# Amicus Curiae Brief — South Carolina Medical Ass'n v. Thompson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1857%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 981

## Text

FILED
— SEP 2 4 2003
No. 03-114 | OFFICE OF THECL ERK

IN THE

- Supreme Court of the United States

SOUTH CAROLINA MEDICALASSOCIATION, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.

TOMMY G. THOMPSON, SECRETARY
OF THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, et al.,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BriEF Or GuENTER L. SPANKNEBEL, M.D., WAYNE B. GLAZIER,
M.D., ABRAHAM Happap, D.M.D., Rosert LeBow, M.D.,
LEONARD Morse, M.D., KesHav PAnpeEy, M.D., Mark
SIMONEAU, MEDICAL SocieTy OF THE STATE OF New York, AND
ASSOCIATION OF AMERICAN PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS, INC.
As Amici Curi4E IN Support OF PETITIONERS

Davip P. FELSHER
Attorney for Amici Curiae
488 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10022
(212) 308-8505

183224 g

COUNSEL PRESS

(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

0 ae a ee ee ee een eS Pe

QUESTIONS PRESENTED?'

1. May Congress ignore the Constitution’s procedural and
substantive requirements when it delegates “legislative”
authority?

2. Does the “Intelligible Principles Test” have a fourth
element?

1. Included within the questions presented are the following
subsidiary questions: (1) Under HIPAA’s § 264, does the self-imposed time
limit to enact health privacy legislation statutorily alter the lawmaking
process? (2) May rulemaking supplant the legislative process? (3) Does a
court violate the Separation of Powers Doctrine by contradicting the plain
meaning of a statute? (4) May an agency or executive department construe
a statute by ignoring its plain meaning? (5) Can the 104" Congress delegate
its power during a later Congress? (6) Under HIPAA’s § 264, did Congress
set any policy or standard to limit HHS authority?

Given the 20 page limit on the length of this brief, other related
subsidiary questions are omitted. However, amici respectfully ask the Court
for the opportunity to fully brief those questions on the merits and the
opportunity to discuss various unintended consequences of the regulatory
scheme. The additional questions include:

¢ Inan electronic age, is beneficial ownership and legal title to a
medical record and genetic information merged in the patient?

¢ Is the right to keep patient-physician communications

confidential so basic a right that our nation’s founders and John

Locke would have considered it a fundamental or inalienable

right of every individual, if they had taken the time to consider

it? The founders included at least three physicians who signed

the Declaration of Independence (Drs. Benjamin Rush, Josiah

Bartlett, and Matthew Thornton. Some historians question the

medical credentials of another signer, Lyman Hall). See Richard

F. Corlin, M.D (President, American Medical Association), History

Repeats: Physicians Face Another 5.4% Issue (Amednews.

com,April 15, 2002) @ www.ama-assn.org/sci-pubs/amnews/amn_

02/edca0415.htm. John Locke was a physician whose writings

provide a substantial part of the Constitution’s intellectual and

= philosophical foundation. See e.g., John Locke, Two Treatises of
Government (1698);

¢ Does health privacy legislation fall under the Commerce Clause?

¢ Is the “right to privacy” an outer boundary on the Commerce
Clause?

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Ouestions Presesied ...: 6
Regions Hospital v. Shalala, 522 U.S. 448 (1998) ..--. 15
United States v. Goldenberg, 168 U.S. 95 (1897) .... 12
LInites States v. James Daniel Good Real Property,

510 U.S. 43 (1993) ....--- cece reece eee settee 15
United States v. Montalvo-Murillo, 495 U.S. 711

CBO in cn ike cen venecentemeseentonmer ery at 15
United States v. Morrison, 529 U.S. 598 (2000) .....-. 15
United States v. Symonds, 120 U.S. 46 (1887) .....-- 15
U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514 U.S. 779 (1995)

cegec cn bh woe bewees os gests 5OeGR teeaae 6, 16
Wayman v. Southard, 10 Wheat. (23 U.S.) 1 (1825)
Whitman v. American Trucking Associations, Inc.,

531 U.S. 457 (2001) .....-- eee erect errr 20

Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944) ...----- 19

v1

Cited Authorities

Page
United States Constitution:
Poo. eb ererererrrrrrrr rrr rrey ye rt passim
po Se eer rrr rrr rrr ey 15-16
Pie T OS GS vocteisceesscéudcnceses cone 16
pb ry rer rer aime ieee ee 15-16
Article I, §3,cl.1...... Feet ete e nent eee eee eees 16
px. BS fe. & reer eer error rrr rs rer 16
pL YOST COT ee re ee 5
Aatiete 1, § 7, 48 vccccictvcscesediboxéahesuvon passim
AstieGe 3 OE Gee ik cacvas6e0ekes 008s 4 eee i
RIED 2 odccdsesteeduvaee«+seeeviteeee 15
AsRO TE EE: 0 cvi's eedéeasnyeees acest eae 16
AGG BE US xc0cccckcdsatseues see 16
3 | APOE e eee errr rr rey bere. esr 5, 13, 14
AMGEEE TE oi sic dee 00 eT Tee ET ee ye 13
PIGEIOY ccrccesveccacacuseesntkeusseuseaserees 6
Amendment XVII ....... Cher aseheeekeeeehanees 16

vil

Cited Authorities
Page
Statutes:
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-191, 110 Stat. 1936 et seq.
(August 21, 1996) ....----sseeerrereeersert 1
- . co cencvarsdevescecesereensene es ees 18
cca chk no neHe rks er PRCT EAR COR Se SNARES TS 7 18
BOE cs Snccudaknsanvnneeaeeen reRreNeyees ests passim
BO occ suivetencsariecoceussrrenerserss<®? 9,10
RN ai sesensc aces cnvrssnpreroutes onset 9, 10, 20
GC DOMET) soos ocr essncccsesccvnssonsevsreresrs 9
GC RGGIDPEA) «00s oss ervccncccrssccossecsnserereess 9
SREROIDD noone ccevcnanceredesnsosnnecsnee nes 9
BIG) ons cccvecssorsvrnessenessosscsseoeres passim
§ 264(c)(1) ..-- eee eee e rere uaeeubeubies passim
RONEN oxy ccnnasrccagencceevesst rere sree nT tht? 10
Immigration and Nationality Act § 244(c)(2) ..---- 8

