# Prologue — Lick Fork Marina, Inc. v. Indiana

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0026%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Prologue
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 875

## Text

Supreme Coun Us” /)
FILED

— O57138 VL 2 1 2005

OFFICE BFOTHE CLERK

IN THE

LICK FORK MARINA, INC.,
Petitioner,

7;

STATE. OF INDIANA,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The Indiana Court of Appeals

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

James C. Tucker
Counsel of Record
Tucker and Tucker, P.C.
188 South Court Street
Paoli, IN 47454
Telephone: 812-723-2313

1
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Has the State of Indiana, through inverse condemnation,
in violation of the Indiana and United States Constitutions,
taken trade fixtures and personal property from one of its
citizens, without compensation of any kind, contrary to the
rule first enunciated by this Court in Van Ness v. Pacard, 27
U.S. 137 (1829) that trade fixtures are personal property and
not real property and removable by a lessee at any time
before the expiration of a leasehold; in a situation where an
impartial jury determined the value of that which was taken
by the State of Indiana to be $432,600.00, after a three day
jury trial, occurring almost two years after the trial court
correctly determined that a taking had taken place, which
decision by the trial court was not appealed, although it was
a final appealable judgment and the Indiana Supreme Court
had previously required litigants to appeal each court decision
that a taking had or had not taken place?

2

\

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND
RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The parties to the proceedings in both the Indiana Court
of Appeals and subsequent denial by the Indiana Supreme
Court of the Petition to Transfer filed by Petitioner, Lick
Fork Marina, Inc., were Lick Fork Marina, Inc. and the State
of Indiana (Department of Natural Resources).

There are no parent corporations of petitioner Lick Fork
Marina, Inc. No publicly held corporation owns 10% or more
of the stock of Lick Fork Marina, Inc.

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Question Presented for Review ........ 2.20. oe. ee i
Parties to the Proceeding and Rule 29.6 Statement ies =
Teme Or CS oo ero oe ee eee: il
TaOte OF CAteG: AMINORIES oe i Se eS iv
CaO IO os eee ee ]
PUIEICCOIR SUN | 5 Se eee ie ]
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ...... 1
emberent OF YE COMSE 2 os Se ce A 2
Reasons for Granting the Petition ............... 13
RINE © ee PCR Ia SS ere 27

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

: | Page
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:
~Fifth Amendment
to the United States Constitution .............. 1
Fourteenth Amendment
to the United States Constitution ............ 42
CASES:
Armstrong v. United States,
364 US. 40, 44, 46 (1960) ....... SE AEE 17
Chicago, B. & Q. R. Co. v. Chicago,
166 U.S. 226, 41 L. Ed. 979, 17 S. Ct. 581
WAOF Ee Se ar oe ea ies eG te ee ee 13
City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes at Monterey,
526 Uo: ORE Fis CH ees reece 14, 16

Evansville-Vanderburgh Levee Auth. v. Towne Motel, Inc.,
247 Ind. 161, 162-63, 213 N.E.2d 705, 706
Li Pas ba A eck pow aw eee 21, 22

\ First English Evangelical Church of Glendale v.
County of Los Angeles,
AS2 U5. SOK, 318 CISST). noes SS Sa SIGS 13

Illinois Cities Water Co. v. City of Mt. Vernon,
11 Ill. 2d 547, 550-51, 144 N.E.2d 729, 731
CEa ry I eS ee os 17

Lawton vs. Lawton,
© PI ee ee i ee i EN PERRO CS 18

Louisville Joint Stock Land Bank v. Radford,
FFF Ai. DAR TIE CAF) eo oe i en he a 17

Lynch v. United States,
BPG US AT OTe ose cs eek ee peer ess 17

Morton Grove Park District v. American National
Bank & Trust Co.,
78 Il. 2d 353, 362, 399 N.E.2d 1295, 1299, 35 Ill.
Dec. 767 (1980) ..... TENG pera ban are EN eae Oras 17

Olson v. United States,
292 U.S. 246, 255, 78 L. Ed. 1236, 54 S. Ct. 704
Re eg err ee eae a oes 27

Palazzolo v. Rhode Island,
Jas tis. GUO; O1T EZ00N) oe SE Se 3. 27

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co,
GT RE ee 1 es PO ee ee 16, 17

