# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Moore v. Local Union No. 58, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1961%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 966

## Text

im, Supreme Ceurt, US.
| FILE®

case QS 224 WN 242003

THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 2002

LAWRENCE MOORE,
Petitioner,
:' a

LOCAL UNION NO. 58, INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD
OF ELECTRICAL WORKERS; LOCAL 58 ANNUITY FUND;
LOCAL 58 PENSION TRUST; LOCAL 58 HEALTH WELFARE
TRUST; LOCAL 58 TRAINING TRUST; LABOR-
MANAGEMENT CO-OP FUND; LOCAL 58 SUB PAY FUND;
LOCAL 58 VACATION PAY FUND; JEFF RADJEWSKI;
ELECTRICAL WORKERS JOINT BOARD OF TRUSTEES;
THOMAS MITTELBRUN; NATIONAL ELECTRICAL BENEFIT
FUND; and NATIONAL ELECTRICAL ANNUITY FUND,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Lawrence Moore, Pro Se
Box 13543

La Jolla, CA 92039-3543
Ph. (858) 452-9537

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. May a biased, partial and overweening "judge" solicit, and
inflate an already-inflated, three-months-late motion for attorneys
fees by misrepresenting a bargaining unit employee - represented
by a Union certified as his "exclusive representative" under
Federal Law - is a "member" of a Union he sued (for wrongfully
taking both "union dues" and its special purpose funds’ "required
contributions" from his wages) and had "voluntarily" participated
in that Union’s "Voluntary Employee Beneficiary Funds" - which
must be approved by the Internal Revenue Service to exist before
receiving such tax-deferred wages - by striking his "Response" to
freely distort the purpose and intent of E.R.I.S.A. § 502(g)(1);
and should denial of his petition for writ of certiorari in the case-
in-chief be reconsidered in light of that judge’s now-assertion, in
the Order awarding fees, that the case had been dismissed on the
specious ground, "Plaintiff simply used this Court as a forum to
air his political position"?

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Petitioner/Appellant/Plaintiff Lawrence Moore, and
Respondents/Appellees/Defendants: Local Union 58, International
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers; Local 58 Vacation Pay Fund;
Local 58 Health Welfare Trust; Local 58 Sub Pay Fund; Local
58 Annuity Fund; Local 58 Pension Trust; Local 58 Health
Welfare Trust; Local 58 Training Trust; Labor-Management
Coop Fund; Jeff Radjewski; National Electrical Benefit Fund;
National Electrical Annuity Fund; Thomas Mittelbrun; and
Electrical Workers Joint Board of Trustees. , -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

page
CITATIONS TO GPINIONS BELOW .....0556scssccesescseossens 1
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ............ aera, 1
FARE GP SEAT 6 viccesretsasisantceneas arenes l
STATEAGRT OF THe CA ect ccstntsestesarisicoesnereeresiee 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .................00068 7

I. The petition should be granted to review lower
court approvals of an award of attorneys’ fees to
Union Funds by abusing law, and facts in different
ways than it distorted them in Orders that underlie
Petition No. 02-920 to this Court from the case-in-
chief, and review approval of underlying "takings"
of non-members’ wages without any due process,
thereby overstepping the boundaries of accepted
procedure and departing from the usual course of
judicial proceedings and conflicted with applicable
decisions by this Court, all of which also require
an exercise of this Court’s powers of supervision.

RP EITIE ois viscexsnysntonxnevesstensesucierssanes eee 14

rh

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES page

Alyeska Pipeline Co. v. Wilderness Society,
421 U.S. 240, 95 S.Ct. 1612, 44 L.Ed.2d 141 (1976) ......... 12

Armistead v. Vernitron Corp.,
ae GE CGE s FIP ED vs eesncsscccvsvccccsssscseveves 8, 11-12

Christenberg Garment Co. v. E.E.O.C.,
a racks bedidececasichwtesvasdcsunceceecescass 11

Communication Workers of America v. Beck,
487 U.S. 735, 108 S.Ct. 2641,
re a

Cowden v. Montgomery County Society for Cancer Control,
RD) ee 13

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Neusser,
ee ee UNE, SOE D vas svcncnsecvcsscccsdvecvescvasaceess 10

Folstice v. Guardian Products, Inc.
98 F.3d 933 (6th Cir. 1996), cert. denied,
520 U.S. 1143, 117 S.Ct. 1312, 137 L.Ed.2d 475 (1997) ..... 11

International Association of Machinists v. Street,
367 U.S. 740, 81 S.Ct. 1784, 6 L.Ed.2d 1141 (1961) ........ 7

Landro v. Glendenning Motorways, Inc.,
ee Be CE BUMPED ccc csvnaeensecsswascsceseenssscssecees 13

Moore v. Fischbach & Moore, Inc., |
ee I MS, OPED cs cs cncusvenscsssnsdsveascensvecsenes 8

N.L.R.B. v. Amax Coal Co.,
es ckgoeesuaesvecunelausevebveseees 10

Smith v. CMTA-IAM Pension Trust,
pe | ee eee 11

lil

—

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW

No district or circuit court opinions were published in U.S.D.
C. No. 01-72222, or Appeal Nos. 02-1503 and 02-2073, but they
are reproduced verbatim, without typos, in the Appendix.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

Jurisdiction over the case was proper in district court under
28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1337, 1343, and 42 U.S.C. § 1483, and this
case arose under the Constitution’s First and Fifth Amendments,
Labor Management Relations Act ("L.M.R.A.") §§ 158(a)(3) (29
U.S.C. § 158), 301 and 302 (29 U.S.C. §§ 185, 186) after the
Union, certified by Federal Law as "exclusive representative" for
a “bargaining unit" including union nonmembers, and Funds took
non-member Plaintiff’s property (monies he had earned as wages
under a collective bargaining agreement). The circuit court’s
jurisdiction to review orders of the district court was proper
under 28 U.S.C. § 1291. This Court has jurisdiction to hear the
matter under 29 U.S.C. § 1254(1), and Supreme Court Rule 10.

TABLE OF STATUTES Page
United States Constitution, Amendments 1, 5.............. 2-3, 13
E.R.I.S.A. § 502(g)(1) (29 U.S.C. § 1132) ............ 5,7, 11-13
SRR Py oye. gi e Rede 5 t } +: eeereenereren 10
Labor Management Relations Act ("L.M.R.A.") § 158(a)(3)
(aka N.L.R.A. § 8(a)(3)) (29 U.S.C. § 158) .................. 2,3
Re PMS Fs 4k Ree | er errr y
EC DEA. SO Gee CAL... BBO a cvniccsnesessivnscnsecnccsss 6, 10
Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act, § 2,
CD cckdscnnscuessenvucslpubbnimabiennssaaladkesnnbiawennth 6
Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act, § 3(0),
PE ida EEE c.2h buds ohntuhenuinensaecaban euenbeaacerankeusalesuees 6
Peeeeernel Pe CR COD BFE avn viinisis vencccccccsvsestiacessacs 10, 13

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A complaint was filed June 13, 2001, and the First Amended
Complaint was filed, and served on all Defendants on October 9,
2001. The first cause of action for violating the First and Fifth
Amendments by "taking" money fro:n a "non-member" Plaintiff’s
paychecks for Local Union No. 58 ("Union") dues and its special
purpose funds ("Funds") "required-contributions” and refusing to
return it or give him an option of paying "agency fees" to Union,
was against all the defendants, as were the second, third and fifth
causes of action, respectively, for fraud and deceit, breach of
contract, and intentional infliction of emotional distress.!

A fourth cause of action was against Union and Radjewski for
breaching L.M.R.A. duties to represent him fairly ("DFR").

A prayer for declaratory relief asked: for refund of "takings"
and affirmation such "takings" are illegal; to stop those "takings"
and abuse of dues deduction authorizations on forms nonmembers
must sign to get jobs in collective bargaining agreement ("CBA")
created hiring halls; for an order that the CBA parties (union and
contractor) must appoint a neutral third-party to administer that
hiring hall and the CBA job referral procedure; and for an order
declaring the fourth cause of action ("DFR") may be presented
to the jury instead as an L.M.R.A. "breach of contract" claim.

A prayer for injunctive relief also asked to enjoin Union and
its Funds: from continuing any conduct declared illegal; from all
takings of non-members’ wages including dues until it establishes
"agency fees" procedures; and to require the Union and its Funds
to notify non-members of a right "to be reimbursed for the years
of ill-gotten ’takings.’" Plaintiff also prayed for special damages,
punitive damages and such further relief deemed just and proper.

Union and Radjewski filed their Answer on October 29, 2001,
and Plaintiff served interrogatories and requests for production of
documents on them on December 3, 2001.

Funds Defendants, including their "administrator" Mittelbrun,

' Plaintiff also alleged that "takings" included kickbacks to contractors
(in amounts equal to Funds’ takings) from overtime pay for deducting
those "takings" from non-members wages for Union Defendants. Exact
amounts taken are still unknown because that Union will not let a non-
member see the CBA, and the courts would not allow any "discovery."

filed and served a "Motion for Dismissal for Failure to State a
Claim on Which Relief Can Be Granted, or in the Alternative,
Summary Judgment" October 29, 2001 supported by Mittelbrun’s
Affidavit and exhibits. Plaintiff responded November 26, 2001,
and included his Affidavit and exhibits, and his separate F.R.Civ.
P. 56(f) Affidavit. Union Funds’ December 4, 2001 Reply was
supported only by another self-serving Affidavit by Mittelbrun.

Union and Radjewski then filed a "Motion for Dismissal for
Failure to State a Claim on Which Relief Can Be Granted, or in
the Alternative Summary Judgment as to Counts I-V of Plaintiff’s
Complaint" November 19, 2001, supported by Radjewski’s "decl-
aration." The Plaintiff's December 14, 2001 Response included
another F.R.Civ.P. 56(f) Affidavit showing outstanding discovery
requests, and Union Defendants filed a late, unsupported Reply.

Union Defendants discovery responses were also late, they
moved for a "protective order" against all discovery (despite
filing their Answer, and their Motion for Summary Judgment).

The court held a telephone status conference, filed a January
7, 2002 Order permitting Union to avoid all discovery and Funds
then wrote that biased, partial judge for dismissal "to expedite...a
decision, that might help to minimize the continuing costs to
defendants ....". Please see the Appendix "Apx" at 16-22.

A March 18 Order granted dismissal, and summary judgment
(Apx 23-37) via a "Background" and "Analysis" misrepresenting:
Plaintiff’s "position is directly contrary to the purpose of [LMRA
§ 158(a)(3)] as explained by the Beck Court" (Apx 34); Constitut-
ional claims "are factually and legally without merit" (Apx 35);
and Union Defendants are "private parties" (34-36), to conclude,
"the limitation that [LMRA] § [15]8(a)(3) places on the use of
nonmember dues is simply not implicated here" (Apx 31- 33).?

The court’s attacks were for "insist[ing] ... Local 58 had ’no

? That Order is reproduced without typos, all the Plaintiff's affidavits
showed Defendants’ “political” and "organizing" (like Beck) spendings,
and that Order also lied that: he tried to "avoid the negotiated overtime
arrangements"; his claim "dues" were used for “political or other non-
core activities" is "unsubstantiated"; Funds’ "takings" from wages are
employers’ "contributions"; and "union dues" claims are unsustainable.
Bias also taints later "striking" of his "late" attorneys’ fees opposition.

right’ to deduct dues from his wages or other nonmembers of the
Local 58" (sic) (Apx 34), and his suing "out of retaliation" (36).

That lower court also argued allegations in his First Amended
Complaint, "that an unknown amount of benefits were taken from
him [are] directly contrary to the explanation that Radjewski gave
to him," and that his 1998 "benefits would have been sent to [a]
home fund if he had timely submitted the reciprocity form. ”

Plaintiff moved to vacate the Judgment (providing an affidavit
and evidence of National Electrical Benefit Fund’s multi-millions -
- in political-spendings), but it was summarily rejected.

On appeal Judgment was affirmed in a Not Recommended For
Full-Text Publication Order filed September 13, 2002 (mis-stating
the case was also filed "pursuant to" ERISA), summed up claims,
and rejected judicial bias and partiality arguments to conclude,

"Moore’s complaint lacked merit. Moore’s first
claim, in which he asserts that the defendants
violated his constitutional rights, is not actionable.
Generally, ‘the conduct of private parties lies
beyond the Constitution’s scope ....’"

Apx 57.

That court admitted Plaintiff is "not a member of Local 58,"
but misrepresented: the public hiring hall administering the CBA-
created job Referral Procedure was "Local 58’s hiring hall"; that
his "main complaint is that Local 58 supposedly tricked him into
signing the dues deduction authorization"; that his other "primary
allegations" are the Union denied him "a voice as a non-member"
(lumping in the true primary allegation that the CBA didn’t allow
any "takings" from non-members), and dues are used for political
contributions (ignoring "organizing" and other "allegations"); that
the "fourth" DFR claim preempted all "state law claims"; and
that all of Plaintiff’s claims were "time-barred." (Apx 56-58).

* In 1998 General Motors locked everyone out prior to a strike and the
Piaintiff was offered an alternate job by his employer, but Radjewski
would only allow contractors to transfer Union’s "members," promising
"non-members" preference in re-hiring after that lock-out, but reneged,
forcing Plaintiff to leave before he completed a "reciprocity" form.

Funds’ April 1, 2002 attorneys’ fees motion in district court
was devoid of "formal" or "substantive" merit and didn’t deserve
a response, but the court sua sponte wrote Funds’ counsel advice
on amending the motion on July 8, 2002, also "request[ing] that
Defendants Funds and Mittelbrun supplement their Motion
with the necessary information" (Apx 39). A "First Supplement
to Brief In Support of Defendants Funds and Mittelbrun’s Motion
For Attorneys Fees And Costs" and affidavit of Patricia Fabrizio
were filed three and one-half months after Funds Defendants’
original late-served motion was filed. Plaintiff timely filed both
a Response and Affidavit that did not prejudice a Funds Reply.

