# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lingle v. Arakaki (No. 05-988)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0793%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

— — us
Ay op ILE
Conn @ MAR 9 ~ 2006
: AND , No. 05-988 OFFICE OF THE CLERK
ORIERG In The

Supreme Court of the United States
Ortober Term, 2005

LINDA LINGLE, in ber official capacity as
GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF HAWAIL,
Petitioner.

Vv.

EARL F. ARAKAKL, et al,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF FLORIDA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS,
COLORADO, DELAWARE, IDAHO, MAINE, MICHIGAN,
MISSOURL, MONTANA, NEVADA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA,
OREGON, SOUTH CAROLINA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH,
VERMONT AND WASHINGTON AS AMICI CURLAE IN
SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.
Attorney General of Florida
CHRISTOPHER M. KISE
Solicitor General
ERIK M. FIGLIO
Deputy Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
SAMANTHA B. HUNTER
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney Genera!
PL-O1, The Capitol
lallahassee, FL. 32399
(850) 414-3681
Counsel for Amici Curiae
{ Additional counsel listed on inside cover}

LIBRARY GF CONGRESS
LAW LIBRARY

Terry Goddard

Attorney General of Arizona
Office of the Attorney General
L275 West Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Mike Beebe

Attorney General of Arkansas
200 Tower Bidg.. 323 Center
Street

Little Rock, AR 72201-2610

John Suthers

Attorney General of Colorado
Department of Law

1525 Sherman Street

Denver, CO 80203

Carl C. Danberg

Attorney General of Delaware
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

Lawrence Wasden
Attorney General of Idaho
P.O. Box 83720

Boise, LID 83720-1000

Steve Rowe

Attorney General of Maine
State House Station Six
Augusta, ME 04333

Michael A. Cox

Attorney General of Michigan
Post Office Box 30212
Lansing. MI 48909-0212

Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon
Attorney General of Missour
Office of the Attorney General
207 West High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Mike McGrath

Attomey General of Montana
P. Q. Box 20140!

Helena, MT 59620-1401

Brian Sandoval

Attorney General of Nevada
100 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Jim Petro

Attorney General of Ohio

150 East Gay Street, 23 Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

W.A. Drew Edmondson
Attorney General of Oklahoma
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Ste. 112
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4894

Hardy Myers

Attorney General of Oregon
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301

Henry McMaster

Attomey General of South
Carolina

Post Office Box 11549
Columbia. SC 29211-1549

Pau! Summers

Attorney General of Tennessee
500 Charlotte Avenue
Nashville, TN 37243

Greg Abbot _
Attorney General of Texas
Post Office Box 12548
Austin, TX 78711-2548

Mark Shurtleff

Attorney General of Utah

Utah State Capitol Complex
Fast Office Building, Suite 320
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2320

William H. Sorrell

Attomey General of Vermont
109 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05609-1001

Rob McKenna

Attorney General of Washington
P.O. Box 40100

1125 Washington Street, SE
Olympia, WA 98504-0100

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether state taxpayers have standing to challenge the
actions of state government or state agencies that expend, or
involve the use of, state taxpayer dollars, simply because they
pay taxes to the state”

TABLE OF CONTENTS

[ABLE OF AUTHORITIES

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE.......2..cc000:c0:ceceererce
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION..................-.

I. The Ninth Circuit's decision directly conflicts
with precedent in the Second, Sixth, and Tenth
Circuits and has created uncertainty in the law ...

Il. The Ninth Circuit’s evisceration of Article III's
particularized injury requirement in cases
initiated by state taxpayers dramatically
undermines state SOVETEIQMY «22.20.0000. cceceeeeneeteeeen

CONCLUSION

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
ASARCY, Inc. v. Kadish, 490 US. 605 (1989) 3.4.5.6
Bell v. City of Kellogg, 922 F.2d 1418 (9th Cir. 1991) oe

Board of Educ v. New York State Teachers Retirement Sys.,

BO FF FE a Oy, SO eserstceriprccinninectctimerpecieneticornedlt
Cammack v. Wathee, 932 F.2d 765 (9th Cir. 1991)... m
Colorado Taxpayers Union, Inc. v. Romer, 963 F.2d 1394

Ss Me acthendutatiacesticiiisiiehascetictinchatensticeisinnnias Cae aD
Dawson v. Childs, 665 F.2d 705 (Sth Cit. 1982) on 8
Doremus v. Board of Educ., 342 U.S. 429 (1952) ...... - 3, 4,5
Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968) ...........ccccccccccccececeeeeeeeee 2, 8
Frothingham v. Mellon, 262 U.S. 447 (1923)..........1, 2,3, 4,5
Henderson v. Stalder, 287 F.3d 374 (Sth Cir. 2002) ....00..0...... 4

