# Prologue — Pelullo v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0127%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Prologue
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1137

## Text

O05 244 AUG 19 2005

No. 05- OFFICE OF Tric Cucrs-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Leonard A. Pelullo,
Petitioner,

Vv.

United States.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Lawrence S. Lustberg Thomas C. Goldstein

Thomas R. Va en (Counsel of Record)

GIBBONS, DEL DEO, DOLAN Amy Howe

GRIFFINGER & VECCHIONE Kevin K. Russell

One Riverfront Plaza GOLDSTEIN & Howe, P.C.

Newark, NJ 07102 4607 Asbury Place, N.W.
Washington, DC 20016
(202) 237-7543

August 19, 2005

ia ocieeeeneeeeaimaemnetanatammmemenmmntiaaammeoamtadanemememmemmtenamcmmeaemattaetameee ae atonal
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether and in what circumstances the prosecution's
failure to disclose relevant evidence under Brady v. Marv-
land, 373 U.S. 83 (1963), is excused by the defendant's own
ability to uncover the evidence through the exercise of “due
diligence.”

2. Whether, assuming that such a “due diligence” obliga-
tion exists, a defendant fails to exercise sufficient diligence
when the government misleads him into not pursuing the evi-
dence.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
CD 6 POG 6 UI UW cqeenrecserecincsnrvernapinsunicnedintcnnsinnieni i
DOs Ce COU SU Bi ccceveniichnstniesininitimnnncinunaningiinatogens ii
CRBs Ge ATG ONE 6 BD cctceternssitrninicannenacenivininmnianien i
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CLERTIORARL ............ccceceeees |
CP GICs CIO cccectectcenissinnusiesinttibcinntiiiatniiuitiasiattanjeiaianilinigidi I
Fag FORTE cncenserntncnniensaticigitinnpiaduinseaninieiandiinndnienion I
RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION ................. I
DUPRE CE Ce CURD GPa iccscsenscenesesnemniseesesntecimvaninitnietain I
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT......0...0..ccccceeceee. 9

|. The Third Circuit’s “Due Diligence” Exception To
Bradv v. Marvland Conflicts With Decisions Of
Se Ce ncoceniencntetasitiicisipniecnininiaiiitltiisiaiadailcdditiatiaaitaiiane )
ll. The Third Circuit’s Holding That Prosecutorial
Misrepresentations About The Availability Of
Relevant Evidence Are Excused By A Defendant’s
Ability To Uncover That Evidence Himself Conflicts
With This Court's Precedents. .......:cccccccsescovessosccccesosceses 20

CIO a ee Cecarcbcicscinnionieiisicubeysitnninienmintiniieitimebeiniivdanniiaaiti 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Banks v. Dretke, 540 U.S. 668 (2004) ..........0....00008. 12, 21, 23
Banks v. Reynolds, 54 F.3d 1508 (CA10 1995)........ 13, 14, 22
Barnes v. Thompson, 58 F.3d 971 (CA4), cert. denied,

RE ac ea 19
Benn v. Lambert, 283 F.3d 1040 (CAL 2002) ..00..0.c cece. 12
Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963) ..........0:cceeeee passim
Freeman v. Georgia, 599 F.2d 65 (CAS 1979)... cecccceeees 17
Gantt v. Roe, 389 F.3d 908 (CA9 2004)... cece 12, 24
Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972)......... 3, 5, 24, 26
Hughes v. Hopper, 629 © .2d 1036 (CAS 1980)... 18
In re Sealed Case No. 99-3096 (Brady Obligations),

Fe ets eee CIEE ciccestenesicvesccemnssiatinbeees 14, 15, 26
Kyles v. Whitley, 514 U.S. 419 (1995)... cc cccececteeeeeeeeeenees 14
Leka v. Portuondo, 257 F.3d 89 (CA2 2001) .......cccecccceeeeees 19
Levin v. Katzenbach, 363 F.2d 287 (CADC 1966)............... 15
Lugo v. Munoz, 682 F.2d 7 (CAL 1982)........:cceceeeeeeeerceeees 16
Mathis v. Dretke, 124 Fed. Appx. 865 (CAS), cert.

denied, 2005 U.S. LEXIS 4922 (2005)...........cccccceceeeeeeeee 19
McCambridge v. Hall, 303 F.3d 24 (CAI 2002)...........000 17
Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39 (1987) .......cccccccceseeeees 26
Prewitt v. State, 819 N.E.2d 393 (Ind. App. 2004) .............. 19
Rector v. Johnson, 120 F.3d S51 (CAS 1997) .......ccccccceeecees 16
Smith v. Secretary of N.M. Dep't of Corrections, 50

Fe Ce Ct Ricsincccctitcncsidsistnitnenniiteantalonneieniitecsiniatl 14
Stockton v. Murray, 41 F.3d 920 (CA4 1994) 0000 cece 11
Strickler v. Greene, 527 U.S. 263 (1999)... Fitietes passim
Strickler v. Pruett, Nos. 97-29 & -30, 1998 U.S. App.

