# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Blase Industries Industries Corp. Corp. v. Anorad Corp Corp. (No. 05-1514)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0963%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

OFFICE OF BRE CLERK |
Fasano ERK |

——

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

BLASE INDUSTRIES CORPORATION
D/B/A WILSON SOLUTIONS,

Petitioner

V.

ANORAD CORPORATION,

Respondent

a

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RECEIVED
MAY 31 2006

lee

Ruth E. Piller

Counsel of Record

Hays, McConn, Rice & Pickering
400 Two Allen Center

1200 Smith Street

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 654-1111

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Did the Fifth Circuit’s determination that it is
impossible for any employer of an at-will employee to
recover contract damages for lost profits contravene
established law and public policy that embraces the
execution of contracts and the punishment of breaching
parties?

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.6 of the Rules of the Supreme
Court of the United States, Petitioner Blase Industries Corp.
d/b/a Wilson Solutions respectfully submits the following
disclosure statement:

Petitioner Blase Industries Corp. d/b/a Wilson Solutions
is the parent company; there are no related or subsidiary
entities. Further, no publicly held company owns 10 percent or
more of Blase Industries Corp. d/b/a Wilson Solutions’s stock.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR RE Vee We v5 05 keer i

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT. .......----+-0 02s e0: i

TABLE OF CONTENTS.. .....----- eee ee errr rere 11!

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. .......--------eee errr? iv

aie

OPINIONS BELOW... << os oc Sena ee eet creresss: l

FURISDICTION... 6 cc cs heres oes en te BSC ea eee 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. .....-------- e200 000' 3
A. Course of proceedings and

disposition in the court below... .....----- 3

B. Statement of Facts. .......----+++ee+e0> 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION........-- 6
A. The implications of the Fifth

Circuit’s holding. .......-----+s+e+e0 6

B. The solution afforded by contract law...... 9

COMICT LISTON 2 i ws SE eS EECA SE EEE 14

APOC WIIIN os Bo neh on Cee ee ws 6 EEE ES Ee? App |

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Anvil Min. Co. v. Humble,
ine Me PM IGOR 5 i eh pee es 10

Crichfield v. Julia,
147 F. 65 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied 203 U.S. 593
(TN: S545, TEE ee eee eek ee eee 10

Eastman Kodak Co. y. Southern.Photo Materials Co.,
oS GEE Ee to 5) CAMO Oe ee een nea 10

Friedman vy. Greenberg,
2001-2 TRADE Cas. (CCH) P73
(Tex. App.—Houston [14"- Dist.] 2001, pet.
WN hau gcc en ee 11,12

Health Call v. Atrium Home & Health Care Servs.,
706 N.W.2d 843 (Mich. Ct. BRD. 2000); 2 Po 9

Keith v. Mendus,
661 N.E.2d 26 (Ind. Ct. Ape 199s ia 8

Kempfer v. Automated Finishing,
564 N.W.2d 692 (Wis. beg REPRE EEE WO ee 8

Lafarge Corp. v. Wolff. Inc.,
977 S.W.2d 181 (Tex. App.—Austin 1998, pet.
OUR ee re eee 1]

Lawrence v. CDB Servs., Inc.,
44 S.W.3d 544 (Tex. | Satay BURC RR ate Mea 13

iV

Printing and Numerical Registering Co. v. Sampson,
19 L.R.-Eq. 462 (1875). ...-- eee e reer 13

Riethmiller v Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Michigan,
390 NW2d 227 (1986)... . 2-62 c cree ert e tere 8

Robinson v. Perpetual Servs. Corp.,
A412 N.W.2d 562 (lowa 1987). ...---- eee errr 8

Shannon v. Shaffer Oil & Ref. Co.,
51 F. 2d 878 (10" Cir. 1931)... -.-- eee eee cee: 10

Smith v. Smithway Motor Xpress, Inc.;
464 N.W.2d 682 (lowa 1991). ..---- eee eee 8

Southwest Battery Corp. v. Owen,
131 Tex. 423 (Tex. 1938). ....----+-- resee 10, 11

Tadsen v. Praegitzer Indus.,
928 P.2d 980 (Or. 1996). ...---- seer rrr 8

Texas Instruments, Inc. v. Teletron Energy Memt., Inc.,
877 S.W.2d 276 (Tex. 1994).:...--- eee errr: 12

Texas Sanitation Co. v. Marek,
381 S.W.2d 710 (Tex. Civ. App.—Corpus
Christi 1964, no writ)......---- +e eee ere: 10, 11

Winter v. Fitness USA Health Spas Corp..
No. 188648.99 Mich. App. Lexis 2668
(Mich. Ct. App. Nov. 12, 1999)...-----+++2 2000: 8

Wood Motor Co. v. Nebel,
738 S.W.2d 181 (Tex. 1951). .--- eee eee eect: 13

STATUTES AND RULES

viglehiccitte boi, 1) Sout Oe on me

28 U.S.C. § 1441, SOMEN ha ecco

WILLISTON ON CONTRACTS. Vol. III, p. 2401.

Vi

rire

aa

Pe idad oes 10

No.

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

BLASE INDUSTRIES CORPORATION
D/B/A WILSON SOLUTIONS,
Petitioner

V.

ANORAD CORPORATION,
Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Blase Industries Corp. d/b/a Wilson Solutions
(“Petitioner”) respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to
review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 442

F.3d 235. (Pet. App. 2-9). The opinion of the district court is
unreported. (Pet. App. 10-38).

JURISDICTION

Following Rt» 1dent’s removal of Petitioner’s lawsuit
from state district Gourt in Harris County, Texas, the
jurisdiction of the trial court in the Southern District of Texas
was invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441, 1332(c\(1). The
court of appeals entered its judgment on March 1, 2006. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §
1254(1).

ho

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Course of proceedings and disposition in the court
below.

Petitioner filed the instant litigation in the 189th State
District Court of Harris County, Texas under Cause Number
2003-22871 on April 30, 2003. R 0008-0016). On July 1,
2003, Respondent removed the matter to the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Texas, where it was
assigned Cause Number H-03-2369. R 0021-0026). On July
14. 2003, Petitioner filed a motion to remand the case to the
state district court. R 0044-0048). The motion was denied on
September 15, 2003.

Both parties filed motions for summary judgment. R
0139-0178; 0288-0318). Petitioner's motion for summary
judgment was denied and Respondent's motion for summary
judgment was granted by the trial court's Memoranda and
Opinion dated September 28, 2004. (Pet. App. 10-38; R 0755-
0784). The trial court dismissed the case with prejudice on
September 28, 2004. R 0785). Petitioner's motion for
reconsideration and/or new trial was filed on October 4, 2004
and denied on December 3. 2004. (Pet. App. 39-41; R 0786-
0796; 0831-0833).

Petitioner filed its notice of appeal on December 17,
2004. (R 0834-0835). On March 1, 2006, the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirmed the judgment of
the District Court, holding that while Respondent had breached
the no-hire agreement, Petitioner had not adequately proved its
damages. (Pet. App. 2-9). Mandate issued on March 23, 2006.
Hence, this petition for writ of certiorari.

B. Statement of Facts.

The material facts of this suit, which essentially are
undisputed, are set forth in the trial court's opinion. R 0755-
0784). Petitioner company’s sole business was to provide
computer software consultants to its customers, one of which
was Respondent. In April 1997, Petitioner hired Jason
Schwartzman (“Schwartzman”) as an employee consuliunt. R
0783). Schwartzman earned consulting fees for Petitioner and
a salary based, in part, on those consulting fees. R 0652).

On April 9, 1998, Petitioner and Respondent entered
into a written agreement whereby Petitioner provided
Schwartzman as a consultant for Respondent. (Pet. App. 42-
46; R 0783; 0433-0435: 0659-0661 ). The agreement
contained a mutual no-hire provision:

Both parties agree to not, directly or indirectly,
during the period that Consultant [Wilson
Solutions] provides services for Client [Anorad]
and for a period of one year thereafter, solicit,
employ or hire or induce to hire any person who
is or has been an employee of either party
unless otherwise consented to in writing.

(Pet. App. 44; R 0782-0783: 0433-0435: 0659-066) (emphasis
added).

On April 19, 1999, Schwartzman sent a letter to
Petitioner evincing his intent to resign effective May 7, 1999.
(R 0657, 0782). On April 27, 1999, Respondent's
representative advised Respondent's employees _ that
Schwartzman had become an employee of Respondent. (R
0781-0782).

Contrary to Respondent's assertions, there has never
been any evidence that Petitioner waived the no-hire provision
or consented to Schwartzman’s hiring.’ Indeed, as the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals noted in its opinion:

It is undisputed . . . that Anorad provided no
proof of written consent to the district court and
that Schwartzman was hired within one year of
his resignation from Wilson Solutions.
Therefore, under the agreement's language,
Anorad breached the no-hire provision.

(Pet. App. 4) (emphasis added). Noting that Texas courts had
never considered the standard of proof required for an employer
to recover lost profit damages based on an at-will employee's
potential earnings, and despite its finding that Respondent had
breached its agreement with petitioner, the Fifth Circuit held
that Petitioner did not sufficiently prove its damages to a
reasonable certainty. /d. at 6.

i
The Agreement required that any such waiver or consent be in

writing. (R 0781)

A)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Review by this Court is warranted to determine the
standard of proof required for an employer to recover contract
damages based on the potential profits that would have been
realized from an at-will employee’s future carnings if not for
the culpable conduct of another entity. In reviewing this
question of first impression in Texas, the Fifth Circuit Court of
Appeals improperly considered the measure of damages
available to an at-will employee who seeks lost-profit damages
after being unlawfully terminated. Consequently, in the
absence of an applicable liquidated damage agreement.
employers of at-will employees will never be able to recover
contract damages based on the profits those employees would
have earned for the employer, even when — in Situations such
as that at bar — the loss of the employees result from another
Party’s wrongful conduct. |

A. The implications of the Fifth Circuit’s holding

The Fifth Circuit correctly noted that Texas law requires
lost profit damages to be established with reasonable certain, ”
and that they may not be awarded based on speculative,
uncertain, contingent, or hypothetical evidence. App. Pet. A.
at 5. “A plaintiff must adduce evidence from which the_jury
can reasonably estimate the amount of loss.” /d. (emphasis
added).

However, the Fifth Circuit held that Petitioner's damage
claim was not sustainable because it required the court to

Inasmuch as the Fifth Circuit conceded in its opinion that a breach
had occurred, the issue of Whether the agreement Was valid, which was
briefed extensively in the trial and appellate courts. is moot for Purposes of
this petition.

indulge the presumption that Schwartzman, an_ at-will
employee, would have continued to work for Petitioner and
would have earned consulting fees for the year in question.” /d.
Thus. the Fifth Circuit held, it would be impossible for
Petitioner or any other employer of an at-will employee to ever
recover lost profit damages, even when a contract involving
that employee has been breached by another entity:

The damages request relies on the assumption
that Schwartzman would continue working for
Wilson Solutions, earning consulting fees for
the year in question. This type of contingency,
created by his at-will status, is impermissible in
Texas.

Id. at 6.

Other jurisdictions have grappled with similar issues,
holding that while the question of whether an at-will employee
would remain employed is an uncertainty, it need not preclude
the awarding of lost profit damages:

The biggest problem in awarding future
damages for the wrongful discharge of an at-
will employee is avoiding speculation. With no
contract for guidance, it is often difficult, if not
impossible, to know how long the employee
would have continued to work for the employer.
It is well established, however, that "while
recovery will be denied if it is speculative and
uncertain whether damage has been sustained,
recovery will not be denied merely because the

Petitioner only sought damages in connection with a year of
Schwartzman’s employment. (Pet. App. 4).

