# Opposition Brief — Hogner v. Strenke (No. 05-1026)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0825%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

a Se
(2) wriha>
No. 05-1026 MAY 18 Wits

— Term om |

3u The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

e»
vv

LEVI HOGNER,

Petitioner,

V.

LEROY M. STRENKE and
JUANITA M. S1.2ENKE,

Respondents.

&
4

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The State Of Wisconsin
Court Of Appeals

é&
a4

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

¢

MARK S. YOUNG

Counsel of Record

HABUSH HABUSH & ROTTIER S.C.
777 East Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53202

(414) 271-0900

Counsel for Respondents

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Respondents object to Petitioner’s statement of the
question presented on the grounds that it is argumenta-
tive. The question presented for review, more properly
stated, is:

Whether the Wisconsin Court of Appeals properly
determined that the punitive damage award of $225,000
did not violate the protections afforded by the Due Process
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Ee Bg, | 1
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...............ccssccesessssssereeeeseees iii
STATEMENT ON JURISDICTION....000... ce eceeeeeeeeeeeee 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.................:ccssssceseesssecessees 1
ARGUMENT FOR DENYING THE PETITION .......... 3

I. The Wisconsin Court of Appeals Did Not
Dismiss or Ignore State Farm’s Comments
About a Single-Digit Ratio.............cceececceeeeeceees 3

II. Hogner Has Waived the Right to Question the
Consideration of Potential Harm in the Puni-
Cire ROD RIOD vrcccccccrntccccevecivesibilitnnenreneens 6

III. Hogner’s Claim That the Wisconsin Court of
Appeals Misapplied This Court’s Decision in
State Farm Is Not a Basis for Granting Certio-

TOUT, accnsssovsesreseninitersansiseitanstnauinenieaiaisiinanessinadas 7

IV. Applying the Principles in State Farm, the
Wisconsin Court of Appeals Correctly Deter-
mined that the Jury’s Punitive Damages Ver-
dict Did Not Violate Hogner’s Due Process

A. Hogner’s Conduct Was Reprehensible........ 11

B. The Wisconsin Court Properly Evaluated
the Proportionality of the Punitive Dam-
ages Award, Including Considering the Po-
tential Harm or Damages...................0cee0e 12

C. Petitioner’s Financial Condition Was Prop-
erly Considered by the Jury and the Wis-
consin Court of Appeals .............:::ccccceceeeeees 19

IIS ccrvevevnseccencersvoniseprenmasieieciwnissnuimecsiinesmaian 22

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541 (1962)... eee 6
BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559....passim
Browning-Ferris Indus. of Vt., Inc. v. Kelco Dis-

posal, Tnc., 463 US. BET (IGGB)...ccesecoeessvecorsvesevevesereseees 13
Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1969).............c.cceeee 6
Godchaux Co. v. Estopinal, 251 U.S. 179 (1919) ............0... 6
Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552 (1941)... ee eeeeeeeee 6
Lievrouw v. Roth, 157 Wis.2d 332 (Ct.App. 1990)........ 9, 10
Matthias v. Accor Economy Lodging, Inc., 347 F.3d

I ee 13, 21
Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1

i aa 9,13
Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, 349

ct FRR REE karen een ea UE rw eae Rea oven 8
Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600 (1974)........... cc eeesceeseceeeseeeeees 8
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. v.

Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003)...........ccscecccssssecceeeee passim
Strenke v. Hogner, 2005 WI App 194, 704 N.W.2d

SO catitciahinctcate eats ac 3, 7, 17, 21, 22
United States v. Bean, 537 U.S. 71 (2002) ...0.........eececeeeeeee 6
TXO Production Corp. v. Aliiance Resources Corp.,

I Os I a 9, 13, 14, 17

Luckt vu. King, 260 U.S. 1746 (1GBB) .......0000cscececseecessscccsvsveeee 7

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~— Continued

Page
STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:
BB WS. GERI vccscsrsrsnisrsiencietestetaneaeee 1
Sen. Ct. BAG cccniiccniandaeeee eee 7,8

MISC. RESOURCES:

Robert L. Stern Et Al., Supreme Court Practice
SE.2F CPG TE. TDI vcisisinssveininimvnspensenianemaams 8

Wis Jury Instruction — Civil 1707.1 ..0........ccecssecsceceseesseees 21

STATEMENT ON JURISDICTION

This court is without jurisdiction pursuant to 28
U.S.C. §1257 as to petitioner’s argument that the Wiscon-
sin Court of Appeals improperly considered the potential
harm that might be caused by petitioner’s conduct, be-
cause (1) petitioner’s counsel made no objection to the trial
court’s jury instruction which included that item as a
factor for the jury to consider in determining punitive
damages and (2) petitioner never contended in the Wiscon-
sin Court of Appeals that potential harm was improperly
considered.

Moreover, this court is also without jurisdiction
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257, because the petitioner’s
request for Supreme Court review is based solely on the
claim that the Wisconsin Court of Appeals failed to apply
what is established law, and, hence, petitioner’s request
fails to set forth an important question of federal law.

oe
7

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In concluding that the punitive damege award did not
violate Hogner’s due process rights, the Wisconsin Court of
Appeals, contrary to the petitioner’s statement of the case,
did not “flatly dismiss” any command of State Farm
Mutual Auto Insurance Company v. Campbell, 538 U.S.
408 (2003), that punitive damages should almost never
exceed a single-digit multiple of actual damages. In
reaching its decision that the jurys punitive damage
award was not excessive and therefore did not violate the
Due Process clause, the Wisconsin Court of Appeals
thoroughly analyzed and applied the Supreme Court’s
statements in State Farm.

Petitioner also fails to include certain material facts in
his statement of the case:

First, not only was petitioner severely intoxicated at
the time of the accident in question, but he had been
arrested and convicted for drunken driving on four occa-
sions prior to the one in question. (App., p. 2a-3a, 7a-8a)

Second, although petitioner claims before this court
that the Wisconsin Court of Appeals improperly considered
the potential harm that could be caused by his conduct,
the record shows petitioner’s counsel made no objection to
the trial court’s instruction to the jury that the factors it
was to consider in determining punitive damages under
Wisconsin law included that “potential damage which
might have been done by such acts as well as the actual
damage.” (App., p. 13a-27a) Likewise, although petitioner
did raise the issue of the constitutionality of the punitive
damage award in the Wisconsin Court of Appeals, that
challenge was never based on an improper consideration of
the potential harm that could be caused by his reprehensi-
ble conduct.

Third, the jury in this case heard all the evidence
about the defendant’s financial circumstances and the
instruction as to the factors it was tocc ider in determin-
ing punitive damages included taking into consideration
the defendant’s ability to pay. (App., 3a-7a, 27a)

>

3

ARGUMENT FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. The Wisconsin Court of Appeals Did Not Dis-
miss or Ignore State Farm’s Comments About a
Single-Digit Ratio.

Throughout his petition, Hogner claims that the
Wisconsin Court of Appeals “ignored,” “dismissed” and
“disregarded” this Court’s decision in State Farm. Nothing
could be further from the truth. In the text of its decision
in Strenke v. Hogner, 2005 WI App 194, 704 N.W.2d 309,
the Wisconsin Court of Appeals directly addressed State
Farm, citing, quoting, analyzing and ay.»'ying this Court’s
decision. Id. At [J 14-17, 21, 23-26.

Hogner’s petition is based on the premise that State
Farm established a “single-digit rule.” (Petition, p. 6)
However, as the Wisconsin Court of Appeals correctly
determined, State Farm essentially reaffirmed the guide-
posts set forth by this Court in BMW of North America,
Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996), and neither case estab-
lished a bright-line “rule” for a single-digit ratio of puni-
tive damages to actual damages. See Strenke at {17 n. 8,
q 25.

A simple reading of this Court’s decision in State
Farm concerning ratios destroys Hogner’s claim that State
Farm established a “single-digit rule.” The Court reiter-
ated:

(W]e have been reluctant to identify concrete
constitutional limits on the ratio between harm,
or potential harm, to the plaintiff and the puni-
tive damages award. [Gore,] 517 U.S. at 582.

538 U.S. at 424.

4

(“[W]e have consistently rejected the notion that
the constitutional line is marked by a simple
mathematical formula, even one that compares
actual and potential damages to the punitive
award.”); TXO [Production Corp. v. Alliance Re-
sources Corp, 509 U.S. 443 (1993)], supra, at 458.

538 U.S. at 424-25.

We decline again to impose a bright-line ratio
which a punitive damages cannot exceed.

538 U.S. at 425.

[B]ecause there are no rigid benchmarks that a
punitive damages award may not surpass, ratios
greater than those that we have previously up-
held may comport with due process where “a par-
ticularly egregious act has resulted in only a
small amount of economic damages.” [Gore, 517
U.S. at 582]; see also, (Gore, 517 U.S. at 582]
(positing that a higher ratio might be necessary
where “the injury is hard to detect or the mone-
tary value of non-economic harm might have
been difficult to determine”).

538 U.S. at 425.

The precise award in any case, of course, must be
based upon the facts and circumstances of the de-
fendant’s conduct and the harm to the plaintiff.

