# Opposition Brief — Dretke v. Guidry (No. 05-965)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0775%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005

## Text

foam
(9) Supreme Court, U_S.

FILED
No. 05-965 FEB 8 - 2006

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

HOWARD PAUL GUIDRY,
Petitioner

¥,

DOUG DRETKE, Director, Texas Department of
Criminal Justice, Correctional Institutional Division

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Kenneth A. Williams Robert M. Rosenberg
Southwestern University School of Law 1309 NE 23rd Street

675 S. Westmoreland Avenue Wilton Manors, FL 33305
Los Angeles, CA 90036 (832)816-2955

(213)738-6806

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

Capital Case
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether a state courts’ findings of fact regarding the voluntariness of a
confession, made without considering highly probative testimony, are entitled to a
presumption of correctness.

Whether a state court's decision regarding the voluntariness of a confession was
based on an unreasonable determination of the facts where it ignored crucial
testimony.

Whether a federal habeas court abused its discretion by granting an evidentiary
hearing when neither the AEDPA nor Rule 8 of the Rules Governing Section
2254 Cases precludes it from doing so.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PEGE ee i cece ceaceretceescocbececccedccevecss i
TABUE OF AU TiAir ee i ee vebereetchecvedereseccescosccedce iii
ST ATENEO FU i sikh ais s dh ake bined sacsves 1
I POC OF TOO GEIR < ov ik bec cdeeeeressessceccdcccvesvecccece l
II. Facts Relating to the Fifth Amendment Claim................ |
SUMMARY OF TEE ARGsURGETE edvevevecercccvecceccseveuvees 8
ARGUMENT 05 cciccnssotawecteeeesesceseareseseececesveoocenes 8
I. The Court of Appeals' Holding That the State Court's

Fact-Finding Was Defective Because it Ignored or Overlooked

Highly Probative Testimony Central to Mr. Guidry's Claim

is Consistent With Decisions of This Court and Other Courts

se SRT ETEE TE ET OT LURE T OUTER TILT LE ETT ETL 9
II. The Lower Courts Properly Held That the Presumption of

Correctness Was Rebutted by Clear and Convincing Evidence

That Mr. Guidry Requested Requested Counsel During

The Interrogation «oc cceccccdeesverecesevecccocvecccceces 12

Iii, The Court of Appeals Was Correct in Holding That the District
Court had the Authority to Conduct an Evidentiary Hearing
Under the AEDPA and Rule 8 of the Rules Governing Section
SSF CIGD 6 occa eat hae eaee Phe ee Sed voces dusavecdeceseece 16

CONCLUSION oo. cccccdccntvvccvesevecvetassivesccocccccccess 19

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Page
Guidry v. Dretke, 397 F.3d 306 (Sth Cir. 2005)...............000 cee passim
Guidry v. Dretke, 2002 LEXIS 27685 (S.D. Texas 2002)............... 17
pier El ¥ Coes, S37 U.S. S22 GAOUS) ow cc cccecenvevcesevccdes 9,11
Taylor. v. Maddox, 366 F.3d 992 (9th Cir. 2004)................0245. 10, 11
Michael Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420 (2000)...... ern cerewenhade 18
Constitutions, Statutes and Rules
U.S. Const. amend V......... E Ccechkandenseaas WON s Cas whe 4 teen passim
Be en RETOLD i 6 aye bo Kor Riu weeayhaeebsdhdhavons oansa part 12
ye th fee pe Eg ee eR ey eT oe eee re ee ee 18
Rule 8 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in
Ey Ue CIRININON SN obo cb acer pus v chides duedeéed Cun edes ern 18
Miscellaneous
Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996.................. passim

ill

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
I. Facts of the Crime
The panel opinion succinctly summarized the facts relating to the instant offense:
Farah Fratta was murdered on 9 November 1994; her husband, Robert Fratta, had
hired Joseph Prystash to kill her. (Each received the death penalty). During a
custodial interrogation approximately four months after Farah Fratta's murder,
Guidry confessed to shooting Farah Fratta and leaving the scene with Prystash.
At Guidry's trial, his confession, as well as hearsay testimony against Guidry's
interest by Prystash's girlfriend, Mary Gipp, established that, for $1000, Guidry
agreed to help Prystash kill Farah Fratta.
Il. Facts Relating to the Fifth Amendment Claim
There were important events relating to Mr. Guidry's Fifth Amendment claim,
each discussed below: the March 7, 1995 interrogation of Mr. Guidry by the Harris
County Sheriff Department; a March 15, 1995 conversation in a Texas state court judge's
chambers; an August 28, 1996 motion to suppress hearing; a February 20, 1997 motion to
suppress hearing and a December 13, 2002 federal evidentiary hearing.
a. March 7, 1995 interrogation
On March 7, 1995, Mr. Guidry was incarcerated on an unrelated bank robbery
charge. Counsel had been appointed to represent him on this charge.' After receiving a
possible lead regarding the murder of Farah Fratta, Ronnie Roberts and Jim Hoffman,
detectives in the Harris County Sheriff's Department, interviewed Mr. Guidry. Tr. Vol.
24 at 50, 53, 101-02. Mr. Guidry asserts that he requested to speak with his attommey
during this interview. Tr. Vol. 7 at 166, 167. He says that the officers subsequently
informed him that they had spoken with his attorney who gave permission for Mr. Guidry

to speak with the detectives. Tr. Vol. 7 at 171-72. Asa result of this assurance, Mr.

Guidry provided several statements implicating him in the Fratta murder. Tr. Vol. 7 at

' Layton Duer had been appointed to represent Mr. Guidry on the unrelated bank robbery charge

174-75, 187. The detectives denied that Mr. Guidry ever asked during the interview to
speak with counsel. Tr. Vol. 24 at 126.
b. August 28, 1996 hearing

The state court conducted a hearing as a result of Mr. Guidry's motion to suppress
the sian he gave to the detectives during the March 7, 1995 interrogation. At this
hearing Detective Roberts denied that Mr. Guidry requested either to speak with his
attorney or to have him present. Tr. Vol. 3 at 21-22. Detective Roberts did, however,
offer conflicting testimony about whether he was aware that Mr. Guidry was represented

by counsel at the time:

Q: Were you aware of the fact that he, in fact, had an attorney representing
him out of the bank robbery?
A: Somewhere, subsequent in the conversation, I was advised that he did

have an attorney for the aggravated robbery.
Tr. Vol. 3 at 17-18 (emphasis added).

But later in the same hearing, Detective Roberts retreated from his acknowledgement that

Mr. Guidry had counsel:

A: ... 1 don't know if he had an attorney or not. | was, I assumed he, I don't
know, he didn't tell me. I don't know how, whether he had been in jail and
had been appointed an attorney [for the bank robbery charge], I never did
confirm if he had an attorney.

Q: So now you are going back to say you didn't even know he had an
attorney?
A: Just because somebody's lips move doesn't make it a prayer book. I never

did confirm whether there was an attorney or not.

Q: So when he told you he had an attorney, you assumed he was lying right,
so it wasn't a prayer book?

A: I'm not aware of how I was made aware of it, if he had an attorney or not.

Tr. Vol. 3 at 26-27.
The remainder of the testimony at this hearing is summarized by the Fifth
Circuit's panel opinion:

... Gottlieb, a lawyer unaffiliated with the Guidry case, gave the following
testimony about a 15 March 1995 conversation in the chambers of a Texas state
judge (approximately a week after the interrogation/confession.). The judge was
not present; the following persons were: Gottlieb, Guidry's two attorneys for the
murder charge, Scott and Yarborough; Assistant District Attorney Rizzo; and two
Harris County Sheriff's detectives. During this conversation, one of the detectives
remarked that he had been involved in obtaining Guidry's confession for the
investigation of Farah Fratta's murder.

Scott and Yarborough, who had been appointed on or about the very day to
defend Guidry on the murder charge, asked about the circumstances under which
Guidry confessed. Gottlieb testified about the detective's response:

Q: Was there any discussion [by the detectives] about whether or not Howard
Guidry had an attorney?

A: ... [think I said something to the effect that well, you know, he has an
attorney on the aggravated robbery. They said, Yes, we talked to the
attorney and got permission to talk to Guidry before we took him out to
have his statement. . .

[W]e all looked at each other in total and complete amazement... I mean
we were shocked that that would have occurred. That the lawyer gave
them permission to talk to a man being accused of capital murder . . . [that
a] defense attorney would even do that. I mean I specifically remember
elbowing... Yarborough, going, Who is that [lawyer?]

Duer, Guidry’s robbery-charge attorney, also testified at the 1996 hearing.
According to his testimony: he told Guidry not to talk to any officers; he was
never contacted by any detectives or by anyone else; and he never gave anyone
permission to discuss any matter with Guidry.

Guidry v. Dretke, 397 F.3d 306, 313 (Sth Cir. 2005).

Because the detectives contradicted Gottlieb's account of the in-chambers
conversation, Scott and Yarborough realized that they would be required to testify about

the conversation. Id. They therefore moved for a continuance so that they could

withdraw and new counsel could be appointed to represent Mr. Guidry. {d.

c. February 20, 1997 hearing

After Scott and Yarborough withdrew as Mr. Guidry's counsel, a new motion to
suppress hearing was held. Mr. Guidry testified that he had been instructed by Layton
Duer not to "make any statements to anyone for any reason." Tr. Vol. 7 at 155. He
further testified that once questioning commenced, he-asked the police to contact his
attorney so that he could be present during the questioning. Tr. Vol. 7 at 166-67, 170,
188. Detective Hoffman told him "no." Tr. Vol. 7 at 167. The two detectives then left
the room for over an hour. Tr. Vol. 7 at 168. Mr. Guidry testified that after Detective
Hoffman returned and he was presented with Joe Prystash's statement implicating him, he
renewed his request to speak with his attorney. Tr. Vol. 7 at 170. Mr. Guidry testified
that he informed the officers that Layton Duer was his attorney. Tr. Vol. 7 at 171.
According to Mr. Guidry, Detective Hoffman left the room, saying that he was going to
talk to Guidry's attorney. Tr. Vol. 7 at 170-71. Some time later, Detective Hoffman
returned, telling Mr. Guidry that he had talked to his attomey who "said it was all right
for [Guidry] to answer the questions and don't worry about it. Tr. Vol. 7 at 171-72. Mr.
Guidry decided to cooperate with the police when he was told by Detective Hoffman that
his attorney had given him clearance to speak with the police. Tr. Vol. 7 at 175, 187,
191. Mr. Guidry also testified that Detective Hoffman promised him a lenient sentence if
he confessed to being the triggerman. Tr. Vol. 7 at 163-64, 198.

