# Opposition Brief — Merck & Co. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0119%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 972

## Text

any time expressed disagreement with the panel's claim
RSA RIRM MER s Tors Guesinm), Tome Youn Tadh wiin
the panel's treatment of the district court's fact finding on
the merits (Merck's second question), and three questioned
the panel's analysis of commercial success (Merck's third
question).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT SHOULD NOT CONSIDER
MERCK’S “ABOUT” CLAIM CONSTRUCTION
ISSUE

A. Merck’s First Question is Moot

Merck's proffered construction of claim 23 asserts that
“about 70 mg, on an alendronic acid basis” does not mean
what it says. Instead, according to Merck, it means
“exactly 70 mg, on an alendronic acid basis.” First, correct
or not, the argument about the Federal Circuit's
interpretation is pointless. The court made clear that
although it believed that the district court's construction
was erroneous, even under that construction the claims
would be invalid:

It makes no difference to this conclusion whether the

court begins with the claim construction set forth by the

panel or by the dissent [i.¢., by Merck]. In either case
the district court erred in finding the "329 patent was

not invalid. . . .

(App. 16a n.10).

Merck's only response to the Federal Circuit's
statement is to say that it was made “defensively” (Pet. 23
n.14), yet Merck's petition fails to articulate how adopting
its proposed interpretation could possibly change the result.
Indeed, the Federal Circuit's observation is entirely

u
consistent with Merck's admissions in the case. Merck's

have recognized that the 80 mg dose referred to in
the Lunar News was chosen only because it represents two
tablets of the 40 mg dose that was available in the

claims is specified in the patent, and 80 mg, specified by
the Lunar News, is not a distinction that could make
Merck's invention unobvious.

Thus, Merck's entire effort is an exercise in futility.
This Court should not consider and decide issues that can
have no effect on the outcomes of the cases in which they
arise. St. Pierre v. United States, 319 U.S. 41 (1943)

In construing the claims of the ‘329 patent, the Federal
Circuit followed its own precedent that an interpretation of
a term in a patent claim that is contrary to its ordinary
meaning must be “clearly expressed” in the patent
specification. Interactive Gift Express, Inc. v. Compuserve,
Inc., 256 F.3d 1323, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2001); Virginia Panel
Corp. v. MAC Panel Co., 133 F.3d 860, 866 (Fed. Cir.
1997). This approach has long been a part of the Federal
Circuit's analytical framework, and Merck does not suggest
that this Court should overrule it. Merck, however, fails to

10

address how following that methodology should have
yielded a different result.

First, Merck does not dispute that the ordinary meaning
of “about 70 mg” is “approximately 70 mg.” Merck thus
recognizes that it must find in the patent text a clear
expression of the construction it proposes, ie, a
construction exactly contrary to that ordinary meaning. As
it did in the district court and in the Federal Circuit, Merck
mischaracterizes the passage of the patent specification 9n
which it relies to provide that interpretation. In particular,
it states that the passage is a “definition” of “about 70 mg.”
kt is not. The key sentence does not say “about 70 mg. . .on
an alendronic acid basis. . means exactly 70 mg, on an
alendronic acid basis.” Instead, it states that “about 70 mg.
. on an alendronic acid basis . . . is calculated based on 70
mg of alendronic acid.” In other words, to normalize the
dosage of various possible salts of differing molecular
weights, the Weight of the compound used is that necessary
to provide the same number of molecules as the stated
amount of alendronic acid. The statement does not provide
a definition of “about 70 mg” of any sort, much less a
definition that eviscerates the ordinary meaning of the term.
Instead, it states the basis on what it must be calculated: an
equivalent amount of the corresponding acid.

This Court's precedents require that a patent claim be
construed in the context of the entire patent document.
Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc., 517 U.S. 370, 389
(1996) (“standard construction rule. . .[is] that a term can
be defined only in a way that comports with the instrument
as a whole.”); Bates v. Coe, 98 U.S. 31, 38 (1878) (patent
claim construed with reference to entire document). The
Federal Circuit did so, and noted what the district court had
ignored: Merck's proposed construction is at odds with the
entirety of the rest of the patent text, and, most important,

