# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Patti v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0254%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1033

## Text

6

(A) the final order in a habeas corpus pro-
ceeding in which the detention complained
of arises out of process issued by a State
court; or

(B) the final order in a proceeding under
section 2255.

(2) Acertificate of appealability raay issue un-
der paragraph (1) only if the applicant has made
a substantiai showing of the denial of a constitu-
tional right.

(3) The certificate of appealability under para-
graph (1) shall indicate which specific issue or is-
sues satisfy the showing required by paragraph (2).

°

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Procedural History

On January 19, 2005, Mr. Patti timely filed a motion
to vacate sentence under 28 U.S.C. § 2255. He has filed no
other post-conviction challenge to his conviction or sen-
tence. Mr. Patti sought to be resentenced in light of United
States v. Booker, 543 U.S. __, 125 S.Ct. 738 (2005), which
held that the Sentencing Guidelines were no longer
binding and mandatory, but were instead advisory and
were only one of many factors to be considered in fashion-
ing an appropriate sentence. Finding that the Supreme
Court’s holdings in both Booker as well as Blakely v.
Washington, 542 U.S. 296, 124 S.Ct. 2531 (2004), did not
apply to this case, the Magistrate Judge to whom the
motion was referred concluded that Mr. Patti’s motion
should be summarily dismissed and recommended as such
to the district court. Appendix 5-10.

7

On February 25, 2005, the district court entered an
order adopting the Report and Recommendation of the
Magistrate Judge over Mr. Patti's objections and summa-
rily denied Mr. Patti’s motion to vacate, set aside or correct
sentence. Appendix 3-4. On March 7, 2005, Mr. Patti filed
a timely notice of appeal, which was transmitted to the
United States Court of Ap eals for the Eleventh Circuit on
March 9, 2005. The court of appeals docketed the case on
March 14, 2005, but delayed any proceedings pending the
district court’s decision as to whether to issue a certificate
of appealability.

Pursuant to the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure,
the district court construed Mr. Patti’s notice of appeal as
a motion for certificate of appealability. On April 12, 2005,
the district court entered an order denying the motion for
certificate of appealability and holding that Mr. Patti had
not made a substantial showing of the denial of a constitu-
tional right as required by 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c\(2). Appen-
dix 2.

On May 4, 2005, Mr. Patti filed a motion for a certifi-
cate of appealability in the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit, which was denied on May 23,
2005. See Appendix 1. In denying Mr. Patti’s motion, the
court of appeals held that Mr. Patti had not made a sub-
stantial showing of the denial of a constitutional right as
required by 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c\2) and further noted that
this Court’s ruling in United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. __.,
125 S.Ct. 738 (2005), is not retroactively applicable to
cases on collateral review.

8

Statement of Facts

On May 31, 2000, a grand jury returned a sealed,
eight-count indictment charging Mr. Patti with tax viola-
tions. On February 21, 2001, a twelve-count superseding
indictment was returned charging. Mr. Patti with six
counts of filing false_ personal income tax returns for the
years 1993 through 1998, in violation of 26 U.S.C.
§ 7206(1), and six counts of filing false corporate tax
returns for his business, Patti Shipyard, Inc., for the years
1993 through 1998, in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7206(1). On
December 19, 2001, a grand jury returned a twenty-four
count second superseding indictment charging Mr. Patti
with additional offenses of conspiring to avoid the pay-
ment of federal income and FICA taxes in violation of 18
U.S.C. § 371 and eleven counts of failing to pay federal
income and FICA taxes in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7202
and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

Mr. Patti pleaded guilty to Counts Eight and Thirteen
of the second superseding indictment. Count Eight alleged
that Mr. Patti filed a false 1996 individual income tax
return. Count Thirteen alleged that Mr. Patti conspired to
defraud the United States with regard to the collection
and payment of employment taxes. Absent from the plea
agreement accepted by the district court was any “tax loss”
amount or discussion of any guideline sentencing factor.

The Presentence Investigation Report (“PSR”) pre-
pared by the U.S. Probation Officer, adopting the govern-
ment’s figures, concluded that the total “tax loss”
attributable to Counts One through Twenty-four was
$4,804,588.18, resulting in a base offense level of 21. The
PSR included a number of guideline adjustments — “ob-
struction of justice,” “sophisticated concealment,” and “role

9

in the offense” — which increased the total offense level to
29.

During a six-day sentencing hearing, the parties
vehemently disputed the question of loss as well as the
applicability of sentencing enhancements involving ob-
struction of justice, sophisticated concealment, and role in
the offense. Mr. Patti also contended that his sentencing
violated Apprendi. Overruling all of Mr. Patti’s objections,
the district court found, using a preponderance of the
evidence standard, that the tax loss was $4,791,267.18
(corresponding to a base offense level of 21) and that Mr.
Patti had engaged in multiple acts of obstruction of justice
(two levels), employed sophisticated concealment (two
levels), and was an organizer or leader (four levels),
resulting in an adjusted offense level of 29. The district
court departed downward by two levels due to the group-
ing of Counts Eight and Thirteen. Thus, the district court
found the total offense level to be 27, which resulted in a
guideline range of 70 to 87 months. The district court
sentenced Mr. Patti to a term of imprisonment of 79
months (36 months as to Count Eight and 43 months as to
Count Thirteen, with such terms to run consecutively).

Pursuant to the sentencing process employed by the
district court, the maximum sentence which Mr. Patti
faced was dramatically increased on the basis of findings
of fact which were neither admitted to by Mr. Patti nor
found by a jury~beyond a reasonable doubt. The district
court chose a sentence in the middle of the guideline
range, but did not consider any lower sentence as coming
within the scope of allowable discretion.

