# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kottschade v. City of Rochester

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1733%3A01

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 825

## Text

» nergy aa. U.S.
No. (9.218 4 8 JUN 19 2003

* In The

Supreme Court of the United States

FRANKLIN P. KOTTSCHADE,

Petitioner,
v.

CITY OF ROCHESTER,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ Of Certiorari To
The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DUANE J. DESIDERIO MICHAEL M. BERGER

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF . Record
HOME BUILDERS IDEON KANNER
1201 15" Street, NW BERGER & NORTON

12121 Wilshire Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 979-2500

Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 266-8146

GEORGE O. LUDCKE
KELLY & BERENS, P.A.
80 SOUTH 8™ STREET
MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55402
(612) 349-6171

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Should this Court resolve the conflict between its
decisions in Williamson County Reg. Plan. Comm'n v.
Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985), and City of
Chicago v. International College of Surgeons, 522 U.S.
156 (1997)? The former requires landowners seeking
compensation for regulatory taking of property to sue in
the state courts and prohibits them from suing in U.S.
District Court. However, the latter simultaneously
grants municipal defendants in such cases the absolute
right to remove them to U.S. District Courts — even
though (a) removal is authorized by 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a)
only if the plaintiff could have filed suit in federal court
in the first instance which, under Williamson County,
landowners may not; and even though (b) the
combination of Williamson County and City of Chicago
gives municipal defendants a veto power over the
plaintiff's 7th Amendment right to a jury trial under City
of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. 687 (1999).

The Court of Appeals agreed with Petitioner that this
situation represents an "anomalous. . . gap in Supreme
Court jurisprudence," but declined to address it,
explicitly concluding that how to resolve the conflict "is
for the Supreme Court to say, not us."

2. When a city openly defies this Court's holding in Dolan
v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994), by (1) imposing
onerous conditions on a land use approval that are
grossly disproportional to the burdens the proposed
project will create, and (2) flatly refusing its duty to
show any proportionality, has the landowner stated a
claim on which relief can be granted by a U.S. District
Court?

ee A ee ee Ra a GS

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESEN TED Ms... coiccsncccvsvesssnsssveseooseitorssvnbesonesaes i
OPINIONS BELOW, .nisscissvssisssvsninnsansontiesionsuoeabeseijenintasdonadoonns 1
SURES TION.......esssiserrsooobecetren Oiservsescveniassepenriansevaebsideens ]
CONSTITUTIONAL AND ;

" STATUTORY PROV Ta nscvinsviscosciviceesssssseretanseveaptunvennens 2
STATEMENT OF TEGR CORB scsesccicsvcsevinccosstensasevtserngunncsvicnve 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT...........cceeeeeeeeeeees 4
I. THE CONUNDRUM TO BE RESOLVED................ 4

A. Do State Or Federal Courts Have Initial (Or Sole)
Jurisdiction Over Regulatory Taking Claims Under
The 5th Amendment? And Who Decides?................ +

B. Confusion And Unfairness Of "Catch-22" Proportions
Abound In The Wake Of Two Conflicting Decisions
Freee FIG COUR, os cians idversveessucsiusnenevnpaniiaeartiiniinss 5

C. The Unfairness And Confusion Created By This
Jurisdictional Conflict Are Widely Recognized......... 6

II. THERE IS DIRECT CONFLICT BETWEEN TWO
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT: WILLIAMSON COUNTY
PRECLUDES PROPERTY OWNERS FROM SUING IN

FEDERAL COURT FOR 5TH AMENDMENT REDRESS,
WHILE CITY OF CHICAGO WELCOMES MUNICIPAL
DEFENDANTS TO REMOVE THE SAME CASES TO

ee ee Se ee See, ee es eee oe ee

ill

FEDERAL COURT. THEY CANNOT OPERATE
IIIS Shieh thi Nahi tadtahieatcis ics crscdndsssnsocisensceare: 7

II]. EVEN BEFORE THIS COURT ISSUED ITS SECOND —
CONFLICTING — OPINION, LOWER COURTS HAD
MADE A HASH OF A RULE THIS COURT DESIGNED
AS "NOT YET RIPE FOR FEDERAL COURT,"
TURNING IT INTO A RULE OF "NOT EVER IN
INI igi alsscocsbhcculcdavickecuceksidiecevbonosace, 10

A. The Premise Of Williamson County Was That Property
Owners Would Be Able To Obtain A Federal Court
Ruling On The Merits Of Their Regulatory Taking
Claims After They First "Ripened" Their Cases In State
LARS CBOE tet Te CONS a 10

B. Lower Courts Have Misused Williamson County As A
Device To Prevent Property Owners — Alone Among
Citizens — From Litigating Federal Constitutional
Ie UR CE csc ssseasececsasinsscessieavessecsuces 14

1. Property Owners Are The Only Victims Of Bill Of
Rights Violations Who Are Barred From Seeking
Redress In Federal Court | ............s:sec...ccccssssssooeess 14

2. Doctrines Of Claim And Issue Preclusion Have Been
Misemployed By Lower Courts To Undercut
Williamson County's "Ripening" Process. ........... 17

C. With Respect, There Is A Flaw At The Core Of
Williamson County That Explains The Lower Court
Confusion: Its Assumption That A 5th Amendment
Taking Without Just Compensation Is Not Complete
Until A State Court Certifies That The Local Agency
ae eck oc ti Sons vin ps ens causid eevee 19

IV.

iV

D. Commentators Have Vied With Each Other Devising
Ways To Disparage The Quagmire The Lower Courts
Have Created In Their Applications Of Williamson
SI, echsisciisisiietincsdenisiebarcasaiarepmsmnamaadubaiatiudcaieed 23

