# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kersh v. Estate of Schwartz

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0230%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1032

## Text

Supreme Gourr, U.S.
FILED

O5=3562 JUL15 2008
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

NO.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

RICHARD KERSH - PETITIONER
vs.
ESTATE OF MARILYN SCHWARTZ AND
WACHOVIA BANK, N. A. - RESPONDENTS
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
FOURTH DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS OF FLORIDA

PET: TION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

2 RICHARD KERSH
139 BRIGHTON D

BOCA RATON, FLORIDA 33434

(561) 477-1515

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Are the Fifth, Eighth, and Fourteenth Amendmenis violated by the
Florida Court not adhering and abiding by the Florida Constitution
article V, section 2 (a) ”.....practice and procedure..”

Are the Fifth, Eighth, and Fourteenth Amendments violated by the
Florida Court not adhering and abiding by Florida Constitution
article V, section 2 (a) “...the transfer to the court having
jurisdiction of any proceeding when the jurisdiction of another
court has been improvidently invoked...”

Are the Fifth, Eighth, and Fourteenth Amendments violated by the
Florida Court not adhering to the limitation on the court in the
Florida Constitution article V, section 2 (a) “... and a requirement
that no cause shall be dismissed because an improper remedy has
been sought.”

List Of Parties

1. Estate of Marilyn Schwartz

2. Wachovia Bank, N. A.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CIR PI SGI OT ssnncciinnscicnsicuiseidenbcntbincennidibadanies l
NUE Ge ctasikisiedtisaiduissainadyndbidiiabanenipatsipianbiaitins 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED .cceccccccsvssscossesccososcseeeoce 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.......:..ccsccsccsoscesssoees 6
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.......... 1]
Ie ccintinsccnihibedsnibiiiicngscpiidinciniinlshiopunsa 16

iii

INDEX TO APPENDICES

APPENDIX A Al
APPENDIX B A2

APPENDIX C A3

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES PAGE

Carey v Piphus (1978) 435 US 247, 55 L Ed
2d 252, 98 S Ct 1042 13

Cooper Indus. v Leatherman Tool Group, Inc 15
(2001, US) 149.

Ford v Wainwright (1986) 477 US 399, 91 L 15
Ed 2d 335, 106 S Ct 2595.

Johnson v Robinson (1974) 415 US 361, 39

L Ed 2d 389. 94 S Ct 1160 (criticized in Hall

v United States Dep’t Veterans’ Affairs (1996

CA 11 Fla) 85 F 3d 532, 9 Fl W Fed C 1171). 16

Mayberry v Pennsylvania (1971) 400 US 455,
27 L Ed 2d 532, 91 S Ct 499. 13

Rupp v Grantsville City (1980, Utah) 610 P2d
338. 12

State v Johnson, 306 So.2d 102 (1974). 13,14

Symon-Ryals Group, Inc. V Citizens & Southern
Mortg. Co., App. 1 Dist., 334 So.2d 133 (1976). 13,14

Vacco v Quill (1997) 521 US 793, 138 L Ed 2d
834, 117 S Ct 2293, 97 CDOS5027, 97 Daily

Journal DAR 8122, 11Fl W Fed S174. 14
STATUTES AND RULES
Florida Statute § 772.11 9

Florida Banking Statute § 655.79 (1) and (2) 7,13

Florida Probate Statute § 733.105(3) 8
Florida Rule 1.410(a), Subpoena 9,13
OTHER

Florida Constitution Art. V, 2(a) 12

Florida Constitution annotate, art.1 § 17 13

vi

- . .

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
PE” “ION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner respecifully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment below.

OPINIONS BELOW

[X] For cases from state courts:

The opinion of the highest state to review the merits
appears at Appendix A to the petition and is

[X] reported at 892 4Dist, 1047 So.2d (2004); or ,

[ ] has been designated for publication but is not yet
reported; or

{ ]1is unpublished.

The opinion of the Circuit Court Of The 15" Judicial Circuit
In And For Palm Beach County, Florida Appears at Appendix C
to the petition and is

[ ] reported at -
or,

[ ] has been designated publication but is not yet reported;
or, |
[ ]1is unpublished.