Hoohult v- Arivoshi, 741 F.2d 1169 (9th Cir. 1984)... 4. 5,6, 8
Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, S04 U.S. 555 (1992)...........2.7

Minnesota Federation of Teachers \. Randall, 89\ F.2d 1354
(Sth Cir 1989) : APR AS el Ring eee ee

Nike. bac v. Kasky, S99 U.S. G64 (20GB) ...-.2.-00e-ecceree-e-srecccseeed

O'Sullivan v. City of Chicago, 396 F.3d 843 (7th Cir. 2005) . 8

Schlesinge rv Reservists Comm. to Stop the War, 418 US
208 (1974) 2.7

Tarsney v O'Kecfe, 225 F.3d 929 (8th Cir. 2000) 4.5,6,7

Laub v Commonwealth of Kentucky, 842 F.2d 91 2 (6th Cir

]}9R8) , 4.5.6.8
United States ». Richardson, 418 U.S. 166 (1974) Ra?
Warth v. Seldin. 422 U.S. 490 (1975) .......ccccccccecccecscececeserene dy 7

Women's Emergency Network v. Bush, 323 F.3d 937 (11th Cir
/ eae Re SE ce RE Se AE

OTHER AUTHORITIES
Nancy C. Staudt, Taapayers in Court: A Systematic Study of a

(Misunderstood) Standing Doctrine, 52 Emory LJ.771
RD ore dene scale LPR EE a ee 7,8

il

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIME

The States have a compelling interest in preserving the
constitutional and prudential standing limitations on plainuffs
seeking to voice generalized grievances directed at a State's
taxing and spending decisions—that are common to all members
of the public or citizens of a State. If citizens of a State were
granted standing in federa! court to challenge state expenditures
without demonstrating a concrete, particulanzed injury, the
ability of the States to govern would be seriously impeded and
the integrity of our federal system would be jeopardized. The
States must be free to pursue their own legislative initiatives and
fiscal policies without being subject to unrestrained federal
judicial review. Respect for the States as sovereigns thus
dictates that federal courts ngorously police the “particulanzed
injury” requirement im suits initiated by state taxpayers
challenging a State’s taxing and spending decisions.

The Ninth Circuit's decision created uncertainty in the
law with respect to this proposition. The otherwise settled view
of the circuits 1s that, absent a particulanzed injury, a plaintiffs
status as a state taxpayer is ordinarily insufficient to confer
federal standing to challenge the actions of a state government.
Although the States within the Ninth Circuit have a particularly
compelling interest in this case, all States have an interest in
restoring certainty to the law in light of the federalism
implications of the Ninth Circuit's decision.

Because hundreds of thousands, if not millions of
_ taxpayers share the burden of every State's taxing and spending
decisions, those decisions are “essentially a matter of public and
not individual concern.” See Frothingham v Mellon, 262 US.
447. 487 (1923). The States have an interest in ensurnng such
grievances are addressed, as the Constitution contemplates. by
the politically responsive branches of government.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

1 The Ninth Circuit's decision directly conflicts
with precedent in the Second, Sixth, and
Tenth Circuits, and has created uncertainty in
the law.

In order to satisfy the “irreducible constitutional
minimum” for standing in federal court, a plaintiff must show
that he has suffered an “injury in fact” that is both concrete and
particulanzed Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555,
360-561 (1992). To be “particulanzed,” “the injury must affect
the plaintiff in a personal and individual way,” id at 560 n.1, as
opposed to an undifferentiated, “generalized gnevance™ that 1s
“common to all members of the public,” United States v
Richardson, 418 U.S. 166, 176-77 (1974). “Absent the
necessary allegations of demonstrable, particulanzed injury,
there can be no confidence of ‘a real need to exercise the power
of judicial review’ or that rehef can be framed ‘no broader than
required by the precise facts to which the court's ruling would be
apphed.”” Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 508 (1975) (quotung
Schlesinger v. Reservists Comm. to Stop the War, 418 U.S. 208,
221-222 (1974)). Accordingly. “a plaintiff raising only a
generally available gnevance about government - claiming only
harm to his and every citizen's interest in proper application of
the Constitution and laws, and secking relief that no more
directly and tangybly benefits him than it dees the public at large

does not state an Article Ill case or controversy.” Lujan, S04
US at $73-74.

