# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Freitas v. Administrative Director of the Courts

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0364%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1035

## Text

8

Court of Hawaii quite reasonably recognized a correspond-
ing due process right under the Fourteenth Amendment in
contested civil proceedings. Freitas I, 104 Haw. at 489, 92
P.3d at 499 (and implicitly in Freitas IJ, 108 Haw. at 37,
39, 116 P.3d at 679, 681).

B. The Split with Courts of Other Jurisdic-
tions

After recognizing the constitutional due process right
to a public hearing, the Supreme Court of Hawaii nonethe-
less held that the restrictions imposed by the sign-in
procedure are constitutionally permitted. Freitas IJ, 108
Haw. at 40, 116 P.3d at 682. In support, the court cited
three cases from different jurisdictions. 108 Haw. at 37-39,
116 P.3d at 679-81 (citing Williams v. State, 690 N.E.2d
162 (Ind.1997); United States v. DeLuca, 137 F.3d 24 (ist
Cir.1998), and United States v. Brazel, 102 F.3d 1120 (11th
Cir.1997)). The court’s reliance on these three cases is
misplaced. The three cases stand for the proposition that
where standard security screening is in place (e.g., metal
detecting devices) and where something unusual and
perhaps ominous has occurred during a particular trial -
such as spectators staring intently at jurors or witnesses
as if to intimidate them — then extra security precautions
that impede public access to a limited extent may be
warranted, justifying, for example, the addition of a sign-
in and identification procedure.’ In a split with those three

* In Brazel, the trial judge had observed certain individuals
posturing and directing “fixed stares” at the witnesses, who were then
becoming visibly uncomfortable. 102 F.3d at 1155.

In DeLuca, the trial court found that the defendants’ extensive

criminal histories and the violent nature of the criminal acts alleged
(Continued on following page)

9

jurisdictions, the Supreme Court of Hawaii has allowed a
sign-in and identification procedure to become a routine
restriction, imposed in every case, as a substitute for
standard security screening.

The instant case squarely presents the following
issues for decision by this court: (1) In a contested admin-
istrative case, is there a due proce: } right to public access
that corresponds to the First Amendment right of the
media and the public and the Sixth Amendment right of
criminal defendants? (2) Is that due process right impli-
cated by a sign-in procedure imposed in every case, par-
ticularly where the sign-in roster is kept by the agency for
use at its own discretion and is open and available to the
general public? (3) May the government interest in secu-
rity at public hearings be equated, as a matter of law, to a
government desire to prevent anonymity on the part of
members of the public who wish to attend public hearings
when the agency lacks standard security screening? (4) Is
a sign-in and identification procedure as the exclusive
means of providing security at a public hearing the least
restrictive means of serving the government’s interest in
security?

against them raised apprehensions that weapons could get past
security by coercion or bribes. 137 F.3d at 35.

In Williams, the appellate court spelled out the requirement that
the trial court “make a finding that specifically supports any measures
taken beyond what is customarily permitted that are likely to affect
unfettered access by the press and public to the courtroom.” 690 N.& 2d
at 169. As the Supreme Court of Indiana stated, “[T}he free flow of
ideas and information may be facilitated by anonymous monitoring of
public proceedings.” /d.

In contrast, in Hawaii, depriving a person of his or her anonymity
at public hearings is the policy of the ADLRO in all cases, sanctioned by
the Supreme Court of Hawaii.

10

In the post 9/11 world, these issues are important and
need to be resolved by this Court. Does the ADLRO sign-in
procedure really vindicate security? Is anonymity really a
threat to security, as the ADLRO would have it, or does
the ADLRO seek to prevent the “free flow of ideas and
information” that may be facilitated by anonymous atten-
dees?

e
vv

CONCLUSION

The Court should grant the petition for a writ of
certiorari to review the decision of the Supreme Court of
Hawaii.

Respectfully submitted,

EARLE A. PARTINGTON

KAREN A. ESSENE

Counsel of Record for Petitioner
1330 Pacific Tower

1001 Bishop Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

(808) 526-9500

App. 1

* * x FOR PUBLICATION * * *

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF HAWAI'I

DARCY C. K. FREITAS, Petitioner-Appellant
vs.

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR OF THE COURTS,
STATE OF HAWAI'I,
Respondent-Appellee

No. 25323

APPEAL FROM THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE
FIRST CIRCUIT (CASE NO. JR02-0012)

JULY 25, 2005

MOON, C.J., LEVINSON,
NAKAYAMA, ACOBA, AND DUFFY, JJ.

OPINION OF THE COURT BY LEVINSON, J. AS
TO PARTS I-III (IDENTIFICATION SIGN-IN
PROCEDURE); OPINION OF THE COURT BY
ACOBA, J. AS TO PARTS IV-XIV (MERITS); AND
ACOBA, J., DISSENTING AS TO PART III.

PARTIAL OPINION OF THE COURT BY LEVINSON, J.

The petitioner-appellant Darcy C.K. Freitas appeals
from the decision of the district court of the first circuit,
the Honorable Fa’auuga To’oto’o presiding, affirming the
administrative revocation of Freitas’s driver’s license by a
hearing officer of the Administrative Driver's License
Revocation Office (ADLRO). In his supplemental brief,
Freitas argues (1) that he was denied his state and federal
constitutional due process rights to an open ADLRO

App. 2

hearing on remand, (2) that the hearing officer “ignored all
evidence contrary to her preconceived determination to
uphold the ADLRO sign[-Jin procedure [,]” and (3) that
“the hearing officer’s findings of fact are clearly erroneous
and her conclusions of law are contrary to established
law(.]”"

In this portion of our opinion, we address Freitas’s
contentions that the ADLRO erred in ruling that the sign-
in and identification procedure employed at ADLRO
hearings did not deprive Freitas of his right to a public
hearing. We hold that the hearing officer’s decision was
correct, inasmuch as the procedure satisfies the three-part
test that this court articulated in Freitas v. Admin. Dir. of
the Courts, State of Hawai'i, 104 Hawai'i 483, 489, 92 P.3d
993, 999 (2004) (hereinafter, “Freitas I”).

" On appeal to this court in the first instance, Freitas argued, inter
alia, that the district court erred in impliedly ruling that he, Freitas,
was not entitled to a hearing on the ADLRO’s restrictions on public
access to hearings and that public access to his hearing was not
hindered, thereby resulting in no violation of his state and federal
constitutional rights to a public hearing.

In Freitas v. Admin. Dir. of the Courts, State of Hawai'i, 104
Hawaii 483, 484, 92 P.3d 993, 994 (2004), this court held, inter alia,
that “because ADLRO hearings are quasi-judicial administrative
hearings, due process requires that the hearings be public, and ...
Freitas was entitled to a hearing on his objections to the ADLRO sign-
in and identification procedure limiting public access to his hearing.”
We therefore temporarily remanded the present matter to the ADLRO
for a hearing on whether the ADLRO’s identification and sign-in
procedures violated Freitas’s right to a public hearing. Jd. at 484, 92
P.3d at 994. On July 14, 2004, the ADLRO conducted a hearing, hearing
officer Jacqueline L.Z. Kaneshiro presiding. On July 16, 2004, the
hearing officer entered her findings of fact (FOFs), conclusions of law
(COLs), anid order determining that the ADLRO’s sign-in and identifica-
tion procedure did not impermissibly interfere with Freitas’s right to a

App. 3

I. BACKGROUND

On July 14, 2004, the ADLRO conducted a hearing on
the question whether the ADLRO’s sign-in identification
procedure impermissibly limited Freitas’s right to a public
hearing. At the hearing, the deputy attorney general, on
behalf of the respondent-appellee Administrative Director
of the Courts (Director), called two witnesses: Lloyd
Shimabuku, security consultant to several Waikiki hotels
and deputy chief in the investigation division of the state
department of the attorney general; and Ronald Sakata,
chief adjudicator for the ADLRO. The Director also sub-
mitted into evidence two articles, one entitled “A Situa-
tionist Perspective on the Psychology of Evil:
Understanding How Good People Are Transformed Into
Perpetrators,” by Phillip G. Zimbardo, Ph.D., in The Social
Psychology of Good and Evil: Understanding Our Capacity
for Kindness and Cruelty (Arthur Miller ed., 2004), and
the second entitled “Identity and Anonymity: Some Con-
ceptual Distinctions and Issues for Research,” by Gary T.
Marx, in Documenting Individual Identity (J. Caplan and
J. Torpey eds., 2001). Freitas’s counsel called four wit-
nesses to testify: Reneau Charlene Ufford Kennedy, Ph.D.,
psychologist; Patrick McPherson, attorney; Lois Perrin,
Director of the American Civil Liberties Union, Hawaii;
and Michael Nakamura, retired chief of the Honolulu
Police Department.

Following the hearing, on July 16, 2004, the ADLRO
hearing officer entered twenty-five written supplemental
FOFs and four written supplemental COLs, which stated
in relevant part:

App. 4

SUPPLEMENTAL FINDINGS OF FACT

3. The ADLRO instituted this ID procedure
as a security measure to prevent unknown mem-
bers of the general public from entering the in-
ner-office area.

5. The ID procedure provides a reasonable
means of identifying and apprehending those
persons who might engage in unlawful or inap-
propriate behavior at an administrative hearing
or within the inner-office area.

6. The ID procedure provides a deterrent
for those persons seeking entry past the front
desk/reception counter, including those persons
who wish to attend hearings, to engage in unlaw-
ful, disruptive, or otherwise inappropriate behav-
ior while within the hearing and inner-office
area.

7. This deterrent effect arises out of the
fact that persons who know that their identity
has been recorded will generally be less likely to
engage in unlawful or inappropriate behavior for
the simple reason that they know they can be
held accountable. '

8. A person who remains anonymous, on
the other hand, is more likely to engage in inap-
propriate behavior if such person knows that he
or she might be able to “get away with it” and not
be held accountable. This deterrent effect makes
the ID procedure an effective security measure.

App. 5

9. Although the ID procedure is not a per-
fect security measure, it is a fundamental first-
step in the ADLRO’s security measures.

10. Mr. Sakata, as Chief Adjudicator of the
ADLRO, instituted this ID procedure based upon
his experience and common sense understanding
of human behavior... .

11. This finding is also supported by the
testimony of Mr. Lloyd Shimabuku, a former po-
lice officer{] and current Deputy Chief, special
agent, at the Hawai'i Attorney Generals office,
who also serves as the liaison for Homeland Se-
curity.... Mr. Shimabuku, who testified as an
expert on security measures (without objection),
and who has had direct experience with sign-in
and identification-showing requirements, testi-
fied that a sign-in and identification requirement
does have a deterrent effect upon a person who
might otherwise be inclined to engage in unlaw-
ful or improper behavior, and that such a re-
quirement serves as a fundamental or basic
security measure.

12. Articles by Stanford University psy-
chology professor Phillip G. Zimbardo, and M.LT.
emeritus sociology professor Gary T. Marx, to
which no objection was made, provide further
support for this finding, because these articles
support the principle that anonymity makes peo-
ple more likely to engage in aggressive, evil, de-
structive, or unlawful behavior. . . .

13. This Hearing Officer finds that these
two articles support the view that the ID proce-
dure, by directly stripping a person of his or her
anonymity, lessens the likelihood that the identi-
fied person will engage in unlawful, harmful, or

App. 6

otherwise inappropriate behavior at the adminis-
trative- hearing and within the inner-office

14. Mr. Partington also elicited testimony
from former police chief Michael Nakamura that
the ID procedure would have little benefit to se-
curity. This Hearing Officer finds that this testi-
mony was not particularly persuasive in light of
the testimony of not only ADLRO Chief Adjudica-
tor Ronald Sakata, but the testimony of security
expert Lloyd Shimabuku, and since Mr. Naka-
mura conceded that the ID procedure could have
some deterrent effect. . . .

15. With respect to attorney R. Patrick
McPherson’s testimony, as elicited by Mr. Part-
ington, in which McPherson acknowledges that
no state court, trial or appellate level, requires
one to show identification and sign [] in in order
to attend a court proceeding, this Hearing Officer
finds this testimony unrelated to the ADLRO’s
unique circumstances in which, unlike t>~ court
buildings, the area to which counsel, respuadent,
and/or other members of the public are request-
ing access, includes undifferentiated access to
the hearing room as well as all other areas of the
ADLRO office, including private offices of
ADLRO employees. .. .

16. ... [The ADLRO does not have sepa-
rate public and non-public access area(s). This
distinguishing factor between courts and the
ADLRO is critical and material in determining
whether the ADLRO’s ID procedure is war-
ranted.

App. 7

17. This Hearing Officer finds that other
security measures, including a metal detector, x-
ray machine and conveyor belt, a hand metal-
detecting wand, and someone to operate these
devices, or posting sheriffs or security guards
(armed or unarmed) in or near the hearing room
— would be expensive and beyond the budget ca-
pabilities of the ADLRO. The uncontradicted tes-
timony of Chief Adjudicator Sakata set: ‘ag forth
the approximate costs of some of these measures,
and how the ADLRO’s budget would not allow
such measures to be taken, supports this finding.
On the other hand, the ID procedure costs virtu-
ally nothing.) .. .