-

amount of damages is difficult to ascertain."

Smith vy. Smithway Motor Xpress, Inc., 464 N.W.2d 682, 688
(lowa 1991), quoting Robinson y. Perpetual Servs. Corp., 412
N.W.2d 562 (lowa 1987); Kempfer vy. Automated Finishing,
564 N.W.2d 692, 704 (Wis. 1997)(Abrahamson, Chief i
concurring) (same). See also Tadsen v. Praegitzer Indus., 928
P.2d 980, 983 (Or. 1996) (“The fact th +t at-will employment
may be terminated for any nondiscriminatory Purpose does not
necessarily mean that the likely duration of that employment is
incapable of proof to the required degree of certainty.””) and
Keith v. Mendus, 661 N.E.2d 26, 33 (Ind. Ct. App. 1996) (at-
will employee’s future employment is presumed for a
“reasonable time” in cases involving damages due the
employee) (citation omitted).

The Fifth Circuit’s holding releases contracting parties
such as Respondent from abiding by their contractual
obligations.’ That is, although Respondent Clearly breached its
contract with Petitioner — see Pet. App. 4 — it is excused from
the breach and even enjoys a windfall solely because of
Schwartzman’s status as an at-will employee.” Such a holding

. See Winter v. Fitness USA Health Spas Corp., No. 188648, 1999

Mich. App. Lexis 2668 (Mich. Ct. App. Nov. 12, 1999) at *9 (“[T]he mere
fact that future damages may be speculative should not exonerate a
wrongdoer from liability.”), citing Riethmiller v Blue Cross & Blue Shield
of Michigan, 390 NW2d 227. 201 (1986).

The Michigan Court of Appeals recently discussed the illogic in the
View of a dissenting justice who would treat at-will employment differently
from other employment when assessing damages in connection with future
employment:

If one subscribes to the dissent’s View regarding future

damages as always being speculative when they relate to
at-will employment contracts. one wonders whether the

8

flies in the face of public policy, which requires that contracting
parties fulfill the obligations within the contracts they execute.

B. The solution afforded by contract law

In its opinion, the Fifth Circuit analogized Petitioner's
damage claim with that asserted by at-will employees who seek
to_recover for their future lost salary after their (allegedly)
wrongful terminations. (Pet. App. 6-8). The court based its
holding that Petitioner cannot collect damages for
Schwartzman’s speculative future earnings on the notion that,
had Schwartzman been terminated by Petitioner, he would have
been precluded from collecting damages for his future earnings.
Id. at 8.

The Fifth Circuit failed, however, to note the critical
distinction between the instant scenario and the facts in the
cases upon which it relied: Respondent breached the no-hire
provision of its contract with Petitioner, a fact clearly set forth

dissent would reverse case law that allows for more than

— nominal future damages for at-will employees whose
employment is terminated in violation of various civil
rights statutes or, for that matter, future damages for a
wrongful death claim involving an at-will employee.
Future damages for lost wages have traditionally been
allowed in situations in which there is no dispute of fact
that the injured party was an at-will employee. Simply
because damages cannot be ascertained with
mathematical certainty does not make them unacceptably
speculative. It is for this reason that what damages may
reasonably be anticipated is an issuc better left for the
trier of fact.

Health Call v. Atrium Home & Health Care Servs., 706 N.W.2d 843, 857-
$8 (Mich. Ct. App. 2005).

by the Fifth Circuit in its opinion, whereas no such breach was
found in the cases cited by the appeals court. As such.
Petitioner was entitled to contract damages, even though the
specific amount of its damages may not be readily
ascertainable. Texas courts have embraced this principle of
contract law for decades:

It is impossible to announce with exact certainty
any rule measuring the profits the loss for which
recovery may be had. The courts draw a
distinction between uncertainty merely as to the
amount and uncertainty as to the fact of legal
damages. Cases may be cited which hold that
uncertainty as to the fact of legal damages is
fatal to recovery, but uncertainty as to the
amount will not defeat recovery. 4 party who
breaks his contract cannot escape liability
because it is impossible to state or prove a
perfect measure of damages.

Southwest Battery Corp. v. Owen, 131 Tex. 423, 427-428 (Tex.
1938) (emphasis added).° See also Texas Sanitation Co. vy.
Marek, 381 S.W.2d 710, 714-715 (Tex. Civ. App.—Corpus
Christi 1964, no writ)(same). Yet the Fifth Circuit’s opinion
would allow Respondent to escape liability for this very reason
— because it is difficult for Petitioner to prove damages with the
certainty the court contends is required, even though Petitioner
did present evidence of Schwartzman’s camings in his final
year of employment for Petitioner (and despite the court's

r Citing Eastman Kodak Co. v. Southern Photo Materials Co., 273

U.S. 359, 379 (1927): Anvil Min. Co. v. Humble, 153 U.S. $40 (1984);
Crichfield v. Julia, 147 F. 65, 71 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied 203 U.S. §93
(1906); Shannon vy. Shaffer Oil & Ref. Co., 51 F. 24 878 (10" Cir. 193] );
WILLISTON ON CONTRACTS, Vol. Ill, p. 2401.

10

finding that a breach did, in fact, occur). See Pet. App. 4 (“In
his final year at Wilsons solutions, Schwartzman earned
approximately $441,000 in consulting fees for Wilson
Solutions and received a salary of $99,000 for himself.”).

Texas courts have held that future profits, while
speculative, can be awarded on a fact-driven, case-by-case
basis, especially when the business that sustained the breach
had been turning a profit at the time of breach. See, ¢.g.,
Lafarge Corp. v. Wolff, Inc., 977 S.W.2d 181, 187 (Tex.
App.—Austin 1998, pet. denied), citing Southwest Battery Corp.
y. Owen, supra, at 1099 (holding that pre-existing profits and
the pertinent facts and circumstances regarding a business “may
be considered in arriving at a just estimate of the amount of
profit which would have been made if the defendant had not
breached the contract.”). See also Friedman v. Greenberg,
3001-2 TRADE CAs. (CCH) P73,510 (Tex. App.—-Houston 14"
Dist.] 2001, pet. denied) (giving finder of fact the discretion to
determine the amount of lost profit damages based on
speculative testimony from the plaintiff).

Friedman is illustrative. The Friedman plaintiff, a
commercial debt collection firm, sued the former employees
who breached their employment agreements’ non-compete and
non-solicitation clauses.’ 2001-2 TRADE Cas. (CCH) P73,510
at 1. The trial court found two of the former employees had
breached their employment agreemenits and that all three former
employees and the company they formed, which also had been

Cases involving breaches of non-compete clauses may be
instructive, as the amount of actual damages ts rarely certain in litigation
involving a breach of a covenant not to compete. Gilly. Guy Chipman Co., -
681 S.W.2d 264, 270 (Tex. App. San Antonio 1984, no writ) (citation
omitted). “In such cases, a party is not denied all right of recovery but the
amount of damages is fixed by the fact finder in the exercise of sound
discretion.” /d., citing Texas Sanitation Co., Inc. v. Marek, supra, at 715.

11

sued, had tortiously interfered with the plaintiff's prospective
contractual relationships. /d. at 5. The jury awarded the
plaintiff damages for the contract and tortious interference
claims. /d. In affirming the award, the Texas appellate court
discussed the standard for proving lost profit damages, noting
that the Texas Supreme Court has expressed a desire that proof
of lost profits be “flexible enough to accommodate the myriad
circumstances in which claims for lost profits arise.” /d. at 19-
20, citing Texas Instruments, Inc. vy. Teletron Energy Memt.,
Inc., 877 §.W.2d 276, 279 (Tex. 1994). The determination of
lost profits must be fact-intensive:

A jury may not arbitrarily assess an amount
neither authorized nor supported by the
evidence presented at trial. In other words, a
jury may not "pull figures out of a hat;" a
rational basis for the calculation must exist. A
jury, however, has the discretion to award
damages within the range of evidence presented
at trial.
Friedman, 2001-2 TRADE CAS. (CCH) P73,510 at 21 (internal
Citations omitted).

The Friedman jury awarded $162,500 in lost profits for
the contract and tortious interference claims, apparently
disregarding the plaintiff's testimony that its losses were
$865,408 for the employees’ breaches or, alternatively,
$950,374 based on the gross receints of the year the employees
left the plaintiff's employ. Jd. at 21-22. Although it was
unclear how the jury arrived at the $162,500 award, the court
noted the jury “has the discretion to award damages within the

range of the evidence presented at trial.” /d.* In the same vein,
the Fifth Circuit had the discretion to award damages to
Petitioner based on the range of evidence presented regarding
its expected profits if not for Respondent’s breach.

Finally, it is manifest that the Fifth Circuit’s opinion
contravenes Texas’ long-established public policy, which
embraces the creation and enforcement of contracts. "We have
long recognized a strong public policy in favor of preserving
the freedom of contract." Lawrence v. CDB Servs., Inc., 44
S.W.3d 544, 553 (Tex. 2001). See also Wood Motor Co. v.
Nebel, 238 S.W.2d 181, 185 (Tex. 1951):

If there is one thing which more than another
public policy requires it is that men of full age
and competent understanding shall have the
utmost liberty of contracting, and that their
contracts when entered into freely and
voluntarily shall be held sacred and shall be
enforced by Courts of justice. Therefore, you
have this paramount public policy to consider --
that you are not lightly to interfere with this
freedom of contract.

(quoting Printing and Numerical Registering Co. v. Sampson,
19 L.R.-Eq. 462. 465 (1875)).

In sum, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals’ opinion
unfairly rewards contracting parties that breach contracts

x os - . .
The damage analyses in cases involving covenants not to compete

and other contracts claims in which damages are speculative are analogous
to the case at bar, clearly more so than those cases brought by at-will
employees who seek to recover for their own termination. See supra, note
7.

13

involving at-will employees; provides a windfall to the
breaching parties; and contravenes established public policy
that encourages the formation of contracts by consenting
parties. Therefore, Petitioner asserts its petition for writ of
certiorari should be granted and briefing requested on the
merits.

CONCLUSION
The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

Ruth E. Piller

HAYS MCCONN RICE & PICKERING
400 Two Allen Center

1200 Smith Street

Houston, Texas

Telephone: (713) 654-1111]

Counsel for Petitioner

Blase Industries Corporation
d/b/a Wilson Solutions

14

tN

APPENDIX

Opinion issued by United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit, Cause No. 04-21015, Blase Industries
Corp., d/b/a Wilson Solutions v. Anorad Corp. on
March 1, 2006.

Memorandum and Opinion issued by U.S. District Judge
Lee Rosenthal, Southern District of Texas, Cause No.
H-03-2369 on September 28, 2004.

Memorandum and Opinion issued by U.S. District Judge
Lee Rosenthal, Southern District of Texas, Cause No.
H-03-2369 on December 3, 2004.

Mutual Agreement containing, inter alia, no-hire clause,
executed on April 9, 1998 by Petitioner and Respondent.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-21015

BLASE INDUSTRIES CORPORATION. doing business as
WILSON SOLUTIONS,

Plaintiff - Appellant,

¥,

ANORAD CORPORATION: ET AL.