Social Security Act § 1173, 110 Stat. 2024-26, codified
at 42 U.S.C. §1320d-2 .....-- seer ere errrre 10, 18, 19

vit

Cited Authorities

Page

Congressional Materials:
S. Rep. No, 1335, 54" Cong., 2d Sess. (1897) ....... 7
Executive Materials:
64 Fed. Reg. 59918 et seq. (1999) .............088, 4,12
65 Fed. Reg. 82462 et seq. (2000) ............. 4-5, 10, 12
G6 Fed. Reg. 126546 (2001) 2... ccc cccccessccccnes )
67 Fed. Reg. 14776 et seq. (2002) ................. 5, 10
67 Fed. Reg. 53182 et seq. (2002) ............eeeee )
Law Reviews:
Steven F. Huefner, The Supreme Court’s Avoidance of

the NonDelegation Doctrine in Clinton v. City of

New York: More than “A Dime’s Worth of

Difference”, 49 Catholic Univ. L. Rev. 337 (2000) -

Marci Hamilton, Representation and NonDelegation:
Back to Basics, 20 Cardozo L. Rev. 807 (1999) .... 10, 17

Alan B. Morrison, A Non-Power Looks at Separation
of Powers, 79 Geo. L.J. 281 (1990) .............. 16

ix
Cited Authorities

Books and Treatises:
Black’s Law Dictionary (5% ed. 1979) ......-+++++::
John Locke, Two Treatises of Government (1698) ......

Joseph Story, Commentaries on the Constitution of the
United States (Carolina Academic Press)
TEE. cc ccasskstanervisansyuanses somes eee»

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary of the
English Language - Unabridged (P. Gove ed. 1993)

oeeeve

Petitions and Briefs:

Brief of Senators Robert C. Byrd, Daniel Patrick
Moynihan and Carl Levin as Amici Curiae in
Support of Appellees in Clinton v. City of New York
(Docket No. 97-1374) ...--.--sseeeeeeeee ese

Supreme Court Rules:
Sf ee er rere rer ee rer ok.
Other Authorities:

Richard F. Corlin, M.D (President, American
Medical Association), History Repeats: Physicians
Face Another 5.4% Issue (Amednews.com, April
15, 2002) @ www.ama-assn.org/sci-pubs/
amnews/amn_02/edca0415.htm ......--+++++:

Leonard Morse, Comments from Physicians, in
Massachusetts Medical Society, Background: MMS
Policy on Patient Privacy and Con fidentiality: Health
Policy (10/14/2000) ...-..--.+-eeeeeeeeeeeeees

12

1

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE'

Critical to the care of every patient is the patient’s
confidence that personal or private information communicated
to the provider will be kept in confidence. This ensures that
the patients will candidly communicate their conditions and
history to their providers.

Amici are prominent members of the medical, dental and
business communities in Massachusetts (collectively,
“Individual Amici”), Medical Society of the State of New York
(“MSSNY”) and Association of American Physicians and
Surgeons, Inc. (“AAPS”). Amici have a strong interest in
protecting the confidentiality of patient-physician
communications. Although Individual Amici are active in
various medical associations and institutions, they submit this
brief as individual providers and patients and not on behalf
of any other entity.

Amici believe the privacy regulations issued by the United
States Department of Health and Human Services (“HHS”)
(the “Regulations” ) pursuant to § 264 of the Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-
191, 110 Stat. 1936 et seq. (August 21, 1996) (“HIPAA”)?
compromise the trust inherent in the patient-physician
relationship and reduce patient candor resulting in increased
diagnostic and treatment risks. Because the Regulations
contain broad exceptions to consent and authorization
requirements and ignore the confidentiality principles
attributed to Hippocrates approximately 2,400 years ago,
Amici believe the Regulations shake the very foundation of
the medical profession - the trust between a patient and his or
her physician. Amici believe they can be of particular assistance
to the Court regarding the nature and importance of the
patient-physician relationship.

1. In compliance with Supreme Court Rule 37.6, this brief was not
written in whole or in part by counsel for a party, and no person or entity
other than Amici Curiae and their counsel has made any monetary
contribution to the brief’s preparation and submission. The parties have
consented to the filing of this brief, and such consents are being submitted
herewith.

2. Unless otherwise specified all “section” or “§” references refer to
HIPAA.

2

As providers and patients, Amici disagree with the
substance of certain privacy regulations. However, as friends
of this Court, Amici question the very power and process by
which Congress purportedly authorized HHS to issue the
Regulations. Amici ask the Court to protect Congress from itself
by preserving the integrity of the “single, finely wrought and
exhaustively considered, procedure”, Immigration and
Naturalization Service v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919, 951 (1983), used
to enact legislation.

Because the existence of the power of HHS to regulate
health privacy is at issue, no further regulatory or judicial
experience is needed before certiorari is warranted. In fact,
delaying the grant of certiorari could damage thousands, if not ,
millions, of patients. In the age of the Internet, electronic
records may be transmitted and retransmitted worldwide in
an instant. This means that an inadvertent or intentional release
of patient information in an institutional setting could
endanger the records of thousands of patients at a time.
Coupling the rapidly evolving technological landscape
with HHS’ exceptions to the consent and authorization
requirements for “payment, treatment or healthcare
operations” creates a recipe for disaster for three reasons. First,
most patients have at least some part of their insurance claims
or medical records transferred electronically. Second, as HHS
continues to implement various HIPAA standards (regarding
privacy and other subjects) more and more medical institutions
and providers are going “electronic” to process claims and
keep patient records. Third, once the records are released, it is
often too difficult or impossible to reverse the breach of privacy.