18. In addition, metal detectors, x-ray ma-
chines and hand metal-detecting wands would do
nothing to stop a person intent on accosting
ADLKO staff or hearing attendees by hand, arm,
leg or foot, nor would such devices prevent some-
one from causing a vocal or verbal disturbance to
the administrative proceeding. The ID procedure,
on the other hand, could potentially deter such
inappropriate behavior. .. .

19. Furthermore, metal detection devices
may be very intrusive into a person’s privacy, by
requiring people to take their things out of their
pockets, have their bags x-rayed, or their per-
sonal bodies searched by hand wand.

20. In addition, this Hearing Officer finds
that even if such additional security measures
were in place — e.g., a metal detector, x-ray con-
veyor belt, and hand wand, or a security guard —
the ID procedure would provide an additional se-
curity benefit in the form of deterrence[.] ...
There is no less intrusive way to achieve this par-
ticular form of deterrence — based upon depriving

App. 8

a person of her anonymity — other than to have
the ADLRO’s ID procedure in effect. Although se-
curity cameras, by recording the visual image of
a person, do remove some level of anonymity,
they still leave a person the chance of remaining
unidentified. Indeed, security cameres, by cap-
turing a continuing and visual image of hearing
attendees, may be equally if not more intrusive
upon a person’s privacy than the ID procedure.

22. This Hearing Officer finds that there is
no less intrusive way to provide the unique de-
terrent effect created by the ADLRO ID proce-
dure other than to maintain the ID procedure.
No other security measure could fully substitute
for the special and unique deterrent effect
brought about by requiring the showing of a pic-
ture ID and sign-in, as it is the most effective
(and simplest) way of eliminating one’s anonym-
ae

23. This Hearing Officer finds that al-
though the ID procedure is not perfect - e.g.,
people can sometimes obtain fake ID’s, and some
people will engage in bad behavior regardless of
being pre-identified — it remains a useful and
reasonable security measure for the ADLRO. And
the ID procedure is a very easy and simple proc-
ess for a prospective attendee to meet. A driver’s
license, a state 1.D. or other acceptable picture
identification is all that is necessary. If one does
not already own a driver's license, a state LD.
can be obtained in most cases by presenting a so-
cial security card, a birth certificate, and paying
a nominal! fee. Indeed, a driver’s license, state
I.D., or other acceptable picture identification, is
something people need for all sorts of everyday
activities, including for example: check cashing,
banking, and air travel.

App. 9

24. This Hearing Officer finds that al-
though the ID procedure may deprive a person of
his or her anonymity — indeed that is precisely
why the ID procedure has an effective deterrent
effect — that is not an especially significant in-
trusion because a person attending the hearing
would have their face seen by hearing partici-
pants in any event. Furthermore, the ADLRO as
a matter of policy does not distribute the sign-in
list to anyone, except in the event someone on
that list engages in unlawful activity or creates a
disturbance.

IV.__SUPPLEMENTAL CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The ID procedure serves an important
governmental interest: namely, enhancing secu-
rity and avoiding disruptions at ADLRO admin-
istrative hearings.

2. This interest in enhancing security and
avoiding disruptions, and the means employed, is
unrelated to the content of the information to be
disclosed in the administrative proceeding.

3. There is no less restrictive way to fully
serve this important governmental interest in
enhancing security and avoiding disruptions at
ADLRO administrative hearings and inner-office
area, other than to continue with the ID proce-
dure. Although other measures can add to secu-
rity as well, there is no other less intrusive
means of achieving the unique deterrent effect
that arises out of depriving a person of his or her
anonymity. The ADLRO ID procedure is the least
intrusive means of achieving this unique deter-
rent effect.

App. 10

4. The ADLRO ID procedure is therefore
fully warranted, and does not impermissibly in-
terfere with a respondent's right to a public hear-
ing.

-_

Il. STANDARDS OF REVIEW

A. Judicial Review of Administrative Decisi

[FOFs] are reviewable under the
clearly .rroneous standard to deter-
mine if the agency decision was clearly
erroneous in view of reliable, probative,
and substantial evidence on the whole
record. Alvarez v. Liberty House, Inc.,
85 Hawai'i 275, 277, 942 P.2d 539, 541
(1997); HRS § 91-14(g)5).

(COLs] are freely reviewable to de-
termine if the agency’s decision was in
violation of constitutional or statutory
provisions, in excess of statutory au-
thority or jurisdiction of agency, or af-
fected by other error of law. Hardin v.
Akiba, 84 Hawai'i 305, 310, 933 P.2d
1339, 1344 (1997) (citations omitted);
HRS §§ 91-14(g)(1), (2), and (4).

“A COL that presents mixed ques-
tions of fact and law is reviewed under
the clearly erroneous standard because
the conclusion is dependent upon the
facts and circumstances of the particu-
lar case.” Price v. Zoning Bd. of Appeals
of City and County of Honolulu, 77 Ha-
waii 168, 172, 883 P2d 629, 633
(1994). ...

App. 11

Poef v. Hawai'i Labor Relations Board], 87
Hawaii [191,) 197, 953 P2d [569,] 573
{[(1998)}.

Curtis v. Board of Appeals, 90 Hawai‘i 384, 392-
93, 978 P.2d 822, 830-31 (1999).

An FOF or a mixed determination of law and
fact is clearly erroneous when (1) the record lacks
substantial evidence to support the finding or de-
termination, or (2) despite substantial evidence
to support the finding or determination, the ap-
pellate court is left with the definite and firm
conviction that a mistake has been made. See
Leslie v. Estate of Tavares, 91 Hawai‘i 394, 399,
984 P.2d 1220, 1225 (1999). “We have defined
‘substantial evidence’ as credible evidence which
is of sufficient quality and probative value to en-
able a person of reasonable caution to support a
conclusion.” Jd. (quoting State v. Kotis, 91 Ha-
wai'i 319, 328, 984 P.2d 78, 87 (1999)).

In re Wai'‘ola O Molokai, Inc., 103 Hawai'i 401, 421, 83
P.3d 664, 684 (2004) (quoting Jn re Water Use Permit
Applications, 94 Hawai'i 97, 118-19, 9 P.3d 409, 430-31
(2000) (some brackets added and some in original)).

B. Questions of Constitutional Law

“We answer questions of constitutional law
‘by exercising our own independent judgment
based on the facts of the case,’” and, thus, ques-
tions of constitutional law are reviewed on ap-
peal “under the ‘right/wrong’ standard.” State v.
Jenkins, 93 Hawai'i 87, 100, 997 P2d 13, 26
(2000) (citations omitted).

State v. Aplaca, 96 Hawai'i 17, 22, 25 P.3d 792, 797 (2001).

App. 12

Ill. DISCUSSION

In his supplemental brief, Freitas argues that the
hearing officer’s supplemental FOFs and COLs upholding
the ADLRO’s sign-in and identification procedure are not
supported by substantial evidence in the record and are
clearly erroneous. We disagree.

In Freitas, we invoked a three-faceted formulation for
determining whether a limitation on access permissibly
furthers the legitimate need to maintain “order and
dignity” in a public adjudicative proceeding: “[whether] the
regulation serve[s}] an important government interest;
[whether] the interest [is] unrelated to the content of the
information to be disclosed in the proceeding; and
(whether] there [is a] no less restrictive way to meet that
goal.” 104 Hawai'i at 489, 92 P.3d at 999 (quoting Brown &
Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. Fed. Trade Comm'n, 710 F.2d
1165, 1179 (6th Cir.1983) (citing United States v. O’Brien,
391 U.S. 367, 377 (1968))) (emphasis deleted). We hold (1)
that the ADLRO’s identification and sign-in procedure
serves an important government interest in ‘securing
ADLRO hearings, (2) that the security procedure is unre-
lated to the content of the information disclosed at ADLRO
hearings, and (3) that there is no less restrictive way to
meet the goal of securing ADLRO hearings. As such, we
hold that the ADLRO’s identification and sign-in proce-
dure does not impermissibly infringe upon Freitas’s
constitutional right to a public hearing.

At the hearing on the propriety of the ADLRO’s
identification and sign-in procedure, the Director adduced
evidence that the “ADLRO instituted [the] ID procedure as
a security measure to prevent unknown members of the
general public from entering the inner-office area.” The

App. 13

Director further demonstrated that the identification
procedure “provides a deterrent” to people engaging in
“unlawful, disruptive, or otherwise inappropriate behavior
while within the hearing and inner-office area.” The
Director elicited testimony from Chief Adjudicator Sakata
‘that the ADLRO identification procedure was established
to “provide a deterrent to inappropriate behavior.” The
hearing officer found that the identification procedure was
a “fundamental first[]step in the ADLRO’s security meas-
ures” and determined that such a finding was supported
by the testimony of the security expert Shimabuku and
the two psychology articles proffered by the Director.

In United States v. DeLuca, 137 F.3d 24 (1st Cir.1998),
the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
held that the trial court’s requirement that trial spectators
present identification before entering the courtroom did
not violate the defendants’ rights to a public trial. In
DeLuca, a United States Marshall sua sponte established a
screening and identification procedure for each spectator
who wished to enter the courtroom in order to help offset
courtroom security risks. 137 F.3d at 32.

[I]n the circumstances presented here[,] we can-
not agree that prudent identification procedures
suitably focused at deterring would-be trial spec-
tators who may pose unacceptable risks — either
to the security of the courtroom or the integrity of
the factfinding process — need be held in abeyance
pending evidence of an actual attempt to influence
or harm a witness or juror in the case on trial.
Therefore, though we cannot endorse the unilateral
action by the United States Marshal, we hold that
it did not strip away the substantial deference due
the district cous subsequent assessment that
the screening procedures were warranted.

App. 14

Id. at 34-35. The First Circuit further stated that, “in our
view|,] an appellate court should be hesitant to displace a
trial court’s judgment call in such circumstances.” Id. at
34.

In the present matter, the Director explained that the
ADLRO’s identification and sign-in procedure is designed
to advance the substantial government interest of height-
ening security for the ADLRO’s hearings and its inner-
office area. We are thus “hesitant to displace [the ADLRO
hearing officer]’s judgment call in [these] circumstances.”
DeLuca, 137 F.3d at 34.

Similarly, in Williams v. State, 690 N.E.2d 162
(Ind.1997}, the Indiana Supreme Court held that court-
room security procedures requiring that each person who
was unknown to the officer at the door show identification
and sign in did not amount to “exclusion” of anyone and,
thus, did not implicate the right to public trial.

The security procedures required that each per-
son who was unknown to the officer show identi-
fication and sign in. Neither requirement
actively excludes anyone. The identification re-
quirement introduced a minor procedural hurdle
to gaining admittance to the trial by demanding
the production of some form of identification,
which is an item readily available to the general
public. ... In_sum, this simply is not a case of
partial or total closure of the proceedings to the
public and so the constitutional right to a public
trial is not implicated by the procedures as they
were used in this case.

Williams, 690 N.E.2d at 168-69. Although the Williams
court held that there was no constitutional violation, the
court went on to require that trial courts make findings in

App. 15

support of security measures imposed beyond those
customarily permitted.

Even where the measure does not amount to a
violation of the constitutional rights of the defen-
dant, when access to public proceedings is im-
peded, even slightly, the right to be free to walk
into court and assess our justice system in opera-
tion comes under threat. Any such restriction
must be imposed only with proper justification.
Accordingly, we require under our supervisory
powers that the court make a finding that spe-
cifically supports any measures taken beyond
what is customarily permitted that are likely to
affect unfettered access by the press and public
to the courtroom. The finding need not be exten-
sive, but must provide the reasons for the action
taken, and show that both the burdens and bene-
fits of the action have been considered. This ex-
ercise of supervisory powers applies to trials
conducted after the publication of this opinion.

The trial court in this case failed to provide
such a record... . The court made no findings as
to why the procedures were warranted.

Because the court did not provide the rea-
sons for its decision to authorize the procedures,
and because the record does not clearly substan-
tiate the need for these additional precautions,
the trial court’s condoning of use of the identifi-
cation procedures does not meet the standard we
announce today. As an abstract proposition, this
kind of procedure seems likely to produce both a
slight burden and a slight benefit. The taking of
names is perhaps intimidating for some, but the
practice also is likely to help control courtroom
behavior. Because it alerts spectators that the
court can identify them, it may discourage some

App. 16

who might otherwise have disrupted the proceed-

ing in the hope of remaining anonymous. Accord-

ingly, when considering this sort of procedure, a

court must weigh the prospective benefits to the

order and security of the courtroom with the

burdens to the defendant, the press, and the pub-

lic.
Id. at 169-70 (footnotes omitted). Consonant with the
Williams rationale, this court temporarily remanded the
present matter to the ADLRO for a hearing on Freitas’s
objections to the ADRLO’s identification and sign-in
procedure, and the hearing officer entered FOF's and COLs
supporting the procedure. Accordingly, the hearing officer
made findings that “specifically support{ ] any measures
taken beyond what is customarily permitted” in order to
“substantiate the need for these additional precautions|.}”

In United States v. Brazel, 102 F.3d 1120 (11th Cir.
1997), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 822 (1997), the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit held that the
district court’s requirement that all persons entering the
courtroom provide identification did not violate the defen-
dants’ constitutional rights. “The [sjixth [a)mendment
right to a public trial is not absolute and must, on occa-
sion, give way to other rights, and interests.” Brazel, 102
F.3d at 1155 (quoting Waller v. Georgia, 467 U.S. 39, 45
(1984)). “[I]f the identification procedure can be said to
have imposed a closure at all, it was ‘partial,’ as all per-
sons wishing to enter the courtroom were allowed to do so
provided they identified themselves as required, and the
required identification was not especially arduous.”

