# Reply Brief — South Carolina Medical Ass'n v. Thompson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1857%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 981

## Text

Eee

/ nh ~~ Supreme Court, U.S.
(Ay) FILED
No. 03-114 OCT 1 - 2003

In The
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

¢

SOUTH CAROLINA MEDICAL ASSOCIATION, et ail.,

Petitioners,
v.

TOMMY G. THOMPSON, SECRETARY OF THE
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES, et al.,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fourth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONERS

+

TERRY E. RICHARDSON, JR.*

DANIEL S. HALTIWANGER

RICHARDSON, PATRICK, WESTBROOK
& BRICKMAN

P.O. Box 1368

Barnwell, South Carolina 29812

(803) 541-7850

RICHARD J. LAZARUS

GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY LAW
CENTER

600 New Jersey Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 662-9129

Counsel for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

—~-—
—

Tien ae .*

Koyo? Hoge a aE Gee ee OT ee ee ae el

FOE Wi ee ee he ee ey ae ee ge an ead ae ee ae ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hospital,
oie ft | Pe eee erereTer Teer Tee iri e ee

Investment Company Institute v. Camp, 401 U.S. 617

(ag) 2 re ere rere rr rer Tr errr er tT 7
National Broad. C. v. United States, 319 U.S. 190

CO eee ere rer eer Tere rrr re 5
Whitman v. American Trucking Ass’n, 531 U.S. 457

+ | Peeerererer re Teer etter er eee ete 2, 3, 4-5
Statutes and Regulations:
Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 7407-7409 ............... 3

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability
Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-191, 110 Stat.

ot eee er rere passim
eer rr rrr tee terre Terre Trt 8
SO ere rr re rer ere 6,7,8

Social Security Act, Title XI
DG r ee ie PROUD bn ns cece evunss ivcens 6,7
§ 1171(6), 42 US.C. § 1ISZ0d(@) ... ee veccccees 6
© UT7S, Gl USC. § TGR). ow ov ev cdcecenccves 4
§ 1173(a), 42 U.S.C. § 1320d-2(a)(1) ........... 6,7,8
§ 1173, 42 USC. § IS20d-2 note .... 2. eccsescces 6

(i)

sememee teeta |

Statutes and Regulations (continued): |

45 CFR. (2003) :
SIGGRD ccidcccteees ee eee 6-7 |
tL + er he ee 10

Miscellaneous:

65 Fed. Rew, SOROG GID) oc csc censnesasnsveenssds 9

67 Fed. Reg. SSZ26-S2 (GMD is civcsvenscninviesoss 10

(ii)

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

No. 03-114

SOUTH CAROLINA MEDICAL ASSOCIATION, et al.,
Petitioners,

V.

TOMMY G. THOMPSON, SECRETARY OF THE U.S.
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONERS

Respondents’ brief in opposition merely parrots the
opinion of the court of appeals below without making any
meaningful effort to answer the arguments set forth in the
petition explaining why the reasoning of that opinion is
multiply flawed. Accordingly, like the court of appeals,
respondents fundamentally misapprehend this Court's
nondelegation doctrine precedent and then misapply it to
the provisions of the Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), Pub. L. No. 104-191,
110 Stat. 1936 (1996), challenged in this case. So too,
respondents merely echo the court of appeals’ failure to
enforce Congress’s clear intent to confine the Secretary’s

y

rulemaking authority to promulgate medical privacy
standards to a series of specifically-listed electronic
transactions of medical records. Ignoring the plain
meaning of the statutory language that Congress actually
enacted, they propose in its place a sweeping claim of
inherent administrative agency authority to promulgate
any regulations that the Secretary can deem to be
“reasonably related” to statutory purposes.