Mr. Patti, thereafter, took a timely appeal to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit.

10

The appeal raised seven issues, most of which concerned
sentencing, including the issue of whether the sentence
violated Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000),
given that the Guideline range was in excess of the statu-
tory maximum for Count Eight as well as for Count
Thirteen and consecutive sentences were imposed. The
court of appeals affirmed Mr. Patti's conviction and sen-
tence on July 18, 2003. United States v. Patti, 337 F.3d
1317 (11th Cir. 2003). Mr. Patti did not file a petition for
rehearing, but did petition this Court for certiorari. On
January 20, 2004, the Court denied certioriari, Patti v.
United States, 540 U.S. 1149, 124 S.Ct. 1146 (2004),
making the conviction final as of that date. Clay v. United
States, 537 U.S. 522 (2003).

Following sentencing by the district court, Mr. Patti
surrendered to the custody of the Federal Bureau of
Prisons on August 12, 2002, and has been incarcerated
since that time at the Federal Medical Center in Fort
Worth, Texas. Unless earlier reduced, his 79-month term
will expire, less good conduct time as calculated by the
Federal Bureau of Prisons, on January 4, 2008.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING
A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

This Court should issue a writ of certiorari for the
following two reasons:

11

1. Petitioner made a substantial showing that he
has been denied a constitutional right as a re-
sult of Booker and therefore, should have been
issued a certificate of appealability.

A. This Court Has Not Addressed the Funda-
mentally Important Question of Retroac-
tive Application of Booker to Cases on
Collateral Review Which Became Final Af-
ter Apprendi and Ring.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit, like a number of other lower courts, rushed to find
that this Court’s decision in United States v. Booker, 543
U.S. __, 125 S.Ct. 738 (2005), does not apply retroactively
to § 2255 cases. See Varela v. United States, 400 F.3d 864,
868 (llth Cir. 2005) (sentence became final before this
Court’s decision in Apprendi); see also Bey v. United States,
399 F.3d 1266 (10th Cir. 2005) (sentence became final
before this Court’s decision in Apprendi), Green v. United
States, 397 F.3d 101 (2d Cir. 2005) (sentence became final
before this Court’s decision in Apprendi); McReynolds v.
United States, 397 F.3d 479 (7th Cir. 2005).’ However, this
Court has not expressly determined that Booker does not
apply to cases on collateral review. Rather, Booker was
confined to cases on direct review: “We must apply today’s
holdings ~ both the Sixth Amendment and our remedial
interpretation of the Sentencing Act — to all cases on direct
review.” Booker, 125 S.Ct. at 769.

' Although the defendant’s sentence in McReynolds did not become
final until after this Court’s decision in Apprendi and Ring, the decision
in that matter should be given limited consideration. The appeal was
litigated pro se and was submitted without argument. Furthermore, the
briefs filed by the appellant did not analyze the Teague v. Lane, 489
U.S. 288 (1989), issue in any significant fashion.

12

Moreover, this Court has not held that Booker has no
retroactive application to cases on collateral review. As
observed by the United States Court of Appeals for the
Tenth Circuit in Bey: “The Court decided Booker on direct
appeal and did not expressly declare, nor has it since
declared, that Booker should be applied retroactively to
cases on collateral review.” Bey, 399 F.3d at 1269. As the
United District Court for the District of Oregon observed
in United States v. Siegelbaum, 359 F. Supp.2d 1104 (D.
Ore. 2005), “existing precedent does not definitively
answer whether the rule announced in Blakely/Booker
applies retroactively [to collateral proceedings].”

More specifically, this Court has not determined
whether the decision in Booker was merely an application
of the rule created in Apprendi and Ring. As discussed in
more detail below, while Mr. Patti was indicted before
Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000), was decided,
he had not yet been sentenced when this Court issued its
ruling in Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002). Thus, his
conviction became final after Ring but before Blakely.
Should this Court determine that Booker was merely
applying the rule established in Apprendi and Ring, it
would implicitly follow that the decision in Booker would
be applicable to any case on collateral review in which the
petitioner’s sentence did not become final until after
Apprendi or Ring was decided.

This Court should grant further review to provide the
“definitive answer” as to whether Booker applies to such

cases.

13

B. Booker Should Be Applied Retroactively to
Cases on Collateral Review Which Were Not
Final Until After Apprendi and Ring.

Contrary to the court of appeals’ conclusion, Mr. Patti
should be entitled to the benefit of Booker’s subsequently-
announced application of Apprendi for several reasons.
First, Mr. Patti’s case was pending on direct appeal until
January 20, 2004. He is therefore entitled to invoke, under
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989), any “new rule” of
constitutional criminal procedure which was declared
prior to that date.’ That would include any rule announced
in either Apprendi or Ring. Second, even if a Teague
inquiry were conducted, the burden-of-proof aspects of the
holdings of Booker, Blakely, and Apprendi are substantive
rulings and hence exempt from the Teague rule - even
though the decision-maker aspect of the holding in Ap-
prendi is not. See Schriro v. Summerlin, 542 U.S. 348, 124
S.Ct. 2519, 2522 (2004) (discussing Ring). Further, even if
a Teague inquiry were conducted, the burden-of-proof
holdings of Booker, Blakely, and Apprendi are watershed
rulings and hence exempt from the Teague rule for that
additional reason.’

* The Teague doctrine holds that new, judge-made rules of consti-
tutional criminal procedure are not applicable to cases that became
final before the rule is announced, unless the rule decriminalizes
certain conduct or prohibits the imposition of certain types of punish-
ment for a class of defendants, or constitutes a watershed rule of
criminal procedure. /d. at 310-12.

