# Opposition Brief — Enterprise Rent-A-Car Co. v. Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2248%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 1089

## Text

No. 03-536

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

ENTERPRISE RENT-A-CAR COMPANY,

Petitioner,

WV.

ADVANTAGE RENT-A-CAR, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Federal Circuit

+

RESPONDENT?’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

+

DEBORA B. ALSUP

Counsel of Record

WILLIAM D. RAMAN
THOMPSON & KNIGHT, L.L.P.
98 San Jacinto Boulevard
Suite 1900

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 469-6100

Counsel for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO) (800) 225 6964
K CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2451

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The Petition accurately lists the parties to the pro-
ceeding.

Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc. is a fully-owned subsidi-
ary of Walker Resources, Inc., a privately held Texas
corporation.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Parties to the ProceeGi@viicicicccseccsioeeeeeeeee 1
Table of Contents.........<:s<:00se0ceneneualne ee il
Table of Authorities ..................... iiatice nahn aaaae iv
Opinions Below........«:+v»s0sxssiessegsedeeena anaes aaa 1
Statement of the Came ....csiesss0s0saee eee 1
Reasons for Denying the WTit...................cseceecseceeeees 7

i.

IT.

Ill.

IV.

The Intent And Purpose Of The Lanham Act
Is, In Part, To Provide A Registration And
Notice System For Trademark Owners That
Secures Rights Free From Interference By
State Or Territorial Legislation; Enterprise’s
Position Is Totally Contrary To That Intent
And PUPDOOO «.0sicccccssemseeeneeee

Enterprise’s Argument That State Dilution
Was Added As A Basis For Opposition And
Cancellation Is Not Supported By The Con-
gressional Record Or By Logic...................066

Enterprises Attempts To Analogize The
FTDA To Trademark Common Law Are Mis-
guided And Would Wreak Havoc On Trade-
mark Jurisprudence If Foliowed..... roisuamumtlee

The Present Action Is Illustrative Of The
Potential For Endless, Successive Litigation
That Enterprise’s Theories Would Engender;
The Federal Circuit Prop2rly Rejected Such
TROT IOB «...0000500000sernceereceeenenienene

12

16

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued
Page

V. Enterprise’s Criticism Of The Federal Cir-
cuit’s Reference To The Concurrent Use Pro-
visions Of The Lanham Act Demonstrates
Enterprise’s Misunderstanding Of Trade-
mark Law And The Lanham Act.................... 22

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES CITED:

Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc. v. Enterprise Rent-A-
Car Co., A98CA 372 (W.D. Tex. Oct. 25, 1999)........ 1, 2,3

Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc. v. Enterprise Rent-A-
Car Co., 238 F.3d 378, 57 USPQ.2d 1561 (5th Cir.

EF cocdesaacaeh coerce pheevasaeemacresniaeseaeasureucaoaaes 1, 6, 19, 21
Babson Brothers Co. v. Surge Power Corp., 39

RFE. Be CE ARID BOD os cccrnssaceisinxecancenvontvanennientenin 13
Geo. A. Dickel Co. v. General Mills, Inc., 317 F.2d

954, 137 USPQ 891 (CCPA 1963) .........c...secersesssessoees 9,13
Hanover Star Milling Co. v. Metcalf, 240 U.S. 403,

36 S.Ct. 357, 60 L.Ed. 713 (1916) .........0cessessesseors 7, 16, 22

K2 Corp. v. Philip Morris, Inc., 192 USPQ 174
(TTAB 1976), aff’d, 555 F.2d 815, 194 USPQ 81

“8 2 | 7 g ) Sain on ance nnn Gilaccceaemaeencnes 9,13
Max Factor & Co. v. Clairol, Inc., 163 USPQ 240

a MEE iisasichvaviasdichatenianscatacinaeaaokien 9,13
Moseley v. V. Secret Catalogue, Inc., 537 U.S. 418,

123 S.Ct. 1115, 155 L.Ed.2d 1, 12 (2003)................... 7,17
Qualitex Co. v. Jacobson Products Co., 514 U.S.

159, 131 L.Ed.2d 248, 115 S.Ct. 1300 (1995)................. 17
Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337, 117 S.Ct.

BGT, LOG Le Be ee Oe (LED vevvnsvcssexciycertecennvevenesansesssoves 18
U.S. v. Ron Pair Enters., Inc., 489 U.S. 235, 109

S.Ct. 1026, 103 L..d.2d ZOO (19GB) ..essecccercsersesennsenessrees 18

Viacom, Inc. v. Ingram Enterprises, Inc., 141 F.3d
ee Ce Gt, EE cd cencusoncachacvencsstassnsscndsacsuvedseniaaveiancsian 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
STATUTES CITED: |
BS UBC. © BOGE wircceceressntansmiecccbintesseastinnstanedceanannias 8
BG UAL, © BB Biv censesvsissessectcanctanreearccmnmannmnas 8
TB ULGAS. © TDG) vcsevecestsncvisesvdacessesetorncassssuelonaatan aaa 23
16 UBC. S UG Biscideseressnixicdsitrnocesenaenagaaae 8
15 UB. 9 TOE x civiscrstnantscivcicomanneneaee ae 8
16 UG. I cinco 5, 7,9, 10, 12
15 U.BAG. 5 WG vvsscscccccticoemiiannannnenraene 5, 7, 9, 10
15 UB. FAG wv csvcssscssisensesnsanimnsminenmanmaaernaa 16
15 U.S.C. © SARS TIS svcsssccenncsnsrcsvennsprereccieeronnetannaaein 16
16 USS. D Tae ict codssnninnkennaen passim
BS URAC. 6 TAGE vissiserstescccersemcnmamenienecanaeaa 7, 8,12
Pub. L. No. 106-43, 113 Stat. 218...........0.... 5, 10, 13, 14, 15

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

House Congressional Report (H.R. Rep. No. 250,
106th Comm., 106 BOG8. CERIO Pivcicisisernsveeecnennn 15

OPINIONS BELOW

The Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (“TTAB”) and
the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals (“Federal Circuit”)
correctly decided that Enterprise’s opposition based on the
Federal Trademark Dilution Act (“FTDA”), Section 43(c) of
the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c), was barred by res
judicata. Opinions from prior litigation between these
same parties rendered by the United States District Court
for the Western District of Texas (“Western District”) and
by the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
(“Fifth Circuit”) precluded Enterprise’s opposition. See,
Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc. v. Enterprise Rent-A-Car Co.,A
98CA 372, slip. op. at 1 (W.D. Tex. Oct. 25, 1999), and
Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc. v. Enterprise Rent-A-Car Co.,
238 F.3d 378, 57 USPQ.2d 1561 (5th Cir. 2001). The
opinion of the Western District is attached in the Respon-
dent’s Appendix at pp. 6 to 23. The opinion of the Fifth
Circuit is attached in the Respondent’s Appendix at pp. 24
to 31. Indeed, Enterprise made essentially the same
arguments concerning the FTDA to the Western District
that it now presents to this Court, and failed to re-urge
them on appeal to the Fifth Circuit. This raises a serious
question of whether it was entitled to re-raise them to the
TTAB or the Federal Circuit, and whether it is entitled to
present them to this Court.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent disagrees strongly with Petitioner’s
presentation of the so-called “undisputed background
facts.” Petition for Writ of Certiorari at pp. 2-5. Petitioner’s
rendition is often unsupported by the record, mischarac-
terizes facts, and, in part, is flatly inaccurate.

Enterprise had its full day in court on the issue of
dilution under the FTDA in 1999 during which Enterprise
was afforded every opportunity to prove that its mark was
“famous.” Enterprise could not prove that its slogan “We'll
Pick You Up” had the requisite recognition to be accorded
the same protection under dilution theories as marks such
as KODAK, EXXON, STEINWAY cr BUICK. Petitioner’s
misstatement of the facts is representative of its continu-
ing attempt to relitigate that which it has already lost.
This Petition illustrates the mischief that Enterprise’s
theories would wreak, if accepted.

At least as early as 1990, Advantage began using the
slogan “We'll Even Pick You Up” ito identify and distin-
guish its rental car services from the services of others.
The slogan has been promoted through v in a television
advertisement that aired primarily on the San Antonio
Spurs Network and, more recently, on sports programming
on the Fox Sports Network. Respondent’s Appendix at p. 8.
Contrary to Petitioner’s representation, see Petition for
Writ of Certiorari at p. 3, Enterprise’s own trial exhibit
demonstrated that the advertisement had been aired in
every year since its first use in 1990 until trial. Enter-
prise’s Trial Exhibit 7, Respondent’s Appendix at p. 33.

Advantage and Enterprise are direct competitors in
the rental car industry. Four years after Advantage began
use of its slogan and during the peak of Advantage’s use,
Enterprise began use of the composite slogan “Pick Enter-
prise. We'll Pick You Up.” Respondent’s Appendix at pp. 8-
9; see Enterprise’s Trial Exhibit 7, Respondent’s Appendix
at p. 33. Contrary to Enterprise’s representation, see Petition
for Writ of Certiorari at p. 1, Enterprise introduced no
trademark search into evidence and no opinion of counsel.
Moreover, it is almost inconceivable that managers for

3

Enterprise working in the broadcast area of the San
Antonio Spurs Network (which extends throughout Texas
and into surrounding states and which testimony at trial
demonstrated was available by satellite throughout the
United States) were unaware of the use by Advantage — a
direct competitor — of its slogan. For Enterprise, who was
the second party to use the slogans at issue, to try to
characterize Advantage as the “copyist” is disingenuous, at
best.

Enterprise, in its “undisputed background facts,” tries
to attach a negative inference (as “undisputed”) to the
meeting of Advantage’s management and lawyers in 1997.
Petition for Writ of Certiorari at p. 3. The Western District,
who heard all the witnesses and judged their credibility,
attached the most logical inference to that meeting — that
it was held by Advantage to determine whether Advantage
could take action against the second-comer Enterprise. As
noted by the Western District: “In January 1997, Advan-
tage discussed this use by Enterprise at an executive
meeting, but Advantage did not take any action at that
time.” Respondent’s Appendix at p. 10. Advantage was first
in time and first in rights.

At trial, Enterprise had every opportunity to present
evidence to show that its slogan was famous, or even
sufficiently distinctive under state law, but failed. Enter-
prise mischaracterizes the Western District’s treatment of
Enterprise’s survey evidence by asserting that the Western
District found that Enterprise “missed the mark by 0.4%.”
Petition for Writ of Certiorari at p. 4. To the contrary, the
Western District noted that the survey (which was com-
pleted in 1999) was a highly aided survey that prompted
the respondents with Enterprise’s name and the slogan at
issue. As a result, the Western District observed that the

4

survey provided no indication of the real level of recogni-
tion that the slogan would have enjoyed without such
prompting. Respondent’s Appendix at p. 19. At that time,
Enterprise had spent over 100 million dollars on its
advertising, but the advertising has always emphasized
Enterprise and not the slogan. The effect of this emphasis
is reflected by the fact that despite the aided nature of
Enterprise’s survey, recognition of the slogan with Enter-
prise did not even make the 50% threshold viewed by some
as a bare minimum for asserting fame.

