# Amicus Curiae Brief — Minnesota v. Allen (No. 05-1078)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0861%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005

## Text

7

to their sentencing statutes. See Don Stemen & Daniel F.
Wilhelm, Supreme Court Decision Focuses State Attention on
Sentencing Regimes, in State News 21-24 (Council of State
Govt's, June/July 2005). The various proposals suggest that
these States “seem to be favoring one particular proposition:
the preservation of presumptive sentencing with the notable
addition of fact-finding. This means asking juries—not
judges —to find beyond a reasonable doubt the facts required
to justify an aggravated sentence.” /d. at 21-22. However,
the States that have adopted this position have not done so
because they believe it to be the best policy; rather, they have
responded to what they perceive to be the rule of Blakely.

More broadly, in every State contemplating sentencing
reform in response to Blakely, the scope of the Sixth
Amendment jury-trial right is a crucial factor in designing
the criminal sentencing framework. The benefits from
consideration of offender characteristics may be less
meaningful as the costs of conducting the necessary factual
inquiry rise. Similarly, States may presume that courts,
which have much broader experience than particular juries
in observing criminal defendants at trial, at sentencing, and
at probation revocation proceedings, are better positioned to
assess Offender characteristics such as likelihood of
recidivism, potential for rehabilitation, or amenability to
probation. If the Sixth Amendment requires that the
assessment of such offender characteristics be committed to
the jury rather than the court, some States may reasonably
decide to abandon consideration of such characteristics, or
abandon structured sentencing, altogether.

In short, the resolution of the question presented in
Minnesota’s petition will have a significant impact on the
States’ continuing assessments of their various sentencing
frameworks.

8

Il. The Decision Below Misapplies Blakely And Conflicts
With This Court’s Decisions Recognizing The Role Of
Offender-Specific Facts In Sentencing.

The Court should grant Minnesota’s petition because the
decision below misapplies Blakely and _ erroneously
invalidates a critical feature of Minnesota’s structured
sentencing regime.

Blakely establishes that a sentencing court operating in a
structured sentencing regime may not increase a defendant's
sentence beyond the presumptive sentence based on offense-
specific facts that were not found by the jury or admitted by
the defendant. See 542 U.S. at 303-305 (holding that the Sixth
Amendment did not permit a sentencing court to depart
upward from the standard range based on the court’s own
finding that the defendant acted with “deliberate cruelty”).
Blakely does not suggest, however, that the same rule applies
where the sentencing court departs from the presumptive
sentence based on offender-specific facts such as likelihood of
recidivism or amenability to probation. These facts do not
relate in any way to the nature of “the crime the State actually
seeks to punish.” /d. at 307. Rather, they provide contextual
information for the sentencing court to consider in assessing
the “whole person and personality” of the defendant and the
propriety of a particular sentence within a_ statutory
framework. Grayson, 438 U.S. at 53.

Neither the text of the Sixth Amendment nor the historic
understanding of the jury-trial right compels the conclusion
that sentencing courts may not make their own findings of
offender-specific facts. The Sixth Amendment guarantees a
jury for criminal prosecutions, and governments prosecute
criminal conduct, not offender characteristics. There is no
sense in which a defendant's likelihood of recidivism or
amenability to probation constitutes an element of the
criminal offense, and to conflate such offender characteristics
with elements of the offense is to erase any meaningful
distinction between the conviction and the sentence. In this

9

case, the State seeks to punish the offense of first-degree test
refusal, not “first-degree test-refusal by a person who is
unamenable to probation.”

This Court’s decisions have long recognized the
sentencing court's role in tailoring the sentence to the
particular offender. As this Court noted in Mistretta, federal
courts “[flor almost a century” enjoyed “wide discretion to
decide whether the offender should be incarcerated and for
how long, whether he should be fined and for how much,
and whether some lesser restraint, such as probation, should
be imposed instead of imprisonment or fine.” 488 U.S. at
363; accord id. at 364 (noting that “Congress delegated almost
unfettered discretion to the sentencing judge to determine
what the sentence should be within the customarily wide
range”). In the exercise of this wide discretion, sentencing
courts needed “the fullest information possible concerning
the defendant's life and characteristics.” Williams, 337 U.S. at
247. Since “[rleformation and rehabilitation of offenders
have become important goals of criminal jurisprudence,” id.
at 248, the Court has observed that “[t]o an unspecified
degree, the sentencing judge is obligated to make his
decision on the basis, among others, of predictions regarding,
the convicted defendant's potential, or lack of potential, for
rehabilitation,” Grayson, 438 U.S. at 47-48 (footnote omitted).
Thus, it has long been recognized that the sentencing court,
within limits, may tailor a sentence to the particular
defendant, taking account of facts that relate solely to that
defendant’s own personal history, personality, and character.

