigration and Nationality Act?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Fe Re BRI BED vie revinteverrictinnapapinctvberesinghcogses
TPE BATTED oxtievicsensicsesvernssivigueastoersbopanens
EPA SEROEI EE CE BES Re icrsepeistssicarecencnsaswasvecesinetanens

Fi. PCI TIONING icin ccpicsccensccsuviecasnccviestas
Bh EY THAIN iii ccs siscesenscisvcencvcceisenannes

OC PROCODER TIACKRTOUING 5. siiiaccncsccossiccssncsedessnerne

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION .....000....

iF

Il.

il.

IV.

THIS CASE IMPLICATES NO CONFLICT
AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS THAT
WARRANTS THIS COURT’S REVIEW ..............

THE PETITION SHOULD -BE DENIED
BECAUSE THERE IS NO PRESSING NEED
FOR THE COURT TO RESOLVE THE
CPR Feae ARIE FEN REGED pias sdicrescsavedrecssspreveitaneions

THIS CASE IS AN -INAPPROPRIATE
VEHICLE TO RESOLVE THE QUESTION
PURSE EAE ei in ie

THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED
BECAUSE THE DECISION BELOW DOES
NOT CONFLICT WITH! ANY DECISION OF
THIS COURT AND IS CORRECT ON THE
ET siciicepres cis seisblonmaabncin iotebilarncianbanine

A. Section 10851(a) Of The California Vehicle
Code Encompasses’ Both ~ California
Accomplice Liability And _ Traditional
Accessory After The Fact Liability .............0......

B.A Majority. Of States Recognize That
Accessories After The Fact Are Guilty Of A
OI CIE initio cdaesa das cotioeenticien Aesehescccas

(iii)

Page

21

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS — continued

Page
C. Section 10851(a) Of The California Vehicle
Code Is Also Outside The Mainstream In Its
Inclusion Of California Aiding And Abetting
LRW visccseses NEI PEL DEEN TONE EDO OTS) Ri SCTE A AERC IER RO OO 24

_ Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
American Constr. Co. v. Jacksonville, Tampa &

Key W. Rv., 148 U.S: STZ (1GGS) ocicescccsesicesceneenss 3
Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen v. Bangor &

Aroostook R.R., 389 U.S. 327 (1967) ......eee eee 19
Davis v. United States, 417 U.S. 333 (1974)........... 2,14
Fiallo v. Bell, 430 U.S. 787 (1977) ........ccscceee ieinaieen 8
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co.,

Oe asthe ee UF BR bun hdekssiccksteicnitaleviensbtesvceveientess 3,19
Huerta-Guevara v. Ashcroft, 321 F.3d 883 (9th

ag I hisses bssckdnais Chesed seeeninshcomnicpmbaanueneawoeees 5
Jahnke v. State, 6°2 P.2d 911 (Wyo. 1984) ............ 26
Juan H. v. Allen, 408 F.3d 1262 (9th Cir. 2005),

cert. denied, 126 S. Ct. 1142 (2006) (No. 05-—

475), 126 S. Ct. 1145 (2006) (No. 05-7510)........ 26
Nye & Nissen v. United States, 336 U.S. 613

EAU c cisredicieacchiunnssmbeniaviciladan isnt tea daactstn ecdswaianage 26
People v. Clark, 251 Cal. App. 2d 868 (1967)........ 21
People v. Croy, 710 P.2d 392 (Cal. 1985)............... 26
People v. Cunningham, 506 N.W.2d 624 (Mich.

Se Na FO ss cacnciscuiscovchacticedinidccsnuachoepectecnveaieoses 23
People v. Prettyman, 926 P.2d 1013 (Cal. 1996)..... 26
People v. Verlinde, 100 Cal. App. 4th 1146

EEE Benne jeciushothi agsasinnscasesawiiiarenstinseeneseevebicinansionts 21
Soliman v. Gonzales, 419 F.3d 276 (4th Cir. -

I tiisin cchscasnsnccahiagiicap chen sesiepudvicelsebenistanss sella 5
State v. Carrasco, 946 P.2d 1075 (N.M. 1997)....... 26
State v. Gazerro, 420 A.2d 816 (R.1. 1980) ............ 26
State v. Gonzalez, 12 P.3d 382 (Idaho Ct. App.

MOTE Soelbash isk scene store cdatanorinilocelcteenaciaeediveenbaes 26
State v. Legette, 330 S.E.2d 293 (S.C. 1985) .......... 23
State v. Pitts, 800 A.2d 481 (Vt. 2002) ....... 26
T.B. v. State, 732 So. 2d 1163 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App.

PE eeiaiccaiica sc caipove cota uiccrindaiernaucsWsocabaasoios 26

Vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page
Taylor v. United States, 495 U.S. 575 (1990)......... 5,21
United States v. Baca-Valenzuela, 118 F.3d 1223
SO Es ET Biaisuicsicosiaicbinaeccdsectviatmenteuasubuaies 11,12
United States v. Groce, 999 F.2d 1189 (7th Cir.
SPA E ssithincsisasspesaseladesihiaykeihadeestaieeaidansacaaimabannies 1]
United States v. Hathaway, 949 F.2d 609 (2d Cir.
SPIED siicdaiicocasdicidsacapsiouboiunscbie ieeiaasiuteisidauiaa Taljuial Cua eas 1]
United States v. Innie, 7 F.3d 840 (9th Cir.
SPDT sisssasokeicprctudesahtiailadididgiatie gil dikag ec liae eetd 21
United States v. Mitchell, 23 F.3d 1 (1st Cir.
SOR ith scitdanivtsibauiipaceseaindiaianametbume it cnaits 11
United States v. Morrison, 972 F.2d 269 (9th Cir.
eh HRN SGA WEA eV DEO Peers Cae ViaSat Fa aN 17
United States v. Vidal, 426 F.3d 1011 (9th Cir.
2005), vacated by grant of reh’g en banc, 453
F36 T EEG OCW. CGS sivisicisiieth eden 7,93
United States v. Vidal, 453 F.3d 1114 (9th Cir.
PIE oesorheicbacen cence esata siniaaigbaciplibaclenuabie astcedatiirisatss 14
United States ex rel. Robinson v. Johnston, 316
BS FE OF Bs cissdssieosssss menceekctacnsincadesoubimanianodicn 14
Virginia Military Inst. v. United States, 508 U.S.
Fg a Ekg Te OND CERIN C ORE ET Ear 19
Windham v. Merkle, 163 F.3d 1092 (9th Cir.
PPD sess csccricinciaiitatactnsaceruciniuaeioeteceks becaskeiesan ee
STATUTES
OSes 6 FINS sisi ciccndaniidcucsin 4,6, 25
Bas 3 a GY 7 | | ieee ema t sipdeeessahctie 4
rec We ach dcivacistcusanndd oacacomsoeennsaeipeoiaeaiotans 26
BAG. SRL Se SE Rey eI ROME DON Mi SRLS MRT Pa.
OR ER 2 UR SS | 7Zetunrcer eae cig we UMNO he ie nD earner eae 17
geek We fo”) RSAC RRamiaramerncamonerne st Caper nacrn 1]

WUSC SHNGEND. 12

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page
Be Rea, oF i t cinacisicdsencisstsctbastveisaierene 12
Ala. Code §§ 13A-10-42 to -10-45 woo eee eeeeeees 23
Pa ey Ue Giaitcintncacipsscccotescdciocsnisdertescer 26
Se 0 LE, vikihcccaneeitichindedisaidenthivianasetenss 24
Alaska Stat..§ 11.16.1100... eee scccaaalelanaas 26
PE DURES FT LG isisiisstsictcncictncseratedteeinctivess 24
PRR as 8 CO iirc icdetersssniseectintsesscsiontitenice 24
PAE SII Es FI esetctcdsnes cote siimcsysctenrwctbvnivios 23
Piste. eV. Stat. Arete. © 13-1GO2 oi cecccsecesccesevervnresveses 24
Ariz, Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1616 .......ccccerccscoserscesesess 24
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 13-2510 to -2512......0....... 23
PSs. REV. SI, B.S TS SON va iiressesersecnsecsesencnseevae 26
PAI SOE FAIRS SHS pais sisaieeticcdecevsincacscssicceees 26
FER CG FIN. SIS civic cccvsrcstoicgensscctensesievie 24
FE TE PS SO ivsiscccessivi sscnsseicessrsenscazers 24
PAT, COI AI BO 1S ii ic cvcecc sv cscecscerctccecerese 23
Ons BOI SI iis ches cs rnvactcdachctdncececacceti 6, 20, 21
OE PUN AONE OA. stints dcehecscoinavtavaceentinsede 6, 21, 25
Cee Ae pila eeccimssnsincactesnsdccohevesncesensede 24
OR VOR Ge © FSI) occsccitcerectensessscetessesoeiacesse 6, 21
Se PY SI BOIS sav ccscentninevcccngcerenensioovenee 24
COO FY TUE, BB i csiicsniedosbcsecsastsvenoeaisivncs 24
I Pe SG PD case ticnvncccietensacecdcoeczsns 22
CN OV UB I ooceccevcicscscescocecsconsecetees 26
SON, FR OR Be TD anos cciccenccccscesessccecesesis 26
A emeee SOU, TUE BS DSR EE iin cik occ rcceipsicecsncoconenave 24
Comms, Ca0n. SO0t, S BSG EY GD: cicssicccsscesvesssesecesceecereress 24
Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 53a-165 to -167 .0.... eee 23
Ee © OE PIE OE FA 2 ikiceasrsseticccesccciasinccins 26
pret. Code Ann: tit, 14, 3 BY voici ccvcccccccsessccvcccvsscceone 24
NE A OO PANNE AE. 0g PIS vcie chvicpscocnctcannsansdepicsn 24
Det. Code Asn: t3t..11,.§ 12464 ac ccccccessiccicccees: PRES 23
es OE SMB IU siccsieein Lab coca dpssnssebiccrbisaccddinns 22
2 ONE BO” EB 9.2 9 Ae Rae eae Ee OR USE Oe 24

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page
DR GR Fs 1 PT 25
Ti Ne eae seisanbidaceviedeieveveceescvesoes 2
= RI ET A Oe acta ciecsuctcosenriavigseoseses 24
Cie, CODE FIR © Be i sverersesscvcncecinscecesnvevescoveess 26
CH CS Fra re arisen ceeesederdecececevocnerscees 24
C5, SOS FARE 8 te aticcescrtcntaciesacnsiesecescessess 23
BROW. PROV. CURE, © PCIe cedverencescecsetsvncecésccevessoceess 26
PEQW., TREY: SUE SP sivcccncnsiarccnscccrsscccteceveseses 24
Haw. Rev. Stat. §§ 710-1028 to -1030..000000 23
EGRIO COGS PATE Bi Be vetsicissocsnestsssdccececcovccsvcoses 22
idaho CODE AiR, © EB-29GS veciccssseccssvsnscsecsccecsssesove 24
FE TEs SOOM, Fotis PO soncpuiatnassneniceccservedoeevevensiees 26
TAA ROI Bee FINE becicsceeskncicdesoscvestcccssesceoers 24
FAAP ER, SOR, et SO she veenacenaneienercbeciseccssecesernss 23
FLO TEA, CU, ee FI cai irsihntddeesansnicececencsercevees 23
Drak CMe Fe Pete iadaccprscececsdasbvbasieesncssccnssssevece 24
Bei Ge iis sevsnsescecess 24
TUE: CR Fe ite isctisncavicnssccdscodesescssensees 23
SON Ge asa ioca oer eichiyntccecnssivctnsanccesionsss 22
eg CSO 24
DOVE I Bg ic ai sddhenhchecesssceccecsarecssoes 24
Oe co. . 26
Se BES SEI 24
Fe ea | 23
KRY. OV: SURE, PAE BPO rcccsiereces rovesessccsssconsoses 26
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. $ 374.050..................+.... steassinen 24
Ky. Rev; GWE, FAs © tt, Bi leccccincscetececvsesespsesecceces 24
Ky, REV, Stee Fett 6 tones sesececaccicecsvesecseverese 23
IY FRG: ees Pt a ee Ml rccstincssasevaseicscciessccosees 23
Eh Fe i i eaiaatieivesiesednvevcesseccoeneess 22
Bi PROV, ee Fa BIE sees thcccscncodcdvcaccesesceceveress 24
EB. RV. SURE, FA I wo dacsccccsciessuccessececscncces. 24
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A, § 353...;........cccccsceeees 24

