# Reply Brief — Alcan Aluminum Corp. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2153%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 1103

## Text

No. 03-433

| Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

DEC 2 3 2003

OFFICE O

In the Supreme Court of the United States

ALCAN ALUMINUM CORPORATION, PETITIONER

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA;
STATE OF NEW YORK

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR
ROBERT R. GASAWAY
KANNON K. SHANMUGAM
JOSEPH A. EISERT
KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP

655 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20005
(202) 879-5000

ROBERT H. BORK
6250 Ridge Street
McLean, VA 22101
(703) 288-1174

LAWRENCE A. SALIBRA, II
Counsel of Record

JOHN C. TILLMAN

MARK D. KINDT

ALCAN CORPORATION

6060 Parkland Boulevard

Mayfield Heights, OH 44124

(440) 423-6918

WILLIAM S. SESSIONS

HOLLAND & KNIGHT LLP

2099 Pennsylvania Avenue,
N.W.

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 955-3000

ee

_——$—$———— TE a
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. .............00csscssssssossesersasesseesvoene lil
TTI EIN cvesvnsesvevcesisscsvernsrersionssevenvsnecssonsscouvssevevasasees 1
REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT............::ecceeeeeeeseees 2

THE SECOND CIRCUIT ERRED ON TWO
CERCLA QUESTIONS OF EXCEPTIONAL
RPT Aa wv sscsncescsnsecnserverscenesrsnsnnissverninviscesonmnseernivens 2

A. The Second Circuit Erred By Imposing CERCLA
Liability For Disposing Of Waste Even If It
Contains Only Below-Background Levels Of A
Diammmnte POTUII....6.0000:00s0sesssevvcnncevsvensvessrssensesvessees 3

B. The Second Circuit Erred By Imposing Joint and
Several CERCLA Liability Merely For Disposing
Of Harmless Waste, On The Ground That It Could
“Spread” Hazardous Substances In Waste
Disposed Of By Othes...............cecsscsssessessesseseeseseres 8

COIN sserciseinivtassivcivenssensesyscntiviatiebiovensamiisnsttensvennvens 10

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

CASES
Amoco Oil Co. v. Borden, Inc.,

we TT ee) en 5,6
B.F. Goodrich Co. v. Murtha,

Ee Ne CA, CPF G is eininsassscerscssscrascevesscsesnssensones 5
Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter,

515 U.S. 687 (1995)........ Ree pe etnies 2
Commander Oil Corp. v. Barlo Equip. Corp.,

a te Gl, BIE oe ses ycenvensesonnsrsacisnenvnvesenssenseve 2
Control Data Corp. v. S.C.S.C. Corp.,

| eee 10
Eagle-Picher Industries, Inc. v. EPA,

FE CEs Gy BID viccivevsessssveesnsovnnsnsesecsussunsone 5
Licciardi v. Murphy Oil U.S.A., Inc.,

ee Pe GOT, BIT Pevsesencosvvenusvvervesnrvencnsevenenevtenvee 6
Massachusetts v. Blackstone Valley Electric Co.,

67 F.3d 981 (1st Cir. 1995)......... ‘ialdsvicipnnsvneaie 5
Solid Waste Agency of N. Cook Cty. v. Army Corps of

Eng’ rs,

ee a ncsassasevssinaepsininvindagionintgsvansehisuensinenes 2
United States v. Alcan Aluminum Corp.,

ee Gy CI ivivessecisnsnassovesncerseneronunsenennns 5,8
United States v. Bestfoods,

a I cncsanntsasnrussanvarrendvieseisaressennsyncsssenonsivenes 1
Whitman v. American Trucking Assn’s, Inc.,

A I Bo nncssusniiesekexaneseoneninsbsarentionneononensusseusis 2
STATUTES

Be ee ie Be excensnsssnncacssnnnsintsaasvsnosonavanbsvvessevesssenvenenees 4

1V

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Ted Cilwick,
Big Polluters Find Way to Clean Up the Balance Sheet:
Soak the Little Guy,
at Tale Teh, NOW. B, UGGS. ancsessccnsesevissesvccsssavessocsecasens 10

