# Opposition Brief — Celebrity Cruises, Inc. v. Doe

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0011%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 998

## Text

5

A. Brockett And Jopes Impose Strict Liability Upon
A Common Carrier For Intentional Torts
Committed By Its Servants Against Passengers

In Brockett, a case involving a passenger assault by the
ship’s watchman, this Court addressed for the first time the
issue concerning the proper standard of care to be imposed
upon a common carrier for its servants’ misconduct against
passengers. In holding the shipowner strictly liable for the
crew member’s assault of the passenger, this Court stated:

[A] common carrier is bound, as far as practicable,
to protect its passengers, while being conveyed,
from violence committed by strangers and co-
passengers, and undertakes absolutely to protect
them against the misconduct of its own servants
engaged in executing the contract [for safe
transportation].

121 U.S. at 645-46 (emphasis supplied).”

Four years later, in Jopes, the Court reaffirmed its prior
Brockett holding that a carrier is absolutely bound to ensure

2. In holding that a carrier has a duty “absolutely to protect its
passengers” from the misconduct of its servants and describing that
rule to be “peculiar” between common carriers and their passengers,
this Court did not intend to limit that rule to acts performed within
the servant’s scope of employment. Otherwise, there would be
nothing peculiar about a common carrier’s absolute responsibility if
it were confined by the scope of employment concepts. See, e.g.,
Sutton, 7 F.2d at 580 (relying upon Brockett for proposition that
“scope of employment” is not required for imposition of strict liability
upon common carrier); THE MINNETONKA, 146 F. at 513 (after
quoting Brockett stating that “archaic doctrine that the moment a
servant of a carrier commits a wanton assault upon a passenger he
acts outside of the scope of his authority” had been renounced).

6

that its own servants do not unlawfully assault or injure a

passenger:
While a carrier does not insure his passengers
against every conceivable danger, he is held
absolutely to agree that his own servants engaged
in transporting the passenger shall commit no
wrongful act against him. ... Recent cases state
this liability in the broadest and strongest
language . . . it may be said that the carrier is liable
for every conceivable wrongful act done to a
passenger by its train hands and other employes
while they are engaged in transporting him, no
matter how willful and malicious the act may be,
or how plainly it may be apparent from its nature
that it could not have been done in furtherance of
the carrier's business.

142 U.S. at 26 (citations omitted) (emphasis supplied).

In this Court’s view, the application of this stringent standard

of care was necessary because of the special relationship that
exists between a common carrier and its passenger:

[O]wing to the peculiar circumstances which
surround the carrying of passengers, as stated, a
more stringent rule of liability has been cast upon
the employer; and he has been held liable
although the assault was wanton and willful, and
outside the scope of the employment. Noticeable
instances of this kind are the cases of Craker v.
Chicago & Northwestern Railway, 36 Wisconsin
657, in which, when a conductor had forcibly
kissed a lady passenger, the company was held
responsible for the unlawful assault; and Goddard
v. Grand Trunk Railway, 57 Maine 202, in which,
when a brakeman had committed a gross and

7

offensive assault upon an invalid passenger, the
company was held liable in damages.

~

142 U.S. at 27 (emphasis supplied).

Thus in Brockett and Jopes, this Court articulated the
rule of law that imposes strict liability upon a common carrier,
such as Petitioners, for assaults or other intentional
torts perpetrated by their servants against passengers.
The Brockett-Jopes rule has never been overruled or
modified; certainly not by Kermarec. As the Eleventh Circuit
correctly stated “Brockett and Jopes represent the current
state of the controlling federal law-as to crew member assaults
on passengers.” (App. at 35a-36a; 44a).

Respondent has never suggested that under Brockett and
Jopes acommon carrier is “an absolute insurer” of the safety
of its passengers. Nor has any Circuit Court that has
considered the subject issue ever asserted such. Petitioners’
argument to the contrary raises a false issue. Indeed, Brockett
and Jopes reject the notion that a common carrier is an
“insurer” of the safety of its passengers. See, e.g., Jopes,
142 U.S. at 26 (“While a carrier doesnot insure his passenger
against every conceivable danger, he is held absolutely to
agree that his own servant engaged in transporting the
passenger shall commit no wrongful act against him”)
(emphasis supplied). Rather, under Brockett and Jopes, the
imposition of strict liability upon a common carrier for crew
member misconduct on passengers rests upon the “peculiar”
circumstances that surround the transportation of passengers.
As a result of this special relationship between a common
carrier and its passenger, the carrier is “held absolutely to
agree that his own servants engaged in transporting the
passenger shall commit no wrongful act against him.” /d.
(Emphasis supplied). Accordingly, the strict liability standard
enunciated in Brockett and Jopes, while embracing a broad

8

and sound policy, nevertheless has an extremely narrow
application; it applies in only those situations where a
passenger is injured by the willful misconduct of a common
carrier’s servants during the course of the voyage.

Brockett and Jopes have withstood the test of time,
remaining undisturbed for well over a century and providing
uniformity to admiralty law to this very date. In 1926 and
again in 1993, in two cases involving the imposition of strict
liability upon ocean carriers because of crew member sexual
assaults on passengers brought before the Ninth Circuit, this
Court denied certiorari. Sutton, 269 U.S. 586 (1926);
Morton, 510 U.S. 907 (1993). The instant petition should be
met with the same response this Court provided to the
maritime carriers in Sutton and Morton: it should be denied.

B. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Is In Harmony
With The Decisions Of Other Federal Circuits
That Have Squarely Addressed The Issue
Concerning The Proper Standard Of Care To Be
Imposed Upon A Common Carrier For Its
Servants’ Intentional Torts Against Passengers

All Circuit decisions which have directly confronted - -

the instant issue have followed Brockett and Jopes and
applied a strict liability standard against the common carrier
for the misconduct of its servants against passengers.
THE MINNETONKA, 146 F. 509; Willsie, 224 F. 908; Sutton,
7 F.2d 579; Pullman, 46 F.2d 399; Matthews, 157 F.2d 609,
Tullis, 397 F.2d 22; Muratore, 845 F.2d 347; Morton, 984
F.2d 289; Gilstrap, 998 F.2d 559; Doe, 394 F.3d 891. The
Eleventh Circuit, after “navigat[ing} through considerable
precedent about the duty of common carriers to protect and

3. As will be discussed, infra, Petitioners’ suggestion that the
Jopes’ strict liability language is dictum ignores over a century of
precedent in the Circuit Courts following that decision.

