# Reply Brief — AT&T Corp. v. RLH Industries, Inc. (No. 05-1493)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0943%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

SUpreiic Gout, WS.

FILED

(4) JUL 5 - 2096

: CTFICE CE THE CLERK
No. 05-1493

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

AT&T INC. (F/K/A SBC COMMUNICATIONS INC.),
Petitioner,

Vv.

RLH INDUSTRIES, INC..
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the Court of Appeal of the State of California

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

en

JAVIER AGUILAR MICHAEL K. KELLOGG
WILLIAM M. SCHUR Counsel of Record

AT&T SERVICES, INC. SEAN A. LEV

175 E. Houston Street PRIYA R. ATYAR

4th Floor KELLOGG, HUBER, HANSEN,
San Antonio, Texas 78205 TODD, EVANS & FIGEL,
(210) 351-3409 PLLC.

1615 M Street, N.W.
Suite 400

Washingten, D.C. 20036
(202) 326-7900

Counsel for Petitioner

July 5, 2006

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Petitioner’s Statement pursuant to Rule 29.6 was set
forth at page ii of the petition for a writ of certiorari, and
there are no amendments to that Statement.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT..................... i
FAR I FART BNE CAI cnprccsetersctesernenniasidscerebocinvterwes iil
ARGUMENT:
I. The Court Has Jurisdiction To Review The
EE: RON cisusheiasechariisisiaicicleiibshddabisintenadiachipiitbteciaiints 1

II. The Circuits Are In Square Conflict Over
Whether Direct Regulation Of Wholly Ex-
traterritorial Conduct Is A Per Se Violation

Ce ee RS I icc scantccivnicincinesdiermeenseicass 5
III. The Decision Below Conflicts With Control-

eae aa CONES BI cc icciccicceecintarienctnniricieeniconn 7
IV. This Case Is A Superior Vehicle For The

SNE FINE in, haskesicosccicrnicnecaeontnbencbaebesmnestes 8

CFIA scvihiscnisrnisiesteinbialiinssiccdaiidinieidicdiinaa 10

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
; Page
CASES
ACLU v. Johnson, 194 F.3d 1149 (10th Cir. 1999)......... 5, 6
American Booksellers Found. v. Dean, 342 F.3d 96
Ee i. Oe sccsisicdectbacecnneeapitbemsienkianubicnianidiateensiian 5, 6
Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986) ..............cccssseseeeeeees 5
Belknap, Inc. v. Hale, 463 U.S. 491 (1988) «0.0... eee 4
Beretta U.S.A. Corp. v. District of Columbia, 126 S.
ie IEE CI IPIIUEE cassiic en: ioeucdspiccceurspdbees punbdnuiadednpeentnanaamebavewiant 10
Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State
Liquor Auth., 476 U.S. 573 (1986)..........ccsccccrsessscceeeeees 7
Cotto Waxo Co. v. Williams, 46 F.3d 790 (8th Cir.
RP RR tach Sind NEM La Occ WNC TS SR SIPC NOE 7
Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469
SIDE ITE shiinhcitiieidiinlanadadisdiinshbbipempanenephivaaeanamnudcaiedicomeces 1, 2, 3, 4

District of Columbia v. Beretta U.S.A. Corp.,
872 A.2d 633 (D.C.), cert. denied, 126 S. Ct. 399

EESTI" SRR Oe er Roe es SORES Pe Pee ets 10
Paes @. Gato, SET UD. GEO CIGSDD svcesccccsevereteecicosisves 4,5
Goodyear Atomic Corp. v. Miller, 486 U.S. 174 (1988)....... 4
Grant’s Dairy-Maine, LLC v. Commissioner of Maine

Dep't of Agric., 232 F.3d 8 (1st Cir. 2000) ..................... 7
Healy v. The Beer Institute, 491 U.S. 324 (1989)............ 7,8
Hudson Distribs., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 377 US.