But district court struck Plaintiff's Response, and Affidavit
as "deemed not a part of the record of this case" on August 6,
2002 (Apx 40), and filed the "Order Granting In Part Defendants
Funds’ and Mittelbrun’s Motion For Attorneys’ Fees And Costs"
(Apx 41). The Order misrepresented that Plaintiff "failed to file
a timely response," and stated,

"For the reasons below the Court will GRANT an
award of attorneys fees to Defendants Funds and
MITTELBRUN without regard to Plaintiff's
ability to pay...."

Apx 41. Its "Background" misrepresented all of the Funds could
seek fees pursuant to Employee Retirement Income Security Act
("ERISA") § 502(g)(1) (29 USC § 1132(g)(1)) (Apx 42).

That court’s "Analysis, Bad faith" begged a question whether
Plaintiff's claims were "based in law" and projected its "personal
political agenda," and "belief" onto him, citing "per Defendants, "
made ad hominem attacks on him, citing its own Westlaw search,
to conclude he had brought "a frivolous claim" and was "culpable
where lawsuit filed despite strong adverse precedent” (Apx 44).

Its “Ability to Pay section misrepresented and maliciously
applied other courts’ opinions to beg questions that "plaintiff's
ERISA claims were frivolous," and despite Plaintiff’s affidavits
showing he cannot register for work at Defendants’ hiring hall in
that "murder capital" because of physical danger - for suing them
in federal court over their theft of his wages - held he "therefore
is well situated to pay the requested fees and costs" (Apx 45).

Its Deterrent effect, admitted to be "generally oaly considered
relevant when ... award[ing] fees to a prevailing ERISA plaintiff"
was used to again beg its "frivolous" and "unfounded" questions,
and an unsupported conclusion to add its own "retribution" factor
to the five King/Eaves factors.

A Common benefit section overrode other courts’ caution
("no apparent common consensus") to rule "if a fee award is
denied, the participants and beneficiaries will ultimately bear the
burden of the cost of this litigations."*

The Relative Merits section continued begging that "frivolous"
question, and the ad hominem attacks on Plaintiff. The court’s
"B. ANALYSIS" invalidly concluded,

"Balancing [sic] the above five factors favors an
award of fees to Defendants. Bad faith and ability
to pay ... weigh in favor of Defendants for the
reasons that Plaintiff's claims were based on
assertions of fact that were not supported. by the
record. It appears that Plaintiff acted without
regard for the merits of his claim."

(Apx 49). Fictional Bad faith "frivolous" nonsense was repeated
to state, "the facts of the case support an award," and the court
threw in nine pages of inapposite boilerplate and increased "fees"
by the amount of "costs" it pretextually denied the Defendants.
The appeal court misrepresented that: Plaintiff was an ERISA
participant; his response to a fees motion was late; his claims are
"frivolous," and will be deterred by a "common benefit" award.

* One reason PLAINTIFF doesn’t want his wages stolen by the Funds
is codified in the Declaration of Findings, Purposes, and Policy of the
Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959 ("LMRDA")
§ 2 (29 U.S.C. 401), citing to "instances of breach of trust, corruption,
disregard of the rights of individual employees, and other failures to
observe high standards of responsibility and ethical conduct ... as they
relate to the activities of labor organizations, employers, labor relations
consultants, and their officers and representatives .... which distort and
defeat the policies of the Labor Management Relations Act [§ 302, the
Paycheck Protection Law] ...." See LMRDA § 3(0) for "member."

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Certiorari should be granted to review the circuit’s affirmation
of a baseless district court attorney fees award, and because of its
new abuses of different law and facts to review its affirmation of
takings from union non-members’ wages in Petition No. 02-920.

The district court used a same format to distort the law and to
misrepresent facts that it used in the case-in-chief, and the result
is chaos, supported by its invalid reasoning patterns of question-
begging, ad hominem attacks, and non-sequiturs.

The "format" previously used to misrepresent the Plaintiff was
a "member" of the Defendant Union subject to "taking" of wages
for "union dues" (including its objectionable "political" and other
spendings) because it is not a "state actor" - in the face of this
Court’s contrary decisions® - is again used to misrepresent,

"Plaintiff's bad faith is evidenced by the fact that
.... [his] motive in filing this lawsuit seems to
have been for the purpose of furthering his
personal political agenda with unions generally
and Local 58 specuically."

Apx 44. The apolitical Plaintiff was never a Michigan resident.
It is impossible to ignore:

1) that Union Funds made no timely valid fees motion but district
and appeal courts distorted the facts to validate a three-months-
late "amendment," which they called a "Supplement";

2) that the ERISA fees award is to punish Plaintiff for a personal
political agenda that exists only in the district court’s mind;
3) that Plaintiff was never an "ERISA participant" or beneficiary;
4) and that the court misunderstood or distorted the "five factors"
necessary to consider such ERISA § 502(g)(1) fees awards.

FIRST, contrary to district court’s striking Plaintiff’s timely-
filed "Response" to Funds Defendants’ months-late, amended fees

> Of., Communications Workers of America v. Beck, 487 U.S. 736
(1988), citing Machinist v. Street, 367 U.S. 740 (1961).

motion, his Response necessarily examined the same case-law but
reached different conclusions than district court’s flawed Order
awarding fees. Cf., Armistead v. Vernitron Corp., 944 F.2d 1287
(6th Cir. 1991), which district court plagiarized and distorted for
its own political agenda (Apx 41-54).

The district court is clearly a product of "political patronage,"
rather than the Horatio Alger myths (of self-discipline and merit),
as shown by its "Conclusion" (sic) in the case-in-chief:

For the foregoing reasons, THE COURT
GRANTS the Funds and Mittelbrun filed a Motion
for Dismissal for Failure to State a Claim on
Which Relief Can Be Granted, or in the
Alternative, Summary Judgment [document 9] and
the Local 58 and Radjewski filed a Motion for
Dismissal for Failure to State a Claim on Which
Relief Can Be Granted, or in the Alternative
Summary Judgment as to Counts I-V of Plaintiff’s
Complaint [document 12].

Apx 37. The court’s bias and partiality is obvious in self-serving
nonsense about the Plaintiff’s "political agenda with ... [Detroit]
Local 58 specifically," where it acknowledged on the same page,
in its n.2, that he filed two "similar lawsuits against union locals
in California and Ohio" that stole his wages (Apx 43).°

SECOND, the district court struck Plaintiff’s July 29, 2002
"Response" to Defendants’ motion for fees, citing Local Rule 7.1
(d)(2)(B), which, as that court admitted in its order,

requires that a response to a nondispositive motion
be filed within 14 days after service of the motion.
(Emphasis added. )

* A reactionary Democrat appointee presiding over that California case
was recently picketed at the courthouse by jurors he abused for his own
agenda. Plaintiff exhausts all alternatives before resorting to courts that
now almost all resemble the ignoble judge Taney of Dred Scott infamy.
The Ninth Circuit observed that Plaintiff sues only over ethical issues
in Moore v. Fischbach & Moore, Inc., 53 F.3rd 1053 (9th Cir. 1995).

Apx 40. The appeals judge wrote he denied Plaintiff's appeal,

"Because Moore failed to timely respond to the
defendants’ motion ... he has waived any
objection ... to the district court’s award ...."

Apx 60.

However, that ruling depends on semantical sophistry because
the district court did not act on an April 1, 2002 fees motion
until it sent Defendants a July 8, 2002 helpful-hints letter stating,

"A fee applicant is required to include with such
a request background information for each billing
attorney and independent evidence of the market
rate .... Without this information the Court is
unable to assess the reasonableness of the rates
charged by Defendants’ counsel .... Therefore,
the Court requests that Defendants ... supplement
their Motion with the necessary information ...."

Apx 39.”

That ostensible "necessary information" was filed as a "First
Supplement” to that defective "Motion" on July 15, 2002 and the
Plaintiff filed a Response and supporting Affidavit July 29, 2002.
Aside from the two judges and Defendants’ semantical tricks, and
even aside from the fact that the controlling Rule the judge cited
stated the motion is nondispositive, it is not reasonable to strike
a timely Response to a defective supplemented motion, but hold
Plaintiff to an Orwellian "doublespeak" standard it could not
meet. That court admitted it was unable to assess the "necessary
information" that was "missing" from the April 1, 2002 motion.

THIRD, there is no basis for a fees award against Plaintiff
under ERISA because Plaintiff was not a "participant" and wasn’t
a "beneficiary" of the three Defendant Funds within the meaning
of ERISA, those Funds’ wrongful "takings" from his wages are

” Defendants’ then euphemistically named the three-months-late motion
a "Supplement" as the court’s improper ex parte letter had (Apx 39).

"upstream" from ERISA and illegal "takings" cannot legitimately
relate to the ERISA Funds. A state law, and therefore a cause
of action, is not preempted by ERISA unless it "relates to," and
"purports to regulate" that Fund within the meaning of ERISA §
1144(c). See Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Neusser, 810 F.2d
at 552-53, n.1 (6th Cir. 1987).

The wrongs done here by abuses of judicial power also cannot
be made right by appealing tc "ERISA," which, not incidentally,
covered only three Pension, Annuity and Health Welfare Funds
as per LMRA § 302(c)(5)(A), but not other Funds Defendants.
See N.L.R.B. v. Amax Coal Co., 453 U.S. 321 (1981).

Further, the Funds exist only on monies negotiated with CBA
employers as "hourly wages," rather than as negotiated benefits,
and portions of wages are then "deferred" to the Funds only after
Union "members" collectively vote to do so in Union "closed-to-
non-members" meetings. But such intra-union voting may not be
used to "take" monies from the wages of "non-members" also in
a CBA "bargaining unit" Defendant Union is certified by Federal
law to exclusively "represent" fairly and nondiscriminatorily.®

Because those three ERISA Funds Defendants "take" deferred
(sic) "required contributions" (sic) from wages, they are required
by the Internal Revenue Service to meet qualifications to exist as
Voluntary Employees’ Beneficiary Funds under Internal Revenue
Code § 501 before receiving "voluntary," direct, tax-free deposits
from their earned wages to the workers’ individual accounts.

Plaintiff never "voluntarily" gave any of the Funds Defendants
any monies, and he never received any "benefit" from any Funds
for monies "taken" from his wages by Union Funds’ Defendants.

Even in actions other than one where ERISA fiduciaries sued
successfully to enforce employers’ obligations to make payments
to a multiemployer plan there is no presumption as to whether

® Funds take "required contributions" from non-members by the threats
of loss of their jobs and/or physical violence, and buy protection from
corrupt politicians, and judges with contributions to Political Action
Committees, and political candidates who have their "political" allies
appointed to government jobs, as here, where the district court dishon-
estly ruled the Union is not a “state actor" to protect its "takings" (and
cited two civil rights cases to legitimize abuses of the Constitution).

10

such attorney’s fees will be awarded. Folstice v. Guardian
Products, Inc., 98 F.3d 933 (6th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 520
U.S. 1143, 117 S.Ct. 1312, 137 L.Ed.2d 475 (1997). ERISA §
502(g)(1) (29 U.S.C. § 1132(g)(1)).

Neither the American nor the English Rule governs attorney’s
fees questions in ERISA cases, other than where such a fiduciary
sues successfully to enforce an employer’s obligation to pay into
a multiemployer plan (and there such awards are mandatory
under ERISA § 502(g)(2) (29 U.S.C. § 1132(g)(2)).

In non-mandatory cases like the instant case, the Sixth Circuit
recognizes no presumption on whether fees will be awarded, and
in Folstice, where, like here, the plaintiff's case was dismissed,
the Sixth Circuit decided the defendant’s position to be "no more
devoid of merit than any other losing litigant." Jd. , at 938-39,
citing Armistead v. Vernitron Corp., 944 F.2d 1287 (6th Cir.
1991), ERISA § 502(g)(1), and the five King/Eaves factors.

In Christenberg Garment Co. v. E.E.O.C., 434 U.S. 412
(1978) the Supreme Court, when denying fees to a prevailing
defendant, underscored that under very few circumstances is a
defendant to be awarded attorney fees, while it acknowledged
that the court has discretion to assess fees when a plaintiff’s
action is frivolous, unreasonable, and without foundation:

"Congress has provided only limited exceptions
to this rule “under selected statutes granting or
protecting various federal rights.’"

Id., at 415, citing Alyeska Pipeline Co. v. Wilderness Society,
421 U.S. 240, 260, 95 S.Ct. 1612, 1623, 44 L.Ed.2d 141
(1976). |

The Sixth Circuit rejected a decision that fees ought to be
awarded as a rule even to prevailing plaintiffs under ERISA §
1132(g)(1), in Smith v. CMTA-IAM Pension Trust, 746 F.2d 587,
589 (9th Cir. 1984), and instead acknowledged the "American
Rule" limits the power of federal courts to shift fees in the
absence of a federal statute authorizing it. Armistead v.
Vernitron Corp., 944 F.2d 1287, 1301 (6th Cir. 1991) ("[T]he
courts have no ’roving authority ... to allow counsel fees as costs
or otherwise whenever the courts might deem them warranted’"),

11

| |

citing Alyeska Pipeline Co. v. Wilderness Society, at 259.
That Sixth Circuit court went on to decide,

"We conclude therefore that the district court
strayed from the mark when it asserted that the
purpose of fee-shifting under ERISA was primari-
ly punitive. The punishment of bad faith litigants
is a legitimate purpose under ERISA, but not the
only purpose. See New York Cent. Teamsters
Pension Fund, 506 F.Supp. 180, 182 (W.D.N.Y.
1980) (purpose of fee shifting under ERISA is to
“enable pension claimants to obtain competent
counsel and to distribute the economic burden of
litigation in a fair manner"). (Citations omitted.)

Armistead v. Vernitron Corp., 944 F.2d 1287, at 1304.