AS A DIRECT RESULT OF LOWER COURT:
MISUSE OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, AND NOW
THEIR DISREGARD OF CITY OF CHICAGO,
PROPERTY OWNERS IN 5TH AMENDMENT
TAKING CASES HAVE NOT ONLY BEEN DENIED
ACCESS TO FEDERAL COURTS TO PURSUE
FEDERAL REMEDIES UNDER 42 U.S.C. § 1983, BUT -
ALSO DENIED THE 7TH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO A
JURY GUARANTEED BY THIS COURT'S CITY OF
DEI ET CG E icctcise.cihstetcredisteeesnieiearviniotienis 26

A. The Williamson County Rule, As Applied By The
Lower Courts, Denies Property Owners The Protection
Ebene Sy 42 U.S.C, G TFBS... ..ncscsccsossevssnssesiosenss 27

B. The Lower Courts' Application Of Williamson County

And Disregard Of City Of Chicago Denies Property
Owners Their 7th Amendment Right To A Jury Trial
Ce Cr Ge I ovsieinivcck incsccascnresecendsestonveniavens 29

AIO AGT -cicicrnisichinigns ninseninctaaaiciomaddaenits ae ee ome 29

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
CASES
Anderson v. Charter Township of Ypsilanti,

DGG FSA GBT CE Cie, TOD sss ssecesstcsevcccecddsevscosescssioancis 5
Barbian v. Panagis, 694 F.2d 476 (7" Cir. 1982)......000.. 11
Beck v. City of Pittsburgh, 89 F.3d 966 (3d Cir. 1996),

cert denied, 117 S.Ct. 1086 (1997)... ehcdashiaihaains 16
Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 (1946). ......ccccccccescesscseeees 4,14
Berkley v. Common Council, 63 F.3d 295

oh Oe 15
Burnett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 42 (1984) ooo.cccccccccccsceseeeee. a?
Chicago B.&Q.R. Co. v. Chicago,

OEMs ES OT Piviischessinithboviesiinsansaiaassdkabedscinaaaiiounes 19
City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507 (1997) .......ccccc00e. 15
City of Chicago v. International College of Surgeons,

Pa PG CRITE Betiitiniceidicniemnbaieiadtiac acto aie passim
City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes,

ON Si SE Ee E inretnssencseiiiblanndds snasuncls aciaeas passim
City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc.

FF Wa RE Fi icietaccicistiniiebidncitdaudintinGuicconsiceccenines 15
County of Allegheny v. Frank Mashuda Co.,

Ce eaiistbsihnceienkisincteindistiokiciicisieicius 16

v1

Cumberland Farms v. Town of Groton, 808 A.2d 1107

CEERI: TIIIIE D sccisisssacoviactspecininjarciaeenatel aaa 29
Dodd v. Hood River County, 59 F.3d 852

FP Che: SI ici icant 24
Dodd v. Hood River County, 136 F.3d 12i9

("Cle TI Sink ccsaccccdiaipeansen a eeaeaeees 17
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994) .......... i, 1,14
England v. Louisiana State Bd. of Medical Examiners,

S75 US, QE isis ccsser entertain 5, 14, 18
Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131 (1988)... 21, 23, 28

Fields v. Sarasota-Manatee Airport Auth.,
O53 F.20 1200-ChT COe FO ccieccotertnein 23

First Assembly of God v. Collier County, 20 F.3d 419
CE E* Che, TON a. csiccsssssecsssmmctintonslnananannreaaeaala 15

Fountain v. Metro Atlanta Rapid Transit Auth.,
G78 P28 WBE LUE Ce Tia iscccscecttsennntne 11

Gares v. Willingboro Township, 90 F.3d 720
(DG CAE, SPI xsiccsvvcecsoseveigesuscsiisumensemeunbiipnestantenanatancieal 16

Golden State Transit Corp. v. City of Los Angeles,
GOS EB. US CII ivcicccsnsicasncineceisninteliiviibeiieinatanntind 28

Gonzalez v. Ysleta Indep. School Dist., 996 F.2d 745
CF? CW.. POI va siccccrocceimrerchaintionsaamaaaaeene 16

Vil

Gordon v. City of Warren, 579 F.2d 386

rr ne 11
Hammond v. County of Madera, 859 F.2d 797

By SI ie tesicile eccentric et oo 16
Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477 (1994) .....cccccceceseeeeeeee 27
Hernandez v. Lafayette, 643 F.2d 1188

gi | tEREAR eto 11
Inyo County v. Paiute-Shoshone Indians,

Se A CHIE I cshinssetbcdtcieadsiebaetrenendsictnesnbsatiai 27
Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, 522 U.S. 75 (1997) ........00.- 27
Kalina v. Fletcher, 522 U.S. 118 (1997)........cccccceeseeeeee 27
Lake Country Estates v. Tahoe Reg. Plan. Agency,

et SEE OF WF irchnnnssenitnibicaadibianibcaabindelicainatciiascnse 28
Larkin v. Grendel's Den, 459 U.S. 116 (1982)...........002. 15
Lynch v. Household Fin. Corp., 405 U.S. 538 (1972) .....27
Martino v. Santa Clara Valley Water Dist.,

A I Ee Rs aseicscsceccnenionsncnnsnicbonndetas 11
Mitchum v. Foster, 407 U.S. 225 (1972) ......ccccceeceees 27, 28

Monell v. Department of Social Servs.,
FP rh WERE rin actiesddensinandntsbccsupnenninttanshencstsniaks 27