9

safely transport their passengers and-common carriers’
corresponding liability for crew member assaults,” rejected
Petitioners’ argument that there was a split in the Circuits on
this issue. (App. at 24a-25a; 35a-36a; 40a-41a). Moreover,
Federal Circuit Court jurisprudence for some one hundred
fifteen years debunks Petitioners’ baseless argument that the
Eleventh Circuit decision in this case and the Ninth Circuit’s
1993 decision in Morton are isolated events, establishing a
“category” of their own. The simple truth is that those
decisions are the most recent reaffirmations of a uniform
principle of maritime law enunciated by this Court in Brockett
and Jopes and recognized for over a century in courts
throughout the nation.

1. First Circuit -

In Muratore, the First Circuit followed the Brockett-
Jopes rule concerning the issue of crew member intentional
torts affecting passengers and the common carrier’s liability
for such misconduct. (See also App. 40a-41a). The First
Circuit, confronting the issue of whether the harassment by
crew photographers of a passenger subjected the cruise line
defendant to liability, ruled that “a maritime carrier has an
unconditional responsibility for the misconduct of its people
toward passengers.” 845 F.2d at 353. The Muratore Court,
relied upon, inter alia, the opinion of the renowned admiralty
scholars Gilmore and Black. /d. These scholars, in turn, cited
this Court’s holding in Brockett for the proposition that
admiralty law recognizes the application of different
standards of care concerning injuries suffered by passengers
in slip and fall cases and those suffered as a result of the
willful misconduct of a ship’s servants:

The subject of liability to passengers for
[personal] injury may be summarily handled here,
as the principles involved differ little from those

10

in use ashore. The liability basis is negligence; there
is no “insurer” relation and no “warranty” .. . (The
only apparent exception is the unconditional
responsibility of the carrier for misconduct of his
people toward the passengers. See New Jersey
Steamboat Co. v. Brockett, 127 U.S. 637 (1887)).
(Emphasis supplied).

G. Gilmore and C.L. Black, The Law of Admiralty, § 1-10 at 23
n.77 (2d ed. The Foundation Press 1975). (See also App. at
4la-42a n.27). The Eleventh Circuit, therefore, correctly
concluded that the First Circuit follows the absolute liability
rule articulated by Brockett and Jopes.* (App. 41a-42a).

2. Second Circuit

The Second Circuit also follows the Brockett-Jopes
continuum of precedent. THE MINNETONKA, 146 F. 509. (See
also App. at 42a-43a). Conspicuously absent from Petitioners’
discussion is THE MINNETONKA decision which is the
controlling Second Circuit precedent on the subject issue.
Therein, the Second Circuit, in a decision issued fifteen years
after Brockett and Jopes, acknowledged that the proper standard
of care applicable to common carriers, as articulated by this
Court, for the intentional misconduct of their servants affecting
passengers was that of strict liability, regardless of whether that
misconduct occurred within the scope of employment. 146 F.
at 513.

In THE MINNETONKA, the shipowner had been found
liable for the theft of a passenger’s jewelry by one of the ship’s
crewmembers. In affirming the lower court’s ruling, and citing

4. Just last year, the United States District Court for the District
of Maine, on the basis of Jopes, Morton and Muratore, held that a
cruise line is “[unconditionally] liable for the intentional torts of its
crew members.” Peterson v. Scotia Prince Cruises, Ltd., 328 F. Supp.
2d 119, 122 (D. Me. 2004).

11

Brockett, the Second Circuit held that, “[t]he liability- of the
vessel for the willful torts of its own servants committed upon
a passenger during the voyage is well established.” 146 F. at
513. The Second Circuit went on to add:

The archaic doctrine that the moment a servant of a
carrier commits a wanton assault upon a passenger
he acts outside of the scope of his authority and thus
releases his employer from liability was long ago
renounced by the great preponderance of authority
... By the defendant’s contract with the plaintiff, it
had undertaken to carry him safely and to treat him
respectfully; and while a common carrier does not
undertake to insure against injury from every
possible danger, he does undertake to protect the
passenger against any injury arising from the
negligence or willful misconduct of its servants while
engaged in performing a duty which the carrier owes
to the passenger.

146 F. at 513 (emphasis supplied).°

- THE MINNETONKA decision has not been overruled, either
expressly or sub silentio, by the Second Circuit. Petitioners’
argument that Compagnie Generale Transatlantique v. Rivers,
211 F 294 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 232 U.S. 727 (1914),
abandoned the rule that a common carrier is absolutely liable
for crew member assaults on passengers is belied by a careful
analysis of that decision.®

5. Petitioners’ position comes down to the proposition that what
was an “archaic doctrine” in the nineteenth century is now the modern
trend in admiralty jurisprudence.

6. Such analysis is critical, for Petitioners rely heavily on Rivers
for the false proposition that a split of authority exists among the
Circuits. While the District Court in this case shared the flawed
perception of a “split” among the Circuits, Petitioners’ same argument
was properly rejected by the Eleventh Circuit. (App. at 40a-43a).

12

In Rivers, a passenger was attacked at night by the ship’s
watchman. After a jury verdict in favor of the passenger, the
cruise ship defendant appealed. One of the issues on appeal
was whether the district court had given appropriate jury
instructions. The Second Circuit ruled that the district court
had interpreted the issue “most favorably” to the shipowner
by applying a negligence standard. In fact, the Second Circuit
_ acknowledged, citing Jopes and THE MINNETONKA, that
the jury instructions concerning the standard of care
applicable to passenger assault claims had been less stringent
than the applicable precedent indicated. The Second Circuit
affirmed the judgment in Rivers simply because, although
the district court had improperly permitted the application
of a less stringent standard of care, the evidence at trial
demonstrated that the shipowner was still liable to the
passenger even under the lower negligence standard. This
reasoning clearly follows from the fact that the Rivers Court
cited Jopes with approval.