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A, § 360....0.000000 ee. 24

1X
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A, § 753.0... seeeeeeeee 23
Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § J-30] ...... eee eee 22
Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 7-104 0... 24
Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 7-105 .................00000 24
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 266, § 28..............c.c000088 24
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 266, § 30... 24
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 274, § 4........::ccscecsseereees 22
Mich. Comp. Laws § 750.356 ...cccccsesssesercsveseceseeseres 24
RNR, (lta: Ene BFS GUD cietnsecessssevsevconecesnvnnnts 23
Minn. Stat. § 609.52 ...........00+. piniivcadiaiemaimceuiesinlioniols 24
PU SIO, BG AIG eicecsccticvisnschensvesaoceteccceonecioennecine 23
Piliae, Se AM, BRP EAS ciciciccicsrsocsisiancicninnesabinsnens 22
Miss. Code Ann. § 97-17-41 .........cceesessssceecessereeees 24
PEN. PRT, CRN Be RE ATE caciscchisdcsnciccadvovsrcinentenssccsnes 26
OD. TROY, SOE. BD FOG iesivisereciccsscessccvosesseveseverseees 24
PAD. FURY. DAR, 2 SIRI cecninssnveprsinieictawssaniateiniveni 23
Mont. Code Ann. § 45-6-301 ............:ccccscecescecessecees 24
Mont. Code Ann. § 45-6-308 ...........eceececeeeeeceeeeeeeees 24
Mont. Code Ann. § 45-7-303 ........cccececeseseeeeseeeeees 23
FUGRD: TERY... THR: BRL ovsavsssvsicisevecinvssternoncanennvenses 22
PUR BW SOE BZD EE a scrisis nis jeescnsisttirrsesneceinnoconins 24
NOV. REV. SUM. S POS TIO. vas ccccicccsoxcoeversvesensensscoveses 22
Nev. Rev. Stat. § 205.0832.........cccscessseseess Scdiboaaaesen 24
OG, TRG. RB POD i ines cliceseseccccdovensicvsines 24
PUF ROV. BURR, Amie, 9G 268 nc icnccevcesscenscccssasciaveerse 26
Pars Ue, is FAN, BT Si vadsiccsceentoepterensccioes 24
NEE: Rev. SOQ. Ants. § GO255....ncccscevecvscsecevosssesseereses 23
Pie Ss PRU Bi beara asclnicescetiastnicaniantal 26
a. | Ae Reena en rt ee MRM Ot RCS ie EON 24
Pd Se: Fa Be ai ciccaschccaccknntaisesoctastiaeatotles 24
PEF: BOR, PO BaD oh cvtsqnevserscsvvisvnctsowenascioinses 23
De eR a ic ssevicoscnececsictceicasadacasentoioiicoae 23
Bs Ns We EN aaceccyssctcconsvnshdeiababernesioinuieecieen 24
PO eee Lt 6 SOS BS ssveciictbccccnntiacion 24

X

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

N.Y. Penal Law § 165.08. ............

N.Y. Penal Law §§ 205.50 to .65

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-7 we.
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-72 ...0.......
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-72.2 ...0.00.0...
N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-03-01.....
N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-08-03.....
N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-23-02.....
N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-23-06.....
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2913.02.

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2913.03.

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2921.32.
Okla. Stat: tit. 27, § 173...............
Okla. Stat. tit. 21, § 1701.00.00...
Okls. Stat. tit. 23, § 1720.............

Or. Rev. Stat. § 161.155 0.00.0...
Or. Rev. Stat. § 162.325 ..............
Or. Rev. Stat. § 164.015 ..............
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 306...............

18 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 3921.00.00...

18 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 3928...:.........
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 5105.............

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-1-4.....000.....

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-41]-1 ............

S.C. Code Ann. § 16-13-30.........
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-21-60.........
S.C. Code Ann. § 17-21-60.........
S.D. Codified Laws § 22-5-3.......
S.D. Codified Laws § 22-3-5.......
S.D. Codified Laws § 22-30A-1..

S.D. Codified Laws § 22-30A-12

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-11-411.....
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-14-103.....
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-14-106.....

Page

pista tadeiinginenaiaclen 24
ehuchntacasiacancunvad 24

via ncidad com suhaclipeae “3

:
iousiisiacheeabimeniseupent 25

eovevvevecscetcvccessocsceee ; a

dis pnendabadladiopoacielaaee 24
ioahcsal becisalscdadiiaadgilioes 25

SOTHO THERE HET EEHEHESD ee {

XI

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page

Tex. Pendl Code Attn: $51.03 .cccccccccevscsersscosssossosees 24
Tex. Penal Code Atte. $: S107 iccciscccsssissccsescosiessvesess 25
TOk; Penal COG! ARN. § F500 ii. ccscrcicscssiccosscivsesconees 23
Utah Code Ann. § 76<2-202 2. .ccccsccsccscoscsesscesscceocenee 26.
Utah Code Ann. § 76-6-404 00.0... ecceecesereceeeeeeees 24
Utah Code Ann. § 76-8-306 ...........ccccsesscsscssseseeeesee 23
As Ses PRM FAC Presa cnt tact oentndconivrcaisbetpnaietess 22
Ls UE, PAN TE Ts Bh ROS sissecciesesesnigessvensivioaiesetas 24
Vb Ce PRM, BBE isicdsvcrsieiesiovaviccasponsxeearvvinsss 22
SOE FE D2 crs tivvtincvinicrsnsnissesvepsinescoons 24
Wash. Rev..Code § 9A:56.020 on eiccsissccesessscevsosencsseess 24
Wash. Rev. Code § 9A:56.070 ...:..:.ccccccsccecsssocecssnees 25
Wash. Rev Code § GA. 16.0 cvciscscscssesiosatseveicssoee 23
Be Re RGD eivcticveniereupanecniccnoncovasevenendes 24
TE. PAA GED oi esisiviskocssnceseaceenvecsscesernesiine a2
MR. NS WAI ehihenindcisttubelciincsintelecsetnrencbraaovess 26
Ss PE Bcc scctemiesnceti saree eStacebavbvoiaoens 24
TE RE, IE cassie cheicitinsncnsetinvediecibiveciésuincinen 23
WO. Stir, ANN. $:O-S-4O2 coccicccsccecsecsssvccsscseserssszees 24
WYO, Biel. AM, © GSH DOZ. 5. ccicaceroivessseceseesicetsorsnceess 22

RULE

ANN GR Pi AMOR iiksecbeaiiensnindepiovidhcessndburdansiaxviadeipiaies 8

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2006,
S. 2611, 109th Cong. (passed May 25, 2006)...... aie
Border Protection, Antiterrorism, and Illegal
Immigration Control Act of 2005, H.R. 4437,
109th Cong. (passed Dec. 16, 2005)................ 5, 15

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

SCHOLARLY AUTHORITIES Page

Susannah Rawl Cole, Sewing up the Loophole in
Accessory Afier the Fact Crimes, 50 S.C. L.
PRE «EE CPD incisisiniinsstenivtdeniietendeidiacbedndenebiniasi 23
Candace Courteau, Comment, Zhe Mental
Element Required for Accomplice Liability: A

Topic Note, 59 La. L. Rev. 325 (1998)................ 26
2 W. LaFave, Substantive Criminal Law (2d ed.

P| ERTS SRO EN ee CR LOE TN AOE PS OREN 22, 26
Rollins Perkins, Parties to Crime, 89 U. Pa. L.

ee Se Le TIED eiciuciecesesstbialetestacitctebicaittahabckaiianbaiiciens 23
Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme Court Practice

Te: RAMON EMAC CEN erated eB 3, 14, 18, 19

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Form EOIR-4 (filed July 17, 2002) 0.0.0... eeeeee 3
Form 1-261 (filed July 11, 2002) .......0.... eee sci a
Form 1-862 (filed July 17, 2002) ..0....... cece eeeeeeeeees 6
Pe Fe SG OF SPIEL F viicccstuostaeeesenenaneecpihceneeeeens 22
iy OSE GX Re BERR Cac ona cern eo ere Res 25

Nopring Paulino Penuliar respectfully submits _ this
opposition to the Attorney General’s petition for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In his Petition (“Pet.”), the Attorney General asks this
Court to grant certiorari in the separate case of Gonzalez v.
-Duenas-Alvarez, No. 05-1629, and to hold this case pending
resolution of Duenas-Alvarez. Pet. at 8-9.' The petition for
certiorari should be denied.

First, there is no conflict among the circuit courts on the
question presented by Petitioner. The cases allegedly creating
a conflict in “analytically indistinguishable circumstances,”
Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez) at 11, involve neither the Immigration
and Nationality Act (“INA”) nor criminal “theft offenses,” let
alone criminal statutes remotely similar to the California
vehicle theft statute at issue here. /d. at 11-14. But even if
cases involving matters such as the federal sentencing
guidelines could create a legitimate conflict with the
application of the INA in this case, the Ninth Circuit recently
granted en banc review to address a sentencing guidelines
decision that reaches the same result as the circuit decisions
that the Attorney General contends are in conflict with this
case. United States v. Vidal, 426 F.3d 1011 (9th Cir. 2005),
vacated by grant of reh’g en banc, 453 F.3d 1114 (9th Cir.
2006). Thus, even if the Petition were correct in alleging a
circuit conflict — and it is not — at most, there would be an

' The Attorney General’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in Gonzales v.
Duenas-Alvarez, filed with this Court on June 22, 2006, is cited herein as
“Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez).” Because the Attorney General provided no
substantive argument for a grant of certiorari in this case, instead asking
for this case to be held in light of his petition in Duenas-Alvarez, citations
to the arguments raised by the Petitioner are made to the Petition in
Duenas-Alvarez.

2

intra-circuit conflict that should be, and is being, addressed in
the first instance by the en banc court of appeals. See Davis
v. United States, 417 U.S. 333, 340 (1974) (Harlan, J.)
(“decisions between different panels of the same Court of
Appeals will not be considered to present a reviewable
conflict, since such differences of view are deemed an
intramural matter to be resolved by the Court of Appeals
itself”). 3

Nor is there a pressing need to resolve the issue presented
in this case. As noted, there is no conflict among the courts
of appeals. Further, as the government admits, both the
Senate and the House of Representatives have passed
legislation that would address the question presented in the
petition by expanding the INA’s definition of “aggravated
felony” to include, inter alia, “aiding [and] abetting . . . an
offense” that qualifies as an “aggravated felony.” Pet.
(Duenas-Alvarez) at 21-22 (internal quotation omitted). As
such, a ruling by this Court interpreting the scope and
meaning of the INA might have limited, if any, continuing
significance in light of this pending legislation.