538 U.S. at 425.

Thus, this Court in State Farm made it clear that it
was not establishing a “single-digit rule,” upon which
Hogner’s entire petition is based. The Wisconsin Court of
Appeals specifically stated that the majority's statement in
State Farm about a single-digit ratio is not “as the holding
makes clear, a new single-digit rule.” 2005 WI App 194,

5

417, n. 8. The Wisconsin Court of Appeals’ comment that
the majority's remark in State Farm concerning single-
digit ratios is dicta is not a basis for Supreme Court
review, because whether that remark is dicta or not, the
Wisconsin Court of Apy=als still properly considered and
applied State Farm’s principles and analytical framework
concerning proportionality for determining the constitu-
tionality of a punitive damages award.

There is also no support for Hogner’s claim that
“courts all too routinely have ignored or defied” the deci-
sion in State Farm or that there is “an increasing number
of courts that have disregarded” the holdings in State
Farm (Petition, p. 5) or that the decision here is part of a
“trend.” (Petition, p. 20) Hogner merely cites 7 examples of
appellate cases where courts have allowed awards with
ratios greater than 9:1 and 5 examples of appellate cases
where courts have limited awards to ratios below 10:1.
(Hogner petition, pp. 10-11, n. 6) There is no showing that
these represent all cases addressing State Farm’s dictates.
This does not establish anything other than the fact that
courts throughout our 50 states are going about the
process of applying this Court’s teachings about punitive
damages and due process and that, just as those teachings
explain, there may be cases in which a greater than single-
digit ratio is justified without violating the defendant’s due
process rights. Each case must be considered on its own
facts and not by simply looking at the ratio. Thus, Hogner
fails to establish some disturbing trend that requires this
Court to do more explaining of its views on proportionality
of punitive damages. Certainly this particular case does

not call for that.

II. Hogner Has Waived the Right to Question the
Consideration of Potential Harm in the Puni-
tive Damage Analysis.

Hogner claims that review is warranted because the
Wisconsin courts improperly considered the potential
harm that could be caused by his conduct. (Petition, pp.
12-17) However, Hogner waived this argument by failing,
(1) before the trial court, to object to the jury instruction
which told the jury that among the factors it was to
consider in determining punitive damages was that very
potential harm (App., pp. 13a-27a) and (2) before the
Wisconsin Court of Appeals, to contend that the potential
harm that could be caused by his conduct should not be
considered.

It is axiomatic that an appellate court, let alone the
highest appellate court in the land, will generally not
review any argument raised in the court below. United
States v. Bean, 537 U.S. 71 (2002); Hormel v. Helvering,
312 U.S. 552, 556 (1941). This Court has specifically held
that, when raising a federal question for Supreme Court
review, it is essential that the question be raised, pre-
sented, and pursued in a timely and proper manner at the
appropriate point in the state court proceedings. Beck v.
Washington, 369 U.S. 541, 550-54 (1962); Godchaux Co. v.
Estopinal, 251 U.S. 179, 181 (1919). In fact, this Court has
no jurisdiction to exercise its appellate power over state
court judgments under 28 U.S.C. §1257 unless a federal
question has been both raised and decided in the state
court below. Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1969).

Thus, Hogner has waived any right to raise this
argument.

7

Ill. Hogner’s Claim that the Wisconsin Court of
Appeals Misapplied This Court’s Decision in
State Farm Is Not a Basis for Granting Certio-
rari.

In State Farm, this Court reiterated the importance of
a reasoned application of the guideposts in Gore. Elaborat-
ing on these guideposts this Court highlighted several
factors for consideration by courts when engaged in a de
novo due process review of punitive damages.

As mentioned above, the Wisconsin Court of Appeals
thoroughly applied this Court’s decision in State Farm in
its decision in this case. Petitioner can cite to no language
from the Strenke decision that truly misstates or contra-
dicts any portion of this court’s holding in State Farm.
Hence, Hogner’s petition is based solely on the claim that
the Wisconsin Court of Appeals misapplied the law of State
Farm to the specific facts in this case. Respondents take
issue with Hogner’s claim that the Wisconsin Court of
Appeals misapplied State Farm. See §IV infra. However,
even if Hogner were correct in his characterization of the
Wisconsin Court of Appeals’ decision, his petition fails to
set forth a basis for Supreme Court review.

This Court has typically limited discretionary review
of decisions coming out of the state courts to only those
cases that involve important constitutional questions.
Zucht v. King, 260 U.S. 174, 176 (1922). In fact Rule 10 of
the Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States,
which sets forth the appropriate reasons for granting a
writ of certiorari, has specifically incorporated the re-
quirement that the case involve an “important federal
question.” Sup. Ct. R. 10.

8

It has been reiterated many times that the Supreme
Court is not primarily concerned with the correction of
error in lower court decisions. The Court’s role, rather, is
to determine questions of constitutional importance. It is
then the role of the lower courts to apply these principles
to the great mass of cases. The responsibility of this Court
has been characterized as too great to require it to correct
every perceived error by lower courts in the application of
accepted principles. Robert L. Stern Et Al., Supreme Court
Practice §4.17 (7th Ed. 1993). As Justice Rehnquist ob-
served in Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600, 616 (1974). “[t]his
Court’s review ... is discretionary and depends on numer-
ous factors other than the perceived correctness of the
judgment we are asked to review.” The court’s aversion to
error correction has been codified in this Court’s Rule 10:

A petition for writ of certiorari is rarely granted
when the asserted error consists of erroneous
factual findings or the misapplication of a prop-
erly stated rule of law.

Sup. Ct. R. 10.

Hogner’s petition asks for nothing more than error
correction based on the alleged misapplication of the
established law, i.e., State Farm, by the Wisconsin Court of
Appeals. As such, Hogner’s petition does not involve a
substantial federal question but rather a question of
importance merely to the litigants in the pending action.
This Court has adopted a practice of limiting the accep-
tance of appeals to only those cases that involve the
settlement of issues that are of importance to the public,
as opposed merely to the parties. Rice v. Souix City Memo-
rial Park Cemetary, 349 U.S. 70 (1954). Hogner provides
this Court with no reason to deviate from this accepted
practice.

9

Unable to identify a substantial federal question,
Hogner suggests that granting the writ would allow this
Court to “resolve any gap in this Court’s punitive damages
jurisprudence.” (Petition, p. 4) However, no gap in juris-
prudence is demonstrated by Hogner; the only gap is
between the Wisconsin Court of Appeals’ conclusion and
Hogner’s desired conclusion.

IV. Applying the Principles in State Farm, the
Wisconsin Court of Appeals Correctly Deter-
mined that the Jury’s Punitive Damages Ver-
dict Did Not Violate Hogner’s Due Process
Rights.

A punitive damage award that is the product of a fair
process is entitled to a strong presumption of validity. TXO
Production Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S.
443, 457 (1993). Hogner points to nothing unfair about the
trial. No evidentiary rulings are challenged. The compen-
satory damages phase yielded only a modest damages
award, demonstrating that the jury gave careful consid-
eration to each side’s evidence and arguments.

A state may, consistent with the Constitution, further
its goals of punishment and deterrence through the
imposition of punitive damages. BMW, 517 U.S. at 568;
Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 19 (1991).

Wisconsin courts have recognized the important role
that punitive damages play in serving the interests of
punishing and deterring drunk driving. As the court
observed in Lievrouw v. Roth, 157 Wis.2d 332, 345, 459
N.W.2d 850 (Ct.App. 1990), “{djrunk driving is a terrible
scourge,” and “[iJntentionally driving while alcohol-
impaired is the type of outrageous conduct that punitive

10

damages should punish and deter.” Jd. Thus, Hogner
cannot argue that drunk driving is unworthy of punish-
ment and deterrence, or that recidivist drunk driving is
undeserving of added sanctions.

Due process requires that a person receive fair notice
of the conduct that will subject him to punishment and the
severity of the penalty that a state may impose. BMW, 517
U.S. at 574. Hogner cannot argue that he lacked notice
that his drunk driving could subject him to a punitive
damage award. Lievrouw made clear that drunken driving
“will support an award of punitive damages in an appro-
priate case.” 157 Wis.2d at 348. If there ever were an
appropriate case, this is one.

As for the size of the award, only when it is grossly
excessive in relation to the legitimate state interests in
punishment and deterrence does it violate due process.
BMW, 517 U.S. at 568. In BMW, 517 US. at 575, the court
described three guideposts to determine whether a defen-
dant had adequate notice of the size of the possible sanc-
tion: (1) the degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s
conduct; (2) the disparity between the harm or potential
harm suffered and the punitive damage award; and (3) the
difference between the award and the civil penalties
authorized or imposed in comparable circumstances.

In State Farm, the court enunciated five sub-factors
for determining the degree of reprehensibility: (1) whether
“the harm caused was physical as opposed to economic”;
(2) whether “the tortious conduct evinced an indifference
to or a reckless disregard of the health or safety of others”;
(3) whether “the target of the conduct had financial vul-
nerability”; (4) whether “the conduct involved repeated
actions or was an isolated incident”, and (5) whether “the

11

harm was the result of intentional malice, trickery, or
deceit, or mere accident.” 538 U.S. at 419; BMW, 517 US.
at 576-77.