Cathleen Clark,
Should The Butcher, The Baker And The Candlestick
Maker Be Held Responsible For Hazardous Waste?,
SOE CEL... FRE Ber 0 thirst awe 10

Office of Solid Waste and Emergency Response, EPA,
Role of Background in the CERCLA Cleanup Program,
OSWER 9285.6-07P (Apr. 26, 2002) ..........eseeceseesesseeeees 4

Sue Reisinger,
Feds Pay in Superfund Lawsuits,
ee Fae Fn SP 0, Ee etic eiciihaineen l

ne ne a. in i See

INTRODUCTION

The federal government’s brief in opposition does not
seriousiv defend the two legal holdings underpinning the
Second Circuit’s decision: its holding that a company may be
subject to CERCLA liability for disposing of a substance
containing only below-background amounts of manmade
pollutants, and its holding that a company may be subject to
joint and several CERCLA liability on the ground that even
harmless substances, once disposed of, can “spread” the
hazardous substances disposed of by others.

Instead, the government repeatedly attempts to portray the
decision below as doing no more than affirming factual
findings. As the widespread amicus interest in this case amply
demonstrates, however, nothing could be further from the truth.
It is the troubling legal standards employed by the Second
Circuit, not any Alcan-specific findings, that threaten to expose
companies to crushing liability simply for being so bold as to
dispose of harmless substances. Furthermore, even assuming
that there are outstanding factual disputes even after the correct
legal standards have been determined, as the government
contends, those disputes may be resolved on remand, and do
nothing to preclude the Court’s review at this juncture.

This Court’s intervention is urgently needed. The Court has
heard only one CERCLA case in the last ten Terms — and that
involving an issue of relatively narrow significance. See United
States v. Bestfoods, 524 U.S. 51 (1998). No one seriously
contests that the government is increasingly taking a “very
aggressive posture” in CERCLA proceedings. Sue Reisinger,
Feds Pay in Superfund Lawsuits, Nat’| Law J., Dec. 1, 2003, at
8, 10 (internal quotation omitted). Nor does anyone seriously
doubt that a big part of the reason that this Court and the courts
of appeals have thus far been unable to develop workable
CERCLA standards is that the “inordinate liability and
litigation costs associated with defending CERCLA cases,” Br.
of Washington Legal Foundation et al. 20, force many a

2

defendant to settle even before litigation begins. The lower
courts, including the Second Circuit itself, are crying out for
guidance on what all agree are the many “ambiguit[ies] within
CERCLA’s miasmatic provisions.” Commander Oil Corp. v.
Barlo Equip. Corp., 215 F.3d 321, 326 (2d Cir. 2000) (Walker,
J.). Because this case presents a rare opportunity for the Court
to provide such guidance, certiorari should be granted.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE SECOND CIRCUIT ERRED ON TWO CERCLA
QUESTIONS OF EXCEPTIONAL IMPORTANCE.

This case raises heretofore-unresolved CERCLA issues of
exceptional importance. When viewed against the backdrop of
similarly important provisions in other environmental statutes,
it is remarkable that, in the almost 25 years after CERCLA’s
enactment, neither this Court nor the government itself has ever
given an authoritative interpretation to CERCLA’s bedrock
provisions (i) defining what constitutes a “hazardous substance”
or (ii) specifying when, if at all, generators may be subject to
joint and several liability on the ground that harmless wastes
they have disposed of might “spread” the hazardous wastes
disposed of by others. Cf., e.g., Whitman v. American Trucking
Assn’s, Inc., 531 U.S. 457 (2001) (interpreting foundational
“national ambient air quality standards” provisions of the Clean
Air Act); Solid Waste Agency of N. Cook Cty. v. Army Corps of
Engrs, 531 U.S. 159 (2001) (interpreting foundational
“navigable waters” provision of Clean Water Act); Babbitt v.
Sweet Home Chapter, 515 U.S. 687 (1995) (interpreting
foundational “take” provisions of the Endangered Species Act).
Nor, given the government’s “very aggressive posture” in
CERCLA proceedings and the “inordinate liability and
litigation costs” associated with defending CERCLA cases, is
this Court likely to have such an opportunity again in the near
future. Certiorari is accordingly warranted.

