# Opposition Brief — Public Service Mutual Insurance v. Peck

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2116%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 1005

## Text

| Supreme Court, US.
(Z) FILED
No. 03-0393 OCT 19 203
CLERK
Jn The amen

Supreme Court of the Anited States

f. *

PUBLIC SERVICE MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

V.

ELLEN M. PECK,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Second Circuit

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR
RESPONDENT ELLEN M. PECK

¢

JOHN W. MILLS

Counsel of Record
MURPHY AND KARPIE, LLC
350 Fairfield Avenue
Bridgeport, CT 06604
(203) 333-0177

Attorney for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit correctly reversed an order of summary
judgment entered against the respondent by the District
Court on the basis that there remained unresolved issues
of material fact in dispute between the parties concerning
whether the petitioner-insurer had been materially preju-
diced as a result of allegedly receiving late notice of the
respondent’s claim in an earlier lawsuit filed in 1994.

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED................:::ssscsseeeeeeseeneeees i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...........cccccscsessccssseessrsvscees ii
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...............ccscccssersseesseoens 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT.................4++ 9
CONCLUBION ...cccssconcescevsesoscccstensuessenaneevervensesonsnens 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Aetna Casualty & Surety Co v. Murphy, 206 Conn.

409, 538 A.2d 219 (1988).........cceseeessseeeereessereeeeeeeeeesnees 11
Celotex Corp v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986) ...........sees 1i
Jenkins v. Indemnity Ins. Co., 152 Conn. 249, 205

A.2d TBO (1GGA) ....00ccersiersescessoccresssssnsensrenensnvenersenessovensses il
Kurzatkowski v. Kurzatkowski, 142 Conn. 680, 116

A.24 906 (1965) ....0covcsesoesvecsvorscenssensssssussueerasesnnntoreseseesens 11
STATUTES
Connecticut General Statutes § 38a-321............::eeeseeeeeeeees 6

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR
RESPONDENT ELLEN M. PECK

Respondent Ellen M. Peck (“Peck”) submits that the
petition for writ of certiorari filed by Petitioner Public
Service Mutual Insurance Company (“PSM”) should be
denied. The decision below, by the Second Circuit Court of
Appeals, correctly reversed the order of summary judg-
ment entered against Peck by the District Court after
determining that there remained critical issues of material
fact still in dispute concerning when notice of a claim was
received by PSM and whether PSM was prejudiced as a
result of not receiving notice earlier. Issues of notice and
prejudice are fact driven, and should be decided by a jury
after hearing all of the evidence. Contrary to the asser-
tions made by the petitioner in the petition now before this
Court, Peck did in fact produce specific evidence in opposi-
tion to summary judgment, and the Second Circuit Court
of Appeals was correct in deciding that ske had made a
sufficient showing to defeat summary judgment.

The petitioner raises no novel issue of law, and there
is no reason for this Court to hear further argument
concerning a motion for summary judgment. This case was
properly remanded to the District Court for further con-
sideration. The respondent should be provided with her
day in court, so that a jury can finally decide all of the
issues still in dispute between these parties.

,
v

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises out of a civil lawsuit initially filed by
Peck in the Connecticut Superior Court in 1994 as a result
of excessive noise coming from the Rattlesnake Bar &

a NNR R RRR en sleet eerste

2

Grill, which moved directly beneath Peck’s condominium
unit in South Norwalk, Connecticut in 1992 and began to
feature live rock music several nights each week. Peck
brought suit against the owner of the condominium unit,
South Norwalk Redevelopment Limited Partnership
(“SNRLP”), as well as Rattlesnake Ventures, Inc. (“Rattle-
snake”) and its owner, William Opper.

The summons and complaint were filed on or about
June 23, 1994, alleging an ongoing course of improper
conduct by the defendants, beginning in 1992 and continu-
ing into the future. Five days after the complaint was
filed, the law firm of Goldstein & Peck entered an appear-
ance on behalf of all three defendants. Subsequently, on
December 6, 1994, Attorney Paul McCullough also ap-
peared solely on behalf of SNRLP.

When Peck first filed suit in 1994, the defendants only
provided notice of her claim to the Greater New York
Insurance Company and to the Travelers insurance
Company, the two carriers who insured the premises from
1992-1994. However, because the complaint alleged
ongoing tortuous conduct by the defendants, it was later
necessary to provide additional notice to PSM, whose
policy covered the period 12/1/94-12/1/95. On September 8,
1995 Goldstein & Peck, counsel of record for all defen-
dants, requested that insurance agent Ronald Fitelson
notify PSM of “he underlying action. Four days later, on
September 12, 1995, Fitelson faxed to PSM a Loss Notice
and the summons and complaint, which separately listed
each defendant, and contained individual counts directed
against each defendant, so that they were readily distin-
guishable.

3

When providing notice of the claim to PSM, Fitelson
instructed PSM to contact Attorney Eugene Cederbaum,
the lawyer then handling the case at Goldstein & Peck. On
September 14, Daniel Jaconetti, the head of litigation at
PSM, set up a claim file in which he made handwritten
notes about the claims alleged in Peck’s complaint. (App.
22a) Jaconetti clearly recognized that separate claims
were being asserted by Peck against SNRLP, which was
listed as an additional insured on the policy, writing
“Possibly may be coverage for Counts Nine and Ten
[against SNRLP] Depending upon lease Agr. And if Co-
defendant [SNRLP] is Add’l Insd. On Policy.”

Mr. Jaconetti immediately directed insurance adjuster
Barry Blecher to get a hard copy of the policy and the
lease agreement between Rattlesnake and SNRLP. (App.
22a) Mr. Blecher in turn contacted Attorney Cederbaum,
who on October 20 confirmed for Blecher that “the prem-
ises on which the restaurant is located is rented from
South Norwalk.” Attorney Cederbaum further advised
PSM that Peck’s deposition was scheduled to take place on
October 26th. (Pet. App. at 30a)

In early November, PSM received a copy of the lease
agreement, which specifically required Rattlesnake to
maintain liability insurance for SNRLP, and to name
SNRLP as an additional insured. PSM clearly recognized
that claims were being asserted by Peck against SNRLP
and that there might be coverage for the claims asserted
against SNRLP in Counts 9 and 10 of her complaint, as
evidenced by the initial file notes made by Mr. Jaconetti on
September 14, 1995. However, PSM refused to participate
in the underlying litigation, and refused to provide any of
the defendants with a legal defense.