‘A consideration of these factors demonstrates that the
punitive damages award here was not excessive.

A. Hogner’s Conduct Was Reprehensible

The most important indicium of the reasonableness of
a punitive damage award is the degree of reprehensibility
of the defendant’s conduct. State Farm, 538 U.S. at 419;
BMW, 517 U\S. at 575. The reprehensibility of Hogner’s
conduct is beyond dispute. This was not a close case,
where a driver can plausibly claim that he lacked know!l-
edge that he was impaired. Hogner here drank himself
into an extremely dangerous level of inebriation and
impairment. His blood alcohol level by weight tested at
.269. As he left the tavern, he got behind the wheel of his
car intending to drive to another tavern, presumably to
drink more. He had a passenger in his car. Thus, he
deliberately endangered his own passenger, and all other
users of Wisconsin’s roadways, including Mr. Strenke.

Hogner had been convicted four times before for drunk
driving and knew the legal implications. The evidence was
sufficient and compelled a finding that Hogner had en-
gaged in a pattern of drunk driving and endangerment of
the public with whom he shared the roads.

The aggravating factors discussed in BMW, 517 US.
at 576-80, are present here. First, Hogner’s conduct
evinced an intentional disregard for the safety of the other
users of the public highways, and this led to the most
serious form of harm — personal injury. Second, Hogner’s

12

acts were affirmative acts of misconduct, not merely acts
of misfeasance. Third, Hogner’s conduct was part of a
pattern of conduct that reflected an intentional disregard
for the public’s rights to safety and bodily security. As
noted in BMW, 517 U.S. at 576-77, repeated misconduct is
more reprehensible, more deserving of severe punishment,
and more in need of deterrence than an individual in-
stance of misconduct. Given the strength of the evidence of
reprehensibility, held to be the most important of the
factors, the punitive damage award does not shock the
conscience, as the trial court ruled.

B. The Wisconsin Court Properly Evaluated
the Proportionality of the Punitive Dam-
ages Award, Including Considering the Po-
tential Harm or Damages.

Another indicium of excessiveness is the comparison
of the punitive damage award to the actual or potential
harm or damages. Although this is only one guidepost,
Hogner reads State Farm as establishing a mathematical
limitation on the size of a punitive damage award as a
matter of due process. But State Farm’s actual language
says, at 1524:

Turning to the second Gore guidepost, we
have been reluctant to identify concrete constitu-
tional limits on the ratio between harm, or po-
tential harm, to the plaintiff and the punitive
damages award. ... We decline once again to im-
pose a bright-line ratio which a punitive dam-
ages award cannot exceed. Our jurisprudence
and the principles it has now established demon-
strate, however, that, in practice, few awards ex-
ceeding a single-digit ratio between punitive and

13

compensatory damages, to a significant de-
gree, will satisfy due process.

(emphasis added)

Despite the court’s specific disavowal of any bright-
line rule, Hogner’s petition cites this passage as erecting a
“single-digit rule.” (Petition p. 6) Judge Posner, writing for
the Seventh Circuit in Mathias v. Accor Economy Lodging,
Inc., 347 F.3d 672, 676 (7th Cir. 2003), explained that
“(t]he supreme court [in State Farm] did not, however, lay
down a 4-to-1 or single-digit-ratio rule — it said merely
that ‘there is a presumption against an award that has a
125-to-1 ratio’.” In Mathias, the court upheld an award of
punitive damages that was 37.2 times the compensatory
damages awarded by the jury.

State Farm explained that “ratios greater than those
we have previously upheld may comport with due process”
where “a particularly egregious act has resulted in only a
small amount of economic damages” or where “ ‘the injury
is hard to detect or the monetary value of noneconomic
harm might have been difficult to determine.’” 538 U.S. at
425 (emphasis added). Thus, to fully understand State
Farm it is necessary to examine the ratios the Court has
“previously upheld.” Among these is TXO, 509 U.S. 443.’
TXO was the most recent opinion in which the Supreme
Court had “previously upheld” a punitive damage award,
and it included an extensive concurring opinion by Justice
Kennedy, the author of State Farm, in which he states

" See also Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 23 (1991)
(4:1 ratio between punitive and compensatory damages, and 200:1 ratio
between punitive damages and plaintiff’s “hard” out-of-pocket ex-
penses); Browning-Ferris Indus. of Vt., Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492
U.S. 257 (1989) (punitive to compensatory damages ratio over 100:1).

14

unequivocally that the award, which resulted in a punitive
to compensatory ratio of 526 to 1, was constitutionally
appropriate. T7XO was cited with approval in State Farm.
538 U.S. at 416, 423-25.

In TXO, a West Virginia jury determined that the
defendant TXO, a large oil company, intentionally sought
to cloud the plaintiff’s title to oil and gas rights which
TXO desired to purchase. TXO’s actions were found to be
malicious and part of a broad practice of fraud and trick-
ery. The award of $10 million punitive damages, compared
to the award of $19,000 in compensatory damages, a ratio
of 526 to 1, was specifically approved by the Supreme
Court as not constitutionally excessive.

The TXO court found that “[w]hile petitioner stresses
the shocking disparity between the punitive award and
the compensatory award, that shock dissipates when one
considers the potential loss to respondents had petitioner
succeeded in its illicit scheme.” Assuming that the poten-
tial loss could be $1 million, the court stated that “the
disparity between the punitive award and the potential
harm (i.e. 10 to 1) does not, in our view, ‘jar one’s constitu-
tional sensibilities’” TXO, 509 U.S. at 462 (citation omit-
ted)

Justice Kennedy, however, refused to rely on the 10 to
1 ratio and specifically approved the ratio of 526 to 1. In
his concurring opinion, he wrote,

The Constitution identifies no particular multi-
ple of compensatory damages as an acceptable
limit for punitive awards; it does not concern it-
self with dollar amounts, ratios, or the quirks of
juries in specific jurisdictions ... I do not agree
that [the punitive to compensatory ratio relied

15

upon by the majority] provides a constitutionally
adequate foundation for concluding that the pu-
nitive damage verdict against 7'XO was rational.

Id. at 467-68.

Justice Kennedy found the award appropriate because
TXO acted with malice as part of a pattern of practice of
fraud, trickery and deceit. Further, he specifically en-
dorsed the evidence of other instances of similar malfea-
sance, the evidence of TXO’s “vast financial resources,”
and the fact that “TXO would suffer only as a result of a
large judgment.” Jd. at 469.

The Supreme Court’s clear approval in State Farm of
its TXO opinion is significant. There was no evidence in
TXO to suggest that the court considered the defendant's
conduct to have satisfied any of the first three sub-factors
(no personal injury, no health and safety issues, and no
financial vulnerability). The harm was purely economic
harm done by one corporation to another and thus factors
(1) and (2) could not possibly have been accomplished, and
the court made no reference to the financial vulnerability
of the plaintiff.

Thus, under the Supreme Court’s own guidelines,
conduct which is not at the top of the scale for reprehensi-
ble conduct warranted a ratio of punitive to actual dam-
ages of at 526 to 1, where the potential harm was great.
Given the Court’s clear approval in State Farm of its
“previously upheld” awards, one can only conclude that
awards in excess of 10 to 1 are perfectly appropriate for
those cases where at least some, if not all, of the reprehen-
sibility sub-factors are present, and particularly where the
last two sub-factors exist. Indeed, given the Court’s con-
tinued emphasis on a defendant’s pattern and practice and

16

the need for strong medicine where recidivist behavior is
present, it is apparent that the fourth and fifth sub-factors
(4) repeated actions, and (5) malice, trickery or deceit are
the most significant in assessing the amount of a punitive
damages award.

Recognizing that the Supreme Court meant to label as
suspect only those awards that exceed a single-digit ratio
by a “significant degree” is also consistent with its oft-
stated holding, confirmed again in State Farm, that it
refuses to set a bright-line test for a punitive to compensa-
tory ratio. Instead, the Court holds, in essence, that a
punitive award should be closer to a single-digit ratio than
ratios such as 145:1 or 500:1, depending on the circum-
stances of the particular case. This is not the bright-line
test or “single-digit rule” that Hogner urges.

The U.S. Supreme Court has rejected the notion that
the constitutional line is marked by a simple mathemati-
cal formula and, instead, has favored a general inquiry
into reasonableness. BMW, 517 US. at 582-83. This is
understandable since it is not possible to capture in one
ratio all of the qualitative factors involved in determining
the appropriate level of punishment. “The precise award in
any case, of course, must be based upon the facts and
circumstances of the defendant’s conduct and the harm to
the plaintiff.” State Farm, 123 S.Ct. at 1524.

Hogner’s argument thus starts from the flawed
premise that there is a fixed constitutional ratio. Beyond
that flawec assumption, however, Hogner’s argument
ignores that the proportionality of the punitive damage
award is measured not solely in comparison to the actual
award of compensatory damages, but also in comparison to
the potential harm caused to the victim and others. This

17

Court has always recognized the potential harm which
could be caused by the defendant’s conduct as a valid
factor to be considered in looking at the constitutionality of
a punitive damages award. BMW, 517 U.S. at 575, 581-82;
TXO, 509 U.S. at 460.