We find no violation of the Constitution. The
trial judge implemented the identification proce-
dure based on her own observations for more

App. 17

than a week, confirmed by the prosecution, that
individuals had been coming into the courtroom
and fixing stares on the witnesses and possibly
government counsel. The court considered the al-
ternative proposed by defendants, but reasonably
found it infeasible. She did not believe that,
while presiding over the trial, she could assume
the responsibility to pick out individuals who
might be trying to influence the witnesses or
might otherwise pose a threat to trial partici-
pants. Given the specific problem that had arisen
and the limited nature of the remedy adopted, we
see no abuse of discretion in what was done.

Brazel, 102 F.3d at 1156.’ See also Bell v. Evatt, 72 F.3d
421, 433 (4th Cir.1995), cert. denied 518 U.S. 1009 (1996)

* The dissent seeks to distinguish DeLuca, Williams, and Brazel on
the basis that they are “cases addressing the sixth amendment right to
a public trial” and that, “[fijJnasmuch as this case concerns a quasi-
judicial administrative proceeding before the ADLRO, ... the defen-
dant’s Sixth Amendment right to a public trial in a criminal prosecution
is not implicated.” Dissenting opinion at 51-52 (emphases in original).
We are not persuaded. As discussed above, the three-faceted formula-
tion for determining whether a-limitation on access to a hearing
permissibly furthers the legitimate need to maintain “order and
dignity” in a public adjudicative hearing was taken directly from Brown
& Williamson Tobacco Corp., 710 F.2d at 1179. See Freitas I, 104
Hawaii at 489, 92 P.3d at 999. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. was
cited with approval in Detroit Free Press v. Ashcroft, 195 F.Supp.2d 937,
945 n. 8 ‘E.D.Mich.2002), upon which we expressly relied in Freitas I.
See Freitas I, 104 Hawai'i at 488-89, 92 P.3d at 998-99. And Detroit Free
Press, which involved a quasi-judicial administrative deportation
hearing, expressly relied on Free-Enter. Co. v. Superior Court of
California, 478 U.S. 1 (1986), “which held that the right of criminal
defendants to public proceedings resides in the Sixth Amendment... .”
See Freitas I, 104 Hawai‘ at 486, 488, 92 P.3d at 996, 998. It is incon-
ceivable to us that Freitas’s constitutional right to a public hearing in
an administrative driver’s license revocation hearing is broader than a
criminal defendant’s constitutional right to a public trial.

App. 18

(holding that trial court’s prevention of ingress and egress
to courtroom during witness testimony did not violate
public-trial right where “trial judge was merely maintain-
ing order in his courtroom and ensuring a non-disruptive
atmosphere” for pxrticipants, press, and public).

In the present matter, the governmental interest at
stake is the security of ADLRO hearings, which is obvi-
ously unrelated to the hearings’ substantive content. In
any event, Freitas-does not argue that the ADLRO hearing
officer erred in applying that portion of the three-part
formulation outlined in Freitas [. 104 Hawai'i at 489, 92
P.3d at 999.

The ADLRO identification and sign-in procedure also
satisfies the third prong of the Freitas I formulation, to
wit, that there be no less restrictive way to meet the
ALDRO’s goal of securing their hearings. See 104 Hawai‘
at 489, 92 P.3d at 999. The Director adduced substantial
evidence that the costs associated with implementing
other security procedures — i.e., metal detectors, x-ray
machines, additional security guards ~ were not fiscally
feasible. Further to the foregoing, the hearing officer found
that such additional security measures would not obviate
the efficacy of the ADLRO’s current identification and
sign-in procedure in any event. The security expert,
Shimabuku, testified that th» ADLRO’s identification
procedure provided “a separate and beneficial deterrent
effect” to any additional security procedures. Freitas’s
contention that “the ADLRO is part of the Judiciary and[]
if the Judiciary can afford to put metal detectors and
deputy sheriffs in the courts, it can certainly afford to put
a metal] detector and/or a deputy sheriff in the ADLRO[,]”
is both unsupported and unpersuasive. Although Freitas
further postulates that “/aJnything that discourages public

App. 19

participation in the functioning of government is intoler-
able if the interests of the government can be achieved by
alternative means,” (emphasis in original), recommenda-
tions contained within the Security Assessment’ specifi-
cally concluded that “[a)dditional security measures will
be costly, create inconvenience, and increase workload for
the receptionist.” The hearing officer’s conclusion that
there is no less restrictive means of securing ADLRO
hearings is supported by substantial evidence. Conse-
quently, the inquiry into whether the identification proce-
dure as implemented at ADLRO hearings is the least
restrictive means of achieving the goal of providing secu-
rity at hearings has been satisfied.

The ADLRO’s identification and sign-in procedure is
reasonably tailored to meet the security needs of ADLRO
hearings. Furthermore, the Director satisfied the burden
of establishing the reasonableness of the ADLRO sign-in
and identification procedure. The ADLRO’s procedure in
no way, in and of itself, deprives parties of a public hear-
ing. Therefore, we hold that the hearing officer’s decision
upholding the sign-in and identification procedure at
ADLRO hearings is supported by substantial evidence and
that Freitas’s constitutional right to a public hearing was
not impermissibly infringed.

/s/ Ronald T.Y. Moon
/s/ Steven H. Levinson

/s/ Paula A. Nakayama
/s/ James E. Duffy, Jr.

* The Supplemental Record on Appeal! contains a written Security
Assessment prepared by the Department of Public Safety for the
ADLRO at the ADLRO’s request, which was received by the ADLRO on
May 30, 2001.

App. 20

PARTIAL OPINION OF THE COURT BY ACOBA, J.

A majority of this court has decided that the sign-in
and identification procedure of the Administrative Driver’s
License Revocation Office (ADLRO) was valid. Therefore,
we turn to the merits of Freitas’s appeal.

IV.

We hold that (1) the administrative hearing proce-
dures of the ADLRO did not violate Freitas’s due process
rights and (2) the district court did not err in failing to
reverse the hearing officer’s decision which was based on
prior rulings of the district court, which, by their very
nature, are unpublished and have no precedential effect.
Based on the foregoing, we affirm the judgment of the
District Court of the First Circuit, Honolulu Division * (the
court) affirming the decision of the ADLRO, and thereby
sustaining the revocation of Freitas’s driver’s license.

V.

As mentioned in the prior remand, see Freitas I, 104
Hawaii 483, 92 P.3d 993, on January 16, 2002, Freitas
was arrested for driving under the influence of an intoxi-
cating liquor (DUI). On January 17, 2002, he was issued a
notice of license revocation for DUI. On January 23, 2002,
Frietas’s driver’s license revocation was sustained by a
review officer of the ADLRO. On January 30, 2002, Freitas
requested a hearing.

* The Honorable Fa’auuga To’oto’o presided over this matter.

\

App. 21

When the hearing began, the hearing officer admitted
into evidence all of the documents that were contained in
the ADLRO case file. The hearing officer denied counsel’s
request to subpoena ADLRO Chief Adjudicator Ronald
Sakata to testify about the identification procedure which
required anyone attending an ADLRO hearing to sign in
and produce picture identification. The hearing officer did
not permit a hearing on this matter.

After raising the above requests, counsel asked the
hearing officer to follow a hearing procedure as set forth in
a written document presented by him.’ The hearing officer

* The procedure provided as follows:
The arrestee hereby requests that the following procedure be
- followed at this hearing because the administrative revocation
scheme contemplates that this procedure will be followed pursu-
ant to [Hawai'i Revised Statutes} H.R.S. § 291E-38:

1. The hearing officer receives into evidence only the
sworn statements described in H.R.S. § 291E-36(a)(1) and
(2) and competent evidence of any prior alcohol contacts
(H.R.S. § 291E-38(g) and (h));

2. If the hearing officer is satisfied that the three
prong test has not been met, the hearing officer rescinds the
revocation and the hearing is over (H.R.S. § 291E-38(e)); the
three prong test is (1) reasonable suspicion to stop, (2) prob-
able cause to believe arrestee DUI, and (3) proof of DUI -
(Kernan v. Tanaka, 75 Haw. 1, 30, 856 P2d 1207, 1222
(1993));

3. If the hearing officer is satisfied that the three
prong test has been met, the hearing officer so finds and the
arrestee is given an opportunity to offer evidence to refute
any part of the three prong test or any prior alcohol contact
(Kernan v. Tanaka, 75 Haw. 1, 30, 856 P.2d 1207, 1222
(1993)),

4. If there is any other competent evidence which has
become relevant by virtue of the arrestee’s evidence, whether
documents in the file, through witness, or otherwise, the

(Continued on following page) 6

App. 22

declined counsel’s offer; instead the hearing officer indi-
- cated she would 1) allow counsel to raise any issues; 2)
start calling witnesses; then 3) proceed with arguments.

[Counsel]: And if you're not willing to follow
that procedure, I wish to know what procedure is
going to be followed.

[Hearing Officer]: Well, J haven't reviewed
the request, but I will note that the statute does
allow this [hJearing [o]fficer to conduct and con-
vrol the course of this hearing and the procedure
that I would follow and am going to follow, coun-
sel, is I’m going to allow you to raise any issues
that you have, as you are doing now, regarding
this case, however, regarding the facts and cir-
cumstances of this case. Then, I'm going to start
calling the witnesses.

We, usually, start with the arresting officer[ ]
... (t}hen I will proceed to hear your arguments
after that.

hearing officer may receive such evidence (H.R.S. § 291E-
38(d)(3));

5. The hearing officer makes findings and either re-
scinds or upholds the revocation (H.R.S. § 291-E38(d)(6));

6. If the revocation is upheld, the hearing officer
makes findings as to any prior alcohol contacts and the con-
sequences thereof (H.R.S. § 291E-41(b)).

Pursuant to H.R.S. § 291E-38(a), the purpose of this hearing is “to
review the {administrative review] decision,” not conduct a de
novo hearing. Thus, the hearing officer has no power to increase
the revocation period set at the administrative review.

If the hearing officer is unwilling to follow this procedure, the
hearing officer is hereby requested to state exactly what procedure
will be followed, which party has the burden of proof, and whether
and when the burden of producing evidence ever shifts in the
course of the hearing.

App. 23

[Counsel]: [Who has the burden of proof? Does
the burden of producing evidence ever shift in this
case? These are all questions that are very important
to arrestees in determining how to proceed and when
and how to offer evidence.

{Hearing Officer]: You may proceed, counsel,
with you putting on your case, if you want to examine
the officers or not, you are entitled to waive, as well.

[Counsel]: So you will not follow your [sic] pro-
cedure?

[Hearing Officer]: No. I haven't had time to even
read it, so, no.

[Counsel]: Well, I ask that you read it. I think
I’m required to do that.

[Hearing Officer]: I don’t believe so. J believe the
statute does allow me to conduct the course of this
hearing, which I do. So, 'm asking now, would you

- like to examine your witnesses, and put any other is-
sues on the record at this time?

(Emphases added.)

The arresting officer, Officer Lorica, then testified that
at the time of Freitas’s arrest, she read to him from the
driver’s implied consent form entitled, “Administrative
Revocation of Driver’s License and Motor Vehicle Registra-
tion Form.” This form referred to HRS chapter 286, Part
XIV (Supp.2000) (repealed effective January 1, 2002, and
replaced with HRS chapter 291E, Part III).

App. 24

The Intoxilyzer operator failed to appear to testify. As
a result, the hearing officer excluded an Intoxilyzer test ‘
result obtained from Freitas. After the test result was
excluded, counsel objected to the ADLRO asserting juris-
diction, maintaining that a “valid breath or blood test or
refusal is a jurisdictional requirement for administrative
revocation.” Counsel also argued that the implied consent
form the police read to Freitas referred to Chapter 286,
Part XIV, which had been repealed, and that the Notice of
Administrative Revocation failed to explain the distinction
between the administrative revocation and criminal
suspension or revocation as required by HRS § 291£-
34(aX(2) (Supp.2002).