Broad wording in ERISA’s fee-shifting provision permits the
courts to award attorney fees, and to consider "five factors," but
the Union Funds Defendants showed no valid finding in an Order
dismissing this action that the action is "more devoid of merit
than that of any other losing litigant." It is not devoid at all.

FOURTH, the district court constantly cited "Per Defendants"
for its invalid factual findings related to the five King/Eaves
factors to be considered as guidelines for discretionary awards of
fees under ERISA § 502(g)(1), and Defendants’ "assert[ions]" for
question-beggings related to case-law misrepresentations, and the
relevance of its "findings" (see pp. 5-6, supra, and Apx 43-49).

However, the court’s consideration of the five factors found,

“bad faith and ability to pay, the first and fifth
factors, weigh in favor of Defendants for the reas-
on that Plaintiff’s claims were based on assertions
of facts that were not supported by the record."?

No specifics are given and it is ironic that the court stayed all
Plaintiff’s timely-filed interrogatories, and requests for production

” The fifth factor is "the relative merits of the parties positions."

12

of documents to support the "facts," in the face of his Affidavits.
The court said it did not "have sufficient information to decide
the second factor -- whether Plaintiff has the ability to pay an
award of fees" but then "simply proceed{ed] with an award with-
out considering th[at] second factor ...." “but see Cowden, infra).
It acknowledged the third factor is ‘ly "considered relevant
when deciding whether to award fees io a prevailing ERISA
plaintiff," but stated, "an award of fees against Plaintiff could
deter other [sic] plan participants from filing frivolous claims."
The fourth factor, "whether Defendants [sic] sought to confer
a common benefit on all participants and beneficiaries of their
ERISA plans or resolve significant legal questions" was applied
by ruling "There were no significant legal questions at issue,"
and ruled, "Based on the foregoing, the facts of this case support
an award of attorney fees to Defendants [sic]" (Apx 47-48).
The district court then denied "costs" to the Funds Defendants
but inflated that attorneys’ fees award by an amount that awarded
costs it salutarily denied, and after rambling on gratuitously for
another eight pages finally concluded its "format" again.
Because the court misrepresented in the case-in-chief: that the
Union‘and its "special purpose funds" were not "state actors” (in
the face of this Court’s decision in Communication Workers of
America v. Beck, 487 U.S. 735, 106 S.Ct. 2641, 101 L.Ed.2d
634 (1988)); that Plaintiff was a "member" of Defendant Union
to deny him relief from takings of his property (the appeal court
held he isn’t a member); and now, that he is a "participant" in
Union Funds’ ERISA and/or IRS regulated Voluntary Employees’
Beneficiary [special purpose funds] (see Beck, at 487 U.S. 735,
752, n.7) to again deny him constitutional relief, the court abused
its discretion by awarding Funds punitive, inflated unreasonable
post-judgment attorneys’ fees under ERISA § 502 (g)(1), despite
its, and the Union Funds’ bad faith. See Cowden v. Montgomery
County Society for Cancer Control, 653 F.Supp. 1052 (S.D.OH.
1986) - which the court misrepresented as authority for a decision
to "simply" award fees - (fees denied even where plaintiff and his
lawyer were put on notice claims had no merit, and are frivolous
to the extreme), citing Landro v. Glendenning Motorways, Inc.,
625 F.2d 1344, 1355-56 (explicitly declining to even discuss
whether an ERISA defendant may get a fees award).

13

ee ee ee ee, a eee ee eT Re Ree is

Bes)

APPENDIX page
Employees’ Retirement Income Security Act,
EE re 16

Labor Management Relations Act, § 158(a)(3)
is cs vacavuvavnkenderseesvesseosetnucesscnvecesvs 16

Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act,
i sinh oho deindskbyeuscdesssvenuucnssntvessvevseveess 17

Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act,
EE 17

Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act,
EE eS) ) ee 17

Order Setting Date for Status Conference, etc.,
acs b chy rodsueyuilas edie avagdewseasssoerneeeess 18

Order prohibiting discovery until summary judgment
is granted and case is dismissed, filed JAN 7, 2002 ............ 19

Plaintiff’s first "demand" letter dated DEC 12, 2000
(all letters were filed in U.S.D.C. No. 01-72222) ............... 20

Plaintiff’s letter extending discovery deadline two weeks,
ea aincicetedyGstbevetedievsensssabeareetenecsses 21

Funds Defendants’ Letter asking judge to dismiss case,
srk sk vs viv ceners seinbibeveerseraudeseevisessiens 22

Order Granting Dismissal and Summary Judgment
to Defendants, filed MAR 18, 2002 ...............sccsecscssessseses 23

Judgment on Granting Dismissal and Summary Judgment,
Ean da sasen shes sencesXenesreversessdedevee’ 38

Court’s letter to Funds Defendants re defective Motion
for Attorneys Fees and Costs, dated JULY 8, 2002 ............. 39

14

Order Striking Plaintiff's Response to Defendants

Funds and Mittelbrun’s Motion for Attorneys’ Fees

I See HIG SII fein Sokcnndacnsdicwcsneasaecnsadeucnce 40
Order Granting In Part and Denying In Part
Defendants Funds and Mittelbrun’s Motion for

Attorneys’ Fees and Costs, filed AUG 13, 2002 ................. 41 ;
Judgment for Attorneys’ Fees and Costs, )
SEE a Basics chan cneceubensenasbeuduacxsheoukssnensnes 55
Order Denying Appeal of Dismissal to the Sixth Circuit,
SE Sts Ss dieccenconieacesucnstessiaissenantnnaacihersenents 56
Order Denying Appeal of Attorneys Fees Award, f,
PN: AUN odes sina eomstdnncacnarapiscvancesnonacaieuvaveden 59

biter atic

Employees’ Retirement Income Security Act

Sec. 502(g)(1). (29 U.S.C. § 1132) In any action under this sub-
chapter by a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary [as authorized
generally by § 1132], the court in its discretion may allow a
reasonable attorney’s fee and costs of action to either party.

Labor Management Relations Act

Unfair Labor Practices

Sec. 158(a)(3). (29 U.S.C. § 158) It shall be an unfair labor
practice for an employer - by discrimination in regard to hire or
tenure or any term or condition of employment to encourage or
discourage membership in any labor organization: Provided, That
nothing in this subchapter, or in any other statute of the United
States, shall preclude an employer from making an agreement
with a labor organization (not established, maintained, or assisted
by any action defined in this subsection as an unfair labor
practice) to require as a condition of employment membership
therein on or after the thirtieth day following the beginning of
such employment or the effective date of such agreement,

whichever is the later, (i) if such labor organization is the
representative of the employees as provided in section 159(a) of
this title, in the appropriate collective-bargaining unit covered by
such agreement when made, and (ii) unless following an election
held as provided in section 159(e) of this title within one year
preceding the effective date of such agreement, the Board shall
have certified that at least a majority of the employees eligible to
vote in such election have voted to rescind the authority of such
labor organization to make such an agreement: Provided Surther,

That no employer shall justify any discrimination against an
employee for nonmembership in a labor organization (A) if he
has reasonable grounds for believing that such membership was
not available to the employee on the same terms and conditions
generally applicable to other members, or (B) if he has
reasonable grounds for believing that membership was denied or
terminated for reasons other than the failure of the employee to
tender the periodic dues and the initiation fees uniformly required
as a condition of acquiring or retaining membership;

16

Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act

Declarations of Findings, Purposes, and Policy:

Sec. 2(b). (29 U.S.C. 401) The Congress further finds, from
recent investigations in the labor and management fields, that
there have been a number of instances of breach of trust,
corruption, disregard of the rights of individual employees, and
other failures to observe high standards of responsibility and
ethical conduct which require further and supplemental legislation
that will afford necessary protection of the rights and interests of
employees and the public generally as they relate to the activities
of labor organizations, employers, labor relations consultants,
and their officers and representatives.

(c) The Congress, therefore, further finds and declares that
the enactment of this Act is necessary to eliminate or prevent
improper practices on the part of labor organizations, employers,
labor relations consultants, and their officers and representatives
which distort and defeat the policies of the Labor Management
Relations Act, 1947, as amended, and the Railway Labor Act, as
amended, and have the tendency or necessary effect of burdening
or obstructing commerce ....

Definitions: Sec. 3(0). (29 U.S.C. 402)

For the purposes of titles I, II, III, IV, V (except § 505), and VI
of this Act - "Member" or "member in good standing" when used
in reference to a labor organization, includes any person who has
fulfilled the requirements for membership in such organization,
and who neither has voluntarily withdrawn from membership nor
has been expelled or suspended from membership ....

Title I - Bill of Rights of Members (29 U.S.C. 411):

Sec. 101(a)(1). Every member of a labor organization shall
have equal rights and privileges within such organization to
nominate candidates, to vote in elections ..., to attend
membership meetings and to participate in the deliberations and
voting ... subject to reasonable rules and regulations ....

17

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

Lawrence Moore ) Case No. 01-72222
)
Plaintiff, )
) Order Setting Status
) Conference And For
Int. B’hood of Elect. ) Response To Motions
Wkrs. Local 58, et al,) To Dismiss, And For
: ) Summary Judgment
Defendants.)

Vv.

IT IS ORDERED that plaintiff file a response to Defendants’
IBEW Local 58 and Jeffrey Radjewski’s Motion for Dismissal for
Failure to State a Claim on Which Relief Can Be Granted, or in
the Alternative Summary Judgment as to Counts I-V of Plaintiff’s
Complaint, filed November 19, 2001, by Friday, December 14,
2001.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that a Status Conference will be
held by telephone on Friday, January 4, 2002 at 11:00 a.m. The
Court will initiate the conference call.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Filed: NOV 29, 2001 Victoria A. Roberts

U.S. District Judge

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

Lawrence Moore ) Case No. 01-72222

)
Plaintiff, )

Vv. Order

)
)
Int. B’‘hood of Elect. )
Wkrs. Local 58, et al,)

)

Defendants.)

Defendants The International Brotherhood of Electrical
Workers, Local 58 ("Local 58") and Jeffrey Radjewski filed a
Motion For Protective Order (Doc #24). Based on a telephone
conference held on January 4, 2002 and attended by Lawrence
Moore representing himself, Patricia Fabrizio representing the
IBEW Local 58 Funds and Thomas Mittelbrun, and John Adams
representing Local 58 and Jeffrey Radjewski, this motion is
deemed WITHDRAWN. Mr. Moore agrees that discovery
should be held in abeyance pending the outcome of dispositive
motions which are pending.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Filed: JAN 7, 2002 Victoria A. Roberts
U.S. District Judge

mi ck
ee ee ee ee ee ee

December 12, 2000

Jeff Radjewski, Business Manager IBEW Local 58
1358 Abbott Street

Detroit, MI 48226-2460

Re: Moore v. IBEW Local 58, U.S.D.C. No. 01-72222.

Dear Sir:

I wrote to you on October 15, 2000 rescinding a "Payroll
Deduction Authorization" you had me sign when I accepted a job
with Triangle Electric Inc. on 9-15-00 (I also asked you to
inform that employer) and requested names of all Sub-pay Fund
trustees and administrators and all documents describing the legal
makeup and operation of that entity, including all of the bases for
participation, qualification and for receiving benefits. I also
referred to my October 5, 2000 letter to an administrator of all
Local 58’s "Trusts," "Funds," and "Committees" funded by
deductions from gross wages I earned when I worked under your
collective bargaining agreement (enclosing a copy of that letter
to your administrator). You did not reply.

Triangle Electric continued to deduct 3% of my gross wages.
Please refund all "Union Working Dues" deducted from
paychecks by Triangle Electric, and by Hall Engineering. I am
not a member of Local 58.

Please consider this to be a request for your direct re-payment
to me of any and all monies deducted from my wages to fund any
of the joint trusts and/or committees identified in collective
bargaining agreement(s), Byiaws, and constitutions, which Local
58 is a party to (including that Sub-pay fund), and I also want all
my monies which you have sent to Washington, D.C. based
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers refunded,
including specifically, deductions for a Labor-Management Coop
Committee(s) (including all the monies deducted from my wages
when I worked for Hall Engineering in 1998).

Thank you for your cooperation. ~

Sincerely,
Lawrence Moore

January 2, 2002

To: Duane F. Ice

Martens, Ice, Glass, etc.

17117 West Nine Mile Road, # 1400
Southfield, MI 48075

Ph. (248) 559-2110

Re: Moore v. IBEW Local 58, U.S.D.C. No. 01-72222.
Dear Sir:

Your letter dated December 28, 2001 requesting agreement to
extend the time period for responses to my First Set(s) Of
Interrogatories and First Request(s) For Production of Documents
to Defendants Jeff Radjewski and Local Union 58 until January
18, 2002 on grounds this case may be dismissed on January 4,
2002 has been received. All of the responses to discovery
requests are due on January 5, 2002. It seems that you decided
to dedicate Local 58’s resources to requests for "protective"
orders (complete with ad hominem attacks you first began in your
motions to dismiss) rather than answers and responses to the
discovery requests. I note for the record that your letter, and
your motion for protective order emanated from your offices on
the same date.

In the future I will not agree to any such extensions of time
based on personal attacks, however, other than the caveat of any
contrary ruling by the presiding judge on January 4, 2002 I will
tentatively agree to your current request for extension of time to
January 18, 2002. Please send a proposed stipulation in the
future.

The agreement to extend time was telephoned to Ms. Debra
Krell of your office this morning, after I was informed that you
were "with a client," and John Adams was not available.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Sincerely,
Lawrence Moore

21

February 19, 2002
Sachs Waldman

1000 Farmer Street
Detroit, MI 48226-2899
Ph. (313) 965-3464

Hon. Victoria Roberts
United States District Court
231 W. Lafayette Boulevard
Detroit, MI 48226

Re: Moore v. IBEW Local 58, U.S.D.C. No. 01-72222
Your Honor:

On behalf of these Defendants, we filed a Motion For
Dismissal For Failure to Statea Claim on Which Relief Can Be
Granted, or in the Alternative, Summary Judgment on October
29, 2001. The hearing was held January 4, 2002 on this Motion
and on the Motion of the other defendants for summary
judgment. Your Honor indicated at that hearing (held
telephonically) that a decision would be promptly rendered.