ll

makes nonsense out of the claims. In particular, in 15
different instances after the occurrence of the purported
definition of “about [70] mg,” the patent uses the phrase
“about [70] mg, on ap alendronic acid basis.” (App. i4a-
15a). If “about [70] mg” by itself meant, as Merck insists,
“on an alendronic acid basis,” then the latter part of the
phrase is redundant. Although a single redundancy might
be disregarded as a drafting error, a pattern of 15 raises
more than a suspicion that the interpretation that creates the
redundancy must be wrong. Similarly, under the district
court's interpretation, the claims themselves would contain
the same nonsensical redundancy. For example, recast per
the district court, claim 23 would read:
A method for treating osteoporosis in a human
comprising orally administering 70 mg, on an
alendronic acid basis, of alendronate monosodium salt
trihydrate, on an alendronic acid basis, as a unit dosage
according to a continuous schedule having a dosing
interval of once-weekly.
(Emphasis added). Federal Circuit precedent, whose
correctness Merck does not dispute, requires that an
interpretation that creates a redundancy in a patent claim is
disfavored compared to one that does not. Electa
Instrument S.A. v. O.U.R. Scientific Int'l, Inc., 214 F.3d
1302, 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Gen. Am. Transportation
Corp. v. Cryo-Trans, Inc., 93 F.3d 766, 770 (Fed. Cir.
1996). Thus, the Federal Circuit carried out the claim
construction task exactly as it should have: it noted the
agreed upon “ordinary meaning” of the term, and examined
whether the specification clearly expressed a contrary
meaning. Noting that the proposed contrary meaning was
inconsistent with the patent as a whole, it held that the
specification as a whole therefore supported the ordinary
meaning.

12

Merck’s argument here is that the Federal Circuit,
though charged with interpreting claims “as a matter of
law,” Markman, supra, must defer to the district court's
construction in this case, even where that construction is
inconsistent with the entirety of the remainder of the patent.
According to Merck, the district court's construction
involved “findings of fact,” to which the Federal Circuit
should be required to defer.

Although the issue of the deference that should be
accorded a district court's subsidiary factual findings made
in the context of construing a patent has created inierest in
the field, this case is not a vehicle for resolving it. First, as
discussed above, it is moot. Second, the Federal Circuit
claim construction exercise here did not reverse a finding
of fact. That is, “about” is not a technical term, and its
meaning to those skilled in the art was not the subject of
any expert testimony that the district court credited.
Indeed, as Merck notes, the district court did not accept
Teva's witness's claim construction testimony, and no
Merck witness offered any testimony with respect to the
meaning of “about 70 mg.” Thus, the district court did not
weigh the conflicting testimony of experts; it merely
rejected the only testimony offered. and relied on its own
examination of the patent. The Federal Circuit examined
the same text as the district court, but recognized that the

’ The principal “testimony” on which Merck relies was
Teva's expert's answer, “possibly,” to the question posed
by Merck's counsel:
1 understand, but it is what it says, and perhaps the
person wanted to say if it’s a certain salt one, you might
use 71, and if it's a certain salt 2, you might use 73.
Isn't that what's indicated by this?

13

district court had not done its job — it had ignored aspects
that any document construction requires.

The district court's failure to construe the claims with
the entire document in mind is not a finding of fact; it is an
error of law. Even under a deferential standard, it was
freely reviewable. For that reason, this case does not
present the issue that Merck suggests should be addressed.

ll. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT GAVE APPROPRIATE
DEFERENCE TO THE DISTRICT COURT'S
FINDINGS OF FACT UNDER FED. R. CIV. P.
52a)

Merck's second question, whether the Federal Circuit
correctly applied Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a), presents no issue
whose resolution is applicable beyond this case. This Court
has already carefully defined the appellate role in reviewing
a district court's findings of fact, and Merck's petition does
not suggest that any redefinition of that role is necessary.
For that reason, the Court should not consider Merck's
second question.

In any event, the Federal Circuit correctly applied Rule
52(a). In Graham v. John Deere Co., 381 U.S. 1, 17, this
Court defined the three essential factual inquiries in
determining whether a patented invention “would have
been obvious”:

Under § 103, the scope and content of the prior art are to
be determined; differences between the prior art and the
claims at issue are to be ascertained; and the level of
skill in the pertinent art resolved.
Here, the parties did not dispute any of these issues. With
respect to the scope and content of the prior art, they agreed
that persons skilled in the art would have understood that
once weekly dosing of alendronate at seven times the daily

14

dose would be effective, that the Lunar News discloses
dosing at approximately that level, and that the only reason
it refers to “80 mg” instead of “70 mg” was the commercial
availability of a 40 mg tablet. They agreed that the Lunar
News articulates the same motivation for the once-weekly
regiment as the "329 patent. They agreed on the definition
of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Finally, they agreed
that the only difference between the Lunar News and the
claimed invention, even accepting the district court's claim
interpretation, was the precise amount (80 mg vs. 70 mg).
The Federal Circuit noted that this difference is
insignificant in light of the recognition that 70 mg would
have been understood to be the appropriate dose. Thus,
with respect to the only relevant factual issues, “the parties,
the district court and the Federal Circuit agree. There is
nothing for this Court to review; the case presents no issue
under Rule 52(a).

