# Amicus Curiae Brief — Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Institute v. Energy Resources Conservation & Development Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0202%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1014

## Text

tion of express preemption provisions of federal laws, nor the
court's application of those principles to the circumstances of
this case, presents any issue warranting this Court's review.
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

A. The Court Of Appeals’ Analysis Of The California Regula-
tions At Issue Here Does Not Warrant Further Review

1. Petitioners contend (Pet. 17-18) that Cal. Code Regs.
tit. 20, § 1606, which requires appliance manufacturers to
provide the CERDC with data concerning their products’
energy consumption, is preempted by 42 U.S.C. 6297(a)(1).
Under Section 6297(a)(1), a state regulation is preempted
“insofar as such State regulation provides at any time for the
disclosure of information with respect to any measure of en-
ergy consumption or water use of any covered product if,”
inter alia, “such State regulation requires disclosure of infor-
mation with respect to the energy use, energy efficiency, or
water use of any covered product other than information re-
quired under section 6294 of this title.” 42 U.S.C. 6297(a)Q1),
6297(a)(1B). The court of appeals correctly rejected petition-
ers’ preemption challenge to Cal. Code Regs. tit. 20, § 1606,
holding that the relevant state requirements do not mandate
the “disclosure of information” within the meaning of Section
6297(aX1). Pet. App. 12a. Although the phrase “disclosure of
information” might in some contexts encompass the submis-
sion of data to a state regulatory agency, abundant evidence
in the text, structure, and history of the specific federal enact-
ments at issue here indicates that the phrase has a more lim-
ited meaning in Section 6297(a)(1).

a. Section 6297(a) itself is entitled “Preemption of testing
and labeling requirements.” 42 U.S.C. 6297(a). “(T]he title of
a statute or section can aid in resolving an ambiguity in the
legislation’s text,” 7NS v. National Ctr. for Immigrants’
Rights, Luc., 302 U.S. 183, 189 (1991), and the reference to

7

“labeling requirements” in Section 6297(a)'s title suggests
that the term “disclosure” in the same Section is limited to the
provision of information to potential purchasers at the point
of sale. That inference is reinforced by the fact that the stat-
ute preempts state requirements for the “disclosure” of infor-
mation “other than information required under section 6294.”
42 U.S.C. 6297\a)A1\(B). Section 6294 of Title 42 is entitled
“Labeling” and directs the FTC to promulgate rules govern-
ing the information that must be placed on appliance labels.
Section 6294, moreover, uses the words “discloses” and “dis-
closure” in describing the required contents of product labels
under the FTC's rules. See 42 U.S.C. 6294(c)(1) and (4).

By contrast, the EPCA provisions that mandate the sub-
mission of information to the FTC or DOE do not use the
word “disclosure” or any variant thereof. See Pet. App. 7a-
Sa. Rather, those provisions direct manufacturers under
specified circumstances to “notify the Sécretary or the Com-
mission” of models in production to which the agencies’ rules
apply, 42 U.S.C. 6296(b)\(1); to “provide” certain data upon
request, 42 U.S.C. 6296(b)(2); and to “submit information or
reports to the Secretary,” 42 U.S.C. 6296(d). Because Section
6297(a)(1)(B) cross-references Section 6294, and because the
terms “disclose” and “disclosure” are used in Section 6294 but
not in Section 6296, Section 6297(a)(1)’s reference to state
regulations governing “disclosure of information” is most
naturally read as limited to state laws that are of the same
character as Section 6294—.¢., state labeling directives. See
Pet. App. 7a; compare Commissioner v. Lundy, 516 US. 235,
250 (1996) (“The interrelationship and close proximity of these
provisions of the statute presents a classic case for application
of the normal rule of statutory construction that identical
words used in different parts of the same act are intended to
have the same meaning.”) (citations and internal quotation
marks omitted).

8

b. Although the EPCA reflects Congress’s determination
that energy conservation is a matter of national concern, the
statute also contemplates that States will play an important
role in this area. See 42 U.S.C. 6321(a)(1) and (2) (congressio-
nal findings). In particular, States are encouraged to develop
energy-conservation plans, see 42 U.S.C. 6322, which may
include “programs to promote energy efficiency in residential

housing” through such measures as “the adoption of incen-
tives for builders, utilities, and mortgage lenders to build,
service, or finance energy efficient housing,” 42 U.S.C.
6322(d)(8), 6322(d)(8)(B). States and localities are specifically
authorized to adopt building codes that “permit| | a builder to
meet an energy consumption or conservation objective for a
building by selecting items whose combined energy efficien-
cies meet the objective.” 42 U.S.C. 6297(f)(3)(A); see H.R.
Rep. No. 11, 100th Cong., Ist Sess. 39 (1987) (explaining that
Section 6297(f) “allows States flexibility to implement per-
formance-based building code approaches” that “authorize
builders to adjust or trade off the efficiencies of the various
building components so long as an energy goal is met”). As a
practical matter, effective implementation of such building-
code provisions would be substantially impeded if States could
not direct appliance manufacturers to submit energy-effi-
ciency data beyond the information required by Section 6294
and the FTC’s rules to be included on a product’s label.’ Sec-