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961) .........:..cccccceeees 21,27

Nemmers v. City of Dubuque, 764 F.2d 502
a ie uaanes 11

Nevada Dept. of Human Resources v. Hibbs,
SD atte BOTs CED cermncsveiernaneiniictteninnnncsninesiniiil 19-20

Palomar Mobilehome Park Assn. v. City of San Marcos,
te | ge | REE aereencned Weiner nN UNeEe 17

Patsy v. Florida Board of Regents,
SF Bes Se intatintenialaadaipipanititanianiintanniennticienens 28

Peduto v. City of North Wildwood, 878 F.2d 725
Ce Gi. Re scansentinencetehisiisiniaiadnncedinccciionsebicebeabaitiantigians 17

Rainey Brothers Constr. Co., Inc. v. Memphis & Shelby County
Bd. of Adjustment, 967 F. Supp. 998 (W.D. Tenn. 1997),
aff'd, 178 F.3d 1295 (6" Cir. 1999) (table)................00+ 17

Rau v. City of Garden Plain,
76 F.Supp.2d 1173 (D. Kans. 1999) ..............csscsssccsssseees 6

Reahard v. Lee County, 30 F.3d 1412
Lb eg RRCRRIEE eS a elaere arerenene renee ener: 5, 10

Richardson v. Leeds Police Dept., 71 F.3d 801
Lg 3. SR ENROR SCE fark a Laneane wee 15

Roma Constr. Co. v. aRusso, 96 F.3d 566
tS | BERR SES cee errr is Gore 16

Sandy Creek Investors, Ltd. v. City of Jonestown,
Oe Oe ee icc ec 5

IX
Screws v. United States, 325 U.S. 91 (1945) ....cccccccccccece. 21

Simmons v. City of stein 947 F.2d 1642
EGRESS SEs yn Se Rae 16

Turner v. Upton County, 915 F.2d 133 (5" Cir. 1990)... 16

Vigilante v. Village of Wilmette,

88 F.Supp.2d 888 (N.D. Ill. 2000) oo... cccccccccecceceeeeeeees 6
Wilcox v. Consolidated Gas Co., 212 U.S. 19 (1909)......14
Wilkinson v. Pitkin County Bd. of Comm'rs,

142 F.3d 1319 (10 Cir. 1998).........:.sesscsecccsssessseee 17, 18
Will v. Michigan Dept. of Police, 491 U.S. 58 (1989).....19
Williamson County Reg. Plan. Comm'n vy.

Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985)......0..ccccccccceeee passim
Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261 (1985)........cccccccccceseeseeees 23

Young v. American Mini Theatres,
a aii hae idicitiscstieteensscetebaivadcroneceroiae 15

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
EGER PONE ae Ok Ee 2, 7-8

I 2

Th schitisckinehancinotenebbichckcndeovadecseveneiveiia passim

OTHER

Brian Blaesser, Closing The Federal Courthouse Door On
Property Owners: The Ripeness and Abstention Doctrines in
Section 1983 Land Use Cases, 2 Hofstra Property L.J. 73
III cisnasi-vicocesianech otanpdannesindclenmunceneneneunemeniceeabce imation 28

Peter A. Buchsbaum, Should Land Use Be Different?
Reflections on Williamson County Regional Planning
Board v. Hamilton Bank, in Taking Sides on Takings
Issues: Public and Private Perspectives, (A.B.A. 2002;
PE Be Fe cine itecticisiinntinsovvivcens 22, 24, 25, 28

David A. Dana & Thomas W. Merrill, Property Takings
SINE cinis ccbechanicctinataan Ottaotialiiestemeuand Nobandompnanidusabanenaiens 25

John J. Delaney & Duane J. Desiderio, Who Will Clean Up the
“Ripeness Mess”? A Call for Reform So Takings Plaintiffs

Can Enter the Federal Courthouse,
Ce SE 1... ee nN err 6,9, 25

Steven J. Eagle, Regulatory Takings
ag BD retininicvtgdeaadsiiin vidi openiedenanns 13, 14, 22

Robert H. Freilich, Adrienne H. Wyker & Leslie Eriksen Harris,
Federalism at the Millennium: A Review of U.S. Supreme
Court Cases Affecting State and Local Government, 31 Urb.
a, CIE Oe ee hinttierin eerctnnnneiesominscnts vs ly ely

Robert H. Freilich, The Public Interest Is Vindicated: City of
Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes,
Fe I By. Be Cie Rivtcinteniccveninicies 17, 24, 25

XI

Timothy J. Kassouni, The Ripeness Doctrine and the Judicial
Relegation of Constitutionally Protected Property Rights,
29 Cal. West. L. Rev. 1 (1992) ........0sscseesesceseess 14-15, 25

Kathryn E. Kovacs, Accepting the Relegation of Takings
Claims to State Courts: The Federal Courts’ Misguided
Attempts to Avoid Preclusion Under Williamson County,
£6 Boology L.0.. 1 (1999) .....cc.cescensarsserssssspeersevesrseveee 8, 23

Jan Laitos, Law of Property Rights Protection
CRMIINE ERIS DIIOD enesss conser nvessesacsscssessccscistaseccdes 23, 24

Prof. Daniel R. Mandelker, Testimony before the House
Judiciary Committee, reproduced at
PE EI, Es BP sicatscensnsvornieosicvenecsanecnsoxsens 24, 26

Daniel R. Mandelker, Jules B. Gerard & E. Thomas Sullivan,
Federal Land Use Law (Clark, Boardman,
RI NII Ah sidabiicidelatinetinissded sisiohRcridscsersedascnveseccadinces 25