The key finding that Merck sought, which was the
focus of its entire trial presentation, was that persons skilled
in the art would have been skeptical of Dr. Mazess’s Lunar
News suggestion notwithstanding its medical and technical
merit. The district court made that finding. The Federal
Circuit did not reject it; indeed, as Merck is forced to
admit, the Federal Circuit accepted it for the purposes of its
analysis. (Pet. 25; App. 19a). Moreover, nowhere did the
Federal Circuit reject the district court's findings that the
Lunar News disclosures did not “overcome” medical
skepticism, as Merck suggests.

With respect to Dr. Mazess, Merck falsely states that
the Federal Circuit “elevated” his expertise “over all
others.” The court did no such thing. Dr. Mazess never
testified at the trial. The court merely pointed out that Dr.
Mazess had impressive credentials in the field, a fact that
the record overwhelmingly makes clear and that Merck

The Federal Circuit's decision did not tum on the
relative qualifications and credibility of Dr. Mazess and
Merck's expert witness. Instead, it was based on a rejection
of Merck's legal theory, i.¢., that a prior art publication that
is scientifically sound and that subsequent events prove is
correct can be nullified based on the credentials of its
author. The court recognized that the finding cf
skepticism, even if supported, is not relevant to the issue of
obviousness in this case because, as Merck does not
dispute, its patent adds nothing to the Lunar News except
the Merck name and the academic credentials of its
inventors. Under the circumstances, the Federal Circuit
held, appropriately, that a second-comer (here, Merck's
physician-inventors) cannot obtain a patent on a concept
placed in the public domain by someone else solely on the
strength of a more prestigious educational experience. As
the court stated:

Indeed, to the extent the district court finds Merck's

once-weekly dosing idea non-obvious, it still must

explain why Merck and not Dr. Mazess should get credit
for the idea.
(App. 21a).

The absurdity of Merck's argument is made plain by its
implications. If Merck's inventors had written the Lunar
News articles, and if Dr. Mazess had obtained the "329
patent, then under Merck's approach the patent would be
invalid because the authors’ credentials would lend to the
publication a gravitas that Dr. Mazess's background could
not. Similarly, if instead of publishing his idea in the

16

Lunar News, Dr. Mazess had applied for a patent on it
contemporaneously with Merck, then the resulting
“interference” proceeding (see 35 U.S.C. § 135) would not
be decided on the basis of which was the first inventor as
the statute requires, but instead on which went to what
school.* No decision of this or any other court supports
Merck's contention that the validity of a patent depends on
a comparison of the resumes of the inventor and the prior
art author.

The record shows that the Federal Circuit properly
applied Rule 52(a). It did not base its decision om 4
rejection of district court fact findings. Instead, it rejected
Merck's groundless legal theory. Recognizing that the
determination of obviousness is ultimately a question of
law, Graham, supra, Duro-Last, Inc. v. Custom Seal, Inc.,
321 F.3d 1098, 1108 (Fed. Cir. 2003), it held that as a
matter of law Merck's patent is invalid. This Court should
not accept Merck's second question for review.

il. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT CORRECTLY
ANALYZED “COMMERCIAL SUCCESS”

ine “commercial success” of an invention is a
“see@ndary consideration” that “may have relevancy” to

* Merck's rationale would require that the Wright brothers
be depnved of credit for powered flight, the announcement
of which was widely derided, because of their background
as bicycle builders. Similarly, Albert Einstein should not
be honored for many of his insights, which likewise were at
first skeptically received, because he published them while
employed not as a university professor, but rather as a mere
examiner in the Swiss Patent Office.

17

whether the invention would have been obvious. Graham,
supra. Whether or not a patented invention is
commercially successful, however, the patent is “presumed
valid.” 35 U.S.C. § 282. Thus, a patentee need not rely on
or prove commercial success to prevail against a challenge
to the patent.