lt as settled Law that federal taxpayers generally lack
standing to challenge Congress's taxing and spending decisions
because they lack a sufficiently parnculanzed injury.
f rothingham » Melion, 262 US. 447, 487 (1923). see also Flast
+ Cohen, 392 US. 83, 102-03 (1968) (holding that federal
ta\paver status ts insufficient to confer standing unless taxpayer
“show!s| that the challenged enactment exceeds specific
constitutional limitations upon the exercise of [Congress's taxing

,

and spending) power”). The Court made clear in / rothingham
that sutts prermsed on federal taxnaver status are net cognizable
in federal court because a taxpayer's “interest in the moneys of
the Treasury is shared with millions of others, 1s
comparatively minute and indeterm:nable, and the effect upon
future taxation, of any payment out of the funds, so remote,
fluctuating and uncertain, that no basis 1s afforded for an appeal
to the preventive powers of a court of equity.” 262 US. at 487

in Deremus v. Board of Education, 342 U.S. 429(1952),
the Court held that a state taxpayer lacks federal standing to
challenge state action unless he has sustained a “direct dollars-
and-cents injury” as a result, i.e, unless his claim can be
characterized as a “good-faith pocketbook action,” id at 434. In
so holding, the Court “rewterate{d] what the Court said of a
federal statute [in Frothingham] as equally true when a state Act
is assailed: “The party who invokes the power must be able to
show not only that the statute 1s invalid but that he has sustained
or 1s immediately in danger of sustaining some direct injury as
the result of its enforcement, and not merely that he suffers in
some indefinit: way in common with people generally.” Id
(quoting Frothingham, 262 US. at 488) (emphasis added)

A plurality of this Court confirmed in ASARCO, Inc \
Kadish, 490 U.S. 605 (1989), that under Doremus, suits
premised on state taxpayer status are ord:narily not cogmzable in
federal courts, id at 613-14; see also Nike, Inc. v. Kasky, 539
U.S. 654, 669 (2003) (Breyer, J., dissenting) (commenting that
state taxpayers “ordinarily lack federal “standing’™”). According
to the plurality, state taxpayers cannot satisfy Doremus's “good-
faith pocketbook action” requirement simply by alleging that the
existence of the challenged state program or practice results in
increased government spending and thereby results in higher
taxes. ASARCO, 490 US. at 614. Given the vanables attending
State taxing and spending decisions, “[t}he possibility that
taxpayers will receive any direct pecumiary relief from [the]

lawsuit is “remote, fluctuating and uncertain” /d (quoting
Frothingham, 202 US. at 487)

In hight of Doremus and consistent with ASARCO, the
Second, Sixth, and Tenth Circuits have held that state taxpayers
lack standing in federal court to challenge a State's taxing and
spending decitswwns unless they can differentiate some
quantifiable injury distinguished from that suffered by other
taxpayers. Bourd of Educ vy New York State Teachers
Retirement Sys, 60 F.3d 106, 110-11 (2d Cir. 1995): Colorado
luxpavers Union, Inc. v. Romer, 963 F.2d 1394, 1402-03 (10th
Cir. 1992), Taub v Commonwealth of Kentucky, 842 F.2d 9)?
Y¥18-19 (6th Cir. L988): see - Women 's Emergency Network
Bush, 323 F.3d 937, 943-44 (1 lth Cir. 2003) (recogmizing that
“stale taxpayers | ordinanly! La ick a sufficiently personal interest
to challenge laws of general applicability, since their injury is not
significantly different from that suffered by laxpa* *s mi
general”): Henderson v. Stalder, 287 F.3d 374, 379 (Sth Cir
2002) (“[I]n cases in which a state taxpayer challenges the
constitunonality of a state law, he ‘must be able to show not onls
that the statute is invalid but that he has sustained or is
immediately in d anger Of sustaining some direct Injury 4s 4 result
of its entorcement, not merely that he suftered in some indefinite
Wav In common with people generally." ' (quoting Doremus, 342
US. at 434); Zarsney v. O'Keefe 225 F.3d 929, 938 (8th Cir
2) (holding state taxpayers could not state Free Exercise
claim absent showing of direct ingury) Thus the majonty view
of the circuits 1s “that the requirements for tederal taxpayer
standing announced in Frothingham control the issue of state
taxpayer standing. at least in those cases where violation of the
he stabhishment Clause 1s not — " Laub, 842 F.2d at 918

Stale tanpayer standing 1s aconictable anne this otherwise
settled body of law. The court held in Hoohul: » Arivoshi, 74)
F 2d 1169 (9th Cir. 1984), that state taxpaver plaintiffs satisfy
Amicle TH and Doremus standing requirements simply by

4
~~

{pleading} with specificity amounts of money appropriated and
spent [by the state] for allegedly unlawful purposes,” id. at
1180.' Accordingly, there is no requirement under //oohul: that
a taxpayer show eithe . 1) that his alleged :ryury ts redressable by
(ce. that will financially benefit from) a favorable decision, or
(2) that his alleged injury is different in any way from that of any
other stale taxpayer.

