# Opposition Brief — Union Carbide Corp. v. Recht

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2052%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 984

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

SEP 292003

t
No. 03-319 = | opricE OF THE CLERK |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

UNION CARBIDE CORP.,
Petitioner,

¥,

THE HONORABLE ARTHUR M. RECHT, ef al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

CHRISTOPHER J. WRIGHT *
TIMOTHY J. SIMEONE
HARRIS, WILTSHIRE &
GRANNIS LLP
1200 Eighteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
* Counsel of Record (202) 730-1300

Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover

TL NE LE NT SS A STS
SR NN eA As AARNE AEA ESERP ET PLEATS IRE ELIE LGN IR ELE LINE LAP DEEL DA LEIDER LOT

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

JAMES F. HUMPHREYS RONALD MOTLEY

J. DAVID CECIL ANNE MCGINNESS KEARSE
JAMES A. MCKOWEN MOTLEY RICE, LLC
JAMES F. HUMPHREYS & 28 Bridgeside Boulevard
ASSOCIATES, LC Mount Pleasant, SC 29465 :
United Center, Suite 800 (843) 216-9000 b

500 Virginia Street, East
Charleston, WV 25301
(304) 347-5050

JOHN SKAGGS

LAW OFFICES OF STUART
CALDWELL

405 Capitol Street, Suite 607

Charleston, WV 25301

(304) 343-4323

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I PUR CB RIIEE FOOD hsvsesvsesvesensiinssancoavseoseesesieos ii
PRA UNO PE CRUE A Pa oisseseevicssssveconnvonsonsescsessenss I
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION.............. 12
I. THE INTERLOCUTORY DECISION OF
THE STATE SUPREME COURT IS NOT A
REVIEWABLE “FINAL JUDGMENT”........... 12
Il. THE FIRST QUESTION PRESENTED
DOES NOT MERIT REVIEW...............000sc0000e 15
Ill. THE SECOND QUESTION PRESENTED
DOES NOT MERIT REVIEW.................ss00s000. 19
IV. THE THIRD QUESTION PRESENTED
DOES NOT MERIT REVIEW.................csccscsees 22
A. Union Carbide Had A Meaningful (And
Indeed, Lengthy) Opportunity To Be
Pls aiinseivcsaiibinenediibticuitedietiianeieiasanrniioasiniusin 22
B. Petitioner Has Not Properly Presented Its
“Choice-Of-Law” Issue Either To The
West Virginia Courts Or To This Court ...... Pa
V. THE FOURTH QUESTION PRESENTED
DOES NOT MERIT REVIEW................s0ccse000 27
I naeiasicksiovsgsticesibatihirneheitpeinexuitdanisaieesousounnsdsnns 28

(i)

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
ACandS v. Godwin, 667 A.2d 116 (Md. 1995)...... 4
Amchem Prods. Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591

{.. [) A secidieecinnisesdgaseeiababeeaeamiaaaadtas 4 a0
Bandini Co. v. Superior Court, 284 U.S. 8

EIT Rictuchachisacibeonshissantaennienamiamudeanamnanaann 13,14
BMW of N. America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559

CE isesisshnienaenicsiienselslaidcnsadeebimactauiiia cmantabalacc. 19
Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469

IIT Fall cichaiessishsiienstidsmiedechenanaateheeisideahemataildpelaiionts 14
Fisher v. District Court, 424 U.S. 382 (1976)....... 13,14

Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, 522 U.S. 74 (1997)... 12, 14
Madruga vy. Superior Court, 346 U.S. 556

(FFP Pv cinsinnantaccncictachesnuiisbacicgneiteslandade denbiaiaaamialadamaiies 13, 14
Mayles v. Shoney's, Inc., 405 S.E.2d 15 (W. Va.

ED -sncisicinesisienaasiabinddbameciurtiiaaasiietiieaedinueaiigaiae 28
Mobil Corp. v. Adkins, 537 U.S. 944 (2002) ......... 7,24
North Dakota Pharmacy Board vy. Snyder's

Staves, 444 US. EGG CUGTI) cscsessssnsserseorssssvemesis 13
Phillips v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 (1985)... 21, 26, 27
State Farm Mut. Auto. ins. Co. v. Campbell, 123

Bi Se Rea LD hihiteissinsbineonitibentaeabinsiansiendeiineneiaaiatin 16-20
West Virginia ex rel. Allman v. MacQueen, 551

Seeds Pe a «Wis: Se Picetvinniceipiesnnnnteansennaanei 4,6
West Virginia ex rel. Appalachian Power Co. v.

MacQueen, 479 S.E.2d 300 (W. Va. 1996)....... 3,4, 6

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
No. 03-319

UNION CARBIDE CorpP.,
Petitioner,
Vv.

THE HONORABLE ARTHUR M. RECHT, et al..
Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner’s “Statement of the Case” conveys a misleading
impression of events before the West Virginia courts. Most
significantly, petitioner elides almost entirely the important
fact that the so-called “mass trial” that allegedly deprived
Union Carbide of its due process right to defend itself had
narrowed to only a single defendant (Union Carbide) by the
time the defense presented its case to the jury. Accordingly,
contrary to petitioner’s arguments, the “Phase I” trial of
issues common to plaintiffs suing Union Carbide provided
the company an ample—indeed, generous—opportunity to
defend itself. Moreover, future phases of the proceedings
will allow the company to litigate causation and damages as
to specific plaintiffs. In short, a more complete under-

2

standing of the proceedings before the West Virginia courts
leaves no doubt that intervention by this Court is neither
necessary nor desirable at this interlocutory stage.

1. Background of West Virginia Trial Court Rule 26.01.
This Court has observed that our country is in the midst of
an asbestos-litigation crisis. See Amchem Prods. Inc. v.
Windsor, 521 U.S. 591, 597 (1997). This litigation crisis
results from an asbestos health crisis due to the continued
manufacture and industrial use of asbestos long after its
deleterious effects on human lungs became known.

Contrary to Union Carbide’s baseless assertion, however,
asbestos plaintiffs have not “fiocked,” see Union Carbide
Petition for Writ of Certiorari (May 9, 2003), at 2 (“Pet.’’), to
West Virginia as a result of the state’s effective trial man-
agement procedures. Rather, asbestos litigation is naturally
concentrated in areas—including West Virginia—with high
levels of asbestos-related disease and mortality.’ This peti-
tion relates to asbestos use at five plants located in West
Virginia (at South Charleston, Institute, Alloy, Technical
Center, and Sistersville) and one plant in Marietta, Ohio,
directly across the Ohio River from Parkersburg, West
Virginia.”