' Respondents’ brief in the court of appeals explained that, under
California's building code,

~——— builders can get “extra credit” for installing equipment of more-than-
minimum specifications (e.g., a highly efficient air conditioner), and
then “trade off” the extra credit by using more energy in another
part of the building (e.g., reducing the amount of insulation in the
ceiling or increasing the number or size of windows) in a way that
reduces costs or makes the building more attractive to buyers. If
states were unable to require manufacturers to submit relevant data,

Y

tion 6297(a)(1) should not be construed in such a manner that
it hinders state efforts to implement energy-conservation
programs that are affirmatively encouraged by other provi-
sions of the EPCA.
¢c. The court of appeals’ construction of the EPCA term
“disclosure” is also consistent with the longstanding position
of the FTC. In comments submitted during an FTC rule-
making conducted in 1989, the State of New York urged the
FTC to require manufacturers of covered lamp-ballast prod-
ucts to submit energy usage data to the Commission. 54 Fed.
Reg. 28,032. As one reason for that request, the State ex-
pressed concern that the FTC's failure to require submission
of those data could preclude the State from mandating compa-
rable submissions. The State explained that 42 U.S.C.
6297(a)(1)(B) might be construed to “preempt state regula-
tions that require the reporting of information concerning the
energy use or efficiency of covered products other than infor-
mation required to be reported pursuant to § 305.8 of the Com-
mission’s Appliance Labeling Rule [16 C.F.R. 305.8).” 54 Fed.
Reg. at 28,032.
In response, the FTC expressed the view that
the most logical and reasonable reading of [42 U.S.C.
6297(a)(1)(B)| is that it does not preempt the states from
requiring ballast manufacturers to report energy usage
and efficiency information. This section of EPCA applies
to the preemption of state testing and labeling require-
ments. Consequently, when this section states that it pre-
empts state disclosure regulations that differ from the
Rule’s disclosure requirements, it is referring to testing

it would be very difficult to make the calculations necessary to
implement the trade-offs.

Resp. CLA. Br. 30-51 (citations omitted).

10

and disclosures on a covered product labei, not to
information-reporting requirements.

Id. at 28,0233. As the court of appeals explained, the reading
of 42 U.S.C. 6297(a)(1)(B) espoused in the 1989 preamble is
also consistent with the text of the FTC's current EPCA reg-
ulations, which “use ‘disclosure’ to refer to consumer-directed
labeling and ‘submission’ to refer to data-submittal to a gov-
ernment entity.” Pet. App. 8a n.5.'

d. The history of 42 U.S.C. 6297(a)(1) confirms that the
provision in its current form does not restrict the States’ au-
thority to require manufacturers of covered appliances to
submit energy-related data to state regulatory bodies. As
originaliy enacted in 1975, Section 6297(a)(1) provided that
any state regulation requiring “the disclosure of information
with respect to any measure of energy consumption of any
covered product” was preempted “if there is a rule under
section 6294 of this title |i.e., an FTC labeling rule] applicable
to such covered product and such State regulation requires
disclosure of information other than information disclosed in

' The preemption theory hypothesized by the State of New York in its
comments during the 1980 FTC rulemaking was significantly narrower than
petitioners’ own theory. New York expressed concern that States might be
preempted from requiring lamp-ballast manufacturers to report energy -
efficiency data beyond the information that manufacturers were required
to submit te the FTC pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 6296 and 16 C.F_R. 305.8, See
+1 Fed. Reg. at 28,032. Under petitioners’ reading of the statute, by con-
trast, States could not require the submission of energy-efficiency informa-
tion beyond what is required to be included on the product /abe! under 412
U.S.C. 6294 and 16. C.F.R. 305.11. During the 1989 rulemaking, the FTC
stated that, because the Commission was amending 16 C.F R. 305.8 to
require ballast manufacturers to submit data to the FTC, the preemption
issue raised by New York was “largely moot.” 34 Fed. Reg. at 28,033. If
petitioners’ preemption theory were correct, however, the requirement that
such data be previded to the FTC would not eliminate the barrier to a com-
parable state data-submission requirement.

ll

accordance with such rule under section 6294 of this title.” 42
U.S.C. 6297(a)(1), 6297(a)(1)(B) (1976) (emphasis added). The
italicized language strongly indicates that the preemptive
effect of Section 6297(a)(1) in its original form was limited to
state labeling requirements, since there would have been no
apparent reason for Congress to make the preemption of state
data-submission laws contingent on the FTC’s promulgation
of a /abeling rule for a particular covered product.