Even were the issue presented in the petition urgent,
however, this case is not an appropriate vehicle for resolving
that issue. This case involves a California statute that
uniquely includes as principals traditional accessories after
the fact. Pet—App..30a. Because this statute includes
accessories after the fact, this Court could affirm the decision
of the court of appeals based on the broad scope of the statute
without ever reaching the “aiding and abetting” issue
identified by Petitioner. Further, the Attorney General
himself argues that there is a threshold jurisdictional question
that potentially could prevent the Court from resolving this
case on the merits. Pet. 8-9. The Petition does not suggest
that this threshold question is independently worthy of this
Court’s review. /d. Indeed, the threshold question of
exhaustion identified by the Petition involves a fact-intensive
review of the record that the Attorney General contends calls

3

into question the jurisdiction of the court of appeals. In short,
this is not a proper vehicle to resolve the question presented.

Nor should this case be held pending the resolution of
Duenas-Alvarez, because certiorari should be denied in that
case, as well. In addition to the reasons set forth above,
review of the court of appeals’ decision in Duenas-Alvarez
would be inappropriate because that case was remanded back
to the Board of Immigration Appeals (“BIA”) to apply the
second prong of the two-part approach set forth by this
Court’s settled precedent. The interlocutory nature of that
decision is itself a basis for denying review. E.g., Hamilton-
Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240 U.S. 251, 258
(1916). That is particularly so where there is no conflict
among the courts of appeals, there is, at most, an intra-circuit
conflict for which rehearing en banc has been granted, and
there is pending legislation passed by both houses of
Congress that, if enacted, could render any ruling meaningless
in future cases. /d.; see also, e.g., American Constr. Co. vy.
Jacksonville, Tampa & Key W. Ry., 148 U.S. 372, 384 (1893):
Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme Court Practice § 4.18, at 260
(8th ed. 2002).

Finally, certiorari should be denied because there is no
allegation that the decision below conflicts with any decision
of this Court. To the contrary, the court of appeals’ decision
was substantively correct, as it faithfully applied the approach
set forth in this Court’s cases to the specific language and
structure of Section 10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code.

A. Factual Background

Nopring Paulino Penuliar is a native and citizen of the
Philippines who legally immigrated to the United States on
June 12, 1995, when he was 15 years old. Form EOIR-4,
(filed July 17, 2002) (A.R. 67-74). Mr. Penuliar has
extensive family ties in the United States. His daughter
Marilyn, a United States citizen, was born on March 16, 1998
to Mr. Penuliar’s domestic partner, Glenda Alejo. also a

4

United States citizen. /d. (A.R. 70). Additionally; Mr.
Penuliar’s mother Prudencia is a United States citizen. /d.
Mr. Penuliar also has four siblings, Gelacio, Virgilio, Dora,

and John, who are all lawful permanent residents of the
United States. Jd. (A.R. 70, 74).

As is relevant here, on June 30, 2000, Mr. Penuliar pled
guilty in the State of California to the Unlawful Taking of a
Vehicle under California Vehicle Code Section 10851(a)
(“Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle”). Pet. App. 42a-44a. He
was sentenced on December 13, 2000 to two years
imprisonment for this offense. Jd. Also on December 13,
2000, Mr. Penuliar pled guilty in the State of California to a
second charge of the Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle, as well as
a charge of Evading an Officer under California Vehicle Code
. Section 2800.2(a) (“Evading an Officer”). /d. at 48a-52a. He
was sentenced to three years imprisonment for each charge, to
be served concurrently. /d.

B. Statutory Background

Aggravated Felonies Under the INA. Under the INA,
several classes of immigrants legally present in the United
States are nonetheless subject to removal. 8 U.S.C.
§ 1227(a). They include individuals who have been convicted
of an “aggravated felony.” 8 U.S.C. § 1227(a)(2)(A)(ii1).
The INA defines aggravated felony to include a long list of
various types of offenses, including “a theft offense” and “a
crime of violence.” 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43)(F) & (G). The
INA expressly provides that an aggravated felony includes
“an attempt or conspiracy to commit an offense described in
this paragraph.” but nowhere states that the definition
includes aiding and abetting the commission of such an
offense. 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a(43)(U).’

> Both the House and Senate have passed bills that would amend the
INA to add language expanding the definition of “aggravated felony” to
include “soliciting. aiding, abetting, counseling, commanding, inducing,
procuring or an attempt or conspiracy to commit an offense described in

5

To decide whether a particular offense constitutes an
aggravated felony under one of the categories listed in the
INA, the courts of appeals use a two-step approach. This
system was promulgated by this Court in Taylor v. United

_States with regard to the list of offenses included in the
Armed Career Criminal Act. 495 U.S. 575, 599-602 (1990)
(interpreting 18 U.S.C. § 924(e)); see, e.g.. Soliman vy.
Gonzales, 419 F.3d 276, 284 (4th Cir. 2005); Huerta-Guevara
v. Ashcroft, 321 F.3d 883, 886-88 (9th Cir’. 2003). Under
Taylor, a reviewing court first assumes a “categorical”
approach, comparing the statute at issue to the “generic”
definition of the category of offense in the INA. The generic
definition is determined by reference to state law, and should
“correspond[] to the definition[] of |the category of offense]
in a majority of the States’ criminal codes.” 495 U.S. at 589.

If all conduct covered by the statute at issue is also covered
by the generic definition, then a conviction under that statute
is categorically a conviction for an aggravated felony under
the INA. If, however, the statute also covers conduct outside
the generic definition, then courts assume a “modified
categorical’. approach, wherein they review the record to
determine whether the conviction of the individual in question
still falls within the generic definition.

California’s Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle Statute.
Under California law, a person violates Section 10851 of the
Vehicle Code if he “drives or takes a vehicle not his or her
own, without the consent of the owner thereof, and with intent
either to permanently or temporarily deprive the owner

this paragraph.” Border Protection, Antiterrorism, and Ilega. iamigrant
Control Act of 2005, H.R. 4437, 109th Cong., § 201(a)(3) (passed Dec.
16, 2005); see also Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2006, S.
2611, 109th Cong., § 203(a)(5) (passed May 25, 2006) (amending
§ 1101(a)(43(U) to define “aggravated felony” to include “aiding or
abetting an offense described in this paragraph, or solicting, counseling,
procuring, commanding, or inducing another, attempting, or conspiring to
commit such an offense’’).

6

thereof of his or her title to or possession of the vehicle.” Cal.
Veh. Code § 10851(a). A person may also be guilty under the
Statute if he “is a party or an accessory to or an accomplice in
the driving or unauthorized taking or stealing.” /d. California
criminal law usually distinguishes between principals and
those who assist a principal after the offense is committed.
Cal. Penal Code § 31. The presence of the term “accessory”
*in Section 10851(a) of the Vehicle Code, however, allows an
individual to be convicted as a principal even if that person
engaged in conduct generally relegated to the separate offense
traditionally referred to as accessory after the fact. See Cal.
Penal Code § 32; see also Pet. App. 14a (“§ 10851(a)
includes accessory or accomplice liability.”).

C. Procedural Background

Initial Removal Proceedings. On April 23, 2002, while
Mr. Penuliar was serving his sentence in state prison, the
Immigration and Naturalization Service (“INS”) served him
with a Notice to Appear, which charged that he was-
removable under Section 237(a)(2)(A)(iil) of the INA because
he had been convicted of “an offense relating to obstruction
of justice, perjury or subornation of perjury, or the bribery of
a witness,” an aggravated felony under 8 U.S.C.
§ 1101(a)(43)(S). Pet. App. 36a. In July 2002, the INS added
additional charges of deportability, alleging that Mr. Penuliar
had been convicted of “a crime of violence,” an aggravated
felony under 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43)(F), and “‘a theft offense,”
an aggravated felony under 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43)(G). Form
1-261, (filed July 11, 2002) (A.R. 102); Form [-862, as
July 17, 2002) (A.R. 104).

Immigration Judge Dennis R. James (the “IJ”) held that Mr.
Penuliar’s conviction for Evading an Officer was not an
obstruction of justice offense,-and thus not an aggravated
felony under INA Section 101(a)(43)(S). Pet. App. 39a.
However, the IJ ruled that Mr. Penuliar’s conviction for
Evading an Officer was a “crime of violence” under INA
Section 101(a)(43)(F), and that Mr. Penuliar’s convictions for

Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle were “theft offenses” under
INA Section 101(a)(43)(G). Jd. at 39a-40a. The IJ thus
concluded that these convictions were for aggravated felonies,
and therefore that Mr. Penuliar was removable as an alien
convicted of an aggravated felony. Mr. Penuliar filed a
timely appeal with the BIA on November 25, 2002. /d. at
62a-64a. In a summary order, the BIA approved the decision
of the IJ. /d. at 34a.

Court of Appeals Proceedings. The court of appeals
reversed, holding that none of the convictions was for an
aggravated felony under the INA. Pet. App. 3a. The court
held that evading an officer was not categorically a “crime of
violence” because the California statute did not contain a
mens rea element. /d. at 7a-10a. As is relevant here, the
court of appeals also held that the Unlawful Taking of a
Vehicle was not categorically a “theft offense” because the
California statute is broadly written to encompass all classes
of accessories and accomplices, and thus does not require an
individual to exercise control over the vehicle in question. /d.
at 12a-1S5a. Likewise, the court concluded that the INS had
failed to meet its burden of establishing that Mr. Penuliar’s
individual convictions were for conduct narrower than that set
forth in the broad California statues. /d. at 10a-12a, 15a-17a.

The Attorney General petitioned for rehearing and
rehearing en banc on the issue of whether the Unlawful
Taking of a Vehicle was a “theft offense.” Petition for Reh’g
at 1 (filed Mar. 11, 2005). The Attorney General further
argued that Mr. Penuliar had failed to exhaust his
administrative remedies before the BIA on this issue. /d. at 2.
The court of appeals denied the Attorney General’s petition.
Pet. App. 2a-3a.

On June 29, 2006, the Ninth Circuit granted en banc review
of a pane] decision holding that the Unlawful Taking of a
Vehicle under California Vehicle Code Section 10851(a)
constitutes a “theft offense” for purposes of increasing a
sentence under the federal sentencing guidelines. United

8

States v. Vidal, 426 F.3d 1011 (9th Cir. 2005), vacated by
grant of reh’g en banc, 453 F.3d 1114, 1115 (9th Cir. 2006).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION
The petition for certiorari should be denied.

First and foremost, no conflict in authority among the -
circuit courts exists on the question presented by Petitioner.
Sup. Ct. R. 10(a). Indeed, no other circuit court has yet
directly addressed whether a violation of Section 10851(a) of
the California Vehicle Code should qualify, as a categorical
matter, as a “theft offense* for purposes of the INA. The
circuit cases cited by the government do not involve removal
under the INA, and do not even involve purported “theft
offenses,” let alone the specific state statute at issue here.

But even if there could be a conflict between this INA case
-and the various federal sentencing cases identified by the
Attorney General, the Ninth Circuit recently granted en banc
review to address the purported intra-circuit conflict on this
issue. As such, there is no need for this Court to review a
case that, at most, involves an intra-circuit conflict that is
being resolved in the first instance by the Ninth Circuit.