Enterprise’s assertions of having spent another 150
million dollars are unsupported by any evidence that has
been subjected to cross-examination or scrutiny as .o the
effect of such efforts. In short, the slogan was not famous
in 1999 and there has been no cogent evidence or finding
that it is famous today.

Significantly, in May 1999, prior to trial, Enterprise
stipulated that the respective uses of the respective
slogans was not likely to cause confusion anywhere in the
United States — thereby disposing of Advantage’s and
Enterprise’s trademark infringement and unfair competi-
tion claims against each other throughout the United
States. See the Partial Consent Judgment at Respondent’s
Appendix 1 to 4: This stipulation left only Enterprise’s
dilution counts in the litigation.

Advantage thereafter filed a motion for summary
judgment on the dilution claims under the FTDA. In
responding to Advantage’s motion for summary judgment
on the FTDA, Enterprise presented the identical argu-
ments to the district court concerning the construction of
the word “begins” in the FTDA and possible territorial
application of the FTDA as a reason why all relief under

5

the FTDA should not be denied. The Western District took
this motion under advisement and ultimately denied it as
moot in view of the district court’s denial of all relief under
the FTDA because Enterprise’s mark was not sufficiently
distinctive or famous.

Enterprise appealed the decision of the Western
District to the Fifth Circuit and raised issues attacking
the findings and conclusions of the district court relative
to the FTDA. Enterprise, however, failed to reiterate its
arguments concerning the possible territorial application
of the FTDA as a ground for reversal of or limitation of the
total denial of all relief under the FTDA.

On August 5, 1999, amendments to Sections 13 and 14
of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1063 and 1064, to allow
assertion of the FTDA as grounds for opposition and/or
cancellation became effective as law. Trademark Amend-
ments Act of 1999, Pub. L. No. 106-43, 113 Stat. 218
(hereinafter often referred to as the “Trademark Amend-
ments Act of 1999”).

On August 15, 2000, Advantage’s trademark applica-
tion, which had been filed in 1999, was published for
opposition. On August 18, 2000, Enterprise concurrently
filed its notice of opposition to Advantage’s application
alleging dilution under the FTDA as its only basis for the
opposition. Enterprise concurrently moved to stay the
opposition on the grounds that the disposition by the Fifth
Circuit of Enterprise’s FTDA dilution claim would be
“dispositive” of the opposition.

In doing so, Enterprise represented to the TTAB that
the opposition should be stayed because the issues upon
which the opposition was based were duplicative of and
identical to the issues that had been tried and were on
appeal to the Fifth Circuit. Hence, Enterprise represented

6

that the decision of the Fifth Circuit would be (and was)
dispositive of the dilution issues in the opposition.

On January 22, 2001, the Fifth Circuit affirmed the
district court’s holding that Enterprise’s slogan is not
sufficiently famous (even in the relevant niche market) for
protection under the FTDA. Respondent’s Appendix at p.
24-31; Advantage Rent-A-Car, 238 F.3d at 381.

After Enterprise lost its case under the FTDA before
the Fifth Circuit, it failed to file a Petition for Writ of
Certiorari thereby rendering all matters in the litigation
final. Notwithstanding this result, Enterprise has now
tried to resurrect before the TTAB the same arguments
regarding construction of the FTDA that it tried on the
Western District. It also moved for leave to add state
dilution claims to its opposition (with absolutely no sup-
porting authority). The TTAB denied Enterprise’s motion
for leave to amend to add state law dilution claims as a
ground for opposition and granted summary judgment
dismissing Enterprise’s opposition with prejudice on the
grounds of res judicata.

On appeal, the Federal Circuit affirmed the decision of
the TTAB finding Enterprise’s argument to be contrary to
the clear intent of the FTDA that any prior use defeats a
claim of dilution as a ground for opposition.

In short, the copyist Enterprise had its day in court
and lost. Notwithstanding its loss, Enterprise has improp-
erly sought a second bite of the apple and has lost again.
This litigation should be concluded.

¢

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The decision of the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals is
consistent with the expressly stated intent of the Lanham
Act “to protect registered marks ... from interference by
State, or territorial legislation,” 15 U.S.C. § 1127. It is also
consistent with the plain language of the Lanham Act and
the FTDA which allows opposition and cancellation
proceedings based on dilution only “under Section 43(c),”
15 U.S.C. §§ 1063 and 1064; and which provides dilution
protection under the FTDA only if the mark at issue is
famous before a defendant “begins” use, 15 U.S.C.
§ 1125(c). Moreover, the decision comports with fundamen-
tal public policy. The Federal Circuit’s decision does not
eliminate state anti-dilution laws or statutes, or otherwise
affect such state laws, except as is necessary to harmonize
the state laws with the expressed intent of the Lanham
Act. Finally, the decision properly rejects construing the
FTDA by analogy to the common law territorial treatment
of trademarks under cases such as Hanover Star Milling
Co. v. Metcalf, 240 U.S. 403, 36 S.Ct. 357, 60 L.Ed. 713
(1916), as is urged by Enterprise because “[uJnlike tradi-
tional infringement law, the prohibitions against trade-
mark dilution are not the product of common-law
development, and are not motivated by an interest in
protecting consumers.” Moseley v. V. Secret Catalogue, Inc.,
537 U.S. 418, 429, 123 S.Ct. 1115, 1122, 155 L.Ed.2d 1, 12
(2003).

The case was correctly decided below. This is a private
trademark dispute between competitors that contains no
issues of substantial public significance. Accordingly, the
Petition should be denied.

8

I. The Intent And Purpose Of The Lanham Act
Is, In Part, To Provide A Registration And No-
tice System For Trademark Owners That Se-
cures Rights Free From Interference By State
Or Territorial Legislation; Enterprise’s Posi-
tion Is Totally Contrary To That Intent And
Purpose.

Section 45 of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1127,
states, in pertinent part, as follows:

“The intent of “his Act is ... to protect registered
marks used in... commerce from interference by
State, or territorial legislation . . .”

Consistent with this intent, the Lanham Act provides
a registration system whereby a small, regional business
may adopt a mark and apply for a federal registration in
order to secure for itself the right to expand use of the
mark nationwide if the registration issues. See Lanham
Act §§ 1-3 and 7, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1051, 1052, 1053, and 1057.

This system ser.2s two important public purposes.
First, it secures for the trademark owner its investment in
its mark by enabling the owner to expand nationwide,
subject only to rights that pre-existed the filing of the
application for registration. See 15 U.S.C. § 1052(d) (which
provides that a mark alleged to be conflicting on the
grounds of likelihood of confusion must have been “previ-
ously used in the United States by another and not aban-
doned”). This provides a degree of certainty that fosters
and supports investment and free enterprise. Second, it
provides a means for the trademark owner to provide
notice of its claim of rights throughout the United States.

Recognizing that mistakes could be made in the
registration process, the Lanham Act provides that an

9

application can be opposed before registration, 15 U.S.C.
§ 1063, and a registration can be cancelled after issuance,
under appropriate circumstances. 15 U.S.C. § 1064. The
available grounds for opposing a registration or seeking to
cancel a registration are generally identical. See Lanham
Act §§ 13 and 14, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1063 and 1064. Prior to
passage of the FTDA, consistent with the intent that the
federal registrations not be interfered with by state laws,
these grounds never inciuded state dilution statutes. See
Max Factor & Co. v. Clairol, Inc., 163 USPQ 240, 243
(TTAB 1969); Geo. A. Dickel Co. v. General Mills, Inc., 317
F.2d 954, 956, 137 USPQ 891, 892 (CCPA 1963); K2 Corp.
v. Philip Morris, Inc., 192 USPQ 174, 177 (TTAB 1976),
aff’d, 555 F.2d 815, 194 USPQ 81 (CCPA 1977).

The provisions of the FTDA, as construed by the
Federal Circuit, are totally consistent with the intent of
the Lanham Act and the registration system provided
under the Lanham Act. The FTDA provides that the owner
of an allegedly famous mark is entitled to relief against an
allegedly diluting use by another only if the use by the
other “begins after the mark has become famous.” 15
U.S.C. § 1125(c). The construction of this language by the
Federal Circuit to find that “begins” means any use,
provides certainty to the small business that if it adopts
and uses a mark before another person’s mark becomes
famous, it can continue to invest in that mark and expand
use of the mark throughout the United States without fear
that after-acquired fame can cause liability under the
FTDA. The statute reads “begins.” It does not read “ex-
pands,” “changes,” “alters,” etc.

The FTDA also provides that ownership of a valid
registration is a complete bar to an action against the
registrant under the common law or statute of a state tnat

10

seeks to prevent dilution. See Lanham Act § 43(c)(3), 15
U.S.C. § 1125(c)(3). This provision is critical to the imple-
mentation of the intent of the Lanham Act to protect
registered marks used in commerce from interference by
state legislation. Contrary tc the suggestion by Enterprise
in its Petition, Petition for “ .. of Certiorari at p. 8, the
statute expressly preempts the state law of dilution from
interference with the use of federally registered marks.
The district court cases cited by Enterprise, Petition for
Writ of Certiorari at p. 8, did not consider Section 43(c)(3)
or its effect. It is clear that Section 43(c)(3) preempts the
state law of dilution from interfering with the rights of a
federal registrant. Viacom, Inc. v. Ingram Enterprises, Inc.,
141 F.3d 886, 890-891 (8th Cir. 1998).

On this framework in which the state law of dilution
had never been a basis for opposition or cancellation of
registrations and in which the state law of dilution is
expressly preempted from interfering with the use of a
federally registered mark, Congress enacted the Trade-
mark Amendments Act of 1999 to provide that dilution
“under Section 43(c)” was a basis for both opposition,
Lanham Act § 13, 15 U.S.C. § 1063, and for cancellation,
Lanham Act § 14, 15 U.S.C. § 1064. The fact that the
identical language was used for both oppositions in Section
13 and cancellations in Section 14 unequivocally estab-
lishes that Congress did not implicitly intend to make
state dilution a basis for opposing or attacking registra-
tions. It would turn the Lanham Act on its head to make
every federal registration subject to cancellation based on
differing laws of dilution of the various states, especially

11

when the existence of the registration bars any action
under state dilution law.

Contrary to the arguments of Enterprise, this statu-
tory scheme does not “effectively abolish all state law
remedies relating to trademark dilution.” Petition for Writ
of Certiorari at p. i. Rather, it only preempts them in the
narrow situation in which a party is able to get 2 federal
registration because its mark is not likely to cause confu-
sion with another’s mark and its use was begun before the
other’s mark became famous. That narrow exception is
- consistent with, and necessary to, the intent of the
Lanham Act. It leaves the state laws of dilution e~ailable
for all other situations that might arise.