As a result of high levels of industrial asbestos use at these
and other West Virginia facilities, the state’s judiciary has
been obliged to develop new trial management techniques to
address large volumes of asbestos cases “threaten[ing] . . .[to]

' While petitioner makes much of the fact that West Virginia ranked
second among the fifty states in asbestos suit filings between 1988 and
1997, see Pet. 2, it neglects to mention that West Virginia has the third-
highest asbestosis crude mortality rate among the states. See Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention ef al., Work-Related Lung Disease
Surveillance Report 1999, tigure 1-5.

* Parkersburg is substantially the largest city in either state in that part
of the Ohio River Valley.

3

paralyz[e]” the lower courts’ active dockets. Wes? Virginia ex
rel. Appalachian Power Co. v. MacQueen, 479 S.E.2d 200,
303-04 (W. Va. 1996). West Virginia Trial Court Rule
26.01—under which these cases have proceeded—directly
reflects the “specialized approach” to asbestos personal injury
litigation that the West Virginia courts have developed “over
the past twenty years,” and that they have successfully
applied to resolve “tens of thousands of asbestos-related
claims.” Appendix to Union Carbide Petition for Writ of
Certiorari (May 9, 2003), at 30a (“Pet. App.”).

The heart of West Virginia’s approach has been to sever,
for initial trial, “the liability issues which are common” to
large groups of pending cases. Pet. App. 30a. Subsequent
proceedings, involving small groups of plaintiffs, address all
other issues, including those relating to exposure, causation,
and compensatory damages. /d. at 33a. This “common-
issues trial” approach to asbestos litigation was expressly
approved by the West Virginia Supreme Court in the 1996
Appalachian Power case. The court found that while
“common issues” tria's represent a “novel method of fact
resolution,” they have “much . . . to recommend [them] to all
parties because [they] represent[] an effective and efficient
manner to bring closure to these . . . [extremely numerous]
cases without depleting valuable resources in the event that
they are needed to satisfy a monetary award.” Appalachian
Power, 479 S.E.2d at 305.

The efficiency of the “common issues” approach derives
from eliminating the repetition of key witnesses and evi-
dence. As one of the judges who presided over Appalachian
Power observed in connection with his earlier experience of
claim-by-claim asbestos litigation: “The anatomy of an
asbestos trial, about 50 percent of it, never changed. It was
exactly the same, every case .... [Y]ou’ll have a little
scientific evidence on what [asbestos] is, and then how does it
hurt somebody if it’s inhaled. And then you've got this big
body of state of the art evidence, . . . the information about

4

who knew what when, or when certain knowledge was
available... . [With respect to each defendant, what they
knew and when they knew it determines their liability. That
is repeated every time a case is tried, time and time again.”
11/08/00 Tr. 56-57.

To implement the “common issues” approach, the
Appalachian Power court “assigned three circuit court judges
to preside over [common-issue] trials of [all] those asbestos-
related cases which were [then] pending on the dockets of
circuit courts throughout the state.” West Virginia ex rel.
Allman v. MacQueen, 551 S.E.2d 369, 371 (W. Va. 2001).
Pursuant to that Order, a series of six common-issue “trials
were held in Kanawha County and Monongalia County, with
the Jast [of these] common-issue trials held in 1998.” /d. at
371. Those six trials “resulted in the resolution, in whole or
in part, of what is estimated to be over 20,000 asbestos-
related cases.” Id. at n.6.°

3. The Operation of TCR 26.01. Following the resolution
of the Kanawha and Monongalia County cases, the West

* West Virginia is by no means alone among the states in its use of
common-issue trials to successfully manage the enormous caseloads
created by asbestos litigation. The Maryland courts, for example, ordered
the consolidation of more than 8,500 individual asbestos actions—initially
involving over 100 different defendants—for initial trial of common

issues. See ACandS yv. Godwin, 667 A.2d 116, 120 (Md. 1995). The
Maryland Court of Appeals rejected defendants’ claim that this approach
denied them due process, even though “the 8,555 plaintiffs in the
consolidation ha[d] different occupations, were exposed at different times,
at different workplaces, have different diseases, and different medical
histories.” /d. at 146. The Court of Appeals found that “none of these
factors diminishes the commonality ef the Phase I issues.” /d. Citing a
long history of state and federal asbestos cases in which consolidation and
common-issues trial methods had been used and upheld on appeal, the
Court of Appeals found it “senseless to repeat the presentation of the same
evidence against the same defendants in successive, individual trials or
mini-consolidations.” /d. at 146-49.

5

Virginia Supreme Court developed a generalized procedure
“by which alternatives [to the traditional case-by-case trial]
could be examined [in various mass litigation situations] and
appropriate trial management plans could be developed.”
Allman, 551 S.E.2d at 371. That generalized procedure is set
forth in Trial Court Rule 26.01. See id. at 371 and n.7.

Rule 26.01 establishes a “Mass Litigation Panel” (“Panel’’)
consisting of six circuit judges appointed by West Virginia’s
Chief Justice to three-year terms. Pet. App. 24a (TCR
26.01(a)). Under the rule, any party, judge, or the
administrative director of the West Virginia courts may file a
motion seeking referral of actions to the Panel. The motion
must identify, inter alia, “the nature of the actions sought to
be referred,” the “basis for the request,” and “‘a listing of the
particular cases in all the circuits for which a referral is being
requested.” Pet. App. 27a. That motion must be “served on
all the parties, all judges in actions which are the subject of
the motion, and the Administrative Director.” /d. Following
service, “[a]ny party shall have twenty (20) days . . . to file a
reply memorandum stating its position and opposition, if
any.” /d. “Any affected judge may file a reply memorandum
within ten (10) days thereafter.” /d. Finally, after the filing
of a motion and replies. the Chief Justice of the State
Supreme Court may either act directly on the motion or
recommend a hearing to inquire further into the desirability of
the proposed referral. /d.

4. The Present Proceedings. \n November 2000, two
West Virginia circuit judges referred asbestos cases involving
approximately 8,000 plaintiffs and 250 defendants to the
Panel pursuant to 26.01(e). The Chief Justice referred the
motion to a trial judge “for the purpose of conducting a
hearing and submission of findings of fact and a recom-
mendation to the Chief Justice regarding the motion to refer.”
11/17/00 Administrative Order at 1.