In 1987, the NAECA amended 42 U.S.C. 6297(a)(1) in a
manner that raises the question, discussed at pp. 12-14¢ infra,
whether that provision in its current form makes the preemp-
tion of state law requiring “disclosure” of specified informa;
Lion contingent on the existence of a federal labeling require-
ment. See 42 U.S.C. 6297(a)(1) (1988). That amendment may
affect the preemption analysis when a State seeks to establish
labeling requirements for a covered product as to which there
is no federal regulation imposing labeling requirements. See
pp. 12-14, infra. But whatever the correct answer to that
question, neither the text nor the history of the NAECA sug-
gests that Congress intended to alter the meaning of the pre-
existing statutory term “disclosure,” or to expand the pre-
emptive scope of Section 6297(a)(1) to encompass state data-
submission as well as labeling requirements. To the contrary,
the Senate Report accompanying the NAECA stated that the
amended version of Section 6297(a)(1) “essentially restates
existing law, and provides that the Act supersedes State and
local regulations regarding testing and /abeling in certain
cases.” S. Rep. No. 6, 100th Cong., Ist Sess. 9 (1987) (empha-
sis added).

2. -Petitioners contend (Pet. 17-19) that 42 U.S.C.
6297(a)(1) preempts Cal. Code Regs. tit. 20, § 1607(b) and (c),
“which require appliances to be labeled with the manufac-
turer's name, brand name, or trademark; the appliance’s
model number; and {the appliance’s| date of manufacture.”

12

Pet. App. 13a; see id. at 13a nn. 7 & 8. That argument lacks
merit. The preemptive scope of Section 6297(a)(1) is limited
to state regulations that “provide|| * * * for the disclosure
of information with respect to any measure of energy con-
sumption or water use of any covered product.” 42 U.S.C.
6297(a)(1) (emphasis added). The italicized language does not
encompass the routine product information required by Cal.
Code Regs. tit. 20, § 1607(b) and (c), which has no inherent
connection to a measure of “energy consumption” or “water
use”—terms that are themselves defined by the EPCA, as the
court of appeals explained. See Pet. App. 14a-l5a & n.9.

Petitioners’ preemption argument is based on the fact that
the markings required by Cal. Code Regs. tit. 20, § 1607(b)
and (c) are used in part to facilitate the implementation of
energy-conservation programs adopted by the State of Cali-
fornia. See Pet. 18. The language of 42 U.S.C. 6297(a)(1),
however, does not support petitioners’ view that the preemp-
tion analysis turns on the nature or purposes of the underly-
ing state regulatory scheme. In Section 6297(a)(1), the phrase
“with respect to any measure of energy consumption or water
use of any covered product” does not modify “State regula-
tion.” Rather, the phrase modifies “information.” The word-
ing of Section 6297(a)(1) thus indicates that its preemptive
effect depends upon the nature of the information required to
be disclosed, not on the purposes for which disclosure is re-
quired. Standing alone, a product marking that identifies the
manufacturer, model number, and date of manufacture of a
covered appliance communicates nothing about the amount of
energy or water that will be consumed in the product’s opera-
tion. The data mandated by Cal. Code Regs. tit. 20, § 1607(b)
and (c) therefore do not constitute “information with respect
to any measure of energy consumption or water use.”

3. The final state regulatory provision at issue here re-
quires that energy-performance information be marked on

13

certain industrial and commercial appliances for which no
federal labeling requirements exist. See Cal. Code Regs. tit.
20, § 1607(d)(2); Pet. App. 17a. The court of appeals held that
those state regulatory provisions are not preempted because,
there being no federal labeling requirement in effect for those
products, the California regulatory scheme “does not require
the disclosure of information that is ‘other than information
required’ under federal law.” /d. at 16a. Petitioners chal-
lenge that holding, contending (Pet. 19) that because the fed-
eral labeling regulations do not vet require any information
concerning those appliances to be disclosed, the state require-
ment necessarily mandates a “disclosure of information” that
is “other than information required” by the EPCA. See Pet.
App. 22a (Noonan, J., dissenting) (“Where there are no fed-
eral regulations on the subject because the DOE has not pro-
mulgated any regulations, then any state regulations are
‘other than’ those federally required.”). Moreover, Congress's
deletion in 1987 of statutory language that had unambiguously
limited Section 6297(a)(1)'’s preemptive effect to situations in
which a federal labeling rule existed (see pp. 10-11, supra)
might suggest that no such limitation was intended.

There is some force to those points. On the other hand,
Section 6297(a)(1)(B)'s reference to information “other than
information required under” federal law might be read as
making the existence of an applicable federal regulation under
which disclosure of information in labeling js required a pre-
condition for preemption to be triggered for the particular
product, and as manifesting Congress's intent that state law
will be preempted only when such regulations exist. In any
event, this aspect of the Ninth Circuit's decision does not war-
rant further review. Petitioners identify no other judicial
decision that has construed 42 U.S.C. 6297(a)(1), let alone a
decision that has applied Section 6297(a)(1) to appliances for
which no federal labeiing rule exists. And because petitioners

14

identify no other State that has adopted regulations compara-
ble to Cal. Code Regs. tit. 20, § 1607(d)(2), the court of ap-
peals’ ruling does not oblige petitioners to comply with incon-
sistent marking requirements in different parts of the coun-
try. There is consequently no sound reason to regard the
narrow question presented here as an issue of substantial
legal or practical importance.