Amicus Guenter L. Spanknebel, M.D., privately practices
gastroenterology and is a Past-President of the Massachusetts
Medical Society (“MMS”), the nation’s oldest medical society.
For the past thirty-five years, he has been on the faculties of
the medical schools at the University of Massachusetts and
Tufts University. Dr. Spanknebel serves on various boards and
committees of organized medicine.

Amicus Leonard Morse, M.D., practiced internal
medicine/ infectious diseases for more than 35 years. He is
the immediate past chair of the Council on Ethical and Judicial

3

Affairs of the American Medical Association and a past
President of MMS. He is President of Boston Medical Library,
Professor of Clinical Medicine at University of Massachusetts
Medical School, and Commissioner of Public Health for
Worcester, Massachusetts. He has stated:

[a] trusting patient-physician relationship is the

fundamental beginning for appropriate health care.

It is a privilege and an enormous responsibility to

be a physician. In my office, all personal medical

information is private, and as such, remains

concealed. Nothing is released without the patient's

and my approval (in that order).
Leonard Morse, Comments from Physicians, in Massachusetts
Medical Society, Background: MMS Policy on Patient Privacy and
Confidentiality: Health Policy (10/14/ 2000).

Amicus Wayne B. Glazier, M.D., privately practices
urology. He is Chairman of the Health Foundation of Central
Massachusetts and President of the Massachusetts
Independent Physicians’ Association.

Amicus Abraham Haddad, D.M.D., practices
periodontology. He is on the faculties at Harvard School of
Dental Medicine and the University of Massachusetts Medical
School. He is former President of the Massachusetts
Periodontal Society and former Chairman of Dental Medicine
at the University of Massachusetts Memorial Hospital.

Amicus Robert Lebow, M.D., practices internal medicine.
He is a trustee of MMS, Chief of Internal Medicine at
Harrington Memorial Hospital and on the faculty at University
of Massachusetts Medical School.

Amicus Keshav Pandey, M.D., privately practices gastro-
enterology. He is Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine at
the University of Massachusetts Medical School and is a staff
gastroenterologist at University of Massachusetts Memorial
Hospital.

Amicus Mark Simoneau is the Director of Human
Resources for a 500 person self-insured company located in
Massachusetts. His employer is typical of thousands of other
self-insured businesses throughout the country that must now

4

devote significant time and financial resources to comply with
the Regulations.

Amicus MSSNY is a New York Not-for-Profit Corporation
organized in 1807. It is a voluntary association of
approximately 27,000 physician, medical resident, and medical
student members. MSSNY is the principal professional
organization in New York, representing physicians in all
specialties. It is concerned that the enormous burdens placed
by the Regulations will severely strain the ability of many
medical practices to provide quality medical care and will take
precious time and financial resources away from patient care.

Amicus AAPS is a nationwide non-partisan professional
association of thousands of physicians in all types of practices
and specialties. Since it was founded in 1943, AAPS has been
dedicated to the highest ethical standards of the Oath of
Hippocrates and to preserving the sanctity of the patient-
physician relationship.

Amici believe that unless the decisions below are
immediately reversed, Joint Appendix of Petition at Al and
A18, HHS will continue to act without legislative authority
and will thereby permanently alter the nature of the medical
practice. Amici respectfully but fervently ask the Court to grant
the petition.

STATEMENT OF FACTS |

Section 264 is an attempt to delegate to the Secretary of
HHS the authority to issue health privacy regulations in the
event that Congress failed to enact health privacy legislation
within three years of HIPAA’s enactment.’ Section 264(c)(1)
directed HHS to promulgate regulations governing standards
with respect to the privacy of individually identifiable health
information (“ITHI”) if Congress did not enact health care
privacy legislation by August 21, 1999. 110 Stat. at 2033.
Congress did not pass privacy legislation by that deadline.
On November 3, 1999, HHS published proposed health privacy
regulations. 64 Fed. Reg. 59918 et seq. After an extended
comment period, the final health privacy regulations were
issued in December 2000 (“Regulations”), 65 Fed. Reg. 82462

3. Section 264 was not codified. It appears as a note to 42 U.S.C.
§ 1320d-2.

So

et seq. (December 28, 2000), and became effective on April 14,
- 2001, 66 Fed. Reg. 12434 (February 26, 2001)*.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Acting without Congressional authority, HHS has
changed the rights of every patient and every provider and
obliterated more than 2,000 years of accepted medical practice.

Section 264(c) violates the Constitution’s bicameral and
presentment requirements in two ways. First, it statutorily
amended the Constitution’s lawmaking requirements
by adding a time constraint to Article I, § 7. Second, Congress
ignored the teachings of Immigration and Naturalization Service
v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919 (1983) and authorized regulations to
supplant legislation without fulfilling the bicameral and
presentment requirements.

Section 264(c) also violates the Separation of Powers
Doctrine in two ways. First, courts may not construe a statute
to contradict the words agreed to by both Houses of Congress
and the President. Section 264 sets a deadline for HHS to act -
42 months after enactment of HIPAA. That date came and went
without privacy regulations being finalized. Second, the
Separation of Powers Doctrine and Execution Clause prevent
HHS from presenting a construction of a statute that
contradicts the words enacted by Congress and the President.

The Court should find that the delegation was defective
because the principle that Congress may only delegate power
it received from the people adds a fourth component to the
“intelligible principles” test. First, the 104" Congress was
powerless to effect a delegation beyond the expiration of its
term. Second, Congress did not provide a general policy or
boundary to limit the Regulations. In fact, Congress allowed
HHS to address an infinite number of subjects.

4. After the Plaintiff's Complaint was filed, HHS proposed and
finalized modifications to the Privacy Regulations. 67 Fed. Reg. 14776
et seq. (March 27, 2002) and 67 Fed. Reg. 53182 et seq. (August 14, 2002)
(“Modifications”). The arguments set forth herein apply to the Modifications
as well as the Regulations. Indeed, the Modifications may have a greater
chilling effect on patient-physician communications than the Regulations
because exceptions to the consent and authorization requirements have
been created for payment, treatment and healthcare operations. Id.

