# Prologue — Oakland City City University University University v. United States (No. 05-1035)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0831%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Prologue
- **Published:** January 1, 2005

## Text

C)) rea:
No. . Gs
@51035FFH 1 2 2006

Jr OH eOFFICE OF THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the Anited States

*

OAKLAND CITY UNIVERSITY,
founded by GENERAL BAPTISTS, INC.
d/b/a OAKLAND CITY UNIVERSITY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ex rel.
JEFFREY E. MAIN,

Responden

*

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEAL§,
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Pe"
—_ CoO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WITH APPENDIX
%

Michael J. McManus James D. } nnson
Counsel of Record RUDOLPH, FINE, PORTER
Jeffrey J. Lopez & JOHNSON, LLP
Jonathan D. Tarnow 221 N.W.-Fifth Street
Brooke E. McDonough Second Floor

DRINKER BIDDLE & REATH LLP P.O. Box 1507

1500 K Street, N.W. Evansville, Indiana 47708
Suite 1100 (812) 422-9444
Washington, DC 20005-1209

(202) 842-8800

Counsel for Petitioner Counsel for Petitioner

THE LEX GROUP®*C ¢ 1750 K Street N.W. @ Suite 475 ¢ Washington, DC 20006
(202) 955-0001 @ (800) 815-3791 @ Fax: (202) 955-0022 www.thelexgroupdc.com

QUESTION PRESENTED

The District Court dismissed relator’s claim
under the False Claims Act (“FCA”), 37 U.S.C. 3729
(2000), et seq., finding that an uncertified statement
by Petitioner, a university participating in the
federal student aid program under the Higher
Education Act of 1965 (“HEA”), in its Program
Participation Agreement (“PPA”) with the United
States Department of Education (“ED”) could not be
the basis of FCA liability because the PPA is not a
claim for federal funds. On appeal, a panel of the
Seventh Circuit reversed, finding, in conflict with
decisions of the Second, Fourth, Fifth, Ninth, and
District of Columbia Circuit Courts of Appeal, that
uncertified statements made in a federal program
participation agreement may constitute false
statements uncer the FCA. The Seventh Circuit’s
decision also directly conflicts with a decision of the
Fifth Circuit which, on substantially identical facts,
held that a statement in the PPA could not be used
to support FCA liability against a university.

A single question is presented for review:

1. Whether an institution’s statement that it
will comply with general regulatory conditions, made
in an agreement to participate in a federal program,
May constitute a false statement under the False
Claims Act, even where the statement is uncertified
and is not a condition of payment under the
program,

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties named in the caption are the only
parties to this proceeding. The Department of
Justice declined to intervene before the district
court, but filed a Statement of Interest before the
district court and appeared as amicus curie before
the court of appeals. This petition is timely filed on
February 15, 2006.

CQRPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to this Courts Rule 29.6,
undersigned counsel states that Petitioner Oakland
City University (“OCU”), founded by General
Baptists, Incorporated, d/b/a Oakland City
University has no parent company, and no publicly
held company owns 10% or more of its stock.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRIEBIENTED ....0:cccsiccssceccoscossorscovssnssceses i
I I ai sitickisinpecicannviirecaercaneicaiacainiagl ii
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT. ........... ii
TABLE OF COT MIIG .nncicccccssccscciscivneyscsensaccsvenses iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES oo.ssscsssecsesosssssssoeore v
een ne ee eee PELE sie pee 1
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ..........ccccecesessseees 1
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ................. 1
STATA OF THE CAG. ci. ccsciscieseccosncoctssoon 2
The Federal Student Aid and PPA Process ....... | ean! 3
The Action Below bids canadien ded masnbenaidacais ceaimuniolne: 7
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE
5 | gemeesereainen escPatesisnet Nera oon ane Missin renin enue” H

I. Review Is Warranted To Resolve
A Circuit Split Regarding
Whether FCA Liability May
Arise From An _ Uncertified
Statement That Is Not A
Precondition Of Payment. ................... 12

iv

IT. Review Is Necessary To Resolve
A Circuit Split Regarding
Whether FCA Liability Can
Attach To False Statements
PROG TR BT, vhcnesisiseccccsvccrvind cn 17

A. The PPA is not a claim
made to the government
and contains no
CRPCRTNCOCIOY soi os diccvccadsccccsacexiuns 17

B. The Seventh Circuit’s
decision conflicts with the
Fifth Circuit’s holding that
only a certified statement
in the PPA can be the
basis of FCA liability ................ 20