Neither the nondelegation doctrine nor the plain
meaning of HIPAA, however, can be so blithely cast aside.
Respondents are no doubt correct that serious
nondelegation problems rarely arise. But the validity of
that threshold proposition does not detract from the very
serious constitutional problems created when, as here,
Congress plainly transgresses those boundaries. When,
moreover, the Secretary compounds Congress’s
constitutional error by promulgating sweeping medical
privacy rules that declare for the first time national
standards for disclosing the intimate details of a person’s
health, this Court should not condition plenary review on
the subsequent development of a circuit conflict. Such a
profound challenge to separation of powers’ principles on
a sensitive and fundamentally important issue of federal |
law warrants review without further postponement. |

1. Contrary to the respondents’ claim (Br. in Opp. 8), |
we do not contend that Congress cannot vest rulemaking
authority on subject matter that is “controversial.” We
repeat only what this Court has itself made recently clear,
which is that “the degree of agency discretion varies
according to the scope of the power congressionally
conferred” and that for “setting * * * standards that affect
the entire national economy,” such as the Secretary’s
medical privacy standards,” Congress “must provide
substantial guidance.” Whitman v. American Trucking
Ass'n, 531 U.S. 457, 475 (2001).

|

As described in the petition, HIPAA fails to provide
even the most minimal guidance, let alone the “substantial
guidance” constitutionally required. Respondents try
mightily to glean from the statute some relevant guidance,
but at the end of the day their efforts utterly fail for one
simple reason. No such statutory guidance exists within
the four corners of HIPAA. Completely absent from the
statute is even the most minimal guidance concerning
what factors should be considered in assessing the privacy
concerns implicated by particular medical records or what
factors should be relevant in assessing the social policy
objectives allegedly favoring disclosure of those records.

The brief in opposition, like the court of appeals
opinion, argues otherwise, but only by obfuscating the
essential distinction between Congress’s imposing some
outerbounds on the Secretary’s rulemaking authority with
the legislature’s failure to provide the requisite intelligible
principle for the exercise of that authority within those
bounds. The nondelegation doctrine is not satisfied by the
former without any regard to the latter. Indeed, were the
rule otherwise, the Clean Air Act provisions recently at
issue in American Trucking Ass’n, would have passed
constitutional muster on the ground that Congress had
instructed the Environmental Protection Agency to enact
“national ambient air quality standards” without any
additional guidance. But this Court’s opinion makes clear
that the Constitution does require more, which is why the
Court rejected the nondelegation doctrine challenge only
upon concluding that Congress had sufficiently cabined
EPA’s rulemaking authority by instructing that national
air quality standards must be set “at the level that is
‘requisite’ -- that is, not lower or higher than is necessary --
to protect the public health with an adequate margin of
safety.” 531 U.S. at 475-76.

The degree of congressional guidance necessary for the

4

establishment of national medical privacy standards must
be at least as great as that necessary for national ambient
air quality standards. Indeed, it is hard to imagine very
many social issues that touch upon the personal lives and
privacy of individual Americans as does the potential
disclosure of their medical records. Yet, as described in
the petition (Pet. 16-19), none of the HIPAA provisions
cited by the court of appeals (or the brief in opposition)
bears any direct relation to the Secretary’s exercise of
lawmaking in setting the medical privacy standards
challenged in this case. HIPAA’s statement of purpose to
“encourage, rather than discourage, the use of electronic
data transmission” (Br. in Opp. 9) provides no “substantial
guidance” on the content of the medical privacy rules, or
even purports directly to address the issue at all. Nor
does HIPAA’s provision that rules “must ‘be consistent
with the objective of reducing the administrative costs of
providing and paying for health care’” (Br. in Opp. 10,
guoting 42 U.S.C. §1320d-1(b)). Both these generic
legislative policy statements concern matters largely
incidental to the propriety of disclosure of individual
medical records. Neither remotely seeks to instruct the
Secretary regarding how to address the difficult and
complex privacy issues underlying the sweeping national
medical privacy standards ultimately promulgated.
Respondents ultimately seek defense (Br. in Opp. 10-
11) in the fact that this Court has previously rejected
nondelegation challenges to federal statutes that contain
only broadly-worded guidance to an agency for the
exercise of its delegated lawmaking authority. As this
Court made clear in American Trucking Ass’n, however,
there is no merit to respondents’ apparent assumption that
the Court applies a “one size fits all” approach in
nondelegation doctrine cases. “[T]he degree of agency
discretion that is acceptable varies according to the scope

5

of the power congressionally conferred.” 531 U.S. at 475.
For that reason, respondents’ reliance on the Court's
upholding of laws containing broad delegation of
lawmaking authority in other statutory contexts is entirely
misplaced.