Defendants
ANORAD CORPORATION

Defendant - Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas, Houston

Before BENAVIDES, STEWART, andOWEN, Circuit Judges.
BENAVIDES, Circuit Judge:

App 2

This is an appeal from a grant of summary judgment.
The district court based its decision on its finding that a no-hire
agreement between the parties was unenforceable. The parties
principally present arguments to assist the court in predicting
how the Texas Supreme Court would analyze the no-hire
provision at issue. We, however, choose to affirm the district
court on alternative grounds argued by the Appellee. Because
the Appellant did not prove its lost profit damages to a
reasonable certainty, as required in Texas, summary judgment
was appropriate, and the district court is AFFIRMED.

|. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

The Appellant, Wilson Solutions, is acomputer software
consulting company, and the Appellee, Anorad, is a
manufacturer. Wilson Solutions hired Jason Schwartzman in
April 1997 to work as one of its consultants. One year later, it
entered into a contract with Anorad to provide consulting
services at a daily fee of $2000. The contract contained a
no-hire provision.” It stated:

Both parties agree to not, directly or indirectly,
during the period that Consultant [Wilson
Solutions] provides services for Client [Anorad],
and for a period of one year thereafter, solicit,
employ or hire or induce to hire any person who
is or has been an employee of either party unless
otherwise consented to in writing.

The parties also agreed that Texas law would govern the
contract. In April 1998, Wilson Solutions placed Schwartzman
as a consultant for Anorad. Schwartzman was not aware of the
no-hire provision and did not consent to it.

9 . ° .
A no-hire provision ts an agreement between two employers that prohibits
one employer from hiring the other employer's employees.

App 3

On April 19, 1999, Schwartzman sent Wilson Solutions
a resignation letter. The letter stated that he wanted "to pursue
more stable positions . . with less travel" and "to move back
into the corporate world—with structure, guaranteed bonus,
benefits, and pensions." A fter Schwartzman resi gned, Anorad's
chief financial officer, Paul Rossi, spoke with Wilson Solutions
to ask if the company would object if Anorad hired
Schwartzman. Wilson Solutions did not provide consent.
Nevertheless, on April 26, 1999, Anorad sent Schwartzman a
letter offering him employment. On April 27, 1999, Rossi
announced to all Anorad employees that Schwartzman had
become the company’s new director of information systems.

The parties dispute whether Anorad offered
Schwartzman a position before Schwartzman resigned from
Wilson Solutions. They also dispute whether Wilson Solutions
agreed to a modification of the no-hire agreement. It is
undisputed, however, that Anorad provided no proof of written
consent to the district court and that Schwartzman was hired
within one year of his resignation from Wilson Solutions.
Therefore, under the agreement's language, Anorad breached
the no-hire provision.

Wilson Solutions seeks lost profit damages for the first
year Schwartzman worked for Anorad. Wilson Solutions is
seeking $341,000. This figure comes from an estimate of what
Schwartzman would have earned in consulting fees ($450,000)
minus his salary ($99,000) and overhead expenses
(approximately 10t). In his final year at Wilsons Solutions,
Schwartzman earned approximately $441,000 in consulting
fees for Wilson Solutions and received a salary of $99,000 for
himself.

Wilson Solutions filed this suit on April 30, 2003—four
years after Anorad hired Schwartzman on April 26, 1999.
Schwartzman left Anorad on December 31, 2000. Wilson
Solutions is only seeking money damages because it could not
seek injunctive relief due to the date of its filing. The district

App 4

court granted summary judgment to Anorad on September 29,
2004 on grounds that the no-hire provision was unreasonable
and, therefore, unenforceable.

Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW

This Court reviews a district court's grant of summary
judgment de novo, applying the same standards as the district
court. Hirras v. Nat'l R.R. Passenger Corp., 95 F.3d 396, 399
(Sth Cir. 1996). The evidence should be viewed in the light
most favorable to the nonmoving party, and the record should
not indicate a genuine Issue as to any material fact. Am. Home
Assurance Co. y. United Space Alliance, 378 F.3d 482, 486
(Sth Cir. 2004). We may affirm the district court's summary
judgment ruling on any ground supported hy the record.
Lifecare Hosps., Inc. V, Health Plus of Louisiana, Inc., 418
F.3d 426, 439 (Sth Cir. 2005).

Ill. DISCUSSION

A federal court with diversity jurisdiction must apply the
law of the state in which it sits. See Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins,
304 U.S. 64, 79-80 (1938). No Texas court has examined a
damages calculation that exactly mirrors the one at issue, one
in which an employer is seeking lost profit damages based on
an at-will employee's potential earnings.'” Nonetheless, Texas
courts have examined the ability of an at-will employee, acting
on his own behalf, to seek damages based on future earnings.
These cases and the general rules for damages in Texas provide
sufficient guidance. They show that Wilson Solutions cannot
survive the summary judgment challenge.

"This could be a result of the scarcity of no-hire cases in Texas. See Hosp.
Consultants. Potyka, 531 S.W.2d 657, 665 (Tex.Civ. App. San Antonio
1975. writ ref'd n.r.e.) ("We know of no case involving a covenant similar
to that which we are now considering.”). Hospital Consultants is the only
no-hire case heard by a Texas court.

App 5

A. Damages Must Be Proven to a Reasonable Certainty

In Texas, lost profit damages must be established with
"reasonable certainty." Tex. Instruments Incorp. v. Teletron
Energy Mgmt., 877 §.W.2d 276, 281 (Tex. 1994). Lost profit
damages may not be based on evidence that is speculative,
uncertain, contingent, or hypothetical. Carter v. Steverson &
Co., 106 S.W.3d 161, 165-66 (Tex. App.-Houstor: [Ist Dist. ]
2003, pet, denied). A plaintiff must adduce evidence from
which the jury can reasonably estimate the amount of loss.
Davis v. Small Bus. Inv. Co. , 335 S.W.2d 740, 743 (Tex.
Civ. App.-Texarkana 1976, writ ref'd n.r,e.). While some
uncertainty as to the amount of damages is permissible,
uncertainty as to the fact of damages will defeat recovery. /d

No-hire agreemeats and covenants not to compete often
include a liquidated damages provision to avoid the difficulty
of calculating damages. See, e.g, H PI! Commercial Driver
Leasing, Inc. v. Fox Valley Containers, Inc., 805 N.E.2d 1177,
1184 (Ill. 2004) (no-hire agreement contained liquidated
damages clause). These provisions are valid when damages are
uncertain and the stipulated sum is reasonable. Mavhail v.
Proskowetz, 537 $.W.2d 320, 322 (Tex. Civ. App.-Austin
1976, writ ref'd n.r.e.). The no-hire provision at issue in the
present case did not have a liquidated damages clause.

Wilson Solutions cannot prove to a reasonable certainty
the fact that it was damaged by Anorad's breach. The damages
request relies on the assumption that Schwartzman would
continue working for Wilson Solutions. eaming consulting fees
for the year in question. This type of contingency, created by
his at-will status, is impermissible in Texas. Similarly, a jury
would have difficulty estimating the losses suffered by Wilson
Solutions. The purpose of lost profit damages it to put the
nonbreaching party in the position it would have been in had
the contract been performed. Csoba y. Bassichis, 679 S.W.2d
119, 122 (Tex. App.-Houston [14th Dist.] 1984, writ ref'd
n.r.c.). Here, because Schwartzman was an at-will employee, it

App 6

is impossible to determine that position with the amount of
certainty required by Texas law.

B. At Will Employees Cannot Collect, for Future Lost Salary

"Damages for anticipated lost salary are inappropriate
where employment is at will." Allied Vista, Inc. v. Holt, 987
S W.2d 138. 142 (Tex. App.-Houston [14th Dist.] 1999, pet.
denied); see also Ingram v, Fred Oakley Chrysler Dodge, 663
5. W.2d 561. 562 (Tex, App.-El Paso 1983, no writ) (‘When the
period of employment is left to the discretion of either party

_. the loss of wages that the employee would have earned
in the indefinite future is not a recoverable item of damages.").
In Allied Vista, the court reasoned that a lack of certainty in an
at-will employee's future work equated to a lack of reasonable
certainty in damages. /d. (overturning a jury award for lost
profits). Intermediate court decisions, like Allied Vista and
Ingram, guide federal courts applying state law. Herrmann
Holdings Ltd. v, Lucent Technologies Inc., 302 F.3d 552, 558
(Sth Cir. 2002) ("[W]e defer to intermediate state appellate
court decisions, unless convinced by other persuasive data that
the highest court of the state would decide otherwise.").

Texas courts have acknowledged exceptions to the
general rule that at-will employees have no cause of action for
termination and, therefore, cannot collect for future earnings.
in Winters v. Houston Chronicle Publishing Co., the Texas
Supreme Court outlined those exceptions, 795 §.W.2d 723, 724
(Tex. 1990) (refusing to make an exception for at-will
employees who are whistle blowers). The court acknowledged
several statutory exceptions and two common law exceptions.
Id. One of the common law exceptions is no longer good law,
making the only common law exception "where an employee
is terminated solely because he refused to perform an illegal
act." Thompson vy. El Centro del Barrio, 905 S.W.2d 356, 358
(Tex. App.-San Antonio 1995, writ denied). The court's
unwillingness to expand these exceptions and the lack of a
relevant statutory exception show that a Texas court would

App 7

likely find that Wilson Solutions cannot base its damages
calculation on the future earnings of an at-will employee.

This Court considered when an at-will employee can
collect damages for lost profits in Zenor v. EJ Paso Healthcare
System, Ltd., 176 F.3d 847, 866 (5th Cir, 1999). We held that
the plaintiff, an at-will employee, could not collect for future
wages. Id, ("[He] could not have proven that he was entitled to
any future earnings because he had no guarantee of future
employment."). /d. This uncertainty stems, in part, from the fact
that an at-will employee can be "terminated at any time for any
lawful reason." Id.

If Wilson Solutions had terminated Schwartzman, he
would not have been able to collect damages for his future
eamings. Likewise, Wilson Solutions cannot collect from
Anorad based on Schwartzman's speculative future earnings.
Schwartzman could have left Wilson Solutions at any point
during the year in question,and, in fact, did leave the
company.'' Therefore, any consulting fees Schwartzman would
have potentially received are too uncertain to serve as the basis
for Wilson Solution's request for damages.

C. No Disputed Facts Are Material

The record reveals two disputed facts relating to the
damages calculation: whether Wilson Solutions would have
had any work for Schwartzman had he stayed with the company
and whether Schwartzman resigned before or after Anorad
hired him. The district court found that these issues were
material and precluded summary judgment on damages
grounds. To the extent that the district court found the disputed

'’ Schwartzman himself was not precluded from seeking employment,
including employment fy Anorad, as he was not subfect to any type of
covenant not to compete. In addition, the record suggests that he
contemplated leaving Wilson Solutions for reasons independent of Anorad's
offer.

App 8

facts to be material, we disagree. Taking these facts in the li ght
most favorable to Wilson Solutions, the damages calculation
still fails to satisfy the Texas requirement that a plaintiff prove
damages to a reasonable certainty. Schwartzman's status as an
at-will employee is fatal under these facts and summary
judgment is, therefore, appropriate.

IV. CONCLUSION

For these reasons we AFFIRM the district court's
granting of summary judgment to Anorad. We do so on the
grounds that Wilson Solutions failed to prove its damages to a
reasonable certainty as required by Texas law.