JURISDICTION

[X] For cases from state courts:

The date on which the highest state court decided niy case
was
December15, 2004. A copy of the decision appears at
Appendix A.

[XJ A timely petition for rehearing was thereafter denied on
the following date: February 28, 2005, and a copy of the
order denying rehearing appears at Appendix B.

[X] An extension of time to file the petition for writ of
certiorari was granted to and including July 15, 2005 on
June 1, 2005 in Application No. 04A1009.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §
1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

The State of Florida ‘s Constitution, article V, section 2(a) The
Supreme Court shall adopt rules for the practice and procedure
in all courts including the time for seeking appellate review, the
administrative supervision of all courts, the transfer to the court
having jurisdiction of any proceeding when the jurisdiction of
another court has been improvidently invoked, and a
requirement that no cause shall be dismissed because an
improper remedy has been sought. These rules may be repealed
by general law enacted by two-thirds vote of the membership of
each house of the legislature.

The Florida Constitution annotate, art.1§17, access to courts, the
courts shall be open to every person for redress of any injury,
and justice shall be administered without sale, deniai or delay.

Under Florida Court Rule 1.410(a), Subpoena; _ generally,
Subpoena for testimony before the court, subpoenas for
production of tangible Evidence, and subpoenas for taking
depositions may be issued by clerk of court or by any

attorney of record in an action

Florida Probate Statute § 733.105(3), Determination of
Beneficiaries. A separate civil action to determine beneficiaries
may be brought when an estate has not been administered.

Florida Banking Statute § 655.79 (l)and (2). Deposits and
accounts in two or more names; presumption as to vesting on
death:

(1) Unless otherwise expressly provided in a contract,
agreement, or signature card executed in connection with the
opening or maintenance of an account, including a certificate of
deposit, a deposit account in the names of two or more persons
shall be presumed to have been intended by such persons to
provide that, upon the death of any one of them, all rights, title,
interest, and claim in , to, and in respect of such deposit account,
less all proper setoffs and charges in favor of the institution, vest
in the surviving person or persons.

(2) The presumption created in this section may be overcome
only by proof of fraud or undue influence or clear and
convincing proof of a contrary intent. In the absence of such
proof, all rights, title, interest, and claims in, to, and in respect
of such deposits and account and the additions thereto, and the
obligation of the institution created thereby, less all proper
setoffs and charges in favor of the institution against any one or
more of such persons, upon the death of any such person, vest in
the surviving person or persons, notwithstanding the absence of
proof of any denotive intent or delivery, possession, dominion,
control, or acceptance on the part of any person and
notwithstanding that the provisions hereof may constitute or
Cause a vesting or disposition of property or rights or interests
therein, testamentary in nature, which, except for the provisions
of this section, would or might otherwise be void or voidable.

Statute 772.11, Civil Theft.

Fifth Amendment:
No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise
infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a Grand

Grand Jury........ nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law\.....

Eighth Amendment: cruel and unusual punishment

Fourteenth Amendment:

(1) Persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject
to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of
the State wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens
of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due process; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 30, 2000, Belle Kersh entered into an agreement with
her two children, Richard Kersh and Marilyn Schwartz, that they
would go by the terms of her will on her death. Belle Kersh
retained the right to change her wil! anytime up to death. If Belle
Kersh wanted Marilyn Schwartz to have all her money and/or
property, she would have changed her will to reflect this. Belle
Kersh had two and half years in which to change her will.
Marilyn Schwartz lived with her mother because she did not
work and had no income or money of her own. Belle Kersh had
Marilyn Schwartz's name on her account for convenience. Before
her husband death in 1998, Belle Kersh had his name on her
account. Belle Kersh always had someone on her bank account
with her. That is how she wanted it. On March 15, 2003, Belle
Kersh died. Marilyn Schwartz was in physical control of all Belle
Kersh’s assets. Marilyn Schwartz would not probate the estate of
Belle Kersh nor would she divide up Belle Kersh’s estate
according to Belle Kersh’s will. Belle Kersh had named Marilyn
Schwartz executive of her estate in her will. The first complaint
was filed on Marilyn Schwartz on March 18, 2003. The
complaint was not served on Marilyn Schwartz because her
address was unknown. On April 1, 2003, a copy of the decedent,
Belle Kersh’s agreement and will was handed delivered to
Wachovia Bank, N.A. with a letter warning that the bank about
civil theft and giving the money left to Petitioner to the wrong
party. On this date, the money was still in Wachovia Bank, N.A.
On April 3, 2003, Petitioner tried to serve a subpoena on
Wachovia. Wachovia employees had an off duty Broward County
Sheriff deputy, working for the bank, threaten arrest for trespass.
Petitioner has an relationship with Wachovia and as such in a
business contact is suppose to be able to bank at any branch.

