# Opposition Brief — City of Columbus v. Golden

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0224%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1032

## Text

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

a

CITY OF COLUMBUS, et al.,

Telephone: (614) 221-9800
Facsimile: (614) 221-9810

Attorneys for Hazel Golden

II ————

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a municipality's termination of water service
to a current tenant and its refusal to permit that tenant to
contract for water service, because cf the failure of the
prior tenant or the landlord to pay an outstanding water
bill, violate the Fourteenth Amendment rights of the
current tenant who did not incur the arrearage.’

* Petitioners frame the question, “Whether the government's
termination of water service to a rental property based on the landlord's
failure to pay the unit’s outstanding utility bill violates the equal
protection rights of a current tenant who did not incur the arrearage.”

y
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED. ......:.csecsecessessesessssesseeessesseses i
TATED OU COUT TTT I cic cn seecsccntcesocctemevecvsscdossiee ii
TABLES OF AUT TERORIT TI 5a. dices secscsssccecesvenesscssesesecvece iii
NT odie tie 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...0.........csccscesseseesceesseseeeee 4
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT..............:0:0++0+: 6

I. The Circuit Courts Are Not “Deeply Divided”
Over Whether The Equal Protection Clause
Permits A Municipality to Terminate Utility
Service To A Rental Property When The Current
Tenant Is Not Responsible For The Debt ............ 6

II. Petitioners Wrongly Allege That The Golden
Decision Prevents Landlords From Being Held
Responsible For Tenants’ Bills .......................+ 9

Ill. The Golden Court Used Rational Basis Review
~ The Least Deferential Level Of Scrutiny — In
Its Equal Protection Analysis And, Therefore,
Did Not Substantially Depart From This
Ca FE siciecnsninalicnsinnitepiaticiarhpenintnnseiasies 10

IV. The Present Case Is Not The Proper Vehicle
For Resolution Of Any Of The Issues Raised
IID de cinicsvinttimnintindapurincspaiishdatintontiente 11

SIGs SUNN nclocennsasentnersinbniienismmmpniibiiplatiiiedivicnpentiis 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

CASES
Craft v. Memphis Light, Gas & Water Div., 534 F.2d

684 (CA6 1976), aff’d, 436 U.S. 1 (1978).........cccccccceserees 3
Davis v. Weir, 497 F.2d 139 (1974) ..........:.cccccseseeeserenrees 3,9
DiMassimo v. Clearwater, 805 F.2d 1036 (CAI1

EARS RENE Se oS a OES ALPS NEEL OE 3, 7,12
James v. City of St. Petersburg, 33 F.3d 1304 (CA11

EEN ASE EM ELSE OR Be IIT Me EET 3,12
Mansfield Apt. Owners Assoc. v. City of Mansfield,

968 F.2d 1469 (CAG 1998) ......ccscccrccsorocessesersnevcosesees 5, 8,9
Midkiff v. Adams Cty. Regional Water Dist., 409

F.3d 758 (CA6 2005), reh’g and reh’g en banc

denied, 2005 U.S. App. LEXIS 19254 (CA6 Aug.

i, I Seth escichcccisniistirles be esiheiclajitetohendanniiitigiiaivdiia 4,7,8,13
Morrical v. Village of New Miami, 476 N.E.2d 378

SE ER: FE DON it pocccensicswepies bseabeiikatniannibionacscesates 5, 8
O’Neal v. City of Seattle, 66 F.3d 1064 (CA9 1995)...6, 7, 9, 11
Ransom v. Marrazzo, 848 F.2d 398 (CA3 1988)........... 4,67
Sterling v. Village of Maywood, 579 F.2d 1350 (CA7

1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 913 (1979).................. 6, 7,9
Turpen v. City of Corvallis, 26 F.3d 978 (CA9), cert.

denied, 513 U.S. 963 (1994)...........c.-cccceceseerreeseeres 3, 7,12
STATUTES
City of Columbus Code 1105.045(C) ................ccceseeeeeeeeeeeees 1

City of Columbus Code 1105.045(E) 20.0. ........22..cceceeeeeeeeeeeee 1

STATEMENT

Respondent Hazel Golden is a former tenant of a
rental house in Columbus, Ohio. Unknown to Ms. Golden,
at the time she moved into the house, there was an out-
standing balance on the water bill for the premises in-
curred by a prior tenant which neither the prior tenant
nor the landlord had paid. According to the City of Colum-
bus City Code, “owners of real estate premises installing
or maintaining water service shall be liable for all water
charges incurred for service at said premises.” City of
Columbus Code 1105.045(C). When the landlord failed to
abide by City Code and pay the bill, the City terminated
water service to the house without providing Ms. Golden
with notice or an opportunity to be heard. Service was
resumed on several occasions at the request of the City’s
code enforcement department, but turned off again when
the landlord continued to fail to pay the outstanding water
bill.