In TXO the Court stated:

It is appropriate to consider the magnitude of the
potential harm that the defendant’s conduct
would have caused to its intended victim ... as
well as the possible harm to other victims that
might have resulted if similar future behavior
were not deterred.

509 U.S. at 460. The Court then explicitly considered the
potential that defendant’s conduct could have caused
$1,000,000 in compensatory damages, rather than the
$19,000 awarded by the jury, in determining how to
address the proportionality of the punitive damages. 509
U.S. at 458-62. In State Farm, this Court cited TXO with
approval on this point. 538 U.S. at 424-25. The Wisconsin
Court of Appeals recognized that “TXO is still good law,”
Strenke, 2005 WI App at 424, n. 18, and then examined
the potential harm that a recidivist drunk driver like
Hogner could cause. The court concluded that absent
Hogner’s “good luck,” his conduct could have easily re-
sulted in compensatory damages that would have put the
punitive damages award in the 1:1 or 2:1 range. 2005 WI
App at 924, n. 14. This is the same valid consideration and
analysis as that done by this Court in TXO.

Hogner’s conduct was particularly egregious and the
actual harm it caused was substantial, even though the
award was only $2,000. Even so, the jury’s compensatory
damage award is not the only figure to use in any ratio

18

because it does not reflect the potential harm attributable
to Hogner’s drunk driving. Strenke could have been hurt
much wors= or killed. There could have been other passen-
gers in the Strenke car. Hogner had a passenger who could
have likewise been injured or killed. Multiple vehicles
could have become involved if they had been in the area
when the collision occurred. It is fortuitous that the
consequences were not disastrous.

Thus the potential harm in this case is far more
significant than the modest amount of harm that resulted
through happenstance. The difficulty in measuring in
financial terms the value of personal physical injuries and
the potential for catastrophe when a drunk driver gets
behind the wheel demonstrates the need for a higher ratio,
a circumstance recognized in State Farm (“a higher ratio
might be necessary where ‘the injury is hard to detect or
the monetary value of noneconomic harm might have been
difficult to determine.’” 123 S. Ct. at 1524, quoting Gore
{emphasis in the original]).

The jury, the trial court, and the Wisconsin Court of
Appeals were entitled to consider the potential harm that
could result if similar future behavior by Hogner is not
deterred by a heavy punitive damage sanction. Hogner
will presumably have the opportunity - whether licensed
or not — to get behind the wheel again. If he were to
engage in this reprehensible conduct again, he could cause
deaths or serious injuries. This large punitive damage
award serves the deterrent purpose of making Hogner, and
others in his community, think twice before drinking and
driving. Thus, while Hogner stresses the disparity be-
tween the punitive damage award and the jury’s award of
compensatory damages, that disparity vanishes when one
considers the potential harm. Consideration of the second

19

BMW guidepost therefore does not support a conclusion
that the punitive damage award is excessive.

Thus, the consideration of potential harm or damages
is not some “vague notion” as described by Hogner. (Peti-
tion, p. 12) Hogner points to no conflict in the federal
circuits or state courts regarding the concept of consider-
ing potential harm in the punitive damage analysis that
would justify Supreme Court review. The Wisconsin Court
of Appeals did nothing more than apply well known
guidelines of the United States Supreme Court in deter-
mining that Hogner’s right to due process had not been
violated.

C. Petitioner’s Financial Condition Was Prop-
erly Considered by the Jury and the Wis-
consin Court of Appeals.

Hogner also attacks the punitive damage award
because it is beyond his current net worth. This argument
is without merit. No Supreme Court case states that the
ratio of a defendant’s net worth to the punitive damage
award is a constitutional factor or that a punitive damage
award that exceeds a defendant’s net worth is unconstitu-
tional as a matter of law. Hogner’s due process rights were
not violated because his conduct justified punishment in
excess of his worth. Also, Hogner’s argument about finan-
cial condition introduces a complexity to Hogner’s ratio
argument that has not been confronted in any prior cases.
There is no prior case where ability to pay has been
somehow engrafted into the constitutional analysis of the
proportionality of a punitive damage award. There is no
substantial federal question where the Wisconsin Court of
Appeals decision does not conflict with any prior decisions
of this court or any other court relative to the matter of

20

defendant’s wealth. Thus, this issue does not justify
Supreme Court review.

That the judgment against Hogner for punitive
damages may impose a substantial burden on him for the
foreseeable future is an appropriate deterrent message to
him and to others. It is not inappropriate that he live
under the burden of this judgment for a considerable
period, so that it might influence his future choices when
those choices potentially affect the health and safety of
others.

Also, the defendant’s lack of wealth is often within his
or her control. A defendant can choose to earn less or
spend more thereby depressing his or her net worth. If
Hogner had been unemployed, without any earnings, he
would be claiming that no award of punitive damages is
constitutionally justified, because it would exceed his
worth. Likewise, there is nothing to say that Hogner could
not, in order to pay off his punitive damages obligation in
the future, work to improve his financial position, by for
example obtaining better paying employment and saving
on expenses. To draw any kind of constitutional line for
punitive damages awards at the level of a defendant’s net
worth could wipe out the deterrent effect, in which a state
has a legitimate interest. An otherwise constitutionally
valid punitive damage award that exceeds a defendant’s
net worth no more violates due process rights than does a
compensatory damage award that exceeds the defendant’s
insurance and net worth.

It is also worth noting that “wealth” in this context
includes the comparative resources that an insured driver
can bring to bear in the defense of an accident case like
this one where only modest compensatory damages are at

21

stake. See Mathias v. Accor Economy Lodging, Inc., 347
F.3d 672, 677-78 (7th Cir. 2003). The public should not
have to await a multiple-death catastrophe or one where
the victim requires years of expensive life support, to
impose a heavy dose of punitive damages on those who feel
unconstrained to drink and drive. Punitive damages
should be available when the misconduct involved is
highly dangerous, even though only modest compensatory
damages are awarded, so as to encourage victims and their
attorneys to seek justice in the courts and thereby deter
such misconduct and save lives.

Finally, the record shows that the Wisconsin courts
did not ignore the evidence concerning Hogner’s wealth.
The jury heard the evidence of Hogner’s ability to pay,
(App., 4a-7a) consistent with Wisconsin law which makes
such a proper factor for the jury and court to consider. The
trial court instructed the jury via Wis Jury Instruction —-
Civil 1707.1 that the defendant’s ability to pay is a factor
they were to consider in awarding punitive damages.
(App., 27a) The Wisconsin Court of Appeals also consid-
ered Hogner’s “conclusory” argument that the award was
excessive because of his financial condition, noting that
this was an appropriate factor for the jury to consider and
that it could not, on constitutional grounds, say that an
award “that cannot be immediately satisfied is always, as
a matter of law, constitutionally insupportable.” Strenke,
2005 WI App at 927, n. 17.

22

CONCLUSION

Nothing in the Wisconsin Court of Appeals’ decision in
Strenke in any way contradicts this Court’s holding in
State Farm. At best, Hogner’s petition requests review
solely based on the Wisconsin Court of Appeals’ alleged
misapplication of established law. This Court is not a court
of error correction. Hogner waived the right to question
the consideration of potential harm by failing to object to
that factor in the jury instructions and by failing to argue
in the appellate court below that it should not be consid-
ered. Because Hogner has failed to present a significant
federal question requiring Supreme Court Review, his
petition should be denied.

In addition, there is no basis for Hogner’s claim that
the Wisconsin Court of Appeals misapplied the law. In
Strenke the Wisconsin Court of Appeals correctly deter-
mined that the jury’s punitive damage verdict comports
with due process pursuant to this Court’s prior decisions.
Having little chance of success on the merits, Hogner has
failed to establish a sufficient basis for Supreme Court
review.

Respectfully submitted,

MArkK S. YOUNG

Counsel of Record

HABUSH HABUSH & ROTTIER S.C.
777 East Wisconsin Avenue
Suite 2300

Milwaukee, WI 53202

(414) 271-0900

(414) 271-6854 (fax)

Counsel for Respondents
May 15, 2006

la

APPENDIX A
CIRCUIT COURT
STATE OF WISCONSIN BARRON COUNTY
LE ROY M. STRENKE and
JUANITA M. STRENKE, PARTIAL TRANSCRIPT
Plaintiffs, OF JURY TRIAL
vs. 01-CV-179
LEVI HOGNER, NAU COUNTRY
INSURANCE COMPANY,
AMERICAN FAMILY MUTUAL

INSURANCE COMPANY and BLUE CROSS
AND BLUE SHIELD UNITED OF ALABAMA,

Defendants.

Partial transcript of testimony given and proceedings
had at the jury trial held in the above-entitled matter
before HON. FREDERICK A. HENDERSON, Acting
Circuit Judge, at the Courthouse in the City of Barron,
Barron County, Wisconsin, on the 7th, 8th and 9th days of
May, 2003.

APPEARANCES:

Mr. Owen R. Williams, Attorney at Law, appearing on
behalf of the Plaintiff;

Ms. Karen Kingsley, Attorney at Law, appearing on behalf
of the defendant;

Plaintiffs, LeRoy and Juanita Strenke, present in person;
Defendant, Levi Hogner, present in person.