Additionally, legislation passed by both houses of Congress
could render the question presented by Petitioner moot in
future cases. Given this pending legislation, there is no need
for the Court to grant plenary review when Congress itself is
considering the same issue advanced by petitioner in an area —
immigration — where this Court grants substantial deference
to the views of Congress. See, e.g., Fiallo v. Bell, 430 US.
787, 792 (1977) (“it is important to underscore the_limited
scope of judicial inquiry into immigration legislation’).
Indeed, in light of this pending congressional action, any
ruling by this Court might have limited continuing
significance. Under these circumstances, there is no need for
this Court to expend its resources on review at this time.

9

Moreover, even should the Court determine that the
question presented by Petitioner (whether “aiding and
abetting” is included in the definition of “theft offense” for
purposes of the INA) is ready for and might warrant review in
an appropriate case, this is an improper vehicle to resolve that
question. First, the statute at issue in this case not only
criminalizes “aiding and abetting,” but also extends to include
traditional accessories after the fact as principal offenders.
The breadth of this statute is well outside the mainstream, and
thus is broader than the generic modern definition of “theft
offense” even if “theft offense” were deemed to include
aiders and abettors generally. Accordingly, this case does not
squarely implicate the issue presented by Petitioner.

Nor does the Attorney General dispute that this case is an
improper vehicle to resolve this conflict. Specifically, he
argues that the court of appeals lacked jurisdiction due to Mr.
Penuliar’s alleged failure to exhaust his administrative
remedies. While Mr. Penuliar disputes any suggestion that he
did not exhaust his remedies, Petitioner’s stated intent to raise
this threshold “jurisdictional” issue also renders this case an
inappropriate vehicle for this Court’s review. Because
Petitioner argues that this issue affects the jurisdiction of the
court of appeals, this Court would be required to engage in a
fact-intensive inquiry on this antecedent issue before it could
even consider the merits of the question presented.

Petitioner’s suggestion that this Court hold this petition
pending review in Duenas-Alvarez is also untenable because
Duenas-Alvarez is likewise an inappropriate vehicle for
review. Duenas-Alvarez, another INA “theft offense” case
under Section 1085l(a) of the California Vehicle Code,
suffers from all the flaws rendering this case inappropriate for
review (with the exception of the Attorney General’s intent to
argue failure to exhaust). In addition, Duenas-Alvarez is
inappropriate for review because the court of appeals’
decision in that case is_ interlocutory. Because the
immigration court decision in Duenas-Alvarez did not reach

10 é

the modified categorical approach, the court of appeals
remanded the case to the BIA for further proceedings under
the second prong of the Zaylor analysis. Pet. (Duenas-
Alvarez) at 6. The interlocutory nature of that petition is
therefore sufficient reason for its denial, particularly given the
absence of any pressing. need to resolve the question
presented.

Finally, the decision below was correct. The statute in
question, Section 10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code,
expressly criminalizes both traditional aiding and abetting and
traditional accessory after the fact offenses, which lie outside
the modern consensus on the scope of a “theft offense.” The
statute also incorporates California aiding and abetting law,
which likewise includes conduct outside the modern
consensus. -

I. THIS CASE IMPLICATES NO CONFLICT
AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS THAT
WARRANTS THIS COURT’S REVIEW.

The court of appeals’ decision in this case holds that for a
conviction to qualify as a thefi offense under the INA
supporting removal of a lawful permanent resident, the
conviction must include a finding that the resident took or
exercised control over property not his own. Pet. App. 12a-
15a. The court of appeals held that because Section 10851(a)
of the California Vehicle Code includes aiding and abetting
and accessory (i.e., traditional accessory after the fact)
offenders as principals, it does not meet this standard and
therefore did not qualify as a “theft offense” under the INA.
The court’s analysis of Section 10851(a) of the California
Vehicle Code did not purport to apply to any of the many
other categories of aggravated felonies under the INA, or to
any other “aggravated felony” statute. /d.

In contrast, not one of the cases cited by Petitioner
addresses the requirements for a “theft offense,” or even the
requirements for deporting a lawful permanent resident under

1]

the INA. Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez) at 10-15. Specifically, in
United States v. Mitchell, the First Circuit ruled that a “crime
of violence” under the Bail Reform Act (“BRA”) includes
aiding and abetting arson. 23 F.3d 1, 2-3 (1st Cir. 1994). In
United States v. Hathaway, the Second Circuit held that a
“violent felony” under the Armed Career Criminal Act (the
“ACCA”) includes aiding and abetting arson. 949 F.2d 609,
611 (2d Cir. 1991). In United States v. Groce, the Seventh
Circuit similarly determined that the ACCA’s “violent
felony” provision included aiding and abetting burglary. 999
F.2d 1189, 1192 (7th Cir. 1993).

Finally, in United States v. Baca-Valenzuela, the Eighth
Circuit ruled that aiding and abetting the possession of
narcotics with the intent to distribute constituted a “drug
trafficking crime” warranting an enhancement under the
federal Sentencing Guidelines for an offender convicted of
the criminal offense of reentry following deportation. 118
F.3d 1223, 1231-33 (8th Cir. 1997). Because none of these
cases involves solely the INA or even mentions “theft
offenses,” there is ne conflict among the circuit courts on the
issue decided by the court of appeals in this case.

These cases involving the ACCA, the BRA and the
Sentencing Guidelines create no conflict with the decision
below because these statutes employ different language and
serve different purposes than the INA. For instance, the
ACCA, at issue in Hathaway and Groce, provides for
enhanced penalties for individuals who have three previous
convictions for a “violent felony,” defined as “any crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year. . .
that . . . (ii) is burglary, arson . . . or otherwise involves
conduct that presents a serious potential risk of physical
injury to another.” 18 U.S.C. § 924(e)(2)(B). The “or
otherwise” language in this provision indicates that the
examples given — burglary and arson -- should be read broadly
in the context of risk of physical injury.

12

Similarly, under the BRA, at issue in Mitchell, an
individual convicted of a “crime of violence” must generally
be held in custody pending sentencing. 18 U.S.C.
§ 3143(a)(2). The BRA defines a “crime of violence” as
including “any other offense that . . . involves a substantial
risk that physical-force-against the person or property of
another may be used.” 18 U.S.C. § 3156(a)(4)(B). Although
this statute does not go so far as to include the examples of
arson and burglary, its “any other offense” language, like that
of the ACCA, expands the scope of this provision to any
offense which might involve the use of force against persons
or property. A conviction for aiding and abetting burglary or
arson would naturally provide a risk of injury, or the use of
force against property. Notably, neither the BRA nor the
ACCA require that the offender himself use force or directly
injure — they simply require that his actions create the risk of
injury, or that there be a risk that force “may be used.”

Aiding and abetting arson or burglary thus fit naturally
within the confines of “crimes of violence” or “violent
felonies.” Because the INA’s definition of “theft offense”
contains none of the attributes which create this fit, the three
decisions under these statutes cited by the Attorney General
are not in conflict with the Ninth Circuit’s determination that
a violation of Section 1085](a) of the California Vehicle
Code is not a theft offense under the INA because a “theft
offense” must involve the actual exercise of control over the
property in question.

The Attorney General’s argument that the decision below
conflicts with the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Baca-
Valenzuela is also demonstrably incorrect. In that case, the
Eighth Circuit held that aiding and abetting the possession of
narcotics with the intent to distribute constitutes a “drug
trafficking crime.” 118 F.3d at 1231-33. Baca-Valenzuela,
however, dealt with sentencing under an “aggravated felony”
provision of the federal Sentencing Guidelines. /d. at 1231-
33.

13

But, as Petitioner notes, the federal Sentencing Guidelines
have been amended specifically to include aiding and abetting
offenses within the definition of “aggravated felonies.” Pet.
(Duenas-Alvarez) at 13 n.7. Relying upon this very
distinction, the Attorney General himself has recently argued
to the Ninth Circuit that Penuliar does not conflict with cases
under the Sentencing Guidelines. Specifically, the Attorney
General has explained that cases under the INA do not
conflict with cases under the sentencing guidelines, due to the
important differences in their statutory language. Thus, in
seeking to avoid rehearing en banc in United States v. Vidal,
426 F.3d 1011, 1015 (9th Cir. 2005), the Attorney General
argued that the decision in this case does not conflict with
Vidal, a sentencing guidelines case, because this case “was
not decided in the criminal context; there is no analogue to
{the relevant guidelines Application Note] in [the INA]” that
expressly provides that an aggravated felony should include
“aiding and abetting.” Opp’n. to Vidal en banc Pet. at 17
n.10, No. 04-50185 (9th Cir. filed Jan. 23, 2006) (emphasis
omitted).

Petitioner cannot have it both ways. He cannot argue to the
Ninth Circuit that there is no conflict between Vidal and this
case because the underlying federal statutes differ in
meaningful respects, and then argue to this Court that, even
though the circuit decisions that he claims are in conflict with
this case involved entirely different federal statutes, those
decisions arose in “analytically — indistinguishable
circumstances.” Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez) at 11. In any event,
the court of appeals’ decision to grant en banc review in
United States v. Vidal also renders premature any review of
this issue in this case.

In Vidal, a panel of the Ninth Circuit held that a violation of
Section 10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code constitutes a
“theft offense” for purposes of increasing a sentence under
the “deral Sentencing Guidelines. 426 F.3d at 1013. The
petit oner in Vidal sought en F anc review, arguing, inter alia,

14

that the panel’s decision conflicted with the Ninth Circuit's
decision in Penuliar. Reh’g Pet. (Vidal) at 4, No. 04-50185
(9th Cir. filed Dec. 6, 2005). The court of appeals granted en
banc review on June 29, 2006. 453 F.3d 1114, 1115 (9th Cir.
2006). Given that the Ninth Circuit is currently reviewing a
decision that is alleged to conflict with the decision in this
case, it would be premature to grant review here.”

As this Court has explained, certiorari is not appropriate to
resolve an intra-circuit conflict. See Davis v. United States,
417 U.S. 333, 340 (1974). To the contrary, to the extent that
there is any conflict between the Ninth Circuit’s decisions in
this case and in Vidal, such a conflict is best resolved through
en banc review. United States ex rel. Robinson v. Johnston,
316 U.S. 649 (1942); see also Stern, supra § 4.6, at 235.
These principles are especially apt in this case because the
Ninth Circuit has granted en banc review in Vidal. In light of
the ongoing proceedings in the court of appeals, it would be
premature for the Court to grant review in this case.

il. THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE
THERE IS NO PRESSING NEED FOR THE
COURT TO RESOLVE THE QUESTION
PRESENTED.

1. There is no pressing need to resolve the issue presented
because, as the Attorney General acknowledges, there
currently is legislation pending in Congress which may
address this issue in future cases. Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez) at
21-22. Both houses of Congress have now passed legislation

* Petitioner may argue that because Vidal is a sentencing guidelines
case, and the Vidal panel’s majority opinion drew a distinction on this
ground, the grant of en banc review in Vidal does not render review
premature in this case. Again, Petitioner cannot have it both ways. Either
sentencing-related cases can conflict with INA cases, or they cannot. If
they can, then review in this case is unnecessary due to the ongoing
proceedings in Vidal. \f they cannot, then there is no inter-circuit conflict
and certiorari-is likewise unnecessary.

15

defining all classes of aggravated felony to include traditional
aiding and abetting offenses. Border Protection,
Antiterrorism, and Illegal Immigration Control Act of 2005,
H.R. 4437, 109th Cong., § 201(a)(3) (passed Dec. 16, 2005);
Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2006, S. 2611,
109th Cong., § 203(a)(5) (passed May 25, 2006).* It is
unclear whether the final text of the provisions would purport
to apply retroactively. /d. However, should Congress finalize
this legislation it may resolve this legal issue for future cases.
Given Congress’ active consideration of the question
presented, there is no need for this Court’s intervention to
resolve a question that both houses of Congress have
addressed through pending legislation.