LEXIS 12805 (CA4 June 17, 1998) ...........ccccccececveesesereees 11
United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97 (1976)......0cccccccceceeeeeeees 24

United States v. Cottage, 307 F.3d 494 (CA6 2002)............ 11

iv

United States v. Ellis, 121 F.3d 908 (CA4 1997) ..............0.. 18
United States v. Hanna, 55 F.3d 1456 (CA9 1995).............. 26
United States v. Higgins, 75 F.3d 332 (CA7 1996)......0....4. 25
United States v. Howell, 231 F.3d 615 (CA9 2000)............. 13
United States v. Kelly, 35 F.3d 929 (CA4 1994) ....0....... 19, 25
United States v. Kojayan, 8 F.3d 1315 (CA9 1993)............. 26
United States v. O'Hara, 301 F.3d 563 (CA7 2002)............ 12

United States v. Payne, 63 F.3d 1200 (CA2 1995)......... 18, 19
United States v. Quintanilla, 193 F.3d 1139 (CAI0O

7, REREAD CnupCee nok rene de RE ARENAS EBA 14
United States v. Schlei, 122 F.3d 944 (CAI1 1997)............. 12
United States v. Shaffer, 789 F.2d 682 (CA9 1986)............. 13
United States v. Starusko, 729 F.2d 256 (CA3 1984)....... 8, 11
United States v. Zackson, 6 F.3d 911 (CA2 1993) .00..0.. ee. 18
Ware v. State, 702 A.2d 699 (Md. 1997)........ccccesececeereeeeeeees 19

Statutes
Fee eee: SISSED B icoccininiedsevcidebddiiaesonehetaliipeaunisvidnaoncisenaiitelea I
Rules

Fis Wis GoM, So: SAO incsictindsntaesintiiscosacatnniabintinigesindaiiianiincsdntehiibagibain 5

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Leonard A. Pelullo respectfully petitions for a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Third Circuit’s opinion (Pet. App. la-44a) is pub-
lished at 399 F.3d 197. The district court’s judgment and
opinion (Pet. App. 45a-87a) are unpublished.

JURISDICTION

The Third Circuit denied rehearing and rehearing en banc
on March 24, 2005. See Pet. App. 87a. Justice Souter subse-
quently extended the time to file this Petition to and including
August 19, 2005. App. 04A1041. This Court has jurisdiction
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

The Fifth Amendment provides in relevant part: “[{Nlor
shall any person * * * be deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was convicted on charges arising from an al-
leged embezzlement scheme. The district court subsequently
concluded, based on extensive factfinding, that the govern-
ment had committed a serious violation of its duty under
Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963), to disclose relevant
evidence to the defense. Prosecutors, the district court found,
repeatedly misled petitioner and the court into believing that a
cache of documents in the government’s possession contained
no relevant exculpatory evidence. In fact, the court found,
many of those documents seriously undercut the credibility of
crucial testimony offered by government witnesses at trial.
The district court further found that absent the prosecutors’
false representations, petitioner’s counsel would have ob-

2

tained the documents from the government and, armed with
the information contained in those documents, would have
been able to respond convincingly to the trial testimony. The
district court held that a new trial was accordingly required.
On appeal, the Third Circuit did not disturb the district court’s
findings that the documents had not been disclosed to peti-
tioner and that they contained important exculpatory evi-
dence. It nonetheless denied petitioner a retrial on the re-
markable ground that petitioner had a duty to discover the
evidence in the government’s possession himself, notwith-
standing the government’s repeated misrepresentations that
the documents in its possession contained no relevant evi-
dence.

|. During the early and mid-1990s, the government en-
gaged in an investigation of petitioner Leonard Pelullo in the
Middle District of Florida. In 1991, as part of that investiga-
tion, it seized essentially all of the documents relating to ap-
proximately twenty different corporate entities controlled by
petitioner. The next year, the government returned some of
those documents (weighing some seventy-five thousand
pounds) in a disorganized fashion. However, the government
retained a very large cache — 160 boxes and thirty-six file
cabinets — of the documents. Significantly, the government
declined to provide petitioner with an index that differentiated
the documents it was retaining from those it had returned. '

2. In.1994, while still in possession of the Florida docu-
ments, the government indicted petitioner in the District of
New Jersey on charges arising from a separate investigation
of an alleged scheme by petitioner to misappropriate the pen-
sion funds of a printing company, the Compton Press.’ This
petition arises from that New Jersey prosecution, challenging

' The government eventually voluntarily dismissed the Florida
charges.