App 9

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

BLASE INDUSTRIES §
CORPORATION d/b/a §
WILSON SOLUTIONS, §
§
Plaintiff. §
VS. § CIVIL ACTION NO.
§ H-03-2369
ANORAD CORPORATION §
§
Defendant. §

MEMORANDUM AND OPINION

In this suit, Blase Industries d/b/a Wilson Solutions
alleges that Anorad Corporation breached a provision in a
contract to provide consulting services. Wilson Solutions
alleges that Anorad breached the clause prohibiting the
contracting parties from hiring the other's employees during the
period of the contract and for one year after it ended. The
parties have filed cross-motions for summary judgment as to
the breach of contract claim. (Docket Entry Nos. 18, 40). The
cross-motions turn on whether the no-hire contract provision is
enforceable and whether Wilson Solutions has provided
sufficient competent summary judgment evidence of damages.
Anorad recently deposed two additional witnesses and has
supplemented the summary judgment record and moved for
summary judgment as to Wilson Solutions's claims of quantum
meruit, unjust enrichment, and bad faith. (Docket Entry Nos.
50, 51, 52). Wilson Solutions responded. (Docket Entry No.
59).

Based on the pleadings; the motions and responses; and
_ the applicable law, this court grants Anorad's summary
judgment motion, finding that the no-hire contract provision is

App 10

overbroad and cannot be the basis of a damages award. In the
event that the contract could be enforced, the fact issues as to
whether the contract was modified to allow the hiring to occur,
and whether Wilson Solutions sustained any damages, would
preclude this court from granting Wilson Solutions's motion for
summary judgment. The reasons for these rulings are set out
below.

I. Background

In April 1997, Wilson Solutions, a computer software
consulting company, hired Jason Schwartzman as an at-will
employee. On April 9, 1998, Anorad, a manufacturing
company, and Wilson Solutions entered into an agreement
under which Wilson Solutions would provide computer
software consulting services to Anorad for a daily fee of
$2,000. (Docket Entry No. 18, Ex. B). The parties agreed that
their relationship was that of independent contractor. Under the
contract, the parties agreed not to disclose each others’
confidential information; that any ideas or methodologies
Wilson Solutions created were its property; that Anorad had the
right to use any ideas or methodologies Wilson Solutions
created; that Wilson Solutions would diligently perform its
consulting services, and that the contract would be construed
under Texas law. (/d). The contract also contained a "no-hire"
provision, which stated as follows:

Both parties agree to not, directly or indirectly,
during the period that Consultant [Wilson
Solutions] provides services for Client [Anorad],
and for a period of one year thereafter, solicit,
employ or hire or induce to hire any person who is
or has been an employee of either party unless
otherwise consented to in writing.

(Id). The agreement was signed by Paul Rossi, chief managing
officer for Anorad, and Gaynell Wilson, the chief executive
officer and presently the only officer or employee of Wilson
Solutions. In April 1998, Wilson Solutions placed Jason

App I1

Schwartzman at Anorad, to work under the consulting services
contract. (Gaynell Wilson Depo., Docket Entry No.41, Ex. A,
p. 64). Wilson Solutions had paid Schwartzman $99,000 in
annual salary and billed Anorad for his consulting services at
a rate of $2,000 per day.

On April 19, 1999, Schwartzman sent Wilson a
resignation letter. He cited as his reasons the desire "to pursue
more stable positions. . . with less travel" and "to move back

into the corporate world - with structure, guaranteed bonus,
benefits, and pensions."(Docket Entry No. 41, Ex. 2). In April
or May 1999, Rossi called Wilson to ask whether Wilson
Solutions would object if Anorad hired Schwartzman. (A ffid.
of Gaynell Wilson, Docket Entry No. 18, Ex. A; Wilson Depo.,
Docket Entry No. 41, Ex. A, pp. 76-77). Wilson declined to
consent. Instead, she told Rossi that Anorad would have to wait
one year to hire Schwartman or breach the agreement. (/d).
Rossi offered, and Wilson refused, a $25,000payment that
Rossi characterized as a "[finder's fee" to compensate Wilson
Solutions if Anorad hired Schwartzinan. (/ d.).

On April 26, 1999, Anorad sent Schwartzman a letter
offering him employment. (Docket Entry No. 18, Ex. C). On
April 27, 1999, Rossi announced to all Anorad employees that
Schwartzman had joined Anorad as its new director of
information systems. (/d). The parties dispute whether
Schwartzman had already left Wilson Solutions before Anorad
offered him a position. The parties have not been able to
produce written consent by Wilson Solutions to Anorad's
employment of Schwartzman. (Wilson Affid., Docket Entry
No. 18,Ex. A). It is undisputed that by hiring Schwartzman
within one year after Wilson Solutions provided services under
the contract, Anorad breached the contractual no-hire
provision. After the parties located and deposed Rossi and
Schwartzman, Anorad submitted supplementary summary
judgment evidence that Wilson Solutions had expressly agreed
to allow Anorad to hire Schwartzman, modifying the no-hire
provision. According to the recently filed summary judgment
evidence, Wilson Solutions agreed to modify the contract in

App 12

writing and waive the one-year hiring provision. Wilson
Solutions would allow Anorad to hire Schwartzman, but two to
four months later, during which time Anorad would continue
to pay Wilson Solutions the $2,000 daily consulting fee for
Schwartzman's services. There is a dispute between the
summary judgment evidence submitted by Wilson Solutions,
in the form of Wilson's affidavit, and the Rossi and
Schwartzman deposition excerpts. Wilson Solutions denies any
consent to Anorad's hiring Schwartzman: Anorad asserts and
presents summary judgment evidence that the parties expressly
modified the no-hire provision and obtained Wilson Solutions's
consent to the hiring.

Schwartzman worked directly for Anorad until
December 31, 2000. (Docket Entry No. 18, Ex. C). Anorad paid
Schwartzman $125,000 in annual salary as an employee, a —
considerable savings over what Anorad had paid Wilson
Solutions for Schwartzman's services as a consultant.

The threshold issue is the enforceability of the no-hire
provision as a basis for damages.

ll. The Legal Standard for Summary Judgment

Summary judgment is appropriate if no genuine issue of
material fact exists and the moving party is entitled to judgment
4s a matter of law. See FED. R. CIV. P. 56. Under Rule56(c),
the moving party bears the initial burden of "informing the
district court of the basis for its motion, and identifying those
portions of [the record] which it believes demonstrate the
absence of a genuine issue of material fact." Celotex Corp. Vv.
Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322.1986); Stahl v. Novartis P's rns.
Corp., 283 F.3d 254, 263 (Sth Cir. 2002). The party moving for
summary judgment must demonstrate the absence of a genuine
issue of material fact but need not negate the elements of the
nonmovant's case. Exxon Corp. v. Oxxford Clothes, Inc., 109
F 3d 1070, 1074 (Sth Cir. 1997). If the moving party fails to
meet its initial burden, the motion for summary judgment must
be denied, regardless of the nonmovant's response. Baton

App 13

Rouge Oil and Chem. Workers Union v. ExxonMobil C orp.,289
F.3d 373,375 (Sth Cir. 2002).

When the moving party has met its Rule 56( c) burden,
the nonmovant cannot survive a motion for summary judgment
by resting on the mere allegations of its pleadings. See Prejean
V. Foster, 227 F.3d 504,508 (Sth Cir. 2000). The nonmovant
must go beyond the pleadings and designate specific facts
Showing that there is a genuine issue for trial. See id The
nonmovant must "do more than simply show that there is some
metaphysical doubt as to the material facts." Webh v.
Cardiothoracic SurgervAssocs., 139 F.3d 532,536 (Sth Cir.
1998) (citing Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio
Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586 (1986)). "The mere existence of a
scintilla of evidence in support of the plaintiffs position will be
insufficient; there must be evidence on which the jury could
reasonably find for the plaintiff." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,
Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 253 (1986).

In deciding a summary judgment motion, the court
reviews the facts drawing all reasonable inferences in the |i ght
most favorable to the nonmovant. /d. at 255: Cabal v. Calendar
Oldsmobile, Inc., 288 F.3d 721,725 (SthCir. 2002). "RuleS6
‘mandates the entry of summary judgment, after adequate time
for discovery, and upon motion, against a party
who fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the
existence of an element essential to that party's case, and on
which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial." Little v.
Liquid Air Corp., 37 F.3d 1069, 1075 (Sth Cir. 1994) (quoting
Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322).

lil. The No-Hire Provision

A. A Covenant Not to Compete or an Agreement
Between Two Businesses?

Anorad contends that the no-hire provision is a covenant
not to compete and unenforceable under the Texas Covenant
Not to Compete Act. Wilson Solutions responds that the no-
hire provision is a contract between two businesses imposing

App 14

a limit that reasonably protects legitimate business interests.
The parties agree that the Texas courts have not addressed a
similar contract since Texas passed its Covenant Not to
Compete Act.

The only Texas case to address such a no-hire provision
is Hospital Consultants, Inc. v. Potyka, 531 S.W.2d 657 (Tex.
Civ. App.-San Antonio 1975, writ ref'dn.r.e.). In that case, the
defendant doctor and his corporation had a contract with the
defendant hospital to provide medical staff for the hospital's
emergency room. The contract provided that, during the term
of the staffing contract and for three years thereafter, the
hospital would not hire any emergency room physician who had
been supplied to the hospital under the staffing contract. Id at
659. The hospital elected not to renew the staffing contract with
the defendant doctor and entered into a new staffing contract
with a rival provider of emergency physician services: /d at
660. The new provider then hired the plaintiff emergency room
physicians, who were former employees of the defendant
doctor, so that they could continue to staff the defendant
hospital's emergency room. The defendant hospital, fearing
liability for violating the no-switching clause, refused to accept
the plaintiff physicians. /d These physicians sued both the
defendant doctor and the defendant hospital, attacking the
validity of the no-switching clause. The court noted that the
covenant was "quite different from the ordinary post-
employment restriction," because it was an agreement by an
employer, rather than on an employee. Id at 663. The court
noted its concern over upholding the restraint as reasonable
when it would affect someone who did not acquiesce and who
received no apparent benefit. /d. at 665. Using a reasonableness
analysis, the Texas court sided with the plaintiffs, holding that
the no-switching clause was unenforceable under the common
law of restraints of trade because it was more onerous than was
reasonably required to protect the parties’ legitimate business
interests. The court stated that because the plaintiff emergency
room physicians had no "customer contact" with the hospital's
management, there was no opportunity for them to pirate the
detendant doctor's customer (the hospital). Nor was there any

App 15

evidence that the emergency room physicians had access to
trade secrets or confidential information that could support
such a restriction. The restriction was overbroad because it was
not limited to restraining the defendant hospital from hiring a
physician under contract to the defendant doctor who had
worked in the hospital. Rather, the contract prevented the
defendant hospital from hiring any physician who had been
under contract with the defendant doctor, even if that physician
had not worked in the defendant hospital's emergency rooms.
id Because the restriction could not be justified by the need to
protect the contracting parties from losing a customer or from
losing trade secrets or confidential information, the only effect
was to insulate the defendant doctor from competition. Such a
justification made the restraint unreasonable. /d.

The court in Hospital Consultants did not discuss
whether the contract between the defendant doctor and the
defendant hospital was similar to a covenant restraining an
employee from competing with his employer following the end
of the employment. The court assumed that although the
physicians and the defendant doctor were in a contractor
subcontractor relationship, "the rule applicable to a
subcontractor's agreement not to compete are the same as those
applicable to an agreement by an employee not to complete
with his employer." /d. at 661. The court applied the rule that
"[a] covenant restraining an employee from competing with his
employer on termination of the employment is valid if it is
reasonable in view of the circumstances of the particular case."
Id. at 661. The court also applied a reasonableness analysis to
the no-hire provision in the contract between the hospital and
doctor, but did not equate that provision to an employee's
postemployment covenant not to compete."

