# Prologue — Skinner v. MicroDecisions, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0248%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Prologue
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1033

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

) 05-383 JUL 21 2005
No. ____ OFFICE CF THE CLERK

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

Ase Skinner, aS Coiiier County (FL) Property Appraiser,
Petitioner,
V.

Micro Decisions, INc. A FLORIDA CORPORATION,
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Florida Supreme Court

———

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ee ee

Gayiorp A. Woon, Jr.*

B. JonDAN Stuart,

Woon & Sruart, PA

206 Flagler Avenue

New Smyma Beach, FL 32169

(386) 424-9908

July 21, 2005 *Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a state court has jurisdiction to decide
whether a person who has a copyright registration issued by
the United States Copyright Office is entitled to the
protection afforded by that copyright.

ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Pursuant to Rule 14.1(b), the following list identifies
all of the parties appearing here and before the Florida
Supreme Court.

The Petitioner here and Appellant below is Abe
Skinner, as Collier County (FL) Property Appraiser.

The Appellee below and Respondent here is
MicroDecisions, Inc., a Florida real estate information
provider.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .... 1.2... ce ecccccseees i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ................ ii
TABLE OF AUTERUMELEBS occ cccccccccevecevoses iii
UU csi iuwes. eae eehiey VESTS R ]
I MIIG a 0b ang bony Seakéde keds ddan baba l
PEA Se OTE vc cee cvdasi'asvatewcerstere ]
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............-...-0.- |
A. Factual Background.................. 2
B. Proceedings Below ..... oc cicccccccvces 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ...... 4
I. THIS CASE RAISES THE CRITICALLY
IMPORTANT QUESTION OF WHETHER A
STATE COURT CAN DECIDE WHO IS
ENTITLED TO HOLD A COPYRIGHT....... 5
A. The Second District Court of Appeal
Misconstrued the Significance of the
United States District Court’s Order
GS 6.0 500 chub eikpatecr esi coedint 6
B_ The Second District Court of Appeal
Misconstrued the Law
Controlling Jurisdiction of this Case. ..... 8

iV

‘ C. The Second District Incorrectly
Determined that Florida’s Public
Records Law Abrogates the
CE RPO ep om pom ed ee Brae as 12

Il. THE SECOND DISTRICT’S DECISION, AND
THE FLORIDA SUPREME COURT’S
REFUSAL TO REVIEW THE CASE RESULTS
IN CONFLICT BETWEEN A FLORIDA STATE
COURTS AND THE SECOND CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEALS OVER THE VERY
DARE DOOM cies eevee piecdveedertant bs 18

bet GPE Nee re Tee Tree er TT es caer 24

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Association of American Medical Colleges v. Carey, 728
F.Supp. 873 (N.D.N.Y. 1990) ........ccccceceverersersereerenes 17, 18

Bldg. Officials & Code Adm'rs v. Code Tech, Inc, 628 F.2d
Tes COE Cs CD ieitisiepiititnnnion 5, 13

County of Suffolk, N.Y. v. First American Real Estate
Solutions, 261 F.3d 179 (2d Cir.2001) .........-..c.ccccceeceeeeees 5

Department of Health & Rehabilitative Services v.
Southpointe Pharmacy, 636 So. 2d 1377 (Fla. 1* DCA

RES aT Oe ae 1
Ehat v. Tanner, 780 F.2d 876, 878 (10th Cir. 1985).......... 17
First American, 261 F.3d at 188-189 ......ccc.ccccccsevsessesesseevees 8

Foley v. Luster, 249 F.3d 1281, 1287 (11 Cir. 2001) . 14, 17

Garrido v. Burger King Corp., 558 So. 2d 79, 82 (Fla. 3"
OT I EE eR REL 10

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67, 61 S.Ct. 399, 404, 85
RRM PED MOPED entieepicberdedhuatbvchsasnuiishsdetiintgsteansheiaphiues 16

Jones v. Ruth Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 525, 97 S.Ct. 1305,
RIO 0 Ae OP COPE ED cettierperetcntttrecintiisenieectintin 15