3

A. The Second Circuit Erred By Imposing CERCLA
Liability For Disposing Of Waste Even If it
Contains Only Below-Background Levels Of A
Manmade Pollutant.

1. The government’s brief never comes to grips with
Alcan’s fundamental argument in favor of certiorari: namely,
that there is an urgent need for a workable definition of what
constitutes a “hazardous substance” for purposes of imposing
CERCLA liability. As noted in the petition, the government
can, and does, effectively give this key statutory term an absurd
meaning. See Pet. 6-11. Remarkably, the government does not
deny that, because virtually a// material contains below-
background amounts of manmade hazardous substances, its
reading of the statute would afford the government unfettered
discretion to decide whom to prosecute for CERCLA liability.

2. The government makes only halfhearted efforts to
defend the Second Circuit’s holding that generators are exempt
from CERCLA liability in cases in which their waste contains
below-background levels of naturally occurring hazardous
substances, but not in cases in which their waste contains
below-background levels of manmade substances. See Opp.
14-15. Specifically, the government does not challenge — at
least not expressly — the Second Circuit’s earlier holding in
this case that an exemption is appropriate in cases involving
trace levels of naturally occurring hazardous substances. See
990 F.2d 711, 722 (2d Cir. 1993). But it nevertheless defends
the Second Circuit’s refusal in its opinion below to extend this
exemption to manmade hazardous substances — by merely
quoting the Second Circuit’s ipse dixit assertion that its original
exemption was limited to naturally occurring substances. Opp.
15 (quoting Pet. App. 10a).

The government does effectively concede that “manmade
chemicals * * * are also present, in small amounts, throughout
the environment.” /d. This effective concession is
unsurprising, for it reflects acknowledgments already made by

4

the EPA in its internal policy documents on CERCLA
remediation, see Office of Solid Waste and Emergency
Response, EPA, Role of Background in the CERCLA Cleanup
Program, OSWER 9285.6-07P, at 7 (Apr. 26, 2002), and by at
least one other federal agency in a regulation setting tolerable
levels of PCBs — the particular pollutant at issue here, see 21
C.F.R. § 109.30(a). But even if those statements “do{] not
address the scope of CERCLA liability,” Opp. 15 n.4 — and we
have never contended that they do — they demonstrate that
there is no justification for treating manmade substances
differently from naturally occurring ones, since both have
“background” levels. The only logical conclusion, therefore, is
either (i) that CERCLA liability should attach whenever waste
contains only below-background levels of naturally occurring or
manmade hazardous substances (a position, again, that the
government does not expressly embrace), or (ii) that CERCLA
liability should not attach when waste contains only below-
background levels of naturally occurring or manmade
hazardous substances (as we contend). In either case, the
Second Circuit’s decision misstates the rule — and certiorari is
appropriate to determine the correct rule.

3. The government does suggest that “[c]ourts have
consistently held that CERCLA’s definition of hazardous
substance does not include a ‘[q]Juantity or concentration’
requirement,” id. at 4, and that “courts have * * * concluded,
without exception, that CERCLA liability may arise from the
improper disposal of wastes containing small amounts of
hazardous substances,” id. at 13. But the circuit decisions the
government cites in this regard do nothing to undermine the
critical proposition asserted by Alcan: namely, that CERCLA
liability should not attach when waste contains only below-
background trace concentrations of hazardous substances.