* Mr. Patti does not concede that Teague applies fully to § 2255
motions. This Court continues to emphasize how “the Teague principle
protects not only the reasonable judgments of state courts but also the
States’ interest in finality quite apart from their courts.” Beard v.
Banks, 542 U.S. 406, 124 S.Ct. 2504, 2511 (2004). Comity plays no role
in § 2255 jurisprudence. Even assuming that Teague governs his effort

(Continued on following page)

14

As such, Mr. Patti respectfully submits that the court
of appeals erred in finding that the Booker decision does
not apply retroactively to cases on collateral review and
that Booker did not create a new substantive change in the
law. Alternatively, Mr. Patti maintains that Booker created
a “watershed” rule and should be applied to cases on
collateral review which were not final until after Apprendi
and Ring.

1. Mr. Patti Does Not Invoke Any “New”
Rule.

While Mr. Patti was indicted before Apprendi was
decided, he had not yet been sentenced when the Supreme
Court issued its ruling in Ring. His conviction then “be- |
came final” several months before the decision in Blakely.
A “case announces a new rule if the result was not dictated
by precedent existing at the time the defendant’s convic-
tion became final.” Teague, 489 U.S. at 301. Thus, if the
“rule” Mr. Patti relies on was “new)* announced” in either
Apprendi or Ring, it applies to his case without any Teague
inquiry at all; if in Blakely or Booker, then a Teague
analysis is required.

The correct starting point for this analysis is to
recognize that either Apprendi or Ring are the key, new
cases upon which Mr. Patti’s argument depends. The
courts of appeals have uniformly decided that Apprendi
announced a “new rule” in the Teague sense. See, e.g.;
McCoy v. United States, 266 F.3d 1245, 1256 (11th Cir. 2001)
(“Apprendi established a new rule of criminal procedure, one

to obtain a lawful sentence under federal law, the rule Mr. Patti seeks
to invoke is available to him as a basis for collateral relief.

15 :

that was not dictated by precedent existing before the
Apprendi decision was released.”), cert. denied, 536 U.S. 906
(2002). By the time the concept of “statutory maximum” as
used in Apprendi was clarified — as if it had not been clear
enough from Apprendi itself - in Ring, to include tiered
sentencing levels for the same offense, depending upon
proof of additional, aggravating facts, guideline sentencing
under the mandatory rule of § 3’.53(b) was doomed. The
rule applied in Booker, which was presaged six months
earlier by Blakely, is not a “new rule,” but an obvious
application of the new rule announced in Apprendi, as
explicated in Ring.

The Blakely decision itself begins by stating:

This case requires us to apply the rule we ex-
pressed in Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466,
490 (2000): “Other than the fact of a prior convic-
tion, any fact that increases the penalty for a
crime beyond the prescribed statutory maximum
must be submitted to a jury, and proved beyond a
reasonable doubt.”

Blakely, 124 S.Ct. at 2536. Similarly, the Booker decision
begins, “We hold that both courts [below] correctly con-
cluded that the Sixth Amendment as construed in Blakely
does apply to the Sentencing Guidelines.” Booker, 125
S.Ct. at 746. Justice Breyer’s four-justice dissent from the
constitutional holding of Booker acknowledges that
“Blakely purports to follow, not to extend, Apprendi.” Id. at
806. In both Booker and Blakely, in other words, the Court
itself recognized that it was taking the rule previously
developed in June 2000 in Apprendi, and not changing it
but simply “applyling]” it, directly and without expansion
or extension, to a new factual situation under other
statutory schemes.

16

As Justice Scalia wrote for the majority in Blakely:
“Our precedents make clear, however, that the ‘statutory
maximum’ for Apprendi purposes is the maximum sen-
tence that a judge may impose solely on the basis of the
facts reflected in the jury verdict or admitted by the
defendant.” Blakely, 124 S.Ct. at 2537. Justice Scalia, and
the four justices who joined his Blakely opinion, thus did
not appear to believe that Blakely created a “new rule.”
Moreover, Blakely was at least dictated by Ring, if not by
Apprendi itself. And Mr. Patti’s conviction became final
more than a year after Ring was decided.

In any event, the question here is not whether the
Blakely decision sets forth a new rule, but whether the
constitutional holding of the Booker decision is a direct
application of Apprendi and/or Ring, with at most an
unexpected practical result: the invalidation of the section
of the Sentencing Reform Act which made the guidelines
mandatory. The Booker case did not announce a new rule
of constitutional law; at most, it applied the rule set forth
in Apprendi and Ring, through application of principles of
statutory construction and federal severance doctrine, to
the Sentencing Reform Act.

The application of the Booker ruling to this case does
not present a retroactivity problem because both Apprendi
and Ring, announced in June 2000 and June 2002, respec-
tively, were the law of the land before Mr. Patti’s convic-
tion became final in January 2004. It was in Apprendi that
this Court explained that the Sixth Amendment estab-
lished limits on the imposition of a sentence based on facts
which were neither found by a jury nor determined beyond
a reasonable doubt. Furthermore, the Ring decision made
clear that what mattered was not the form of the “finding,”
but the real effect of a given finding on the defendant's

17

sentence. Ring, 536 U.S. at 604. The Ring decision explic-
itly cautioned against placing “form over substance.” Jd.
Moreover, Ring showed that on a two-tiered maximum
penalty array for one offense, the lower tier was itself a
“statutory maximum,” as under the Guidelines. What was
left undecided, at most, was whether the “maximum” each
guideline range established was “statutory” in nature. But
to answer that question did not require any “new rule” of
constitutional law; it merely required a plain reading of
the Sentencing Reform Act and, in particular, the impact
of 18 U.S.C. §§ 3553(b) and 3742(e).