Mazer v. Orange County, 811 So. 2d 857, 859 (Fla. 5* DCA
SO era ee 10

MicroDecisions v. Skinner, No. 2:02-cv-639-FTM-29DNF
ke Ge OR OR Ree ae ea 7

vi
MicroDecisions, Inc. v. Skinner, 889 So. 2d 871, 874 (Fla.
FC FP sichitsteninctitiiniabtpitiatacteihins 4, 6, 10, 12, 13

Orson, Inc. v. Miramax Film Corp., 189 F.3d 377 (3d Cir.
LOGE. ncersescounierdinienntviitiasnssinniniininnmniniantiigitainemavetiaiueisiias 17

Pincus v. Carlisle, 585 So. 2d 1172 (Fla. 4" DCA 1991) .. 10

Richard Feiner & Co. v. H.R. Industries, Inc., 10 F Supp. 2d,
i 7 48 A. BRR Oe Sate 17

Roth v. Pritkin, 710 F.2d 934, 938 (2d Cir. 1983), cert.
denied, 464 U.S. 961, 104 S.Ct. 394, 78 L.Ed.2d 337
"h ., e ing aati tamer Reais eee mine om 17

Schachel v. Closet Concepts, Inc., 405 So. 2d 487, 488 (Fla.
3° DCA 1981) ........... siiauiiheablsbepeliciibiowsalicadiade sseseensesssceeneeeee 11

Sears, Roebuck and Co. v. Stiffel Company, 376 U.S. 225, 84
Re, PAP IT cesicteiaceicnisdihercisenisiek ienpttaiignabonigndasenadadiavune 14

Sola Elec. Co. v. Jefferson Elec. Co., 317 U.S. 172, 173, 176,
63 S.Ct. 172, 173, 87 L.Ed. 165 (1942) .2.......ccccccscereeees 15

Sparta Surf, Inc. v. Korda, 599 So. 2d 242, 243 (Fla. 4"
BPG ROOD cocisibntasiiiatndinlsitiniiciidiidinlsigihisteteitiindinde ties 11

State of Wisconsin v. Law Office Information Systems, Inc.,

230 Wis. 2d 185, 603 N.W. 2d 748, 1999 Copr.L.Dec. P
27, 947, 1999 WL 649235, page 4 (Wis. App. Table 19999

Statutes
EF Reid ts OT MINE: cciiviuishbtidiiieaniciumminiadicnsaceribibeiandas l

BF UBL GOI . cxvesensneccuscsenienrosens ceupatiesnbaneniseiisnvasinascanitsiteiil 18

PF MRE UGG aca csscstssccs sscccecttacechcooedeccdicioes 12
Re, a ee ST bd 1
LIE LM Ps OPN Bile GLEN Dacia se lade Sha aed 1,5
URC: 6 10000 ci 6
section 119.07, Florida Statutes .........cccsss.ccscsssssssesseseeee 1, 12

Title 17 United States Code, section 301(@) ............:ccc0ceeeeee 6

OPINIONS BELOW

The Florida Supreme Court decision to deny review
is reported without opinion at 902 So. 2d 791 (Fla. April 22,
2005), and the Order denying review is reprinted in the
Appendix to the Petition (“Pet. App.”) at 2a. The Opinion of
the Second District Court of Appeal, State of Florida, is
reported at 889 So. 2d 871 (Fla. 2“ DCA 2004), and is
reprinted at Pet. App. 9a-.

JURISDICTION

The Florida Supreme Court entered its judgment on
April 22, 2005. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1257.

STATUTES INVOLVED

This case involves provisions of the Copyright Act,
17 U.S.C. § 101, et seg., 28 U.S.C. § 1338, and section
119.07, Florida Statutes.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

This case represents an important turning point in the
nature of copyright litigation in the United States.
Resolution of the issues presented in this case will determine
the continued significance of both the Copyright Act and 28
U.S.C. § 1338. Florida’s Second District Court of Appeal
has extended state court jurisdiction to a question which has
always been within the exclusive province of the Federal
courts: who may claim entitlement to copyright protection?

Petitioner Abe Skinner, as Collier County (FL)
Property Appraiser, produces tax maps by use of a
computerized Geographic Information System (“GIS”)
which allows users to graphically display information about
properties in Collier County, Florida. He produces this data
at great expense to county taxpayers. To protect the
investment in the GIS data, he applied for and received a

Certificate of Registration from the United States Copyright
Office, Number Vau598-175, effective September 03, 2002.
In addition to posting the maps on his office website for
anyone to view for free, Petitioner completely complied with
Florida’s Public Records Laws by providing one copy of the
GIS tax map source code to anyone requesting it, upon
payment of the actual cost of reproduction, along with a
personal use license that allowed the recipient of the code to
do anything with it except use it for commercial purposes.