Mr. Guidry's testimony was strongly corroborated by a conversation that occurred
in Judge Joe Kegans' chambers on March 15, 1995. First, Sylvia Yarborough testified
that she was present when attorneys Deborah Gottlieb and Bob Scott, tow Harris County

Shen ff Office detectives and Dan Rizzo, an Assistant Harris County District Attorney,

were all in Judge Kegans’ chambers. Tr. Vol. 7 at 105. Yarborough testified that
Detective Roberts was one of the detectives but she was not sure of the identity of the
other detective. Tr. Vol. 7 at 105. Yarborough testified that she heard Bob Scott ask
Detective Roberts to explain taking Mr. Guidry out and getting a confession from him
when the detective knew he had a lawyer. Tr. Vol. 7 at 107. She testified that Detective
Roberts’ response was that he called and talked to the lawyer and it was okay with the
lawyer to interview Mr. Guidry. Tr. Vol. 7 at 108. Yarborough testified that her initial
impression was shock that any lawyer would give such permission. Tr. Vol. 7 at 108.

= During cross-examination, she testified that she was positive that it was Detective
Roberts who made the remark. Tr. Vol. 7 at 119. Yarborough testified that Detective
Roberts didn't sound sarcastic but rather he sounded like he had been caught off-guard.
Tr. Vol. 7 at 115-16.

Another lawyer, Deborah Gottlieb, testified that she overheard an in-chambers
conversation between Bob Scott and two officers on March 15, 1995. Tr. Vol. 7 at 132.
She testified that she heard one of the officers say that he had contacted Mr. Guidry’s
lawyer and had gotten permission to talk to him. Tr. Vol. 7 at 132. Gottlieb testified that
she didn't know the name of the officer and that she thought it was the shorter officer who
made the remark, but that she was not sure of that. Tr. Vol. 7 at 132.

Robert Scoit testified that he was present during the in-chambers conversation on
March 15, 1995, along with Sylvia Yarborough, Deborah Gottlieb, Dan Rizzo and a
couple of Harris County Sheriff Office detectives when one of the officers mentioned

taking Mr. Guidry's confession. Tr. Vol. 7 at 140. Scott testified that he reacted by

asking the officer why he took the statement when Mr. Guidry had a lawyer at the time.

Tr. Vol. 7 at 141. Scott testified that the officer's response was that they knew Mr.
Guidry had a lawyer when they took the statement but that they checked with the lawyer
and had gotten permission to talk with Mr. Guidry. Tr. Vol. 7 at 140. Scott testified that
his initial reaction was to be upset with the lawyer for giving such permission. Tr. Vol. 7
at 142. Scott identified Detective Roberts as the officer who made the remark. Tr. Vol. 7
at 146, 149.

Mr. Guidry was further corroborated by the testimony of Layton Duer, his
robbery-charge attorney. Duer testified that he did not receive a call from anyone from
the Harris County Sheriff's Office seeking his permission to speak with Mr. Guidry. Tr.
Vol. 7 at 124. Duer also testified that he specifically told Mr. Guidry not to speak with
anyone about any cases unless he was present and that if any officers came to get a
statement from him to tell them he had a lawyer and have the officer call Duer. Tr. Vol.
7 at 123.

Detective Roberts was asked "Do you recall a conversation in Judge Keegan's
chambers where some defense attorneys representing Howard Guidry were present?" to
which he responded, "No, sir, [ don not." Tr. Vol. 7 at 203. He also gave the following
testimony regarding his knowledge of whether Mr. Guidry was represented by counsel at
the time of the interrogation:

Q: tor the record, today, tell us what you knew about who Howard Guidry's

attorney was or what information you had at the time the conversation

took place between you and him on March the 7, 1995?

A: I had no knowledge that he had an attorney.

Q: At any time during your conversation with... Mr. Guidry, either by
Detective Hoffman or anybody else in the interview room that date on

March 7, 1995, did you learn that Howard Guidry did, in fact, have an
attorney on the Klein Bank Robbery?

A: No, sir.
Later in the hearing, Detective Roberts contradicted this testimony:

Q: Did [Guidry] ever tell you he had an attorney?
A: Yes, sir.

Tr. Vol. 7 at 31.
d. Federal Evidentiary Hearing

On December 13, 2002, a federal evidentiary hearing was held in the Southern
District of Texas. At this hearing, Mr. Guidry reiterated that he invoked his right to
counsel prior to providing a statement to the Harris County detectives. (Evidentiary
Hearing transcript, hereinafter "EH" at 17). Mr. Guidry also reiterated his earlier
testimony that after he invoked his right to counsel, Detective Hoffman returned after a
while and announced that he had contacted Mr. Guidry's attorney and that his attorney
had indicated that he should speak with the detectives. EH at 18. Furthermore, the
attorney witnesses reiterated their testimony that, when confronted, Detective Roberts
indicated that they had contacted Mr. Guidry's robbery-charge attorney who gave them
permission to speak with Mr. Guidry. EH at 39, 46, 58. Finally, Layton Duer testified
that he gave Mr. Guidry his busi: ess card with instructions not to speak with anyone lese.
EH at 12. Duer further testified that he was never contacted by anyone seeking
permission to speak with Mr. Guidry. EH at 12.

Detective Roberts retracted his earlier denial regarding the in-chambers

conversation and admitted that the conversation did in fact occur and that he was present

but that he had no recollection of the nature of the conversation that took place. EH at

67. He also testified that he contacted a Harris Cointy Assistant District Attomey

because "I knew he had been in jail for several days; and usually after a suspect has been

in jail for two or three days, an attorney is appointed to them in most cases." EH at 68.
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Fifth Circuit's decision affirming the district court's grant of federal habeas
relief is in accord with decisions of both this Court and other federal courts of appeals.
Because the state court failed to consider evidence crucial to Mr. Guidry's claim that his
confession was illegally obtained, its findings were not entitled to a presumption of
correctness. Mr. Guidry offered other evidence that the state court's findings were not
entitled to any presumption of correctness, including the inconsistent and contradictory
testimony of the officers and statements by the state trial judge on the record. The state
court's ultimate finding, that the confession was voluntarily obtained, was based,
therefore, on an unreasonable determination of the facts and the district court was correct
in gation liad The Fifth Circuit properly upheld the district court's grant of habeas
relief.

Furthermore, the Fifth Circuit properly found that, under the AEDPA and Rule 8
of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United State District Courts, the
federal habeas court was not precluded from granting an evidentiary hearing and did not
abuse its discretion.

The Court of Appeals decision was consistent with decisions of this and other
federal courts and with the AEDPA and thus there is no need for this court to consider

this matter further by granting certiorari.

ARGUMENT

I. The Court of Appeals' Holding That the State Court's Fact-Finding Was
Defective Because it Ignored or Overlooked Highly Probative Testimony
Central to Mr. Guidry's Claim is Consistent With Decisions of This Court
and Other Courts of Appeal.

Although the Anti-Terrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act (hereinafter

"AEDPA") mandates substantial deference for state court determinations of fact, the
Supreme Court has made it clear that:

deference does not imply abandonment or abdication of judicial review.
Deference does not by definition preclude relief. A federal court can disagree
with a state court's credibility determination and, when guided by AEDPA,
conclude the decision was unreasonable or that the factual premise was incorrect
by clear and convincing evidence.

Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 340 (2003).

In the case at bar, four attorneys testified during the motion to suppress hearing in
state court. Their testimony substantially corroborated Mr. Guidry's assertion that he
requested to speak with his attorney, who had been appointed to represent him on an
unrelated charge, during the Harris County detectives’ iadenoabon of him and that these
detectives falsely informed him that the attorney had authorized Mr. Guidry's cooperation
without his attorney being present. The trial judge’s only comment regarding this
testimony was that “/'m perfectly satisfied that the - that the Scott, Gottlieb, Yarborough
conversation, while the author of the comment may very well be up in the air, the
substance of the comment is not." Tr. Vol. 24 at 234-35. In its findings and conclusions,
the trial court found Mr. Guidry was not credible but the detectives were. See Guidry v.
Dretke, 397 F.3d 306, 325 (Sth Cir. 2005). Despite the unusual occurrence of four
members of the bar testifying in his court on behalf of a suspect charged with capital

murder, the trial court made no mention of this testimony in its ultimate findings and

never attempted to reconcile the ahove quoted statement with these findings. Based on
the state court record, it is not possible to fairly infer from the state record that the trial
judge found the four attorneys not to be credible given the above quoted statement and
other actions on the part of the trial judge.’ The only rational inference that can
reasonably be drawn from the trial judge's comments regarding the attorney's testimony is
that the detectives were not credible and that Mr. Guidry, whose testimony was
corroborated by the attorneys, was credible.