> The government charged petitioner with fifty-four counts of
conspiracy, embezzlement, and money laundering.

3

the government’ “ailure to turn over to petitioner, as required
by Brady, rele, . documents retained from the Florida sei-
zure.

During the course of the New Jersey proceedings, prose-
cutors disclosed to petitioner six specific boxes of documents
retained from the 1991 seizure. The rest, the government re-
peatedly advised petitioner and the district court, were rele-
vant only to the separate Florida investigation, and nof to the
New Jersey proceedings. See Pet. App. 59a. The government
made those representations not only prior to trial but also,
most importantly for present purposes, both on the eve of and
during the trial itself. Immediately prior to trial, petitioner’s
counsel indicated his willingness to send a representative to
review materials in the Florida documents. The AUSA
prosecuting the case in New Jersey, however, advised peti-
tioner’s counsel “that he had been assured by his agents and
the Florida prosecutor that there were no documents in Jack-
sonville pertaining to Compton Press or the charges against
Mr. Pelullo in this district and that [counsel] should not
bother to go to Jacksonville.” /d. at 1Sa (emphases added).
In response to another specific query from petitioner’s coun-
sel, the AUSA “responded that he had spoken to the prosecu-
tor in the Middle District of Florida and had been told that the
prosecutors in that district were not in possession of any
documents relevant to Compton Press or the charges against
Mr. Pelullo in this district.” /bid. (emphasis added).

During trial, the district court expressly sought to verify
that the prosecutor was directing representatives in Florida to
undertake “an exhaustive search” of the documents for excul-
patory evidence. The prosecutor responded, “Yes, | am.”
C.A. J.A. 385. The government later advised petitioner’s
counsel that “[t]he United States is not aware of any addi-
tional * * * Brady or Giglio material.” /d. at 4040-41. In re-
sponse to further inquiries regarding disclosures of the Florida
documents, the government represented not only that “[a]
thorough search has been made” but also that “[a] thorough
search is continuing.” /d. at 2618-19. The government did

4

not disclose any other Florida documents until after the trial.
Nor, critically, did it retreat from its representations that it had
reviewed those documents and they contained no evidence
relevant to the New Jersey proceedings.

3. At trial, the prosecution's strategy was to put on wit-
ness testimony that petitioner had undertaken particular trans-
actions relating to the Compton Press pension funds without
authorization and for improper purposes. Petitioner learned
of this testimony only at the trial: his indictment did not set
forth the government's proof, but instead stated the charges in
sparing fashion. (The entire superseding indictment, setting
forth all fifty-four counts, spans only a meager eighteen
pages. C.A. J.A. 3716-33.)

As the district court luter found, petitioner would have
been able to show that much of this testimony was false if the
government had complied with its Brady obligations and
turned over exculpatory documents retained from the Florida
seizure. As discussed further infra, government witnesses
asserted that petitioner had secured financial control over an
entity rather than providing it with a “bridge loan”; that peti-
tioner had siphoned cash from an entity he had taken over
with Compton Press funds; and that petitioner had withdrawn
more funds from the Compton Press trusts than he had depos-
ited. The district court tater found that those statements,
though central to the government's case, were — unbeknownst
to the jury — utterly untrue or at the very least highly dubious.
The court further found that had petitioner's counsel reviewed
the Florida files, he would easily have obtained a substantial
amount of evidence that demonstrated the many inaccuracies
in the testimony put on by the government. Yet the prosecu-
tors’ repeated assurances to petitioner and to the court that the
documents held by the government in Florida contained no
relevant evidence led petitioner's counsel to believe — errone-
ously — that there was no need to review those files during the
trial. Pet. App. 59a.

5

Petitioner was convicted on all counts and sentenced to
seventeen-and-a-half years in prison. His conviction was af-
firmed on appeal (185 F.3d 863 (CA3 1999) (table)), and this
Court denied certiorari (528 U.S. 1081 (2000)).

4. After trial, petitioner filed a timely motion for a new
trial pursuant to Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 33. He
aHeged that newly discovered evidence demonstrated that the
government had violated its duty under Brady to produce ex-
culpatory evidence and its related duty under Giglio v. United
States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972), to produce evidence that im-
peached its witnesses. Specifically, petitioner explained that,
after trial, a representative of his counsel had examined the
Florida documents and discovered, contrary to the govern-
ment’s repeated representations, that those files included nu-
merous exculpatory and impeaching documents.