State v. Robertson et al,
peo Petes LTD AMD. AFIS) oo es one ew o 21

Thiesing Veneer Co. of Ind. v. State
(1970), 254 Ind. 699, 262 N.E.2d 382... 2.5... 22

United States v. Clarke, :
445 15.5; 253, 257 (960). eo 13, 14, 16, 18

United States v. Cors,
Pee Ri ne LAE es Oe es eA 16

vi

United States v. Lynah,
188 U.S. 445, 462, 468 n2 (1903) ............ 18

Van Ness v. Pacard,
BP Wie Sd Ce hes 1, 7, 8, 18, 19, 24, 25

Warner/Elektra/Atlantic Corp. v. County of DuPage,
(CA7 ILL) 991 F 2d 1280, reh, en banc, den. (CA7 ILL)
1993°US Apo. LEAIS 135000 os. 8, 16, 25

STATUTES AND RULES:

WE USC. SINT oo
84 Stat. 1906, § 304, 42 U.S.C. § 4654............ 15
id 10
SR ee 10

OTHER AUTHORITIES:
0 A Bee VR OS a 8, 16

4 J. Sackman, Nichols on Eminent Domain § 12.01
TEN AG OG. DOV es re ENG 27

6 P. Nichols, Eminent Domain § 25.41
CS fey. OF 1972) ee Bh aed ce sks gale Was 13

Black’s Law Dictionary, 652 (7th ed. 1999) ........ 23

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion-For Publication of the Indiana Court of
Appeals is reported at 820 N‘E. 2d 152 (2005) (Pet. App., pp.
3a-13a) and the Decision Without Opinion of the Indiana
Supreme Court denying transfer is reported at 2005 Ind.
LEXIS 405. (Pet. App., pp. 1a-2a). The Judgment of the Trial
Court determining a taking occurred dated October 8, 2001 is
found in Petitioner’s Appendix on pages 19a-30a.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The Order of the Indiana Supreme Court denying transfer
of the judgment of the Indiana Court of Appeals was entered
on April 28, 2005. The jurisdiction of this Court is requested
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257: :

(a) Final judgments or decrees rendered by the
highest court of a State in which a decision could be
had, may be reviewed by the Supreme Court by writ
of certiorari * * * where any title, right, privilege, or
immunity is specially set up or claimed under the
Constitution or the treaties or statutes of, or any
commission held or authority exercised under, the
United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution
applicable to the states through the Fourteenth Amendment to
the United States Constitution, mandates in its entirety:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

2

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in
the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or public danger; nor
shall any person be subject for the same offence to
be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be
compelled in any criminal case to be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution, Section ], requires:

All persons born or naturalized in the United States,
and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States and of the State wherein they
reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which
shall; abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens
of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a case in which after bench trial held October 8,

2001, the trial court determined a taking without just

compensation in violation of the Indiana and USS.

Constitutional prohibitions thereto occurred by the State of

Indiana. Only until after a three day jury trial on damages

almost two years later as a result of the unconstitutional

~ taking did the State of Indiana appeal the judgment of the

trial court determining a taking occurred to the Court of
Appeals of Indiana.

3

The inverse condemnation proceedings below arose as
follows: The Patoka Lake Project is a joint reservoir project
between the State of Indiana and the United States
Department of the Army. (Pet. App. p. 41a).

The State of Indiana, Department of Natural Resources
(Hereinafter “DNR”) prepared and advertised a Prospectus for
a marina and related facilities in the Lick Fork area of Patoka
Lake, in 1979. A Lease Agreement was executed between
DNR as Lessor and the Petitioner, Lick Fork Marina, Inc.
(Hereinafter “Lick Fork” or “Petitioner’’”) as Lessee on April
29, 1980 and provides in relevant part:

Section 14.03 Title to Property.
Title to any and all buildings, structures and other
improvements erected or placed on the Leased Real
Estate by the Lessee, which are so permanently fixed
to the real estate as to become legally a part of the
real estate is vested in the United States of America
and is leased to the Lessor under the lease attached
hereto and marked Exhibit A. All other property
placed or erected on the Leased Real Estate by the
Lessee shall belong to the Lessee. (Pet. App., p. 40a).

The Lease provided that Lick Fork paid rent to DNR and
_ DNR received a percentage of Lick Fork’s gross income.
(Pet. App., pp. 38a-40a, Sections 3.02 and 3.03).

