# Opposition Brief — Rainer v. Union Carbide Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0144%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 978

## Text

6

was “synonymous” with Kentucky's “present physical
injury requirement.” Reply Br. at 16. Accordingly, peti-
tioners framed the question presented for review as
whether their showing of asymptomatic subcellular
damage from radiation exposure was “insufficient as a
matter of law to establish a bodily/physical injury or
disease under Kentucky Law.” Appellants’ Br. at 2.

The Sixth Circuit affirmed the District Court's deter-
mination that petitioners’ claims were governed by the
Price-Anderson Act, but that Kentucky law would pro-
vide the “substantive foundations” for those claims.
App. 19a: It further affirmed the District Court's hold-
ing that the Kentucky Supreme Court's decisions in
Wood and Capital Holding compelled the grant of
summary judgment based on petitioners’ “lack of any
present physical illness.” App. 19a-28a.

B. The Bivens Claim

The District Court dismissed petitioners’ Bivers
claim relying on this Court's decision in Malesko, 534
U.S. at 66, which held that a Bivens action may not be
maintained against a private corporation. App. 79a-
80a. The Sixth Circuit afiirmed the dismissal, but on
different grounds. Relying on Schweiker v. Chilicky,
487 U.S. 412 (1988), and Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367
(1983), it held that the comprehensive statutory frame-
work established in the Price-Anderson Act for claims
arising out of a “nuclear incident” foreclosed any rem-
edy under Bivens. App. 29a-33a.5

5 Following the initial dismissal of their Bivens claim, petition-
ers sought to amend their complaint to assert an “equitable” con-
stitutional claim for unjust enrichment and disgorgement of profits.
The District Court denied this motion, holding that “|t}he ‘equitable’
claim is just a disguised version of [petitioners'] money damages
claim and it should be foreclosed for the same reasons set out in
Malesko.” App. 69a. In the light of its disposition of the Bivens
claims. the Sixth Circuit held that the request for equitable relief
was moot. App. 33a.

7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Petitioners have asserted that eight different ques-
tions are presented in this case. Questions | through 4
of the Petition, and Parts I to Ill of the Reasons for
Granting the Petition, relate to the grant of summary
judgment on petitioners’ tort claims under the Price-
Anderson Act.

We respond to these arguments in Parts | and Il
below. In Part I, we show that review by this Court
would be inappropriate because the Sixth Circuit
affirmed the grant of summary judgment based on its
interpretation of Kentucky law, and none of the parties
has contended that Kentucky law is inconsistent with
the Price-Anderson Act. Consequently, these issues do
not present any question of federal law. In Part II, we
show that the Sixth Circuit's decision does not conflict
with any of the various decisions of this Court and the
federal courts of appeals cited in the Petition.

Question 5 of the Petition and Part [V of the Reasons
for Granting the Petition relate to the dismissal of peti-
tioners’ Bivens claim. We respond to these arguments
in Part III below. We show that the Sixth Circuit's deci-
sion was based on a straightforward application of the
principles set fortr by this Court in Schweiker and
Bush, which held that a Bivens remedy should not be
implied where Congress has provided what it considers
to be an adequate alternative remedy. The Sixth Circuit
decision does not conflict with any decision of this
Court or any federal court of appeals, and in any case,
as the District Court correctly held, this Court's deci-
sion in Malesko forecloses any Bivens remedy against
private corporations like GE.

The remaining questions and issues presented in the
Petition relate only to the Paduc; contractors and
thus are not addressed in this brief.

8

I. Review of the Sixth Circuit's Decision With
Respect to the Price-Anderson Claims Is Unwar-
ranted Because the Decision Was Based on an
Interpretation of Kentucky Law.

The Sixth Circuit agreed with the District Court that
although petitioners’ state law tort claims were gov-
erned by the Price-Anderson Act, Kentucky law would
provide the substantive rules of decision for those
claims. See 42 U.S.C. § 2014(hh). Petitioners did not
argue in the Sixth Circuit that the Price-Anderson Act
imposed different requirements from Kentucky law. To
the contrary, they conceded that the Act contained a
“bodily injury or disease requirement” that was “syn-
onymous” with Kentucky's “present physical injury
requirement.” Reply Br. at 16. Petitioners’ sole argu-
ment concerning the Price-Anderson claims before the
Sixth Circuit was that the claims were viable under
Kentucky law. Appellants’ Br. at 33. Therefore, the
Sixth Circuit properly looked to Kentucky law to
determine whether petitioners could withstand sum-
mary judgment on these claims.

Because the Sixth Circuit's decision turned on the
interpretation of Kentucky law, review by this Court is
unwarranted.

A. The Sixth Circuit Decided the Case Based
on Kentucky Law.

The Sixth Circuit made it clear that it was deciding
the Price-Anderson claims based on Kentucky law. It
stated:

“The key question before us . . . is whether Ken-
tucky caselaw equates ‘subcellular damage’ with
‘bodily injury.’ The issue has been previously ad-
dressed by the Kentucky courts, but, as the plain-

6 See App. 20a (“Courts are required to look to state law for the
substantive rules to apply in deciding claims brought under the
Act.”)