The same district judge who had overseen petitioner's
trial (Debevoise, J.) received extensive briefing, reviewed
numerous exhibits, and conducted a lengthy hearing. See Pet.
App. 46a-87a. On the basis of this evidence, the district court
made detailed findings that numerous documents held by the
government in Florida were directly “exonerating and/or im-
peaching” of crucial testimony that the government's wit-
nesses had offered about the “critical issue” of “[petitioner]’s
intent.” /d. at 60a, 59a. Several examples from the district
court’s detailed ruling illustrate the significance of the mate-
rial withheld by the government:

* A government witness testified that, contrary to peti-
tioner’s representations that he had merely provided a “bridge
loan” to the travel agency, petitioner had actually made an
- Investment that gave him majority control of the agency in
order to misappropriate its accounts. /d. at 6la. The Florida
materials included numerous documents demonstrating that
the funds had constituted a loan. /bid.

* A government witness testified that petitioner had
looted funds from the travel agency. /d. at 61-62a. The Flor-
ida documents included proof that petitioner had actually pro-

6

vided funds to the travel agency that exceeded by hundreds of
thousands of dollars what he had been repaid. /bid.

* A government witness testified that petitioner specifi-
cally ordered the withdrawal of $200,000 in funds from the
travel agency for improper purposes. /d. at 63a. The Florida
documents demonstrated that, in fact, the transfer had been
ordered by the agency’s president. /bid.

¢ Government witnesses testified that petitioner had di-
rected the withdrawal of more funds from the Compton Press
funds than he contributed. /d. at 63a-64a. The Florida docu-
ments included proof that petitioner’s investments exceeded
any withdrawals by a large amount, evidence that the district
court found “bears significantly on the testimony” of the gov-
ernment’s witnesses, /bid.

* The government also asserted that petitioner had mis-
appropriated the proceeds of an insurance contract. One gov-
ernment witness supported that theory by testifying that he
and petitioner met and discussed those funds the day they
were deposited into Compton Press’s bank account. In fact,
withheld documents demonstrated that such a meeting could
not have occurred because petitioner was in another state at
the time. /d. at 65a-66a.

¢ The government also failed to disclose io petitioner an
important piece of evidence that was neither among the Flor-
ida documents nor created by one of his own companies. A
government witness testified at trial that his signature had
been forged on various documents. The government failed to
disclose, however, a handwriting report that the signatures
were genuine. The district court specifically recognized that
the report “was a pretty persuasive piece of evidence” (C.A.
J.A. 3936) that “would have cast doubt upon important testi-
mony of a key witness” (Pet. App. 67a) and indeed “tend[ed]
to show that [the witness] lied at trial” (id. at 66a). The gov-
ernment attorney prosecuting the case, in response to peti-
tioner’s Brady claim, acknowledged that he “was aware of”

;

the report but had nonetheless failed to disclose it. C.A. J.A.
3937.

Citing these and other examples, the district court found
“a mass of documentary and other evidence which seriously
undermines the testimony of a number of the Government
witnesses.” C.A. J.A. 3998. The court concluded that the
government had violated petitioner’s constitutional rights by
repeatedly misrepresenting to petitioner, including at trial,
that it did not hold relevant evidence in Florida. As the court
explained, even if a defendant is otherwise ordinarily required
to uncover exculpatory evidence himself, petitioner’s “as-
signed counsel and, shortly before trial, his retained counsel
were faced with the practical problem of an impending trial
and were entitled to rely on the government’s assurances that
it had reviewed the warehouse documents and that there was
no relevant material there other than that which was contained
in the six boxes” returned to petitioner. Pet. App. 60a.

The district court found that the government’s misconduct
was not excused by the government’s offer, made before it
informed petitioner of its evidence, to allow petitione ‘o pho-
tocopy the massive cache of Florida documents. Although
the documents were ostensibly available, the government's
offer was effectively negated by the government’s insistence
that petitioner pay more than $50,000 in photocopying costs
he could not afford and — more importantly — by its repeated
statements that the documents contained no relevant evidence.
Pet. App. 59a-60a; Pet. C.A. Br. 45 n.10. See also C.A. J.A.
3930 (“THE COURT: I recall time and time again, you're
[sic] assuring the defense and me that you had gotten all the
relevant documents from the Florida warehouse.”’).

On that basis, the district court found “such a serious vio-
lation of the' government’s Brady obligations that defendant’s
motion for a new trial must be granted.” Pet. App. 57a.

5. On appeal, the Third Circuit reversed. That court
viewed the case as arising “at the intersection between two
particular branches of the Brady doctrine”: the government’s

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0127%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