During the course of the leasehold, Lick Fork constructed
on the leasehold a marina building, radio tower, birdhouse
poles, wire propane pen, one gazebo, octagonal wood deck,
landscaping, established concrete ramps and cement work,
pads and stairs, utilities and accessories leading to various
docks, in-ground fuel storage with all attachments, mechanical
in-ground improvements, utility lines, and rip-rap (hereinafter

4

referred to as the “Jtems Condemned”). (Pet. App. p. 83a-89a
[p. 50, 1]. 21-25; p. 51, Il. 2-4; p. 52, Il. 2-8; p. 55, Il. 20-24;
p. 56, Il. 12-17; p. 57, Il. 8-9; p. 57, Il. 11-15; p. 58, Il. 7-17;
p. 60, Il. 20-23; p. 61, Il. 2-4; p. 83, 1]. 3-7]}). Lick Fork paid
for all the Items Condemned and the DNR paid nothing. (Pet.
App., p. 80a [p. 29, ll. 22-25; p. 30, 1. 2]; pp. 88a-89a [p. 83,
ll. 3-7]).

Elected Assessor Allen Thewes testified at the bench trial
determining a taking occurred that Lick Fork paid personal
property taxes on the Items Condemned. (Pet. App., p. 79a [p.
15, ll. 2-4; p. 22, Il. 7-11}). All in-ground fuel storage tanks
were registered with the Indiana Department of
Environmental Management as the property of Lick Fork, and |
not DNR. (Pet. App., pp. 82a-83a [p. 39, ll. 9-22]; pp. 95a-
102a). In December, 1999, prior to the expiration of the
Lease Agreement as extended, the DNR made an offering to
the public to make proposals on what was Lick Fork Marina
which included the Items Condemned. (Pet. App., pp. 79a-80a
[p. 27, ll. 2-5]).

On October 9, 2000 Lick Fork gave written notice to
DNR that the Items Condemned were the property of Lick
Fork. (Pet. App., pp. 42a-45a). Also at a meeting held
January 11, 2001, Lick Fork made clear to DNR that the
Items Condemned had been paid for and erected by Lick Fork
and were the property of Lick Fork. (Pet. App., pp. 80a-82a
[p. 36, ll. 20-22; p. 38, ll. 6-23]). A letter of January 18,
2001, also made clear that ownership. (Pet. App, pp. 46a-
48a). On February 6, 2001, DNR gave written notice to Lick
Fork to vacate the premises no later than March 31, 2001,
mandating: “All personal] property is to be removed by that
date; any personal property remaining thereafter shall become
the property of the State of Indiana.” (Pet. App., p. 49a).

5

Seventeen days later, on February 23, 2001, Chief of
Staff and General Counsel for the DNR by letter mandated to
Petitioner Lick Fork that the Items Condemned were
considered by the State of Indiana to be the “property of the
State of Indiana and are not to be removed.” (Pet. App., pp.
50a-51a). On March 1, 2001 Lick Fork through counsel wrote
Doehrmann, as representative of the DNR, that the Items
Condemned were the personal property of Lick Fork and that
the action of the DNR constitutes a condemnation of those
items. (Pet. App., pp. 52a-55a). Ultimately, effective March
31, 2001, DNR leased the real estate together with all of the
Items Condemned to Hoosier Hills Marina, Inc. (Pet. App.,
pp. 79a-80a, [p. 27, I]. 2-5}).

Petitioner filed a Complaint in Inverse Condemnation, on
April 19, 2001, alleging both violations of the Indiana and
United States Constitution as follows: “Under both the
Constitution of the State of Indiana and the Constitution of
the United States, no person’s property can be taken for a
public purpose without just compensation.” (Pet. App., p. 47a-
Exhibit 3 of Complaint in Inverse Condemnation and
incorporated therein). On August 30, 2001, the Trial Court
held a bench triaJ] on Lick Fork’s Complaint In Inverse
Condemnation. (Pet. App., p. 56a; p. 60a).

The Lease between the U.S. Army Corps. of Engineers as
Lessor and DNR as Lessee for all Patoka Lake property
beginning July 31, 1979 was entered into evidence at the
bench trial determining a taking by inverse condemnation of
the Items Condemned occurred. The Lease was at that time
in full force and effect as to the rights of the State of Indiana
and the Petitioner. (Pet. App., p. 41a).

It 1s uncontroverted that the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers has not transferred any rights to the DNR to the

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0026%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
