# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — DJM, Ltd. v. Island Yachting Management, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0100%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 938

## Text

Harm to Chattels

When one is entitled to judgment for harm to chattels not

amounting to a total destruction in value, the damages include

compensation for

(a) the difference between the value of the chattel before
the harm and the value after the harm or, at his election
in an appropriate case, the reasonable cost of repair or
restoration, with due allowance for any difference
between the original value and the value after repairs,
and

(b) _ the loss of use.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Eleventh Circuit affirmed without opinion the
district court’s order granting Respondents summary judgment
dismissing five of six causes of action in Petitioner’s complaint
which claims damages only of loss of use, diminution in value,
and physical damage to a sailboat bought by Petitioner from
Respondents. The complaint alleges breach of warranty and
tort resulting in consequential damages. The district court held
that because the correction of all defects which resulted in the
claims sued on were paid for by others on Petitioner’s behalf,
Petitioner sustained no damages and thus failed to state a claim
even though the complaint sought no damages for the cost of
correcting the defects. Of the consequential damages for which
Petitioner did seek compensation, the district court held that
loss of use of a boat owned strictly for pleasure is not a
compensable item of damage in Admiralty. The court never
mentioned the remaining claims for diminution in value or
physical damages extant in the boat. In so holding the Eleventh
Circuit's decision directly conflicts with a contrary holding of

5.

this court', and decides important questions of federal law that
have not been, but should be, settled by this court.

FACTS

On January | 1, 2000, Respondents, dealers in sailboats,
transferred title to and uelivered to Petitioner, and were paid by
Petitioner for, a new sailboat. Respondents ordered the boat to
be constructed by Island Packet Yachts in Flonda. Upon
completion and delivery to Respondents, in Florida, they took
the title to the boat and pursuant to their contract with
Petitioner’s principal, John P. D’ Ambrosio, commissioned the
boat. The contract neither provided for, nor excluded or
modified any warranties. Accordingly, by operation of law,
Respondents gave Petitioner warranties under the Uniform
Commercial Code, both implied and express; the latter by virtue
ofa written Dealer Commissioning Checklist (21a), signed and
initialed by Respondent Will Ditmer.

Starting immediately upon delivery of the boat and
continuing for the next 2 years many serious defects surfaced
(la - Facts), none of which were corrected by Respondents.
Almost all the defects were corrected by the efforts of the
Petitioner in the first instance which had to find a facility to do
the work, pay for repairs, and submit bills to the manufacturer
for reimbursement, pursuant to the latter’s written limited
warranty, whose benefit did not extend to Respondents and
which excluded consequential damages.

This caused loss of use of the boat every time it had to

' The Conqueror, 166 U.S. 110, 17S. Ct. 510, 41 L.Ed.
937 (1897)

-6-

be repaired, and resulted in a new boat whose value diminished
with each subsequent repair. The cumulative loss of use
amounted to 180 days, during the first two years. The repairs
themselves resulted in physical damage to the boat which still
exists. The record contains proof of Petitioner’s special
damages in the aggregate amount of $84,349.00.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Petitioner sued Respondents only for those
consequential damages, in the United States District Court for
the Middle District of Florida pursuant to the court’s Admiralty
jurisdiction and in diversity. (28 U.S.C. Sections 1333 (1), and
1332 (a)). The first five claims were in negligence, fraudulent
misrepresentation, breach of warranties, deceptive and unfair
trade practices, and strict liability. The sixth claim was in quasi
contract for money owed to repair the boat’s air conditioning
for $1,669.99. It was tried, resulting in a defendant’s verdict
and is not here under review.

Before filing an answer, Respondents moved to dismiss
the complaint pursuant to FRCP 12(b)(1) for lack of jurisdiction
over the subject matter. In May 2003, the court, Hon. John E.
Steele, U.S.D.J, denied the motion and upheld both admiralty
and diversity jurisdiction.

Upon completion of discovery, Respondents moved for
summary judgment, contending that since the boat was usable,
except when it was being repaired, and since all repairs were
made and paid for by the manufacturer, Petitioner had sustained
no damages. The court, Hon. Sheri Polster Chappell, U.S.M.J.,
agreed and dismissed the first five claims.

Upon receiving Respondent’s motion, Petitioner

Te

cross-moved for partial summary judgment for liability under
FRCP 56(c). To prove its claims for loss of use, diminution in
value and physical damage to the boat, Petitioner submitted four
affidavits and 50 documents attesting to the defects and time
lost, including opinions of a marine surveyor as to the
diminished value and of a charterer of sailboats as to charter
costs. Although Respondents offered no affidavits in response,
the court ruled as it did, never directly addressed Petitioner’s
cross motion, and never addressed the claims for diminution in
value or the subsisting physical damage. As to loss of use, the
court held that federal maritime law will not compensate for the
loss of use of a private pleasure boat.

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed without
opinion.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE DECISION BELOW PRESENTS
IMPORTANT, UNSETTLED QUESTIONS
OF FEDERAL LAW, AND CONFLICTS
WITH U.S. SUPREME COURT AND
STATUTORY LAW

a) Summary Judgment

FRCP Rule 56(a), by its very terms, is concerned with
a party’s “claim, counterclaim, or cross-claim". The district
court granted Respondents summary judgment because it found
that Petitioner suffered no damages because “ali of the alleged
defects were repaired by the manufacturer at the manufacturer’s
expense" (8a). That holding might be germane if those were
the damages Petitioner sued for. However, they are not. It is

a classic non-sequitur. While this court encouraged the federal
courts to make better use of summary judgment in disposing of
claims where there was no reasonable expectation that a rational
trier of fact could find for the non-moving party’, the decision
below takes the Rule into the realm of the surreal since the
court below dismissed Petitioner’s claims for consequential
damages having mistaken them’ for a claim which was never
made for direct damages, i.c., the cost of repairs.

The court below used summary judgment in a way never
authorized by Rule 56 or this court. The district court decided
the case as if it were faced with a Rule 12(b)(6) motion for
failure to state a claim. In so doing it created a claim never
pleaded by Petitioner, then decided it as if it were being tried,
dismissing out of hand a multitude of factual questions raised
by Petitioner which should have gone to trial. This rested on no

precedent or history.

Petitioner suggests that this court could never have
intended such an approach or result on a motion for summary
judgment and a cross-motion for partial summary judgment.

b) Consequential Damages

Respondents’ case, validated by the courts below, is that
since defects were corrected, Petitioner was made whole.

? In a trilogy, Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio, 475
U.S. 574, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 89 L.Ed. 2d 538 (1986), Cellotex Corp. v.
Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed. 2d 265 (1986); and
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed. 2d
202 (1986), the United States Supreme Court clarified the criteria to be
applied by the District and Circuit Courts in summary judgment motions.
In Matsushita, at p. 1356, supra, the court went further than any prior case
in holding that a court can evaluate the plausibility of evidence.

9-

However, Petitioner’s case has nothing to do with the cost of
fixing defects but only their number, the amount of time it took
to fix them, and their aftermath - loss of use of the boat, its
diminution in value and physical damage - all of which should
have been avoided entirely had Respondents done the things
they were paid to do in commissioning the boat, and had they
found and corrected the defects before Petitioner had to do so
on its own time when it should have been enjoying the boat,
which was the only reason it was bought in the first place. The
proof in the record is that of 53 items which Respondents
represented they had properly inspected, installed, and checked,
as evidenced by The Dealer Commissioning Checklist (21a),
half failed. Most of those that failed, especially the most
serious, failed within the first two months after delivery.

