# Opposition Brief — Egwaoje v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2393%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 541 U.S. 958

## Text

No. 03-691

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

BENJAMIN EGWAOJE, PETITIONER

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
CHRISTOPHER A. WRAY
Assistant Attorney General
JONATHAN L. MARCUS
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

«BEST AVAILABLE COPY i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the court of appeals correctly considered
the totality of the circumstances in determining that
petitioner knowingly and intelligently waived his right
to counsel, rather than requiring that the district court
have conducted a specific formal colloquy with peti-
tioner before permitting him to represent himself at
trial under Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975).

2. Whether Faretta should be overruled.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
aa alain esieaevbireninianas 1
sa ceinenitnhn apinmnateninapenemnmnnbennetioutes 1
III Lah sitatincaetinastichahinassitncepenireissannininnerrninssesasnuterremestunurienmmniennbe 1
IIE Siisicecsisnsincnsscshoovinesesevencecnnnseronnessestonunvesieneynoneteonasocenseoayenete 8
race cslaneneninieiceinarsetdicanonianessiiienioroirenienepampessanonines 11
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Adams v. United States, 317 U.S. 269 (1942) ...... essen 9
Buhl v. Cooksey, 233 F.3d 783 (8d Cir. 2000) ........eceseseee 13
Cordova v. Baca, 346 F.3d 924 (9th Cir. 2008) uss 13
Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975) ..... seer 6, 8,9
11, 12,15
Fitzpatrick v. Wainwright, 800 F.2d 1057 (11th
Ce RIED nckesnzscisnenien Sa alalecadlataiat nciicialpietiiginninnindionennebins 13
Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S. 389 (1998) .....cceseereeeseeereees 8, 14
Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1988) ........cccccssssssessees 8
Martinez v. Court of Appeal of Cal., 528 U.S. 152
Th ol 5c slid ihe aha ciendeanatlaletiadenieninibioinnninitaidinsineneminnne 14
McKaskle v. Wiggins, 465 U.S. 168 (1984) .......secssseeseeees 14
McQueen v. Blackburn, 755 F.2d 1174 (5th Cir.),
cert. denied, 474 U.S. 852 (1985) .........cccsscrscssssssssersrseres 13
Nelson v. Alabama, 292 F.3d 1291 (11th Cir.
II isi niciaeassdivaiebdensditinadsonmadinsainbasuaneimnmnemeeenennamnevennormenes 13
United States v. Avery, 208 F.3d 597 (7th Cir.
icici hei ci caiadaeesieinailedatannennnsattudeninemuinntesinienmnennns 7
United States v. Bailey, 675 F.2d 1292 (D.C. Cir.),
Gert. Gemmed, 459 U SS. BES CIGBZ) .....0nrccerccsersiverevevcerserserevees 10
United States v. Campbell, 874 F.2d 838 (1st Cir.
EE Ee an na 10
United States v. Frazier-El, 204 F.3d 553 (4th Cir
SUI ecbidilintieiabnshiahiioniindnnsiaisntiamantinieinntnpeummntnnnatematinenyesuerneeniates 12
United States v. Hughes, 191 F.3d 1317 (10th Cir.
1999), cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1022 (2000) ..........sssseessesenees 13