The Blakely decision also notes that Ring did not
establish a new rule post-dating Apprendi, but instead
was itself a straightforward application of Apprendi: “In
Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 592-593 and n.1 (2002), we
applied Apprendi to an Arizona law that authorized the
death penalty if the judge found one of ten aggravating
factors.” Blakely, 124 S.Ct. at 2537. Thus, Blakely again
recognized that the seminal new rule case was Apprendi,
and that both Ring and Blakely were mere applications of
that June 2000 ruling.

Examination of the various Blakely and Booker
opinions shows that the dissenters did not seriously claim
that the rule of Apprendi, as applied in Ring, did not
inexorably lead to those later decisions. The dissenters
were, in reality, simply continuing to disagree with the
majority decision in Apprendi itself. Blakely, 124 S.Ct. at
2543 (O’Connor, J., dissenting) (noting that those who
subscribe to the Blakely majority's analysis are “residents
of ‘Apprendi-land’”); Blakely, 124 S.Ct. at 2550 (Breyer, J.,
dissenting) (“The Court makes clear that it means what it
said in Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000).”).

18

Similarly, Justice O’Connor recognized, citing Teague’s
“dictated by precedent” test, that the Blakely decision
would be applied to al] those defendants whose cases were
still pending on direct appeal at the time of Apprendi — not
just those with appeals pending at the time of Blakely.
Blakely, 124 S.Ct. at 2549 (dissent). The elaboration of
federal sentencing requirements set forth in Booker
therefore applies to Mr. Patti. The remedial portion may
be new (severing the statute), but the constitutional rule
on which it relies - which is what matters under Teague —
is not “new” for retroactivity purposes. Thus, the Teague
doctrine is inapplicable.

2. The Court’s Decision in Booker Should
Be Applied Retroactively to Cases on
Collateral Review Because It Is a Sub-
stantive, Not Procedural Rule.

Even if the “rule” announced in Booker - or even in
Blakely —- were deemed to be “new” in that case, Teague
would still not govern. In Teague, this Court ruled that
new constitutional rules of criminal procedure are not
retroactively applicable to cases on collateral review
unless they meet one of two narrow exceptions. In contrast
to procedural rules, however, new rules of substantive law
are not subject to Teague. Substantive rules may be
retroactively applied to cases on collateral review. See
Summerlin,124 S.Ct. at 2522-23; Bousley v. United States,
523 U.S. 614, 620-21 (1988). Thus, the restrictions devel-
oped in Jeague apply only to new procedural rules, not to
new substantive rules. Bousley, 523 U.S. at 619-20 (“be-
cause Teague by its terms applies only to procedural rules,
we think it is inapplicable to the situation in which this
Court decides the meaning of a criminal statute enacted
by Congress.”).

19

Under this structure, the Apprendi doctrine, as
applied to guidelines sentencing, has procedural elements
(notice in the charging instrument, decision by jury rather
than judge), but its heart is substantive — an elevation on
constitutional grounds of the burden of proof. Moreover,
the remedial aspect announced in Booker is also substan-
tive — an expansion in the scope of the sentencing court’s
discretion, albeit an expansion designed to remove the
condition for viewing the top of each guideline range as a
“statutory maximum.” In Summerlin, the Court held that
the aspect of Apprendi which requires certain facts to be
found by a jury rather than by a judge was procedural, not
substantive, and hence, Teague applied and barred retro-
active application of Ring to findings o: aggravating
factors in a death penalty case when raised in a petition
for writ of habeas corpus. But the Summerlin Court
expressly reserved the question of whether the beyond-a-
reasonable doubt requirement of Apprendi would be fully
retroactive in federal habeas corpus proceedings. Blakely,
124 S.Ct. at 2522 n.1. The issue was not before the Court
in Summerlin, because the Arizona laws at issue there
already mandated that judges find aggravating circum-
stances in death penalty cases by that more stringent,
beyond-a-reasonable doubt standard.

This case concerns the other half of the Apprendi
decision - the burden of proof. The controlling cases are
those concerning whether changes in the burden of proof
are substantive, and whether changes in the burden of
proof favorable to the defendant apply retroactively. In
this regard, other post-7Jeague burden of proof cases apply
changes in the burden of proof retroactively. See, e.g.,
Gaines v. Kelly, 202 F.3d 598, 601-05 (2d Cir. 2000).
Similarly, the line of pre-Teague cases considering changes

20

in the burden of proof have also held that such changes
are so essential to accurate fact-finding that they must be
applied retroactively. Thus, Jn re Winship, 397 U.S. 358
(1970), was held retroactive in Jvan V. v. City of New York,
407 U.S. 203 (1972), and Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684
(1975), was held retroactive in Hankerson v. North Caro-
lina, 432 U.S. 233 (1977). These cases compel the conclu-
sion thai the Apprendi/Ring change in the burden of proof
is substantive.

As ‘such, Booker’s remedial holding is substantive
because it “alters the range of conduct [and] the class of
persons that the law punishes.” Summerlin, 124 S.Ct. at
2523. Booker’s repeal of the mandatory sentencing rules
alters a defendant’s substantive rights by placing certain
conduct and groups of persons outside the power of the
guidelines to require mandatory punishment. Therefore, the
ruling is substantive regardless of the fact that a defendant
could receive the same sentence before and after Booker. See
also Lindsey v. Washington, 301 U.S. 397, 100-02 (1937).

3. Alternatively, Booker and Blakely Impli-
cate Fundamental Fairness Under Teague’s
Second Exception for Watershed Rulings.