During this time, Ms. Golden attempted to obtain
water service in her name. As a tenant, the only method
by which Ms. Golden could open an account in her name
was under a “direct billing agreement.” Ms. Golden
submitted a “direct billing agreement” but received no
response. In any event, because there was a pending
arrearage by the former tenant, Ms. Golden did not qualify
for a direct billing arrangement under the code. See City of
Columbus Code 1105.045(E). Ultimately, she vacated the
premises.

* The City permitted tenants to have accounts in their names in
limited circumstances if the landlord agreed to such an arrangement
via a direct billing agreement. See City of Columbus Code 1105.045(E).

2

On July 25, 2001, Ms. Golden filed suit in the South-
ern District of Ohio, alleging among other things that
petitioners violated her right to equal protection and due
process of law by terminating water service to her rental
unit based on a debt for which she was not responsible
without notice and an opportunity to be heard, and by
refusing to allow her to establish water service in her
name. On June 6, 2002, the district court dismissed her
equal protection and due process claims.

With respect to equal protection, the district court
rejected Ms. Golden’s assertion that water is a fundamen-
tal right requiring the City to have a compelling reason for
treating landowners and non-landowners differently.
Instead, the district court applied rational basis review r)
finding that the City’s policy affected only economic
interests rather than fundamental constitutional rights.
The district court then held that the City’s policy was a
rational means of ensuring payment of water bills.

With respect to due process, the district court found
that tenants do not have a protected property interest in

the right to water service for purposes of due process and,
as such, dismissed Ms. Golden’s due process claim.

On appeal, the Sixth Circuit reversed the district
court’s dismissal of Ms. Golden’s equal protection claim
but upheld the dismissal of her due process claim. With
respect to equal protection, the court of appeals agreed
with the district court that rational basis scrutiny applied
to Ms. Golden’s claims; however, it disagreed with the
district court’s determination that the City’s policy was
rational. Instead, the court concluded that the City’s policy
“divides tenants in an irrational manner because it denies
water service only to those tenants whose predecessors or

3

landlords failed to pay the water bills.” The court ex-
plained that this conclusion was compelled by its prior
decision in Craft v. Memphis Light, Gas & Water Div., 534
F.2d 684 (CA6 1976), aff’d, 436 U.S. 1 (1978), which in
turn adopted the reasoning of the Fifth Circuit’s decision
in Davis v. Weir, 497 F.2d 139 (1974). The court in Davis
held unconstitutional a similar policy, reasoning that
“[t}he City has no valid governmental interest in securing
revenue from innocent applicants who are forced to honor
the obligations of another or face constructive eviction
from their homes for lack of an essential to existence —
water.” Id. at 145. Because the court in Davis construed
such policies as an illegitimate attempt to extract payment
from the new tenant, it held that scheme was “devoid of
logical relation to the collection of unpaid water bills from
the defaulting debtor.” Id. at 144-45.

With respect to due process, the court noted that Ms.
Golden failed to cite to Ohio’s Landlord Tenant Act as a
potential source of property rights for purposes of due
process. The court noted that, “other circuits have held
that certain provisions common to landlord-tenant stat-
utes to be sufficient for this purpose,” citing the Eleventh
Circuit cases of James v. City of St. Petersburg, 33 F.3d
1304, 1306-07 (CA11 1994) (en banc); DiMassimo v. Clear-
water, 805 F.2d 1536, 1539-40 (CA11 1986), and the Ninth
Circuit case of Turpen v. City of Corvallis, 26 F.3d 978, 979
(CAQ), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 963 (1994). The court did not

* The Sixth Circuit understood that the classification for purposes
of equal protection was between two classes of tenants as opposed to the
district court’s conclusion that the classification was hetween landown-

ers and tenants.

4

express a o7/ 1 as to whether these precedents would
have weighed fis. Golden’s favor and determined that
Ms. Golden did no’: demonstrate that she had a cognizable
property interest in continued water service.‘ The Sixth
Circuit therefore affirmed the district court’s dismissal of
Ms. Golden’s due process claim, which is not an issue in
she current Petition."

This timely Petition for Writ of Certiorari was filed
September 15, 205.