" A similar arrangement was upheld in Webb v. West Side District

Hospital, 144 Cal. App.3d 9467(2d Dist. 1983). A doctor contracted with
a hospital to place physicians in the hospital's emergency room. The
contract restricted the hospital from hiring any physician provided by the
doctor who had worked at the hospital, unless the hospital paid a fee to the

App 16

Anorad cites Olander v. Compass Bank, 172 F.Supp.2d
846,851 (S.D. Tex. 2001); Miller Paper v. Roberts Paper Co.,
901 S.W.2d 593,599-600 (Tex. App. - Amarillo 1995, no pet.);
and La. Transp., Inc. v. Race, 2002 WL 32334400 (N.D. Tex.
2002), to support its contention that Texas courts would treat
a no-hire clause as a covenant not to compete. Each of the cases
Anorad cites, however, involves a covenant between an
employer and an employee, as opposed to a mutual no-hire
provision between two employers. See Olander, 172 F.Supp.2d
at 848; Miller Paper, 901 S.W.2d at 599-600; La. Transp.,
2002 WL at * I.

The courts of several states have considered the
enforceability of no-hire or no switching provisions similar to
that in the present case. These courts have reached divergent
results. In Heyde Coso Inc. v. Dove Healthcare, L.L.C., 654
N.W.2d 830 (2002), the Wisconsin Supreme Court held that a
no-hire provision agreed to between employers, without the
knowledge and consent of the affected employees, was an
unenforceable covenant not to compete subject to a Wisconsin
statute that codified the common-law test of reasonable time,
territory, and scope restraints generally applied to such
covenants.'? In that case, Dove Healthcare, a health care

doctor. The Webb case upheld this provision because it only applied to
physicians who had actually worked at the hospital. The contract provision
did not go beyond what was necessary to protect the doctor's economic
interest in preventing the physicians from “stealing” the hospital as a
customer.

” Wis. Stat. § 103.465 (1999-2000) provides as follows:

Restrictive covenants in employment contracts. A
covenant by an assistant, servant or agent not to compete
with his or her employer or principal during the term of
the employment or agency, or after the termination of that
employment or agency, within a specified territory and
during a specified time is lawful and enforceable only if

App 17

provider that operated nursing homes, and Greenbriar
Rehabilitation, which provided physical therapists to nursing
home facilities, entered into an agreement under which
Greenbriar would place physical therapists at one of Dove's
facilities. Heyde, 654 N.W.2d at 832. The physical therapists
placed at Dove remained at-will employees of Greenbriar. The
agreement prohibited Dove from hiring Greenbriar therapists
during the contract period and one year after it ended. Shortly
after Dove terminated the agreement, Dove hired one current
and three former Greenbriar employees. /d. Greenbriar sued for
breach of contract. The Wisconsin Supreme Court determined
that the no-hire provision between the two employers served as
a restrictive covenant on the affected employees:

While a covenant not to compete is typically made
between an employer and its employees, it is
possible, as illustrated in this case, that a
restrictive covenant may be made between
employers that acts as a covenant not to compete
on the employees. . .. [T]he fact that Greenbriar
attempts to restrict its employees through a no-
hire provision with Dove instead of a restrictive
covenant with its employees does not change the
underlying analysis. The effect of the no hire
provision is to restrict the employment of
Greenbrier's employees; it is inconsequential
whether the restriction is termed a 'no-hire'
provision between Dove and Greenbriar or a
‘covenant not to compete’ between Greenbriar and
its employees.

protection of the employer or principal. Any covenant,
described in this subsection, imposing an unreasonable
restraint is illegal. void and unenforceable even as to any
part of the covenant or performance that would be a
reasonable restraint.

App 18

Id at 834. The court noted two of the concerns identified in
Hospital Consultants, Inc. v. Potyka: the no-hire agreement
was not limited to forbidding former Greenbrier employees
who had worked at.a Dove facility from working directly for
Dove. Instead, the restriction extended to any former
Greenbriar employee, even if they had not worked at a Dove

location. /d at 836. The court found that this arguably amounted
to an unreasonable territorial restriction. The court also found
that the agreement was invalid as contrary to the Wisconsin
statute governing covenants not to compete, because it
restricted employees who neither knew of or consented to the
limit on their ability to work. "At the very least, [Wis.Stat.] §
103.465 requires that employees know that they are subject to
a restrictive covenant and that they consent to such a
restriction.” /d. A vigorous dissenting opinion rejected the
premise that the no-hire provision acted a restrictive covenant
on Greenbriar's employees:

Greenbriar's at-will employee therapists
were...perfectly free to leave Greenbriar at any
time and sell their services anywhere in the
marketplace, even in competition with Greenbriar,
and even to Greenbriar’s customers. Greenbriar's
customer, Dove, was contractually required to
obtain Greenbriar's consent should it wish to hire
any Greenbriar employee, and further required to
compensate Greenbriar according to the terms of
the contract if it did so. The no-hire provision
conferred rights and imposed obligations on
supplier and customer, not employer and
employee. It therefore cannot be construed to be -
or even to "act as" - an employee covenant not-to-
compete. ...

Id. at 840. The dissent concluded that the majority's analysis
would make all no-hire provisions unenforceable and failed to
recognize the need to protect "investments in employee
recruitment and training against poaching by their customers."

App 19

ld. at 843. The dissent recognized the similarities between a
nencompete agreement between businesses and a no-hire
agreement between a supplier and its customers and suggested
applying the same reasonableness analysis to determine
enforceability. /d. Under that approach, a court would ask
whether the agreement was reasonably necessary to protect the
beneficiary; whether it was reasonable as between the parties,
considering the time, space, purpose, and scope of the
agreement, and whether it was "specially injurious" to the
public. /d.

In Therapy Services, Inc. v. Crystal City Nursing Center,
Inc., 389 S.E.2d 710 (1990), the Virginia Supreme Court
upheld the validity of a similar no-hire provision, holding that
it did not constitute a covenant not to compete. The contract at
issue provided that Therapy Services would furnish personnel
for skilled rehabilitative services to Crystal City and prohibited
Crystal City from hiring Therapy Services employees during
the contract and for six months after it ended. Crystal C ity, 389
S.E.2d at 711. Crystal City terminated the agreement and
sought to hire Therapy Services employees. /d Ina subsequent
breach of contract suit, Crystal City challenged the no-hire
clause, contending that it was against public policy because it
was a covenant not to compete that restricted employees
without their consent or knowledge. The trial court found the
no-hire clause unenforceable. The Virginia Supreme Court
disagreed. The court found that the provision was a contract in
restraint of trade, rather than a covenant not to compete or
restrictive covenant:

Although the provision in question involves an
employee's ability to secure future employment, it
is neither a covenant not to compete nor a
restrictive covenant between employer and
employee. It is a contract between two businesses
wherein one business agrees to provide
rehabilitative services to patients of the other. As
part of the agreement, one party agrees to forego
the ability to hire certain people who are not

App 20

parties to the contract. As such, it is a contract in
restraint of trade and will be held void as against
public policy if it is unreasonable as between the
parties or is injurious to the public.

id. The court concluded that the restraint was not overly broad
because it restricted affected employees from seeking
employment only with Crystal City. /d. at 712. The court also
found that the provision afforded fair protection to Therapy
Service's legitimate interest in maintaining professional
personnel in its employ, noting that, without such a clause,
Therapy Services "would become an ‘involuntary and unpaid
employment agency’ for Crystal City."/d. at 711-1 2. The court
stated that the provision did not infringe the employees’ right to
earn a livelihood or adversely impact the public interest:

The right to earn a livelihood is embraced in the
constitutional concept of "liberty." However, this
right is conceptually and practically distinct from
a claim of a right to specific employment. Neither
Crystal City nor the trial court has cited any
authority for the proposition that individuals have
a right to employment by an employer of their
choice or by any specific employers. The evidence
indicated that in the Northern Virginia area,
therapists were in low supply and in high demand
and, thus, should they choose to leave Therapy
Services’ employ, they could secure like positions
in the area.

Similarly, there was no adverse impact on the
interest of the public at large. The availability of
therapists’ services was not diminished since the
affected therapists were not precluded from
working in Northern Virginia or any other area.
Under these circumstances we cannot conclude
that paragraph 13 deprived the affected therapists
of the "right to seek a livelihood" or that it
interfered "with the interest of the public."

App 21

/d (internal citations and quotations omitted).

The court in Hevde distinguished Crystal City on the grounds
that the agreement in Crystal City restricted employees from
working with only one employer.

Importantly, the {Crystal City] court concluded
that the "restriction is reasonable. . . because it
does not in any way inhibit the affected employees
from seeking employment as therapists with any
employer other than Crystal City." In this case, the
employment opportunities of the Greenbriar
employees are restricted with respect to ail of the
facilities that Greenbriar has a contract with, even
if an employee has never worked at any of the
other facilities except for Dove.

Heyde, 654 N. W.2d at 837 (internal citations and quotations
omitted) (emphasis in original).

Recently, in H & M Commercial Driver Leasing, Inc. v.
Fox Valley Containers, 805N .E.2d 1177 (Ill. 2004), the Illinois
Supreme Court upheld the validity of a no-hire provision
between employers, finding that it did not constitute a covenant
not to compete. In Fox Valley, a truck-driver lessor brought suit
against a truck-driver lessee for breach of a contract that
prohibited the lessee from hiring leased drivers for one year
following contract termination. The court found that the
provision was neither a covenant not to compete nor a
restrictive covenant between an employer and employee, but
rather a restraint of trade between employers, which would be
analyzed for reasonableness. The court explained as follows:

This is not a case where the employee is arguing
that he or she has been foreclosed from
employment. In our view, the provision at issue
restricted one employer's ability to hire former
employees of the other employer. Thus, as the
Virginia Supreme Court recognized [in Crvstal

App 22

City]. the contract provision acts as a restraint on
trade.

Fox Valley, 805 N.E.2d at 1183. The court concluded that the
employer was protecting its legitimate business interest in not
serving as "an involuntary and unpaid employment agency," id
at 1184 (quoting Crvstal City, 389 S.E.2d at 712), and that the
restriction on the affected employees was minimal:

[Plaintiff] argues that [the provision] 1s
reasonable, as it protects its sole business asset, its
drivers, from being hired away by its customers.
If customers could hire [plaintiff's] drivers on a
permanent basis, then they would no longer need
[plaintiff's] services. We agree that this is a
legitimate interest and that [the provision] affords
fair protection to that interest. It is important to
note that, under the provision, [plaintiffs] —
employees are not restricted from seeking
employment as drivers with any employer other
than [ defendant]. [Defendant] is not restricted
from hiring all [plaintiff's] employces, just those
who had been provided to [defendant] from
[plaintiff].

Id.""

“s In Club Properties, Inc. v. Atlanta Offic es-Perimeter, Inc., 348

S E.2d 919 (1986), the contractual provision at issue was 4 liquidated
damages clause in a lease, which provided for a monetary payment if the
lessee should hire any of the lessor's skilled employees. The court struck
down the no-hiring clause under the common law of restraints of trade, after
examining it under the same test of reasonableness with respect to time,
territory, and scope as it would have applied to an employee covenant not
to compete. The court reasoned that there ts "no meaningful difference”
between a no-hiring ban and a covenant not to compete. Id at 921... see also
4L. Williams & Associates v. Stalk, 960 F.2d 942 (11th Cir. 1992), vacated
hy consent of parties, 984 F.2d 391 (Lith Cir, 1993),

App 23

This court's task is to determine whether the Texas
Supreme Court would enforce the mutual no-hire provision in
the contract at issue. The no-hire provision is an agreement
between businesses that are not in a competitive relationship,
but instead in a relationship of customer and supplier of
Services, not to hire each other's employees. Wilson Solutions
argues that by definition, the no-hire agreement cannot be a
covenant not to compete because Anorad and Wilson Solutions
are not competitors, but customer and supplier. That argument
understates the restraint on competition that is present and the
breadth of the Texas statute governing covenants not to
compete. When Anorad agreed not to hire a Wilson Solutions
software consultant as a direct employee, Anorad agreed not to
compete with Wilson Solutions in providing such software
services by hiring a Wilson Solutions employee. Conversely,
when Wilson Solutions agreed that it will not hire an Anorad
employee, Wilson Solutions agreed not to compete with
Aborad's in-house provision of software related services and
expertise by hiring away an Aborad employee.

