# Prologue — Dempere v. City of Tukwila

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0024%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Prologue
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 977

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.8.

FILED
|e 05 12
No. 05-__- 26 JUL 25 2005
; OFFI
in The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

ye
-

JACKIE DEMPERE,

Petitioner,

THE CITY OF TUKWILA,
Respondent.

4
v

~~ _

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
Washington Court Of Appeals, Division I

2
na

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

e
v

NEIL M. Fox

Attorney for Petitioner
COHEN & IARIA

1008 Western Ave., Suite 302
Seattle,WA 98104

Phone: (206) 624-9694
Fax: (206) 624-9691
e-mail: nmf@cohen-iaria.com

einen ——
a crn nem nn nn

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, under Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987), a
person can be constitutionally convicted of obstructing a
police officer, when she verbally challenges the officer’s
illegal arrest of a third person, even if such verbal chal-
lenge actually interferes with the officer’s actions?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
UTE OEY FIRMIIIN 1 aE soso ic snonscisiecicedcdanidusvecovatneccdes i
OPO BOG sien i
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ................cccecceeseees 1
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
BEET WAIT BE ecsiiinsseticdois un diieiaananasens 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE...............cccccccccsesesensereeees 3.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .................... 6
A. In Houston v. Hill, This Court Recognized that

D.

the Government Could Not Criminalize Speech
Which Interfered with Police Actions................

Justice Powell’s Concurring Opinion Assumed
that the Police Act Lawfully, But What if the
Police Act UnlawRally? 3.....0cccssccccsicscsserssctecesesssns

Because the Instructions Violated Ms. Dem-
pére’s First Amendment Rights, Washington’s
Obstruction Statute is Either Facially Uncon-
stitutional or Unconstitutional as Applied to
BER, RII iisciccctsecccocnsianes MEI pA ee

The Washington Courts Failed to Appreciate
the First Amendment Issues Involved ..............

CE is aidenicsdcvceshenchscceiilin ins acainseiaviadiansene orten

11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES:
Brooks v. North Carolina Department of Correc-

tions, 984 F.Supp. 940 (E.D.N.C. 1997).........cceccseeeees 13
Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942)........ 14
City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41 (T999)........... 10, 16
City of Milwaukee v. Wroten, 466 N.W.2d 861 (Wis.

a iiccas iiidasrevcidicentakcncicissledeiaiice ancckuiasoneels hers 13
Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U.S. 104 (1972)................ 10, 11, 13
Florida v. Bostick, 501 U.S. 429 (1991)........ccccesseseereeeees 11
Groh v. Ramirez, 540 U.S. 551 (2004)... eeeeesccceeeeees 12
Gulliford v. Pierce County, 136 F.3d 1345 (9th Cir.

BIE ir cass asker ie is eaten caver unacsnhonan 5, 13, 15
Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987)...2..... ce eeeee passim
In re Manuel G., 941 P.2d 880 (Cal. 1997)............. eee 12
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979) ..02... cece eecseeeees 14
L.A.T. v. State, 650 So.2d 214 (Fla. App. 1995)................. 13
Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974).......0..... 8
Spokane v. Hays, 995 P.2d 88 (Wash. App. 2000)............. 12
State v. Hudson, 784 P.2d 533 (Wash. App. 1990)............. 12
State v. Janisczak, 579 A.2d 736 (Me. 1990).................000 14
Terminiello v. Chicago, 337 U.S. 1 (1949)... eee eees 9
Wilson v. Kittoe, 337 F.3d 392 (4th Cir. 2003)................... 13

Ybarra v. Illinois, 444 U.S. 85 (1979) .....eeeeseceeseeeeeeee pia

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

Page
STATUTES:
big Bo a | RRC SOLE ERE PERE TTS ROIS 1
eS RnB NID hv inicsincsciincdaico cdr ntsinhcecichesdkck cxioumaiiods 5
ee Eis Ae PN a haticetecninibiinnasticctne cnet kdiotieccc nce 1
Ordinances, City of Houston, Texas § 34-11(a)
TI ci ceistnchcian snip stats salbaseatchasscaabaaclcuslonledboiaiiaaascd tan 8
Rev. Code Wash. § 9A.76.020 .0.........cccccceecceceeeeces 2,4, 12,16
Tukwila (Washington) Municipal Code § 8.60.020......... 2,4

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Jackie Dempére petitions for a writ of certiorari to the
Washington Court of Appeals, Division I, in In the Matter
of the Personal Restraint of Jackie Dempére, No. 62925-1-I.