9

tiffs note, the underlying facts have been slightly
different. We must therefore make the ‘best predic-
tion, even in the absence of direct state court
precedent, of what the Kentucky Supreme Court
would do if it were confronted with this question.'”
App. 20a. (citation omitted)

It then proceeded to examine the Kentucky Supreme
Court's decisions in Wood and Capital Holding, App
20a-23a, decisions from lower courts in Kentucky,
App. 23a-24a, cases from other jurisdictions, App.
25a-26a, and public policy considerations, including
those considerations to which Kentucky courts had
previously given weight. App. 26a-28a. After consid-
ering these sources, the Sixth Circuit concluded:

“Kentucky caselaw provides sufficient guidance for
us to conclude that, if this case were to be decided
in thai state’s courts, the public policy considera-
tions and lack of any present physical illness
would require the grant of summary judgment in
favor of the defendants.” App. 28a.

Thus, the court's decision was based on an interpreta-
tion of Kentucky law as enunciated by the Kentucky
Supreme Court and lower Kentucky courts.

Petitioners fault the Sixth Circuit (at 11) for citing
public policy considerations as one of the factors in its
decision process. Petitioners cite nothing to suggest
that this was inappropriate, and in any event the
opinion makes it clear that the Sixth Circuit was rely-
ing on these considerations simply as an aid to its con-
struction of Kentucky law, which the court deemed
dispositive. Moreover, the policy considerations that
the Sixth Circuit cited were essentially the same policy
considerations that the Kentucky Supreme Court relied
on in Wood and Capital Holding. See App. 22a-23a.

10

Petitioners also contend (at 10, 14) that the Sixth
Circuit's opinion conflicts with Kentucky precedent.’
GE submits that the Sixth Circuit's conclusion was
plainly correct under the governing Kentucky prece-
dents of Wood and Capital Holding. But even if the
Sixth Circuit had erred in its construction of Kentucky
law—which it did not—that would not present a proper
question for review by this Court. The Kentucky
Supreme Court, not this Court, is the final arbiter of
Kentucky law.

B. Petitioners’ New Argument Concerning the
Price-Anderson Act Does Not Warrant
Review.

Petitioners now argue for the first time in this Court
(at 12) that under the Price-Anderson Act, “irradiation”
is a compensable injury, even in the absence of any
manifestation of disease symptoms. To the extent that
petitioners now contend that the Price-Anderson Act
imposes different requirements from Kentucky law, this
new argument should not be considered. As noted
above, before the Sixth: Circuit, petitioners conceded
that the requirements of the Price-Anderson Act were
“synonymous” with the requirements of Kentucky law.
Having made that concession, and argued their case
solely with reference to Kentucky law, petitioners
should not now be permitted to argue in this Court
that Kentucky law (as interpreted by the Sixth Circuit)
somehow conflicts with the Price-Anderson Act.

In any event, whether the Price-Anderson Act permits
a plaintiff to recover personal injury damages based
solely on “irradiation” is not a question that merits re-
view by this Court. To our knowledge, only one federal

? The only Kentucky decision that petitioners cite (at 13) is
Deutsch v. Shein, 597 S.W.2d 141 (Ky. 1980). which they assert (at
13) stands for the proposition that “irradiation” can support a
cause of action for personal injury. The Kentucky Supreme Court
expressly rejected this reading of Deutsch in both Wood, 82 S.W.3d
at 853. and Capital Holding, 873 S.W.2d at 193.

11

court of appeals has addressed this question—the
Ninth Circuit in Berg—and that decision squarely re-
jected the notion that exposure to radiation gives rise
to a cause of action under the Price-Anderson Act.
Instead, the Ninth Circuit held in that case that per-
mitting plaintiffs to recover damages without showing a
“physical injury” would be inconsistent with the
requirements of the Act. 293 F.3d at 1131-33. Since
Berg is the only reported case to address this issue,
there obviously is no conflict among the circuits, and
hence no basis for review by this Court.

ll. The Sixth Circuit's Decision With Respect to
the Price-Anderson Claims Does Not Conflict
With Any Decision of This Court or Any Federal
Court of Appeals.

As we have shown, the Sixth Circuit concluded that
under Kentucky law, subcellular changes would not
constitute a “bodily injury” sufficient to give rise to a
cause of action for negligence or strict liability. App.
20a-28a. Petitioners contend that this holding conflicts
with various decisions from this Court and other
federal courts of appeals. There is no merit to these
arguments.

A. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision Does Not
Conflict With This Court's Decisions in
Silkwood and Ayers.

Petitioners argue {at 10-15) that the Sixth Circuit's
decision conflicts with this Court's decisions in Silk-
wood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238 (1984), and
Norfolk & Western Railway Co. v. Ayers, 538 U.S. 135
(2003). Notably, petitioners did not cite Silkwood or
Ayers in the District Court or in their Sixth Circuit
briefs or rehearing petition. Accordingly, petitioners’
arguments concerning these cases shou!d not even be
considered by this Court. In any case, the decision
does not conflict with Silkwood or Ayers.