Accordingly, the Lanham Act and the FTDA, as
construed by the Federal Circuit in the decision below,
provides a statutory framework that fully implements and
enforces the expressly stated intent of the Lanham Act. A
small business can adopt a mark that is not likely to cause
confusion with the mark of another, and does not dilute
another’s mark that is famous at the time of adoption
and first use, and register that mark. Thereafter, the
small business can expand use of the mark throughout the
United States with the certainty that its investment in its
mark and the corresponding goodwill will not be jeopard-
ized or interfered with by a state statute or by a large
company who happens to have the resources to develop
fame after the small business has begun its investment.
The case was correctly decided by the Federal Circuit, and
is consistent with the intent of the Lanham Act and
fundamental public policy.

II. Enterprise’s Argument That Dilution Under

: State Law Was Added As A Basis For Opposi-
tion And Cancellation Is Not Supported By
The Congressional Record Or By Logic.

The expressly stated intent of the Lanham Act is “to
protect registered marks used in such commerce ;rom
interference by State, or territorial legislation ...” 15
U.S.C. § 1127. Consistent with this expressly stated
intent, the FTDA provides that ownership of a valid
registration is a complete bar to an action against the
registrant under state common or statutory dilution laws.
See 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c)(3). Enterprise’s proposition that
the TTAB should entertain state anti-dilution claims in
opposition and cancellation proceedings therefore runs
directly counter to the stated intent of the Lanham Act
and the express provisions of the FTDA itself. If Enter-
prise’s position were adopted, the federal registration of
any mark could be opposed or cancelled based upon any
state dilution law. This would offer up every federal
registration that is less than five years old to being held
hostage to opposition or cancellation (contrary to the plain
meaning of Section 43(c)(3) of the FTDA) under any of the
various state dilution statutes or laws — no matter how
much the state law differed frorn the FTDA. Such a posi-
tion is clearly unfounded.

Enterprise claims that the Lanham Act does not limit
the type or nature of the damage that can provide the
basis for opposition, apparently ignoring the expressly
stated intent of the Lanham Act. Enterprise also deftly
ignores the fact that the only dilution basis for opposition
provided in the statute specifically states “dilution under
Section 43(c)” as the basis for opposition. 15 U.S.C. § 1063.
As noted by the Federal Circuit, there is nothing in the

13

legislative history of the Trademark Amendments Act of
1999 to suggest that the intent of the amendment was to
add any other basis besides federal dilution under the
FTDA as a ground for opposition or cancellation. More
importantly, the legislative history is void of any sugges-
tion that Congress intended to allow interference with
federal registrations by the laws of the fifty states contrary
to the expressly stated intent of the Lanham Act.

Prior to the Trademark Amendments Act of 1999, the
Lanham Act did not specifically address whether dilution
under the FTDA could serve as the basis for an opposition
or cancellation proceeding.’ In Babson Brothers Co. v.
Surge Power Corp., 39 USPQ.2d 1953 (TTAB 1996), the
TTAB reviewed the Lanham Act and found that it did not
authorize a trademark owner to oppose or petition to
cancel the registration of a mark on the basis of dilution
under the FTDA. The Board also found nothing in the
legislative history of the Lanham Act that suggested that
dilution under the FTDA was intended to provide a basis
for opposition or cancellation. This ruling led to the situa-
tion in which owners of famous marks could not oppose a
published application that diluted their mark, but rather
had to wait until the mark was registered and then bring
a dilution action in federal court.

' Prior to the FTDA, it was clear that state dilution law could not
provide the basis for opposition or cancellation of a registration. Max
Factor & Co. v. Clairol, Ine., 168 USPQ 240, 243 (TTAB 1969); Geo. A.
Dickel Co. v. General Mills, Inc., 317 F.2d 954, 956, 137 USPQ 891, 892
(CCPA 1963); K2 Corp. v. Philip Morris, Inc., 192 USPQ 174, 177 (TTAB
1976), aff’d, 555 F.2d 815, 194 USPQ 81 (CCPA 1977).

14

7 Section 2 of the Trademark Amendments Act of 1999
was enacted to alter this scenario by specifically allowing

an opposition or cancellation based on Section 43(c) of the

Lanham Act, the FTDA, in the following language:

“(a) Registrable Marks. — Section 2 of the Act en-
titled ‘An Act to provide for the registration and
protection of trade-marks used in commerce, to
carry out the provisions of certain international
conventions, and for other purposes’ (in this Act
referred to as the “Trademark Act of 1946”) (15
U.S.C. 1052) is amended by adding at the end
the following flush sentences: “A mark which
when used would cause dilution under section
43(c) may be refused registration only pursuant
to a proceeding brought under section 13. A reg-
istration for a mark which when used would
cause dilution under section 43(c) may be can-
celed pursuant to a proceeding brought under ei-
ther section 14 or section 24.”

Trademark Amendments Act §2 (1999).

Enterprise alleges, however, that its position is
justified by the absence of an indication in the legislative
history of the Trademark Amendments Act of 1999 of an
intent to preclude state law claims. Petition for Writ of
Certiorari at p. 9. But, given the expressly stated intent of
the Lanham Act to protect registered marks from interfer-
ence by state legislation, Congress would have no reason
to consider or comment on state laws at all because the
expressed intent is that the state laws should have no
effect whatsoever. For Enterprise’s argument to have any
merit, Congress would have had to expressly state that the
legislation was intended to be contrary to the previously
stated intent of the statute. This did not happen. Rather,
the legislative history makes numerous references to the

15

FTDA and the intent to allow dilution under “Lanham Act
43(c)” — under federal law — to be asserted as a basis for
opposition and cancellation proceedings.

In the section entitled “Background and Need for the
Legislation” of the House Congressional Report (H.R. Rep.
No. 250, 100th Cong., 1st Sess. (1999)), the motivation
behind adopting the Trademark Amendments Act of 1999
is explained as follows:

“Section two provides holders of famous marks
with a right to oppose or seek cancellation of a
mark that would cause dilution as provided in
the Dilution Act. In 1996, the ‘Federal Trade-
mark Dilution Act of 1995’ became effective. Pub.
L. No. 104 98, 109 Stat. 985 (1996), Lanham Act
43(c), 15 U.S.C. 1125(c).”

The legislative history clearly demonstrates that
Section 2 of the Trademark Amendments Act was meant
only to clarify the Federal Trademark Dilution Act of 1995,
Section 43(c) of the Lanham Act, by expressly making it a
basis for cancellation and opposition proceedings. There is
no indication anywhere in the legislative history that the
Trademark Amendments Act of 1999 was intended to
expand the jurisdiction of the TTAB beyond federal issues.
There is simply no reasonable basis for Enterprise’s
position.

In short, the Federal Circuit correctly decided that
state dilution law does not provide a basis for opposition or
cancellation of a federal registration.

16

III. Enterprise’s Attempts To Analogize The FTDA
To Trademark Common Law Are Misguided
And Would Wreak Havoc On Trademark Ju-
risprudence If Followed.

Enterprise attacks the Federal Circuit’s construction
of the word “begins” in the FTDA by attempting to draw
an analogy to the common law of trademarks. Enterprise
argues that traditional common law trademark rights are
territorial and that rights under the FTDA should simi-
larly be territorial. Under Enterprise’s theory, once Enter-
prise’s mark becomes “famous,” the acquisition of such
fame should freeze even senior users of similar marks
from any expansion into new territories.

To begin, Enterprise’s reliance on the common law of
trademarks for analogy is totally misplaced. The FTDA is
a statutory creature which should be interpreted consis-
tent with its plain language and common sense. As ex-
plained by this Court:

“Traditional trademark infringement law is a
part of the broader law of unfair competition, see
Hanover Star Milling Co. v. Metcalf, 240 U.S.
403, 413, 60 L.Ed. 713, 36 S.Ct. 357, 1916 Dec.
Comm’r Pat. 265 (1916), that has its sources in
English common law, and was largely codified in
the Trademark Act of 1946 (Lanham Act). See B.
Pattishall, D. Hilliard, & J. Welch, Trademarks
and Unfair Competition 2 (4th ed. 2000) (“The
United States took the [trademark and unfair
competition] law of England as its own”). That
law broadly prohibits uses of trademarks, trade
names, and trade dress that are likely to cause
confusion about the source of a product or ser-
vice. See 15 U.S.C. §§ 1114, 1125(a)(1)(A). In-
fringement law protects consumers from being

17

misled by the use of infringing marks and also
protects producers from unfair practices by an
‘imitating competitor.’ Qualitex Co. v. Jacobson
Products Co., 514 U.S. 159, 163-164, 131 L.Ed.2d
248, 115 S.Ct. 1300 (1995).

Unlike traditional infringement law, the prohibi-
tions against trademark dilution are not the
product of common-law development, and are not
motivated by an interest in protecting consum-

ers.
Moseley, 537 U.S. at 428-429, 123 S.Ct. at 1122.

The plain language of the statute provides that the
owner of the allegedly famous mark is entitled to relief
only if the use by the other “begins after the mark has
become famous.” The statute does not say “begins or
alters” or “begins or expands” or “begins or changes.” It
just says “begins.”

The interpretation by the Federal Circuit of this plain
language to mean that any use prior to acquisition of fame
is sufficient to preclude relief is an interpretation that is
consistent with public policy and common sense. This
interpretation means that when a small, regional business
adopts and uses a mark, its ability to continue and expand
its use will be subject only to rights that truly existed prior
to such adoption and use.

To construe the FTDA as urged by Enterprise would
turn the FTDA into the “Big Company Act.” Any company
with the resources to sufficiently advertise and promote a
designation so as to create an argument that the mark is
famous could thereafter go after smaller regional competi-
tors and limit the smaller competitors’ ability to grow their

18

use, regardless of who was the first to use the marks at
issue and regardless of when the big company’s mark
allegedly became famous. All that would matter under
Enterprise’s theory is that the small company is trying to
expand into a new territory after the big company’s mark
allegedly became famous.

As evidenced by the present Petition, Enterprise’s
theory would also provide no end to litigation. Under
Enterprise’s theory, if Enterprise is unable to prove fame
in 2003, it would not be precluded from either bringing
suit or bringing an opposition or cancellation proceeding in
2004, or 2005, or 2006, or 2007, etc. So long as the smaller
competitor, Advantage, was trying to expand into new
territory, such expansion would be a new “beginning”
(under Enterprise’s theory) that would entitle Enterprise
to bring a new suit against Advantage. Common sense
mandates that the FTDA cannot be construed as urged by
Enterprise.

