# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. v. Kenyon

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2389%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 1161

## Text

03-687 Nov 6~- 2003

IN LHE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

R.J. REYNOLDS TOBACCO Co.,
Petitioner,

V.

FLORENCE KENYON, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS PERSONAL
REPRESENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF
FLOYD J. KENYON, SR.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Florida Second District Court of Appeal

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BENJAMIN H. HILL, III ROBERT H. KLONOFF
HILL, WARD & HENDERSON (Counsel of Record)
101 East Kennedy Blvd. STEPHANIE E. PARKER
Suite 3700 TRACI L. LOVITT
Tampa, FL 33602 JONES DAY |
(813) 221-3900 51 Louisiana Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC 20001
Of Counsel (202) 879-3939

Counsel fo; Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether state law permitting a jury to impose liability on
tobacco companies for the mere manufacture and sale of
cigarettes, without more, conflicts with and is preempted by

congressional policy allowing the production and sale of
cigarettes in the United States.

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner is R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company. R.J.
Reynolds Tobacco Company is a wholly owned subsidiary
of R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Holdings, Inc., formerly known as
RJR Nabisco, Inc. On December 11, 2000, R.J. Reynolds
Tobacco Holdings, Inc. acquired Nabisco Group Holdings
Corp. now a wholly-owned subsidiary of R.J. Reynolds
Tobacco Holdings, Inc., renamed RJR Acquisition Corp.
Since June 15, 1999, R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Holdings, Inc.
has been a publicly-owned corporation. Before then, RJR
Nabisco, Inc. was a wholly owned subsidiary -of RJR
Nabisco Holdings Corp., a publicly owned corporation. RJR
Nabisco Holdings Corp. is now Nabisco Group Holdings
Corp.. and since June 14, 1999, has not held a direct or
indirect ownership interest in R.J. Reynolds Tobacco
Holdings, Inc. or R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company.

Fidelity Management & Research and Capital Research
and Management each own more than 10 percent of the
publicly traded stock of R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Holdings,
Inc.

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Holdings, Inc. recently announced
that it is seeking a potential corporate transaction with
another tobacco holdings company. A copy of its press
release is included as part of the appendix to this petition.
See Pet. App. 63a-69a.

Respondent is Florence Kenyon acting individually and as
a representative of the estate of Floyd J. Kenyon, Sr.

———

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page”

QUESTION PRESENTED .u....occcccccccccccccscsssseceeeeeeeeecccccc i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING .oeeeccccccscsssessesesssss il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .o.....ccccccccccssssssssssssssssssssc Iv
WPI III so nnsessvssesessoncscesccsocscscscec.. l
HR API asec esnsssvarsssyiascnsnny soxtssvesesesescsocce.s..c ne l
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED .ooeeecsccssssscsccscssssssssessesessssss..... Z
«cp snap ne 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PIN tethisesiinesborcisects 9

I. THE FLORIDA SECOND DISTRICT
COURT OF APPEAL’S DECISION
CONFLICTS DIRECTLY WITH
CONGRESSIONAL POLICY AND
THIS COURT’S JURISPRUDENCE... 9

Il. THE FLORIDA SECOND DISTRICT
COURT OF APPEAL’S DECISION IS
INCONSISTENT WITH THE DECISIONS
OF EVERY OTHER COURT THAT HAS
CONSIDERED THE PREEMPTION ISSUE........ 16

Ill. THIS COURT’S IMMEDIATE REVIEW
OF THE IMPORTANT QUESTION
PRESENTED IS NECESSARY TO
PROTECT FEDERAL POLICY
AND SUPREME COURT PRECEDENT... 21

I hacer vnrtmnnsinurvsxsinisassorcsssivecusasoccostice,.. 26

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases
Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Slater,

SR ee aa cahconin casas urcia esMaaichd aanecnncecatonmaneiaced 24
Arkansas v. Sullivan, 532 U.S. 769 (2001)... eee cece ewes 24
Bibles v. Oregon Natural Desert Ass'n,

i eM Sk, sg SER eM ee Nee NRE ne oe 24
Bunkley v. Florida, 123 S. Ct. 2020 (2003) ....................... 25
Beran Ve. Cane, SIG U.S, 1.5.2 CEG IG) cvcvsicsereeticceincvensscsasntes A
Calderon v. Coleman, 525 U.S. 141 (1998)... eee 24
Calderon v. Moore, 518 U.S. 149 (1996)... eee eee eee ee 24

Carter v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., -
778 So. 2d 932 (Fla. 2000),
cert. denied, 533 U.S. FSO (2001).......sesssesorseecesssenveeeDy 1S

Cent. State Univ. v. Am. Ass’n of Univ. Professors,
Cent. State Univ. Chapter, 526 U.S. 124 (1999).....24, 25

Choate v. Champion Home Builders Co., -

Bk Fe FC Ee BO riisinticeclenknsisdnnidenene 17
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,

Pe es, PE Pins isi stecrcdsasenatuapecapuneansibisens 13, 14, 21
Citizens Bank v. Alafabco, Inc.,

Be ee 0k. eT CN isistentiincntmmnmiancrel Ne ae
City of Los Angeles v. David, 123 S. Ct. 1895 (2003)....... 24

City of Monroe v. United States, 522 U.S. 34 (1997)........ 24

Clark County Sch. Dist. v. Breeden,
Ae a, CE EE ica patetnssacatpolnneniacsaivoreenas

Cruz-Vargas v. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co., ”
218 F. Supp. 2d 109 (D.P.R. 2002),
aff'd on other grounds, No. 02-2688,
2003 WL 22434631 (Ist Cir. Oct. 28, 2003)...........20, 21

Dalton v. Little Rock Family Planning Servs.,
Fh EF ie cicssnscerantckinipuisnniancesnenmitiphineriociomnsdh 24

24, 25

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (con’t)

Page

Delo v. Lashley, 507 U.S. 272 Se eS 25
Dobbs v. Zant, 506 U.S. 357 (1993) vovecccccsccssesecsesececccc., 25
DuJack v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp.,

No. X07-00728225-S, slip op.

(Conn. Super. Ct. Nov. 13, 2001) veeccccccccscsssescceeeeeeeccec., 21
Duncan vy. Henry, 513 U.S. 364 Pe icachciicanbisindimices 24
Early v. Packer, 537 U.S. 3 Ce Ee ee: 24

El Vocero de Puerto Rico (Caribbean Int’]
News Corp.) v. Puerto Rico, 508 U.S. 147 ) ) ae 24

ENSCO, Inc. v. Dumas, 807 F.2d 743 (8th Cir. 1986)....... 18
FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp.,

ILI UWS. 120 (2000) .ecosccicececescesssnsassaverseresseeesezececsce Passim
Fiore v. White, 531 U.S. 225 P| ORT Tee R 24, 25
Fisher v. Ford Motor Co..,

224 F.3d 570 (6th Cir. 2000) .0.cececcsccscccssesseoseoeeeseccccce.n. 16
Flippo v. West Virginia, 528 U.S. 11 ( EMR 24
Florida v. Rodriguez, 469 U.S. 1 (1984)... 23, 26
Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 514 U.S. 280 ti +) eee 14
Geier v. Am. Honda Motor Co..

