# Prologue — Hawkins v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0550%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Prologue
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1096

## Text

~— eee

05-7150cT 14208

NO. Cornea ‘al ae mERK |

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED
STATES

ARTHUR M. HAWKINS, -
PETITIONER,
V.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

RESPONDENT.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SUSAN G. JAMES

LAW OFFICE OF

SUSAN G. JAMES AND ASSOCIATES
COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER HAWKINS
600 S. MCDONOUGH STREET
MONTGOMERY, AL 36104

334/269-3330

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

WHETHER THE COURT SHOULD GRANT
THE WRIT TO RESOLVE THE SPLIT IN THE
CIRCUITS REGARDING APPLICATION OF PLAIN
ERROR ON POST BOOKER REMAND?

WHETHER THE REMEDY ANNOUNCED IN
BOOKER PART II DENIES THE RIGHT OF A
CRIMINAL DEFENDANT TO A JURY FINDING
PROTECTED BY THE SIXTH AMENDMENT?

WHETHER A HEARING ON A BOOKER
REMAND IS ESSENTIAL TO THE FAIR
ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE?

WHETHER THE REASONABLENESS
STANDAR? ANNOUNCED BY THE REMEDIAL
MAJORITY IN BOOKER, PART Il SHOULD BE
REVISITED AND REPLACED?

‘WHETHER THE DISTRICT COURT’S
UNILATERAL REVIEW OF HAWKIN’S SENTENCE
ON REMAND WAS REASONABLE?

THE PARTIES

The caption in this case contains the name of all
parties.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF CONTENTS ......-ccccccccccccees iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES pb 60-046 beembeewoces iv
PC EN 6 chad ce vecceeccevescaseseaevess 1
STATEMENT OF THE CAD” ....cccccsccccccces 1
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ......... 8

I. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT
TO RESOLVE THE THREE WAY SPLIT IN THE
CIRCUIT COURTS APPLICATION OF PLAIN
ERROR ON POST BOOKER REMAND.

Uf. THE CURRENT DIVISION BETWEEN
THE CIRCUITS HAS SIGNIFICANT
INSTITUTIONAL COSTS WHICH JUSTIFY
INTERVENTION BY THIS COURT AND COUNSEL
IMMEDIATE ACTION.

Ill, THE REMEDY IN BOOKER PART I
DENIES A DEFENDANT’S SIXTH AMENDMENT
RIGHT. :
IV. THE CURRENT REASONABLENESS
STANDARD OF REVIEW CREATES UNCHECKED
DISPARITY. ;

V. PETITIONER’S SENTENCE WHEN
WEIGHED AGAINST 18 U.S.C. §3553(a) FACTORS
IS NOT REASONABLE.

CONCLUSION ....... Lo eeeenocsecveceeeresese 29

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page No.

FEDERAL CASES

Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 120 S.Ct. 2348
eBay beds vias shee eee eee kee es 13
Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. _, 124 S.Ct. 2531, 159
Re re err ree 2
Burnes v. United States, 501 U.S. 129, 136-37 (1991). . 28
Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 1234 S.Ct. 1354 158

Re eee OPE 5 old cco cs Ca ek eure eae yee. 18
Hawkins v. United States, 125 S.Ct. 1109 (2005) ...... 2
Johnson v. United States, 520 U.S. 461, 466, 467, 137
mS ey) Biyg fe Ts, : cnr 10
Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 65 L.Ed 2d 597, 100 S.Ct.
re so a 6 oe be ce er eee es 18

Ring v. Arizona, 122 S.Ct. 2426, 153 L.Ed.2d (2002) .. 13
United States v. Ameline, 409 F.3d 1073

ag RRR Reine tar tea rer ean nan pera tet 11,15
United States v. Antonakopoulas, 399 F.3d 68 (1" Cir.
Fire. pe ly ehue es gcd Ce ee 10
United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. _, 125 S.Ct. 738, 160
Ce Si oe aa 2
United States v. Coles, 403 F.3d (D.C. Cir. 2005) ..... 10
United States v. Crosby, 397 F.3d 103
re NR ee ls eyed cea niente ee 11,28