6

ARGUMENT
I. Section 264 Unconstitutionally Amends The Lawmaking

Process By Limiting The Time For Congress To Pass A

Law

Since our nation was founded more than 200 years ago, a
“single, finely wrought and exhaustively considered,
procedure” has been used to enact federal legislation.
That procedure is laid out in the Constitution’s Bicameral and
Presentment Clauses. Strict compliance with those procedures
is required. When Congress delegates its lawmaking function
to another branch or independent agency it may not
legislatively alter that process. If it does, the delegation is
unconstitutional. For example, the legislative veto and the line
item veto were declared unconstitutional. Immigration and
Naturalization Service v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919 (1983); Clinton v.
City of New York, 524 U.S. 417 (1998). Similarly, when Congress
conditions the delegation of its lawmaking function upon the
restriction of its own time to consider legislation, it alters the
legislative process. Section 264(c) contains such a delegation.

The Bicameral and Presentment Clauses require passage
of exactly the same text by both Houses and presentment to
the President. Clinton, 524 U.S. at 448. Those procedures may
not be statutorily supplemented or modified. They may be
altered only by a constitutional amendment. Clinton, 524 U.S.
at 449; U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514 U.S. 779, 837 (1995);
Oregon v. Mitchell, 400 U.S. 112, 128 (1970). Section 264(c) alters
the procedure without ratifying a constitutional amendment
in accordance with Article V. Pursuant to § 264(c), once three
years had elapsed without passage of new health privacy
legislation, HHS had six months to regulate (unless the House,
Senate and the President had agreed otherwise). In contrast,
without § 264(c), HHS could not have regulated health privacy
unless the House, Senate and President agreed on new health
privacy legislation.

A law such as § 264(c), which completely delegates
legislative responsibility to an executive department or
independent administrative agency, violates the Constitution’s
letter and spirit. Lawmaking under the guise of rulemaking
involves neither agreement of both Houses nor presentment

-

7

to the President. Section 264(c) failed to provide HHS with
rulemaking authority with respect to the privacy of ITHI upon
and immediately after enactment. Rather, § 264(c) provided
that such rulemaking authority might later pass to HHS. That
authority would pass to HHS only if legislation with respect
to that subject matter failed to be enacted by the statutory
deadline.

The abdication of Congressional responsibility
encouraged by § 264(c) is philosophically at odds with the
Constitution. Clinton, 524 U.S. at 452 (Kennedy, J., concurring)
(“ Abdication of responsibility is not part of the constitutional
design”). Section 264(c) turns delegation on its head and
conditions rulemaking authority solely upon the failure of
Congress to take action between two specified dates. It allows
Congress to avoid tough decisions. As a result, the scope of
delegation was set by HHS rather than by agreement of both
Houses and the President.

II. Congressional Lawmaking Is Supplanted By HHS

Privacy Regulations

Although not every action taken by Congress is subject to
the bicameralism and presentment requirements, those
requirements must be met when Congress exercises legislative
power. Whether particular actions are an “exercise of
legislative power depends not on their form but upon ‘whether
they contain matter which is properly to be regarded as
legislative in its character and effect.’” Chadha, 462 USS. at 952
quoting S. Rep. No. 1335, 54" Cong., 2d Sess., 8 (1897).

The legislative character of an action may be established
by an examination of the Congressional action that it
supplants. This “Supplantation Principle” was used to analyze
the constitutionality of the legislative veto in Chadha.
Id. at 952 (“The legislative character of the one-House veto in
these cases is confirmed by the character of the Congressional
action it supplants”). That principle should be extended to
apply to actions undertaken by independent agencies and
other branches of government. There is no reason not to extend
this principle to evaluate non-Congressional exercises of
legislative power.

8

In Chadha, the constitutionality of the legislative veto
provision in § 244(c)(2) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act was examined. The Supreme Court examined § 244(c)(2)
and found that it had an essentially legislative purpose and
effect. Although the Court acknowledged that § 244(c)(2)
authorized one house, by resolution, to require the Attorney
General to deport an alien whose deportation otherwise
would be canceled under § 244, the Court reasoned that
“the House took action that had the purpose and effect of altering
the legal rights, duties, and relations of persons, including the
Attorney General, Executive Branch officials and Chadha, all
outside the Legislative Branch.” Chadha, 462 U.S. at 952
(emphasis added). The Court explained that without the
House’s action, Chadha would remain in the United States.
Congress had acted and that action had altered Chadha’s
status. Without the challenged provision, Chadha’s
deportation could have been deported only by legislation
requiring deportation, if at all. Id. at 953-54.

The Court also examined the nature of the decision
implemented by the legislative veto. “After long experience
with the ... private bill procedure, Congress ... [chose] to
delegate to the ... Attorney General, the authority to allow
deportable aliens to remain in this country in certain specified
circumstances.” Id. at 954. The Court stated that the choice to
delegate was

precisely the kind of decision that can be
implemented only in accordance with the
procedures set out in Art. I. Disagreement with the
Attorney General’s decision on Chadha’s
deportation - that is, Congress’ decision to deport
Chadha - no less than Congress’ original choice to
delegate . . . involves determinations of policy that
Congress can implement in only one way;
bicameral passage followed by presentment to the
President. Congress must abide by its delegation

- of authority until that delegation is legislatively
altered or revoked.

Id. at 954-55.

9

Section 264(c) is legislative in both character and effect in
two ways. First, by its own terms, it is equivalent to legislation.
The alleged authority of HHS to promulgate regulations arose
only after Congress failed to pass legislation governing
standards with respect to the privacy of I[HI within 36 months
of the enactment of HIPAA. Second, the Regulations had the
purpose and affect of altering the rights, duties, and relations
of persons, including patients, providers, health care
clearinghouses, health plans, HHS, Office of Civil Rights and
others, all outside of Congress. Section 264(c)(1) (“Such
regulations shall address at least the subjects described in
subsection (b)”).