The rationale for considering commercial success is
that it may show that a market demand existed for the
patented invention, and that others with an incentive to
meet that demand would have done so had the invention
been obvious. See Note, Subtests of “Nonobviousness”: A
Nontechnical Approach to Patent Validity, 112 U. Pa. L.
Rev. 1169, 1175 (1964) (cited in Graham). See also
Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co. v. Crane Packing Co., 523 F.2d
452, 459 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1091
(1976). As the Federal Circuit stated in this case:

Commercial success is relevant because the law

presumes an idea would successfully have been brought

to market sooner, in response to market forces, had the
idea been obvious to persons skilled in the art.
(App. 23a). Conversely, if the market is foreclosed to
everyone skilled in the art except the patent owner, then the
fact that the patentee successfully marketed the invention
can say nothing about whether it would have been obvious
to others.

Here, the market was foreclosed to all except Merck.
Because Merck was the first entity to bring alendronate to
market (as a daily dose), it was entitled to a five-year
exclusivity, beginning in 1995, for that compound for any
pharmaceutical use at any dose. 21 USC. §
355(cX 3D ii). In addition, Merck had another patent that
broadly protected alendronate, excluding everyone else

18

from the market until 2008.° Thus, the commercial success
of once-weekly administration of alendronate, even if
associated with its advantages compared to the once-daily
regimen, is not necessarily attributable to its non-
obviousness. Instead, it is just as easily attributable to the
fact that all potential competition was foreclosed, so that no
one could take up the suggestion of the Lunar News for
almost |2 years after it was published.

Merck's petition does not dispute the Federal Circuit's
stated rationale for considering commercial success. Nor
does it dispute the essential fact: that in 1996 no other
entity had the economic incentive to attempt to develop a
once-weekly alendronate dose, since it would know that it
could not market the product for more than a decade.
Instead, Merck merely lifts from their contexts quotations
from decisions of this and other courts. In none of those
cases, however, were the circumstances analogous to those
here. In all of them, those skilled in the art were free to
compete with the patent owner and were free, if they had
the insight, to exploit the patented concept. That they did
not do so before the patentee was evidence that the
invention was not obvious to them, and therefore would not
have been obvious to the hypothetical person of ordinary
skill in the art.

Merck complains that the Federal Circuit's decision

“discriminates” against improvement patents, stating that a
“third party” that patents an improvement can rely on its

* Merck's statement of the issue, which refers only to
“improvement patents,” ignores the “new chemical entity”
exclusivity. kt represented an even higher barrier to
potential competition than Merck's pre-existing patent
because it was not subject to judicial challenge.

19

commercial success to bolster nonobviousness, but that the
owner of the basic patent who likewise patents an
improvement cannot. The situation Merck posits, however,
will never arise. If, like potential third parties here,
Merck's hypothetical third party is foreclosed from
competing by the basic patent, it will have no commercial
success on which to rely because any atiempt to
commercialize the improvement will be illegal and will be
enjoined. On the other hand, if the improvement is not an
infringement of the basic patent, the Federal Circuit's
rationale and holding in this case will not apply because
competition will not be foreclosed, and the success of any
party's improvement invention, including that of the owner
of the basic patent, may indeed be evidence that the
improvement was not obvious.

The Federal Circuit's ruling may require rigorous
analysis of commercial success and the substitution of
rationality for the chanting of the “commercial success”
mantra. This is a step forward, not a retreat. Commercial
success of a patented invention shows that the invention
was a good idea. It does not necessarily show that it was
unobvious. Carrying an umbrella when the forecast calls
for rain is a good idea, but not an unobvious one. Here, the
commercial success of once-weekly dosing of alendronate
shows that it was a good idea. It was, however, an idea of
another, which only Merck could legally exploit. That
Merck successfully did so shows nothing more than the fact
that only Merck was in a position to do so.

As an afterthought, and in tacit recognition of the force
of the Federal Circuit's reasoning, Merck argues - that
“incentives” in fact existed, referring to the “safe harbor” of
35 U.S.C. § 271(eX1), which permits otherwise infringing
activity if carried out in order to generate data for
submission to the FDA, and to speculation about Teva's

20

activities with respect to alendronate. At trial, however,
when it should have addressed the issue with evidence,
Merck did not do so. Nothing in the record provides
insight into Teva's plans, incentives or the economics of
Teva's business model.