2. In any event, Petitioner’s speculation about the possible
effects of the decision below do not provide a reason for
granting review. Specifically, Petitioner argues that it will be
more difficult to prove that an individual committed an
“aggravated felony” under the modified categorical approach
than under the categorical approach, and that the court of
appeals may apply its decision to different factual and legal
circumstances. Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez) at 15-22. These
arguments should be rejected.

First, the alleged ill effects described by Petitioner boil
down to the simple requirement that he meet his burden of
proof, as established by this Court, just as he would be
required to do in any case under TJaylor’s modified
categorical approach. Petitioner does not contend that this
Court should reconsider the two-part framework set forth in —
Taylor, but instead complains that the application of that
framework makes it difficult to establish that an individual

* Although these two bills agree as to the aiding and abetting
provisions, their other differing provisions have not yet been reconciled in
conference committee, and it is still unclear when and if these bills will
become law.

16

has committed an aggravated felony under the INA using the
modified categorical approach.”

Petitioner thus-maintains that there are large numbers of
immigrants whom he may not remove due to the decision
below. Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez) at 15-16. This overstates the
impact of the court of appeals’ decision. To be sure, the court
of appeals ruled that Section 10851(a) is not categorically a
“theft offense” under the INA. That ruling, however, does
not prevent Petitioner from showing in any other case that an
individual’s violation of that statute constitutes a theft offense
under the modified categorical approach set forth by this
Court in Zaylor. Petitioner has presented no valid reason why
meeting his burden of proof in cases subject-to the modified
categorical approach under Penuliar would be more
burdensome than a typical modified categorical case.°

Additionally, Petitioner dramatically overstates the scope of
the decision in this case. Petitioner suggests that the Penuliar
holding “has-few obvious limits” and that the Ninth Circuit’s

> Petitioner also argues that this case requires review because he cannot
necessarily remove immigrants whose offenses fal] outside the INA’s
aggravated felony provisions under the INA’s provision for removal of
those who commit crimes involving moral turpitude. Pet. (Duenas-
Alvarez) at 18-20. This discussion is irrelevant, because each of these
provisions is designed to target specific, enumerated offenses: they are not
meant to combine to include every existing offense. The fact that an
offense does not fall under one provision does not automatically mean that
it should be covered by the other.

° For example, Petitioner contends that he will have difficulty meeting
his burden of proof because the language of indictments and plea
colloquies often simply track the language of the statute in question. Pet.
(Duenas-Alvarez) at 18. Again, however, there is nothing to distinguish
theft offenses from any other case under the modified categorical
approach approved by this Court: in each such case, the modified
categorical approach is applied precisely because the statutory language is
broader than the definition of “aggravated felony.” Petitioner does not
and cannot suggest that indictments and colloquies in non-theft offense
cases are less likely to track the language of the statute at issue.

17

ruling “may well be extended . . . to every crime that is a
basis for removal.” Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez) at 20. But that is
pure speculation. The holding in this case was that a violation
of Section 10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code does not,
as a categorical matter, constitute a “theft offense” for
purposes of the INA. The court of appeals has not extended
that holding to other contexts, there are logical reasons why
the court of appeals might choose not to do so, and, indeed,
the court of appeals has already demonstrated its ability and
willingness to draw distinctions where appropriate.

As an example, Petitioner speculates that the court of
appeals might extend its holding in this case and determine
that a “crime of violence,” an aggravated felony under the
INA, does not include aiding and abetting offenses. Pet.
(Duenas-Alvarez) at 20-21. The INA defines “crime of
violence” by reference to the federal criminal law,
specifically 18 U.S.C. § 16. This statute’s language tracks the
violent crime provisions discussed above, supra Section A,
and includes “any other offense that . . . involves a substantial
risk that physical force against the person or property of
another may be used.” 18 U.S.C. § 16. When given the
opportunity to consider this distinct statutory language, the
court of appeals may well conclude, as have other circuits,
that aiding and abetting offenses fall within its broad sweep.
See United States v. Morrison, 972 F.2d 269, 271 (9th Cir.
1992) (holding aiding and abetting malicious destruction a
“violent felony” under the sentencing guidelines).

In short, Petitioner’s speculation that the court of appeals
may, in future cases, dramatically expand its holding in this
case simply underscores the prematurity of certiorari.

lil. THIS CASE IS AN INAPPROPRIATE VEHICLE
TO RESOLVE THE QUESTION PRESENTED.

1. The question presented by Petitioner is whether a “theft
offense,” as defined by the INA, includes aiding and abetting.
However, this case, which involves California’s Unlawful

18

Taking of a Vehicle statute, is an inappropriate vehicle for the
Court’s consideration of this issue because this particular
statute criminalizes not only aiding and abetting the
underlying crime, but also acting as an accessory after the
fact. Pet. App. 14a (explaining that Section 10851(a)
“includes accessory or accomplice liability”).

As shown below, California’s general aiding and abetting
offenses are not properly categorized as “theft offenses”
under the INA. However, even if they were, Section
10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code would still not
constitute, as a categorical matter, a “theft offense” because
this statute also applies to “accessories” — defined by
California law as traditional accessories after the fact.

Because the California Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle
statute includes accessories after the fact, it criminalizes
conduct even broader than traditional aiding and abetting
liability. As such, a violation of Section 10851(a) of the
California Vehicle Code would not be a categorical
aggravated felony even if traditional aiding and abetting
offenses are “theft offenses” as Petitioner contends.
Accordingly, this case is an improper vehicle for resolving the
question presented. Stern, supra § 4.4, at 231 (explaining that
review may be denied where this Court “might be able to
decide the case on another ground and thus not reach the
point‘on which there is conflict”) (collecting cases).

2. In his Petition, the Attorney General does not contend
that the Court should actually grant plenary review in this
case. Indeed, the Petition acknowledges that this case is a
less-than-ideal candidate for deciding the question presented
because the Petitioner contends that Mr. Penuliar failed to
exhaust his claims before the BIA, and that this failure
deprived the court of appeals of jurisdiction. Pet. 8-9. Mr.

19

Penuliar disputes that he failed to exhaust his claims.’
Nevertheless, Petitioner is correct that the existence of a
threshold jurisdictional question that may prevent this Court
from reaching the merits renders this case an inappropriate
candidate for review of the question presented.

3. Nor should this Court hold this case pending resolution
of Duenas-Alvarez. As explained above, there is no conflict
among the courts of appeals and it would be inappropriate to
grant review to address what is, at most, an intra-circuit
conflict that the court of appeals has agreed to review en
banc, and regarding which there is pending legislation that
has been passed by both houses of Congress. Additionally,
Duenas-Alvarez, like this case, involves California’s
Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle statute, which broadly extends -
criminal liability not only to aiding and abetting but also to
accessories after the fact. Pet. App. 14a.

Further, review would be inappropriate in Duenas-Alvarez
because that case is interlocutory. This Court “generally
await|s] final judgment in the lower courts before exercising
[its] certiorari jurisdiction.” Virginia Military Inst. v. United
States, 508 U.S. 946, 946 (1993) (opinion of Scalia, J.,
respecting denial of petition for writ of certiorari); Hamilton-
Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240 U.S. 251, 258
(1916); see also, e.g., Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen v.
Bangor & Aroostook R.R., 389 U.S. 327, 328 (1967) (per
curiam) (“[B]Jecause the Court of Appeals remanded the case,
it is not yet ripe for review by this Court”); Stern, supra
§ 4.18, at 260 (“[I]n the absence of some . . . unusual factor,
the interlocutory nature of a lower court judgment will
generally result in a denial of certiorari.”).

Here, the court of appeals has not finally addressed whether
Mr. Duenas-Al]varez was convicted of a theft offense under

” Specifically, Mr. Penuliar believes that the record demonstrates +that
he fully exhausted his administrative remedies before the BIA. E.g., Pet.
App. 57a, 63a.

20

the INA. The immigration judge (and BIA) held that the
Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle was categorically a theft
offense, and so did not reach a review under the modified
categorical approach. Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez) App. 1a-2a.
Because the court of appeals concluded that the Unlawful
Taking of a Vehicle under California law is not categorically
a theft offense, it remanded the case for further proceedings to
conduct the modified categorical review set forth in
controlling precedent. /d. This remand renders the court of
appeals’ decision interlocutory.

Nor is there any reason to depart from the general rule
barring review of interlocutory orders. Instead, for the
myriad of reasons discussed above, Duenas-Alvarez is
inappropriate for immediate review by this Court.
Accordingly, this case should not be held for Duenas-Alvarez.

IV. THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE
THE DECISION BELOW DOES NOT CONFLICT
WITH ANY DECISION OF THIS COURT AND JIS
CORRECT ON THE MERITS.

Petitioner does not contend that the decision below
conflicts with any decision of this Court. To the contrary, the
decision below faithfully applies this Court’s controlling
precedent to the specific question of whether Section
10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code categorically
qualifies as a “theft offense.”

A. Section 10851(a) Of The California Vehicle Code
Encompasses Both California Accomplice
Liability And Traditional Accessory After The
Fact Liability.

California criminal law normally distinguishes between an
offense committed by a principal and an offense committed
by an accessory. For example, California excludes from the
definition of principals those who engage in conduct that
commenced after the conclusion of the crime. See, e.g., Cal.

21

Penal Code § 31; People v. Verlinde, 100 Cal. App. 4th 1146,
1158 (2002).

“Accessory,” in contrast, is a defined term whose meaning
corresponds to the traditional offense of accessory after the
fact. Cal. Penal Code § 32. California’s accessory statute -
provides that “[e]very person who, afier a felony has been
committed, harbors, conceals or aids a principal in such
felony . . . is an accessory to such felony.” /d. (emphasis
added). The offense of being an accessory under the
California statute (an “Accessory”) is distinct from aiding and
abetting; an Accessory is not liable as a principal. See id.;
Cal. Penal Code § 31.

Under. California law, a person violates Section 10851(a) of
the Vehicle Code if he “is a party or an accessory to or an
accomplice in the driving or unauthorized taking or stealing”
[of a vehicle not his or her own.]” Cal. Veh. Code § 10851(a)
(emphasis added). The statute thus allows an individual to be
convicted for the offense whether the person acted as a
principal, aider or abettor, or accessory after the fact. See,
e.g., United States v. Innie, 7 F.3d 840, 852 (9th Cir. 1993).
To be convicted under this statute, a person therefore need
only have knowingly accepted a ride in a previously illegally
acquired car. People v. Clark, 251 Cal. App. 2d 868, 874
(1967). The statute is thus broader than California’s generic
aiding and abetting law.

B. A Majority Of tates Recognize That Accessories
After The Fact Are Guilty Of A Separate
Offense.

Under the 7ay/or categorical approach, a reviewing court
compares the scope of the statute at issue to the requirements
of the “generic” definition of the category of offense in the
INA. The generic definition is determined by reference to
state law, and should “correspond{] to the definition[] of [the
category of offense] in a majority of the States’ criminal
codes.” 495 U.S. at 589. Thus, a review of the laws of the

22

various states is required to determine the modern consensus,
and thus the proper “generic” definition against which
California Vehicle Code Section 10851(a) should be
compared. There is no dispute that the court below applied
the analytical approach set forth in 7Zaylor. And, as shown
below, the court properly concluded that Section 10851 is
well outside the generic, consensus definition found in the
laws of the fifty states. Pet. App. 12a-15a.