A no-hire provision in an agreement between businesses
is Clearly different than a covenant between an employer and
employee not to compete or not to solicit customers or other
former employees after the period of employment ends. But the
Texas Covenants Not to Compete Act is not limited to such
promises between an employer and an employee. Unlike the
Wisconsin statute at issue in Heyde, the Texas statute is not
limited to "restrictive covenants in employment contracts," or
limits on agreements to provide personal services, but instead
covers a broad range of covenants not to compete. Tex. Bus. &
Com. Code Ann.§ 15.50 (Vernon 2004) (providing criteria for
enforceability of "covenants not to compete"under common law
or otherwise); Norlyn Enterprises, Inc. v. APDP. Inc.. 95
S.W.3d 578(Tex. App.-Houston [1 Dist.], 2002, no
pet.)(franchise agreement); Natal C, afe Services, Ltd v.
Pederast, 2004 WL 1746884 (Tex.App.-Waco, pet. filed)
(partnership agreement); Vail Arms, Inc. v. Vail. 2004 WL.
1903255 (Sth Cir. 2004) (buy-sell agreement).

App 24

Even the cases that dispute characterizing a no-hire
provision as an indirect restriction on an employee's ability to
work recognize such a provision as a restraint on trade. See
Therapy Services, Inc. v. Crystal City Nursing Center, Inc., 389
S.E.2d at 712 (recognizing that no-hire provision is an
agreement not to hire certain people who are not parties to the
contract and, as such, a contract in restraint of trade that is
enforceable only if reasonable and not injurious to public);
Heyde Coso v. Dove Healthcare, 654 N.W.2d at 839-41
(dissenting opinion disputes application of the narrow
Wisconsin statute relating to employment contracts with
covenants not to compete and would apply common law on
restraint of trade); H & M v. Fox Valley, 805 N.E.2d 1177 (no-
hire provision is a restraint on trade, not a general covenant not
to compete or restrictive covenant between employer and
employee)."”

14

In Dyson Conveyor Main. Inc. v. Young & Vanned Supply Co., 529
So.2d 212 (Ala. 1988), a six-month no-switching agreement between two
competing employers was ancillary to negotiations between them in
contemplation of a possible acquisition. The agreement was held invalid
under an Alabama statute, but would have been upheld if the switching
employee himself had agreed to a postemployment restriction. The dissent
emphasized that the agreement protected the legitimate interests of the two
companies while they were divulging to each other the confidential
information necessary to enable one to evaluate the business of the other for
potential acquisition purposes. In Communication Technical Systems, Inc.
v. Dinsmore. 583 N.W.2d 125 (S.D. 1998), the plaintiff hired out skilled
computer programmers on a temporary basis to its customers. The plaintiff
entered into an agreement with a customer that during the time the plaintuff
was providing services for the customer, and for a period of one year
following the termination of such services, the customer would not hire,
solicit. or recruit any employee of the plaintiff. The South Dakota Supreme
Court ruled that this agreement was invalid because of a broad statutory
prohibition against any “contract restraining exercise of a lawful profession,
trade. or business” /d. at 127. The statute contained an exception for an
employee's covenant not to compete with his employer, but the court held
that exception to be inapplicable because here the agreement not to recrutt
was entered into between the plaintiff and its customer, not between the
plaintiff and its employee. Both a concurring and dissenting opinion

App 25

This court analyzes the provision both under the Texas
Statute governing covenants not to compete and under the
Texas common law used to measure the validity of contractual
restraints on trade. Under either, it fails to pass muster as the
basis for a damages award.

The Texas Covenants Not to Compete Act added
sections 15.50 and 15.51 to the Texas Business and Commerce
Code. See Light v. Cental Cellular Co. of Texas, 883
S.W.2d642,643 (Tex. 1994). Under the current version of the
Act, noncompetition agreements are enforceable as long as the
restraints imposed are reasonable as to time, geographical area,
and scope of activity restrained, and the agreement is ancillary
to or part of an otherwise enforceable agreement. Tex. Bus. &
Com. Code Ann. § 15.50(a)'® The Texas Legislature amended
the Act in 1993 and added section 15.52, which provides:

The criteria for enforceability of a covenant not to
compete... and the procedures and remedies
provided... are exclusive and preempt any other
criteria for enforceability of a covenant not to
compete...

recognized that the holding ignored the companies' valid interest in
“preventing their employees from being raided.”

5 Section 15.50 of the Texas Business and Commerce Code provides:
[A] covenant not to compete is enforceable if it is
ancillary to or part of an otherwise enforceable agreement
at the time the agreement is made to the extent that it
contains limitations as to time, geographical area, and
scope of activity to be restrained that are reasonable and
do not impose a greater restraint than is necessary to
protect the goodwill or other business interest of the
promisee.

Tex. Bus. & Com. CoDE ANN. § 15.50(a) (Vernon 2004).

App 26

id. § 15.52; see also Light, 883 S.W.2d at 643-44. The Texas
Supreme Court has interpreted this provision as a clear signal
that the Texas Legislature intended the Act to "largely supplant
the common law" relating to the enforcement of covenants not
to compete. Light, 883 S.W.2d at 644. The Act recognizes that
restraints should be no greater than "necessary to protect the
goodwill or other business interest of the promisee." See Tex.
Bus. & Com. Code Ann. §§ 15.50(a), 15.51(c). Under the Act,
Texas law enforces reasonable restraints on competition that
protect legitimate business interests. Enforceability is a
question of law for the court. To determine the enforceability
of anoncompetition agreement, the court must ask whether the
covenant is ancillary to an otherwise enforceable agreement and
examine whether the limitations imposed by the noncompete
are reasonable and no more restrictive than necessary. See Light
v. Cental Cellular Co., 883 S.W.2d at 643.

The parties vigorously dispute whether the no-hire
provision is ancillary to, or part of, an otherwise enforceable
agreement. Standing alone, an at-will employment relationship
does not constitute an otherwise enforceable agreement because
it is not binding. Martin v. Credit Proto Assen, Inc., 793 S.W.2d
667,669 (Tex. 1990); Alex Sheshunoff Mgmt.. Servs. v..Johnson,
124 S. W.3d 678, 684 (Tex. App. - Austin 2003, pet. filed). An
at-will employment relationship may give rise to an otherwise
enforceable agreement if it contains independent consideration
that is not dependent on the illusory promise of continued
employment. Light,883 S.W.2d at 645-46; Alex Sheshunoj[,
124 $.W.3d at 684. The point in time relevant to this
determination "is the moment the agreement is made; the issue
is whether, ‘at the time the agreement is made,’ there exists
other mutually binding promises to which the covenant not to
compete is ancillary or part and parcel." CRC-Evans Pipeline
Int'l, Inc. v. Myers, 972S8.W.2d 259,263 (Tex. App. - Houston
[ lst Dist.] 1996, no pet.) (emphasis in original); see also Light,

App 27

883 S.W.2d at 645 n. 6; Alex Sheshunoff, 124 S.W.3d at 688.
The parties agree that the no-hire provision as applied in this
case satisfies the temporal requirements of the Texas Covenant
Not to Compete Act, bev suse the contract term is limited to one
year after the contract term ends.

The contract is, however, overbroad in a critical respect.
The contract is not limited to precluding Anorad from hiring a
Wilson Solutions employee who worked at Anorad. Rather, the
contract precludes Anorad from hiring any Wilson Solutions
employee, including an employee who provided consulting
services to a different customer. Similarly, the contract does not
merely preclude Wilson Solutions from hiring an Anorad
employee who had worked with Wilson Solutions on Anorad'
s behalf, but precludes Wilson Solutions from hiring any
Anorad employee. Under the cases addressing similar contracts,
whether as a covenant not to compete or as a more limited
restraint on trade, a provision so broad as to cover all
employees, rather than those who actually worked for the other
contracting party, is unenforceable. See, e.g., Hospital
Consultants v. Potyka, 531 S.W.2d at 657 (holding that the no-
hire provision was overbroad because it prohibited the hospital
from hiring all physicians formerly employed by the doctor,
regardless of whether those physicians had ever actually
worked at that hospital); H & M Commercial Driver Leasing,
Inc. v. Fox Valley Containers, Inc., 805 N.E. 2d at 1184:
Crystal City, 380 S.E.2d at 712. Such a clause imposes a
greater restraint than is necessary to protect the business
interest of the promisee.

Wilson Solutions, whose livelihood depended on its
consulting projects, had a legitimate business interest in not
becoming an "involuntary and unpaid employment agency" for
Anorad. /d. at 711-12. Wilson Solutions's brief and Gaynelle
Wilson's affidavit state that the risk addressed by the no-hire

App 28

provision was that the customer, Anorad, would hire the
Wilson Solutions employees working at Anorad on a consulting
basis and employ them (at a lower cost) to do the same
work. If that occurred, Wilson Solutions would lose the
employee and lose the customer. The business interest of
Wilson Solutions protected by the no-hire provision is the risk
of losing an employee to a particular customer for whom that
employee had worked as a consultant. Wilson Solutions asserts
that it was also at risk of having Anorad hire other Wilson
Solutions employees, all of whom performed the same type of
work as Schwartzman. This argument ignores the fact that
Anorad had no greater, or different, relationship with other
Wilson Solutions employees than any other prospective
employer. By contrast, once a consultant has worked at Anorad
and developed relationships with Anorad employees and
knowledge about Anorad's computer software, both the
consultant and Anorad had a relationship that could threaten
Wilson Solutions's ability to maintain the consultant as an
employee and Anorad as a client. The no validly protect Wilson
Solutions's interest if it was limited to the employees of Wilson
Solutions who actually worked at Anorad. In April 1998, when
the parties entered the contract with the no-hire provision,
Wilson Solutions had over fifty employees. Under the broad
provision, Anorad could not have hired any of them, even
though Schwartzman was the only consultant who worked at
Anorad.

Even if a broader provision might be enforceable as a
basis for injunctive relief if reformed and applied as limited,
such a provision could not be the basis of a damages recovery.
In this case, Wilson Solutions waited four years after
Schwartzman went to work for Anorad and sought no
injunction. Wilson Solutions seeks only damages. See Butler v.
Arrow Mirrow & Glass, Inc., 51 S.W.3d 787 (Tex. App.-
Houston [Ist Dist.] 2001, no pet.);Gen. Devices, Inc. v. Bacon,

App 29

888 S.W.2d 497 (Tex. App.-Dallas, writ denied); Perez v. Tex.
Disposal Systs., Inc., 103 S.W.3d 591,593 (Tex.App.-San
Antonio 2003, writ denied) ("If the covenant not to compete
does not meet the Section 15.50 criteria and the trial court
reforms the covenant, a court may award an employer
injunctive relief only. . . ."). .