Now, Petitioner is unable to bank at least one branch. On March
25, 2003, Petitioner filed an amended complaint adding
Wachovia Bank, N.A. but did not allege any causes against
Wachovia. Marilyn Schwartz was served April 26, 2003. At the
April 21,2003 hearing, the lower court told Petitioner to send the
order denying freezing funds when Petitioner finds out where
Schwartz is living. May 27, 2003, Petitioner filed second
amended adding causes against Wachovia. Petitioner had a
Marilyn Schwartz’s telephone number Defendant, Marilyn
Schwartz told Petitioner, she hired an attorney to get the money
from Wachovia Bank, N.A. Petitioner wanted to know what
Defendant Marilyn Schwartz said to the bank to have the money
released. Petitioner can only allege that his sister, Marilyn
Schwartz, told the bank the agreement was a fake even though it
turned out to be a valid agreement that was admitted at the
August 8, 2003 by the attorney for Schwartz. The bank released
the money on this basis without checking further. When the bank
released the money to Marilyn Schwartz, this amounted to
helping the theft of an estate under Florida banking statute §
655.79. Statute § 655.79 says that the decedent is giving a gift of
all the funds in a joint bank account to the joint account holder
unless there is intent to the contrary. Belle Kersh had this
agreement and a will showing her intent. Plus, Belle Kersh could
have changed her will any time if she wanted Marilyn Schwartz
to have all monies in her accounts. On March 16, 2003 Petitioner
called Schwartz to ask what is going to happen to Belle Kersh’s
estate. The answer was Schwartz would keep it. This was a
estate, Marilyn Schwartz had also told relatives she was going to
run with the money and keep it all. Bringing this to the attention
of the State of Florida, Florida law enforce would not bother
with it, saying it is a civil matter. The bank is fighting tooth and
nail that it did nothing wrong except gave the money to the
wrong party. The lower court where civil actions are litigated,

will not bother with estate law. At the August 8, 2003 or sooner,
the civil division found out this was an estate matter, the judge,
with no jurisdiction to handle this type of litigation, should have
transferred it to the probate division, but did not. Under probate
statute § 733.105(3), Determination of Beneficiaries, Petitioner
filed a civil action in what should have been a probate action.
Petitioner went into civil court four times to get an injunction to
put Belle Kersh’s money into court to determine how it would be
split between Belle Kersh’s two children. The lower court
refused. The civil court would treat this case as a simple breach
of contract and would not protect Petitioner’s share of the estate.
The first three times the petitioner went before the lower court
seeking an injunction, the lower court refused. The judge said at
the third motion hearing to freeze the funds, “don’t come back
to my court unless you have an attorney any attorney. “The fourth
time was with the attorney from Wachovia Bank, N.A. In a May
9, 2003 motion, the bank stated it had no accounts in the name of
Belle Kersh and that an inheritance is a mere expectancy. The
Bank admitted releasing Belle Kersh’s money. The lower court
stated that an inheritance is a mere expectancy in its April 21,
2003 order denying the motion to freeze the money from Belle
Kersh’s bank accounts. The judge now knew this was basically
a matter for probate court and know her court did not have
jurisdiction. The judge would not transfer the complaint to the
proper court. Petitioner alleged that this is a going estate
because the Belle Kersh died. It is not where a beneficiary is
waiting for the person to die. The lower court here decided the
defendants are always right and the Petitioner is always wrong
except for breach of contract against Schwartz. The lower court
decided to change the decedent’s intent by disregarding a will
and rule it is a simple agreement breach. Maybe, Petitioner had
the wrong remedy of going into the wrong division of circuit
court. Probate division would have been better than civil