Respondents’ defaults resultéd in their breach of U.C.C.
warranties which arose from the sale pursuant to Fla. Stat.
Sections 672.313, 672.314, and 672.315, both express and
implied. Each time a defect surfaced, Respondents breached
their warranty as to that item, damaging Petitioner as follows:
1) The item needed to be repaired or replaced, 2) Petitioner lost
the use of the boat pending repairs, 3) the boat depreciated on
account of the repairs, and 4) it remained physically damaged.
Fla. Stat. 672.714 authorizes the cost of repairs and diminution
in value. Fla. Stat. 672.715 authorizes consequential damages
for loss of use. See: Miles v. Kavanaugh, 350 So.2d. 1090 (Fla.
3 DCA, 1977).

Just as in the case of breaches of warranties, the same
categories of damages, direct and consequential, are recoverable
in Florida when they arise on account of tort. Florida has
adopted the Restatement II of Torts, Sections 928, 931; See:
AT&T Corp. v. Lanzo Const. Co., Florida, 747 F.Supp. 2"
1223 (SD FI 1999).

-10-

As in Florida, every other state’s law allows recovery
for consequential damages to chattels, whether due to tort or
breach of warranty; whether in state or federal court. See:
Buyer’s Incidental & Consequential Damages from Seller’s
Breach Under U.C.C. Section 2-715, 96 A.L.R. 3 299 (1979);
Commercial Damages, Charles L. Knapp, 2005, Vol. 2, Page
35B-41, Consequential Damages; Restatement II of Torts,
supra.

Of the three kinds of consequential damages claimed by
Petitioner, the district court decided only one, loss of use, (12a).
It neither discussed nor specifically decided the other two,
diminution in value and physical damage caused by the repairs.
It nevertheless dismissed all three.

c) Loss of Use

Included in every state’s law as a consequential
damage is loss of use of the chattel. See: 96 A.L.R. 3 299,
supra, at p. 362. B. consequential losses, Section 13, Loss of
Use (1979); Recovery for Loss of Use of a Motor Vehicle
Damaged or Destroyed, 18 A.L.R. 3" 497, 537, Section 15
(1968); Knapp, Commercial Damages, supra, which states at
paragraph 35 B.06(3)ii, "One of the most common types of
consequential damages is loss of use."”

‘Jerry Alderman Ford Sales, Inc. v. Bailey, 291 N.E.2d 92, 12
U.C.C. Rep. Serv. 47, modified and reh'g denied by 294 N.E.2d 617, 12
U.C.C. Rep. Serv. 442 (Ind. Ct. App. 1973). See also Aries v. Palmer
Johnson, Inc., 735 P.2d 1373, 4 U.C.C. Rep. Serv. 2d 85 (Ariz. Ct. App.
1987) (loss of use measured by reasonable rental value of $1,000 per day
for a total of $100,000); Audlee v. New England Tank Indus. Of New
Hampshire, Inc., 1985 US. Dist. LEXIS 12400, at *16 (D. Mass. i985).
(loss of use of tank awarded as consequential damage in case involving the
explosion and fire at a jet aircraft fuel storage facility).

-l1-

In Jerry Alderman Ford Sales, Inc. v. Bailey, 291
N.E.2d 92, the court held:

Thus to restrict the measure of damages to a
difference in market value is to ignore that the
right to use property is perhaps the most
important incident of its ownership.

The cases in Florida are representative of the uniformity
of the cases throughout the country, whether in state court or
federal court applying state law, and regardless of the kind of
property or basis for the claim. Given liability, loss of use is
recoverable. Alonso v. Fernandez, 379 So.24 685 (Fl. 3% DCA
1980) (private automobile); Airtech Service, Inc. v. MacDonald
Construction Co., 150 So.2d 465 (FI. 3% DCA 1963) (airplane);
Badillo v. Hill, 570 So.2d 1067 (Fl. 5* DCA 1990) (private
automobile); Miles v. Kavanaugh, 350 So.2d 1090 (F1.3" DCA
1977) (misrepresentation and breach of warranty) (airplane);
Finkel v. Challenger Marine Corp., 316 F. Supp. 549 (SD FI.
1970) (private pleasure yacht); Maserati Automobiles Inc. v.
Caplan, 522 So.2d 993 (F1 3" DCA 1988) (breach of warranty);
AT&T Corp v. Lanzo Const. Co, Florida, 747 F. Supp.2d 1223
(SD Fi, 1999) (Fiberoptic cable); Cochran v. Roscioli Yacht
Sales, Inc., 642 So.2d 1106 (Fl 4* DCA 1994) (53 foot private
pleasure yacht); Meakin v. Drier, 209 So.2d 252 (F1.2d DCA
1968) (private automobile).

In MCI] Worldcom Network Services Inc. v. Mastec, Inc.,
370 F.3" 1074 (11" Cir. 2004), the court, in a suit to recover
damages for loss of use of a fiber-optic cable, began its
discussion as follows at p. 1076:

Under Florida law, loss of use damages are
available for an individual or entity whose

-12-

chattel has been damaged by another party.
Meakin v. Drier, 209 So.2d 252, 254 (F.2d
Dist. Ct. App. 1968).

In the case at bar,( 12a), the district court held as follows:

The Plaintiff claims $50,000 in damages for loss
of use while the boat was out of service for
repairs. It is well settled that demurrage (loss of
profits) “will only be allowed when the profits
have actually been or may reasonably supposed
to have been lost and the amount of such profits
is proven with reasonable certainty." Central
State Transit & Leasing Corp. v. Jones Boat
Yard, Inc. 206 F.3d 1373, 1376 (11"Cir. 2000).
"It is not the mere fact that a vessel is detained
that entitles the owner to demurrage.” /d. There
must be a pecuniary loss, and not a mere
inconvenience arising from an inability to use
the vessel for the purpose of zasure. /d.

When contrasted with the district court’s holding in the case at
bar, MCI, supra, highlights the reason why Petitioner asks this
court to grant certiorari. MC] was decided in May, 2004. In
May 2005 the 11th Circuit affirmed, without opinion, the
district court’s dismissal, summarily, as a matter of law, of
Petitioner’s claim for loss of use. In the cross motion for partial
summary judgment the claim was supported by voluminous
evidence of the loss, and the value thereof, using the very
principles authorized by Meakin v. Drier, supra; the rental
value of the exact boat owned by Petitioner, based on the
opinion, in the record, of a boat charter company president, in
the same locale, for the exact time periods claimed by
Petitioner. Petitioner's proof went unopposed. Why was

2%.

Petitioner’s claim dismissed and MCI’s claim allowed?‘
Because the courts below felt themselves constrained to apply
the one exception to the uniform “loss of use" rule - the
exception which arises in federal courts sitting in Admiralty
applying federal maritime law to the loss of use by an owner of
a private recreational boat. Th rationale was amply elucidated
by the Eleventh Circuit in Cvntral State Transit & Leasing
Corp. v. Jones Boat Yard, Inc., 206 F.3 1373 (11" Cir. 2000)
cited by the district court below in its decision (12a).

The exception is based on the federal courts’
understanding of federal maritime law, applied by federal courts
only to private recreational boats. It takes several forms, all
illogical, all draconian, all mistaken. One form is that which is
articulated by the district court in its decision, quoting from
Central State, supra; where the court below wrote (12a):

‘It is not the mere fact that a vessel is detained
that entitles its owner to demurrage.’ There
must be a pecuniary loss and not a mere
inconvenience arising from an inability to use
the vessel for the purpose of pleasure.

