# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Garamendi v. Gerling Global Reinsurance Corp. of America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0151%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 978

## Text

5

for the insurers and directed that summary judgment be
granted for the Commissioner on all the insurers’ claims
for relief. As such, the Ninth Circuit ruled that the insur-
ers were not “prevailing parties” for purposes of Section
1988, and accordingly held that the insurers were not
entitled to fees. Gerling II, 296 F.3d at 851.

The insurers, supported by the federal government as
amicus, petitioned this Court for a writ of certiorari,
contending that the HVIRA was unconstitutional because
it (i) interfered with the federal governmert’s exercise of
its power over foreign affairs, (ii) violated due process, and
(iii) violated the Commerce Clause. The insurers did not
petition this Court for review of the Ninth Circuit’s dispo-
sition of their other constitutional claims or the attorneys’
fees issue.

This Court granted certiorari on all three questions
presented, but issued a decision on June 23, 2003, holding
only that the HVIRA was preempted because it conflicted
with the federal government's foreign policy initiatives
directed to Holocaust-related insurance claims. Gara-
mendi, 539 U.S. at 401.’ Because this Court disposed of
the case on foreign affairs preemption grounds, this Court
expressly did not address the due process and Commerce
Clause claims. Jd. at 413 n.7.

* Even so, this Court's majority acknowledged that there were
“powerful arguments” made as to why the HVIRA's approach would
work better than the Executive Branch’s approach, and that the
HVIRA'’s approach might be “the preferable policy” were it not for
consideration of other issues involving this country’s relations with its
European allies. Garamendi, 539 U.S. at 427. Four Justices dissented
and voted to affirm the Ninth Circuit's judgment and uphold the
HVIRA. Id. at 430-443.

6

Following the insurers’ success on their foreign affairs
preemption claim in this Court, they again moved for
attorneys’ fees pursuant vo Section 1988. The Ninth
Circuit transferred the question of fees to the district
court, which again ruled that the insurers were not enti-
tled to fees. App., infra, 20-26. The district court correctly
found that the preemption of the HVIRA by the federal
government's exercise of its foreign affairs power did not
implicate a right, privilege or immunity recognized by
Section 1983 so as to support a Section 1988 fee award.
App., infra, 24-26. The district court also correctly found
that even though the Commerce Clause and Due Process
Clause might be bases for a Section 1983 claim, the
insurers had not prevailed on either of those claims
because the Ninth Circuit had already held that the
HVIRA did not violate those constitutional provisions.
App., infra, 26. The district court recognized that this
Court expressly had not considered or decided the Com-
merce Clause or due process issues. App., infra, 24.

The insurers appealed the district court’s denial of
their fees to the Ninth Circuit, which reversed. Gerling
Global Reinsurance Corp. of Am. v. Garamendi, 400 F.3d
803 (9th Cir. 2005), rehearing denied, as amended, 410
F.3d 531 (9th Cir. 2005) (“Gerling III”). App., infra, 1-19.
The Ninth Circuit held that although the insurers had not
prevailed on their due process and Commerce Clause
claims, they were nevertheless entitled to an award of fees
under Section 1988.

7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Ninth Circuit’s unprecedented extension of Maher
permits a plaintiff who litigates and loses his Section 1983
claim on the merits to nevertheless recover fees under
Section 1988. Maher, however, held only that a plaintiff
whose Section 1983 claim was never ruled upon for pru-
dential reasons could under certain circumstances be
assumed to have prevailed on that claim. The Ninth
Circuit’s new rule expanding the availability of attorneys’
fees is an unwarranted departure from the settled
boundaries of Maher, is not supported by the language or
legislative history of Section 1988, conflicts in principle
with the decisions of this Court and others, and will have
distorting effects on Section 1983 litigation. The decision also
impermissibly intrudes on this Court’s certiorari process by
attributing legal significance to this Court’s decision to
grant certiorari on the insurers’ Section 1983 claims and its
subsequent decision not to address those claims.

1. Contrary to the Ninth Circuit’s decision, the
essential predicate for an attorneys’ fee award pursuant to
Section 1988 is prevailing on a Section 1983 claim, and not
simply victory in the case. See Natl Private Truck Council,
Inc. v. Okla. Tax Comm'n, 515 U.S. 582, 592 (1995); ef.
Buckhannon Bd. & Care Home, Inc. v. W. Va. Dep't of
Health & Human Res., 532 U.S. 598, 600 (2001); NOW uv.
Operation Rescue, 37 F.3d 646, 653-654 (D.C. Cir. 1994).
Maher created a limited “prevailing party” assumption for
purposes cf awarding Section 1988 fees. Relying on the
legislative history of Section 1988, this Court held in
Maher that a fee award may be permitted in certain
circumstances, as a matter of fairness, where a plaintiff
has been precluded from obtaining any ruling on his
Section 1983 claim.

8

To qualify for fees under Maher, a plaintiff must
prevail on a non-fee bearing claim that is factually related
to a “substantial” Section 1983 claim that was never
decided for prudential reasons. In those limited circum-
stances, Maher permits courts to assume that the plaintiff
would have prevailed on the Section 1983 claim had the
plaintiff been allowed to litigate that claim to adjudication.

That assumption, however, is not warranted where
the plaintiff has actually litigated, and lost, his Section
1983 claim. Under such circumstances, there is no basis to
support the different assumption that the lower court was
wrong and that the plaintiff would have prevailed in a
higher court on his failed Section 1983 claim had that
court addressed it.

Here, the insurers litigated and lost all of their Sec-
tion 1983 claims in the Ninth Circuit. They ultimately
prevailed in this litigation because this Court ruled in
their favor only on the claim that California was intruding
on the Executive Branch’s conduct of foreign affairs - a
non-fee bearing claim.” Maher does not apply to these
circumstances, and there is no public policy reason for
assuming that a plaintiff has prevailed on a Section 1983
claim where a court has already held that the plaintiff has
not vindicated any Section 1983 right and has instead
determined that no such right exists.

* Judge Graber’s concurring opinion in Gerling II] expressly
recognized that such foreign affairs preemption does not create
individual Section 1983 rights (App., infra, 18), and the Ninth Circuit
panel majority in that decision assumed, but did not decide, the same
thing. App., infra, 9 and 17.

9

Nevertheless, purporting to rely on Maher, the Ninth
Circuit has established a new rule for fee awards that
ignores and makes irrelevant the fact that a plaintiff
litigated and lost his Section 1983 claim. So long as the
plaintiff prevails on a non-fee bearing claim and the failed
Section 1983 claim is “substantial” (i.e., not frivolous) and
“unaddressed” by a reviewing court, the plaintiff will be
assumed to have prevailed on his failed Section 1983 claim
and be entitled to fees under Section 1988. App., infra, 12.
There is no authority for this expansion of Maher; to the
contrary, another court has concluded that Maher does not
warrant a fee award where the plaintiff has lost his
Section 1983 claim in the lower court, and the appellate
court declines to reach the claim. Amer. Auto. Mfrs. Ass'n
v. Cahill, 53 F. Supp. 2d 174, 179-181 (N.D.N_Y. 1999).

In effect, the Ninth Circuit’s new rule creates an
assumption for fee purposes that the lower court that
decided the Section 1983 claim was in error and should be
reversed. Maher, however, did not establish a test for
implicitly reversing lower court decisions. Indeed, the
Ninth Circuit’s unfounded implicit reversal rule cannot be
reconciled with its own recognition that its decisions on
the insurers’ due process and Commerce Clause claims
continue to have precedential value.‘

The Ninth Circuit’s new rule will create significant
mischief in many other cases. By emasculating the “pre-
vailing party” standard for the award of fees, the Ninth
Circuit’s decision will invite and encourage plaintiffs to

* The concurring opinion expressly acknowledged that the Ninth
Circuit's Commerce Clause and due process decisions continue to have
precedential effect (App., infra, 19 n.1), and the majority opinion
implied as much. App., infra, 15.

10

attach meritless Section 1983 claims to routine non-fee
bearing claims (e.g., tort claims), hoping that such claims
can meet the minimal substantiality test (ie., non-
frivolousness) necessary for a fee award even if the plain-
tiff loses those claims.’ If an appellate court declines to
address those failed claims, but the plaintiff prevails on
his state law claim, fees will be awarded pursuant to
Gerling III.

The Ninth Circuit’s rule will also have a chilling effect
on a defendant’s decision whether to appeal in cases raising
state law and Section 1983 claims. Where a defendant has
lost on the state law claim but defeated the Section 1983
claim in the lower court, the defendant may be reluctant to
appeal the adverse state law decision for fear that the
plaintiff will cross-appeal on the Section 1983 claim, the
appellate court will reach only the state law claim, but
fees will nevertheless be awarded based on the Section
1983 claim that the plaintiff lost and the appellate court
never reached.

Neither the language of Section 1988, the legislative
history of that section, the decisions of this Court or
others, nor the public policy underlying the award of fees
to Section 1983 claimants supports the Ninth Circuit’s
decision. The insurers had their clay in court and were not
unfairly deprived of the opportunity to vindicate their
Section 1983 rights. Congress neither said nor intended that
a plaintiff is entitled to a second (or third) determination on
the merits of his Section 1983 claim for purposes of a fee

* The “absence of frivolousness” is “scant protection” for those who
are innocent of any civil rights violations. Buckhannon, 532 US. at 620
n.4 (Scalia, J., concurring).

11

award. The Ninth Circuit misconstrued Maher, and certio-
rari should be granted to clarify the boundaries of a
Section 1988 fee award. Cf. Elder v. Holloway, 510 U.S.
510, 515 and n.3 (1994) (granting certiorari and reversing
the circuit court’s announcement of a new rule of qualified
immunity that misconstrued this Court’s precedent and
that “could have a number of untoward effects”).

2. The Ninth Circuit’s decision also impermissibly
intrudes on this Court’s discretionary review process by
according fee significance to this Court’s grant of certio-
rari. Under Gerling III, this Court’s grant of certiorari on a
Section 1983 claim that the petitioner lost in the court of
appeals in effect reverses that adverse ruling for purposes
of a fee award. According to the Ninth Circuit, so long as
this Court rules in favor of the petitioner on a non-fee
bearing claim and leaves the petitioner’s failed Section
1983 claim “unaddressed,” the plaintiff is assumed to have
prevailed in this Court on that Section 1983 claim for
purposes of awarding fees under Maher. App., infra, 15
and 17.

That result misapprehends and interferes with this
Court’s limited and discretionary review through certio-
rari. That discretionary review means, among other
things, that this Court is not bound to decide issues that it
agrees to hear. The Ninth Circuit’s decision, however,
burdens this Court’s discretion by attaching fee signifi-
cance to the decision to grant certiorari. In this case,
millions of dollars in fees could be awarded to the insurers,
who as a matter of law did not vindicate any Section 1983
rights, simply because this Court granted certiorari on
their failed due process and Commerce Clause claims and
then took no further action with respect to those claims.
That result is contrary to well-settled precedent that

12

affords no weight or legal significance to the grant of

Moreover, this Court’s exercise of its discretionary
review power, by granting certiorari on a Section 1983
claim and then not deciding it, does not implicate Maher
because it does not unfairly deprive a petitioner of an
opportunity to be heard on that claim. Certiorari jurisdic-
tion is used to secure uniformity of decisions or to resolve
important questions of public interest. It is not available
simply to give a litigant another hearing on the merits.
Thus, the policy reasons underlying Maher do not apply to
this Court's certiorari jurisdiction.

If Maher applies, then this Court would (or should)
now take into account the potential fee implications of any
decision to grant certiorari and any subsequent decision
not to address an issue for which it has granted certiorari.
There is no authority for the Ninth Circuit’s expansion of
Maher to these circumstances or its attendant intrusion
into this Court’s discretionary review process.

3. The HVIRA was preempted because it conflicted
with the federal government's expression of foreign policy
on Holocaust-related claims. That expression of foreign
policy did not create individual rights in the insurers that
are enforceable under Section 1983. The fact that the
insurers incidentally benefited from that foreign policy or
had an interest in it is insufficient to create Section 1983
rights. Accordingly, preemption of the HVIRA on foreign
affairs grounds does not provide any basis for an award of
attorneys’ fees pursuant to Section 1988.