III. Review Of The Seventh Circuit’s
Decision Is Necessary To Limit
The FCA To False Claims for
Government Payment ................c00eeeeee 23

CU ree iesdiser thekicinsshrsepdannnicieictacanntateninenons 29

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
i Page(s)
CASES
Ab-Tech Constr., Inc. v. United States,
31 Fed. Cl. 429 (Fed. Cl. 1994)................ccs0 15

Cook County v. United States ex rel. Chandler,
Re Fe 0 ee TIED ccvecsnducdunucosscechaseveenenevcociens 12

Harrison v. Westinghouse Savannah River Co.,
176 F.3d 776 (4th Cir. 1999)................ 8, 14, 24

Shaw v. AAA Eng’g & Drafting, Inc.,
213 F.3d 519 (10th Cir. 2000).................000000 15

United States ex rel Bowan v.
Educ. America, Inc.,
No. 00-3028, slip op.
(S.D. Tex. Jan 7, 2004), affd, 7
116 Fed. Appx. 531, No. 04-20384,
2004 U.S. App. LEXIS 24673
(5th Cir. 2004), cert denied,
Ra es Ae CIEE ccvedneacovcsnssentensesoviaceseuths 22

United States ex rel Gay v.
Lincoln Technical Inst.,
No. 3:01-CV-505-,
2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 25968, affd,
111 Fed. Appx. 286,
2004 U.S. App. LEXIS 21489, cert denied,

RE is ere: Ie ITE i vas Sattariencdinceeynibeenertoriens 22

United States ex rel Graves v. ITT Educ. Sves.,
284 F. Supp. 2d 487 (S.D. Tex. 2003),

affd per curium,

No. 03-20460,

2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 21799 (5th Cir.)

cert denied,

TZO GS. CE. TAOS CIO] oceviccceccccsicsviccecesvie passim

United States ex rel. Gross v.
AIDS Research Alliance,

415 F.3d 601 (7* Cir. 2005) .............00scc0eess 9,16

United States ex rel. Hendow v.
Univ. of Phoenix

No. S-03-CV-457,

2004 U.S. Dist LEXIS 28990

(E.D. Cal. May 20, 2004), appeal docketed,
No. 04-16247 (June 21, 2004 9th Cir.) ....11, 22

United States ex rel. Hopper v. Anton,
91 F.3d 1261 (Oth Cir. 1996)................. passim

United States ex rel. Lamers v. Green Bay,
168 F.3d 1013 (7th Cir. 1999)..........0...0..0... oe?

United States ex rel. Mikes,
274 F.3d 687 (2d Cir. 2001)............2....... passim

United States ex rel. Ortega v.

Columbia Healthcare, Inc.,
240 F. Supp. 2d. 8 (D.D.C. 2003)..............0.... 28

United States ex rel Siewick v.
Jamieson Science and Eng'g, Inc.,

214 F.3d 1372 (D.C. Cir. 2000).................. 9,15

Vil

Columbia/Hi” Wealtheare Corp.,

125 F. * 399 (5th Cir. 1997)...........004.. 8,13, 14
United States v. Southland Mgmt. Corp.,

326 F.3d 669 (5th Cir. 2003) .............sssccceeseees 13
STATUTES
Be Tae © BE av scccssntctesvscstiarechintbbiiapenitnniniaiben 1
20 U.S.C. § 1002....... be ne 1
TP Ts © RU vi csiissitninsaiavenivinscinciiicanmenmamenaed 1
BO UA. FOTOS OE, sevciiccicrisissssnieainiainen 2
eS ies & ME ie kacdensncincexsteenenssinvinsteapsncmbbciaiasaned ae
Be Us Se ivciickinevpavcstesicincentnsee ea, 18
Fee RRA PI sishsncisinsessctveceateen omens 1
PF AS As: FI vctccnsstninstscsonsssnitasetabiolaidsidignegiens 22
20 U.S.C. § 1094 (C).....seseesecseessersestesseereeneeeteeeecens 25, 26
20 USL. § LOBES MB MID «. osccccscnnescuscsessenosscressoanens 26
SE A ait EO aicicriivdstsiiectidnlcorsiocsicaeamenaen 1, 26
MU (EY 1