REF OS. OG CY a icsscssnsivecersshsndassivanarsasccnceeil Passim
Goeke v. Branch, 514 U.S. 115 ER eiciiescucee aca 24
Great Dane Trailers, Inc. v. Estate of Wells,

52 S.W.3d 737 (Tex. 2001 )...c..cececsssssessesssssescecceceseessecs.. 17
Greene v. Georgia, 519 U.S, 145 CRS vccniontetsiaencteaotiel 24

Griffith v. General Motors Corp.,
303 F.3d 1276 (11th Cir. 2002)
cert. denied, 123 S. Ct. 1953 OF: , ETS ey Mc 18, 19

Hall v. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co.,
No. 00-1061, slip op.
(Fla. 13th Jud. Cir. Oct. 1, 2003) c.eccccccccccccsesseeeeseoceccec.n. 22

~_

Vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (con’t)
Page

Hermes Consol., Inc. v. People,

SOD P26 1 SGT CW VO. FSB hss ccinicieriteterrimtesetces 17
Hetzel v. Prince William County, Virginia,

$23 U.S. ZG CTR iscsisenseres Seeiadlaxbusssdiaitaianonnaamaia 24
Fiorn v. Bankes, S5G6.1).S. 266 (27) vsissvinsssasiecssensncesssecesess 24
Hurley v. Motor Coach Indus., Inc.,

222 FO ST TP Ga, I iit 17,19
INS v. Verma, S57 CBZ CGE) vaxensxsnecteinsnancensastvacceness 24
Insolia v. Philip Morris Inc.,

128 F. Supp. 2d 1220 (W.D. Wisc. 2000)................ eee 19
Jacksonville v. Ark. Dep’t of Pollution

Control & Ecology, 824 S.W.2d 840 (Ark. 1992)......... 18
James v. Mazda Motor Corp.,

roee Me ERE T EL: Co ae. | Sean 16, 17, 19
Jenkins v. Florida, 385 So. 2d 1356 (Fla. 1980)...... lL, 22,20
Kaupp v. Texas, 123 S. Ct. 1843 (2003)........... eee 25, 26
Kirk v. Louisiana, 536 U.S. 635 (2002).................24, 25, 26
Lambert v. Wicklund, 520 U.S. 292 (1997)......cceceecceceeeeeee 24
Leavitt v. Jane 1. 518 US. 157 (UGGS vcncvssesessshssecsenavsneess 24
Major League Baseball Players Ass'n v. Garvey, |

S32 US. Fe CE ikea
Maryland v. Baltimore Radio Show, Inc.,

SIO US. Dar 1a iescsnieacinsiroiiaciansercmaannian 15
Maryland v. Dyson, 527 U.S. 465 (1999) oo... eeeeeeeees 24, 26
Mazurek v. Armstrong, 520 U.S. 968 (1997) .......ceeeeeeeeeees 24
Mitchell v. Esparza,

No. 02-1369, slip op. (Nov. 3, 2003) ............sseeeeeeee 24, 25
New Mexico, ex rel. Ortiz v. Reed,

S26 US. 857 Circ eos 24

i
{
8
a
H

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (con’t)

Page
Newsweek, Inc. v. Fla. Dep’t Revenue.
Db US, GAZ (199B)....ssesesasvsnsnsorncevororsnsvesesvevczessesosese.. 26
Ohio v. Reiner, 532 U.S. 17 ERNII Wicstisaninienchianatbeueeaaecesunion 24
Oxygenated Fuels Ass'n v. Davis,
331 F.3d 665 (9th Cir. 2003) v.oeceecccccccssccceseesesesceceseseccc.. 16
Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573 (1980) cecccccccocc----- fa
Pennsylvania v. Labron, 518 U.S. 938 (1996)................... 24
Pounders v. Watson, 521 U.S. 982 (5 | 24
Purkett v. Elem, 514 U.S. 765 (1995) ceccssssssssssssssssssssssesees 24 :
Roberts v. Galen of Va., Inc., 525 U.S. 249 ( i, 24
Rollins Envtl. Servs. of La. v. Iberville Parish :
Policy Jury, 371 So. 2d 1127 (La. 1979) ceccccccccccccc 18 |
Sao Paulo State of Federative Rep. of Braz. v.
Am. Tobacco Co., Inc., 535 U.S. 229 RE ic catecediaaccucs 24
South Dakota Mining Ass’n v. Lawrence County, |
155 F.3d 1605 (8th Cir, 1998) o.oo cccccccecscscscecseccceceseceece, 18
Stansbury v. California, 511 U.S. 318 (1994).................... 24
Stewart v. LaGrand, 526 U.S. 115 EOI cceisicsicuceapdsaseanant 24
Stewart v. Smith, 536 U.S. 856 SI cencindissinaciae aces 24
Texas v. Lesage, 528 U.S. 18 (1999) vecccccsccccsseeeeeeeeeeecccc, 24 |
United States v. Bass, 536 U.S. 862 (2002) ceccecccccccccecoeee.. 24 |
United States v. Coleman, 390 U.S. 599 POPE Wieasicaeiasiael 18
United States v. Jose, 519 U.S. 54 (1996) .eeccccccccccccsssssssve 24
United States v. Nachtigal, 507 U.S. 1 (1993)... 25 |
United States v. Padilla, 508 U.S. 77 (1993) ..cccccsssssssee 25 :
United States v. Robertson, 514 U.S. 669 th | ne 24 .
United States v. Watts, 519 U.S. 148 (1997)...cccssssssssesses0e 24 |

Village of Willowbrook v. Olecho.,
POW US, DGS COOG).sesnsesonssasviesnseunasanvaenassnecesecsesnsauts 25

Vill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (con’t)
: Page

Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78 (1970) .......ccccccesssseeeeeeeeeees l
Wood v. Bartholomew, 516 U.S. 1 (1995) ......ceceececeeceeeeeees 24°
Woodford v. Visciotti, 537 U.S. 19 (2002)... cece eeeeeeees 24
Yarborough v. Gentry,

No. 02-1597, slip op. (Oct. 20, 2003).............ccccccssesssees 24
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions
es A TIE, A eg Ro sacecsscnenenanccmisianinedansiecksinlepenibinmemianens 2
FSi eess Oe Ee Peiciccncasevasessioeeiseenessutioionmursnnmeas 3, 10, 21
Fer rts OF Ona sacniaesackeeubinannsesinis eouianenenianinsnaaenas 3, 10, 13
Set as 2 BE Pirin l
See ss Se a chadiadnensavain en cated nesiannaninereniaenaneaamaiial 18
a ac Se IS Decco vtnesnnsnatsneeectnninitnesadaanasictianaicemminies 17
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Amendments of 1983,

PU Ei POG. SOG, G7 TE. FFD vscesesssiscstctenctedsncidensaninioven 2

Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Heaith Administration

Reorganization Act, ;
Pub. L. No. 102-321, § 202, 106 Stat. 394... 3
Comprehensive Smokeless Tobacco Health Education
Act of 1986,
FMD, Bac INO: DROSS Z, TOD FORE, FO sceevvcccsencscterintensttnsenstlg
Comprehensive Smoking Education Act, i
Pub. L. No. 98-474, 98 Stat. 2200 ................ssssccssssssesceeee 2
Federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act, }
ee 8 fA. < EET
Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act of 1969
FU Bae POO PRS, OF CHU. WET sccesciecinnstseinrcnesnetncenecainniies 2 ,
ft | ee Ne OT mean

a |

= iX
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (con’t)
Page

Miscellaneous

Stern & Gressman,
SUPREME COURT PRACTICE (8th ed. MEE ee 2 23

PSE BO erating eee 23

ay ~ 2: 5 EE A Te

OPINIONS BELOW

The Florida Second District Court of Appeal’s per curiam
order (Pet. App. 2a) was issued without opinion and is
unreported. The Florida Circuit Court for the Thirteenth
Judicial Circuit’s decision (id. at 3a-4a, 17a, 25a) was also
issued without opinion and is unreported.

JURISDICTION

On May 30, 2003, the Florida Second District Court of
Appeal issued a one-word per curiam order—‘Affirmed”—
rejecting petitioner’s preemption argument. Pet. App. 2a. It
subsequently denied a timely filed petition for rehearing,
rehearing en banc, and issuance of a written opinion on
August 8, 2003. Jd. at la. Because the Florida Supreme
Court does not have jurisdiction under the Florida
Constitution to review per curiam orders of the District
Court of Appeal rendered without opinion, see Jenkins v.
Florida, 385 So. 2d 1356, 1359 (Fla. 1980) (recognizing
limitation on Florida Supreme Court’s jurisdiction), the
intermediate appellate court is the highest state court in
which judgment could have been had. See Williams v.
Florida, 399 U.S. 78, 80 n.5 (1970) (reviewing Florida
District Court of Appeal decision on this ground); Stern &
Gressman, SUPREME COURT PRACTICE 166 & n.48 (8th ed.
2002). Accordingly, this Court has jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 1257(a).!