The federal habeas court found that, under these circumstances, the state court's
adjudication of the claim was based on an unreasonable determination of the facts and the
Court of Appeals agreed. See Guidry v. Dretke, 397 F.3d 306, 329 (Sth Cir. 2005). The
Court of Appeals’ holding that a state court's failure to make findings on critical evidence
negates the § 2254(e)(1) presumption of correctness and causes the fact finding to be
unreasonable is consistent with the holdings of this Court and with other circuits. In

Taylor v. Maddox, 366 F.3d 992 (9th Cir. 2004) the circumstances were strikingly similar

to the case at bar: Defendant was questioned during a murder investigation without the
presence of an attorney to advise him during questioning. Id. at 997. He subsequently
inculpated himself. Id. at 997. At his motion to suppress hearing, defendant testified that
he repeatedly asked for a lawyer prior to confessing and that his request was denied. Id.
at 998. The detective denied defendant's allegations. Id. at 998. An attorney also

testified that he received a telephone call from defendant shortly after he had given his

confession. Id. at 1005. The attorney testified that defendant informed him of the details

~ For mstance, when one of the attorneys testified, the trial pudge asked counsel for both sides if they
waived her being sworn, noting that, although she had “not [been] a long time member of the bar", she was
“experienced.” After counsel agreed to the waiver, the trial court stated “Ms Gottlheb, we trust you ”
CGiuidry v. Dretke, 397 F 3d 306, 314 (Sth @ir. 2005)

10

of the interrogation, including his request for counsel, therefore strongly corroborating
defendant's testimony. Id. at 1005. Neither the state trial court nor the state appellate
court even acknowledged the attorney's testimony. Id. at 1005. The Ninth Circuit held
that a rational fact-finder might have discounted this testimony or found it incredible "but
no rational fact-finder would simply ignore it. Yet this is precisely what the state courts
did..." Id. at 1006. The Ninth Circuit held that "by making their findings without
taking [the attorney's} testimony into account, the state courts made an ‘unreasonable
determination of the facts." Id. at 1008. "The state courts might have disbelieved [the
attorney witness] or perhaps discounted his testimony, but they were not entitled to act as
if it didn't exist." Id. at 1008. This Court has also clearly stated that the state-court fact-
finding process is undermined where the state court has before it, yet apparently ignores,
evidence that supports petitioner's claim. See Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 346
(2003) ("our concerns are amplified by the fact that the state court also had before it and
apparently ignored, testimony demonstrating that the Dallas County District Attorney's
Office had, by its own admission, used this process to manipulate the racial composition
of the jury in the past.").

All courts deciding this issue are in agreement that state court findings which
ignore or overlook crucial evidence are not entitled to a presumption of correctness and

are unreasonable. Guidry v. Dretke, 397 F.3d 306, 329 (Sth Cir. 2005); Taylor v.

Maddox, 366 F.3d 992 (9th Cir. 2004); Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 346 (2003).

Because there is a uniform rule of federal law, there is no need for this court to grant

appellant's petition for wrt of certiorari.

II. The Lower Courts Properly Held That the Presumption of Correctness Was
Rebutted by Clear and Convincing That Mr. Guidry Requested Counsel
During the Interrogation.

As discussed earlier, the courts have held that the 2254(e)(1) presumption of
correctness accorded to state court findings of fact is overcome by a state court's failure
to consider crucial evidence. Every federal court that has reviewed this case has found
that Mr. Guidry met his burden of proof in overcoming the presumption of correctness.
The lower courts found that Mr. Guidry overcame the presumption of correctness with
the following evidence:

a. Mr. Guidry's testimony - Mr. Guidry testified that his robbery-charge attorney

instructed him not to discuss anything with anyone (including officers and other

prisoners). Tr. Vol. 7 at 155. Mr. Guidry further testified that after Detectives Roberts
and Hoffman confronted him with pictures of Farah Fratta's body he became frightened
and as a result he réquested to speak with his attorney. Tr. Vol. 7 at 166-67. Mr. Guidry
further testified that the detectives left him alone for around one and a half hours before

Detective Hoffman returned, saying that he had a statement from Prytash implicating Mr.

Guidry. Tr. Vol. 7 at 170. The detective then gave the statement to Mr. Guidry to read

and claimed he had other evidence as well but that they would work out a deal if Mr.

Guidry cooperated. Tr. Vol. 7 at 185, 187. Mr. Guidry further testified:

... Lasked [Detective Hoffman] again, I - really didn't ask him, I kind of

demanded that | speak to my lawyer that second time, because I was - I was really

getting scared after the second time...

Arid when | told him that, he told me he was going to contact my attorney. At
that point in time, he picked up the statement and he left. . . the room.

Tr. Vol. 7 at 170.

Guidry testified that Detective Hoffman:

12

... asked me before he left. . . the room - when | asked him for my attomey the
second time, he asked me who my lawyer was. And I told him Mr. Layton Duer.

And he said: 'I'm going to contact your attorney and we're going to see what he
says, right.’ And he stayed in the room maybe a minute getting paperwork
together, and he left. . . the room.

Tr. Vol. 7 at 171.

According to Mr. Guidry, after some time passed, Detectives Roberts and Hoffman

returned, saying they had contacted Mr. Guidry's attorney:

Detective Hoffman . . . told me he had contacted my attorney.

He told me my attorney said it was all nght for me to answer the question, and
don't worry about it, you know, it was no problem.

Tr. Vol. 7 at 171-72.

As a result of this exchange, and in reliance on the alleged conveyed authorization from
his attorney, Mr. Guidry inculpated himself. Tr. Vol. 7 at 175.

b. The testimony of the four attorney witnesses - Mr. Guidry's version of the events
preceding his confession was corroborated by the consistent testimony of four members
of the bar. Deborah Gottlieb, a lawyer unaffiliated with the case, testified that she was
present on March 15, 1995 in the chambers of a Texas state judge (approximately a week
after the interrogation/confession). Tr. Vol. 7 at 132. The judge was not present; the
following persons were present: Gottlieb, Mr.Guidry's two court-appointed attomeys for
the murder charge, Robert Scott and Sylvia Yarborough; Assistant Distnct Attomey
Rizzo; and two Harris County Sheriff's detectives. Tr. Vol. 7 at 132. Gottlieb testified

that the officers were questioned about the circumstances under which Mr. Guidry

confessed. Tr. Vol. 7 at 132. The detectives indicated that they had spoken to Mr.

Guidry's robbery-charge attorney and that he had given them permission to talk to Mr.
Guidry concerning the Fratta murder. Tr. Vol. 7 at 132. According to Gottlieb:

And at that point, Sylvia and | elbowed each other - Ms. Yarborough and I

elbowed each other, looking and rolled our eyes going: What idiot was that,

meaning, why would a defense attorney do that?
Tr. Vol. 7 at 132.

Yarborough testified that on March 15, 1995, she was present in the judge's
chambers during the in-chambers conversation with the detectives who, when asked
about interrogating Mr. Guidry without his attorney being present, Detective Roberts
responded: "I talked to his lawyer, and his lawyer said it was okay to talk to him.” Tr.
Vol. 7 at 108. Yarborough testified that she was absolutely sure this is what Detective
Roberts said and that she thought he was serious. Tr. Vol. 7 at 115-16.

Robert Scott testified that after the detectives were queried about interrogating
Mr. Guidry without his attorney's present:

The response was that they knew [Guidry] had an attorney at the time they took

the statement, but they had checked with that attorney and got permission to go

ahead and talk to Howard Guidry.

Q. Now, just so that the record is clear. Did the officer indicate to you that he
talked with the attorney on the aggravated robbery case and got
permission to take the confession in the capital case?

A. Yes, sir. He said that he knew [Guidry] had an attorney - referring to the
other attorney - ang? that. . . they had called and gotten permission from
that attorney to talk. to Mr. Guidry before they took the statement in the
capital murder case

Tr. Vol. 7 at 141-42.

Finally, Layton Duer, Mr. Guidry's robbery-charge attorney, testified that he gave

Mr. Guidry his business card with instructions not to speak with anyone else. Tr. Vol. 7

at 123. Duer also testified that no one ever contacted him seeking permission to speak
with Mr. Guidry. Tr. Vol. 7 at 123.

c. The detectives’ inconsistent and contradictory testimony - The detectives testified
inconsistently on two key points: |) the March 15, 1995 in-chambers conversation and 2)
their knowledge that Mr. Guidry was represented by counsel.

Regarding the March 15, 1995 in-chambers conversation, Detective Roberts was
asked at the February 20, 1997 suppression hearing ". . . Do you recall ever having a
conversation in Judge Keegan's chambers where some defense attorneys representing
Howard Guidry were present?” to which he responded, "No, sir 1 do not.” Tr. Vol. 7 at
203. Seven years later, however, he testified that he did recall the in-chambers
conversation although he has no recollection of the nature of the conversation that took
place. EH at 67.

The detectives also gave inconsistent testimony when asked if they knew that Mr.
Guidry had an attorney when they interrogated him. At the first pre-tnal hearing,
Detective Roberts offered conflicting testimony about knowledge of Mr. Guidry's
representation. He initially testified that "somewhere, subsequent in the conversation, I
was advised that he did have an attorney for the aggravated robbery.” Tr. Vol. 3 at 17-18.
But later in the same hearing he retreated from his earlier unambiguous statement
testifying that "I don't know if he had an attorney or not.” Tr. Vol. 3 at 26-27. Then at
the second pre-trial hearing, Detective Roberts testified "I had no knowledge that he had
an attomey.” Tr. Vol. 7 at 12-13. During the same hearing, he was asked "Did {Guidry}
ever tell you he had an attorney?” to which he replied, "Yes, sir." Tr. Vol. 7 at 31. At the

federal evidentiary hearing, Detective Roberts testified that he had contacted an attorney -

Assistant District Attomey Ted Wilson - to ask if he could question Mr. Guidry about the
murder, because he knew that, based on Mr. Guidry's having been in jail several days on
another charge, he probably had an attorney. EH at 68. Furthermore, Detective
Billingsley testified at the motion to suppress hearing that he was "sure [he] knew that"
Mr. Guidry had an attomey. Tr. Vol. 3 at 73.
Mr. Guidry’s testimony, the corroboration of his testimony by the consistent testimony of
the four attorney witnesses, the trial judge's failure to make any findings or other wise
attempt to reconcile this testimony with its findings and the inconsistent and conflicting
testimony of the detectives regarding the March 15, 1995 in-chambers conversation and
whether they were aware that he had an attorney was clear and convincing evidence that
the state court's findings that Mr. Guidry did not ask to speak with his robbery-charge
attorney and that Mr. Guidry was not told by the detectives that his robbery-charge
attorney had given him permission to speak with them were not entitled to any
presumption of correctness. Thus, the lower courts were correct in concluding that the
state court's decision that Mr. Guidry's confession was voluntarily obtained was based on
an unreasonable determination of the facts.
lil. The Court of Appeals Was Correct in Holding That the District Court had

the Authority to Conduct an Evidentiary Hearing Under the AEDPA and

Rule 8 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases.