Its most extreme form was articulated by the court in
Oppen v. Aetna Insurance Co., 485 F.2d 252 (9" Cir. 1973).
The court held:

* The U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida
dismissed MCI’s case for loss of use based on failure to prove damages.
The Eleventh Circuit certified the questions of the quantum of damage
claimed by MCI to the Florida Supreme Court which has not rendered an
opinion as of this writing. Supreme Court of Florida Docket Number
SC04-948.

-14-

Under federal maritime law loss of use of a
private pleasure boat is not a compensable item
of damage. /d. at p. 257.

The Oppen court attributed its holding to a now 108 year old
case: The Conqueror, 166 U.S. 110, 17 S.Ct. 510, 41 L.Ed. 937
(1897). The route from 7he Conqueror to Oppen to the
Petitioner's case has been a long one. Petitioner suggests that
Oppen and like cases both before and after Oppen are evidence
of an unintended consequence of The Conqueror.

It is only in the last 50 years or so that the federal courts
which have dealt with the unique circumstances of loss of use
by the owner of a boat bought solely for pleasure, have made
their way to Oppen and Central State and the cases cited by the
latter case at pp 1376, 1377. Along the way they ran hard
aground. In Snavely v. Long, 592 F.2d 296 (6" Cir. 1979) for
example, the court describes the rule of The Conqueror as
" ironclad..." Jd. at p. 298.

This court is respectfully asked to note just how ironclad
the rule is. No matter the proof, no matter the extent of the loss
of use, unless a private pleasure boat can prove loss of profits
commercial in nature, its owner has no standing to recover
damages for loss of use; damages available to all others, in al!
other courts. Snavely, supra, calls it, "The rule against
demurrage for pleasure boats..." /d. at p. 299. Petitioner
suggests it is a rule which stands the law on its head.

However, it was not always so. In 1918, Learned Hand,
then a district judge in the Southern District of New York, in
his decision in The Vanadis 250 F. 1010, upheld a claim for loss
of use of a private yacht. There, he referred with approval to
the 2™ Circuit decision in The Eros 251 Fed. 45, 163 C.C.A.

-15-

295 (2™ Cir. 1918). In The Vanadis, Judge Hand specifically
recognized the efficacy of a claim for "loss of recreation.” With
prescience, he understood the value of the use of a boat as an
item of pleasure and the loss of that pleasure as a compensable
item of damage, now taken for granted by the laws of every
state involving all manner of things from airplanes, to boats, to
cars and cables. He also correctly assessed The Conqueror and
its holding as follows:

On principle it seems to me impossible that we
should draw any distinction between yachts and
any other property capable of use only as a
means of recreation or pleasure. Nobody has
any hesitation about such as are consumable,
like wines, or flowers, or perfumes, or tobacco.
It would be a fatuous defense against an action
for injuries to such as these to prove that the
owner would certainly have consumed them
himself. Furthermore, if the defendant had
wrongfully destroyed a yacht or motorcar, he
would be hardier than most, were he to offer to
show that the owner was bound not to sell or to
let it. Yet surely, there can be no distinction, at
least it would seem so, between the loss of a
part of the recreation derivable from such
property and the loss of the whole. All of them
in the end are consumable, and the difference is
only in the extent of the loss.

But it is urged that the contrary is established in
The Conqueror, 166 U.S. 110, 17 Sup.Ct. 510,
41 L.Ed. 937. I must concede that some of the
language in that case, broken from its context,
lends itself to that conclusion, but the decision

-16-

involved nothing us the kind. It turned upon the
dubiousness of the proof of value of the yacht.
Doubtless that is a necessary condition of
damages, here as elsewhere. We are all
accustomed to the purchase and sale of
pleasures and recreation, whether they be
embodied in the use of things, like this, or in
entertainment, like the stage. They have an
exchange value, like the uses of any other parts
of the appropriable world, which answer our
native dispositions. The test is, as in every other
case, their value in exchange, for the purpose of
the recovery is to effect the result of an
exchange. I see no reason to think that, if the
exchange value of the yacht’s use in The
Conqueror, supra, had been established in a
cusiomary way, the libelant would have had
further difficulty in his recovery.

In 1932, Justice Cardozo took the same measure of The
Conqueror in his decision in Brooklyn Eastern District
Terminal v. United States, 287 U.S. 170, 53 §.Ct. 103, 77 L.Ed.
240, albeit by way of dicta, where he agreed that loss of use of
a private pleasure boat is a compensable item of damage. The
court referred to cases from the early part of the 20" Century
when loss of use of a boat was held compensable ".. .:f there has
been a substantial impairment of that enjoyment for which such
vessels are maintained." 287 U.S. at p. 175. (Emphasis added).
Justice Cardozo pointed out that The Conqueror did not hold
that loss of use of enjoyment is per se not compensable, only
that it must be a “substantial disturbance of enjoyment,”
properly proved, in order to warrant damages. 287 U.S. at p.
175.

-]7-

The Conqueror did not establish the draconian
proposition attributed to it by the recent cases. It requires a very
careful reading. It mixes holding and dicta indiscriminately. Its
essence, however, is that it found Mr. Vanderbilt’s evidence
insufficient ‘o prove that he was damaged when his "...
seagoing, S.uvoner-rigged, screw steamship,182 2 feet long,
nearly 25 feet wide, and of 372 tons burden", 17 S. Ct. 510, 512
was detained over the winter when it was ordinarily not used.
Mr. Justice Brown, writing for the court, opined that "...a mere
inconvenience arising from an inability to use the vessel for the
purposes of pleasure," did not entitle the owner to demurrage.
However, the court continued: "In other words, there must be a
loss of profits in its commercial sense." Id. at p.519. This latter
rested on no precedent or history. It does not comport with the
current law of loss of use. It is not the holding of the case.

Otherwise the court, in principal, speaks in terms
whereby it acknowledges the value of loss of use of the
Vanderbilt yacht. The court observed that: "The best evidence
of damage suffered by detention is the sum for which vessels of
the same size and class can be chartered in the market." Jd. at p.
516. However, Mr. Vanderbilt’s boat was not of a class
regularly chartered.

Petitioner suggests that Judge Hand’s and Justice
Cardozo’s assessments of The Conqueror are correct.
Coincidentally, Petitioner’s boat did belong to a class of vessels
regularly chartered in Florida whose loss of use can be
accurately computed.

d) Lack of Clarity

This case presents the important unanswered question
of whether the owner of a private boat, bought solely for
recreation, which never carns money commercially, should be
summarily denied the benefits of the laws applicable to every
other kind of chattel, by virtue of its involvement in a lawsuit
where the applicable law is maritime in nature and the forum is
the federal court.

The choice of forum is not always up to the vessel
owner; nor is the choice of law. A collision, or allision, or an
accident on navigable waters will often mandate the application
of admiralty law despite the vessel owner’s desires. See: Mink
v. Genmar Industries, Inc. 29 F.3" 1543, 1546 (11 Cir. 1994).

The complete departure by federal courts sitting in
admiralty on cases involving private boats from the uniform
loss of use law of all other jurisdictions is an anomaly. It is not
supported either by precedent or by history. It dismisses out of
hand the benefits of the law of contracts since a warranty is
essentially a contract, Filley v. Pope, 115 U.S. 213, 6 S.Ct. 19,
29 L.Ed. 372 (1885), Sanders v. Munson, 74 F. 649, 651, 20
C.C.A. 581 (2™ Cir. 1896), whose breach entails damages for
loss of use, even if the yacht is used for pleasure only. The
Eros, supra, 251 F. 45, 47. It dismisses as well, damages in
tort. Restatement II of Torts, Section 928; AT&T Corp., supra.