Until the EPCA’s amendment by the NAECA in 1987, the
preemptive effect of Section 6297(a)(1) was unambiguously
limited to covered products for which a federal labeling rule
existed. See pp. 10-11, 13, supra. Whatever the impact of the
1987 amendment on the ultimate preemption question, there
is no suggestion in the legislative history that the amendment
responded to significant practical concerns. To the contrary,
the 1987 Senate Report blandly described the amended ver-
sion of Section 6297(a)(1) as “essentially restat{ing| existing
law.” S. Rep. No. 6, supra, at 9; see p. 11, supra. Even as-
suming, arguendo, that the actual effect (whether intended or
unintended) of the NAECA amendments was to expand Sec-
tion 6297(a)(1)’s preemptive scope to encompass appliances
for which no federal labeling rule has been promulgated, the
background of that modification reinforces the conclusion that
the application of Cal. Code Regs. tit. 20, § 1607(d)(2) does not
present a question of such substantial importance as to merit
the Court’s review.

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Consistent With Engine
Manufacturers Association vy. South Coast Air Quality Man-
agement District, 541 U.S. 246 (2004)

Contrary to petitioners’ contention (Pet. 11-14), the court
of appeals’ ruling in this case does not conflict with this
Court’s recent decision in Engine Manufacturers Ass'n v.
South Coast Air Quality Management District, 541 U.S. 246
(2004) (EMA). The federal statute that was given preemptive

15

effect in EMA, and the state-law requirements that were
found to be preempted, are wholly distinct from the federal
and state laws at issue here. Far from being “indistinguish-
able” (Pet. 13), the two cases have little in common beyond the
facts that both arose in the Ninth Circuit and that both in-
volved the construction of express preemption provisions.

Petitioners contend (Pet. 11, 13) that the manner in which
the court of appeals applied a presumption against preemp-
tion reflected an “interpretive methodology” that this Court
in EMA rejected. This Court in EMA, however, did not either
invoke or reject a presumption against preemption or em-
brace any particular articulation of such a presumption; it
simply held that, in light of the clarity of the relevant statu-
tory text, the determination whether such a presumption ap-
plied would “demonstrably make{ | no difference to resolution
of the principal question” in the case. 541 U.S. at 256. Nor
was the court of appeals’ methodology in this case inconsis-
tent with EMA in other respects. To the contrary, the court
below carefully analyzed the relevant EPCA language, noting,
inter alia, that the phrase “disclosure of information” should
be given the same meaning in different parts of the statute.
Pet. App. 7a-8a. The Ninth Circuit’s reliance on that interpre-
tive principle was fully consistent with EMA, in which this
Court observed that the meaning of the term “standard” in
the preemption provision of the Clean Air Act (CAA) was
elucidated by “Congress's use of the term in another portion
of the CAA.” 541 U.S. at 254.

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Application Of A Presumption
Against Preemption Of State Law Raises No Issue That In-
dependently Warrants This Court's Review

Petitioners urge this Court to grant review to clarify the
circumstances under which courts should apply a presumption

16

against preemption of state law. See Pet. 14-21. That claim
is misconceived,

1. As petitioners recognize, this Court's decisions make
clear that a presumption against preemption (i) applies in “a
field which the States have traditionally occupied,” Pet. 14
(quoting Buckman Co. v. Plaintiffs’ Legal Comm., 531 U.S.
341, 347 (2001)), and (ii) does not apply “when the State regu-
lates in an area where there has been a history of significant
federal presence,” Pet. 15 (quoting United States v. Locke,
529 U.S. 89, 108 (2000)). Thus, despite petitioners’ extrava-
gant assertion (Reply Br. 3 n.1) that the question presented
here “potentially governs the preemptive effect of every fed-
eral statute,” the ultimate thrust of petitioners’ argument is
much more modest. Petitioners’ core contentian is that re-
view is warranted to consider the applicability of a presump-
tion against preemption when Congress legislates in a field
that has not traditionally been regulated either by the federal
government or by the States.

In the first place, it is not clear that abstract differences
in the formulation or application of a presumption against
preemption would justify plenary review in the absence of a
concrete split in authority on the preemptive force of a partic-
ular statute. This Court has generally made its statements
about a presumption for or against preemption—much as it
has made statements about other principles of statutory
construction—in the context of cases that independently mer-
ited the Court’s review. When the lower courts have dis-
agreed about the preemptive force of 4 particular federal stat-
ute, that disagreement may provide a basis for clarifying the
relevant presumption in a concrete context in which courts
have come to differing conclusions. But any difference be-
tween the formulation of the presumption in one setting and
its articulation in a discrete statutory context does not merit
the Court’s review.

17

2. Even assuming, arguendo, that the EPCA operates in
a field that has traditionally been free from both state and
federal regulation (compare Pet. 15 with Br. in Opp. 7), the
question of what presumption applies in that context does not
merit this Court's review. A number of the Court’s decisions
have treated a tradition of state regulation in the relevant
field as a factor warranting a presumption against preemp-
tion. See, e.g., Medtronic, Ince. v. Lohr, 518 UsS. 470, 485
(1996). The Court has not held, however, that the absence of
such a tradition would necessarily render such a presumption
inappropriate.