The State made no objection to the evidentiary hearing before the federal habeas
court and thus the court was never afforded an opportunity to rule on the State's

objection. See Guidry v. Dretke, 397 F.3d 306, 319 (Sth Cir. 2005) ("In neither instance

did the State object to an evidentiary hearing; it certainly did nos present the narrow

hearing-is prohibited issue it raises now.").

In making an objection for the first time before the Fifth Circuit and this Court,
the State has mischaracterized the federal habeas court's reasons for granting an
evidentiary hearing. In an order denying Respondent's motion for summary judgment,
the court clearly set forth its reasons for granting an evidentiary hearing in this case:

Having extensively reviewed the facts of this case, this Court is unable to grant
Respondent's summary judgment motion at this time. Substantial factual
questions persist surrounding Guidry's confessions. The state courts made no
attempt to evaluate the veracity of the attorney testimony or analyze its
implication in this case. The state courts made no finding with respect to the
inconsistent and contradictory testimony by the police officers, If the allegations
in Guidry's petition, as corroborated by the attorneys’ testimony, are true, the
reasonableness of the state court decision is suspect. For this Court to fully
evaluate the circumstances surrounding this claim, further factual development is
appropriate. Factual development would aid this Court in determining whether
clear and convincing evidence rebuts the trial finding that Guidry did not request
counsel. Also, the factual development would clarify the ultimate question of the
reasonableness of the state court's determination.

Guidry v. Dretke, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685 at 22-23 (S.D. Texas 2002) (Appendix 1)
Although the same witnesses testified at the evidentiary hearing, the State is not

accurate in stating that the federal habeas court heard the same evidence presented in

state court. In fact, important new evidence was extracted from the State’s witness:

For example, Detective Roberts testified at the district court hearing that: prior to
questioning Guidry on 7 March 1995, he contacted an assistant distnct attorney to
ensure there would be no conflict in his doing so because Detective Roberts knew
that, for persons in Guidry's circumstances (in jail for several days on another
charge (bank robbery)), ‘usually . . . an attorney is appointed [for] them";
nevertheless, for the 7 March interrogation of Guidry, he did not know Guidry
had an attorney. As another example, Detective Roberts did recall the 15 March
1995 in-chamber: conversation

Guidry v. Dretke, 397 F.3d 306, 320-21 (Sth Cir. 2005). This evidence was useful in

sorting out the participants in the March 15, 1995 in-chambers conversation and in

determining the reasonableness of the state courts’ fact-finding process.

17

28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(2) provides that a district court may not hold an evidentiary

hearing ‘[i]f the applicant failed to develop the factual basis of a claim in State court
proceedings..." [A] failure to develop the factual basis of a claim is not established

unless there is a lack of diligence..." Michael Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420, 430-32

(2000). “Diligence . . . depends upon whether the prisoner made a reasonable attempt. in
light of the information available at the time, to investigate and pursue claims in state
court..." Id. at 435
As the Court of Appeals indicated, there clearly was no lack of diligence on Mr.
Guidry’'s part in presenting the factual basis of his claim in state court. Mr. Guidry
moved to suppress his confession and a hearing was held during which he presented the
testimony of 4 witnesses besides his own testimony. Furthermore, Mr. Guidry presented
the claim in. his state habeas petition. Thus, no reasonable argument can be made that the
statute precluded the federal habeas court from condu ting an evidentiary hearing.
Because it was not precluded by the AEDPA , the federal habeas court had
discretion under Rule 8 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in United States
District Courts. The version of Rule 8 in effect when the hearing was granted provided:
If the petition is not dismissed at a previous stage in the proceeding, the judge,
after the answer and the transcript and record of state court proceedings are filed,
shall, upon a review of those proceedings and of th expanded record, if any,
determine whether an evidentiary hearing is required. \f it appears that an
evidentiary hearing is not required, the judge shall make such disposition of the
petition as justice shall require.
An evidentiary hearing was needed in the case because of the deficiencies in the
state court's fact-finding process. The federal habeas court had the authority under both

the AEDPA ard Rule 8 to conduct a hearing and the court did not abuse its discretion in

doing so.

CONCLUSION
Even the Dissent to the Denial of the Petition for Rehearing En Banc concedes

that "the panel majority's result may be justifiable .. .". Guidry v. Dretke, 2005 U.S. App.

LEXIS 23000 at 35 (Sth Cir. 2005). Because the state court completely ignored the
testimony of 4 attorney-witnesses, its finding that Mr. Guidry's confession was
voluntarily obtained was based on an unreasonable determination of the facts and had to
be reversed. The Fifth Circuit's decision is consistent with the decisions of this court and
other circuits and as a result there is no need for any further consideration of this matter
by granting certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

[/ Vii Y if :
LAY. AW ame

enneth A. Williams

Southwestern University Schoo! of Law
675 S. Westmoreland Ave.

Los Angeles, CA 90005

Tel: (213)738-6806

Fax: (213)738-6698

Robert M. Rosenberg
1309 N.E. 23rd St., Unit A
Wilton Manors, Fl 33305
Tel: (832)816-2955

Fax: (954)565-2605

ATTORNEYS FOR HOWARD PAUL GUIDRY

19

LEXSEE

HOWARD PAUL GUIDRY, Petitioner, v. JANIE COCKRELL, Director, Institu-
tional Division, Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Respondent.

CIVIL NO. H-01-CV-4140

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COUR® FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF
TEXAS, HOUSTON DIVISION

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685

September 10, 2002, Decided

SUBSEQUENT HISTORY: Writ of habeas corpus
granted, Summary judgment granted, in part, summary
judgment denied, in part by Guidry v. Dretke, 2003 US
Dist. LEXIS 26199 (S.D. Tex., Sept. 25, 2003)

PRIOR HISTORY: Guidry v. State, 9 S W 3d 133, 1999
Tex. Crim. App. LEXIS 145 (Tex. Crim. App., 1999)

DISPOSITION: Respondent's Motion for Summary
Judgment denied.

CASE SUMMARY:

PROCEDURAL POSTURE: Petitioner inmate filed a
petition for a writ of habeas corpus. The inmate claimed,
inter alia, that the trial court failed to dismiss an objec-
tionable juror for cause and that the police secured his
confession in a manner which violated the Fifth
Amendment's privilege against self-incrimination Re-
spondent warden moved for summary judgment and ar-
gued that the operation of federal law precluded habeas
corpus relief.

OVERVIEW: The inmate contended that the tal
court's determination that he did not invoke his mght to
counsel was unreasonable in light of the conflicting tes-
timony. Also, the inmate pointed to inconsistencies in the
police testimony that would indicate their awareness that
he was represented by counsel during the interrogation
In sum, the inmate contended that the state court's in-
complete determination was an unreasonable application
of federal law. The court found that the warden was not
entitled to summary judgment on the inmate's habeas
petition because substantial factual questions regarding
whether the police secured the inmate's confession m a
manner which violated the Fifth Amendment's privilege
against self-incrimination persisted, and if the alleggtions
in the inmate's petition, as corroborated by the attorneys’

testimony, were true, the reasonableness of the state
court decision was suspect. Because factual development
would aid the court in determining whether or not the
State court's rejection of the inmate's claim was reason-
able under 28 USCS § 2254(d), the court intended to
conduct an evidentiary hearing to determine if the inmate
invoked his nght to counsel.

OUTCOME: The warden’s motion for summary judg-
ment was denied

LexisNexis(R) Headnotes

Criminal Law & Procedure > Habeas Corpus > Cogni-
table Issues
(HN1] See 28 USCS. § 2254(d)

Criminal Law & Procedure » Habeas Corpus > Cogni-
table Issues

[HN2] Legal issues of mixed questions of law and fact
are evaluated under 28 USCS § 2254(d)(1). A state-
court decision is contrary to United States Supreme
Court precedent if. (1) the state court's conclusion 1s op-
posite to that reached by the Supreme Court on a ques-
tion of law, or (2) the state court confronts facts that are
materially indistinguishable from a relevant Supreme
Court precedent and arnves at an opposite result

Criminal Law & Procedure > Habeas Corpus > Cogni-
table Issues

[HIN3] A state court may unreasonably apply federal law
if st sdentifies the correct legal rule from United States
Supreme Court cases but unreasonably applies it to the
particular facts of the particular state prisoner's case or if
the state court either unreasonably extends a legal princ:
ple from Supreme Court precedent to a new context
where it should not apply or unreasonably refuses to ex
tend that principle to a new context where it should ap-

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685, *

ply. To be unreasonable, the state court application of
federal law must be something more than merely errone-
ous. To provide relief, a federal habeas court must not
only conclude that the relevant state-court decision ap-
plied clearly established federal law erroneously or in-
correctly. Rather, that application must also be unreason-
able.

Civil Procedure > Summary Judgment > Summary
Judgment Standard

Criminal Law & Procedure > Habeas Corpus > Stan-
dards of Review

{HN4] When reviewing summary judgment on a petition
for habeas corpus, consistent with the provisions of 28
USCS. § 2254d), a federal court presumes all state
court findings of fact to be correct in the absence of clear
and convincing evidence.