Alternatively, Mr. Patti maintains that Booker created
a “watershed” rule. In Teague, the Court recognized an
exception to its rule prohibiting the retroactive application
of new constitutional rules of criminal procedure for
“watershed” decisions critical to the fundamental fairness
and accuracy of the criminal process. Teague, 489 U.S. at
311. If it does not hold that Booker states a substantive
new rule, this Court should hold that Booker and Blakely
created “watershed” new rules applicable to this case on
collateral review.

21

In Summerlin, this Court ruled that Ring was not a
watershed ruling that could be retroactively applied to
cases on collateral review. In Ring, the Court applied
Apprendi to require jury findings of aggravated facts
supporting a death sentence, but the only issue in that
case involved the identity of the fact-finder since the
statute at issue there already required the judge to make
findings of aggravated facts supporting death beyond a
reasonable doubt. Ring, 536 U.S. at 597, 609. Summerlin
involved the finder of fact but not the standard of proof.
Summerlin, 124 S.Ct. at 2522 n.1. Writing for the majority,
Justice Scalia stated in Summerlin that “[t}he right to jury
trial is fundamental to our system of criminal procedure.”
Id. at 2526. As the dissenting justices note, “(t]he majority
does not deny that Ring meets the first criterion of Teague,
that its holding is ‘implicit in the concept of ordered
liberty.” Id. The Court declined to find retroactivity
instead on a secondary inquiry involving accuracy, explain-
ing that the question was not whether juries or judges
were more accurate finders of fact, but “whether judicial
factfinding so ‘seriously diminishles]’ accuracy that there is
an ‘impermissibly large risk’ of punishing conduct the law
does not reach.” Summerlin, 124 S.Ct. at 2525 (quoting
Teague, 312-13).

In contrast to Ring, Blakely’s application to the
federal Sentencing Guidelines requires jury findings
beyond a reasonable doubt. This Court explained the
crucial nature of this right in Jn re Winship:

The reasonable-doubt standard plays a vital rule
in the American scheme of criminal] procedure. It
is a prime instrument for reducing the risk of
conviction” resting on factual error ... “{A] per-
son accused of a crime ... would be at a severe

22

disadvantage, a disadvantage amounting to a
lack of fundamental fairness, if he could be ad-
judged guilty and imprisoned for years on the
strength of the same evidence as would suffice in
a civil case.”

* * >”

“There is always in litigation a margin of error,
representing error in factfinding, which both par-
ties must take into account. Where one party has
at stake an interest of transcending value — as a
criminal defendant his liberty — this margin of
error is reduced as to him by the process of plac-
ing on the other party the burden of persuading
the factfinder at the conclusion of the trial of his
guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. Due process
commands that no man shall lose his liberty
unless the Government has borne the burden
of... convincing the factfinder of his guilt.” To
this end, the reasonable doubt standard is indis-
pensable, for it “impresses on the trier of fact the
necessity of reaching a subjective state of certi-
tude of the facts in issue.”

In re Winship, 397 U.S. at 363-64 (citations omitted).*

Similarly, in Cage v. Louisiana, 498 U.S. 39, 41 (1990),
citing Winship, this Court described the reasonable doubt
standard as “a prime instrument for reducing the risk of
convictions resting on factual error.” In Sullivan v. Louisi-
ana, 508 U.S. 275, 279-80 (1993), the Court held that the
failure to give a proper reasonable doubt instruction
was equivalent to denial of the right to jury trial. “[Tlo

* This Court applied Winship to habeas corpus proceedings in
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 320-24 (1979) (explaining applicabil-
ity of doctrine on collateral review).

23

hypothesize a guilty verdict that was never in fact ren-
dered — no matter how inescapable the findings to support
that verdict might be — would violate the jury-trial guar-
antee.” Id. at 279. Accordingly, the Court found that error
in failing to instruct the jury correctly about reasonable
doubt could never be harmless and constitutes structural
error. Id. at 280-81.

Imposing a sentence based on potentially inaccurate
factual findings is equally as important as upholding a
conviction based on such findings. This is particularly true
given the fact that sentence enhancements under the
guidelines can double, triple, or quadruple a sentence or
even increase a sentence by a multiplier of more than 30.
Booker, 125 S.Ct. at 752 (citing examples). If sentencing
facts must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt to a jury,
they are indistinguishable from elements of the offense.
Here, the imposition of sentence enhancements based on a
preponderance of the evidence creates “an impermissibly
large risk” that an individual “innocent” of conduct on
which the sentence enhancements are based would receive
a significantly longer term of imprisonment. 7eague, 489
U.S. at 312.

4. The Due Process Clause Requires Retro-
active Enforcement.

Federal due process law should also compel the
conclusion that Booker must. apply retroactively. The
Supreme Court requires that new constructions of the
elements of offenses must apply retroactively. Fiore *v.
White, 531 U.S. 225 (2001). After Apprendi, the circuit
courts have acknowledged that aggravating sentencing
factors are now akin to pre-existing elements. See, e.g.,

24

United States v. Thomas, 274 F.3d 655 (2d Cir. 2001) (en
banc). Fiore stands for the somewhat unexceptional
principle that a person cannot be convicted of and pun-
ished for a crime if its critical elements are not proven
beyond a reasonable doubt. Fiore, 531 U.S. at 228 (citing
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 316 (1979), and In re
Winship, 397 U.S. at 364); see also Bunkley v. Florida, 538
U.S. 835 (2003) (per curiam).