United States v. Davis, 407 F.3d 162 (3 Cir. 2005) 11,15
United States v. Dean, 414 F.3d 725 (7" Cir. 2005) ... 28
United States v. Gonzalez Huerta, 403 F.3d 727

rs ee 10,12
United States v. Hughes, 401 F.3d 540 (4™ Cir. 2005) 15,11
United States v. Mares, 402 F.3d 511 (5" Cir. 2005) .. . 10

iv.

United States v. Mooney, No. 02-3388 (8" Cir. Oct. 10,
Se re a Pe eee em ro reas os Pee 12
United States v. Mykytiuk, 415 F.3d 606 (7 Cir. 2005) . 19
United States v. Olano, 507 U.S. 729, 113 S.Ct. 1770, 123
CNG RU oe a 10
United States v. Oliver, 397 F.3rd 369 (6" Cir. 2005) 11,15
United States v. Paladino, 401 F.3d 471 (7" Cir. 2005) 20
United States v. Paulinski, 374 F.3d 536 (7" Cir.2004) . 29
United States v. Pirani, 406 F.3d 543 (8" Cir. 2005)... 10
United States v. Rodriguez, 406 F.3d 1261

SP SO Oc ee ek el 10
United States v. Trujillo Terra, 405 F.3d 814, 819
oe ns ew anh es aoke bee 28

United States v. Williams, 03-4091 (7" Cir. Oct 6, 2005) 19

~

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES, AND RULES

SRE BE eco eh vee ook wera eros l
ree SE So cs Seren eee nee ]
18 U.S.C. §3553(a) ....... 1,8.13,16,19,20,23,28
Se EE oa eS cw aes ea weeke 1,29
Se ap te. NE 3. os ba ee eas en 1,13
WS aes, GE Hist SSS 1,13
Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 52(b) ..... 10
Seventn Crrcutt Rule S54 Ww. 8 ck eee ee 1,2

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Arthur M. Hawkins Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari
JURISDICTION

On July 19, 2005, the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit affirmed the Judgement of
the United States District Court for the Southern District of
Illinois and is reported at 139 Fed. Appx. 744 (7" Cir.
2005).

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28
U.S.C. Section 1254(1) and Rule 10, Rules of the United
States Supreme Court.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Sixth Amendment
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

18 US.C.S 1343

18 U.S.C.S 3237(a)
18 U.S.C. §3553(a)
18 U.S.C. §3661

18 U.S.C. §3553(b)(1)
18 U.S.C. §3742(e)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Hawkins was represented at trial by Tom McQueen,
Esq.. He changed lawyers on the eve of sentencing and
replaced McQueen with Oscar Stilly, Esq.. Sentencing
occurred on December 19, 2002 and Hawkins received the
maximum ten year term. Stilly prepared and argued
Hawkins appeal before the Seventh Circuit. Hawkins
conviction and sentence were affirmed. However, the Court

of Appeals unsealed the original indictment in the case
which had been permanently sealed by the district court at
the government’s request. Hawkins hired undersigned
couns . file an original petition for certiorari and a 28
U.S.C..2 2255.

Hawkins filed his original petition for certiorari
raising only a venue issue. Theodore Olson, former
Solicitor General in the brief in opposition to Hawkins
original petition for certiorari challenging venue
acknowledges, “...this case presents an unsuitable vehicle
for resolving the analytical disagreement between the Courts
of Appeaiz about permissible venue in Federal wire fraud
prosecutions.”