¢

OPINIONS BELOW

The unpublished opinion of the Washington Court of
Appeals issued on October 18, 2004, and is reported at 123
Wn. App. 1046 (2004). It is reprinted at App. la-18a. The
Washington Court of Appeals denied a motion for recon-
sideration on December 8, 2004. A copy of that order is
reproduced at App. 19a. In an unpublished order, issued
on February 24, 2005, the Commissioner of the Washing-
ton Supreme Court denied discretionary review. A copy of
the ruling is reproduced at App. 20a-23a. In an unpub-
lished order entered on May 3, 2005, the Washington
Supreme Court denied a Motion to Modify the Commis-
sioner’s Ruling. A copy of this order is reproduced at App.
24a. The judgment imposed by the trial court and the trial
court’s rulings are unpublished and are reproduced at App.
25a-36a. :

¢

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Washington Supreme Court entered its Order
denying Petitioner’s Motion to Modify the Commissioner’s
Ruling which denied review on May 3, 2005. App. 24a.
This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). 28
U.S.C. § 2403(b) may apply in this case. Although the City
of Tukwila is a political subdivision of the State of Wash-
ington, Petitioner is serving a copy of her petition on the

2

Attorney General of the State of oe pursuant to
Rule 29(c).

2
wv

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY '
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion provides in relevant part: “Congress shall make no law
respecting ... abridging the freedom of speech, or of the
press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and
to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

The Fourth Amendment to the United States Consti-
tution provides in relevant part: “The right of the people to
be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be
violated... .”

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides in relevant part: “[(Nlor shall any
State deprive any person of -life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law. .. .”

The Revised Code of Washington (RCW), § 94.76.020,
provides in relevant part: “A person is guilty of obstructing
a law enforcement officer if the person willfully hinders,
delays, or obstructs any law enforcement officer in the
discharge of his or her official powers or duties.”

The Municipal Code of the City of Tukwila, Washing-
ton, § 8.60.020, provides in relevant part: “The following
RCW statutes of the State of Washington are adopted by
reference: ... RCW §9A.76.020 Obstructing a law en-
forcement officer.”

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. One night in October 1998, police in Tukwila,
Washington, were sent out to the scene of a possible fight
at an apartment building. When the officers arrived, they
discovered a large group of people milling around and
contacted a man who turned out to be the victim. Because
the man was “a little hysterical,” the first officer on the
scene placed him in handcuffs. App. 3a-4a. Other officers
noted a man named Ramon Garza walking nearby with
his hands inside his bulky jacket. The officers recognized
him from prior encounters and ordered him to remove his
hands from his pockets. When Mr. Garza refused, the
officers grabbed him and a struggle ensued. Mr. Garza
ended up on the ground, with officers on his neck and
back. The officers and Mr. Garza gave different accounts
about the amount of force the police used, and how much
Mr. Garza actually resisted arrest, although the police
agreed that they sprayed Mr. Garza with pepper spray
while he was in the patrol car, handcuffed. App. 4a-6a.

Jackie Dempére, the petitioner, lived near the scene of
the arrest and was working on the locks of her house when
she heard a loud scream. Still holding her screwdriver, she
went out to the street and saw an officer using his knee to
hold Garza’s head down, while he was handcuffed. She
was concerned that Garza would be injured or paralyzed.
The officers told Ms. Dempére to move across the street.
The officers claimed that Ms. Dempére disobeyed them
and came close to the arrest scene, yelling “this is Amer-
ica” and that she “can do what she wants to do.” Ms.
Dempére maintained she complied with the order to move
back, and merely told the officers that they were hurting
Garza. App. 4a-6a. Ultimately, one of the officers arrested

4

Ms. Dempére. He claimed that because of her “interfer-
ence,” he “had to break away repeatedly from assisting
with Garza and investigating the reported disturbance.”
App. 4a.

The City of Tukwila charged Ms. Dempére in its
municipal court with the gross misdemeanor of Obstruct-
ing a Law Enforcement Officer in violation of RCW
§ 9A.76.020 (adopted by reference by Tukwila Municipal
Code § 8.60.020). The case proceeded to jury trial, but it
ended in a mistrial. App. 3a.

At the conclusion of the second trial, the judge in-
structed the jury that: “Absent a threat of serious bodily
injury to the arrestee, a person is prohibited from interfer-
ing with an arrest made by a uniformed police officer.”
Instruction No. 5, App. 33a. Ms. Dempére’s attorney
excepted to the giving of this instruction, in part, on First
Amendment grounds:

And therefore if nothing else it constitutes where
words may constitute the only interference a
charge to the jury that does not take into consid-
eration first amendment rights and therefore by
its own broad based definition embraces speech,
embraces first amendment rights, constitutes a
prior restraint and cannot be used.