A majority of jurisdictions recognize that acting as a
principal rather than as an accessory after the fact constitutes
a separate offense. States address the issue of accessories
after the fact in two primary ways.

First, twenty-one jurisdictions have promulgated separate
criminal offenses for events related to the commission of the
crime, on the one hand, and accessories after the fact, who
provide assistance to the principal after the commission of the
crime, on the other hand.* These provisions stand in contrast
to Section 10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code because
the California statute includes as principal offenders both
principals and accessories after the fact.

Second, twenty-nine states have abandoned the “accessory
after the fact” terminology and instead classify this type of
offense as one of “hindering” or “obstruction of justice.” 2
W. LaFave, Substantive Criminal Law, § 13.6 (2d ed. 2002);
see also Model Penal Code § 242.1 Explanatory Note for

®* To illustrate, Florida statutes provide that “[a]ny person . . . who
maintains or assists the principal or an accessory before the fact, or gives
the offender any other aid . . . is an accessory after the fact.” Fla. Stat.

§ 777.03(1 (a); see also 18 U.S.C. § 3; Cal. Penal Code § 32; Colo. Rev.
Stat. § 18-8-105; D.C. Code § 22-1806; Fla. Stat. § 777.03; Idaho Code
Ann. § 18-205; lowa Code § 703.3; La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14:25; Md.
Code Ann., Crim. Law § 1-301; Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 274, § 4; Miss.
Code Ann. § 97-1-5; Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-204: Nev. Rev. Stat. § 195.030;
N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-7; Okla. Stat. tit. 21, § 173; S.D. Codified Laws
§ 22-3-5; Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-11-411; Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 5; Va:
Code Ann. § 18.2-19; W. Va. Code § 61-11-6; Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 6-5-202.

23

Sections 242.1-242.8 (2001).’ The characterization used by
these states reflects the true nature of the crime: conduct that
interferes with the processes of government. /d. Section
10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code also differs from the
law in these states because it treats as principal offenders
those who would instead fall under the gambit of obstruction
of justice or hindering."

Because under each approach the modern consensus among
the states is to recognize the difference between principals
and accessories after the fact, Section 10851(a) of the
California Vehicle Code is broader than the modern
consensus because it makes all classes of offenders guilty of
the same offense.

* Ala. Code §§ 13A-10-42 to -10-45; Alaska Stat. § 11.56.770; Ariz.
Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 13-2510 to -2512; Ark. Code Ann. § 5-54-105; Conn.
Gen. Stat. §§ 53a-165 to -167; Del. Code. Ann. tit. 11, § 1244; Ga. Code
Ann. § 16-10-50; Haw. Rev. Stat. §§ 710-1028 to -1030; 720 Jil. Comp.
Stat. Ann. 5/31-4, 5/31-5; Ind. Code § 35-44-3-2; Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-
3812; Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 520.120, 520.130; Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit.
17-A § 753; Minn. Stat. § 609.495; Mo. Rev. Stat. § 575.030; Mont. Code
Ann. § 45-7-303; N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 642:3; N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:29-3;
N.M. Stat. § 30-22-4; N.Y. Penal Law $§ 205.50 to .65; N.D. Cent. Code
§ 12.1-08-03; Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2921.32; Or. Rev. Stat. § 162.325;
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 5105; R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-1-4; Tex. Penal Code
Ann. § 38.05; Utah Code Ann. § 76-8-306; Wash. Rev. Code
§ 9A.76.050; Wis. Stat. § 946.47.

'° Additionally, two states, Michigan and South Carolina, stil! follow
the common law, which divides guilty parties into principals and various
accessories. See Mich. Comp. Laws § 750.505; People v. Cunningham,
506 N.W.2d 624, 625 (Mich. Ct. App. 1993); S.C. Code Ann. § 17-21-60;
State v. Legette, 330 S.E.2d 293, 294 (S.C. 1985); see also generally
Rollins Perkins, Parties to Crime, 89 U. Pa. L. Rev. 581, 581 (1941);
Susannah Rawl Cole, Sewing up the Loophole in Accessory After the Fact
Crimes, 50 S.C. L. Rev. 901, 902-03 (1999). The common law also
recognizes that accessories after the fact are tainted with a “‘different
species of guilt.” Perkins, supra, at 589 (quoting 4 Blackstone's.
Commentaries *40).

24

C. Section 10851(a) Of The California Vehicle Code
Is Also Outside The Mainstream In Its Inclusion
Of California Aiding And Abetting Law.

None of the fifty states’ theft offense statutes expressly
includes aiders and abettors or accessories after the fact.''
However, some states, like California, consider vehicle theft a
separate offense from general theft. Of the thirty states with
specific vehicle theft statutes or unauthorized use of a vehicle
statutes, twenty-six have statutes which do not include aiders
and abettors or accessories after the fact.'? Section 10851(a)

'' Ala. Code § 13A-8-2; Alaska Stat. § 11.46.100; Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 13-1802; Ark. Code Ann. § 5-36-103; Cal. Penal Code § 484; Colo.
Rev. Stat. § 18-4-401; Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 53a-119; Del. Code Ann.
tit. 11, § 841; Fla. Stat. § 812.014; Ga. Code Ann. § 16-8-2; Haw. Rev.
Stat. § 708-8350; Idaho Code Ann. § 18-2403; 720 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann.
5/16-1; Ind. Code § 35-43-4-2; lowa Code § 714.1; Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-
3701; Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 514.030; La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14:67; Me.
Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A, § 353; Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 7-104;
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 266, § 30; Mich. Comp. Laws § 750.356;
Minn. Stat. § 609.52; Miss. Code Ann. § 97-17-41; Mo. Rev. Stat.
§ 570.030; Mont. Code Ann. § 45-6-301; Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-511; Nev.
Rev. Stat. $ 205.0832; N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 637:3; N.J. Stat. Ann.
§ 2C:20-3; N.M. Stat. § 30-16-1; N.Y. Penal Law § 155.05; N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 14-72; N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-23-02; Ohio Rev. Code Ann.
§ 2913.02; Okla. Stat. tit. 21, § 1701; Or. Rev. Stat. § 164.015; 18 Pa.
Cons. Stat. § 3921; R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-41-1; S.C. Code Ann. § 16-13-30;
S.D. Codified Laws § 22-30A-1; Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-14-103; Tex.
Penal Code Ann. § 31.03; Utah Code Ann. § 76-6-404; Vt. Stat. Ann. tit.
13, § 2501; Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-95; Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.56.020; W.
Va. Code § 61-3-13; Wis. Stat. § 943.20; Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 6-3-402; see
also D.C. Code § 22-3211.

'? Alaska Stat. § 11.46.360; Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1814; Ark. Code
Ann. § 5-36-108; Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-4-409; Conn. Gen. Stat. § S3a-
119b; Del. Code. Ann. tit. 1], § 853; Ind. Code § 35-43-4-2.5; lowa Code
§ 714.7: Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 514.100; La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14:68.4;
Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 7-105; Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch, 266, § 28:
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A, § 360; Mont. Code Ann. § 45-6-308; Nev.
Rev. Stat. § 205.2715; NJ. Stat. Ann. § 2C:20-2.1; N.Y. Penal Law
§ 165.08; N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-72.2; N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-23-06; Ohio

25

of the California Vehicle Code is thus more broad than the
scope of theft and vehicle theft statutes within the
mainstream.

Petitioner suggests that regardless of the scope of state theft
and vehicle theft statutes, there is a modern consensus that
traditional aiders and abettors (i.e., accessories before the
fact) may be convicted as principals. Pet. (Duenas-Alvarez)
at 7-8. This argument misses the mark, however, because
Congress has chosen not to apply this treatment to
“aggravated felonies” under the INA. The INA contains an
express provision including attempt and conspiracy to commit
an aggravated felony as “aggravated felonies” themselves. 8
U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43)(U). The INA contains no such
provision, however, regarding aiding and abetting. /d. This
stands in stark contrast to the federal Sentencing Guidelines,
which expressly include as “aggravated felonies” not only
attempt and conspiracy, but aiding and abetting as well.
U.S.S.G. §§ 2L1.2 n.5, 4B1.2 n.1. If Petitioner were correct
that due to the modern treatment of accessories before the
fact, aiding and abetting is necessarily included in the generic
definitions of the offenses which constitute “aggravated
felonies,” then these provisions in the federal Sentencing
Guidelines would be entirely superfluous.

Moreover, even if it were appropriate to look to the various
states’ definitions of “aiding and abetting” rather than their
“theft” offenses, California’s general aiding and abetting law
is broader than that of the majority of states because it lacks
an offense-specific intent requirement. Under California law,
“a defendant may be held criminally responsible as an
accomplice not only for the crime he or she intended to aid
and abet (the target crime), but also for any other crime that is
the ‘natural and probable consequence’ of the target crime.”

Rev. Code Ann. § 2913.03; Okla. Stat. tit. 21, § 1720: 18 Pa. Cons. Stat.
Ann. § 3928; S.C. Code Ann. § 16-21-60; S.D. Codified Laws § 22-30A-
12; Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-14-106; Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 31.07; Wash.
Rev. Code § 9A.56.070; see also D.C. Code § 22-3215.

26

People v. Prettyman, 926 P.2d 1013, 1020 (Cal. 1996); see
also Juan‘H. vy. Allen, 408 F.3d 1262, 1279 n.15 (9th Cir.
2005); Windham v. Merkle, 163 F.3d 1092, 1101 (9th Cir.
1998). Thus, under California law, individuals convicted on
an aiding and abetting theory “need not have intended to
encourage or facilitate the particular offense” of which they
are convicted. People v. Croy, 710 P.2d 392, 398 n.5 (Cal.
1985). This flies in the face of generic aiding and abetting
law. See, e.g., Nye & Nissen v. United States, 336 U.S. 613,
619 (1949). Indeed, the majority of states and the federal
government have adopted the view that to be convicted under
an aiding and abetting theory, an accused must intend to aid
the principal in the particular offense.'”

Both through the statute’s express inclusion of traditional
accessories after the fact and aiders and abettors as principals,
and through the operation of California’s atypically broad
general aiding and abetting provisions, Section 10851(a) of
the California Vehicle Code therefore encompasses conduct
that falls outside the modern generic definition of theft
offense. The court of appeals thus correctly concluded that
the statute is not an “aggravated felony” under the INA.

' At least the following jurisdictions have adopted this view: 18
U.S.C. § 2; Ala. Code § 13A-2-23; Alaska Stat. § 11.16.110; Ariz. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 13-301; Ark. Code Ann. § 5-2-403; Colo. Rev. Stat. §§ 18-1-
603, 18-8-105; Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 271; 7.B. v. State, 732 So. 2d
1163, 1164 (Fla. 1999); Ga. Code Ann. § 16-2-20; Haw. Rev. Stat. § 702-
222; State v. Gonzalez, 12 P.3d 382, 384-85 (Idaho Ct. App. 2000); 720
Il. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/5-2; Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-3205; Ky. Rev. Stat.
Ann. § 502.020; Mo. Rev. Stat. § 562.041; N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 626:8;
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:2-6; State v. Carrasco, 946 P.2d 1075, 1079 (N.M.
1997); N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-03-01; Or. Rev. Stat. § 161.155; 18 Pa.
Cons. Stat. § 306; State v. Gazerro, 420 A.2d 816, 828 (R.1. 1980); S.D.
Codified Laws § 22-3-3; Utah Code Ann. § 76-2-202; State v. Pitts, 800
A.2d 481, 482-83 (Vt. 2002); Wis. Stat. § 939.05; Jahnke v. State, 692
P.2d 911, 921 (Wyo. 1984); see also generally Candace Courteau,
Comment, The Mental Element Required for Accomplice Liability: A
Topic Note, 59 La. L. Rev. 325, 333 (1998); W. LaFave, supra, § 13.2(c).