Se NE sittin si decectesnid bodaa i Micekc's a cucacomsshabaca Reseed 4
Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133

Fea ESE PAP SEN ce ABE: RP Re aD RRB WE Se EER OP ONY TS Ne 4
Johnson v. California, 541 U.S. 428 (2004) ...... ee 5

Local No. 438 Constr. & Gen. Laborers’ Union uv.
Ss SF kA ric OEE CE ED uate csacsciccemaiasidokieisbasinsiccens 4

iv

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

BTR 78 CLOG ciakisiscstivs cansessansatnesteseatoteks waited. 8,9
Mercantile Natl Bank v. Langdeau, 371 U.S. 555

EC RIIIENE csctavenscuvanesdccbacdatindonscruabschicnsd anemia eelaeEunamimaceee 4
Mississippi Power & Light Co v. Mississippi ex rel.

Moere, ABT US. S64 CABS) s cccsiininscicnonsnind 4
National Solid Wastes Mgmt. Ass’n v. Meyer, 63 F.3d

Be Cree CE RID eekcsncscicectshensbineehuhseleucrsusmbaietan 5, 6
NCAA v. Miller, 10 F.3d 633 (9th Cir. 1998) ................. 5, 6
New York Life Ins. Co. v. Head, 234 U.S. 149

CFE GY aici veniscsisiceinccvavimebchcaotccvannigecdesenaterkccinpeamadnaatiaduan 3

Pharmaceutical Research & Mfrs. of Am. v. Con-
cannon, 249 F.3d 66 (1st Cir. 2001), aff'd, 538

SFB. OG CO sieiaiveksidssdsecicchsaciede uke natmeainned 6, 7
Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137

Pe icc senicaestncsnsikck sive tombaccuenaiaba taken aka 5
Southern Union Co. v. Missouri Pub. Serv. Comm’n,

BAO FBG BOS COG GaP. BOD) viciinsensica cvccdsectousticnionsreces 6, 7
Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1 (1984)... 4

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S.
Be I visas casei ntanehcddiduadhachackcaipetpienivaiedionicketstocahicina 4

ss

CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES
U.S. Const.:

Art. I, § 8, Cl. 3 (Commerce Clause)...... 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10
Art. IV, § 1 (Full Faith and Credit Clause)..................... 3
TAGS sciccsnessststnseninichilatdinihetidibapennasiediataheiapibinuitevantererse 4
Amend. V (Due Process Clause) ...............c::ccceeeeceeeeeseeees 3
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
ee Oe EDI, nncdocercesrtctdaretccctcsqiuiinobesteitens 4
Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seq. ............ eee 4
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 151
GE IGE. cnseneinisccndictaninicevendtiedesiideieen (cetiibaiaabadiiedinbaninpaiintines 4
Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1 ef s€q. .......ccccssceccossssseccecees 4,8

Ba Pes OO CID - roeqvatsec ecbinnininnsiabeeetleatiavnaneveinntietitienidassia 1

The lower court in this case held that, under the Com-
merce Clause, there is no per se bar on States directly
regulating commerce occurring wholly outside their bor-
ders. That decision conflicts with the controlling decisions
of this Court, as well as the law in several federal courts
of appeals. It does, however, accord with the law in the
First and Eighth Circuits. This Court’s intervention is
necessary to resolve the conflict among the lower courts as
to a fundamental and recurring constitutional issue.

Respondent RLH Industries, Inc. (““RLH”) offers no con-
vincing defense of the California court’s decision and, de-
spite its efforts to sow confusion, cannot obscure the clear
split between the circuits or the purely legal character of
the question presented. RLH’s only argument against the
Court’s exercise of jurisdiction is that leaving the decision
below in place would not seriously erode federal policy.
That argument fails under this Court’s precedents. De-
nial of review would allow California, at the behest of any
of its residents, to control commerce occurring wholly out-
side its borders and, in so doing, trump the law of the
other States where the commerce is occurring. Such ex-
traterritorial regulation threatens not only the free flow of
interstate commerce, but also the basic premises of our
constitutional structure. The decision at issue here thus
imperils federal policy in a much more fundamental and
broadly applicable way than the many state-court pre-
emption decisions over which this Court has previously
exercised jurisdiction under the same doctrine that RLH
concedes is controlling here.