°

13

ARGUMENT

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION ERRONE-
OUSLY EXTENDED MAHER TO THIS CASE IN
WHICH THE SECTION 1983 CLAIMS WERE
DECIDED ADVERSELY TO THE INSURERS

Section 1988 permits a court, in its discretion, to
award reasonable attorneys’ fees to a party who prevails
on his Section 1983 claim (i.e., who prevails on his claim
under Section 1983 that he was deprived of a right, privi-
lege or immunity secured by the Constitution or laws of
the United States). Prevailing on the “federal civil rights”
claim is an “essential predicate” for an award of Section
1988 fees. Operation Rescue, 37 F.3d at 653. When a
plaintiff is not entitled to relief under Section 1983, “(i]t
follows that ... no attorney's fees can be awarded under
§ 1988.” Truck Council, 515 U.S. at 592. The Ninth Circuit
ignored this essential predicate in deciding Gerling III.°

There are occasions where it may be appropriate to
infer that a plaintiff who never obtains a decision on his
Section 1983 claim nevertheless st ld be considered the
“prevailing party” on that claim. For example, a plaintiff
asserting a Section 1983 claim may favorably resolve that

* The Ninth Circuit's assertion that its decision is “entirely
consistent” with the Truck Council holding (App., infra, 13 n.1) is
puzzling. This Court held in Truck Council that Section 1988 fees are
not permitted where the plaintiff obtains relief under state law but is
not entitled to Section 1983 relief. 515 U.S. at 592. The Ninth Circuit,
on the other hand, bas held in Gerling II] that a plaintiff may recover
fees even though al) of his Section 1983 claims have been adjudicated
against him and, as such, he is not entitled te Section 1983 relief. The
Ninth Circuit's decision simply cannot be squared with this Court's
holding in Truck Council, and the holdings in numerous other cases,
that a plaintiff must prevail on a Section 1983 claim in order to receive
Section 1988 fees.

14

claim through a consent decree without ever litigating
that claim. Under those circumstances, Congress appar-
entiy intended to assume that the plaintiff was a “prevail-
ing party” on his Section 1983 claim. Maher, 448 U.S. at
129, 132.

Similarly, where a plaintiff joins a fee-bearing Section
1983 claim with a non-fee bearing statutory claim, the
courts for prudential reaso.. are directed to resolve the
case solely on the non-constitutional ground if possible.
Maher, 448 U.S. at 132 and n.15. If the plaintiff wins his
non-fee bearing claim, but is precluded from having a
substantial, factually-related Section 1983 claim decided,
Congress also thought that fees under Section 1988 might
be awarded. Jd. Under those circumstances, a court is
permitted “to assume that the plaintiff has prevailed on
his fee-generating claim.” Smith v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992,
1007 (1984).

That assumption, however, is not justified where the
plaintiff has lost on his Section 1983 claim in the last court
to rule on that claim. Such an assumption is inconsistent
with the language of Section 1988 and the policy reasons
that motivated Congress and this Court to allow fees for
certain undecided Section 1983 claims. Indeed, applying
the assumption where the plaintiff in fact litigated and
lost his Section 1983 claim in the lower court effectively
creates a new assumption for fee purposes that the lower
court’s Section 1983 decision was in error and should be
reversed. Neither Maher nor the language or legislative
history of Section 1988 supports such a radical assumption.

To the contrary, numerous courts have acknowledged
that a plaintiff who loses on even a “substantial” Section
1983 claim that is factually related to a successful non-fee

15

bearing claim is not entitled to fees. Many of these courts
have recognized that Maher was intended to address the
very different situation where a plaintiff has not been able
to obtain adjudication of his Section 1983 claim because
of the prudential rule directing courts to avoid constitu-
tional questions if the case can be decided on other
grounds. At least one court has held, on facts similar to
this case, that a plaintiff who loses a Section 1983 claim in
the lower court is not entitled to fees on the basis of that
claim where, as here, the reviewing court declines to
address that claim on appeal.

In American Automobile Manufacturers Ass'n v.
Cahill, 53 F. Supp. 2d at 174, plaintiffs sued to enjoin a
state regulation mandating the sale of a certain clean air
vehicle. Plaintiffs challenged the regulation on grounds
that it was preempted by the federal Clean Air Act and
violated the Due Process and Commerce Clauses. /d. at
177-178. Defendants successfully moved to dismiss all
plaintiffs’ claims, and plaintiffs appealed. Jd. at 178-179.
On appeal, the Second Circuit reversed, holding that the
state regulation was preempted by the federal Clean Air
Act. Id. at 179. Because the preemption decision resolved
the lawsuit, the Second Circuit did not address on appeal
the due process and Commerce Clause questions. /d. at
179.

One of the plaintiffs sought attorneys’ fees pursuant to
Section 1988. Relying on Maher, it argued that fees were
recoverable because its constitutional claims were sub-
stantial, were undecided by the appellate court, and arose
out of the same nucleus of facts as the successful preemption
claim. Jd. at 179-180. The court rejected this argument,
holding that plaintiff's loss on its constitutional claims

16

barred the recovery of fees even though those claims were
unaddressed by the court of appeals. Jd. at 180-181.

The court contrasted the situation contemplated in
Maher — an undecided federal constitutional claim — with
the case before it where the plaintiff had litigated and lost
those claims in the district court. Jd. at 180. Those claims
remained “decided” against the plaintiff, notwithstanding
the appellate court’s failure to address them. Jd. “[Tlo
assume otherwise based on plaintiff’s success in another
claim,” the court held, “is to turn a blind eye to the actual
status of the case.” Id.’

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals in Luria Bros. &
Co. v. Allen, 672 F.2d 347 (3d Cir. 1982), correctly framed
the issue as follows:

Thus, the question reduces itself to one of statu-
tory construction: if, as a result of an adjudica-
tion, one is the losing and not the prevailing
party on a § 1983 claim, may he be entitled nev-
ertheless to attorney's fees on the strength of his
success on a related state law claim?

Id. at 357. The court answered the question “no,” holding
that Section 1988 “plainly limits fee awards to ‘the prevail-
ing party’” in an action to enforce Section 1983, and “|[t)he
losing party is not the prevailing party; what is black
cannot be called white.” Jd. Nor, according to the court,
was there any legislative intent by Congress “to treat a

" Plaintiff was found to be entitled to fees on its alternative
argument that the preemptive Clean Air Act conferred Section 1983
rights under the test articulated in Blessing v. Freestone, 520 U.S. 329
(1997). Cahill, 53 F. Supp. 2d at 182-186. Here, in contrast, plaintiffs’
preemption claim based on the foreign affairs power did not implicate
Section 1983. See Section IV below.

17

losing party in a § 1983 action as a ‘prevailing party’
simply because he prevails on a related state claim.” /d.

The court in Luria contrasted the situation before it,
where the plaintiff had adjudicated and lost his Section
1983 claim, with the situation where a court declines to
resolve the fee bearing claim because a non-constitutional
claim is dispositive. 672 F.2d at 357. Other circuit courts
have made the same distinction, rejecting a fee award
where the plaintiff loses his fee bearing claim, even if that
claim is substantial and even if the plaintiff has obtained
relief pursuant to his state law claim.

In Haywood v. Ball, 634 F.2d 740, 742-743 (4th Cir.
1980), for example, a plaintiff who had lost on his “sub-
stantial” constitutional claim, but had recovered both
compensatory and punitive damages on his state law
claim, was not entitled to Section 1988 attorneys’ fees. See
also Bonner v. Guccione, 178 F.3d 581, 595 (2d Cir. 1999)
(Maher exception permitting fees where constitutional
issue is avoided for prudential reasons could not “possibly
be implicated in a case in which the federal claim .. . has
been actually. decided”); Reel v. Arkansas Dep't of Correc-
tion, 672 F.2d 693, 697-698 (8th Cir. 1982); Raley v. Fraser,
747 F.2d 287, 290-292 (5th Cir. 1984).

In Mateyko v. Felix, 924 F.2d 824 (9th Cir. 1991), cert.
denied, 502 U.S. 814 (1991), the Ninth Circuit also recog-
nized the limited scope of Maher. Discussing the House
Report that accompanied Section 1988, the court noted
Congress’ concern about depriving a plaintiff of fees where
he prevails on a pendent state law claim, but does not
obtain an adjudication of the constitutional claim because
of the prudential rule discouraging resolution of such
claims. Jd. at 828. “In such a case,” the court said, “the

2 18

denial of fees would be unfair.” Jd. But where the district
court “did not avoid reaching the constitutional issue
because the pendent claim was dispositive” and instead
held that plaintiff “had no constitutional claim,” fees
should be denied. Jd. at 829.

These cases make clear that, contrary to the Ninth
Circuit’s decision in this case, the proper inquiry is not
simply the end result of the litigation without regard to
whether plaintiff has litigated and lost his Section 1983
claim. App., infra, 15. The determinant of a fee award is
not, as the Ninth Circuit concluded, whether the plaintiff
obtained his desired relief. Jd. Instead, the focus must be
on whether the plaintiff has prevailed, or can be assumed
to have prevailed, on his Section 1983 claim. j

In reaching its conclusion, the Ninth Circuit confused
the gatekeeper issue of whether the insurers earned an
entitlement to Section 1988 fees by prevailing (or, under
Maher, by being assumed to have prevailed) on a Section
1983 claim, with the different issue of what fees a Section
1983 plaintiff may recover once he has established his
right to Section 1988 fees. Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 US.
424 (1983), on which the Ninth Circuit relied in its discus-
sion of the importance of the “end result of the litigation”
and the need to avoid “piecemeal examination” of the
litigation (App., infra, 14-15), involved a plaintiff who had
prevailed on his Section 1983 claim. The issue before the
Court was whether that plaintiff could then recover fees
for work spent on contentions in the case on which the
plaintiff had not succeeded. Whatever the merit of permit-
ting the recovery of such fees after the plaintiff has estab-
lished his right to an award of fees, that right must first be
established. It was not here.

19

This Court has recognized that merely obtaining the
relief sought is not, by itself, sufficient to entitle a plaintiff
to Section 1988 fees. Buckhannon, 532 U.S. at 600 (reject-
ing “catalyst” theory as basis for awarding fees); Truck
Council, 515 U.S. at 592 (where relief available under
state law but not pursuant to Section 1983, “[ijt follows
that ... no attorney's fees can be awarded under § 1988”).
Cf. Bray v. Alexandria Women’s Health Clinic, 506 U.S.
263, 285 (1993) (“Because respondents were not entitled to
relief under § 1985(3), they were also not entitled to
attorney's fees and costs under 42 U.S.C. § 1988.”).

Where a plaintiff has lost his Section 1983 claim in
the last court to decide the merits of that claim, he is not
the prevailing party on that claim and did not vindicate
any Section 1983 rights, privileges or immunities. The
failure of a higher court to decide that claim does not
mean, and should not mean, that the plaintiff is now
assumed to have prevailed on his Section 1983 claim. To so
hold would mean, in effect, that the lower court's decision
on the merits of that claim was wrong and was being
reversed.

That outcome is fundamentally at odds with the Ninth
Circuit’s own recognition that its decisions on the insurers’
Commerce Clause and due process claims in Gerling I and II
continue to have precedential value. The concurring opinion
expressly acknowledged that the Ninth Circuit's Commerce
Clause and due process decisions continue to have preceden-
tial effect (App., infra, 19 n.1), and the Ninth Circuit major-
ity implied the same thing. App., infra, 15. Those decisions
concluded that the insurers had not been deprived of any
right, privilege or immunity granted by Section 1983. Those
decisions, according to the Ninth Circuit, are still correct.
Yet, for fee purposes, the Ninth Circuit ignored its decisions
and the insurers loss on their Section 1983 claims.

20

Congress and this Court in Maher were concerned
about a plaintiff who was deprived of his day in court on
his Section 1983 claim, not a plaintiff who had his day in
court and lost. Neither the language of Section 1988,
requiring that a plaintiff be the “prevailing party” on his
Section 1983 claim, the legislative history of Section 1988,
nor the public policy underlying Maher supports an award
of fees where the plaintiff has lost that claim on the
merits.”

* None of the cases relied on by the insurers supports the Gerling
Ill decision. In Espino v. Besteiro, 708 F.2d 1002 (5th Cir. 1983), the
district court had granted preliminary injunctive relief based on a non-
fee bearing statute, choosing to avoid plaintiff's constitutiona! claims
for prudential reasons. Jd. at 1004, 1007. The parties thereafter settled
by agreeing to the injunctive relief sought by the plaintiff. Jd. at 1004.
Because of this disposition, no court ever reached the merits of plain-
tiff’s fee-bearing constitutional claims. Espino is therefore an ordinary
application of Maher.