division. However, Probate Statute 733.105(3) influenced which
court. It mentions civil. The Palm Beach sheriff said it is a civil
matter. Petitioner has very limited legal experience. Petitioner
issued a subpoena to Wachovia Bank, N.A. to find out how much
money was in Belle Kersh’s bank account on the date of death.
In accounting audits, you always go to the independent source,
the bank. Wachovia Bank, N.A. ignored the subpoena and the
lower court refused to enforce the subpoena. The circuit court
refused to allow the Petitioner to discover the dollar balances in
the bank. The history of Marilyn Schwartz was that she could not
be trusted for the right balances. She had doctored a statement in
the past so that the true balance would not be found out. The
State of Florida has labeled on all court documents Petitioner as
attorney of record. Under Florida court rule 1.410(a) an attorney
of record can issue a Subpoena. Petitioner’s original complaint
was against Marilyn Schwartz. The first amended the complaint
added Wachovia Bank, N.A. without stating any causes. There
was never any court action on either the original and the first
amended complaint. The second amended complaint expanded
to add causes with a remedies against Wachovia Bank, N.A. In
a hearing August 8, 2003, Attorneys for both defendants argued
that Petitioner had causes with the wrong remedy. The attorney
for Marilyn Schwartz admitted that the agreement was valid. This
admission should have ended the case and monies should have
been put in court. The lower court refused to do anything. The
lower court dismissed all causes for Wachovia Bank, N.A. with
prejudice and for Marilyn Schwartz without prejudice. Petitioner
appealed the decision. The 4th District Court of Appeals
affirmed.
The causes against Wachovia Bank, N.A. which were dismissed
with prejudice are:

1. Florida Statute § 772.11. Civil Theft. The Bank helped Schwartz
steal Petitioner’s share of his mother’s estate.

2. Florida Banking statute § 655.79 (1)and(2}, Deposits and accounts
in two Or more names; presumption as to vesting on death.
3.Florida Probate Statute § 733.105 (3), Determination of Beneficiaries.
4. Florida Court Rule 1.410(a). Subpoena.
5. Having an off duty Broward County Sheriff Deputy working for the

Wachovia Bank, N. A threaten arrest of trespass at that branch to deliver
a subpoena to, because the bank employees did not want to receive a
subpoena.

Petitioner issued interrogatives to Wachovia Bank, N.A. to find
out bank balances of date of death and what defendant. Marilyn
Schwartz said to the bank to have the money released. Wachovia
Bank, N.A. motioned for a protective order not to answer the
interrogatives. The lower court issues a protective order on the
grounds of privacy for Schwartz because it is Schwartz’s money.
This is where the lower court decided the case before any trial.
Petitioner went before the lower court for a motion for default
because the defendant, Marilyn Schwartz, did not answer a
pleadings in over sixty days. The lower court refused to sign
anything. The lower court left the Petitioner without a remedy.
After motion to 4" District Court of Appeal, lower court sent a
default. The Lower court refuses to give an order for a judgment.
The Petitioner has gone three times for a judgment with the lower
court refusing to issue anything. The Petitioner motioned the
judge to remove herself. The judge refused. The 4 District Court
of Appeals affirmed. Both courts say Wachovia bank, N.A. did
nothing wrong. Both courts refused to enforce the constitutional
law in Florida. Because the lower court feels this is a simple
breach of contract, Petitioner may have filed in the wrong court
seeking a remedy but asking the wrong court for it. Marilyn
Schwartz died on October 29, 2003. Petitioner was not notified
about the death of his sister till November 24, 2003 letter
appeared in the mail. The petition for the estate of Marilyn
Schwartz were two attorneys who said they do not have a client

who hired them. One attorney says he heard about the death from
a source at the nursing home. The two attorneys filed a petition
for curator for the estate of Marilyn Schwartz. The petition had
discrepancies but was allowed by Judge George Greer. The estate
of Marilyn Schwartz holds the estate of Belle Kersh. Judge
George Greer ruled that separation of the estates will not come
until he rules on the validity of the will. Petitioner alleges that the
estate of Marilyn Schwartz is spending the monies and throwing
or giving away the assets belonging to the estate of Belle Kersh.
The will of Marilyn Schwartz was a self proofing will. In Florida,
a self proofing will must have two witnesses and a notary. The
will is void to form because there is only one witness and one
notary. A notary can not be a witness because the notary is not
authorized by the State of Florida to notarize his own signature.
Judge George Greer has not ruled on the validity of the will as
the court says it is always premature. The will has been filed in
court. Meanwhile, Judge Greer allows money from Belle Kersh’s
estate to be spent through the estate of Marilyn Schwartz. In

conclusion, this is not fair and it is not justice. Justice in the State
of Florida is broken. The rule of law exist on paper only not in
the courtroom.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE CASE