* * *

2a

{2} THE COURT: All right. Now we go into the
second phase of the trial so take over, Mr. Williams. Tell
the jury what this is all about. Mr. Ament is now gone.
He’s not involved. Go ahead.

MR. WILLIAMS: I believe we are going to
present this phase of the trial to the Court and the jury by
stipulation. I’m addressing this remark to the Court
because we have not discussed this, but what we are going
to present to you is a stipulation that at the time that this
accident occurred Levi Hogner was under the influence of
alcohol and it was his 5th offense and that his alcohol
content was .267 and I will then rest my case when the
Court approves that stipulation, if the Court does approve
it.

MS. KINGSLEY: I did want to briefly call Mr.
Hogner.

THE COURT: Ms. Kingsley will present her
client to testify about the operation of the vehicle at the
time and what he has to say about that. Am I correct, Ms.
Kingsley?

MS. KINGSLEY: Correct.

THE COURT: All right. Is that the stipulation
as you understand it, Ms. Kingsley?

MS. KINGSLEY: That’s fine.

THE COURT: We'll receive that stipulation into
evidence and advise the jury that you’re bound by that [3]
stipulation. Okay.

MR. WILLIAMS: I made a mistake. I think it’s
.269, not .267.

3a

THE COURT: We'll mark that as an exhibit.
.269 is the alcohol content and that’s by weight of alcohol
in the blood as opposed to the volume. Go ahead. LEVI
HOGNER, called as a witness, being first duly sworn,
testified as follows:
DIRECT EXAMINATION BY MS. KINGSLEY:

Q. Mr. Hogner, I want to ask you about the incident.
You admit that you were driving at the time of the incident
prior to the accident?

A. Yes.

Q. Can you just kind of tell me in your own words
what happened in the accident?

A. I remember coming from the bar, Dale’s Twin
Pines. We were going downtown Cumberland. and I was
driving southbound. I was going to turn east, I believe, on
23rd. I seen cars coming. I believe I seen his blinker on as
he was going to turn into the same street so I believe —

Q. Would that have been his right or —

A. His right.

Q. And what did you do?

A. Iwas believing I could turn before he did.
Q. And what happened?

[4] A. When I turned I got hit in the back.
Q. Okay.

A. Rear, right rear.

4a

Q. Okay. And as a result of that did you plead to

something?
A. Yes.
Q. And did you serve some time?
A. Yes, I did.
Q. How much time did you serve?
A. One year County Jail.
Q. Are you still on probation?
A. Yes.

Q. Okay. Part of this claim is for punitive damages
so I need to ask you a little bit about your finances, what
money you have and that type of thing, okay? Do you

work?
A. Yes.
Q. Where do you work?
A. St. Croix Casino hotel.
Q. And what do you do there?
A. I’m a black jack dealer.
Q. How long have you done that?
A. For three years now.

Q. How much money do you earn doing that? Can
you give me maybe an average month?

A. Athousand dollars a month.

5a
[5] Q. Is that how much you take home or is that
before taxes or what?
A. That’s probably what I take home.
Q. About a thousand dollars a month? Okay, And do

you have any other sources of income?
A. Per capita.

Q. Okay. Is that because you’re a member of the
Native American community?

A. Yes.

Q. And how much is that?

A. $1,500 a month before taxes.

Q. Okay. So do you know how much that is after?
A. After it’s about a thousand dollars.

Q. So your total income for the month is about
$2,000?

A. Yes.

Q. Okay. Then do you have any other souras of
income?

A. No.

Q. Do you own any land?

A. No.

Q. Do you own any boats?

A. No.

Q. Any other big items that you own?

6a

A. No.

Q. Do you own a car?

A.

Well, not yet. ’'m paying on a car.

[6] Q. How much are you paying on a car?

A. $226 a month.

Q. How much longer do you have to pay on that?

A. Four years.

Q. Let me ask you about your other living expenses.
Do you pay rent?

A. Yes.

Q. How much do you pay?

A. $139 a month.

Q. Give me on average a month how much do you

pay? How much you spend for food?

> Or O&O Fr Oo PP Oo KP

About $400 a month.

How about utilities?

$30 a month.

Do you support anyone besides yourself?
I have a son.

And do you pay child support?

Yes, I do.

How much do you pay a month for that?

$350 a month.

7a

Do you have any savings?
No.
Do you have a checking account?

Yes, I do.

> Oo P ©

Q. How much is in your checking account?

[7}A. $20.

Q. Do you have any other debts we haven't talked
about?

A. Yes.
Q. Tell me about any debts you have?

A. I have two for Cumberland Hospital in the
amount of around $3,300.

Q. Okay. Any other debts?
A. No.

Q. Okay. Did we cover all your monthly expenses
then?

A. Well, I pay the supervision fee for probation
which is $40 a month.

MS. KINGSLEY: Okay. I think that’s all I have.
Thank you.

CROSS EXAMINATION BY MR. WILLIAMS:

Q. Mr. Hogner, were you convicted of drunk driving
as a result of an occurrence on February 10th of 1989?

A. Yes, I believe so.

8a

Q. Were you convicted of a drunk driving offense on
March 4th of 1990 in Buffalo County?

A. Yes.

Q. Were you convicted of drunk driving on March 25,
1993 in Barron County?

A. Yes.

Q. Were you convicted of drunk driving on May 29,
1994 in Polk County?

[8] A. Yes.

Q. And as a result of this driving were you convicted
of drunk driving as a result of driving on October 16, 1998
in Barron County?

A. Yes.

Q@. And am I correct that you’ve been convicted five
times of drunk driving?

A. Yes.

Q. And that was a felony offense?

A. No.

Q. Now, where were you drinking before you were
involved in this collision on October 16th?

A. Dale’s Twin Pine tavern.

Q. And is that on State Trunk Highway 48?

A. Yes, it is.

Q. And how much do you weigh, or how much did

you weigh at that time, Mr. Hogner?

9a

A. Id say 400 pounds.
Q. And how much did you have to drink at that

time?
A. Four to six drinks at the bar.

Q. And four to six drinks. Do you know what you
tested that time?

A. No.

Q. Let me show you what’s been marked by the clerk
as Exhibit 38. Is that you, Levi Hogner?

[9] A. Yes.

Q. Is that your address at that time, 2595 2nd
Street?

A. Yes.
Q. And does this indicate blood was taken?
A. Yes.

Q. And does this indicate that blood was taken and
you were .269?

A. Yes.

Q@. And blood was taken at what, 1705? That’s what,
five minutes after five?

A. Yes.
Q. Were you taken to the hospital at that time?

A. Yes, I was.

10a

Q. And you say you think you had four to six drinks.
What were you drinking, sir?

A.

Beer.

Q. And were these regular twelve ounce beers or
were they tap beers?

A.

Twelve ounce beers.

Q. Now, is it your testimony that the car that struck
your car was signalling for a right turn?

A.
Q.
A.
Q.

I believe so.

What street was that turning into?

I believe it’s 23rd.

And why were you turning into 23rd Street?

[10] A. To go into Cumberland.

Q.

> O&O PF & F&F & PY

And were you heading for home?
No.

Where were you heading for?
We were heading for a bar.
Another bar?

Yes.

And who was with you in the car?
Carol Linbuhr.
MR. WILLIAMS: I have no further questions.

lla

REDIRECT EXAMINATION BY MS. KINGSLEY:

Q. You were asked about the other times that you
had a driving while intoxicated charge. Had you ever been
involved in an automobile accident before on one of those
occasions?

A. No.

Q. Ever injured anyone before when you've been
drinking?

A. No.

Q. Did you intend to injury or hurt anyone on the
date this occurred?

A. No.

Q. You were asked about the number of drinks you
had at the bar. Did you have drinks before you got to the
bar?

A. Yes, I did.
Q. ‘Tell me about how many and what kind?

A. Probably around a twelve pack before I went to
the bar.

{11) Q. And as a result when you were arrested for
this did you plead guilty to this?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. Other than serving time and probation, was there
any other part of your sentence?

A. No.
MS. KINGSLEY: That’s all I have. Thank you.

12a

THE COURT: Anything else, Mr. Williams?
MR. WILLIAMS: Just a couple questions.

RECROSS EXAMINATION BY MR. WILLIAMS:

Q. Mr. Hogner, you think you had a twelve pack of
beer before you went to Dale’s Twin Pines?

A. Yes.

Q. And at Dale’s Twin Pines you had four to six, is
that right?

A. Yes.

Q. So that would be at least 16 cans of beer and
maybe 18 cans of beer, is that right?

A. Yes.
MR. WILLIAMS: I have no further questions.
MS. KINGSLEY: Just one more.

FURTHER REDIRECT EXAMINATION
BY MS. KINGSLEY:

Q. You talked about the number of beers. Can you
tell me over what period of time that was? I mean, when
during the [12] day you started and then how long until
the accident?

A. It was probably within a five hour period.

MS. KINGSLEY: Okay. That’s all I have. Thank
you.

MR. WILLIAMS: No more cross.

13a

THE COURT: You can step down. Any other
witnesses?

MR. WILLIAMS: Call LeRoy Strenke in rebut-
tal.