1. Silkiwood was decided before the enactment of the
Price-Anderson Amendments Act of 1988, 102 Stat.

12

1066. At that time, the federal courts did not have
jurisdiction over claims arising out of or resulting from
“nuclear incidents.”* In Silkwood, the decedent was
exposed to plutonium in her workplace, and as a result
of this exposure her home was also contaminated. 464
U.S. at 241-42. She later died in an unrelated car
accident, and her estate sued for damages for personal
injury and property damage under Oklahoma law.

The issue before this Court in Silkiwwood was whether
federal law precluded the plaintiff from recovering
punitive damages on her property damage claim. This
Court, analyzing the Price-Anderson Act as it then
existed, determined that an award of punitive damages
was not preempted. It held that “in enacting and
amending the Price-Anderson Act, Congress assumed
that state-law remedies, in whatever form they might
take, were available to those injured by nuclear
incidents.” Id. at 256.

In the light of the 1988 amendments, the precise
holding of Silkwood is no longer good law. The 1988
amendments gave federal courts jurisdiction over
“public liability actions’"—ie., claims arising out of or
resulting from “nuclear incidents"—and barred any
award of punitive damages in such cases where the
defendant is indemnified by the United States. See 42
U.S.C. § 2014(q), (w), (hh); id. § 2210(n)(2), (s).

Petitioners argue (at 11) that Silkwood and the 1988
amendments reflect a policy that “state law remedies
be available to those injured by nuclear incidents.” GE
agrees that under the 1988 amendments, state law
continues to provide the substantive rules for decision
for claims arising out of nuclear incidents, unless such _

8 Prior to the 1988 amendments, federal court jurisdiction
under the Price-Anderson Act was limited to claims arising out of or
resulting from a much more narrow category of “extraordinary
nuclear occurrences.” See, e.g., Acuna v. Brown & Root Inc., 200
F.3d 335, 339 (5th Cir. 2000); Kiick v. Metro. Edison Co., 784 F.2d
490, 494 (3d Cir. 1986) (quoting pre- 1988 version of § 2210(n)(2))

13

law is inconsistent with the Price-Anderson Act. See 42
U.S.C. § 2014(hh). But this argument does not he'p
petitioners, because—as noted above—the Sixth Circuit
decided this case based its interpretation of Kentucky
law. Thus, petitioners were not deprived of a remedy
they would have had under state law.

Petitioners also argue (at 13) that Silkwood stands
for the proposition that “irradiation” is “sufficient to
support an action for personal injury absent clinically
manifest disease.” Silkwood does not support this pro-
position at all. Although the plaintiff had originally
asserted both property damage and personal injury
claims, the Tenth Circuit held that the personal injury
claim was barred by the Oklahoma worker's compen-
sation statute. 464 U.S. at 246. Consequently, the only
claim before this Court was a claim for property
damage, not personal injury.

And in any event, Silkwood was decided under Okla-
homa law—not Kentucky law. Even assuming that the
Oklahoma courts would recognize an action for “irra-
diation” in the absence of any disease manifestation,
that would not mean that the Sixth Circuit erred in
finding, based on Wood and Capital Holding, that the
Kentucky courts would not recognize such an action.
In short. to the extent that Silkwood remains good law,
it does not conflict with the Sixth Circuit's ruling in
this case.

2. In Ayers, this Court held that a plaintiff suffering
from the disease of asbestosis may recover damages for
fear of cancer unver the Federal Employers’ Liability
Act (“FELA”). 538 U.S. at 141. Petitioners appear to be
relying on Ayers to suggest that they should also be
entitled to recover damages for fear of cancer.

Ayers is distinguishable for two reasons. First, in
Ayers, the substantive rules for decision were a matter
of federal law under FELA. By contrast, as we have
shown, the Price-Anderson Act provides that the sub-
stantive rules of decision are to be provided by state

14

law, 42 U.S.C. § 2014(hh), and the Sixth Circuit
decided the case based on Kentucky law. Even if FELA
did permit a plaintiff to recover fear of damages absent
any symptoms of disease (which, as discussed below, it
does not), that would not mean that the Sixth Circuit
erred in its interpretation of Kentucky law.

Second, in Ayers, it was undisputed that the plain-
tiffs were suffering from asbestosis, which the Court
characterized as a “clinically serious, often disabling,
and progressive disease.” 538 U.S. at 148; see also id.
at 142 n.2 (listing symptoms of asbestosis). By con-
trast, petitioners here do not exhibit any symptoms of
any disease; they merely contend that they are at
increased risk of developing cancer some time in the
future. Nothing in Ayers suggests that an increased
risk of disease, without any symptoms, gives rise to a
cause of action under FELA, To the contrary, this
Court expressly rejected that argument in Metro-North
Commuter Railroad v. Buckley, 521 U.S. 424 (1997),
holding that under FELA, a “worker negligently ex-
posed to a carcinogen . . . cannot recover unless, and
until, he manifests symptoms of a disease.” Id. at 426-
27.