In Aubin v. Fudala, 782 F.2d 287, 290-291 (ist Cir. 1986), the
plaintiffs had prevailed on their civil rights claims. In Williams v.
Thomas, 692 F.2d 1032 (5th Cir. 1982), the court applied Maher when it
declined to rule on an appeal from a Section 1983 claim on which the
plaintiff had technically prevailed in the lower court, and instead
affirmed the plaintiff's win on the state law claim and directed an
award of fees.

Nor does Carreras v. City of Anaheim, 768 F.2d 1039, 1050 (9th Cir.
1985), support the Gerling III decision. As the Ninth Circuit noted in
Gerling III (App., infra, 11), the plaintiffs in Carreras had prevailed in
part on their federal constitutional] claim in the lower court. Moreover,
the court of appeals in Carreras ruled that the district court should not
have reached that claim in any event because state law disposed of-the
case in the plaintiffs’ favor. 768 F.2d at 1042-1043. As such, the district
court’s decision on the federal constitutional question was “unneces-
sary” (id. at 1043), and the court effectively treated the claim as never
decided for fee purposes, awarding fees based on a Maher analysis.

21
Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION CON-
FLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT
AND OTHER COURTS

As explained in Section I above, the Ninth Circuit’s
decision to award attorneys’ fees to plaintiffs that litigated
and lost all their fee-generating claims on the merits is at
serious odds with decisions of this Court and numerous
circuits. This Court and others have held that a plaintiff
must prevail (or be assumed to have prevailed) on a
Section 1983 claim to be entitled to fees, that merely
achieving the relief sought in the litigation is not enough
to entitle a plaintiff to Section 1988 fees, and that a loss on
the Section 1983 claim precludes a fee award. See Truck
Council, 515 U.S. at 592; cf. Buckhannon, 532 U.S. at 600;
Bray, 506 U.S. at 285; Operation Rescue, 37 F.3d at 653-
654. The Ninth Circuit disregarded each of these core
principles in deciding Gerling III.

These conflicts in principle warrant the grant of
certiorari here. See United-States-v. Nat'l Bank of Com-
merce, 472 U.S. 713, 719 (1985) (granting certiorari where
the court of appeals’ opinion appeared “to conflict, directly
or in principle, with decisions of other Courts of Appeals”);
Ivan Allen Co. v. United States, 422 U.S. 617, 623-624
(1975) (certiorari granted where decision conflicted in
principle with another lower court decision and raised an
important issue). See also Robert L. Stern, et al., Supreme
Court Practice 225, 226 (8th ed. 2002) (“A conflict is
sometimes asserted on the basis of differences between the
general principles or the reasoning involved in the two
decisions .. . [Such conflicts may move the court to grant
certiorari, especially if the case is otherwise important.”).

22

A conflict in principle justifies the grant of certiorari even
if no other appellate court has decided the precise issue
presented. Begier v. IRS, 496 U.S. 53, 57 n.2 (1990);
Supreme Court Practice at 232.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision is also flatly in conflict
with at least one district court decision. Cahill, 53
F. Supp. 2d at 179-181. That conflict also supports the
grant of certiorari here. See Massachusetts v. United
States, 435 U.S. 444, 453 (1978) (certiorari granted on a
conflict between a court of appeals decision and a single
judge district court ruling); Supreme Court Practice at 238
(conflict between district and circuit court is a factor
reinforcing some other basis of review, such as the impor-
tance of the question or “the confusing and differing
judicial responses to that question”).

The availability of fee awards in civil rights cases
should not depend on where the case is brought. Plaintiffs
who litigate and lose their civil rights claims in any court
outside the Ninth Circuit may not recover fees. Plaintiffs
who lose such claims in a Ninth Circuit court, on the other
hand, may recover fees under Gerling III. That conflict
should be resolved by this Court.

Ill. THIS COURT’S GRANT OF CERTIORARI ON
THE INSURERS’ FAILED SECTION 1983
CLAIMS AND ITS SUBSEQUENT DECISION
NOT TO ADDRESS THOSE CLAIMS DID NOT
CREATE AN ASSUMPTION FOR PURPOSES
OF AWARDING FEES THAT THE INSURERS
PREVAILED ON THOSE CLAIMS

This Court granted certiorari on plaintiffs’ Commerce
Clause and due process claims but did not address those

23

claims in its decision. Garamendi, 539 U.S. at 413 n.7. The
Ninth Circuit panel majority in this case asserted that the
Commissioner was unnecessarily concerned about whether
its decision meant that the “mere -grant of certiorari”
would become a “benchmark for granting fees.” App., infra,
15, n.2. The grant of certiorari, the panel majority said,
“does not factor into the prevailing party calculation,”
since it is “only when the Supreme Court (or the court of
highest authority to hear a case) rules in favor of a plain-
tiff and grants him the relief he sought will that plaintiff
be considered prevailing under § 1988.” Jd.

That statement, as Judge Graber recognized in her
concurrence (App., infra, 18-19), is simply not correct. It is
only because this Court granted certiorari on the Com-
merce Clause and due process claims and then declined to
decide those claims that the Ninth Circuit thought it could
bring this case within Maher and award fees to the insur-
ers. As Judge Graber inferred, and as the insurers con-
ceded in their briefing (App., infra, 18, 30-31), had this
Court not granted certiorari on those claims, the insurers
would not be entitled to attorneys’ fees even with their
success on the foreign affairs claim.’ The Ninth Circuit’s
decision misapprehends the purpose of this Court’s certio-
rari jurisdiction and improperly burdens it.

First, this Court’s review of an issue presented in a
petition for certiorari is entirely discretionary, and no
litigant has a right to have such an issue decided by this

* The panel majority's statement also confuses obtaining relief on
some claim in the case with the “essential predicate” that a plaintiff
must prevail, or be assumed to have prevailed, on its Section 1983
claim in order to justify Section 1988 fees. See discussion in Section I
above.

24

Court, even if certiorari is granted. Supreme Court Rule
10; Burrell v. McCray, 426 U.S. 471, 472 (1976) (Stevens,
J., concurring) (discussing the Court’s “broad control of its
discretionary docket”). The purpose of the Court’s certiv-
rari jurisdiction is to secure uniformity of decisions or to
resolve important questions of public interest. Magnum
Import Co. v. Coty, 262 U.S. 159, 163 (1923). This Court
does not grant certiorari “merely to give the defeated party
in the Circuit Court of Appeals another hearing.” Id.
Under these circumstances, this Court’s decision not to
address the insurers’ Commerce Clause and due process
claims did not unfairly deprive the insurers of an opportu-
nity to be heard on those claims, and Maher is irrelevant.

Second, this Court’s grant of certiorari carried no
implication of the Court’s view of the merits of the insur-
ers’ Section 1983 claims. See Tax Analysts v. United States
Dep't of Justice, 965 F.2d 1092, 1097 (D.C: Cir. 1992);
Jackson v. Maine, 300 F. Supp. 2d 197, 199 (D. Me. 2094)
(no significance attaches to Supreme Court grant or denial
of certiorari). Nor is it appropriate to infer that this Court
overruled the Ninth Circuit’s rulings on the merits of those
issues when it decided not to address them. See Texas v.
Cobb, 532 U.S. 162, 169 (2001) (“Constitutional rights are
not defined by inferences from opinions which did not
address the question at issue.”). This Court did not vacate
the Ninth Circuit’s rulings on the Commerce Clause and
due process claims, and, as the Ninth Circuit recognized
(App., infra, 15 and 19 n.1), the insurers’ losses on those
claims remained in place after this Court’s disposition of
the case. See Central Pines Land Co. v. United States, 274
F.3d 881, 893-894 and n.57 (5th Cir. 2001); 18 Moore's
Federal Practice § 134.05[5] (3d ed. 2005).

25

If Maher is extended to encompass failed Section 1983
claims that this Court leaves “unaddressed,” then this
Court, which is not bound to decide any claim that it
agrees to hear, will have created a fee-generating event by
the grant of certiorari. Neither Supreme Court Rule 10 nor
any case of which the Commissioner is aware refers to the
potential fee bearing character of an issue as an appropri-
ate factor for this Court to consider in deciding whether to
grant certiorari. Yet, the attachment of fee significance to
that grant, evident here, would create just such a factor.

IV. FOREIGN AFFAIRS PREEMPTION DOES
NOT CREATE INDIVIDUAL SECTION 1983
RIGHTS

The district court held that this Court’s foreign affairs
preemption ruling in Garamendi was not one that en-
forced any right or immunity secured to the insurers by
the Constitution or federal law. App., infra, 24-26. Judge
Graber’s concurring opinion in Gerling III expressly
recognized that such foreign affairs preemption does not
create individual Section 1983 rights (App., infra, 18), and
the Ninth Circuit panel majority in that decision assumed,
but did not decide, the same thing. App., infra, 9 and 17.
The district court and Judge Graber were correct.

A. The Supremacy Clause Is Not A Source Of
Individual Section 1983 Rights

Section 1983 provides private plaintiffs a means to
enforce “rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the
Constitution and laws.” The statute “is not itself a source
of substantive rights, but rather a method for vindicating
federal rights elsewhere conferred by those parts of the

26

United States Constitution and federal statutes that
it describes.” Baker v. McCollan, 443 U.S. 137, 145 n.3
(1979); see also Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Org.,
441 U.S. 600, 617 (1979) (“[O]ne cannot go into court and
claim a ‘violation of § 1983’ — for § 1983 by itself does not
protect anyone against anything.”).

Similarly, the Supremacy Clause itself does not create
individual federal rights. Golden State Transit Corp. v. City
of Los Angeles, 493 U.S. 103, 107-108 (1989) (“‘[The Su-
premacy] [C}lause is not a source of any federal rights’; it
‘secures federal rights by according them priority whenever
they come in conflict with state law.”) (quoting Chapman,
441 U.S. at 613). Thus, a Supremacy Clause claim “is
enforceable under § 1983 only when the [preemptive
federal law] creates ‘rights, privileges or immunities’ in the
particular plaintiff.” Golden State, 493 U.S. at 108 n.4.”

To provide a basis for a Section 1983 action, the
preemptive federal law must “unambiguously confer” an
individually enforceable right. Gonzaga Univ. v. Doe, 536
U.S. 273, 283 (2002) (“[It is only violations of rights, not
laws, which give rise to § 1983 actions... . (O]ur cases [do
not] permit anything short of an unambiguously conferred
right to support a cause of action brought under § 1983.”)
(emphasis in original). In determining whether a violation
of a federal right exists for purposes of Section 1983, this
Court relies on its “implied right of action” jurisprudence
and asks whether the preemptive federal provision was

* This distinguishes the Supremacy Clause from the Commerce
Clause, which this Court has found does secure an individual “right to
engage in interstate trade free from restrictive state regulation.” Dennis
v. Higgins, 498 U.S. 439, 448 (1991).

27

intended to confer individual rights on a particular class of
persons. /d. at 283, 285, 286.

B. The Federal Foreign Policy For Resolving
Holocaust Claims Reflected In Executive ©
Agreements With Other Nations Did Not
Unambiguously Confer Section 1983 Rights
On The Insurers

In Garamendi, this Court held that the HVIRA was
preempted because it conflicted with the federal government's
exercise of its foreign policy favoring consensual resolution of
Holocaust-era insurance claims. See Garamendi, 539 U.S. at
427 (“The question relevant to preemption in this case is
conflict, and the evidence here is more than sufficient to
demonstrate that the [HVIRA] stands in the way of the
President’s diplomatic objectives.”) (internal quotation
marks and alteration omitted). This foreign policy was
reflected in executive agreements between the United
States and Germany, Austria, and France, and in the
government’s support for the International Commission on
Holocaust Era Insurance Claims (ICHEIC). Jd. at 403,
413.

This expression of foreign policy did not create indi-
vidual rights: As this Court recognized, the doctrine of
foreign affairs preemption invalidates state laws that
conflict with the President’s authority to conduct the
Nation’s foreign affairs. Garamendi, 539 U.S. at 413-414.
Thus, this Court held that the HVIRA was unconstitu-
tional, not because it violated any person’s rights, but
rather because “state law must give way where, as here,
there is evidence of clear conflict between the policies
adopted” by the federal Executive Branch and California
over matters of international interest thought to arise out

28

of World War II. Id. at 421. The capacity of the President
to conduct foreign affairs is patently a matter of collective,
rather than individual, concern, and the Executive's
exercise of its foreign affairs power here was not intended
to confer any rights on the insurers.