Merck's real lament is that even though it had the
burden of proof on the issue, it offered no evidence at trial
that incentives still existed for those skilled in the art to
develop the solutions of the "329 patent notwithstanding the
insurmountable barriers to entry created by Merck's patent
and statutory exclusivities. Merck in essence asks this
Court to write a rule of law that would excuse its failure to
prove the necessary facts. This Court should recognize that
the Federal Circuit correctly held that under the
circumstances of this case, the commercial success of once-
weekly alendronate is not probative of the unobviousness
of the invention claimed in the "329 patent. For that
reason, the Court should not accept Merck's third question
for review.

21
CONCLUSION

Merck's 329 patent is invalid because it clairns a
concept completely described in the prior art. Merck's
petition presents no question worthy of this Court's
attention. It should be denied.

September 16, 2005 Respectfully submitted,

James Galbraith
Counsel of record for Respondent
Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.
KENYON & KENYON
One Broadway
New York, NY 10004
(212) 908-6317
Of Counsel
Maria Luisa Palmese
William G. James, I
KENYON & KENYON
One Broadway

New York, NY 10004
(212) 908-6317

ae ® "¥a.
e7ele eae, & S86; gh
Ss wo. e

- a > ”
a fo “ee ones ee 7 ee
¥ i wy E f v4 ... -
: we

:

i> <€,

m<¢

Py

a 7
_" taal l-4 -

*
r
> : - a Pe
<= ale a wad . WwW > a) ae se _ ‘
: ef.
- =, tf; fad fe an
3
7 -
© *
® ’
= a
- e
ay ‘
i 7 7 <> ,
. Pe oe io? oe
& 1 Pe 2 ye 4
* ' ».2
a
- :

‘ 8
-

*~

‘.

we |

: c ‘4
° + a: a
: na ¥ 2 y:
m4 a as ae ‘ ek . >
e-~ a ag tl, Se me = Pe Say! © Qe : Rt yn icetcinlpae e
—— . —"e Srtas Sse ss Be
7 et >»

eo) =

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
yn ‘
e- SEP 22 2005
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
No. 05-236

In the Supreme Court of the United States

MERCK & Co., PETITIONER,
Vv.
TEVA PHARMACEUTICALS USA, INC.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
—fOTHE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

AMICUS BRIEF OF THE
PROCTER & GAMBLE COMPANY
SUPPORTING PETITIONER

RODERICK R. MCKELVIE
Counsel of Record

DAVID H. REMES
CHRISTIAN J. PISTILLI*

COVINGTON & BURLING

1201 PENNSYLVANIA AVE., N.W.
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20004

(202) 662-6000

*Admitted in New York only; su-
pervised by principals of the firm

September 22, 2005

QUESTION PRESENTED

Amicus asks the Court to grant review on the third
question presented in the petition, which amicus casts as
follows:

Under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a), a patent may not issue if
the differences between the claimed invention and the
prior art are such that, at the time the invention was >
made, the invention would have been “obvious” to a per-
son having ordinary skill in the art to which the invention
pertains.

The question presented is whether 35 U.S.C. § 103(a)
allows a court to consider the commercial success of an
improvement patent in determining whether, at the time
the invention was made, the invention would have been
“obvious” to a person having ordinary skill in the art.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

oe gs | l
IDOE crctnciorscssccnisecioaniemsmenennnasnenmsniagintan l
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................. 5
GI ceresmerenniericensmnsnemeuniceinanantnianntscs 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES
Akzo N.V. v. U.S. International Trade Commis-
sion, 808 F.2d 1471 (Fed. Cir. 1986)..................... 6-7
Arkie Lures, Inc. v. Gene Larew Tackle, Inc., 119
F.3d 953 (Fed. Cir. 1997) sossenvensceees hha i ileal 6
General Electric Co. v. Wabash Appliance Corp.,
a, GI ics seeneniateclnrniieeeethainabcathidiaaanttetanaitts 7,9
Graham v. John Dev. : Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966)................. 6
Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 234 F.3d 654 (Fed. Cir.
Ti snnsctn edetenaieeeceeiischisesbaaiephiaatiagabanbabiundbaiibanasiiitmieelacedipuiadl 6
Smith v. Goodyear Dental Vulcanite Co., 93 U.S.
Ger TT cnicencesincninensttnicheneteainniiataienmmmicatenntaiintsaitidbibeniic 6
Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530
EE Capt: SUI cicenictennenddecicnbecntbdcnscczaniadibibethaditiemmnete 7
FEDERAL STATUTES
te UF Ui inticehioenisheveseneabebiinuiieniiecteeabeiinigianninincttl 6
MISCELLANEOUS

0 REE SRE ESA ALOT MIRE ROT ARS TEE EIEIO SET ne HO 1,2

INTEREST OF AMICUS!