Accordingly, Ayers does not support petitioners’ con-
tention that they are entitled to recover damages for
fear of cancer even though they do not currently
manifest any symptoms of disease.

B. The Sixth Circuit's Decision Does Not Con-
flict With Any Decision of Any Other Court
of Appeals.

Petitioners also assert (at 13-14, 19-22) that the
Sixth Circuit's decision conflicts with various other

decisions of federal appellate courts.® These arguments
also lack any merit.

9 Petitioners also cite several district court decisions and a few
decisions from state courts. While GE believes that petitioners have
mischaracterized many of these cases, we will not address them in

15

1. Pe mers (at 19) cite Lead Industries Ass'n, Inc. v.
EPA, 6-.. #.2d 1130, 1158 (D.C. Cir. 1980), for the pro-
position that the “modern trend” in preventive medicine
is to detect and correct health problems at their sub-
clinical stages.'° Lead Industries, however, was not a
tort case, but an industry petition for review of air
quality standards issued by the Environmental Protec-
tion Agency. Lead Industries thus has nothing to say
about whether subclinical changes that have not
resulted in disease symptoms are sufficient to give rise
to a cause of action in tort under any state’s law—
much less under Kentucky law.

2. Petitioners also (at 19-21) cite several cases (some
unpublished and non-precedential) involving the con-
struction of the term “bodily injury” in liability insur-
ance policies.'' Petitioners did not cite any of these
decisions in the District Court or the Sixth Circuit.
Furthermore, none of these cases involves the applica-
tion of Kentucky law. But in any event, courts have
recognized a “clear distinction” between the time when
“bodily injury” occurs for purposes of triggering cover-
age under an insurance policy and the time when such
injury becomes compensable for purpose of tort law,
iLe., when a cause of action accrues. Ins. Co. of N. Am.
v. Forty-Eight Insulations, Inc., 633 F.2d 1212, 1223

detail because (1) the cases do not involve the application of
Kentucky law. and (2) conflict between a court of appeals decision
and a district court decision is not generally a ground for Supreme
Court review in any event. See Sup. Ct. R. 10. We alse note that
several of these cases were not cited in either the District Court or
the Sixth Circuit.

10 Petitioners mistakenly describe Lead Industries as a Second
Circuit decision. .

'! See VoiceStream Wireless Corp. v. Fed. Ins. Co., 112 Fed.
Appx. 553 (9th Cir. 2004); N. Ins. Co. of N.Y. v. Baltimore Bus.
Conun. Inc., 68 Fed. Appx. 414 (4th Cir. 2003); Campbell v. Metro.
Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 239 F.3d 179 (2d Cir. 2001): Am. Home Prods.
Corp. v. Liberty Mut Ins. Corp., 748 F.2d 760 (2d Cir. 1984); other
cases cited in Petition (at 20).

16

(6th Cir. 1980).'2 Thus the construction of insurance
policies is not relevant to the issues in this case.

3. Finally, petitioners argue (at 21) that the Sixth Cir-
cuit’s decision is inconsistent with Hagerty v. L&L Mar-
ine Services, Inc., 788 F.2d 315 (5th Cir.), reh'g denied,
797 F.2d 256 (Sth Cir. 1986). Petitioners failed to cite
Hagerty in either the District Court or the Sixth Cir-
cuit. In any event, Hagerty does not involve any
interpretation of Kentucky law. Furthermore, it does
not hold (as petitioners claim) that “cellular and chro-
mosomal damage [is] sufficient to support liability for
emotional injury.” ‘

The plaintiff in Hagerty was a seaman who was acci-
dentally soaked with toxic chemicals, as a result of
which he developed “[{djizziness, leg cramps, and a per-
sistent stinging sensation in [his! feet or fingers.” 788
F.2d at 317. Thus, unlike petitioners in this case, he
did manifest some symptoms of disease or illness. The
Fifth Circuit held that this was sufficient injury to
permit him to assert a cause of action in tort under the
Jones Act. Id.!° Consequently, Hagerty does not stand
for the proposition that a plaintiff may recover tort
damages under federal law absent any symptoms of
illness or disease. In any case, as noted above, this
Court’s subsequent decision in Metro-North made it
clear that a plaintiff cannot recover tort damages under

12 See also Keene Corp. v. Ins. Co. of N. Am. 667 F.2d 1034,
1043 n.17 (D.C. Cir. 1981) (because different policy considerations
apply. cases regarding accrual of a claim for statute of limitations
purposes are “not at all relevant” to construction of insurance
policies).

'3 Although Hagerty did appear to suggest that a plaintiff
could recover damages for fear of cancer absert a physical injury,
the Fifth Circuit clarified on rehearing that it had “assumed an
actionable injury and . . . intended no opinion as to the nature of
the injury required to give rise to an actionable claim.” 797 F.2d at

56.