Since issuing its decision in Medtronic, this Court has
identified two related settings in which there is no presump-
tion against preemption. The first consists of areas, such as
the regulation of national and international maritime com-
merce, “where there has heen a history of significant federal
presence.” Locke, 529 U.S. at 108. The second involves state
attempts to police the “relationship between a federal agency
and the entity it regulates.” Buckman, 531 U.S. at 347 (find-
ing state-law claim for fraud on the Food and Drug Adminis-
tration to be preempted). The instant case does not involve
either of those situations.

This Court’s refusal to apply a presumption against pre-
emption when States regulate matters that are “inherently
federal in character” (Buckman, 531 U.S. at 347) does not
necessarily suggest that there is no such presumption in fields
lacking any tradition of state or federal regulation. Most sig-
nificantly, petitioners identify o case in which the Court has
declined to apply a presumption against preemption solely on
the ground that the relevant sphere of conduct had not tradi-
tionally been regulated by the States. Absent any decision by
this Court actually adopting the rule that petitioners advo-
cate, there is no basis for petitioners’ contention that the

18

court of appeals’ reliance on a presumption against preemp-
tion conflicts with the Court's precedents.

3. Petitioners’ claim of a cireuit conflict is mistaken for
essentially the same reason. The court of appeals decisions on
which petitioners rely fall into two basic categories. Some of
those decisions hold, in accordance with this Court's decision
in Locke, that a presumption against preemption does not
apply in an area where there has been a history of significant
federal presence.’ Because petitioners do not contend that
the instant case implicates a longstanding tradition of federal
regulation, those decisions are inapposite.

Other decisions cited by petitioners simply apply a pre-
sumption against preemption in areas traditionally regulated
by the States.” Contrary to petitioners’ suggestions (Pet. 16;

See (1S, lune. v. Flores-Galarza, 318 F Ad 324, 336 (st Cir. 2008) (“No
presumption against preemption is appropriate in this case because of
Congress's significant—and undisputed—presence in the field of air trans-
portation.”); Wachovia Bank, N_A. v. Burke, 14 F.3d 305, 314 (2d Cir,
2005) (declining to apply a presumption against preemption in case involv-
ing federally chartered banks on the ground that regulation of such banks
has historically been the province of the federal government), petition for
cert. pending, No, 05-431 (filed Sept. 30, 2005); Forest Park Il vy. Hadley,
3365 F 3d 724, 728-730, 732 (8th Cir. 2005) (detailing the decades-long history
of federal affordable-housing loans and declining to apply a presumption
against preemption to a state law that purportedly “regulate|d| or res-
trictied| the actions of the federal government under its own federal pro-
gram” with respect to such a loan).

" See Cliff v. Payco General Am. Credits, Lue. 3608 F Ad 1118, 1125 11th
Cir. 2004) (applying a presumption against preemption to a state law invelv-
ing consumer protection, “a field traditionally regulated by the states”);
Massachusetts v. United States Dept of Transp., 9 F 3d 890, 894 (D.C. Cir.
1) (applying a presumption against preemption to a state law regulating
“how waste may be picked up or dropped off in a state.” which “must be
thought an area of traditional state control”); Bronco Wine Co. ¥. Jolly, %
P Sd 422, 429 (Cal. 2004) (“After extensively reviewing the history of state
regulation of beverage and wine labels prior to Congress's adoption of the
FAA Act in 1995—a history that reveals substantial state involvement and

19

Reply Br. 4), the appellate courts’ consistent recognition that
a tradition of state regulation s#pports application of a pre-
sumption against preemption does not logically imply that
such a tradition is a vecessary condition for applying such a
presumption.’ Because petitioners identify no case in which
a court of appeals has declined to apply a presumption against
preemption based solely on the absence of a longstanding
state regulatory presence in the relevant field, petitioners’
claim of a circuit conflict is unfounded.

Moreover, as explained above (see pp. 6-14, supra), the
court of appeals’ decision concerning the preemptive scope of
Section 6297(a)(1) does not warrant review. This case there-
fore would not in any event be an appropriate vehicle for con-
sidering any variation in the formulation or application of a
presumption against preemption in different settings.

very little federal regulation—we conclude that a presumption against pre
emption does indeed apoly in this case.”), cert. denied, +44 US, 922 (2005),

In (PS, the First Cireuit stated in dictum that a presumption against
preemption “only arises * * * if Congress legislates in a field traditionally
necupied by the states.” 318 F.3d at 336. The First Cireuit further ex
plained, however, that “[njo presumption against preemption is appropriate
in this case because of Congress'y significant—and undisputed— presence
in the field of air transportation.” /hid. That rationale ts fully consistent

with the cotirt of appeals’ decision in the instant case.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
Peter D. KeisLer
Assistant Attorney General
EDWIN 8S. KNEEDLER
Deputy Solicitor General

MALCOLM L. STEWART
Assistant to the Solicitor
General

JONATHAN LEVY
Attorney

MAY 2006

No. 05-331

Iu the
Supreme Court of the United States

AIR CONDITIONING & REFRIGERATION INSTITUTE ef al,
Petitioners,

Vv.