(III)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page
United States v. Irorere, 228 F.3d 816 (7th Cir. |
IE wikicsickdicsshacciesssonsteentanaiesttanliaaadiedeiniaaipiiepimimmnaaicaeies 13
United States v. Kelm, 827 F.2d 1319 (9th Cir.
SPLIT D sesicinecscscsinhliaohktintonestcinesobatetaaisA Gadenataebeatiaanieleiatnabiantbisdiin 13
United States v. Kneeland, 148 F.3d 6 (1st Cir.
SD enccicnctdiniaeacestaiieinnlncdemiasaaeiennieniniaanaiin 13
United States v. McDowell, 814 F.2d 245 (6th Cir.),
cert. denied, 484 U.S. 980 (1987) ..........ccccssvessensssessnsesses 10, 11
United States v. Singleton, 107 F.3d 1091 (4th Cir.),
cert. denied, 5Z2 U.S. 825 (1997) .....crcesecsssrreressesersevessvsevevese 9
United States v. Stewart, 20 F.3d 911 (8th Cir.
SEINED sccicsavacnsapininiedieeshcliaiocniiancadatamaanaaaidabaninaaieiein 10
United States v. Stubbs, 281 F.3d 109 (8d Cir.
SOUT, sskescsscesnisineicisaistcelieacidaa ousceuhasinuabciibabchaceshancbdaniipsindalesbucliiaie 10
United States v. Tompkins, 623 F.2d 824 (2d Cir.
SOIT cinchascentutiesonstevgtedintiesecnsebshaielebtaesbieieeacdehacauiadabadgiiiipiaatitnelioan 10
United States v. Turner, 287 F.3d 980 (10th Cir.
SOIIED » csseesesessinvcnstnniesessebgsinessinidenssnindsiibdiibmaatenbanetstiieitiatainatainpele 9
Constitution and statutes:
Shs NE, TANI. WO " istctishnnititsnnincsciebanceniniacanmenincnie 8, 9, 11, 12
Oe Be ei RED cethvnchies sikicsesinssseatlishadiacsinaicnitaabdeilictonmianonianin 2
es CED skissrisciscnienseninsderapsetiahiaiinnneiniaaniion 2
Miscellaneous:

1 Federal Justice Center, Bench Book for District
FIG CI OE. SIGS ccencincssniinnstivesanianioeseriesnieiesinianiiiniaaitinniitine 10

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 03-691
BENJAMIN EGWAOJE, PETITIONER

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 2a-17a)
is reported at 335 F.3d 579.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
July 9, 2003. On September 10, 2003, Justice Stevens
extended the time within which to file a petition for a
writ of certiorari to and including November 6, 2003,
and the petition was filed on that date. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Northern District of Illinois, petitioner
was convicted of using unauthorized credit cards to

(1)

2

obtain cash advances from different banks in an amount
in excess of $1000, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1029(a)(2),
and of attempting to obtain a cash advance with an un-
authorized credit card, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
1029(b)(1). He was sentenced to 27 months of imprison-
ment, to be followed by three years of supervised
release, and was ordered to pay $38,985 in restitution.
The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 2a-17a.

1. In June and July 2001, petitioner withdrew
thousands of dollars in cash from several Chicago-area
banks by using credit cards he had obtained through
fraudulent means. Petitioner obtained the credit cards
by sending fraudulent letters to the credit card issuers
in which he requested that the addresses of the legi-
timate account holders be changed and that new
replacement cards be sent to an address effectively
controlled by petitioner. Once in possession of the
credit cards, petitioner would visit Citibank and Bank
One branches in Chicago and request a cash advance by
presenting one of the credit cards and some form of
fictitious identification. Before his arrest, petitioner
obtained a total of $38,985 through such means. Gov’t
C.A. Br. 2.

On July 17, 2001, petitioner attempted to obtain a
cash advance at a Citibank branch. A teller recognized
him from prior visits that petitioner had made to the
bank to request cash advances under different names.
The teller stalled petitioner until the police arrived on
the scene. The officers arrested petitioner. At the time
of his arrest, petitioner had a fraudulently obtained
credit card and fake identification cards in the name of
the credit card holder. Gov’t C.A. Br. 3.

2. a. On August 15, 2001, a grand jury returned an
indictment charging petitioner with two counts of
credit card fraud. Petitioner retained counsel. At a

3

hearing before the district court on November 5, 2001,
petitioner’s counsel moved to withdraw from the case
because petitioner had twice refused to meet with him
and “substantial conflicts” had arisen between them.
Pet. App. 4a. The district court granted counsel’s mo-
tion and appointed petitioner counsel from the Federal
Defender Panel. Ibid.