Hoohuli has been rejected by decisions of at least the
Second, Sixth, and Tenth Circuits.” New Fork State Teachers
Retirement Sys, 60 F.3d at 110; Colorado Taxpavers Union, 963
F.2d at 1401-03; Taub, 842 F.2d at 919. In Taub, the Sixth
Circuit explained why Hoohuli’s elimination of a “direct and
palpable injury” requirement cannot possibly be correct. The
court observed that Doremus had not eliminated the
requirement—“1n fact, the Court in Doremus emphasized it by
quoting Frothingham conceming direct injury and the
requirement that a taxpayer-plainutt allege more than ‘merely

‘In Bell vy City of Ketlogg, 922 F.2d 1418 (9th Cur 199}), a Ninth Curcunt
panel reed on 4S4RCO for the proposition that “|t)he same constitutional
standing principles [applicable to federal taxpayers) apply to those suing in
federal court as state taxpayers.” id at 1423) However. a subsequent Ninth
Circuit pane! explained that Bel/ was merely meant to “ump y| some sympathy
toward Jusuce Kennedy's views,” and “should not be interpreted as altering
the law of this curcunt on state taxpayer standing ~ Cammack, Waihee. 932
F.2d 768, 770 n.9 (9th Cur 1991)

* Exghth Circuit precedent 1s less clear on this point Although the Eighth
Curcunt wn Tarsney relied on Colorado State Taapayers Union and Taub im
dismussing a Free Exercise claim raised by state taxpayers for their failure to
identity a duect mury. Jarsmesy, 225 F 3d at 937-38. Tarsney does not
acknowledge any conflict with Hoofué:, and an carer Fighth Curcun decision
appeared to rely on Hoohuli un holding, i an Establishment Clause case. that
Slate taxpayers need not demonswate an merease in thet tax burdens to satisty
Deoremus Minnesota Federation of Teachers v Randall 89) F.2d 1354
1358 (sth Car 1Y89), see Tarsney, 225 & 3d at 942 (Magill, dissenting)
(noting Vagueness of majonty opmon with respect to Doremus and resulung
vagueness of Eighth Circust precedent with respect to state laxpayer standing
aside trom F stablishment Clause context)

s

nee

that he suffers in some indefintte way in common with people

generally.” 7aub, 842 F.2d at 919

Notwithstanding ASARCO and the weight of authority
from other courts, the Nanth Circuit in this case declined to
retreat trom Hoohuli. Without significant analysis, the court
held that, notwithstanding ASARCO, “Hoohuli remains the law
of the circuit until our court, sitting en banc, overrules 1, or until
the Supreme Court, in a majonty opinion, plainly undermines its
principles.” Pet. App. at 24. The Ninth Circuit's holding that
4SARCO has no precedential value confirmed the existence of a
direct split of authonty between the Ninth Circuit on one hand
and at least the Second, Sixth, and Tenth Circuits on the other
See discussion supra n.2. Given the federalism implications of
the Ninth Circuit's decision, certioran 1s necessary to restore

certainty to the law

If. The Ninth Circuit’s evisceration of Article
III's particularized injur’ requirement in
cases initiated by state taxpa, ers dramatically
undermines state sovereignty.

The “consututional commitment to federalism” is
“senously undermine{d]}” if the Article IT] standing requirements
can be relaxed to permit a state taxpayer, suing solely as such, to
challenge state taxpaying and spending decisiens in federal court
Tarsney, 225 F.3d at 938, Colorado Taxpayers Union, 963 F.2d
at 1403: accord, e.g.. Taub, $42 F.2d at 919 (“[W]hen State
tuxpavets attack state spending in federal court, [1t implicates]
the integrity of our government's federalist structure.”’) (quoting
Hoohuli, 741) F.2d at 1183 (Wallace, J.. dissenting))
Accordingly. “[clonsiderations of federalism should signal
[caution] when @ state taxpayer seeks to have a federal court
enjoin the appropnation and spending activities of 4 state
government ” Jaub, 842 F.2d at 91

A State's autonomy in its conduct of fiscal affairs 1s
centrattetts sovereign status. See Jauh, 842 F.2d at 919 ("State

fy

sovereignty extends to the total conduct of a state’s tiscal
affairs.”). Thus federalism concerns are implicated any me a
State taxpayer seeks to have a tedera! court enjoin the taxing and
spending decisions of a state government. While a state ciuzen
who -zn allege a special injury as a result of a state's
constitutional violations should generally be free to initiate a
federal suit, state citizens should not be able to use the federal
courts to voice generalized gnevances with a State’s taxing and
spending decisions.