' On September 5, 2003, Reynolds filed a petition with the Florida
Supreme Court under the court’s all writs jurisdiction seeking an order to
compel the Florida Second District Court of Appeal to publish a written
opinion explaining its reasons for decision. This motion seeks
extraordinary relief and does not alter the fact that the judgment below is
final and unreviewable as a matter of state law and a final disposition by
the highest Florida court within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. §1257(a).
Reynolds will advise the Court of the Florida Supreme Court’s decision
on this petition when one is issued.

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution,
U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2, provides in pertinent part:

This Constitution, and the-Laws of the United States
which shall be made in Pursuance thereof... shall be the
supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in every State
shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or
Laws of any State to the contrary notwithstanding.

STATEMENT

This case involves the Florida courts’ blatant disregard of
this Court’s precedent on a recurring federal question of
tremendous importance. In the proceedings below, the
Florida Circuit Court for the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit and
the Second District Court of Appeal, without any explanation
whatsoever, permitted cigarette manufacturers to be held
liable under state tort law for merely manufacturing
cigarettes, because cigarettes are supposedly inherently
dangerous. As this Court has made clear, however, the
manufacture of cigarettes cannot be rendered unlawful or
banned as a matter of federal policy. Accordingly, to the
extent Florida law forces a cigarette manufacturer to cease
cigarette production or face potential tort liability, it conflicts
with a federal objective and is preempted.

1. For nearly forty years, Congress has extensively
regulated tobacco products, enacting six separate pieces of
legislation to address tobacco use and human health since
1965. See Federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act,
Pub. L. No. 89-92, 79 Stat. 282; Public Health Cigarette
Smoking Act of 1969, Pub. L. No. 91-222, 84 Stat. 87;
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Amendments of 1983, Pub. L.
No. 98-24, 97 Stat. 175; Comprehensive Smoking Education
Act, Pub. L. No. 98-474, 98 Stat. 2200; Comprehensive
Smokeless Tobacco Health Education Act of 1986, Pub. L.

Mika a cade Re ek Ghia iin Beta Ds

See ere ee

3

No. 99-252, 100 Stat. 30; Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental
Health Administration Reorganization Act, Pub. L. No. 102-
321, § 202, 106 Stat. 394.

Despite its comprehensive regulation of tobacco products,
Congress has never ordered a ban of cigarette manufacturing
or sought to prohibit the sale of tobacco products in the
United States. To the contrary, Congress has provided in the
United States Code that “[t]he marketing of tobacco
constitutes one of the greatest basic industries of the United
States with ramifying activities which directly affect
interstate and foreign commerce-at every point, and stable
conditions therein are necessary to the general welfare.”
7 U.S.C. § 1311(a). Other sections of the Code expressly
recognize Congress’s decision to protect both public health
and “commerce and the national economy” by requiring that
cigarette manufacturers “adequately infor[m] [consumers]
about any adverse health effects” from tobacco use in lieu of
prohibiting the sale of tobacco products. 15 U.S.C. § 1331.

In light of Congress’s long-standing decision to regulate
tobacco products instead of banning them and its decision to
protect “commerce and the national economy... to the
maximum extent” in connection with tobacco regulation, this
Court has concluded that “Congress .. . has foreclosed the
removal of tobacco products from the market.” FDA v.
Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120, 137
(2000). “A ban of tobacco products... would therefore
plainly contradict congressional policy.” Jd. at 138-39.

2. Petitioner RJ. Reynolds Tobacco Company
(“Reynolds”) is the second-largest tobacco manufacturer in
the United States and produces the Winston, Camel, Salem,
and Doral cigarette brands. Respondent is Florence Kenyon,
acting individually and on behalf of the estate of Floyd J.
Kenyon, Sr. (“Kenyon”). Kenyon began smoking in 1942.
Until the early 1970s, Kenyon smoked Camel cigarettes, but
at that time he switched to Salem cigarettes. In 1982,
Kenyon largely quit smoking, and in 1992, he quit smoking

4

altogether. Kenyon was diagnosed with lung cancer in April
2000, and just recently died.

3. In July 2000, Kenyon and his wife, Florence Kenyon,
filed this action against Reynolds, alleging that Kenyon had
contracted lung cancer as a result of smoking Reynolds’
cigarettes. Kenyon sought actual and punitive damages for
negligence and strict liability, and Mrs. Kenyon sought
damages for loss of consortium. Kenyon’s negligence and
strict liability claims were both premised on two theories of
recovery—Reynolds’ failure to warn him of the health risks
of smoking, and Reynolds’ defective design of its cigarettes.

On October 5, 2001, Reynolds moved for partial summary
judgment on preemption grounds. With respect to the failure
to warn claims, Reynolds argued that the Federal Cigarette
Labeling and Advertising Act (“FCLAA”) expressly
preempted Kenyon’s claims based on conduct that occurred
after 1969. In addition, Reynolds argued that the doctrine of
conflict preemption precluded the design defect claims to the
extent they were based so/ely on Reynolds’ manufacture “a
sale of cigarettes, without more.

On October 25, 2001, the Florida Circuit Court for the
Thirteenth Judicial Circuit granted the motion for partial
summary judgment with respect to Kenyon’s post-1969
negligence and strict liability claims for failure to warn. Pet.
App. 8a-9a. On Reynolds’ conflict preemption argument,
however, the circuit court concluded that conflict preemption
was not “a summary judgment issue as much as a burden
issue that’s more appropriately addressed in the jury
instructions.” Id. at 47a.

4. Accordingly, Reynolds submitted the following jury
instruction to prevent the jury from finding for Kenyon on a
preempted claim:

I instruct you that Congress has determined that it is legal
for Reynolds to manufacture, sell and advertise cigarettes

3

notwithstanding the fact that cigarettes may be dangerous
and addictive. Accordingly, I hereby instruct you as a
matter of law that Reynolds cannot be held liable to the
plaintiffs merely because it manufactured, sold, and
advertised the cigarettes that Mr. Kenyon allegedly
smoked.

Pet. App. 49a. Kenyon objected, arguing that the standard
Florida jury instruction on negligence and strict liability was
all Florida law required. Id. at 42a-44a.

The trial court, over Reynolds’ objection (id. at 25a),
rejected Reynolds’ proposed instruction. Although the court
did not publish any opinion on the issue, it explained at the
charging conference that it felt compelled to adopt the
Florida jury instructions that were used in Carter v. Brown &
Williamson Tobacco Corp., 778 So. 2d 932 (Fla. 2000), cert.
denied, 533 U.S. 950 (2001), which the court believed
implicitly suggested that cigarettes were legal products:

I think that the way the instruction is currently crafted,
articulating the standards under state law by its very
nature recognizes the fact that products manufactured
were manufactured legally by your [client]; and I see no
other way to address that issue other than to give the
instructions as they’re written.

So, I appreciate the argument. I appreciate it down the
road, but I won’t give that instruction. I'll leave the
instruction as it is.

Pet. App. 28a-29a. The court’s resulting erroneous
instruction is reproduced in the appendix to this petition. /d.
at 10a-12a.