At the next status hearing on December 7, 2001,
petitioner demanded a speedy trial. 12/7/01 Tr. 3. One
week later, during a bond hearing, petitioner’s counsel
discussed the possibility of a plea agreement, but
explained that the government’s lack of certainty about
petitioner’s criminal history presented an impediment.
12/14/01 Tr. 5. On December 21, 2001, the parties re-
turned to court and discussed the sentencing guidelines
that would likely apply to the case. The government
informed the court that petitioner had three prior
convictions, but petitioner contended that only two of
his prior convictions should be counted for purposes of
calculating his criminal history points. 12/21/01 Tr.
9-10. After the district court recommended to peti-
tioner’s counsel that he should consider a “disposition[]
short of a trial,” id. at 10, petitioner stated that he
would not accept a plea bargain and that he was ready
for trial, zd. at 11.

On February 6, 2002, five days before the scheduled
trial date, petitioner’s second counsel moved to with-
draw from the case. Ceunsel explained that petitioner
was refusing to meet or cooperate with him to prepare
for trial. 2/6/02 Tr. 2-3. After petitioner complained
that counsel had told him he lacked a viable defense and
stated that he wanted a lawyer who would “repre-
sent[]” him at trial, the district court allowed counsel to
withdraw and agreed to appoint petitioner his third
lawyer. Id. at 3-4. The court informed petitioner that,

4

while it would “appoint a lawyer who will represent
you[,] [t]his does not mean I will appoint a lawyer who
agrees with you. I will not necessarily appoint a lawyer
whose professional judgment believes there is a
defense.” Id. at 5. |

The district court rescheduled the trial date to April
2, 2002, to allow petitioner’s newly appointed counsel
sufficient time to prepare. When that day arrived, peti-
tioner told the district court that counsel “is not going
to be my lawyer,” 4/2/02 Tr. 3, and that “I am going to
go pro se,” id. at 4. Petitioner then requested 60 addi-
tional days to prepare for trial. Jd. at 3-4. The court de-
nied petitioner’s request for a continuance, stating:

I have set the schedule. I have seen in you a course
of conduct that has been nothing but an attempt to
frustrate the government’s effort to bring you to
trial, to play games, to demand a speedy trial, and
then to demand a continuance. This is your third

lawyer.

Id, at 4.

The district court informed petitioner that he had the
right to proceed as his own lawyer, but “strongly
advise[d]” him agzinst doing so. 4/2/02 Tr. 4. The court
explained:

If you wish to proceed pro se, you are entitled to do
so. The United States Constitution guarant([ees]
your right to proceed as your own lawyer. If you
wish to proceed as your own lawyer, I am required
to admonish you. Even if I weren’t required, I
would admonish you that to represent yourself in
any criminal case is a foolish act. You will almost
certainly make significant tactical errors. You will
almost certainly put yourself in a position where
even if you had a lawful defense, you would be

5

unable to present it in a coherent way. On top of it,
you will not, I think, adequately preserve the record
in this case if error has been made. So I strongly
advise you against representing yourself. But I do
tell you that that is your decision. You may choose
to represent yourself, or you may choose to have
Mr. Halprin represent you. The choice is yours.

Id. at 4-5. After the court advised petitioner again that
proceeding pro se “is a foolish thing to do,” id. at 6,
petitioner reaffirmed that he would represent himself,
id. at 7. The court appointed petitioner’s former coun-
sel as standby counsel. Jbid.

b. At trial, the government called several witnesses,
including the police officer who arrested petitioner and
found false identifications on his person; the Citibank
teller from whom petitioner had attempted to get cash
advances under the names of Grant Abbott, Hugh Ball,
and Eugene Kientzy; and Abbott and Kientzy, whose
identities petitioner had stolen. The government also
introduced bank surveillance photos of petitioner stand-
ing at teller counters as he tried to oktain cash in the
names of his victims. Petitioner presented no wit-
nesses or evidence in his defense. He was convicted on
both counts. Pet. App. 8a.

