# Prologue — Cathel v. Marshall (No. 05-966)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0776%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Prologue
- **Published:** January 1, 2005

## Text

(/] Supreme Cos “_

05-966 Jan dv 2006
No.

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

RON CATHEL,
Administrator, New Jersey State Prison:
NANCY KAPLEN,
Acting Attorney General, State of New Jersey,
Petitioners,

V.

ROBERT O. MARSHALL,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

NANCY KAPEEN

Acting Attorney General of New Jersey
ROBERT E. BONPIETRO

Deputy Attorney General

Attorney of Record
DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE
R.J. HUGHES JUSTICE COMPLEX

P.O. Box 086

TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08625
(609) 292-9086

January 26, 2006

i
CAPITAL CASE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the ruling of the Third Circuit that counsel’s
preparation for and performance in the penalty phase of
respondent’s capital murder trial was deficient conflicts
with the principles announced by this Court in Strickland
V. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984), and subsequent
caselaw, in that it fails to give any deference to counsel’s
strategic rationale and sets forth a series of per se rules
counsel was required to have followed.

Whether the ruling of the Third Circuit that respondent
was prejudiced by counsel’s allegedly deficient
performance cenflicts with this Court’s jurisprudence in
that the omniied mitigating evidence is merely
corroborative of that presented by counsel in the guilt
phase and is’ not relevant to respondent’s
blameworthiness or moral culpability.

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties below are listed in the caption, with the
exception that pursuant to F.R.A.P. 43(c), Nancy Kaplen,
Acting Attorney General of New Jersey, is substituted for
Peter C. Harvey, former Attorney General of New Jersey.

iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

~

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ....
SE Ae PEAR oo ehh ee, eth Ce eS

Sas Cae GCAMUEN EE 5 000 Ce eae ees

PRTC AES: 6 COE AR OS CES A

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............
STATEMENT OF THE CASE «6 bee ceo es

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .....

I. The Decision of the Third Circuit
; that the Performance of

Respondent’s Counsel was Deficient
Conflicts With This Court’s Sixth
Amendment Jurisprudence in that it
Pays No Deference to Counsel’s
Stated Strategy and Imposes a Set of
Per Se Rules Counsel was Required

to Mave FOHOWE? oo ik Oe ki ee

iV

II. The Decision of the Third Circuit
Conflicts With This Court’s
Jurisprudence on the Prejudice Prong of
Strickland v. Washington in that the
Omitted Mitigating Evidence was
Merely Corroborative of that Presented
By Counsel in the Guilt Phase and was
Not Relevant to Respondent’s
Blameworthiness or Culpability ........ 21

CAI isle Fer ee ees ees ee 28

INDEX TO APPENDIX

- Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit, dated November 2, 2005 .. la

Opinion of the United States District Court for the
District of New Jersey, dated April 8, 2004 ... 46a

Order of the United States Districi Court for the
District of New Jersey, Granting Petitioner’s
Application for Writ of Habeas Corpus,
Omed AMG, ZUG oe hee ee ae 113a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES CITED:
Bell v. Come, 335 US. GBS (20GZ) sn ce cece ss 3,9
17
Marshall v. Cathel, 428 F.3d 452 (3d Cir. 2005) ... 1,8
: 11,16
18
Marshall v. Hendricks, 313 F.Supp.2d 423
CRAIN A ee Wace ae a ae ee Be 1,10
24
Marshall v. Hendricks, 307 F.3d 36 (3d Cir. 2002),
cert. denied, 538 U.S. 911 (2003) ....... Sieger § 8
Marshall v. Hendricks, 103 F.Supp.2d 749
eae OEE OS ete eS eee 8
Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989) ......... 22
Roberts v. Dreike, 356 F.3d 632 (Sth Cir. 2004),
cert.denied, U.S. ___, 125 S.Ct. 1726
CR oes Se Ee le Re re oe ee 16
Rompilla v. Beard, _U.S._ _, 125 S.Ct. 2456
CEE oF hae IS Sele a Ws RU eae Hoe 23,24
Rompilla v. Horn, 355 F.3d 233 (3d Cir. 2004) .... 23
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984) .... 2,8
13,14
16
Wiggins v. Smith, 539 U.S. 510 (2003) ........ 13,22

vi
Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 369 (2000) ......... 22
Yarborough v. Gentry, 540 U.S. 1 (2004) ....... 3,19
STATUTES CITED:
Pe ith DIA ee eR LO ee er es l
ae ce SO ek Gs ke ee ees 2,26
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED:
5. OU. AMUN, VE iene ee ks ORES Beye ee l
OTHER SOURCES CITED:
Guidelines for the Appointment and Performance

of Defense Counsel in Death Penalty Cases
CE a kare eG ke ee ae a ee a 24

PETITIC © FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit is reported at Marshall v. Cathel, 428
F.3d 452 (3d Cir. 2005) and reprinted in the Appendix at
la to 45a. The opinion of the United States District Court
for the District of New Jersey is reported at Marshall v.
Hendricks, 313 F.Supp.2d 423 (D.N.J. 2004) and is
reprinted in the Appendix at 46a to 112a.

JURISDICTION

The Third Circuit’s judgment was entered on
November 2, 2005. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). z

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION,
AMENDMENT VI

In all criminal prosecution, the accused shall enjoy the
right to a speedy and public tria!, by an impartial jury of
the State and district wherein the crime shall have been
committed, which district shall have been previously
ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and
- cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses
against him; to have compulsory process for obtaining
witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assistance of
Counsel for his defense.