4

Although invited to attend Peck’s deposition on
October 26th, PSM refused to hire defense counsel or even
to contribute to the defense costs presently being borne by
the Greater New York Insurance Company and the Travel-
ers Insurance Company, who had hired the firm of Gildea
& Stevens to appear for the defendants on January 23,
1995. On November 28, 1995 PSM sent a letter to Rattle-
snake denying insurance coverage on the grounds that (1)
the date of the loss was when the noise first started in
October, 1992, prior to the December 1, 1994 effective date
of the policy; (2) notice of the claim was not timely pro-
vided by Rattlesnake until September 12, 1995; and (3)
intentional acts alleged in parts of the complaint were
excluded from coverage.

Although PSM had received notice of the claim from
the Fitelson Insurance Agency, who procured the coverage
on behalf of all defendants, including SNRLP as an addi-
tional insured listed on the declarations page of the policy,
PSM never sent any disclaimer of coverage to SNRLP, and
SNRLP was not referred to in the letter sent to Rattle-
snake. (Pet. App. at 30a)

Peck had no way to independently contact PSM in
order to discuss the claim, as none of the defendants identi-
fied PSM as an insurer in response to discovery requests.
Finally, on November 25, 1996, Peck filed a motion for
default against SNRLP for failure to answer discovery
requests. Although an order of default was entered against
SNRLP on July 21, 1997, this was not a default judgment.
Under Connecticut Rules of Practice an order of default is
distinguishable from a default judgment. Peck did not
move for judgment against SNRLP until the conclusion of
trial in 1998, and the order of default could have easily

A A Get rr hae +

been remedied at any time prior to trial by providing the
requested discovery.

On May 29, 1998 Attorney Brian Gildea, formerly of
the firm Gildea & Stevens, entered a new appearance ir
the case on behalf of all defendants. At a pretrial confer-
ence held in July, 1998 Attorney McCullough advised the
court that he would not be attending the trial on behalf of
SNRLP, because his participation would be prohibitively
expensive for his client, who was supposed to be insured
and defended by Rattlesnake in accordance with the terms
of the lease agreement. (Pet. App. at 3la) Attorney Gildea
explained to the court that he planned on defending only
Rattlesnake and Opper, because those were the only
insureds listed on the policy issued by the Greater New
York Insurance Company, who was paying him to be there.
Although the lease agreement required Rattlesnake to
make sure that SNRLP was also insured under that policy,
the tenant had failed to do so.

At that point in the proceedings the Superior Court

judge ordered Attorney McCullough to notify any insur-

ance carrier who did insure SNRLP of the approaching
trial date. The judge specifically stated that if the insurer
wanted “to come in and ask for a continuance,” the court
would consider such a request. (Pet. App. at 31a) As the
tenant had purchased the insurance policy and paid the
premiums, Attorney McCullough did not know who to call
in response to the judge’s order. Therefore Attorney Gildea
interceded, and offered to contact PSM.

From the courthouse Attorney Gildea called PSM,
notifying PSM that the trial was scheduled to commence
shortly, and that SNRLP’s personal counsel had been
given permission not to attend. Although Attorney Gildea

6

specifically informed PSM of the judge’s order to notify the
carrier, PSM responded by stating that it “had closed [its]
file on this matter, and had no intention of hiring defense
counsel or taking any other steps to get involved in the
litigation.” (App. 17a)

Although the trial judge had invited PSM to get
involved in the case, and had indicated on the record a
willingness to consider a request for continuing the trial
date so that additional defense counsel could appear and
get up to speed, PSM decided not to take any action in
order to protect SNRLP.

After a jury trial on the merits of the underlying case,
judgment was entered against SNRLP in the amount of
$250,000 on August 4, 1998. (Pet. App. at 32a) In Septem-
ber, 1998 Attorney Cederbaum again contacted PSM,
notifying PSM of the verdict and inviting the insurer to
participate in post-trial efforts to settle the case or appeal.
PSM responded by demanding a copy of the entire trial
transcript, without offering to pay for same. (Id.) On April
4, 1999 the undersigned sent Mr. Blecher a letter, asking
PSM to pay the judgment entered against SNRLP. PSM
refused to respond.

In May, 1999 Peck sued PSM in Connecticut District
Court, pursuant to Connecticut’s direct action statute,
C.G.S. § 38a-321. (Pet. App. at 33a) In June, 2001, six
months after the expiration date for filing dispositive
motions in the case, PSM filed a motion for summary
judgment against Peck, arguing that SNRLP’s failure to
provide timely notice of the underlying claim defeated
insurance coverage and precluded Peck’s cause of action.
Peck filed a sixteen page memorandum in opposition to
summary judgment on July 16, 2001 (App. 1a-16a), which

See ee Ah A a oi thd

nde mst 1 eho

POW a cet tte ath aE eX Ci seth eed

7

included a sworn affidavit from Attorney Gildea concern-
ing his efforts to notify PSM of the claims asserted against
SNRLP prior to trial. (App. 17a) On July 26, 2001 Peck
filed a supplemental memorandum in opposition to sum-
mary judgment which also included copies of PSM’s file
materials and excerpts from Mr. Jaconetti’s deposition
which confirmed that PSM knew about the claims being
asserted against SNRLP in 1995, before Peck was deposed,
before SNRLP was defaulted, and three full years before
trial, but opted to close its file without providing defense
or indemnification for any of the defendants on the basis
that the complaint alleged facts outside of the scope of
coverage. (App. 19a-30a)

Peck argued that PSM had waived any right to claim
late notice by failing to issue a disclaimer of coverage to
SNRLP. Peck also argued that PSM was not materially
prejudiced by not receiving notice of the underlying claim
until September 12, 1995 because there was still ample
time to hire defense counsel and defend the case prior to
trial. Finally, Peck argued that PSM’s letter to Rattle-
snake, wherein PSM denied coverage in any event because
the claims asserted in the complaint fell outside the scope
of coverage, proved that PSM did not change its position in
any way because of SNRLP’s failure to provide earlier
notice of the claim; no matter when notice was provided,
PSM was not going to agree to defend or indemnify any of
the insureds. As there was no change in its position, PSM
could not argue that it had been materially prejudiced by
late notice.

In a November 11, 2001 unpublished decision and
order, the District Court granted summary judgment for
PSM solely on the late notice defense, finding that PSM
had “been deprived of its right to defend” the underlying

Se

lawsuit because it did not learn of the claims being made
against SNRLP until after receiving the demand for
payment from the undersigned on April 4, 1999. The
District Court failed to comment on Peck’s argument that
PSM had waived its right to raise a late notice defense as
a matter of law by failing to ever send a disclaimer letter
to SNRLP prior to raising this defense in 2001, six years
after first receiving notice of the claim in 1995 and more
than two years after receiving a demand for payment of
the judgment. (Pet. App. at 34a)

Peck filed a timely appeal with the Second Circuit
Court of Appeals. On April 17, 2003 the Second Circuit
reversed the District Court, and remanded the case for
further proceedings in accordance with its opinion that the
respondent had established that there remained genuine
issues of material fact still in dispute concerning the
issues of notice and alleged prejudice to PSM. Although
Peck bore the burden of establishing that PSM was not
materially prejudiced, the Court concluded that she had
put forth enough evidence to show that PSM was not
prejudiced so as to defeat summary judgment.