Since that time, plaintiff has filed a motion to transfer this and
two unrelated matters to the Multidistrict Litigation Panel, to
which defendants have responded at considerable cost. That
motion has now been scheduled for hearing in Tucson, Arizona
on March 21, 2002, which will involve additional considerable
costs.

I write to inquire as to the status of the Motions pending
before the Court and to respectfully request that your Honor, if
possible, expedite the rendering of a decision, which might help
to minimize the continuing costs to defendants in defending what
is undoubtably a meritless and frivolous action.

Sincerely,
Patricia J. Fabrizio

22

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

Lawrence Moore ) Case No. 01-72222
Plaintiff, )
wT. ) Order Granting Dis-
Int. B’hood of Elect. ) missal and Summary
Wkrs. Local 58, et al,) Judgment In Favor
Defendants.) of Defendants

I. Introduction

On June 13, 2001 Plaintiff filed his lawsuit against the
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 58 ("Local
58"), Jeff Radjewski, Thomas Mittelbrun, and several fringe
benefit funds ("the Funds"). The Funds and Mittelbrun filed a
Motion for Dismissal for Failure to State a Claim on Which
Relief Can Be Granted, or in the Alternative, Summary Judgment
on October 29, 2001, and the Local 58 and Radjewski filed a
Motion for Dismissal for Failure to State a Claim on Which
Relief Can Be Granted, or in the Alternative Summary Judgment
as to Counts I-V of Plaintiff’s Complaint on November 19, 2001.
For the reasons that follow, the Court will grant the Motions.
II. Background

During the relevant time period, Plaintiff was a member of
the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers ("IBEW")
Local No. 8 in Rossford, Ohio (Local 58 Br. at Ex A). Perhaps

' According to Defendants the proper legal names for the Funds are
IBEW Local 58 Annuity Fund, Electrical Workers’ Pension Trust Fund
of Local Union # 58, I.B.E.W., Detroit, Michigan; Electrical Workers
Insurance Fund; Apprentice and Journeyman Training Trust of the
Electrical Industry, Detroit, Michigan; Southeastern Michigan Electrical
Industry Labor Management Cooperation Trust Fund; Supplemental
Unemployment Benefit Plan of the Electrical Industry, Detroit,
Michigan; Electrical Workers Joint Board of Trustees Vacation Fund.

The Funds further state that there is no legal entity known as the
Electrical Workers’ Joint Board of Trustees. Rather, that term is used
to collectively describe the fringe benefit funds established by Local
58’s collective bargaining agreement, the International Brotherhood of
Electrical Workers, and the Southeastern Michigan Chapter of the
National Electrical Contractors Association.

23

because of that membership, he was able to obtain "job referrals
from an electrical contractors’ Hiring Hall created by the
collective bargaining agreement (’CBA’) between Defendant
LOCAL 58 and Detroit area electrical contractors" (Complaint at
{ 3). Like Local 8, "LOCAL 58 ... is affiliated with Intern’!
B’hood of Elect. Wkrs ...." (Complaint at 4).

Perhaps because of Local 58’s affiliation with IBEW, Plaintiff
was allowed to sign‘a Pension Reciprocity form that would allow
contributions made to the benefit funds on Plaintiff’s behalf to be
sent to his Local 8 funds. (See Local 58 Br. at Ex A). But,
when Plaintiff worked under Local 58’s jurisdiction in July 1998,
he did not complete the reciprocity form. He did not realize this
error until 2000. On July 14, 2000 Plaintiff wrote a letter to the
business manager of Local 58 explaining that he had previously
"forgotten to come back and fill out reciprocity forms," and
asking that the contributions now be sent to the Local 8 funds.
(/d.) That request was denied by the Board of Trustees of the
Electrical Workers’ Pension Trust Fund. Thomas Mittelbrun III,
the administrator of the fund, explained in a September 13, 2000
letter to Plaintiff that his "request was denied due to it being
made outside the time limit of one year allowed by the Plan."
(Local 58 Br. at B).

Two days later, on September 15, 2002 Plaintiff received a
referral from Local 58 to performance work for Triangle Electric
Company. At the bottom of the relevant referral card there is a
section that states in bold and relatively large type, "PAYROLL
DEDUCTION AUTHORIZATION." Underneath the card states:

I authorize the above Employer to deduct from my
paycheck, the Union Working Dues, as stated and
required in the amount fixed in the Bylaws of the
Local Union 58, IBEW, and remit same to said
Local Union in accordance with the terms set forth
in the Bargaining Agreement between the NECA
Chapter Southeastern Michigan and Local Union
58, IBEW.

(Local 58 Br. at Ex. C). Plaintiff signed the referral card on the
line directly below that paragraph. (/d.)

24

It appears likely that Plaintiff signed the referral card before
he received the September 13 denial letter from Middleton
because, in a letter dated September 15, 2000 he angrily
attempted to rescind the payroll deduction authorization. (Local
58 Br. at Ex. D). That September 15 letter was sent to Jeff
Radjewski, the Local 58’s business manager. Plaintiff began the
letter by accusing Radjewski of "illegally screwing" him out of
his job in July 1998 when he was laid off. (/d.) He continued
the letter by stating that, in response to his request to have his
1998 pension fund "deductions" sent to his home funds,
Radjewski "blew [him] off with an abusive, intrusive letter from —
your Pension Trust administrator who attached a pretentious
suffix to this name ...." (Id.) Plaintiff stated to Radjewski:

I have no idea why you are so chicken-hit in
stealing my 80 Pension credit-hour deductions ...,
but whatever caused it is also causing my
following reactions.

I am hereby rescinding that "dues check-off
authorization" I signed when I accepted a job-offer
from Triangle Electric Co. on 9/15/00. Please
inform my employer immediately and please also
send me names of all "Sub-pay" Fund trustees and
administrators and all documents describing the
legal make-up and operation of that entity ....

(Id.)

What is important to note from the above letter is that
Plaintiff did not indicate to Radjewski that he mistakenly or
unknowingly signed the dues deduction authorization. He does
not state that he was tricked. Rather, he stated that he wanted to
rescind that authorization in response to the decision to deny his
request to have his 1998 pension benefits transferred to his home
fund.

? As will be explained infra., Radjewski maintained that there were no
pension deductions from Plaintiff's paycheck. Rather, the employer
had made pension contributions over and above Plaintiff’s pay.

25

A more friendly letter dated September 15, 2000 was sent
from Plaintiff to Frank Demers of Local 58. (Local 58 Br. at Ex.
E). He explained that his recent review of his records revealed
that he had forgotten to fill out and return a reciprocity form for
the 80 hours he worked under Local 58’s jurisdiction in 1998.
Plaintiff asked Demers for help. -(/d.)

On December 12, 2000 Plaintiff wrote another letter to
Radjewski complaining that Radjewski had never responded to
his earlier letter and that the dues were still being deducted from
his wages. Plaintiff asked Radjewski to refund all the dues that
had been deducted. (Local 58 Br. at Ex. F).

Radjewski responded on January 2, 2001, acknowledging that
he had not responded to Plaintiff’s earlier letter. He reasoned,
“If you want a civil reply write a civil letter." (Local 58 Br. at
G). Radjewski further stated that Plaintiff would need to notify
his employer if he wanted to cancel his payroll deduction
authorization. He informed Plaintiff that Local 58 could not start
or terminate a payroll deduction on its own. Moreover,
Radjewski stated, since Plaintiff was a member of the IBEW he
was not entitled to a refund of all dues and benefit fund
contributions. "On the contrary, you are required to meet all
member obligations, includes those obligations imposed by Local
58’s collective bargaining agreement with its employers under
which you worked and got paid." (Jd.) In the interest of the
entire IBEW membership, it was Radjewski’s duty to uphold the
obligations imposed by the Local 58 collective bargaining
agreement “under which you worked and got paid." (/d.)
Radjewski additionally explained, "Benefit contributions are not
deductions from your wages. They are separate obligations, in
addition to wages, that the employers must meet pursuant to the
collective bargaining agreement." (Jd.)

In response to Radjewski’s January 2 letter Plaintiff for the
first time accused the managers of the hiring hall of tricking him
into signing the payroll deduction authorization. (Local 58 Br. at
H). In his January 19, 2001 letter Plaintiff stated that his
membership with the IBEW was unrelated to the Local 58’s
request to take money from his wages and that he had no
obligation to pay the dues, and accused Local 58 of having
~ engaged in theft. (/d.) Plaintiff demanded that all deductions

26

from his 1998 and 2000 wages be returned to him. (/d.)
Radjewski wrote back to Plaintiff on March 5, 2001 and

denied that Plaintiff had been tricked. (Local 58 Br. at I). The
referral card had the authorization on it in plain sight and
Plaintiff signed it. Further, "[pJaying working dues is a
member’s obligation and, as I understand it, you are still an
IBEW member with Card No. D295652." And, the benefit
contributions that were paid by the employer were owed pursuant
to the collective bargaining agreement - the same collective
bargaining agreement that entitled Plaintiff to wages from his
employer. (Jd.) Moreover, Radjewski explained:

Our arrangement on these issues are the same as
other locals around the country. You an? all
IBEW members receive the advantages of these
arrangements. As I told you previously, I am
required to uphold the IBEW constitution and our
collective bargaining agreement. [hese monies
are not "stolen by minority votes at union
meetings" as you claim.

Even if there were to be a refund of benefit
contributions, any such refund would go back to
the employer who paid them, not you. The reason
is that benefit contributions are not deductions or
"theft," as you call it, from your gross wages.
The wages are entirely separate from the benefit
contributions paid by employers.
(Id.) |
Plaintiffs April 5, 2001 letter revealed that he was undeter-
red. He continued to seek the 80 credit-hours of pension contrib-
utions that he insisted were stolen from his paycheck. And, he
continued to insist that he owed no dues to the Local 58 because
he was not a member of that organization. The deduction of dues
was according to Plaintiff taxation without representation because
he had no voice or vote in Local 58. (Local 58 Br. at Ex. K).
This lawsuit followed. As described below the Court finds
that Plaintiff's allegations either fail to state a claim or are not
supportable by the evidence.

27

Ill. ANALYSIS

A. Standards of Review

Defendants’ Motion is partially filed pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P
12(b)(6). When reviewing a Rule 12)b)(6) Motion the trial court
"must construe the complaint liberally in the plaintiff’s favor and
accept as true all factual allegations and permissible inferences
therein." Gazette v. City of Pontiac, 41 F.3d 1061, 1064 (6th
Cir. 1994); see also Miller v. Currie, 50 F.3d 373, 377 (6th Cir.
1995). Because a Rule 12(b)(6) motion rests upon the pleadings
rather than the evidence, "[iJt is not the function of the court [in
ruling on such a motion] to weigh evidence or evaluate the
credibility of the witnesses." Miller, 50 F.3d at 377. The court
Should deny a Rule 12(b)(6) motion "unless it appears beyond
doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of
[her] claim which would entitle [her] to relief." Gazette, 41 F.3d
at 1064; see also Miller, 50 F.3d at 377; Vemco, Inc. v.
Camardela, 23 F.3d 129, 132 (6th Cir. 1994). While this
Standard is decidedly liberal, it requires more than the bare
assertion of legal conclusions. Jn re DeLorean Motor Co., 991
F.2d 1236, 1249 (6th Cir. 1993). Rather, the complaint must
contain either direct or inferential allegations respecting all the
material elements to sustain a recovery under some viable legal
theory. DeLorean, 991 F.2d at 1240.

Defendants also rely upon Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). Under Rule
56(c) summary judgment may be granted "if the pleadings,
depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file,
together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine
issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled
to judgment as a matter of law." Copeland v. Machulis, 57 F.3d
476, 478 (6th Cir. 1995). A fact is "material" and precludes a
grant of summary judgment if "proof of that fact would have
[the] effect of establishing or refuting one of the essential
elements of the cause of action or defense asserted by the parties,
and would necessarily affect application of appropriate
principle[s] of law to the rights and obligations of the parties."
Kendall v. Hoover Co., 751 F.2d 171, 174 (6th Cir. 1984). The
court must view the evidence in the light most favorable to the
nonmoving party and it must also draw all reasonable inferences
in the nonmoving party’s favor. Cox v. Kentucky Dept. of

28

Transp., 53 F.3d 146, 150 (6th Cir. 1995).

The moving party bears the initial burden of showing that
there is no genuine issue of material fact. Snyder v. AG Trucking
Co., 57 F.3d 484, 488 (6th Cir. 1995). To meet this burden the
movant may rely on any of the evidentiary sources listed in Rule
56(c). Cox, 53 F.3d at 149. Alternatively, the movant may
meet this burden by pointing out to the court that the nonmoving
party, having had sufficient opportunity for discovery, has no
evidence to support an essential element of his or her case, and
on which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial. Tolton
v. American Biodyne, Inc., 48 F.3d 937 (6th Cir. 1995); Street
v. J.C. Bradford & Co., 886 F.2d 1472 (6th Cir. 1989). Thus,
a motion for summary judgment is a means by which to
challenge the opposing party to "put up or shut up." Cox, 53
F.3d at 149; Street, 886 F.2d at 1478. The moving party does
not, however, have to support its motion for summary judgment
with evidence negating its opponents claims. Celotex Corp. v.
Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1985).