6

In October 2000, the trial judge held a status conference to
determine goals for the Rule 26.01 hearing. He determined
that an inquiry into common issues of law and fact would be a
_ key issue. At the Rule 26.01 hearing in November 2000, the
judge heard lengthy argument and testimony on that subject.
For example, counsel for several defendants argued that the
cases should not be referred because they lacked sufficient
“commonality,” while a representative for most of the many
remaining defendants indicated that “there are some common
issues and that there is a basis, under Rule 26” for con-
solidation. 11/08/00 Tr. 46. Following the hearing, the Chief
Justice issued an administrative order accepting the recom-
mendation that the referral motion be granted. 11/17/00
Administrative Order.

The trial judge initially assigned to develop a case man-
agement plan for these cases called for a series of traditional
trials on “all issues” between small groups of plaintiffs and
defendants. This strategy obviously departed from the ‘“‘com-
mon issues’ approach approved by the West Virginia
Supreme Court in Appalachian Power, and both the plaintiffs
and defendants petitioned the state’s high court to block
implementation of the plan. The West Virginia Supreme
Court ruled that this original plan did not “fully meet” the
need for a “fair[] and expeditious[]” approach to resolving the
pending asbestos cases. Allman, 551 S.E.2d at 375-78.

After that decision, the West Virginia Chief Justice
designated a new supervising judge who, in September 2001,
adopted a “Report’—which petitioner refers to as the
“Trial Scheduling Order” (“TSO”)—setting forth a new case
management plan for these cases. See Pet. App. 3la. In
particular, the TSO canceled the “all issues” trials that were
previously scheduled and indicated that all cases not success-
fully mediated by March 4, 2002, would be categorized into
three groups—1) products liability claims, 2) premises
claims, and 3) “deliberate intent” claims by employees under

7

West Virginia’s workers compensation statute. The TSO
scheduled for initial trial “liability issues which are common
to all pending cases.” Pet. App. 30a.

In December 2001, Mobil Corporation—which was then
one of about 250 defendants in the case—filed a motion in
the West Virginia Supreme Court seeking a writ of man-
damus or prohibition to prevent implementation of this
second trial plan. Mobil argued that the trial court had failed
to conduct a proper inquiry into whether “mass litigation”
could provide a fair determination of the claims presented.
The West Virginia Supreme Court denied relief, and Mobil
petitioned this Court for a writ of certiorari, arguing that the
West Virginia courts had violated due process by purport-
edly aggregating thousands of claims against hundreds of
defendants without any inquiry into the commonality of those
claims. Union Carbide filed a brief supporting Mobil’s effort
to obtain certiorari. Plaintiffs opposing the petition pointed
out (inter alia) that the West Virginia courts in fact had
conducted a proper inquiry into commonality. This Court
denied the petition. See Mobil Corp. v. Adkins, 537 U.S.
944 (2002).

On August 12, 2002, the trial court held a hearing to
address certain remaining trial management issues. First, the
court heard argument as to whether the juries determining
common issues of fault in Phase I should also consider
whether punitive damages “multipliers” should be applied to
particular defendants based on the evidence presented
regarding what they knew about the dangers of asbestos,
when they knew it, and what actions they took as a result.’

* A punitive damages “multiplier” allows total damages to be set by
establishing punitive damages as a “multiple” of compensatory damages.
Petitioner does not challenge the propriety of punitive damages multi-
pliers generally.

8

Plaintiffs argued that it would make sense for the Phase |
juries to consider this question:

When you have the defendant there whose conduct is at
issue and you have the evidence [of fault] that will shed
a light on that conduct, then that same jury should not be
told to stop at the end and not answer [the punitive
damages] question when it has all of the information
before it to answer that question.

8/12/02 Tr. 57.

The trial court agreed, holding that the Phase I juries would
assign a punitive multiplier on the basis of the evidence they
would hear as to defendants’ “reprehensibility.” 8/12/02 Tr.
95-97. In addition, as petitioner points out, the trial court also
ruled that West Virginia law would be applied at the “first
phase’”—the common issues phase—of trial. 8/12/02 Tr. 172.
-Finally, the court ruled that employees’ “deliberate intent”
claims under W. Va. Code § 23-4-2 would be rescheduled to
December 2002, rather than being heard at the same time as
the products liability and premises cases. 8/12/02 Tr. 26.

Foilowing the August hearing, as the trial date approached,
most of the parties reached settlements. Indeed, as petitioner
acknowledges, by the time of the September 23 hearing on
motions in limine, every one of the “premises liability”
defendants except for Union Carbide had settled, and only a
small handful (including Union Carbide) of “products
liability” defendants remained. Accordingly, the trial court
determined that it would be sensible to combine. the premises
trial against Union Carbide with the products liability trial
against Union Carbide and a few other defendants, rather than
have two juries listen to the same evidence twice regarding
what Union Carbide knew and when Union Carbide knew it.
The court pointed out that the problem of “commonality of
witnesses . . . if we had separate trials” had always been a
concern, and that the “efficient, economical way” to try these

9

cases now that nearly all the defendants had settled was in a
single proceeding. Pet. App. 61a.

The Phase I trial of common issues commenced on
September 26, 2002, and initially involved claims against
Union Carbide, Mobil Corporation, and Amchem Products,
Inc. Both Mobil and Amchem left the case following the
court’s ruling on motions for judgment as a matter of law—
Amchem because it prevailed on its motion, and Mobil
because it settled. Pet. 13 and n.16. Accordingly, when it
came time for defendants to present their case to the jury,
Union Carbide was the only defendant left in the case.
See, e.g., Charles Shumaker, “Mobil Settles; Carbide Now
Lone Asbestos Defendant,” Charleston Gazette, October 10,
2002, at IC.

Petitioner took over a week to put on its defense at trial,
presenting lengthy (and conflicting) argument and testimony
that Union Carbide’s particular brand of asbestos (“Calidria’’)
does not cause asbestos-related disease, and that, in any
event, the company had discharged its duty to warn about the
hazards of its asbestos products. See Pet. 13. On the
premises claims, Union Carbide presented detailed evidence
of its industrial hygiene policies and argued that the con-
tractor at each premise (not the corporation Union Carbide)
was contractually responsible for the protection of employees.

On October 24, 2002, after a day and a half of delib-
erations, the jury returned its verdict on the Phase I “common
issues” in the form of answers to detailed “special inter-
rogatories.” On the product liability claims, the jury found
that “Calidria” was a defective product, but that Union
Carbide had not acted “intentionally, oppressively, willfully,
maliciously, or in wanton or reckless conduct or criminal
indifference” in selling it, and therefore there was no need for
a punitive damages “multiplier” in those cases. Pet. App.
92a-93a. On the premises claims, the jury found that Union
Carbide had maintained “unreasonably dangerous” sites from

10

1945-1980 and, in so doing, had acted “intentionally,
oppressively, willfully, maliciously, or in wanton or reckless
conduct or criminal indifference.” Pet. App. 9la, 94a.
Accordingly, the jury assigned a punitive damages multiplier
of three to be applied in premises cases in which plaintiffs
succeed in showing causation and compensatory damages.