It singles out the American pleasure boating community
for deprivation of the benefits of the law. It is unfair to that
community which, according to the latest statistics compiled by
the National Marine Manufacturers Association, numbered 12.8
million boats registered in the United States in 2003, from
outboard powered rowboats and dinghies, to megayachts (28a).

At the tum of the last century only Vanderbilts and their

-19-

peers owned private boats. That has changed. So should the
law. This court has not directly visited this area of the law since
The Conqueror. Petitioner suggests that the mischief created
during the intervening 108 years by the mistaken interpretation
of that case should be set aright at this time. The lack of clarity
engendered by The Conqueror has been the subject of
continuing controversy on the part of both judges and lawyers
who fault the illogical imposition of a hard case which resulted
in bad law on innocent litigants unjustly deprived of rightful
damages. See: Nordasilla Corporation v. Norfolk Shipbuilding
& Drydock Corporation, 1982 A.M.C. 99 (E.D.Va. 1981):

Also, while the arguments against speculative
damages may have some merit, a rule of law
which allows no damages for loss of use for a
pleasure craft, no matter what its nature and no
matter what the length of time, appears on the
surface to be draconian. /d. at p. 106.

Courts which have expressed reservations about the
soundness of the interpretation given to The Conqueror have,
by and large, felt constrained, nevertheless, to defer to it. The
Oppen, supra, court, faced with a contention that The
Conqueror was not the beacon it has been purported to be, and
should limit its application accordingly, held:

In our view it takes a new and contrary holding
of the Supreme Court before we are relieved of
our obligation to follow previous holdings of
that Court. /d. at 485 F.2d 257, F.N. 12.

Given the lack of clarity as to exactly what The Conqueror
held, ar” given the injustice of requiring the owner of a boat

-20-

bought solely for recreation, which never has and never will
earn income or profit, to have to prove loss of profit of a
commercial nature before being able to be compensated for its
loss of use, Petitioner respectfully strongly urges this court to
accept the invitation extended by the 9" Circuit in Oppen.

This court should take a new look at the law properly
applicable to this case and others like it. Only this Court can
redirect American admiralty law and federai courts which apply
it, into the mainstream regarding consequential damages for
loss of use of private recreational boats, from which both have

strayed.

Petitioner respectfully suggests it should do so for the
sake of justice. te apm

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, Petitioner respectfully
requests that the Supreme Court of the United States grant
review of this matter.

Respectfully Submitted
John P. D’ Ambrosio
Counsel of record
D’ AMBROSIO & D’ AMBROSIO, P.C.
Attorneys for Petitioner
42 Main Street
..._ Irvington, New York 10533
(914) 591-5400

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
FORT MYERS DIVISION

Filed Mar. 23, 2004
DJM, LIMITED, Case No. 2:02-cv-617 FM-SPC
Plaintiff,
-VS-

ISLAND YACHTING MANAGEMENT, INC., formerly
ISLAND YACHTING CENTRE, INC., ISLAND YACHTING
CENTRE, LLC, WILL DITMER and IAN JARMAN,

This matter comes before the Court on Defendant Island
Yachting Management, Inc.’s Motion for Summary Judgment
(Doc. # 62-1) filed on January 14, 2004, and Plaintiff DJM
Limited’s Cross Motion for Summary Judgment and
Opposition to Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment
(Doc. # 64-1) filed on January 23, 2004. Both parties have filed
responses to the respective Motions for Summary Judgment
and the Motions are now ripe for review.

FACTS

On June 26, 1999, the Plaintiff purchased a new
sailboat, an Island Packet Yacht 320 (Boat), from Island
Yachting Management, Inc. (Island Yachting) for
approximately $197,000.00, which included outfitting and
commissioning. The manufacturer has not been named as a
defendant in this case.

2a

The Plaintiff and his son in law, who flew in from New
London, Connecticut to aid the Plaintiff in sailing the Boat to
Marco Island, were scheduled to take delivery on November
29, 1999. However, when they arrived there were still several
systems that needed to be installed. The Plaintiff also requested
that several changes be made to Boat’s systems. Because the
Boat was not ready for delivery on that date, the Defendant
reimbursed the Plaintiff's son in law for his travel expenses.
The Boat was finally delivered to the Plaintiff, Mr. John
D’Amborsio, the Principal in DJM, Limited, on January 11,
2000.

Before each boat is delivered to the new owner the
Manufacturer requires the seller to complete a dealer
commissioning checklist. The commissioning checklist is a
basic list ensuring that all of the Boats basic components,
electronics, and rigging have been checked and that the new
owner has been oriented to all the onboard systems. Will
Dittmer, a sales associate for Isiand Yachting, completed the
Manufacturer’s commissioning checklist. Dittmer stated that
while he did not personally check each item on the list he did
verify with his initials that each task was complete. When the
Boat was delivered, the Plaintiff was taken on a “shake down”
cruise to orient the Plaintiff with the Boat’s operating systems.

Since taking delivery of the Boat, the Plaintiff has taken
numerous overnight trips including a week to ten (10) day trip
sailing in and around Pine Island Sound and in the Spring of
2003, the Plaintiff sailed the Boat to the Florida Keys.
However, the Plaintiff alleges that the Boat had a number of
defects that caused the Boat to be unseaworthy. For example,
upon delivery, the top of the main mast was bent a ft and to the
right above the spreader. The Plaintiff also alleges that the air
conditioner which was supplied by Marine Air Systems and
installed by Sea Hag Yacht Systems had rusted, the hatch

3a

leaked, the GPS system did not function, the roller furler failed
to operate correctly, there was a whining in the drive train ard
the prop shaft, and a defective and leaking hose connector
running from the hot water lieater caused water damage.

On March 17, 2000, the Plaintiff spoke with Robert K.
Wardwell, an employee of Marco River Marine, about some of
his concerns with the Boat. Wardwell inspected the Boat on
March 21, 2000 and on March 22, 2000. Wardwell and the
Plaintiff motored the Boat to Marco River Marine where
Wardwell hauled the Boat and began removing the prop and the
related stem tube. Wardwell discovered that the cutlass bearing
inside the stern tube was too small for the stern tube and
contacted Mr. Tom Broome at Island Packet yachts
(Maufacturer). Waidwell told Broome some of the problems
that the Plaintiff was experiencing. Broome told Wardwell that
the mast was bent because the tension on the backstays was too
great and the problem was corrected. On March 27, 2000,
Broome sent Wardwell a new stern tube and cutlass bearing
which he then installed. On March 30, 2000, Wardwell
inspected the rudder and found that the rudder would not turn
as far to the right as it would to the left. Upon further
inspection, Wardwell found a piece of wood glued near the
steering mechanism that was blocking the steering mechanisms
ability to fully turn to the mght. Wardwell removed the
obstruction and readjusted the steering and auto pilot. On
March 30, 2000, the Boat was refloated and on March 31,
2000, a crew was sent from Seco South by the Manufacturer to
replace and re-rig the mast. On April 4, 2000, Ken Brown from
Seco South returned and began repairs to the roller furling unit
which were completed on April 7, 2000.