Amicus Procter & Gamble is a large, multi-national
company that markets over 300 branded products, includ-
ing numerous pharmaceutical products. Procter & Gam-
ble holds many patents, the majority of which are im-
provement patents. Procter & Gamble is a licensee of
Merck’s U.S. Patent No. 5,994,329. Procter & Gamble has
a strong interest in ensuring that the law with respect to
improvement patents is clear.

STATEMENT

An “improvement” patent is a patent that builds di-
rectly on_the teachings of a prior patent. In this case, for
example, Merck’s U.S. Patent No. 4,621,077 (the “ ’077
patent”) discloses the administration of alendronate as a
treatment for osteoporosis. Merck’s U.S. Patent No.
5,994,329 (the “ '329 patent”) is an “improvement” patent
that Merck obtained on the prior ’'077 patent. The ’329
patent is an improvement over the ’077 patent because it
discloses the administration of a higher dose of alendro-
nate on a weekly basis, which increases compliance but
does not increase adverse gastrointestinal events.

1. Osteoporosis — or porous bone — “is a disease
characterized by low »one mass and structural deteriora-
tion of bone tissue, leading to bone fragility and an in-
creased risk of fractures of the hip, spine, and wrist.” Na-
tional Institutes of Health, Osteoporosis Overview, at 1
(June 2005), available at http://www.osteo.org/
inetdocs/r106pi.pdf. The National Institutes of Health
have labeled the disease “a major public health threat” for

! Letters of consent have been lodged with the Clerk. No coun-
sel for a party authored any part of this brief. Amicus or its
counsel will bear all costs associated with this brief.

more than 44 million Americans and estimate that the
disease directly incurs national expenditures of $14 bil-
lion a year. Id. |

The human body is constantly removing old bone and
replacing it with new bone. Removal of old bone is called
“resorption”; replacement with new bone is calicd “forma-
tion.” Until about age 30, bone formation outpaces bone
resorption. Then, bone resorption slowly begins to exceed
bone formation. Osteoporosis will develop “when bone re-
sorption occurs too quickly or when replacement occurs
too slowly.” Id. at 2.

2. For many years, pharmaceutical manufacturers
have sought to develop medicines to treat osteoporosis.
Petitioner Merck has centered its work on a compound
that inhibits bone resorption. The compound is alendro-
nate, one of a family of drugs known as bisphosphonates.
In 1986, Merck obtained the '077 patent on the use of al-
endronate. Merck markets the compound under the brand
name Fosamax.

Merck’s Fosamax is one of four prescription drug
products available in the United States whose primary
indication is for the treatment of osteoporosis. The others
are Novartis’ Miacalcin, Eli Lily's Evista, and Procter &
Gamble’s Actonel, which is based upon a bisphosphonate
called risedronate. (Together these four drugs are known
in the industry as “FAME,” for the first letters of the
products Fosamax, Actonel, Miacalcin and Evista.) Other
pharmaceutical companies were attempting to develop
bisphosphonate-based osteoporosis treatments or were
marketing other bisphosphonate-based treatments out-
side the United States.

In 2000, Merck introduced its high-dosage once-
weekly Fosamax product, the use of which is claimed in
the ‘329 patent that is the subject of this action. Once-
weekly Fosamax was an immediate success. Within six

3

months of its launch, the once-weekly tablets became the
most prescribed drug in the FAME market.

3. In this litigation Teva has argued Merck’s in-
vention, once-weekly dosage Fosamax, would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and that the
claims of the '329 patent are, therefore, invalid. At trial,
Teva offered evidence of two articles from a prior art pub-
lication, Lunar News, both of which were entitled “Up-
date: Bisphosphonate.” One of the two articles suggested
that “[t]he difficulties with oral bisphosphonates may fa-
vor their episodic (once/week) or cyclical (one week each
month) administration.” In addition to mentioning the
possibility of once-weekly administrations of alendronate,
it also specifically suggested the intravenous administra-
tion of another bisphosphonate — ibandronate — as a solu-
tion to the difficulties associated with daily dosing of
bisphosphonates.