The hearing officer sustained the revocation of
Freitas’s driver’s license pursuant to HRS § 291E-38(e) in
a written decision dated March 13, 2002. But, the hearing
officer found that Freitas had not been properly informed
“of the sanctions and consequences of the law as it was in
effect on the day of his arrest(,)” apparently because the
implied consent form referred to a repealed statute. The
hearing officer determined in effect, that the proper
remedy was to strike Freitas’s Intoxilyzer test result.
Based on other evidence, the hearing officer determined
that Freitas operated his vehicle while DUI:

1. There existed reasonable suspicion for
Officer Lorica to stop the vehicle operated by
{Freitas}.

* An intoxilyzer test measures an individual’s blood alcohol
concentration by a breath sample. [ge v. Admin. Dir. of the Courts, 93
Hawaii 133, 134 n. 2, 997 P-2d 59, 60 n. 2 (App.2000)

App. 25

2. There existed probable cause to believe
that [Freitas] operated the vehicle while under
the influence of an intoxicant.

3. That irrespective of [Freitas’s] breath test
result, the remainder of the record nevertheless
reflects by a preponderance of the evidence, that
[Freitas] operated the vehicle while under the in-
fluence of an intoxicant. ...

4. [Freitas’s} five (5) year driving record
preceding the date of arrest (January 17, 2002)
shows no alcohol enforcement contact or drug en-
forcement contact, as defined in HRS § 291E-1.

5. Pursuant to HRS § 291E-41('], the period
of revocation that may be imposed on [Freitas] is
a minimum of three months up to a maximum
period of one year.

Therefore, it is the decision of the director,
by the undersigned Hearing Officer, that
[Freitas’s] driver’s license be revoked for a period
of three months, from February 17, 2002 through
and including May 16, 2002.

(Emphasis added.)

” HRS § 291E-41 states in relevant part,

(b) The periods of administrative revocation with respect to a
license and privilege to operate a vehicle, and motor vehicle registration
if applicable, that shal] be imposed under this part are as follows:

(1) A minimum of three months up to a maximum of one
year revocation of license and privilege to operate a vehi-
cle, if the respondent’s record shows no prior alcohol en-
forcement contact or drug enforcement contact during
the five years preceding the date the notice of adminis-
trative revocation was issued.

App. 26

The findings in the decision cited to unpublished
district court decisions in other ADLRO cases. Freitas
appealed to the court.

On August 13, 2002, the court affirmed the hearing
officer by a written decision." A separate judgment filed on
the same day stated that, “[pjursuant to the Decision and
Order Affirming Administrative Revocation entered herein
on August 13, 2002, Administrative Revocation is af-
firmed.”

The identification sign-in procedure aside, on appeal,
Freitas essentially argues that the court erred (1) in
impliedly ruling (a) that the administrative hearing proce-
dure did not deny Freitas his rights to due process of law
under the Fifth and Fourteenth amendments of the United
States Constitution” and Article I, §5 of the Hawai'i

* The district court's August 13, 2002, written decision states:

The (pletition for [j)udicial [rjeview in this case came on for hear-
ing on May 3, 2002. (Counsel] appeared for the Petitioner, who
was not present. Respondent did not appear. The [cjourt consid-
ered the submissions and arguments of counsel and the records
and files herein.

The {cjourt finds none of the arguments raised by counsel suffi-
cient to warrant reversal, and the |cjourt find no reversible error
in the record.

For these reasons, the Director's decision is (affirmed).

* The Fifth Amendment states in relevant part that “[nlo person
shall ... be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of
law... .* (Emphasis added.)

The Fourteenth Amendment states in relevant part that “[n)c State
shall ... deprive any person of life, liberty or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.” (Emphasis added.)

App. 27

Constitution” or (b) the mandate of Chapter 291E, Part
IIl, and (2) in failing to reverse the hearing officer for
citing to unpublished district court ADLRO decisions to
justify her decision.

VI.

“Review of a decision made by a court upon its review
of an administrative decision is a secondary appeal. The
standard of review is one in which this court must deter-
mine whether the court under review was right or wrong
in its decision.” Soderlund v. Admin. Dir. of the Courts, 96
Hawai'i 114, 118, 26 P.3d 1214, 1218 (2001) (internal
quotation marks, citations and brackets omitted) (vacating
and remanding the district court’s amended decision
affirming the revocation of motorist’s driver's license for
driving under the influence of alcohol). HRS § 291E-40
(Supp.2002) “goverius judicial review by the district court
of an administrative revocation of a driver's license by the
Director.”

” Article I, § 5 of the Hawai'i Constitution states that “[njo person
shal] be deprived of life, liberty or property without due process of law,
nor be denied the equal protection of the laws, nor be denied the
enjoyment of the person's civil rights or be discriminated against in the
exercise thereof because of race, religion, sex or ancestry.” (Emphasis
added)

" HRS § 291E-40 is the recodified version of HRS § 286-260 (1993).
In provision (a), “arrestee” was substituted with “respondent” and
“offense” was substituted with “incident.” Section (d) was added to the
new version.

" HRS § 291E-40 states in relevant part as follows:

Judicial review; procedure. (a) If the director sustains the
administrative revocation after an administrative hearing, the re-
spondent ... may file a petition for judicial review within thirty days
after the administrative hearing decision is mailed. The petition

(Continued on following page)

App. 28

Vill.

On appeal we review findings of fact under the clearly
erroneous standard. Child Support Enforcement Agency v.
Roe, 96 Hawai'i 1, 11, 25 P.3d 60, 70 (2001). Findings of
fact are “cleariy erroneous when the record lacks substan-
tial evidence to support the finding.” Jd. (quoting In re
Water Use Permit Applications, 94 Hawai'i 97, 119, 9 P.3d
409, 431 (2000)). “‘Substantial evidence’ is credible evi-
dence which is of sufficient quality and probative value to
enable a person of reasonable caution to support a conclu-
sion.” Jd. (brackets, internal quotation marks, and citation
omitted); see Leslie v. Estate of Tavares, 91 Hawai'i 394,
399, 984 P.2d 1220, 1225 (1999). Findings of fact are also
clearly erroneous when “despite substantial evidence to
support the finding . . . , the appellate court is left with the
definite and firm conviction in reviewing the entire evi-
dence that a mistake has been made.” Child Support
Enforcement Agency, 96 Hawai'i at 11, 25 P3d at 70.

shall be filed with the clerk of the district court in the district in
which the incident occurred and shal] be accompanied by the re-
quired filing fee for civil actions... .

(c) The sole issues before the court shall be whether the di-
rector:

(1) Exceeded constitutional or statutory authority;
(2) Erroneously interpreted the law;

(3) Acted in an arbitrary or capricious manner;

(4) Committed an abuse of discretion; or

(5) Made a determination that was unsupported by the
evidence in the record.

(d) The court shall not remand the matter back to the direc-
tor for further proceedings consistent with its order.

App. 29

“Hawai'i appellate courts review conclusions of law de
novo, under the right/wrong standard.” Leslie, 91 Hawai'i
at 399, 984 P.2d at 1225 (citations omitted).

IX.

As mentioned, Freitas asserts that he was deprived of
due process because the clear mandate of HRS chapter
291E was violated. His subsidiary points appear to be (1)
that the revocation law, HRS chapter 291E, Part III, does
not expressly set forth a specific procedure to be followed
at an administrative hearing, (2) that in seeming contra-
diction, “HRS § 291E-38(a) provides [that] . . . the function
of the administrative hearing is to ‘review the [administra-
tive review] decision,’ but the person arrested for DUI may
call witnesses and offer witnesses,” suggesting it is a de
novo hearing, (3) the plain language of HRS § 291E-
37(cX3) and HRS § 291E-38(h) does not authorize receipt
of the entire ADLRO file or police report into evidence, (4)
HRS chapter 291E, Part III, requires that there be a valid
chemical test or refusal for the ADLRO to assert jurisdic-
tion.

As to his subsidiary arguments (1) and (2), Freitas
proposed a procedure, which he argued would not offend
due process ” and would reconcile the “apparent conflict”
he perceived between a de novo hearing “ and the hearing

" See supra note 5. Of course, there is nothing to prevent a hearing
officer from adopting such a procedure or the legislature from enacting
it.

“ A hearing de novo is defined as follows: “Generally, a new
hearing or a hearing for the second time, contemplating an entire tria!
in same manner in which matter was originally heard and a review of
previous hearing. [Generally ojn [a] hearing ‘de novo’ court hears

(Continued on following page)

App. 30

officer’s role of administrative review. In Desmond v.
Admin. Dir. of the Courts, 91 Hawai'i 212, 219, 982 P.2d
346, 353, (App.1998) fhereinafter, Desmond I], rev'd on
other grounds, 90 Hawai'i 301, 978 P.2d 739 (1999) fhere-
inafter, Desmond II\, the motorist proposed a hearing
procedure almost identical to the procedure supported by
Freitas in this case.“ The Intermediate Court of Appeals
(ICA) held, however, that the hearing officer “did not err in
following her procedure rather than the procedure pro-
posed by [the motorist)” and rejected contentions similar
to those raised by Freitas. Jd. It was concluded “that the
applicable law does not require the [hjearing [o)fficer to
follow the procedure proposed by Desmond.” Jd. at 218,
982 P.2d at 352. On certiorari, this court affirmed the ICA,
except on a matter not relevant to this issue. See Desmond
IT, 90 Hawai'i 301, 978 [P.2d 739.

We observe that procedural due process requires that
a person have an “opportunity to be heard at a meaningful
time and in a meaningful manner.” Farmer v. Admin. Dir.
of the Courts, 94 Hawai'i 232, 238, 11 P.3d 457, 463 (2000).
This court has said that providing a presuspension revoca-
tion hearing “sufficiently assure{d) reliable results and
provideld] adequate due process.” Jd. at 239, 11 P.3d at
464. Freitas was afforded such a hearing on March 8,
2002, where witnesses were called and he was represented
by counsel.” The ADLRO program has been examined and

matter as court of origina] and not appellate jurisdiction.” Black's Law
Dictionary 649 (5th ed. 1979).
“ The counsel representing Freitas in the present case also
represented the petitioner in the Desmond case.
” HRS § 291E-38 sets forth the requirements of the hearing and
states in relevant part:
(Continued on following page)

App. 31

found not to violate due process. Kernan, 75 Haw. at 25-32,
856 P.2d at 1219-22; Farmer, 94 Hawai'i at 238, 11 P.3d at
463; Desmond I, 91 Hawai'i at 220, 982 P.2d at 354. In
addition, the hearing officer advised counsel of the proce-
dure that she was going to follow consistent with the

(b) The hearing shall be held by the director, as close to the
location where the notice of administrative revocation was issued
as practical.

(c) The respondent may be represented by counsel and, if
the respondent is under the age of eighteen, must be accompanied
by a parent or guardian.

(d) The director shall conduct the hearing and have author-
ity to:

(1) Administer oaths and affirmations;

(2) Examine witnesses take testimony;

(3) Receive and determine the relevance of evidence;
(4) Issue subpoenas;

(5) Regulate the course and conduct of the hearing; and
(6) Make a final ruling.

(g) The respondent's prior alcohol and drug enforcement
contacts shall be entered into evidence.

(h) The sworn statements provided in section 291E-36 shall
be admitted into evidence. The director shall consider the sworn
statements in the absence of the law enforcement officer or other
person. Upon written notice to the director, no later than five days
prior to the hearing, that the respondent wishes to examine a law
enforcement officer or other person who made a sworn statement,
the director, the director shal] issue a subpoena for the officer or
other person to appear at the hearing. Personal service upon the
law enforcement officer or other person who made a sworn state-
ment shal] be made no later than forty-eight hours prior to the
hearing time. If the officer or other pe-son cannot appear, the offi-
cer or other person at the discretion of the director, may testify by
telephone.

(Emphasis added.)

App. 32

caution that “[iJt is advisable that, at the commencement
of the administrative hearing, the (hlearing [olfficer
inform the parties what procedure he or she will follow.”
Desmond I, 91 Hawai'i at 219, 982 P.2d at 353. In light of
the foregoing, we do not believe reversible error was
committed and, thus, decline Freitas’s invitation to over-
rule Desmond I.

We observe, however, as previously noted in the facts,
that the hearing officer’s procedure consisted of ascertain-
ing issues raised by Freitas and then proceeding to the
calling of witnesses starting with the arresting officer. In
Desmond I, the ICA pointed out that in Kernan, 75 Haw. at
30, 856 P.2d at 1222, this court directed that the grounds
for revocation must first be established before the arrestee
proceeds with his or her evidence.” 91 Hawai'i at 218, 982
P.2d at 352. Accordingly, insofar as the hearing officer may
have conveyed the suggestion that Freitas was to “raise
{his} issues” at the beginning of the hearing, it should be
made clear that an arrestee cannot be called on to respond

" In Desmond I, the ICA, quoting Kernan, said:

The arrestee does not have to present any evidence until the
reviewing officer determines that sufficient grounds for the
revocation exist. Thus, the police have the initial burden to
prove that: (1) reasonable suspicion existed to stop the vehi -
cle; (2) probable cause existed to believe the arrestee was
driving under the influence; and (3) by a preponderance of
the evidence, the arrestee did in fact driye under the influ-
ence. Only after these burdens have been met does the ar-
restee carry any burden of contrary proof.
Kernan establishes that the police have the initial burden of prov-
ing certain facts before the arrestee bears burden of “contrary
proof.”
91 Hawai'i at 218, 982 P.2d at 352 (emphases added).