Once the moving party has met its burden, the burden shifts
to the nonmoving party to produce evidence of a genuine issue of
material fact. Rule 56(e); Cox, 53 F.3d at 150. The nonmoving
party cannot rest on its pleadings, but must present significant
evidence in support of its complaint. Copeland, 57 F.3d at 479.
The mere existence of a scintilla of evidence to support the
nonmoving party position will be insufficient; there must be
evidence on which a jury could reasonably find for the non-
moving party. Snyder, 57 F.3d at 488; Tolton, 48 F.3d at 941.

B. Count I

Plaintiff's first count alleges, against all Defendants, a
violation of his First Amendment Rights of Free Speech and
Association and a Fifth Amendment taking without due process.
This Count includes a litany of allegations, including that the
Local 58 refuses to allow non-members any voice or vote on the
collective bargaining agreement; has no right to deduct dues from
non-members under the CBA; and requires electricians who
accept jobs at the hiring hall to sign a job acceptance form which
includes a payroll deduction authorization in fine print. Plaintiff

contends that he was not told that the payroll deduction
authorization was on the job acceptance form, but that Local 58
nonetheless took three percent of his wages; that Plaintiff was
given no vote on participating in the Funds, but that Defendants
took monies from Plaintiff for nonexistent, unavailable benefits;
that Defendants also took monies from Plaintiff by agreeing that
he receive reduced rates of pay for overtime work; and that the
Local 58 refused to honor Plaintiff’s rescission of his dues
deduction authorization. Further, Plaintiff alleged:

37. At least some of the monies deducted from
the PLAINTIFF’s wages by Defendants TRUST
and FUNDS are expended for political or for
lobbying activities not directly related to work
conditions, or community services, union
organizing, foreign affairs, publicity or public
affairs, given to Political Action Committees, or
to support political candidates, parties, causes, and
TRUST Deicndant NATIONAL ELECTRICAL
BENEFIT FUND illegally funnelled millions of
dollars to political parties and politicians, causing
one Trustee to resign.

38. Defendant UNION similarly expended funds
for political or for lobbying activities not directly
related to work conditions and gave to community
services, union organizing or foreign affairs and
publicity or public affairs, and to Political Action
Committees and to support political candidates,
parties, and causes.

(First Amended Complaint at 4-6).

Apparently Plaintiff included the allegations set forth in
paragraphs 37 and 38 in order to have his Complaint fall within
Communications Workers of America v. Beck, 487 U.S. 735
(1988). Plaintiff cited that case in correspondence to Radjewski
and deems that the most relevant authority for this Court to
review. Having reviewed Beck, the Court finds that Beck does
not support Plaintiff's claim. To the contrary, it highlights

30

congressional efforts to discourage what Plaintiff is attempting to

accomplish here, which is to reap the benefits that Local 58 has

negotiated with employers but to escape contributing financially.
In Beck the Court framed the issue before it as follows:

Section 8(a)(3) of the National Labor Relations
Act of 1935 (NLRA), 49 Stat. 452, as amended,
29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(3), permits an employer and
an exclusive bargaining representative to enter into
an agreement requiring all employees in the
bargaining unit to pay periodic union dues and
initiation fees as a condition of continued
employment, whether or not the employees
otherwise wish to become union members. Today
we must decide whether this provision also
permits a union, over the objections of dues-
paying nonmember employees, to expend funds so
collected on activities unrelated to collective
bargaining, contract administration, or grievance
adjustment, and, if so, whether such expenditures
violate the union’s duty of fair representation or
the objecting employees’ First Amendment rights.

Id. at 738.

The plaintiffs in Beck were employees of AT&T who chose
not to become union members. They challenged the union’s
collection of "agency fees" from them to the extent that the fees
were used for purposes other than collective bargaining, contract
administration, or grievance adjustment, which the Beck Court
denoted "’collective- bargaining’ or ‘’‘representational"
activities."" Jd. at 739-740. The plaintiffs specifically
challenged their fees being used for the “organizing the
employees of other employers, lobbying for labor legislation, and
participating in social, charitable, and political events ...." Jd. at
740. They claimed that the use of their fees for such purposes
violated their rights under § 8(a)(3 of the NLRA and the First
Amendment. /d.

To determine whether the use of the plaintiffs’ fees for the
challenged activities violated § 8(a)(3) the Court reviewed the

31

structure and purpose of § 8(a)(3). Its examination revealed that
the drafters of that section had two aims in mind. One aim was
to eliminate the barrier created by closed union shop agreements,
i.e., agreements that required an employer to hire only persons
who were already union members. Jd. at 748. An equally
significant goal was to prevent nonunion members from getting
a free ride. Jd.

As Senator Taft, one of the authors of the 1947
legislation, explained, ’the argument ... against
abolishing the closed shop ... is that if there is not
a Closed shop those not in the union will get a free
ride, that the union does the work, gets the wages
raised, then the man who does not pay dues rides
along freely without any expenses to himself.’ 93
Cong.Rec. 4887 (1947), Leg.Hist. 1422. Thus
the Taft-Hartley Act was ’intended to accomplish
twin purposes. On the one hand, the most serious
abuses of compulsory unionism were eliminated
by abolishing the closed shop. On the other hand,
congress recognized that in the absence of a
union-security provision "many employees sharing
the benefits of what unions are able to accomplish
by collective bargaining will refuse to pay their
share of the cost. NLRB v. General Motors
Corp., 373 U.S., at 740-741, 83 S.Ct., at 1458
(quoting S.Rep., at 6, Leg.Hist.412).

Id. at 748-749.

Thus, in enacting § (8)(a)(3), "’Congress recognized the
validity of unions’ concerns about "free riders," i.e., employees
who receive the benefits of union representation but are unwilling
to contribute their fair share of financial support to such union,
and gave unions the power to contract to meet thet problem while
withholding from unions the power to cause the discharge of
employees for any other reason.’" Jd. at 749, (quoting Radio
Officers v. NLRB, 347 U.S. 17, 41 (1954))(emphasis added in
Beck).

The Beck Court concluded:

Taken as a whole, § 8(a)(3) permits an employer
and a union to enter into an agreement requiring
all employees to become union members as a
condition of continued employment, but the
’membership’ that may be so required has been
*whittled down to its financial core.’ NLRB v.
General Motors Corp., 373 U.S. 734, 742, 82
S.Ct. 1453, 1459, 10 L.Ed.2d 670 (1963). The
statutory question presented in this case, then, is
whether this ‘financia! core’ includes the
obligation to support union activities beyond those
germane to collective bargaining, contract
administration, and grievance adjustment. We
think it does not.

id. at 745.

In this case Plaintiff stands in much different shoes than the
plaintiffs in Beck. Unlike the Beck plaintiffs, Plaintiff is an
IBEW member. Plaintiff highlights the fact that he is not
specifically a member of Local 58, but he also admits that Local
58 "is affiliated with Intern’! B’hood of Elect. Wkrs." (Amended
Complaint at { 4). Indeed, Plaintiff emphasizes that he has a
contractual relationship with Local 58, and sites the IBEW
Constitution at Article XX in support,

Sec. 3. The acceptance of an application for
membership, and the admission of the applicant
into any L.U. of the I.B.E.W., constitutes a
contract between the member, the L.U. and the
I.B.E.W., and between such member and all other
members of the I.B.E.W.

Thus, unlike the Beck plaintiffs, Plaintiff is not being forced to
pay dues by virtue of § 8(a)(3). Plaintiff elected to become a
member of the IBEW. Accordingly, the limitation that § 8(a)(3)
places on use of nonmember dues is simply not implicated here.
Of equal significance, the Beck plaintiffs did not attempt to
reap the benefits of the CBA but, at the same time, avoid making
any financial contributions to the union. They objected only to

33
Se es ee, |

the use of their dues for expenditures outside of the union’s
collective bargaining and representational activities. In contrast
Plaintiff here acknowledges that he "worked as an electrician via
job referrals from an electrical contractors’ Hiring Hall created
by the collective bargaining agreement ("CBA") between
Defendant Local 58 and Detroit area electrical contractors," and
that he was "a ‘third party beneficiary’ to a CBA between
UNION and employers which contains a job Referral Procedure
and an ‘out-of-work list." (Amended Complaint at 44 3 & 15).
Despite reaping those benefits Plaintiff insists that the Local 58
had "no right" to deduct dues from his wages or other non-
members of the Local 58. (Amenued Complaint at § 19).

Plaintiff's position is directly contrary to the purpose of §
8(a)(3) as explained by the Beck Court. One of the twin aims of
§ 8(a)(3) was to prevent those who choose not to join a union
from getting a free ride. Employees who enjoy the benefits of
the collective bargaining agreement and other core activities of
the union must pay their fair share. Since § 8(a)(3) requires even
nonunion members to contribute to the costs of the CBA
Plaintiff's protestation that he does not have to pay dues because
he does not have a voice or vote in the CBA is unavailing. And
his desire to gain employment and earn wages as a beneficiary of
the CBA, but to avoid the negotiated Overtime arrangements
cannot withstand scrutiny.

Plaintiff argues that his dues are used for political and other
non-core union activities. That claim is unsubstantiated.
Piaintiff’s only evidence is a November 1992 /.B.E. W. Local 58
Newsletter, in which Local 58 opined that then presidential
candidate Bill Clinton’s track record was on track with that of the
union’s, and a October/November 2001 JBEW Journal in which
it was reported that Local 58 contributed $21,500 of the
$341,500 that the IBEW contributed toward an election in
Oklahoma. (Plaintiff’s December 14, 200] Affidavit at Ex A &
B). These letters do not evidence that the dues paid went to
anything other than collective bargaining activities. The
November 1992 newsletter did not report any financial
contributions to political activity, and neither newsletter
corresponded to the timing of Plaintiff’s dues deductions.

Furthermore, Plaintiff’s claims of constitutional violations are

34

both factually and legally without merit. Although the Beck
plaintiffs claim rested in part upon the First Instead, the Court
found that it "need not decide whether the exercise of rights
permitted, though not compelled, by § 8(a)(3) involves state
action." Jd. at 761. This is important because "the conduct of
private parties lies beyond the Constitution’s scope in most
instances ....". Edmonson v. Leesville Concrete Co., Inc., 500
U.S. 614, 620 (1991). So Beck is really no support of Plaintiff's
constitutional claim.

Plaintiff also cites Abood v. Detroit Bd. of Ed., 431 U.S. 209
(1977). In that case the Court held that the employees’ First _
Amendment rights were violated when they were required to
contribute toward political causes that those employees opposed.
"(T]he Constitution requires [] that [political] expenditures be
financed from charges, dues, or assessments paid by employees
who do not object to advancing those ideas and who are not
coerced into doing so against their will by the threat of loss of
governmental employment." Jd. at 235-236. But Abood has
important distinctions from this case. First, the Abood case
involved governmental employees, as the above quote indicates.
Secondly, in Abood, the Court found the case to implicate the
constitution because Michigan law sanctioned the use of nonunion
members fees for purposes other than collective bargaining. Id.
at 232. Hence, Abood involved both state actors and state action.
Neither is present here.

Moreover, even though the Abood case involved state actions
and state actors the court did not hold that the union was
forbidden from participating in political activity. To the contrary
the Court stated, "We do not hold that a union cannot constitut-
ionally spend funds for the expression of political views, on
behalf of political candidates, or toward the advancement of other
ideological causes not germane to its duties as collective-bargain-
_ ing representative." Abood at 235. Rather, the Court held that
those activities could not be funded with the dues of objecting
employees. Thus, even if this case involved state action, Plaint-
iff’s evidence that the Local 58 has been involved politically
would have been insufficient to sustain his First Amendment
claim. Plaintiff has not shown that his dues were used to fund
political activities, much less any activities that he opposed.

35

SAREE Pa eT

i

4
=.
&
7 <
Es
4
i
&
>

The Court additionally notes factual allegations of Plaintiff’s
Count 1 that are unsustainable. Contrary to Plaintiff’s claim
otherwise, the dues deduction authorization was not submitted to
Plaintiff in fine print. The phrase "PAYROLL DEDUCTION
AUTHORIZATION" is the most prominent writing on the
referral card that Plaintiff signed. (Local 58 Br. at Ex. C). Of
further significance is the fact that Plaintiff did not initially claim
that he was seeking a refund of his dues or to rescind his
authorization because he was tricked into signing it. Rather, he
specifically indicated that he wanted to rescind his authorization
because his reciprocity form for his 1998 benefits was not
honored; he wanted to rescind his authorization out of retaliation.

Furthermore, Plaintiff alleges that an unknown amount of
benefits was taken from him. To the extent that Plaintiff means
that Defendants deducted benefit payments from his salary, that
allegation is directly contrary to the explanation that Radjewski
gave to him. Radjewski repeatedly explained that benefits
contributions are made from employers over and above the ~
employees’ wages. Moreover, to the extent that Plaintiff means
that Defendants refused to send his 1998 benefits to his home
fund, the record is clear that Plaintiff forgot to sign the
reciprocity form until 2000. Thus, the benefits were not
"nonexistent" or "unavailable," as Plaintiff contends. (Amended
Complaint at (22). The benefits would have been sent to Plaint-
iff’s home fund if he had timely submitted the reciprocity form.

At any rate, even if Plaintiff were able to sustain his factual
allegations, they cannot support his First Amendment or Fifth
Amendment claims because of the lack of state action.

C. Counts II through V
Plaintiff’s additional counts are: Count II, for fraud and

deceit; Count/III, for breach of contract; Count IV, for breach of
duty of fair representation; and Count V, for intentional infliction
of emotional distress. The factual allegations described in Count
I that have already been rejected form the basis of these latter
counts, and Defendants are therefore entitled to summary
judgment on Counts II through V.

Furthermore, the Court finds that the claims against the Funds
in Counts II, III and V are preempted by ERISA, see, Lion’s

36

Volunteer Blind Ind., Inc. v. Automated Group Admin., Inc. , 195
F.3d 803, 807 (6th Cir. 1999), and that Plaintiff’s allegations
against the Funds does not state a claim under ERISA. Plaintiff
has not shown that ERISA prohibits fringe benefits funds from
collecting contributions for employment arising out of a CBA
from employers with which the union has negotiated the CBA.