The Booker decision, too, is a substantive one. Booker
transformed the Sentencing Guidelines from a mandatory
rule of decision under 18 U.S.C. § 3553(b) to an advisory
factor under § 3553(a)(4). Formerly, a sentencing court was
obliged to impose a sentence within the applicable guide-
line range unless the defendant could meet the limited and
stringent requirements for a downward (or upward)
departure. 18 U.S.C. § 3553(b). Now, however, a sentenc-
ing court is instructed to impose a sentence that comports
with the principles enunciated in 18 U.S.C. § 3553(a).
Such a sentence is one “not greater than necessary” yet
still “sufficient” to achieve the statutory goals, which
include reflecting the seriousness of the offense, promoting
respect for the law, providing just punishment, affording
adequate deterrence, protecting the public, and providing
the defendant with the most effective manner of correc- .
tional treatment. 18 U.S.C. § 3553(a). That sentence is not
necessarily the guideline sentence. In contrast, the factors
set forth in § 3553(a) previously could be considered only
in selecting a sentence within mandatory guidelines.
Departures were limited to narrow grounds and a large
number of matters, including the defendant’s social and
personal history, age, and health, were largely precluded
as bases for departure. As such, the transformation of the
guidelines into an advisory system works a substantive

\

25

alteration in federal sentencing law in terms of the sen-
tence outside the guidelines.

For all of these reasons, the constitutional rule an-
nounced in Apprendi and clarified in Ring, as applied to
federal sentencing under the Guidelines in Booker, should
be held applicable to cases on collateral review which
became final after Apprendi and Ring.

2. The court of appeals applied the wrong legal
standard to Petitioner’s request for a certificate
of appealability (“COA”) seeking permission to
appeal the district court’s summary denial of his
motion to vacate, set aside, or correct sentence
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255. The court of appeals
converted the COA process into the appeal itself
in clear violation of the text and purpose of
§ 2253(c), and applied the standard for granting
a COA in a way that conflicts with the relevant
precedent established by this Court.

Section 2253(c)(1) of Title 28, United States Code,
provides that “[uJnless a circuit justice or judge issues a
certificate of appealability, an appeal may not be taken to
the court of appeals from ~ (B) the final order in a proceed-
ing under section 2255.” Section 2253(c\2) further pro-
vides that a COA “may issue ... only if the applicant has
made a substantial showing of the denial of a constitu-
tional right.” In denying Petitioner’s request for a COA,
the court of appeals misconstrued the standard, as estab-
lished by this Court, for granting a COA.

In construing 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2), this Court has
explained that the petitioner must show “reasonable
jurists could debate whether (or, for that matter, agree
that) the petition should have been resolved in a different

26

manner or that the issues presented were ‘adequate to
deserve encouragement to proceed further.’” See Miller-El
v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 335-36 (2003) (citing Slack v.
McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473, 484 (2000), Barefoot v. Estelle,
463 U.S. 880, 893 n.4 (1983)). That is, a COA must issue
where the petitioner “demonstrate[s] that reasonable
jurists would find the district court’s assessment of the
constitutional claims debatable or wrong.” Slack, 529 U.S.
at 484. Here, in denying Petitioner a COA, the court of
appeals focused not on whether “reasonable jurists could
debate whether” the district court should have found for
Petitioner, but on its own conclusion that Petitioner’s
claim lacked merit. Such analysis is clearly prohibited by
this Court’s interpretation of 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2).

The plain language of the statute, which is necessarily
the starting point of the analysis, see Williams v. Taylor,
529 U.S. 420, 431 (2000), makes clear that entitlement to
a COA turns not on whether a petitioner can establish
ultimate entitlement to relief prior to appeal, but on
whether he can make a “substantial showing of the denial
of a constitutional right” so as to warrant permitting him
to appeal. See 28 U.S.C. 4§2253(c)(2). Furthermore, in
seeking a certificate of appealability, a petitioner’s enti-
tlement to pursue an appeal is not conditioned on persuad-
ing the appellate court, in advance, that the appeal must
ultimately prevail. See Miller-El, 537 U.S. at 335-36. In
fact, the Eleventh Circuit has noted a court is neither
required nor permitted to make a full consideration of the
factual and legal merits of the claims raised by the Peti-
tioner in determining whether to issue a COA. See Gon-
zalez v. Sec’y for the Dep't of Corr., 366 F.3d 1253, 1267
(11th Cir. 20°14). Instead, “[t]he question [in considering a
motion for a certifitate of appealability] is the debatability

27

of the underlying constitutional claim, not the resolution
of that debate.” See Miller-El, 537 U.S. at 1042; see also
Slack, 529 U.S. at 482 (describing the analysis as to
whether to grant a certificate of appealability as a
“threshold inquiry”).

As such, one court’s determination that a petitioner’s
underlying claim lacks merit is insufficient, without more,
to establish that a COA should not issue. Instead, entitle-
ment to a COA turns simply on whether the petitioner’s
claim is sufficiently plausible that it “deserve(s] encour-
agement to proceed further.” Were that not the case, only
those petitioners who ultimately prevail on appeal would
be allowed to pursue an appeal in the first place, and the
COA process would be converted, paradoxically, into the

appeal itself.

Here, in its order denying Mr. Patti’s request for a
certificate of appealability, the court of appeals noted that
this Court’s ruling in Booker is not retroactively applied to
cases on collateral review. See Appendix 1. As such, the
court of appeals focused on and rejected the merits of the
legal arguments raised by Mr. Patti in support of his
§ 2255 motion and then summarily concluded, on that
basis and without any additional analysis, that Petitioner
had not made the requisite “substantial showing” for a
COA. As noted above, such an approach cannot be recon-
ciled with the text or purpose of the statute and was
clearly beyond the analysis permitted by this Court’s
interpretation of § 2253. The court of appeals thus clearly
erred in basing its denial of a COA on its own finding,
without more, that the underlying claim lacked merit.