ENERGY RESOURCES CONSERVATION AND

DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF FOR ALLIANCE OF AUTOMOBILE
MANUFACTURERS, AMERICAN PETROLEUM
INSTITUTE, ASSOCIATION OF INTERNATIONAL
AUTOMOBILE MANUFACTURERS, ENGINE
MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION, NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF MANUFACTURERS, AND THE
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED
STATES OF AMERICA AS AMICI CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF THE PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

KENNETH W. STARR

Counsel of Record
STUART A.C. DRAKE
ASHLEY C. PARRISH
KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP
655 Fifteenth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 879-5000

Attorneys for the Amici Curiae

October 14, 2005
ee Se cee TN I RL RN CR OI RS RN
WILSON-EPES Prinvina Co., Inc. — (202) 789-0096 — WasnincTow. D.C. 20001

Additional counsel:

JOHN WHATLEY HARRY M. NG
’ General Counsel General Counsel
JULIE C. BECKER JANICE K. RABURN
Assistant General Counsel Senior Attorney
ALLIANCE OF AUTOMOBILE AMERICAN PETROLEUM
MANUFACTURERS INSTITUTE
1401 Eye Street, N.W. 1220 L Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005 Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 326-5511 (202) 682-8253
ELLEN J. GLEBERMAN RoBIN S. CONRAD
_ Vice President & General AMAR D. SARWAL
Counsel NATIONAL CHAMBER

ASSOCIATION OF INTERNATIONAL _—_ LITIGATION CENTER, INC.
AUTOMOBILE MANUFACTURERS 1615 H. Street N.W.

2111 Wilson Boulevard Washington, D.C. 20062

Suite 1150 (202) 463-5337

Arlington, VA 2220!

(703) 525-7788

JAN S. AMUNDSON TIMOTHY A. FRENCH
Senior Vice President & General NEAL, GERBER &
Counsel EISENBERG LLP
QUENTIN RIEGEL Two N. LaSalle Street
Vice President, Litigation & Suite 2200
Deputy General Counsel Chicago, IL 60602
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF (312) 269-5670
MANUFACTURERS

1331 Pennsylvania Ave, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 637-3000

QUESTION PRESENTED

The Energy Policy and Conservation Act of 1975, as
amended, sets energy and water-use efficiency standards for
appliances, and expressly preempts “any State regulation
(that] provides at any time for the disclosure of information
with respect to any measure of energy consumption or water
use” that differ from federal requirements. 42 U.S.C.
§§ 6297, 6316. Applying an unprecedented form of the
presumption against preemption, the Ninth Circuit held in
this case that California regulations requiring detailed
energy-information disclosures by manufacturers to state
regulators are not preempted because such disclosures are not
“directed to consumers at point of sale or use.”

The question presented is whether the Ninth Circuit
correctly applied the presumption against preemption in
letting stand California’s strategic attempt to nullify
Congress’s express preemption of _ state-disclosure
requirements.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED o2cc.sccccsccccccccocicscssssesvevesesssseveenseeeeeve i
TAMBLEE OP AMSTORORET IG csciscciccccccccecseecrccrcocicensonecoscconcnsovoron i
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE .cesvsscssvsesessesssscsesvssssvesssessesensesien
RS a ie Re ee 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......sessssvcesevesssssssevsoe 5

A. The Decision Below Conflicts With This
I 5

B. There Is Confusion Among The Courts Of
Appeals Over When The Presumption Against

Preemption Should Apply. .......::<-coccsrsesssosesssesessooeees 9
Cc. The Question Presented Is A Recurring One
Of Exceptional Public Importance. ....................000. 11

RG ANID crctaccsseierdctnciapiniviclinsdttaninicisiansineniecaninioindenecictatn 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ;
Page(s) |
Cases
BankWest, Inc. v. Baker,
411 F.3d 1289 (11th Cir, 2005S)...........:cccccccerseereees 10
Bates v. Dow Agrosciences LLC,
le is TS CD tcosecertiiiceviciviamesemessvisvenestedic’ 8
Buckman Co. v. Plaintiffs Legal Committee, ‘
Ps PD ED cacencncvencnateintsnedeestsecteanesobeasie 8, 16
Cippolone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,
UREN Ms UNE UU cccuiciectinsencedeticneninenseninesattiiepehodpipi 8
CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood,
aes Pe CPST peecccisnctnieicpccienrpienanineiesceniiinls 6,7
Donovan v. Dewey,
I re MU IPO P sanctcincscthaccecibpsenbstteetobenensescsiiets 13 |
Engine Mfrs. Ass'n v.
South Coast Air Quality Mgmt. Dist.,
EE Sees PE PED ccnnidhcloneentocsotelnetesseosoiieness 5,7, 14
English v. General Elec. Co.,
ee Fe eoprcetinnisoriditincnaiccscsiecgnintpielaniidens 12
Flagg v. Yonkers Sav. & Loan Ass'n,
396 F.3d 178 (2d Cir. 2005)............ setainidednieidnvchiits 9
- Forest Park Il v. Hadley,
Fae Fe FAO Goes Ge BOE Pctcercoccscccevescescansocssoviees a
Frank Bros., Inc. v. Wisconsin Dep't of Transp.,
409 F.3d 880 (7th Cir. 2005)......cccccccoresrrsoererersoeees 10