App. 33

or to “raise any issues” before the initial burden of proof
with respect to revocation is satisfied.

X.

As to Freitas’s third argument, HRS § 291E-37(c)
(Supp.2002) sets forth the matters the administrative
officer “shall consider” in conducting the administrative
review. HRS § 291E-37(c) states in pertinent part that
“[ajny sworn or unsworn written statement or other
written evidence provided by the respondent [and] ...
[t]he sworn statement of any law enforcement officer or
other person or other evidence or information required by
section 291E-36”" shall be considered. In Desmond I, the

” HRS § 291E-36 provides in relevant part: "

Documents required to be submitted for administrative re-
view; sworn statements. (a) Whenever a respondent has been ar-
rested for a violation of section 291E-6) and submits to a test that
establishes: the respondent's alcohol concentration was .08 or
more; the presence, in the respondent's blood or urine, of any drug
that is capable of impairing the respondent's ability to operate a
vehicle in a careful and prudent manner; or whenever a respon-
dent has been involved in a collision resulting in injury or death
and a blood or urine test performed pursuant to section 291E-21
establishes that the respondent's alcohol concentration was 08 or
more establishes the presence in the respondent's bleod or urine
of any drug that is capable of impairing the respondent's ability to
operate a vehicle in a careful and prudent manner, the following
shall be forwarded immediately to the director:

(1) A copy of the arrest report or the report of the law en-
forcement officer who issued the notice of administra-
tive revocation to the person involved in a collision
resulting in injury or death and the sworn statement of
the arresting law enforcement officer or the officer who
issued the notice of administrative revocation, stating
facta{.)

(Emphases added.)

App. 34

ICA disagreed with contentions similar to those raised by
Freitas. The ICA stated that “the [hjearing [o]fficer must
exclude from the record only the following: (a) all unsworn
statements (except the arrest report) of law enforcement
officials who do not appear to testify; and (b) all other
evidence that is both irrelevant and prejudicial.” 91
Hawai'i at 220, 982 P.2d at 354. The ICA stated that “[aJn
agency should receive all evidence which is competent,
relevant and material, regardless of its weight, and a
refusal to hear such evidence can constitute a denial of
due process.” Id. 3

Freitas has failed to demonstrate how admitting the
entire ADLRO file and police report contravenes the
administrative revocation statute, and violates due proc-
ess. We cannot agree with his argument regarding an
alleged inconsistency between HRS § 291E-37(c\3) and
HRS § 291E-38(h).” We note that admission of the ADLRO
file and police report may be barred if irrelevant or preju-
dicial. Freitas has not provided any evidence that the
admission of the entire record or the police report was
irrelevant or prejudicial.

” Freitas argues that HRS § 291E-37(cX3), pertaining to docu-
ments that must be forwarded to the administrative director of the
courts upon an arrest for DUI, is inconsistent with HRS § 291E-38(h),
mandating that sworn statements shall be admitted into evidence. We
do not perceive any inconsistency because HRS § 291E-38 does not
prohibit the admission of a police report or the entire ADLRO file.
Moreover, the fact that HRS § 291E-37(h) refers only to sworn state-
ments provided for in HRS § 291E-36 and not police reports, does not
necessarily indicate a legislative intent to prohibit police reports from
admission into evidence at an administrative hearing, assuming their
relevance and non-prejudicial nature. See Desmond II, 90 Hawai'i at
301-02, 978 P.2d at 739-40 (holding that the only evidence a hearing
officer must exclude are (a) unsworn statements and (b) irrelevant and
prejudicial evidence).

App. 35

Furthermore, although the plain language of the
statute states that an “arrest report” shall be considered,
legislative history fails to provide guidance in defining this
term. While the hearing officer was not required by
statute to admit the police report for her review, we cannot
say the hearing officer reversibly erred when she did so.
Freitas does not specify which items received in evidence,
including the police report, were irrelevant or prejudicial.”

XI.

As to his fourth argument, Freitas contends that
because he was not properly informed as to the “distinc-
tion between an administrative license revocation and a
license suspension in a criminal DUI case ... as required
by H.R.S. § 291E-33(a\(2),” he should be entitled to resto-
ration of his driving privileges. In this regard, Freitas
asserts that “the legislature did not intend that the police
may forego entirely the reading of the implied consent law
so long as they can provide a sworn statement showing
that the person was under the influencel,] applying the
subjective test of H.R.S. § 291E-61(a)(1).” In this case, the
hearing officer refused to admit the intoxilyzer results. We
believe this is an adequate safeguard in the situation

* In Miller v. Tanaka, 80 Hawai'i 358, 910 P.2d 129 (App. 1995),
cert. denied, 80 Hawai'i 357, 366-67, 910 P.2d 128, 137-138 (1996), the
petitioner similarly “objected to ‘admitting all the documents in the file’
but failed], on appeal, to identify what items in the ‘file’ were objec-
tionable.” Jd. As in the present case, the hearing officer received into
evidence all of the documents contained in the case file and made them
part of the record. Counsel objected. The ICA affirmed the hearing
officer’s decision. It reasoned that “{[HRS § 291E-38(dX3)} does not
otherwise limit the discretion of the Director in determining what
evidence is relevant.” Id. at 366, 910 P.2d at 137.

App. 36

where the police fail to adequately notify the defendant of
the implied consent law.

Nowhere is it indicated that notice of the implied
consent law was intended to act as a jurisdictional prereq-
uisite to a license revocation hearing. Rather, notice was
required to inform motorists of the consequences of agree-
ing or refusing to consent to a DUI test. See State v.
Garcia, 96 Hawai'i 200, 208, 29 P.3d 919, 927 (2001)
(Nakayama, J. dissenting, joined by Ramil, J.) (reiterating
the exclusionary rule that remedy for violation of implied
consent rule was exclusion of intoxilyzer test); State v.
Wilson, 92 Hawai'i 45, 49, 987 P.2d 268, 272 (1999) (Naka-
yama, J. dissenting, joined by Ramil, J.) (announcing
exclusionary rule and holding that implied consent law
was intending to protect the rights of the driver “to enable
the driver to knowingly and intelligently consent to or
refuse a cheraical alcohol test”).

XII.

Finally, Freitas contends that the district court erred
in failing to reverse the hearing officer’s decision because
the hearing officer cited te unpublished district court
ADLRO decisions. See Kem. v. Gaddis, 91 Hawai'i 200,
204 n.4, 982 P.2d 334, 338 n.4 (1999) (clarifying that
“decision and orders issued in unrelaied ... cases that
were not reviewed on appeal and addressed in published
decisions have no precedential value”). Freitas relies on
Chun v. Bd. of Trustees of the Employees’ Ret. Sys., 92
Hawai'i 432, 446, 992 P2d 127, 141 (2000) (citations
omitted) which stated that, “[a]lthough this jurisdiction
has yet expressly to articulate the rule, other jurisdictions

App. 37

have adopted the position that unpublished decisions of
trial courts have no precedential value.”

In opposition, the State argues that regardless of
whether the court cited to unpublished or published trial
court decisions, “the only time reversal of a lower court
decision is warranted is when the legal result or position
adopted by the lower court is found to be erroneous as a
matter of law.” We agree with this proposition. Cf Poe v.
Hawai'i Labor Relations Bd., 87 Hawai'i 191, 197, 953 P.2d
569, 575 (1998) (holding that if upon review the circuit
court’s decision is correct, the circuit’s court's decision “will
not be disturbed on the ground that it gave the wrong
reason for its ruling”); Delos Reyes v. Kuboyama, 76
Hawai'i 137, 140, 870 P-2d 1281, 1284 (1994) (holding that
appellate court may affirm grant of summary judgment
based on any ground appearing in the record, even if
circuit court did not rely on it).

In reviewing the hearing officer’s decision, it appears
that the hearing officer cited to a number of unpublished
district court decisions. However, inasmuch as the hearing
officer’s decision did not involve any reversible error, the

court did not reversibly err when it did not reverse the
hearing officer’s decision.

XIII.
For the foregoing reasons, the court’s August 13, 2002
judgment affirming the administrative revocation of
Freitas’s driver's license, is affirmed.

On the briefs: /s/ Ronald T.Y. Moon

Earle A. Partington /s/ Steven H. Levinson

for petitioner-appellant. /s/ Paula A. Nakayama
/s/ James E. Duffy, Jr.

App. 38

Girard D. Lau, /s/ James E. Duffy, Jr.
Deputy Attorney General,

State of Hawai'i

for respondent-appellee.

DISSENTING OPINION BY ACOBA, J.

I respectfully dissent as to the partial majority opin-
ion in Part III, upholding the [D procedure of the Adminis-
trative Driver’s License Revocation Office (ADLRO). The
ID procedure constituted an unconstitutional limitation on
Freitas’s right to a public hearing. The partial opinion in
Part Ill, sanctioning as it does a sign-in procedure at
public hearings, will have a deleterious and potentially
inhibiting effect on the right to attend similar hearings
freely and openly and without needless restriction, but
more troubling, it diverts focus in any particular case from
measures actually aimed at preventing disruptions and
ensuring safety. I would hold that Freitas’s hearing should
have been open without the restrictions imposed by the
ADLRO procedure and order that future hearings be so
conducted subject only to security measures previously
identified by the Department of Public Safety (DPS) that
are appropriate.

I.

First, in my view, the essential supplemental findings
of the ADLRO hearing officer, including the reference to
the budget capabilities of the ADLRO, see infra page 45,
are not supported by substantial evidence. In the absence
of substantial evidence, the findings were clearly errone-
ous and the conclusions from which they were derived,
wrong. Second, assuming arguendo there was substantial
evidence, the record gives rise to a definite and firm

App. 39

conviction that a mistake was made. Third, the hearing
officer did not apply the test adopted in Freitas v. Admin.
Dir. of the Courts, State of Hawai'i, 104 Hawai'i 483, 92
P.3d 993 (2004) fhereinafter, Freitas I), correctly and, thus,
committed reversible error in her legal conclusion. On the
grounds set forth herein, a person exercising reasonable
caution would not conclude that the evidence submitted
was of sufficient quality so as to support the conclusion
that the ADLRO ID procedure prevents disruption of
hearings, and is the least restrictive manner of imple-
menting security. Finally, the cases relied upon by the
majority to uphold the ID procedure concern the sixth
amendment right to a public trial, and, hence, are distin-
guishable and inapplicable.

Ii.

This court previously held inter alia, that “because
ADLRO hearings are quasi-judicial administrative hear-
ings, due process requires that the hearings be public, and
... Freitas was entitled to a hearing on his objections to
the ADLRO sign-in and identification procedure limiting
public access to his hearing.” Freitas J, 104 Hawai'i at 483-
84, 92 P.3d at 993-94. Thus, on June 16, 2004, this court
remanded this case temporarily to the ADLRO to afford
Freitas a hearing on his objections to the ID procedure
that limited public access to his hearing. Id. at 484, 92
P.3d at 994. The hearing was held on July 14, 2004 at the
ADLRO offices. Following remand, the ADLRO submitted
supplemental conclusions of law and an order on the
public hearing issue.

App. 40

On behalf of the ADLRO, the deputy attorney general
called two witnesses, Lloyd Shimabuku, security consult-
ant to several Waikiki hotels and special agent with the
state Department of the Attorney General, and Ronald
Sakata, Chief Adjudicator of the ADLRO. Respondent-
Appellee Administrative Director of the Courts, State of
Hawai'i (Director) also submitted two articles: “A Situa-
tionist Perspective on the Psychology of Evil: Understand-
ing How Geod People are Transformed Into Perpetrators,”
by Phillip G. Zimbardo and “Identity and Anonymity:
Some Conceptual! Distinctions and Issues for Research,” by
Gary T. Marx.

Freitas’s counsel] called four witnesses, Dr. Reneau
Charlene Ufford Kennedy, psychologist, Mr. R. Patrick
McPherson, attorney, Ms. Lois Perrin, Director of the
American Civil Liberties Union, Hawai'i, and Mr. Michael
Nakamura, retired Chief of the Honolulu Police Depart-

ment.

The Record on Appeal also contains a written security
assessment prepared by the Department of Public Safety
(DPS) for the ADLRO entitled, “Security Assessment, The
Judiciary, Administrative Driver’s License Revocation
Office, 3875 South King Street” (the Security Assessment).

ITl.
Pertinent here, Freitas contends in his supplemental
brief that (1) “the hearing officer ignored all evidence
contrary to her preconceived determination to uphold the

App. 41

ADLRO sign-in procedure” and (2) the hearing officer’s
findings of fact are clearly erroneous and her conclusions
of law are contrary to established law. To these contentions
Appellee essentially responds that the supplemental
findings and conclusions are not contrary to the evidence
or the law.’