If the contract is analyzed as imposing some restraints on
competition between businesses which do not directly compete,
it is unenforceable because the restraints are greater than
necessary to protect a legitimate business interest. The restraint
was designed to protect the consulting firm from its client
evading the business arrangement and directly hiring
consultants at a lower price. The contract imposed a greater
restraint than necessary to protect that interest. See Freund v.
E.D. & F Man Int 'Inc.., 199 F.3d 382,385 (7th Cir.1999)
(holding that under Illinois law, an employer can enforce a
promise by another employer not to hire away certain
employees, provided that the contract does not unreasonably
restrain competition between the two employers and survives
the"reasonableness" scrutiny of restrictive covenants).

Anorad's motion for summary judgment that the contract
is unenforceable is granted.

B. Wilson Solutions's Cross-Motion for Summary
Judgment

Wilson Solutions moved for summary judgment. The over
breadth of the contract makes it unenforceable and requires that
this court deny Wilson Solutions's motion for summary
judgment as to the contract claim. In addition, there are
disputed fact issues as to whether the contract was modified
and whether Wilson Solutions can prove any damages as a

App 30

result of Anorad's employment of Schwartzman. Both would
require this court to deny Wilson Solutions's cross-motion.

Wilson Solutions argues that because Schwartzman
worked for Anorad for more than one year after the termination
of the contract between Wilson Solutions and Anorad, Wilson
Solutions is entitled to damages, in the form of lost profits, for
the entire year. Anorad argues that it is entitled to summary
judgment because Wilson Solutions cannot prove damages with
a reasonable degree of certainty, or a fact question exists
regarding damages.

In his final year with Wilson Solutions, Schwartzman
earned his employer income of approximately $441,000
working as a consultant for Anorad (at a rate of $2,000 per
day), with a yearly salary of $99,000 and approximately 10
percent overhead. (Docket Entry No. 18, Ex. A). Wilson
Solutions contends that if Schwartzman had remained its
employee during the following year, Wilson Solutions would
have received $450,000 in consulting fees from Anorad, less
$99.000 for Schwartzman's salary and ten percent overhead.
resulting in a net profit of$34 1.000. (See Docket Entry No. 18,
Ex. A,:C).

Under Texas law, the standard for calculating damages
in breach of contract cases 1s

the amount necessary to put the party in the same
economic position in which it would have been
had the contract not been breached. Generally the
measure of damages meeting this standard is net
profit. Specifically, the gross amount the
nonbreaching party would have received if the
contract had been fulfilled should normally be
reduced by any unpaid costs the non-breaching

App 31

party would have to incur to complete
performance of the contract.

DP Solutions, Inc. v. Rollins, Inc., 353 F.3d 421.428-29 (Sth
Cir. 2003) (internal citations and quotations omitted). This
standard is commonly referred to as “lost profit" damages. See,
e.g., Texas Instruments, Inc. v. Teletron Energy Memt., Inc.,
877 S.W.2d276, 279 (Tex.1994); Szezepanik v. First S. Trust
Co., 883 S.W.2d 648,650 (Tex. 1994).

Under Texas law, "lost profits" must be proved with
"reasonable certainty." nfo. Communication Corp. v. Unisys
Corp., 181 F.3d 629, 633 (5th Cir. 1999); Teletron, 877S.W.2d
at 279. "[W]hether lost profits have been proved with
reasonable certainty is a fact intensive determination dependent
upon the circumstances of the particular case." Formosa
Plastics Corp. USA v. Presidio Eng'rs & Contractors, Inc., 960
S.W.2d 41,50 n. 3 (Tex.1998). Lost profits may not be
recovered where the damages are "too uncertain or speculative.
"Unisys, 181 F.3d at 633 (quoting Teletron, 877 S.W.2d at
279); see Szczepanik, 883 S.W.2d at 650 ( denying recovery of
lost profits where evidence was too speculative): Holt Atherton
Vv. Heine, 835 S.W.2d 80, 85-86 (Tex. 1992) (same). Factors
such as changing market conditions, changing business
Opportunities, and entry in to unknown or unviable markets
may preclude the recovery of lost profits. The determination of
“reasonable certainty" is intended t. be "flexible enough to
accommodate the myriad circumstences in which claims for
lost profits arise." Teletron, 877 S.W.2d at 279. "At a
minimum, opinions or estimates of lost profits must be based
on objective facts, figures or data from which the amount of
lost profits may be ascertained." Szczepanik, 883 S.W.2d at649:
see a/so Holt Atherton Indus., Inc. v. Heine, 835 S.W.2d 80, 84
(Tex. 1992)."When a review of the surrounding circumstances
establishes that the profits are not reasonably certain, there is no

App 32

evidence to support the lost profits award." Formosa, 960
S.W.2d at 50n.3.Anorad argues that Wilson Solutions cannot
prove lost profits with reasonable certainty because there is
evidence showing that Schwartzman, an at-will employee, had
already decided to leave Wilson Solutions before he agreed to
work for Anorad. In addition, Wilson Solutions provides no
evidence that it could have placed Schwartzman with other
clients in the year following the termination of the contract
between Anorad and Wilson Solutions. Anorad cites
Schwartzman's resignation letter, written before he was hired
by Anorad, stating that he was leaving the consulting business
in order to "pursue more stable positions," have "less travel,"
"move back into the corporate world," and act in the
"interestsof [his] family." (Docket Entry No. 18, Ex. A).
Anorad also cites Wilson's deposition testimony as evidence
that Wilson Solutions had no place to assign Schwartzman
other than Aborad:

Q: Had Schwartzman not gone to work at Aborad, did
you have another available open contract for him
to work on? No, not that I recall.

No, not that I recall.

Okay.

| should change that to "I don't know."

None that you recall?

Well, the answer would really be - do | know if |

had another contract to place him on? The answer

is "1 don't know.”

Q: As you sit here today, are you able to recall a
single one?

A: As I sit here today, | cannot tell you on any
particular date which contracts | had requiring
resources.

Q: Would it be fair to say, then, that as you sit here
today, you can't point to a specific contract that

Po POF

App 33

says "if I did not have Jason Schwartzman working
at Aborad, I know I could have placed him at this
other customer doing this work for that period of
time," you can't say that, is that fair?

I can't say that I could or could not. | don't recall.
You have no specific memory of a particular
contract that was out there that he could have filled
is that true?

A: I don't recall.

Q>

(Wilson Depo., Docket Entry No. 41, Ex. A, pp. 83-84).
Anorad suggests that Wilson Solutions would have lost money
if it were paying Schwartzman's salary and overhead with no
work for him to do.

Wilson Solutions responds that the circumstantial
evidence in this case supports a finding that Anorad terminated
the relationship with Wilson Solutions because it hired
Schwartzman. Wilson Solutions notes that Aborad presents no
evidence that it ever formally terminated the contract and
asserts that Aborad did not need Wilson Solutions because it

hired Schwartzman - precisely what the no-hire provision was
intended to prevent. Wilson Solutions argues that
Schwartzman's high skill, as demonstrated by the summary
judgment evidence, would have enabled Wilson Solutions to
place Schwartzman on another consulting project. Noting the
one-week lag time between Schwartzman's letter of resignation
and Anorad’s offer letter, Wilson Solutions contends that the
facts support a finding that Schwartzman left Wilson Solutions
because he was solicited by Aborad to become a direct
employee.

The disputed fact issues as to whether Schwartzman
would have remained a Wilson Solutions employee had he not

gone to work for Aborad, whether Wilson Solutions would

App 34

have had any work for him had he stayed, and whether Wilson
Solutions agreed to allow Aborad to hire Schwartzman,
preclude summary judgment as to whether Wilson Solutions
is entitled to damages and, if so, in what amount. Wilson
Solutions's motion for summary judgment as to its contract
claim is denied.

1V. Anorad's Motion for Summary Judgment as to the
Extracontractual Claims

Anorad has moved for summary judgment dismissing
Wilson Solution's extracontractual claims for breach of an
implied contract, breach of the duty of good faith and fair
dealing, and quantum meruit.

An implied-in-fact contract “arises from the acts and
conduct of the parties, it being implied from the facts and
circumstances that there was a mutual intention to
contract."Haws & Garrett Gen. Contractors, Inc. v. Gorbett
Bros. Welding Co., 480 S.W.2d 607 ,609(Tex. 1972). A meeting
of the minds is an essential element of an implied-in-fact
contract. Texas Ass'n of Counties County Gov't Risk Mgmt.
Pool v. Matagorda County, 52 §.W.3d128, 133 (Tex.2000). In
an express contract, mutual agreement is expressly stated; in an
implied contract, mutual agreement must be inferred from the
circumstances of the transaction. Buxani v. Nussbaum, 940
S.W.2d 350, 352 (Tex.App.-San Antonio 1997, no writ). The
court "must look to the conduct of the parties to determine the
tenus of the contract on which the minds of the parties met."
Williford Energy Co. v. Submergible Cable Servs., Inc., 895
S.W.2d 379, 385 (Tex.App.-Amarillo 1994, no writ). The
conduct and circumstances surrounding the transaction are to
be viewed from a reasonable person's interpretation at that
particular point in time. Bank of El Paso v. T.O. Stanlev Boot
Co., 809 S.W.2d 279, 284 (Tex.App.EI Paso-1991 rev'd 0.g.),

App 35

(citing Haws & Garrett Gen. Contractors, Inc., 480 S.W.2d at
609); Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Lopez, 93 S.W.3d 548, 557 -558
(Tex. App.-Houston [14 Dist.] 2002, no writ).

There is no evidence in the summary judgment record
that would permit this court to find an enforceable implied
contract that Anorad breached. As a rule, a party may recover
under an implied contract only when no express contract exists
covering the subject matter. See Threadgill v. Farmers Ins.
Exchange, 912 S.W.2d 264,268 (Tex.App.-Dallas 1995, no
writ). The implied contract Wilson Solutions asserts cannot be
the basis for a recovery because an express contract exists
covering the same subject matter.

Wilson Solutions cannot recover for breach of an implied
duty of good faith and fair dealing, as a matter of law. In
addition to the overbreadth that makes the contract
unenforceable as a basis for a damages award, Texas does not
generally imply such a duty in all contracts. The Texas
Supreme Court has imposed an actionable duty of good faith
and tair dealing only when there is a special relationship, such
as that between an insured and his or her insurance carrier.
SeeArnold v. National County Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 725 S.W.2d
165, 167 (Tex. 1987). There is no general duty of good faith
and fair dealing in employment contracts. See City of Midland
v. O'Bryant, 18 S.W.3d 209,215 (Tex. 2000).

Wilson Solutions also asserts an implied in law contract,
under quantum meruit, asserting that Wilson Solutions is
entitled to be paid because it "located and placed a highly
qualified computer technician" with Anorad. (Docket Entry No.
58, p. 7). Quantum meruit is an equitable, quasi-contractual
remedy that does not arise out of a contract, but is based on the
promise implied by law to pay for beneficial services rendered
and knowingly accepted. Vortt Exploration Co. v. Chevron

App 36

U.S.A., 787 S.W.2d 942,944 (Tex. 1990). A contract implied in
law may be imposed to avoid unjust enrichment. Riverside, Inc.
v. Gulf States Utilities Co., 289 S.W.2d 945,949 (Tex.
Civ.App. - Beaumont 1956, writ refd n.r.e.).To establish a
claim for quantum meruit, plaintiffs must show (1) they
rendered valuable services to the individual sought to be
charged, (2) who accepted the services and materials to his
benefit, (3 Hinder such circumstances that he would reasonably
know that the plaintiffs expected to be paid for the services.
Sourignavong v. Methodist Healthcare Sys. of San Antonio,
Ltd., 977 S. W.2d 382, 385 (Tex.App - Amarillo 1998, pet.
denied) (citing Bayshore v. Baptist Mammal Hosp. SYS., 685
S.W.2d 307,310 (Tex. 1985)).