One of Merck’s responses to this argument was that
the fact of weekly Fosamax’s success is relevant to show
its claimed invention would not have been obvious. The
parties offered evidence relating to this issue, including
evidence on what was driving the Fosamax sales. Merck
introduced evidence showing that others, including Proc-
ter & Gamble, had an opportunity and incentive to de-
velop an improved dosage form. As Judge Farnan noted in
his post-trial decision, one of the arguments Teva ad-
vanced in response to this evidence was that Merck’s
commercial success was irrelevant because Merck was the
only entity allowed under the ’077 patent to market alen-
dronate tablets. Merck responded to Teva’s argument by
noting that, while it held the '077 patent, its evidence of
commercial success was relevant in light of Procter &
Gamble’s opportunity and incentive to develop a weekly
dosing form of Actonel. Judge Farnan focused his analysis
on once-weekly Fosamax’s “effects on the osteoporosis

4

market in general” (App. 92a), implicitly rejecting Teva's
argument.
4. On appeal, the majority of the court noted:

Although commercial success might generally sup-
port a conclusion that Merck’s claimed invention
was non-obvious in relation to what came before in
the marketplace, the question at bar is narrower. It
is whether the claimed invention is non-obvious in
relation to the ideas set forth in the Lunar News ar-
ticles.

(App. 23a-24a.) The majority then ruled that:

Financial success is not significantly probative of
that question in this case because others were le-
gally barred from commercially testing the Lunar
News ideas.

(App. 24a.)

The Federal Circuit denied Merck’s petition for re-
hearing en banc. In dissent, Judge Lourie, joined by Chief
Judge Michel and Judge Newman, argued that rehearing
was warranted because the panel majority's ruling effec-
tively held commercial success irrelevant in considering
the obviousness of an improvement patent:

The panel’s rule is especially unsound in the context
of an improvement patent, as here, because it holds
in effect that commercial success for an improve-
ment is irrelevant when a prior patent dominates
the basic invention.

(App. 38a-39a (Lourie, J., dissenting).)

The dissenters concluded by noting that the panel's
opinion “creates” a “confusion in the jaw.” (App. 39a
(Lourie, J., dissenting).)

5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court should grant review because the rule an-
nounced by the Federal Circuit threatens to inhibit inno-
vation by making improvement patents more difficult to
defend as nonobvious and therefore more risky to pursue.
Whether the rule is valid has especially large implications
for innovations in medicine in view of the enormous re-
sources devoted by pharmaceutical manufacturers and
biotech companies to improving on previously patented
medicines. Because the Federal Circuit is the only court of
appeals that can decide questions of patent law, and be-
cause that court has denied en banc review of the panel's
decision, only this Court can now resolve the important
question of patent law presented.

The commercial success of an invention is normally
considered an indication that the invention was not “obvi-
ous.” The theory 1s that an invention’s commercial success
reflects a market demand that, had the invention been
obvious, would have led others to try to develop the inven-
tion themselves. Here, the Federal Circuit concluded that
commercial success has no significance in the case of an
improvement patent because no one but the holder of the
basic patent could legally have marketed the protected
invention.

This rule defines the relevant market too narrowly.
In the case of an improvement patent, the relevant mar-
ket is not necessarily the market for that particular in-
vention. Instead, the relevant market may be the market
for inventions of the same general character that would
meet the same need. Where, as here, there is evidence
that others had the opportunity to develop other ways to
skin the same cat, the fact that only the holder of the
prior patent could skin the cat with his particular inven-
tion does not make the success of his invention irrelevant
to its obviousness.

6

This Court has long recognized that commercial suc-
cess is a consideration in determining whether an inven-
tion merits patent protection: “The utility of the change,
as ascertained by its consequences, is the real practical
test of the sufficiency of an invention; and since the one
cannot exist without the other, the existence of the one
may be presumed on proof of the existence of the other.”
Smith v. Goodyear Dental Vulcanite Co., 93 U.S. 486, 495
(1876).

Under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a), a patent may be challenged
on the ground that it was “obvious” in light of prior art.
This Court has held that the commercial success atten-
dant to the introduction of the invention is “relevant” in
determining the obviousness of a patent, at least if the
success results from the utility of the invention and not
some other factor. Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1,
17-18 (1966). As the Federal Circuit explained in this very
case: “Commercial success is relevant [to obviousness} be-
cause che law presumes an idea would successfully have
been brought to market sooner, in response to market
forces, had the idea been obvious to persons skilled in the
art.” (App. 23a.)