The purposes of the particulanzed injury requirement-—to
differentiate the business of courts from the business of the
political branches of government, Lujan, 504 US. at 576, and to
ensure that “relief can be framed no broader than required by the
precise facts to which the court’s ruling would be applied,”
Warth, 422 U.S. at 508 (intemal quotation omutted)—have
heightened significance in this context. If state taxpayers have
federal standing to voice generalized gnevances with state taxing
and spending decisions, they will have little incentive to raise
those concerns before the politically responsive branches of state
government. See Tarsney 225 F.3d at 938; cf Schlesinger v
Reservists Comm. to Stop the War, 418 U.S. 208, 222 (1974)
(“To permit a complainant who has no concrete injury to require
a court to rule on important constitutional issues in the abstract
would create the potential for abuse of the judicial process,
distort the role of the Judiciary in its relationship to the
Executive and the Legislature and open the Judiciary to an
arguable charge of providing ‘government by injunction.””).
Nancy C. Staudt. Taxpayers in Court: A Systematic Study of a
(Misunderstood) Standing Doctrine, 52 Emory 1..J. 771, 845
(2003) (*[MJany of the state and mumerpal taxpayer cases
suggest [that] taxpayers seck the assistance of federal court
judges to decide disputes that include a range of issues that are
picayune: university and college class offennys. city contracts
and bidding procedures, intramural sport) rules acd
requirements.”) (footnotes omitted) The = resulting

“|ujnnecessary or abstract decisions could unduly constnet
expenmental state weltare legislation and undermine local self-
determination.” Colorado Taxpayers Union, 963 F 2d at 1403
(quotung Hoohuli, 741 F.2d at 1183 (Wallace, J., dissenting)),
faub, 842 F.2d at 919; see also Staudt, $2 Emory LJ. at 845
(arguing that particulanzed injury requirement in state taxpayer
standing cases 1s sensible because, otherwise, “the federal courts
begin to play the role of ombudsman for states ")

Accordingly. the federal structure of the Constitution
requires the federal courts be more, not less, vigilant in policing
Article Ill’s “case or controversy” requirement whem a State is
hailed into tederai court and forced to defend a sovereign interes!
4» sacrosanct as its authonty to tax and spend free of federal!
interference. Cf Dawson v. Childs, 665 F.2d 705, 709 (Sth Cir
1982) (“Under our federalist system, the state governments no
less than the federal government possess certain unalienable
powers that the other may not encroach ur~n Of all such
areas, the field of state tuxaton 1s perhaps the most important. ’’)
“The mere allegation of federal constitutional violations cannot
be allowed to clothe a state governmental decisionmaking
process with the ill-fitung garments of federal court scrutiny.”
Colorado laxpayers Union, 963 F.2d at 1403. Instead, respect
for the States as sovereigns requires the federal courts, “before
permitting 4 plaintiff to challenge state governmental activity,

lo ensure, with careful attention, that the parties betore it have
the Tequisite concrete adverseness that will ensure full
presentation of the issues and avoid unnecessary intrusion into
State governmental processes.” O'Sullivan v. City of Chicago,
396 F.3d at 854 (7th Cir. 2005)

The Arucle Hl “particulanzed ingury” requirement
precludes taxpayers from “employ{ing] 4 federal court as a forum
in Which to air... generalized gnevances about the conduct of
government.” See Flast, 392 U.S. at 106. The policy rationale
underpinning this requirement is at least as strong im this
context where state taxpayers attempt to utilize the federal

S

courts to air generalized gnevances directed at their state
government—as it 1s in an all-tederal action. The Ninth Circuit
erred in reaching the opposite conclusion.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for wnt of
certioran should be granted

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED.

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR
ATTORNEY GENERAL

CHRISTOPHER M. KISE
SOLICITOR GENERAL
Fla. Bar No. 0855545

ERIK M. FIGLIO
DEPUTY SOLICITOR GENERAL
Fla. Bar No. 074525]

SAMANTHA B. HUNTER
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
Fla. Bar No. 0017693

Office of the Attorney Genera!
Suite PL-01, The Capito!
Tallahassee, FL 32399

(850) 414-3300

(850) 410-2672 (fax)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0793%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