On or about May 7, 2003 PSM filed a petition for a
rehearing and a petition for the matter to be heard en
banc. (Pet. App. at 68a-77a) The panel of Judges who
initially decided the appeal filed an errata sheet modifying
a portion of their original decision on May 21, 2003,
specifically acknowledging that Peck bore the burden of
proof on the issue of material prejudice, but holding that
“Peck has done so here.” Thereafter, on June 13, 2003,
PSM’s petition for a rehearing and petition for a rehearing
en banc were both denied by the Second Circuit. The order
issued by the Second Circuit confirmed that PSM’s petition
for rehearing en banc had been transmitted to the judges

ah slap

9

of the Court in regular active service and any other judge
that heard the appeal and that no such judge had re-
quested that a vote be taken thereon.

On July 2, 2003 the judgment of the District Court
was officially vacated, and the case was remanded for
further proceedings in accordance with the decision issued
by the Second Circuit. The final decision issued by the
Second Circuit Court of Appeals was reported as Peck v.
Public Service Mutual Ins. Co., 326 F.3d 330 (2d Cir. 2003).
The petition for certiorari was filed on or about September
16, 2003.

42
Vv

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. This Case Involves the Application of Well-
Established Law and its Application to a Mo-
tion for Summary Judgment and Does not
Merit a Grant of Certiorari

This petition was filed after the Second Circuit Court
of Appeals remanded the case to the District Court for
further proceedings in order to further litigate factual
issues pertaining to when PSM first received notice of the
underlying action and whether PSM was materially
prejudiced. The Second Circuit decision does not raise any
new issue of law, and there is no split in authority among
the circuits or the state courts of last resort in terms of the
applicable law concerning the standards for summary
judgment, nor is there a conflict with Supreme Court

precedent.

Despite the petitioner’s arguments to the contrary, the
respondent did in fact submit sufficient evidence in opposi-
tion to summary judgment to properly defeat said motion.

10

The respondent submitted documentation from PSM’s own
claims file which established that PSM received notice of
the claims filed against SNRLP in September, 1995, prior
to SNRLP being defaulted, and three full years prior to
trial. These documents made it clear that PSM recognized
that separate claims were being asserted against SNRLP,
and that there could be insurance coverage for those
claims. Any subsequent prejudice to PSM came about
because of its own refusal to hire defense counsel as
obligated by the terms of the insurance contract, and not
because of any inaction or neglect by SNRLP. The policy
required PSM to defend, not SNRLP.

The respondent also submitted an affidavit from
Attorney Brian Gildea, acting defense counsel in the under-
lying action at the time of trial, who states under oath that
he personally called PSM prior to the commencement of jury
selection in order to notify PSM of the approaching trial and
the need to hire additional defense counsel for SNRLP,
which was named as an additional insured on the PSM
insurance policy. This call was made in direct response to
an order of the trial court, which was offering to continue the
trial if PSM and/or new defense counsel needed more time.
PSM again opted to ignore the claim, telling Mr. Gildea that
it “had closed [its] file on this matter, and had no intention of
hiring defense counsel or taking any other steps to get
involved in the litigation.” (App. 17a)

Any prejudice claimed by PSM was self-inflicted by its
own refusal to properly respond to claims it knew to exist
against an additional insured for three years before trial.
Once more, even if PSM had received notice of the suit the
very day it was filed, we can be certain that the insurer
would not have acted any differently. PSM has consis-
tently maintained that the insurance policy does not

Te DAY:

RS RI

PTR OORT SE

11

provide coverage for the claims made by Peck. PSM
refused to share in the costs of defending the other insur-
eds, Rattlesnake and Opper, and refused to participate in
post-trial settlement negotiations. The fact of the matter is
that Peck’s claims really are covered by the policy, but
PSM is afraid to litigate that issue, and instead seeks to
avoid that issue altogether by arguing a preemptive late
notice defense.

The Connecticut Supreme Court has held that the
issue of whether there is material prejudice to an insurer
because of late notice should be determined on a factual
basis by the jury, as opposed to a question of law decided
solely by the court. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co. v. Murphy,
206 Conn. 409, at 419-20, 538 A.2d 219 (1988). Similarly,
whether PSM waived its ability to claim prejudice by its
own actions and its own failure to ever issue a disclaimer
letter to SNRLP is a question of material fact that should
be decided by a jury after hearing all of the evidence.
Jenkins v. Indemnity Ins. Co., 152 Conn. 249, 259, 205
A.2d 780 (1964); Kurzatkowski v. Kurzatkowski, 142 Conn.
680, 684, 116 A.2d 906 (1955).

The decision below is consistent with Connecticut
insurance law, and the Second Circuit properly remanded
this case to the District Court so that these issues of
material fact, which remain hotly contested by the parties,
can be properly decided after being fully developed and
explored at trial. The decision is consistent with this
Court’s holding in Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317
(1986), as the Second Circuit properly concluded that the
respondent had met her burden of coming forward with
specific facts showing that there was a genuine issue for
trial concerning her contention that PSM was not materi-
ally prejudiced as a result of late notice. Peck produced

12

documentation from PSM’s claims file, deposition testi-
mony from PSM’s claims supervisor, and an affidavit from
defense counsel Gildea in support of her position, and this
was more than sufficient evidence to defeat a motion for
summary judgment on this issue.

The petition for certiorari should be denied. Issues
concerning when notice was received and whether PSM
was materially prejudiced are issues of fact, which should
be decided at trial, and not by any appellate court. The
respondent has a right to present her case at trial. The
respondent was initially awarded $250,000 by a jury in
1998. She has waited six years for her day in court to
prove that this award is covered by the terms of the
petitioner’s insurance policy. This case was properly
remanded to the District Court, and should immediately
proceed to trial. There is no reason for this Honorable
Court to grant certiorari.

II. The Petitioner has Failed to Cite any Legal
Authority in Support of its Contention that the
Second Circuit Court of Appeals Abused its
Discretion in Modifying its Original Decision

The petitioner cites no legal authority whatsoever for
its claim that the Second Circuit Court of Appeals abused
its discretion in using an errata sheet to modify its origi-
nal decision. The modification was made on May 21, 2003,
well before PSM’s petition for rehearing en banc was
denied on June 13. If any judge wanted to hear additional
argument or to further examine the holding reached by
the initial panel a vote would have been requested. No
such request was made.