In mid April 2000, the whine in the drive train or a
similar noise returned. On April 13, 2000, marina personnel
tested the Boat. They trimmed the propeller and the noise was

4a

eliminated. In September of 2000, the Plaintiffasked Wardwell
to look at his GPS system. Wardwell found that the GPS
system had not been connected and he connected it. Later in
October of 2000, the GPS system failed and Wardwell installed
a new BNC connector (GPS antenna connection) and
reconnected the GPS system. On March 16, 2001, Wardwell
repaired a freshwater hose that someone had drilled a hole in
which allowed water to drain into one of the Boat’s lockers. On
February 20, 2002, the Plaintiff had Wardwell replace the
Boat’s water heater because of some leaks created by a faulty
hose connector which had caused the water heater to rust. All
of the Plaintiff's repairs costs were either paid or reimbursed by
the Manufacturer.

On July 31, 2001, the Plaintiff informed the Defendant
that the Boat’s air conditioning system was rusting. The
Plaintiff alleged that rust damage to the Boat’s air conditioning
system was cause by the Defendant because of improper
installation of the air conditioner unit. The air conditioning unit
was originally installed by Sea Hag Systems. The Plaintiff did
not approve of the original installation and requested that the
Defendant install the unit in another location. The Defendant
made the modifications according to the Plaintiff's
specifications. However, the manual used for installing the air
conditioner states that the condensation hose leading from the
drain pan should be attached directly to a sealed sump pump
and drained directly out of the boat. The condensation hose was
installed without a sump pump and instead led directly to the
boat’s bilge water and then indirectly was pumped out of the
boat. Marine Air denies liability stating that the drain pan and
braces supporting the air conditioner rusted because of the
improper installation of the condensation drain hose. To date
no one has paid for the repairs to the Boat’s air conditioning
unit which totaled $1669.99. As a result, the Plaintiff filed the
present action.

Sa
SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARD OF REVIEW

Summary Judgment is appropriate only when the Court
is satisfied that “there is no genuine issue as to any material
fact” and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter
of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56c). An issue is genuine if there is
sufficient evidence such that a reasonable jury could return a
verdict for either party. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477
U.S. 242, 248 (1986). Similarly, an issue is material if it may
affect the outcome of the suit under governing law. /d.

The moving party bears the burden of showing the
absence of any genuine issue of material fact. Celotex Corp. v.
Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986). In deciding whether the
moving party has met this initial burden, the Court must review
the record and all reasonable inferences drawn from the record
in the light most favorable to the non-moving party. Whatley v.
CNA Ins. Co., 189 F.3d 1310, 1313 (11" Cir. 1999). Once the
Court determines that the moving party has met it burden, the
burden shifts and the non-moving party must present specific
facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial that
precludes summary judgment. Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. Ltd.
v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986). “The
evidence presented cannot consist of conclusory allegations,
legal conclusions or evidence which would be inadmissible at
trial.” Demyan v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Canada, 148 F.
Supp.2d 1316, 1320 (S.D. Fla. 2001) (citing Avirgan v. Hull
932 F.2d 1572, 1577 (11 Cir. 1991)). Failure to show
sufficient evidence of any essential element is fatal to the claim
and the Court should grant the summary judgment. Celotex,
477 U.S. at 322-323. Conversely, if reasonable minds could
find genuine issue of material fact then summary judgment
should be denied. Miranda v. B & B Cash Grocery Store, Inc.,
975 F.2d 1518, 1532 (11" Cir. 1992).

6a
DISCUSSION

The Plaintiff's complaint alleges negligence, fraudulent
misrepresentation, breach of implied warranty of
merchantability, deceptive trade practice, strict liability in tort
and money owed for damage to the ships air conditioning unit.
The parties have filed cross Motions for Summary Judgment
alleging that there are no genuine issues of material fact and
that each side is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. The
Plaintiff claims are based on his allegations that the Boat was
not seaworthy at the time of purchase. The Defendant argues
that the vessel was seaworthy and that the Plaintiff suffered
neither monetary nor physical damages and therefore all the
claims should fail.

Was th aw ?

The Plaintiff argues that defective gear constitutes a
breach of the vessel owner’s duty to provide a seaworthy ship.
Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85, 66 S. Ct. 872
(1946). The Warranty of Seaworthiness Doctrine is a creation
of twentieth century judicial policy concerning risk distribution
in the shipping industry and essentially depends on neither
common law tort nor contract concepts. Delome v. Union
Barge Kine Co., 444 F.2d 225, 230 (11" Cir. 1971). Under
general admiralty law, the seaworthiness doctrine simply means
that a vessel is reasonably fit for its intended purpose. Vierling
v. Celebrity Cruises, Inc., 339 F.3d 1309, 1312 n. 22 (11 Cir.
2003).

The Plaintiff's reliance on Sieracki is misplaced. The
Supreme Court’s ruling in Sieracki has been overuled by
subsequent Supreme Court decisions and by statute. Northern
Marine Terminal Co. v. Caputo, 432 U.S. 249, 261-262, 97S.
Ct. 2348, 53 L.Ed.2d 320 (1977) (eliminating a ship owners

7a

liability for unseaworthiness for injuries to longshoreman
caused by a third party under Sieracki; Ducrepont v. Baton
Rouge Marine Enterprises, Inc., 666 F. Supp. 882, 884 (E.D.
La. 1987) (holding the Congress specifically overruled Sieracki
by statute holding that an injured plaintiff could no longer hold
a shipowner liable for injuries caused by transitory defects nor
for any unsafe condition caused by a third party). In essence,
the doctrine of unseaworthiness applied in Sieracki can no
longer be used to hold a repairer or employer liable for any
unsafe condition under the theory that the employer or owner
of the vessel had breached an express or implied warranty of
workman like performance to the vessel. /d.

The Plaintiff runs down a litany of possible accidents
that might have occurred “if” one of the Boat’s systems had
failed which, in turn, might have caused the ship to be
unseaworthy. Therefore, the Plaintiff claims that since the Boat
had some defects that might have caused some potential
problems he is entitled to summary judgment.

The Plaintiff's assumptions have no legal basis. First,
the seaworthiness doctrine does not infer that all errors in the
vessel have been eradicated. Delome, 444 F.2d at 230. Second,
the alleged failures never occurred and all of the potential
malfunctions were repaired by the manufacturer without any
costs to the Plaintiff. Moreover, the Plaintiff acknowledged that
he was able to take pleasure cruises on the boat and thus, the
Boat was able to function at its intended purpose. Delome, 444
F.2d at 230. Consequently, the Boat was seaworthy under the
definition of seaworthiness applied in the Eleventh Circuit.

intiff’'s Clai

The Plaintiff alleges that the Defendant was negligent

because it failed to discover and/or repair the Boat’s
mechanical problems during the dealer commissioning process.

Under Florida law, the elements of a negligence cause of action
are: (1) the defendant must have a legal duty to design and
manufacture a product reasonable safe for use; (2) the
defendant must breach that duty; (3) the plaintiff must suffer an
injury legally caused by the breach of that duty; and (4) the
plaintiff must have suffered damages. /ndemnity Ins. Co. of
North America v. American Aviation, Inc., 344 F.3d 1136, 1146
(11" cir, 2003). The Plaintiff must prove all four elements to
establish negligence on the part of the Defendant. Prichett v.

E.I. DuPont De Nemours & Co., 1994 WL 150834 (M.D. Fla.

April 21, 1994). While the Plaintiff claims that the Defendant
did not pay for the damages, all of the alleged defects were
repaired by the manufacturer at the manufacturer’s expense.