Madeline J. Meacham, The Williamson Trap,
Be Is RAW, TIP QO) oveivevcssvercatssivsstserosverseces 13, 25, 29

Robert Meltz, Dwight H. Merriam & Richard M. Frank,
The Takings Issue (Island Press EPO TR sitiasbiipisnnionsnets 23, 24
Gregory Overstreet, Update on the Continuing and Dramatic
Effect of the Ripeness Doctrine on Federal Land Use
Litigation, 20 Zoning & Plan. L. Rep. 17 (1997)........... 24

Thomas E. Roberts, Ripeness and Forum Selection in Fifth
Amendment Takings Litigation, 11 J. Land Use &
ONT: Din TUMOR ii hicadledisacshsveieinsntilactinit 13, 18, 24, 25

Thomas Roberts, Fifth Amendment Taking Claims in

Xll

Federal Court: The State Compensation Requirement
and Principles of Res Judicata,
Be UR. LW, S78 CE aD stv cvsasivnavarsvcsnnnsivvesenioneens 10-11, 23

Gregory M. Stein, Regulatory Takings and Ripeness in the
Federal Courts, 48 Vand. L. Rev. 1 (1995)............... 15, 24

Arthur Train, Mr. Tutt Plays It Both Ways, in Mr. Tutt’s Case
Book (Charles Scribner’s Sons 1948) .0..........eceeeeeeeeeeeeeees 30

Report of Retreat on Takings Jurisprudence,
in Takings Sides on Takings Issues 568 (A.B.A 2002;
FRR Fi. IID GD sa vcnvieskidcevnseseperincdveinteioordeinnien 7

TABLE OF APPENDICES

A. Opinion of U.S. Court of Appeals for the 8" Circuit
CGD: Bay BD visi chcsnrinstcngtaedscinea enssideaemnainns App. 1

B. Order of U.S. Court of Appeals for the 8" Circuit
Denying Petition for Rehearing and for
Rehearing En Banc (March 21, 2003)..................00 App.8

C. Memorandum Opinion and Order of the U.S. District
Court, District of Minnesota (Jan. 22, 2002) ........... App.9

l

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Franklin P. Kottschade respectfully prays
that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review a final judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW ieee

The decision was filed on February 13, 2003, and is
reported as Kottschade v. City of Rochester, 319 F.3d 1038
(8th Cir. 2003). (App., p. 1.) A timely Petition for
Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc was denied in an
unreported order filed March 21, 2003. (App., p. 8.) The
District Court's opinion (App., p. 9) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

This case was filed because the City of Rochester
defied this Court's decision in Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512
U.S. 374 (1994). There, this Court held that a municipality
could constitutionally condition the issuance of a land
development permit only if its conditions were roughly
proportional to burdens the proposed development would
place on the community, and if the municipality satisfied
demonstrated that proportionality. Here, Rochester
imposed conditions that were grossly disproportionate, and
repeatedly refused Mr. Kottschade's requests to explain
how the conditions related to his development.

Mr. Kottschade sued in U.S. District Court for these
Sth Amendment violations. That court dismissed, believing
Williamson County Reg. Plan. Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank,
473 U.S. 172 (1985) required Mr. Kottschade to sue in state
court first. Mr. Kottschade relied on City of Chicago v.
International College of Surgeons, 522 U.S. 156 (1997),
There, this Court held that a city sued in state court had the

NN ENSIOESS!! AT

right to remove the case to federal court under 28 U.S.C. §
1441(a) vecause the plaintiff could have filed suit in federal
court in the first instance. Mr. Kottschade therefore urged
that City of Chicago modified Williamson County, for if a
defendant can remove, then perforce the plaintiff must be
able to file in federal court initially.

The District Court concluded that, City of Chicago
notwithstanding, Williamson County controlled and
dismissed the case. (App., p. 16-.) The 8th Circuit
affirmed. Although it agreed with Mr. Kottschade that the
situation was "anomalous" (App., p. 5), that Court refused
to address the anomaly, concluding that how to resolve it
"is for the Supreme Court to say, not us" (App., p. 5).

This Court's jurisdiction is by 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution:

".. . nor shall private property be taken for public
use, without just compensation."

si Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution:

"Section 1 . . . nor shall any State deprive any person
of life, liberty, or property without due process of law; . . ."

42 U.S.C. § 1983:

"Every person who, under color of any statute,
ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or
Territory or the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to
be subjected, any citizen of the United States or other
person within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of
any rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the
Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in
an action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding
for redress."

28 U.S.C. § 1441 (a):

"Except as otherwise expressly provided by Act of

3

Congress, any civil action brought in a State court of which
the district courts of the United States have original
jurisdiction, may be removed by the defendant or
defendants, to the district court of the United States for the
district and division embracing the place where such action
is pending."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Frank- Kottschade, a long-time resident of, and
developer in, the City of Rochester, Minnesota, sued under
42 U.S.C. § 1983 charging a regulatory taking of property.

Mr. Kottschade sought to develop a townhouse
project on a 16.4-acre parcel of land he acquired in 1992.
After years of attempting to Satisfy various city concerns
(through four different development proposals), the city
purported to grant a permit in June, 2000. However, it
attached conditions to the permit that reduced the number
of homes from 104 to 26, and added nearly $70,000 in
development costs to each unit — in a market where such
homes sell for $125,000. Economically, it was an
impossibility. Constitutionally, it was a taking.