Se EET

13

Given the petitioner’s failure to cite any legal author-
ity in support of its contention that the Court below
abused its discretion, this Honorable Court should deny
the petition for certiorari on this question as well.

é
v

CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons stated and discussed herein, the
petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ERLE IT DT ARS ARENT BT TIE TO RAB URE RATE 868 TRAN Ds BST PCT

RSET

JOHN W. MILLS

Counsel of Record

MURPHY AND KARPIE, LLC

350 Fairfield Avenue, Suite 408
Bridgeport, CT 06604

(203) 333-0177

=~ FF

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Plaintiffs Memorandum in Opposition

BUAAMATY SUGBMIONL......10000000,c00seseresveevensevessee0
Affidavit of Attorney Brian M. Gildea...........

Plaintiffs Supplemental Memorandum

Opposition to Summary Judgment................
Claims Division Transaction Sheet...............
Deposition Testimony of Daniel Jaconetti.....

Loss Notice from Insurance Agency ..............

Correspondence from Attorney Eugene

os escscloreenananbientinn

a a cae ae caeeatoe
; sn RRS SO RoBRLCRN

fis

App. 1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT
ELLEN M. PECK | CIVIL
Plaintiff 3:99-CV-886(GLG)
vs
PUBLIC SERVICE MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY

PLAINTIFF’S MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION
TO THE DEFENDANT’S MOTION
FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

I. STATEMENT OF FACTS:

The court has ruled on numerous prior motions in this
case which have set forth the facts giving rise to this
lawsuit, and these will not be reiterated yet again by the
plaintiff. However, it is important to underscore that the
judgment obtained in the underlying case in 1998 was
based upon the allegations set forth in the operative
amended complaint dated June 1, 1998. While the defen-
dant’s brief addresses only the allegations set forth in two
earlier complaints, it can not be disputed that the judg-
ment at issue entered on a complaint filed in 1998. It is
the operative complaint filed in 1998 which will determine
whether there is insurance coverage for the judgment.

In addition, it should be noted that the defendant’s
motion for summary judgment has been filed well after the
agreed upon cut-off date for the filing of dispositive mo-
tions, which was January 31, 2001 per the parties’ report
of second planning meeting filed on or about July 24, 2000.
The plaintiff has had to incur costs in order to locate an
expert witness for disclosure by September 1, 2001. The
defendant should not be permitted to wait until this late

App. 2

date to file a potentially dispositive motion. The motion is
more than six (6) months past the agreed upon deadline,
and it should not even be entertained by the court at this
juncture.

Il. LAW AND ARGUMENT:

The defendant’s motion for summary judgment is
based upon four different arguments. Each of these argu-
ments will be addressed in turn.

(i) Time Span of Damages

First, the defendant argues that there is no insurance
coverage for this claim because the complaint filed in the
underlying action did not allege any damages to have
occurred during the policy period, which began on Decem-
ber 1, 1994 and continued forward through December,
1998. A basic review of any of the three complaints filed in
the underlying action reveal this argument to be com-
pletely without merit.

The original complaint, dated June 23, 1994, alleged a
continuing course of conduct. While it is true that the
complaint alleges that the noise problems began in Octo-
ber, 1992, it is equally true that the complaint also alleged
an ongoing, regular course of conduct by the defendants.
The defendants continued to cause damages from 1992
right up until the time of trial in 1998.

Each count of the complaint directed against South
Norwalk Redevelopment Limited Partnership alleged in
relevant part as follows:

“As a direct result of said improper use
South Norwalk Redevelopment has caused

App. 3

Ms. Peck to suffer the following injuries in
an ongoing, regular basis since October,
1992:.. .”

(a copy of the original complaint is attached as exhibit 3 to
the defendant’s memorandum)

The defendant focuses myopically on the 1992 commence-
ment of the noise problem, completely ignoring the allega-
tions of “ongoing, regular” misconduct which immediately
precede the commencement date.

The word “ongoing” is an adjective, defined in The
International Webster’s Comprehensive Dictionary of the
English Language (1999 Ed.) as “Going on, continuing or
progressing.” Thus it can not be disputed that the com-
plaint alleged a continuing course of misconduct, as
opposed to a single act that occurred on one specific date.

While the conduct began in 1992, it continued, un-
abated, for years thereafter. The Rules of Practice did not
require the plaintiff to file a series of amended complaints
every week up until the time of trial in 1995 in order to
offer evidence about conduct that occurred throughout
1995-1998; her original complaint alleged an ongoing
problem, and entitled her to offer evidence of a pattern of
misconduct by the defendants which took place in the
years that foliowed the initiation of the lawsuit.

The complaint is not ambiguous. It alleged an ongoing
course of conduct that took place during the time policy
period. Nowhere in the complaint does it say that the noise
ended, nor does it allege damages “up until the present
time” of the initial filing date. A plain reading of the
complaint and the claims for damages indicates that the

App. 4

plaintiff was suing for an ongoing course of conduct. The
wording of the complaint looks forward, not back.

Even if the court should find any ambiguity as to the
time when damages were alleged to have occurred, the
ambiguity must be read in favor of coverage not against
coverage as argued by the defendant. See, e.g., Stephan v.
Pennsylvania Mutual Assurance Co., 224 Conn. 758, 763
(1993); Streitweiser v. Middlesex Mutual Assurance Co.,
219 Conn. 371, 375 (1991); Schultz v. Hartford Fire Insur-
ance Co., 213 Conn. 696, 712 (1990); Missionaries of the
Company of Mary, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co.,
155 Conn. 104, 108 (1967).

As the defendant presents its arguments in a sum-
mary judgment motion, it is also important to recognize
that the issue of when the damages took place is a ques-
tion of material fact, which should be left to the jury to
decide. The jury can cxamine the operative complaint, and
decide whether the complaint alleges any facts that trigger
insurance coverage. Summary judgment is inappropriate
to decide disputed issues of material fact, and again all
inferences and ambiguities must be read in favor of the
non-moving party. Gallo v. Prudential Residential Part-
nership, 22 F.3d 1219 (2d Cir. 1994). See also FRCP 56(c),
which provides that summary judgment is only appropri-
ate if there is no genuine issue of material fact in dispute.

In the case at bar the defendant asks the court to limit
its review to the initial complaint filed by the plaintiff in
1994. The defendant also asks the court to ignore the
amended complaint filed in 1998. No legal authority is
provided in support of this skewed analysis. It can not be
disputed that the 1998 complaint was the operative
complaint at the time of trial, and superseded the earlier

App. 5

complaint. Practice Book §10-60. In addition, the
amended complaint was submitted as an exhibit in the
underlying trial, and the record clearly demonstrates that
the jury’s verdict was based solely upon that amended
complaint.’