The construction of 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c) by the Federal
Circuit is consistent with the plain meaning of the statute
and is the only possible construction that is consistent
with logic and reason. This should end all inquiry. See
Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337, 340, 117 S.Ct. 843,
846, 136 L.Ed.2d 808, 813 (1997) (“Our inquiry must cease
if the statutory language is unambiguous and the ‘statu-
tory scheme is coherent and consistent.’”) (quoting U.S. v.
Ron Pair Enters., Inc., 489 U.S. 235, 240, 109 S.Ct. 1026,
103 L.Ed.2d 290 (1989)). The Federal Circuit correctly
construed the FTDA and the Petition should be denied.

19

IV. The Present Action Is Illustrative Of The
Potential For Endless, Successive Litigation
That Enterprise’s Theories Would Engender;
The Federal Circuit Properly Rejected Such
Theories

After a full trial on the merits and a full appeal,
Enterprise was denied all relief under the FTDA. In
affirming the Western District, the Fifth Circuit stated:

“To prevail on its federal dilution claim, Enter-
prise must prove that its slogan is ‘famous and
distinctive; that Advantage adopted its mark
after Enterprise’s had become ‘famous and dis-
tinctive;’ and that Advantage caused dilution of
Enterprise’s mark.”

Advantage Rent-A-Car, 238 F.3d at 380 (emphasis added);
Respondent’s Appendix at p. 27. |

As discussed above, this construction of the FTDA is
consistent with the language and the corresponding plain
meaning of the statute. Enterprise was unable to prove
that its slogan was sufficiently famous, even within the
car rental market, to invoke the FTDA.

Consistent with the rulings of the Western District
and the Fifth Circuit, the TTAB dismissed Enterprise’s
opposition on the grounds of res judicata. Yet Enterprise
continues to relitigate the fame of its mark long after
Advantage began use of its mark and after the law of the
case had been established against Enterprise.

As part of its effort to relitigate its claims, Enterprise
resurrects and presents as an alleged issue of first impres-
sion the argument that Advantage’s allegedly geographically
limited use of a trademark without a trademark registration
can only be a defense to a claim under the FTDA for a

20

correspondingly geographically limited area. Enterprise’s
argument is essentially that each use in a new geographic
area is a new “beginning” subject to a new right for a plain-
tiff to assert a new action under the FTDA. But Enterprise
previously submitted the identical argument to the Western
District in the prior proceedings in Defendant’s Opposition to
Plaintiff's Motion for Partial Summary Judgment on Defen-
dant’s Federal Dilution Counterclaim. In particular, Enter-
prise argued for its construction of the word “begins” the
following:

“Rights under the Lanham Act are territorial for
non-registered marks; Advantage’s argument
that the FTDA should be construed to preclude
enforcement due to Advantage’s prior, limited use
is contrary to the trademark policy under the
Lanham Act and is contrary to trademark prece-
dent...

Advantage badly misconstrues the plain language
of the FTDA in arguing that so long as its use of
“We'll Even Pick You Up” began somewhere prior
to Enterprise’s mark becoming famous, Advantage
should be allowed to later expand its use at will.
Advantage Memo at 9-10. First, the statute does
not say what Advantage contends. Second, this in-
terpretation is inconsistent with the territorial re-
strictions on non-federally registered trademarks
when confronted by a subsequently obtained feder-
ally registered trademark. Advantage cites no
cases to support its position .-. Enterprise seeks
an injunction against Advantage’s use in commerce
of ‘We'll Even Pick You Up’ for all area or states
where its use began after Enterprise’s federally
registered slogans became famous. That is exactly
what the statute states.”

Opposition to Motion for Summary Judgment at p. 18.

21

In the prior proceedings, the Western District with-
held ruling on Advantage’s motion for summary judgment
pending trial. After a full trial on the merits, the district
court found that Enterprise’s mark was not famous under
the FTDA and denied all relief without limitation as to
territory. The clear implication of the Western District’s
ruling is that the Western District accepted that “begins”
in 15 U.S.C. §1125(c) means just that — begins anywhere —
and rejected Enterprise’s arguments regarding limited
geographic usage. Enterprise did not appeal this implicit
ruling by the Western District or otherwise seek clarifica-
tion of the Western District’s denial of all relief.

On appeal, the Fifth Circuit affirmed the district
court’s holding that “We’ll Pick You Up” is not sufficiently
famous for the FTDA, but remanded for a determination of
fame only under Texas and Louisiana law. In doing so, the
Fifth Circuit reiterated that “begins” means just that, by
explaining that Enterprise must prove “that Advantage
adopted its mark after Enterprise’s had become ‘famous
and distinctive.’” Advantage Rent-A-Car, 238 F.3d at 380
(emphasis added). Enterprise did not file a Petition for
Writ of Certiorari from the Fifth Circuit’s decision. Hence,
all issues relating to the FTDA became final. The matter
was raised and foreclosed. Enterprise should now be
barred by res judicata from again presenting their argu-
ments regarding the meaning of “begins.”

As the TTAB noted in dismissing Enterprise’s opposi-
tion on the grounds of res judicata, “[iJn opposing the
motion for summary judgment, opposer takes issue with
the conclusions of the district court and the Fifth Circuit.
If opposer disagreed with the outcome in the district court
and the Fifth Circuit, the Board is not the appropriate
forum to obtain relief. Opposer may not collaterally attack

22

the judicial proceedings in this forum.” Petitioner’s Appen-
dix at p. 38. Enterprise’s assertion that the dilution claims
in the current case are based on a different set of transac-
tional facts than its claims in the prior litigation is nothing
more than an improper attempt to relitigate what it has
already lost. This case is a classic example of the mischief
that Enterprise’s legal theories would yield.

V. Enterprise’s Criticism Of The Federal Cir-
cuit’s Reference To The Concurrent Use Pro-
visions Of The Lanham Act Demonstrates
Enterprise’s Misunderstanding Of Trademark
Law And The Lanham Act.

Enterprise criticizes the Federal Circuit’s reference to
the concurrent use provisions of the Lanham Act, stating
that “[nJeither party raised that issue.... ” Petition for
Writ of Certiorari at p. 19. Apparently, Enterprise is unaware
that the concurrent use provisions are the Lanham Act
codification of the common law doctrines set forth in Hanover
Star Milling, 240 U.S. 403 (1916) and its progeny. Hence,
Enterprise, itself, implicitly raised the concurrent use
provisions by trying to draw an analogy to Hanover and the
“nearly a century” of common law. The Federal Circuit
therefore properly looked to concurrent use proceedings as a
basis to clarify Enterprise’s arguments:

“While Enterprise’s argument is less than clear,
apparently Enterprise contends that it should be
treated like a junior user that has obtained
registration, entitling it to priority of use
throughout the United States, except where
Advantage was the prior user. It is, therefore,
supposedly entitled to defeat a nationwide ©
registration of the mark by Advantage. It is
clear that Congress rejected this approach.

23

There is no provision in the Lanham Act to
allow for concurrent use registration in the
dilution context.”

Petitioner’s Appendix at p. 21.

The Federal Circuit then properly noted that the
concurrent use provisions did not contemplate concurrent
use registrations in the dilution context. Petitioner’s
Appendix at p. 21. Instead, the section of the Lanham Act
that addresses concurrent use registrations was amended
consistent with the construction of the Lanham Act given
by the Federal Circuit. Petitioner’s Appendix at mp. 21-22.
15 U.S.C. § 1052(f) (2000). The Federal Circuit properly
addressed and rejected Enterprise’s arguments.

ry
v

CONCLUSION

The decision below is in accord with the intent of the
Lanham Act, with the plain language of the FTDA and the
Lanham Act, and with public policy. There is no issue of
significant public moment for this Court to address. The
Petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

DEBORA B. ALSUP

Counsel of Record

WILLIAM D. RAMAN
THOMPSON & KNIGHT, L.L.P.
98 San Jacinto Boulevard
Suite 1900

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 469-6100

Counsel for Respondent
Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc.

App. 1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

AUSTIN DIVISION

ADVANTAGE RENT-A-CAR,
INC.,

Plaintiff,
V. ; CASE NO. A98CA 372 SS
ENTERPRISE RENT-A-CAR ;
COMPANY,

Defendant.

PARTIAL CONSENT JUDGMENT
(Filed May 24, 1999)

The parties hereto having agreed to the entry of the
following findings of fact and conclusions of law finally
disposing of the three counts asserted by Advantage
Rent-A-Car, Inc. (“Advantage”) and the first four and
seventh counterclaims asserted by Enterprise, Rent-A-
Car Company (“Enterprise”), it is hereby ORDERED,
ADJUDGED and DECREED that:

1. The use by Enterprise of “PICK ENTERPRISE.
WE’LL PICK YOU UP.”; PICK THE COMPANY THAT
PICKS YOU UP; and WE’LL PICK YOU UP in connec-
tion with the advertising to date and/or promotion to
date of the rental and leasing of vehicles and of the
arranging for the rental and leasing of vehicles is not
likely to cause confusion, or to cause mistake, or to
deceive as to the affiliation, connection, or association of
Enterprise with Advantage or as to the origin, sponsor-
ship or approval of Enterprise’s goods, services or

App. 2

commercial activities by Advantage; and does not consti-
tute use in commerce of a false designation of origin or
false or misleading representation of fact.

2. The use by Advantage of WE’LL EVEN PICK
YOU UP in connection with the advertising to date
and/or promotion to date of the rental and leasing of
vehicles and of the arranging for the rental and leasing
of vehicles is not likely to cause confusion, or to cause
mistake, or to deceive as to the affiliation, connection, or
association of Advantage with Enterprise or as to the
origin, sponsorship or approval of Advantage’s goods,
services or commercial activities by Enterprise; does not
constitute use in commerce of a false designation of
origin or false or misleading representation of fact; and
does not constitute use in commerce of a reproduction,
counterfeit, copy of colorable imitation of any of Enter-
prise’s registered slogans in connection with the sale,
offering for sale, distribution, or advertising of the
rental and leasing of vehicles or of the arranging for
rental and leasing of vehicles which is likely to cause
confusion, or to cause mistake, or to deceive.

3. Factors taken into account in reaching the
conclusion of paragraphs 1 and 2 include: the adver-
tisements of each of the parties prominently feature the
house mark of the respective party and do not use other
marks or indicia of the other party or that refers to the
other party. It is also not.J that both of the parties
feature a person being picked up in order to emphasize
the respective double entendre of the respective slogans
of the parties, but this additional common feature does
not create a likelihood of confusion in the advertising to
date.

App. 3

4. Subject only to the possibility of a violation of
the Federal Trademark Dilution Act, 15 U.S.C.
§ 1125(c), if properly applicable, or the possibility of a
violation of state dilution law, if properly applicable, the
use by Advantage of WE’LL EVEN PICK YOU UP in
connection with the advertising and/or promotion of the
rental and leasing of vehicles and of the arranging for
the rental and leasing of vehicles in its advertising to
date does not violate any rights of Enterprise in its
slogans, if any, under the Lanham Act or under the law
of any state or territory of the United States that is
based on likelihood of confusion.