Knowing that this Court's decision in Dolan v. City

of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994) allowed conditions only if
they bore a rough proportionality to the burdens the
proposed development would place on the community (and
knowing that these conditions bore no relationship to his
project whatever), Mr. Kottschade asked the city to explain
the nexus and its proportionality. Even though Dolan
placed the burden on the city to provide such an
explanation, the city flatly refused. Twice. In writing.
a Mr. Kottschade then filed this suit. The District
Court dismissed (App., p. 17) and the 8th Circuit Court of
Appeals, albeit with some expressly voiced discomfort
(App., p. 5), affirmed (App. p. 7). Thus, this Petition.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE CONUNDRUM TO BE RESOLVED

A. Do State Or Federal Courts Have Initial (Or
Sole) Jurisdiction Over Regulatory Taking
Claims Under The 5th Amendment? And Who
Decides?

In City of Chicago v. International College of '
Surgeons, 522 U.S. 156 (1997), this Court held that a
municipal defendant in a state court action challenging the
validity of land use regulations (under both state and federal
law)! may remove that case to federal court. The rationale
was that the plaintiff could have filed suit in federal court in
the first instance (as the suit raised federal questions) and
therefore 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a) granted the defendant the
reciprocal right to remove the case. (522 U.S. at 164.)
However, in Williamson County Reg. Plan. Comm'n vy.
Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985), this Court held that
such plaintiffs may not file such actions in federal court,
but must first repair to the state courts and seek
compensation there, before their claims can be deemed ripe
for federal court litigation. (473 U.S. at 200.) 2

In fairness to this Court, it appears that the briefs in
City of Chicago did not call Williamson County to the
Court's attention. The adversary system failed to disclose
the doctrinal cliff toward which the Court was being urged.

1 The plaintiff in City of Chicago raised federal due process,
equal protection and taking claims, as the trial court noted (1997
WL 171350) and this Court confirmed (522 U.S. at 160). It is
the allegations in the complaint that determine federal
jurisdiction. (E.g., Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 681 [1946].)

That is likely why neither the majority nor the dissent in
City of Chicago mentions Williamson County. As a
consequence, the constitutional law of regulatory takings
now contains two contradictory jurisdictional holdings.

B. Confusion And Unfairness Of "Catch-22"
Proportions Abound In The Wake Of Two
Conflicting Decisions From This Court.

The interaction between these two holdings has
given rise to a true "Catch-22" conundrum. No matter
which court property owners choose to file suit, their
municipal adversaries can muster decisional law saying that
they should be in the other court system.

Under Williamson County, landowners are said to be
barred from federai court while simultaneously — under
City of Chicago — defendants in the same cases can force
_ them into federal court on the bizarre theory that the
plaintiffs could have sued there in the first place, although
— under Williamson County — they could not. Adding
insult to injury, some federal courts have dismissed such
removed cases on the stunning ground that the plaintiffs
(who were brought to federal court involuntarily by the
defendants) should have pursued their action in state court.2

The upshot is that either City of Chicago modified

2 E.g., Sandy Creek Investors, Ltd. v. City of Jonestown, 325
F.3d 623, 626 (Sth Cir. 2003); Reahard v. Lee County, 30 F.3d
1412, 1414, 1418 (11th Cir. 1994) (after two federal trials and
two appeals). See Anderson v. Charter Township. of Ypsilanti,
266 F.3d 487 (6th Cir. 2001) (landowner sued in state court,
municipality removed to federal court, district court abstained
and remanded state claims to state court; when property owner
returned to district court to litigate federal claims, district court
dismissed the case under the Rooker-Feldman doctrine).

Williamson C ounty or the C ourt has inadvertently c reated
not only an insoluble anomaly in the law, but also a class of
American litigants who are de facto pariahs — second class
citizens whose sole access to federal court rests on the
whim of the defendant, and who are at times subjected to a
judicial "ping-pong game" whereby they file suit in state
court, only to have it removed to federal court, which then
remands it back to state court. (E.g., Rau v. City of Garden
Plain, 76 F. Supp. 2d 1173 [D. Kans. 1999]; Vigilante v.
‘Village of Wilmette, 88 F. Supp. 2d 888 [N.D. Ill. 2000].)
Mr. Kottschade submits that this Court could not
have intended to bring about such a grotesque procedural
regime, and urges that the prevailing "ripeness mess"? cries
out for a second look by this Court to reconcile Williamson
County with City of Chicago, and inform aggrieved
property o wners whether t hey can e ver have their federal
constitutional cases heard on the merits in federal court.

C. The Unfairness And Confusion Created By This
Jurisdictional Conflict Are Widely Recognized.

Courts and commentators expressed confusion and
unhappiness with the jurisdictional problems created when
Williamson County held that property owners could try
their regulatory taking cases in federal court, but only after
first "ripening" them in state court. (See post, pp. 23-26.)

City of Chicago exacerbated the situation. Lawyers
from the ABA's State and Local Government Law Section,
representing diverse clients, concluded after a weekend

3 See John J. Delaney & Duane J. Desiderio, Who Will Clean
Up the "Ripeness Mess"? A Call for Reform So Takings
Plaintiffs Can Enter the Federal Courthouse, 31 Urb. Law. 195,
196, fn. 5 (1999).

j

retreat devoted to this and related issues that either both

parties or neither ought to have access to the federal courts:
"The second and third recommendations deal with the
apparent anomaly in effect, though probably not in
intent, when Williamson is juxtaposed against City of
Chicago v. International College of Surgeons, 522 U.S.
156 (1997). Under City of Chicago, governmental
defendants can, and frequently do, remove takings
claims initiated in state court to federal court under the
federal removal statute. At the same time, under
Williamson, plaintiffs who bring those very same claims
in federal court are told they must litigate in state court.
As a result, the defendants in takings claims have a
choice of forum — state or federal — while takings
plaintiffs under Williamson are apparently required to
go only to state court." (Report of Retreat on T. akings
Jurisprudence, in Taking Sides on Ti akings Issues 568,
574 [ABA 2002; Thomas E. Roberts, ed.].)