The defendant submits no legal authority in support
of its argument that the original complaint should control
in determining the scope of insurance coverage. Although
there may be a question in dispute as to whether the
defendant received notice of the amended complaint, that
is another question of material fact that needs to be
resolved by the jury.

The plaintiff has obtained an affidavit from trial
counsel in the underlying case, Attorney Brian Gildea,
attesting to the fact that he contacted Public Service
Mutual prior to trial, specifically to inform the defendant
that a default had entered against SNRLP, and that
additional defense counsel should appear.’ Thus, there
was still time for the defendant to get involved in the
underlying case prior to trial, and to find out about the
existence of an amended complaint. The evidence indicates
that the defendant knew or should have known about the
amended complaint, but decided to ignore the entire
matter in the hope that it would never be pursued.

In total, three complaints were filed in the underlying
action prior to trial. All three of the complaints alleged a
continuing course of conduct that caused damages from

‘ A copy of -4e amended complaint submitted to the jury is
attached as “Exhivit 1.”

* A copy of the affidavit is attached as “Exhibit 2.”

App. 6

1992 up until the time of trial in 1998. In cases involving
multiple occurrences causing damages over several years,
the “multiple injury trigger” test must be applied in order
to determine whether there is insurance coverage. United
Technologies Corp. v. American Home Insurance, 989 F.
Supp. 128, 153 (D. Conn. 1997). If any of the damages
occurred during the policy period, insurance coverage is
triggered; even if the initial damages started prior to when
the policy went into effect. Id.

The plaintiff has determined that the defendant
collected approximately $90,000.00 in insurance premiums
for the insurance coverage it provided to Rattlesnake
Ventures, Inc. and SNRLP throughout 1994-1998. Addi-
tional premiums were collected because SNRLP was added
[sic] an additional insured. Although the plaintiff produced
enormous amounts of evidence throughout the underlying
case which proved that her damages occurred throughout
1995, 1996, 1997 and 1998, the insurance company now
argues that there is no coverage because all of the dam-
ages occurred prior to when its policy first went into effect
in December, 1994. The defendant’s argument ignores the
facts, and lacks the support of any legal authority. The
argument should be rejected by this court, especially when
presented in the context of a motion for summary judg-
ment.

(ii) Lack of Notice

The defendant also argues that it is entitled to sum-
mary judgment because SNRLP never provided notice of
the underlying action. This arguments [sic] must fail to
[sic] for three different reasons. First, the defendant is
legally estopped from raising the notice issue because (a) it

App. 7

refused to defend the underlying lawsuit even after becom-
ing aware of its existence prior to trial; and (b) it has never
disclaimed coverage for lack of notice, and can not raise
this issue for the first time at trial. Second, a complete
copy of the summons and complaint was admittedly
received by the defendant from SNRLP’s insurance agent
in 1995. Although the agent only mentioned the named
insured (Rattlesnake) on the claim submission form, the
summons and complaint clearly listed SNRLP as a sepa-
rate defendant, thus providing actual notice that claims
were being made against SNRLP as well as Rattlesnake.

Finally, Attorney Brian Gildea had appeared for all
defendants in the underlying case, and he has provided an
affidavit that he again notified the defendant about this
case prior to trial. Thus, a lawyer formerly representing
SNRLP is on record as having provided additional notice
to the defendant prior to jury selection and prior to trial.

Although three years has elapsed since the verdict
was obtained in the underlying case, the defendant has
never disclaimed coverage for this claim by sending a
letter denying coverage to its insured, SNRLP. The law is
well established; an insurance company can not remain
silent for years, and then disclaim coverage after the
verdict. National Union Fire Ins. Co. v. Mastroni, 754 F.
Supp. 269, 272 (D. Conn. 1990).

The defendant claims that it did not realize that its
policy also covered SNRLP when the [sic] it first received
the summons and complaint from the agent in 1995. The
defendant should be responsible for knowing who it
insures. SNRLP was named as an additional defendant on
every policy, and listed separately on the declarations
pages. In addition, the defendant collected additional

App. 8

premiums for the extra coverage afforded to SNRLP. If the
defendant failed to recognize that the policy also covered
SNRLP, the fault lies with the defendant, not with Ellen
Peck.

Attorney Gildea provided additional notice to the
defendant prior to trial. At that time the defendant ig-
nored the notice, indicating to Mr. Gildea that the file was
closed. Again, the defendant failed to notify SNRLP prior
to trial that coverage was being denied. SNRLP chose not
to pay its own attorney, Paul McCullough, to participate in
the trial because (1) it felt that legal defense should be
provided by the insurance company, and (2) assumed that
any award would be covered by insurance. Had the defen-
dant advised SNRLP of its position prior to trial, SNRLP
may have taken a different position.

The parties agree that the only notice of disclaimer
sent by Public Service Mutual was that provided to Rattle-
snake Ventures, Inc. No notice has ever been sent to
SNRLP. A notice of disclaimer to one party to insurance
contract does not operate as a disclaimer to any other
party who has not received proper notice from the insurer.
Hartford Accident & Indemn. Co. v. J.J. Wicks, Inc., 104 A
D.2d 289, 294, 482 N.Y.S.2d 935, 939 (4th Dep’t 1984);
John v. Centennial Ins. Co. 91 A.D.2d 1104, 1105, 458
N.Y.S.2d 350, 352-53 (3d Dep’t), appeal denied, 59 N.Y. 2d
605, 451 N.E.2d 505, 464 N.Y.S.2d 1026 (1983). A refusal
to take any action after receiving notice of the claim
constitutes a legal waiver of a later claim for defective
notice. Travelers Ins. Co. v. Central Nat'l Ins. Co. of
Omaha, 733 F. Supp. 522 531 (D. Conn. 1990).

Even if notice of a claim is late, the insurer still has a
duty to defend the case under a reservation of rights. A

App. 9

failure to take any action waives the right to later raise
the notice issue. Black v. Goodwin, Loomis & Britton, Inc.,
239 Conn. 144, 155-157 (1996); Keithan v. Massachusetts
Bonding & Ins. Co., 159 Conn. 128, 139 (1970); Missionar-
ies of the Company of Mary, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty &
Surety Co., 155 Conn. 104, 113 (1967). See also, Lee v.
Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 178 F.2d 750, 751 (2d Cir.
1968); Red Giant Oil Co. v. Lawlor, 528 N.W.2d 524, 532
(Iowa, 1995).