On November 4, 2002, former Union Carbide employ-
ees pursuing “deliberate intent” claims under W. Va. Code
§ 23-4-2 moved the trial court to apply offensive issue
preclusion—which the West Virginia courts call “offensive
collateral estoppel’—based on the Phase I jury’s answers to
the special interrogatories.” The court found that under West
Virginia law, five elements must be satisfied for plaintiffs to
prevail on a claim of offensive collateral estoppel:

1. The issues that will arise in the second case must
have been “actually litigated” in the first case;

2. The first judgment must have been a final judgment
rendered on the merits by a court of competent
jurisdiction;

3. There cannot have been any change in the controlling
facts or legal principles since the earlier case;

4. There can be no special circumstances indicating that
applying the earlier judgment would be unfair; and
5. Estoppel is not available if the plaintiffs asserting it
could have easily joined the first case, but failed to
do so.
Pet. App. 16a-17a (citing West Virginia cases).

The court further found that plaintiffs had two different
kinds of claims under § 23-4-2, and that the “actually liti-

> Plaintiffs’ motion was captioned “Motion for Collateral Estoppel to
Prevent the Relitigation by Union Carbide of the Liability Elements of
Deliberate Intent that were Determined in the Premises Liability Trial.”
Pet. App. 12a.

——————————— eee

1]

gated” requirement applied differently to the different claims.
Specifically, under § 23-4-2(c)(2)(i), a plaintiff must show
that the employer “acted with a consciously, subjectively, and
deliberately formed intention to produce the specific result
[of] injury or death to an employee.” Pet. App. 17a-18a.
Under § 23-4-2(c)(2)(ii), a plaintiff must show that the
employer a) maintained a workplace in which a specific
unsafe working condition presented a high risk of ‘serious
injury or death; b) had a subjective realization and apprecia-
tion of the risk presented; and c) that the condition violated a
safety statute, regulation, or accepted industry practice. Pet.
App. 18a-19a.

The court concluded that offensive collateral estoppel
could not be applied to claims under § 23-4-2(c)(2)(i) because
the jury had found only that Union Carbide had acted
“intentionally, oppressively, willfully, maliciously, or in
wanton or reckless conduct or criminal indifference”:

Because the interrogatory was asked in the disjunctive
form, using the term “or,” this Court cannot determine
which of these terms the jury actually believed
accurately described [Union Carbide’s] actions. There is
a possibility that the jury found [Union Carbide] acted
[only] recklessly or willfully or wantonly, which .. .
is insufficient to demonstrate deliberate intent under

[§ 23-4-2(c)(2)(i)].

Pet. App. 20a. In contrast, the court found that the jury’s
finding was sufficient to demonstrate employer “realization
and appreciation” of “unsafe working condition[s]” under
§ 23-4-2(c)(2)(11), and that the presence of asbestos fibers in
the air was an “unsafe working condition” that violated
industrial hygiene standards. See Pet. App. 18a, 20a-21la.
Finally, the court concluded that the remaining four elements
of West Virginia’s test for offensive collateral estoppel were
clearly satisfied as to type (ii) claims. /d. at 21a-22a.

In February 2003, the trial court denied post-trial motions
filed by Union Carbide. At that point, rather than proceed to

12

the Phase II “mini-trials” of causation and compensatory
damages for small groups of plaintiffs with similar claims and
exposure criteria, Union Carbide filed a “Writ of Prohibition,
Or In the Alternative, Petition for Appeal” with the West
Virginia Supreme Court. On June 17, 2003, the State
Supreme Court issued a brief order simply stating that the
“petition for writ of prohibition prayed for by the petitioner is
hereby refused.” Pet. App. 2a. This petition followed.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. THE INTERLOCUTORY DECISION OF THE
STATE SUPREME COURT IS NOT A REVIEW-
ABLE “FINAL JUDGMENT.”

Petitioner asks this Court to review the judgment below
even though only one phase of the trial plan has been
completed, and Union Carbide has not been held liable for
any damages whatsoever. This Court has emphasized,
however, that the statutory provision governing review of
state court decisions, 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), “establishes a firm
final judgment rule.” Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, 522 U.S.
75, 81 (1997). A state court judgment is not reviewable
unless it is “final as an effective determination of the
litigation and not of merely interlocutory or intermediate
steps therein.” /d. Plainly, the jury’s entry of a verdict on the
common issues tried in “Phase |” of these proceedings is not
“final as an effective determination” of this litigation. Issues
relating to whether Union Carbide’s behavior caused harm to
any particular plaintiff and what compensatory damages
should be assessed will not be addressed until the Phase II
mini-trials.

The requirement of finality “serves several ends: (1) it
avoids piecemeal review of state court decisions; (2) it avoids
giving advisory opinions in cases where there may be no real
‘case’ or ‘controversy’ in the sense of Art. III; (3) it limits
review of state court determinations of federal constitutional

13

issues to leave at a minimum federal intrusion in state
affairs.” North Dakota Pharmacy Board v. Snyder's Stores,
414 U.S. 156, 159 (1973). These ends are clearly implicated
here. Perhaps most importantly, there is an ongoing state
process in place for achieving a “final” determination of
plaintiffs’ claims—a process consistent with the way that
West Virginia has resolved tens of thousands of asbestos
cases in the past. At this point, the West Virginia Supreme
Court has merely declined to exercise its discretion to review
an interim step in that process, presumably because such
interlocutory review would be premature. To hold that a state
supreme court commits constitutional error by declining to
grant extraordinary relief at an interlocutory phase would
seriously intrude on the autonomy of state judiciaries. In
addition, the unfinished procedural posture of this case
creates a likelihood of piecemeal appeals.