Further, Rivers’ reliance upon THE MINNETONKA,
decided in 1906, which, as discussed, applied a strict liability
standard upon a shipowner for a crew member’s misconduct
against passengers, confirms that the Rivers Court nowhere
approved the application of a negligence standard to
situations where a carrier’s servant perpetrates an intentional
tort against a passenger. As previously noted, THE
MINNETONKA expressly cited Brockett and rejected the
notion that a shipowner could escape responsibility to its
passengers by claiming that the servant’s conduct was outside
his or her scope of employment. /d.

Given that Rivers cited both Jopes and THE
MINNETONKA with approval, it is inconceivable that the
Rivers Court intended to contravene this Court’s express

13

holding.’ The controlling Second Circuit precedent follows
the Brockett-Jopes rule requiring the imposition of strict
liability upon a common carrier for the intentional torts of
its servants against its passengers.

3. Ninth Circuit

The Ninth Circuit first squarely addressed the subject
issue in a 1925 decision. Sutton, 7 F.2d 579. There, the
plaintiff, a fifteen yex: old girl, was raped by two of the
vessel’s crew members. The Ninth Circuit, citing inter alia
Brockett, reiterated the following strict liability standard:

[The carrier] by the act of employment vouched for
his [the crew member’s]} deportment during the
voyage. A carrier owes a duty to every passenger to
protect him from insult and assault. It is a part of the
contract of carriage. * * * As long as respondent was —
a passenger on appellant’s ship, appellant owed him
a duty of absolute protection from the assaults and
aggressions of its servants, and the rule is well nigh
universal that the carrier cannot plead as a defense

7. Petitioners’ reliance upon two decisions from the United
States District Court for the Southern District of New York for the
proposition that Rivers requires application of a negligence standard
in crew member assaults on passengers is misplaced. York v.
Commodore Cruise Line, Ltd., 863 F. Supp. 159 (S.D.N.Y. 1994);
Jaffess v. Home Lines, Inc., No. 85-7365, 1988 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
3481 (S.D.N.Y. April 22, 1988). Those decisions contravene this
Court’s holdings in Brockett and Jopes, and for this reason alone
should be disregarded by this Court. (In fact, neither decision
mentions Brockett or Jopes). Also, those decisions contravene
controlling Second Circuit precedent. (In fact, neither decision
acknowledges THE MINNETONKA). In Morton, the Ninth Circuit
aptly criticized the New York district court’s reliance upon, inter
alia, Rivers to apply a negligence standard in the context of passenger
assaults by the ship’s crew. 984 F.2d at 292. Jaffess and York are the
product of flawed reasoning at the district court level.

14

that the servant acted outside the scope of his
employment.

7 F.2d at 580 (citations omitted).

More recently, the Ninth Circuit had the opportunity to
reaffirm the legal continuum initiated by Brockett and Jopes
concerning the unconditional liability of the common carriers
for the willful misconduct of its servants upon passengers.
Morton, 984 F.2d 289.

In Morton, a passenger was also raped by a crew member
of the cruise ship. The Ninth Circuit forcefully reiterated the
stringent duty of care applicable to common carriers in the

‘context of crewmembers’ wanton assaults against passengers:

Unlike the invitee/licensee distinction [rejecting
an identical Kermarec argument made by the
cruise line], the rule regarding absolute liability
for crew members’ assaults cannot be traced to
obsolete concepts regarding real property and
concepts of feudalism. Rather, it is a widely
adopted rule that common carriers owe such an
absolute duty to their passengers. A leading torts
treatise explains the general rule: Where the
deliberate or willful wrong was not done to further
the master’s business the tendency has been to
deny vicarious liability, but here too there have
been many qualifications. The relationship
between master and plaintiff may be such as to
put on the master a duty of protective care that he
may not delegate. Thus a carrier is liable to its
passengers for assaults by employees prompted
by purely personal motives.

984 F.2d at 292 (emphasis supplied) (citations omitted).

15

Accordingly, the Ninth Circuit has made it explicitly
clear that a common carrier is strictly liable for intentional
torts of its servants against its — in accordance with
the Brockett-Jopes rule.

This Court denied certiorari in both Sutton and Morton.
4. Fifth Circuit

The Fifth Circuit has also addressed the issue of a
common carrier’s strict liability for crew misconduct against
passengers. Tullis, 397 F.2d at 23. In Tullis, the Fifth Circuit
observed that admiralty law recognized two separate
standards of care, namely, negligence and strict liability, and
that strict liability was applicable in adjudicating passenger
claims for crew member torts:

The principles involving liability to passengers
differ little from those in use ashore. The liability
basis is negligence with the only apparent
exception being the unconditional responsibility
of the carrier for the misconduct of the crew
toward the passengers.

Id. (Emphasis supplied). (See also App. at 36a). Accordingly,
the Fifth Circuit has explicitly recognized the Brockett-Jopes
rule as being the applicable standard concerning crew
member misconduct against passengers.®

8. The District Court in this case, while applying the Brockett-
Jopes standard of care, mistakenly discerned a conflict between the
Fifth Circuit and other Circuits concerning the issue of whether the
common carrier servant’s conduct had to be within the scope of
employment before the strict liability standard attached.
This perception was based on the Fifth Circuit’s decision in
Jackson Marine Corp. v. BLUE FOX, 845 F.2d 1307\(5" Cir. 1988);
but the Eleventh Circuit rejected the notion that Jackson Marine

(Cont'd)

16
5. Eighth, Fourth and District of Columbia Circuits

Also illustrating the universal rule that a common carrier is
absolutely liable for intentional torts of its servants against
passengers are the decisions from the Eighth, Fourth and District
of Columbia Circuits. Gilstrap, 998 F.2d 559; Willsie, 224
F. 908; Pullman, 46 F.2d 399; Matthews, 157 F.2d 609.
(See also App. at 30a-31a n.16).

