# Opposition Brief — Hammel v. Eau Galle Cheese Factory

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0249%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1033

## Text

7

asserted error ccnsists of erroneous factual findings or the
misapplication of a properly stated rule of law.” Jd.

Petitioner asserts a federal question has been pre-
sented via the Appellate Court’s use of attitudinal factors
in determining whether an individual is “qualified” as that
term is used and defined under the applicable ADA regula-
tions. However, the lower court’s analysis is consistent
with the definition of a disabled individual under the
applicable ADA regulations and as such presents no
conflict with the relevant decisions of this Court. Wh 2n
petitioner’s argument is “defrocked” of its purported
federal question allegations, all that has been argued is
error in the lower court’s receipt of additional evidence in
light of a joint pre-trial statement of undisputed facts.
This type of asserted error hardly presents a federal
question reviewable by this Court. Nonetheless, respon-
dent will address the petitioner’s alleged instances of
error.

Petitioner correctly cites the definition of a qualified
individual under the ADA but then proceeds to ignore it in
his argument for review.

The ADA defines a “qualified individual” as:

An individual with a disability who satisfies the
requisite skill, experience, education and other
job-related requirements of the employment posi-
tion such individual holds or desires, and who,
with or without reasonable accommodation, can
perform the essential functions of the position.

29 C.F.R. Sec. 1630.2(m); see also 42 U.S.C. Sec. 12111(8).

As held by the lower courts in this case it is axiomatic
that a good attitude is a requirement of any job, together

with the acceptance of supervision, the ability to refrain
from defying and mocking one’s supervisors and the ability
to get along with fellow workers. (All of which are argua-
bly subsumed within the “good attitude” characteristic.)

The court observed in Hunt-Golliday v. Metropolitan
Water Reclamation Dist. of Greater Chicago, 14 A.D.D.
100, (N.D. Tl. 1996), judgment aff’d in part on other
grounds, rev'd in part on other grounds, 104 F.3d 1004,
(7th Cir. 1997), that acceptance of supervision is an essen-
tial job functior and that the employee’s inability to do so
prevented her qualified individual status under the ADA.

In addition, several Courts have espoused the view
that the ability to get along with others in the workplace
constitutes an essential job function, and that an employee
who cannot do so is not a qualified individual with a
disability under ADA Title I. The court in Palmer v. Circuit
Court of Cook County, Social Service Dept., 905 F. Supp.
499 (N.D. Ill. 1995), aff’d, 117 F.3d 351 (7th Cir. 1997),
observed that a person who displays abusive and threaten-
ing conduct toward co-workers is not a quaiified individual
with disability within the meaning of 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 12111(8), since the essential functions of any job include
the avoidance of such behavior. Acknowledging that the
ability to maintain a non-combative atmosphere in the
workplace, that is, to interact peacefully with supervisors,
other employees and customers, is an essential job function,
the court in Hardy v. ‘ urs, Roebuck and Co., 23 A.D.D. 1208
(N.D. Ga. 1996), said that abusive and threatening behavior
directed by an employee toward co-workers and customers
may dictate that the employee cannot perform the essential
functions of a given job, and thus is not a qualified indi-
vidual with a disability within the meaning of
42 U.S.C.A. § 12111(8), if the disruption caused by such

9

behavior is substantial. And in Weigert v. Georgetown
University, 120 F. Supp. 2d 1 (D.D.C. 2000), a university
research assistant failed to establish that she was a
“qualified individual with a disability” within the meaning
of Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) since there was
no accommodation that the university or its employees
could have instituted to control research assistant’s
consumption of medication that would have permitted her
to perform the essential function of compatibly interacting
with her co-workers and supervisors. Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990, § 101(8), 42 U.S.C. § 12111(8).

Petitioner does not go so far as to state that an em-
ployer could not require a good attitude as an essential job
function but states that because the parties entered into a
joint pre-trial statement setting forth various uncontested
facts including the uncontested essential functions of
Petitioner’s employment position and, firther, as “good
attitude” was not specifically listed as an essential func-
tion, the court erred in considering Petitioner’s attitude in
determining whether he was a qualified individual. This is
an untenable argument.