Moreover, Plaintiff's breach of duty of fair representation
claim against Local 58 and Radjewski is barred by the NLRA’s
six month limitation period, which began when Plaintiff knew or
should have known of Local 58’s alleged breach of its duty of
fair representation. Schoonover v. Consolidated Freightways
Corp. of Delaware, 49 F.3d 219, 221 (6th Cir. 1995). Plaintiff
alleges that, inter alia, Local 58 and Radjewski deducted union
dues without Plaintiff’s authorization and without legal authority.
(Amended Complaint at 77). Plaintiff attempted to rescind his
dues deduction authorization as early as September 15, 2000.
Thus, Plaintiff knew about the alleged wrongful due deductions
over six months before filing his June 13, 2001 Complaint.
Further, Plaintiff’s allegations of fraud and deceit, breach of
contract and intentional infliction of emotional distress arise out
of the same alleged wrongful conduct that underlies the breach of
duty of fair representation claim, and are therefore also barred by
the six month limitation period. Maynard v. Revere Copper
Products, Inc., 773 F.2d 733, 735 (6th Cir. 1985).

IV. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, THE COURT GRANTS The
Funds and Mittelbrun filed a Motion for Dismissal for Failure to
State a Claim on Which Relief Can Be Granted, or in the
Alternative, Summary Judgment [document 9] and the Local 58
and Radjewski filed a Motion for Dismissal for Failure to State
a Claim on Which Relief Can Be Granted, or in the Alternative
Summary Judgment as to Counts I-IV of Plaintiff's Complaint
{document 12].

Dated:MAR 18, 2002 Victoria A. Roberts
U.S. District Judge

37

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

Lawrence Moore Case No. 01-72222

Vv. JUDGMENT
Int. B’hood of Elect.
Wkrs. Local 58, et al,)

)

Defendants.)

)
)
Plaintiff, )
)
)

In accordance with the Order entered on MAR 18 2002, IT
IS ORDERED that Judgment is entered in favor of Defendants.

Dated at Detroit, Michigan on MAR 18. 2002.

DAVID J. WEAVER Victoria A. Roberts
CLERK OF THE COURT U.S. District Judge

38

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
For The Eastern District Of Michigan

Chambers of
VICTORIA A. ROBERTS
United States District Judge

July &, 2002

Ms. Patricia J. Fabrizio
1000 Farmer Street
Detroit, Michigan 48226

RE: Defendants Funds and Mittelbrun’s Motion for Attorney

Fees and Costs
Case No. 01-72222

Dear Ms. Fabrizio:

Defendants Funds and Mittelbrun have filed the above Motion
requesting an award of fees based upon the hourly rates charged
by the individual attorneys who billed time in this case. A fee
applicant is required to include with such a request background
information for each billing attorney and independent evidence of
the market rate in the community for "similar services by lawyers
with reasonably comparable skill, experience and reputation."
Blum v. Stevenson, 465 US 886, 895 n.11 (1984); See also
Northcross v Board of Education Memphis City Schools, 611
F2d 624, 638 (6th Cir 1980). Without this information, the court
is unable to assess the reasonableness of the rates charged by
Defendants’ counsel.

Defendants’ Motion does not include any background
information or evidence regarding the rates charged in the
\ community. Therefore, the Court requests that Defendants Funds
and Mittelbrun supplement their Motion with the necessary
information, no later than July 15, 2002.

Very truly yours,
Chanille B. Carswell, Law Clerk
39

— ae a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

Lawrence Moore Case No. 01-72222

Vv. PLAINTIFF’S RESPONSE
Int. B’hood of Elect. TO DEFENDANTS FUNDS
Wkrs. Local 58, et al,) AND MITTLEBRUN’S

) MOTION FOR ATTORNEY’S
Defendants.) FEES AND COSTS

)
)
Plaintiff, ) ORDER STRIKING
)
)

On April 1, 2002, Defendants Funds and Mittelbrun filed with
the Court a Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and Costs. Defendants’
Proof of Service avers that a copy of the Motion was also served
upon Plaintiff on April 1, 2002 by depositing the same in the
United States mail, postage prepaid, to the same address on file
with the court.

Local Rule 7.1(d)(2)(B) requires that a response to a
nondispositive motion be filed within 14 days after service of the
motion. Plaintiff, however, failed to file a response with the
Court until July 29, 2002. The court rejects Plaintiff’s tardy
filing.

THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED, that Plaintiff’s Brief in
Response to Motion for Attorney’s Fees accepted for filing on
July 29, 2002 be stamped "STRICKEN" and deemed not a part
of the record of this case.

Filed: AUG 06, 2002 Victoria A. Roberts
U.S. District Judge

40

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

Lawrence Moore ) Case No. 01-72222
Plaintiff, ) ORDER GRANTING IN
Vv ) PART AND DENYING IN

Int. B’hood of Elect. ) PART DEFENDANTS’
Wkrs. Local 58, et al,) MOTION FOR ATTORNEYS
Defendants.) FEES AND COSTS
I. INTRODUCTION

This matter is before the Court on Defendants’ Funds and
Mittelbrun’s Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and Costs. Defendants
request fees in the amount of $16,975.00 and costs in the amount
of $546.09. Plaintiff failed to file a timely response. For the
reasons stated below, the Court will GRANT an award of
attorneys’ fees to Defendants Funds and Mittelbrun without
regard to Plaintiff’s ability to pay (due to his failure to provide
this information). The Court will DENY Defendants’ request for
costs.
II. BACKGROUND

Plaintiff filed his lawsuit against the International Brotherhood
of Electrical Workers Local 58 ("Local 58"), Jeff Radjewski,
Thomas Mittelbrun, and several fringe benefit funds ("the
Funds"). ! The Funds and Mittelbrun filed a Motion for
dismissal for Failure to State a Ciaim on Which Relief Can Be
Granted, or in the Alternative Summary Judgment on October 29,

' According to Defendants, the proper legal names for the Funds are
IBEW Local 58 Annuity Fund; Electrical Workers’ Pension Trust Fund
of Local Union # 58, I.B.E.W., Detroit, Michigan; Electrical Workers’
Insurance Fund; Apprentice and Journeyman Training Trust of the
Electrical Industry, Detroit, Michigan; Southeastern Michigan Electrical
Industry Labor Management Cooperation Trust Fund; Supplemental
Unemployment Benefit Plan of the Electrical Industry, Detroit,
Michigan; Electrical Workers Joint Board of Trustees Vacation Fund.

Note, however, Defendants Jeff Radjewski and International
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 58 have not joined in this
Motion or otherwise submitted a request for fees and costs. Therefore,
the Court’s reference to the Defendants collectively, for purposes of
this Order, excludes Defendants Jeff Radjewski and International
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 58.

41

2001, and the Local 58 and Radjewski filed a Motion for
Dismissal for Failure to Stat a Claim on Which Relief Can Be
Granted, or in the Alternative Summary Judgment as to Counts
I-V of Plaintiff's Complaint on November 19, 2001. In an
Opinion and Order dated March 18, 2002 the Court granted
Defendants’ Motions. The Court also entered a judgment for
Defendants against Plaintiff. Defendants now seek fees and costs
pursuant to Employee Retirement Income Security Act,
("ERISA") Section 502(g)(1), 29 USC § 1132(g)(1).

III. ANALYSIS-WHETHER TO AWARD FEES AND COSTS

A. APPLICABLE.LAW AND ARGUMENT
29 USC § 1132(g)(1) states in relevant part:

In any action under this subchapter ... by a
participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary, the court in
its discretion may allow a reasonable attorney’s
fee and costs of action to either party.

"There is no presumption that attorneys’ fees will be awarded."
Maurer v Joy Technologies, Inc., 212 F3d 907, 919 (6th Cir
2000). The trial court has broad discretion regarding whether or
not to award attorneys’ fees and costs. Folstice v Guardsman
Products, Inc, 98 F.3d 933, 936 (6th Cir 1996), cert den, 520
US 1143 (1997); Secretary of Department of Labor v King, 775
F2d 666, 669 (6th Cir 1985); Firestone Tire & Rubber Company
v Neusser, 810 F2d 550, 557 (6th Cir 1987).

In deciding whether to award fees in an ERISA action, the
trial court must consider five (5) factors:

(1) the degree of the opposing party’s culpability
or bad faith; (2) the opposing party’s ability to
Satisfy an award of attorney’s fees; (3) the
deterrent effect of an award on other persons
under similar circumstances;(4) whether the party
requesting fees sought to confer a common benefit
on all participants and beneficiaries *937 of an
ERISA plan or resolve significant legal questions
regarding ERISA; and (5) the relative merits of
the parties’ positions.

42

_

King, 775 F2d at 669; Firestone, 810 F2d at 556; Folstice, 98
F3d at 936-937. The Sixth Circuit has repeatedly advised that
these factors are to be utilized only as guidelines for the court’s
exercise of discretion. "Not all of the factors will be relevant in
a given case, and no single factor is necessarily dispositive."
Firestone, 810 F2d at 558; See also Folstice, 98 F3d at 937.
Because no single factor is necessarily dispositive, however, the
trial court must consider each factor before exercising its
discretion. Schwartz v. Gregori, 160 F3d 1116, 1119 (6th Cir
1998), cert den, 526 US 1112 (1999); Wells v United States
Steel, 76 F3d 731, 736 (6th Cir 1996)(aft rem). Defendants
argue that each factor favors an award of fees and costs.

1. Bad faith

Defendants assert that Plaintiff’s bad faith is evidenced by the
fact that his claims had no basis in fact or law. Rather, per
Defendants, Plaintiff’s motive in filing this lawsuit seems to have
been for the purposes of furthering his personal political agenda
with unions generally and Local 58 specifically. Defendants’
argue that plaintiff’s pleadings reveal a personal belief that unions
should not be able to negotiate and enforce contracts that provide
for fringe benefits for those working under the contracts. Per
Defendants, at great expense to Defendants, Plaintiff simply used
this Court as a forum to air his political position.

Lastly, Defendants assert that Plaintiff’s bad faith is evidenced
by his litigious behavior. Per Defendants, Plaintiff was
adjudicated a "vexatious litigator" in the Superior Court of
California for San Diego County, California, Case No. 709757.
He has also initiated litigation in the Eastern District of
Michigan, the Northern District of Ohio (Case No. 3:01 -7556)
and the Northern District of California (Case No. 3:01-3733). .

? The-Court could not find the district court cases to which Defendants
refer. However, a Westlaw search using the name Lawrence Moore
resulted in a list of numerous cases involving similar lawsuits against
union locals in California by an electrician of the same name. The
Court is not certain whether one or more of these cases involve the
same Lawrence Moore who is a party to this case. However, given the
similar nature of the cases, it seems very likely. In one case, ERISA

43

Defendants assert that Plaintiff is unlikely to be deterred from
continuing this litigious pattern unless he is made to pay the costs
of bringing unfounded claims against ERISA funds.

Defendants cite several cases in which courts have found bad
faith or culpability on similar facts: Griffeth v Sheet Metal
Workers’ Local Unions and Councils Pension Plan, 34 F Supp 2d
1170, 1172-1173 (D AZ 1998)(bringing a frivolous claim
constitutes "bad faith" or "culpability"); Devine v American
Benefit Corporation, 27 F Supp 2d 669, 678 (SD W.VA 1998)
(bad faith found where court found plaintiff’s claims to be
without support and unjustified); Vintilla v United States Steel
Corporation Plan for Employee Pension Benefits, 642 F Supp
295, 297 (WD PA 1986), aff'd, 815 F2d 697 (3rd Cir 1987), cert
den, 484 US 847 (1987)(plaintiffs found to be culpable where
lawsuit filed despite strong adverse precedent, filing in improper
venue, improperly naming one Defendant as a party and
attempting "by extraordinary appellate procedures" to thwart
removal to the proper venue).

2. Ability to Pay

This factor alone is not dispositive when an examination of all
of the other factors favors an award or denial of fees. Folstice,
98 F3d at 937; Firestone, 810 F2d at 557-558. The Sixth Circuit
has not set forth a clear rule regarding how an award is to be
handled when the facts favor an award but the Plaintiff does not
have the ability to pay. The court’s ruling in Cowden v
Montgomery County Society for Cancer Control, 653 F Supp
1072 (SDOH 1986), however, is instructive.

In Cowden, the court found that the plaintiff's ERISA claim
was completely devoid of merit. 653 F Supp at 1073. The court
stated that plaintiff and his attorney were put on notice at many
intervals that plaintiff's claims were frivolous. Id at 1074-1077.

sanctions were awarded for the reason that Moore’s complaints against
the Trust Funds included “vague and conclusory allegations lacking
adequate foundations in either fact or law." Moore v. Local Union
569, 28 F3d 107, *2 (9th Cir 1994)(unpublished opinion). The Court
further found that Moore had "unreasonably and vexatiously multiplied
the proceedings ...." Id.

Yet, plaintiff continued to pursue the claims until mid-way
through trial. Id at 1078. For these reasons, the court found
that all of the relevant factors strongly favored an award of fees,
except that plaintiff had not provided the court with sufficient
information regarding his ability to satisfy an award of fees. The
court rejected the defendant’s suggestion that plaintiff’s pleadings
and conduct indicated his ability to pay. Id at 1077. Instead, the
court determined that, in order to properly exercise its discretion,
it would be necessary for the court to hold a hearing to assess
plaintiff’s ability to pay. Id. The court indicated that it would
then award fees "in an amount commensurate with [plaintiff’s] -
ability to pay." Id at 1079.

Defendant suggests that this Court follow Evans v Blue Cross
and Blue Shield of South Carolina, 834 F Supp 887, 895 (D SC
1993) where the court awarded fees against the plaintiff, because
four of the five factors favored an award against plaintiff. The
court stated it did not weigh the second factor in its analysis,
because neither party submitted any evidence regarding plaintiff’s
financial position. Id.