7

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

First, the circuit courts are not “deeply divided” over
whether the Equal Protection Clause permits a city to
terminate utility service to a rental property when the
current tenant is not responsible for the debt. The only
case cited by petitioners to make an equal protection
decision contrary to the one in Golden is a 1988 Third
Circuit decision. See Ransom v. Marrazzo, 848 F.2d 398,
414 (CA3 1988). More important, that case may not truly
represent a split of authority because it can be factually
distinguishable as the Ransom plaintiffs were “non-
tenants.”

* Since the time of the Sixth Circuit's decision in Golden, that court
has had an opportunity to determine the question of whether Ohio’s
Landlord Tenant Act creates in a tenant a property interest to contin-
ued water service. See Midkiff v. Adams Cty. Regional Water Dist., 409
F.3d 758 (CA6 2005), reh’g and reh’g en bance denied, 2005 U.S. App.
_ LEXIS 19254 (CA6 Aug. 30, 2005). The court answered that question in
the negative.

* The court of appeals also upheld the district court’s dismissal of
respondent’s Equal Credit Opportunity Act claims and its denial of
class certification.

5

The case cited by petitioners that allegedly demon-
strates a conflict between Golden and the state courts of
Ohio is also off the mark. See Morrical v. Village of New
Miami, 476 N.E.2d 378 (Ohio Ct. App. 1984). That case is
not from Ohio’s highest court and, in any event, deals with
the issue of whether a landlord can be held responsible for
the debts of a tenant, which, as stated, infra, is not the
issue before this Court.

Second, petitioners confuse the issue to overstate and
misstate the effect of the Golden decision on “the financial
stability of tens of thousands of municipal utilities.” Pet.
Br. 10. Petitioners’ argument suggests that the Golden
decision affects a municipality's ability to hold a property
owner responsible for a delinquent tenant's bill. That is
not true, as many municipal utilities in Ohio and else-
where address the concern of delinquent tenants by
holding a landlord ultimately responsible for payment.
This practice has been held to be rational and legal. See
Mansfield Apt. Owners Assoc. v. City of Mansfield, 988
F.2d 1469, 1478 (CA6 1993). Golden does not affect that
practice but instead deals with the very different question
of the constitutional rights of tenants who are denied
water service.

Next, the Golden decision is not a “substantial depar-
ture” from this Court’s equal protection precedents. The
Golden court used rational basis scrutiny, the least defer-
ential level of scrutiny, which is hardly a substantial
departure from this Court’s long line of equal protection
precedent.

Finally, the present case is not the proper vehicle for
resolution of any of the issues raised by petitioners.
Petitioners present an equal protection argument only;
however, the issues raised by the denial of utility service

to tenants involve both the Equal Protection Clause and
the Due Process Clause. It would be confusing and a waste
of judicial resources for this Court to decide only the equal
protection issue.

7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Circuit Courts Are Not “Deeply Divided”
Over Whether The Equal Protection Clause
Permits A Municipality to Terminate Utility
Service To A Rental Property When The Cur-
rent Tenant Is Not Responsible For The Debt.

A. This issue does not necessarily present a
true question of law warranting review by
this Court.

Petitioners refer to a recurring conflict among the

federal courts of appeals; however, this “conflict” may
hinge on factual distinctions rather than a true question of
law signifying a split among the circuits. The only case
cited by petitioners to hold contrary to the equal protection
holding in Golden was decided by the Third Circuit over
seventeen years ago. See Ransom v. Marrazzo, 848 F.2d
393, 412-13 (CA3 1988). That case may not present a true
split in the law of equal protection because it’s factually
distinguishable from Golden and its predecessors.’ The
plaintiffs in Ransom cannot be compared to those in
Golden or its predecessors because the plaintiffs in Ran-
som were “non-tenants.” Jd. at 401. The Ransom court

* Davis v. Weir, 497 F.2d 139 (CAS 1974); Sterling v. Village of
Maywood, 579 F.2d 1350 (CA7 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 913 (1979),
O'Neal v. City of Seattle, 66 F.3d 1064 (CA9 1995).

——==_. 7

specifically noted this fact stating, “Thus, we do not reach
the question of whether the asymmetries in the landlord-
tenant relationship introduce an added constitutional
dimension to the propriety of denying service to non-
delinquent tenants.” Id. at 402 n.1 (emphasis added).’ As
such, Ransom acknowledges that it does not address the
issue presented by Golden and may indicate that there is
not a split of authority that is ripe for this Court’s consid-
eration.’