I. The Court Has Jurisdiction To Review The Deci-
sion Below

Section 1257(a) authorizes this Court’s review of any
“[f]inal judgment[] or decree[{}] rendered by the highest
court of a State in which a decision could be had.” 28
U.S.C. § 1257(a). In Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420
U.S. 469 (1975), the Court explained that “the require-
ment of finality is to be given a practical rather than a
technical construction.” Jd. at 478 n.7 (:nternal quotation

2

marks omitted). Cox recognized “at least four categories
of .. . cases” in which the Court had jurisdiction to review
a state-court decision on a federal issue “without awaiting
the completion of the additional proceedings anticipated
in the lower state courts.” Jd. at 477.' The fourth such
category consists of cases where: (1) “the federal issue has
been finally decided in the state courts with further pro-
ceedings pending in which the party seeking review might
prevail on the merits on nonfederal grounds, thus render-
ing unnecessary review of the federal issue by this Court”;
(2) “reversal of the state court on the federal issue would
be preclusive of any further litigation on the relevant
cause of action”; and (3) “a refusal immediately to review
the state court decision might serious'y erode federal pol-
icy.” Id. at 482-83.

Under this Court’s prior decisions, this case falls
squarely within the fourth Cox category. It is undisputed
that the federal issue — whether direct extraterritorial
regulation is per se invalid under the Commerce Clause —
“has been finally decided in the state courts,” with the
California Court of Appeal resolving the issue against
AT&T, and the California Supreme Court denying review.
It is further undisputed that, if the Court does not grant
review now, AT&T “might prevail on the merits on non-
federal grounds, thus rendering unnecessary review of the
federal issue by this Court.” See Opp. 9 (conceding that,
“[s]hould AT&T prevail on any of its state law defenses,
the federal issues could be mooted”). Finally, it is undis-
puted that reversal of the California court on the federal
issue “would be preclusive of any further litigation” on
RLH’s causes of action against AT&T's out-of-state sub-
sidiaries. Each of those causes of action seeks to apply
California law to conduct occurring outside of California.

' Cox did not require that the additional proceedings involve only
state-law issues. See 420 U.S. at 477 (‘[i}n most, if not all, of the cases
in these categories, these additional proceedings would not require the
decision of other federal questions that might also require review by
the Court at a later date”) (emphasis added).

3

If the Court agrees with AT&T that this extraterritorial
regulation violates the Commerce Clause per se, that deci-
sion will end litigation of RLH’s claims.

RLH’s sole jurisdictional argument is thus that denial
of review would not risk “seriously erod{ing] federal pol-
icy.” Cox, 420 U.S. at 483; see Opp. 10.2 That assertion is
demonstrably incorrect: failure to review the California
court’s decision would have particularly acute conse-
quences for federal policy. The principle that a State may
regulate only within its jurisdiction is fundamental to our
constitutional structure, finding expression in three sepa-
rate constitutional provisions: the Commerce Clause, the
Due Process Clause, and the Full Faith and Credit
Clause. See Pet. 14 n.4; New York Life Ins., 234 U.S. at
161 (“[Ijt would be impossible to permit the statutes of
Missouri to operate beyond the jurisdiction of that state
... without throwing down the constitutional barriers...
upon the preservation of which the government under the
Constitution depends.”). As the Chamber of Commerce
and Verizon have properly emphasized in their amicus
brief (at 19-20) “[m]Jore than 150 years of Dormant Com-
merce Clause jurisprudence makes it clear that, until
Congress says otherwise, no State may dictate to the
other 49 a set of nationwide commercial rules.”