For example, although the Second Circuit, in its earlier
opinion in this case, did state that “‘[q]uantity or concentration
is not a factor’” in the statutory definition of “hazardous

5

substance,” 990 F.2d at 720 (quoting B.F. Goodrich Co. v.
Murtha, 958 F.2d 1192, 1200 (2d Cir. 1992)), it of course
recognized an exemption from Jiability for waste containing
trace concentrations of naturally occurring hazardous
substances, see id. at 722. Similarly, the Third Circuit has
recognized only that “CERCLA liability does not depend on the
existence of a threshold quantity of a hazardous substance” —
not that CERCLA liability ultimately attaches even when waste
contains only a trace concentration of a hazardous substance.
United States v. Alcan Aluminum Corp., 964 F.2d 252, 260-61
(3d Cir. 1992) (emphasis added). Finally, the Fifth Circuit,
while likewise recognizing that the “plain statutory language
fails to impose any quantitative requirement,” expressly
rejected the proposition that “CERCLA liability attaches upon
the release of any quantity of a hazardous substance,” reasoning
that such an interpretation would “permit CERCLA’s reach to
exceed its statutory purposes by holding parties liable who have
- not posed any threat to the public or the environment.” Amoco
Oil Co. v. Borden, Inc., 889 F.2d 664, 669-70 (Sth Cir. 1989).'

4. The government’s attempts to distinguish the circuit
decisions cited in the petition, see Opp. 16-17, are likewise
unavailing. As to the First Circuit’s decision in Massachusetts
v. Blackstone Valley Electric Co., 67 F.3d 981 (1995), the
government claims that the decision stands only for the
proposition that “it was not sufficient that [ferric ferrocyanide]
falls within a general category of ‘cyanides’ listed under the
Clean Water Act; rather * * * the substance must be more
specifically identified in one of the lists of hazardous substances

' The D.C. Circuit’s decision in Eagle-Picher Industries, Inc. v. EPA, 759
F.2d 922 (1985), is distinguishable. The issue in that case was whether
mining wastes and fly ash could constitute “hazardous substances”
notwithstanding the suspension of regulation of those substances under the
Solid Waste Disposal Act. See id. at 926-27. The court held that they could,
but only on the narrow factual basis that the petitioners failed to demonstrate
that all or virtually all mining waste and fly ash contained only trace amounts
of hazardous substances. See id. at 928.

6

that Section 101(14) of CERCLA incorporates by reference.”
Opp. 17 (citing 67 F.3d at 984-85). The cited portion of the
First Circuit’s decision, however, merely summarizes the
statutory scheme and the district court decision that was under
review. And in any event, the government’s characterization of
the First Circuit’s holding is inaccurate. Far from holding that
ferric ferrocyanide could not constitute a “cyanide” and thus a
CERCLA-regulated “hazardous substance,” the court merely
rejected the EPA’s “total cyanide” test for determining whether
ferric ferrocyanide did constitute a regulable “cyanide,” see
Blackstone, 67 F.3d at 988-91, and referred the case back to the
EPA for a new determination, see id. at 993. In doing so, the
court reasoned that the EPA’s “total cyanide” test could lead to
“nonsensical results” because many everyday substances
contain cyanide molecules. Jd. at 989-90. It added that such a
test would be “untenably overinclusive” because it would
sweep in substances that “no one, including the EPA, would
categorize * * * [as] within the meaning of * * * CERCLA.”
Id. at 990. The First Circuit’s decision is plainly in tension with
the decision below, which would bring innocuous substances
such as milk and rainwater within CERCLA’s ambit.

As to the Fifth Circuit’s decision in Licciardi v. Murphy Oil
U.S.A., Inc., 111 F.3d 396 (1997), the government contends that
the decision held only that “{the plaintiff] presented ‘no
evidence that the found “release” justified the response costs.”
Opp. 17 (quoting 111 F.3d at 399). Two sentences earlier in the
opinion, however, the court reiterated its earlier holding from
Amoco Oil that “liability does not attach to the release of ‘any
quantity of a hazardous substance.’” 111 F.3d at 399 (quoting
Amoco Oil, 889 F.2d at 670-71); see also id. at 398 (same).
Contrary to the government’s suggestion, therefore, see Opp.
17, the Fifth Circuit did indicate that a company could not be
held liable under CERCLA for disposing of de minimis
amounts of hazardous substances. The Fifth Circuit’s decision
in Licciardi, like the First Circuit’s decision in Blackstone, is in

tension with the decision below.