Any restriction on the right to a public hearing must
comport with the three-part test adopted in Freitas I:

[Tihat the regulation serve an important gov-
ernmental interest; that this interest be unre-
lated to the content of the information to be
disclosed in the proceeding; and that there be no
less restrictive way to meet that goal.

104 Hawai'i at 489, 92 P3d at 999 (quoting Brown &
Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. Fed. Trade Comm’n, 710 F.2d
1165, 1179 (6th Cir. 1983) (citing United States v. O’Brien,
391 U.S. 367, 377 (1968))) (emphasis omitted). Because
Freitas asserts a constitutional violation, in applying the

’ Freitas maintains that the hearing officer ignored al] contrary
evidence because Sakata, the hearing officer’s supervisor, implemented
the security measure now under scrutiny. Finding no. 10, supra,
confirms that Sakata implemented the ID procedure.

* The Director argues that all of the hearing officer's findings and
conclusions are valid and that this court must not review credibility of
witnesses or weight of evidence, citing State v. Jenkins, 93 Hawai'i 87,
101, 997 P.2d 13, 27 (2000). Assuming its relevance, Jenkins does not
represent a complete abrogation of an appellate court's right to review
findings of fact based on witness testimony.

[Vjerdicts based on conflicting evidence will not b= set aside
where there is substantial evidence to support the trier of fact’s
findings. We have defined “substantial evidence” as “credible evi-
dence which is of sufficient quality and probative value to enable
a [person] of reasonable caution to support a conclusion.”

Id. at 101-02, 997 P.2d at 26-27 (internal citations omitted).

App. 42

three-part test, we are free to exercise our own “independ-
ent constitutional judgment based on the facts of the case.”
Ka Pa‘akai O Ka ‘Aina v. Land Use Comm’n, 94 Hawai‘i
31, 41, 7 P.3d 1068, 1078 (2000) (internal quotation marks,
brackets, and citations omitted).

IV.

The hearing officer made twenty-five supplemental
findings and four supplemental conclusions. On appeal we
review findings of fact under the clearly erroneous stan-
dard. Child Support Enforcement Agency v. Roe, 96 Ha-
wai'ii 1, 11, 25 P.3d 60,70 (2001) (quoting Gump v. Wal-
Mart Stores, Inc., 93 Hawai'i 417, 420, 5 P3d 407, 410
(2000)). Findings of fact are “clearly erroneous when the
record lacks substantial evidence to support the finding.”
Id. (quoting In re Water Use Permit Applications, 94
Hawai'i 97, 119, 9 P.3d 409, 431 (2000)). “‘Substantial
evidence’ is credible evidence which is of sufficient quality
and probative value to enable a person of reasonable
caution to support a conclusion.” Jd. (brackets, internal
quotation marks, and citation omitted); see Leslie v.
Tavares, 91 Hawai'i 394, 399, 984 P.2d 1220, 1225 (1999).
Findings of fact are also clearly erroneous when “despite
substantial evidence to support the finding ... , the
appellate court is left with the definite and firm conviction
in reviewing the entire evidence that a mistake has been
made.” Child Support Enforcement Agency, 96 Hawai‘i at
11, 25 P.3d at 70. See Lanai Co. v. Land Use Comm'n, 105
Hawai'i 296, 314, 97 P3d 372, 390 (2004) (observing a
“definite and firm conviction” that the Land Use Commis-
sion “made a ‘mistake’” in its enforcement of an order).
“Hawai'i appellate courts review conclusions of law de

App. 43

novo, under the right/wrong standard.” Leslie, 91 Hawai'i
at 399, 984 P.2d at 1225 (citations omitted).

V.

Preliminary, it must be noted that in a letter regard-
ing ADLRO security renovations, the ADLRO detailed
prior security incidents over the “history of the program.™
The letter also states that ADLRO is concerned that
“persons whose licenses have been or are in jeopardy of
being revoked, in particular when we do start having drug
related cases, will become unmanageable and/or violent.”

The Security Assessment was specifically prepared by
the DPS for the ADLRO. It precisely addresses the mat-
ters of security at ADLRO meetings. In this document the
DPS conducted an examination of the ADLRO premises at

* The letter lists the following incidents:

- One arrestee lunging at hearing officer during hearing|;)

~- One life time revocation individual writing, calling and visit-
ing ADLRO with a series of threatening letters to ADLRO
staff and family/;]

~ [Tihree bomb threats, two resulting in police investigation,
one made on the record at hearing|;)

— [Bjullet holes shot through street front windows on two occa-
sions (undetermined if a direct result of ADLRO activities)(;)

- [N)umerous instances of persons at front desk or on the phone
with irate and aggressive behavior shown|;)

- ([Sjeveral instances of obviously intoxicated persons at front
desk and/or attending hearings|;]

— One arrestee entering the ADLRO office with a plastic grocery
bag filled with tools (pick axe, hammer and other unidentifi-
able objects) on one of several visits to ADLRO. ADLRO re-
quested that sheriffis) be on site at ADLRO during the
scheduled hearing.

App. 44

the ADLRO’s request.‘ The objective was to determine
measures necessary to protect the health and safety of the
employees and community:

In an effort to meet Public Safety's goals of en-
suring the health and safety of employees and
community, the department conducted a Building
Security Assessment for the Judiciary’s Adminis-
trative Driver’s License Revocation Office at their

request. The recommendations contained in this
report are for their use in determining what level
of security is necessary for their operations.

(Emphases added.) Significantly, the Security Assessment
does not identify the anonymity of members of the pubiic
which the sign-in procedure is designed to counteract as a
threat to security. Indeed, a perusal of the Security As-
sessment reveals that DPS did not recommend the current
sign-in procedure at all. The Security Assessment was
prepared by the DPS after interviewing ADLRO employees
and surveying the ADLRO building, hearing rooms, and
office and, hence, is substantial evidence of ADLRO
security problems and remedies. Yet the hearing officer did
not reference the Security Assessment in her supplemen-

tal findings.

* For example, the Security Assessment identified the hearing
rooms as “critica) areas.”

The critical areas are the Hearing Rooms where Referees meet
with clients and their attorneys. The Referees are unprotected
should clients become angry or violent. The closed doors present a
serious problem with ensuring the Referees and attorneys health
and safety.

App. 45

VI.
The pertinent supplemental findings are as follows:

3. The ADLRO instituted this ID procedure
as a security measure to prevent unknown mem-
bers of the general public from entering the in-
ner-office area.

5. The ID procedure provides a reasonable .
means of identifying and apprehending those
persons who might engage in unlawful or inap-
propriate behavior at an administrative hearing
or within the inner-office area. (Emphasis
added.)

6. The ID procedure provides a deterrent
for those persons seeking entry past the front
desk/reception counter, including those persons
who wish to attend hearings. .. .

7. This deterrent effect arises out of the
fact that persons who know that their identity
has been recorded will generally be less likely to
engage in unlawful or inappropriate behavior for
the simple reason that they know they can be
held accountable.

8. A person who remains anonymous ... is
more likely to engage in inappropriate behav-
Pe

9. Although the ID procedure is not a per-
fect security measure, it is a fundamental first-
step in the ADLRO’s security measures.

10. Mr. Sakata, as Chief Adjudicator of the
ADLRO, instituted this ID procedure based upon

App. 46

his experience and common sense understanding
of human behavior... .

12. Articles ... provide further support for
this finding, because these articles support the
principle that anonymity makes people more
likely to engage in aggressive, evil, destructive,
or unlawful behavior. . . .

13. This Hearing Officer finds that these
two articles support the view that the ID proce-
dure, by directly stripping a person of his or her
anonymity, lessens the likelihood that the identi-
fied person will engage in unlawful, harmful, or
otherwise inappropriate behavior at the adminis-
trative hearing and within the inner office area.

14. Mr. Partington also elicited testimony
from former police chief Michael Nakamura that
the ID procedure would have little benefit to se-
curity. This Hearing Officer finds that this testi-
mony was not particularly persuasive in light of
the testimony of not only the ADLRO Chief Adju-
dicator Ronald Sakata, but the testimony of secu-
rity expert Lloyd Shimabuku, and since Mr.
Nakamura conceded that the ID procedure could
have some deterrent effect. . . .

15. With respect to attorney R. Patrick
McPherson’s testimony ... in which McPherson
acknowledges that no state court, trial or appel-
late level, requires one to show identification and
sign-in in order to attend a court proceeding, this
Hearing Officer finds this testimony unrelated to
the ADLRO’s unique circumstances in which,
unlike the court buildings, the area to which
counsel, respondent, and/or other members of the -

App. 47

public are requesting access, includes undifferen-
tiated access to the hearing room as well as other
areas of the ADLRO office. . . .

16. . [T]he ADLRO does not have sepa-
rate public and non-public access area. This dis-
tinguishing factor is critical and material in
determining whether the ADLRO’s ID procedure
is warranted.

17. This Hearing Officer finds that other
security measures — including a metal detector,
x-ray machine and conveyor belt, a hand metal-
detecting wand, and someone to operate these
devices, or posting sheriffs or security guards
(armed or unarmed) in or near the hearing room
- would be expensive and beyond the budget ca-
pabilities of the ADLRO. . . .

18. In addition, metal detectors, x-ray ma-
chines and hand metal-detecting wands would do
nothing to stop a person intent on accosting
ADLRO staff or hearing attendees by hand, arm,
leg or foot, nor would such devices prevent some-
one from causing a vocal! or verbal disturbance to
the administrative proceeding. The ID procedure,
on the other hand, could possibly deter such in-
appropriate behavior.

20. In addition, this Hearing Officer finds
that even if such additional security measures
were in place — e.g., a metal detector, x-ray con-
veyor belt, and hand wand, or a security guard —
the ID procedure would provide an additional se-
curity benefit in the form of deterrence. .. . There
is no other less intrusive way to achieve this par-
ticular form of deterrence - based upon depriving
a person of his or her anonymity - other than to

App. 48

have the ADLRO’s ID procedure in effect. Al-
though security cameras . . . do remove some level
of anonymity, they still leave a person the chance
of remaining unidentified. . . .

22. This Hearing Officer finds that there is
no less intrusive way to provide the unique de-
terrent effect created by the ADLRO ID proce-
dure than to maintain the ID procedure. No other
security measure could fully substitute for the
special and unique deterrent effect brought about
by requiring the showing of a picture ID and
sign-in, as it is the most effective ... way of
eliminating one’s anonymity. . . .

23. This hearing officer finds that although
the ID procedure is not perfect - e.g., people can
sometimes obtain fake ID’s, and some people will
engage in bad behavior regardless of being pre-
identified — it remains a useful and reasonable
security measure for the ADLRO. And the proce-
dure is a very easy and simple process for a pro-
spective attendee to meet. A driver's license,
state I.D. or other acceptable picture identifica-
tion is all that is necessary. . . . Indeed, a driver’s
license, state 1.D., or other acceptable picture
identification, is something people need for all
sorts of everyday activities, including for exam-
ple: check cashing, banking, and air travel.

24. This hearing officer finds that although
the ID procedure may deprive a person of his or
her anonymity — indeed that is precisely why the
ID procedure has an effective deterrent effect —
that is not an especially significant intrusion be-
cause a person attending the hearing would have
their face seen by hearing participants in any

App. 49

event. Furthermore, the ADLRO as a matter of pol-
icy does not distribute the sign-in list to anyone, ex-
cept in the event someone on that list engages in
unlawful activity or creates a disturbance.

(Emphases added.) On the grounds set forth herein, the
relevant supplemental findings are not supported by
substantial evidence. The said findings are considered in
seriatim.

1. Finding no. 3 states that “[t}he ADLRO instituted
this ID procedure as a security measure... .” The record
shows that the ID procedure was introduced by Sakata,
based on his “common sense, experience” that the ID
procedure would have a deterrent effect." However, as
mentioned, the [D procedure is not identified or recom-
mended by the Security Assessment, supru. Additionally,
at the time the ID procedure was instituted, Sakata did
not even know of the social science articles that were
subsequently introduced at the remand hearing to justify
the procedure, and as he conceded, the articles had noth-
ing to do with his decision to institute the procedure.

* ADLRO Chief Adjudicator Ronald Sakata testified:

[Deputy Attorney General]: So, in your opinion, basically re-
moving a person’s anonymity acts as a natural deterrent to
wrongfu! or inappropriate conduct?

Sakata: I believe so, yes.

[Deputy Attorney Generai]: And what do you base this view
on?

Sakata: Well, common sense, experience.

(Emphasis added.)
* The relevant testimony reads:

(Counsel for Freitas (Counsel)]: Mr. Sakata, when did you
first see these psychology articles?

Sakata: Within the last couple of weeks.
(Continued on following page)

App. 50

Consequently, the articles not only lack a credible basis for
the purpose of the hearing, see discussion infra; they are
completely irrelevant to the ADLRO’s decision to imple-
ment the ID procedure.