In setting aside this core principle, the lower court’s de-
cision has the immediate effect of permitting any Califor-
nia plaintiff to bring suit undzr California law to chal-
lenge conduct occurring wholly ‘n another State based on
the claim that alleged “benefits” to California (e.g., bene-
fits to a single California seller) outweigh the burdens of
extraterritorial regulation under a standardless balancing
test. The decision similarly invites plaintiffs in all other
States to bring suits under their States’ laws, thus ena-
bling all States to regulate commerce extraterritorially as

“ RLH misquotes Cox in stating that the “fourth Cox exception ts
only available when delaying review would ‘seriously erode . . . Consti-
tutional! policy, Cox, 420 U.S. at 483.” Opp. 10.

4

long as the plaintiff can assert some effect on a claimed .
interest of the State. Failure to grant review would thus
seriously erode the “basic principle of federalism . . . that
each State may make its own reasoned judgment about
what conduct is permitted or proscribed within its bor-
ders.” State Farm, 538 U.S. at 421-22.

This Court has consistently found decisions involving
less fundamental federal interests to be within the fourth
Cox category. Contrary to RLH’s suggestion that this
category is limited to First Amendment cases, see Opp. 10,
the Court has regularly granted review under Cox to safe-
guard particular federal statutes from state encroach-
ment. See, e.g., Mississippi Power & Light Co. v. Missis-
sippti ex rel. Moore, 487 U.S. 354, 370 n.11 (1988) (taking
jurisdiction to address whether FERC order preempted a
state agency from inquiring into the prudence of a plant);
Goodyear Atomic Corp. v. Miller, 486 U.S. 174, 179-80
(1988) (taking jurisdiction to address whether federal law
barred an additional workers’ compensation award based
on state standards); Belknap, Inc. v. Hale, 463 U.S. 491,
497 n.5 (1983) (reviewing a state-court decision regarding
preemption under the National Labor Relations Act).°
The threat to federal policy is significantly greater here,
where the issue is not the preemptive scope of a single
federal law, but the basic rules of the road limiting what
States may regulate under our constitutional structure.

The two cases relied upon by RLH are readily distin-
guishable. In Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619 (1981) (per cu-
riam), the Court found “no identifiable federal policy that

* See also Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133 (1990)
(Employee Retirement Income Security Act preemption); Southland
Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1, 6-7 (1984) (Federal Arbitration Act pre-
emption); Hudson Distribs., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 377 U.S. 386, 389
n.4 (1964) (exemption of state fair trade act from prohibitions of the
Sherman Act); Mercantile Natl Bank v. Langdeau, 371 U.S. 555, 557-
58 (1963) (venue under national banking legislation); Local No. 438
Constr. & Gen. Laborers’ Union v. Curry, 371 U.S. 542, 548-51 (1963)
(National Labor Relations Act preemption).

5

will suffer if the state criminal proceeding goes forward”
because there was “no reason to treat this selective prose-
cution claim differently than we would treat any other
claim of selective prosecution.” /d. at 622-23. Johnson v.
California, 541 U.S. 428 (2004) (per curiam), involved a
Batson claim, and the Court concluded that “petitioner
can make no convincing claim of erosion of federal policy
that is not common to all decisions rejecting a defendant’s
Batson claim.” Id. at 430. Unlike Flynt and Johnson, this
case does not involve the application of a well-settled con-
stitutional rule to particular facts. Rather, it involves a
purely legal question of enormous general policy signifi-
cance: whether direct extraterritorial regulation is a per
se violation of the Commerce Clause.