Criminal Law & Procedure > Interrogation > Miranda
Rights > Right to Counsel During Questioning
Criminal Law & Procedure > Interrogation > Miranda
Rights > Right to Remain Silent

[HNS] In Miranda, the United States Supreme Court held
that certain warnings must be given before a suspect's
statement made during custodial interrogation could be
admitted in evidence. Under Miranda, a person must be
advised of the nght to remain silent and the right to have
an attorney present.

Criminal Law & Procedure > Counsel > Right to
Counsel

Criminal Law & Procedure > Interrogation > Miranda
Rights > Right to Counsel During Questioning
Crimincl Law & Procedure > Interrogation > Miranda
Rights > Right to Remain Silent

[HN6] The United States Supreme Court has held that,
once a suspect in custody mvokes the Fifth Amendment
right to counsel, the police may not interrogate the sus-
pect in the absence of counsel, even if the suspect later
attempts to waive that night. Under the Court's holding,
any statement made by the suspect in resporse to police-
imtiated questioning after an invocation of the mght to
counsel violates the Fifth Amendment and must be ex-
cluded The Court's ngid prophylactic rule embodies two
distinct inquiries. First, courts must determine whether
the accused actually invoked his mght to counsel Sec-
ond, if the accused invoked his mght to counsel, courts
may admut his responses to further questioning only on
finding that he: (a) untiated further discussions with the
police, and (b) knowingly and intelligently waived the
right he had invoked

Criminal Law & Procedure > Habeas Corpus > Stan-
dards of Review

[HN7] State factual findings are entitled to a presump-
tion of correctness under 28 U.S.C.S. § 2254(e)(1).

Criminal Law & Procedure > Habeas Corpus > Fviden-
tiary Hearings

{[HN8] When a district court elects, in instances not
barred by 28 USCS. § 2254e)(2), to hold an eviden-
tiary hearing, the hearing may assist the district court in
ascertaining whether the state court reached an unreason-
able determination under either 28 USCS. § 225441)
or (2).

COUNSEL: [*1] For Howard Paul Guidry, Petitioner:
Pro se, Livingston, TX; Kenneth Anthony Williams,
Gonzaga Univ Schol of Law, Spokane, WA; Robert M
Rosenberg, Attorney at Law, Wilton Manors, FL.

For Douglas Dretke, Respondent: Tina Joann Dettmer,
Attorney General Office, Austin, TX.
JUDGES: VANESSA D. GILMORE, UNITED
STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

OPINIONBY: VANESSA D. GILMORE

OPINION:
ORDER

Pending before the Court is Howard Paul Guidry's
("Guidry") Petition for Wnt of Habeas Corpus. (Instru-
ment No. 6). Respondent Janie Cockrell ("Respondent")
filed a motion for summary judgment arguing that the
operation of federal law precludes habeas corpus relief
on the claims presented in Guidry's petition. (Instrument
No. 9). In his federal petition for habeas relief, Guidry
raises four claims: (1) the admission of hearsay testi-
mony at trial violated the Confrontation Clause; (2) the
State engaged in misconduct by informung the jury that a
co-conspirator received a death sentence; (3) the trial
court failed to dismiss an objectionable juror for cause;
and (4) the police secured his confession m a manner
which violated the Fifth Amendment's privilege against
self-incrimination. Having considered the parties’ sub-
rmssions, [*2] the operation of applicable federal law --
particularly the application of the Anti-Terrorsm and
Effective Death Penalty Act ("AEDPA"), and the state
court record, the Court concludes that Respondent 1s not
entitled to summary judgment at this point in the pro-
ceedings. For the purposes of judicial economy, the
Court will only consider Guidry's final ground for relief
at this time. ni

nl If the Court were to grant federal relief on
Guidry's Fifth Amendment claim, the result would

Page 3

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685, *

be the vacating of his conviction and sentence,
thus mooting his other claims. Also, the resolu-
tion of his hearsay claim depends, in part, on the
outcome of his Fifih Amendment claim. On direct
review the Court of Criminal Appeals avoided the
question of whether a witness’ testimony contain-
ing hearsay statements by a coconspirator vio-
lated Guidry's rights by finding their admission to
be harmless. See Guidry v. State, 9 SW 3d 133,
147-52 (Tex. Crim. App. 1999), cert. denied, 531
U.S. 837, 148 L. Ed. 2d 57, 121 S. Ct. 98 (2000).
The Court of Criminal Appeals partially based its
harmlessness determination on the admission of
Guidry's confessions. However, the only trial tes-
timony supporting the charge as spelled out in the
indictment (capital murder for remuneration)
came from the hearsay testimony and the confes-
sion. Any harmless error inquiry with respect to
the hearsay testimony, therefore, is dependant on
the validity of the confession. Judicial economy
suggests that the Court address the Fifth Amend-
ment claim before the others. The Court would
note, however, that it appears that an evidentiary
hearing is not required to resolve the other three
claims.

(*3)

I. Background

The State of Texas convicted and sentenced Guidry
to death for the murder-for-hire of Farah Fratta. Trial
testimony demonstrated that Guidry agreed to kill Ms
Fratta for one-thousand dollars. At tral, the State pre-
sented two written statements by Guidry and a video-
taped walk-through of the crime scene. In the instant
federal proceedings, Guidry claims that the police se-
cured his confessions without regard to his invocation of
his mght to counsel.

Before trial, Guidry sought to suppress his incrim-
nating statements. On August 28, 1996, the trial court
originally held a hearing concerning Guidry's motion to
suppress. Tr. Vol. 3 at 8-103. When it became apparent
that Guidry'’s counsel (Sylvia Yarborough and Robert
Scott) would need to testify in his behalf, the trial court
granted a continuance. Tr. Vol. 5 at 19

After the appointment of new counsel, the tial court
held a hearing on February 20, 1997, in which the parties
presented evidence relating to Guidry's confession n2
The State presented evidence from Ronnie Roberts, Jim
Hoffman, and Danny Billingsly, the three Harms County
Sheriff Department officers mvolved in taking Guidry’s
confession. The [*4] testirnony established that Guidry
was incarcerated on an unrelated aggravated robbery

charge in early March 1995. Appointed counsel (Layton
Duer) represented Guidry in that action. In Guidry's Feb-
ruary 20 hearing, each police officer testified that they
did not know that an attorney represented Guidry in his
aggrav. ‘ed robbery case. Tr. Vol. 7 at 12-13, 77, 99. n3
Detective Roberts later admitted that Guidry told him
that he had an attorney, but Guidry never indicated that
he wanted to speak with counsel. Tr. Vol. 7 at 31-32.

n2 Loretta Johnson Muldrow and Alvin

Nunnery represented Guidry at the February 20
hearing and at trial.

n3 This testimony conflicted with Detective
Roberts earlier testimony that “some time during
the time that [they] talked to (Guidry],” the offi-
cers became aware of the fact that he was repre-
sented by counsel. Tr. Vol. 3 at 17-26. In the Au-
gust 28 hearing, Sergeant Billingsly also testified
that he was “sure [he] knew that" Guidry was rep-
resented by counsel. Tr. Vol. 3 at 73. The officers
testified that Guidry did not invoke his nght to
counsel, yet the did not explain how they came to
find out about his representation during the inter-
rogation.

(°5}

The officers explained how they transferrea Guidry
from the Harris County jail to the homicide office for the
purpose of interviewing him about the Fratta murder.
While traveling to (he homicide office, the officers testi-
fied that they gave Guidry the Miranda warnings, but
they did not interview him in the car. Tr. Vol. 7 at 20,
42-43, 71.

At the police station, the police confronted Guidry
with certain facts about the murder. Tr. Vol. 7 at 47, 67
According to the officers’ account, Guidry then admitted
some involvement in the murder, but claimed only to be
the get-away driver. Tr. Vol. 7 at 74. n4 The police again
informed Guidry of his nghts. Tr. Vol. 7 at 48. The po-
lice typed a statement which Guidry then signed. Guidry
also initialed the form's recital of his constitutional
rights. Specifically, Guidry acknowledged his nght to
have counsel present and right to end the interview at
any time. The State introduced this written confession at
trial as State’s Exhibit 73. n5

n4 At the February 20 hearing, Detective
Roberts testified that they did not question
Guidry concerning the aggravated robbery case
Tr. Vol. 7 at 23. Detective Roberts, however, ad-
rmutted that he testified otherwise at the August 28
hearing. Compare Tr. Vol. 3 at 17 with Tr. Vol. 7

Page 4

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685, *

at 23. Defense counsel cross-examined Detective
Roberts extensively about this conflicting testi-
mony. Tr. Vol. 7 at 22-33.

(*6]

nS The original written confession contained
the wrong date. State's Exhibit 73. The officers
had Guidry change the date on a copy of the
statement. The State introduced the corrected
Statement as State's Exhibit 73-A. Tr. Vol. 7 at
53-54.

Aware that the written statement conflicted with
other information known to the officers, they asked
Guidry to consent to a polygraph examination. Tr. Vo’. 7
at 55. Guidry failed the polygraph test. After the officers
confronted Guidry with the test results, he agreed ts give
a second statement. Tr. Vol. 7 at 57, 76. The police again
informed Guidry of his rights. Guidry then gave a second
confession, admitting that he shot Ms. Fratta. Guidry also
claimed that Joseph Prystash offered him a thousand
dollars to be the gunman. Guidry again initialed on the
statement that he had been informed of his rights. The
State introduced the second confession at trial as State's
Exhibit 74.

After Guidry signed the second confession, the po-
lice asked him if he would be w' ‘ling to participate in a
walk-through of the crime scene. At the crime scene, the
police again read [*7) Guidry his rights. The police
videotaped Guidry as he described how he killed Ms.
Fratta. The State introduced the videotape at trial as
State's Exhibit 156.