Petitioner argues that a state supreme court denial of a writ
of prohibition “is a distinct lawsuit that is finally determined
even if further proceedings are to be had in the lower court.”
Pet. App. 6. The cases cited by petitioner in support, how-
ever, are very different from this case. All of them involved
jurisdictional claims that could have ended the litigation. The
dispute in Madruga v. Superior Court, 346 U.S. 556, 557
(1954), was whether a state court had jurisdiction over a
“case for sale of a vessel and partition of the proceeds,” or
whether “only the United States district court sitting in
admiralty could take jurisdiction to consider such a case.”
Similarly, Bandini Co. v. Superior Court, 284 U.S. 8, 13-14
(1931), “merely dealt with . . . jurisdiction”; the “only
question before [this Court was] . . . whether the District
Court of Appeal erred in deciding the federal questions as to
the validity of the statute upon which that jurisdiction was
based.” Finally, Fisher v. District Court, 424 U.S. 382, 383
(1976), presented the question whether a state court, rather
than a tribal court, “has jurisdiction over an adoption
proceeding in which all parties are members of the Tribe and

ee

residents of the Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation.”
Citing Madruga and noting that the dispute had been brought
to the Montana Supreme Court as an original -proceeding
seeking an extraordinary writ, the Court in Fisher held that
“fa] judgment that terminates original proceedings in a state
appellate court, in which the only issue decided concerns the
jurisdiction of a lower state court, is final, even if further
proceedings are to be had in the lower court.” /d. at 385 n.7.

This case, like Madruga, Bandini, and Fisher, arises from a
request for an extraordinary writ. But the similarity ends
there—unlike in those cases, the jurisdiction of the lower
_ court is not at issue here and no decision by this Court could
have the effect of ending the litigation. At most, petitioners
would obtain a judgment from this Court providing guidance
on how asbestos trials should be structured. Accordingly,
concluding that the decision below is a final judgment would
stretch the language of section 1257 far beyond the modest
steps this Court has taken in permitting review in unusual
cases, and far beyond any sensible meaning of the final
judgment language. Indeed, the result petitioners seek would
inappropriately relegate section 1257’s final judgment rule to
the status of “one of those technicalities to be easily scorned.”
Jefferson, 522 U.S. at 81 (citation omitted).

Petitioner also argues that “a refusal immediately to review
the state court decision might seriously erode federal policy.”
Pet. App. 8 (citing Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S.
469, 482-83 (1975)). Petitioner does not, however, identify
any specific “federal policy” that might be “seriously eroded”
by failure to review the interim decision at issue, or cite a
single case remotely analogous to this in which the court has
granted certiorari at an interim stage. Instead, petitioner
makes the surprising claim that “federalism” requires this
Court to find a constitutional violation where the West
Virginia Supreme Court has declined to provide extraordinary
relief. To the contrary, “federalism” obviously counsels that

15

this Court should be reluctant to interfere in ongoing state-
court proceedings.

Petitioner also makes the curious claim that this Court
should grant review now because the case may otherwise be
“mooted on state law grounds,” or Union Carbide may
succumb to “pressure to settle,” and the opportunity to review
“important federal issues” may be “lost.” Pet. 8. This
argument stands the Court’s criteria for granting certiorari on
their heads—petitioner suggests that the Court should grant
review because the case may otherwise be resolved without
the need for the Court’s intervention. That is, of course, a
reason not to grant review. Moreover, as to “pressure to
settle,” Union Carbide is clearly represented by expert coun-
sel who will have the opportunity to defend their client on
issues of causation and damages in further proceedings. If
Union Carbide is confident that it can show that its products
and premises did not cause injury to plaintiffs, then it should
proceed to Phase II trials on those issues; if not, it should
consider settling. Significantly, however, Union Carbide’s
position is no different from that of any defendant defending
multiple lawsuits raising the prospect of potentially
substantial liability.

Il. THE FIRST QUESTION PRESENTED DOES
NOT MERIT REVIEW.

The petition makes little effort to justify review of the West
Virginia courts’ establishment of a punitive damages “multi-
plier” of three times compensatory damages under this
Court’s usual standards for issuance of the writ. Petitioner
does not claim, for example, that the lower court judgment
evidences confusion among the state supreme courts or the
federal courts of appeal. It does not. Nor does petitioner
claim that the result below is inconsistent with this Court’s
guidance regarding acceptable ratios between punitive and
compensatory damages. It is not. Instead, petitioner is

16

reduced to arguing that the writ should issue because the
lower courts’ trial plan—which assigned responsibility for
measuring defendant’s reprehensibility (through assignment
of a punitive damages multiplier) to the “Phase I’ jury hear-
ing evidence regarding defendant’s knowledge of the dangers
of asbestos and consequent actions—allegedly violated an ill-
defined “right to due process” purportedly discernible from
this Court’s cases. There was no such violation.

In attempting to raise the specter of conflict with this
Court’s cases, petitioner predictably relies on State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 123 S. Ct. 1513 (2003). At
the outset, however, the striking dissimilarities between that
case and this bear emphasis. In State Farm, the Utah
Supreme Court approved compensatory damages of $1
million and punitive damages of $145 million against State
Farm for alleged bad faith, fraud, and intentional infliction
of emotional distress in its representation of its insureds,
“the Campbells, in a wrongful death action. This Court
acknowledged that “State Farm’s handling of the claims
against the Campbells merits no praise,” id. at 1521: State
Farm had improperly altered company records to make
Campbell appear less culpable; had exercised poor judgment
in taking the case to trial; and had amplified the eventual
judgment’s effect on the Campbells by first advising them
that their assets would be safe, and then telling them,
postjudgment, to put a for-sale sign on their house. /d.
Nonetheless, this Court found that “few awards exceeding a
single-digit ratio between punitive and compensatory
damages, to a significant degree, will satisfy due process.”
Id. at 1524. A punitive damages to compensatory damages
ratio of 145 to 1 as punishment for inflicting a year and a half
of emotional distress on the Campbells was understandably
deemed excessive. /d.

This case could hardly be more different. Here, after
hearing voluminous testimony from both sides regarding

17

Union Carbide’s industrial hygiene practices at the sites in
question, the jury found that Union Carbide had maintained
“unreasonably dangerous” premises for over three decades,
from 1945-1980. Pet. App. 13a. In so doing, the jury found,
Union Carbide had acted “intentionally, oppressively, will-
fully, maliciously, or in wanton or reckless conduct or crim-
inal indifference.” Pet. App. 13a-l4a. Based on these
findings, the jury concluded that a punitive damages multi-
plier of three should be applied to compensatory damages in
cases where plaintiffs ultimately succeed (in future “mini-
trials”) in showing causation and compensatory damages.°
That determination is entirely consistent with State Farm’s
admonition that “few awards exceeding a single-digit ratio”
between punitive and compensaiory damages will be appro-
priate. 123 S. Ct. at 15244emphasis added). Indeed, there is
a long “history, dating back over 700 years . . . of double,
treble, or quadruple damages to deter and punish.” State
Farm, 123 S. Ct. at 1524. The punitive damages multiplier
adopted below falls squarely within that tradition.