As the defendant has failed to ever notify its insured
that notice was defective, it can not now raise this issue as
a defense to coverage at the time of trial. The defendant
has waived the right to raise a policy defense of lack of
notice, and should be estopped from making this argu-
ment.

Even if the defendant is permitted to raise a lack of
notice defense, this would not be dispositive of this case.
The plaintiff would still be permitted to offer evidence to
show that the defendant was not prejudiced by the alleged
lack of notice.’ Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Murphy,
206 Conn. 409, 412-19 (1988). The defendant may also
defeat lack of notice by showing justifiable excuse on the
part of SNRLP. Monteiro v. American Home. Assurance
Co., 177 Conn. 281, 233 (1979). Thus, the defendant is not
entitled to summary judgment on this issue.

* The defendant refused to provide coverage or a legal defense to
Rattlesnake Ventures, Inc., and would have denied coverage and legal
defense to SNRLP, no matter when notice was provided. The reality is
that the defendant would not have changed its position, and was not
prejudiced in any way because of the alleged lack of notice from
SNRLP.

App. 10

It is anticipated that the plaintiff will produce Attor-
ney Paul McCullough at trial, and that he will explain to
the jury that he repeatedly asked the lawyers hired to
defend Rattlesnake (hired by Travelers and the Insurance
Company of Greater New York) to assume the defense of
SNRLP as well, as required by the lease agreement.
Unfortunately, the tenant had not obtained additional
coverage for SNRLP for all of the years of the lease agree-
ment, as originally agreed. SNRLP was only added as an
additional insured on one of the insurance policies, the one
issued by Public Service Mutual. As Public Service Mutual
refused to defend Rattlesnake, there was no way it would
agree to defend SNRLP.

Attorney McCullough will testify that he did not have
access to the insurance policies purchased by Rattlesnake,
and did not know who to call directly. Not having this
information, he directed his demands for a legal defense
and insurance coverage to Rattlesnake Ventures, Inc. and
the lawyers defending Rattlesnake at the request of the
various insurers. If this information was not properly
passed on to the defendant, the jury may conclude that
SNRLP had a justifiable excuse for not providing notice
directly to the carrier.

It is further expected that testimony will be presented
at trial from Attorneys Eugene Cederbaum, Louis An-
nechino, and Andrew Turret who were hired by Travelers
Insurance Company to defend Rattlesnake. Although they
attempted to communicate with Public Service Mutual,
the defendant consistently refused to respond, indicating
that it had simply closed its file and did not want to be
bothered. Even if the defendant had received notice of this
claim, it would have done nothing differently. There was
- no prejudice to the defendant.

App. 11

(iii) Voluntary Default

The defendant complains that SNRLP voluntarily
allowed a default to enter against it, and refused to incur
the substantial costs of paying for its own lawyer to derend
the case throughout trial. However, this argument ignores
the fact that Public Service Mutual was the one who had
the obligation to provide a legal defense under the terms of
the policy. Even after receiving a telephone call from
Attorney Gildes, asking for separate trial counsel for
SNRLP, the defendant refused to act. Having breached the
insurance contract, the defendant can not now blame its
insured for failing to provide a proper legal defense.

In Black v. Goodwin, Loomis & Britton, Inc., 239
Conn. 144 (1996) the defendant not only refused to defend
the lawsuit brought by the plaintiff, but actually entered
into a stipulated judgment in the amount of $500,000. In
addition, the defendant provided the plaintiff with an
assignment of rights to pursue the judgment directly
against the insurance company. In exchange, the plaintiff
agreed not to look to the defendant, individually, to satisfy
the award. The insurance company cried foul, arguing that
the insured unfairly cooperated with the plaintiff by
agreeing to a large judgment. The Connecticut Supreme
Court held that this was entirely proper, given the circum-
stances. ;

The court held that when an insurer has refused to
defend its insured, it is in no position to argue that the
steps the insured took to protect itself should inure to the
insurer’s benefit. 239 Conn. 144, 154, 156. Moreover, once
an insuror has refused to defend, it can not thereafter
dispute the insured’s liability to the injured person.
Instead, the insurer must pay the judgment. Jd. at 160.

App. 12

In the case at bar the insured defendant did not
stipulate to an inflated judgment. The attorney for the
insured simply refused to participate further in the trial
because no one would pay his fees. Repeated requests
made to the insurance company lawyers hired to represent
the co-defendant (to assume the defense of SNRLP as well)
were ignored. At that point SNRLP had no obligation to
look out for the interests of the insurance company. Public
Service Mutual knew about the situation, by [sic] chose
not to get involved. The jury later awarded damages
against SNRLP. Public Service Mutual shouid have to pay
the award in full.

The defendant also points out that Attorney McCul-
lough made an inaccurate representation about a bank-
ruptcy proceeding, and failed to follow a court order to
notify the insurance company about the trial. While it is
unfortunate that these things occurred, they have no
bearing on the legal issues in this case. First, there has
been no showing that SNRLP knew about any of these
facts, or that Attorney McCullough advised his client
about the judge’s order. Second, evidence has been pro-
duced that Attorney Gildea, who was also in court at that
time, did in fact contact Public Service Mutual immedi-
ately thereafter to notify the carrier about the trial and
the fact that SNRLP was no longer being represented by
counsel. It may well be that Attorney McCullough asked
Mr. Gildea to make this call on his behalf, thus satisfying
the order of the court.

Attorney Gildea and Attorney McCullough will both
testify at trial, and will explain their actions to the jury. In
the end, it will be clear that Public Service Mutual re-
ceived notice of the trial and the fact that SNRLP was not
being represented prior to the commencement of evidence.

App. 13

It will also be established that the defendant decided not
to take any action to protect SNRLP, even though it could
have hired legal counsel, and asked for a continuance of
the trial date if necessary. Given these circumstances,
SNRLP had no obligation to defend the case at its own
expense in order to protect Public Service Mutual from its
obligation to pay the judgment.

The defendant’s. reliance on Brown v. Employer's
Reinsurance Corp., 206 Conn. 688 (1998) is completely
misplaced. The insurance policy at issue in Brown re-
quired the insured to hire defense counsel, not the insur-
ance company. Thus, the insured’s failure to properly
defend the case was found to constitute a breach of the
insurance policy. In the case at bar the insurance contract
clearly required Public Service Mutual to provide SNRLP
with a legal defense. There was no contractual obligation
for SNRLP to hire its own attorney to defend the case at
its own expense. Thus, the holding in Brown, which is
premised entirely on the terms of a different type of
insurance policy, is irrelevant to this case.