c. Petitioner filed a number of post-trial motions,
which the district court treated as a request for a new
trial. Pet. App. 8a. The court denied petitioner’s re-
quest, finding, inter alia, that: (1) petitioner “under-
stood that there was, in fact, no practical defense” to
the charges, 6/26/02 Tr. 11, and “knew from the begin-
ning that no lawyer could help him because no lawyer
could make a defense or an attack on the evidence in
this case,” id. at 12; (2) petitioner falsely attempted “to
portray himself as badly served by counsel,” id. at 11;

6

(3) petitioner falsely demanded a speedy trial, seeking
in reality “to forestall the day of reckoning because the
longer he waited for trial the longer he remained in the
United States,” id. at 12; (4) petitioner’s “decision to
proceed pro se was knowing and voluntary,” as he “fully
understood the risk[s] of going to trial without coun-
sel[,] and he assumed them in the hope that jury sympa-
thy or appellate review would somehow save him,” id.
at 13; and (5) petitioner sought to “manipulate[] the
system to [his] own benefit,” id. at 14.

3. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 2a-17a.
The court of appeals rejected petitioner’s contention
that the district court erred in permitting him to pro-
ceed pro se, concluding that petitioner “made a knowing
and intelligent waiver of his right to counsel when he
elected to represent himself at trial.” Jd. at 13a. In so
finding, the court recognized at the outset of its analysis
that “the Supreme Court has cautioned that a defen-
dant ‘should be made aware of the dangers and dis-
advantages of self-representation, so that the record
will establish that he knows what he is doing and his
choice is made with eyes open.’” /d. at 9a (quoting
Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806, 835 (1975)).

The court of appeals emphasized that the determina-
tion whether a defendant has made a knowing and
intelligent waiver “at all times is directed to the record
as a whole.” Pet. App. 10a. In addition, the court iden-
tified several factors it takes into account in evaluating
whether a waiver was knowing and intelligent:
“(1) whether and to what extent the district court con-
ducted a formal hearing into the defendant’s decision to
represent himself, (2) whether there is other evidence
in the record that establishes that the defendant
understood the disadvantages of self-representation,
(3) the background and experience of the defendant,

7

and (4) the context of the defendant’s decision to pro-
ceed pro se.” Id. at 9a-10a (quoting United States v.
Avery, 208 F.3d 597, 601 (7th Cir. 2000)). Observing
that “[tJhis is not a formalistic, mechanical approach,”
id. at 10a, the court of appeals emphasized that “[r]e-
gardless” of “these individual factors,” the “inquiry at
all times is directed to the record as a whole,” ibid.’

After examining “the totality of circumstances sur-
rounding [petitioner’s] purported waiver,” the court of
appeals held that the waiver of counsel “was made
knowingly and intelligently.” Pet. App. lla. The court
found first that “there is no question that the [district]
court satisfied its obligation to warn [petitioner] of the
dangers of self-representation,” noting that the court
told petitioner that self-representation was “a foolish
act that was likely to result in significant errors at
trial.” Jbid. The court found next that the record
lacked any suggestion that petitioner “was incapable of
understanding” the district court’s “repeated warn-
ings.” Ibid. As the court explained, petitioner gradu-
ated high school and attended two years of college, he
succeeded in temporarily defrauding banks of nearly
$39,000, and he was “no stranger to the criminal justice
system.” Ibid.

The court of appeals further found that “(t]he strong-
est evidence supporting a finding of waiver * * * is
that which suggests that [petitioner] was deliberately
manipulating the system in an attempt to create an
appealable issue.” Pet. App. 12a. In so concluding, the

! The court stated that, although a district judge may “conduct
a thorough and formal inquiry into the defendant’s understanding
of the court’s warnings,” the court’s “attention ultimately is di-
rected not at what was said or not said to the defendant but
whether that defendant in fact understood the risks and made a
knowing and intelligent waiver.” Pet. App. 10a.