In Gilstrap, an Amtrak passenger alleged that she had been
sexually assaulted by a train en ployee while traveling from
California to North Dakota. Although Gilstrap involved the
interpretation of Washington State law, the Eighth Circuit cited
with approval “maritime common carrier” decisions in
addressing the issue of the correct liability standard to apply.
The Eighth Circuit particularly noted a Washington Supreme
Court decision, Marks v. Alaska Steamship Co., 71 Wash. 167
(1912), imposing strict liability upon a shipowner for a passenger
assault by acrew member. The Marks Court held that a passenger
had the right to claim “absolute protection” from the shipowner
against the assaults and violence of its servants. 71 Wash. at
169.

It is noteworthy that in reaffirming the universal rule of
common carrier liability for assaults of its servants against its
passengers, the Marks court discussed two of the precedents
relied upon by this Court in Jopes, namely, Goddard v. Trunk
Railway, 57 Me. 202 (Me. 1869) and Craker v. Chicago &
N.WR. Co., 36 Wis. 657 (Wis. 1875). The Gilstrap Court also
considered “persuasive authority” the Ninth Circuit’s decisions
in Sutton and Morton discussed above. 998 F.2d at 562.

(Cont'd)

was applicable to a cruise line’s liability for crew member misconduct
against passengers: “Jackson Marine is even more inapposite as it
involved fraud by a salvage boat captain against the owner of a
damaged ship, and in no way involved a common Carrier or a
passenger.” (App. at 41a n.26).

17

See also Willsie, 224 F. at 911 (citing, inter alia, Brockett and
Jopes for proposition that carrier is liable for “willful and
malicious acts of [its] agents, and even though such acts are not
done within the scope of their employment’).

Further, as the Eleventh Circuit noted, the Fourth Circuit
and the District of Columbia Circuit also join with other Circuits
in concluding that a common carrier is strictly liable for the
intentional torts of its servants against passengers. (App. at 30a-
31a n.16, citing the Pullman and Matthews decisions).
In Pullman, the Fourth Circuit observed that in cases involving
the willful misconduct of a carrier’s servants upon passengers,
“there may be recovery of actual damages arising from the
wrongful act of the servant, notwithstanding such act was beyond
the line of duty and the scope of employment and was never
ratified by the master.” 46 F.2d at 399. Similarly, in Matthews,
the District of Columbia Circuit, citing Brockett, remarked that
“({a] common carrier is required to protect its passengers against
assault or interference with the peaceful completion of their
joumey.” 157 F.2d at 610-11.

The foregoing analysis confirms that all Federal Circuits
that have squarely addressed the issue of the proper standard to
apply to intentional torts of common carriers’ servants against
passengers have followed a rule long ago enunciated by this
Court in Brockett and Jopes.

Petitioners have not presented to this Court any authority
in which a Circuit Court has refused to apply a strict liability
standard in the narrow situation involving the willful misconduct
of acommon carrier’s servants against passengers. Indeed, they
cannot. The uninterrupted continuum of authority flowing from
the Brockett and Jopes decisions over the course of some one
hundred fifteen years represents the very essence of uniformity
required by admiralty law. Accordingly, there is no reason for
this Court to review the subject decision which is simply the
latest step in that continuum. The petition should be denied.

18

Il. Kermarec Is Inapplicable And The Circuits That Have
Applied The Kermarec Negligence Standard Have
Done So Only In Slip And Fall Situations Not To
Claims Brought By Passengers For Intentional Torts
Perpetrated By A Common Carrier’s Servants

Petitioners’ reliance upon Kermarec is misplaced and
the Eleventh Circuit properly held that Kermarec, a slip and
fall case not involving a passenger, is inapplicable in the
context of common carrier liability for the intentional
- misconduct of its servants against passengers. (App. at 33a-
34a).

Kermarec does not apply for various reasons: Kermarec
had nothing to do with a passenger (App. at 33a); Kermarec
did not involve an assault upon a passenger by a servant of
the common carrier (App. at 34a); Kermarec was a garden
variety slip and fall case where plaintiff sustained injuries
allegedly due to the condition of the ship (App. at 33a-34a,);
and Kermarec did not discuss either Brockett or Jopes.
As the Eleventh Circuit accurately concluded, “[q]uite
simply, there is no indication in Kermarec that the Supreme
Court intended to eliminate the more stringent rule in Jopes
imposing liability on a common carrier for its employees’
assaults of passengers.” (App. at 34a).

That Kermarec did not change or eliminate absolute
carrier liability for the intentional torts of crew members
against passengers is confirmed by the fact that the precedents
relied upon by this Court in Kermarec were limited to non-
intentional personal injury cases. This was so because the
narrow issue in Kermarec, as stated by this Court, was
“whether admiralty recognizes the same distinctions between
an invitee and licensee as does the common law.” 358 U.S.
at 630. After considering this narrow issue, the Court then
went on to state that admiralty law need not import the land-

19

based common law distinctions between “invitees” and
“licensees” and concluded “that the owner of a ship in
navigable waters owes to all who are on board for purposes
not inimical to his legitimate interests the duty of exercising
reasonable care under the circumstances of each case.”
Id. at 632. (See also App. at 33a-34a). Kermarec merely set
forth a minimum standard of care for maritime personal injury
cases.

Indeed, Kermarec expressly recognized that the
minimum duty of care owed by a shipowner to everyone was
not universal and that greater duties were owed to persons
holding status in various “meaningful categories.” While
rejecting the old common law distinctions between invitee,
licensees and trespasser, this Court observed in a footnote:

This is not to say that concepts of status are not
relevant in the law of maritime torts, but only that
the meaningful categories are quite different.
Membership in the ship’s company, for example,
a Status that confers an absolute right to a
seaworthy ship, is peculiar to the law of the sea.
Such status has now been extended to others
aboard “doing a seaman’s work and incurring
seaman’s hazards.”

358 U.S. at 632 n.9 (citations omitted).

This Court’s reference in Kermarec to the status of a
seamen as an “example” of those “meaningful categories”
persuasively demonstrates that the Court did not intend to
abolish the long-established precedent of Brockett and Jopes
that a common carrier owes a passenger an absolute right of
protection against the misconduct of the carrier’s servants,
whether or not the misconduct took place outside the scope
of employment.