2. Finding no. 5 states that “[t]he ID procedure
provides a reasonable means of identifying and apprehend-
ing those persons who might engage in unlawful or inap-
propriate behavior... .” (Emphasis added.) Finding no. 23
repeats that the ID procedure is useful, reasonable, easy
and simple.

However, the reasonableness of the procedure is a
question of law, and insofar as it relates to a fact, is not
supported by substantial evidence. Appellee’s own security
expert, Shimabuku, agreed that without training person-
nel to recognize “fake” photo ID's, the ID procedure is
“relatively useless.” Sakata testified that ADLRO staff is

(Counsell: They had nothing to do with your adoption or
your policy, did they?

Sakata: No.

(Emphases added.)
’ Director’s security expert Shimabuku testified as follows:

{Counsel}: [Dloes it matter if the staff of this office or any-
where the sign in procedure is trained to look for fake ID's? Would
that be an important consideration?

Shimabuku: Yes, I would think so.

{Counsel}: And if somebody comes in with a fake ID, then
the identification and sign in requirement is rather meaningless,
isn’t it?

Shimabuku: / think they would, if they were trained to iden-
tify fake ID's, then something could be done. The person could be
prevented from coming in for the hearing.

(Emphasis added.)
(Continued on following page)

App. 51

not trained to recognize false [D’s, and Chief Nakamura
testified that such ID’s are “relatively easy” to obtain in
Hawai'i.

3. Findings nos. 6, 7, 8, 14, and 18 state that the ID
procedure acts as a deterrent. The assertion is presumably
supported by the two articles and the testimony of Sakata
and Shimabuku. However, this determination is not
supported by the articles submitted by Appellees. In light
of the ADLRO letter, the testimony of Chief Nakamura,
and the Security Assessment, the testimony of Sakata and
Shimabuku as discussed, did not constitute substantial
evidence to support these findings.

a. Although the hearing officer relies heavily upon
the two articles, neither article can be accepted as credible
evidence. In his article, Marx states unequivocally that he
focuses on concepts, not actual behavior.” The author also

Sakata testified that the staff had no training in recognizing fake
ID's:
[Counsel]: Now what training is given to your staff to iden-
tify false or fake identification?
Sakata: No formal training.
[Counsel]: Any informal training?
Sakata: Only the common sense thing about looking at a
photo ID and matching it up with the face. . . .
(Emphases added.)
Freitas’s security expert, retired Chief Nakamura testified as
follows:
{Counsel}: [H)ow hard is it to get a fake identification here
in Hawaii?
Nakamura: It’s relatively easy based on current technology
with computers.
* The relevant statement in Marx’: article states:

(Continued on following page)

App. 52

admits, with respect to Section B,” that he is simply |
reporting justifications for concealment and revelation, not
endorsing these justifications.” As Marx himself will not
endorse the validity of the “claimed empirical conse-
quences,” little credence can be attributed to any findings
of fact resting upon this article.

Zimbardo’s article similarly does not constitute
credible evidence relevant to security measures at ADLRO
hearings. This article does not concern security measures
at public hearings but rather, “generic forms of institu-
tional evil, such as poverty, prejudice or destruction of the
environment by corporate greed.” It therefore is not
meaningfully relevant to the question of public hearing
security measures.” Further, the article is seemingly

In this article I layout some of the conceptual landscape and some
research issues. This emphasis is on the cultural level ... more
than on describing actual behavior.

(Emphasis added.)

* Finding 12, in,ra, quotes exclusively from Section B.

” Section B, “Socially Sanctioned Contexts of Concealment and
Revelation” is composed of Part 1, Rationales in Support of (Full or
Partial) Anonymity and Part 2, Rationales in Support of Identifiability.
Footnote 4, in the Introduction to Section B, states as follows:

I make these observations as a social observer and not as a moral-
ist or empiricist (in the sense of subjecting claims to some kind of
necessarily good, nor that the claimed empirical consequences (and
no unintended or other consequences) necessarily follow. To have a
pony in those races requires analysis beyond the scope of this pa-
per. Here, / simply take claimed justifications at face value and
report them.
(Emphases added.)
" Relevant statements in Zimbardo’s article include:

This behaviorally-focused definition [of evil} makes an agent of
agency responsible... . It excludes ... the broader, generic forms
(Coritinued on following page)

App. 53

driven by an overt political view, and cannot be accorded
the status of unbiased scientific or social-scientific reports
for the purpos? of this case.” Findings 12 and 13, based on
these articles, are similarly unsupported by the record.

b. Appellee’s contention that the anonymity of
members of the public poses a threat to ADLRO hearings
is also unsupported by the ADLRO’s letter, supra. In that
letter listing prior and anticipated incidents, the ADLRO
identified threats to the physical safety of ADILRO employ-
ees. Any threat posed because of the anonymity of mem-
bers of the public is absent.

c. The testimony of Chief Nakamura likewise does
not support a finding of deterrence. While this court
usually disinclines review of a hearing officer’s findings
based on oral testimony, finding no. 14 appears to mis-
characterize the testimony of Chief Nakamura. In that

of institutional evil, such as poverty, prejudice, or destruction of
the environment by agents of corporate greed. But it does include
corporate responsibility for marketing and selling products with
known disease-causing, death-dealing properties, such as ciga-
rette manufacturers, or other drug dealers. /t also extends ... to
encompass those in distal positions of authority whose orders or
plans are carried out by functionaries. This is true of military
commanders and national leaders, such as Hitler, Stalin, Mao, Pol
Pot, Idi Amin. . . .

(Emphasis added.)

” For example, the article states that “(the ‘war on terrorism’ can
never be won solely by current administration plans to find and destroy
terrorists ... ”; “(mJilitary commanders . . . such as Hitler, Stalin, Mao,
Pol Pot, Idi Amin, and ethers who history has identified as tyrants for
their complicity in the deaths of untold millions of innocent people.
History will also have to decide the evil status of President Bush’s role in
declaring a pre-emptive, aggressive war against Iraq in March, 2002,
with dubious justification, that resulted in widespread death, injury
destruction and enduring chacs.” (Emphasis added.)

App. 54

finding, the hearing officer stated that “Mr. Nakamura
conceded that the ID procedure could have some deterrent
effect....” (Emphasis added.) To the contrary, Chief
Nakamura's testimony was that the procedure was “close
to” “useless.” The relevant testimony reads as follows:

[Deputy Attorney General]: Chief Naka-
mura, you were saying that signing require-
ments, sign in and identification showing
requirement would have little impact upon secu-
rity, are you saying that this requirements has
no impact on security and is absolutely useless’

Nakamura: It’s not absolutely useless, close
to it.

{Deputy Attorney General]: But it could
have some impact?

Nakamura: If I had to rate that with every
option available, it would probably be at the bot-
tom of the list.

(Emphases added.) Chief Nakamura’s testimony does not
support a finding that he conceded the [ID procedure has a
deterrent effect. Although tne hearing officer decided, in
finding no. 14, that Chief Nakamura’s “testimony was not
particularly persuasive,” it would appear evident that the
testimony of the former police chief of Honolulu should
have been accorded substantial weight in the areas of
public disruption, violent acts, and security in public
places based on his training, expertise, and experience and
in the absence of any finding that his testimony should be
disregarded in this respect.

App. 55

d. As mentioned previously, the hearing officer did
not reference the Security Assessment in her supplemen-
tal findings. Bui, the assessment is substantial evidence of
ADLRO security problems and remedies. Again, a perusal
of the Security Assessment reveals that DPS made specific
recommendations, none of which included the current
sign-in procedure.

In sum, the documentary evidence and oral testimony
in the record do not support a substantial connection
between disruption and deterrence of threats and the
current ID procedure. Although Appellee argues the ID
procedure may facilitate locating an individual after the
fact, ADLRO staff are not trained to recognize fake ID's,
see supra note 7; hence, there is no evidence that the ID

4. Finding no. 9 states that the ID procedure is “a
fundamental first-step in the ADLRO’s security meas-
ures.” There is no substantial evidence in the record to
support a finding that the ID procedure is either “funda-
mental” or /: “first-step” in appropriate security measures.
On the other hand, the Security Assessment precisely
enumerates the measures necessary to insure security and
thus is substantial evidence of the “fundamental” and
necessary “steps” required.

5. Findings nos. 15 and 16 discuss the unique
circumstances of the ADLRO building. But these findings,
unlike the Security Assessment, are not tailored to the
specific safety requirements of the facility; hence, these
findings are not supported by substantial evidence.

6 Finding no. 17 indicates that other security meas-
ures, “including a metal detector, x-ray machine and
conveyor belt, a hand metal-detecting wand, and someone

App. 56

to operate these devices or posting sheriffs or security
guards (armed or unarmed) in or near the hearing room —
would be expensive and beyond the budget capabilities of
the ADLRO... .” Contrary to the partial msjority opinion
in Part III, majority opinion at 39-40, 116 P.3d at 681-82,
other than Sakata’s bare testimony, nothing was submitted
in the record to support this finding. Moreover, the rele-
vant inquiry on remand was the application of the Freitas
I test, supra.” Additionally, the record indicates that the
ADLRO has, on occasion, requested and been afforded
deputy sheriffs to provide security, as occurred at this
remand hearing.

7. Finding no. 20 states that “[t)here is no other less
intrusive way to achieve this particular form of deterrence
~ based upon depriving a person of his or her anonymity —
other than to have the ADLRO’s procedure in effect.
Although security cameras ... do remove some level of
anonymity, they still leave a person the chance of remain-
ing unidentified... .” (Emphases added.) Finding no. 22
essentially restates finding 20.

Findings 20 and 22 must be rejected for two reasons.
First, they state a conclusion of law that the ID procedure
is the least intrusive means. Even if construed as a fact,
these findings are controverted by the recommendations in
the Security Assessment, which are substantial evidence
of the means for ensuring security at ADLRO hearings.

" The hearing officer dismissed these other measures as “expen-
sive and beyond the budget capabilities of the ADLRO.” Such fiscal
concerns, however, are an irrelevant consideration in the Freitas ! test,
where the issue is whether the government's regulation is the least
restrictive means of achieving its asserted goal.

App. 57

Second, the findings erroneously limit potential
security measures to those that require the public to sign-
in and produce a picture ID. The governmental interest at
stake is the security at agency hearing. Limiting this
interest to security that is based on deprivation of ano-
nymity leads to the syllogistic conclusion that only depri-
vation of anonymity can secure against the threat of
anonymity.

It should also be noted that in footnote 6 to finding 22,
the hearing officer states that “IDs are required for entry
to circuit court chambers.” The relevant inquiry concerns
the right of public access to a public hearing. Court cham-
bers are not the equivalent of public hearing rooms.
Therefore, procedures for court chambers entry do not
constitute relevant or substantial evidence and the refer-
ence thus is clearly erroneous.

8. Finding no, 24 states that the intrusion posed by
the ID procedure is insignificant because “a person attend-
ing the hearing would have [his] face seen by hearing
participants in any event.” Whether an intrusion is insig-
nificant is a question of law and should not be couched as
a finding. In addition, it would appear plain that being
required to sign one’s name on a roster maintained by a
state agency and to produce a picture [D is not equivalent
to merely having one’s face seen by participants at an
ADLRO hearing. Relatedly, the assertion that the sign-in
list is not distributed does not accurately reflect the
record. According to Sakata’s testimony, the sign-in list
remains on the office counter all day and its subsequent
custody is apparently entirely subject to Sakata's discre-
tion.

App. 58

Thus, the record lacks substantial evidence to support
findings that the current ID procedure (1) advances the
governmental interest of safety at the hearings, (2) deters
security threats at ADLRO hearings, and (3) is the least
restrictive means of achieving security at ADLRO hear-
ings.

VIL.
Aside from the erroneous findings, the hearing officer
incorrectly applied the Freitas I test. Thus, her conclusions
were wrong. The four conclusions state:

1. The ID procedure serves an important
governmental interest: namely, enhancing secu-
rity and avoiding disruptions at ADLRO admin-
istrative hearings.

2. This interest ... is unrelated to the con-
tent of the information to be disclosed in the ad-
ministrative proceeding.

3. There is no less restrictive way to fully
serve this important governmental! interest in
enhancing security and avoiding disruptions at
ADLRO administrative hearings and in-office
area, other than to continue with the ID proce-
dure. Ajthowgh other measures can add to secu-
rity as well, there is no other less intrusive means
of achieving the unique deterrent effect that arises
out of depriving a person of his or her anonymity.
The ADLRO ID procedure is the least intrusive
means of achieving this unique deterrent effect.

4. The ADLRO ID procedure is therefore
fully warranted, and does not impermissibly in-
terfere with a respondent's right to a public hear-
ing.

~-

App. 59

(Emphases added.) Inasmuch as the test in Freitas I
answers a constitutional question of law, the hearing
officer’s application of the test must be reviewed de novo,
under the right/wrong standard. See Bank of Hawaii v.
Kuni oto, 91 Hawai'i 372, 387, 984 P2d 1198, 1213
(1999).

VIII.