8

court credited the district court’s findings that peti-
tioner “engaged in a pattern of obfuscation and ob-
structionism in his pretrial dealings with the court,”
and that petitioner’s misconduct was his “only practical
defense to charges that were so well supported by the
evidence as to be indefensible on their merits.” Jbid.
The court therefore “concur[red] with the district court
that [petitioner] fully understood the risk of going to
trial without counsel.” Jd. at 18a.

The court of appeals also rejected petitioner’s “fall-
back position” that the district court should have pre-
cluded him from proceeding pro se because he lacked
the ability to conduct the trial effectively. Pet. App.
13a. The court held that, under Godinez v. Moran, 509
U.S. 389, 399 (1993), petitioner’s competence to repre-
sent himself is irrelevant to the question whether he
executed a proper waiver of his right to counsel. Jbid.

ARGUMENT

Petitioner challenges the court of appeals’ conclusion
that he knowingly and voluntarily waived his right to
counsel at trial. In particular, petitioner argues that
the “warning that [he] received was inadequate to
enable him knowingly and intelligently to waive his
right to counsel.” Pet. 16. That contention is incorrect,
and further review is not warranted in this case.

l. a. In Faretta v. California, this Court held that
the Sixth Amendment guarantees a criminal defendant
the right to forgo counsel and conduct his own defense.
Because a defendant who represents himself “relin-
quishes * * * many of the traditional benefits associ-
ated with the right to counsel,” a defendant seeking to
proceed pro se “must ‘knowingly and intelligently’”
waive that right. 422 U.S. at 835 (quoting Johnson v.
Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464-465 (1938)). To ensure that an

9

election to forgo counsel satisfies that standard, the
Court stated that a defendant who is contemplating
proceeding pro se “should be made aware of the dan-
gers and disadvantages of self-representation, so that
the record will establish that ‘he knows what he is
doing and his choice is made with eyes open.’” Ibid.
(quoting Adams v. United States, 317 U.S. 269, 279
(1942)). In Faretta, this Court found that the defendant
had validly waived his right to counsel, where the
defendant “clearly and unequivocally” expressed a
desire to proceed pro se; the record showed that he was
“literate, competent, and understanding”; and the trial
judge had warned him “that he thought it was a
mistake not to accept the assistance of counsel, and that
[the defendant] would be required to follow all the
‘ground rules’ of trial procedure.” Id. at 835-836.

b. Although it is well-established that a defendant
may not relinquish his right to counsel under the Sixth
Amendment unless the record establishes that he
knowingly and intelligently waived it, courts of appeals
have taken somewhat different approaches in ensuring
that a defendant’s waiver is knowing and intelligent.

The majority of courts of appeals, including the
Seventh Circuit, have concluded that while it may be
generally advisable for district courts to conduct
particularized record inquiries in determining whether
a defendant is aware of the dangers of self-repre-
sentation, the determination whether a defendant
knowingly and intelligently waived his right to counsel
ultimately should be based on the record as a whole,
rather than a formalistic inquiry into “what was said or
not said to the defendant.” Pet. App. 10a; see also, ¢.g.,
United States v. Turner, 287 F.3d 980, 982-984 (10th
Cir. 2002); United States v. Singleton, 107 F.3d 1091,
1098-1099 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 825 (1997);

pat eines nate ened rnin

10

United States v. Stewart, 20 F.3d 9i1, 917 (8th Cir.
1994); United States v. Campbell, 874 F.2d 838, 845-847
(1st Cir. 1989); United States v. Tompkins, 623 F.2d
824, 827-829 (2d Cir. 1980).