Subsections “a” and “b” reinforce this conclusion.
They directed the Secretary of HHS to make legislative
recommendations regarding privacy of ITHI. They set a limited
agenda for the Secretary: to make recommendations for future
legislation. The difficult policy choices regarding rights,
procedures, and uses and disclosure of ITHI were left to
Congress. Subsection “a” explicitly directed the Secretary of
HHS to submit “detailed recommendations on standards with
respect to the privacy of [IIHI].” Those recommendations
were to be received by a Senate Committee and a House
Committee. As used, the word “recommendations”
contemplated future Congressional action. In the context of
§ 264, “recommendations” were sought solely for a legislative
purpose - to propose and possibly enact future legislation.
The subjects contained in § 264(b) are legislative in nature and
include the rights an individual should have, § 264(b)(1), the
procedures for exercising those rights, § 264(b)(2), and the
determination of permitted “uses and disclosures” , § 264(b)(3).”
If Congress had enacted the recommendations with respect to
those rights, everyone in the United States would have been
affected. Similarly, the Regulations affect everyone in the
United States - people and parties outside Congress.

5. A “right” is “[a] power, privilege, or immunity granted under a
constitution, statutes, or decisional laws, or claimed as a result of long
usage” or “[a] legally enforceable claim of one person against another,
that the other shall do a given act, or shall not do a given act.” Black’s Law
Dictionary 1189 (5* ed. 1979).

10

The language seeking recommendations from HHS
set forth in Subsections “a”, “b”, and “d”, as well as the
language of Subsection “c”, suggests that no laws governing
privacy standards existed when HIPAA was enacted or prior
thereto. Congress wrote on a blank slate. It needed to be better
informed before legislating. This understanding is consistent
with Subsections “a”, “b”, and “d” under which Congress
explicitly sought recommendations from HHS regarding those
standards. Subsections “a”, “b”, and “d” reveal that Congress
had not yet made any policy determination or value judgment
regarding the standards for privacy of IIHI when it enacted
HIPAA. Marci Hamilton, Representation and NonDelegation:
Back to Basics, 20 Cardozo L. Rev. 807, 820 (1999) (“The
legislature holds primary responsibility to make the national
policy choices, and the President may not take on those
choices.”); See Clinton, 524 U.S. at 442-45, 445 n.38. Congress
had not balanced the interests of various constituencies
regarding that subject matter.° However, Congress had
recognized that it needed further advice. Consequently, HHS
rulemaking authority under § 264(c) was equated to legislation
and carved-out from the remainder of § 1173 rulemaking authority.’ -

6. Institutionally, Congress is better able to balance multiple
viewpoints than a single agency or department. See Hamilton, 20 Cardozo
L. Rev. at 814

The legislative branch serves the people by filtering the

factions in the society and distilling those laws that will best

serve the nation ... [P]ositions must be funneled through a

large number of ports before becoming governing law ...

As a result, it is capable of reaching more nuanced

compromises on national issues.
In contrast, when lawmaking is delegated to the President, there is only
one port of entry, one viewpoint, albeit representing the entire nation.
When lawmaking is delegated to an agency or executive department,
the viewpoint is even narrower and without electoral accountability.
Id. at 819-21. The best evidence of why there should be a Congressional
filter and why Congress should set national policy is the fact that
HHS received approximately 52,000 comments in connection with
its issuance of the Regulations. 67 Fed. Reg. at 14777.

7. 65 Fed. Reg. at 82469-70. Section 1173 authorized HHS to
promulgate uniform national standards regarding transactions, unique
health identifiers, code sets, security and electronic signatures. Section 1173
of the Social Security Act, 110 Stat. 2024-26 codified at 42 U.S.C. § 1320d-2.
In conference, privacy of IIHI was moved out of § 1173.

11
— ee
III. The Courts Below Violated The Separation Of Powers

Doctrine By Construing § 264(c) To Eliminate The

Statute’s Deadline For HHS Action

Petitioners and Respondents placed the construction of
§ 264(c) at issue in District Court and Court of Appeals.
The opinions reflect this concern. Joint Appendix of Petition,
Al and A18. Petitioners ask this Court to consider § 264(c)’s
plain meaning. Petition 20-26. However, the parties and courts
below have all ignored part of sentence 1 of § 264(c)(1) in
construing the remainder of the sentence. The ignored
language involves the 42 month deadline on HHS authority
to issue the Regulations. That date came and went before the
Regulations were finalized. By permitting HHS to regulate
after the deadline, the courts below “rewrote” the statute
instead of applying the Plain Meaning Rule.

Under the Separation of Powers Doctrine, courts lack
power to rewrite statutes. Our nation’s founders considered
and expressly rejected the idea that Judges join with the
Executive in a “Council of Revision”. Brief of Senators Robert
C. Byrd, Daniel Patrick Moynihan and Carl Levin as Amici
Curiae in Support of Appellees 9-10 in Clinton v. City of New
York (Docket No. 97-1374).

Section 264(c)(1) specifically and unambiguously limited
the authority of HHS to promulgate final regulations to a date
that is “NOT LATER THAN THE DATE that is 42 months after
the date of the enactment of this Act.” ® Issuing the Regulations
after that date conflicted with § 264(c)(1). Additional legislation
was required for HHS to have issued final regulations after
February 21, 2000. Congress did not enact any extension. It is
not ambiguous as to whether § 264(c)(1) required “proposed”
or “final” regulations by the deadline. The plain meanings of
“final’ and “not later than the date that is 42 months .. .” are
unmistakable. The Secretary was not directed to promulgate
PROPOSED regulations by that date. Section 264(c)(1) directed
the Secretary to promulgate FINAL regulations by the specified
date. The adjective “final” modifies the noun “regulations”.
This eliminates the possibility of having an implied

8. Section 264(c)(1) (emphasis added). This is a date certain once HIPAA
was enacted. That date is not subject to the discretion of the Secretary of HHS.