The defense also presented testimony during the
suppression hearing. Guidry now relies on the same evi-
dence to challenge the introduction of his confession.
During the hearing, Guidry himself testified. Guidry
claimed that, when the police transported him to the_
homicide office, they did not read him his rights. Tr. Vol.
7 at 188. When they arrived at the homicide office,
Guidry and Detective Hoffman were left alone in an in-
terview room. Detective Hoffman began questioning him
about his participation in bank robberies. Tr. Vol. 7 at
163-65. When Detective Roberts entered the room, he
started showing Guidry photographs of Ms. Fratta’s
corpse. Tr. Vol. 7 at 166. Guidry then asked to speak to
his attorney. Tr. Vol. 7 at 166. n6 Detective Hoffman
told him “no.” Tr. Vol. 7 at 167. The two officers then
left the room for over an hour. Tr. Vol. 7 at 168. Later,
Detective Hoffman returned and told Guidry that the
police had obtained a statement from his accomplice,
Joseph Prystash. Tr. Vol? at 169. After Guidry read the
statement, he [*8] “demmaxied™ that the officers let him

contact his attorney. Tr. Vol. 7 at 170. Detective Hoff-
man asked who his attorney was and left the room, say-
ing that he_was going to talk to counsel, Tr. Vol. 7 at
170-71. Some time later, Detective Hoffman returned,
telling Guidry that he had talked to the attorney. Detec-
tive Hoffman "said it was all right for [Guidry] to answer
the questions and don't worry about it." Tr. Vol. 7 at 171-
72. Guidry decided to cooperate with the police when he
heard that his counse: had given him clearance to speak
with the police. Tr. Vol. 7 at 175, 187, 191. n7

n6 Interestingly, in the August 28 hearing
when Detective Roberts was first asked if Guidry
had requested counsel he responded "I was not
present when he said that." Tr. Vol, 3 at 26.

n? Guidry's counsel for the aggravated rob-
bery charge, Layton Duer, had previously told
him not to talk to the police. Tr. Vol. 7 at 123.

On cross-examination, Guidry testified that, his ini-
tials on the written forms notwithstanding, the police
[*9] first read him his rights during the videotaped walk-
through. Tr. Vol. 7 at 181-82. Guidry also stated that
Detective Hoffman promised him a lenient sertence if he
confessed to being the triggerman. Tr. Vol. 7 at 198.

The defense supported Guidry's story with the testi-
mony of the attorneys first appointed to represent him in
the capital murder proceedings, Sylvia Yarborough and
Robert Scott. They testified concerning an event that
transpired in another state judge's chambers. On March
15, 1995, the trial court appointed Ms. Yarborough and
Mr. Scott to represent Guidry on the capital murder
charge. Tr. Vol. 7 at 104, 139. That day, those two attor-
neys, an Assistant District Atto.«¢y, another lawyer and
two police officers (including Detective Roberts) were in
the judge's chambers. Tr. Vol. 7 at 105. The attorneys
heard the one detective turn to Detective Roberts and ask
"Whai do you mean taking Mr. Guidry out, getting in a --
getting a confession when you knew he had a lawyer?"
Tr. Vol. 7 at 107. Detective Roberts told him "I talked to
his lawyer, and his lawyer said it was okay to talk to
him.” Tr. Vol. 7 at 108, 141-42. Another attorney present
in the room, Deborah Gottlieb, confirmed (*10] the de-
tails of this conversation. Tr. Vol. 7 at 131-32. n8

n8 Ms. Gottlieb, however, expressed some
confusion over which police officer made the
statement. Tr. Vol. 7 at 134-35.

Mr. Duer, Guidry's attorney from the aggravated
robbery case, testified that he had never been contacted

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685, *

by the police with respect to the Fratte murder and that
he did not give them permission to speak to his client. Tr
Vol. 7 at 123-24. This testimony suggested that the po
lice feigned a conversation with counsel in order to trick
Guidry into confessing.

The tnal court orally denied Guidry’s motion to sup-
press after the hearing. Tr. Vol. 7 at 213-14. At trial, the
defense wished to place before the jury the question of
whether Guidry invoked his right to counsel. When tnal
counsel attempted to call Mr. Duer as a witness, the trial
court questioned whether his testimony would present a
question for the jury to decide. Regarding the conversa-
tion that occurred in chambers, the trial court stated "I'm
perfectly satisfied that the - [*11] that the Scott,
Gottheb, Yarborough conversation, while the author of
the conversation may very well be up in the air, the sub-
stance of the comment is not.” Tr. Vol. 24 at 234-35. The
trial judge, however, thought that this testirnony would
be immaterial “unless there is some testimony some-
where from somebody, whether it direct or implicit, or
circumstantial, that in fact, the defendant did not waive
his rights and, in fact, asserted one or more of them.
Unless that occurs, it doesn't make any difference what
his lawyers told him." Tr. Vol. 24 at_240. Out of the
jury's presence, the trial court then heard substantially the
same evidence as presented in the suppression hearing.
After considering that testimony, the trial court held that
the evidence did not raise a question for the jury to con-
sider regarding the waiver of Guidry's rights. Tr. Vol. 24
at 289-90.

After the conclusion of the trial and the initiation of
Guidry's appeal, the trial court issued findings of fact and
conclusions of law explaining its decision. Tr. Voi. '-A
at 423-29. The trial court extensively reviewed the testi-
mony presented by the State at the suppression hearing.
While the trial court discussed Guidry's [*12] own tes-
timony, it did not address, much less issue findings of
fact concerning, the testimony by the attorneys. After
considering the State's evidence, the trial court found that
the police had warned Guidry of his constitutional nghts
and Guidry had waived those nghts. Tr. Vol. I-A at 429.
The trial court found that “at no time did [Guidry] state
he wanted to have an attorney present prior to or during
any questioning; at no time did he indicate he wanted an
attorney present to advise him ?” Tr Vol. I-A at 430.
The tral court concluded that Guidry had been informed
of his rights at least five times and that he intelligently
and knowingly waived those rights. Tr. Vol. I-A at 430.

On direct review, Guidry asked the Court of Cnmi-
nal Appeals to remand his case for further fact-finding,
arguing that the trial court's failure to address the defense
testimony rendered the tal determination insufficiently
detailed to permit appellate review. The Court of Crimi-
nal Appeals recognized that the trial findings did not

address conflicts in the record, but held that “the trial
court is required to set forth the facts which support its
conclusions, but need not outline the testimony [*13]
which does not support its conclusions.” Guidry v. State,
9 S.W 3d 133, 141 (Tex. Crim. App. 1999), cert. denied,
531 US. 837, 148 L. Ed. 2d $7, 121 S Ct. 98 (2000).
Reviewing the trial findings, the Court of Criminal Ap-
peals found that the finding that Guidry did not request
th= presence of counsel provided a sufficient basis for
appellate review. See Guidry, 9 SW. 3d at 142.

In the Court of Cnminal Appeals, Guidry also raised
a claim that the police took his statement in violation of
his Fifth Amendment rights. n9 Guidry focused on the
inconsistent testimony in the suppression hearing. Guidry
claimed that the police officers tricked him into confess-
ing by pretending that his counsel gave him permission
to talk to them. Guidry highlighted the fact that the tral
court's findings and conclusions did not mention his evi-
dence about the conversation in judge's chamber and his
own account of the interrogation. The Court of Criminal
Appeals rejected Guidry's claim as follows:

n9 Guidry additionally argued that the tal
court vivlated his Sixth Amendment right to coun-
sel because he was entitled to have the atiorncy
appointed for the aggravated robbery charges
present during the capital-murder confession.
This is of no moment. The right to counsel only
attaches at the initiation of formal criminal pro-
ceedings. See Texas v. Cobb, $32 U.S. 162, 167-
74, 149 L. Ed. 2d 321, 121 S. Ct. 1335 (2001)
(holding that the mght to counsel! does not attach
to uncharged, separate offenses); McNeil v. Wis-
consin, 501 U.S. 171, 175-76, 115 L. Ed. 2d 158.
141 S. Ct. 2204 (1991) (finding that the night to
counsel is offense-specific). At the time of his
confession, criminal proceedings had not been
initiated against Guidry in the Fratta murder. He
had no Sixth Amendment entitlement to counsel
for the capital murder case when he confessed.

[*14)

There was conflicting testimony as to
whether appellant requested his attorney
during the interrogation. The interrogating
officers testified that appellant did not ask
to speak to an attorney; appellant testified
that he requested to talk to his attorney.
The tnal court found that appellant was
fully aware of his mghts, including the
nghts to remain silent and to seek the as-
sistance of counsel. The trial court further

Page 6

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685, *

concluded that appellant knowingly, intel-
ligently, and voluntarily waived his nghts.
There is evidence in the record supporting
these findings. Because the trial court is in
the best position to evaluate the credibility
of the witnesses and their testimony, we
defer to the trial court's findings.

Guidry, 9 S W 3d at 143. n10

nl0 Guidry also challenged his confession on
state habeas review. The state habeas court pro-
cedurally barred his claim because it had been
raised and rejected on direct review. State Ha-
beas Record at 143 P 5. The state habeas court
did review the facts supporting the trial determi-
nation and pointed out discrepancies in Ms.
Gottlieb's testimony. State Habeas Record at 129-
38. The state habeas court did not discuss Mr.
Scott or Ms. Yarborough's testimony. In its alter-
native ruling, the state court found that Guidry
failed to prove that the police took his statement
in violation of the Constitution. State Habeas Re-
cord at 143 P6

(*15}

In these proceedings, Guidry argues that the trial
court failed to consider the testimony from the four at-
torneys that bolstered his credibility. Guidry contends
that the trial court's determination that he did not invoke
his right to counsel was unreasonable in light of the con-
flicting testimony. Specifically, Guidry contends that the
trial court's silence with respect to the attorney testimony
implicitly accuses members of the bar with perjury-an
unlikely and unreasonable conclusion. Yet Guidry notes
that the state court's trial comments inexplicably find
their account of the chamber's conversation to be credi-
ble. Also, Guidry points to inconsistencies in the police
testimony that would indicate their awareness that he
was represented by counsel during the interrogation. In
sum, Guidry contends that the state court's incomplete
determination was an unreasonable application of federal
law. Guidry's contention must be addressed in the con-
text of the AEDPA.