Unsurprisingly in light of the court’s summary judgment
decision and _ instruction, Kenyon’s counsel argued
throughout the trial as if Reynolds could be held liable
simply for manufacturing and selling cigarettes. For
example, when cross-examining the only Reynolds’

PE NEAR INET

ee eT ee ee oe ene eee eee

6

employee to testify, Dr. David Townsend, Kenyon’s counsel
repeatedly elicited testimony to establish that no cigarette is
safe:

Q. You said cigarettes are risky, right?
A. Many times.

Q. In fact, I believe you testified there’s no such thing as
a safe cigarette?

A. I didn’t say that yesterday. I have said that many
times, and not just in court.

Q. And—so, Reynolds’ position is, in fact, that there is
no safe cigarette?

A. Absolutely. There is no safe cigarette. What we’ve
tried to do at Reynolds, however, is reduce the risk. But
we'll be the first to tell you there is no safe cigarette—
completely safe.

Pet. App. 37a-38a; see also id. at 34a (asking whether it was
“true that Reynolds cannot demonstrate that the cigarette is
safe for its intended use,” and eliciting the response, “[ijn a
general sense, that is a true statement.”). Kenyon’s counsel
later asked whether a “cigarette is inherently dangerous,” to
which Dr. Townsend replied:

That’s exactly what I testified. There are inherent strong
risks from any cigarette. No cigarette is safe. And :
furthermore there is no way if we develop a cigarette that
completely eliminates the risks . . . there is no way to
definitively prove ... . that the cigarette would be
completely safe. There is no safe cigarette.

ALD a ak

Id.

During the cross-examination of Dr. Townsend, Kenyon’s
counsel further suggested that Reynolds had “chosen”
liability by “choosing” to participate in the tobacco business:

perenne

7

Q: And the products that Reynolds designs and
manufactures are the choice of Reynolds, aren’t they?

A: I don’t understand your question. What do you mean
“choice”?

Q: Well, doesn’t Reynolds choose to make the products it
does?

A. We choose to make a number of products that we then
put on the market. Ultimately, it’s the consumer that
makes the choice about whether they stay on the market.

Id. at 37a. And later during the cross-e€xamination, counsel
indicated that Reynolds could have avoided liability by
manufacturing nicotine gum instead of cigarettes:

Q. Does Reynolds make a pack of 29 pieces of gum that
it sells for a couple of bucks?

A. Of course not.

Id. at 34a-35a.

Playing on this theme that cigarettes are so inherently
dangerous that Reynolds should never have manufactured
them, Kenyon’s counsel described his argument as follows:
Kenyon “was injured by a defective product” that “shouldn’t
have been available to him in the form that they were in.
Period.” Pet. App. 26a. During closing, Kenyon’s counsel
told the jury to “think of two things that Dr. Townsend said:
One, a cigarette is inherently dangerous; and two, it’s not
safe for its intended use. A cigarette is not safe for its
intended use. If it’s inherently dangerous and not fit for its
intended use, it’s unreasonably dangerous and defective.”
Id. at 21a. He further claimed that nicotine in cigarettes was
addictive and “made people smoke,” but Reynolds “didn’t do
anything about it because they wanted to stay in the
conventional cigarette business as long as they could.” Jd. at
23a. Kenyon’s counsel also took advantage of the erroneous
instruction on strict liability to argue that cigarettes are,

8

without more, so inherently dangerous as to justify the
imposition of tort liability:

“A product may also be unreasonably dangerous if the
risk of danger outweighs the benefit.” Well, so, you have
to say, “What’s the benefit of a cigarette?” Most people
tell you people don’t smoke—don’t ever tell you. What’s
the benefit of that? There isn’t any. So the risk of danger
would outweigh—it would simply outweigh whatever
benefit you get from the cigarette.

Id. at 22a.

After the close of Kenyon’s case, on November 21, 2001,
Reynolds filed a motion for directed verdict and a new trial,
arguing that Kenyon had submitted no evidence suggesting
that an alternative cigarette design was available or that
Kenyon would have chosen an alternative cigarette. Pet.
App. 14a-15a. Rather, Kenyon relied on the preempted strict
liability claim that Reynolds could be held liable simply for
manufacturing and selling cigarettes. Jd. The court denied
this motion without opinion. Jd. at 17a-19a.

5. On December i2, 2001, the jury rendered a verdict
finding in Reynolds’ favor on all claims except strict liability
for defective cigarette design. Pet. App. 5a-7a With respect
to strict liability, the jury awarded Kenyon $165,000 for his
medical expenses. Jd. at 7a. The court entered final
judgment on December 18, 2001. Jd. at 3a-4a.

6. Reynolds timely filed a notice of appeal on March
28, 2002, and asked for reversal, again on the ground that
Kenyon’s strict liability claim was conflict preempted. On
May 30, 2003, the Florida Second District Court of Appeal
affirmed the lower court’s decision without opinion in a per
curiam order. Pet. App. 2a. On August 8, 2003, the court
denied Reynolds’ motion for rehearing, rehearing en banc,
and issuance of a written opinion. /d. at la.

TOES shane

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Florida Second District Court of Appeal’s decision
affirmed the imposition of liability on a cigarette
manufacturer for merely participating in the business of
producing and selling cigarettes without more. If allowed to
Stand, this ruling will effectively force cigarette
manufacturers to choose between exiting the tobacco-
products business in Florida or facing potentially massive
State tort liability. For this reason, the decision is an affront
to Congress’s determination that cigarettes cannot be
prohibited as a matter of federal economic policy and flatly
contradicts this Court’s preemption and tobacco-regulation
jurisprudence. In addition, the ruling is inconsistent with
other state and federal decisions regarding conflict
preemption.

This Court should correct, indeed should summarily
reverse, the erroneous decision of the Florida Second District
Court of Appeal. Absent this Court’s intervention, the
literally thousands of cases pending against cigarette
manufacturers in Florida could be prosecuted as if mere
participation in the cigarette business, without more, is
tortious. This would create the possibility of a de facto ban
on cigarette manufacturing and sales in the State of Florida.

I. THE FLORIDA SECOND DISTRICT COURT OF
APPEAL’S DECISION CONFLICTS DIRECTLY
WITH CONGRESSIONAL POLICY AND THIS

.COURT’S JURISPRUDENCE.

Contrary to the lower court’s decision, this Court’s cases
compel the conclusion that cigarette manufacturers cannot be
liable for the mere manufacture and sale of cigarettes, as
such a result would conflict with federal policy and
objectives.

Just three years ago, in Food & Drug Administration vy.
Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120 (2000),

10

this Court confirmed that Congress has so “foreclosed the
removal of tobacco products from the market” that cigarette
manufacturers must be allowed to sell their product.
Id. at 137. In that case, the Food and Drug Administration
(“FDA”) asserted that it had the authority to regulate tobacco
products. The Court resoundingly rejected this argument in
part because FDA regulations would have required a ban of
cigarette and smokeless tobacco sales, in contravention of
Congress’s determination that tobacco products must be
allowed to remain on the market in the interest of the
national economy. /d. at 137-38.

In the Court’s view, Congress had clearly demonstrated its
intent to permit the manufacture and sale of tobacco products
by providing in the United States-Code that “‘‘[t]he marketing
of tobacco constitutes one of the greatest basic industries of
the United States with ramifying activities which directly
affect interstate and foreign commerce at every point, and
stable conditions therein are necessary to the general
welfare.” Jd. at 137 (quoting 7 U.S.C. § 1311(a)). In
addition, Congress’s extensive regulation of tobacco
products, at a time when the potential ill-effects of tobacco
use were known, compelled the conclusion that Congress
meant to keep the products on the market:

When Congress enacted these statutes [regulating
tobacco], the adverse health consequences of tobacco use
were well known, as were nicotine’s pharmacological
effects. Nonetheless, Congress stopped well short of
ordering a ban. Instead, it has generally regulated the
labeling and advertisement of tobacco products, expressly
providing that it is the policy of Congress that “commerce
and the national economy may be.. . protected to the
maximum extent consistent with” consumers “being
adequately informed about any adverse health effects.”
15 U.S.C. § 1331. Congress’ decisions to regulate
labeling and advertising and to adopt the express policy
of protecting “commerce and the national economy to the

1]

maximum extent” reveal its intent that tobacco products
remain on the market. Indeed, the collective premise of
these statues is that cigarettes and smokeless tobacco will
continue to be sold in the United States. A ban of tobacco
products by the FDA would therefore plainly contradict
congressional policy.