The first reason for granting the case is that of the“‘due process” and
equal protection clause” of the Fourteenth Amendment. The State of
Florida refused to abide by it’s constitution. The Florida
Constitution is the law of the state. This is the rule of law. The
courts have ignored from the Florida Constitution the rules for the
practice and procedure, the transfer to the court having

ll

jurisdiction of any proceeding when the jurisdiction of another
court has been improvidently invoked, and a requirement that no
cause shall be dismissed because an improper remedy has been
sought. The 4" District Court of Appeals affirmed the dismissal by
the circuit court, civil division. Both courts did not abide by the
Florida Constitution making up their own law and imposing attorney
costs. The circuit court-civil should have transferred this case to the
circuit court-probate. Petitioner file the complaint in circuit court-
civil division using probate statutes to get the will of Decedent Belle
Kersh to be honored per an agreement signed by Belle Kersh,
Richard Kersh and Marilyn Schwartz. The circuit court-civil
division learned that it had no jurisdiction to handle an estate but
kept the case anyway. The Petitioner used the wrong remedy by
going into civil court and not probate court to have a will
administered and the enforcement of an agreement to go by a will
where the parties of the agreement agreed to go by the will if Belle
Kersh died. Belle Kersh died.

Under “due Process” of the Fourteenth Amendment, it is the
concept of basic fairness. If Florida will not apply the procedures
fairly, then there is no due process. In Rupp v Grantsville City
(1980, Utah) 610 P2d 338, “Due process” rest on concept of basic
fairness of procedure and demand procedure appropriate to case and
just to parties involved. The State of Florida did not use the transfer
procedure to the proper jurisdiction fairly. After the circuit court-
civil learned that this was a probate matter where it had no
jurisdiction, the proper procedure under the Florida Constitution
article V section2(a), was for this circuit court-civil division to
transfer the case to the probate division and did not. The circuit
court-civil could not apply the law fairly because it had no
jurisdiction. Thus, the circuit court-civil could not administrate
justice fairly. With no jurisdiction, there is no due process and no
justice. With no jurisdiction, the circuit court-civil ignored the will
and dismissed all causes the were estate related with prejudice
because the circuit court-civil could not rule on those causes. The

12

State of Florida did not use the procedure of dismissal with
prejudice fairly. All causes dismissed, with prejudice against
Wachovia, were not fair. These causes can not ever be brought back
with the right remedy. Petitioner second amended complaint was
the first complaint that encompassed causes against defendant,
Wachovia Bank, N.A. These first time causes were all dismissed for
the wrong remedy with prejudice. Besides not adhering to form in
cause writing which Petitioner could correct by amending, there is
a constitutional mandate that no cause can be dismissed for the
wrong remedy. In State v Johnson, 306 So.2d 102 (1974), the
Florida Supreme Court recognizes the constitutional mandate. In
Symon-Ryals Group, Inc. v Citizens & Southern Mortg. Co., App.
1 Dist., 334 So.2d 144 (1976), the appellant court recognizes the
constitutional mandate. Thus, Petitioner did not have a change to
bring back the cause with the proper remedy. In Mayberry v
Pennsylvania (1971) 400 US 455, 27 L Ed 2d 532, 91 S Ct 499.
whether trial is federal or state, concern of due process is with fair
administration of justice. The State of Florida did not use the
procedure to amend fairly. All causes were dismissed with prejudice
for Wachovia Bank, N.A. Thus, the Petitioner was not afforded the
opportunity to amend a complaint after only one attempt for the
dismissed with prejudice Wachovia causes. The courts just ignored
the Florida Constitution. In Carey v Piphus (1978) 435 US 247, 55
L Ed 2d 252, 98 S Ct 1042, the right to procedural due process is
absolute. The State of Florida did not use the procedure of issuing
a subpoena fairly. Under Florida Rules of Court 1.41Q(a), a
subpoena may be issued by clerk of court or by any attorney of
record in an action. The courts labels a license attorney and a pro si
person “the attorney of record.” The Petitioner is labeled the
attorney of record. The usage of the phrase “attorney of record”
opposed to “licensed attorney” meant intended for both a licensed
attorney and the pro si person could issue a subpoena. By ignoring
the subpoena, the court breached its own Florida court rules. The
State of Florida states the Petitioner must follow the Florida Court