But, in all events, even those other statutes purported
atleast to address the substantive factors to be considered
and offered some suggestion as to how the agency should
strike the balance between competing factors. Without
conceding that the “public convenience, interest, or
necessity” standard applicable to the Federal
Communications Commission (see National Broad. C. v.
United States, 319 U.S. 190, 215, 225 (1943)) would have
been sufficient to sustain a delegation of authority to the
Secretary to promulgate national medical privacy
standards, even that general standard offers far more of an
intelligible principle than does HIPAA, which provides no
standard applicable to privacy at all. Certainly, the
substantive criteria set forth by respondents (Br. in Opp.
11) from the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970,
instructing the agency to set a standard for toxic materials
“to the extent feasible” and capable of ensuring that “no
employee will suffer any impairment of health” provides
several orders of magnitude more guidance than does
HIPAA. The former statute addresses the substance of the
rules to be promulgated, describes the extent of protection
to be provided (guarding against “any impairment of
health”), and emphasizes the need for “feasible” limits.
HIPAA never offers any comparable guidance concerning
the extent to which personal privacy should be
safeguarded or how the relevant tradeoffs between
competing policy concerns should be considered and
determined.

The legislative record also makes clear that the absence
of any substantial guidance in HIPAA is no happenstance.

ae

6

As described in the petition (Pet. 11-14), Congress created
this extreme result in a failed effort to force its own
legislative hand on difficult policy issues that members of
Congress and the President all understood required such
substantial guidance. But, whatever the reasons for that
effort or its failure, they cannot cure or otherwise excuse
the fundamental constitutional defect thereby created
when the Secretary agreed to carry through the
congressional threat of providing no guidance at all.

2. Similarly lacking in merit is respondents’ defense of
the Secretary’s decision to promulgate medical privacy
standards applicable to all personal medical records
regardless of their form or method of transmission. As set
forth in the petition (Pet. 20-26), the relevant statutory
language in HIPAA Section 264(c)(1) expressly limits the
Secretary's standard setting authority “to the privacy of -
individually identifiable health information transmitted in
connection with the transactions described in section
1173(a) of the Social Security Act.” 42 U.S.C. § 1320d-2
note. Section 1173(a) of the Social Security Act in turn
describes in detail nine specific transactions and limits the
Secretary’s rulemaking authority to the setting of
standards “to enable health information to be exchanged
electronically.” 42 U.S.C § 1320d-2(a)(1). An unbridgeable
gulf, therefore, exists between the plain meaning of the
statutory language and the Secretary’s decision in the final
regulations to issue privacy standards applicable to
personal medical records “transmitted or maintained in
any ... form or medium” 45 C.F.R. § 160.103 (2003).

Here too respondents repeat (Br. in Opp. 13) the court
of appeals’ error that the Secretary’s action can be
sustained because HIPAA defines “health information” for
use throughout the statute as including “any information,
whether oral or recorded in any form or medium.” 42
U.S.C. § 1320d(4). The short answer, of course, is that

7

Section 264(c)(1)’s conferral of rulemaking authority on the
Secretary does not refer simply to “health information”
but instead only to “health information transmitted in
connection with the transactions described in section
1173(a) of the Social Security Act.”

Respondents alternatively seek to avoid HIPAA’s plain
meaning by offering for the first time their own
construction of the statutory reference to “health
information transmitted ‘in connection with’ the
transactions described in Section 1173.” Br. in Opp. 14.
According to respondents (id.), “in connection with”
means “related in some way to” the statutorily specified
transactions. We believe that “in connection with” means
just what it says, which is that the health information must
be transmitted in connection with one of the electronic
transactions referred to in the statute. Respondents
plairny cannot substitute their own preferred language for
that actually appearing in HIPAA. Nor can their litigating
counsel in any event proffer a new interpretation before
this Court for the first time and claim entitlement to
judicial deference. See Investment Company Institute v.
Camp, 401 U.S. 617, 628 (1971) ("Congress has delegated to
the administrative official and not to appellate counsel the
responsibility for elaborating and enforcing statutory
commands."); Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hospital, 488
U.S. 204, 212 (1988).

Without a doubt, however, respondents’ most
sweeping claim is their embracing of the court of appeals’
ruling that the Secretary possesses inherent authority to
enact any regulations that the Secretary deems are
“reasonably related to the larger purposes of HIPAA.’”
Br. in Opp. 14, quoting Pet. App. Al4. No agency,
however, possesses any such inherent rulemaking
authority. It cannot be gainsaid that the Secretary’s
rulemaking authority is strictly confined to that expressly

8

conferred upon the Secretary by Congress. With regard to
the medical privacy standards at issue in this case,
moreover, the clear beginning and end of the Secretary’s
authority is that provided for by HIPAA Section 264(c)(1).
No broader inherent rulemaking authority exists that
permits the Secretary to ignore Section 264(c)(1)’s
limitation on the Secretary’s rulemaking authority to
promulgate medical privacy standards.