II. The Circuits Are In Square Conflict Over
Whether Direct Regulation Of Wholly Extra-
territorial Conduct Is A Per Se Violation Of
The Commerce Clause

Nothing in RLH’s opposition brief diminishes the sharp
conflict between the circuits on the question whether ex-
traterritorial regulation is unconstitutional per se. The
Second, Seventh, Ninth, and Tenth Circuits have clearly
endorsed the per se rule, finding it unnecessary to rely on
the balancing test of Pike to invalidate a state statute con-
trolling conduct occurring wholly outside the State. See
American Booksellers Found., 342 F.3d at 103-04 (2d Cir.)
(“no need to apply the Pike balancing test” because Ver-
mont had “projected its legislation into other States” and
“directly regulated commerce therein, in violation of the
dormant Commerce Clause”) (internal quotation marks
omitted); National Solid Wastes, 63 F.3d at 657-60 (7th
Cir.) (invalidating statute that “essentially controls the
conduct of those engaged in commerce occurring wholly
outside the State of Wisconsin and therefore directly regu-
lates interstate commerce” without engaging in Pike bal-
ancing); NCAA, 10 F.3d at 639-40 (9th Cir.) (Nevada stat-
ute with “extraterritorial effect” was “a per se violation of
the Commerce Clause”); ACLU, 194 F.3d at 1161 (10th

6

Cir.) (New Mexico statute “represents an attempt to regu-
late interstate conduct occurring outside New Mexico’s
borders, and is accordingly a per se violation of the Com-
merce Clause”). RLH attempts to muddy the issue by
claiming that these decisions invalidated statutes after
determining that in “practical effect” the statutes “unduly
burdened” interstate commerce. Opp. 12-14. RLH is
wrong. Each of these decisions held that, because the
statute at issue regulated wholly extraterritorial conduct,
it was invalid per se. See American Booksellers, 342 F.3d
at 104; National Solid Wastes, 63 F.3d at 658; NCAA, 10
F.3d at 640; ACLU, 194 F.3d at 1161.

These circuit court decisions thus squarely conflict with
the decision below, which conceded that RLH’s lawsuit
sought to control commercial conduct outside of Califor-
nia, but held that its constitutionality nevertheless turned
on the outcome of a balancing test. See Pet. App. 15a-16a.
Indeed, the lower court believed that this Court’s per se
rule against direct extraterritorial regulation was re-
stricted to the context of price-affirmation statutes, a
proposition that the Second and Seventh Circuits have
specifically rejected. Compare id. at 13a with American
Booksellers, 342 F.3d at 103-04, and National Solid
Wastes, 63 F.3d at 659-60.

Like the California court, the First and Eighth Circuits
have refused to recognize the per se rule against direct
extraterritorial regulation. See Grant’s Dairy, 232 F.3d at
19 (“thle] reference to direct regulation as a basis for in-
validation has not been repeated in subsequent Supreme
Court opinions and it does not fit into the West Lynn
framework”) (citations omitted); Southern Union, 289
F.3d at 508 (“liJn its recent Commerce Clause decisions,
the Supreme Court has limited its per se rule of invalidity
to provisions that patently discriminate against interstate
trade”) (internal quotation marks omitted). RLH does not
deny that these decisions reject the per se rule; rather,
RLH argues that the First Circuit’s position is better en-
capsulated in Pharmaceutical Research & Manufacturers

7

of America v. Concannon, 249 F.3d 66 (1st Cir. 2001),
aff'd, 538 U.S. 644 (2003), than in Grant’s Dairy, and that
the Eighth Circuit’s position is better represented in Cotto
Waxo Co. v. Williams, 46 F.3d 790 (8th Cir. 1995), than in
Southern Union (despite the fact that Southern Union is
the more recent case). Concannon, however, dealt with a
statute that it found did not regulate transactions or con-
duct occurring wholly outside the State, see 249 F.3d at
81-82; thus, it did not have to hold that such direct extra-
territorial regulation was or was not per se unconstitu-
tional. Similarly, because Cotto Waxo found that the
statute at issue did not have “extraterritorial reach,” 46
F.3d at 793-94, it too did not need to hold that direct ex-
traterritorial regulation was or was not per se invalid.