20

The Ninth Circuit and the Eleventh Circuit agree.

The Ninth Circuit in Morton, like the Eleventh Circuit
in this case, explicitly rejected the very same argument
advanced here by Petitioners that Kermarec applies in the
context of crew member assaults on passengers. 984 F.2d at
291-92. The Ninth Circuit, citing footnote 9 in Kermarec,
rejected the notion that Kermarec had imposed a universal
standard of care regardless of the status of the individual
onboard: Z

In that note, the Court makes clear that
“reasonable care under the circumstances” is not
the universal standard of care to be provided
aboard ship. A different standard may apply where
it makes sense under maritime law.

984 F.2d at 291. In Morton, this Court denied certiorari.

All of the Circuit Court cases applying the Kermarec
negligence standard cited in the petition have done so only
in the context of passengers suing for damages sustained from
either slip and fall or garden variety negligence type injuries
rather than in the context of injuries sustained by passengers

3 from the assaults of crew members. Muratore, 845 F.2d 347
(applying Kermarec standard to passenger’s damages for
personal injury due to fall, but affirming “unconditional
responsibility” for that portion of lawsuit involving liability
for separate “misconduct” of crew members); Rainey v.
Paquet Cruises, Inc., 709 F.2d 169 (2d Cir. 1983) (passenger
tripped over stool left on dance floor); Monteleone v.
Bahamas Cruise Line, Inc., 838 F.2d 63 (2d Cir. 1988)
(plaintiff suffered injuries when she fell down a flight of stairs
onboard ship); Pastore v. Taiyo Gyogyo, K.K., 571 F.2d 777
(3d Cir. 1978) (fireman fighting fire onboard vessel injured
when falling off ladder); Beard v. Norwegian Caribbean

21

Lines, 900 F.2d 71 (6th Cir. 1990) (passenger injured while
playing basketball on the ship’s deck); Urian v. Milstead,
473 F.2d 948 (8th Cir. 1973) (passenger injured while
disembarking from yacht); Kornberg v. Carnival Cruise
Lines, Inc., 741 F.2d 1332 (11th Cir. 1984) (passengers sued
for damages sustained when cruise ship’s sanitary system
failed).?

Although Kermarec was handed down over forty-five
years ago, Petitioners cannot point to a single Federal Circuit
Court that has embraced the argument they advance here; an
argument that has been squarely rejected twice in the last
twelve years by the Ninth and Eleventh Circuits. On the
contrary, even after Kermarec, the First (1988), the Fifth
(1968), the Eighth (1993), the Ninth (1993) and the Eleventh
(2004) Circuits have unambiguously recognized that a
common carrier has an unconditional responsibility for
intentional torts perpetrated by their servancs against
passengers. Muratore, 845 F.2d 347; Tullis, 397 F.2d 22;
Gilstrap, 998 F.2d 559; Morton, 984 F.2d 289; Doe, 394 F.3d
891.

9. Petitioners’ reliance on three state cases, which purportedly
represent the “modern trend” in admiralty law, is unavailing. Adams
v. New York City Transit Auth., 88 N.Y.2d 116 (N.Y. 1996); Lowrey
v. Montgomery Kone, Inc., 42 P.3d 621 (Ariz. Ct. App. 2002);
Sebastian v. District of Columbia, 636 A.2d 958, 962 (D.C. 1994).
Lowrey involves personal injuries, not intentional torts; Sebastian,
a case involving a sexual assault by an ambulance attendant, relies
purely on District of Columbia law in refusing to apply common
carrier doctrine while recognizing that many other state jurisdictions
do adhere to that doctrine and apply a strict liability standard; and
Adams, a case involving an assault perpetrated by a token booth
clerk, incorrectly relies on Kermarec Jo justify-applying a negligence
standard. These decisions contravene admiralty law, are clearly
inapposite and/or are the product of flawed reasoning. Viewed
properly in the context of the above discussion, they are aberrations
and certainly do not constitute “modern maritime law.”

22 fa

Brockett-Jopes and their progeny and Kermarec and its
progeny constitute two separate branches of admiralty
authority that govern separate and distinct issues concerning
the duties owed by shipowners to persons onboard their
vessels. On the one hand, there is the branch embodied by
the Brockett-Jopes rule, a strict liability standard for
intentional misconduct by servants of common carriers
against passengers, the standard of care that Federal Circuits
have invariably applied for well over a century. On the other
hand, the Kermarec rule applies a negligence standard to
garden variety maritime personal injury cases, which occur
far more frequently. '° For such negligence cases, which can
involve any person on a vessel, not necessarily a passenger,
and any type of carrier, not necessarily a common carrier, it
is the minimum standard of care (reasonable under the
circumstances) that has been consistently applied. Under the
principle of stare decisis, both branches represent uniformity
in the administration of admiralty law, albeit under separate
continuums of precedent involving very different issues and
types of cases.

Given the inapplicability of Kermarec to the present case
and the existence of the requisite uniformity in cases such as

this one involving intentional torts of common carriers’
servants against passengers, no reason exists for this Court
to review the Eleventh Circuit’s well-reasoned decision.

10. Thus, Petitioners’ recitation of statistics concerning “marine
personal injuries” is simply irrelevant, for the instant case involves
the commission of an intentional tort perpetrated by a crew member
against a passenger.

ae

III. The Public Policy Embodied In Brockett And Jopes
Has Represented Uniformity In Admiralty Law For
Well Over A Century And Requires No Review
The Brockett-Jopes rule is sound as a matter of policy.

The public policy reasoning behind the imposition of the

highest standard of care upon a common carrier is that a

common Carrier assumes an extraordinary undertaking vis-

a-vis its passengers, namely, the safe transportation of a

passenger to destination free of the willful misconduct of

the common carrier’s servants. Brockett, 121 U.S. 637; Jopes,

142 U.S. 18. As the Eleventh Circuit recognized,

the rationale for imposing strict liability on the
common carrier employer is the carrier-passenger
relationship and the corresponding existence of
an implied duty of protection and safe transport
free from assaults by the carrier’s employees
during transit. In terms of tort liability, this
becomes in effect, a special non-delegable duty
owed by the carrier to the passenger.