(iv) Bodily Injury or Property Damage Claims

Finally, the defendant argues it is entitled to sum-
mary judgment because none of the plaintiffs claims
qualify as either “bodily injury” or “property damage”
under its policy. The latter claim is somewhat remarkable,
given Attorney Dickins’s 1998 opinion letter, which con-
cludes that the award may in fact constitute “property
damage” under the terms of the policy.

The Connecticut Appellate Court has held that claims
solely for emotional distress, in the context of a pure
commercial transaction, do not qualify as a form of “bodily

App. 14

injury” under the typical commercial policy. Moore v.
Continental Casualty Co., 252 Conn. 405 (2000). The
plaintiffs allegations do not stem from a commercial
transaction, and the Moore holding may not apply. In
addition, the plaintiffs complaint also alleged injuries for
sleep deprivation. No case has yet ruled on whether
regular sleep deprivation, and its effects on a person’s
ability to function, qualify as a form of “bodily injury.” It
should be left to the jury to decide this disputed question
-of fact.

With respect to the claim for “property damage” the
issue is more clear cut. The plaintiff's complaint alleged a
loss of the quiet enjoyment of her property whenever loud
music was played at the defendants’ nightclub (up to eight
times over the legal limit). Black’s Law Dictionary defines
“quiet enjoyment” as “the possession and use of the prem-
ises in peace and without disturbance.” Black’s Law
Dictionary, 6th Ed. (1991). Three to four nights each week
the plaintiff was unable to use her home. Evidence was
' presented from neighbors and from investigating police
officers that the noise was so loud all of the dishes
clanked, and you could not hold a normal conversation or
even watch television. This type of “loss of use” qualifies as
a form of “property damage” under the defendant’s policy.
This is especially true when considering that any ambigu-
ity must be read in favor of coverage, and not against
coverage.

When asked to provide his professional opinion as to
the insurance coverage issues in 1998, Attorney Dickins
opined that the judgment returned in the underlying case
could be covered as “property damage.” Although a motion
has been filed with the court by the defense, asking for
that document to be returned, the court should still

App. 15

consider the document insofar as it establishes that a
legitimate argument can be made for insurance coverage.
In light of all the circumstances, summary judgment
would be inappropriate.

III. CONCLUSION:

For all of the reasons stated and discussed herein, the
plaintiff objects to the defendant’s motion for summary
judgment, and asks that the motion be denied by the
court. The defendant willingly refused to get involved in
the underlying case in any way. The defendant gambled,
assuming that the plaintiff would probably make a mini-
mal recovery and/or would fail to pursue any judgment
obtained against SNRLP. The defendant has since com-
pounded its error by refusing to attend a global settlement
mediation, or to make any serious offer to resolve this
case.

The judgment at issue is now worth approximately
$400,000.00, including post-judgment statutory interest.
The plaintiff should be given a fair day in court, in order to
prove her claims at trial. The defendant’s motion should be
denied.

THE PLAINTIFF

By: JOHN W. MILLS, ESQ.
Murphy and Karpie, LLC
350 Fairfield Avenue
Bridgeport, CT 06604
Federal Bar No.; ct11706
Tel: (203) 333-0177

App. 16

CERTIFICATION

This is to certify that a copy of the foregoing document
has been mailed, U.S. Mail, postage prepaid on July 16,
2001 to:

Oliver Dickins, Esquire
1 Phelps Lane
Simsbury, CT 06070-2215

Geoffrey Naab, Esquire
295 East center Street
Manchester, CT 06040

JOHN W. MILLS

App. 17

PLAINTIFF’S EXHIBIT W
~ CV 94 0139352 S * SUPERIOR COURT
ELLEN M. PECK * J.D. OF STAMFORD/
vs - NORWALK

RATTLESNAKE VENTURES, INC. : AT STAMFORD

AFFIDAVIT

I, BRIAN M. GILDEA, being duly sworn, hereby
depose and state:

1. Iam over the age of eighteen (18) and believe in
the obligations of an oath.

2. I am currently an attorney at law licensed to
practice in the State of Connecticut.

* * *

4. On July 21, 1998 I was the attorney representing
the defendants, William J. Opper and Rattlesnake Ven-
tures, Inc. in civil lawsuit entitled Ellen M. Peck v. Rattle-
snake Ventures, Inc., et al, CV 94 0139352 S, pending in
the Stamford Superior Court.

5. Iwas present in court on July 21, 199& when said
case was scheduled to commence jury selection.

6. I was also present in court when the Honoreble
Douglas Mintz addressed the issue that one of the defen-
dants, South Norwalk Redevelopment Limited Partner-
ship, would not be represented by counsel because
Attorney Paul McCullough requested permission not to
attend the trial.

7. Following the colloquy between Judge Mintz and
Attorney McCullough I contacted the Public Service

App. 18

Mutual Insurance Company in Manhattan, in order to
advise the claims handler that the case was scheduled to
commence trial and that there would be no attorney
present in order to defend its insured, South North Rede-
velopment Limited Partnership.

8. Although I successfully relayed this information to
the Public Service Mutual Insurance Company on July 21,
1998, the claims handler simply responded by saying that
Public Service Mutual had closed their file on this matter,
and had no intention of hiring defense counsel or taking
any other steps to get involved in the litigation.

/s/ Brian M. Gildea
Brian M. Gildea

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

NEW HAVEN
COUNTY OF FAERFESED

SS: NEW HAVEN

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 7th day of
February, 2001.
/s/ Christine M. Johnston
NOTARY PUBLIC/

COMMISSIONER-OF SUPERIOR
COURF

My Commission Expires Dec. 31, 2004

App. 19
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT
ELLEN M. PECK
Plaintiff CIVIL
VS 3:99-CV-886 (GLG)
PUBLIC SERVICE MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY
Defendant JULY 26, 2001

SUPPLEMENTAL MEMO IN OPPOSITION
TO SUMMARY JUDGMENT

On May 18, 2001 the plaintiff deposed the defendant’s
claims manager, Daniel Jaconetti. The deposition tran-
script just recently arrived. Mr. Jaconetti was the person
who reviewed the plaintiffs complaint when it was first
sent to the defendant by the insurance agent in 1995.
Attached hereto is a copy of the Claims Division Transac-
tion Sheet filled out by Mr. Jaconetti on September 14,
1995. As indicated in item #4, Mr. Jaconetti concluded
that there was in fact insurance coverage for Counts
Three, Five and Seven of the Complaint. This was con-
firmed at Mr. Jaconetti’s deposition.

Although the defendant now argues that it is entitled
to summary judgment because there is no insurance
coverage for any count of the complaint, because of when
the complaint was originally filed, its own claims man-
ager, the person in charge of the entire claims department,
concluded otherwise in 1995. Mr. Jaconetti read the
complaint, and concluded the policy covered some of the
allegations. Nowhere on the intake sheet is there an
indication that the complaint alleged conduct occurring
wholly outside the policy period.