Ill. The Decision Below Conflicts With Controlling
Supreme Court Law

RLH does not dispute that this Court has endorsed a
two-tiered approach to dormant Commerce Clause juris-
prudence: a state statute that “directly regulates . . . in-
terstate commerce” is unconstitutional “without further
inquiry,” while a statute that “has only indirect effects on
interstate commerce and regulates evenhandedly” is un-
constitutional if “the burden on interstate commerce
clearly exceeds the local benefits.” Brown-Forman, 476
U.S. at 579 (emphases added). As the Court explained in
Healy, “the Commerce Clause ... precludes the applica-
tion of a state statute to commerce that takes place wholly
outside of the State’s borders, whether or not the com-
merce has effects within the State.” 491 U.S. at 336 (em-
phasis added; alteration in original).

Nevertheless, RLH contends that the lower court “cor-
rectly applied the first tier of this Court’s two-tier Com-
merce Clause analysis.” Opp. 17. That is manifestly
false. The lower court simply ignored the per se “first tier”
of the Court’s analysis by stating that, in all cases,
Commerce Clause jurisprudence “focuses on the balance
between the state law’s benefits to local commerce and
its burdens upon interstate commerce, not simply on

8

the location of the challenged conduct.” Pet. App. 15a
(emphasis added). RLH’s argument that the lower court
sanctioned extraterritorial regulation only when out-of-
state conduct causes harm in California, see Opp. 19, is
beside the point. Controlling wholly out-of-state conduct
is impermissible “whether or not the commerce has effects
within the State,” Healy, 491 U.S. at 336 (emphasis
added; internal quotation marks omitted).

RLH’s suggestion that other jurisdictions have upheld
state antitrust statutes with “incidental effects” on inter-
state commerce, Opp. 19-20, is similarly irrelevant. The
impact on interstate commerce here is direct, rather than
an “incidental” consequence of regulation of in-state activ-
ity. See Pet. 11-12.

Finally, contrary to RLH’s assertion, AT&T never con-
ceded “that a nexus between out-of-state anticompetitive
conduct and in-state impact upon consumers or markets”
would prevent extraterritorial regulation from violating
the Commerce Clause. Opp. 22. Rather, AT&T explained
that direct regulation of wholly extraterritorial conduct
is impermissible even when that conduct has in-state
effects, but that the lower court also erred in concluding
that any injury to RLH from the alleged conduct of
AT&T’s out-of-state subsidiaries amounted to a substan-
tial effect on California commerce. See Pet. 12-13. In any
event, the distinction between an impact on markets and
an impact solely on a potential plaintiff is hardly a “dis-
tinction without a difference,” Opp. 22, in antitrust law.
Matsushita specifically found that an injury to plaintiffs,
which were U.S. companies, did not amount to an effect
on U.S. commerce warranting application of the Sherman
Act. 475 U.S. at 582 & n.6. Similarly, an injury to RLH is
not a substantial effect on California commerce.

IV. This Case Is A Superior Vehicle For The Ques-
tion Presented

This case cleanly presents a pure question of law:
whether direct regulation of wholly extraterritorial con-
duct is a per se violation of the Commerce Clause, or

9

whether its constitutionality turns on the outcome of a
balancing test. RLH attempts to obscure the question
presented by distorting the facts of the case. RLH first
suggests that the claims at issue in this petition are based
on RLH’s efforts to sell HVP devices in California. See
Opp. 3. That is false: RLH asserted claims based on its
activities in California only against Pacific Bell, the local
telephone company in California. RLH could not assert
such claims against AT&T’s out-of-state subsidiaries,
which do not provide local telephone service in California,
and thus could not have prevented California customers
from purchasing RLH’s equipment through any alleged
tying arrangement. The claims against Pacific Bell have
been dismissed and are not at issue here. See Pet. 4 n.2.