Il. Analysis

A. The AEDPA

This issue comes before the Court under the
AEDPA's limited review. Under the relevant portions of
the AEDPA,

[HN1] An application for a writ of habeas
corpus on behalf of a person (*16] in cus-
tody pursuant to the judgment of a State
court shall not be granted with respect to
any claim that was adjudicated on the
merits in State court proceedings unless
the adjudication of the claim --

(1) resulted in a decision
that was contrary to, or in-
volved an unreasonable
application of, clearly es-
tablished Federal law, as
determined by the Supreme
Court of the United States;
or

(2) resulted in a decision
that was based on an un-
reasonable determination
of the facts in light of the
evidence presented in the
State court proceeding.

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). The deferential standard outlined
above differs depending on whether the state court en-
gaged in a legal, factual, or mxed inquiry.

{HN2] Legal issues or mixed questions of law and
fact are evaluated under 28 USC § 2254(d)(1). See
Gachot v. Stadler, 298 F 3d 414, 417-18 (Sth Cir. 2002).
A state-court decision is contrary to Supreme Court
precedent if: (1) the state court's conclusion is "opposite
to that reached by [the Supreme Court] on a question of
law” or (2) the "state court confronts facts that are mate-
nally indistinguishable from a reievant [*17] Supreme
Court precedent” and arrives at an opposite result. Terry
Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 406, 146 L. Ed. 2d
389, 120 S. Ct. 1495 (2000). ni Guidry's primary argu-
ment is not that the state determination was contrary to
federal law; he instead relies on the “unreasonable appli-
cation” prong of § 2254/(d)(/).

nll On April 18, 2000, the Supreme Court
issued two separate opinions, both originating in
Virginia, involving the AEDPA in which the peti-
tioners had the same surname. Jerry Williams v.
Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 146 L. Ed. 2d 389, 120 S.
Ct. 1495 (2000) involves § 2254(d)(1) and Mi-
chael Williams v. Taylor, 529 US. 420, 146 L
Ed. 2d 435, 120 S Ct. 1479 (2000) involves §
2254(e}(2). To avoid confusion, this Court will

Page 7

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685, *

include the full name of the petitioner when cit-
ing these cases.

{HN3] A state court may unreasonably apply federai
law if it "identifies the correct legal rule from [Supreme
Court] cases but unreasonably applies it to the particular
facts of the particular state prisoner's case” or "if the state
court either unreasonably extends a legal principle [*18}]
from [Supreme Court] precedent to a new context where
it should not apply or unreasonably refuses to extend that
principle to a new context where it should apply." Terry
Williams, 529 U.S. at 407. "To be unreasonable, the state
court application of federal law must be something more
than merely erroneous." DiLosa v. Cain, 279 F.3d 259,
262 (Sth Cir. 2002). To provide relief, a federal habeas
court must not only conclude that "the relevant state-
court decision applied clearly established federal law
erroneously or incorrectly. Rather, that application must
also be unreasonable." Terry Williams, 529 US. at 4/1,
see also Penry v. Johnson, 532 U.S. 782, 793, 150 L. Ed.
2d 9, 121 S. Ct. 1910 (2001), Gardner v. Johnson, 247
F 3d S51, 560 (Sth Cir. 2001) ("Even though we cannot
reverse a decision merely because we would reach a dif-
ferent outcome, we must reverse when we conclude that
the state court decision applies the correct legal rule to a
given set of facts in a manner that is so patently incorrect
as to be unreasonable."”).

{HN4] “When reviewing summary judgment on a
petition for habeas corpus, consistent with the provisions
of 28 USC. § 2254 [*19] (da), [a federal court] pre-
sumes all state court findings of fact to be correct in the
absence of clear and convincing evidence.” Ogan v.
Cockrell, 297 F.3d 349, 358 (Sth Cir. 2002). The Court
will consider Guidry’s allegations in light of the above-
mentioned standard.

B. The Merits

Guidry contends that the admission of his statements
violated his Fifth Amendment right to counsel. [HN5] "In
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 US 436, 16 L. Ed. 2d 694, 86
S. Ct. 1602(1966), {the Supreme Court} held that certain
warnings must be given before a suspect's statement
made during custodial interrogation could be admitted in
evidence.” Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S. 428,
431, 147 L. Ed. 2d 405, 120 S. Ct. 2326 (2000). Under
Miranda, a person must be advised of the right to remain
silent and the right to have an attorney present. See
Miranda, 384 US at 478-479.

In his petition, Guidry claims that the taking of his
confessions violated the principles enshrined in Edwards
v. Arizona, 451 US. 477, 68 L. Ed. 2d 378, 101 S. Ct
1880 (1981). "In Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S 477, 101

S. Ct. 1880, 68 L. Ed. 2d 378 (1981), {HN6] the Stpreme —

Court held that, once a suspect in [*20] custody invokes

the Fifth Amendment right to counsel, the police may not
interrogate the suspect in the absence of counsel -- even
if the suspect later attempts to waive that right.” United
States v. Avants, 278 F 3d 510, 514-15 (Sth Cir), cert.
denied,536 U.S. 968, 153 L. Ed. 2d 854, 122 S. Ct. 2683
(2002), see also Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 US. 1039.
1044, 77 L. Ed 2d 405, 103 S. Ct. 2830 (1983) (stating
that Edwards set forth a "prophylactic rule, designed to
protect an accused in police custody from being badg-
ered by police officers. . . ."). "Under Edwards, any
statement made by the suspect in response to police-
initiated questioning after an invocation of the right to
counsel violates the Fifth Amendment and must be ex-
cluded.” Avants, 278 F.3d at 515. The “'rigid’ prophylac-
tic rule [of Edwards] embodies two distinct inquires.
First, courts must determine whether the accused actually
invoked his mght to counsel. Second, if the accused in-
voked his right to counsel, courts may admit his re-
sponses to further questioning only on finding that he (a)
initiated further discussions with the police, and (b)
knowingly and intelligently waived [*21] the right he
had invoked.” Smith v. Illinois, 469 U.S. 91, 95, 83 L. Ed.
2d 488, 105 S. Ct. 490 (1984) (citations omitted). Both
inquiries are at issue in this case.

On direct review the Court of Criminal Appeals ex-
pressly deferred to the trial court's factual findings and
legal conclusions. The trial court unequivocally found
that Guidry did not “ever ask to remain silent; at no time
did he ever indicate he didn't want to make any statement
at all; at no time did he state he wanted to have an attor-
ney present prior to or during any questioning; at no time
did he indicate he wanted an attorney present to advise
him; and at no time did [he] indicate that he wanted to
end the interview." Tr. Vol. I-A at 429-30. This issue
comes before the Court under the deferential review af-
forded state factual findings. [HN7] Such findings are
entitled to a presumption of correctness under 28 U.S.C.
§ 2254(e)(1). Guidry may rebut the presumption of cor-
rectness by clear and convincing evidence.

Having extensively reviewed the facts of this case,
this Court is unable to grant Respondent's summary
judgment motion at this time. Substantial factual ques-
tions persist surrounding Guidry's confessions. [{*22]
The state courts made no attempt to evaluate the veracity
of the attorney testimony or analyze its implication in
this case. The state courts made no specific finding with
respect to the inconsistent and contradictory testimony
by the police officers. If the allegations in Guidry’s peti-
tion, as corroborated by the attorneys’ testimony, are true,
the reasonableness of the state court decision is suspect.
For this Court to fully evaluate the circumstances sur-
rounding this claim, further factual development is ap-
propriate. Factual development would aid this Coust in
determining whether clear and convincing evidence re-

Page 8

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685, *

buts the trial finding that Guidry did not request counse!
Also, the factual development would clarify the ultimate
question of the reasonableness of the state court's deter-
mination. See Valdez v. Cockrell, 274 F.3d 941, 952 (Sth
Cir. 2001) (HN8] ("When a district court elects, in in-
stances not barred by § 2254(e)(2), to hold an eviden-
tiary hearing, the hearing may assist the district court in
ascertaining whether the state court reached an unreason-
able determination under either § 2254/d)(1) or (d)(2).").
To that end, the Court will hold an evidentiary hearing
[*23]} limited to the issue of Guidry's Fifth Amendment
claim. n12

nl2 Having reviewed the record, especially
in light of Guidry's effort to remand his direct ap-
peal for fact-finding, the Court finds that Guidry
has complied with 28 USC § 2254(e)(2/'s
threshold standard of diligence. See 28 USC. $
2254(e)(2); Michael Williams, 529 U.S. at 432.

The Court, However, must comment on the allega-
tions in Respondent's summary judgment motion. Re-
spondent argues that the testimony from the chambers
episode is not as beneficial as anticipated by Guidry's
claim. Respondent focuses on three main factors: (1) the
police denied making the statements; (2) if the episode in
chambers indeed occurred, the motive behind the state-
ment is unclear; and (3) the statement does not prove that
Guidry invoked his right to counsel. These factors, how-
ever, do not detract from the strength of Guidry’'s asser-
tion. First, while Detective Roberts testified that no one
made the [*24] statement in question, three members of
the bar testified otherwise. Detective Roberts’ testimony
in that respect is suspect. This is especially the case as
Detective Roberts gave contradictory and inconsistent
testimony on other grounds. Second, the fact that the
motive behind the statement is unclear highlights the
inadequacies of the state review. Respondent's attempt to
characterize the statement as a joke is pure speculation,
accentuating the need for factual development. It is espe-
cially difficult to ascertain Detective Roberts’ motive
from the record because he emphatically denied making
any such statement in chambers. Tr. Vol. 7 at 203. Fi-
nally, while the officer making the comment did not ex-
pressly say that Guidry had invoked his right to counsel,
the Court cannot turn a blind eye to the fact that the
comment is based on the assumption that Guidry asked
to speak to counsel. The police would have no need to
concoct a story about getting an attorney's permission to
speak with a client if Guidry did not request counsel's
assistance. The comment by the police does more than
enhance Guidry's credibility and detract from their own,
it shows that the police potentially ignored Guidry's
{*25] right to counsel.