The Defendant was not required to pay and thus, the Plaintiff
has suffered no injury or damages. Consequently, the Plaintiff's
charge of negligence fails to meet the standard elements of a
negligence action under Florida iaw. The Plaintiff failed to
show sufficient evidence of an essential element of his claim

for negligence, as a result, the Court must grant the summary
judgment in favor of the Defendant, Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-
323.

3) Plaintiff's Claim of Fraudulent Mi

In Florida, to prevail on a claim of fraudulent
misrepresentation, the Plaintiff must prove: (1) the defendant
made a false statement of fact; (2) known by the defendant to
be false; (3) made for the purpose of inducing the plaintiff to
act in reliance there on; (4) action by the plaintiff in reliance on
the statements correctness; and (5) the plaintiff suffered
damages or injury. Wilson v. Danek Medical, Inc., 1999 WL
1062129 (M.D. Fla. Mar. 29, 1999). The Plaintiff never
establishes that the Defendant purposefully and knowingly

9a

made statements intended to deceive him. Instead, the Plaintiff
merely recites a series of problems and subsequent repairs
which were paid for by the manufacturer. Any potential
damages or injuries were averted by the manufacturer who
replaced or repaired any defective parts at its own expense.
Accordingly, under Florida law the Plaintiff has not set forth
sufficient grounds to establish a claim of fraudulent

misrepresentation and summary judgment should be held for
the Defendant, Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-323.

(4) Plaintiff's Claim of Breach of Implied W;
Merchantabili

The Plaintiff asserts that the Defendant breached the
implied warranty of merchantability under Florida Statute
§672.314 by delivering the Boat with defects. Under Florida
law, a warranty whether express or implied is essentially a
contract. Bland v. Freightliner LLC, 206 F. Supp.2d 1202,
1210 (M.D. Fla; 2002). The elements of a breach of contract
action in Florida are: (1) a valid contract; (2) a material breach;
and (3) damages. Jd. The Plaintiff failed to prove an essential
element of his claim that the Defendant breached the implied
warranty of merchantability because he suffered no imjuries.
Marking v. Novarus Pharmaceuticals Corp. Inc., 2002 WL.
32255405 (S.D. Fla.) holding that to establish a breach of the
implied warranty of merchantability the plaintiff must show the
product was the proximate cause of their injury).

Moreover, the implied warranty of merchantability
states that for goods to be merchantable they must be fit for the
ordinary purposes for which such goods are used. Fla. Stat.
§672.314(2)(c). No evidence was present to demonstrate that
the Boat was not able to fulfill its ordinary purpose as a
pleasure boat. In fact, the record shows just the opposite
because the Plaintiff was able to take the Boat on several week

10a

long pleasure cruises as well as numerous daily excursions in
the Marco Island area. Thus, the Defendant failed to prove an
essential element of a claim for breach of implied warranty of
merchantability and the Court should grant the summary
judgment for the Defendant, Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-323.

5) Plaintiff's Claim of Deceptive Trade Practi

The Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act
(UTPA) provides that a plaintiff may initiate a civil action
against a party who has engaged in “{ujnfair methods of
competition, unconscionable acts or practices and unfair or
deceptive acts in the conduct of any trade or commerce. Stires
v. Carnival Cruise Lines Corp., 243 F. Supp. 2d 1313, 1321,
M.D. Fla. 2002). In construing what constitutes an unfair
practice or deceptive act the Court should give due
consideration and great weight to the Federal Trade
Commission's (FTC) interpretation of the equivalent federal
law. Id. (citing Kelly v. Nelson, Mullins, Riley & Scarborough,
L.L.P., 2002 WL 598427 (M.D. Fla. Mar. 20, 2002). Claims
alleging violations of the Federal Deceptive Trade Practices
Act require the heightened pleading requirements of Fed. R.
Civ. P.9(b). Stires, 243 F. Supp. 2d at 1322. Rule 9 states that
“fijn all averments of fraud or mistake the circumstances
constituting fraud or mistake shall be stated with particularity.
Fed. R. Civ. P.9(b).

The Plaintiff alleges that the Defendant committed
defective trade practices by failing to honor any of its
warranties and did nothing about providing repairs to any of the
alleged failures to the Boat’s systems. The law states that the
Plaintiff must state with particularity the deceptions that
induced him to purchase a defective product. Stires, 243 F.
Supp. 2d at 1322. The express claims or deliberately made
iroolied claims used to induce purchase of the particular

lla

product are presumed to be material to the claim. Federal
Trade Comm'n v. SlimAmerica, Inc.,77 F. Supp. 2d 1263, 1277
(S.D. Fla. 1999). Yet, the Plaintiff fails to provide a specific
instance where the Plaintiff induced him to purchase a
defective product without either the Defendant’s or the
Manufacturer’s warranty covering any subsequent repairs. As
the record demonstrates, all of the Defendants repairs were
made and paid for by either the Manufacturer or the Defendant.
Thus, the Plaintiff failed to state with particularity a claim for
defective trade practices and summary judgment should be
granted for the Defendant, Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-323.

(6) Plaintiff's Claim of Strict Liability in T

In Order to obtain summary judgment “the evidence
presented cannot consist of conclusory allegations or legal
conclusions.” Demyan v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Canada,
148 F. Supp. 2d 1316, 1320 (S.D. Fla. 2001) (citing Avigan v.
Hull, 932 F.2d 1572, 1577 (11" Cir. 1991)). The Plaintiff
claims strict liability in torts but puts forth no damages or
injuries caused by the Defendant. The Plaintiff has failed to
show sufficient evidence of a material element of his claim and
thus, the Court should grant summary judgment in favor of the
Defendarit. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-323.

Air Conditioning Repair

The Plaintiff makes a claim for $1,669.99 for cost to
repair rust damage to the Boat’s air conditioning unit. The_
Plaintiff claims that the Defendant is liable for the repair cost
because they installed the unit improperly. The Defendant
asserts that if the unit rusted it would be the fault of Taylor
Made, the units manufacturer and that there was no expert

12a

testimony presented to show that there was a defect caused by
the Defendant's actions. Thus, a genuine issue of material fact
exists as to the nature of and liability for the rust damages to
the Boat’s air conditioning unit and summary judgment is not
appropriate when there is a genuine issue as to any material
fact. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

(8) Plaintiff's Claim for D for Loss of U:

The Plaintiff claims $50,000.00 in damages for loss of
use while the boat was out of service for repairs. It is well
settled that demurrage (loss of use profits) “will only be
allowed when the profits have actually been or may reasonably
supposed to have been lost and the amount of such profits is
proven with reasonable certainty.” Central State Transit &
Leasing Corp. v. Jones Boat Yard, Inc., 206 F.3d 1373, 1376
(11" Cir. 2000). “It is not the mere fact that a vessel is detained
that entitles the owner to demurrage,” Jd. There must be a
pecuniary loss, and not a mere inconvenience arising from an
inability to use the vessel for the purpose of pleasure. /d. Thus,
regarding the Plaintiff's claim for loss of use damages “there is
no genuine issue as to any material fact” and the Defendant is
entitled to summary judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ.
P. S6(c).

After reviewing the record and the parties’ Cross
Motions for Summary Judgment, the Court finds that there is
no genuine issue of material fact regarding the Plaintiff's
complaint except for the action alleging damages for the
$1,669.99 in repair cost for the rusted air conditioning unit.
Therefore, the Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment is
due to be granted except for the above noted exception.
Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-323.