The petition for certiorari was denied June 21, 2004,
three days before the release of Blakely v. Washington, 542
U.S. _, 124 S.Ct. 2531, 159 L.Ed. 2d 403 (2004). Pursuant
to Rule 44 Supreme Court Rules, Hawkins filed a petition
for rehearing due to an intervening circumstance of a
substantial or controlling effect or other ground not |
previously presented. (Blakely v. Washington) Although
not raised in Hawkins Rule 44 petition, another intervening
circumstance existed post direct appeal with the unsealing
of the original indictment. The unsealing, previously denied,
revealed that exculpatory evidence was hidden by the
prosecutor directly impacting the venue issue addressed in
the original certiorari petition.

On January 24, 2005, this Court granted Hawkins
petition for a writ of certiorari. Hawkins v. United States,
125 S.Ct. 1109 (2005). (App. A) Hawkins judgement was
vacated and remanded to the Seventh Circuit for further
consideration in light of United States v. Booker, 543 U.S.,
125 S.Ct. 738, 160 L.Ed. 2d 621 (2005).

Pursuant to Circuit Rule 54 each party filed a
statement of position as to the proper action in light of the

Supreme Court order. The government in its statement
conceded, “that there was error, which is plain and obvious,
when the district court sentenced defendant under the then-
mandatory federal sentencing guidelines.” The government
went further to state, “the record is unclear whether the
application of advisory guidelines may have altered the
outcome of the sentencing proceedings and that, therefore,
pursuant to this court’s analysis in Paladino,’ remand for —
re-sentencing consistent with Booker is warranted.”

The district court invited the parties to submit a brief
in support of re-sentencing and both parties complied. The
district court did not allow a re-sentencing hearing and
instead issued a nine page memorandum and order denying
relief. (App. B) The Seventh Circuit invited the parties to
address the denial and both parties complied. On July 19,
2005, the Seventh Circuit affirmed Hawkins sentence
holding that the district court decision was reasonable.

(App. C) This petition follows.

STATEMENT OF FACTS’

On December 19, 2002, in the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Illinois, Arthur M.
Hawkins was tried and convicted of one count of conspiracy
to commit wire fraud and one count of wire fraud in
violation of 18 U.S.C. §1343. The trial judge was United
States District Judge David Herndon. On October 27,
2004, Mr. Hawkins filed a pet*tion for relief from conviction
pursuant to Title 28, U.S.C., §2255. On the same day, Mr. ~
Hawkins filed a motion to recuse Judge Herndon from
hearing the 2255 petition based on the need to call the judge

1401 F.3d 471 (7 Cir. 2005)

?The rather involved statement of facts is being included to
illustrate deprivation of Hawkins fundamental rights afforded by the
United States Constitution.

=

as a witness in the matter. Judge Herndon denied the

recusal motion on December 17, 2004. A petition for

mandanus to the Seventh Circuit followed. It was denied
-on February 9, 2005.

Mr. Hawkins was Chief Executive Officer and
Chairman of the Board of Directors of Exide Corporation, a
battery manufacturer. In 1993, Exide bid on and won a
contract to manufacture Die Hard batteries for Sears. Due
to the product demands and growing pains, a number of
defective batteries were produced. Mr. Hawkins was
prosecuted for wire fraud and made illegal payments to a
Sears buyer to protect his battery contract with Sears. Mr.
Hawkins has always asserted his innocence and that the
gratuity paid to the Sears employee had no bearing on the
Sears contract. Post direct appeal with the unsealing of the
original indictment, it was made clear that the gratuity paid
had no bearing on the battery contract.

In his 2255 petition,’ Mr. Hawkins alleges that he is
innocent and that Assistant United States Attorney Miriam
Miquelon, who led the prosecution, engaged in
prosecutorial nusconduct that denied him an opportunity to
establish his innocence. United States Attorney Miquelon,
post verdict, was under investigation in relation to several
matters. Ms. Miquelon, who was appointed United States
Attorney after Mr. Hawkins’ trial, faced a tough
confirmation battle in which her nomination was opposed by
many people, including the Chief Judge of the United States
District Court where she practiced. See
http://www. belleville.com/mld/belleville/6265698.htm. She
was confirmed, but resigned from her post less than a year
later under questionable circumstances. See id. United
States District Judge G. Patrick Murphy said she resigned
because she was under federal investigation. See id.