Some circuits have required a district court to con-
duct an on-the-record inquiry into a defendant’s aware-
ness of the risks of self-representation. See, e.g.,
United States v. Stubbs, 281 F.3d 109, 118 (3d Cir. 2002)
(district court “should only accept a waiver [of the right
to counsel] after making a searching inquiry sufficient
to satisfy the court that the defendant’s waiver was
understanding and voluntary.”); United States v.
Bailey, 675 F.2d 1292, 1800-1301 (D.C. Cir.) (calling on
district courts to “mak[e] clear on the record the aware-
ness by defendants of the dangers and disadvantages of |
self-representation as to which the Supreme Court in |
Faretta has voiced its concern”), cert. denied, 459 U.S.
853 (1982).

The Sixth Circuit, on which petitioner places princi-
pal reliance (see Pet. 10-12, 16), has gone a step further
and held that district courts should follow the “model
inquiry” in the Federal Justice Center, Bench Book for
United States District Judges (4th ed. 1996) before
accepting a defendant’s waiver of his right to counsel.
United States v. McDowell, 814 F.2d 245, 249-250 (6th |
Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 980 (1987). In McDowell, |
however, the Sixth Circuit did not hold that such an
inquiry was compelled by the Sixth Amendment. The
district court in McDowell did not engage in the sort of
“model inquiry” that the Sixth Circuit—in invoking its
“supervisory powers”—ruled should be conducted by
district courts. in “future” cases. [bid. Nonetheless, the
court of appeals in McDowell held that “a fair reading of |
the record as a whole” established that the defendant |
knowingly and intelligently waived his right to counsel,

ee

11

and therefore rejected the defendant’s Sixth Amend-
ment argument on appeal. /d. at 249.

c. The fact that some courts of appeals have taken
different approaches in giving effect to Faretta does not
support the petition for certiorari in this case. All the
circuits recognize that this Court’s decision in Faretta
establishes that a defendant “should be made aware of
the dangers * * * of self-representation, so that the
record will establish that ‘he knows what he is doing
and his choice is made with eyes open.’” 422 U.S. at
835. Although courts have called for different ap-
proaches in determining whether a defendant’s waiver
of his right to counsel is made with “eyes open,” this
Court’s decision in Faretta—and the Sixth Amendment
to the Constitution—is being faithfully applied in every
circuit, including the Seventh Circuit.

Moreover, even assuming the divergence of authority
in the lower courts warranted consideration by this
Court, this case would be an ill-suited vehicle in which
to address it. As the court of appeals concluded, the
record conclusively establishes that petitioner’s waiver
of his right to counsel was knowing and intelligent. See
Pet. App. lla-13a. Indeed, here, as in Faretta, the
record establishes that the defendant “clearly and une-
quivocally declared to the trial judge that he wanted to
represent himself”; the record establishes that the
defendant was “literate, competent, and understand-
ing”; and the record establishes that “[tJhe trial judge
* * * warned [the defendant] that he thought it was a
mistake not to accept the assistance of counsel.”
Faretta, 422 U.S. at 835-836; see Pet. App. 12a-13a.

While in the Sixth Circuit a district court would have
been required to engage in a more formulaic inquiry in
warning a defendant of the hazards of self-representa-
tion, the record in this case leaves no reasonable doubt

eo

12

that the command of Faretta was fulfilled. The district
court advised petitioner of “the dangers and disadvan-
tages of self-representation,” and petitioner chose to
proceed pro se “with eyes open.” Faretta, 422 U.S. at |
835. As discussed above, the district court “strongly |
advise[d]” petitioner against forgoing counsel; told him
that self-representation “in any criminal case is a foolish
act”; warned him that he would “almost certainly make
significant tactical errors”; warned him thai, even if he
“had a lawful defense,” he “almost certainly” would fail
“to present it in a coherent way”; and warned that,
“{ojn top of it, you will not, I think, adequately preserve
the record in this case if error has been made.” 4/2/02
Tr. 4-5. During the same hearing, the court reiterated
that proceeding pro se would be “a foolish thing to do.”
Id. at 6. Accordingly, the record in this case firmly
supports the lower courts’ findings that petitioner
knowingly and voluntarily waived his right to counsel.