Because Union Carbide cannot challenge the substantive
result below (the 3-1 ratio), it resorts to challenging the
process by which the result was achieved. Specifically,
petitioner claims that the jury’s determination of “punitive
damages without hearing any evidence of harm to any
specific plaintiff’ (Pet. 15) violates this Court’s requirement
that a “defendant should be punished for the conduct that
harmed the plaintiff, not for being an unsavory individual or
business.” Pet. 16 (citing State Farm, 123 S. Ct. at 1523).
Once again, however, State Farm is obviously distinguishable
from this case. There, this Court found that the 145-to-1
punitive to compensatory damages ratio approved by the Utah
courts was expressly intended to “rebuke State Farm for its
nationwide activities.” 123 S. Ct. at 1522. The Court found

* The jury rejected the plaintiffs’ claims for punitive damages in con-
nection with their products liability claims.

lu

that many of those activities “bore no relation to the
Campbells’ harm,” and that “[a] defendant’s dissimilar acts,
independent from the acts upon which liability was premised,
may not serve as the basis for punitive damages.” /d. at 1523.

The punitive damages multiplier of three—adopted by the
jury below for use in premises cases—was not based on
“nationwide activities” or on “independent ... acts” from
those “upon which liability was premised.” To the contrary,
this petition relates to punitive damages based only on Union
Carbide’s reprehensible behavior at five plants located in
- West Virginia (at South Charleston, Institute, Alloy, Tech-
nical Center, and Sistersville) and one plant in Marietta, Ohio
(directly across the Ohio River from Parkersburg, West
Virginia). A// of the premises plaintiffs in these consolidated
cases allege injury at these specific premises. The jury found
that Union Carbide had acted “intentionally, oppressively,
willfully, maliciously, or in wanton or reckless conduct or
criminal indifference” by maintaining “unreasonably dan-
gerous” premises at these sites. Pet. App. 13a-14a. Accord-
ingly, the behavior upon which the jury’s punitive damages
multiplier was based is in no way “independent from the acts
upon which liability was premised.” State Farm, 123 S. Ct.
at 1523. To the contrary, that behavior is the basis of every
claim of every premises plaintiff in this case.

Equally importantly, no punitive damages have actually
been awarded at this point. The question whether Union
Carbide’s maintenance of “unreasonably dangerous” prem-
ises actually caused damages to individual plaintiffs, as well
as the proper compensation for such damages, will be
litigated in Phase II small-group trials that have not yet taken
place. Only where Union Carbide’s reprehensible behavior is
ultimately found to have caused damages to particular indi-
viduals, and compensatory damages are awarded, will the
punitive damages multiplier adopted by the “common issues”
jury be applied. Actual punitive damages—if any—will thus

19

be three times the specific compensatory damages awarded
for specific harm that petitioner caused a specific plaintiff. Mt
is undeniable that such punitive damages wili directly
calibrate Union Carbide’s punishment to the harm that it
caused individual plaintiffs. Accordingly, petitioner’s sug-
gestion that punitive damages here, as in State Farm, “bfear]
no retation to the [plaintiffs’] harm,” is simply incorrect, and
its arguments for review of the first question presented should
be rejected.

il. THE SECOND QUESTION PRESENTED DOES
NOT MERIT REVIEW.

Union Carbide’s second question presented is only a minor
variation on its first: petitioner argues that applying the
punitive damages multiplier determined below “to premises
cases from Marietta, Ohio” would violate “this Court’s
holding in BMW of N. America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559,
571, 73 (1996), and [State Farm v.] Campbell, that principles
of state sovereignty and comity prohibit a State from using
economic sanctions to change. conduct in other States.”
Pet. 18. Once again, however, this case is worlds removed
from State Farm.

As described above, State Farm was a suit by individuals
insured by State Farm against the company seeking damages
for bad faith, fraud, and intentional infliction of emotional
distress. This Court found that the “case . . . was used as a

” BMW v. Gore is even farther afield. There, this Court pointed out that
the behavior punished by the lower court judgment was entirely legal in
many states. See 517 U.S. at 569 & n.13. It held that “a State may not
impose economic sanctions on violators of its laws with the intent of
changing the tortfeasors’ lawful conduct in other States.” Jd. at 572.
Here, in contrast, petitioner does not suggest that while maintaining “un-
reasonably dangerous” premises “intentionally, oppressively, willfully,
maliciously, or in wanton or reckless conduct or criminal indifference” is
illegal in West Virginia, it would be “lawful conduct” in other states.

20

platform to expose, and punish, the perceived deficiencies of
State Farm’s operations throughout the country. The Utah
Supreme Court’s opinion maf[de] explicit that State Farm was
being condemned for its nationwide policies rather than for
the conduct directed] toward the Campbells.” 123 S. Ct. at
1521. The State Farm Court concluded that an award of
punitive damages on that basis is improper: “Any proper
adjudication of conduct that occurred outside Utah to other
persons would require their inclusion [in the case], and, to
those parties, the Utah courts, in the usual case, would need to
apply the laws of their relevant jurisdiction.” Id. at 1522.

Plaintiffs here, in contrast, do not seek to punish Union
Carbide for its “operations throughout the country.” Indeed,
even petitioner does not maintain that the punitive damages
multiplier adopted below reflected any effort to “condemn|
Union Carbide] for its nationwide policies.” Rather, as
previously noted, the punitive damages multiplier applies
only to premises claims in connection with the five West
Virginia plants at issue, and a neighboring Ohio plant.

Petitioner’s second question presented thus essentially
reduces to the suggestion that the West Virginia courts may
have improperly applied (or failed to apply) West Virginia
choice-of-law analysis to the relative handful of plaintiffs in
these cases claiming injury at the Marietta, Ohio site.”
Whether true or false, that is not a question meriting review
by this Court, but is, at most, one for the West Virginia
Supreme Court. And petitioner does not appear even to have
laid the groundwork for a proper objection to that Court
regarding the trial court’s choice-of-law ruling. As this Court
held in Phillips v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 816 (1985), the first
step in demonstrating that some law other than forum law

* As further set forth infra at 26, the record does not reflect precisely
how many such plaintiffs there are because petitioner failed to present
evidence on that issue to the trial court.

iam iain

21

must be applied is a showing of a “material” conflict on
issues relevant to the case. Here, petitionér provides no
evidence whatsoever that it properly established any such
conflict between West Virginia law and that of another state
before the trial court prior to the choice-of-law ruling. Nor
does petitioner reference any post-ruling arguments to the
trial court framing the issue.