13

rules. If the State of Florida does not let Petitioner follow the court
rules then, the Petitioner does not have access to the court on the
same terms as a licensed attorney. The Petitioner is at a
disadvantage representing himself. Thereby, the Petitioner has no
remedy in Florida court. Due process is the use of procedures
fairly. Thus, if there is no fair procedure due process then, there is
no lawsuit and no justice.

Under the “equal protection clause” of the Fourteenth Amendment,
is the concept that laws are applied evenhandedly. First, The State
of Florida did not use equal protection evenhandedly. Filing this
action in circuit court- civil division instead of probate division,
Petitioner used the wrong jurisdiction of the circuit court. Petitioner
should have brought the action in probate division of circuit court.
Petitioner seeks to have this case transferred to the proper court. In
State v. Johnson, 306 So.2d 102 (1974), the State of Florida filed an
action in the wrong court and was dismissed and affirmed by the
appeals court. On appeal, the Supreme Court recognizing the
constitutional mandate and allowed the State of Florida to file in
the proper court. If the State of Florida is allowed to correct the
wrong remedy, then Petitioner should also be allowed. Second, the
State of Florida did not use the equal protection clause
evenhandedly. It is not the fact that all causes were dismissed. It is
how the causes were dismissed. Petitioner had all causes dismissed
with prejudice for Wachovia and without ,..ejudice for Schwartz. All
the causes were alike in that they all had the wrong remedy.
However, the lower court did not treat them the same. Under the
equal protection clause, all causes having the wrong remedy should
have been dismissed the same. In State v Johnson, 306 So.2d 102
(1974), the Florida Supreme Court recognizes the constitutional
mandate. In Symon-Ryals Group, Inc. v Citizens & Southern Mortg.
Co., App. 1 Dist., 334 So.2d 144 (1976), the appellant court
recognizes the constitutional mandate. In Vacco v Quill (1997) 521
US 793, 138 L Ed 2d 834, 117 S Ct 2293, 97 CDOS 5027, 97 Daily
Journal DAR 8122, 11 FL W Fed S 174, the equal protection clause

14

is that states must treat like cases alike but may treat unlike cases
accordingly. If the rule of law, the Florida Constitution, is not
followed, then Florida is susceptible to anarchy without a
constitution. The State of Florida should abide by its constitution or
change the constitution with ratification by the people. Therefore, the
State of Florida has effectively stopped a United States Citizen living
in the state of Florida “due process” and “equal protection” under the
Fourteenth Amendment.

The Second reason to grant the case is the Eighth Amendment when
combined with the Fourteenth Amendment. It maybe a little further
out than the current normal use but it is valid, nevertheless. The
Florida Constitution is the law in the ste. It is a cruel and unusual
punishment for a United States citizen under the jurisdiction of the
State of Florida to have the Florida Constitution ignored by the courts
for civil action. In Cooper Indus. V Leatherman Tool Group, Inc
(2001, US) 149, the due process clause of the Federal Constitution’s
Fourteenth Amendment makes cruel and unusual punishment to the
states. This was referring to criminal but it should also apply civil. It
is not “due process” for a wrong procedure nor “equal protection”
when others accorded the law but for the state not “abide” is
punishment and it is “cruel” to be on the receiving end. The State of
Florida will not abide by or be limited by its law, the constitution.
The Eighth Amendment should be applied to the State of Florida
when it won’t abide or be limited by the rule of law both criminal
and civil. There isa difference of interpreting a law than to abide
by or be limited by the law. Through the Florida Constitution, the
citizens of Florida put limits on the State of Florida but, the State
of Florida wants not to be limited. Judges are ignoring or making up
there own laws and rules in Florida. The cruel and unusual
punishment is that the State of Florida through it’s courts will not
abide by Florida’s constitution and then, impose costs. The
opportunity for a remedy for Florida citizens is punishment if the
State of Florida will not abide by its constitution. In Ford v
Wainwright (1986) 477 US 399, 91 L Ed 2d 335, 106 S Ct 2595,