For this reason as well, the writ should be granted.

¢

28

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing petition, the Court should
grant a writ of certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,
BLANK ROME LLP

LAN M. COMISKY

One Logan Square
Philadelphia, PA 19103
(215) 569-5646

(215) 832-5646 (facsimile)
icomisky@blankrome.com

Attorneys for Frank M. Patti, Sr.
September 23, 2005

App. 1

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 05-11347-A

FRANK M. PATTI, SR.,
Petitioner-Appellant,
versus
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
. Respondent-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Florida

(Filed May 23, 2005)
ORDER:

Appellant’s motion for a certificate of appealability is
DENIED because appellant has failed to make a substan-
tial showing of the denial of a constitutional right. 28
U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2). The U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling in
United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. 125 S.Ct. 738, 160
L.Ed.2d 621 (2005), is not retroactively applicable to cases
on collateral review. Varela v. United States, 400 F.3d 864,
868 (11th Cir. 2005).

/s/ Stanley F. Birch, Jr.
UNITED STATES

CIRCUIT JUDGE

App. 2

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
PENSACOLA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA CASE NO: 3:00cr44/LAC
a, 3:05ev15/LAC/MD

FRANK M. PATTI, SR.

ORDER

The defendant has filed a notice of appeal (doc. 575)
and a motion for certificate of appealability (doc. 576) of
the order entered on February 25, 2005. Unless a certifi-
cate of appealability is issued, the defendant may not take
an appeal from the final order denying section 2255 relief.
See 28 U.S.C. 2253(c 1B). Such a certificate may issue
“Only if the applicant has made a substantial showing of
the denial of a constitutional right.” 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2).

Because the defendant has not made a substantial
showing of the denial of a constitutional right, and for the
reasons set forth in this court’s order of February 25, 2005,
a certificate of appealability is DENIED.

DONE AND ORDERED this 12th day of April, 2005.

s/ L.A. Collier

LACEY COLLIER

SENIOR UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 3

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PENSACOLA DIVISION
UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA CASE NO: 3:00cr44/LAC
vs 3:05ev15/LAC/MD

FRANK M. PATTI, SR.

JUDGMENT
Pursuant to and at the direction of the Court, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the defendant take
nothing and that the motion to vacate, set aside or correct
sentence is summarily DENIED.

WILLIAM M. McCOOL,

CLERK OF COURT
DATE Deputy Clerk

Entered On Docket: 2/25/2005 By: cbj
Rules 58 & 79(a) FRCP or 32(d\(1) &
55 FRCRP

Copies mailed to: Hensel, Comisky

App. 4

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PENSACOLA DIVISION
UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA CASE NO: 3:00cr44/LAC
vs. 3:05¢ev15/LAC/MD

FRANK M. PATTI, SR.

ORDER

Upon consideration of the Report and Recommenda-
tion of the Magistrate Judge filed on February 9, 2005,
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B), and after reviewing
objections to the Recommendation, the Recommendation is
adopted as the opinion of the Court.

Accordingly, it is ORDERED:

The motion to vacate, set aside or correct sentence
(doc. 569) is summarily DENIED.

DONE AND ORDERED this 25th day of February,
2005.

s/ L.A. Collier
LACEY A. COLLIER

SENIOR UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 5

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PENSACOLA DIVISION
UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA 3:00cr44/LAC
vs. 3:05cev15/LAC/MD

FRANK M. PATTI, SR.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

This matter is before the court upon an amended
motion to vacate, set aside, or correct sentence pursuant to
28 U.S.C. §2255 (doc. 569). Rule 4(b) of the Rules Govern-
ing Section 2255 Proceedings provides in part that “[iJf it
plainly appears from the face of the motion and any
annexed exhibits and the prior proceedings in the case
that the movant is not entitled to relief in the district
court, the judge shall make an order for its summary
dismissal and causes the movant to be notified.” After a
review of the record, it is the opinion of the undersigned
that the instant motion should be summarily dismissed.

Defendant pleaded guilty to one count of filing a false
personal tax return and one count of conspiracy to avoid
payment of federal income and FICA taxes in exchange for
dismissal of all other counts against him. His conviction
and sentence were affirmed on July 18, 2003, the Supreme
Court denied his request for a petition for certiorari on
January 20, 2004 and the original § 2255 petition was
timely filed on January 19, 2005. In the instant motion,
defendant raises a single ground for relief and requests

App. 6

that he be resentenced in accordance with the Supreme
Court's recent decision in United States v. Booker.’

In Apprendi v. New Jersey,’ the Supreme Court held
that, “lojther than the fact of a prior conviction, any fact
that increases the penalty for a crime beyond the pre-
scribed statutory maximum must be submitted to a jury,
and proved beyond a reasonable doubt.” 530 U.S. at 490,
120 S.Ct. at 2362-63. See also Ring v. Arizona, 536 US.
584, 589, 122 S.Ct. 2428, 2432, 153 L.Ed.2d 556 (2002)
(concluding under Apprendi that “[clapital defendants .. .
are entitled to a jury determination of any fact on which
the legislature conditions an increase in their maximum
punishment.”). Since Apprendi was decided, the Supreme
Court has decided two cases that relate to federal sentenc-
ing, Blakely v. Washington,’ and United States v. Booker.

As clarified in Blakely:

the “statutory maximum” for Apprendi purposes
is the maximum sentence a judge may impose
solely on the basis of the facts reflected in the jury
verdict or admitted by the defendant. See Ring,
supra, 536 U.S. at 602, 122 S.Ct. at 2428 (“‘the
maximum he would receive if punished according
to the facts reflected in the jury verdict alone’”
(quoting Apprendi, supra, 503 US. at 483, 120
S.Ct. at 2348)).... In other words, the relevant
“statutory maximum” is not the maximum sen-
tence a judge may impose after finding additional

' United States v. Booker, 125 S.Ct. 738, 2005 WL 50108 (2005).

* Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 120 S.Ct. 2348, 2362-63,
147 L.Ed 2d 435 (2000).

* Blakely v. Washington, __ U.S. __, 124 S.Ct. 2531, 159 L.Ed. 2d
403 (2004)

App. 7

facts, but the maximum he may impose without

any additional findings.
124 S.Ct. at 2537-38 (emphasis in original, some citations
omitted); see also In re Dean, 375 F.3d 1287, 1290 (11th
Cir. 2004) (quoting Blakely).

In United States v. Booker, 125 S.Ct. 738, 2005 WL
50108 (2005), the Supreme Court extended its holding in
Blakely to the Sentencing Guidelines, holding that the
mandatory nature of the federal guidelines rendered them
incompatible with the Sixth Amendmeat’s guarantee to
the right to a jury trial. This does not mean, however, that
Booker can be applied to cases in which the conviction is
final, a fact which is crucial to the court’s consideration of
the instant motion. Both language within Booker, dis-
cussed infra, and Supreme Court precedent indicate
otherwise.

In Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 88 S.Ct. 1444,
20 L.Ed.2d 491 (1968) the Supreme Court held that the
Sixth Amendment’s guarantee of the right to a jury trial
applied to the states. In DeStephano v. Woods, 392 US.
631, 88 S.Ct. 2093, 20 L.Ed.2d 1308 (1968) the Court held
that Duncan would not be given retroactive applicatior -
that it applied only to those cases that were not final at
the time it was decided, and that it did not apply to cases
on collateral attack. The Court reasoned that the right to a
jury trial was fundamental to our system of justice, but
that a trial without a jury would not necessarily result in
an inaccurate verdict. Therefore, it would not be necessary
to grant a new trial to every person convicted without a
jury.

In Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584, 122 S.Ct. 2428, 153
L.Ed.2d 556 (2002) the Supreme Court held that only a

App. 8

jury, not a judge, could make findings on the aggravating
factors necessary to invoke the death penalty. In Schriro v.

‘Summerlin, __ U.S. __, 124 S.Ct. 2519,-159 L.Ed.2d 442

(2004) the Court held that Ring applied only to those cases
that were not final at the time it was decided, and that it
did not apply to cases on collateral attack. The Court
reasoned that the rule announced in Ring was a proce-
dural rule, not a substantive one, because it did not define
an element of a crime. Rather, it determined the manner
in which fact finding is done. The Schriro Court relied on
DeStephano, supra, noting that “lif ... a trial held en-
tirely without a jury was not impermissibly inaccurate, it
is hard to see how a trial in which a judge finds only
aggravating factors could be.” 124 S.Ct. at 2526.

This is instructive on the application of Booker. The
Booker Court expressly noted that its holding was to be
applied retroactively to “all cases ... pending on direct
review or not yet final.” Booker at *29. It did not announce
that the new rule would apply retroactively for cases on
coliatera] attack, such as this one. This reasoning neces-
sarily follows from DeStephano and Schriro. In those cases
the court held that it was not impermissibly inaccurate to
conduct a criminal trial entirely without a jury, nor for a
judge alone to find aggravating factors necessary to trigger
a death sentence. Based on those holdings, it is difficult to
conclude that a hearing in which a judge finds only aggra-
vating factors that result in an increased sentence could be
impermissibly inaccurate. See Schriro, 124 S.Ct. at 2526.

Moreover, the Booker Court cited prior precedent with
approval, stating that “(T]he constitutional safeguards
that figure in our analysis concern not the identity of
the elements defining criminal liability but only the
required procedures for finding the facts that determine

App. 9

the maximum permissible punishment.” Booker, 2005 WL
50108 at *14 (citations omitted). The significance of this is
that unlike substantive rules, new rules of procedure
generally are not retroactive. Schriro v. Summerlin, __
U.S. __, 124 S.Ct. 2519, 2523, 2526, 159 L.Ed.2d 442
(2004) (“([I]t does not follow that, when a criminal defen-
dant has had a full trial and one round of appeals in which
the State faithfully applied the Constitution as we under-
stood it at the time, he may nevertheless continue to
litigate his claims indefinitely in hopes that we will one
day have a change of heart.”).

Finally, the Eleventh Circuit has concluded that
neither Booker nor Blakely applies retroactively to cases
on collateral review. See Jn re Anderson, _ F.3d ___, 2005
WL 123923 (llth Cir. 2005) (holding that only the Su-
preme Court can make a new rule retroactive on collateral
review, and that it must do so explicitly). This defendant
has had his full trial and one round of appeals. Since
Booker’s effect on sentencing guidelines cases is not
retroactive on collateral review, it is not applicable to this
§ 2255 motion, and defendant is not entitled to relief on
this ground.

Based on the foregoing, it is respectfully RECOM-
MENDED:

The amended motion to vacate, set aside, or correct
sentence (doc. 569) be summarily DENIED.

At Pensacola, Florida, this 9th day of February, 2005.

/s/ Miles Davis
MILES DAVIS
UNITED STATES
MAGISTRATE JUDGE

App. 10

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Any objections to these proposed findings and recommen-
dations must be filed within ten days after being served a
copy thereof. A copy of objections shall be served upon all
other parties. Failure to object may limit the scope of
appellate review of factual findings. See 28 U.S.C. § 636;
United States v. Roberts, 858 F.2d 698, 701 (llth Cir.
1988).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0254%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
