# Reply Brief — APCC Services, Inc. v. Sprint Communications Co., LP (No. 05-766)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0598%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

8

violations of substantial economic importance.’ The disparate
holdings of the Ninth Circuit in Metrophones and the D.C.
Circuit in this case (Pet. 22-25) are a direct result of this Court’s
failure thus far to resolve the conflict among the circuits. If the
conflict is not resolved now, it will inevitably produce still more
confusion in future cases.

This Court has held that the term “order” (in Section 402)
encompasses rulemaking orders that are “adopted by the
Commission in the avowed exercise of its rule-making power”
and that “have the force and effect of law.” Columbia
Broadcasting System, Inc. v. United States, 316 U.S. 407, 417
(1942). It should resoive confusion in the lower courts by
granting certiorari to decide, in this case, whether the term has
the same meaning in Section 416, a companion provision to
Section 402.

IV. It Is Clear That Petitioners Have Standing To Sue

This case does not present any “thorny” issues of standing,
notwithstanding respondents’ efforts (Br. in Opp. 27-29) to
suggest otherwise. Respondents concede, as the D.C. Circuit
unanimously acknowledged, that some of the petitioners are
PSPs suing to recover unpaid compensation and that those
petitioners have alleged a direct injury in fact sufficient to
confer standing. Therefore, there is no question that the Court
could reach and resolve the circuit conflicts presented by this
case, regardless of whether the subset of petitioners who sued as
assignees have standing.

Even as to the standing of assignees, this case involves an
unremarkable — and clearly correct — application of established

' These cases also show that concerns about enabling frivolous lawsuits for
“every” violation of an FCC regulation (see Pet. App. 19a; Metrophones,
423 F.3d at 1071) have no foundation in practical experience or, as we
explained in our petition (at 24 n.13) in the language of the statute.

9

law. Vermont Agency of Natural Resources v. United States ex
rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765 (2000), squarely held that “the
assignee of a claim has standing to assert the injury in fact
suffered by the assignor.” /d. at 773.

Respondents argued in the court of appeals that Vermont
Agency does not control here, because the assignee in Vermont
Agency intended to keep a portion of its recovery under the
assigned claims, whereas the assignees here have agreed to pass
back to the assignors all damages recovered. But Vermont
Agency clearly rejected that argument. Standing in that case did
not depend on the assignee’s “bounty” because the bounty,
much like a wager on the outcome of a case, was “an interest
that * * * cannot give rise to a cogzizable injury in fact for
Article III standing purposes.” 529 US. at 773. The relevant
question is whether the assignor suffered an injury in fact
sufficient to confer standing, not whether the assignee intends
to keep some, all, or none of the damages resulting from that
injury. /d. at 774 (“We conclude, therefore, that the United
States’ injury in fact suffices to confer standing on respondent
Stevens.”) (emphasis added). In addition, as the district court
(Pet. App. 66a-73a) and court of appeals majority (Pet. App. 8a-
lla) correctly determined, two older decisions or this Court
squarely hold that assignees-for-collection are entitled to assert
the assignors’ injury, and there is no contrary authority. See
Titus v. Wallick, 306 U.S. 282, 289 (1939); Spiller v. Atchison,
Topeka & Santa Fe Ry., 253 U.S. 117, 134 (1920). Petitioners’
standing cannot be seriously doubted.

V. This Case Should Be Accepted fi. Plenary Review and
Consolidated With Metrophones

Because this case presents questions that are intertwined
with the questions presented in Metrophones, and because the
additional questions presented in this case ment review, the
Court should grant the petition in this case and consolidate it
with Metrophones. By doing so, with very little expenditure of

10

additional resources or effort, the Court will be able to consider
all rather than just some major aspects of the problem presented.
It will have the opportunity to resolve another significant circuit
conflict, to correct the misinterpretation of its decision in
Sandoval, and to construe the specific statutory provision (Sec-
tion 276) in which Congress focused on the problem underlying
both cases, i.e., the nght Congress wished to confer on PSPs to
receive compensation for dial-around calls.

If the Court chooses not to grant this petition and
consolidate it with Metrophones, it should hold this petition for
appropriate disposition after it decides Metrophones.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted and
this case should be consolidated with Metrophones. If the
petition is not granted for plenary review at this time, it should
held and disposed of as appropriate in light of the Court’s
disposition of Metrophones.

Respectfully submitted.

MICHAEL W. WARD Roy T. ENGLERT, JR.*
Michael W. Ward, P.C. DONALD J. RUSSELL
1608 Barclay Boulevard DAMON W. TAAFFE
Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 Robbins, Russell, Englert,
(847) 243-3100 Orseck & Untereiner LLP
1801 K Street, N.W.
Suite 41]

Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 775-4500

*Counsel of Record

MARCH 2006

—

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0598%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