>The 28 U.S.C. §2255 is on stay pending resolution of
this petition.

Nineteen stolen weapons were found at Ms. Miquelon’s
official residential address in the Southern District of
Illinois. See

http://www .illinoisleader.com/printer/article.asp?c=7250.
Ms. Miquelon also was accused of altering an indictment
after it was filed by the grand jury in another high-profile
case to remove the name of a unindicted co-conspirator.
See http://www. belleville.com/mld/belleville/7304649. htm.
This is precisely Hawkin’s claim in his 2255. AUSA
Miquelon’s prosecution of Mr. Hawkins was marked from
the beginning by irregularities. For example, Ms. Miquelon
brought the prosecution in the Southern District of Illinois,’
although the only connection between the subject matter of
the case and the District was Sears’ sale and advertising of
Die Hard batteries in the District. The prosecution also
involved numerous irregularities in the use of the grand jury.
Ms. Miquelon did not seek an indictment until twelve days
before the end of the statute of limitations period, on
January 19, 2001. The grand jury minutes refer to the filing
of two indictments in this case on that day, although only
one was ever unsealed. Most importantly, AUSA Miquelon
fought vigorously to keep the original January 19, 2001
indictment of Mr. Hawkins sealed throughout his trial and
appeal. Judge Herndon repeatedly granted her motions. As
a result of her efforts and Judge Herndon’s rulings, the
indictment remained sealed until the United States Court of
Appeals unsealed the indictment on appeai after Mr.
Hawkins’ conviction. Rejecting AUSA Miquelon’s
argument that continued sealing was required to protect an
unindicted co-conspirator, the Court of Appeals found no
justification for the sealing.

‘Hawkin’s under separate cover seeks to supplement the
record with information useful to this court’s analysis. A breakdown
of the exculpatory evidence revealed upon disclosure of the original
indictment post direct appeal will be included as (Supp. App. A). This
indicates Supplemental Appendix and item number.

5

The difference between the permanently sealed
original indictment and the unsealed superseding indictment
appeared minor at first glance, but indeed was very
significant. Whereas in the sealed indictment, the grand
jury named Sears as a co-conspirator, in the superseding
indictment, those allegations were changed not only
saperficially to disguise Sears’ identity, but also
substantively to exculpate Sears, cast Sears as an unwitting
victim, and place the blame for Sears’ actions on Mr.
Hawkins and his co-defendants. This was not a mere
superficial change, but instead was a substantive change, the
suppression of which had serious repercussions for the
defense. It clearly hid the fact that the gratuity was paid to
the Sears employee at the same time Sears knew from a
battery teardown analysis that some batteries were
defective. Exide offered to recall the batteries and Sears
refused. Miguelon knew this but concealed the information.

Judge David Herndon repeatedly heard and granted
AUSA Miquelon’s motions to keep the indictment sealed,
and turned down defense motions to unseal it. The record
that is available shows that AUSA Miquelon gave a number
of shifting, unclear, and now-discredited rat'onales for the
motions to seal. For instance, while she originally argued
that the sealing was required to allow her to resolve issues
with regard to certain un-indicted targets she continued to
object to unsealing even after all co-conspirators cases had
been publicly resolved. She also mislead the Court by
saying that other Fortune 100 companies other than the
ones named in the indictment were involved, when that was
patently not the case. In public proceedings, she
consistently argued that the continued sealing was necessary
in order to “protect” an unindicted co-conspirator, although
the record shows this to be false. The only possible reason
for Ms. Miquelon’s zealous efforts to keep the indictment
sealed even after Mr. Hawkins and all other co-conspirators
had been convicted was to cover up her misconduct at the
grand jury and hide exculpatory evidence inculpating Sears.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0550%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