Another good example of factual distinction that can
obscure the legal issues raised by petitioners is illustrated
by the Sixth Circuit’s decision in Midkiff v. Adams Cty.
Regional Water Dist., 409 F.3d 758 (CA6 2005), reh’g and
reh’g en banc denied, 2005 U.S. App. LEXIS 19254 (CA6
Aug. 30, 2005).’ The Sixth Circuit decided Midkiff shortly
after it decided Golden, but found there was no equal
protection violation in Midkiff, despite the fact that
Midkiff involved a municipality's shut-off of a tenant’s
water service based on the debts of past tenants. The Sixth
Circuit found that unlike in Golden, in which the court

* The Ninth Circuit recognized this distinction, but nonetheless
chose to distinguish Ransom on its merits. See O’Neal v. City of Seattle,
66 F.3d 1064, 1068 n.3 (CA9 1995). (“Although the Ransom court may
have intended to limit the scope of its opinion, its substantive discus-
sion of the landlord-tenant cases is, at a minimum, instructive. We
therefore discuss its analysis without attempting to distinguish the
case on landlord-tenant grounds.”)

* Petitions for Writs of Certiorari have been denied in similar cases
twice. See Turpen v. City of Corvallis, 26 F.3d 978, 979 (CA9), cert.
denied, 513 U.S. 963 (1994); Sterling v. Village of Maywood, 579 F.2d
1350 (CA7 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 913 (1979).

* See also DiMassimo v. City cf Clearwater, 805 F.2d 1536, 1541
(CA11 1986) (finding no equal protection violation because the classifi-
cation in that case was between landlords and tenants rather than two
different classifications of tenants).

compared different classifications of tenants for purposes of
equal protection, the only classification set forth in Midkiff
was between landlords and tenants, two groups that are
not similarly situated for equal protection purposes. The
Sixth Circuit narrowly construed Golden; it distinguished
Golden not by a different interpretation of equal protection
law, but by different factual circumstances in the case.

B. Petitioners’ allegation that the Golden case
is in conflict with Ohio state law is wrong.

Petitioners further argue that the Golden decision
conflicts with the law of Ohio, citing to Morrical v. Village
of New Miami, 476 N.E.2d 378 (Ohio Ct. App. 1984).
Again, Petitioners confuse the issues presented by Golden.
The Morrical case holds:

A municipal ordinance which imposes liability on

a property owner for water services provided *~ a

tenant on the premises does not violate either

the Due Process or Equal Protection Clauses of
either the state or federal Constitutions.

Id. at syllabus { 1. The holding of that case therefore deals
with the liability of property owners, which is not at issue
in the Golden decision.” No matter what the outcome of
Golden, municipalities always have the right to collect
utility debts from the owner of the property on which the
debt was incurred. See, e.g., Mansfield Apt. Owners Assoc.
uv. City of Mansfield, 988 F.2d 1469, 1478 (CA6 1993).

” See further discussion in Section II.

9

Il. Petitioners Wrongly Allege That The Golden
Decision Prevents Landlords From Being Held
Responsible For Tenants’ Bills.

The purportedly great economic effect of this decision
alleged by petitioners comes from petitioners’ misstated
argument regarding the effect of the Golden decision.
Petitioners go on at length about the importance of hold-
ing landowners ultimately responsible for the debts of
their tenants. However, the Golden decision has no effect
on this practice.

Petitioners contend that the Golden decision” “prohib-
its a municipality from making landlords responsible for
the payment of utility bills for their rental properties and
terminating service to the property if the bill is not paid
and the tenant living in the unit at the time of termination
is not responsible for the arrearage.” Pet. Br. 5.

Petitioners’ argument and language suggest to this
Court that these decisions prohibit a municipality from
holding landlords responsible for payment of utility bills
for their rental properties. This is simply not true. It is
well established that a municipality does not violate the
constitution by holding a landlord liable for utility debts
incurred on his er her property. See Mansfield Apt. Owners
Assoc., 988 F.2d at 1478. Instead, the effect of Golden and
its predecessors is to prohibit one means of enforcement of
a municipality's right to collect from a landlord when that

" As well as the decisions in Davis vo. Weir, 497 F.2d 139 (CAS
1974); Sterling v. Village of Maywood, 579 F.2d 1350 (CA7 1978), cert.
denied, 440 U.S. 913 (1975), and O'Neal v. City of Seattle, 66 F.3d 1064
(CAS 1996).

10

enforcement violates the constitutional rights of an inno-
cent, subsequent tenant.

Petitioners attempt to commingie and confuse these
two separate issues in an effort to make unconstitutional
policies appear “rational.” Again and again in their argu-
ment, petitioners refer to the right to “hold landlords
responsible for utility bills on their rental properties and
to terminate service for nonpay xent.” That is not the issue
presented. The issue is whether a municipality can deny
water service to tenants and terminate water service to a
tenant based on the bill of a third party, because the
municipality wants a method of enforcement to strong arm
landlords into paying bills for delinquent tenants who
have since moved off the property. Regardless of the
answer to that question, the municipality always has the
right to hold the landlord responsible for the debt.