Properly understood in light of the text and_ this
traditional understanding of the Sixth Amendment jury-trial
guarantee, Blakely applies to upward departures based on
facts related to the offense, not facts related solely to the
offender. See generally Douglas A. Berman, Distinguishing
Offense Conduct and Offender Characteristics in Modern
Sentencing Reforms, 58 Stan. L. Rev. 277 (2005); Douglas A.
Berman, Conceptualizing Blakely, 17 Fed. Sent. R. 89 (2004).

F ]

10

The decision below conflicts with this natural reading of
Blakely, holding instead that Blakely forbids any departure
from any aspect of a presumptive sentence based on any fact
not found by the jury or admitted by the defendant.

Indeed, under the reasoning of the court below, the Sixth
Amendment guarantees a criminal defendant a jury trial not
only on the question of which laws he may have violated, but
also on the question whether he would be a better candidate
for prison or probation, and whether retribution or
rehabilitation would be more appropriate in his case. The
Sixth Amendment has never been understood to require so
much, and this Court’s decisions do not require such a
sweeping result. E.¢., Almendarez-Torres v. United States, 523
U.S. 224, 243 (1998) (noting that likelihood of recidivism is “a
traditional, if not the most traditional, basis for a sentencing
court’s increasing an offender’s sentence”); Grayson, 438 U.S.
at 55 (reaffirming the authority of the sentencing court to
assess the defendant's “prospects for rehabilitation and
restoration to a useful place in society”).

> Respondent's argument that Apprendi itself involved a sentence
enhancement based on an offender characteristic misses the mark.
See Opp’n at 5. At issue in Apprendi was a hate-crimes statute that
authorized a sentence enhancement if the defendant “in
committing the crime” acted with animus toward groups or
individuals with specified characteristics. Apprendi v. New Jersey,
530 U.S. 466, 468-469 (2000). By its own terms, that statute focused
on the defendant's motive for committing the particular offense,
not offender characteristics that exist separate and apart from the
particular offense.

1]

Ill. The Decision Below, While Consistent With A Recent
Ninth Circuit Decision, Conflicts With Decisions From
The Highest Courts Of Other States And Illustrates
Broader Disagreement On The Impact Of Blakely.

Not only does the decision below conflict with the most
natural reading of Blakely, but it also conflicts with the
decisions of the highest courts of other States.

1. The decision below squarely conflicts with the
decision of the Supreme Court of Hawaii in State v. Kaua, 72
P.3d 473 (Haw. 2003). The defendant in Kaua challenged his
sentence on the ground that he was sentenced as a “multiple
offender” based on a finding by the sentencing court, not the
jury, that an extended term was “necessary for protection of
the public.”* The court rejected this argument, holding that
Apprendi does not require jury factfinding on issues that are
“extrinsic” to the conviction. /d. at 485. Whereas the
Supreme Court of Hawaii distinguishes “extrinsic” offender
characteristics from offense-related facts that are “intrinsic”
to the crime of conviction, the court below treats all facts the
same under Apprendi and Blakely.

The conflict on this issue is even more stark given the
Ninth Circuit's recent decision affirming a judgment granting
habeas relief to Kaua on the ground that Apprendi forecloses
any distinction between “intrinsic” and “extrinsic” facts in
sentencing. See Kaua v. Frank, 436 F.3d 1057, 1060-1062 (9th
Cir. 2006). According to the Ninth Circuit, “a jury should
have made the public protection finding.” /d. at 1062. That
of course is consistent with the decision below in this case,
but flatly contrary to the Hawaii Svupzeme Court's approach.

* Under Hawaii's sentencing regime, a defendant is subject to an
extended sentence if the defendant “is a multipie offender whose
criminal actions were so extensive that a sentence of imprisonment
for an extended term is necessary for protection of the public.” 72
P.3d at 473 n.1. Kaua admitted that he was a multiple offender. Id.
at 476.

12

2. As Respondent acknowledges, the cecision below
also conflicts with the decision of the Supreme Court of
Kansas in State v. Carr, 53 P.3d 843 (Kan. 2002), concerning
the application of Apprendi to dispositional departures.
Whereas the court below held that Apprendi and Blakely bar
any upward departures from the presumptive sentence based
on judicial findings, see 706 N.W.2d at 46, the court in Carr
held that “Apprendi applies only to upward durational
departures,” not dispositional departures, 53 P.3d at 850.
According to Carr, because “[p]robation and parole are
dispositions alternate to the serving of a sentence, and
neither probation nor parole increase[s] nor decrease[s] the
sentence required to be imposed by the statute,” a
dispositional departure does not implicate the jury trial right
described by Apprendi. Ibid. Although the distinction
between dispositional and durational departures is not raised
in the question presented, this conflict illustrates the need for
clarification of the scope of Apprendi and Blakely in structured
sentencing regimes.