The court in Devine, supra, likewise treated this factor as
neutral where the Plaintiff claimed to have no ability to award
fees. 27 F Supp 2d at 678. The court did so, however, with
apparent reluctance, because of the "significant and needless
expense" imposed upon the defendants and its finding that there
was an apparent lack of merit in bringing the suit at all. Id.

In this case, Plaintiff did not respond and Defendants do not
offer any evidence regarding Plaintiff’s finances. Defendants
simply assert that Plaintiff is a highly skilled tradesman in a field
with high demand and, therefore, is well situated to pay the
requested fees and costs.

3. Deterrent effect

This factor is generally only considered relevant when
deciding whether to award fees to a prevailing ERISA plaintiff.
Folstice, 98 F3d at 937; Firestone, 810 F2d at 557; Cowden, 653
F Supp at 1078. Defendants assert, nevertheless, that other
courts have found this factor to weigh in favor of a prevailing
defendant where the plaintiff's claim was frivolous. Cowden,
653 F Supp at 1078 (award of fees should deter ERISA plaintiffs

45
ee ee ee a ee ey |

from delaying the dismissal of frivolous and unfounded lawsuits);
Griffeth, 34 F Supp 2d at 1173 (award of fees would deter other
plan participants from bringing similarly frivolous claims);
Devine, 27 F Supp 2d at 678 (award of fees will have a
significant deterrent effect on those acting under similar
circumstances).

4. Common benefit

There is no apparent common consensus among the courts
regarding this factor. Defendants assert that their attempt to
recoup attorney fees in this matter will confer a common benefit
on all participants and beneficiaries. Per Defendants, if a fee
award is denied, the participants and beneficiaries will ultimately
bear the burden of the cost of this litigation through increased
administrative fees and the fact that there will be proportionately
less money available for benefits.

5. Relative Merits

Where the claim is found to be frivolous, the merits
necessarily weigh in favor of the prevailing defendant. See
Devine, 27 F.Supp at 678; Griffeth, 34 F Supp 2d at 1173;
Vintilla, 642 F Supp at 297. The Cowden court, which found
plaintiff’s claim to be frivolous, considered this factor in tandem
with the first factor (bad faith). 653 F Supp at 1074.

In the instant case, Defendants assert that a cursory review of
the ERISA statute should have put Plaintiff on notice that he
could not sustain his claims. Further, although Plaintiff is acting
in pro per, Defendants assert that he has over 15 years of labor
and ERISA litigation experience at the state and federal district
and appellate court levels. Defendants do not provide any
documentation to support this assertion.

B. ANALYSIS

Balancing the above five factors favors an award of fees to
Defendants. Bad faith and ability to pay, the first and fifth
factors, weigh if favor of Defendants for the reason that
Plaintiff's claims were based on assertions of fact that were not
supported by the record. It appears that Plaintiff acted without
regard for the merits of his claim. See Griffeth v Sheet Metal

46

Workers’ Local Unions and Councils Pension Plan, 34 F Supp 2d
1170, 1172-1173 (D AZ 1998)(bringing a frivolous claim
constitutes "bad faith" or "culpability"); Devine v American
Benefit Corporation, 27 F Supp 2d 669, 678 (SD W.VA
1998)(bad faith found where court found plaintiff’s claims to be
without support and unjustified); Vintilla v. United States Steel
Corporation Plan for Employee Pension Benefits, 642 F Supp
295, 297 (WD PA 1986)(plaintiffs found to be culpable where
lawsuit filed despite strong adverse precedent, filing in improper
venue, improperly naming one Defendant as a party and
attempting "by extraordinary appellate procedures" to thwart
removal to the proper venue).

The Court does not have sufficient information to decide the
second factor--whether Plaintiff has the ability to pay an award
of fees and costs. However, because this factor is not
dispositive, and Plaintiff failed to respond, the Court can simply
proceed with an award without considering the second factor, as
did the courts in Evans v Blue Cross and Blue Shield of South
Carolina, 834 F Supp 887, 895 (D SC 1993) and Devine, 27 F
Supp at 678.

The third factor, deterrent effect, weighs in favor of
Defendants. This factor is generally only considered when
deciding whether to award fees to a prevailing ERISA plaintiff-
- Folstice v. Guardsman Products, Inc, 98 F3d 933, 937 (6th Cir
1996); Firestone Tire & Rubber Company v Neusser, 810 F2d
550, 557 (6th Cir 1987); Cowden v Montgomery County Society
for Cancer Control, 653 F Supp 1072, 1078 (SD OH 1986).
However, as Defendants assert, an award of fees against Plaintiff
could deter other plan participants from filing frivoicus claims.

The “fourth factor, whether Defendants sought to confer a
common benefit on all participants and beneficiaries of their
ERISA plans or resolve significant legal questions regarding
ERISA, favors Defendants as well. There were no significant
legal questions at issue. However, Defendants will likely pass
the costs of such litigations onto plan participants and
beneficiaries either directly by increasing administrative costs or
indirectly by redirecting funds otherwise available to participants
and beneficiaries to cover the costs of litigation. Defendants’
pursuit of fee awards against frivolous claimants may act as an

47

effective deterrent.
Based on the foregoing, the facts of this case support an
award of attorney fees to Defendants.

IV. ANALYSIS-AMOUNT OF AWARD
A. FEES
1. Applicable Law

The Court must apply the "lodestar" approach to determine
the amounts of reasonable attorneys’ fees. Building Service
Local 47 Cleaning Contractors Pension Plan v Grandview
Raceway, 46 F3d 1392, 1401 (6th Cir 1995); Trustees of Detroit
Carpenters Fringe Benefit Funds, __ F Supp 2d __, 1995 WL
871160 (ED MICH 1995)(mem). The lodestar is calculated by
multiplying the number of hours reasonably expended on the
litigation by a reasonable hourly rate. Id; Hensley v. Eckerhart,
461 U.S. 424, 433 (1983)(Brennan, J., Marshall, J., Blackmun
and J., Stevens, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part).
This lodestar figure is strongly presumed to represent a
reasonable fee. Grandview Raceway, 46 F3d at 1401 (citing
Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens Council for Clean Air,
478 US 546, 565 (1985).

The party seeking an award of fees should submit evidence
Suppor‘ing the hours worked and rates claimed." Hensley, 461
US at 433; Grandview, 46 F3d at 1402. Whereas a fee applicant
is not required to submit extremely detailed records, the applicant
Should "identify the general subject matter" of the work
performed. Hensley, 461 US at 437. A fee applicant is further
expected to exercise "billing judgment" with respect to claimed
hours worked:

Counsel for the prevailing party should make a
good faith effort to exclude from a fee request
hours that are excessive, redundant or otherwise
unnecessary, just as a lawyer in private practice is
ethically obligated to exclude such hours from his
fee submission .... Hours that are not properiy
billed to one’s client also are not properly billed to
one’s adversary pursuant to statutory authority.
(citations omitted)

48

ii iia Mi

Id at 434. Where the documentation of hours is inadequate or
the court finds that the hours were not "reasonably expended,"
the district court may reduce the award accordingly. Hensley,
461 US at 433-434.

The court’s inquiry does not end with its calculation of the
lodestar. Grandview Raceway, 46 F3d at 1402. Other
considerations, such as the "results obtained" by the prevailing
party, may lead the district court to further adjust the fee upward
or downward. Id (citing Hensley, 461 U.S. at 434).

The Sixth Circuit has advised district courts to state clearly
the reasons for the ultimate fee award and the reasons for any
adjustments:

In order to facilitate appellate review of a fee
award, a district court must "provide a concise but
clear explanation of its reasons for the award.
[The] district court should state with some
particularity which of the claimed hours the court
is rejecting, which it is accepting, and why."

- Failure to provide such an explanation requires us
to remand the case for further consideration.
(citations omitted)

US Structures, Inc v. JP Structures, Inc, 130 F3d 1185, 1193
(6th Cir 1997); Northcross v Board of Education Memphis City
Schools, 611 F2d 624, 636 (6th Cir 1980), cert den, 447 US 911
(1980). See also Hensley, 461 US at 437.

A reasonable rate is the prevailing rate, in the relevant
market, for "similar services by lawyers of reasonably
comparable skill, experience and reputation." Blum v. Stevenson,
465 US 886, 895 n.11 (1984); Northcross, 611 F2d at 638.
"[T]he burden is on the fee applicant to produce satisfactory
evidence-in addition to the attorney’s own affidavits-that the
requested rates are in line with those prevailing in the community
for similar services ....". Blum, 465 US at 896 n.11. The Court
in Blum acknowledged the difficulty in determining the prevailing
market rate. Id. However, the Court suggested that the "rates
charged in private representations may afford relevant
competence." Id; See In re Olsen, 884 F2d 1415, 1423-1424

49

(DC Cir 1989)(applicant submitted affidavit of competent local
counsel’s fee schedule).° In Grandview Raceway, supra, the
Sixth Circuit reviewed the District Court’s decision regarding a
fee application and noted with favor that the District Court
"reviewed affidavits attesting to the prevailing market rates of
compensation in the relevant legal market for similar work." 46
F3d at 1402.
2. Defendants’ Request

In their brief, Defendants request a fee award totaling
$16,114.00. In support, Defendants provide the affidavit of
Attorney Patricia J. Fabrizio attesting to the accuracy of the
attached billing statements for all attorneys billing time. (Def’s
br, Exh A). The affidavit further attests to additional time billed
by several attorneys, including Ms. Fabrizio, in the preparation
of this motion. Id. However, in their Affidavit Regarding Fees
and Costs, the amount of time billed by individual attorneys
actually totals $17,227.00, when the additional time billed for
work on this motion and additional matters are added (({ 3-5).
Presumably, the latter figure is the correct amount of fees that
Defendants seek.

To establish that the hourly rates charged by Defense counsel
are reasonable, Defendants have submitted an economic survey
published by the Michigan Bar Journal regarding average
attorney hourly rates in the year 2000, the affidavit of two local
employees benefits practitioners and a summary of the
background and experience of each billing attorney.

3. Analysis
Defendants’ billing statement clearly lists the date, hours
expended and nature of work done. Defendants Clearly identified
all attorneys billing time. Defendants do not request fees for
work done by paralegals or clerks. It appears that the hours
were reasonably expended in furtherance of the within litigation.
The billing rate of Defendants’ counsel ranged from $100-180

> The court in Olson declined to only rely upon the affidavits of
attorneys retained in the case, stating the fee applicant was obligated to
establish the reasonable rate through “independent evidence." Jn re
Olson, 884 F2d at 1424 n.14.

50

per hour.* Based upon Defendants’ submissions, the Court is

satisfied that Defendants have provided sufficient evidence that
the hourly rates charged by the billing attorneys in this case are
in accord with the rate charged in the relevant market for
"’similar services by lawyers of reasonably comparable skill,
experience and reputation.’" Blum v Stevenson, 465 US 886, 895
n. 11 (1984); Northcross, 611 F2d at 638.

Based upon the foregoing, the Court finds that the appropriate
lodestar figure is accurately set forth in Defendants’ fee
submission, without the need for further reduction. Therefore,
the Court will grant Defendants’ request for attorneys’ fees in the
amount of $17,227.00.

B. COSTS

1. Applicable Law

Costs in the instant case may be awarded per Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure ("FRCP") 54 (d)(1)° and 28 USC § 1920.
Section 1920 permits taxation of the following costs:

(1) Fees of the clerk and marshal;

(2) Fees of the court reporter for all or any part of the
stenographic transcript necessarily obtained for use in the case;

(3) Fees and disbursements for printing and witnesses;

(4) Fees for exemplification and copies of papers necessarily
obtained for use in the case;

(5) Docket fees under section 1923 of this title;

(6) Compensation of court appointed experts, compensation of
interpreters, and salaries, fees, expenses, and costs of special
interpretation services under section 1828 of this title.

"In seeking costs under Rule 54(d), the prevailing party has the
burden of establishing that the expenses it seeks to have taxed as

* Rolland R. O’Hare-$180/hr; Ann E.Neydon-$155-165/hr; Patricia J.
Fabrizio-$155-165/hr; Hope L. Calati-$120/hr, and Frances Yturri-
$100/hr.

> FRCP 54(d)(1) states, in relevant part: "Except when express
provision therefor is made either in a statute of the United States or in
these rules, costs other than attorneys’ fees shall be allowed as of
course to the prevailing party unless the court otherwise directs...."

51

costs are authorized by applicable federal law, including proof of
necessity and reasonableness under 28 U.S.C. § 1920." Hall v.
Ohio Education Association, 984 F Supp 1144, 1146 (SD OH
1997). When seeking costs under Rule 54(d)(1), the " prevailing
party is prima facie entitled to costs and it is incumbent upon the
unsuccessful party to show circumstances sufficient to overcome
the presumption.’" Id (citing Lichter Found, Inc v Welch, 269
F2d 142, 146 (6th Cir 1959)). The presumption can be overcome
if the court finds that the requested costs were unnecessary or
unreasonably large. Id (citing Lewis v. Pennington, 400 F2d
806, 819 (6th cir 1968), appeal aft rem, 421 F2d 1380 (6th Cir
1970), cert den, 398 US 960 (1970)). "Therefore, if Defendants
establish that the expenses are both necessary and reasonable, the
Court will presume that Defendants should be awarded those
costs." Id.
2. Defendants’ Request

Defendants request a total of $546.09 for the following costs:
facsimile expense ($3.45); courier ($30.00); photocopies
($42.00); computer-assisted research (Lexis-Nexis)(401.51), and
Airborne Express ($68.73). Defendants assert that these costs
were necessarily incurred in this litigation.