First, there is absolutely nothing in the Joint Pre-
Trial Statement which indicates that it was ever meant to
be exclusive of any other evidence. (App. 134-141) Sec-
ondly, pursuant to Petitioner’s argument, Respondent
could have proven at trial that Petitioner showed up
drunk every day and assaulted his co-workers but this
evidence should have been inadmissible because showing
up sober and not assaulting one’s co-workers was not
listed as an essential function. As earlier stated this
position defies common sense and exemplifies the argu-
ment’s failure.

10

An essential function of a job may be established, for
purposes of ADA claim, by evidence that includes: (1) the
employer's judgment as to which functions are essential,
(2) written job descriptions prepared before advertising or
interviewing applicants for the job, (3) the amount of time
spent on the job performing the function, (4) the conse-
quences of not requiring the incumbent to perform the
function, and (5) the current work experience of incum-
bents in similar jobs. Americans with Disabilities A of
1990, §§ 2 et seq., 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 et seq. Meyer v. ‘wa
Mold Tooling Co., Inc., 141 F. Supp. 2d 973 (N.D. Iowa
2001). Likewise, citing 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(n\3), the court
observed in Harden v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 900 F. Supp.
493 (S.D. Ga. 1995), that evidence whether a particular job
function is essential includes the consequences of not
requiring the incumbent to perform the function. The
court noted in Kalekiristos v. CTF Hotel Management
Corp., 958 F. Supp. 641 (D.D.C. 1997), aff’d without op,
1382 F.3d 1481 (D.C. Cir. 1997), that relevant evidence
whether a particular job function is essential, and there-
fore must be performable in order for an individual te be a
qualified individual with a disability under ADA Title I,
includes the consequences of not requiring that the func-
tion be performed. The consequences of any non-disabled
individual displaying the attitude which Petitioner em-
ployed would have been termination.

In sum, Petitioner’s allegations of federal question
issues are really nothing other than allegations of eviden-
tiary error and those arguments fail as well. There is
simply nothing which would warrant this Court’s review
under federal question jurisdiction.

ll

II. There Is No Substantive Conflict Among The
Circuits Regarding An Employer’s Obligation
To Engage In An Interactive Process.

“[Tihe ‘single most important’ factor for granting
certiorari petitions ... is a split within the circuits that
have considered the issue below.” Sanford Levinson, Book
Review: Strategy, Jurisprudence, and Certiorari. Deciding
to Decide: Agenda Setting in the United States Supreme
Court, 79 Va. L.Rev. 717, 726 (1993) (quoting H.W. Perry,
Jr., Deciding to Decide: Agenda Setting in the United
States Supreme Court 251 (1991)). However, while the
Circuits may appear to be semantically split on the issue
of when the interactive process is triggered when a dis-
abled individual requests or needs accommodation, upon a
substantive review of these decisions no actual! conflict has
been presented.’

A. The Circuits Are Not Split In Finding No
Independent Liability For An Employer’s
Failure To Engage An Interactive Process.

First, if this Court agrees that Petitioner was not a
qualified individual for purposes of the ADA there is no
need to address an employer’s obligation to engage in the
interactive process as held by the Appellate Court (App.
27, fn. 10.).

’ A thorough and invaluable analysis of circuit rulings relative to
the issue of a required interactive process is found in John R. Autry,
Note, Reasonable Accommodation Under The ADA: Are Employers
Required to Participate in the Interactive Process? The Courts Say “Yes”
But the Law Says “No", 79 Chi-Kent L.Rev. 665 (2004). The author
states Supreme Court review would be helpful due to the purported
split among the circuits but goes on to assert his hypothesis that the
Court may be refusing to take these cases as in reality there is no split.

12

Even assuming an interactive process is required
under the ADA and further assuming an employer fails to
engage in such a process, no Circuit has found independ-
ent liability for the employer’s failure to do so when
presented with an unqualified individual. In other words,
if an employee i. ...t a qualified individual under the ADA
it is of no consequence whether the interactive process was
employed or not. There is no split among the Circuits on
this issue. See Kvorjak v. Maine, 259 F.3d 48, 53 (1st Cir.
2001) quoting Soto-Ocasio v. Fed. Exp. Corp., 150 F.3d 14,
19 (ist Cir. 1998) (where the employer failed to engage in
the interactive process such an omission is of no moment if
the record forecloses a finding that the plaintiff could
perform the duties of the job, with or without a reasonable
accommodat’on); Barnett v. U.S. Air, Inc., 228 F.3d 1005,
1136 (9th Cir. 2000) (employers who fail to engage in the
interactive process in good faith, face liability for the
remedies imposed by the statute [only] if a reasonable
accommodation would have been possible); Rehling v. City
of Chicago, 207 F.3d 1009, 1015-16 (7th Cir. 2000) citing
Beck v. Univ. of Wis., 75 F.3d 1130, 1135 (7th Cir. 1996)
(when assigning ADA liability to employers it is insuffi-
cient for plaintiffs to show that the employer simply failed
to engage in the interactive process). An employer is not
liable under the Act even where it refuses to interact
unless its refusal also leads to a failure to accommodate
and a reasonable accommodation was available to render
the plaintiff statutorily qualified Autry, supra at 689.