LE ROY STRENKEE, called as a witness, being first duly

sworn, testified as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION BY MR. WILLIAMS:

Q. Mr. Strenke, were you intending to turn at 23rd
Street as your car approached that driven by Mr. Hogner?

A. No, I was not.
Q. Did you have any turn signal on?
A. No, I did not.

Q. Where were you bound for at the time of the
collision?

A. Iwas on my way to my home.
Q. And is your home east or west of 23rd Street?
A. My home is west.

Q. Can you hear me? And is your home east or west
of 23rd Street?

A. It would be west.

Q. And what is the path that you customarily follow
to [13] your home?

A. Highway 48.

Q. And how many miles at 23rd Street would you
deviate to get to your home?

l4a

Approximately nine miles.

Do you know anybody who lives on 23rd Street?
No, I don’t.

Did you have any reason to be turning on 23rd

A. No.
MR. WILLIAMS: No further questions.
THE COURT: Ms. Kingsley?
MS. KINGSLEY: No, Your Honor.
THE COURT: All right. You can step down.
MR. WILLIAMS: Rest.
THE COURT: Anything else?
MS. KINGSLEY: Rest.

THE COURT: Okay. Well, we'll figure out the
jury instructions for this section so why don’t we take
them out for a little bit. This shouldn’t be too long.

(Whereupon jury leaves courtroom).

THE COURT: The only three instructions I have
apparently there is the middle burden of proof on this?

MS. KINGSLEY: Right.

THE COURT: So I'll read the burden cf proof.
The burden of proof on Question 1 rests upon the [14]
party contending that the answer to the question should
be yes, and, of course, that question would be, “Did Levi
Hogner act maliciously toward LeRoy Strenke or in an

15a

intentional disregard of the rights of LeRoy Strenke?” Yes
or no. So the burden of proof is on the plaintiff.

MS. KINGSLEY: Your Honor, I should put in at
this point under Wisconsin Law in order for this to go to
the jury they have to prove a prima facia case and I'd like
to make a motion for a directed verdict for this portion.

THE COURT: Go ahead.

MS. KINGSLEY: Well, under Wisconsin Law
they have to show an intentional disregard for the rights
of others. As Mr. Williams pointed out in his closing
argument to the first portion of the trial, this was a
careless mistake. This was a left turn accident. This isn't a
case where youve got a drunk weaving down the road
hitting cars. It’s an accident which can occur at any time
at an intersection. He thinks he sees a turn signal.
Whether he does or not he thinks he’s got time to make it
through the intersection and he doesn’t make it through.
Certainly negligent and we stipulate to that. Certainly
careless, but I don’t think under Wisconsin case law that it
rises to the level of being an intentional disregard for
someone else’s rights.

The case law, and perhaps Mr. Williams has other
cases, [15] the case law that we looked at in this regard
indicated that Wisconsin has not yet adopted a rule that
says that if a person is drinking alcohol it definitely is a
prima facia case, and absent aggravating circumstances or
as the cases point out, absent outrageous conduct that
then there’s not sufficient evidence for it to go to the jury
and we would argue in this case there’s not sufficient
evidence.

THE COURT: Mr. Williams?

16a

MR. WILLIAMS: Judge, I have a number of
cases which I can present to you. There’s Lievrow v. Roth
which is a Court of Appeals case, 157 Wis. 2d, 332, and I’m
quoting from the head notes here. “Deliberately driving
while alcohol impaired may warrant imposition of punitive
damages in appropriate case where the outrageous con-
duct of driving while alcohol impaired has caused or
contributed to the plaintiff’s damages.”

And the other head note, “Evidence of other incidents
of drunk driving by a defendant was admissible in a civil
action seeking compensatory and punitive damages
arising out of an accident which occurred while defendant
was allegedly intoxicated in order to show that he was
aware of the danger of driving while intoxicated.”

In the case, that’s Court of Appeais, incidently, Judge,
1990. And the 1985 case, Brown v. Maxey in the Supreme
Court, it says punitive damages may be awarded if the
[16] plaintiff proves by clear, convincing evidence defen-
dant’s conduct was willful and wanton in disregard of
rights of others.

And then we go to the 1990 case, Court of Appeals,
Twist v. Lale, and quoting, “Conduct is outrageous if done
in reckless disregard of another’s rights reflecting a
flagrant indifference to public safety”. And quoting to the
body of it, “Evidence of Lale’s reckless driving provided an
adequate basis for a finding that Lale recklessly disre-
garded Twist’s rights and was flagrantly indifferent to
public safety”. And there are other unpublished opinions.

So what I wanted to call your attention to was the
presumption under 885 of amount of intoxication. As
Circuit Judge is aware, the 10th Judicial District sentenc-
ing guidelines puts this level of intoxication into the

17a

highest category both for consumption of alcohol or
amount of alcohol by test and the fact that there was an
accident which was, in effect, caused by this and the fact
then that it is a 5th offense and I'd ask you to take judicial
notice of State versus Hogner, 98-CT-134 in which Hogner
was convicted of a felony DWI on March 22, 1999, arising
out of an incident which occurred on October 16th of 1998,
this case.

So I think we’ve shown enough that this man’s con-
duct was knowing, outrageous. He consumed, it appears,
between 16 and 18 beers over a five hour period and the
test, which is [17] undisputed, was .269. Certainly what I
would consider to be a high test in my experience.

THE COURT: Anything else?
MS. KINGSLEY: No.

THE COURT: All right. I’m reading from
1707.01 which is the jury instruction for punitive dam-
ages, non-products liability for actions commenced on or
after May 17, 1995, and it says punitive damages may be
awarded in addition to compensatory damages if you find
that the defendant acted maliciously toward the plaintiff
or in an intentional disregard of the rights of the plaintiff,
and it says that a person’s actions are malicious when they
are the result of hatred, ill will, a desire for revenge or
inflicted under circumstances where insult or injury is
intended. I don’t think that portion fits this fact pattern as
I understand the evidence.

I think I can say as a matter of law there’s no evidence
that indicates that Mr. Hogner’s acts were a result of
hatred, ill will, a desire for revenge or inflicted under
circumstances where insult or injury is intended. But I

18a

think the portion that will allow this case to go to the jury
is there’s a dispute from the second sentence of the second
paragraph and that’s where it says a person acts in an
intentional disregard of the rights of the plaintiff if the
person acts with a purpose to disregard the plaintiff’s [18]
rights or is aware that his or her acts are practically
certain to result in the plaintiff’s rights being disregarded.

I think the argument of the plaintiff is that Mr.
Strenke as an operator of a motor vehicle on a public road
in Wisconsin at the time and place that’s material to this
lawsuit is a class of people who are Wisconsin motorists
and I think it’s arguable that Mr. Hogner, who admitted
from the witness chair that within a five hour period he
consumed either 16 or 18 twelve ounce containers of beer,
and that’s one fact. The other fact that’s important here is
that he was convicted of operating while intoxicated-type
offenses over a period of time. He has four convictions
prior to this. | think that it can be argued that someone
who’s had four offense drunk drivings and yet goes out on
the day in question and consumes 16 to 18 twelve ounce
containers of beer is exhibiting, and I’m assuming that we
can, that nobody was holding him down and pouring these
down his throat involuntarily, and so I think that’s an
inten’ :onal act which arguably the jury may find that this
was a disregard of the rights of the plaintiff and other
motorists on the road and, of course, the plaintiff being a
class of motorist on the road, and I think that those facts
together indicate that Mr. Hogner was aware or should
have been aware that his drinking these 16 to 18 twelve
ounce containers of beer, [19] coupled with his knowledge
of how the law in Wisconsin is on operating while intoxi-
cated since he has four convictions before, that these acts
arguably the jury could find that theyre practically

19a

certain to result in the plaintiffs rights being disregarded.
So Pll deny your motion.

Now, let’s go on and I’ve got the middle burden of
proof. Then I have 350, presumptions, conflict as to the
existence of basic facts. What is the basic fact that there’s
a conflict of evidence here? I don’t think there’s any. It’s
just what they do with that evidence. So I don’t think that

even applies.
Now, somebody else want to argue differently?
MS. KINGSLEY: That’s fine, Your Honor.
MR. WILLIAMS: No.

THE COURT: Okay. So we won't give that. So
the only two instructions that I can see we give them is
tinat we read them the verdict, we read them the burden of
proof and we read them the definition of punitive damages
and send it all back to the jury.

MS. KINGSLEY: Will we be able to make a brief

closing statement?

THE COURT: Sure. We'll do it just like we did
before. Mr. Williams goes first and then Ms. Kingsley goes
second. Okay?

MR. WILLIAMS: Id like you to see an [20]
instruction under 885, something about levels of intoxica-
tion, Judge.

THE COURT: Well, if you present it to me Ill
consider it.

MR. WILLIAMS: I'l seek that. With your
permission I will craft an instruction that parallels

20a

885.235(cd) which indicates that the presumptive level of
intoxication of .08 is presumptive that a person is under
the influence of alcohol.

MS. KINGSLEY: And, Your Honor, I would
strongly object. ’'m guessing, I haven’t seen the statute,
but I would assume this is used in criminal matters and
would not be appropriate in this action. I think the jury
instructions cover the issue for civil matters and I think
that would be very prejudicial to my client.