15

2595, Supreme Court takes into account objective evidence of
contemporary values before determining whether particular
punishment comports with fundamental juman dignity that Eighth
Amendment protects. The eighth Amendment should prevent this
type of judicial abuse and punishment. Therefore, the State of
Florida has effectively imposed a cruel and unusual punishment on
a United States citizen living in the State of Florida by not adhering
to the Florida Constitution in dismissing the causes with prejudice
against Wachovia and allowing costs.

The third reason to grant the case is the fifth Amendment when
combined with the Fourteenth Amendment. For a court to ignore the
Florida Constitution is discrimination against Petitioner. In Johnson
v Robinson (1974) 415 US 361, 39 L Ed 2d 389, 94 S Ct 1160
(criticized in Hall v United States Dep't Veterans’ Affairs (1996,
CA 11 Fla) 85 F 3d 532, 9 Fl W Fed C 1171) forbid discrimination
that is so unjustifiable as to be violative of due process. Therefore,
the State of Florida has effectively stopped a United States citizen
living in the State of Florida from due process using the practice and
procedures in the Florida Constitution.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

eT es

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

IN THE DISTRICT COURT
OF APPEALS OF THE STATE
OF FLORIDA

FOURTH DISTRICT

JULY TERM 2004

RICHARD KERSH,
APPELLANT

V

MARILYN SCHWARTZ
and WACHOVIA BANK, N.A.
Appellees.

CASE NO. 4D03-3540

Appeal of a non-final order
from the Circuit Court Judicial
Circuit, Palm Beach County;
Diana Lewis, Judge; L.T. Case
No.CA 03-2924 AF.

Richard Kersh, Boca Raton, pro se.

Al

John H. Pelzer, Dale W. Cravey,
and David A. Green of Ruden,
McClosky, Smith, Swchuster &
Russell, P>A> Fort Lauderdale, for
appellee Wachocia Bank, N.A.

DATE: OAW in lieu of OA
December 3, 2004.

PANEL: (Polen), Stevenson, Gross

Pending Motions: A/MFees

Rehearing Deadline:

Q Standard 15 days per rule 9.330

Directory: Polem

DISPOSITION

) 1. Affirmed

O PCA

Endoremements Date Circulate
S 12-3-04 NO

-§ 12-3-04 No
-S 12-3-04 No

APPENDIX B

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF
APPEALS OF THE STATE OF

A2

FLORIDA FOURTH DISTRICT,
P.O. BOX 3315, WEST PALM
BEACH, FL 33402

March 17, 17, 2005

Case No.: 4D03-3540
L.T. No.: CA 03-2924 AF

RICHARD KERSH

V
ESTATE OF MARILYN
SCHWARTZ & WACHOVIA
BANK

BY ORDER OF THE COURT:

ORDERED that appellant’s motion filed
February 28, 2005, for rehearing is hereby
denied.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the foregoing
is a true copy of the original court order.

-S

MARILYN BEUTTENMULLER, clerk
Fourth District Court of Appeal

APPENDIX C

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE 15™
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IN AND FOR PALM

A3

BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA
Case No. 03-002924 AF

RICHARD KERSH
Plaintiff
V
MARILYN SCHWARTZ AND
WACHOVIA BANK, N.A.
Defendants
/

ORDER GRANTING WACHOVIA
BANK, N.A.’S MOTION TO DISMISS
SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT

AND
MARILYN SCHWARTZ’S MOTION TO
DISMISS SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT

This Cause came on to be heard by the court
August 8, 2003, upon Wachovia Bank, N.A.’s
(“Wachovia”) Motion to Dismiss Second Amended
Complaint and Marilyn Schwartz's (“Schwartz”)
Motion to Dismiss Second Amended Complaint,
and the Court having reviewed the Motions, having
considered argument of Plaintiff and counsel for
Defendants, and being otherwise fully advised,
makes the following

FINDINGS and CONCLUSIONS:

A. While Plaintiff is a pro se litigant, he is not

A4

immune from the Rules of Civil procedure. Barrett v.
City of Margate, 743 So2d 1160, 1162(Fla 4" DCA
1999).