In sum, petitioners’ argument regarding the great
economic effect of the Golden decision is exaggerated and
overstated. Municipalities will continue to have the right
to hold landlords responsible for utility debts incurred on
their property regardless of the Golden decision.

Ill. The Golden Court Used Rational Basis Review
~ The Least Deferential Level Of Scrutiny - In
Its Equal Protection Analysis And, Therefore,
Did Not Substantially Depart From This
Court’s Precedent.

Petitioners claim that the decision in Golde: is a
substantial departure from “the deferential standard of
review required for ordinary economic legislation.” It is
somewhat puzzling that petitioners raise the issue of the
standard of review used for equal protection review or

11

suggest there is a conflict about that standard when there
has never been an argument nor a difference among the
courts regarding that issue. Respondent conceded to the
Sixth Circuit that raticnal basis review was the appropri-
ate standard, and that court applied rational basis review,
the least deferential standard.

The Golden court found, as did the Ninth Circuit in
O’Neal, “pursuing payment from the pricr tenant and the
landlord would be rationally related to the City’s goal;
refusing service to an unobligated new tenant would not.”
Golden, 404 F.3d at 962 (quoting O’Neal, 66 F.3d at 1068).
The Golden court got it right. Petitioners’ argument to the
contrary is again based on their flawed premise that the
only way to hold the landlord responsible for the debts of
tenants — their economic rationality argument — is to
withhold service from landlords for nonpayment, no
matter what the consequences are to innocent subsequent
tenants. The Golden court carefully analyzed the situation
using the proper standard of review. This is hardly a
substantial departure from precedent warranting over-
sight from this Court.

IV. The Present Case Is Not The Proper Vehicle
For Resolution Of Any Of The Issues Raised By
Petitioners.

A. This case fails to raise due process issues, a
critical part of the analysis in every case
that has addressed this issue.

This case is not the proper vehicle for resolution for
any of the issues raised by petitioners. In the present case,

12

petitioners do not raise a due process argument because the
Golden court agreed with their position on due process.”
However, every single case cited by petitioners that has
considered the equal protection argument has also consid-
ered the corresponding due process issue. If this Court is
going to resolve the Fourteenth Amendment questions
resulting from this issue, it should consider the issue fully
and determine both the due process and equal protection
arguments in a case that presents both arguments. It
would be a waste of judicial resources for this Court to
resolve only a portion of this issue.

B. This case fails to raise a fundamental ques-
tion: whether tenants have a protected
property right to continued water service.

For purposes of due process, a fundamental issue that
is raised by the case law in this area — but not at issue in
the Petition - is whether tenants have a protected prop-
erty interest in continued water service. This is a funda-
mental question that should be answered by this Court in
any analysis of the rights of tenants with respect to water
service.

Several circuit courts have found a source of such a
property interest to exist in state landlord-tenant statutes.
See, e.g., James v. City of St. Petersburg, 33 F.3d 1304,
1306-07 (CA11 1994) (en banc); DiMassimo v. Clearwater,
805 F.2d 1536, 1539-40 (CAl1 1986); Turpen v. City of
Corvallis, 26 F.3d 978, 979 (CA9), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 963
(1994). Unfortunately, the issue of the Ohio landlord-tenant

* Respondent chose not to cross petition because she failed to raise
Ohio’s Landlord-Tenant statutes in the lower court, as more fully
explained in Sec. IV, Part B.

13

statutes was not raised in the Golden case, as noted by the
Sixth Circuit, “[w)e express no opinion as to whether these
precedents weigh in Golden’s favor because Golden does
not rely upon any provision of Ohio’s landlord-tenant law
in this appeal.” Golden, 404 F.3d at 958. However, after
Golden, the Sixth Circuit found that Ohio’s landlord-
tenant statutes do not confer a property interest to tenants
in continued water service. See Midkiff v. Adams Cty.
Regional Water Dist., 409 F.3d 758, 765 (CA6 2005), reh'g
and reh’g en banc denied, 2005 U.S. App. LEXIS 19254
(CA6 Aug. 30, 2005). If there is any disagreement among
the circuits, it is regarding that question which cannot be
resolved by the Golden case.

Accordingly, state landlord-tenant statutes are not at
issue in Golden and, therefore, Golden is not the proper
case for this Court to resolve the due process issues nor
the greater Fourteenth Amendment issues.