d. This case is an unsuitable vehicle to review the
conflict alleged by petitioner for an even more funda-
mental reason. Apart from any obligation to warn a
defendant about the dangers of self-representation in
any particular or formalistic manner, it is well-estab-
lished that a defendant may not use the Sixth Amend-
ment right of self-representation to manipulate the trial
system. See Faretta, 422 U.S. at 834-835 & n.46 (“The
right of self-representation is not a license to abuse the
dignity of the courtroom.”); United States v. Frazier-
El, 204 F.3d 553, 560 (4th Cir. 2000) (“The right [to self-
representation] does not exist * * * to be used as a
tactic for delay; for disruption; for distortion of the
system.”) (citations omitted).

Similarly, most lower courts have recognized that a
district court may infer that a defendant has knowingly
and intelligently waived his right to counsel when the

SER

13

court finds that the defendant seeks to discharge his
attorney in order to delay or to sabotage the trial. See,
e.g., Cordova v. Baca, 346 F.3d 924, 929 (9th Cir. 2003)
(“[M]anipulation presupposes knowledge and an ability
to work around the rules, and a defendant who knows
enough to manipulate will very likely be one whose
waiver will be deemed voluntary, despite any defect in
the admonitions given by the court.”); see also Nelson
v. Alabama, 292 F.3d 1291, 1297-1298 (11th Cir. 2002)
(citing Fitzpatrick v. Wainwright, 800 F.2d 1057, 1068
(11th Cir. 1986)); United States v. Irorere, 228 F.3d 816,
826-828 (7th Cir. 2000); United States v. Kneeland, 148
F.3d 6, 11 (1st Cir. 1998); United ‘States v. Kelm, 827
F.2d 1319, 1322 (9th Cir. 1987); McQueen v. Blackburn,
756 F.2d 1174, 1178 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 852
(1985); cf. Buhl v. Cooksey, 233 F.3d 783, 796 (3d Cir.
2000). In addition, some lower courts have found that,
when a defendant moves for self-representation in
order to delay or manipulate the trial, the district court
may find that the defendant waived his right to counsel
without conducting a Faretta inquiry. United States v.
Hughes, 191 F.3d 1317, 1823-1324 (10th Cir. 1999), cert.
denied, 529 U.S. 1022 (2000).

As the court of appeals emphasized, the district court
in this case found that petitioner sought to deliberately
manipulate the system by engaging in “a pattern of
. obfuscation and obstructionism.” Pet. App. 12a. Those
findings are “entitled to deference on appeal,” ibid., and
by this Court. And the findings in themselves “support

2 In Buhl, the Third Circuit concluded that there were no
“dilatory motives” on the part of defendant, but nonetheless went
on to state, in dicta, that “we do not suggest that a finding of such
motives would negate the court’s duty to inquire under Faretta.”
233 F.3d at 796.

14

a conclusion that [petitioner] knew full well what he
was doing when he asked to proceed pro se.” Ibid.*? The
conclusive record evidence that petitioner sought te
deliberately manipulate the system is sufficient reason
to deny the petition for certiorari in this case.

2. Petitioner also suggests (Pet. 16-26) that the peti-
tion should be granted so that the Court may revisit
Faretta. That contention also should be rejected.