12

modification of the noun “regulations” by the adjective
“proposed”. “Final” means “not to be altered or undone”.
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary of the English
Language - Unabridged 851 (P. Gove ed. 1993).

When § 264(c)(1) is analyzed, the words “not later than”
are not ambiguous. They are an absolute bar to HHS action
after that date. Under the Constitution’s first clause, legislative
power is vested in Congress. This means that Congress alone
“writes” the laws - subject only to a Presidential veto. A flexible
interpretation of the words “not later than” would rewrite their
apparent meaning.

The distinction between “final” and “proposed”
regulations is found in the statement accompanying the release
of the Regulations in December of 2000: “As the Congress did
not enact legislation regarding the privacy of [ITHI] prior to
August 21, 1999, HHS published proposed rules setting forth
such standards on November 3, 1999, 64 Fed. Reg. 59918, and
is now publishing the mandated final regulation.” 65 Fed.
Reg. at 82470 (emphasis added). This lane usage shows that
HHS understood that “final regulations” h-.u not existed before
December 2000.

The “Plain Meaning Rule” is one of several canons of
construction applied by courts to determine the meaning of
legislation. Courts turn to this canon before others. Connecticut
National Bank v. Germain, 503 U.S. 249, 253-54 (1992) (“We have
stated time and again that courts must presume that a
legislature says in a statute what it means and means in a
statute what it says there . .. When the words of a statute are
unambiguous, then, this first canon is also the last: ‘judicial
inquiry is complete.) (Thomas, J.) (internal citations omitted).
Legislators are “ presumed to know the meaning of words and
the rules of grammar.” United States v. Goldenberg, 168 U.S. 95,
102-03 (1897). The time to promulgate final regulations had
lapsed. It could not have been extended without new
legislation.

Chief Justice Taft aptly articulated the principle that judges
are not to exercise legislative power. He said:

it is a breach of the national fundamental law if
Congress gives up its legislative power and

13

transfers it to the President, or to the judicial
branch, or if by law it attempts to invest itself or its
members with either executive power or judicial
power.
].W. Hampton, Jr., & Co. v. United States, 276 U.S. 394, 406 (1928).
The Judicial Branch does not legislate. A court must apply
the law as written and bicamerally passed by Congress and
approved by the President. Clinton, 524 US. at 448. The courts
below had no authority to elirninate “not later than the date
that is 42 months after the date of the enactment of this Act”.
The courts had acted outside of Article III and allowed HHS
to issue the Regulations ultra vires.
IV. The Separation Of Powers Doctrine And The Execution
Clause Prevent HHS From Arguing A Construction Of
§ 264(c) That Cortradicts Its Plain Meaning
Because HHS was powerless to act unless it ignored the
42 month deadline, it must argue that the deadline should be
eliminated. HHS has taken this position elsewhere. Association
of American Physicians and Surgeons, Inc. v. United States
Department of Health and Human Services, 23 (Civ. Action No.
H 01-2963) (SL) (S.D. Tex. June 14, 2002). HHS, like the courts,
must defer to the law enacted by Congress and the President.
Except for the President's ability to veto and to recommend
legislation, the Executive Branch has no role in the legislative
process. Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579,
587 (Black, J.) (1952) and 655 (Jackson, J., concurring). It may
not rewrite, through interpretation and advocacy, words
agreed to by the Senate, the House and the President. Allowing
HHS to promulgate regulations or to present an argument that
ignores a statute’s plain meaning undermines the deference
due a coordinate branch of government and gives the
Executive Branch power to make law.’

9. When the Secretary performed her duty, her actions could not have
reached beyond the statute that created that authority. Chadha, 462 U.S. at
953-54 n.16 and accompanying text; See also Steven F. Huefner, The Supreme
Court's Avoidance of the NonDelegation Doctrine in Clinton v. City of New York:
More than “A Dime’s Worth of Difference”, 49 Catholic Univ. L. Rev. 337, 404
(2000).

14

To have force of law, Congress must have enacted the
Regulations as new legislation or have ratified the Regulations
through new legislation.’ Post-HIPAA legislation did neither.
Ratification must be explicit. It may not be implied.

Implied ratification of agency or executive action creates
a dispensing power and allows an agency or department to
pick and choose which statutes to faithfully execute. It turns
rulemaking on its head - having agency or executive actions
control legislation instead of being controlled by legislation.
The doctrine has no support in the Constitution. It asserts a
principle which would be clothing the President and executive
departments and independent agencies with “a power entirely
to control the legislation of [C]ongress and paralyze the
administration of justice.” Kendall v. United States ex rel. Stokes,
12 Pet. (37 U.S.) 524, 613 (1838) (The Court firmly rejected the
contention that the President's duty “to see the laws faithfully
executed, implies a power to forbid their execution”).
Allowing HHS to ignore the time constraint on issuing final
regulations is the equivalent of empowering HHS to forbid
execution of a statute. So is allowing HHS to argue that the
constraint should be ignored.

Even if issuing the Regulations is viewed as “interstitial
lawmaking”, it is impermissible. The Supreme Court has long
allowed the practice of interstitial lawmaking. Wayman v.
Southard, 10 Wheat. (23 U.S.) 1, 43 (1825) (Marshall, J.).
However, the Court has not allowed interstitial regulations to
conflict with the authority provided by statute. More than a
century ago, the Court struck down an order of the Secretary
of the Navy that directed that a particular training vessel was

not to be considered “at sea” in connection with an officer’s

compensation for sea service. According to the Court, the
Secretary did not have authority to declare something as “shore
duty” that the statute requires the Navy to treat as “sea duty”.

10. Although Congress could have extended the time for HHS to issue
the “final regulations”, it failed to do so.

11. Additionally, Congress “may not ‘invest itself or its Members with
either executive power or judicial power.’” See Metropolitan Washington
Airports Authority v. Citizens for the Abatement of Aircraft Noise, Inc., 501 U.S.
252, 274 (1991); see also Hampton, 276 U.S. at 406.