+

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

BENSON A. WOLMAN

Counsel of Record
KIMBERLY M. SKAGGS
EQUAL JUSTICE FOUNDATION
88 East Broad Street, Suite 1509
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Telephone: (614) 221-9800
Facsimile: (614) 221-9810

Attorneys for Hazel Golden

No. 05-354

Inu the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

CIiry OF COLUMBUS, ET AL., PETITIONERS

HAZEL GOLDEN

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

JOINT BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Andrew Jay Burkholder
Acting Law Director

Attorney for Amicus
Curiae The City of
Springfield

Julia L. McNeil
City Solicitor

Attorney for Amicus
Curiae
The City of Cincinnati

Max Rothal
Director of Law

Attorney for Amicus
Curiae
The City of Akron

Barry M. Byron
Counsel of Record

John E. Gotherman
Interstate Sq. Building I
Suite 240

4230 State Route 306
Willoughby, Ohio 44094
(440) 951-2303

Attorneys for Amicus
Curiae The Ohio

Municipal League

CURRY 4 TAYLOR @ WASH O.C. ¢ (202) 223-3140 ¢ USBSCINFO.cOm

Court,
PILED

OCT 19 205

THE CLERK

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE .......ccccceesesseseeseseereveesensnvees vlisdaie l
INTRODUCTION: SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT............c0sccecsorerenees 6
ARGUMENT

IMPORTANCE OF THIS CASE

LEGAL ARGUMENTS

SERS SS CES RE OCR Oe en SPER 13

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

CiTy OF BUCYRUS V. SEARS, 34 OHIO APP. 450, 171
N.E. 256 (1930)

CiTy OF CANTON V. CANTON REALTY & DEV., 1999 OHIO
App. LEXIS 2791

CLEBURNE V. CLEBURNE LIVING CENTER, INC., 473
U.S. 482, 489, 87 L. ED. 2D 313, 105 S. Cr. 3249

CRAFT V. MEMPHIS LIGHT, GAS & WATER DIv., 534
F.2D 684, 689-90 (6TH CIR. 1976), AFF'D ON OTHER
GROUNDS, 436 U.S. 1, 56 L.ED.2D 30, 98 S.CT. 1554

HEMBREE V. MID-AMERICA FEDERAL (1989), 64
OHIO APP. 3D 144, 580 N.E.2p 1108

MORRICAL V. VILLAGE OF NEW MIAMI, 16 OHIO
APP. 3D 439, 476 N.E.2D 378 (1984)

NEW YORK LIFE INS. Co. Vv. SIMPLEX PRODUCTS
CorP. (1939), 135 OHIO ST. 501, 21 N.E.2D 585..................

PFAU V. CITY OF CINCINNATI, 142 OHIO ST. 101, 50
N.E.2D 172 (1943)

VILLAGE OF LUCAS V. LUCAS LOCAL SCHOOL
DISTRICT, 2 OHIO ST.3D 13, 442 N.E.2D 449 (1982)

STATUTES

Ohio Revised Code Section 743.04(A)

l
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE'

Springfield

The City of Springfield, Ohio (“Springfield”)
operates a municipal water utility providing services to
customers within its corporate boundaries and beyond.
Springfield's municipal water utility ordinances require
the City Manager to charge, assess and collect charges
for water services from property owners. Those
ordinances do not provide for charging, assessing or
collecting charges for water services from tenants. The
Springfield municipal water utility ordinances also
authorize the termination of water services if the water
bill is not paid. Resumption of water service is
conditioned upon the payment of all charges and fees
due. Termination of water services for non-payment of
water bills has been an effective method to enforce the
collection of revenue to which Springfield is entitled for
services rendered. As a practical matter, Springfield's
policy for billing and collecting water utility charges
related to residential rental properties is equivalent to
that of the City of Columbus.

The 6th Circuit Court of Appeals decision in
Golden v. City of Columbus will effectively prevent the
use of this collection method when property owners
succeed in renting units to new tenants before past due
water bills are paid. The consequence will be elevated
costs to the municipal utility in the form of increased
uncollected receivables and the increased costs and
personnel time associated with collection litigation

"No person, other than amici and their counsel, participated in the
writing of this brief or made any financial contribution to the brief.

2

against delinquent property owners -- all to the
prejudice of utility rate payers. Further, the additional
collection litigation against delinquent property owners
will add a significant burden to the local courts - to the
prejudice of the community as a whole.

Cincinnati

The City of Cincinnati, Ohio (“Cincinnati”)
operates a municipal water utility providing services to
customers within its corporate boundaries and beyond.
Cincinnati's municipal water utility ordinances require
the Director of the water utility to charge, assess and
collect charges for water services from property
owners. Those ordinances do not provide for charging,
assessing or collecting charges for water services from
tenants.