(App. at 31a) (Emphasis supplied) (App. 31a-33a n.18-20).
See also Morton, 984 F.2d at 291 (“contract of carriage made
it the duty of the carrier to carry safely and to protect its
passenger from violence and insult committed by its own
servants”) (quoting Sutton, 7 F.2d at 580); St. Michelle v.
Catania, 252 Md. 647, 651 (Md. Ct. App. 1969) (“common
Carrier is not an insurer of the safety of its passengers, but it
is bound to employ the highest degree of care for their safety,
consistent with the nature of the undertaking”). (See App. at
28a-29a n. 13).

In the twilight of the twentieth century and at the dawn
of the new millennium, the Ninth and Eleventh Circuits, in
separate cases involving sexual assaults by crew members

24

on passengers, have reaffirmed the vitality of a universal
standard that has remained undisturbed for well over one
hundred fifteen years as well as the public policy that supports
it. Petitioners have provided no reasonable basis which would
warrant a review by this Court. Petitioners can do no better
than to suggest that the policy has become outdated because
certain modes of transportation are “safer” today that they were
in the past, which fails to address the core concer of willful
misconduct of a common carrier’s servants against passengers,
as the plaintiff in this very case can attest.

Indeed, there is an element of trust inherent in the common
carrier-passenger relationship. That trust is violated when a
common Carrier’s servant commits an intentional tort against
its passenger and it is this breach which gives rise to the
imposition of the strict liability standard. It is therefore manifest
that the purpose of the policy embodied by the Brockett-Jopes
tule is not to protect against natural hazards of certain types of
traveling, but rather, to apply an appropriate standard in the
event of a breach of the trust created by the common carrier-
passenger relationship.

The element of trust is particularly compelling under the
facts of the present case. It is clear that Respondent sought the
assistance of a crew member (Aydin) precisely because she
viewed him as part of the crew and trusted him to offer assistance
in her moment of need. As the Eleventh Circuit noted:

Aydin undisputedly had offered to help Doe in her
distress. Aydin even referred to Doe as “his
passenger,” and there is ample evidence in the record
that Doe allowed Aydin to escort her only because
he was trusted as her waiter-crew member on the
ship.

(App. at 46a; see also App. at 13a). Had that element of trust
not existed, Respondent would not have accepted Aydin’s

25

proffered assistance and she would not have become the victim
of his sexual battery. (App. at 46a).

Accordingly, the sound policy which has been universally
applied for over a century in narrow circumstances involving
egregious breaches of trust requires no review by this Court.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD M. ZiCCARDI
Counsel of Record

MANUEL A. MOLINA

SKOUFALOS, LLORCA
& Ziccarpi, LLP

11 East 44" Street

New York, NY 10017

(212) 880-0858

Attorneys for Respondent

September 20, 2005

MOTION FILED (!)
SEP 2 12005 No. 05-121

!

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

v

CELEBRITY CRUISES, INC., ZENITH SHIPPING
CORP., APOLLO SHIP CHANDLERS, INC., AND
CELEBRITY CATERING SERVICES PARTNERSHIP,

Petitioners,
v.

JANE DCE,
Respondent.

*
Vv

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

e

MOTION OF THE INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL
OF CRUISE LINES FOR LEAVE TO FILE
BRIEF AS AMICUS CURIAE AND BRIEF OF
THE INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL OF CRUISE
LINES AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

DAVID W. MCCREADIE

(Counsel of Record)

MICHAEL H. KESTENBAUM

LAU, LANE, PIEPER, CONLEY &
MCCREADIE, P.A.

100 S. Ashley Drive, Suite 1700

Tampa, Florida 33602

Tel: (813) 229-2121

Fax: (813) 228-7710

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
The International Council of Cruise Lines

—— ee

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

1

MOTION OF THE INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL
OF CRUISE LINES FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI’

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.2(b), the Interna-
tional Council of Cruise Lines (“ICCL”) respectfully moves
this Court for leave to file the accompanying brief as
amicus curiae in support of the Petition for Writ of Certio-
rari in this case. Petitioner has consented to the filing of
this brief. However, Respondent has withheld consent
necessitating the filing of this motion.

The ICCL is a non-profit trade association comprised
of sixteen major passenger cruise lines and numerous
“associate members” with interests related to the cruise
line industry. In 2004, over eight. million passengers
embarked on cruises originating from United States ports
of call.’ This figure represents an increase of almost one
million people over the number of passengers embarking
in 2003.° The increases are expected and projected to
continue with newly built ships entering the marketplace
to accommodate the growing passenger base. As a unified
voice for the competing lines that comprise this dynamic
and growing industry, the ICCL is intent on fostering
continued economic viability for all of its members and
bringing light to the important issues facing those member
cruise lines.

* This motion for leave to file this brief as amicus curiae is filed
simultaneously with the brief.

* Business Research & Economic Advisors (BREA), “The Contribu-
tion of the North American Cruise Industry to the U.S. Economy in
2004” (August 2005), available at http://Awww.iccl.org/resources/2004_
economic_study.pdf (as of September 15, 2005).

> See id. at 3.

2

As a point of reference, in 2004, the North American
cruise industry generated roughly $30 billion in total
economic benefit for the United States.‘ This $30 billion
economic impact supported the employment of more than
315,000 workers and in excess of $12 billion in paid wages
and salaries throughout the United States." Moreover,
individual state economies benefited from over $14.7
billion worth of direct purchases made in conjunction with
the North American cruise industry.° Corresponding with
their positions as the leading points of embarkation for
U.S. passengers, Florida, California and New York re-
ceived the most economic benefit from the industry.

The ICCL, as an organization driven by the needs of
its members, is an active participant in the regulatory and
policy development process as it relates to, and impacts,
the cruise line industry. The ICCL works directly with
federal agencies and international organizations in an
effort to ensure that the cruise industry is safe, secure,
responsible, and reliable. With respect to domestic policy
regulation and implementation, the ICCL coordinates with
the U.S. Coast Guard, the Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency and other agencies to
ensure that its members are in compliance with United
States laws, rules and regulations. On a global scale, the
ICCL also works closely with the Internationa! Maritime
Organization and the United Nations to assist its member

* See id. at 32-33.
* See id.
* See id.