Nor does AT&T “fail[] to acknowledge that its conduct
has caused injury to California commerce,” Opp. 4. The
only injury from the alleged anticompetitive conduct of
AT&T's out-of-state subsidiaries identified by RLH is to
RLH itself, and an injury to a California plaintiff is not an
injury to California commerce. Even now, RLH relies on
the “‘ripple’ effects” of the harm to RLH on RLH’s employ-
ees and suppliers. Opp. 5 n.3. But if such “ripple effects”
of injury sustained by a California resident in its efforts to
compete outside the State constitute an injury to Califor-
nia commerce, then the “ripple effects” of injuries to the
plaintiffs in Matsushita would surely have constituted an
effect on U.S. commerce. On that theory, any State would
be able to regulate commerce occurring in other States
that has a financial impact on one of its residents.‘

* RLH is also wrong to suggest that “California was the locus of part
of the allegedly wrongful conduct” described in RLH’s complaint. Opp.
4. RLH did allege in its Second Amended Comp/aint that an employee
of “PacBell and/or SBC” based in California, Don Murray, participated
in a uniform decision by AT&T's non-California subsidiaries not to ap-
prove use of RLH’s HVP equipment. Pet. App. 32a (€ 24). However, it
is undisputed that Mr. Murray was in fact an employee of a third
party, SBC Services, Inc., not of SBC Communications Inc. or of Pacific
Beli. Before the Court of Appeal, RLH did not rely on any alleged in-
state conduct by Mr. Murray as a basis for application of California law

10

RLH further errs in suggesting that any factual dis-
putes regarding the status of filed tariffs in other States
bear on the Court’s consideration of the question pre-
sented. While the existence of these tariffs illustrates the
inconsistent regulation that results when States govern
extraterritorially, it is irrelevant to the question whether
RLH’s lawsuit violates the Commerce Clause per se. The
point of a per se rule is precisely that constitutionality
does not turn on the extent of the conflict in a particular
case.

RLH’s next error is to claim that the decision below is of
limited practical significance. In fact, the decision is
highly significant because it squarely rejects the core
principle that a State may not regulate conduct occurring
wholly outside its borders. The lower court’s decision is of
particular concern because it is not restricted to the con-
text of state antitrust statutes. Indeed, the court held
that the per se rule against direct extraterritorial regula-
tion was itself restricted to the context of price-
affirmation statutes. See Pet. App. 13a. The decision
thus has enormous practical import: it requires compa-
nies across the nation that conduct no business in Cali-
fornia or with California consumers to conform their ac-
tions to California law, given the possibility that a Cali-
fornia resident may believe itself injured by conduct out-
side the State. See Pet. 19-23.°

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

to the activity of AT&T's non-California subsidiaries. See Appellant's
Reply Br. at 17-25. The court itself similarly did not rely on any al-
leged conduct by Mr. Murray.

° RLH suggests in passing that the Court's denial of certiorari in
Beretta U.S.A. Corp. v. District of Columbia, 126 S. Ct. 399 (2005) (No.
05-118), means that it should deny review here. The lower court in
Beretta, however, found that the state statute at issue did not directly
regulate commerce outside the State. See District of Columbia v.
Beretta U.S.A. Corp., 872 A.2d 633, 657 (D.C. 2005). Thus, Beretta did
not squarely present the issue raised in this petiiion.

JAVIER AGUILAR

WILLIAM M. SCHUR
AT&T SERVICES, INC.

175 E. Houston Street
4th Floor

San Antonio, Texas 78205
(210) 351-3409

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL K. KELLOGG
Counsel of Record

SEAN A. LEV

PRIYA R. AIYAR

KELLOGG, HUBER, HANSEN,
TODD, EVANS & FIGEL,
P.L.L.C.

1615 M Street, N.W.

Suite 400

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 326-7900

Counsel for Petitioner

July 5, 2006

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0943%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