Free v. Bland,
ee ey CP CURD seccindtincctciacvontdinsitheinsebadsanittesien 7

Gadda v. Ashcroft,

377 F.3d 934 (9th Cir. 2004) .0.....ccccccececescereseeseenees 1}
Gade v. Nat'l Solid Wastes Mgmt. Ass'n,

a TI nis enticrnenstihcnciitileninainiaandinsilitiaian 7
Gibbons v. Ogden,

Er 7
Lorillard Tobacco Co. vy. Reilly,

ie ef, earners 14
Lynbrook Farms v. Smithkiine Beecham Corp.,

79 F.3d 620 (7th Cir. 1996)......<.cccecseveseecersrseserserees 10
Metropolitan Ins. Co. v. Pettit,

164 F.3d 857 (4th Cir. 1998) .000..cccccccceeccceeeeeeeeees 10
Natural Res. Def. Council, Inc. v. Harrington,

768 F.2d 1355 (D.C. Cir, 1985) .........cccccccccescereeeeeees 8
Norfolk S. Ry. Co. v. Shanklin,

RR ees 14

Public Util. Dist. No. 1 of Grays
Harbor Cty. Wash. v. IDACORP. Inc.,

379 F.3d 641 (Sth Cir. 2004) 000... cccceccccceceeeceeees 1]
Rodriguez v. United States,

Oe RS SE BPS 16
Saul v. United States,

928 F.2d 829 (Sth Cir. 1991) ...0......ccccecccccceesceeeneees 10
Sprietsma v. Mercury Marine,

gE NRE EY rene 6
United Parcel Service, Inc. v. Flores-Galarza,

so ek RE 9,10

United States v. Locke,
RE 7

iv
Walker v. Armco Steel Corp.,
GAG EE, Fee Ce crcteerctencernnittgcinencn 14

Wisconsin Dep't of Revenue v.
William Wrigley, Jr., Co.,

Fe eee Be cncvtirnnencnnininnaitieninapemminminies 6
Statutes and Rules
OF te Se CeO rcttciesertnenseennsvecitnenicnstticeprinicanntesonadion 14
y Ie Toe | vasieliveeniidgantlaatalegeiaaneadi 15
GB ULB, Bee ccetecttristetentinvinnintiasitniattinnictatmenen 15
ee ae Oe I cccenescensiicitaniattninttiininieidatinedishpialets 6
ae Be cererececnsntcinntnraniiovintininnsieisictintintistimannins 6
42 U.S.C. § 6297.......... siechuibebipemedtaneiaaetseiadieieaniiing 3, 6,7
re Ie cxcititcrnincintnintinnetasinnticinnintimniciduiagaiiens 3
pf eS FR eres anne wee 15
GO GB. © eee ceterttterrttitinmemnitiiiininniene 15
gk a es ee 15
I es I OR ceincieiitiienigitctecesiteitieeaienstiiecabailipcnlintiniatind 15
Cal. Code Regs. Tit. 20 (2005).............ccccccccceeseseeeereees 3,4
Other Authorities
Carrier, Michael K..,

Federal Preemption of Common Law Tort

Awards By The Federal Food, Drug, and

Cosmetic Act,

51 Foop & Druc LJ. 509 (1996)... ee. 12

Dinh, Viet D,
Reassessing the Law of Preemption,
Ee ne 14

Vv
H.R. 1684, 109th Cong, (2005) 0.00.0... :cccccceeseeeseeeerenes 13
H.R. 2172, 107th Cong. (2001)........... sihiisaiteasitdeiasiul 13
| 3,12
Nelson, Caleb,

Preemption, 86 VA. L. REV. 225 (2000) .........:0000 14
SB. 442, ISSR Came, CISGG) ecccccvsscccsscsscesscsrssvervsaeiesonens 13

Tb ig RE ae ER 7

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

Amici and their members represent an array of industries
that manufacture and market products for sale in the global
marketplace. Because amici and their members are regulated
under the Energy Policy and Conservation Act of 1975
(“EPCA”), Pub. L. No. 94-163 (1975), they have a direct
interest in the issues raised here concerning the proper scope
and effect of the EPCA’s express preemption provisions.
They also have a general interest in the interpretation and
application of federal statutes establishing uniform regulation
and in determining the proper relationship of those statutes to
state laws and regulations applied to the same matters. Amici
believe that California's burdensome disclosure requirements
are squarely inconsistent with the federal scheme established
by Congress providing for uniform, national regulation of
energy-consuming products sold nationwide. They also
believe that the Ninth Circuit's decision misapplies the
presumption against preemption, is not faithful to the plain
language of the EPCA’s express preemption provisions, and
is directly in conflict with this Court's settled precedents.