17 .

federal law unless and until disease symptoms become
manifest. 521 U.S. at 426-27.'4

Ill. Review of the Sixth Circuit's Decision With
Respect to the Bivens Claim Is Unwarranted,
Because It Does Not Conflict With Any Decision
of This Court or a Federal Court of Appeals.

The Sixth Circuit held that the comprehensive reme-
dial scheme set forth in the Price-Anderson Act for
claims arising out of a “nuclear incident” precluded
petitioners from asserting a Bivens claim. It based this
conclusion primarily on Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S.
412 (1988), and Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983).

In both of these decisions, this Court declined to
imply a damages remedy under Bivens where Congress
had established an alternative statutory remedial
scheme. In Bush, the Court held that the existence of
“comprehensive procedural and substantive provisions
giving meaningful remedies against the United States”
precluded a federal civil servant from asserting a
Bivens claim against his supervisor for alleged viola-
tions of his First Amendment rights. 462 U.S. at 368.
In Schweiker, the Court held that the Social Security
Act foreclosed a Bivens remedy for improper denial of
Social Security benefits. 487 U.S. at 424-29. The Court
explained that “[wjhen the design of a Government pro-
gram suggests that Congress has provided what it
considers adequate remedial mechanisms for constitu-
tional violations that may occur in the course of its
administration, we have not created additional Bivens
remedies.” Id. at 423.

The Sixth Circuit's decision rests on a straight-
forward application of the principles set forth in
Schweiker and Bush. After examining the legislative
history of the Price-Anderson Act, the court concluded

'# Jones Act cases follow cases under FELA. E.g., Brown v.
Parker Driiling Offshore Corp., 410 F.3d 166. 178 (Sth Cir. 2005).

18

that “Congress indisputably intended for the Act to be
the primary remedial mechanism for claims arising out
of ‘nuclear incidents."” App. 3la. Because Congress
had provided what it considered to be an adequate
remedial mechanism, the Sixth Circuit found no basis
for implying an additional Bivens remedy. App. 33a.

Petitioners argue (at 24) that under Carlson v. Green,
446 U.S. 14 (1980), a Bivens claim is only precluded if
Congress “explicitly” declares an alternative remedy to
be a substitute for direct recovery under the Constitu-
tion and viewed as equally effective. In neither Bush
nor Schweiker, however, did the statutory scheme
contain any such “explicit” statement.'5 The Sixth Cir-
cuit’s decision is thus consistent with the governing
precedent from this Court.

Petitioners do not argue that the Sixth Circuit's
ruling conflicts with any decision of any other court of
appeals. Indeed, to our knowledge, no other court has
ever addressed whether the Price-Anderson Act remedy
precludes a Bivens claim. Thus there is no conflict
among the circuits that might justify review of this
question.

But in any event, even assuming that the Sixth
Circuit erred in holding that the Price-Anderson Act
precludes a Bivens remedy, this Court's decision in
Malesko would still prevent plaintiffs from asserting a
Bivens claim. In Malesko, this Court unequivocally
held that the Bivens remedy could not be extended “to
confer a right of action for damages against private
entities acting under color of federal law.” 534 U.S. at
66. Thus, as the District Court recognized, App. 79a,
petitioners cannot assert a Bivens action against GE or

'S See Bush, 462 U.S. at 372-73 (noting that “Congress has
not expressly precluded the creation of [a Bivensl remedy by
declaring that existing statutes provide the exclusive mode of
redress” and assuming that civil service remedy would not be as
effective as individual damages remedy); Schweiker, 487 U.S. at
425 (finding case indistinguishable from Bush).

19

the Paducah contractors, all of which are private cor-
porations.

For all of these reasons, review by this Court of the
dismissal of the Bivens claim is not warranted.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
CHARLES S. CASSIS ELIZABETH RUNYAN GEISE
LORI E. HAMMOND (Counsel of record)
FROST BROWN TODD LLC MATTHEW M. HOFFMAN
400 West Market St. GOODWIN PROCTER LLP
Louisville, KY 40202 901 New York Ave.
(502) 889-5400 Washington, DC 20001

(202) 346-4000
Counsel for Respondent General Electric Company
September 29, 2005

APPENDIX
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. Section 11 of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as
amended by the Price-Anderson Act, 71 Stat. 576, and
as subsequently amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2014, provides
in relevant part:

“Sec.11. DEFININONS.—The intent of Congress in
the definitions as given in this section should be
construed from the words or phrases used in the
definitions. As used in this Act:

“e. The term ‘byproduct material’ means (1) any
radioactive material (except special nuclear mate-
rial) yielded in or made radioactive by exposure to
the radiation incident to the process of producing
or utilizing special nuclear material, and (2) the
tailings or wastes produced by the extraction or
concentration of uranium or thorium from any ore
processed primarily for its source material content.