Neither the executive agreements nor the federal
policy they reflect unambiguously conferred any rights on
the insurers that are enforceable under Section 1983.
Instead, their purpose was to provide Holocaust victims
with “some measure of compensation” through “voluntary,
non-adversarial mechanisms.” App., infra, 34-35, 36. While
this approach might also further the insurers’ interest in
avoiding litigation or regulatory action, the federal gov-
ernment took this course expressly because it “serves the
interests of Holocaust victims and their families” and also
“serves important interests of the Nation in cooperative
relations with its European allies.” App., infra, 37. Pre-
sumably, under this Court’s analysis, if the President had
decided that the HVIRA would better assist survivors in
resolving their claims, the statute would not have been
preempted, even though it “harmed” the insurers, because
the statute would no longer conflict with the President’s

policy.

At best, the insurers are “incidental” beneficiaries of
the executive agreements — a status insufficient to permit
suit under Section 1983 because “it is rights, not the
broader or vaguer ‘benefits’ or ‘interests,’ that may be
enforced under the authority of that section.” Gonzaga,
536 U.S. at 283 (emphasis in original); see also Golden
State, 493 U.S. at 109 (where federal law benefits a par-
ticular party “only as an incident of the federal scheme of
regulations,” a Section 1983 remedy is not available). “The
question is not simply who would benefit from the [federal

29

law], but whether [the federal government) intended to
confer federal rights upon those beneficiaries.” Gonzaga,
536 U.S. at 286."

In sum, the HVIRA was not preempted because it
interfered with any insurer right, but because it conflicted
with the President’s ability to conduct foreign policy. This
conflict does not even remotely suggest the grant of some
enforceable Section 1983 right to the insurers, let alone an
unambiguous grant of such right. Accordingly, preemption
of the HVIRA on these grounds does not provide any basis
for a Section 1983 claim and an award of attorneys’ fees
pursuant to Section 1988.

" Nor does the plain language of these executive agreements
reflect any intent by the federal government to confer any rights on the
insurers. As the government recognized in an amicus brief filed in the
Ninth Circuit, the insurers were not promised “legal peace.” App., infra,
32-33.

30

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

FRANK KAPLAN ANDREW W. STROUD
Counsel of Record MENNEMEIER GLASSMAN &
ALSCHULER GROSSMAN STEIN STROUD LLP

& KAHAN LLP 980 9th Street, Suite 1700
1620 26th Street Sacramento, CA 95814

Fourth Floor, North Tower (916) 553-4000
Santa Monica, CA 90404

(310) 907-1000

LESLIE TICK RYAN S. HEDGES

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF EIMER STAHL KLEVORN &
INSURANCE SOLBERG LLP

45 Fremont Street, 224 South Michigan Avenue,
21st Floor Suite 1100

San Francisco, CA 94105 Chicago, IL 60604
(415) 538-4190 (312) 660-7600

App. 1

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GERLING GLOBAL REINSURANCE
CORPORATION OF AMERICA, US Branch;
GERLING GLOBAL LIFE REINSURANCE
COMPANY; GERLING GLOBAL LIFE
INSURANCE COMPANY; GERLING AMERICA
INSURANCE COMPANY; CONSTITUTION
INSURANCE COMPANY; REVIOS
REINSURANCE CANADA, LTD.;

REVIOS REINSURANCE U.S., INC.;
ASSICURAZIONI GENERAL S.P.A.;
AMERICAN INSURANCE ASSOCIATION;
AMERICAN RE-INSURANCE COMPANY,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
and

WINTERTHUR INTERNATIONAL AMERICA
INSURANCE COMPANY; WINTERTHUR
INTERNATIONAL AMERICA UNDERWRITERS
INSURANCE COMPANY; GENERAL
CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN;
REGENT INSURANCE COMPANY;

REPUBLIC INSURANCE COMPANY;
SOUTHERN INSURANCE COMPANY; UNIGARD
INDEMNITY COMPANY, UNIGARD INSURANCE
COMPANY; BLUE RIDGE INSURANCE Co.,

Plaintiffs,
Vv.

JOHN GARAMENDI, in his capacity as the
Insurance Commissioner of the State of
California,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 04-15332
D.C. No.
CV-00-00506-WBS

———

App. 2

AMERICAN INSURANCE ASSOCIATION;

AMERICAN RE-INSURANCE COMPANY, No. 04-15455
Plaintiffs-Appellants, D.C. No.
. CV-00-00613-
WBS/JFM

JOHN GARAMENDI, in his capacity as the ORDER AND
Insurance Commissioner of the State of AMENDED
California, OPINION

Defendant-Appellee.
Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of California
William B. Shubb, Chief Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted
December 13, 2004 — Pasadena, California

Filed March 10, 2005
Amended June 3, 2005

Before: Alfred T. Goodwin, Susan P. Graber,
and Richard A. Paez, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Goodwin;
Concurrence by Judge Graber

COUNSEL

Charles A. Rothfeld, Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw, LLP,
Washington, D.C., for the plaintiffs-appellants.

Frank Kaplan, Alschuler Grossman Stein & Kahan, LLP,
Santa Monica, California, for the defendant-appellee.

| App. 3

ORDER

The opinion filed March 10, 2005, slip op. 3137 and
appearing at 400 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2005), is amended as
follows:

400 F.3d at 809 (slip op. at 3150, 10th line from the
bottom of the page): Following the citation at the end of
the sentence, “We conclude that the unaddressed due
process and Commerce Clause claims ... pass the ‘sub-
stantiality’ test and therefore support an award of fees to
the plaintiffs,” add the following footnote and renumber
the subsequent footnotes accordingly:

FN 1: The Commissioner and Amici argue that
this result is contrary to National Private
Truck Council, Inc. v. Oklahoma Tax
Commission, 515 U.S. 582, 592 (1995).
Truck Council held that where an ade-
quate state law remedy exists in a state
tax case, federal courts are not permitted
to award declaratory or injunctive § 1983
relief. Jd. at 589. The Court affirmed the
Oklahoma Supreme Court's rejection of
the plaintiff’s § 1983 claims and declined
to award § 1988 attorney's fees because
§ 1983 relief could not be awarded. Jd. at
592. The Truck Council holding is entirely
consistent with our decision. If a plaintiff
does not have a substantial, properly cog-
nizable § 1983 claim, then § 1988 attor-
ney’s fees may not be awarded. In
addition, if the Supreme Court in this
case had expressly affirmed Gerling IIs
rejection of plaintiff's due process and
Commerce Clause claims, then plaintiffs
would not be entitled to § 1988 fees.

App. 4

With the opinion thus amended, the panel has voted
unanimously to deny the petition for rehearing. Judges
Graber and Paez have voted to deny the petition for
rehearing en banc, and Judge Goodwin recommended
denial.

The full court has been advised of the petition for
rehearing en banc and no active judge has requested a
vote on whether to rehear the matter en banc. Fed. R. App.
P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is DENIED and the petition
for rehearing ~ »anc is DENIED.

No subsequent petitions for rehearing or petitions for
rehearing en banc may be filed.

GOODWIN, Senior Circuit Judge:

OPINION

This case returns to our calendar for the fourth time
following its journey to the Supreme Court. Plaintiffs,
three insurance companies and one insurance trade
association, originally brought this action against the
California Commissioner of Insurance (“Commissioner”)
seeking to bar the enforcement of the Holocaust Victim
Insurance Relief Act of 1999 (“HVIRA”), Cal. Ins. Code
§§ 13800-13807 (1999). That statute requires the disclo-
sure of certain information pertaining to Holocaust-era
insurance policies written in Europe. Following the Su-
preme Court's disposition of the case in their favor, plain-
tiffs sought attorney's fees in this court. We remanded the

App. 5
fees question to the district court, which denied the re-
quest. The appealable order was appealed.

This appeal presents two principal questions. First, did
the district court err when it held that plaintiffs were not
prevailing parties within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. § 1988?
Second, do the foreign affairs power of the Executive
branch and the related executive agreements between the
United States, Germany, Austria, and France create
private rights within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. § 1983?

We hold that plaintiffs are prevailing parties and are
thus entitled to an award of a reasonable attorney’s fee.
Because we hoid that plaintiffs are prevailing parties, we
do not reach the question whether executive actions under
the foreign affairs power create justiciable private rights.
Therefore, under the authority of Maher v. Gagne, 448
U.S. 122 (1980), we remand to the district court for a
determination of the proper fee.

I. Factual Background and Procedural History

Because the facts of this case have been set forth by
this court and by the Supreme Court in detail, see Gerling
Global Reinsurance Corp. of Am. (“Gerling Global”) v. Low,
240 F.3d 739, 754 (9th Cir. 2001) (“Gerling I”); Gerling
Global v. Low, 296 F.3d 832 (9th Cir. 2002) (“Gerling IT”);
Am. Ins. Ass'n v. Garamendi, 539 U.S. 396 (2003), we
recount only the basic procedural history here.

Plaintiffs brought this action seeking declaratory and
injunctive relief from the enforcement of HVIRA, claiming
that the statute violated the Commerce Clause, Due Proc-
ess Clause, foreign affairs power, and other constitutional
provisions. The district court concluded that plaintiffs

App. 6

“demonstrated a probability of success on the merits that
the HVIRA is unconstitutional in violation of the federal
foreign affairs power and a violation of the Commerce
Clause.” Gerling Global v. Quackenbush, 2000 WL 777978,
*13 (E.D. Cal. June 9, 2000). After finding that the balance
of irreparable harm favored the plaintiffs, the district
court granted a preliminary injunction and enjoined the
enforcement of HVIRA and its implementing regulations.
Id. at *13-14.

The Commissioner appealed and we reversed, leaving
the preliminary injunction in place. We remanded the case
to the district court to consider plaintiffs’ due process
claims. Gerling I, 240 F.3d at 754.

On remand, the district court granted plaintiffs’
motion for summary judgment and permanently enjoined
the Commissioner from enforcing HVIRA, holding that
“(bly mandating license suspension for non-performance of
what may be impossible tasks without allowing for a
meaningful hearing, HVIRA deprives plaintiffs of a pro-
tected property interest without affording them due
process of law.” Gerling Global v. Low, 186 F. Supp. 2d
1099, 1113 (E.D. Cal. 2001).

The Commissioner again appealed the district court
decision. During the pendency of that appeal, the plaintiffs
filed a motion with the district court seeking attorney's
fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1988. The district court denied the
motion, and plaintiffs timely appealed.

In Gerling II, we reversed the district court and held
that HVIRA did-not violate plaintiffs’ due process rights,
the Commerce Clause, the foreign affairs power, the Bill of
Attainder Clause, the Contract Clause, the Equal Protec-
tion Clause, or the Fourth Amendment. 296 F.3d 832. We

App. 7

concluded that plaintiffs were not “prevailing parties”
under 42 U.S.C. § 1988 and therefore were not entitled to
attorney fees. Jd. at 851.

The Supreme Court granted certiorari. Am. Ins. Ass’n
v. Low, 537 U.S. 1100 (2003). The grant of certiorari
“encompassed three of the questions addressed [in Gerling
I and Gerling II): whether HVIRA intrudes on the federal
foreign affairs power, violates the self-executing element of
the Foreign Commerce Clause, or exceeds the State's
‘legislative jurisdiction.’” Am. Ins. Ass'n, 539 U.S. at 413
n.7. The Court reversed this court’s judgment, holding that
HVIRA was pre-empted by Executive Branch authority
over foreign policy. Jd. at 420. The Court did not address
the Commerce Clause and Due Process Clause issues. Jd.
at 413 n.7 (“Because we hold that HVIRA is preempted
under the foreign affairs doctrine, we have no reason to
address the other questions.”).

Following the Court’s decision, plaintiffs sought
attorney's fees and moved this court for supplemental
briefing and oral argument. We transferred the fee issue to
the district court for consideration on a factual record.
Gerling Global v. Low, 339 F.3d 1078 (9th Cir. 2003)
(“Gerling IIT”).

The district court declined to award fees because it
concluded that the foreign affairs power did not implicate
“a right, privilege, or immunity secured by the Constitu-
tion or laws of the United States” and therefore could not

form the basis of a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claim.