27
CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CARTER G. PHILLIPS JOEL S. FELDMAN

PAUL J. ZIDLICKY MELANIE JO TRIEBEL*
SIDLEY AUSTIN LLP SIDLEY AUSTIN LLP
1501 K Street, N.W. One South Dearborn
Washington, D.C. 20005 Chicago, Illinois 60603
(202) 736-8000 (312) 853-7000

Counsel for Respondent
August 23, 2006 * Counsel of Record

EP 6 - 2005

CACIE CF TEC ETK

No. 05-1630
a

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

ALBERTO R. GONZALES, ATTORNEY GENERAL,
PETITIONER

v.
NOPRING PAULINO PENULIAR

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

A CCE AE LE CE OT CET A EN A ee A A
ALOE NOONE NOR SRE HOP EEE AEE ENS EY OO BO CTIA TE ha ONE ON BOER
SE gig es eS a SG el a sO pe eal ares a i aS eK Ne ane pierre eres

TABLE OF CONTENTS ~

Page

A. The Ninth Circuit’s rule is incorrect ............. 1
B. The Ninth Circuit’s rule conflicts with the rule

applied by other courts of appeals .............. 4

C. If left unreviewed, the Ninth Circuit’s rule will

have a substantial effect on the administration

of the immigration laws ..............cceeeeeees 6
D. Duenas-Alvarez is a suitable vehicle for

deciding whether the Ninth Circuit’s rule is

ee hie eye ered eceseecene 8
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases’
Anselmo, In re, 20 1. & N. Dec. 25 (B.1.A. 1989) ....... 10
Cox Broad. Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975) ......... 10
James v. Gonzales, No. 04-60445, 2006 WL 2536614

ES a 4.5
Martinez-Perez v. Gonzales, 417 F.3d 1022 (9th Cir.

Nee ac abuwcececcece 7
Mazurek v. Armstrong, 520 U.S. 968 (1997) ........... 10
Sullivan v. Finkelstein, 496 U.S. 617 (1990) ............ 9
United States v. Baca-Valenzuela, 118 F.3d 1223 (8th

ss Che ccce ees cece 5

United States v. Barnett, 667 F.2d 835 (9th Cir. 1982) ...3

United States v. Corona-Sanchez, 291 F.3d 1201 (9th
EE q

United States v. Edwards, 303 F.3d 606 (5th Cir.
2002), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1192 and 1240 (2003) ....3

(I)

II

Cases—Continued: Page

United States v. Graewe, 774 F.2d 106 (6th Cir. 1985),
cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1017 (1986) ...............4.. 3

United States v. Groce, 999 F.2d 1189 (7th Cir. 1993) .... 4
United States v. Hathaway, 949 F.2d 609 (2d Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1119 (1992) ............. 4
United States v. Miller, 22 F.3d 1075 (11th Cir. 1994) ...3
United States v. Mitchell, 23 F.3d 1 (ist Cir. 1994) ...... 5
United States v. Moore, 936 F.2d 1508 (7th Cir.), cert.

Gented OSE UE. Sie GaGa as oe hoe ei ees ahh ees
United States v. Vidal, 426 F.3d 1011 (9th Cir. 2005),

reh’g granted, 453 F.3d 1114 (9th Cir. 2006) ......... 5
United States v. Walker, 99 F.3d 439 (D.C. Cir. 1996) .... 3

Statutes and regulation:
Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1101

et seq.:

SUSC. 1MOMINA) «5 oi esses 8

SUB. LAGI ie wcivencvssecswiaces 1, 5,8

BUTLG. BIR ov vvecdsdaccvechcstanes 4
ERG bckae hius-cnke Oskaandesebdceestacuawerieas 3
Cal. Veh. Code (West 2000):

DI is oa a Shade sh ane eos eee 3

SION ove ch ake ban vandeweseveeeseseesiase 4, 6,8
Cal. Penal Code (West 1999):

ON sodden Oe ee 7

OO oe aa ohh enna cada eaen ane 7

Il

Miscellaneous: Page

2 Wayne R. LaFave, Substantive Criminal Law(2d
NE SG05 4 56 a hbec cree kan Ons Wane ho wekisaleces 3

erty
i sewet ved
arts

se
dials

Pas ass

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 05-1630

ALBERTO R. GONZALES, ATTORNEY GENERAL,
PETITIONER

Vv.
NOPRING PAULINO PENULIAR

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

Respondent does not deny that, if the Court grants certio-
rari in Gonzales v. Duenas-Alvarez, petition for cert. pending,
No. 05-1629 (filed June 22, 2006), the petition in this case
should be held pending the disposition of that case and then
disposed of accordingly. Instead, respondent contends (Br. in
Opp. 1-3, 8-26) that the petition in Duenas-Alvarez should be
denied—and thus that the petition in this case should be de-
nied as well. Respondent is mistaken.

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Rule Is Incorrect

1. As the Duenas-Alvarez petition demonstrates (at 6-
10), the Ninth Circuit erred in holding that aiding and abet-
ting is not included in the generic definition of the term “theft —
offense” under the “aggravated felony” provision of the Immi-
gration and Nationality Act (INA), 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(43)(G).
Respondent contends that that holding is correct, because

(1)

2

“(njone of the fifty states’ theft offense statutes expressly
includes aiders and abettors or accessories after the fact.”
Br. in Opp. 24. That is irrelevant even if true, because every
State criminalizes aiding and abetting and treats an aider and
abettor as a principal, and thus the law in every State is that
a defendant who aids and abets a theft offense is guilty of the
theft offense itself. See Duenas-Alvarez Pet. 6-10.

Respondent also relies (Br. in Opp. 25) on the fact that the
INA “contains an express provision including attempt and
conspiracy to commit an aggravated felony as ‘aggravated
felonies’ themselves” but “contains no such provision * * *
regarding aiding and abetting.” Br. in Opp. 25. That reason-
ing is equally flawed. As explained in the Duenas-Alvarez
petition (at 22 n.13), attempt and conspiracy, unlike aiding
and abetting, are distinct from the underlying offense, and
thus would not constitute an aggravated felony unless Con-
gress explicitly so provided. Respondent correctly points out
(Br. in Opp. 25) that the Sentencing Guidelines do include
aiding and abetting (as well as attempt and conspiracy) in
their definition of “aggravated felony.” See Sentencing
Guidelines § 2L1.2, comment. (n.5). But it is hardly unusual
for a legislature (or agency) explicitly to include in a statute
(or regulation) a principle of law that would apply even if
it were omitted, so as to remove any conceivable doubt. And
even if it were unusual, the Sentencing Commission’s inclusion
of particular language in the Guidelines would not be
evidence of what Congress intended when it enacted
the INA—especially since aiding-and-abetting liability is au-
tomatically included as a form of principal liability under
federal statute and the laws of all 50 States, whether or not it
is expressly mentioned.

2. Respondent contends (Br. in Opp. 25-26) that, even if
aiding and abetting is included in the generic definition of
“theft offense,” aiding and abetting under California law is

3

broader than generic aiding and abetting. That theory, how-
ever, was not the basis for respondent’s argument or the
Ninth Circuit’s decision below. In any event, it is incorrect.
According to respondent, while California holds a defendant
responsible for any crime that is the “natural and probable
consequence” of the crime he intended to aid and abet, “the
majority of states and the federal government” do not. Jd. at
25-26. As Professor LaFave explains, however, the “estab-
lished rule” is in fact the one applied in California—that “ac-
complice liability extends to acts of the principal * * * which
were a ‘natural and probable consequence’ of the criminal
scheme the accomplice encouraged or aided.” 2 Wayne R.
LaFave, Substantive Criminal Law § 13.3(b), at 361 (2d ed.
2003) (footnote omitted); see id. § 13.3(b), at 361-362 nn. 26-29
(citing treatises, state cases, and state statutes).'
Respondent also contends (Br. in Opp. 20-23) that, even if
aiding and abetting is included in the generic definition of
“theft offense,” and even if aiding and abetting under Califor-
nia law is no broader than generic aiding and abetting, Cali-
fornia Vehicle Code § 10851 (West 2000) imposes liability on
an “accessory,” which means an accessory after the fact, and
an accessory after the fact is not covered by the generic defi-
nition of “theft offense” as that term is used in the INA. As
explained in the Duenas-Alvarez reply brief (at 2-8), that the-
ory, too, was not the basis for the decision below; the theory

' The federal courts of appeals have uniformly interpreted the federal
aiding-and-abetting statute, 18 U.S.C. 2, to permit conviction on that theory.
See, ¢.g., United States v. Edwards, 303 F.3d 606, 637 (Sth Cir. 2002), cert.
denied, 537 U.S. 1192 and 1240 (2008); United States v. Walker, 99 F.3d 439, 443
(D.C. Cir. 1996); United States v. Miller, 22 F.3d 1075, 1078-1079 (11th Cir.
1994); United States v. Moore, 936 F.2d 1508, 1527 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 502
U.S. 991 (1991); United States v. Graewe, 774 F.2d 106, 108 n.1 (6th Cir. 1985),
cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1017 (1986); United States v. Barnett, 667 F.2d 835, 841
(9th Cir. 1982).

4

is not correct; even if the theory were correct, it would not
follow that an alien (like respondent) who was charged with
violating Section 10851(a) as a principal has not been con-
victed of a “theft offense” under the “modified categorical”
approach; and the Ninth Circuit has applied the rule chal-
lenged by the government to California theft statutes that do
not include the term “accessory.”

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Rule Conflicts With The Rule Ap-
plied By Other Courts Of Appeals

As the Duenas-Alvarez petition demonstrates (at 10-15),
the Ninth Circuit’s rule that the generic definition of “theft
offense” excludes aiding and abetting is inconsistent with the
principle applied by the First, Second, Seventh, and Eighth
Circuits in analytically indistinguishable circumstances.” Re-
spondent contends that there is no such conflict, because the
statutes at issue in those cases “employ different language
and serve different purposes than the INA.” Br. in Opp. 11.
That contention is mistaken, because the decisions from the
other circuits do not rely on particular language or purposes
of the statutes at issue; they rely on the basic principle of the
criminal law, which the Ninth Circuit ignored, that aiding and
abetting and the underlying substantive crime are not distinct
offenses.* Respondent also contends that the decision below

2 Since the petition was filed, the Fifth Circuit has held that aiding and
abetting bank fraud is an aggravated felony under 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(43)(M)«i),
which covers offenses that “involve[] fraud or deceit in which the loss to the
victim or victims exceeds $10,000.” James v. Gonzales, No. 04-60445, 2006 WL
2536614, at *2-*3 (Sept. 5, 2006).