5. The use by Enterprise of WE’LL PICK YOU UP;
“PICK ENTERPRISE. WE’LL PICK YOU UP.”; and
PICK THE COMPANY THAT PICKS YOU UP in con-
nection with the advertising and/or promotion of the
rental and leasing of vehicles and of arranging for the
rental and leasing of vehicles in its advertising to date
does not violate any rights of Advantage in its slogan, if
any, under the Lanham Act or under the law of any
state or territory of the United States that is based on
likelihood of confusion.

6. This ruling is based upon the use to date by the
parties of their respective advertisements and does not
foreclose actions based on future use of the slogans in
combination with or alteration of features, wherein such
combination or alteration of features creates a likelihood
of confusion.

7. Advantage’s “Complaint for Unfair Competition
And Trademark Cancellation” is hereby dismissed with
prejudice.

App. 4

8. Enterprise’s First, Second, Third, Fourth and
Seventh Counterclaims are hereby dismissed with
prejudice.

9. Jurisdiction and venue in this District are
proper for Enterprise’s Fifth and Sixth Counterclaims
relating to dilution, and these counterclaims remain in
the case for further consideration and are not dismissed
by this Partial Consent Judgment.

10. Each of the parties pursued its claims based on
likelihood of confusion in good faith. The pursuit of
these claims by either party does not render this an
exceptional case under 15 U.S.C. § 1117. Each party.
shall therefore bear its own attorney fees.

SIGNED and ENTERED this 24th day of May, 1999.

/s/ Sam Sparks
UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE
AGREED:
Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc. Enterprise Rent-A-Car
Company

/s/ Pike Powers
Rudolph A. Telscher, Jr.
Christopher M. Goff
Edward J. Hejlek
SENNINGER, POWERS,

LEAVITT & ROEDEL
One Metropolitan Square,

/s/ William D. Raman

William D. Raman

State Bar No.16492700

ARNOLD, WHITE &
DURKEE

1900 One American Center

600 Congress Avenue

Austin, Texas 78701-3248
(512) 418-3000 Telephone
(512) 474-7577 Facsimile

16th Floor
St. Louis, Missouri 63102
(314) 231-5400 Telephone
(314) 231-3432 Facsimile

App. 5

John C. Cain

State Bar No. 00783778

ARNOLD, WHITE &
DURKEE

750 Bering Drive

Houston, Texas 77057-2198

(713) 787-1400 Telephone

(713) 787-1440 Facsimile

Attorneys for Advantage

Pike Powers, Jr.

State Bar No. 16220000

Brian S. Greig

State Bar No. 08439800

FULBRIGHT & JAWORSKI,
LLP

600 Congress Avenue,
Suite 2400

Austin, Texas 78701-3271

(512) 474-5201 Telephone

(512) 320-4598 Facsimile

Attorneys for Enterprise

App. 6

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

AUSTIN DIVISION
ADVANTAGE RENT-A-CAR, §
INC. §
§ NO. A 98 CA 372 SS
vs. §
ENTERPRISE RENT-A-CAR §
COMPANY : §

FINDINGS OF FACT and CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
(Filed Oct. 25, 1999)

BE IT REMEMBERED that on the 21st day of July
1999 the Court called the above-styled cause for trial, and
the parties appeared by designated representative and by
representation of counsel. All parties announced ready for
trial, and trial proceeded before the Court. Enterprise
Rent-A-Car Company (“Enterprise”) claims that Advan-
tage Rent-A Car, Inc. (“Advantage”) is diluting Enter-
prise’s trademark in violation of the Federal Trademark
Dilution Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c), as well as the anti-
dilution statutes of Texas, Arkansas, New Mexico, and
Louisiana. Enterprise seeks injunctive relief as well as
compensatory damages and attorneys fees. Having consid-
ered all of the evidence presented at trial, the oral argu-
ments and written briefs of counsel, and the applicable
law, the Court concludes Enterprise is not entitled to relief
because the slogan at issue is not sufficiently famous or
distinctive to receive protection under the Federal Trade-
mark Dilution Act. Accordingly, the Court enters the
following findings and order.

App. 7

Findings of Fact.

Advantage is a Texas corporation with its principal
place of business in San Antonio, Texas. Advantage
currently has business operations in Texas, New Mexico,
Arizona, California, Nevada, Washington, Utah, Colorado,
and Oklahoma. See Defendant’s Exhibit 131. Enterprise is
a Missouri corporation with its principal place of business
in St. Louis, Missouri. Enterprise has business operations
in all fifty states. Both companies serve the rental car
markets. This market is divided into two segments — one
that caters primarily to business and leisure travelers and
one that provides replacement cars to drivers whose cars
are in the shop for repair. Historically, Advantage focused
primarily on the business and leisure traveler market, and
Enterprise focused on the replacement market. Currently,
both companies are active in both segments of the rental
car market.

Most companies in the replacement market provide
some type of pick-up service to their customers and use
various slogans or phrases to connote this service. Since
1965, Advantage has used over thirty different phrases to
inform consumers about its pick-up service, including
“We'd Love To Pick You Up,” “They Pick You Up At The
Garage,” and “We'll Pick You Up From The Garage or Car
Dealer And Drop You Off At The Nearest Advantage
Location.”

In 1990, Advantage produced a television commercial
which depicted an actor holding onto a steering wheel.’ A

-

* Throughout the trial, this commercial was referred to as “Steer-
ing Wheel.”

App. 8

voice-over discussed the various reasons the actor might
need to obtain a rental car, such as an accident or for a
special occasion. At the end of the commercial, a much
taller actor entered the frame and lifted the “driving” actor
off the ground and into his arms, while the voice-over
stated “We’ll even pick you up.” See Plaintiffs Exhibits
148 (text of commercial), 205 (videotape). This commercial
aired on the Spurs Network at least 24 times in 1992, and
at least 12 times in 1993, at least 17 times in 1994, and at
least 49 times by the end of the professional basketball
season in May 1995. From August 1997 to April 1998, the
commercial aired 289 times on Fox Sports Southwest. This
commercial is the only form of advertising in which Ad-
vantage used the phrase “We'll Even Pick You Up.” Al-
though Advantage has_ received’ several federal
registrations for various slogans, Advantage did not file an
application to register the phrase “We'll Even Pick You
Up” until May 3, 1999. See Plaintiffs Exhibit 174.

Advantage has produced a total of four television
commercials. The other three commercials include a car or
other feature that would indicate the relative age of the
commercial. Because the Steering Wheel commercial does
not depict a specific make or model of vehicle, it is argua-
bly Advantage’s only “timeless” commercial. Advantage
estimates it has spent over one million dollars on advertis-
ing that includes the slogan “We'll Even Pick You Up.”

Meanwhile, Enterprise developed the phrases “Pick
The Company That Picks You Up” and “Pick Enterprise,
We'll Pick You Up” which it began using in advertising on

App. 9

June 22, 1994.” See Plaintiffs Exhibit 17, at 2. Enterprise
began using “We’ll Pick You Up” on August 17, 1995. See
Plaintiffs Exhibit 16, at 2. Enterprise obtained federal
service mark registrations for each of these slogans.’ See
Plaintiffs Exhibits 16 & 17. Enterprise has been operating
nationally since the mid-1980s and has continuously
advertised nationwide since June 1994. Enterprise esti-
mates it has spent over $130 million on advertising that
includes the slogan, “We'll Pick You Up.” See Plaintiffs
Exhibits, 1, 168. Enterprise has used this slogan in all of
the media forms in which Enterprise advertises including
print ads, yellow pages, radio ads, and commercials shown
on prime time national television on major broadcast
networks and cable stations as well as during high-profile
sporting events such as the Final Four tournament. See
Plaintiffs Exhibits 5, 6, 168. According to Steven Smith,
the director of advertising, the bulk of Enterprise’s adver-
tising dollars are spent on television ads because it is the
most powerful medium and 40% of the budget is spent on
yellow pages advertising. Approximately 75% of Enter-
prise’s advertising includes the phrase “We'll Pick You
Up.” The phrase is not used on billboards or on many of
the items with logos, such as caps and t-shirts. See Defen-
dant’s Exhibit 143.

* Enterprises’ director of advertising testified that Enterprise first
used the phrase “We'll Pick You Up” in 1989 in a commercial titled
“Keys,” see Plaintiffs Exhibit 201la, and again in 1993 in a commercial
titled “Special Delivery Service,” see Plaintiffs Exhibit 201b, but that
the phrase was not used as the company slogan until September 1994.
See Plaintiff's Exhibit 203b.

* US. Registration Nos. 1,953,083; 1,948,828, and 2,085,472 respec-
tively.

App. 10

In early 1995, Advantage became aware of Enter-
prise’s yellow page advertisement using the slogan “Pick
Enterprise. We’ll Pick You Up.” Advantage became aware
of Enterprise’s television advertising using the slogan
“We'll Pick You Up” in late 1996 or early 1997. In January
1997, Advantage discussed this use by Enterprise at an
executive meeting, but Advantage did not take any action
at that time. .

In late 1997, Enterprise became aware of Advantage’s
use of the slogan “We'll Even Pick You Up” and sent a
cease and desist letter to Advantage on March 30, 1998.*
After exchanging letters with Enterprise, Advantage filed
a complaint on June 16, 1998 seeking money damages and
equitable relief against Enterprise for false designation of
origin under 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a), common law unfair
competition, and cancellation of the trademark registra-
tion. See Complaint [#1], at 1. In its answer, Enterprise
asserted four affirmative defenses. and seven counter-
claims. See Corrected First Amended Answer, Affirmative
Defenses, and Counterclaims [#32]. On May 24, 1999, the
undersigned entered a Partial Consent Judgment [#51]
which disposed of Advantage’s three counts for relief and
five of Enterprise’s counterclaims. The parties stipulated
that the concurrent use of the disputed slogans was not
likely to cause confusion, mistake, or deception as to the
origin of the goods and services, in part because each party
prominently displayed its housemark in connection with
the slogans. On May 26, 1999, Enterprise was granted

* Since at least April 1998, Enterprise has regularly attempted to
prohibit use of the phrase “We'll Pick You Up” by other rental car
companies. See Plaintiffs Exhibits 34-39, 41-45.

App. 11

leave to amend its answer and assert counterclaims under
the anti-dilution statues of New Mexico, Arkansas, and
Louisiana.