2
28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1)

(d) An application for a writ of habeas corpus on
behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the
judgment of a State court shall not be granted with
respect to. any claim that was adjudicated on the
merits in State court proceedings unless the
adjudication of the claim -

(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to, or
involved an unreasonable application of, clearly
established Federal law, as determined by the
Supreme Court of the United States.

3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves a Third Circuit Court of Appeals
ruling granting a habeas petition on ineffective assistance of
counsel in the penalty phase of a capital murder trial. The
court’s decision is in direct conflict with this Court’s Sixth
Amendment jurisprudence in several respects. First, the
lower court paid absolutely no deference to trial counsel’s
explanation regarding his. preparation for a mitigation case
and his decision to limit mitigation evidence to that presented
in the guilt phase, and in fact wrongly found that there had
been no preparation whatsoever. In addition, the court’s
opinion creates a per se rule that counsel in a capital case
must specifically interview particular witnesses in advance of
a penalty phase, despite respondent's direction that the subject
not be broached with these witnesses. Moreover, the court of
appeals found that counsel was required to have presented
mitigating evidence in the penalty phase itself, contrary to this
Court’s holdings otherwise. Finally with respect to counsel’s
_ performance, the circuit court ignored recent precedent, Bel] ~
v. Cone, 535 U.S. 685 (2002), and Yarborough v. Gentry,
540 U.S. 1 (2004), and held that counsel was required to have
begged the jury to spare his client’s life rather than give a
strategically low-key presentation designed to emphasize the
State’s heavy burden of proof and mute an aggressive
prosecutor.

This case also presents an important question regarding
the Third Circuit’s ruling on prejudice - that is, whether the
inclusion of mitigating evidence not relevant to moral
culpability and merely corroborative of that already presented
in the guilt phase would have resulted in a reasonable
probability that the result would have been different.

In early 1984, respondent was a successful Toms River,
New Jersey, insurance salesman, married to Maria Marshall,
and the father of three teenaged sons. At the same time,
respondent was carrying on an affair with Sarann Kraushaar,

4

and was seriously in debt. In order to be with Sarann and
free himself from debt, respondent decided to have Maria
killed and collect the insurance on her life. A chance meeting
with Louisiana hardware store co-owner Robert Cumber at a
party in Point Pleasant Beach led respondent to the man who
would arrange for the hit. Under the guise of “investigating”
respondent’s wife, Cumber put respondent in contact with
Billy Wayne McKinnon, known to respondent as “Jimmy
Davis.” In the months that followed, respondent and
McKinnon plotted Maria’s murder, through numerous
telephone calls between New Jersey and Louisiana and
meetings in Atlantic City; McKinnon ultimately received
$20,000 to $22,000 for his efforts, with the promise of up to
$65,000 more. At about the same time, respondent was
dramatically increasing the amount of life insurance on his
non-working spouse, to a total of $1.4 million at the time of
her murder.

On September 6, 1984, the scheme was -put into action.
By agreement with McKinnon, on the way home to Toms
River from an evening with Maria in Atlantic City, petitioner
was to feign trouble with his car and pull into a secluded
picnic area on the Garden State Parkway. When petitioner
did so, at about 1:00 a.m., a gunman was waiting.’ Maria
Marshall was killed with two shots from a_ .45-caliber
handgun; her husband suffered, also by prearrangement with
McKinnon to make it look as if he were the victim of a
robbery, a slight head wound requiring five stitches to close.
McKinnon and the other man fled, ultimately arriving back in
Louisiana.

Investigators quickly picked up the trail and learned of
McKinnon and “Davis.” After being questioned on
September 21, 1984, about his knowledge of these names,

Larry Thompson, named by McKinnon as the triggerman, was
acquitted.

5

respondent retained Glenn Zeitz, Esq., an experienced
criminal trial lawyer for ten years in both New Jersey and
Pennsylvania. Zeitz knew from the outset that this case was
a potential capital prosecution, and prepared the case
accordingly.

Circumstances would greatly affect how Zeitz prepared.
First, two days after he hired Zeitz, respondent appeared to
attempt to commit suicide in the same hotel room he used to
share with Sarann, mixing sleeping pills with soda, but falling
asleep before drinking it. Zeitz consulted with a
psychologist, and ultimately had respondent placed in a
psychiatric hospital for examination, both for a potential guilt
phase mental defense and for mitigation. This bore no fruit;
not only was respondent indifferent to treatment, he was
found to be narcissistic, manipulative, and engaging in
sexually provocative behavior in the hospital.

Several tape recordings made by respondent just before
the suicide “attempt” would also affect Zeitz’s strategy. One,
to respondent’s brother-in-law, an attorney, was devastating;
in it, respondent acknowledged the affair with Sarann as well
as the size of his escalating debt. However, three other tapes,
one to each son, would figure prominently in Zeitz’s plans,
both for guilt and penalty.

After McKinnon decided to cooperate and named
respondent as chief orchestrator of the plot to kill Maria,
respondent was arrested in late December 1984 and indicted
for capital murder in early January 1985. In the months
leading to trial, Zeitz became aware of an- increasing
negativity toward respondent in the community, including that
of two of his three sons, who by the time of trial believed
their father guilty. In addition, respondent himself made
things difficult, insisting on a total focus on his ultimate
vindication, and effectively forbidding discussion of any other
result, including a possible penalty phase.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0776%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