* See United States v. Hathaway, 949 F.2d 609, 610-611 (2d Cir. 1991) (per
curiam) (“the laws of many states today include counseling, aiding or procuring
the burning within the definition of actual arson,” and “{ajiding and abetting
also supports a substantive conviction for arson under Federal law”), cert.
denied, 502 U.S. 1119 (1992); United States v. Groce, 999 F.2d 1189, 1191 (7th
Cir. 1993) (“both federal law and Wisconsin state law punish an aider and

5

is not inconsistent with the Eighth Circuit’s decision in
United States v. Baca-Valenzuela, 118 F.3d 1223 (1997), be-
cause that case “dealt with sentencing under an ‘aggravated
felony’ provision of the federal Sentencing Guidelines,” which
“have been amended specifically to include aiding and abet-
ting offenses within the definition of ‘aggravated felonies.’”
Br. in Opp. 12-13. That contention is likewise mistaken, be-
cause, at the time Baca-Valenzuela was decided, the defini-
tion of “aggravated felony” in the Guidelines was the same as
that in the INA, see 118 F.3d at 1232; the fact that the Guide-
lines have since been amended does not mean that Baca-
Valenzuela is no longer controlling in the Eighth Circuit on
whether aiding and abetting an aggravated felony is itself an
aggravated felony under the INA.

In the alternative, respondent contends (Br. in Opp. 13-14)
that it would be premature for this Court to decide whether
the generic definition of “theft offense” in 8 U.S.C.
1101(a)(43)(G) includes aiding and abetting, because the Ninth
Circuit recently granted rehearing en banc in United States
v. Vidal, 426 F.3d 1011 (2005), rehearing granted, 453 F.3d
1114 (2006). As explained in the Duenas-Alvarez reply brief
(at 8-10), that contention is mistaken, because Vidal does not
involve the question presented in this case.‘ Contrary to re-

abettor as a principal”); United States v. Mitchell, 23 F 3d 1, 2 (1st Cir. 1994)
(per curiam) (“aiding and abetting is not a separate offense from the underlying
substantive crime”) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted); United
States v. Baca-Valenzuela, 118 F.3d 1223, 1232 (8th Cir. 1997) (“Whether one
is convicted as a principal or as an accomplice/aider and abettor, the crime of
which he is guilty is the same: whatever is the underlying offense.”); James,
2006 WL 2536614, at *3 (“Significantly, the aiding and abetting statute, 18
U.S.C. § 2, does not define a separate crime, but rather provides another means
of convicting someone of the underlying offense.”) (internal quotation marks
and footnote omitted).

* While the en banc petition in Vidal did argue that “the panel’s decision
conflicted with the Ninth Circuit’s decision in Penuliar” (Br. in Opp. 14), it did

6

spondent’s contention, the government is not seeking to “have
it both ways” in arguing (1) that the decision below conflicts
with Baca-Valenzuela and (2) that the grant of en banc review
in Vidal does not render certiorari review in Duenas-Alvarez
premature. Br. in Opp. 14 n.3. The decision below conflicts
with Baca-Valenzuela because that case interpreted a prior
definition of “aggravated felony” that did not explicitly in-
clude aiding and abetting; it does not conflict with Vidal be-
cause that case interpreted a current definition of “aggra-
vated felony” that does explicitly include aiding and abetting.

C. If Left Unreviewed, The Ninth Circuit’s Rule Will Have
A Substantial Effect On The Administration Of The Im-
migration Laws

The Duenas-Alvarez petition points out (at 15-16) that
there are approximately 8000 cases that could be affected by
the Ninth Circuit’s rule. Respondent contends that “[t]his
overstates the impact of the court of appeals’ decision,” be-
cause the decision “does not prevent [the government} from
showing * * * that an individual’s violation of [Section
10851(a)] constitutes a theft offense under the modified cate-
gorical approach.” Br. in Opp. 16. In fact, the decision does

not argue that the decision conflicted with Penuliar on the question presented
here. Instead, in the portion of the en banc petition cited by respondent, Vidal
argued that the documents in the record were insufficient to show that he had
been convicted of a “theft offense” under the “modified categorical” approach,
because the charging instrument merely tracked the language of California
Vehicle Code § 10851(a). See 04-50185 Pet. for Reh’g & Suggestion for Reh’g
En Banc at 4-5, 16-17. There is in fact no conflict between Vidal and Penuliar
on that point. The Ninth Circuit did not hold in Penuliar that a charging
instrument is insufficient if it tracks the statutory language; it held that it is
insufficient if the generic definition of an offense excludes aiding and abetting
(because a defendant charged as a principal can be convicted as an aider and
abettor). See Pet. App. 15a-17a. The generic definition at issue in Vidal
. explicitly includes aiding and abetting.

7

precisely that as a practical matter in a great number of
cases. As explained in the Duenas-Alvarez petition (at 17-18),
under the Ninth Circuit’s “modified categorical” holding (see
Pet. App. 15a-17a), even an alien explicitly charged as a prin-
cipal will not be deemed to have been convicted of a “theft
offense” on the basis of the charging instrument and corre-
sponding judgment (because a defendant charged as a princi-
pal can be convicted as an aider and abettor), and other docu-
ments from the criminal case often will be unavailable or diffi-
cult to obtain, or will shed no light on whether the alien was
convicted as what the Ninth Circuit regards as a “true princi-
pal.” .

The Duenas-Alvarez petition also explains (at 20-21) that
the Ninth Circuit’s rule has few obvious limits and may well
be extended to other crimes that are a basis for removal un-
der the INA. Respondent disagrees. According to him, the
holding of the Ninth Circuit is merely that “a violation of Sec-
tion 10851(a) of the California Vehicle Code does not * * *
constitute a ‘theft offense’ for purposes of the INA”; the
Ninth Circuit “has not extended that holding to other con-
texts”; and “there are logical reasons why [it] might choose
not to do so.” Br. in Opp. 17. In fact, the Ninth Circuit’s hold-
ing that the generic definition of “theft offense” excludes aid-
ing and abetting has already been applied to other theft
crimes, see United States v. Corona-Sanchez, 291 F.3d 1201,
1207-1208 (9th Cir. 2002) (en banc) (general theft under Cali-
fornia Penal Code § 484(a) (West 1999)); Martinez-Perez v.
Gonzales, 417 F.3d 1022, 1027-1028 (9th Cir. 2005) (grand
theft under California Penal Code § 487(c) (West 1999)), and
the brief in opposition does not identify any “logical reasons”
for not extending it to crimes such as murder, rape, and bur-

8

glary, see 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(43)(A) and (G); Duenas-Alvarez
Pet. 20-21."

D. Duenas-Alvarez Is A Suitable Vehicle For Deciding
Whether The Ninth Circuit’s Rule Is Incorrect

1. Respondent contends (Br. in Opp. 17-18) that Duenas-
Alvarez is an unsuitable vehicle for deciding the question pre-
sented, because, unlike most California theft statutes, Califor-
nia Vehicle Code § 10851(a) includes the term “accessory,”
and thus is broacier than the generic definition of “theft of-
fense” without regard to whether that generic definition in-
cludes aiding and abetting. Even if the statute’s inclusion of
“accessory” means that Section 10851(a) is not categorically
a “theft offense,” Duenas-Alvurez is still a suitable vehicle for
deciding whether the generic definition includes aiding and
abetting. As explained in the Duenas-Alvarez reply brief (at
5-8), whatever the significance of the term “accessory” in the
statute, an alien charged with violating Section 10851(a) as a
principal has been convicted of a “theft offense” under the
“modified categorical” approach if “theft offense” includes
aiding and abetting—and, in any event, the Ninth Circuit has
already applied the rule challenged here to statutes that do
not include the term “accessory.”

2. Respondent contends (Br. in Opp. 19-20) that Duenas-
Alvarez is an unsuitable vehicle for the additional reason that
the Ninth Circuit remanded the case to the Board of Immi-
gration Appeals, and thus, according to respondent, the case

* Respondent also contends that “{t}here is no pressing need to resolve the
issue presented” because “both houses of Congress have addressed [it] through
pending legislation.” Br. in Opp. i4-15. As of the date of the filing of this reply
brief, however, a conference committee has not even been appointed to
reconcile the two major immigration-reform bills, which differ in significant
respects. As respondent acknowledges, therefore, “it is still unclear when and
if these bills will become law.” /d. at 15.4. For that reason, the pendency of
the bills provides no basis for denying certiorari.

9

is in an interlocutory posture. That contention fails for a
number of reasons.

In the first place, this case is not in an interlocutory pos-
ture in the sense in which that term is ordinarily understood
when the decision is by a federal court of appeals, because the
case has not been remanded to a federal district court, such
that it remains within the Judicial Branch. A decision of a
federal court that reverses an agency decision and remands
the matter to the agency is final for purposes of further judi-
cial review. Cf. Sullivan v. Finkelstein, 496 U.S. 617 (1990)
(order of district court effectively declaring regulations in-
valid and remanding case to agency is “final decision” under
28 U.S.C. 1291).

Moreover, assuming that the case was remanded “to con-
duct [a] modified categorical review” (Br. in Opp. 20)—the
court of appeals’ brief memorandum opinion does not say
what the purpose of the remand is—that would not be a basis
for denying review on “interlocutory” grounds in Duenas-
Alvarez even if there could be a case in which a court’s re-
mand to an agency renders the case nonfinal. Respondent
was charged as a principal, see Pet. App. 16a n.8; the Ninth
Circuit held that that is not a sufficient basis for a finding that
he was convicted as a principal (because a defendant charged
as a principa! can be convicted as an aider and abettor), id. at
15a-17a; and Duenas-Alvarez was likewise charged as a princi-
pal, in language: essentially identical to that in the charging
instruments in this case, see Duenas-Alvarez Pet. App. 13a
(No. 05-1629). The Ninth Circuit’s “modified categorical”
holding in this case and the administrative record in Duenas-
Alvarez thus combine to make it virtually inevitable that the
agency would find that Duenas-Alvarez was not convicted of
a “theft offense,” and the government would not be able to
seek judicial review of that decision. Under these circum-
stances, the court of appeals’ decision in Duenas-Alvarez is

10

final (rather than interlocutory) both because the “outcome of
[the] further proceedings [is] preordained” and because “the
governing * * * law would not permit (the government]
again to present [its] * * * claim[] for review” if the agency
ruled in favor of Duenas-Alvarez. Cox Broad. Corp. v. Cohn,
420 U.S. 469, 479, 481 (1975).

Even if the decision could be viewed as interlocutory, how-
ever, “there is no absolute bar to review of nonfinal judg-
ments of the lower federal courts,” Mazurek v. Armstrong,
520 U.S. 968, 975 (1997) (per curiam), and the considerations
identified above would justify the exercise of this Court’s cer-
tiorari jurisdiction. The exercise of that jurisdiction in
Duenas-Alvarez is particularly warranted inasmuch as the
Ninth Circuit’s rule that “theft offense” excludes aiding and
abetting is “clearly erroneous,” ibid.; the rule conflicts with
the rule applied in other circuits; a large number of immigra-
tion cases are affected by the rule, see Duenas-Alvarez Pet.
15-21; there is a substantial threshold. jurisdictional question
in this case and most of the other cases in which the Ninth
Circuit has applied the rule, see id. at 23-24; and there is
likely to come a point in the near future at which the question
presented no longer reaches that court, inasmuch as the
Board of Immigration Appeals is bound by the Ninth Circuit’s
decisions in cases arising there, see, e.g., In re Anselmo, 20 I.
& N. Dec. 25, 31-32 (B.1.A. 1989).

x* ee kK *

For the foregoing reasons and those stated in the petition
for a writ of certiorari, the petition for a writ of certiorari
should be held pending this Court’s disposition of Gonzales v.
Duenas-Alvarez, No. 05-1629, and then disposed of accord-

ingly.

Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General

SEPTEMBER 2006

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1075%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