MUSC 1G. ea ae

viii

Nee ceummiacsooneao: 1
TE 12
Ne i. capucpumeieeaceanetane 2
OR OD oa cucsnscoavenrsesesacesseevevoserécasoreococe 1
a scsecevevomseeseissarins 2
REGULATIONS
Me FOOTE onc ccccsceccseccsscosoecsecscsce 2
iis cscoacevsecessveosesecsioconsocsccesons 4,18
cic nccskcessesecescsovecsescescevesscn, 4,18
ii covcdenssconsorssesrreesecsceneres 4,18
Oe a cccssceccoveareconevseccecoossscouss 26
Oe BN on cocccecccsccescossntsovesovsscecececsoece, 18
Be WO ID oon ccs cocecessoeccnsccosocessesedsosssce 18
| a REE 2
SO ee 5, 6
ee 19
TX 2

Ne BR ooo ocesencaousecsvsvissceerasonsonscvennese 2,6, 19

OG SA nies ee Disiedeciesencccinscsahandonsibssninsientatonn 4, 27
6 CF tke F GO BO ecrcsrscccsessevitornestsenevereeesons ervvvehy 27
SF ies Ne ites petenn nc tapntenncicinilaipsimiinandiiana 18
ee Oe SUE tissnbviv<aihivecibiabeivihaianscatenainiaiabiasiasa 18
Se ale ese sini ciacecbsncasekcieciesibesscnincbiiebans 18, 19
S46 CPR. § GGG. IGE ....ccesescvcsessoceses visiddipapibclisaknamibaieiies 19
34 C.F.R. § 668.166............... ‘das Necocvesiucbiiaiaucesiba pivessascae
ae SGT sii cisibctstiontneoicaeianninsanciaiboonsvlipaienteniein 6
OTHER AUTHORITIES

The College Board, Trends in Student Aid

United States Department of Education,
National Center for Education Statistics,

2003—04 National Postsecondary Student Aid

FE GING TIED estes cismsrvisnncsttinseceinbtdequienmnietiaieninincae

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals fur the Seventh Circuit is reported at 426
F.3d 914 (7th Cir. 2005). (Reproduced at App. 1a.)
The court of appeals denied OCU’s Petition for Panel -
Rehearing with Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc
on November 17, 2005 in an unreported decision.
(Reproduced at App. 25a.) The opinion of the United
States District Court for the Southern District of
Indiana granting OCU’s motion to dismiss is
unreported. (Reproduced at App. 9a.)

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (2000). The district court had
jurisdiction over relator’s claim pursuant to 31
U.S.C. § 3730(b) (2000). The court of appeals had
jurisdiction to review the final judgment of the
district court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291 (2000).
The court of appeals filed its opinion on October 10,
2005. It denied OCU’s timely petition for panel
rehearing or rehearing en banc on November 17,
2005.

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY
PROVISIONS

Attached as appendices:

20 U.S.C. § 1001-1003 (at App. 25a—40a)
20 U.S.C. § 1094 (at App. 45a)
20 U.S.C. § 1099c (at App. 66a)

31 U.S.C § 3729 (at App. 83a)

31 U.S.C. § 3730 (at App. 87a)
34 C.F.R. § 600.1-600.11 (at App. 97a)
34 C.F.R. § 600.20-600.21 (at App. 144a)

34 C.F.R. § 668.13— 668.14 (at App. 159a)
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Oakland City University (“OCU”) is a
private, non-profit institution of higher education
founded in 1885 by the General Association of
General Baptists. OCU is accredited by the Higher
Learning. Commission of the North Central
Association of Colleges and Schools, the Association
of Theological Schools and the National Council for
Accreditation of Teacher Education. While the
University enrolls significant numbers of traditional
undergraduate students, it also focuses on serving
qualified students from low income families and
adults for whom higher education is not always
accessible. OCU is a participant in federa’ -tudent
aid programs under Title IV of the Higher Education
Act of 1965, as amended (20 U.S.C. § 1070 (2000) et
seq.) (“HEA”).

Respondent Jeffrey Main (“Main”), a former
OCU admissions representative, alleges that OCU
paid its admissions staff commissions, bonuses, and
other incentives based on their success in securing
the enrollment of new students in violation ot United
States Department of Education (“ED”) regulations.
Main seeks to benefit financially from this alleged
regulatory violation by his filing of a qui tam action
against OCU under the False Claim Act, 37 U.S.C. §
3729 (2000) (“FCA”). Ajthough regulatory violations
are not generally actionable under the FCA, Main

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0831%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