Brown & Williamson, 529 U.S. at 138-39 (internal citations
omitted) (emphasis added).

. Only a few months after issuing its decision in Brown &
Williamson, indeed in the same Term, this Court also
concluded that States cannot undercut federal policy by
imposing tort liability on a manufacturing practice that
Congress has sanctioned in order to promote a_ national
objective.

Specifically, in Geier v. American Honda Motor
Company, 529 U.S. 861 (2000), Alexis Geier, who was
seriously injured after the Honda Accord she was driving
collided with a tree, sued Honda under state tort law
claiming that her injuries were the result of Honda’s failure
to include airbags or other passive restraint devices in the
car. Jd. at 865. The Court concluded that Geier’s “‘no
airbag’ lawsuit” was preempted because it “conflict[ed] with
the objectives of [federal regulations].” Jd. at 866.

If allowed to proceed, the Court explained, Geier’s claim
would have frustrated a federal regulatory scheme—namely,
Department of Transportation regulations that permitted
automobile manufacturers to install airbags, other Passive
restraints or manual restraint devices at their discretion. This
federal policy embodied the “judgment that safety would
best be promoted if manufacturers installed alternative
protection systems in their fleets rather than one particular
system in every car.” Jd. at 881 (quoting brief of United
States) (emphasis in original). But Geier’s tort action
“depend[ed] upon its claim that manufacturers had a duty to
install an airbag.” Jd. Geier’s suit thereby “presented an

12
obstacle to the variety and mix of devices that the federal
regulation sought,” and was preempted.

Taken together, Brown & Williamson and_ Geier
unambiguously demonstrate that any state law or rule that
permits the imposition of liability simply for the manufacture
and sale of cigarettes, without some specific defect in the
particular cigarette at issue, is preempted. Brown &
Williamson holds that, while tobacco products may be
extensively regulated, their manufacture and sale cannot be
prohibited in light of federal policy permitting cigarette
production as necessary to the national economy. Geer,
moreover, holds that state tort law is preempted and stands as
an obstacle to the fulfillment of federal policy objectives
when it imposes liability on a manufacturing practice that
Congress has sanctioned. Thus, together, these decisions
confirm that States cannot impose tort liability basea simply
on the manufacture and sale of cigarettes, because doing so
would conflict with Congress’s policy of allowing cigarette
sales to promote economic stability.

Kenyon was permitted to recover, however, precisely
under this rationale. Reynolds sought summary judgment, a
directed verdict, and special jury instructions on the ground
that Kenyon’s strict liability claim—a claim based. on
Reynolds’ participation in the cigarette industry—was
preempted. But the circuit court refused to even consider
this argument, rejecting it out of hand. Kenyon prosecuted
his case as if the issue were whether cigarettes are so
inherently dangerous that their manufacture and sale, without
more, violates tort law. The jury responded by finding
Reynolds liable on one claim only, this strict liability claim.

As a result, the trial court permitted Kenyon to recover on
the basis of the jury’s determination that cigarette
manufacturers have a duty to refrain from manufacturing and
selling cigarettes because cigarettes are mherently dangerous
and defective. But this determination effectively requires
cigarette manufacturers to stop making cigarettes or face

eel

ee

13 ~

staggering liability. As such, the tort liability imposed below
is an obstacle to the fulfillment of Congress’s policy to
regulate but ultimately permit the sale of tobacco products so
that “commerce and the national economy may be...
protected to the maximum extent.” 15 U.S.C. § 1331: Brown
& Williamson, 529 U.S. at 138-39.

Indeed, by affirming the jury’s decision to impose liability
for cigarette manufacturing and sales, the Florida Second
District Court of Appeal’s decision could effectively operate
as a de facto ban on cigarette products. Under its approach,
a manufacturer can be held liable, even if it adheres to every
Statute and regulation governing tobacco products and every
other duty imposed by tort law, simply because it sold a
lawful product, cigarettes. Only complete abstention from
the manufacture and sale of this product would satisfy the
lower court. As this Court has recognized, however, such a
de facto ban “would . . . plainly contradict congressional
policy.” Brown & Williamson, 529 U.S. at 138-39.

Because the Florida Second District Court of Appeal did
not provide reasons for its decision, it is difficult to discern
why it failed to follow Brown & Williamson and Geier.
Presumably, the lower court did not publish its views on the
issue because it fully endorsed Kenyon’s argument below.
That is, the lower court surely would have written ap opinion
if it intended to adopt a novel reason for its decision—
particularly one not addressed by the parties. Its failure to do
so thus strongly suggests that the court was persuaded by
Kenyon’s argument. Kenyon’s argument to the lower court,
however, is flatly contrary to this Court’s precedent.

In the Florida Second District Court of Appeal, Kenyon
argued that there is no conflict preemption doctrine in
tobacco cases, because all preemption issues in this area are
governed by this Court’s decision in Cipollone:

~The preemption doctrine does not concern cigarette design
but relates to restrictions on their advertising and

14

promotion. The controlling decision on the preemption of
state law tort claims against cigarette manufacturers is
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504, 112 S.Ct.
2608, 120 L.Ed.2d 407 (1992) (“Cipollone”). Cipollone
adopted a straightforward test for determining whether a
particular state law tort claim was preempted by federal
regulation of the tobacco industry.

Pet. App. 52a. Kenyon then characterized Cipollone as
requiring only one preemption inquiry in tobacco cases—
“whether the legal duty that is the predicate of the common-
law damages action constitutes a ‘requirement or prohibition
based on smoking and health . . . imposed under State law
with respect to . . . advertising or promotion.’” /d. (quoting
Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 523-24)). Kenyon’s counsel urged
the lower court to disregard conflict preemption principles,
claiming that “any argument that Reynolds might make that
these precedents are inapplicable because it is relying on
‘conflict preemption’ rather than express preemption has
been expressly foreclosed by no less an authority than the ;
United States Supreme Court—twice.” Pet. App. 53a.

For support, Kenyon cited this Court’s statement in
Cipollone that “[w]hen Congress has considered the issue of
pre-emption and has included in the enacted legislation a
provision explicitly addressing that issue,” the court need not
“infer congressional intent to pre-empt state laws from the
substantive provisions of the legislation,” and also cited
Cipollone’s statement that there is no “inherent conflict”
between “preemption of state warning requirements and the
continued viability of state-common law damage actions.”
Pet. App. 53a-54a (quoting Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 517,
518)). In addition, Kenyon’s counsel cited Freightliner
Corp. v. Myrick, 514 U.S. 280, 287-88 (1995), for the
proposition that this quoted language from Cipollone
“amounted to a blanket holding that implied or conflict
preemption could never exist when Congress had chosen to

15

include an express preemption clause in a statute.” Pet.
App. 54a.

Kenyon concluded: “In short, with respect to tobacco, the
doctrine of conflict preemption may not be used to extend
the preemption expressly provided by statute.” Jd. See also
id. at 16a-17a (making same argument to the circuit court).