THE COURT: Here’s what it says. 885.235 is
entitled chemical test for intoxication and then it talks
about in (1)(cd), it says in cases involving persons who
have two or more prior convictions, suspensions or revoca-
tions as counted under 343.307, and it’s stipulated that
Mr. Hogner fits in that category, the fact that the analysis
shows that the person has an alcohol concentration of .08
or more is prima facia evidence that he was under the
influence of an intoxicant and is prima facia evidence that
he or she has an alcohol concentration of .08 or more and
that’s what you want [21] me to read to them, correct?

MR. WILLIAMS: Yes.

MS. KINGSLEY: Your Honor, I don’t think
there’s been any dispute that Mr. Hogner was intoxicated.
He admitted what his blood alcohol content was. I think
that again, that statute is written for criminal matters.
He’s already been convicted, served his jail time, his
probation for it. I don’t think it would be relevant here and
I think it would be very prejudicial to my client.

MR. WILLIAMS: As youre aware, Judge, the
standard for conviction such as Mr. Hogner’s is .02 in cases
for 5th offense and the purpose that I wanted to do that is

2la

to be able to tell the jury with a foundation behind it that
Mr. Hogner was three times in excess of the legal limit for
DWI.

MS. KINGSLEY: Your Honor, if it would expe-
dite things we would be happy to stipulate Mr. Hogner was
legally intoxicated at the time.

THE COURT: Well, I’m going to allow it. I don’t
know exactly how it’s going to be worded because I’m
certainly not going to use terms like prima facia and
things like that. I think what I'll do is just instruct them
the parties have stipulated that at the time of the accident
Mr. Hogner was legally intoxicated. The parties have also
stipulated that before the accident, before the time of the
[22] accident Mr. Hogner had been convicted of four prior
operating while intoxicated offenses, therefore setting the
standard, setting the blood alcohol standard for intoxica-
tion at .08 or more.

The parties have stipulated at the time of the accident
Mr. Hogner was legally intoxicated. The parties have also
stipulated that before the time of the accident Mr. Hogner
had been convicted of four prior OWI offenses. Therefore
the blood alcohol standard for intoxication is .08 or more.
Okay. That’s what I’m going to put in but you can make
your objections on the record.

MS. KINGSLEY: Yah, I do want to make my
objections on the record. Mr. Hogner was willing to stipu-
late that he was intoxicated at the time and I think that
by bringing this element in it’s confusing for the jury and
they're going to be looking at this and the question to
them. I think this confuses this with the criminal stan-
dards and he’s already pleaded guilty and been convicted.
He pleaded guilty and he served his time for that. I think

22a

this is going to confuse them and I think we have all that
we need in the punitive damage instruction. So Id like to
make my objection for the record.

THE COURT: Okay. Your objection is noted for
the record and it’s an argument that I understand and the
only reason I think that it’s fair game for Mr. Williams to
{23} get this in based upon my previous ruling that I think
the punitive damage instruction is appropriate in this case
based upon his level of intoxication, amount of beer that
he had in this five hour period and the fact that he knew
or should have known since he was convicted of four
offenses before that this is, I think, showing flagrant
indifference to public safety, as Mr. Williams quoted from
this one case, and because of that I think that provides a
threshhold for Mr. Williams to, if he cares to, to argue that
in this particular case Mr. Hogner was over three times
the level of intoxication legally. Well, now, this is a misno-
mer. Sometimes we call it legal intoxication which in his
case it’s .08. So three times .08 would be .24. So I think
that that’s a fair argument that Mr. Williams has told us
he wants to make to the jury and if he wants to do that I
think he has a right for the Court to instruct the jury that
he’s correct. In this case .08 is the standard for the bar
that Mr. Hogner, being convicted of two or more priors,
should not have crossed and so I think it’s okay. So that’s
what I’m going to do. But I understand your objection and
perhaps the three wise guys down in Wausau will agree.

Okay. Can we bring them in?
(Whereupon jury returns to courtroom).

THE COURT: I am now going to instruct you on
the law that’s applicable to this phase of the trial [24]
concerning punitive damages. First of all I want to tell you

23a

that punitive damages have a different burden of proof
than what you considered for these compensatory damages
on the last verdict and this verdict that you’re going to see
just has two questions on it and it says, special verdict
form as to punitive damages. It says, “We, the jury, hereby
answer the special verdict question as follows: Question 1:
Did Levi Hogner act maliciously toward LeRoy Strenke or
in an intentional disregard of the rights of LeRoy
Strenke?” And you're to answer that one either yes or no.

Then it says, “If you answered the preceding question
‘yes’, answer the following question:” In other words, if you
answer Question 1 “no”, you’re done. If you answer it yes,
then go on to Question 2. “What sum, if any, do you assess
against Levi Hogner as punitive damages?” And then
you've got your answer with a dollar sign in the blank line
like you had for compensatory and that’s it and it’s to be
dated today’s date because I assume you won’t come in
after midnight. But if you do, put in the correct date and
then the presiding juror or dissenting jurors.

Now, as to Question Number 1, this is where the
burden of proof changes from the last verdict, which only
was ordinary, so Ill read you this and I'll give this to you
to take in. The burden of proof on Question 1 rests upon
the party contending that the answer to the question
should be [25] “yes”, and, of course, that’s the plaintiff.
This burden is to convince you by evidence that is clear,
satisfactory and convincing to a reasonable certainty that
“yes” should be the answer to that question.

Clear, satisfactory and convincing evidence is evidence
which, when weighed against evidence opposed to it,
clearly has more convincing power. It is evidence which
satisfies and convinces you that “yes” should be the answer

24a

because of its greater weight and clear, convincing power.
This burden of proof is known as the “middle burden”.

The evidence required to meet this burden of proof
must be more convincing than merely the greater weight
of the credible evidence, which is what you had in the last
verdict, but less than the higher burden which is beyond a
reasonable doubt and that’s the burden that’s used in a
criminal case.

If you have to guess what the answer should be after
discussing all evidence which relates to a particular
question, or if you conclude that the evidence is less than
clear, satisfactory and convincing, then the party having
the burden of proof as to that question has not met the
required burden.

Now, this is the substantive instruction on punitive
damages. It tells you what punitive damages are. Punitive
damages may be awarded in addition to the compensatory
damages that you’ve already found if you find that the [26]
defendant acted maliciously toward the plaintiff, or in an
intentional disregard of the rights of the plaintiff. A
person’s acts are malicious when they are the result of
hatred, ill will, a desire for revenge or inflicted under
circumstances where insult or injury is intended. A person
acts in an intentional disregard of the rights of the plain-
tiff if the person acts with a purpose to disregard the
plaintiff’s rights or is aware that his or her acts are
practically certain to result in the plaintiff’s rights being
disregarded.

The purpose of punitive damages is to punish a
wrongdoer or deter the wrongdoer and others from engag-
ing in similar conduct in the future.

25a

Punitive damages are not awarded to compensate the
plaintiff for any loss he or she has sustained. A plaintiff is
not entitled to punitive damages as matter of right.

Even if you find that the defendant acted maliciously
or in an intentional disregard of the plaintiff’s rights, you
do not have to award punitive damages. Such damages
may be awarded or withheld at your discretion.

You may not, however, award punitive damages
unless you have awarded compensatory damages, which
you already have.

If you determine that punitive damages should be
awarded, you may then award such sum as will accom-
plish the purpose of punishing or deterring wrongful
conduct.

[27] Factors you should consider in answering this
question include one, the grievousness of the defendant’s
acts. Two, the degree of malicious involvement. Three, the
potential damage which might have been done by such
acts as well as the actual damage, and four, the defen-
dant’s ability to pay.

You may consider the defendant’s wealth in determin-
ing what sum of punitive damages will be enough to
punish the defendant and deter the defendant and others
from the same conduct in the future.

Okay. That’s it. So we'll start with the arguments on
this issue. Mr. Williams?

MR. WILLIAMS: Thank you, Your Honor. This
is the portion where I told you about we were going to do
this in two phases. The Judge has explained this now. The
question that you have to determine if a person who has

26a

been convicted of drunk driving four times and now jumps
into the felony level, a 5th offense drunk driving, is that -

THE COURT: Wait a minute. I forgot to give
them one other instruction.

MR. WILLIAMS: That’s on that percentage.

THE COURT: I forgot. Okay. This is my last
instruction. The parties have stipulated that at the time of |
the accident Mr. Hogner was legally intoxicated. The
parties have also stipulated that before the time of the
accident Mr. Hogner had been convicted of four prior OWI
[28] offenses. Therefore, the blood alcohol standard for
intoxication is .08 or more. Okay. I’m sorry, Mr. Williams.

MR. WILLIAMS: You can see what happens
towards the end of these trials where lawyers get tired and
start letting slip on this stuff here.

But anyhow, here you’ve got the case. It’s a philoso-
phical question. Do you wish to condemn Levi Hogner’s
conduct in driving, having had four convictions where he
goes and gets fired up and goes to three times the lawful
limit of alcohol because we stipulated that the level of
alcohol intoxication was .269.