1 heaalce a sal ira Sor kik ,

15

The Court declared that the Secretary only had authority to
“establish regulations in execution of, or supplementary to,
but not in conflict with, the statutes defining his powers or
conferring rights upon others.” United States v. Symonds,
120 U.S. 46, 48-49 (1887) (emphasis added). Finalizing the
Regulations on a date after February 21, 2000 is in direct conflict
with the words of § 264(c)(1) of HIPAA and must be struck
down.

To the extent that Brock v. Pierce County, 476 U.S. 253 (1986)
and its progeny,” suggest that a Congressionally imposed
deadline on agency or executive authority is flexible, those
cases ignore Symonds and Kendall and should be distinguished
or overruled.

V. Congress Defectively Delegated Authority To HHS

The principle that Congress may only delegate power it
received from the People adds a fourth component to the three-
pronged “intelligible principles” test. It is based on two
underlying concepts. First, the federal government is one of
enumerated powers. Second, a principal may not delegate
authority it lacks.

A. The 104 Congress Cannot Delegate Its Authority

Beyond The End Of Its Own Term

Since our nation’s first days, “[e]very law enacted by
Congress must be based on one or more of its powers
enumerated in the Constitution.” United States v. Morrison,
529 U.S. 598, 607 (2000); McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat.
(17 U.S.) 316, 405 (1819). Those powers are constrained by the
Constitution’s procedural requirements, see, e.g., U.S. Const.
art. I, § 7, cl.2, and substantive requirements, see, e.g.,
U.S. Const. art. I, § 9. In this case, another constraint is the
temporal limit on the Congressional franchise.

The President and members of the Senate and members
of the House of Representatives represent different geographic
constituencies, have different modes of election, and have
different requirements for holding office. U.S. Const. art. I,

12. See, e.g., United States v. Montalvo-Murillo, 495 U.S. 711 (1990);
United States v. James Daniel Good Real Property, 510 U.S. 43 (1993); Regions
Hospital v. Shalala, 522 U.S. 448 (1998); and Barnhart v. Peabody Coal Co.,
__ US. __ , 123 S. Ct. 748 (2003).

16

§§ 2 & 3, US. Const. art. I, § 1 and U.S. Const. amend. XVII.
The Constitution further diffuses power by limiting the terms
of the President and members of the Senate and House of
Representatives and by making those terms of different
lengths, i.e. they have different temporal mandates. Senators
are elected for six years. U.S. Const. art. I, § 3, cls.1&2 and
U.S. Const. amend. XVII. The President is elected for four years.
U.S. Const. art. II, § 1, cl.1. Members of the House of

— Representatives are elected for two years. U.S. Const. art. I,
§ 2, cl.1. The authority of each Representative, each Senator
and the President does not extend beyond the expiration
of his or her term in office, respectively.’° Any extension
of authority beyond the end of those terms would
unconstitutionally transfer from the People the power of the
people to choose their own representatives.'* One commentator
characterized the holding of elective offices as a “temporary
lease” from the nation’s citizens. Alan B. Morrison, A Non-
Power Looks at Separation of Powers, 79 Geo. L.J. 281, 282 (1990).
Expressed in real estate terms, the Constitution does not allow
“holdovers”. ;

When Congress “delegates” its power to “make law” ”,
the delegation mus* ‘ccur before the Congressional term ends,
i.e. the end of the term for which the House members are
elected. The reasoning is simple. A principal may delegate to
its agent only the authority within its possession. A principal
may not delegate authority that it does not have. Each House
and Senate member loses all authority from his or her

13. See Joseph Story, Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States
(Carolina Academic Press) Book III § 263.
14. George Washington said:
The power under the Constitution will always be in the
People. It is entrusted for certain defined purposes, and for a
certain limited period, to representatives of their own chusing; and
whenever it is executed contrary to their Interest, or not
agreeable to their wishes, their Servants can, and undoubtedly
will be, recalled.
Thornton, 514 U.S. at 814 n.26 (emphasis added) (internal citations omitted).
15. The power to “make law” stands in contrast to the power to
“fill-in details” or otherwise “execute” legislation. See Loving v. United States,
517 U.S. 748, 771 (1996) (Kennedy, J.).

17

constituents at term-end. Consequently, the end of a
Congressional term ends subsequent legislative actions by that
Congress. Similarly, the President has no authority to sign or
veto legislation once his or her term expires. If Congress, as
principal, cannot exercise its legislative power, then an agent
of that Congress may not exercise that power.

Section 264(c) attempts an impermissible delegation of the
power to legislate beyond the end of the Congressional term.
Rulemaking authority under § 264(c) was not permitted to
occur upon or even immediately after enactment. Rather, it
was deferred until 36 months after enactment of HIPAA.
Indeed, rulemaking would not have occurred if Congress had
enacted health privacy legislation within 36 months. Once the
105" Congress began in January 1997, the 104" Congress had
no power. After that date, the 104 Congress had no power to
legislate with respect to the standards for the privacy of
IIHI or for anything else. Consequently, the agent of the
104" Congress, HHS, lacked that power as well.

B. Congress Provided No Policy or Boundary to Limit

HHS Authority

Under the “intelligible principles” test, it is
“constitutionally sufficient if Congress clearly delineates the
general policy, the public agency which is to apply it, and the
boundaries of this delegated authority.” Mistretta v. United
States, 488 U.S. 361, 372-73 (1989) quoting American Power
& Light Co. v. S.E.C., 329 U.S. 90, 105 (1946). In addition, a
delegation is always subject to the legislation that authorized
it. Chadha, 462 U.S. at 953-54 n.16.

It has been suggested that delegation to administrative
agencies leaves a gaping hole in the Constitution's balanced
structure of checks and balances because agencies are prone
to be arbitrary and unaccountable. “The nondelegation
doctrine in this scenario is crucial to liberty, because it prohibits
general lawmaking from occurring ina structure both capable
of arbitrary action and removed from the national scrutiny to
which both Congress and the President are exposed by the
constitutional structure.” Hamilton, 20 Cardozo L. Rev. at 821.