“q. The term ‘nuclear incident’ means any occur-
rence, including an extraordinary nuclear occur-
rence, within the United States causing, within or
outside the United States, bodily injury, sickness,
disease, or death, or loss of or damage to property,
or loss of use of property, arising out of or resulting

‘from the radioactive, toxic, explosive, or other haz-
ardous properties of source, special nuclear, or by-
product material ....

see —_

“w. The term ‘public liability’ means any legal
liability arising out of or resulting from a nuclear
incident or precautionary evacuation (including all
reasonable additional costs incurred by a State, or
a political subdivision of a State, in the course of

2a

responding to a nuclear incident or a precautionary
evacuation)... ..

“z. The term ‘source material’ means (1) uranium,
thorium, or any other material which is determined
by the [Atomic Energy] Commission pursuant to
the provisions of section 61 [42 U.S.C. § 2091] to
be source material; or (2) ores containing one or
more of the foregoi1.g materials, in such concen-
tration as the Commission may by regulation de-
termine from time to time.

“aa. The term ‘special nuclear material’ means (1)
plutonium, uranium enriched in the isotope 233 or
in the isotope 235, and any other material which
the Commission, pursuant to the provisions of
section 51 [42 U.S.C. § 2071], determines to be
special nuclear material, but does not include
source material; or (2) amy material artificially en-
riched by any of the foregoing, but does not include
source material.

“hh The term ‘public liability action’, as used in
section 170 [42 U.S.C. § 2210], means any suit as-
serting public liability. A public liability action
shall be deemed to be an action arising under sec-
tion 170 [42 U.S.C. § 2210], and the substantive
rules for decision in such action shall be derived
from the law of the State in which the nuclear inci-
dent involved occurs, unless such law is inconsis-
tent with the provisions of such section.”

2. Section 170(n)(2) of the Atomic Energy Act of

1954, as added by the Price-Anderson Act and as sub-
sequently amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2210(n)(2), provides in
relevant part:

“(2) With respect to any public liability action
arising out of or resulting from a nuclear incident,
the United States district court in the district

3a

where the nuclear incident takes place . . . shall
have original jurisdiction without regard to the citi-
zenship of any party or the amount.in controversy.
Upon motion of the defendant or of the Commis-
sion or the Secretary, as appropriate, any such
action pending in any State court... or United
States district court shall be removed or trans-
ferred to the United States district court having
venue under this subsection. Process of such dis-
trict court shall be effective throughout the United
States. In any action that is or becomes removable
pursuant to this paragraph, a petition for removal
shall be filed within the period provided in section
1446 of title 28, United States Code... .”

3. Section 170(s) of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954,
as added by the Price-Anderson Act and as sub-
sequently amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2210(s), provides:

“s. LIMITATION ON PUNITIVE DAMAGES.—No court
may award punitive damages in any action with
respect to a nuclear incident or precautionary
evacuation against a person on behalf of whom the
United States is obligated to make payments under
an agreement of indemnification covering such
incident or evacuation.”

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

ALPHONSE RAINER, et ai.,
Petitioners,
v,
UNION CARBIDE CORPORATION, et ai.,
Respondents.

On Petirion For a Writ of CERTIORARI TO THE
Unrrep States Court or ApreaLs ror THe Sixtu Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

G. Witson Horpe Ropert E. Tarr
KRAMER, RAYSON, LEAKE, _ Counsel of Record
Ropaers & MorGaNn Vorys, SATER, SEYMOUR

P.O. Box 629 AND Pease LLP

Knoxville, TN 37901-0629-——_ 52 East Gay Street

P.O. Box 1008

Mark C, WHITLow Columbus, OH 43216-1008
WuttLow, RoBeRrts, (614) 464-6341
Houston & STRAUB

300 Broadway

P.O. Box 995 |

Paducah, KY 42002-0995

Counsel for Respondents

Union Carbide Corporation, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Lockheed Martin Energy Systems, Inc.,
Lockheed Martin Utility Services, Inc.

196964 £

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

‘cdusittien seh bee, att. .

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Are allegations of “subcellular changes” which cause no
physical symptoms and which may or may not later
develop into a “clinically relevant disease” sufficient to
establish a present physical injury under either the Price-
Anderson Act or the applicable Kentucky law?

Absent evidence demonstrating a defendant/employer’s
“deliberate intention to produce injury or death”, are
physical injury suits by employees, such as the claims
advanced by Petitioners herein, barred by the Kentucky
Workers’ Compensation Law?

Are Petitioners’ federal constitutional claims against the
Respondent contractors cognizable under Bivens v. Six
Unknown Named Agents of the Federal Bureau of
Narcotics and its progeny?