3. More generally, state courts are also divided on
Blakeley’s impact on structured sentencing. In addition to the
court below, the highest courts of Arizona, Colorado,
Indiana, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oregon, and
Washington have held that Blakely applies to any upward
departure from a _ presumptive sentence based on
aggravating factors found by the sentencing court. See State
v. Brown, 99 P.3d 15, 17-18 (Ariz. 2004); Lopez v. People, 113
P.3d 713, 726 (Colo. 2005); Smylie v. State, 823 N.E.2d 679,
683-684 (Ind. 2005); State v. Natale, 878 A.2d 724, 737-739 (N.j.
2005); State v. Allen, 615 S.E.2d 256, 264-266 (N.C. 2005); State
v. Dilts, 103 P.3d 95, 98-99 (Or. 2004); State v. Huglies, 110 P.3d
192, 201-204 (Wash. 2005). Specifically, the Supreme Court of
Washington has held that Blakely forbids a sentencing court
to depart from a presumptive sentence based on offender-
specific findings that the defendant lacked remorse, held a
disregard for the law, and likely would not benefit from
rehabilitation. Hughes, 110 P.3d at 202-204.

13

By contrast, the highest courts of California and
Tennessee have held that judge-found facts may support
upward departures from a presumptive sentence where the
court retains discretion within the sentencing regime to set a
sentence within the statutory range. See People v. Black, 113
P.3d 534, 545-548 (Cal. 2005); State v. Gomez, 163 S.W.3d 632,
658-662 (Tenn. 2005). According to the Supreme Court of
California, “Apprendi, Blakely, and Booker all make clear that
judicial factfinding is acceptable in the context of a
discretionary sentencing decision.” Black, 113 P.3d at 547.4

These conflicts are intolerable given that thousands of
criminal defendants are sentenced every day throughout the
States and that the validity of their sentences may depend
upon the proper interpretation of Blakely. Just as Booker-
based challenges have flooded the federa! courts of appeals,
Blakely-based challenges have flooded state appellate courts.
The conflicts among state courts about the scope of the jury-
trial right in structured sentencing regimes generally, and
with respect to offender characteristics specifically, likely will
not be resolved absent a definitive ruling from this Court.
The conflicts on these issues are unlikely to abate and
therefore ripe for ultimate resolution by this Court.

kkkeaek

The States bear the primary responsibility for fashioning
criminal sentencing procedures, and fashioning such
procedures is complicated work. Just as there are various
philosophical approaches to punishment, the States have
adopted various frameworks for criminal sentencing. This

4 The Court will consider application of Blakely to California’s
sentencing, regime in Cunningham v. California, No. 05-6551. Given
that California’s sentencing regime, like Minnesota’s, authorizes
the sentencing, court to increase a sentence based on its own
findings of identified factors, the decision in Cunningham might
influene the resolution of this case. But it is unlikely to be
dispositive.

14

diversity is useful, for one State’s experiment with
determinate (or indeterminate) sentencing may uncover
particular practical flaws that lead to improvements in other
States. See Blakely, 542 U.S. at 327 (Kennedy, J., dissenting)
(noting “the interest of the States to serve as laboratories for
innovation and experiment’). As they experiment with
different approaches, however, the States must know the
contours of applicable Sixth Amendment limitations,
especially with respect to basic issues such as the role of
offender characteristics. By granting Minnesota’s petition
and deciding this case, the Court can provide the needed
certainty.

CONCLUSION
The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted.

STEVEN J. TUCKER GENE C. SCHAERR
Prosecuting Attorney of Counsel of Record
Spokane County, Washington STEFFEN N. JOHNSON
1100 West Mallon Avenue JEFFREY M. ANDERSON
Spokane, WA 99260 Winston & Strawn LLP
(509) 477-3662 1700 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 282-5000

Counsel for Amici Curiae
MARCH 2006

NORM MALENG

Prosecuting Attorney of King
County, Washington

516 3rd Avenue

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 296-9000

DAVID W. MARQUEZ
Attorney General of Alaska
P.O. Box 110300

Juneau, AK 99811

(907) 465-2133

PHILL KLINE

Attorney General of Kansas
120 SW 10th Ave., 2d Floor
Topeka, KS 66612

(785) 296-2215

CHARLES C. FOTI

Attorney General of Louisiana
P.O. Box 94005

Baton Rouge, LA 70804
(225) 399-5190

Mik&s MCGRATH

Attorney General of Montana
Department of Justice

P.O. Box 201401

Helena, MT 59620
(406) 444-2026

15

GEORGE J. CHANOS

Attorney General of Nevada

Nevada Department of
Justice

100 North Carson Street

Carson City, NV 89701

(775) 684-1112

HARDY MYERS

Attorney General of Oregon
1162 Court Street N.E.
Salem, OR 97301

(503) 378-4400

WILLIAM K. SORRELL
Attorney General of Vermont
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609
(802) 828-3171

ROB MCKENNA

Attorney General of Washington
1125 Washington Street

P.O. Box 40100

Olympia, WA 98504

(360) 753-6200

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0861%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