App. 8

Il. The Prevailing Party Determination

The Civil Rights Attorney's Fee Award Act of 1976
provides, in relevant part: “In any action or proceeding to
enforce a provision of [42 U.S.C. § 1983], the court, in its
discretion, may allow the prevailing party, other than the
United States, a reasonable attorney's fee as part of the
costs.” 42 U.S.C. § 1988(b). 42 U.S.C. § 1983, in turn,
protects against the “deprivation of any rights, privileges,
or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws.” The
first issue is whether plaintiffs constitute “prevailing
parties.”

The Supreme Court has summarized the “prevailing
party” determination as follows:

[Tlo qualify as a prevailing party, a civil rights
plaintiff must obtain at least some relief on the
merits of his claim. The plaintiff must obtain an
enforceable judgment against the defendant from
whom fees are sought, |Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S.
755, 760, 107 S. Ct. 2672, 96 L.Ed.2d 654 (1987),
or comparable relief through a cons_nt decree or
settlement, Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122, 129,
100 S. Ct. 2570, 65 L.Ed.2d 653 (1980). Whatever
relief the plaintiff secures must directly benefit
him at the time of the judgment or settlement.
See Hewitt, |482 U.S. at 764] ... In short, a
plaintiff ‘prevails’ when actual relief on the mer-
its of his claim materially alters the legal rela-
tionship between the parties by modifying the
defendant’s behavior in a way that directly bene-
- fits the plaintiff.

Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103, 111-12 (1992). We hold that
plaintiffs are prevailing parties in this litigation. Plaintiffs
not only obtained “some” relief on the merits of their
claim, they received all of the relief they sought in their

App. 9

lawsuit — a permanent injunction enjoined the enforce-
ment of HVIRA. Clearly, the ruling of the Supreme Court
modified the Commissioner’s behavior by “materially
alter{ing) the legal relationship between the parties.” See
id.

The second issue is whether the plaintiffs prevailed
under a fee-generating legal “right.” The Supreme Court
decided for the plaintiffs relying on the implied preemp-
tion of HVIRA by the foreign affairs power of the Execu-
tive branch. The Commissioner argues that, because the
Supreme Court ruled in favor of plaintiffs on a ground not
covered by § 1983, the plaintiffs are not § 1988 prevailing
parties. We are thus faced with the question whether a
court, in an action containing both fee-supporting § 1983
claims and a claim which may not independently support a
fee award, may deprive plaintiffs of attorney's fees by
grounding its ruling on the non-fee-generating claim.
Answering this question in the affirmative would be
inconsistent with both Supreme Court and Ninth Circuit
precedent.

Beginning with the assumption that the foreign
affairs power does not confer rights within the meaning of
§ 1983, we must determine whether the claims left unad-
dressed by the Supreme Court, but included in its grant of
certiorari — the Commerce Clause and Due Process Clause
claims - may support an award of attorney’s fees. Due
Process Clause and Commerce Clause claims are both
properly cognizable, fee-supporting claims under § 1983.
See, e.g., Dennis v. Higgins, 498 U.S. 439, 446 (1991)
(Commerce Clause); Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 696-97
(1976) (Due Process Clause). Plaintiffs urge us to apply
Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122 (1980), and its progeny to
conclude that fees are appropriate here because the

App. 10

unaddressed claims were both substantial and arose from
a common nucleus of operative fact with the foreign affairs
power claim.

Maher held that an award of fees is appropriate where
a “plaintiff prevails on a wholly statutory, non-civil-rights
claim pendent to a substantial constitutional claim or in one
in which both a statutory and a substantial constitutional
claim are settled favorably to the plaintiff without adjudi-
cation.” Jd. at 132. The plaintiff in Maher advanced claims
under the Social Security Act and the Equal Protection
and Due Process Clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment.
Id. at 124-25. The parties settled through a consent decree
before a final adjudication of any of the claims. Jd. at 126
& n.8. Noting that “[njothing in the language of § 1988
conditions the District Court’s power to award fees on full
litigation of the issues or on a judicial determination that
the plaintiff's rights have been violated,” and emphasizing
the policy supporting a broad reading of the fees statutes,
the Court affirmed the award of fees to the plaintiff. Jd. at
129-30.

Although the matter in Maher was settled through a
consent decree, the Maher holding applies equally to the
determination of pendent claims through litigation. See,
e.g., Carreras v. City of Anaheim, 768 F.2d 1039, 1050 (9th
Cir. 1985), abrogated on other grounds by Los Angeles
Alliance for Survival v. City of Los Angeles, 993 P.2d 334
(Cal. 2000) (awarding fees where plaintiff prevailed,
through litigation, on pendent state constitutional law
claims).

Carreras provides some guidance here because it
demonstrates Maher's applicability in the context of
litigation, but it is not the panacea plaintiffs propose. In

App. 11

that case, the International Society for Krishna Con-
sciousness of Laguna Beach, Inc. (ISKCON) sued the City
of Anaheim over the city’s prohibition of ISKCON’s prac-
tice of soliciting donations in the parking areas and
walkways surrounding the Anaheim Stadium and the
Anaheim Convention Center. 768 F.2d at 1041. The dis-
trict court, relying on federal constitutional law, held that
ISKCON was not entitled to relief as to the stadium area
because that area was not a public forum. /d. at 1045 &
n.10. However, the district court did grant ISKCON relief
with respect to the convention center, also relying upon
federal law in reaching its conclusion. Jd. at 1046 & n.15.
On appeal, this court did not reach the federal constitu-
tional question but, relying on the California constitution,
we reversed the district court’s holding on the stadium
issue. Despite the fact that we did not explicitly reverse
the district court’s federal constitutional analysis, see id.
at 1045 n.10, we relied on Maher to award attorney's fees.
Id. at 1050. We are aware that Carreras is distinguishable
because ISKCON did prevail on a fee-supporting claim -
the convention center claim — at the district court level.
Moreover, we reversed the district court’s convention
center holding on different grounds, rather than avoiding
that issue altogether. However, we do not read Carreras to
impose a limit on our ability to award a fee in this case.
Rather, we read Carreras’s application of Maher to support
an award of fees where, as here, the court of highest
authority to hear a case avoids resolution of a fee-
supporting federal claim.

’

A. Applicability of Maher

Maher advocated a “substantiality test” for determin-
ing whether a pendent claim can support an award of fees:

App. 12

In some instances . . . the claim with fees may in-
volve a constitutional question which the courts
are reluctant to resolve if the non-constitutional
claim is dispositive. |Hagans v. Lavine, 415 U'S.
528 (1974)]. In such cases, if the claim for which
fees may be awarded meets the ‘substantiality’
test, see lid. at 537-38; United Mine Workers v.
Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1966)], attorney's fees may
be allowed even though the court declines to en-
ter judgment for the plaintiff on that claim, so
long as the plaintiff prevails on the non-fee claim
arising out of a ‘common nucleus of operative
fact.’ (Gibbs, 383 U.S. at 725].

Maher, 448 U.S. at 132 n.15 (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 1558,
at 4 n.7 (1976)). Under this formulation, we conclude that,
for the purpose of qualifying a prevailing party, an unad-
dressed, fee-supporting claim supports an award of fees if
it is both substantial and arises from a common nucleus of
operative fact with a dispositive, non-fee-supporting claim
addressed by the court. That the substantiality test speaks
of situations in which a “non-constitutional claim is
dispositive” does not dilute its relevance when a claim,
such as the implied preemption claim at issue here, may
be termed a “constitutional claim.” A court’s decision to
resolve one constitutional question and to avoid others
does not exempt the attorney's fee question from the
reasoning of Maher.

We turn now to the application of the Maher substan-
tiality test to the Due Process Clause and Commerce
Clause claims. A claim is constitutionally insubstantial if it
is “essentially fictitious ... wholly insubstantial ... obvi-
ously frivolous ... for] obviously without merit.” Hagans,
415 U.S. at 537-38 (quotations and citations omitted). This
panel has twice grappled with the fee-supporting issues in

App. 13

detail. See Gerling I, 240 F.3d at 754; Gerling II, 296 F.3d
832. The extent of our previous analysis demonstrates that
the Due Process Clause and Commerce Clause claims
brought by plaintiffs were not constitutionally insubstan-
tial.

Claims arise from a common nucleus of operative fact
where fee-supporting claims are so interrelated with non-fee
claims that plaintiffs “would ordinarily be expected to try
them all in one judicial proceeding.” Gibbs, 383 U.S. at
725. The three claims to which the Supreme Court granted
certiorari all arose from California’s attempted enforce-
ment of HVIRA. Plaintiffs correctly attempted to try all of
their issues in one proceeding. We conclude that the
unaddressed due process and Commerce Clause claims,
which remained in the case until the final disposition by
the Supreme Court, pass the “substantiality” test and
therefore support an award of fees to plaintiffs. Cf Maher,
448 U.S. at 131 (“Although . . . the trial judge did not find
any constitutional violation, the constitutions! issues
remained in the case until the entire dispute was settled
by the entry of a consent decree.”).’

' The Commissioner and Amici argue that this result is contrary to
National Private Truck Council, Inc. v. Oh‘ahoma Tax Commission, 515
U.S. 582, 4592 (1995). Truck Council held that where an adequate state
law remedy exists in a state tax case, federal courts are not permitted
to award declaratory or injunctive § 1983 relief. Jd. at 589. The Court
affirmed the Oklahoma Supreme Court's rejection of the plaintiff's
§ 1983 claims and declined tw award § 1988 attorney's fees because
§ 1983 relief could not be awarded. Jd at 592. The Truck Council
holding is entirely consistent with our decision. If a plaintiff does not
have a substantial, properly cognizable § 1983 claim, then § 1988
attorney's fees may not be awarded. In addition, if the Supreme Court
in this case had expressly affirmed Gerling II's rejection of plaintiff's

(Continued on following page)

App. 14

B. Our Previous Holdings

We must note that the fee determination is further
complicated by the lengthy procedural history of the case,
forcing us to address our previous holdings in Gerling I
and Gerling II. Recognizing the admonition of the Su-
preme Court that “[a] request for attorney's fees should
not result in a second major litigation,” Hensley v. Ecker-
hart, 461 U.S. 424, 437 (1983), we briefly revisit those
cases in order to put to rest the Commissioner's contention
that plaintiffs cannot be considered “prevailing parties”
because we previously rejected their due process and
Commerce Clause claims. In Gerling I, we held that the
district court erroneously concluded that plaintiffs demon-
strated a likelihood of success on the Commerce Clause
issue. 240 F.3d at 751. We further held, incorrectly, it
turned out, that HVIRA did not conflict with the foreign
affairs power. Jd. at 753. In Gerling Il, we repeated our
conclusion that HVIRA did not violate the Commerce
Clause or the foreign affairs power, and we determined
that HVIRA also did not violate plaintiffs’ due process
rights. 296 F.3d at 844, 849.

As discussed above, the Supreme Court did not reach
either the Commerce Clause or the due process issues.
Even aside from plaintiff's contention that cur Commerce
Clause and due process holdings were impliedly overruled
by American Insurance Ass'n, 539 U.S. 396, however, we
conclude that in exercising its discretion to award attor-
ney’s fees, a district court must focus on whether a plain-
tiff “succeed[s] on any significant issue in litigation which

due process and Commerce Clause claims, then plaintiffs would not be
entitled to § 1988 fees.

App. 15

achieves some of the benefit the parties sought in bringing
the suit.” Hensley, 461 U.S. at 433 (quoting Nadeau v.
Helgemoe, 581 F.2d 275, 278-79 (1st Cir. 1978)).

The proper inquiry zeros in on the end result of the
litigation: A piecemeal examination of the arguments that
the court of final authority did or did not reach may be
helpful in determining our prior opinions’ precedential
value, but it is not helpful in determining whether a
plaintiff is a “prevailing party” within the meaning of
§ 1988 at the conclusion of the litigation. See id. at 435
(“Litigants in good faith may raise alternative legal
grounds for a desired outcome, and the court’s rejection of
or failure to reach certain grounds is not a sufficient
reason for reducing a fee. The result is what matters.”).’ So
long as an unaddressed, fee-supporting claim meets the
substantiality test set forth above, and the end result of
the litigation grants a plaintiff his desired relief, the
unaddressed claim may support a fee award regardless of
the decision of the court below. Accordingly, we conclude
that our holdings in Gerling I and Gerling II do not pre-
clude the district court from exercising its discretion to
award a reasonable attorney's fee under Maher.