5. In the end, the government is left only with the weak
suggestion that Alcan presented insufficient evidence below to
establish that its emulsion contained below-background
concentrations of PCBs. See Opp. 15-16, 19. That suggestion
is not only inaccurate, in light of the unrebutted (and
unobjected-to) evidence introduced by Alcan at trial, see, e.g.,
C.A. App. 1196, but also irrelevant. Precisely because of its
holding that CERCLA liability attaches even when waste
contains below-background levels of manmade hazardous
substances, the district court made no factual finding as to the
level of PCBs in Alcan’s emulsion, concluding only that the
government established that Alcan’s emulsion contained some
level of PCBs. See Pet. App. 50a. The Second Circuit agreed.
See id. at 9a-10a. Indeed, if the courts below had concluded, as
a factual matter, that there were above-background PCB levels
in Alcan’s emulsion, they would have had no need to reach the
legai question whether CERCLA liability attaches to disposals
of below-background levels of manmade hazardous substances.

To the extent that there are any factual disputes as to whether
Alcan’s emulsion contained below-background levels of PCBs
— and it is Alcan’s view that there is not, see Pet. 12 — those
disputes could and should be resolved on remand after this
Court establishes the correct legal standards.’ Critically, the
burden of proof on the threshold question of whether a
generator disposed of covered “hazardous substances” — unlike

? Significantly, it is undisputed that the government presented no evidence
below as to the quantity of PCBs in Alcan’s emulsion, but only evidence that
PCB contamination was subsequently found at the plant whence that
emulsion came. See Pet. 12 n.3; Opp. 16. Moreover, although the
government suggests that, even if the PCBs or other substances in Alcan’s
emulsion existed only at below-background levels, they could conceivably
concentrate (say, if water in the emulsion evaporated) and reach above-
background levels. See id. at 16n.5. But the district court ultimately did not
find that such concentration either did occur or was likely to occur, see C.A.
App. 192 n.5, and this issue, too, could readily be addressed on remand.

8

the burden on the subsequent question of whether damages are
divisible — would presumably lie not with the defendant, but
rather with the government. See, e.g., Alcan, 964 F.2d at 264.
The underlying legal question whether a company could be
subject to CERCLA liability for disposing of substances
containing only trace amounts of manmade pollutants is
therefore squarely before this Court, and certiorari should be
granted to resolve it.

B. The Second Circuit Erred By Imposing Joint and
Several CERCLA Liability Merely For Disposing Of
Harmless Waste, On The Ground That It Could
“Spread” Hazardous Substances In Waste Disposed
Of By Others.

1. The government likewise offers little defense of the
Second Circuit’s further holding that generators may be held
jointly and severally liable even if their waste contains only
trace amounts of hazardous substances, simply because that
waste might “spread” the hazardous substances disposed of by
others. See Opp. 19-20. The government cites no cases for its
assertion, antithetical to common sense, that the fact that waste
has “mobilizing effects” precludes a generator from obtaining
any apportionment of its liability. Instead, the government
contends that “[p]etitioner overlooks the fact that it did not send
a pure oil-water emulsion to the PAS and Fulton sites; rather, it
sent a mixed industrial waste stream, consisting of water, oil,
PCBs and other hazardous substances that, in itself, qualified as
a hazardous substance.” /d. at 20.2 That contention, however,
is entirely unresponsive. Even assuming that the presence of
minimal amounts of PCBs in Alcan’s waste sufficed to
transform that waste into a “hazardous substance,” the Second

> Although the government states that Alcan’s emulsion contained “other
hazardous substances” beyond PCBs, the district court did not find that any
of those other hazardous substances, all of which were naturally occurring,
existed in above-background levels. See, e.g., 755 F. Supp. 531, 536-39
(N.D.N.Y. 1991); Pet. App. 35a-36a; C.A. App. 191 n.5.

9

Circuit effectively used the presence of those trace amounts as a
bootstrap to subject Alcan to full joint and several liability
without any possibility of apportionment. If the Second
Circuit’s decision is allowed to stand, full joint and several
liability could attach even to companies that have disposed only
of what are undeniably harmless substances.