Judge Henderson’s last instruction to you indicates
that the level, the line when you're over the line or not
over the line is .08 in this.

Now, I do a lot of defense work and I can tell you my
belief is that once you reach that 5th level when it changes
from being a misdemeanor, stops being a misdemeanor,
that people can make, and many people do make a mis-
take of multiple OWI’s for one, two, three, four at which
the law treats them fairly benignly with County Jail time

27a

and such appropriate punishment where they are not
branded with the defense of a felony conviction. Once you
get to the 5th offense, you get to a felony and I suggest to
you that I’ve got to condemn this or tell you because isn’t it
outrageous? Isn’t it in reckless disregard when somebody
gets in a car, [29] having been convicted four times, having
consumed 16 to 18 beers in a five hour period and is
driving down the road with other people on the road with
the intent to go to another bar and get more?

Now, is that worthy of condemnation or not? Is it
worthy of punitive, meaning punishment, damages to
show that society says, this doesn’t cut it? And I think that
that’s what the question you folks have to tell us. If you
say no, then your duty is done. If your answer is yes, that
that conduct steps beyond that of being a mistake and gets
into the point of being outrageous to the point of deserving
some punishment with it itself, then you have to answer
the other questions and I’ve suggested the other answer to
the question should be a sum of money sufficient to get the
notice of Mr. Hogner and the notice of the public and the
notice of the people that five offenses and causing some-
body injury is too much. And it’s not only when you cause
an injury of the magnitude which you’ve assessed to Mr.
Strenke, but it requires some kind of a message coming
from the voice of the State, that is you folks as members of
the public, saying we condemn this conduct and that
conduct alone in itself is worth punitive damages and I
suggest to you the figure of $25,000 is a reasonable sum
under these circumstances to say, enough is enough.
$25,000 worth of punishment. That may encourage Mr.
Hogner, may encourage other people to not drive [30]
again when you have consumed 16 to 18 beers or even a

28a

lesser amount that would put you at .08 blood alcohol,
three times the level in this case. That’s the argument.

THE COURT: Ms. Kingsley?

MS. KINGSLEY: I'm going to equally be brief.
Just to clarify, and the Judge already explained to you, it
is a different standard of proof. It’s clear and convincing
evidence. Please keep that in mind when you come to your
decision.

There’s no question here that what Mr. Hogner did
wasn't right. He’s a very nice man. He did a very stupid
thing. There’s no question here. Mr. Hogner has been very
up front through the entire trial about what happened.

But what you have to decide is did what he did rise to
the level of intentional disregard of Mr. Strenke’s rights?
So I do ask you to keep the distinction.

It’s one thing to say, geez, that was really stupid and
that’s true, but that’s not the question before you. That
would be an easy one to answer.

The question is, did he go out there and intentionally
disregard somebody’s rights? He testified he didn’t intend
to do it.

Yes, he had prior convictions. He was up front about
those. But did he intend it? He had never hurt anybody
before. He knew he had never been in an accident while
[31] driving before.

Should he have made the jump and known when he
went out he was going to injury somebody? Well, that’s
kind of a large leap. He’s not making any excuses.

29a

The other thing, when you talk about intentionally
disregarding somebody's rights, | think there’s two parts
here. Should he drink and drive which, no, you shouldn’t,
but does that make your actions intentional if somebody
gets hurt?

The other thing I wanted to bring up is in this case
this isn’t one of those cases where the drunk drives into
the side of a house or somebody’s weaving down the road
and hitting people. This is a left turn at an intersection.
It’s the type of case, the type of accident that happens
every single day whether or not somebody was intoxicated.
So think about that when you’re determining was this
outrageous conduct.

Also you've heard that at least Mr. Hogner thought
Mr. Strenke was going to turn. Whether or not that turn
signal was on, Mr. Hogner believes it was and he thought
that he could make the turn ahead of time. He certainly
didn’t intend to injure anybody.

I want to point you to a couple other things in the
instructions. ‘he reason I asked Mr. Hogner so much
about what do you make and what are your expenses and
everything is [32] because you do have the right to look at
the defendant’s ability to pay when you're looking at that
part of the trial and I think it was pretty clear from Mr.
Hogner’s testimony. There’s extremely limited ability to
pay. He makes about $2,000 a month. He is covering his
expenses but he is paying child support and those types of
things. Really not much left over if you do the math on the
numbers he gave you and that’s why we brought it up.

The other thing that you’re asked to look at and the
Judge did read to you, the degree of malice involved. Well,

30a

there’s been no testimony that there was any malice here
between the parties.

And the other thing he explained is this type of
damage. You can award these damages if your purpose is
to deter someone or punish someone. Mr. Hogner has
already been punished for this. He’s served time. He told
you his sentence was a year. He talked about that. He pled
guilty. He didn’t try, you know, he didn’t try to say, I didn’t
do it. He pled guilty. He served his time and I want to
point out that this was in 1998 and so if one of the pur-
poses is to deter conduct, you want to think, okay, what’s it
going to take to make this person not do this again? It’s
already happened. You heard the years of those convictions
and when he pled guilty. That hasn’t happened since. This
accident did stop it cold back in 1998. He’s taken responsi-
bility. [33] He hasn’t had this happen again. He has turned
things around and he’s come into court and said, I did it. It
was stupid but I did it. That’s basically the effect of what
he’s saying.

And the last thing I want to say is in Mr. Williams
closing argument on the first part of his case he said, I
think three times that I heard, it was a moment of care-
lessness and that’s what this was. It was a stupid mistake.
It was a moment of carelessness. That doesn’t mean that it
was a moment of intentionally going out and disregarding
somebody else’s rights.

Because he served his time, because he owned up to
this, we believe he has been punished. He certainly shows
that he has been deterred and we don’t feel that in addi-
tion to what he’s already gone through that an award of
punitive damages would be justified. Thank you.

3la

MR. WILLIAMS: Just a couple comments. Ms.
Kingsley says he went and pled guilty. He didn’t. He pled
no contest, saying he didn’t admit doing wrong. And under
the argument Ms. Kingsley made they're saying that it
has to be intentionally directed to LeRoy Strenke. He
didn’t know LeRoy Strenke. But under Ms. Kingsley’s
argument if you remember that famous case down in
Kentucky where a fellow got drunk and went down the
wrong way on the interstate and killed a bunch of kids in a
school bus?, Well, he didn’t [34] intend to do that and
therefore no punitive damages.

The intentional] act is getting in the car and driving a
car in reckless disregard of the rights of the public. When I
go home tonight to Amery, when you folks go home or
when anybody goes home they have a right to expect that
the cars that are opposing them that are on the highway
are not driven by a person who's under the influence and
in this case he’s been punished. He was punished on the
first offense. He was punished on second offense. He was
punished on third offense. He was punished on fourth
offense. She’s saying he shouldn’t be punished here. If
‘that’s the case, the more cases he gets of drunk driving
and that, the more likely it is he shouldn’t be punished
because he’s been punished five times, six times, seven
times before. You know, that doesn’t scour to the sub-
stance.

My suggestion to you is that this is an appropriate
case for the award of punitive damages and you folks have
the discretion to condemn this and say, this is wrong and
we will punish. Tell the world that this is wrong by giving
an award of punitive damages. That’s all I have. Thank
you.

32a

THE COURT: Well, here’s the verdict and the
jury instructions.

(Whereupon jury leaves courtroom at 2:01 P.M.)
(Whereupon jury returns to courtroom at 2:33 P.M.)

THE COURT: The jury hereby answers the [35]
special verdict questions as follows: “Question 1. Did Levi
Hogner act maliciously towards LeRoy Strenke or in an
intentional disregard for the rights of LeRoy Strenke?
Answer ‘Yes’.”

“Question 2, what sum, if any, do you assess against
Levi Hogner for punitive damages? Answer $225,000.”
There are no dissents. It’s signed by the foreperson.

Is that your verdict?
JURY: Yes.

THE COURT: Ms. Kingsley, do you want to poll
the jury?

MS. KINGSLEY: That’s okay, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Okay. My final instruction to you
is you do not have to answer questions about this case by
anyone other than by me, and your service in this case is
completed, and this includes the parties, lawyers, the
media or anyone else. It is in the public interest that there
be the utmost freedom of debate in the jury room and that
jurors be permitted 4 express their views without fear of
incurring the ange? ef any litigants or criticisms of any
persons.

While nothing prohibits you from disclosing what
happened in the jury room, you do not have to discuss the

33a

case with anyone or answer any questions about it. You
may confer with me before answering any questions asked
by anyone.

[36] So there we have it.
(Whereupon jury leaves courtroom).

THE COURT: Anything else you want to do
today?

MR. WILLIAMS: Nothing today, Judge, for the
plaintiff.
THE COURT: Okay. Thank you.
(END OF RECORD)
[37] State of Wisconsin )

County of Barron )

I, Kevin Babbitt, hereby certify that I have compared
the foregoing transcript with the shorthand notes taken by
me at the hearing held in the above-entitled matter and
find the same to be a true and complete transcript of said
notes and containing all the proceedings had on said
hearing.

/s/ Kevin Babbitt
Circuit Court Reporter

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0825%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