Logically, the first step in the Freitas J analysis is to
identify the ADLRO’s “important governmental interest.”
104 Hawai'i at 489, 92 P.3d at 999. In its letter, see supra,
the ADLRO noted its concern that “persons whose licenses
have been or are in jeopardy of being revoked ... will
become unmanageable and/or violent.” The hearing officer
accepted this concern in conclusion no. 1 by identifying
“enhancing security and avoiding disruptions at ADLRO
administrative hearings” as the “important governmental
interest” to be served by the ID procedure.

This would appear to satisfy the first element of the
Freitas I scrutiny, see Regal Cinemas, Inc. v. Mayfield
Heights, 738 N.E.2d 42, 48 (Ohio Ct. App. 2000) (determin-
ing that “security at venues that attract a large number of
people in a congested area at the same time” is “an impor-
tant government interest”); Klein v. Leis, 795 N.E.2d 633,
640 (Ohio 2003) (concluding that “[e)nsuring public safety
is an important government interest”); In re Rules Adop-
tion, 576 A.2d 274, 281 (N.J. 1990) (holding that “institu-
tional security” at a prison is an “important government
interest”), and Freitas does not dispute that the ADLRO’s
concern constitutes a valid interest.

App. 60

IX.

Under Freitas I, the next inquiry applicable to this
case“ is determining whether the ID procedure constitutes
the least “restrictive way to” “enhancie] security and
avoid[] interruptions at ADLRO administrative hearings.”
104 Hawai'i at 489, 92 P.3d at 999. As there is no substan-
tial evidence that the ID procedure advances the govern-
mental interest at stake, concluding that this procedure is
the least restrictive means of achieving that interest is
also untenable. For the reasons set forth previously, the
findings do not support a conclusion based upon substan-
tial evidence that the ID procedure in any way enhances
security or prevents disruptions at ADLRO hearings.”
Instead, the record indicates that because ADLRO staff
are not trained to recognize false ID’s, the current ID
procedure provides no deterrent. Even if the staff were
trained, substantial evidence did not exist to support a
finding that the ID procedure would in fact reduce security
threats.

“ Although Freitas argues that “the record utterly fails to support
{the} conclusions {of law,)” he does not argue that the hearing officer
erred in applying the second Freitas factor concerning the content of the
information to be disclosed in the proceeding. Therefore, the hearing
officer's assessment of that factor need uot be addressed.

“ Taken as a whole, the findings do anything but address the
crucial issue. They state that the ID procedure “is a reasonable means”
and “provides a deterrent,” (finding 5) “lessen{s) the likelihood” and
“may discourage,” (finding 13) “could potentially deter,” (finding 18) and
would “provide an additional measure of deterrence,” (finding 21).
(Emphases added.) But they do not establish that the ID procedure is
the least restrictive “reasonable means” or “deterrent,” or that such a
policy is the least restrictive way to “discourage” and “deter” disruptive
behavior at hearings.

App. 61

At this point, the hearing officer’s analysis, as exhib-
ited in conclusion no. 3, blurred the first and third prongs
of the Freitas I test. Essentially, the hearing officer con-
fused the “important governmental interest” with the least
“restrictive way to meet” that interest. To reiterate, in
conclusion no. 3, the hearing officer determined

[t}here is no less restrictive way to fully serve

this important governmental interest in enhanc-

ing security and avoiding disruptions at ADLRO

administrative hearings and in-office area, other

than to continue with the ID procedure. Although

other measures can add to security as well, there

is no other less intrusive means of achieving the

unique deterrent effect that arises out of depriving

a person of his or her anonymity. The ADLRO ID

procedure is the least intrusive means of achiev-

ing this unique deterrent effect.
(Emphases added.) This analysis is flawed for two reasons.
First, the “unique deterrent effect that arises out of
depriving a person of his or her anonymity” is not the
“important governmental interest” that was asserted by
the ADLRO and identified in conclusion no. 1. In asking
whether there is no less restrictive means to meet the
goal, the hearing officer wrongly redefined the governmen-
tal interest as vhether “[t/here is no other less intrusive
means of achieving the unique deterrent effect that arises
out of depriving a person of his or her anonymity.” (Em-
phasis added.) The governmental interest at stake is the
security of the agency hearing, not the most efficacious
way of depriving a person of his or her anonymity.

Second, this “unique deterrent effect” constitutes the
means of achieving the ADLRO’s interest in enhanced
security and in minimizing disruptions at hearings, not the

App. 52

interest itself. The conclusion that “[t}he ADLRO ID
procedure is the least intrusive means of achieving this
unique deterrent effect” of “depriving a person of his or her
anonyt ity” is factually true. Requiring persons to present
proper and valid identification no doubt strips them of
their anonymity. But this is not the issue to be decided.

The proper inquiry is whether the ID procedure, i.¢.,
depriving persons of their anonymity, is the least “restric-
tive way to” “enhancle] security and avoid[ | disruptions at
ADLRO administrative hearings.” The governmental
interest at stake is the security at agency hearings. As
indicated before, equating this interest to the deprivation
of anonymity leads to the syllogistic conclusion that only
deprivation of anonymity can secure against the threat of
anonymity and results in the hearing officer's wrong
conclusion.

Based on the reasons enumerated before, the ID
procedure was not shown to be the least restrictive means
of meeting the governmental interest in “enhancing
security and avoiding disruptions.” On the other hand,
credible evidence in the form of the Security Assessment
set forth security measures previously calculated to the
specific situation of the ADLRO. A, pellees introduced no
credible evidence balancing the alternatives set forth in
the assessment as required under the Freitas I test. The
hearing officer thus erred in her application of the Freitas
I test.

X.

To support its holding that “the ADLRO’s identifica-
tion and sign-in procedure does not impermissibly infringe
upon Freitas’s constitutional right to a public Aearing|,)”

App. 63

majority opinion at 8 (emphasis added), the majority relies
upon cases addressing the sixth amendment right to a
public trial, see majority opinion at 9-12. In our prior
opinion remanding the case to the ADLRO, however, we
distinguished between the sixth amendment right to a
public trial and the right to a public hearing asserted by
Freitas. See Freitas I, 104 Hawai'i at 486 n.7, 92 P.3d at
996 n.7 (distinguishing State v. Ortiz, 91 Hawai'i 181, 981
P.2d 1127 (1999), because it involved “a criminal proceed-
ing subject to the right to a public trial afforded by the
[sixth [a}jmendment and [aJrt. VII § 14 of the Hawaii
State Constitution and this case is an administrative
proceeding”). Inasmuch as this case concerns a quasi-
judicial administrative proceeding before the ADLRO,
Freitas I, 104 Hawai'i at 489, 92 P.3d at 999, and “due
process requires that [such] hearings be public,” id., the
defendant's Sixth Amendment right to a public trial in a
criminal prosecution is not implicated. To intimate other-
wise, as the partial majority opinion in Part III does, see
majority opinion at 11-12, note 2, would obscure the
“automatic reversal” rule under the sixth amendment
applied in criminal cases, and the balancing test we had
adopted in Freitas I to be applied where the due process
clause pertains.”

In the event that the sixth amendment right to a public trial was
denied, then such denial would be “considered a ‘structural defect
affecting the framework within which the trial proceeds, rather than
simply an error in the trial process itself,” State v. Ortiz, 91 Hawai'i at
193, 981 P.2d at 1139 (quoting Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279,
310, 111 S.Ct. 1246 (1991)) and the case would be “subject to ‘autamatic
reversal.” Id. (quoting Neder v. United States, 527 U.S. 1, 7, 119 S. Ct.
1827, 1833 (1999)). Thus, insofar as this matter is nox a criminal
prosecution, the Sixth Amendment and Article I, Section 14 of the

(Continued on following pege)

App. 64

Nonetheless, the majority cites to United States v.
DeLuca, 137 F.3d 24 (ist Cir. 1998), a sixth amendment
right to a public trial case, for the proposition that this
court should be “hesitant to displace the ADLRO hearing
officer’s judgment call in these circumstances.” Majority
opinion at 9 (quoting DeLuca, 137 F.3d at 34) (brackets
omitted). In DeLuca, the First Circuit afforded the trial
court “substantial deference” in its “assessment that the
screening procedures were warranted,” observing that
such “difficult judgments are matters of courtroom gov-
ernance which require a sensitive appraisal of the climate
surrounding a trial and a prediction as to the potential
security or publicity problems that may arise during the
proceedings.” 137 F.3d at 34 (internal quotation marks and
citation omitted).

Assuming, arguendo, the applicability of DeLuca, it
should be emphasized that the screening procedure used
in that case “was reasonably designed to respond,” id. at
35, to the concerns specific to the defendants who “either
were directly associated with prior efforts to obstruct fair
fact[-]finding through untruthful trial testimony, or were
found to possess the present means as well as ample
inducement ... to sponsor similar efforts in the case,” id.
In contrast here, the [D procedure was not shown to be
“reasonably designed to respond” to a specific security
threat at ADLRO hearings. As stated previously, the
Security Assessment prepared by DPS for the ADLRO
hearings did not recommend the sign-in procedure and
there was no evidence to support the conclusion that the
ID procedure would prevent disruptions at the hearings.

Hawai'i Constitution do not apply and Freitas is not guaranteed a Sixth
Amendment public trial in this particular administrative hearing.

App. 65

Thus, the hearing officer is not entitled to the same level
of “judgment call” deference afforded the trial judge in
DeLuca.

The majority cites to a second right to a public trial
case, Williams v. Indiana, 690 N.E.2d 162 (Ind. 1997), and
asserts that our prior remand for a hearing was
“[clonsonant with the Williams rationale[.)” Majority
opinion at 10. Williams requires a court to “provide the
reasons for its decision to authorize the procedures” and to
create a record “clearly substantiat[ing) the need for these
additional precautions.” 690 N.E.2d at 170. As previously
discussed, however, the hearing officer’s findings do not
“substantiate the need for,” id. at 170, the ID procedure.
Moreover, Williams requires a weighing of “the prospective
benefits to the order and security of the courtroom with
the burdens to the defendant, the press, and the public.”
Id. The hearing officer apparently found in finding no. 17
that the “budget capabilities of the ADLRO” outweighed
the burdens of the ADLRO’s sign-in and identification
procedure. I cannot accept, as the majority does, this
“fiscal feasib(ility]” justification, majority opinion at 13, for
the implementation of an ID procedure that, according to
the record, including testimony by Chief Nakamura, is
unlikely to yield worthwhile security benefits at the
ADLRO hearings.

The majority also cites to United States v. Brazel, 102
F.3d 1120 (11th Cir. 1997). But like Deluca, the sign-in
procedure in Brazel was upheld based on the trial judge's
“own observations for more than a week .. . that individu-
als had been coming into the courtroom and fixing stares
on the witnesses and possibly government counsel.” Jd. at
1156. Thus, the court itself had observed a threat that
jurors or witnesses might be improperly influenced. /d. at

App. 66

1155. No such evidence of a similar threat was apparent at
the ADLRO hearings and, therefore, I cannot agree with
the majority's assessment that the sign-in procedure is
“reasonably tailored to meet the security needs of ADLRO
hearings.” Majority opinion at 13.

Moreover, the defendants in Brazel “objected that the
identification procedure could have a chilling effect on the
public, because some people might fear that if they identi-
fied themselves (by name, address, and birth date), a
computer check might be run and they might be suspected
of being a part of the drug conspiracy.” Jd. at 1156. Thus, it
was logical that an identification requirement would
dissuade those with criminal histories, the very ones likely
to be improperly influencing the jurors and witnesses,
from entering the courtroom and interfering with the court
proceeding. The sign-in procedure utilized at the ADLRO
hearings is not supported by similar logic, but stems from
a sweeping conclusion that depriving a person of his or her
anonymity will minimize disruptions at the ADLRO
hearings.

Whereas the sign-in procedure in Braze! was justified
by the overt instances of intimidation observed by the
judge herself and designed to exclude the sources of the
intimidation, the sign-in procedure here is not similarly
justified. Rather, it is based upon an amorphous threat to
security at the ADLRO hearings and may exclude not just
the sources of a supposed disruption, but individuals who,
as stated in our prior opinion in this case, are entitled
access to quasi-judicial proceedings in order to ensure that
“the liberty and property of the citizen shall be protected
by the rudimentary requirements of fair play” and to
maintain “public confidence in the value and soundness of

App. 67

this important governmental process.” Freitas J, 104
Hawai'i at 489, 92 P.3d at 999.

Finally, it should be noted that DeLuca and Brazel
involved case-specific approaches aimed at threats unique
to the immediate proceeding before the trial judges.
Therefore, these cases cannot serve as authority for the
ADLRO’s permanent across-the-board sign-in procedure.

XI.

Under the evidence produced at the remand hearing,
Freitas’s revocation hearing should have been free of the
identification and sign-in procedure. I would order that
future ADLRO hearings be open to the public without the
requirement of ID and sign-in restrictions and that rec-
ommendations of the DPS as are appropriate be imple-
mented.

/s/ Simeon R. Acoba

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0364%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