Finally, petitioner seizes on the language of the trial court’s
“Special Interrogatory 4” to argue that the punitive damages
award was based on “hypothetical claims,” rather than those
of plaintiffs actually before the trial court. Pet. 18 and n.21.
Special Interrogatory 4 asked the jury:

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence that,
when non-employee workers were present on the sites
owned by Union Carbide, Union Carbide acted
intentionally, oppressively, willfully, maliciously, or in

- wanton or reckless conduct or criminal indifference to
civil obligations affecting the rights of others and should
therefore pay punitive damages?

Pet. App. 13a-14a. The jury answered “yes.” Id. Nothing
about this question and answer, however, suggests that the
jury’s finding was based on “hypothetical claims.” Rather,
the jury heard extensive evidence that Union Carbide main-
tained “unreasonably dangerous” premises, in blatant dis-
regard for the safety of the workers at those sites. Union
Carbide primarily defended on the ground that the workers
were “employees of contractors,” not of Union Carbide, and
that “the contractor was contractually responsible for the
protection of its employees.” Pet. 13-14. Accordingly, it is
disingenuous of Union Carbide now to suggest that Special
Interrogatory 4 was flawed because it acknowledged Union
Carbide’s own argument that many of the worksite plaintiffs
were not Union Carbide employees.

22

IV. THE THIRD QUESTION PRESENTED DOES
NOT MERIT REVIEW.

Petitioner’s third question presented is premised on the
notion that the trial below represented a “mass trial” that
denied Union Carbide a reasonable “opportunity to be heard.”
Pet. at 19. As set forth above, however, by the time the trial
reached defendant’s presentation of its case, Union Carbide
was the only defendant left in the trial. As a result, the idea
that Union Carbide was not given an “opportunity to be
heard” sufficient to comport with due process borders on the
absurd. In any event, Union Carbide does not even attempt to
demonstrate that this question satisfies the Court’s criteria for
issuance of the writ.

A. Union Carbide Had A Meaningful (And
Indeed, Lengthy) Opportunity To Be Heard.

Petitioner does not argue that the consolidation of plain-
tiffs’ suits against it directly conflicts with any specific
precedent of this (or any other) Court, but instead vaguely
maintains that the trial denied it the opportunity to be heard
“in a meaningful manner.” Pet. 19. More specifically, while
petitioner acknowledges that aggregating cases for trial “does
not per se violate the requirement of due process,” it claims
that “[iJn this case the aggregation did violate due process
because the lack of commonality and prejudice meant [Union
Carbide] could not exercise its right to be heard.” Pet. 20.

Given the fact that Union Carbide was the sole defendant
to present its arguments to the jury, it is frankly difficult
to understand exactly what petitioner is talking about. It
appears, however, that petitioner may wish to challenge the
West Virginia courts’ original determination that these cases
contained sufficient common factual and legal issues to
justify grouping them together for trial—but yet without
explaining how that determination was made, or that it was

23

previously challenged before the West Virginia courts and
this Court.

Consideration of commonality began in August 2000,
when the Chief Justice of the West Virginia Supreme Court
referred the Rule 26.01 motion to a trial judge “for the
purpose of conducting a hearing and submission of findings
of fact and a recommendation to the Chief Justice regarding
the motion to refer” these asbestos cases. 12/21/00 Adminis-
trative Order at 1. At a brief October 2000 hearing, the trial
judge determined that “the major issue” for a subsequent
hearing would be whether the cases “generally come in”
under Rule 26.01, that is, “[dJjo they involve a common
question of fact, common issues [of law]?” 10/17/00 Hearing
Tr. at 23.

The transcript of the November 8, 2000 hearing on com-
monality runs to more than 100 pages. Counsel for several of
the 250 defendants then involved in the case—specifically,
USX and CSX Transportation and Norfolk Southern Railway
Company—argued at the hearing that the cases did not
exhibit the commonality of issues required by West Virginia
Rule 26. However, counsel speaking “on behalf of most of
the defendants” presented a contrasting view, stating that
“defendants do believe that there are some common issues [to
be tried] and that there is a basis, under Rule 26... for the
handling of asbestos cases with a referral to the Mass
Litigation Panel.” 11/08/00 Tr. 45, 46. Counsel for Union
Carbide did not disagree. In findings of fact and conclusions
of law submitted to the Chief Justice on November 15, 2000,
the trial court agreed with “[t]he plaintiffs and defendants . . .
that the cases should be sent to the mass litigation panel.”
11/17/00 Order at 2. On November 17, 2000, West Vir-
ginia’s Chief Justice issued an order adopting the lower
court’s findings and conclusions.

In December 2001, after the trial court’s adoption of the
trial plan now being implemented, Mobil Corporation unsuc-
cessfully sought mandamus from the West Virginia Supreme

24

Court to stop the consolidated trial from going forward.
Mobil then petitioned this Court for a writ of certiorari,
arguing that the West Virginia courts had consolidated
thousands of cases against hundreds of defendants without
any inquiry into the commonality of those claims, and that the
consolidation violated due process. In opposing the petition,
plaintiffs pointed out (inter alia) that the West Virginia courts
in fact had conducted a proper inquiry into commonality, as
described above. This Court denied the petition. See Mobil
Corp. v. Adkins, 123 S. Ct. 346 (2002).

Union Carbide, which filed a brief in support of Mobil’s
petition with this Court, appears to wish to revisit this issue.
Clearly, however, whatever appeal Mobil’s arguments had in
2001, when the consolidation did, indeed, involve hundreds
of defendants—albeit after a proper inquiry into common-
ality—has now evaporated. Again, it cannot be overem-
phasized that Union Carbide was the only defendant to
present its defense to the jury on the Phase I common issues.
Petitioner had ample opportunity to argue its case. And argue
it did. On October 8, 2002, plaintiffs rested their case-in-
chief against Union Carbide, which promptly began present-
ing its defense. For over a week, petitioner presented and
presented, in arguments to the jury and live testimony totaling
close to two thousand pages of trial transcript.” In light of
this fact, Union Carbide’s claim that it was denied a rea-
sonable opportunity to be heard is simply preposterous.

” As noted above, Union Carbide argued on the products claims that its
particular brand of asbestos (“Calidria”) does not cause asbestos-related
disease, and that, in any event, the company had discharged its duty to
warn about the hazards of its asbestos products. See Pet. 13. On the
premises claims, Union Carbide argued that the contractor at each premise
(not Union Carbide) was contractually responsible for the protection of
employees. See /d. 13-14. These thousands of pages of arguments do not
address the specifics of whether any individual plaintiff was harmed,
because such issues of causation and damages are to be tried in Phase II
small-group trials.