13a

Accordingly, it is now
ORDERED:

(1) Defendant Island Yachting Management, Inc.’s
Motion for Summary Judgment (Doc. # 62-1) is GRANTED in
part and DENIED in part. The Defendant’s Motion for
Summary Judgment as to Plaintiff's claim for Money Owed
due to damages to the Boat’s air conditioning Unit is DENIED.
As to all other counts, the Defendant’s Motion for Summary
Judgreer: is GRANTED.

(2) Plaintiff DJM Limited’s Cross Motion for Summary
Judgment and Opposition to Defendant’s Motion for Summary
(Doc. #64-1) is DENTED.

DONE AND ORDERED at Fort Myers, Florida, this
23" day of March, 2004.

s/

SHERI POLSTER CHAPPELL
UNITED STATES
MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Copies:

Counsel of record
Presiding District Judge
DCCD

l4a
CORRECTED
[DO NOT PUBLISH]
[N THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 04-13420 and No. 04-16441

D.C. Docket No. 02-00617-CV-FTM-SPC

FILED
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
MAY 17, 2005
THOMAS K. KAHN
CLERK

DJM, LIMITED,

Plaintiff-Appeilant,
versus

ISLAND YACHTING MANAGEMENT, INC.
f.k.a. Island Yachting Centre, Inc.,

ISLAND YACHTING CENTRE, LLC,
IAN JARMAN,

Defendants-Appellees.

15a

Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Florida

(May 17, 2005)

Before TJOFLAT and KRAVITCH, Circuit Judges, and
MILLS*, District Judge

* Honorable Richard Mills, United States District Judge for the

16a
Central District of Illinois, sitting by designation.
PER CURIAM:

AFFIRMED. See 11" Cir. R. 36-1.°

"11° Cir. R. 36-1 provides
When the court determines that any of the following circumstances
exist:

(a) judgment of the district court is based on findings of
fact that are not clearly erroneous;

(b) the evidence in support of a jury verdict is sufficient,

(c) the order of an administrative agency ts supported by
substantial evidence on the record as a whole,

(d) summary judgment, directed verdict, or judgment on
the pleadings is supported by the record;

(e) judgment has been entered without a reversible error
of law; and an opmmion would have no precedennal
value, the judgment or order may be affirmed or
enforced without opimion

l7a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Eleventh Circuit

No. 04-13420

District Court Docket No.
02-0061 7-CV-FTM-SPC

FILED
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
May 17, 2005
THOMAS K. KAHN
CLERK

DJM, Limited,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

ISLAND YACHTING MANAGEMENT, INC.
f.k.a. Island Yachting Centre, Inc.,

ISLAND YACHTING CENTRE, LLC,

WILL DITTMER,

[IAN JARMAN,

Defendant-Appellees.

18a

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Florida

JUDGMENT

It is hereby ordered, adjudged, and decreed that the
attached 11" Cir. R. 36-1 affirmance without opinion included
herein by reference, is entered as the judgment of this Court.

Entered: May 17, 2005
For the Court: Thomas K. Kahn, Clerk
By: Jackson, Jarvis
ISSUED AS MANDATE

Jul 06 2005

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
ATLANTA, GA.

19a

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 04-13420-BB

FILED
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
JUN 24 2005
THOMAS K. KAHN
DJM, LIMITED,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Versus

ISLAND YACHTING MANAGEMENT, INC.
f.k.a. Island Yachting Centre, Inc.,

ISLAND YACHTING CENTRE, LLC

WILL DITTMER, IAN JARMAN,

Defendanit- Appellees

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Florida

20a

BEFORE: TJOFLAT and KRAVITCH,M Circuit Judges, and
MILLS", District Judge.

PER CURIAM:
The Petition (a) for rehearing filed by Appellant is
DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

S/
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

* Honorable Richard Mills, United States District Judge
for the Central District of Illinois, sitting by designation.

2la

ISLAND PACKET YACHTS
1979 Wild Acres Road, Largo FL 33771
Dealer Commissioning Checklist

Dealer yc
Model__ 320 Hull # 31
Engine__ 36M Serial # E 24528

Date of Commissioning 11/99

The following is to be used as a basic checklist for the
commissioning of your new Island Packet yacht. These
guidelines are the minimum suggested by Island Packet Y achts;
your actual commissioning procedures may exceed this basic
checklist. CHECKLIST MUST BE SIGNED AND
RETURNED FOR VALIDATION OF WARRANTY.

All work should be done in accordance with or exceed the
recommended practices of the American Boat and Yacht
Council standards where applicable, and good marine practices
as dictated by the United States Coast Guard or individual
component manuals. Because the Commissioning, including
matters on this checklist, is to be completed by personnel not
in the employ of Island Packet Yachts, the manufacturer shall
not be held liable for any omissions or errors involving
commissioning the yacht or other modifications to the yacht
after delivery to the dealer.

This checklist must be reviewed with the retail customer. A
completed Yacht Delivery Report, with dealer and owner
signatures, acknowledging this review is also required to
validate our manufacturer’s warranty.

(1) Upon Delivery to Yard or Dealership
(initials)

22a

s/__ a. Inspect hull and deck for damage.
s/ b. Verify receipt of all parts and equipment as
outlined on Ship Kit List. If a part seems to

be missing please look again. Check flaps
on boxes etc. If it is signed off it’s most
probably there.

s/ c. Verify all owner’s manuals for OEM
equipment are on board.

s/__d. Note damage or discrepancies to driver and
Island Packet Yachts.

s/ e. Install lifelines and bow rail as necessary.

s/ f. Add additional coats of Sikkons Cetol to
exterior teak as required.

Il Before Launching

(initials)

s/___a. Install additional thru-hulls as required for
optional equipment.

s/__b. Prep and paint bottom according to paint
me~ ‘facturers recommendations.

s/ c. Check propeller shaft nuts, cotter pin, zinc,
cutlass bearing and propeller for proper
installation.

s/ d. Check all seacocks, packing glands and
hose clamps for tightness, security. Close
all seacocks.

s/ e. Check rudder for free motion, proper
operation. Verify general tightness and
security of steering system.

s/ f. Check engine fluid levels (transmission,

crankcase and fresh water cooling).

Il. Lauaching

23a
(initials)

s/__ a. With yacht suspended in slings, but
floatung,check:

i. action of all thru hulls/seacocks.

ii. hose clamps, prop shaft log, rudder

stuffing box.

iii. check all lockers, bilge, for leaks

of any kind.
s/____b. Open fuel valve at tank and raw water
intake seacock.
s/__¢. With DC battery switch on, start engine:

4. check exhaust for clear water
discharge.

ii. check gauges on engine panel for
correct readouts, hour meter
operation.

in. check alternator output, propeller

stuffing box.

iv. check action of throttle/shift

control and cable; stop cable.

Vv. inspect cooling system and exhaust

system for leaks.
IV Rigging

(initials)

s/__a. Inspect all rigging for defects/kinks or
missing parts.

s/ b. Install spreaders and standing rigging on
mast. Spreader tips should be padded to
protect sails. Tape spreader bases.

s/ __¢. Check operation of all mast mounted lights
and optional equipment.

s/___d. Step mast and install rubber collar and

24a

stainless steel pin at deck partner (requires
drilling hole in mast). Caulk areas between
mast and mast boot especially at tracks.

s/__e. Tune rig per instructions in Owner’s
Manual. Follow LOOS gauge
recommendations. Secure all turnbuckles,
clevis pins and cotter pins so they are “snag

; free”.

s/____f. Install boom. Check operation of all running
rigging and halyards, sheets topping lift,
outhaul, roller furling systems, etc.