We are not unaware of our holding in Mateyko v. Felix,
924 F.2d 824, 828 (9th Cir. 1991). In that case, the court
did not invoke principles of avoidance; rather, “it found

* Focusing on the end result of the litigation should answer the
Commissioner's concern that the “mere grant of certiorari” will become
a benchmark for granting fees. The grant of certiorari does not factor
into the prevailing plaintiff calculation - only when the Supreme Court
(or the court of highest authority to hear a case) rules in favor of a
plaintiff and grants him the relief he sought will that plaintiff be
considered prevailing under § 1988.

_App. 16

that [Mateyko] had no constitutional claim at all,” and
granted a directed verdict on all of the § 1983 claims. Jd.
at 829 (quoting Reel v. Ark. Dep't of Corr., 672 F.2d 693,
698 (8th Cir. 1982)). A jury, reviewing the remaining state
law claims, found Mateyko was 96% contributorily negli-
gent for his state negligent infliction of emotional distress
claim, and entered a judgment in his favor for 4% of his
damages. Id. at 825. We rejected Mateyko’s claim that this
small victory made him a prevailing plaintiff. Jd. at 828-
29. This result is consistent with our holding above be-
cause, at the conclusion of litigation and after we affirmed
the directed verdict, no fee-supporting claims remained in
the case — Mateyko could not invoke Maher because there
was no unaddressed fee-supporting claim which could pass
Maher’s substantiality test. In such a case, awarding an
attorney’s fee is inappropriate.

C. Policy Considerations

Quite apart from the applicability of Maher, the policy
behind the enactment of § 1988 and the prudential policy
of avoiding constitutional questions further supports the
conclusion that plaintiffs should be awarded a reasonable
fee in this case. “As the legislative history illustrates and
as [the Supreme Court] has recognized, § 1988 is a broad
grant of authority to courts to award attorney's fees to
plaintiffs seeking to vindicate federal constitutional and
statutory rights.” Smith v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992, 1006
(1984), overruled on other grounds by 20 U.S.C. § 1415(/).
Furthermore, as stated in Maher, a fee award based on
pendent claims “furthers the Congressional goal of en-
couraging suits to vindicate constitutional] rights without
undermining the longstanding judicial policy of avoiding
unnecessary decision of important constitutional issues.”
448 U.S. at 133 (quoting Gagne v. Maher, 594 F.3d 336,

App. 17

342 (2d Cir. 1979)). We decline the Commissioner's invita-
tion to conclude that the Supreme Court must rule in favor
of a plaintiff on a specific, fee-supporting aspect of the case
in order for a plaintiff to be considered a prevailing party.
Rather, applying the Supreme Court’s “generous formula-
tion” of the prevailing party definition, see Farrar, 506
U.S. at 109 (quoting Hensley, 461 U.S. at 433 (1983)), we
hold that the district court read § 1988 too narrowly and
assumed that it lacked discretion to award plaintiff
insurance companies a reasonable attorney’s fee.

Ill. The Foreign Affairs Power and § 1983

The district court concluded that the foreign affairs
power did not “implicate a right, privilege or immunity
secured by the Constitution or laws of the United States”
and therefore did not constitute a § 1983 claim. That
conclusion may have been correct as an abstract proposi-
tion, but it did not support the further conclusion that
plaintiffs were not prevailing parties. Because we reverse
the district court on the prevailing party point, we need not
reach the question whether the foreign affairs power inde-
pendently confers private rights. The fact that plaintiffs’ Due
Process Clause and Commerce Clause claims are properly
cognizable claims under § 1983 satisfies our inquiry and
should result in a fee award to plaintiffs.

IV. Conclusion

For the reasons set forth above, we REVERSE the
denial of § 1988 attorney's fees and REMAND this case to
the district court with instructions to exercise its discre-
tion to determine a reasonable amount of attorney’s fees in
accordance with Hensley, 461 U.S. 424, and Webb v. Sloan,
330 F.3d 1158, 1167-70 (9th Cir. 2003). The award shal]

App. 18

include an allowance for fees and costs incurred in contest-
ing the district court’s denial of fees.

GRABER, Circuit Judge, concurring in the result:
I concur in the result for the following reasons.

1. The claim of preemption by the foreign affairs
power is not a fee-generating claim, for the reasons ably
explained by the district court. In short, the foreign affairs
power, like the Supremacy Clause, creates no individual
rights enforceable under 28 U.S.C. § 1983. Cf Golden
State Transit Corp. v. City of Los Angeles, 493 U.S. 103,
107 (1989) (“[T]he Supremacy Clause, of its own force,
does not create rights enforceable under § 1983.”); Associ-
ated Gen. Contractors v. Smith, 74 F.3d 926, 931 (9th Cir.
1996) (“[P]reemption of state law under the Supremacy
Clause — being grounded not on individual rights but
instead on considerations of power — will not support an
action under section 1983, and will not, therefore, support
a claim for attorneys’ fees under section 1988.” (alteration
in original) (internal quotation marks omitted))

2. The due process and Commerce Clause claims are
fee-generating claims under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1983 and 1988.
But Plaintiffs lost those claims before this court.

3. Ptaintiffs’ entitlement to fees, then, depends on whet
happened to the various claims at the Supreme Court. Had
Plaintifis not sought certiorari on the fee-generating claims,
or had the Supreme Court upheld our result on those claims,
Plaintiffs would not be entitled to fees. See Mateyko v. Felix,
924 F.2d 824, 828 (9th Cir. 1991) (“Where, as here, there
has been a decision adverse to plaintiff on the section 1983

App. 19

claim, section 1988 does not authorize the award of attor-
ney’s fees.”). But neither of those things happened here.

Rather, Plaintiffs sought and received a writ of certio-
rari on both their fee-generating claims and their non-fee-
generating claim. The Court held in Plaintiffs’ favor on the
non-fee-generating claim without reaching the fee-
generating claims at all. Under the principles that we
announced in Carreras v. City of Anaheim, 768 F.2d 1039,
1050 (9th Cir. 1985), abrogated on other grounds by Los
Angeles Alliance for Survival v. City of Los Angeles, 993
P.2d 334 (Cal. 2000), and that the Supreme Court set forth
in Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122, 132-33 (1980), Plaintiffs
are entitled to fees. The Supreme Court had the opportu-
nity-to decide the fee-generating claims and chose not to
do so;' the policies identified in Carreras and Maher
therefore counsel in favor of awarding fees.

' The Court's decision thereby leaves our opinion in Gerling Global
Reinsurance Corp. of America v. Low, 296 F.3d 832 (9th Cir. 2002), rev'd
sub nom American Insurance Ass'n v. Garamendi, 539 U.S. 396 (2003),
with precedential effect on those issues.

-

App. 20

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

GERLING GLOBAL

REINSURANCE CORP.
OF AMERICA, et al., NO. CIV. 8-00-0506 WBS JFM

Plaintiffs, Consolidated Cases:
No. CIV. S-00-0613 WBS JFM

No. CIV. 8-00-0779 WBS JFM

Vv.

JOHN GARAMENDI,

in his capacity as the No. CIV. S-00-0875 WBS JFM

INSURANCE MEMORANDUM

COMMISSIONER OF

THE STATE OF AND ORDER

CALIFORNIA, (Filed Jan. 29, 2004)
Defendant.

After the Supreme Court’s decision in this case,
plaintiffs moved the Ninth Circuit for supplemental
briefing and oral argument on the issue of attorney fees.
The Ninth Circuit ordered the issue of attorney fees
transferred to this court for briefing and reconsideration.
This matter is now before the court on plaintiffs’ motion
for attorney fees.

I. Procedural Background

On June 9, 2000, this court issued a preliminary
injunction after ruling that plaintiffs had established the
likelihood of irreparable harm and a probability of success
on the merits of their claims that the California Holocaust
Victim Insurance Relief Act (“HVIRA”) violates the Com-
merce Clause and the foreign affairs power. Gerling Global

App. 21

Reinsurance Corp. of Am. (“Gerling Giobal”) v. Quacken-
bush, Nos. CIV. 8-00-0506 WBS JFM, CIV. S-00-0613 WBS
JFM, CIV. 8-00-0779 WBS JFM, CIV. S-00-0875 WBS
JFM, 2000 WL 777978 (E.D. Cal. June 9, 2000).

On February 7, 2001, the Ninth Circuit held that “the
district court erred when it decided that HVIRA violates
the dormant Commerce Clause and the foreign affairs
power.” Gerling Global v. Low, 240 F.3d 739, 754 (9th Cir.
2001). The Ninth Circuit, however, left the preliminary
injunction in place and remanded the matter to this court
to address whether the HVIRA violates the Due Process
Clause. Id.

On October 2, 2001, this court granted plaintiffs’
motion for summary judgment, holding that the HVIRA
violates the Due Process Clause, and permanently en-
joined defendant from enforcing the HVIRA. Gerling
Global v. Low, 186 F. Supp. 2d 1099 (E.D. Cal. 2001). On
October 16, 2001, defendant appealed the grant of sum-
mary judgment to the Ninth Circuit. During the pendency
of this appeal, plaintiffs moved this court for an award of
attorney fees pursuant to, inter alia, 42 U.S.C. § 1988. On
January 14, 2002, this court denied plaintiffs’ motion for
an award of attorney fees.

On September 9, 2002, the Ninth Circuit reversed this
court’s order of October 2, 2001, holding, inter alia, that
the HVIRA does not violate the Due Process Clause, the
Commerce Clause, or the foreign affairs power. Gerling
Global v. Low, 296 F.3d 832 (9th Cir. 2002). The Ninth
Circuit did not address the merits of this court’s January
14, 2002, attorney fees ruling. Instead, the Ninth Circuit
stated: “(T]he district court improperly concluded that
HVIRA was unconstitutional, it also erred in concluding

App. 22

that Plaintiffs were ‘prevailing parties’ for the purposes of
42 U.S.C. § 1988. They are not entitled to fees.” Id., at 851.

On June 23, 2003, the Supreme Court reversed the
Ninth Circuit, holding that the HVIRA violates the foreign
affairs power. Am. Ins. Ass’n v. Garamendi, 123 S. Ct.
2374 (2003). Subsequently, plaintiffs moved the Ninth
Circuit for supplemental briefing and oral argument on
the issue of attorney fees. On September 9, 2003, the
Ninth Circuit denied plaintiffs’ motion and ordered that
“(t]he issue of attorney fees is transferred to the district
court for briefing and reconsideration.” (Oct. 31, 2003
Joint Status Conference Report, Ex. A (Gerling Global v.
Garamendi, Nos. 01-17023, 01-17433, 02-15282 (9th Cir.
Sept. 9, 2003))).

II. Discussion

Section 1988 of Title 42 of the United States Code
provides that “fiJn any action or proceeding to enforce a
provision of section[] . . . 1983, . . . the court, in its discre-
tion, may allow the prevailing party ... a reasonable
attorney's fee.” 42 U.S.C. § 1988(b).

The prevailing party in an action under section 1983
“should ordinarily recover an attorney's fee unless special]
circumstances would render such an award unjust.”
Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., 390 U.S. 400,
402 (1968). The court must examine “two factors in deter-
mining whether a case involves a ‘special circumstance’
justifying the denial of fees: (1) whether allowing attorney
fees would further the purposes of § 1988, and (2) whether
the balance of equities favors or disfavors the denial of
fees.” Gilbrook v. City of Westminster, 177 F.3d 839, 878
(9th Cir. 1999).

App. 23

In its previous order of January 14, 2002, this court
concluded that although allowing attorney fees would
further the purposes of section 1988, the balance of equi-
ties favored the denial of fees. The court remains per-
suaded that allowing attorney fees in this case would
further the purposes of section 1988. Defendant essen-
_ tially concedes that an award of fees would serve the
section 1988 purpose of deterring lawmakers from enact-
ing unconstitutional legislation in the future. (See Def.’s
Opp’n at 30). However, plaintiffs have presented a persua-
sive argument that, in concluding initially that the bal-
ance of equities favored the denial of fees, this court may
have placed too much weight on the decision of another
district court in Thorsted v. Gregoire, 841 F. Supp. 1068,
1084 (W.D. Wash. 1994).

The defendant has the burden of showing special
circumstances warrant a denial of fees, and the defen-
dant’s showing must be a strong one. Herrington v. County
of Sonoma, 883 F.2d 739, 744 (9th Cir. 1989). As plaintiffs
point out, two other courts have declined to adopt the
result in Thorsted,’ and the Eleventh Circuit affirmed an
award of attorney fees to plaintiff under strikingly similar
circumstances to those here. See Gerling Global v. Nelson,
No. 00-16542-BB (11th Cir. Dec. 7, 2001), aff’g Gerling
Global v. Nelson, No. 4:99v444-RH (N.D. Fla. Jan. 2,
2001). Thorsted is distinguishable because it involved an
initiative, rather than an act of the legislature. Upon
further reflection, this court is inclined to conclude that

' Morse v. Republican Party of Va., 972 F. Supp. 355 (W.D. Va.
1997) and Kadlick v. Dep't of Mental Health, 731 N.E.2d 495 (Mass.
2000).