3

cruise lines in maintaining compliance with international
treaties, conventions and protocol.

Because the ICCL represents such a large number of
the most traveled cruise lines in the world, it has a direct
interest in any final determination of the standard of care
applied to a cruise line (employer) in the case of an assault
on a passenger by a crewmember (employee). In addition,
the ICCL’s long history of working with domestic and
foreign organizations in all avenues of regulation and
policy-making adds to the unique perspective that the
organization can provide to any debate on this subject. The
ICCL believes that this Court is presented with a signifi-
cant opportunity to resolve a question that currently
confounds the industry. The opportunity presently exists
for this Court to clarify the confusion and the conflict in its
own precedent and the conflict between the Second Circuit
Court of Appeals and both the Ninth and Eleventh Circuit
Courts of Appeals.

_ The relevance of this split among the Circuit Court: of
Appeal is particularly significant for the members of the
ICCL. The current conflict among the appellate circuits
represents increased cost and significant legal uncertainty
to the ICCL’s member cruise lines. The application of
different standards of care in different appellate circuits
encourages forum shopping on the part of potential plain-
tiffs, which is a costly waste of industry and judicial time
and resources.

The ICCL believes that its member cruise lines should
owe the same duty of care to any customer aboard a cruise
vessel, regardiess of where that passenger chooses to file
suit. This is especially true considering that a lynchpin of
the general maritime law, as articulated by this Court on

4

numerous occasions, is its uniformity across all courts,
regardless of location. The unequal treatment of defen-
dants (and plaintiffs) depending solely on where suits are
filed is not justified. The unfair, unequal, and substantial
economic impact on those cruise lines sued in circuits
applying strict liability for assaults on passengers is
further compounded when contrasted with the fact that
their land-based competitors in the hotel, resort and
amusement industries are only held to a standard of
reasonable care.

For the stated reasons, the ICCL respectfully requests
that this Court grant it leave to file the attached brief in
support of the petition for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID W. McCREADIE

(Counsel of Record)

MICHAEL H. KESTENBAUM

LAU, LANE, PIEPER, CONLEY &
McCREADE, P.A.

100 S. Ashley Drive, Suite 1700

Tampa, Florida 33602

Telephone: (813) 229-2121

Facsimile: (813) 228-7710

Attorneys for amicus curiae
International Council of Cruise
Lines

QUESTION PRESENTED

“WHETHER THE STANDARD OF CARE OWED BY A
CRUISE LINE TO A PASSENGER ASSAULTED BY A
CREWMEMBER IS REASONABLE CARE UNDER THE
CIRCUMSTANCES OR STRICT LIABILITY?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUBSCION PHESIIIG Fie) i iscvccccsvscivecescecssveavacsvesvcees> i
RED RA COET APE EEE Bie bch bhis vodbwcsnevaranccaevncisadavicnss ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG........................cccese0s eats iii
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE............c.cccccccuceeees 1

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION FOR
WORE OR CR er oan as oss wkcos Goes einen cescone 2

I. COMMON CARRIER PASSENGER ASSAULT
CASES AT THE SUPREME COURT............. 2

II. IMPORTANCE, UNIFORMITY AND FAIR-
PRN oh vis esos os ee cen bisa 6

III. CONFLICT OR CONFUSION AT THE SU-
FR PIO os di coaicks koe Sass occiee bs patna 11

IV. CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUIT COURTS
Pe ee acs aac candies diicacasakuckdsoaovnucsceaus 13

CCE bk kick bac Bin 18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Adams v. New York City Transit Authority, 88
BE edie BON EG: Ne Be I acs csauisvvivbiih) oientanevakvcdconsesaietasves 3,13
The Admiral Peoples, 295 U.S. 649 (1935) ...............0. 5, 16
American Dredging Co. v. Miller, 510 U.S. 443
CO esos ccs Ca ryan dsurdineeucenderuadvananiecodababaceovuevebenus 6
Beard v. Norwegian Caribbean Lines, 900 F.2d 71
CONE Ae RON Pans akin ccc eeccpaccedsnpunsssacanesiboaecsehaecsusbiosuaies 5, 16
Bradley v.. Guy, 438 So.2d 854 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App.
RID siti ac caces-consuseiiea roe ieee laut seesdelasaeiedss Sika taddedietnmcaneuies 18
In re Catalina Cruises, Inc., 137 F.3d 1422 (9th Cir.
BNE ais cuketieslocceatuccp'cces SeaaiNacs leased agua suc tarkssiain eden pda 5
Commodore Cruise Line, Lid. v. Kormendi, 344
So.2d 896 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1977).............csssssneeseesenes 18
Compagnie Generale Transatlantique v. Rivers, 211
Fe Se IRS RN dics ss cn paccbvstascdaaedestAassimnestras 13, 14, 16
Craker v. The Chicago & Northwestern Railway
Cee, BG WR EE ys Bee CD seis csdesechscscesiccscsecesanesacas 4,7,9
Doe v. Celebrity Cruises Inc., 394 F.3d 891 (11th Cir.
PIE ick adit th acne cetaveusaaeesestouisucunsocahoaies 13, 15, 16, 17
Goddard v. Grand Trunk Railway of Canada, 57
BR Spa shea a thctes is saccsivcn adedy es pcrdocsncazs 4,7,9
Jaffes v. Home Lines, Inc., 1990 AMC 1430
SING, Bo MS sescasce i cet chia cesta eacnucktan cibciavseines 14, 16

Keefe v. Bahama Cruise Line, Inc., 867 F.2d 1318
FL LE eRe”: RNC eee aera Pant ne fle Pag MOM ee CRP acer rads 5

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,

SEG YF Siac a sv wivcasctneciies eosstcasassierensees passim
Leathers v. Blessing, 105 U.S. 626 (1881) ciisiescureistoicces 5, 6
The Lottowanna, 88 U.S. 558 (1874)...........cececsceeeeeterees 6
The Max Morris v. Curry, 137 U.S. 1 (1890). Maes conse deans cot 6

Morton v. De Oliveira, 984 F.2d 289 (9th Cir. 1993).. 13, 15, 16
Muratore v. M/S SCOTIA PRINCE, 656 F. Supp.