This Court has on several occasions reaffirmed its
decision in Faretta. In McKaskle v. Wiggins, 465 U.S.
168, 173-174 (1984), the Court reaffirmed the rule an-
nounced in Faretta, while holding that the Constitution
does not vest the defendant with an absolute right to
preclude the participation of standby counsel. See zd.
at 176-188. In Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S. 389, 399-400
(1993), the Court again reaffirmed Faretta. In Mar-
tinez v. Court of Appeal of California, 528 U.S. 152
(2000), this Court held that the Constitution does not
vest criminal defendants with a right to represent
themselves on appeal. The Court held that the justi-
fications for the Faretta rule either do not apply at all,
or apply with significantly reduced force, to the appel-
late phase of criminal proceedings. See id. at 156-162.
But Martinez did not concern the right of self-repre-
sentation at trial and, therefore, did not affect the
continuing vitality of Faretta with regard to the right of
self-representation at trial. Nor is there any evidence
in the decision below or other cases that the courts of

3 As the court of appeals explained, the district court’s findings
that petitioner sought to deliberately manipulate the system were
corroborated by its conclusion that “this conduct was [petitioner’s]
only practical defense to charges that were so well supported by
the evidence as to be indefensible on their merits.” Pet. App. 12a;
see id. at 14a-15a (discussing the “overwhelming evidence” of peti-
tioner’s guilt).

15

appeals are laboring in any “lingering uncertainty about
the validity of Faretta in the wake of * * * Martinez.”
Pet. 23.

Petitioner provides no persuasive reason for the
Court to reconsider Farretta, much less to do so in a
case, such as this, in which the lower courts found that
the defendant sought to deliberately manipulate the
system by invoking his right to self-representation,
Pet. App. 12a, and in which there was “overwhelming
evidence” of the defendant’s guilt, id. at 14a.‘ Peti-
tioner claims (Pet. 25) that he did not perform as an
effective advocate at trial, and that as a result his
conviction was unfairly obtained. The court of appeals
correctly rejected that argument, however, when
petitioner framed it as “a denial of his due process right
to a fair trial.” See Pet. App. 13a-15a.°

4 Petitioner contends (Pet. 24 & n.5) that permitting self-
representation will undermine confidence in the criminal justice
system, citing the prosecution of Zacarias Moussaoui as an exam-
ple of self-representation run amok. But “the trial judge may ter-
minate self-representation by a defendant who deliberately en-
gages in serious and obstructionist misconduct,” Faretta, 422 U.S.
at 834 n.46, as the district court in the Moussaoui case did on
November 14, 2003.

> Petitioner asserts (Pet. 25) that, while he “may have been
competent to stand trial”—and thus competent to waive his right
to counsel under Godinez—“it was clear” that “he was unlikely to
be able to mount a competent defense.” But the district court
found that “even with the best lawyer the result would have been
the same,” 6/26/02 Tr. 13, because petitioner did not have a viable
defense, id. at 11; see also Pet. App. 14a-15a. In addition, as the
court of appeals explained, petitioner’s educational background and
experience with the criminal justice system (see 12/21/01 Tr. 9-10)
belie the notion that he was incapable of conducting his own
defense, albeit not with the skill of a trained attorney.

16

3. There is no reason to hold this petition pending
the disposition in Jowa v. Tovar, No. 02-1541 (argued
Jan. 21, 2004). Tovar involves the waiver of the right to
counsel by a defendant who pleaded guilty. As peti-
tioner himself acknowledges (Pet. 27), the Court’s deci-
sion in Tovar is unlikely to “address the requirements
for waiver of the right to counsel at trial, much less the
ongoing validity of the right to self-representation at
trial.” In addition, in its amicus brief in Tovar, the
United States has argued that substantially different
standards should apply to the waiver of counsel at trial
and the waiver of counsel for purposes of entering a
guilty plea. Regardless of what standards govern a
defendant’s waiver of counsel at the plea stage, those
standards could not affect the validity of petitioner’s
conviction in this case. Petitioner retained the assis-
tance of counsel at the plea stage and declined to plead
guilty.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General

CHRISTOPHER A. WRAY
Assistant Attorney General

JONATHAN L. MARCUS
Attorney

FEBRUARY 2004

7

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2393%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