Respondent, MicroDecisions, Inc., is a Florida for-
profit corporation that provides real estate information to
subscribers. MicroDecisions represents a new breed of
entrepreneur that requests public records direct from
government computers, and then resells those records at
great expense to subscribers who could otherwise access the
same records for free on Petitioner’s web site, or for the cost
of reproduction directly from the Petitioner.

A. Factual Background

Respondent requested copies of the GIS tax map
source code from Petitioner. Petitioner replied that his office
provides a license agreement with copies of GIS tax maps
that permits personal use of the records, and provides a
commercial use license that allows transfer and sale of the
maps, and quoted the prices of the data both for the personal
use and commercial use licenses.

Prior to receipt of any payment, and prior to being
served with the Complaint in the Circuit Court, Petitioner
sent a CD-ROM containing the GIS tax map files to
Plaintiff, with an invoice for the actual cost of reproduction.
Respondent paid the invoice.

B. Proceedings Below Pri

Under the guise of seeking copies of public records
(which Respondent already possessed), Respondent served
its Complaint in the Circuit Court of the Twentieth Circuit of
Florida, seeking an alternative writ of mandamus compelling
Petitioner to provide the source code free from copyright
restrictions. | Respondent claimed that the copyright
registration effectively denied it access to the public records
ney. Be See Seeene S Son Set: ee Ne
subject to a personal use license.

Petitioner served his Answer and Defenses, asserting
that the case was moot because Respondent was furnished
with the GIS tax map files (prior to the payment of the fee
prescribed by law), that Respondent had unclean hands
because it failed to submit the fee for the actual cost of
reproducing the records, that the circuit court lacked subject
matter jurisdiction because what Respondent sought was
really a determination of who may claim entitlement to a
copyright, and failure to state a cause of action.

Petitioner removed the case to the U.S. District Court
asserting that the predominant issue in the action is a matter
within the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal courts, arising
under an Act of Congress relating to copyrights. Respondent
moved to remand the case to the circuit. The District Court
granted the Motion to Remand, noting that the Complaint
filed in the circuit court alleged that the documents are
public records to which the Property Appraiser must allow
access, that the claim as alleged in the Complaint did not
arise from federal law or the Copyright Act, and was
therefore not completely preempted by federal law. A copy
of the Order is included in the Appendix hereto at Pet.App.
4a.

It is important to note that the District Court based its
decision to remand the case upon the four corners of the
Complaint, and not upon the various affidavits and

memorandae supporting each side’s Motion for Summary
Judgment filed once the case was remanded to state court.
The Second District Court of Appeal misconstrued this
distinction.

The circuit court determined that Respondent’s claim
of denial of access to public records was moot because
Petitioner had already furnished the requested records, and
that it lacked jurisdiction to determine whether Petitioner
may properly claim copyright protection for works in his
office, because that is a question of federal law.

Respondent timely appealed the circuit court’s
decision to Florida’s Second District Court of Appeal, a state
court of intermediate jurisdiction. The Second District
reversed the trial court, holding that Petitioner “has no
authority to assert copyright protection in the GIS maps,
which are public records.” MicroDecisions, Inc. v. Skinner,
889 So. 2d:871, 874 (Fla. 2% DCA 2004).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case presents an important , urisdictional issue,
because it represents the first time that a state court has
ignored 28 U.S.C. § 1338 to determine for itself that
someone was improvidently granted a Certificate of
Registration from the U.S. Copyright Office and that a
public official of the State of Florida may not lawfully hold a
copyright. Entitlement of public bodies to copyright
protection may be dictated by state law, as suggested in
Bldg. Officials & Code Adm’rs v. Code Tech, Inc, 628 F.2d
730, 735-36 (1* Cir. 1980), but the application of such law
has heretofore been made exclusively by federal courts,
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1338.

The Second District Court of Appeal also notes the
conflict between its decision and a decision of the Second

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0248%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