This argument 1s demonstrably wrong.” This Court
considered in Geier the impact that express preemption
clauses and savings clauses have on conflict preemption
principles and concluded that the existence of an express
preemption provision, and even a savings clause, does not
preclude the application of conflict preemption principles:

Why, in any event, would Congress not have wanted
ordinary pre-emption principles to apply where an actual
conflict with a federal objective is at stake? Some such
principle is needed. In its absence, state law could impose
legal duties that would conflict directly with federal
regulatory mandates, say, by premising liability upon the

~

‘ In other proceedings, Kenyon’s counsel has argued that by denying
certoriari in Carter v Brown & Williamson Tobacco Co., 533 US. 950
(2001)—a case involving express preemption and the meaning of
Cipollone—this Court held that only express preemption applies in
tobacco cases. This argument is erroneous because Carter had nothing to
say about conflict preemption at all, see 778 So. 2d 932 (Fla. 2000), the
petitioner in Carter did not seek review of any conflict preemption issue,
and the Court’s decision to deny certiorari said nothing about the merits
of the Carter decision whatsoever. See Maryland v. Baltimore Radio
Show, Inc., 338 U.S. 912, 919 (1950) (opinion of Frankfurter, J..
respecting denial of the petition for certiorari) (Inasmuch. therefore, as
all that a denial of a petition for a writ of certiorari means is that fewer
than four members of the Court thought it should be granted, this Court
has rigorously insisted that such a denial carries with it no implication
whatever regarding the Court’s views on the merits of a case which it has
declined to review. The Court has said this again and again: again and
again the admonition has to be repeated.”).

16

presence of the very . . . requirements that federal law
requires.

529 U.S. at 871. Tellingly, Kenyon’s counsel never cited
Geier in its discussion of conflict preemption. Nor did
counsel explain why Geier should have no application in the
tobacco context. It is inescapable, however, that the Geier
decision completely eviscerates Kenyon’s argument below
and the lower court’s implied rationale.

Il. THE FLORIDA SECOND DISTRICT COURT OF
APPEAL’S DECISION IS INCONSISTENT WITH
THE DECISIONS OF EVERY OTHER COURT
THAT HAS CONSIDERED THE PREEMPTION
ISSUE.

By ignoring the holding in Geier that conflict preemption
principles apply to claims that fall outside of an express
preemption provision, and by upholding the imposition of
tort liability on Reynolds solely for manufacturing a product
that Congress permits to be manufactured, the lower court
radically departed from the preemption principles adopted by
every other court that has considered these issues to date.

As an initial matter, since Geier was decided, the federal
courts of appeal and state courts of last resort have uniformly
rejected the argument advanced by Kenyon’s counsel and
implicitly adopted by the Florida Second District Court of
Appeal that an express preemption provision bars the
application of conflict preemption principles. See, e.g.,
Oxygenated Fuels Ass’n v. Davis, 331 F.3d 665, 670 (9th
Cir. 2003) (recognizing that just because action was not
expressly preempted “nevertheless does not entirely
foreclose any possibility of implied preemption”) (internal
quotations and citation omitted); Fisher v. Ford Motor Co.,
224 F.3d 570, 573 (6th Cir. 2000) (interpreting Geier to
mean that despite the existence of an express preemption
provision, “ordinary preemption principles nevertheless can
apply to bar a suit against a manufacturer”); James v. Mazda

17

Motor Corp., 222 F.3d 1323, 1326 (11th Cir. 2000) (holding
that regardless of existence of express preemption provision
and savings clause “courts should apply normal implied
preemption principles to determine if a State common law
action stands as an obstacle to the accomplishment and
execution of the full purposes and objectives of Congress”)
(internal quotations and citation omitted): Choate v.
Champion Home Builders Co., 222 F.3d 788. 794 (10th Cir.
2000) (“The presence of an express preemption provision .. .
does not, by itself, foreclose an implied preemption
analysis.”); Hurley v. Motor Coach Indus., Inc., 222 F.3d
377, 381 (7th Cir. 2000) (holding that even though “the
Act’s express preemption provision did not preempt the
suit... ordinary preemption principles continue to apply to
this area”); Great Dane Trailers, Inc. v. Estate of Wells, 52
S.W.3d 737, 741 (Tex. 2001) (same).

Significantly, apart from the Florida Second District Court
of Appeal, the lower courts have also uniformly held that
States cannot impose tort liability on a product or practice
that Congress has sanctioned. Even prior to Geier, the
federal courts of appeal and state courts of last resort
uniformly recognized that States could not impose a de facto
ban on products, even dangerous ones, that Congress
sanctions.

In the hazardous waste field, for example, federal and
State courts uniformly recognize that States may regulate but
cannot prohibit certain non-land-based methods of hazardous
waste disposal, because Congress provided in the Resource
Conservation and Recovery Act (“RCRA”), 42 U.S.C.

§ 6902(a)(1), that federal policy encourages such disposal. -

See Hermes Consol. Inc. y. People, 849 P.2d 1302, 1311
(Wyo. 1993) (“[A]lthough [RCRA] allows states to adopt
more stringent regulations, it does not authorize them to
defeat safe federal solutions... . [or] to directly subvert
RCRA and [EPA] decisions by outright bans on activities
federal authorities considered safe.”) (internal quotations

18

omitted); Jacksonville v. Ark. Dep’t of Pollution Control &
Ecology, 824 S.W.2d 840, 842 (Ark. 1992) (holding that
RCRA preempted city ordinance because the local measure
frustrated RCRA’s “preference for treatment rather than land
disposal of hazardous waste’); ENSCO, Inc. v. Dumas, 807
F.2d 743, 745 (8th Cir. 1986) (“A county cannot. . . arrogate
to itself the power to enact a measure that as a practical
matter cannot function other than to subvert federal policies
concerning the safe handling of hazardous waste.”); Rollins
Envtl. Servs. of La. v. Iberville Parish Police Jury, 371
So. 2d 1127, 1132 (La. 1979) (same).

Similarly, in the mining context, the courts have
uniformly held that state laws prohibiting mining activities
on public lands conflict with federal law and are preempted
in light of Congress’s policy of encouraging the free and
open exploration of public tands for valuable mineral
deposits. 30 U.S.C. § 22; see also United States v. Coleman,
390 U.S. 599, 602 (1968) (observing that intent of 30 U.S.C.
§ 22 1s to reward and encourage the discovery of minerals on
public lands); South Dakota Mining Ass’n v. Lawrence
County, 155 F.3d 1005, 1011 (8th Cir. 1998) (local laws
were preempted because they “completely frustrat[e] the
accomplishment of . . . federally encouraged activities. A
local government cannot prohibit a lawful use of the
sovereign’s land that the superior sovereign itself permits
and encourages.”’).

Since Geier was decided, the federal courts of appeals
have made clear that this rule applies even when States seek
not to ban a product or practice outright, but to impose tort
liability on the federally-sanctioned product or practice. In
Griffith v. General Motors Corp., 303 F.3d 1276 (11th Cir.
2002), cert. denied, 123 S. Ct. 1953 (2003), for example, the
Eleventh Circuit held that automobile makers could not be
liable under strict liability principles for manufacturing an
allegedly dangerous pickup truck that had only a lap belt in
its center seat. Jd. at 1280-82. Citing Geier, the court

ea Sa okra aire Bi pivies ubs: Shae

itn ait ios Nie i

19

reasoned that the claim conflicted with federal standards
expressly permitting such a lap belt design, and that “[i]f
successful, [plaintiff's] suit would foreclose an option
specifically permitted by [federal regulations]. Therefore, it
conflicts with that federal law and is impliedly preempted.”
Id. at 1282. See also James v. Mazda Motor Corp., 222 F.3d
1323 (11th Cir. 2000) (holding same with respect to claim
that automobile’s design was inherently dangerous because it
contained manual lap belt).

Similarly, the Seventh Circuit, also relying on Geier, has
recognized that state tort law cannot impose liability on a
product that, as a matter of federal policy, must be permitted
on the market. See Hurley v. Motor Coach Indus. Inc., 222
F.3d 377 (7th Cir. 2000). In Hurley, the court of appeals
concluded that a bus manufacturer could not be liable under
State tort law for failing to include in a bus a knee bolster, a
three-point seat belt, an airbag, and a steel cage around the
driver’s area. Jd. at 380. As a matter of policy, federal
regulators “with specific policy objectives in mind” had left
“to bus manufacturers” decisions about how to install
Passenger protection systems. Jd. at 382. Because Geier
required the preemption of state tort law whenever it “would
undermine [a] policy objective” of the Federal Government,
id. at 382, state law could not impose liability for the design
choice of a bus manufacturer that Congress had sanctioned.
Thus, in the face of Geier, the federal circuit courts agree
that state tort law is preempted when it would allow
manufacturers to be held liable for creating a product or
utilizing a manufacturing practice that Congress provides
must be permitted in order to achieve some policy goal.