Did the District Court error in finding that an
inadvertently produced document was protected from
disclosure by the attorney-client privilege?

ll
PARTIES TO PROCEEDING

The parties to this proceeding are as follows:

Petitioners: Alphonse Rainer
David M. Sacharanoski
Harold Hargan
Charles A. Ramsey
Mrs. H. C. (Sylvia) Mathis
Mrs. Alphonse (Janie) Rainer
Sybil Mathis
Shanda M. Mathis
Chyanne Rainer Stevens

Respondents: Union Carbide Corporation
Martin Marietta Corporation
Martin Marietta Energy

Systems, Inc.
Martin Marietta Utility
Services, Inc.
Lockheed Martin Corporation
Lockheed Martin Energy
Systems, Inc. i.
Lockheed Martin Utility
Services, Inc.
General Electric Company

Union Carbide Corporation is a wholly-owned subsidiary
of The Dow Chemical Company. The Dow Chemical
Company has no parent. Martin Marietta Corporation is now
known as Lockheed Martin Corporation. Martin Marietta
Energy Systems, Inc. is now known as Lockheed Martin
Energy Systems, Inc. Martin Marietta Utility Services, Inc.
is now known as Lockheed Martin Utility Services, Inc. Both
Lockheed Martin Energy Systems, Inc. and Lockheed Martin
Utility Services, Inc. are wholly-owned subsidiaries of
Lockheed Martin Corporation. U.S. Trust Company

ill

(16.16%), and State Street Bank and Trust Company
(19.26%), as fiduciaries, currently hold more than a 10%
ownership interest in Lockheed Martin Corporation.
Lockheed Martin Corporation has no parent.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ......

PARTIES TO PROCEEDING ....cccccccctocves

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......ccccccccens

PEPE EL OE CIUED oc ccccccevedecentesss

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ....

I.

Il.

I i a aa

Contrary to Petitioners’ claims, the rulings
below are not in conflict with precedent of
this Court or the Kentucky Supreme Court
with regard to the requirement that Plaintiffs
establish “a present physical injury” in order
3 kk rrr ry errr eee

A. Both the District Court and the Court of
Appeals properly applied Kentucky law
to the undisputed facts in this case. ...

B. The Courts properly required a “present
SG TE oa cncevassadabvanets

Contents
Page

C. Decisions by other Circuits and/or other
States are largely irrelevant to the
determination herein. .............. 10

D. Price-Anderson mandates the result
reached in this case. ...............- 10

lll. Deliberate intent to harm is an absolute
prerequisite to recovery for an intentional tort
Sy TONE, -s dwccuussoswesecsus lI

IV. Petitioners have no cognizable Bivens
Gc wbudod suseeus dednceusbedeasds 14

A. Bivens applies only to individuals. .... 14
B. Price-Anderson provides an adequate

remedial mechanism for Petitioners’
| TRAINS AOI em Smee Ree Ree 17

V. Respondents were entitled to the return
of the inadvertently disclosed privileged
BD G0 nn ctdentecdecevécseueeixe 17

SE co vnveerucniseernanyeeetsunns 19

APPENDIX — RELEVANT STATUTORY
SPEED cv denesevenutdsubbetaseeueus la

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases: 8
Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Federal

Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971) .... passim
Blanton v. Cooper Industries, Inc., 99 F.Supp. 2d 797

SNe GEE vocaeee sun gee caddauenesedes 12
Brierly v. Alusuisse Flexible Packaging, Inc.,

184 F.3d 527 (6" Cir. 1999) .........c cee eee 12, 13
Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983) ............. 17
Capital Holding Co. v. Bailey, 873 S.W.2d 187

Se BOOED kwevexrivesccvsaceadvetasse vera 7, 8,9
City of Waukesha v. EPA, 320 F.3d 228 (D.C. Cir.

BE “ka dcadwtavendveviactidastdsebvaesans 9
Correctional Services Corp. v. Malesko, 534 U.S.

et Brrr eT rere 3, 14, 15, 16
FDIC v. Meyer, 510 U.S. 471 (1994) ............ 15, 16
Fryman v. Electric Steam Radiator Corp.,

yep ph & pF 2% per reer 12

In re Berg Litigation, 293 F.3d 1127 (9" Cir. 2002)

vii

Cited Authorities
Page
In re TMI Litigation Cases Consolidated, 940 F.2d
832 (3 Cir. 1991), cert. den., 503 U.S. 906 (1992)
Seine s cd dded cetdneabasesiianetoussia 6,9, 11
Metro-North Commuter R.R. Co. vs. Buckley,
ee Wee. PEED bkc0 oekcttasionacaacen 9
Moore v. Environmental Construction Corp.,
crf § & fi CR | rer re rrr: 13
Neiman v. NLO, Inc., 108 F.3d 1546 (6" Cir. 1997)
been ae eddahets Ceddss teed 6, 8, 17
O’Conner v. Commonwealth Edison Co., 13 F.3d
1090 (7" Cir. 1994), cert. den., 512 U.S. 1222
ID ck bocce cdducdesd tac bebeedeea tein 6
Rainer v. Union Carbide, 402 F.3d 608 (6" Cir. 2005)
-edavedédevereravetecaleneteelteeees 1,7,8
Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412 (1988) ...... 17
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238 (1984)
eens oenecthevesdedacssenvauneeenereai 8
Union Underwear Co. v. Scearce, 896 S.W. 2d 7
(Ky. 1995), cert. den., 516 U.S. 869 (1995) .... 11