13

B. There Is No Substantive Circuit Split
Even In Cases Dealing With The Interac-
tive Process And Qualified Individuals.

In addition, and despite Petitioner’s assertions,
Respondent respectfully submits that no actual split
among the circuits exist when dealing with the interactive
process and qualified individuals. Although many Courts
and commentaries have stated a split exists, upon review
and actual application, the split is only semantic and not
operational in nature.

For example, most Circuits profess to “require” em-
ployers to engage in the interactive process when pre-
sented with qualified individuals. Barnett v. U.S. Air, Inc.,
228 F.3d 1105 (9th Cir. 2000), Taylor v. Phoenixville School
District, 184 F.3d 296 (3rd Cir. 1999), Taylor v. Principal
Financial Group, Inc., 93 F.3d 155 (5th Cir. 1996). Two
hold that employers are not required to do so, White v.
York International Corp., 45 F.3d 357 (10th Cir. 1995),
Moses v. American Nonwovens, Inc., 97 F.3d 446 (11th Cir.
1996), and two others evaluate interactive process liability
on the facts of each case, Jacques v. Clean-up Group., Inc.,
96 F.3d 506 (1st Cir. 1996), Fjellstad v. Pizza Hut of
America, Inc., 188 F.3d 944 (8th Cir. 1999), Autry, supra at
677-84. However,

Courts that require employers to interact contend
that they are assigning ADA liability for a failure
to engage in the [interactive] process. On closer in-
spection, however this contention is manifestly
false .. . the court looks for evidence of appropriate
accommodations that the defendant failed to dis-
cover when it did not interact. The key to liability,
then, is the defendant’s failure to implement one
of the available appropriate accommodations, not
the failure to interact with the plaintiff... .

14

There is, then, no situation (and no Circuit) in
which an employer is required by law to engage
in the interactive process. Liability only attaches
under the ADA if the employer fails to reasonably
accommodate the limitations of an employee's
disability ... If the employee has been reasona-
bly accommodated, ADA liability cannot attach,
regardless of whether the accommodation was
produced without employee input. Thus, those
Courts that recognize an interactive process par-
ticipation requirement are fooling themselves
and their litigants, the ADA, as currently
drafted, permits no such requirement.

Autry, Jd. at 690-91 (cites omitted).

In this case, Petitioner presented no evidence of any
reasonable accommodation Respondent could have imple-
mented which would have allowed him to do the essential
functions of his job. As such Respondent has no ADA
liability regardless of whether an interactive process was
employed or not.

+

CONCLUSION

Petitioner’s claims of potential damage to the spirit,
intent and plain language of the ADA as a result of the
lower courts’ rulings are unfounded. It was never the
intent of the ADA to guaranty the employment of disabled
individuals regardless of their attitude and work ethic.
Disabled individuals must still be able to perform the
essential functions of a job and it is axiomatic that an
acceptable, if not good, work attitude and ethic is an
essential function of any job, whether the employee be

15

disabled or not. These matters hardly present issues of
federal question jurisdiction.

Secondly, there is no split of authority in the Circuits
regarding an employer’s interactive process duties and
non-qualified individuals — the only issue presented by
this case. However, even if the Court expands its review to
those cases involving qualified individuals there is no
substantive conflict in the Circuits below.

As such, Respondent respectfully requests the Petition
For A Writ Of Certiorari be denied.

Dated this 24th day of October, 2005.

Respectfully submitted,

CAROL DrrrMaR LAW OFFICE, LLC
CAROL S. DITTMAR

24 West Cedar Street

Chippewa Falls, WI 54729
Phone: (715) 720-1889
Facsimile: (715) 723-3056
Email: dittmarc@sbeglobal.net

Attorney for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0249%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