At trial, Enterprise presented a report prepared by
Dr. Daniel J. Howard, a professor of marketing at South-
ern Methodist University. Dr. Howard has a Ph.D. in
marketing from Ohio State University. See Plaintiffs
Exhibit 48. Dr. Howard has conducted more than two
hundred previous surveys and has conducted nine other
surveys for litigation in which he was certified as an
expert. Using five interviewers during January and
February 1999, Dr. Howard conducted a telephonic survey
of 1210 respondents across four markets. See Plaintiff's
Exhibit 50, at 1. The Austin/San Marcos metropolitan
statistical area was selected because it was exposed to
Advantage commercials containing variations of the “We'll.
Pick You Up” phrase and Advantage rented cars in the
area. The Tulsa, Oklahoma and New Orleans, Louisiana
metropolitan statistical areas were selected because both
received broadcasts of Advantage’s commercials, but
Advantage did not rent cars in the area. The Phoe-
nix/Mesa metropolitan statistical area was selected be-
cause Advantage commercials containing a variation of the
“We'll Pick You Up” phrase were not broadcast in the area,
but Advantage did offer rental services. See Plaintiffs
Exhibit 50, at 6. Respondents were randomly selected from
these areas who were between 25 and 54 years of age with
at least some college education. See Plaintiffs Exhibit 50,
at 7. These parameters were provided by Enterprise as
their consumer base, and Dr. Howard found them to be
supported by the MRI Doublebase, which is a highly
regarded research corporation whose data would be relied
upon by experts in the field. See Plaintiffs Exhibit 74. The

App. 12

names of potential respondents were provided by Ameri-
can Business Lists, a company that Dr. Howard had found
to be reliable in the past.

When asked “Which of the following car rental com-
panies have you heard of,” 96.9% of the respondents were
aware of Enterprise and only 75.8% of the respondents
were aware of Advantage. See Plaintiffs Exhibit 50, at 14-
15. When asked “Do you remember ever hearing or seeing
the phrase ‘We'll pick you up’ used in connection with car
rental advertising,” 65.5% responded affirmatively. These
respondents were then asked which car rental company or
companies, if any, they associated with the phrase “We'll
pick you up,” and 49.6% of the total sample indicated
Enterprise, while only 8% of the total sample indicated
Advantage. See Plaintiff's Exhibit 50, at 16-17.

Conclusions of Law

Trademarks have traditionally been offered less
protection than other types of intellectual property. While
copyrights and patents have been recognized as the
property of their creators, trademarks have traditionally
been protected from infringing use only to the extent
necessary to protect consumers from deception. See Bonito
Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 971,
981 (1989) (“[The law of unfair competition]’s general
concern is with protecting consumers from confusion as to
source. While that concern may result in the creation of
‘quasi-property rights’ in communicative symbols, the
focus is on the protection of consumers, not the protection
of producers as an incentive to product innovation.”); see
also Robert N. Klieger, Trademark Dilution: The Whittling
Away of the Rational Basis for Trademark Protection, 58

App. 13

U.PiTT.L.REV. 789 (1997) (arguing that the traditional
focus on consumer confusion has enabled trademarks to
promote market efficiency and consumer welfare and
criticizing dilution protection as creating trademark rights
in gross with anticompetitive results).

For nearly fifty years, various states have enacted
antidilution statutes, which break away from the con-
sumer protection model of trademark rights. See id. at
n.18 (listing statutes). In 1996, Congress enacted a federal
antidilution statute. See Federal Trademark Dilution Act
of 1995, Pub. L. No. 104-98, 109 Stat. 985 (codified at 15
U.S.C. §§ 1125(c), 1127); see also J. Thomas McCarthy,
The 1996 Federal Anti-Dilution Statute, 16 CARDOZO ARTS
& ENTERPRISE. L.J. 587, 587 (1998) (describing the statute
as “radical and fundamental break with prior federal
trademark law”). Dilution occurs when a second party
lessens the capacity of a famous mark to identify and
distinguish goods or services, regardless of whether the
second party competes with the owner of the famous mark
or the likelihood of confusion, mistake, or deception. See 15
U.S.C. § 1127; 141 Cong. Rec. S19306, S19310 (daily ed.
Dec. 29, 1995) (statement of Sen. Hatch) giving as exam-
ples of actionable dilution the use of “DuPont shoes, Buick
aspirin, and Kodak pianos”). The underlying rationale for
a dilution cause of action is the idea that a “gradual
attenuation or whittling away of the value of a trademark,
resulting from use by another, constitutes an invasion of
the senior user’ property right in its mark and gives rise
to an independent commercial tort.” 4 J. THOMAS MCCARTHY,
McCARTHY ON TRADEMARKS AND UNFAIR COMPETITION
(“MCCARTHY ON TRADEMARKS”), § 24:70 (4th ed. 1999).

The mental association that must be made by con-
sumers before dilution can occur is somewhat subtle and

App 14

evasive. Consumers must make some mental connection
between the marks used by the plaintiff and the defen-
dant. “The connection, however, is not that which serves
as the basis of liability for trademark infringement — the
mistaken belief that the plaintiff is in some way associated
with defendant’s goods — but rather is the accurate recog-
nition that a mark associated with the plaintiff is now also
in use as an identifying symbol by another.” RESTATEMENT
(THIRD) OF UNFAIR COMPETITION § 25, comment f (1905).
Thus, the appropriate mental association to support a
dilution claim must be somewhat less than the type of
strong mental connection that would give rise to a likeli-
hood of confusion, but somewhat more than no connection
at all. See Fruit of Loom Inc. v. Girouard, 994 F.2d 1359
(9th Cir. 1993) (citing MCCARTHY ON TRADEMARKS § 24:70).

To succeed on its claim under the Federal Trademark
Dilution Act, Enterprise must prove (1) its mark was
“famous,” (2) Advantage adopted its mark after Enter-
prise’s mark has become famous, and (3) Advantage’s
mark diluted Enterprise’s mark by blurring the distinct-
iveness of the mark or by tarnishing or disparaging it. See
15 U.S.C. § 1125(c). The statute contains a laundry list of
non-exclusive factors the Court may use to determine
whether a mark is “distinctive and famous,” including

(A) the degree of inherent or acquired distinctive-
ness of the mark;

(B) the duration and extent of use of the mark in
connection with the goods or services with which the
mark is used;

(C) the duration and extent of advertising and pub-
licity of the mark;

App. 15

(D) the geographical extent of the trading area in
which the mark is used;

(E) the channels of trade for the goods or services
with which the mark is used;

(F) the degree of recognition of the mark in the trad-
ing areas and channels of trade used by the mark’s
owner and the person against whom the injunction is
sought;

(G) the nature and extent of use of the same or simi-
lar marks by third parties; and

(H) whether the mark was registered under the Act
of March 3, 1881, or the Act of February 20, 1905, or

on the principal register.

If successful, Enterprise may be given injunctive relief
“subject to principles of equity and upon such terms as the
court deems reasonable.” See 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c)(1). If the
owner of the famous mark proves the dilutor acted will-
fully with the intent to “trade on the owner’s reputation or
to cause dilution of the famous mark,” the owner may also
recover the dilutor’s profits, any damages suffered by the
owner, and costs of the suit and in exceptional cases,
reasonable attorney fees. See 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c)(2),
1117(a); see also Rolex Watch USA, Inc. v. Meece, 158 F.3d
816, 824 (5th Cir. 1998) (“[TJhe exceptional case is one in
which the defendant’s trademark infringement can be
characterized as malicious, fraudulent, deliberate, or
willful, and . . . it has been interpreted by courts to require
a showing of a high degree of culpability.”), cert. denied,
119 S. Ct. 1808 (1999). The Court can also order all offend-
ing materials be destroyed. See 15 U.S.C. § 1118.

This is not a well-developed or clear area of the law.
See Robert N. Klieger, Trademark Dilution: The Whittling

App. 16

Away of the Rational Basis for Trademark Protection, 58
U. Pitt. L. REv. 789 (1997) (“Dilution is an amorphous
concept, and no antidilution statute addresses exactly
what dilution is or how it can be proven.”). The definition
of dilution and fame remain nebulous concepts and the
meaning of § 1125(c), as well as its individual elements,
have been debated among the circuits. See Ringling Bros.-
Barnum & Bailey Combined Shows, Inc. v. Utah Division
of Travel Development, 170 F.3d 449, 451 (4th Cir.) (la-
menting the “dauntingly elusive concept” of federal trade-
mark dilution), cert. denied, 1999 WL 412763 (1999). The
First Circuit has reasoned that dilution protection is more
readily available for noncompeting products and should
not be a fallback for competing products that fail to prove
infringement. See J.P. Lund Trading Co. v. Kohler Co., 163
F.3d 27, 48 (1st Cir. 1998). The Fifth Circuit has empha-
sized that dilution protection is only available for “strong,
well-recognized marks.” Exxon Corp. v. Oxxford Clothes,
Inc., 109 F.3d 1070, 1081 n.14 (5th Cir.) (citing Accuride
Int'l Inc. v. Accuride Corp., 871 F.2d 1531 (9th Cir. 1989),
which found the tradename “Accuride” not sufficiently
distinctive to merit protection under California’s antidilu-
tion statute), cert. denied, 116 F.3d 1479 (1997); see also
Sykes Laboratory, Inc. v. Kalvin, 610 F.Supp. 849, 858
(C.D.Cal.1985) (“The dilution doctrine is only available to
protect distinctive marks as exemplified by such famous
names as ‘Tiffany,’ ‘Polaroid,’ ‘Rolls Royce,’ and ‘Kodak’ ”).
The degree of similarity between the marks must be
greater than that which is required to show a likelihood of
confusion, otherwise a dilution cause of action would
subsume the concept of infringement. See Jet, Inc. uv.
Sewage Aeration Sys., 165 F.3d 419, 424 (6th Cir. 1999)
(citing MCCARTHY ON TRADEMARKS as explaining that state

App. 17

dilution statutes generally require the marks to be “virtu-
ally identical”).

Although the federal dilution act and the New Mexico
anti-dilution statute explicitly require a mark to be “fa-
mous,” the other state anti-dilution acts do not. However,
the Court has determined that fame is an element of each
of Enterprise’s causes of action. See MCCARTHY ON TRADE-
MARKS § 24:108 (“Without such a requirement, an anti-
dilution statute becomes a rogue law that turns every
trademark, no matter how weak, into an anti-competitive
weapon.”); Exxon Corp., 109 F.3d at 1081 n.14 (“I]t is
clear that anti-dilution statutes ... are designed to protect
only strong, well-recognized marks.”).

Whether a mark is “famous” is a fact intensive issue
that must be decided on a case by case basis. Different
commentators have offered various tests for determining
fame. According to the Restatement, only marks that
retain their strength and distinction when considered
outside the context of the goods or services with which the
mark is typically used are famous enough to receive
protection under a dilution theory. RESTATEMENT (THIRD)
OF UNFAIR COMPETITION § 25, comment e (1995) (“A mark
that evokes an association with a specific source only
when used in connection with the particular goods or
services that it identifies is ordinarily not sufficiently
distinctive to be protected against dilution.”), J. Thomas
McCarthy, a leading authority on trademark law, has
opined that a mark is not “famous” unless it is known to
more than fifty percent of the defendant’s potential cus-
tomers. MCCARTHY ON TRADEMARKS § 24:92 (borrowing
from trademark law the concept that a designation can not
be a trademark unless at least a majority of the customer
group so perceives it).