Nor is there any question that the lower courts’ refusal to
apportion liability rested solely on their determination that the
non-hazardous liquid substances in Alcan’s emulsion —
namely, water and oil — produced “mobilizing effects” on
hazardous substances disposed of by others. See Pet. App. 12a-
13a (Second Circuit); id. at 64a (district court) (noting that “a
singularly non-toxic substance can physically interact with other
substances and contribute to release and response costs”).
There was no specific finding below that the alleged PCBs in
Alcan’s emulsion somehow interacted with any other hazardous
substance in the emulsion, nor that the PCBs in Alcan’s
emulsion interacted consequentially with hazardous substances
produced by others. See Pet. 13. The Second Circuit’s legal
conclusion that apportionment of liability is precluded
whenever non-hazardous components of waste have
“mobilizing effects” is therefore ripe for this Court’s review.*

2. The government also misfires in contending that Alcan
inaccurately characterizes the decision below by suggesting that
it holds Alcan “entirely” liable for the cleanup costs of the two
sites. See Opp. 21. In fact, we have already noted that Alcan
did receive an offset for the share of liability paid by the settling
defendants, even though the Second Circuit refused to further
apportion Alcan’s liability. See, e.g., Pet. 1, 14. Nonetheless,
the mere fact that Alcan’s emulsion “constitute[d]

* As amici Washington Legal Foundation et al. note, it is questionable
whether the fact that waste had “mobilizing effects” even increases the cost
of recovery at all. Such waste “may have actually diluted the hazardous
substances disposed of by others at the site, and thus[] ameliorated any
environmental harm.” Br. of Washington Legal Foundation et al. 16.

10

approximately 25 percent of the total volume of waste material”
sent to the PAS site, Opp. 21, does not imply that Alcan should
necessarily bear 25 percent of the liability. Such a slavishly
volumetric approach is inappropriate where, as here, the
generator’s waste was never proven to be harmful or give rise to
any remediation costs. Cf Control Data Corp. v. S.C.S.C.
Corp., 53 F.3d 930, 937-38 (8th Cir. 1995) (rejecting strict
volumetric approach on ground that “those who release
substances that are more toxic are more responsible for the
hazardous condition”). And the government does not deny that
a future defendant in Alcan’s position could be liable for most
or even all cleanup costs, should the government choose either
to settle too cheaply with other generators, or, in the extreme
case, not to pursue any other generators at all.

3. Finally, the government claims that Alcan’s assertions
about the current breadth of CERCLA liability are based on
mere “speculation and unsubstantiated anecdotes.” Opp. 13.
Even before the decision below, however, actual examples of
CERCLA’s breadth were not hard to find. See, e.g., Ted
Cilwick, Big Polluters Find Way to Clean Up the Balance
Sheet: Soak the Little Guy, Salt Lake Trib., Nov. 8, 1992, at
A10 (citing, inter alia, contribution action against pizza parlor
for disposing of pizza boxes and other garbage). The Second
Circuit’s decision gives the government a green light to
prosecute virtually anyone for violating CERCLA, and
establishes a rule under which “liability 1s based more on a
defendant’s ability to pay * * * than on culpability.” Cathleen
Clark, Should The Butcher, The Baker And The Candlestick
Maker Be Held Responsible For Hazardous Waste?, 1994 Utah
L. Rev. 871, 874. Given these draconian implications, the
Court’s review is needed.

CONCLUSION

The petition for certiorari should be granted.

KENNETH W. STARR
ROBERT R. GASAWAY
KANNON K. SHANMUGAM
JOSEPH A. EISERT
KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP

655 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20005
(202) 879-5000

ROBERT H. BORK
6250 Ridge Street
McLean, VA 22101
(703) 288-1174

December 2003

Respectfully submitted,

LAWRENCE A. SALIBRA, II
Counsel of Record

JOHN C. TILLMAN

MARK D. KINDT

ALCAN CORPORATION

6060 Parkland Boulevard

Mayfield Heights, OH 44124

(440) 423-6918

WILLIAM S. SESSIONS
HOLLAND & KNIGHT LLP
2099 Pennsylvania Avenue,

N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 955-3000

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2153%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