471 (D. Me. 1987)............ SS a_i ay Spee OE 17
Muratore v. M/S SCOTIA PRINCE, 845 F.2d 347

BPR Sage 5) RR Sete cet en pple in 5, 16, 17
Nadeau v. Costley, 634 So.2d 649 (Fla. Dist. Ct.

BBD. TD sviiicastnsnsiatrinthsinatssaconintsrashoutaesescaststpeneais once 17, 18
New Jersey Steam-Boat Co. v. Brockett, 121 US.

Gt CBB TE irsiecgicictierctssttinns Sika sanvecpaeesvaanennssvacoes¥es passim
New Orleans & N.E.R. Co. v. Jopes, 142 U.S. 18

CRD inciasstcensaneieaddece Aaiaaetacediccoiehoses Letter sstip cane passim

Pacific S.S. Co. v. Sutton, 7 F.2d 579 (9th Cir. 1925) ...14, 15, 16
Rainey v. Paquet Cruises, Inc., 709 F.2d 169 (2d Cir.

x | ier ROE aC acne nek ee 5
Rindfleisch v. Carnival Cruise Lines, Inc., 498

So.2d 488 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1986)...............cccceeecsseeees 18
Smith v. Southern Gulf Marine Company No. 2, 791

Pi Dek 41G (Gta Ce Barone cinco scccedsceccacccsecizcane 5, 16
Spector v. Norwegian Cruise Line, Ltd., 125 S. Ct.

pe hs Ra a Se papers one oe ae 7,8

Stewart v. Brooklyn & Cross-Town Railroad Co., 90
IN Y. SOG CCS, Se caveats caste ccsieescie encase 3, 4, 7,9, 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

York v. Commodore Cruise Line, 863 F. Supp. 159

EAI: We BEY isctdesie a ssavkaecn a salecsacssateteeasacccbosaioaai 14, 16
Urian v. Milstead, 473 F.2d 948 (8th Cir. 1973)........... 5, 16
STATUTES
RA EO Be A os cisssbcidivcias sovristusRdseanssdumaodnios 10
Ee Reh, 1 RP aisnsssica tease cictna eccscusave denies eucbebancmabsuomeaiie 10
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Business Research & Economic Advisors (BREA),

“The Contribution of the North American Cruise

Industry to the U.S. Economy in 2004” (August

2005), available at http://www.iccl.org/resources/

2004 COnOMIC StUGY. DAL on.05.05:cessccevcrcesscessaseseneaveseee 2,8
http://www.iccl.org/whoweare/index.cfm (as of Sep-

I Ee TINS visas snl enial son vnsanonbady ois kakecaubh beopsunwsanineds 2

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TORTS § 344 cmt. b
SI Prac cs scksnccvuebchsuie bud soeiscdincwckasdedocaieihasedaseninicncecs 8, 11

1

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

The International Council of Cruise Lines (“ICCL”) is
a non-profit trade association comprised of sixteen major
passenger cruise lines. In addition, the ICCL is comprised
of over ninety “associate members,” including 3M, Ameri-
can Bureau of Shipping (ABS), American International
Group, Inc., Board of Commissioners of the Port of New
Orleans, Canaveral Port Authority, Cargill Food Distribu-
tion Co., The Coca-Cola Company, Halifax Port Authority,
Maine Port Authority, Maryland Port Administration,
Massachusetts Port Authority, Port Everglades, Port of
Galveston, Port of Houston Authority, The Port of Los
Angeles, Port of Miami, The Port of Philadelphia and
Camden, a DRPA of PA & NJ, Port of San Diego, Port of
Seattle, Quebec Port Authority, and Tampa Port Authority.

The ICCL is an active participant in the regulatory
and policy development process as it relates to, and
impacts, the cruise line industry. Most importantly, the
ICCL works closely with domestic and international
authorities to ensure that cruising remains safe, secure,
responsible, and reliable for all parties involved.

Because the ICCL is comprised of the sixteen major
cruise lines accommodating a majority of the approxi-
mately eight million (and rising each year) passengers
embarking annually on ships from U.S. ports of call, the
ICCL has a significant interest in this Court’s determination

* Counsel for a party did not author this brief in whole or in part.
No person or entity, other than the Amicus Curiae, its member cruise
lines, or its counsel] made a monetary contribution to the preparation
and submission of this brief.

2

of the standard of care owed by a cruise line to a passenger
assaulted by the cruise line’s employee.’ Although the
ICCL’s member cruise lines compete in the marketplace
for domestic and foreign leisure travelers, the ICCL acts
as a unified and cohesive organization with respect to
industry issues and policies. The ICCL has successfully
advocated the unified position of its members, while
cooperating with domestic and international governing
authorities, in such significant areas as safety, public
health, environmental responsibility, security, medical
facilities, and passenger protection.”

4
v

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I.

Common Carrier Passenger
Assault Cases at the Supreme Court

At a time when passenger vessels served primarily as
a means of transporting people from one destination to
another, this Court issued two decisions that address the
standard of care owed by a “common carrier” to a passen-
ger assaulted by the carrier’s employee (“Passenger
Assault Cases”). New Jersey Steam-Boat Co. v. Brockett,

* Business Research & Economic Advisors (BREA), “The Contribu-
tion of the North American Cruise Industry to the U.S. Economy in
2004” p.7 (August 2005), available at http://Awww.iccl.org/resources/
2004_economic_study.pdf (as of September 15, 2005) (finding that the
ICCL’s member cruise lines “accounted for approximately 62 percent of
the North American industry’s global fleet, 88 percent of the lower
berth capacity and 93 percent of global passengers”).

* http://www.iccl.org/whoweare/index.cfm (as of September 15, 2005).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_0011%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