: The ABA retreat thereby ended by asking for
» judicial help in resolving the dissonance between
| Williamson and City of Chicago. Mr. Kottschade asks this
> Court to take this opportunity to correct the anomalous state
| of regulatory takings jurisdictional jurisprudence.

e Il. THERE IS DIRECT CONFLICT BETWEEN
: TWO DECISIONS OF THIS COURT:
WILLIAMSON COUNTY PRECLUDES PROPERTY
OWNERS FROM SUING IN FEDERAL COURT
FOR STH AMENDMENT REDRESS, WHILE CITY
OF CHICAGO WELCOMES ' MUNICIPAL
DEFENDANTS TO REMOVE THE S AME C ASES
TO FEDERAL COURT. THEY CANNOT
OPERATE HARMONIOUSLY.

Simply put, Williamson County and City of Chicago

are — as applied below — in direct conflict. City of
Chicago is based on the even-handed rule of 28 U.S.C. §
1441(a), i.e., if the plaintiff could have filed suit in federal
court but chose the state venue instead, then the defendant
has the absolute right to remove the case to federal court.
Thus, if City of Chicago is to be viewed as rational, Mr.
Kottschade should have been permitied to file suit directly
in federal court. The courts below, however, refused to
apply City of Chicago because, in their view, until this
Court itself reconciles it with Williamson County, then
Williamson County mandates dismissal regardless of what
City of Chicago may have said later. Under the lower
courts’ reading of this Court's decisions, only one of the
parties to litigation like this has free access to federal court,
while the other has none. 4 A s summarized ina leading
treatise:

"While not put so starkly, the message for property

owners seems to be: ‘You can't be heard in federal

court, but your opponents can.' " (Steven J. Eagle,

Regulatory Takings 1091 [2d ed. 2001].)
That cannot be the law.

28 U.S.C. § 1441(a) restricts removal to:

"... any civil action brought in a State court of which

the district courts of the United States have original

jurisdiction." (Emphasis added.)

Thus, unless the International College of Surgeons

4 That the City of Chicago complaint also contained due process
and equal protection claims is of no moment. As Professor
Kovacs has explained, the same Williamson County ripeness
rule has been applied to those claims. (Kathryn E. Kovacs,
Accepting the Relegation of Takings Claims to State Courts: The
Federal Courts' Misguided Attempts to Avoid Preclusion Under
Williamson County, 26 Ecology L.Q. 1, 19 [1999] [collecting
exemplars of each].)

9

could have brought its regulatory taking case in U.S.
District Court initially, based on that court's original
jurisdiction, the City of Chicago could not have been
permitted to remove the case to federal court. But had the
International C ollege o f S urgeons filed initially in federal
court, it would have received the same response as Mr.
Kottschade: case dismissed. That has been the consistent
lower court treatment since Williamson County. (See
Delaney & Desiderio, supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 206-231
[collecting and analyzing in tabular form all federal land
use cases decided between 1990 and 1998].)

In ruling that removal was proper, this Court
concluded simply that, "a case containing claims that local
administrative action violates federal law . . . is within the
jurisdiction of federal district courts." (City of Chicago,
522 U.S. at 528-529.) The Court was well aware of the
momentous nature of its decision. Any doubt was dispelled
by Justice Ginsbwrg's dissent, characterizing the decision as
both a "watershed" (522 U.S. at 175) and a "landmark" (522
U.S. at 180), because:

"After today, litigants asserting federal-question or
diversity jurisdiction may routinely lodge in federal
courts direct appeals from the actions of all manner of
local (county and municipal) agencies, boards, and
commissions." (522 U.S. at 175; Ginsburg, J.,
dissenting.)

Here, the Courts below concluded that, until this
Court expressly says otherwise, they would have to apply
Williamson County and dismiss this case because it had not
gone through state court on the way to federal court. (App.,
pp. 5, 16.) As the Court of Appeals put it, the result of this
"perceived gap in Supreme Court jurisprudence" is
"anomalous" (App., p. 5), but whether City‘ of Chicago
authorizes any relief from this anomaly "is for the Supreme
Court to say, not us" (App., p. 5).

10

It cannot be the rule that property owning plaintiffs
are barred from federal court while municipal defendants in
the same cases have a free pass into federal court whenever
they like. The issue goes to jurisdiction. Property owners
are said to be unable to file in federal court because the
federal courts lack jurisdiction. (E.g., Reahard, 30 F.3d at
1415.) But jurisdiction cannot magically appear out of thin
air merely because some municipal defendant wants it.
Jurisdiction exists, or it does not. Yet City of Chicago and
Williamson County now simultaneously answer the same
jurisdictional question "yes" and "no." The decisions below
make p lain t hat | ower c ourts wili not address this "mess"
without guidance. Clarification by this Court is necessary.

Ill, EVEN BEFORE THIS COURT ISSUED ITS
SECOND — CONFLICTING — OPINION,
LOWER COURTS HAD MADE A HASH OF A
RULE THIS COURT DESIGNED AS "NOT YET
RIPE FOR FEDERAL COURT," TURNING IT
INTO A RULE OF "NOT EVER IN FEDERAL
COURT."