App. 20

The intake sheet also indicates (#4) that there may be
coverage for Counts Nine and Ten against SNRLP, de-
pending on whether the landlord is an additional insured
on the policy. Thus, this exhibit clearly establishes that
the defendant knew that additional allegations were made
against SNRLP, and knew enough to check and see if
SNRLP was named as an additional insured on the policy.
The defendant now claims that it had no notice of any
claims made against SNRLP, and no reason to know that
it insured SNRLP as an additional insured on the policy.
The attached Exhibit proves those arguments to be false;
points #3 and #4 establish that the defendant immediately
knew that there was a co-defendant named in the com-
plaint, and that the policy would also provide coverage for
the co-defendant if the co-defendant was named as an
additional insured on the policy, which it was.

The defendant’s motion for summary should be denied
by the court, so that Mr. Jaconetti can explain to the jury
why he later refused to provide coverage, or even a legal
defense to any of the defendants in the underlying case, or
to advise SNRLP that coverage was being denied.

THE PLAINTIFF
By

JOHN W. MILLS
MURPHY and KARPIE
350 Fairfield Avenue
Bridgeport, CT 06604
Federal Bar No.: Ct11706
Tel: (203) 333-0177

App. 21

_ CERTIFICATION

This is to certify that a copy of the foregoing has been
mailed, U.S. Mail, postage prepaid on to:

Oliver Dickins, Esquire
One Phelps Lane
Simsbury, CT 06070

Geoffrey Naab, Esquire
295 East Center Street
Manchester, CT 06040

JOHN W. MILLS

ee. s ¢ hed _ “*
TOUNCD SRIVID = AdODaTIO = AVAS/AWUNA VIVO CD “S68 2 GBC

Aa 03103) eo Oh eaetal
; G-7Tb ae tee aa 4
Py ae ee NP >: ‘ ; ee +]

von ud siflROW et aas07d 61 3114 I INAMAVd Hos OauIOSH) .y, TWIOads
.-SINLL STH 1V O3NMUZIZONN O '0N (CO ‘S3A CD :aanssrau 3a o1 NodHO
:# M03HO —— :-XIZ4NS :

_ 3SN3dX3 0 “LNSMAVd OF ‘OL G3Mddv 301
3 * "GOA 0 - SinamAvd das. CO)...

Nosvau mits: INZNSSUNEM'SE S3I90Hd O

‘ “4 worn : i
Pee | oe ¥ISINS
oe OCA ) XI44NS
arm i s 7 Sf LL AsAuasay _ os
BETO TT CRIED FOES @) ONINadOIY OO
F; AVd “TVNI4 CGV _—_——
; AVA “THIS
Toy Tad 9 TX 7) AVd ‘WLLUVd
ae {MOT3d X08 NOSHO ~ ATNO $807 HOd
Hope 73570 A ¢) AF Vd) :01 xI4gns a
ENG, Zz ted and you wrote this note to Mr. Blecher,
did the file then go to Mr. Blecher for future handling?

A Yes.

Q And from that point forward did you have any
day-to-day involvement with the file that you can recall?

App. 27

A If and when Mr. Blecher brought it to me for
further discussion.

Q Let me show you what’s been marked as Plaintiff's
Exhibit J. This is a letter to Barry Blecher from Gene
Cedarbaum at Goldstein and Peck. It says he’s giving PSM
a copy of the revised complaint dated August 29, 1994 and
an amended answer and special defense.

MR. DICKINS: You want him to review

* * *

App. 28

PLAINTIFF’S EXHIBIT
I

®
United Insurance Agencies, Inc.

Phone: 203-339-6300 ¢ Fax: 203-339-6322
2890 Main Street, P.O. Box 289 «
Stratford, CT 06497-0289

FAX
FROM
RONALD FITELSON
DIRECT PHONE # (203) 339-6327
DATE: 9/12/95
TO: Liability Claims Dept.
COMPANY: PSM
RE: Rattlesnake Bar & Grill
TO FAX #: 1-212-268-9675

# OF PAGES: 20

Please Find Enclosed Loss Notice & Summons.

Please Contact Insured’s Aity
Gene Cederbaum ASAP 203-226-7488
Fax 203-226-6403
Any Questions Please Call.
/s/ Ronald Fitelson

United Insurance Agencies, Inc.,
Main Street, P.O. Box 289, Stratford, CT 06497-0289

TEL: (203) 339-6300 FAX: (203) 377-8414

App. 29

11-441550
Rattlesnake Bar & Grill Please refer to this # on all
inquiries
CLAIMANT LOSS LOCATION LOSS DATE
12-1-94
Ellen Peck Norwalk, Ct DATE REPORTED
9-14-95
EXAMINER PHONE # POLICY #
B Blecher (212) 560-5022 |4-319169
CLAIM TYPE:

AUTOMOBILE/CYCLE O LIABILITY &

WE HAVE RECEIVED A REPORT OF THE ABOVE LOSS
WHICH WILL RECEIVE OUR PROMPT ATTENTION

PSM INSURANCE COMPANIES
PUBLIC SERVICE MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY

PARAMOUNT INSURANCE COMPANY TOLL FREE #
132 WEST 31ST STREET 1-800-223-5213
NEW YORK, NY 10001-3406

9059 12/90 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT COPY

[Names Omitted In Printing]
September 8, 1995

Mr. Ron Fitelson

Max Fitelson & Son, Inc.
2546 Main Street
Bridgeport CT 06606

Re: Ellen Peck v. Rattlesnake Ventures Inc., et al.

Dear Mr. Fitelson:

This letter will confirm my understanding reached yester-
day when we spoke that you will formally put_Public

App. 30

Service Mutual Insurance company on notice of the above
law suit. For your information, I am enclosing a copy of
the Revised Complaint dated August 29, 1994 and the
defendants’ Answer dated October 5, 1994.

Please be advised that Thomas Stevens, Esquire, of Gildea
& Stevens, L.L.C., has appeared for the defendants under
the insurance policy with Greater New York. Although
Aetna had originally contested coverage, they are recon-
sidering their position. Goldstein and Peck P.C. has also
filed an appearance on behalf of the defendants. You may
advise PSM to contact me, should they desire, at our
Westport Office, 190 Main Street, 203-226-7488.

Kindly send me a copy of your letter to PSM. Should you
have any guestions, please feel free to contact me.

Yours truly,

/s/ Eugene E. Cederbaum
Eugene E. Cederbaum

_ EEC: cav
Encls.
cc: Mr. David Sederholt
Mr. William Opper
G. Kenneth Bernhard, Esq.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2116%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