App. 24

defendant has not met his burden of showing such special
circumstances as to justify the disallowance of fees here.

However, for a separate reason, not present at the
time of the court's initial order denying attorney fees, the
court must nevertheless again deny an award of attorney
fees for the plaintiffs.

Section 1988 provides for an award of attorney fees
only in certain types of civil rights actions, including
actions under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. At the time of the order of
January 14, 2002, this court had determined that plain-
tiffs were prevailing parties on a section 1983 claim
because they had prevailed on their Due Process Clause
claim. That decision, however, was reversed by the Ninth
Circuit. On certiorari, the Supreme Court held in favor of
plaintiffs only under the foreign affairs doctrine. The
Supreme Court expressly did not consider or decide
whether the HVIRA violated the Commerce Clause or the
Due Process Clause. Am. Ins. Ass'n, 123 S. Ct. at 2385 n.7
(“Because we hold that HVIRA is preempted under the
foreign affairs doctrine, we have no reason to address the
other questions.”).

Section 1983 of Title 42 of the United States Code
protects against the “deprivation of any rights, privileges,
or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws.”
Under the posture of the case now, unlike when this court
issued its previous order denying plaintiffs’ motion for
award of attorney fees, the court cannot conclude that
plaintiffs prevailed on a section 1983 claim. Now, although
the court must conclude that plaintiffs prevailed on a
claim that the HVIRA was an invalid, unconstitutional
statute, the court cannot conclude that plaintiffs prevailed
on a claim that the HVIRA deprived them of any right,

App. 25

privilege, or immunity secured by the Constitution or
federal law.

Specifically, the court cannot cunclude that the foreign
affairs power implicates a right, privilege, or immunity
secured by the Constitution or laws of the United States
such that it may form the basis of a section 1983 claim.
Rather, to the extent that the foreign affairs power is like
the Supremacy Clause, it is not a source of federal rights.
Cf. Golden State Transit Corp. v. Los Angeles, 493 U.S.
103, 107 (1989) (“[T]he Supremacy Clause, of its own force,
does not create federal rights enforceable under § 1983.”);
Associated Gen. Contractors v. Smith, 74 F.3d 926, 931
(9th Cir. 1996) (“[P]reemption of state law under the
Supremacy Clause — being grounded not on individual
rights but instead on considerations of power — will not
support an action under section 1983, and wil] not, there-
fore, support a claim for attorneys’ fees under section
1988.”).

The court has reviewed several treatises on the
subject, none of which suggest that the foreign affairs
power may be the basis of a section 1983 claim. See John
C. Jeffries, Jr., et al., Civil Rights Actions: Enforcing the
Constitution Ch. 1, § 5 (2000); Erwin Chemerinsky, Fed-
eral Jurisdiction §8.9 (3d ed. 1999); 1A Martin A.
Schwartz and John £E. Kirklin, Section 1983 Litigation:
Claims and Defenses Ch. 3 (3d ed. 1997 & Supp. 2003).

Plaintiffs argue that because the foreign affairs
doctrine is predicated on the need for the United States to
speak with one voice, that being through the President,
their action may be viewed as one for the deprivation of
rights secured by Presidential orders, which have the force

App. 26

of laws of the United States. Even assuming that this
action can be so characterized, and assuming further that
Presidential orders are “laws” within the meaning of
section 1983, it would be too far of a stretch to conclude
that the kind of Presidential orders involved here, negoti-
ating relief for Holocaust victims and their heirs, were
intended to secure any right, privilege, or immunity
guaranteed to the plaintiffs in this case.

Although the Commerce Clause and the Due Process
Clause may be bases of section 1983 claims, Dennis uv.
Higgins, 498 U.S. 439 (1991) (Commerce Clause); Paratt v.
Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981) (Due Process Clause); Paul v.
Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976) (Due Process Clause), plaintiffs
ultimately did not prevail on either of those claims.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion
for attorney fees be, and the same hereby is, DENIED.

DATED: January 29, 2004

/s/ William B. Shubo
WILLIAM B. SHUBB
UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 27

42 U.S.C. § 1983. Civil action for deprivation of rights

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordi-
nance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Terri-
tory or the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be
subjected, any citizen of the United States or other person
within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any
rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitu-
tion and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an
action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding for
redress, except that in any action brought against a
judicial officer for an act or omission taken in such officer's
judicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not be granted
unless a declaratory decree was violated or declaratory
relief was unavailable. For the purposes of this section,
any Act of Congress applicable exclusively to the District
of Columbia shall be considered to be a statute of the
District of Columbia.

42 U.S.C. § 1988. Proceedings in vindication of civil
rights

(b) Attorney's fees

In any action or proceeding to enforce a provision of
sections 1981, 198la, 1982, 1983, 1985, and 1986 of this
title, title IX of Public Law 92-318 [20 U.S.C.A. § 1681 et
seq.], the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993 [42
U.S.C.A. § 2000bb et seq.], the Religious Land Use and
Institutionalized Persons Act of 2000 [42 U.S.C.A. § 2000cc
et seq.], title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 [42 U.S.C.A.
§ 2000d et seq.], or section 13981 of this title, the court, in
its discretion, may allow the prevailing party, other than
the United States, a reasonable attorney's fee as part of
the costs, except that in any action brought against a

App. 28

judicial officer for an act or omission taken in such officer’s
judicial capacity such officer shall not be held liable for
any costs, including attorney's fees, unless such action was
clearly in excess of such officer’s jurisdiction

App. 29

No. 04-15332 (consolidated with No. 04-15455)

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

AMERICAN INSURANCE ASSOCIATION, et ai.,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v.

JOHN GARAMENDI, in his capacity as the
COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE FOR THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Defendant-Appellee

Appeal from the United States District Court
For the Eastern District of California
Honorable William B. Shubb, District Judge
Dist. Ct. Docket Nos. CIV-S-00-0613 WBS JFM,
CIV-S-00-0506 WBS JFM, CIV-S-00-0875 WBS JFM

APPELLANTS’ OPENING BRIEF

Peter Simshauser Kenneth S. Geller

Lance Etcheverry Charles A. Rothfeld

SKADDEN, ARPS, SLATE, MAYER, BROWN,
MEAGHER, & FLOMLLP ROWE & MAW LLP

300 South Grand Ave., 1909 K Street, N.W.
Suite 3400 Washington, D.C. 20006

Los Angeles, CA 90071 (202) 263-3000

(213) 687-5000 Counsel for American

Counsel for Assicurazioni Insurance Association
Generali S.p.A. and American

Re-Insurance Company

App. 30

* * *

B. Because The Supreme Court Granted Re-
view On The Commerce And Due Process
Clause Issues In The Case, The Commis-
sioner Cannot Be Treated As Having Pre-
vailed On Those Issues

While the district court made no mention of Maher,
the Commissioner did attempt below to distinguish the
decision, and we assume he will reprise his argument
here. Pointing to this Court’s rejection of plaintiffs’ Com-
merce and Due Process Clause claims in Gerling I and II,
the Commissioner invoked the rule that precludey the
award of fees to a party who prevails on a non-fee claim
but loses on all of its section 1983 civil rights claims. See,
e.g., Mateyko, 924 F.2d at 828 (a plaintiff “who loses on his
federal claim and recovers only on a pendent state claim is
not a prevailing party under section 1988 and may not be
awarded fees”). The Commissioner declared that rule
applicable here because he was successful in his Com-
merce and Due Process Clause arguments before this
Court and the Supreme Court did not expressly overturn
this Court’s holdings on those issues. For several reasons,
however, the Commissioner’s reliance on this principle, as
well as his argument that he should be treated as the
party prevailing on the section 1983 claims in this case, is
insupportable.

l. a. To begin with, the Commissioner commits a
fundamental error when he fails to view the fees issue
from the perspective of the court that had the last word on
the merits of claims that underlie the request for tees —
that is, from the perspective of the Supreme Court. The
Commissioner’s argument might be correct if the Supreme
Court had denied certiorari review of the Commerce and

App. 31

Due Process Clause questions presented by plaintiffs,
leaving only the foreign affairs issue to be decided. But
that is not whet the Court did: to the contrary, it granted
review on all three issues (see American Ins. Ass'n v.
Garamendi, 537 U.S. 1100 (2003), Garamendi, 123 S. Ct.
at 2385 n.7), expressly finding it unnecessary to address
the Commerce and Due Process Clauses only because the
Justices disposed of the case by holding the HVIRA invalid
under the foreign affairs doctrine. See id.

The Supreme Court thus had both the fee-generating
(Commerce and Due Process Clause) and what we are
assuming to be the non-fee (foreign affairs doctrine) claims
before it when it decided the merits of plaintiffs’ suit - and
that is precisely what triggers application of the Maher
rule. So far as Maher is concerned, this Court's interven-
ing ruling on the merits regarding the Commerce Clause
and due process claims is wholly immaterial. After all, as
Congress, the Supreme Court, and this Court each have
explained, the point of the Maher rule is to avoid having
the question of entitlement to fees affect the decision-
making processes of the court that is entertaining the
merits of the plaintiff's suit by forcing that court to
resclve a constitutional claim unnecessarily. But the
Commissioner's approach would place courts in just that
situation. In this case. for example, the Supreme Court
found it unnecessary to decide plaintiffs’ Commerce

App. 32
Nos. 00-16163, 00-16164, 00-16165, and 00-16182

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GERLING GLOBAL REINSURANCE
CORP. OF AMERICA, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,
v.
CLARK KELSO in his capacity as
the COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE OF
THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Defendant-Appellant.

BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE THE UNITED STATES
OF AMERICA IN SUPPORT OF AFFIRMANCE

ON APPEAL FROM A PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION
ENTERED BY THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
CO'JRT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALI.-
FORNIA, THE HONORABLE WILLIAM B. SHUBB

In view of the importance of the Foundation Agree-
ment, we wis!) to correct some misunderstandings reflected
in the brief of the American Insurance Association (“AIA”)
concerning the undertakings of the U.S. Government and the
impact of the procedures established by the Agreement on
existing legal remedies available to American citizens

App. 33

against private corporations. AIA states that “[t)he federal
government ... has committed to give affected insurers
legal peace, including against state litigation and regula-
tory action,” AIA Br. 1, and that the Foundation Agree-
ment “imposes a duty on the United States to achieve ‘all-
embracing and enduring legal peace’ for German compa-
nies.” AIA Br. 2. The United States has committed to
various unprecedented undertakings in the Agreement. As
discussed, the United States has committed to file a
Statement of Interest in private suits against German
companies explaining that “it would be in the foreign
policy interests of the United States for the Foundation to
be the exclusive remedy and forum for resolving such
claims,” Foundation Agreement, Art. 2(1), and has commit-
tea to “use its best efforts, in a manner it considers appro-
priate, to achieve the objectives” of the Agreement, Art.
2(2). It has not, however, undertaken a “duty ... to
achieve” legal peace for German companies against state
litigation and regulatory action.

Nor dees the Foundaticn Agreement itself preclude
individuals from filing suit on their insurance policies in
court. Cf, e.g., AIA Br. at 2 (stating that the Agreement
“creates on [sic] exclusive remedy and forum”); id. at 12
(stating that the Agreement “mandates that insurance
claims that come within the scope of... ICHEIC ‘shall be
processed . .. on the basis of such procedures’”). Although
the Agreement obligates the German Foundation to
process insurance claims against German companies
according to ICHEIC procedures, Foundation Agreement,
Art. 1(4), it does not mandate

App. 34

In the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 02-722

AMERICAN INSURANCE ASSOCIATION, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS

v.

Harry Low, INSURANCE COMMISSIONER,
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

No. 02-733

GERLING GLOBAL REINSURANCE CORP. OF AMERICA,
ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

Harry W. Low, INSURANCE COMMISSIONER,
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The United States has engaged in extensive diplo-
matic efforts to assure that the Nations and enterprises
responsible for the Holocaust provide some measure of

App. 35

compensation to their victims. In so doing, the United
States has

App. 36

(D
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 02-722

AMERICAN INSURANCE ASSOCIATION, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS

Vv.