A. The Premise Of Williamson County Was That
Property Owners Would Be Able To Obtain A
Federal Court Ruling On The Merits Of Their
Regulatory Taking Claims After They First
"Ripened" Their Cases In State Court.

Even commentators opposed to landowners concede

(as they must) that the plain language of Williamson County
contains a clear promise of federal court access:

"Reliance [by the Court] on the ripeness rationale,

unfortunately, suggests to property owners that their

complaints will be ripe and heard in the federal courts

after their state suits are over." (Thomas Roberts, Fifth

11

Amendment Taking Claims in Federal Court: The State
Compensation Requirement and Principles of Res
Judicata, 24 Urb. Law. 479, 480 [1992].)
Williamson County made clear that this Court was
(a) deciding whether a claim was YET ripe for litigation in
federal court and (b) that there were things which FIRST
had to be done in state court AFTER WHICH the federal
constitutional claims WOULD BE RIPE for federal court.
The Court's analytical discussion begins by saying
that". . . respondent's claim is premature." (473 U.S. at
185; emphasis added.)> Prematurity necessarily means that
something is yet to be done to make the matter mature, or
jurisprudentially "ripe." Williamson County then says that,
because of the lack of both a final administrative decision
(not in issue here®) and the absence of an attempt to seek
compensation in state court, ". . . respondent's claim is not

> The Court did not say there was no valid claim. Nor could
it. Federal courts at that time had dealt with such claims — as
they routinely deal with other Bill of Rights claims — for years.
See, e.g., Nemmers v. City of Dubuque, 764 F.2d 502 (8th Cir.
1985); Martino v. Santa Clara Valley Water Dist., 703 F.2d 1141
99th Cir. 1983); Barbian v. Panagis, 694 F.2d 476 (7th Cir.
1982); Fountain v. Metro Atlanta Rapid Transit Auth., 678 F.2d
1038 (1ith Cir. 1982); Hernandez v. Lafayette, 6 43 F .2d 1188
(Sth Cir. 1981): Gerdon v. City of Warren, 579 F.2d 386 (6th
Cir. 1978).

© Here, the city granted Mr. Kottschade a permit, albeit subject
to financially ruinous conditions, and refused any variances.
Thus, in Williamson County's words, we know precisely "how
[he] will be allowed to develop [his] property." (473 U.S. at
190.) As the court below pointed out, Mr. Kottschade — in
contrast to Williamson County — had _ exhausted his
administrative remedies (App., p. 5) and thus had obtained a
final determination of what the city would approve.

seating
eadaamaaaaaataacaaaiaas alia aaa: ee a

12

ripe." (473 U.S. at 186; emphasis added.) Absence of
ripeness necessarily means that the matter can be ripened.
Throughout t he o pinion, the C ourt returns to t hese
twin concepts, emphasizing and reemphasizing the
temporal nature of its holding, repeatedly saying that such
cases can be ripened and then litigated in federal court.
The Court's language demonstrates that the Court plainly
was delaying a property owner's entry into the federal
courthouse, not barring it. That concept of a dilatory plea is
crucial in analyzing the development of the law since then.
"A second reason the taking claim is not yet ripe is that
respondent did not seek compensation through the
procedures the State has provided for doing so." (473
U.S. at 194; emphasis added.)
"Similarly, if a State provides an adequate procedure for
seeking just compensation, the property owner cannot
claim a violation of the Just Compensation Clause until
it has used the procedure and been denied just
compensation." (473 U.S. at 195; emphasis added.)
". . . until [plaintiff] has utilized that procedure, its
taking claim is premature." (473 U.S. at 197; emphasis
added.)
The opinion ends as it began, with this conclusion:
"In sum, respondent's claim is premature, whether it is
analyzed as a deprivation of property without due
process under the Fourteenth Amendment, or as a taking
under the Just Compensation Clause of the Fifth
Amendment." (473 U.S. at 200; emphasis added.)
Thus, Williamson County is founded on the twin
concepts of "not yet" and "not until." But lower courts have
lost track of that. Instead, property owners who satisfy
Williamson County find, when attempting to file their now-
ripened federal suits, that the door is barred by res judicata

13

and collateral estoppel. (See post, p. 17.)7 Thus, the upshot
is that this Court's endorsement of property owners' right to
litigate in federal court after ripening their suits in state
court has been overruled by lower courts. Instead, takings
plaintiffs have been banished to state courts.

If that had been this Court's intent, Williamson
County could have said so. Directly. Its holding could
have been simple and straightforward: "All takings
litigation must be brought in state courts; federal courts
have no jurisdiction to entertain it, even though it involves
the application of the federal Constitution." Period.
Plainly, neither the Congress that enacted 42 U.S.C. § 1983
nor the Court that wrote Williamson County had that in
mind. Quite the contrary. All commentators agree that the
Court's words plainly tell property owners that the way to
litigate their Sth Amendment cases in federal court is to
"ripen" them by litigating first in state court.8

Williamson County's evident establishment of a
system by which property owners could eventually litigate
federal issues in federal court was in keeping with a long
line of decisions holding that those who plead federal

7 As the 8th Circuit put it below, Mr. Kottschade was "justly"
concemed about this likelihood. (App., p. 6; 319 F.3d at 1041.)
8 E.g., Steven J. Eagle, Regulatory Takings 1063 (2d ed. 2001)
("The '‘ripeness' metaphor is one that promises ultimate
vindication"); Thomas E. Roberts, Ripeness and Forum Selection
in Fifth Amendment Takings Litigation, 11 J. Land Use & Envtl.
L. 37, 67 (1995) ("the language . . . suggests that the state law
suit is merely preparatory to a federal suit"); Madeline J.
Meacham, The Williamson Trap, 32 Urb. Law. 239 (2000)
("language . . . suggested that, eventually, a litigant's taking
claim would be heard in federal court"); Jd. at 249 ("language of
Williamson suggests that-a federal claim will survive after
disposition in the state court").