25

It follows that petitioner’s half-hearted effort to analogize
this case to Amchem Products, Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591
(1997), fails as well. As petitioner acknowledges, the class at
issue there was intended “to achieve a global settlement of
current and future asbestos-related claims nationwide” against
all potential defendants. Pet. 20. The proceedings here do
nothing of the sort. Rather, they will adjudicate the liability
of a single defendant, Union Carbide, to specific, identified
plaintiffs for current claims arising primarily from exposure
in West Virginia. Indeed, even petitioner stops short of
claiming a specific conflict between this case and Amchem,
because clearly there is none. Unlike all of the myriad
potential defendants in Amchem, petitioner had a full and fair
opportunity to defend itself on the issues tried in Phase I, and
will have a further opportunity to do so in Phase II trials on
causation and damages.

B. Petitioner Has Not Properly Presented Its
“Choice-Of-Law” Issue Either To The West
Virginia Courts Or To This Court.

The second half of petitioner’s argument in connection
with its third question presented is even more befuddling than
the first. Petitioner does not claim that the question whether
the West Virginia courts properly applied long-settled West
Virginia precedent governing conflicts of law in these cases is
an issue meriting review by this Court—and of course it is
not.'” Rather, petitioner makes the unusual argument that the
West Virginia courts’ purported “disregard of Shutts” some-
how calls the fundamental fairness of employing a consoli-
dated trial against Union Carbide into question, purportedly
making that an issue warranting this Court’s review.

' As noted above, see Part III, supra, that question is, at most, one for

the West Virginia Supreme Court. That Court has not, however, ever
addressed the issue, presumably because—as further discussed below—
petitioner has failed properly to present it.

26

First, Phillips v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 (1985), is obviously
inapposite here. In Shutts, this Court held that in order for a
forum state—Kansas, in that case—to apply forum law to
claims asserted by a class action, the state “must have a
‘significant contact or aggregation of contacts’ to the claims
asserted by each member of the plaintiff class . . . to ensure
that the choice of Kansas law is not arbitrary or unfair.” /d. at
821-22. Significantly, however, even though some “97% of
the plaintiffs in the case had no apparent connection to the
State of Kansas except for this lawsuit,” id. at 814-15, this
Court held that there could be no constitutional defect in
Kansas’ application of forum law without a prior showing of
an actual conflict on issues relevant to the case: “We must
first determine whether Kansas law conflicts in any material
way with any other law which could apply. There can be no
injury in applying Kansas law if it is not in conflict with that
of any other jurisdiction connected to this suit.” /d. at 816.

Here, although petitioner repeatedly suggests that West
Virginia is a “magnet state for the filing of asbestos cases,”
see, e.g., Pet. 19, it does not appear to have presented
evidence to the trial court proving that any significant number
of the plaintiffs (let alone 97%) “had no apparent connection”
to West Virginia. Although the record thus does not reveal
exactly what percentage of the plaintiffs reside in, claim
exposure in, or otherwise have an “apparent connection” to
West Virginia, there is no doubt that daimants with an
obvious connection to West Virginia represent the vast
majority of the plaintiffs in these consolidated cases.

More importantly, notwithstanding the requirement of
Shutts, petitioner also does not appear te have made any
effort to demonstrate to the trial court that there are specific,
“material” conflicts between West Virginia law and that of
another state that are relevant here. Indeed, even in its peti-
tion to this Court, petitioner’s entire discussion of “material”
conflicts is limited to footnotes, see Pet nn. 29 and 31.

27

Significantly, however, petitioner does not cite to any
pleading or transcript before the trial court where Union
Carbide (or anyone else) elaborated those (or any other)
claims of conflict as required by Shutts.

Of course, even had Union Carbide done so, that would not
make its third question presented any more worthy of review.
Again, petitioner does not seek review of the West Virginia
courts’ choice-of-law ruling. Instead, petitioner’s third ques-
tion presented suggests that petitioner should be permitted an
interlocutory challenge to West Virginia’s entire Rule 26.1
process for consolidating cases because the West Virginia
court purportedly failed to apply the state’s settled conflicts
law. That simply makes no sense. The proper way to
challenge the trial court’s choice-of-law ruling would, of
course, be to appeal that ruling to the West Virginia Supreme
Court at such time as any judgment against Union Carbide
becomes final under state law. Petitioner has not done so yet,
but the option remains open to it in the event (which, from the
petition, appears questionable) that petitioner properly
presented and preserved the issue before the trial court. In the
event that it did not, petitioner certainly should not be
allowed to revive its choice-of-law claim by merely cloaking
it in due process language.

V. THE FOURTH QUESTION PRESENTED DOES
NOT MERIT REVIEW.

Petitioner’s final question presented bears little discussion.
Petitioner does not seriously suggest that the lower court’s
routine application of West Virginia law on collateral
estoppel will create conflict among jurisdictions, or that it
conflicts with any specific precedent of this Court. Instead,
petitioner merely seeks correction of an alleged error by the
trial court—specifically, the court’s ruling that the jury
finding that Union Carbide acted “intentionally, oppressively,
willfully, maliciously, or in wanton or reckless conduct”

28

satisfies § 23-4-2(c)(2)(ii)’s requirement of employer “reali-
zation and appreciation” of the existence of unsafe working
conditions.

Petitioner argues that the trial court’s interpretation of
§ 23-4-2(c)(2)(ii) is inconsistent with the West Virginia
Supreme Court’s ruling in Mayles v. Shoney's, Inc., 405
S.E.2d 15, 19 (W. Va. 1990). See Pet. 28. If so, petitioner's
proper recourse is, once again, obviously to the West Virginia
Supreme Court. As with petitioner’s choice-of-iaw claim,
mere invocation of a vague “right to due process” cannot
transform a purported misapplication of settled state law into
a federal constitutional claim meriting this Court’s review.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CHRISTOPHER J. WRIGHT *
TIMOTHY J. SIMEONE
HARRIS, WILTSHIRE &
GRANNIS LLP
1200 Eighteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
* Counsel of Record (202) 730-1300

JAMES F. HUMPHREYS

J. DAVID CECIL

JAMES A. MCKOWEN

JAMES F. HUMPHREYS &
ASSOCIATES, LC

United Center, Suite 800

500 Virginia Street, East

Charleston, WV 25301

(304) 347-5050

JOHN SKAGGS

LAW OFFICES OF STUART
CALDWELL

405 Capitol Street, Suite 607

Charleston, WV 25301

(304) 343-4323

29

RONALD MOTLEY

ANNE MCGINNESS KEARSE
MOTLEY RICE, LLC

28 Bridgeside Boulevard
Mount Pleasant, SC 29465
(843) 216-9000

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_2052%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