The Cincinnati municipal water utility
ordinances also authorize the termination of water
services if the water bill is not paid. Resumption of
water service is conditioned upon the payment of all
past due charges or such other payment arrangements
as may be agreed upon by the utility and the property
owner. Payment arrangements are not made directly
with a non-owner.

As a practical business process, and courtesy to
property owners, Cincinnati will send a duplicate copy
of the billing statement to a third party and accept
payment from same. The Ohio Revised Code provides
for rent escrows to assist tenants whose landlords are
not fulfilling the terms of lease agreements or
maintaining properties according to certain standards.
Additionally, the Cincinnati Municipal Code of
Ordinances (ref. Section 401-93-A(e)) provides for
tenants to make payment on past due balances to

3

prevent disconnection of services, or to effect
reconnection of services, on behalf of the property
owner, and to deduct such payments from rents owed
the property owner without the need to set up escrow.

Termination of water services for non-payment
of water bills has been an effective method to enforce
the collection of revenue to which the Cincinnati is
entitled for services rendered.

As a practical matter, Cincinnati's policy for
billing and collecting water utility charges related to
residential rental properties is similar to that of the
City of Columbus. One clear exception is that
Cincinnati maintains no direct tenant relationship,
requiring the property owner’s name on all accounts.
Tenant occupied properties are served written notice at
least 7 days prior to disconnection. The notice explains
tenant rights and the Cincinnati Call Center maintains

a referral list of agencies that will assist them.
Cincinnati joins Springfield in its assessment of
the effect of the Golden case upon collection practices,

increased costs of collection and the adverse impact on
the local courts.

Akron

The City of Akron, Ohio (“Akron”) operates a
municipal water works utility providing services to
customers within its corporate boundaries and beyond.
Akron’s Water Works Rules and Regulations require
all contracts for water service be between Akron and
property owners. The Rules and Regulations also
authorize the termination of water services if the water
bill is not paid.* Resumption of water service is

*' The practice of terminating water service to rental properties

4

conditioned upon the payment of all charges and fees
due. Akron permits property owners to make payment
arrangements on delinquent utilities billings.

Only property owners may enter into payment
arrangements and contract for service. Payments may
be accepted from third parties, including tenants and
land contract buyers. However, the property owner is
ultimately responsible for all billings. As a courtesy,
billings will also be mailed to third parties if requested
by a property owner. Land contract buyers are also
permitted to act as agents for the property owners with
the property owner’s written consent and ultimate
responsibility

Termination of water services for non-payment
of water bills has been an effective method to enforce
the collection of revenue to which Akron is entitled for
services rendered. As a practical matter, Akron’s
policy for billing and collecting water utility charges
related to rental properties is similar to that of the City
of Columbus.

Akron joins Springfield and Cincinnati in their
analysis of the effect of Golden v. City of Columbus on
Akron’s water service. The case will effectively
prevent the use of a rational collection method when
property owners succeed in renting units to new
tenants before past due water bills are paid. The
consequence will be elevated costs to the municipal
utility in the form of increased uncollected receivables
and the increased costs and personnel time associated
with collection litigation against delinquent property
owners — all to the prejudice of utility rate payers.
Further, the additional collection litigation against
delinquent property owners will add a significant

has been suspended by Akron during the pendency of this case.

5

burden to the local courts — to the prejudice of the
community as a whole.

The Ohio Municipal League

The Ohio Municipal League (“League”) is an
Ohio non-profit corporation whose membership includes
over 750 cities and villages in the State of Ohio. When
issues relating to an Ohio municipality’s lawful
authority are raised in litigation, the League frequently
advocates for such authority as an amicus on behalf of
the municipality.

The League seeks to amplify the positions of
Cincinnati, Springfield and Akron: the Sixth Circuit
Court of Appeals’ decision is of state-wide importance
in Ohio, and Ohio municipal utilities will suffer an
adverse impact if the improper decision is permitted to
remain the law of the Sixth Circuit.

Because of Article XVIII of Ohio’s constitution,
which grants broad home rule powers to municipalities,
there are an indefinite number of methods by which
Ohio municipalities may seek to ensure that municipal
utility bills are paid. The League asserts that as long as
any method of collection is undergirded by a rational
basis, as the Columbus policy is, such method ought to
be permitted under the Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution.

INTRODUCTION: SUMMARY OF
ARGUMENT

Cincinnati, Springfield, Akron and the League
(“Amici”) believe that the arguments of the City of
Columbus in support of the petition are compelling.
Those arguments will not be repeated at length herein.
The Amici write in order to emphasize the importance
of this case in Ohio, and to the Amici municipalities
which run utility systems (see Interests of Amici
Curiae, above).