Respondent also claims that, even if the episode oc-
curred, any improper admission of the confession was
harmless error. That argument cannot carry the day here.
Aside from Guidry's confession, little evidence demon-
strated his guilt for capital murder. Only three other fac-
tors pointed to his guilt: (1) his possession of the murder
weapon, (2) weak and inconclusive eyewitness testimony
showing that someone dressed like Guidry killed Ms.
Fratta; and (3) statements made by Prystash to his girl-
friend implicating Guidry in the murder-for-hire. How-
ever, the Court of Criminal Appeals held that Prystash’'s
hearsay statements were harmless because the jury may
have based its verdict on Guidry's confessions. If the
Court assumes that the confessions were erroneously
admutted, it may be improper to rely on those statements
to show any harmlessness of the hearsay statements.
Thus, the evidentiary picture constructed from the re-
maining properly-admitted evidence may implicate
Guidry in the murder, but it would not support the factor
which made the killing a capital offense: that Guidry
committed th murder for remunerativn. In the end, the
confession formed a substantial role in (*26] the jury's
determination which, if im error, was injurious to
Guidry's case. The admission of the confessions was not
harmless.

Factual development would aid the Court in deter-
mining whether or not the state court's rejection of this
claim was reasonable as understood by the AEDPA. The
Court, therefore, will conduct an evidentiary hearing in
which the parties will present evidence to determine if
Guidry invoked his right to counsel. The Court is par-
ticularly interested in exploring the conversation in
which the police stated that they had contacted Guidry's
counsel, the conflicting suppression-hearing testimony
by the police officers, and the reasonableness of the trial
court's decision,

Ill. Conclusion

Based on the discussion above, the Court denies Re-
spondent's motion for summary judgment. nl3 An evi-
dentiary hearing is scheduled for November |, 2002, at
9:30 a.m. Counsel shall file their proposed witness and
exhibit lists by October 15, 2002.

nl3 The Court did not address the ments of
Guidry’s prosecutorial misconduct and impartial
jury claims. The summary judgment motion relat-
ing to those claims is denied without prejudice to
reurge after the Court holds the evidentiary hear-
ing.

(*27]
The Clerk will provide a copy to the parties.

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 27685, *

Signed at Houston, Texas, on September 10, 2002.
VANESSA D. GILMORE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Y,

No. 05-965

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

HOWARD PAUL GUIDRY,
Respondent,

Vv.
DOUG DRETKE, Director, Texas Department of
Criminal Justice, Correctional Institutional Division
Petitioner.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari
to the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

REPLY BRIEF

GREG ABBOTT *GENA BUNN
Attorney Generai of Texas Chief, Assistant Attorney General
Postconviction Litigation

Division
BARRY R. McBEE
First Assistant Attorney General TINA J. DETTMER
Assistant Attorney General
DON CLEMMER Postconviction Litigation Division
Deputy Attorney General
_ For Criminal Justice P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
* Counsel of Record (512) 936-1600

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Baston v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986) .............00058- 3
Lavalle v. Delle Rose, 410 U.S. 690 (1973) ................ 3
Marshall v. Longberger, 459 U.S. 422 (1983) ............. 3
Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.s. 104 (1985) ............2.0050.. oy
mice Vv. Comins. 1276'S. Ct: 969 C008) oe cei ee 3,4
Tvlor v. Maddox, 366 F.3d 922 (9" Cir. 2004) ........... 1,2
Constitutions, Statutes, and Rules
By ay Ot RR OME cs oe oe oO eee eee RSW OEE 3

Miscellaneous

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 ..... 3.4

REPLY

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion in this case is not consistent with
decisions from this Ccourt and other circuit courts of appeals.
Guidry maintains ‘hat certiorari review is not necessary in this case
because “[a]ll courts deciding this issue are in agreement that state
court findings which ignore or overlook crucial evidence are not
entitled to a presumption of correctness and are unreasonable.”
Opposition at 11. He relies upon this Court’s decision in Miller-El
v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 346 (2003), and the Ninth Circuit’s
opinion in Taylor v. Maddox, 366 F.3d 922, 1006-1008 (9" Cir.
2004) for support. However, neither case is applicable in this
instance.

Guidry is correct in pointing out that both Miller-El and
Maddox were concerned, at least in part, with the adequacy of the
state court fact-finding process where the state court apparently
ignored or failed to consider relevant evidence. See Miller-El, 537
U.S. at 346 (stating that “Our concerns are amplified by the fact that
the state court also had before it, and apparently ignored, testimony
demonstrating that the [ |District Attorney's Office had, by its own
admission, used this process to manipulate the racial composition
of the jury in the past.”); Taylor v. Maddox, 366 F.3d at 1005
(finding that “[t]he state courts’ failure to consider, or even
acknowledge, [ | highly probative testimony casts serious doubt on
the state-court fact-finding process and compels the conclusion that
the state-court decisions were based on an_ unreasonabie
determination of the facts.”’).

Nevertheless, these cases do not control here. Contrary to
Guidry’s contention, the state trial court did not ignore the
testimony offered by the four attorneys during the suppression
hearing in deciding whether Guidry’s confession was obtained in
violation of the Fifth Amendment. Although the trial court’s

2

findings of fact did not specifically reference the attorneys’
testimony, the record bears out that this testimony was considered
by the state trial court in making a very difficult credibility
determination.

At the close of the second suppression hearing, the trial
court made the follov. + comments:

Let me be sure that I’m hearing accurately. And this
is just so that I’m satisfied in my mind-eye of the
following. Do we agree that in Judge Kegans’
- courtroom chambers the conversation was absolutely
meaningless, except as it relates to credibility?

7SR211. A few moments later, the trial court stated for purposes
of the record that his understanding of the ultimate question was
whether or not Guidry had asserted his rights and asked for a lawyer
to be present. The judge also reiterated his view that the
conversation that allegedly look place in the Judge’s chambers was
relevant only to the extent that it bore on Guidry and the detective’s
credibility. 7 SR 211-213.

The fact that the state trial court did not make explicit
reference to the testimony of the four attorneys in its factual
findings is of no moment. Unlike Miller-El and Taylor, where there
was nothing in the record indicating that the state court had
considered the evidence in question, it is clear from the record in
this case the court considered this evidence to the extent that it
weighed on Guidry and/or the detectives’ credibility concerning
whether Guidry had, in fact, asked for iis lawyer to be present
during questioning.

Thus, implicit in the state court, finding that the detectives’
testimony was credible, is a finding that the attorneys’ testimony

3

did not persuade the court that Guidry had told the truth when he
told the court he had requested an attorney be present during the
police interrogation. Furthermore, for reasons stated more fully in
the Director’s petition for certiorari review, these implicit findings
are entitled to the same presumption of correctness afforded to
explicit factual findings under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(1). See
Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422 (1983); LaValle v. Delle Rose,
410 U.S. 690 (1973). It is the failure to afford proper deference to
this implicit finding and the other credibility determinations made
by the state trial court that places the Fifth Circuit’s opinion in this
case at odds with precedent from this Court and other courts of
appeals. See Petition at 11-17.

Notably, in the time that has elapsed since the Director filed
his petition for writ of certiorari, the Court announced its opinion
in Rice v. Collins, 126 S. Ct. 969 (2006), which clearly controls the
issue here. Certiorari review was granted in that case because the
Court was “[c]Joncerned that, in {a] habeas corpus case, a federal
court set aside reasonable state-court determinations of fact in favor
of its own debatable interpretation of the record.” /d. at 972. It was
decided that a federal habeas court could not supersede the state
trial court’s credibility determinations regarding the viability of the
prosecutor’s race-neutral explanations proffered in response to a
Baston' challenge simply because it disagreed with the findings
made by the state court. /d. at 976. Specifically, the Court stated
that “The panel majority’s attempt to use a set of debatable
inferences to set aside the conclusion reached by the State court
does not satisfy AEDPA’s[’] requirements for granting a writ of
habeas corpus.” /d.

Baston v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986).

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act (1996).

4

Rice is applicable here. The court of appe~!s in this case
accepted the district court’s substitution of its own credibility
determinations for those made by the state trial and appellate courts.
After holding a hearing that produced substantially the same
information as that offered during the state court suppression
hearings, the district court explicitly stated that it wanted to make
its own credibility determinations. Furthermore, the district court
acknowledged in its opinion that those credibility determinations
were based on the “same live witnesses, and presumptively same
demeanor, as was presumably considered by the trial court.”
Appendix C at 15. Thus, with little, if any, new information, the
federal district court replaced the state court’s credibility findings
with its own equally debatable determinations.

Because the instant case is materially indistinguishable from
Rice, this Court must grant certiorari review to resolve the conflict
that exists between the Fifth Circuit’s published decision in Guidry
and authority issued from this Court. Alternatively, because this
Court’s decision in Rice was not available to the Fifth Circuit in
deciding this case, this Court should grant, vacate, and remand to
the court of appeals for reconsideration in light of Rice.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the Director respectfully
requests that this Court grant certiorari review to ensure uniform
application of the AEDPA. Alternatively, this Court should grant,
vacate, anc remand to the court of appeals in light of Rice v.
Collins.

*Counsel of Record

5

Respectfully submitted,

GREG ABBOTT
Attorney General of Texas

BARRY R. McBEE
First Assistant Attorney General

DON CLEMMER
Deputy Attorney General
for Criminal Justice

*GENA BUNN
Chief, Assistant Attorney General -
Postconviction Litigation Division

TINA J. DETTMER

Assistant Attorney General
Postconviction Litigation

Texas Bar No. 24026139

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711

Tel: (512) 936-1400

Fax: (512) 320-8132

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0775%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