App. 18

Examples of marks that courts have found to be
sufficiently famous to receive protection under the Federal
Trademark Dilution Act include “Budweiser” beer,
“Candyland” children’s game, “Don’t Leave Home Without
Us,” “The Greatest Show On Earth,” “Panavision” movie
and television cameras, “Porsche” automobiles, “Toys ‘R
Us” toy stores, “Nike” and “Just Do It,” and the “Hard
Rock Cafe” logo. See Anheuser-Bush, Inc. v. Andy’s
Sportswear, Inc., 40 U.S.P.Q.2d 1542 (N.D. Cal 1996)
(granting a TRO against the use of “Buttweiser” on t-
shirts); Hasbro, Inc. v. Internet Entertainment Group, Ltd..,
40 U.S.P.Q.2d 1479 (W.D. Wash. 1996) (finding dilution by
tarnishment by a web site showing sexually explicit
pictures); American Express Co. v. CFK, Inc., 947 F. Supp.
310 (E.D. Mich. 1996) (declining to grant summary judg-
ment against “Don’t Leave Home Without Me Pocket
Address Book”); Ringling Bros.-Barnum & Bailey Com-
bined Shows, Inc. v. B.E. Windows Corp., 937 F. Supp. 204
(S.D.N.Y. 1996) (finding no dilution by “The Greatest Bar
on Earth” on other grounds); Panavision Intl L.P. uv.
Toeppen, 945 F. Supp. 1296 (C.D. Cal. 1996) (finding
dilution by cybersquatter’s use as a domain name), affd,
141 F.3d 1316 (9th Cir. 1998); Porsche Cars North America
Inc. v. Manny’s Porshop, Inc., 972 F. Supp. 1128 (N.D. IIl.
1997) (finding infringement and dilution by independent
repairers “Porshop”); Toys “R” Us, Inc. v. Akkaoui, 40
U.S.P.Q.2d 1836 (N.D. Cal. 1996) (finding dilution by
tarnishment by use of “adultsrus.com” for web site offering
adult sexual products); Nike, Inc. v. “Just Did It” Enters.,
799 F.Supp. 894, 899 (N.D. Ill. 1992) (describing these
marks as famous); Hard Rock Cafe Licensing Corp. v.
Pacific Graphics, Inc., 776 F.Supp. 1454, 1461 (W.D.
Wash. 1991) (granting an injunction), rev’d on other
grounds, 6 F.3d 1225 (7th Cir. 1993).

App. 19

The Court is unpersuaded that the phrase “We'll Pick
You Up” has the type or amount of fame ascribed to these
types of marks. See [.P. Lund Trading ApS Kroin, Inc. v.
Kohler, 163 F.3d 27, 46 (1st Cir. 1998) (meeting the fame
standard requires an “elite” or “very unique” mark). The
phrase at issue here connotes a common feature of rental
car services — providing some type of pick-up service,
either at the customer’s home or business or from the
repair shop. Dr. Howard’s survey revealed that only 49.6%
of the respondents — less than half — associated this
extremely generic phrase with Enterprise, and these were
people who had already indicated their familiarity with
Enterprise and with the phrase. Dr. Howard’s survey does
not indicate how many people would recognize the phrase
“We'll Pick You Up” if théy were not already prompted
with the information that the phrase should be associated
with rental car companies. The Court is persuaded by the
district court’s reasoning in American Dairy Queen Corp.
v. RTO, Inc., 16 U.S.P.Q.2d 1077 (N.D. Ill. 1990). In that
case, the court declined to enter an injunction in favor of
Dairy Queen’s slogan “We Treat You Right.” The court
explained, “We see no advance to the public interest in
permitting an enterprise to monopolize one form of an-
nouncing ‘Hey, we are good.’” Similarly, this Court de-
clines to allow Enterprise to monopolize, especially in light
of the absence of confusion and the fact that the parties are
direct competitors, one way of conveying their pickup service.

The Court is also persuaded by the following authori-
ties. In Sports Authority, Inc. v. Abercrombie & Fitch, Inc.,
965 F. Supp. 925 (E.D. Mich 1997), the court found that
Abercrombie’s use of phrase “Original Outdoor Authority”
did not dilute the plaintiff's trade name “Sports Author-
ity” for a sporting goods retail store. The court determined

App. 20

that the term “Authority” was not sufficiently famous to
deserve protection under the federal dilution. In Columbia
University v. Columbia/HCA Healthcare Corp, 964 F. Supp.
733 (S.D.N.Y. 1997), the court found the mark “Columbia”
to be too weak in the healthcare industry to be diluted,
even though the mark was relatively strong in the educa-
tional field both for Columbia University and its medical
school. See also Genovese Drug Stores, Inc. v. TGC Stores,
Inc. , 939 F. Supp. 340, 350 (D.N.J. 1996) (determining that
a grocery store’s mark “We'll Take Good Care of You”
lacked the requisite fame to be diluted by a competitor’s
“Takegood Care” stores).

The Court has also considered the Ninth Circuit’s
recent decision, Avery Dennison Corp. v. Sumpton, 1999
WL 637085 (9th Cir. 1999). In that case, Avery Dennison
Corporation had been selling office products under the
registered trademarks “Avery” and “Dennison” for over
sixty years. The company spent more than $5 million per
year advertising its products and made approximately $3
billion in sales annually. The company sued an internet e-
mail provider who had registered the domain names
“avery.net” and “dennison.net.” Finding the defendant’s
domain names to dilute the plaintiff's registered trade-
marks, the district court entered an injunction ordering
the defendant to transfer the domain name registrations
to the plaintiff. The Ninth Circuit reversed, finding that
the plaintiff's marks were not sufficiently famous to merit
protection under the federal dilution statute. The Court
explained that a dilution cause of action treads close to
granting “rights in gross” in a trademark and creates a
danger of over-protecting trademarks at the expense of
potential non-infringing uses. The Court emphasized that
the famousness prong of the dilution analysis reinstated

App. 21

the balance by assuring that only a limited class of trade-
marks was eligible for dilution protection. See id. at *4, *5.
While analyzing the statutory factors, the Court discussed
three market research studies the plaintiff had presented
to show evidence of extensive advertising and sales,
international operations, and consumer awareness. The
pool of participants in one survey was created by using the
plaintiff's client lists and the otier two surveys were
administered mostly to users and purchasers of office
products. The Court found these market reports did not
provide any evidence of whether consumers in general had
any brand association with “Avery” and “Avery Dennison”
or whether the product awareness related specifically to
the Dennison trademark.

In its attempt to show the requisite fame, Enterprise
has repeatedly emphasized both the size of its advertising
budget and the notoriety of the programs during which
Enterprise has run its commercials. However, the mere
fact that Enterprise has spent a significant amount of
money in advertising does not necessarily lead to the
conclusion that the mark is famous. See Carter-Wallace,
Inc. v. Procter & Gamble Co., 434 F.2d 794 (9th Cir. 1970)
(stating that a “large expenditure of money does not in
itself create legally protectable rights”); Aloe Creme Labs.,
Inc. v. Milsan Inc., 423 F.2d 845, 850 (5th Cir.) (emphasiz-
ing that the question is the effectiveness of the promo-
tional efforts in shaping the impression of the consuming
public, not merely the extent of the promotional efforts),
cert. denied, 398 U.S. 928 (1970).

Enterprise has failed to present any evidence that the
phrase “We'll Pick You Up” is sufficiently famous to
receive protection under the anti-dilution statutes. Dr.
Howard’s findings are simply insufficient. The Court has

A-22

deliberate choice made by Congress. It is not the
province of this court or of the Board to read a new
provision into the FTDA to the effect that the Board may
grant concurrent use registrations to avoid trademark
dilution.

Our conclusion that any prior use, even in a
limited geographic area, defeats a claim of dilution in a
civil action under section 1125(c) leads to the conclusion
that it defeats an opposition to registration based on
dilution under section 1063. Section 1063 explicitly
incorporates the definition of dilution from section
1125(c), allowing for the filing of an opposition by “[a]ny
person who believes that he would be damaged by the
registration of a mark upon the principal register,
including as a result of dilution under section 1125(c).”
15 U.S.C. § 1063(a) (2000) (emphasis added). This is
confirmed by the legislative history, which states that the
law “provides holders of famous marks with a right to
oppose or seek cancellation of a mark that would cause
dilution as provided in the [FTDA].” H.R. Rep. No. 106-
250, at 4 (1999). Because there can be no dilution under
the FIDA where the allegedly famous mark did not
achieve fame prior to any use by the accused infringer,
there can be no opposition based on dilution under such
circumstances.

. Even if Congress had extended the Lanham Act
provisions on concurrent use to the FTDA, it would not lead to the
result Enterprise seeks - prevention of Advantage’s federal
registration. Rather, the proceeding would be converted to a
concurrent use proceeding, in which Advantage would be eligible
to receive federal concurrent use registration. See, e.g., Faces, Inc.
v. Face’s, Inc., 222 USPQ 918, 919 (TTAB 1983).

A-23

Because Advantage used the mark in the San
Antonio, Texas, area in 1990, before Enterprise’s mark
allegedly became famous,7”] the Board correctly
rejected Enterprise’s opposition and registered the
Advantage mark.

IV

Enterprise’s final contention is that the Board
improperly refused to allow it to amend its opposition to
include claims of dilution under state dilution statutes.
Some of these statutes appear to apply without regard to -
the fame of the mark, and so Enterprise would not be
barred by res judicata from pressing these claims before
the Board. The Board refused the motion to amend,
holding that the Trademark Amendments Act did not
add dilution under state statutes as a ground for
opposition. Enterprise, 62 USPQ2d at 1858-59. We agree
with the Board.

The new statute provides for oppositions based
on “dilution under section 1125(c),” not based on
dilution under state law. And as discussed above, the
legislative history indicates that Congress enacted this
provision in response to the Board’s decision in Babson
which dealt with the question of whether opposition
could be based on dilution under the FTDA. See H.R.
Rep. No. 106-250, at 5; Babson, 39 USPQ2d at 1953. The
House Judiciary Committee explicitly stated, “[s]ection
two provides holders of famous marks with a right to
oppose or seek cancellation of a mark that would cause

4 In fact, the district court found that Enterprise did not
even use its mark as the company slogan until 1994, four years
after Advantage’s prior use began in 1990. Advantage, No. A
98CA 372, slip op. at 3 & n.2.

A-24

dilution as provided in the ‘Federal Trademark Dilution
Act of 1995.’” H.R. Rep. No. 106-250, at 4 (emphasis
added). There is nothing in the language or in the
legislative history of the Trademark Amendments Act of
1999 to suggest that Congress added to the statute any
grounds for opposition other than dilution under the
FIDA, much less dilution under state statutes. And
rejecting such an opposition is consistent with one of the

. Enterprise argues that by overruling Babson, Congress
intended to overrule the longstanding Board rule mentioned in
Babson that violations of state dilution statutes do not constitute
aground for opposition or cancellation. This argument is
unsupported.