App. 35a.

2. Ms. Dempére was convicted and sentenced to jail,
probation, community service and a fine. App. 25a-28a.
After her conviction was affirmed on direct appeal, the

+)

municipal court modified the sentence to eliminate proba-
tion, community service and any additional jail time.’ App.
29a-32a. Ms. Dempére has paid off the fine. She therefore
may not be “in custody” for purposes of filing a writ of
habeas corpus in federal court. See 28 U.S.C. § 2241(cX3).

3. After losing the direct appeal, Ms. Dempére filed a
Personal Restraint Petition in the Washington Court of
Appeals. She asked the Court of Appeals to reconsider the
earlier rulings on direct appeal regarding Instruction No.
5, arguing that the prior rulings failed to consider ade-
quately the First Amendment or the holdings of Houston v.
Hill, 428 U:S. 451 (1987) and Gulliford v. Pierce County,
136 F.3d 1345 (9th Cir. 1998). App. 41a-46a. Ms. Dempére
also argued that there was insufficient evidence to sustain
a conviction under the Fourteenth Amendment because
the police illegally arrested Mr. Garza, who was suspected
of committing no crime, in violation of the Fourth Amend-
ment. App. 37a-41a.

The Washington Court of Appeals refused to review
the instructional issue because the issue had been raised
on direct appeal. App. 15a-17a. The Court of Appeals also
held there was sufficient evidence to sustain the convic-
tion, without addressing the Fourth Amendment issues.
App. lla-13a.

4. Ms. Dempére sought discretionary review of this
decision in the Washington Supreme Court, arguing, inter
alia, that jury instructions violated the First Amendment
and Houston v. Hill, supra, and that there was insufficient
evidence under the Fourteenth Amendment because the

* The judge sentenced Ms. Dempére to spend one day in jail, which
she had already served upon her arrest.

6

police did not have the right under the Fourth Amendment
to arrest Mr. Garza. App. 47a-50a. The Supreme Court
Commissioner rejected her arguments. App. 20a-23a. Ms.
Dempére moved to modify, again raising arguments under
the First, Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments. App. 51a-
53a. The Supreme Court denied the motion, without
comment. App. 24a.

be
vv

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

At first glance, this case appears to involve just a
misdemeanor conviction from a municipal court dealing
with facts that occurred almost a decade ago. Yet, the facts
that led to Ms. Dempére’s arrest, trial and conviction are
repeated every day throughout the United States. While
the majority of police officers treat people with the utmost
of respect, there has been a series of incidents of outra-
geous police misconduct which have attracted much
publicity (Rodney King, Abner Louima, Amadou Diallo).
The proliferation of cameras in smaller and smaller sized
instruments (such as cell phones) increases the ability of
bystanders to record perceived police misconduct. In
response, those police officers who view onlookers with
suspicion will attempt, as they did in Ms. Dempére’s case,
to insulate their actions from public scrutiny, especially if
they are acting illegally in the first instance.

The issue presented by this case is at what point the
police have the power to arrest an onlooker for “obstruc-
tion” when the onlooker merely verbally challenges illegal
police behavior. Can a person who verbally challenges
illegal police behavior be constitutionally convicted of
“obstruction” even if her words actually interfere with the

7

a

ability of an officer to violate a third-party’s constitutional
rights?,

In Houston v. Hill, supra, this Court assumed, without
holding, that Justice Powell was correct that a person
could be constitutionally punished for standing near a
police officer and “persistently attempt[ing] to engage the
officer in conversation while the officer is directing traffic
at a busy intersection” or by shouting and running beside
an officer pursing a felon. 482 U.S. at 462 n.11. What
concerned the Court was not “simply contentious speech,
but rather the possibility that by shouting and running
beside the officer the person may physically obstruct the
officer’s investigation.” Jd. The Court’s analysis appears to
have assumed that the hypothetical officers were them-
selves acting lawfully. What the Court did not consider (in
a pre-Rodney King era) was the situation where police
behavior is blatantly illegal and a bystander attempts to
interfere with police misconduct by shouting at the offi-
cers.

Ms. Dempére’s case presents that very issue for this
Court to resolve — whether a bystander whose speech
actually interferes with illegal police behavior can be
constitutionally convicted of a crime? The Washington
courts’ resolution of this important federal question
conflicts with Houston v. Hill’s spirit and intent, if not the
holding of the case. Moreover, the Washington courts’
treatment of Ms. Dempére’s case conflicts with the deci-
sions of other state courts of last resort and other United
States courts of appeal. This Court should therefore grant
the petition under Rule 10(b) & (c).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0024%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