Applying these same principles, numerous lower courts
have held that cigarette manufacturers cannot be subject to
strict liability simply for producing and selling cigarettes. In
Insolia v. Philip Morris Inc., 128 F. Supp. 2d 1220 (W.D.
Wis. 2000), for example, the court dismissed the claim that
“it is actionable negligence for defendants to continue to

20

&
ade
a
eI
aN
S
s
<
4
3
¢

manufacture and sell cigarettes once they realized the danger

that cigarettes posed.” Jd. at 1224. Citing Brown &
Williamson, the court observed that “[a] holding to that

effect would run afoul of the congressional policy that the

sale of cigarettes is legal.” Jd. at 1223. And citing Geier, the :
court noted that “[i]f Congress gives express sanction to an |
activity, the [S]tates cannot declare that activity tortious.”
Id. at 1224. In addition, it rejected the argument that conflict
preemption principles do not apply to tobacco claims:

Plaintiffs are correct that there is no law or regulation that
preempts their claim that it is actionable negligence for
defendants to continue to manufacture and sell cigarettes
once they realized the danger that cigarettes posed. What |
preempts their claim is Congress’s considered decision 0
that the sale of cigarettes is not only not illegal but part of fs
a market the government supports. Just as it would have
interfered with the federal government’s policy on air
bags to allow state tort actions against automobile
manufacturers who relied on the safety standard to omit
air bags from their vehicles, allowing tort actions against
cigarette manufacturers and sellers for the allegedly
negligent act of continuing to make and sell cigarettes
would interfere with Congress’s policy in favor of
keeping cigarettes on the market.

Id. at 1224-25 (internal citations omitted).

Similarly, in Cruz-Vargas v. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co.,
218 F. Supp. 2d 109 (D.P.R. 2002), aff'd on other grounds,
No. 02-2688, 2003 WL 22434631 (Ist Cir. Oct. 28, 2003),
the court rejected the argument that cigarette manufacturers
could be liable under tort law for the “inherent[ly dangerous]
characteristics of tobacco and cigarettes.” Jd. at 117. Citing
Brown & Williamson, the court observed that “Congress has
foreclosed the removal of tobacco products from the
market.” /d. at 118. And citing Geier, it recognized that tort
actions could not “interfere with Congress’s policy in favor
of keeping cigarettes on the market.” /d. (internal citations

LS

21
and quotations omitted). Taken together, the court
concluded, these cases compelled the conclusion that
“[dJefendant Reynolds cannot be held liable under Puerto
Rico law simply because it manufactures and sells cigarettes.
Therefore, to the extent that Plaintiffs seek to impose tort
liability against Defendant Reynolds merely for
manufacturing and selling cigarettes, we find Plaintiffs’
clains to be preempted.” Jd.: see also DuJack v. Brown &
Williamson Tobacco Corp., No. X07-00728225-S, slip op. at
4, 6-7 (Conn. Super. Ct. Nov. 13, 2001) (granting directed
verdict on claim that cigarettes were defectively designed
because they contain nicotine; courts cannot “impose
liabilities... merely for engaging in [the] activity of
smoking, selling and using cigarettes” because Congress has
determined that these are legal activities) (attached hereto.
Pet. App. 57a-62a). The Florida court’s decision thus
conflicts with the reasoning adopted by every federal court
of appeal interpreting Geier and the decisions of federal and
state courts considering the precise issue here.

Ill. THIS COURT’S IMMEDIATE REVIEW OF THE
IMPORTANT QUESTION PRESENTED IS
NECESSARY TO PROTECT FEDERAL POLICY
AND SUPREME COURT PRECEDENT.

This Court’s review is appropriate not only to correct an
erroneous decision on an important federal question but to
safeguard federal policy and this Court’s Jurisprudence.

There can be no real debate that the question presented
raises issues of tremendous national importance. Congress
recognizes tobacco manufacturing as “one of the greatest
basic industries of the United States.” 7 US.C. §1311(a).
This Court, moreover, has observed that preemption issues
concerning tobacco suits have “manifest importance.”
Cippolone, 505 U.S. at 509. Indeed, legal issues surrounding
the tobacco industry are so important to the national
economy and thousands of pending suits that this Court has
not hesitated to review them even absent a split of authority

22

on the underlying legal question. See generally Brown &
Williamson, 529 U.S. at 130 (considering tobacco regulation
by FDA absent a split of authority on the issue).

Review is particularly appropriate here. Absent this
Court’s immediate intervention, the lower court’s decision
could seriously undercut federal policy by effectively
causing a de facto ban on tobacco sales in the State of
Florida. There are literally thousands of cases pending in
Florida that raise the same preempted strict liability claim on
which Kenyon prevailed, and of these, many are being
prosecuted by the same attorneys here. A sizeable number of
these cases, moreover, are pending in the circuit courts
within the jurisdiction of the Florida Second District Court of
Appeal.

No doubt emboldened by their victory in the lower court,
Kenyon’s attorneys will likely continue to argue, wrongly,
that conflict preemption principles do not apply in tobacco
cases. Indeed, since this case was decided, plaintiff's
counsel has successfully argued this erroneous theory of
preemption in another Florida trial against Reynolds,
demonstrating that the Florida courts’ erroneous view of
preemption will persist absent this Court’s intervention. See
Hall v. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co., No. 00-1061, slip op. at
1-2 (Fla. 13th Jud. Cir. Oct. 1, 2003). Given their potential
liability for every cigarette sale in the State, cigarette
manufacturers would face severe pressure to discontinue
cigarette sales in Florida, raising the very threat to the
national economy that Congress sought to avoid.

This Court’s review is, indeed, essential in light of the
lower court’s attempt to shield its decision from the Florida
Supreme Court and prevent a true split of authority from
ever developing on the question presented. Under the
Florida Constitution, the Florida Supreme Court has no
jurisdiction to review per curiam decisions of the District
Courts of Appeal when the appellate court does not issue an
opinion. See Fla. Const. art 5, § 3(b)(3); Jenkins v. Florida,

Pron tr arta

23

385 So. 2d 1356, 1359 (Fla. 1980) (“[T]he Supreme Court of
Florida lacks jurisdiction to review per curiam decisions of
the several district courts of appeal of this [S]tate rendered
without opinion.”). As a result, absent intervention by this
Court, the Florida courts can insulate decisions that are
contrary to this Court’s precedent, federal law, and the
jurisprudence of every other court by refusing to issue an
opinion.

That is precisely what occurred here. Even though
Reynolds appealed the conflict preemption issue and
demonstrated that Kenyon’s claim was flatly contrary to
federal policy, the Florida Second District Court of Appeal
affirmed the circuit court in a one-word per curiam order.
Pet. App. 2a. Moreover, it denied Reynolds’ request for the
issuance of an opinion so that the Florida Supreme Court
could consider the issue. Jd. at la. By doing so, the court
effectively prevented the Florida Supreme Court from either
correcting its error or issuing a decision that would have
cleanly split with the federal courts of appeal about the
meaning of Geier and conflict preemption. Thus, unless this
Court intervenes, the Florida courts will be allowed to flout
this Court’s decisions and federal policy due to a procedural
anomaly specific to the State. See Florida v. Rodriguez, 469
U.S. 1, 5 (1984) (reversing Florida District Court of Appeal
after court issued one word order affirming superior court
that prevented state high court review, where lower court’s
decision clearly misread and misapplied this Court’s
precedents). Los

The Florida court’s decision is so clearly contrary to this
Court’s precedent that summarily disposing of this petition
in Reynolds’ favor would be appropriate. See Sup. Ct.
R. 16.1. A summary reversal order is called for where “the
lower court result is so clearly erroneous, particularly if there
is controlling Supreme Court precedent to the contrary, that
full briefing and argument would be a waste of time.” Stern
& Gressman, supra, at 315-16.