Babson presented the question of first impression of
whether dilution under the FTDA constituted a ground of
opposition, and merely noted by way of a passing footnote the
well-established Board rule regarding state dilution causes of
action. Babson, 39 USPQ2d at 1954 n.4 (citing Devries v. NCC
Corp., 227 USPQ 705, 706 n.3 (TTAB 1985); and K2 Corp. v. Philip
Morris Inc., 192 USPQ 174 (TTAB 1976), aff'd, Philip Morris Inc. v.
K2 Corp., 555 F.2d 815, 194 USPQ 81 (CCPA 1977)). There is no
suggestion in the legislative history of the Trademark
Amendments Act of 1999 that Congress was concerned with the
state law aspect of Babson. Babson was uniformly described in
the legislative history as a case that rejected dilution under the
FTDA as a ground for opposition. See, e.g., H.R. Rep. No. 106-250,
at 5 (quoting Babson, 39 USPQ2d at 1954) (stating that Babson
“illuminated the need for further legislation,” because “the Board
held, ‘Based on the provisions of the Federal Dilution Act... we
hold that the framers of the law did not intend to provide a new
statutory ground for opposition and cancellation.’”); 145 Cong.
Rec. S7,452-56 (daily ed. June 22, 1999) (statement of Sen. Hatch)
(“In Babson Bros. Co. v. Surge Power Corp, 39 USPQ2d 1953
(TTAB 1996), the TTAB held that it was not authorized by the
Federal Trademark Dilution Act to consider dilution as grounds
for opposition or cancellation of a registration. Thus, under
current law a trademark owner may seek relief under the federal
dilution statute only after dilution of the mark has occurred.”).

A-25

stated purposes of the Lanham Act, “to protect
registered marks used in such commerce from
interference by State, or territorial legislation.” 15 U.S.C.
§ 1127 (2000); see also H.R. Rep. No. 104-374, at 7.

To be sure, the statute allows oppositions to be
filed by “[aJny person who believes that he would be
damaged by the registration of a mark upon the
principal register, including as a result of dilution under
section 1125(c).” 15 US.C. § 1063(a) (2000). Enterprise
argues that this provision allows for the filing of an
opposition based on alleged damage as defined by state
causes of action. We held in Young v. AGB Corp., 152
F.3d 1377, 47 USPQ2d 1752 (Fed. Cir. 1998), however,
that this language merely states the requirement for
Standing. Id. at 1379-80, 47 USPQ2d at 1754. Once
standing is established, in order to state a claim, an
Opposer must base its ground of Opposition on a
Statutory claim found in the Lanham Act. Id. at 1380, 47
USPQ2d at 1754. But the Lanham Act does not’create a
ground for opposition based on state dilution law.

Enterprise in this case sought to amend its
opposition to add claims under state law; the Board did
not abuse its discretion in refusing those amendments.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the
Board is \

AFFIRMED |
COSTS |

No costs.

A-26

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

NOTICE OF ENTRY OF
JUDGMENT ACCOMPANIED BY OPINION

OPINION FILED AND JUDGMENT ENTERED:
05/30/03

The attached opinion announcing the judgment
of the court in your case was filed and judgment was
entered on the date indicated above. The mandate will
issue in due course.

Information is also provided about petitions for
rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en banc. The
questions and answers are those frequently asked and
answered by the Clerk’s Office.

No costs were taxed in this appeal.

Regarding exhibits and visual aids: Your
attention is directed to FRAP 34(g) which states that the
clerk my destroy or dispose of the exhibits if counsel
does not reclaim them within a reasonable time after
the clerk gives notice to remove them. (The clerk
deems a reasonable time to be 15 days from the date
the final mandate is issued.)

JAN HORBALY
Clerk
cc: RUDOLPH A. TELSCHER, JR.
WILLIAM D. RAMAN

ENTERPR RENT-A-CAR V ADV RENT-A-CAR, 02-1444
PTO-120,101

A-27

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

02-1444
(Opposition no. 120,101)

ENTERPRISE RENT -A-CAR COMPANY,
Appellant,
v.

ADVANTAGE RENT-A-CAR, INC,
Appellee.

JUDGMENT

Appealed from:
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Trademark Trial and Appeal Board

in CASE NOS).

This CAUSE having been heard and considered, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED:

AFFIRMED

ENTERED BY

ORDER OF THE COURT
/s/ Jan Horbaly

Jan Horbaly

DATED MAY 30 2003

A-28

THIS OPINION IS CITABLE
AS PRECEDENT OF
THE T.T.A.B.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT
OF COMMERCE ;

Patent and Trademark Office

Trademark Trial and Appeal Board

2900 Crystal Drive

Arlington, Virginia 22202-3513

Mermelstein
Mailed: March 26, 2001
[Entered: March 26, 2001]
Opposition No. 120,101
Enterprise Rent-A-Car Company
v

Advantage Rent-A-Car Inc.

Before Bucher, Rogers, and Drost,
administrative trademark judges.

- A-29

By the Board.

On March 26, 2001, applicant filed a "motion to
dismiss for failure to state a claim." Because applicant's
motion relied upon matters outside of the pleadings,
the Board notified the parties by order dated April 2,
2001, that the motion would be treated as one for
summary judgment.? See Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b). With its
brief in opposition to applicant's motion for judgment,
opposer filed a motion to amend its notice of
opposition to add claims for relief under state dilution
statutes. Applicant filed a reply in support of its
motion for summary judgment (which we have
considered) and an opposition to opposer's motion to
amend. Finally, on July 2, 2001, opposer filed a motion
to file a surreply to the motion for summary judgment,
along with its proffered surreply.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE SURREPLY

Trademark Rule 2.127(e)(1) states that "The
Board may, in its discretion consider a reply brief. * * *
No further papers in support of or in opposition to a motion
for summary judgment will be considered by the Board."
(emphasis added. ) See also, No Fear Inc. v. Rule, 54
USPQ2d 1551, 1553 (TTAB 2000) (reply briefs are
disfavored; no further papers may be considered under
Board's rules).

1 Specifically, applicant relies on the opinion and judgment
on appeal in a civil action between the parties herein, Advantage
Rent-A-Car Inc. v. Enterprise Rent-A-Car Co., 238 F.3d 378, 57
USPQ2d 1561, 1562-63 (5th Cir. 2001).

2 To avoid confusion, applicant's motion is referred to
herein as a motion for summary judgment.

A-30

The quoted language of Rule 2.127(e)(1) leaves
the Board with no discretion in this matter. Even if it
did, however, we would not exercise it to consider the
surreply in this case. There must be an end to every
argument and a party's desire to have the last word is
not a sufficient ground to ignore the Board's rules for
briefing. Opposer's motion is DENIED, and its surreply
has not been considered.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO AMEND PLEADING

Opposer now seeks leave to amend its notice of
opposition to add claims for dilution based on state
law.3 Under Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a), once a responsive
pleading is filed, a party may amend a pleading only
by leave of the court, "and leave shall be freely given
when justice so requires."

Consistent with the exhortation in Fed. R. Civ. P.
15(a), the Board is liberal in granting leave to amend,
provided the amendment would not violate settled law
or be prejudicial to the rights of the adverse party. E.g.,
Polaris Industries Inc. v. DC Comics, 59 USPQ2d 1798,
1799 (TTAB 2000); TBMP § 507.01 (and cases cited
therein). However, the Board will deny a motion for
leave to amend if the proffered pleading is itself legally
insufficient, or would serve no useful purpose. Polaris,
59 USPQ2d at 1798.

: Specifically, opposer wishes to plead grounds for opposition
arising under the anti-dilution statutes of Alabama, California,
Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois,
Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi,
Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon,
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, West
Virginia, and Wyoming. Motion, May 14, 2001, p. 2.

A-31

Prejudice to applicant is not an issue in this case.
Trial has not yet begun, and the Board could easily
ameliorate any difficulty resulting from amendment by
extending the discovery period. See, e.g., Buffett v. Chi-
Chi's, Inc., 226 USPQ 428, 431 (TTAB 1985).
Nonetheless, we deny opposer's motion, because the
Board has no jurisdiction to decide issues arising under
state dilution laws.

A review of the history of dilution claims before
the TTAB is instructive. Prior to 1995, many states
recognized claims for trademark dilution. It had long
been held, however, that claims for dilution were not a
cognizable ground for opposition or cancellation before
the Board. E.g., Max Factor & Co. v. Clairol Inc., 163
USPQ 240, 243 (TTAB 1969); Geo. A. Dickel Co. v.
General Mills, Inc., 317 F.2d 954, 137 USPQ 891, 892
(CCPA 1963); K2 Corp. v. Philip Morris Inc., 192 USPQ
174, 177 (TTAB 1976), aff'd,555 F.2d 815, 194 USPQ 81
(CCPA 1977).

In 1995, in order to provide a federal cause of
action for trademark dilution, Congress passed the
Federal Trademark Dilution Act of 1995 (FTDA). Pub.
L. No. 104-98, 109 Stat. 985. The FTDA amended
Trademark Act § 43 to provide a remedy for dilution.4
In Babson Bros. Co. v. Surge Power Corp., 39 USPQ2d
1953 (TTAB 1996), the Board held that while the FTDA
provided "a federal cause of action in courts," it did not
explicitly or implicitly provide a new ground for
opposition or cancellation before the Board. Babson, 39
USPQ2d at 1954-55.

‘ The FTDA also amended Trademark Act § 45 by inserting
a definition of "dilution."

A-32

Finally, pursuant to the Trademark
Amendments Act of 1999 ("TAA"), Pub. L. No. 106-43,
113 Stat. 218, Congress amended the Trademark Act
to provide that dilution is a ground for opposition
or cancellation proceedings before the Board. In doing
so, the legislative history specifically referred to the
Board's decision in Babson, see, e.g., Cong. Rec. June 22,
1999, S7453-54 (1999) (statement of Sen. Hatch). To the
extent relevant here, the TAA amended Trademark Act
§ 13 as follows> (wording added by TAA underlined):

(a) | Any person who believes that he
would be damaged by the registration of
a mark upon the principal register,
including as a result of dilution under section
43(c), may .. . file an opposition in the
Patent and Trademark Office, stating the
grounds therefor. . . .

Opposer essentially contends that the term
"including" in the TAA has dramatically expanded the
Board's jurisdiction in opposition or cancellation
proceedings to consider as grounds for Board
proceedings any claim asserting a theory by which a
"person . . . believes that he would be damaged,"
including those arising under state dilution statutes.
Neither the language of the statute, nor its legislative
history supports such a result.

. Trademark Act § 14, governing cancellation proceedings,
was similarly amended by the TAA.

App. 33

Advantage Rent-A-Car

300 -—_——------ -----

290

i9| Py

ane

95/96 96/97

91/92 92/93 93/94

Number of Steering Wheel Commercial Airings

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2248%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