For this reason, the Federal Circuit has long recog-
nized that “the public and commercial response to an in-
vention is a factor to be considered in determining obvi-
ousness, and is entitled to fair weight.” Arkie Lures, Inc.
v. Gene Larew Tackle, Inc., 119 F.3d 953, 957 (Fed. Cir.
1997). As far as amicus is aware, that court — until now —
had consistently required district courts to consider evi-
dence of the commercial success of an allegedly obvious
innovation. See, e.g., Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 234 F.3d
654, 667 (Fed. Cir. 2000). The court recognized not only
that “[clommercial success is * * * a strong factor favoring
nonobviousness,” Akzo N.V. v. U.S. Intl Trade Comm'n,
808 F.2d 1471, 1481 (Fed. Cir. 1986), but also that such

7

objective indicia of nonobviousness as commercial success
“may often be the most probative and cogent evidence in
the record,” Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d
1530, 1538 (Fed. Cir. 1983).

The decision of the panel majority — in effect holding
that commercial success has no relevance in considering
the obviousness vel non of an improvement patent — is a
sharp break with such precedent, sowing “confusion in the
law.” (App. 39a (Lourie, J., dissenting).). Because “most
inventions represent improvements on some existing arti-
cle, process, or machine,” Gen. Elec. Co. v. Wabash Appli-
ance Corp., 304 U.S. 364, 368 (1938), the confusion sowed
by the panel majority's decision is bound to inhibit inno-
vation. Intervention by this Court is warranted to clarify
the law.

The court of appeals held that “[flinancial success is
not significantly probative of [obviousness] in this case
because others were legally barred from commercially
testing the Lunar News ideas.” (App. 24a.) However, the
Lunar News articles spoke of episodic or cyclical admini-
stration of bisphosphonates, specifically mentioning not
only Merck’s alendronate but also Boehringer Manheim’s
ibandronate-based treatment. It simply does not follow
from the existence of Merck’s patent on its original alen-
dronate formulation that no one else could legally have
developed a safe and effective weekly dosing regimen of a
bisphosphonate as a treatment for osteoporosis. The
commercial incentive to do so was there; the fact that only
Merck did so is an indication that a once-weekly bisphos-
phonate dosing regimen was not “obvious” at the time
Merck obtained the ’329 patent.

Indeed, as Merck sought to show at trial, Procter &
Gamble itself had incentive and opportunity to develop a
once-weekly dosing form of Actonel, a daily bisphospho-
nate-based osteoporosis treatment. (App. 82a.) Further-

8

more, the record also indicates that numerous other
bisphosphonate-based osteoporosis treatments were being
developed and/or marketed outside the United States by
other pharmaceutical companies, each of which: had the
opportunity and incentive to bring to the U.S. market a
weekly-dosing treatment.

The point is not that the panel majority failed to give
this evidence due weight, but that the panel majority
ruled such evidence irrelevant when an improvement pat-
ent is involved. The Federal Circuit considered it beside
the point whether Lunar News taught other ways to skin
the cat — 1.e., other ways to meet the need for a once-
weekly bisphosphonate dosing regimen.

But the commercial success achieved by once-weekly
Fosamax did not retlect a market need for once-weekly
Fosamax; it reflected a market need for osteoporosis
treatments. Merck’s alendronate-based treatment repre-
sented but one approach to a problem that many pharma-
ceutical companies were simultaneously attempting to
address in different ways, as the district court recognized
in focusing its analysis on once-weekly Fosamax’s success
in “the osteoporosis market in general,” and in finding
evidence of commercial success in the fact that Fosamax
quickly “became the most prescribed drug in the FAME
market.” (App. 92a.)

The court of appeals, on the other hand, inappropri-
ately narrowed its field of inquiry by focusing only on
Merck’s ability, based upon the '077 patent, to preclude
others from producing an alendronate-based osteoporosis
treatment. This ability, however, did not confer upon
Merck a monopoly in the osteoporosis treatment market.
Just as Merck was attempting to improve on once-daily
Fosamax, its FAME competitors — including Procter &
Gamble — were engaged in efforts to improve on their
treatments — including Actonel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0119%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