: 24

This Court has not hesitated to exercise its summary
disposition power in cases involving egregious and
demonstrable errors by lower courts.’ Nor has the Court

3 In the past ten years, the Court has exercised its summary reversal
power in over fifty cases. See, e.g., Mitchell v. Esparza, No. 02-1369,
slip op. at 1 (Nov. 3, 2003): Yarborough v. Gentry, No. 02-1597. slip op.
at 9-11 (Oct. 20, 2003): Citizens Bank v. Alafabco, Inc., 123 S. Ct. 2037,
2040-41; (2003): City of Los Angeles v. David, 123 S. Ct. 1895, 1896
(2003): Woodford v. Visciotti, 537 U.S. 19, 20 (2002): Early v. Packer,
537 U.S. 3, 4 (2002): INS v. Ventura, 537 U.S. 12, 14 (2002); Stewart v.
Smith, 536 U.S. 856, 861 (2002); United States v. Bass, 536 U.S. 862,
864 (2002): Kirk v. Louisiana, 536 U.S. 635, 635-36 (2002): Horn v.
Banks, 536 U.S. 266, 267 (2002); Sao Paulo State of Federative Rep. of
Braz. v. Am. Tobacco Co., Inc., 535 U.S. 229, 232-33 (2002): Arkansas
v. Sullivan, 532 U.S. 769, 771 (2001); Major League Baseball Players
Ass'n v. Garvey, 532 U.S. 504, 505 (2001): Clark County Sch. Dist. v.
Breeden, 532 U.S. 268, 271 (2001); Ohio v. Reiner, 532 U.S. 17, 18
(2001): Fiore v. White, 531 U.S. 225, 228-29 (2001): Adarand
Constructors, Inc. v. Slater, 528 U.S. 216, 222-24 (2000): Texas v.
Lesage, 528 U.S. 18, 22 (1999): Flippo v. West Virginia, 528 U.S. 11, 12
(1999): Maryland v. Dyson, 527 U.S. 465, 465 (1999); Cent. State Univ.
v. Am. Ass'n of Univ. Professors, Cent. State Univ. Chapter, 526 U.S.
124, 127-29 (1999): Stewart v. LaGrand, 526 U.S. 115, 118-21 (1999):
Roberts v. Galen of Va., Inc., 525 U.S. 249, 250 (1999): Calderon v.
Coleman, 525 U.S. 141, 145-47 (1998): New Mexico, ex rel. Ortiz v.
Reed, 524 U.S. 151, 153-55 (1998): Hetzel v. Prince William County,
Virginia, 523 U.S. 208, 211-12 (1998): City of Monroe v. United States.
522 U.S. 34, 35 (1997): Pounders v. Watson, 521 U.S. 982, 983 (1997):
Mazurek v. Armstrong, 520 U.S. 968, 971-76 (1997); Lambert v.
Wicklund, 520 U.S. 292, 293 (1997); Bibles v. Oregon Natural Desert
Ass'n, 519 U.S. 355, 355-56 (1997); United States v. Watts, 519 U.S.
148, 149 (1997): Greene v. Georgia, 519 U.S. 145, 145-47 (1996):
United States v. Jose, 519 U.S. 54, 57-58 (1996); Pennsylvania v.
Labron, 518 U.S. 938, 938 (1996); Calderon v. Moore, 518 U.S. 149,
150-51 (1996): Leavitt v. Jane L., 518 U.S. 137, 138 (1996): Dalton v.
Little Rock Family Planning Servs., 516 U.S. 474, 475-76 (1996); Wood
v. Bartholomew, 516 U.S. 1, 2 (1995): Purkett v. Elem, 514 U.S. 765,
769 (1995): United States v. Robertson, 514 U.S. 669, 671-72 (1995):
Goeke v. Branch, 514 U.S. 115, 120-21 (1995): Duncan v. Henry, 513
U.S. 364, 365-66 (1995): Stansbury v. California, 511 U.S. 318, 325-27
(1994): Burden v. Zant, 510 U.S. 132, 133-34 (1994): El Vocero de
Puerto Rico (Caribbean Int’l News Corp.) v. Puerto Rico, 508 U.S. 147,

25

ever limited its exercise of summary disposition power to
criminal cases, summarily disposing of cases where the
underlying suit involves legal principles that affect civil,
rather than criminal, liability. See Alafabco, 123 S. Ct. at
2040-41 (arbitration dispute); Major League Baseball
Players Ass'n, 532 U.S. at 505 (arbitration); Breeden, 532
U.S. at 27] (employment discrimination); Village of
Willowbrook vy. Olecho, 528 U.S. 562, 565 (2000) (easement
dispute); Cent. State Univ. y. Am. Ass’n of Univ. Professors,
526 U.S. at 127-28 (statutory interpretation).

In addition, Summary disposition is not a device limited to
reversing the federal courts of appeals, but is routinely
applied by this Court to state court decisions where, as here,
the state court disregarded Supreme Court precedent. See
Alafabco, 123 S.Ct. at 2040-41 (summarily reversing
decision of Alabama Supreme Court that misapplied
Supreme Court Jurisprudence interpreting the Federal
Arbitration Act): Bunkley v. Florida, 123 S. Ct. 2020, 2023-
24 (2003) (summarily vacating Florida Supreme Court
decision as inconsistent with Fiore y. White, 531 U.S. 225
(2001)); Kaupp v. Texas, 123 S. Ct. 1843, 1847-48 (2003)
(summarily vacating Texas intermediate court decision as
contrary to Court’s Fourth Amendment jurisprudence); Kirk,
536 U.S. at 636 (summarily reversing Louisiana intermediate
court decision as inconsistent with Payton v. New York, 445
U.S. 573 (1980)).

149-51 (1993): United States v. Padilla, 508 U.S. 77, 81-82 (1993): Delo

v. Lashley, 507 U.S. 272, 277-80 (1993): United States vy. Nachtigal, 507
U.S. 1, 5-6 (1993): Dobbs v. Zant, 506 U.S. 357, 358-60 (1993).

Indeed, just days before this petition was filed, the Court summarily
reversed a decision of the Sixth C ircuit—the second summary reversal of
the Term. See Esparza, No. 02-1369, slip op. at 1.

26

This is true even when the lower court is a state
intermediate court that has failed to apply Supreme Court
precedent. See Kaupp, 123 S.Ct. at 1847-48 (vacating
decision of intermediate Texas court); Kirk, 536 U.S. at 636
(reversing decision of Louisiana intermediate court); Dyson,
527 U.S. at 466 (summarily reversing intermediate Maryland
court); Newsweek, Inc. v. Fla. Dep’t Revenue, 522 U.S. 442,
443-44 (1998) (summarily vacating decision of the Florida
District Court of Appeal); Rodriguez, 469 U.S. at 5
(summarily reversing one-word order of Florida District
Court of Appeal).

In light of the thousands of pending cases in Florida
raising the issue here, the clear error of the Florida Second
District Court_of Appeal and the need to protect federal
policy, this Court’s review, as well as its summary
disposition of this case, is essential.

CONCLUSION

The petition should be granted, and either the Florida
Second District Court of Appeal’s decision should be
summarily reversed or the Court should hear argument on
the question presented.

Respectfully submitted,

~BENJAMIN H. HILL, III ROBERT H. KLONOFF

HILL, WARD & HENDERSON (Counsel of Record)

101 East Kennedy Blvd. STEPHANIE E, PARKER

Suite 3700 TRACI L. LOVITT

Tampa, FL 33602 JONES DAY

($13) 221-3900 51 Louisiana Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001

Of Counsel (202) 879-3939

Counsel for R.J. Reynolds
November 2003 Tobacco Company

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2389%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