Ss g. Install club boom.

s/___h. Bend on all sails and check for proper
shape, size and operation of all control
lines. Run main reefing or (opt. furling)
system and check operation. Trim reefing

lines as necessary.

IV. Plumbing and Electrical Systems
(initials)

s/ __a Check all 12 volt breakers and associated
equipment for proper operation. Include
bulb checks on cabin, running and anchor
lights; check operation of sump pumps in
icebox, shower.

s/ b. Check manual and electric bilge pump

operation, pressure water system and

courtesy light function.

s/ c. Thoroughly flush winterizing material (if

applicable) from fresh water system.

s/ d. Fiil fuel and water tanks. Bleed air from all

hoses and hot water heater. Verify water

heater operates under power.

25a

s/___e. Check for proper operation of al! 110 volt
outlets and accessories, including batter y
charger and hot water heater.

s/__f. Check batteries for proper hold down,
charge status.

s/ g. Check for appropriate position of Y valve
and overboard discharge seacock on head

waste system.
s/__h. Check head fill and discharge hose for
leaks.
s/___i. Check proper operation of head unit(s).

VI. Stove and Oven
(initials)

s/ a. Review owner’s manual supplied with stove
and oven.

b. Fill tank with LPG and install.

c. Check all hoses, valves for leaks.

d. Perform ignition test on all burners and
oven. Verify proper operation of all stove
and oven controls and remote solenoid shut

off valve.

VIl. Dealer Sea Trial
(initials)

s/___a. Check for proper operation/installation of
all equipment.
s/__b. Calibrate electronics as necessary.
s/__c. Check engine alignment. Secure coupling
bolts and nuts with Locktite as necessary.
s/ d. Check fit of all doors, drawers and lockers.

Adjust to fit, operate smoothly.

26a

s/__¢. Water test all ports, hatches, deck hardware
and optional equipment installations.

s/__f. Clean yacht thoroughly inside and out
before delivery to owner. Add additional
coat(s) of Sikkens as needed.

VIL. Owner Sea Trial

IX

s/

(initials)

s/__a. Orient owner to all onboard systems,
including factory and dealer installed
equipment and associated owner’s manuals.
Include all electrical, mechanical and

plumbing systems.
s/__b. Familiarize owner with engine and basic
maintenance/troubleshooting procedures.
s/__c. Locate and assemble emergency tiller and
demonstrate its use.

s/___d. Demonstrate use of reefing and furling
equipment, proper sail trim and sheet lead
angels.

s/__e. Assist owner with motoring skills, _
particularly backing and close quarters
maneuverability.

s/__f. Allow time for questions, concerns and
comments from owner. Respond

accordingly and in a prompt fashion.

I certify that the above commissioning checklist has
been completed as outlined (a5 a minimum) and that a
copy of this report has been given to the customer.

Authorized Dealer Signature Date

27a

s/

Owner Signature Date

28a
2003 U.S. RECREATIONAL BOAT
REGISTRATION STATISTICS

PUBLISHED BY

Industry Statistics Department

National Marine Manufacturers Association

200 East Randolph Drive, Suite 5100

Chicago, Illinois 60601-8528

312.946.6200 nmma.org/facts

To order additional copies, visit nmma.org/facts or complete the

order form located in the back and fax to 312.946.0388

No part of this report may be reproduced or duplicated without
written permission from NMMA Statistics Department

(C) February 2005

2003 SUMMARY

Responsibility for registering recreational boats in the U.S.
falls onto the individual states that annually report their
registration data to the U.S. Coast Guard. It is from this data
that the 2003 U.S. Recreational Boat Registrations Statistics
report is compiled. Other sources used in this report include the
U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration, and Statistical Surveys, Inc.

29a

Boat registration statistics are the basis for allocating Aquatic
Resource Trust Fund doilars among the states each year. In
addition, NMMA uses the registration data to develop its
estimates on annual state dollar sales of new boats, motors,
trailers and marine accessories. This information is available in
the year-end review of the market.

Overall Changes

In its recent release of state registrations, the U.S. Coast Guard
reports there were almost 13 million recreational boats
registered with U.S. states and territories in 2003, down 0.5
percent (-59,400 units) from the previous year.

Using data complied by Statistical Surveys, Inc. on new power
boat registrations for 46 of the 50 states (representing
approximately 94 percent of the marketplace), NMMA
estimates there were 382,900 new (model year 2003) power
boasts registered by the states during the year. In effect,
approximately 314,000 power boats were retired from the
recreational boating fleet in 2003.

REGIONAL DIFFERENCES

South Atlantic and Eastern North Central regions switched
places for the number one and two regional rankings in 2003.
South Atlantic region (Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida,
Georgia, Maryland, North and South Carolina, Virginia and
West Virginia) usurped the number one spot with 2.558 million
boats, Eastern North Central region (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan,
Ohio, Wisconsin) follows closely with 2.554 million boats. The
two regions account for forty percent boats registered in the
country.

30a

One region experienced a significant increase in registrations
during 2003 while four showed declines in the number of boats
registered.

Region with increases

* Pacific—5.3%

Declining Regions
* New England-(4.5%)
* Western South Central-(4.0%)

* Eastern North Central-(3.6%)

* Mountain-{1.2%)

3la

2003 Regional Boat Registrations

RANKING 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000

New England 510,544 531,243 532,844 542,345 533,198
Middle Atlantic 976,778 1,049,408 1,061,148 1,097,709 1,128,077
South Atlantic 2,308,255 2,338,961 2,377,420 2,435,780 2,452,549
Eastern North Central 2,457,836 2,478,547 2,558,804 2,547,574 2,582,118
Eastern North Central 960,015 983,483 1,011,270 1,034,209 897,045
Western North Central 1,522,210 1,573,102 “1,585,591 1,596,203 1,645,785
Western South Central 1,331,167 1,322,625 1,369,565 1,345,882 1,349,518
Mountain 579,270 501,179 623,797 531,942 628,000
Pacific 1,364,480 1,378,606 1,384,254 1,443,515 1,401,099
U.S. Territories 45,412 54,557 57,898 80,450 63,873
Total U.S. 12,056,975 12,309,724 12,565,961 12,735,612 12,782,143

32a

2003 Regional Boat Registrations

2003 Rank Percent

Percent
RANKING 2001 2002 2003 Order ‘03 vs’02 Of Total
New England 545,812 $58,925 531,734 9 4.5% 42%
Middle Atlantic 1,092,277 1,096,880 1,060,817 6 0 5% 8.5%
South Atlantic 2,515,687 2,532,760 2,558,049 l 1.0% 20.0%
Lastern North Central 2,532,406 2,549,531 2,553,799 2 -3. 8% 20.0%
Eastern North Central 991,586 398,363 888,780 7 0.3% 7.0%
Western North Central 1,652,527 1,564,539 1,881,312 3 0.2% 13.0%
Western South Central 1,373,190 1,379,019 -1,352,132 5 -1.9% 10.5%
Mountain 589,895 591,748 584,525 .) -12% 46%
Pacific 1,468,447 1,416,677 1,498,759 4 5.3% 11.7%
US. Territories 64,539 67,612 89,529 10 2.6% 0.5%
Total U.S. 12,876,346 12,854,054 12,784,816 0.5% 100.0%

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0100%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