3. Analysis

The cost of "exemplification and copies of papers" are
recoverable if the moving party provides evidence that the copies
were “necessarily obtained for use in the case." 29 USC § 1920
(4); See Hall, 984 F Supp at 1146 (duplication expenses not
allowed where defendants did not provide information regarding
what was copied, how the copies were used or the necessity of
the copies). Defendants claim $42.00 in photocopying expenses.
however, as in Hall, Defendants have not provided any
information regarding what was copied or the purpose of said
copies. Therefore, the Court is unable to determine whether the
copies were "necessarily obtained for use in this case."

Defendant requests a total of $102.18 for facsimile, courier
and Airborne Express costs. These costs are not expressly
allowed under § 1920 and have typically been disallowed by the
courts. See Hall, 984 F Supp at 1146 ("the overwhelming
weight of authority have declined to award costs for courier
services, postage, telephone or fax charges"); Jn re Penn Central

52

|

Transportation Co., 630 F2d 183, 191-192 (3rd Cir 1980)
(postage and courier fees disallowed); Wahl v Carrier Mfg, 511
F2d 209, 217 (7th Cir 1975)(charges for postage not ordinarily
allowed); Nugget Distributors Cooperative of America, Inc. v Mr.
Nugget, Inc, 145 FRD 54, 58 (ED PA 1992)("Nothing in § 1920
even remotely authorizes plaintiff's claims for ... fax, telex,
postage [and] delivery service ... expenses.").

With regard to computer assisted research, § 1920 does not
provide for reimbursement of this expense and there is a split of
authority among the circuits regarding whether such a cost should
be reimbursed. The sixth circuit has not yet weighed in on the
debate but the split leans heavily against awarding this cost. The
general consensus of the courts which have disallowed
reimbursement is that such expenditures are more properly
considered firm overhead and are not a separately taxable cost: i

The Court assumes that the actual time of a
lawyer utilizing the research computer facility is,
in fact, booked at his normal hourly rate. The
Court thinks it inappropriate and unreasonable to
permit an overhead item of this type to be
recovered in addition to recovery for the time of
the lawyer who used the research facility.

Weinberger v Great Northern Nekoosa Corp, 801 F Supp 804,
827 (D. Me 1992), aff'd, 47 F3d 463 (ist Cir 1995); Yankee
Candle v Bridgewater Candle Co, 140 F Supp 2d 111, 126 (D
Mass 2001), aff’d, 259 F3d 25 (1st Cir 2001); Tri-Star Pictures,
Inc v. Unger, 42 F Supp 2d 296, 306 (SD NY 1990; United
States v Merrit Meridian Constr Corp, 95 F3d 153, 173 (2d Cir
1996).

Conversely, several circuits view computer research fees as
attorney fees because the attorney’s research time is greatly
reduced by the use of computer research:

The added cost of computerized research is
normally matched with a corresponding reduction
in the amount of time an attorney must spend
researching. Therefore, we see no difference

53

between a situation where an attorney researches
manually and bills only for the time spent and a
situation where the attorney does the research on
a computer and bills for both the time and the
computer fee.

Cairns v. Franklin Mint Co, 115 F Supp 2d 1185, 1189 (CD Cal
2000), aff'd, 292 3d 1139 (9th Cir 2002)(citing Haroco, Inc v
American Nat’l Bank and Trust Co of Chicago, 38 F3d 1429,
1440-1441 (7th Cir 1994); Cleveland Area Board of Realtors v
City of Euclid, 965 F Supp 1017, 1023 (ND Ohio 1997); Aloha
Tower Associates Piers 7, 8 and 9 Ltd Partnership v Millenium
Aloha, Inc, 938 F Supp 646, 549 (D. Hawaii 1996).°

The court will disallow all of Defendants’ requested costs.
For the requested copying expenses, Defendants failed to provide
sufficient evidence regarding what was copied, how they were
used or the necessity for the same. Hall, 984 F Supp at 1146.
For the balance of requested costs for fax, Airborne Express,
courier fees and computer research, the court adopts the
reasoning of other courts that have refused to allow such
expenses that are not expressly allowed under § 1920.

V. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, THE COURT GRANTS IN PART
AND DENIES IN PART Defendants’ Funds and Mittelbrun’s
Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and Costs. Specifically, the Court
GRANTS Defendants’ request for attorney’s fees in the amount
of $17,227.00 but DENIES Defendants’ request for costs.
IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: AUG 13, 2002 Victoria A. Roberts
U.S. District Judge

° Note, however, in Cairns, the court went on to reduce the requested
computer research fees by twenty-five percent to reflect the fact that
“Westlaw charges are not an exact substitute for an attorney’s hourly
rate.... [and] some part of Westlaw’s charges must be considered
overhead, if for no other reason than the fact that law firms do not
charge clients for law books." Cairns, 115 F Supp at 1185.

54

-

iii piuiiiicinet ae

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

Lawrence Moore Case No. 01-72222

ee DEFENDANTS FUNDS AND
* Int. B’hood of Elect. TO DEFENDANTS FUNDS
Wkrs. Local 58, et al,) AND MITTLEBRUN

)

Defendants.)

)
)
Plaintiff, ) JUDGMENT IN FAVOR OF
)
)

This matter came before the Court on Defendants’ Funds and
Mittelbrun’s Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and costs, which was
granted in an Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part
Defendants’ Funds and Mittelbrun’s motion for Attorneys’ Fees
and costs entered on AUG 13, 2002. Therefore,

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the Court hereby
Grants Defendants’ Funds and Mittelbrun a Judgment in their
favor and against Plaintiff, in the amount of $17,227.00.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: AUG 13, 2002 Victoria A. Roberts
U.S. District Judge

55

APPEAL NO. 02-1503

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Lawrence Moore )
) U.S.D.C. No. 01-72222
Plaintiff/Appellant, )
Vv. )
Int. B’hood of Elect. ) ORDER
Wkrs. Local 58, et al,)
)

Defendants/Appellees)
NOT RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT PUBLICATION

Sixth Circuit Rule 28(g) limits citation to specific situations.
Please see Rule 28(g) before citing in a proceeding in a
court in the Sixth Circuit. If cited, a copy must be served
on the other parties and the Court.

This notice is to be prominently displayed in this decision if
reproduced.

Before SILER, DAUGHTREY, and GILMAN, Circuit Judges.

Lawrence Moore, proceeding pro se, appeals a district court
order dismissing his labor action filed pursuant to the Labor
Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185; the National Labor
Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 158; the Employees Retirement
Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq.; and 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983. This case has been referred to a panel of the court
pursuant to Rule 34(j)(1), Rules of the Sixth Circuit. Upon
examination, this panel unanimously agrees that oral argument is
not needed. Fed.R.App.P. 34(a).

On June 13, 2001 Moore filed suit against the International
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 58 ("Local 58"), Jeff
Radjewski, Thomas Mittelbrun, and several fringe benefit funds
for monetary and equitable relief. Moore asserted in his
complaint that: 1) the defendants violated his rights under the
Free Speech Clause and the Takings Clause; 2) the defendants
committed fraud and deceit; 3) the defendants breached the
Collective Bargaining Agreement ("CBA"); 4) Local 58 and
Radjewski breached their duty of fair representation; and 5) the

56

OO

defendants intentionally inflicted emotional distress. Upon
consideration of the pleadings the district court granted the
defendants’ motions to dismiss, or, in the alternative, for
summary judgment.

In his timely appeal Moore essentially reasserts his claims and
argues that the district judge should have recused herself.

Upon de novo review we conclude that the district court’s
judgment must be affirmed. See Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6) and
56(c); Harrow Prods., Inc. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 64 F.3d
1015, 1019 (6th Cir. 1995); Wright v. MetroHealth Med. Crtr.,
58 F.3d 1130, 1138 (6th Cir. 1995).

Moore’s five claims substantially overlap and are based on
virtually identical allegations. Moore, who was not a member of
Local 58 but was a member of an affiliated union, received job
referrals through Local 58’s hiring hall to perform electrical
work in July, 1998 and from the week ending September 16,
2000, through the week ending November 4, 2000. Moore’s
main complaint is that Local 58 supposedly tricked him into
signing the union dues deduction form and would not refund the
money or stop the withdrawals after he rescinded his
authorization in a letter dated September 15, 2000. His other
primary allegations were that Local 58 deducted the money while
denying him a voice as a non-member, that the CBA did not
permit deductions from the wages of non-members for union
dues, that the defendants reduced his overtime pay rate, and that
the defendants used the money deducted to make political
contributions.

Moore’s complaint lacked merit. Moore’s first claim, in
which he asserts that the defendants violated his constitutional
rights, is not actionable. Generally, "the conduct of private
parties lies beyond the Constitution’s scope ....". Edmonson v.
Leesville Concrete Co., 500 U.S. 614, 620 (1991).

Moore’s other federal claim, breach of a duty of fair
representation, is time-barred by the six-months statute of
limitations for unfair representation claims. Adkins v. Int’l Union
of Elec., Radio & Mach. Workers, 769 F.2d 330, 335 (6th Cir.
1985) (citations omitted). "[T]he statute of limitations begins to
run when the claimant knows or should have known of the
union’s alleged breach of its duty of fair representation."

57

ss ainabiiaiatalianiaisiaiaiisiiiiiasdiiiliaiaal

Schoonover v. Consol. Freightways Corp. , 49 F.3d 219, 221 (6th
Cir. 1995); see also Adkins, 769 F.2d at 335. Moore should
have known of any alleged breach of the duty of fair represent-
ation well before he completed the second job during the week
ending November 4, 2000. Moore, however, did not file his
complaint within six months, but waited seven months, until June
13, 2001.

Moore’s state law claims are based upon the same allegations
as his federal claim of a breach of the duty of fair representation
and thus are preempted by federal labor law and are also time-
barred. "The duty of fair representation relates to an area of
labor law which has been so fully occupied by Congress so as to
foreclose state regulation." Maynard v. Revere Copper Prods.,
Inc. 773 F.2d 733, 735 (6th Cir. 1985); see also In re Glass,
Molders, Pottery, Plastics & Allied Workers Int’l Union, Local
No. 173, 983 F.2d 725, 728-29 (6th Cir. 1993). Moreover,
when a federal claim of a breach of the duty of fair
representation is barred by the six-month statute of limitations,

"it would be anomalous to hold that the same claim survived the
defense of limitations because it was stated in terms of state
law." Maynard, 773 F.2d at 735.

Finally, the district judge did not abuse her discretion by
failing to recuse herself. Moore was not entitled to recusal under
28 U.S.C. § 144 because he did not file an affidavit alleging
judicial bias in the district court. See United States v. Sammons,
918 F.2d 592, 598-99 (6th Cir. 1990). Furthermore, the judge
was not obligated to recuse herself pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §
455(a). A judge must only recuse herself where a reasonable
person would be convinced that personal or extrajudicial bias
exists. Jd. at 599. No reasonable person would be convinced
that the judge was biased against Moore. All of Moore’s
allegations referred to the judge’s participation in the proceedings
and do not support recusal. See Id.

Accordingly, the district court’s judgment is affirmed. Rule
34(j)(2)(C), Rules of the Sixth Circuit.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT.

Filed: SEP 13, 2002 Leonard Green
Clerk

58

SMR" cam meena cemanmmamvee: mene rmaremmmarscoemnsatagtll

APPEAL NO. 02-2073

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Lawrence Moore )
) U.8.D.C. No. 01-72222
Plaintiff/Appellant, )
Vv. )
Int. B’hood of Elect. ) ORDER
Wkre. Local 58, et al,)

)
Defendants/Appellees)

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT PUBLICATION

Sixth Circuit Rule 28(g) limits citation to specific situations.
Please see Rule 28(g) before citing in a proceeding in a
court in the Sixth Circuit. If cited, a copy must be served
on the other parties and the Court.

This notice is to be prominently displayed in this decision if
reproduced.

Before: DAUGHTREY and GIBBONS, Circuit Judges; MILLS,
District Judge.*

Lawrence Moore, proceeding pro se, appeals a district court
order awarding attorneys’ fees to the defendants pursuant to 29
U.S.C. § 1132(g)(1) of the Employees Retirement Income ~
Security Act ("ERISA").

Moore filed suit against the International Brotherhood of
Electrical Workers Local 58, Jeff Radjewski, Thomas Mittelbrun,
and several fringe benefit funds ("Funds") pursuant to ERISA
and other statutes. Upon consideration of the pleadings, the
district court granted the defendants’ motions to dismiss, or, in
the alternative, for summary judgment, and this court affirmed
the district court’s judgment on September 13, 2002, in Case No.
02-1503.

After the district court issued its judgment, the Funds and
Mittelbrun filed a motion for attorneys’ fees and costs on April

* The Honorable Richard Mills, United States District Judge for the
Central District of Illinois, sitting by designation.

59

il BA ASAE NN A, Sl RN RT

1, 2002, arguing in part that Moore was a vexatious litigant who
had pursued frivolous labor claims for fifteen years in various
jurisdictions. Because Moore did not file a response within 14
days as required by court rules, the district court ordered
Moore’s response to be stricken from the record. On August 13,
2002, the district court awarded attorneys’ fees to the Funds and
Mittelbrun in the amount of $17,227.00, but denied the request
for costs. The district court reasoned that a fee award was
merited because Moore had brought his claims in bad faith, an
award would deter other plan participants from filing frivolous
actions, and an award would confer a common benefit on plan
participants and beneficiaries who would otherwise bear the cost
of defending frivolous litigation.

In his appeal, Moore raises numerous challenges to the award.

Upon review, we conclude that the district court’s judgment
must be affirmed. Because Moore failed to timely respond to the
defendants’ motion for attorneys’ fees in the district court, he has
waived any objection he had to the defendants’ application for
and the district court’s award of attorneys’ fees. See Federal
Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Binion, 953 F.2d 1013, 1018 (6th Cir.
1991).

Accordingly, the district court’s judgment is affirmed. Rule
34(j)(2)(C), Rules of the Sixth Circuit.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT.

Filed: MAR 28, 2003 Leonard Green
Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1961%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