In the present case, there is no evidence that Wilson
Solutions provided a valuable service to Anorad for which
Anorad did not pay. It is undisputed that Wilson Solutions
charged Anorad $2,000 for each day Wilson Solutions provided
Schwartzman as a consultant, and that Anorad paid in full.
There is no evidence that when Anorad hired Schwartzman to
work as an employee, it did so under circumstances that would
support an inference that Wilson Solutions expected to have to
continue to pay Anorad the full consulting fee, or some
undefined lesser amount as a "finder's fee." To the contrary, as
Anorad points out, Wilson Solutions alleges that it expressly
refused to accept such a fee in lieu of having Anorad continue
to obtain Schwartzman's services as a Wilson Solutions
consultant. Wilson Solutions's motion for summary judgment
on the extracontractual claims is denied.

IV. Conclusion

Based on the pleadings; the motions and responses, and
the applicable law. this court grants Anorad's motion for
summary judgment and denies Wilson Solutions’s cross-motion

App 37

for summary judgment and, by separate order, enters final
judgment.

SIGNED on September 28, 2004, at Houston, Texas.

Loe FY Resenthal
Lee H. Rosenthal
United States District Judge

App 38

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

BLASE INDUSTRIES
CORPORATION d/b/a
WILSON SOLUTIONS,

§

§

§

§

Plaintiff, §

VS. § CIVIL ACTION NO.
§ H-03-2369

ANORAD CORPORATION §

§

§

Defendant.
MEMORANDUM AND OPINION

Blase Industries d/b/a Wilson Solutions sued Anorad
Corporation, alleging a breach of a contract to provide
consulting services. Wilson Solutions alleged that Anorad
breached the clause prohibiting the contracting parties from
hiring the other's employees during the period of the contract
and for one year after it ended. The parties filed cross-motions
for summary judgment as to the breach of contract claim.
(Docket Entry Nos. 18, 40). The cross-motions. turned on
whether the no-hire contract provision was enforceable;
whether Wilson Solutions provided sufficient «ompetent
summary judgment evidence of damages; and whether Wilson

Solutions had specifically agreed to waive the no-hire provision

App 39

and allow Anorad to employ a Wilson Solutions consultant.
This court granted Anorad' s motion for summary judgment,
denied Wilson Solutions's motion, and entered final judgment.
Within ten days, Anorad moved for reconsideration or, in the

alternative, a new trial.

"A motion to reconsider an order granting summary’
judgment is appropriate when the court is presented with
newly-discovered evidence, when the court committed clear
error, when there is an intervening change in controlling law,
or when other highly unusual circumstances exist." Becerra v.
Asher, 921 F. Supp. 1538, 1548 (S.D. Tex. 1996), aff'd, 105
F.3d 1042 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Becerra v. Houston
Indep. Sch. Dist., 118 S. Ct. 82 (1997).' None of these
circumstances is present here. Wilson Solutions either restates
the arguments previously addressed to this court or presents
evidence that it did not submit before the entry of judgment,
despite the earlier availability of the evidence. Wilson
Solutions has not stated any grounds for the amendment or
alteration of the judgment. See id.; see also WG. Pettigrew
Distrib. Co. v. Borden, Inc., 976 F. Supp. 1043, 1062 (S.D.

Wilson Solutions classifies its motion as seeking reconsideration

ora new trial. "As no trial was held in the district court, it cannot logically
be called a motion for new trial." St. Paul Mercury Ins. Co. v. Fair Grounds
Corp., 123 F.3d 336,339 (Sth Cir. 1997). The motion is correctly entitled a
Rule 59( €) motion to alter or amend judgment. See id: Patin v. Allied
Signal, Inc., 77 F. 3d 782, 785 n.t (Sth Cir. 1996); Lupo vy. Wyeth-Ayerst
Labs., 4 F. Supp. 2d 642, 643 (E.D. Tex. 1997) ("[T]en days after the entry
of. . . judgment, [plaintiff] filed a Motion for New Trial. . .. In doing so, he
essentially sought reconsideration of the summary judgment ruling on that
cause of action pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 59(e)."),

App 40

Tex. 1996), aff'd 127 F.3d 34 (Sth Cir. 1997).*> Moreover, this
court finds that the evidence that Wilson Solutions now
submits would not create a genuine factual dispute on any
material issue. Accordingly, Wilson Solutions's motion for
reconsideration or a new trial is DENIED.

SIGNED on December 3,2004, at Houston, Texas.

Lee SA Rosenthal
Lee H. Rosenthal
United States District Judge

Wilson Solutions emphasizes the need for an enforceable no-hire
provision. This court did not hold that the no-hire provision in the contract
was unenforceable. Rather, this court held that on the basis of the summary
judgment record, the no-hire provision was overbroad and could not be the
basis of a damages award. The opinion did not address whether, on different
summary judgment evidence, the no-hire provision could have been applied
as Wilson Solutions argued, or whether the provision could have been used
to obtain an injunctive relief to protect the interests Wilson Solution has
identified.

App 41

Anorad Corporation
April 9, 1998

Page |
WILSON SOLUTIONS
7037 HIGHWAY 6 NORTH, SUITE 260
HOUSTON, TEXAS 77095
April 9, 1998
Paul Possi

Anorad Coporation
110 Oster Avenue
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Re: Confidentiality
Dear Mr. Rossi:

The purpose of this letter is to set forth our respective
obligations as to out working relationship, and to supplement
certain separate agreements that we shall enter into as to
individual projects (the “Services”). Both parties acknowledge
that the relationship between the parties is one of an
independent contractor. The parties to this agreement are
Anorad Corporation hereinafter referred to as “Client” and
Wilson Solutions hereinafter referred to as “Consultant”.

Consultant specifically acknowledges that both parties
shall maintain our own information and that of consultants’
customers, suppliers and investors in confidence. In
performing services for Client, each party may gain access to
various confidential information pertaining to the other, the
other’s customers, suppliers and investors. In such event,

App 42

Consultant agrees to maintain all such confidential information
that Consultant may learn or acquire in the strictest confidence
and that Consultant will not at any time, during the period of
the parties’ relationship thereafter, use such information or
disclose it to another, except as authorized by the other. This
obligation of confidence shall continue during the period that
Consultant provides services for Client and for a period of three
years thereafter. Both parties agree that confidential
information does not include information which (i) is 6r
becomes generally available to the public other than as a result
of a disclosure by either of the parties, (11) was within the other
party's possession prior to its being finished to such party, or
(111) becomes available to the other on a non-confidential basis
from a source other than the disclosing party, provided that
such source is not known by us to be bound by a confidentiality
agreement or other contractual, legal or fiduciary obligation of
confidentiality to such disclosing party.

In connection with providing services to Client.
Consultant will be involved in activities which may result in
the creation of (i) ideas protected under state law (contract law
and laws protecting trade secrets) and the federal patent system,
and (ii) forms of expression of ideas covered by the federal
copyright laws. It is agreed that Client will have the
unrestricted right to use, improve or modify such property 1
connection with Client’s business provided that Client does not
separately exploit same. However, all of the work that
Consultant creates or develops, solely or jointly with other,
relating to the work assigned to Consultant by Client (whether
created on Clients premises or at Consultant’s offices and
whether or not using Client’s equipment) will not constitute a
“work made for hire” and that Consultant will be the owner of
all rights, title and interest in and to such ideas and the forms of
expression of ideas, including all rights of copyright therein.

App 43

Further, Client acknowledges that the methodologies that
Consultant utilizes in performing Consultant’s services are
proprietary to: Consultant, which methodologies include
without limitation, design specifications, program maintenance
documents, platforms and program structures. Client agrees to
not disclose such proprietary information to any parties that
may be competitors of Consultant without Consultant’s prior
written consent absent an uncured default under the terms of
this agreement. This provision shall remain in force during the
period that Consultant provides services for Client’s benefit
and for a period of three years thereafter.

Both parties agree to not, directly or indirectly, during
the period that Consultant provides services for Client, and for
a period of one year thereafter, solicit, employ or hire or induce
to hire any person who is or had been an employee of either
party unless otherwise consented to in writing.

Client agrees that Consultant shall be compensated for
our services on a time and materials basis based on the rates set
our in Schedule A, page 4, along with reimbursement for any
out-of-pocket travel expenses. In connection thereto, Client
agrees to pay such invoices within thirty (30) days after receipt
of same. In the event that such invoices are not paid by their
due date, same shall accrue interest until paid at the less or
eighteen percent (18%) per annum or the maximum rate
allowed by applicable law. In the event that it 1s necessary for
Consultant to retain the services of an attorney to collect said
amounts, Client agrees to pay the reasonable costs incurred by
Consultant for such attorney’s fees.

Consultant represents and warrants to exercise
reasonable efforts and diligence to perform the Services.
Except for the express warranty in the preceding sentence, all
Services provided by Consultant under such _ separate

App 44

agreements are provided without any express or implied
warranty in fact or in law whatsoever. Consultant specifically
disclaims all warranties regarding such Services, including any
warranties of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose.
Notwithstanding any provision herein to the contrary,
Consultant shall not be liable for any indirect, incidental or
consequential damages, including lost profits, sustained or
incurred in connection with any act or omission related to
Consultant’s performance regardless of the form of action,
whether in contract or tort or otherwise (including negligence,
strict liability or otherwise) and whether or not such damages
are foreseen or unforeseen. In the event that this provision fails
of its essential purpose, Consultant’s liability hereunder shall
not exceed the total of the fees paid to Consultant by Client as
to any separate project provided, however, in no event shall
such amount be in excess of $25,000.00 (USD) in the
aggregate. Any action arising from or in connection with
Services provided by Consultant must be brought within (1)
year after the cause of the action arises.

No provision of this letter agreement shall be construed
to apply to be enforced in any case where its application would
be void under any applicable rule against perpetuities, rule
limiting suspension of the power of alienation, or other similar.

This letter agreement shall be construed under an in
accordance with the laws of the State of Texas, and all
obligations of the parties created hereunder are performable in
Harris County, Texas.

In case any one or more of the provisions contained in
this letter agreement shall for any reason be held to be invalid,
illegal or unenforceable in any respect, such invalidity,
illegality or unenforceability shall not affect any other provision
thereof and this letter agreement shall be construed as if such

App 45

invalid, illegal or unenforceable provision had never been
contained herein.

Each party hereto acknowledges that a remedy at law for
any breach or attempted breach of this letter agreement will be
inadequate, agrees that each party hereto shall be entitled to
specific performance and injunctive and other equitable relief
in case of any such breach or attempted breach and further
agrees that any bon required for the securing of such injunctive
or other equitable relief shall be in the nominal amount of
$1,000.00 (USD). Provided, however, that this provision shall
not be construed to deny the recovery of damages caused by a
breach hereof.

This letter agreement shall be binding upon and, where
allowed pursuant hereto, issue to the benefit of the parties
hereto and their respective heirs, executors, administrators,
legal representatives, successors and assigns.

BLASE INDUSTRIES CORPORATION
Doing business as WILSON SOLUTIONS

BY: Gaynell Wilson
TITLE: CEO

ACKNOWLEDGED AND AGREED TO
This 9" day of April, 1998

Anorad Corporation

BY:Paul V. Rossi

TITLE: CFO

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0963%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