ALLIANCE OF AUTOMOBILE MANUFACTURERS. The
Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, Inc. is a non-profit
trade association comprised of nine car and light truck
manufacturers. The Alliance has mo parent company,
subsidiaries, or affiliates that have issued shares to the public.

AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE. The American
Petroleum Institution is a non-profit national trade
association for the U.S. oil and natural gas industry. API's

1 Both petitioners and respondents have consented to the filing of this
brief in letters that are on file in the Clerk's office. Pursuant to S. Ct. R.
37.6, amici state that no counsel for a party authored any part of this
brief, and no person or entity other than amici, their members, or their
counsel made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submussion of
this brief.

2

more than 400 member companies are engaged in al) aspects
of the oi] and natural gas industry, including exploration,
production, transportation, refining, distribution and
marketing. API has no parent company, subsidiaries, or
affiliates that have issued shares to the public.

ASSOCIATION OF INTERNATIONAL AUTOMOBILE
MANUFACTURERS. The Association of International
Automobile Manufacturers is a non-profit trade association
representing international manufacturers and distributors of
motor vehicles. ALAM has no parent company, subsidiaries,
or affiliates that have issued shares to the public.

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA. The Chamber of Commerce is the world’s largest
business federation, representing an underlying membership
of more than three million businesses, state and local
chambers of commerce, and professional organizations.
Chamber members operate in every sector of the economy
and transact business throughout the United States. The
Chamber has participated as amicus curiae in several
hundred cases before this Court, including numerous cases
addressing the subject of federal preemption.

ENGINE MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION. The Engine
Manufacturers Association is a not-for-profit trade
association that represents the leading manufacturers of
internal combustion engines used in most medium-duty and
heavy-duty vehicles, as well as in marine vessels,
locomotives, and lawn, garden and utility equipment. EMA
has no corporate parents, subsidiaries, or affiliates, and no
publicly traded company has a ten percent or greater
ownership interest in EMA.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MANUFACTURERS. The
National Association of Manufacturers is the nation’s largest
industrial trade association, representing small and large
manufacturers in every industrial sector and in all SO States.
NAM’s mission is to enhance the competitiveness of

3

manufacturers by shaping a legislative and regulatory
environment conducive to U.S. economic growth and to
increase understanding among policymakers, the media, and
the general public about the vital role of manufacturing to
America’s economic future and living standards. NAM has
no parent company, subsidiaries, or affiliates that have issued

shares to the public.
a

INTRODUCTION

Congress has enacted comprehensive federal legislation
governing energy efficiency standards for appliances and
industrial equipment. In so doing, the Article | branch has
expressed its specific intent to displace state law. The
Energy Policy and Conservation Act, as amended, contains
express preemption provisions that preempt “any State
regulation [that] ... provides at any time for the disclosure of
information with respect to amy measure of energy
consumption or water use” that differ from federal
requirements. 42 U.S.C. § 6297(a)(1) (emphasis added), see
id. §6316. The preemption provisions are broadly framed,
for Congress recognized that a successful national energy
efficiency policy required that it “protect the appliance
industry from having to comply with a patchwork of
numerous conflicting State requirements,” H.R. Rep. No.
100-11, at 24, and “bring a degree of regulatory ... certainty
to the business planning of the appliance industry.” /d. at 28. —

California nonetheless seeks to nullify Congress’s
express preemption provisions and impose its own set of
energy efficiency disclosure requirements on American
businesses. Specifically, California has promulgated
regulations that ban federally covered appliances from sale in
the State unless manufacturers disclose extensive, detailed
energy-efficiency information to California regulators. See
Cal. Code Regs. Tit. 20 §§ 1606-1608 (2005). Likewise, the
regulations mandate the inclusion of labels and other
markings on appliances sold in California not required under

4

federal law. See id. § 1607. In briefing below, California
emphasized its view that state-mandated disclosures, beyond
those required by federal law, are “essential to the goal of
saving energy.” Appellants’ Opening Br. 8-9. And it noted
that the information collected by California regulators is
“used daily by ... government agencies, consumers, building
officials, energy researchers, utility program managers,
manufacturers, and even other major appliance databases.”
Id.

As Judge Noonan explained in his dissent below,
California’s regulations are piecisely the type of state
regulations that Congress intended to prohibit under the
EPCA’s express preemption provisions. See Pet. App. 21a.
The Ninth Circuit panel majority, however, reached the
opposite result. Emphasizing California’s view that its
regulations serve “laudable” goals, the court employed an
unprecedented “presumption against preemption” as
justification for rewriting the plain text that Congress crafted.
In particular, the panel majority narrowly construed the
EPCA’s preemptive scope, holding that the words
“disclosure of information” refer only to “consumer-directed
labeling at point of sale or use.” Pet. App. 12a. And it
imposed other strained narrowing constructions in order to
save California's regulatory scheme.

For reasons set forth below, the Ninth Circuit manifestly
erred in letting stand California’s strategic regulatory attempt
to nullify the EPCA’s command that the States may not
interfere with the uniform federal regulatory scheme
governing energy efficiency disclosures. This Court should
not tolerate this affront to federal law.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0202%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