Finally, respondents do not even try to answer the
petition’s showing (Pet. 22) that a comparison of the
language of Section 264(c)(1) to Section 264(a) makes plain
the deliberateness of the narrow rulemaking authority set
forth in Section 264(c)(1). In Section 264(a), Congress did
not similarly limit the Secretary’s authority in describing
the scope of recommendations the Secretary should make
to Congress on medical privacy standards. Nor do
respondents make any effort to dispute the petition’s
further showing (Pet. 22-23) that the legislative record
reveals precisely why Congress made that policy decision
to limit the rulemaking authority to the nine transactions
specified in Section 1173(a): Congress was otherwise
promoting the electronic transmissions of those nine
transactions by establishing uniform standards and
therefore was aware of the concomitant need for some
interim rulemaking authority to establish medical privacy
standards for them.

Respondents offer no answer to the petition in any of
these respects because there is no effective response to be
made. The simple truth is that Congress conferred no
authority on the Secretary to promulgate sweeping
medical privacy standards applicable to all personal
medical records. The Secretary understood as much in
virtually all aspects of the Secretary’s implementation of
HIPAA, butas the previous Administration was in its final
days, the Secretary unilaterally decided to seize the last

9

remaining opportunity to impose the kinds of broad
standards that the Secretary concluded were warranted,
regardless of the existence of the statutory authority to do
so. Under our Constitution, however, the Secretary
possesses no such unilateral lawmaking authority,
whether or not the Secretary can argue that it is
“reasonably related” to a statute’s “larger purposes.”

3. Under this Court's rules, certiorari is warranted only
| for “compelling reasons.” S. Ct R. 10. Among the
| compelling reasons set forth by the Court's rule is that a
federal court of appeals “has decided an important
question of federal law that has not been, but should be,
settled by this Court.” Id. For the reasons set forth in the
petition (Pet. 26-29), none of which respondents contest,
the lawfulness of the Secretary’s medical privacy
standards present just such an important question of
federal law. As described by the Secretary herself, these
rules “establish[], for the first time, a set of basic national
privacy standards” and the Secretary’s rules “are likely the
largest single federal initiative to protect privacy.” 65 Fed.
Reg. 82468. At this very moment, the Secretary’s
standards are requiring thousands of medical providers to
change dramatically their busimess practices and
disclosure policies, thereby affecting the rights of millions
of Americans on core matters of personal privacy.

The absence of any legislative authority for these
standards, let alone the constitutionally-required
substantial congressional guidance for the exercise of such
authority, is no mere technical deficiency. With regard to
medical privacy standards in particular, there is
heightened reason to be wary of executive branch
usurpation of lawmaking authority in the absence of
legislation enacted by the democratically elected
repr sentatives. | As underscored by the disclosure
policies contained within the Secretary’s standards, which

10

allow in many circumstances for disclosure of personal
medical information to government agencies, including
law enforcement officers (see 45 C.F.R. § 164.512, 67 Fed.
Reg. 53226-32 (2002)), this is an area of law where the need
to adhere to the Framers’ careful design of lawmaking
checks and balances is absolutely essential. This is not
therefore the kind of case wherein it is proper to indulge
the normal practice of postponing further review until the
lower courts have the opportunity to consider further the
legal issues herein presented.

KKKKKE

For the foregoing reasons and those set forth in the
petition, it is respectfully submitted that the petition for a
writ of certiorari should be granted.

TERRY E. RICHARDSON, JR.*

DANIEL S. HALTIWANGER

RICHARDSON, PATRICK, WESTBROOK &
BRICKMAN

P.O. Box 1368

BARNWELL, SOUTH CAROLINA 29812

(803) 541-7850

RICHARD J. LAZARUS

GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY
LAW CENTER

600 NEW JERSEY AVE., N.W.

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

(202) 662-9129

Counsel for Petitioners
* Counsel of Record

September 2003

ea

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1857%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