Wood v. Wyeth-Ayerst Laboratories, 82 S.W. 3d 849
SUED ede viinedcdckaktanensaaneeea 7,8,9

vill

Cited Authorities

Page
Statutes:
Ct ie ccgecpecectoouceecsedeese 10,17
Ge 6, 8, 10, 15, 17
cece vel be ehecesecensseeeees 12, 13

DT SaAdeedéececececsoctcoesteceecs 12

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners, past and present workers at the U.S.
Department of Energy (“DOE”) owned Paducah Gaseous
Diffusion Plant (“PGDP”) and members of their households,
allege that they were exposed to excessive radiation from
that facility. They filed this putative class action against these
Respondents', corporations that operated PGDP at various
times under contracts with the federal government, asserting
various tort claims for damages. Petitioners later filed a
second class action Complaint (on behalf of, and against the
same parties) to assert a federal Bivens claim. The District
Court granted all or part of a series of motions for summary
judgment, which cumulatively dismissed all claims against
all Respondents. Those decisions were upheld by the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals, Rainer v. Union Carbide Corp.,
402 F.3d 608 (6th Cir. 2005), and Petitioners subsequent
application for rehearing en banc was denied by that Court.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The Paducah Gaseous Diffusion Plant (“PGDP”) is one
of two existing federally-owned uranium enrichment
facilities in the United States. Production began at PGDP in
1952 after President Truman directed the federal government
to expand the nation’s capacity to produce fissionable
material used in nuclear weapons. Contrary to Petitioners’
assertions,’ the Paducah plant was designed and directed by
the Atomic Energy Commission and its successor agencies
to process both natural uranium and recycled uranium
(primarily “reactor returns”) from other facilities within the
U.S. nuclear complex.

1. The Petitioner Plaintiffs also sued several entities that
supplied materials to the PDGP, including Respondent General
Electric Company.

2. See Petition for Writ of Certiorari (“Petition”) at p. 2.

2

At all relevant times, PGDP was operated by three
successive corporations (all joined as Respondents herein)
under contracts with the federal government.’ Union Carbide
Corporation (“Union Carbide”) operated the facility from the
outset in 1952 until April |, 1984; Lockheed Martin Energy
Systems, Inc. (“LMES”) conducted the operations from
April 1, 1984, until June 30, 1993, and performed
environmental remediation activities at the site until April 1,
1998; and Lockheed Martin Utility Services, Inc. (““LMUS”)
conducted uranium enrichment operations at PGDP between
July 1, 1993 and May 17, 1999. All such operations were
performed pursuant to contracts with the United States
government‘ or, in the case of LMUS, with the United States
Enrichment Corporation (“USEC”), then a government
corporation formed by the National Energy Policy Act of
1992.

This case was initiated as a purported class action by
current and former PDGP employees’ who asserted that they
had been exposed to excessive levels of radiation in the
course of their employment. Although the Petition filed
herein cofttains the same exaggerated and misleading
recitation of “facts” that characterized the Plaintiffs’ various
memoranda below, the facts relevant to the rulings that they
seek to be reviewed are uncontroverted by the evidence of
record.

3. Contrary to Petitioners’ statement, the facility was never
“leased” by Respondents.

4. The Department of Energy or its predecessor agencies.

5. Although the Amended Complaint identifies four putative
classes, the distinctions between the asserted classes are not relevant
to this Court’s consideration of the Appellants’ Petition.

3

First, it is undisputed that the only “physical injury”
claimed by Petitioners in this action consists of purported
subcellular changes, found after highly technical expert
analysis, which are completely symptomless, and are part of
a natural biologic process by which the body responds to
exposures to radiation, including natural radiation from the
sun and earth. Petitioners do not and cannot claim that they
currently suffer from radiation-induced illnesses or
diseases, or even that they likely will suffer such harm in
the future. The most they can say is that the allegedly
damaged chromosomes “may well appear years later as a
recognized clinically relevant illness” (Raff Affidavit,
Jt. App. 1336; emphasis added).

It is also undisputed that the majority of Petitioners’
claims, at least against these Respondents, are asserted
against the entities who were their employers at the time
of the alleged radiation exposures. Both the District Court
and the Court of Appeals found those claims to be subject
to, and barred by the “exclusive remedy” provisions of the
Kentucky workers’ compensation law, since Petitioners did
not as much as allege that Respondents “deliberately
intended” them harm. Petitioners continue to challenge this
application of the Kentucky law, but their failure to present
evidence of a “deliberate intent to harm” is not at issue.

Finally, there is no question that each of the Respondents
herein is a private corporation, and/or that Petitioners’
federal constitutional cause of action is based solely on
Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Federal Bureau.
of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971) and its progeny. This Court
has specifically held that such claims are not cognizable
against corporate defendants, Correctional Services Corp.
v. Malesko, 534 U.S. 61 (2001).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0144%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