JOHN GARAMENDI, INSURANCE COMMISSIONER,
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The United States has engaged in extensive diplo-
matic efforts to assure that the nations and enterprises
responsible for the Holocaust provide some measure of
justice to their victims. In so doing, the United States has
consistently encouraged the use of voluntary, non-
adversarial mechanisms for resolving Holocaust victims’
claims. California has adopted a different approach. The
State has enacted a series of related statutes, including
the one challenged here, to provide a separate means of
resolving such claims. Such state laws directly interfere
with the national

App. 37

through coercive regulative and litigation. The United
States has concluded that such an approach serves the
interests of Holocaust victims and their families through-
out the world, including the interests of elderly survivors
of the Holocaust in obtaining some measure of justice
within their lifetime. The United States also concluded
that a non-adversarial approach serves important inter-
ests of the Nation in cooperative relations with its Euro-
pean allies.

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

s

JOHN GARAMENDI, IN HIS CAPACITY
AS COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
FOR THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,
Vv.

GERLING GLOBAL REINSURANCE
CORPORATION OF AMERICA, US BRANCH, et al.,

Respondents.

°

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of
For The Ninth Circuit

SJ

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
OF INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

+

GAIL SCIACCHETANO
Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS
2301 McGee Street, Suite 800
Kansas City, Missouri 64108-2664
Telephone (816) 783-8019
Facsimile (816) 460-7507

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

~- -

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
TABLE OF AUTTEIORITIRG ..0..ccccccecccesceescesccsecsseeseeres ii
INTEREST OF THEE MAIC .......cccessesrccssscsecsessoescoseoes 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .............c:ccccscesseseeeeeenees 3
es sialiaeiiaaem 4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES

American Insurance Ass'n, et al. v. Garamendi, 539
2 8 0 ae Lee ee 4,5

Gerling Global Reinsurance Corp. of Am. v. Low,
240 F.3d 739 (9th Cir. 2001) (“Gerling I”) ..........ccc.cceev0e 4

Gerling Global Reinsurance Corp. of Am. v. Low,
296 F.3d 832 (9th Cir. 2002) (“Gerling IT”)...............+ 4,5

Gerling Global Reinsurance Corp. of Am. v. Gara-

mendi, 400 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2005) (“Gerling
|g SEES See eee Se eee 5, 7

Group Life and Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co.,
yg a es 3
Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122 (1980).......... cccccneceeeeeceeenees 5

Natl Private Truck Council, Inc. v. Okla. Tax
Comm’n, 515 U.S. 582 (1995)...........cccccsscorevsrseveeserserseees 5

STATUTES

McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1011, et seq. ......... 2,3
42 U.S.C. § 1983............. jecasentisiseltasinaamiaadiiaiestiapeitaianstetites 3,6
IIIa, I icnctsesimcemeseemideipueniiictiaeaasmimninds 3

California's Holocaust Victim Insurance Relief Act,
Cal. Ins. Code $§ 13800-13807 ................ccccccccccseeeereeceeees 4

1

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
OF INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.1, the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners (“NAIC”) submits
this Brief in support of petitioner, John Garamendi, in his
capacity as Commissioner of Insurance for the State of
California, in respectfully requesting that the Court issue
a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered in
this action.

+

INTEREST OF THE NAIC’

The NAIC is a non-profit corporation whose member-
ship consists of the principal insurance regulatory officials
of the fifty States, the District of Columbia, the territories
and insular possessions of the United States. Formed in
1871, it is the nation’s oldest association of state govern-
ment officials. In filing this amicus curiae brief, the NAIC
seeks to demonstrate its interest in this proceeding and to
fulfill the mission of the NAIC, to:

. assist state insurance regulators, individually
and collectively, in serving the public interest and
achieving the following fundamental insurance

* Neither counsel for the parties to this matter authored this brief
in whole or in part. No person or entity, other than the amicus curiae,
its members or its counsel, made a monetary contribution to the
preparation and submission of this brief. The parties have consented to
conseni have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

2

regulatory goals in a responsive, efficient and
cost-effective manner, consistent with the wishes
of its members:

Protect the public interest;

Promote competitive markets;

Facilitate the fair and equitable treatment of in-
surance consumers;

Promote the reliability, solvency and financial so-
lidity of insurance institutions; and

Support and improve state regulation of insur-
ance.

The Executive Committee of the NAIC voted to file
this amicus curiae brief to demonstrate its support of
Petitioner John Garamendi, Commissioner of Insurance
for the State of California, in this cause. The interest of
the NAIC in this matter arises out of the regulatory
responsibility vested in each insurance commissioner,
director and superintendent to see that all laws respecting
insurance companies are executed faithfully and to safe-
guard the solvency and financial integrity of insurance
companies for the benefit of insurance consumers. The
‘commissioners, directors, and superintendents of the
various states, the members of the NAIC, are charged with
the responsibility of regulating the business of insurance
within their jurisdictions pursuant to the McCarran-
Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1011, et seg., and State insur-
ance laws.

* See National Association of Insurance Commissioners, NAIC
Mission Statement, available at http://www.naic.org/index_about.htm
(last visited September 19, 2005).

With regard to the McCarran-Ferguson Act, this Court
has stated that “[t)he views of the NAIC are particularly
significant, because the Act ultimately passed was based
in large part on the NAIC bill.” Group Life and Health Ins.
Co. v. Royal Drug Co., 440 U.S. 205, 221 (1979).

The NAIC agrees with Commissioner Garamendi that
the Ninth Circuit's decision in this case imposing attor-
neys’ fees on the California Department of Insurance will
“create significant mischief in many other cases™ and will
adversely impact the ability of NAIC members to effec-
tively regulate the business of insurance. The NAIC agrees
with the analysis of the district court in finding that
respondents were not entitled to fees because they had not
prevailed on either their Commerce Clause or due process
claims. The NAIC supports Commissioner Garamendi in
respectfully requesting that this Court issue a writ of
certiorari in this matter.

+

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit held in this case that respondents
were entitled to an award of attorneys’ fees under 42
U.S.C. § 1988 in spite of the fact that respondents did not
prevail on the merits on any claim governed by 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983. This ruling greatly expands potential liability for
attorneys’ fees for all entities potentially liable under
Section 1983, including the state insurance regulatory
authorities that are the members of the NAIC. This
expansion of potential liability will chill important state
regulatory activities as regulators will face the prospect of

* Petition for Writ of Certiorari at p. 9.

4

paying attorneys’ fees to plaintiffs who may prevail
against them in litigation on non fee-bearing constitu-
tional and state law grounds even where the court rules
that the regulatory conduct at issue does not amount to a
Section 1983 violation. Further, it will encourage the
addition of meritless Section 1983 claims to any action
against a state official and will discourage defendant
regulators from appealing adverse state law rulings in
cases where plaintiff did not prevail on attached Section
1983 claims. Taken together, these results present a very
real threat to the ability of state regulatory officials to
supervise the businesses they are charged with regulating
and to act in the interests of the consumers they are
charged with protecting.

+

ARGUMENT

Respondents in this case challenged the constitution-
ality of California’s Holocaust Victim Insurance Relief Act,
Cal. Ins. Code §§ 13800-13807 (the “H-VIRA”) on a variety
of grounds. This Court ultimate’y held that the HVIRA
was preempted because it conflicted with federal initia-
tives concerning Holocaust related insurance claims
undertaken pursuant to the foreign policy powers granted
to the federal executive branch. American Insurance Ass’n,
et al. v. Garamendi, 539 U.S. 396, 401 (2003) (Garamendi).
Respondents’ Section 1983 claims, those claiming that the
HVIRA violated the Commerce Clause and due process,
were rejected by the Ninth Circuit in its two rulings on the
merits of this case. Gerling Global Reinsurance Corp. of
Am. v. Low, 240 F.3d 739 (9th Cir. 2001) (“Gerling I”)
(rejecting respondents’ Commerce Clause claims) and
Gerling Global Reinsurance Corp. of Am. v. Low, 296 F.3d

832 (9th Cir. 2002) (“Gerling IT”) (ruling that the HVIRA
does not violate due process). This Court did not address
the due process and Commerce Clause claims. Garamendi,
539 U.S. at 413 n. 7.

Following this Court’s decision on the foreign affairs
preemption claim, respondents moved for attorneys’ fees
pursuant to Section 1988.* The district court found that
respondents were not entitled to fees because they had not
prevailed on either their Commerce Clause or due process
claims. The Ninth Circuit reversed, holding that respon-
dents were entitled to fees even though it recognized that
they had not prevailed on any fee-bearing claim. Gerling
Global Reinsurance Corp. of Am. v. Garamendi, 400 F.3d
803 (9th Cir. 2005), rehearing denied, as amended, 410
F.3d 531 (9th Cir. 2005) (“Gerling IIT”).

The NAIC agrees with Petitioner Commissioner
Garanendi that the Ninth Circuit’s decision in this case
represents an unwarranted departure from precedent on
the issue of entitlement to attorneys’ fees under Section
1988. Section 1988 makes it a prerequisite for the award
of attorneys’ fees that the party seeking fees be the “nre-
vailing party”. This Court has previously recognized that
victory in the case does not alone satisfy that necessary
predicate; the plaintiff must be entitied to relief under
Section 1983. Natl Private Truck Council, Inc. v. Okla. Tax
Comm'n, 515 U.S. 582, 592 (1995). Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S.
122 (1980) created a limited exception to the “prevailing

* Respondents first moved for attorneys’ fees after the initial
summary judgment ruling and that motion was denied by the district
court. The Ninth Circuit then rejected all of respondents’ claims on the
merits and ruled that they were not entitled to fees because they were

not prevailing parties. Gerling 1], 296 F.3d at 851.

party” rule in cases where a plaintiff's substantial 1983
claims were never reached for prudential reasons. The
Maher rule is inapplicable where, as here, the 1983 claims
were litigated and plaintiff lost.

The members of the NAIC, in their capacity as the
chief insurance regulators of their respective states, may
be subject to suits for injunctive relief under Section 1983
for any official act, be it the enactment of a regulation or
administrative practice, or the application of an existing
statute, regulation or administrative practice to an insurer
doing business in their state. The Ninth Circuit's ruling in
this case, which makes it possible for plaintiffs to be
awarded attorneys’ fees in Section 1983 cases even after
losing on those claims, increases the expense and expands
the risk associated with Section 1983 litigation. The likely
result of this expanded availability of fees is that any
~ plaintiff who brings a lawsuit on state law or non-fee
bearing constitutional grounds will append a Section 1963
claim so that they may be awarded fees even if they do not
prevail on thet claim. Further, a defendant regulator who
prevails on a Section 1983 claim may be reluctant to
appeal an adverse ruling on a state law or non-fee bearing
claim for fear that fees will be awarded if plaintiff cross-
appeals the Section 1983 claims. Applicaticn of the Ninth
Circuit's ruling in that scenario could result in an award of
attorneys’ fees even if the reviewing court never reaches
the Section 1983 claims, as in the present case.

More troubling than the impact on litigation is the
potential chilling effect the Ninth Circuit's ruling has on
the segulatory activities of state insurance departments
and other entities potentially liable under Section 1983.
Certainly all state insurance commissioners, directors and
superintendents are well aware that their actions must be

AE A ee —_—

7

within constitutional parameters. 'Jnder Gerling III,
however, these officials have to be concerned not only that
they succeed in any constitutional challenges, but also
that they are not challenged through litigation in the first
place. State regulators now face a new risk from litigation,
being required to pay attorneys’ fees under Gerling III,
even where a court rules for the regulators and finds that
their actions did not violate Section 1983.

The energies and resources of state insurance regula-
tors are focused on protecting insurance consumers in
their state and insuring the financial solvency of insurers
doing business in their state. Regulators should not be
stymied in their efforts towards achieving these goals by
the fear of large awards of attorneys’ fees if those efforts
are challenged and decided on non-fee bearing grounds.

J

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should issue a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Gal. SCIACCHETANO

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS

2301 McGee Street, Suite 800

Kansas City, Missouri 64108-2662

Telephone (816) 783-8019

Facsimile (816) 460-7507
Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae

: * a F , 7 rs - oe : - ,
‘op —e -_ ne i of * yy Sane hat
% o. Pea Ler eS

> a

4

ae) (tay
; met a Ee
ae coe

> — aA
=, se
ool A 7 >

ae eS
_ - 9
Co Pe OP ee i at penne

ar re ee Ce
- « iad

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0151%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