18

Section 264(c) fails to meet two of the three “intelligible
principle” criteria. First, there is no clearly delineated general
policy. Second, there is no boundary on the delegated authority.

Neither the general policy statement contained in the
Preamble to HIPAA nor the policy statement articulated as
§ 261 of the Administrative Simplification provisions of HIPAA
“clearly delineates” a general policy that is applicable to the
privacy of IIHI.

First, HIPAA’s Preamble provides that HIPAA is:

[a]Jn act to amend the Internal Revenue Code of
1986 to improve portability and continuity of health
insurance coverage in the group and individual
markets, to combat waste, fraud, and abuse in
health insurance and health care delivery, to
promote the use of medical savings accounts, to
improve access to long-term care services and
coverage, to simplify the administration of health
insurance, and for other purposes.

110 Stat. at 1936. Privacy of IIFil is not referable to any of the

specified purposes.

The Administrative Simplification provisions comprise
subtitle F of HIPAA. The first section, § 261, contains a
statement of the purpose of subtitle F. 110 Stat. at 2021 (not
codified but appears at 42 U.S.C. § 1320d note).

The argument that “standards with respect to the privacy
of ITHI” is encompassed by the language appearing at the end
of § 261 (i.e. “through the establishment of standards and
requirements for the electronic transmission of certain health
information”) is untenable. A fair reading of that language
points to § 1173, which is entitled “STANDARDS TO ENABLE
ELECTRONIC EXCHANGE?” . It does not point to § 264, which
is entitled “RECOMMENDATIONS WITH RESPECT
TO PRIVACY OF CERTAIN HEALTH INFORMATION.”
Section 264 directed the Secretary of HHS to make
recommendations. It did not direct the Secretary to establish
any standard or requirement with respect to privacy of ITHI
upon enactment. The only authority to issue such standards
was contingent authority if Congress failed to enact legislation.
The policy and purpose with respect to privacy of ITHI were

19

to be determined by later legislation. HIPAA contained no
delineation of a policy or purpose with respect to privacy of
ITHI.

Although, the Fourth Circuit concluded these provisions
amount to a statement of “general policy”, Joint Appendix of
Petition at 8-9, the statute and Regulations do not support this
conclusion. First, neither the patient nor a surrogate designated
by the patient is required as a control or check point to limit
information transfer. Second, HIPAA contains no private right
of action for patients to protect themselves. Third, HIPAA and
the Regulations do not necessarily apply to individuals and
entities that wrongfully obtain ITHI. Fourth, HHS has created -
exceptions to the consent and authorization requirements for
transactions involving payment, treatment and healthcare
operations and HHS could conceivably create further
exceptions in the future. Fifth, the Regulations do not apply
to all of a patient's personal and medical information but only
to IIHI that is within the scope of § 1173. If privacy were truly
the policy, HHS would not have been able to lower the
confidentiality bar from that encompassed by the Hippocratic
Oath and practiced by physicians throughout our nation’s
history.

Section 264 provides no marker or check to determine
whether HHS has exceeded the authority authorized by
Congress. See Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414, 423-24 (1944);
Chadha, 462 U.S. at 953.

The phrase “shall address at least” is used both to list the
subjects of legislative recommendations to be submitted by
HHS and to list the subjects of rulemaking authority to be
delegated if Congress failed to pass legislation by the statutory
deadline. The use of that phrase removed all limits on HHS’s
authority. In A.L.A. Schechter Poultry Corporation v. United States,
the Supreme Court struck down, as overly broad, a delegation
that merely affected all industries. 295 U.S. 495 (1935). The
delegation in § 264(c) is much broader. Its impact is not limited
to the healthcare industry or even to all industries. It affects
everyone. Its impact is pervasive.

Congress omitted boundaries from § 264 which contains
a minimal set of subjects to be recommended to Congress and

20

a minimal set of subjects to be included in future regulations
in the event that Congress does not enact legislation in
connection with those recommendations by the specified
future date. Because the words “address at least” appear in
§ 264(b) and § 264(c)(1), there is nothing in § 264 to constrain
HHS rulemaking authority. There are only three subjects that
must be addressed. HHS was permitted to address an infinite
number of subjects.’° In Whitman v. American Trucking
Associations, Inc., the Supreme Court said, “[t]he very choice
of which portion of the power to exercise - that is to say, the
prescription of the standard that Congress had omitted -
would itself be an exercise of the forbidden legislative
authority.” 531 U.S. 457, 473 (2001) (Scalia, J.). HHS has
exercised such forbidden legislative authority.

CONCLUSION

Under the Constitution, the power to make the law rests
squarely in the hands of Congress. Congress may not
voluntarily relinquish its basic duty - to determine what the
law shall be. Section 264 of HIPAA took that role from Congress
and handed it to HHS. Certiorari is warranted to protect
Congress from itself.

Because compliance with the Regulations has already
altered the nature of medical practice, action by the Court is
needed now and not later. Unless the Court grants the petition
and declares § 264 unconstitutional on the merits, patients will
lose their right to keep their medica! records confidential.
Whether a single electronic medical record or a million such
records is at issue, once confidentiality is lost, nothing can be
done to restore it. Therefore, the Court should address the
constitutionality of § 264 at this time.

16. To clarify this point, we assume arguendo that § 264 dealt with the
Department of Agriculture (“DoA”) and the three subjects were regulations
concerning apples, bananas and celery. Under the construction adopted by
HHS and the courts below, DoA would be allowed to regulate those three
ites as well as an infinite number of other items (e.g., dates, eggplants,
figs, green beans, . .. zucchini) even if Congress and the President never
agreed to regulate any item that DoA ultimately regulated.

Respectfully submitted,

Davip P. FELSHER
Attorney for Amici Curiae
488 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10022
(212) 308-8505

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1857%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