Since 1912, municipalities in Ohio have had the
constitutional authority to acquire and operate public
utilities. This indicates the importance the people of
Ohio have placed on having reliable municipal utility
services,

Numerous municipal utilities across Ohio,
including those operated by the Amici municipalities,
have policies which are similar to those of Columbus.
These policies allow for the termination of water
service to a property when a bill is delinquent. As a
consequence of the Sixth Circuit’s ruling, these
municipal utilities have been denied an extremely
effective tool for the prompt collection of delinquent
water bills when a property owner succeeds in leasing a
property before the delinquent bill is paid. This tool
helps to ensure the efficient collection of revenues
which are sufficient to pay for current operational
expenses and debt service.

Additionally, persons who rent from landlords
who have delinquent debt are not similarly situated,
under Ohio property law, to those persons who rent
from landlords who are not delinquent on their debt.
Consequently, the policy of the City of Columbus does

"7

not violate the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment.

The Amici urge this honorable court to take this
case and resolve the conflict which has developed
between the Federal Circuit Courts of Appeal. Of
particular significance to Ohio’s municipalities: the
Sixth Circuit’s decision under the Fourteenth
Amendment conflicts with an Ohio court’s analysis of
the Equal Protection issue, and this conflict should be
resolved by this court.

ARGUMENT

Amici concur with the legal arguments made by
the Petitioners and will not restate them, in full, here.
S.Ct. Rule 37.1 (“An amicus curiae brief that brings to
the attention of the Court relevant matters not already
brought to its attention by the parties may be of
considerable help to the Court. An amicus curiae brief
that does not serve this purpose burdens the Court, and
its filing is not favored.”)

Instead, Amici will explain why this case is of
importance to Ohio municipalities. Amici will also,
briefly, discuss why a tenant who moves into a property
which is burdened by a delinquent debt is not similarly
situated, as a matter of law, to the tenant who moves
into a property which is not so burdened.

8
THE IMPORTANCE OF THIS CASE

The Ohio Constitution

On September 3, 1912, the people of the State of
Ohio gave Ohio municipalities the constitutional right to
operate public utilities. Article X VIII, Section 4 of the
Ohio Constitution provides:

Any municipality may acquire, construct, own,
lease and operate within or without its corporate
limits, any public utility the product or service of
which is or is to be supplied to the municipality
or its inhabitants, and may contract with others
for any such product or service. The acquisition
of any such public utility may be by
condemnation or otherwise, and a municipality
may acquire thereby the use of, or full title to,
the property and franchise of any company or
person supplying to the municipality or its
inhabitants the service or product of any such
utility.

Rather than rely on the legislative authority of
the state to grant the power to municipalities to
operate public utilities, the people of Ohio determined
that municipal public utilities were a matter of such
importance that they warranted a place in the
constitution. Village of Lucas v. Lucas Local School
District, 2 Ohio St.3d 13, 442 N.E.2d 449 (1982).

The importance of municipal utility powers to

the people of Ohio has not changed since 1912.

i)
Collections

It is reasonable to assume that the people of
Ohio, in providing constitutional authority to
municipalities to construct, acquire and operate
municipal utilities, wanted those utilities to function
properly. They wanted the municipal utilities to deliver
the municipal utility service, expand capacity as the
service territory grew, and collect rates and fees which
were sufficient to finance capital costs and pay current
expenses.

In performing the functions expected of them by
the people of Ohio, municipalities have found that a
policy of making property owners responsible for utility
charges is far more practical than merely holding
tenants in possession of the property responsible.
There are several obvious reasons for these policies.
Tenants are, frequently, transient making collection
problematic. City of Canton v. Canton Realty & Dev.,
1999 Ohio App. LEXIS 2791, at *11. Additionally, the
landlord can adjust vne rent to cover utility charges.
Id. There is also the ability to place delinquent water
charges on the tax list and duplicate, to be collected as a
tax. Ohio Revised Code Section 743.04(A) This filing
also serves as a lien on property to which the service
has been rendered, ensuring that payment of the
delinquent charges is made to the municipality at the
time the property is transferred. /d.

The policy of holding the property owner
responsible for the consumption of utility service by
occupants of the served property has been repeatedly
upheld by the Ohio courts. Pfau v. City of Cincinnati,
142 Ohio St. 101, 50 N.E.2d 172 (1943); Morrical v.
Village of New Miami, 16 Ohio App. 3d 439, 476 N.E.2d
378 (1984); City of Bucyrus v. Sears, 34 Ohio App. 450,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0224%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