B. Despite prior repeated attempts, Plaintiff's
Second Amended Complaint (the “Complaint”)
is not a simply and succinctly started short and
plain statement of ultimate facts purportedly
entitling Plaintiff to relief, as required by Fla. R.
Civ. P.1.110(b), and does not set out the elements
of Plaintiff's claims or facts that support them, but
it does contain improper opinions, theories, legal
conclusions and argument. See Barretti, 743 So.2d
at 1162. Plaintiff's Second Amended Complaint is
a disorganized assortment of allegations and
argument that clearly fails to comply with even the
most minimal standards of pleading as required by
the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure. Id.

C. Each count of the Complaint improperly
incorporates each count of the Complaint. Gerentine
v. Coastal Security Systems, 529 So.2d 1191, 1194
(Fla. 5" DCA 1988); Frugoli v. Winn-Dixie Stores.,
464 So.2d 1292, 1293 (Fla. 1* DCA 1985).

D. Plaintiff improperly and without authorization
attempted to assert a claim for punitive damages.

F. S.§768.72. Kraft General Foods, Inc. V. Rosenblum.
635 So.2d 106, 110 (Fla. 4" DCA 1994). E. Plaintiff

failed to give the notice required by F. S.§772.11 prior

to attempting to assert a claim for civil theft.

F. Wachovia did not and does not owe any duty to
Plaintiff to F. S.§655.78 or 655.79.

G. Each and every count of the Complaint fails to
properly allege a cause of action.

ORDERED and ADJUDGED as follows:

1. Wachovia Bank, N. A.’s Motion to Dismiss Second Amended
Complaint and Marilyn Schwartz’s Motion to Dismiss Second
Amended Complaint are hereby

GRANTED AS FOLLOWS:

a. Count I of the Complaint is hereby dismissed with Prejudice
as to Wachovia and without prejudice as to Schwartz. —_b. Count
Il of the Complaint is hereby dismissed
with prejudice as to Wachovia and without as to Schwartz.

c. Count II of the compla at is hereby dismissed with
prejudice as to Wachovia and without prejudice as to Schwartz.
d. Count IV of the complaint is hereby dismissed without

prejudice.

e. Count V of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

f. Count VI of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

g. Count VII of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

h. Count VIII of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

i. Count LX of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

j. Count X of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

k. Count XI of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

1. Count XII of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

m. Count XIII of the complaint is hereby dismissed without
prejudice.

n. To the extent Plaintiff seeks to file a Third Amended
Complaint, he must allege the appropriate elements of each
cause of action that he claims and provide sufficient factual
allegations to adequately notify the Defendants of the nature of

A6

each claim. Further, Plaintiffis admonished not to attempt to
plead any cause of action that is not supported by the law of
Florida. If Plaintiff attempts to re-plead any of the causes of
action addressed in the prior Motions or at the hearing
thereon and he fails to state a cause of actionin accordance with
relevant case law and statutory authority, the Defendants may
move for entry of an award of sanctions. The Court will consider
awarding Defendants their attorney's fees if they are required to
argue the same issues addressed at the hearing one Motions.

o. Plaintiff shall not include a claim for civil theft in his
Third Amended Complaint unless he complies with the
requirements of F. S. §772.11.

p. Plaintiff shall not include a claim for punitive damages in
nis Third Amended Complaint unless and untill he receives
authorization to do so in compliance with the requirements of F.
S. §768.72.

q. If at all possible and subject to Defendant Schwartz's
medical availability, Plaintiff and Schwartz shall schedule and
intend mediation at the Palm Beach County Courthouse (205
N. Dixie Highway, West Palm Beach, Florida) within forty-
five (45) days of the date of this order. Wachovia is
specifically excluded from this requirement andis not required
to attend mediation in this case at this time.

Plaintiff shall have 20 days to file a Third Amended Complaint.
DONE AND ORDERED AT West Palm Beach, Palm Beach
County, Florida on this 21" day of August, 2003.

-S

DIANA LEWIS
Circuit Court Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0230%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