14

claims and seek the aid of federal courts have a right to a
federal determination. (E.g., Willcox v. Consolidated Gas
Co., 212 U.S. 19, 40 [1909]; Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678,
681 [1946]; England v. Louisiana State Bd. of Medical
Examiners, 375 U.S. 411, 415 [1964].) As this Court put it,
there are "fundamental objections" to compelling a plaintiff
who has legitimately invoked federal jurisdiction "without
his consent and with no fault of his own, to accept instead a
state court's determination of those claims." (England, 375
U.S. at 415.) It is no different here.

B. Lower Courts Have Misused Williamson County As
A Device To Prevent Property Owners —Alone
Among Citizens — From Litigating Federal
Constitutional Issues In Federal Court.

"We see no reason why the Takings Clause of the Fifth
Amendment, as much a part of the Bill of Rights as the
First Amendment or the Fourth Amendment, should be
relegated to the status of a poor relation... ." (Dolan v.
City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374, 392 [1994].
Notwithstanding this Court's clear language,
property owners have been de facto singled out for virtual
exclusion from the federal court system for redress of their
Sth Amendment grievances against local government
agencies. As things stand now American land owners like
Mr. Kottschade — unlike any other citizens — may never
obtain federal adjudication of their federal rights.

1. Property owners are the only victims of Bill of
Rights violations who are barred from seeking
redress in federal court.

That property owners have been singled out is clear.
(See, e.g., Eagle, supra at 1068-1070; Timothy J. Kassouni,

15

The Ripeness Doctrine and the Judicial Relegation of
Constitutionally P rotected P roperty Rights, 29 Cal. West.
L. Rev. 1, 2 [1992]; Robert H. Freilich, Adrienne H. Wyker
& Leslie Eriksen Harris, Federalism at the Millennium: A
Review of U.S. Supreme Court Cases Affecting State and
Local Government, 31 Urb. Law. 683, 685 [1999].) As one
commentator concluded, "[t]he state compensation portion
of [Williamson] finds no parallel in the ripeness cases from
other areas of the law." (Gregory M. Stein, Regulatory
Takings and Ripeness in the Federal Courts, 48 Vand. L.
Rev. 1, 23 [1995].)

Paradoxically, federal court protection is routinely
provided in some land use cases — but only those involving
aspects of the Bill of Rights other than the Fifth
Amendment. Federal court First Amendment cases
abound, for example, in which the validity of local land use
ordinances regulating, or zoning for, sexually explicit work
has been challenged.9 There is no requirement of first
presenting the issues to state courts, even though they
implicate the same zoning policies and land use ordinances
as do other land use cases. First Amendment cases dealing
with the land use aspects of establishment of religion are
also litigated in federal courts in the first instance!

Moreover, at the behest of aggrieved citizens,
federal courts have involved themselves in the local
intricacies of city budget policy,!! county law enforcement

9 E.g., City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc., 475 US. 41
(1986); Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427 U.S. 50 ( 1976).
10 E.g., City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507 (1997); Larkin v.
Grendel's Den, 459 U.S. 116 (1982); First Assembly of God v.
Collier County, 20 F.3d 419 (11th Cir. 1994).

11 Berkley v. Common Council, 63 F.3d 295 (4th Cir. 1995) (en
banc). —

16

policy,!2 municipal policy governing the use of force
during arrests,!3 county road acquisition policy,!4
municipal employment policy,!5 city medical care policy,!¢
school district sexual abuse policy,!’ police department
sexual harassment policy,!8 and even the question whether
"extortion of outsiders, businessmen, or developers" was
town policy.!9 As this Court once noted, federal courts
routinely review issues involving exercise of a state's
sovereign prerogative, including the power to regulate
fishing in its waters, its power to regulate intrastate trucking
rates, a city's power to issue bonds without a referendum,
and a host. of others. (County of Allegheny v. Frank
Mashuda Co., 360 U.S. 185, 191-192 [1959] [collecting
cases] [retaining federal court jurisdiction over a state
eminent domain case].) :

The cited cases deal with parallel features of the Bill
of Rights, routinely protected in federal court through 42
U.S.C. § 1983 — even against unconstitutional land use
regulations. All sorts of local governmental issues are
litigated in federal courts every day. And they involve all

12 Turner v. Upton County, 915 F.2d 133 (5th Cir. 1990).

13 Beck v. City of Pittsburgh, 89 F.3d 966 (3d Cir. 1996), cert.
denied 117 S.Ct. 1086 (1997).

14. Hammond v. County of Madera, 859 F.2d 797 (9th Cir.
1988).

15 Richardson v. Leeds Police Dept., 71 F.3d 801 (11th Cir.
1995).

16 Simmons v. City of Philadelphia, 947 F.2d 1042 (3d Cir.
1991).

17 Gonzalez v. Ysleta Indep. School Dist., 996 F.2d 745 (Sth Cir.
1993).

18 Gares v. Willingboro Township., 90 F.3d 720 (3d Cir. 1996).
19 Roma Constr. Co. v. aRusso, 96 F.3d 566 (1st Cir. 1996).

17

aspects of the Bill of Rights — except the 5th Amendment's
Just Compensation Clause.

2. Doctrines of claim and issue preclusion have been
misemployed by lower courts to undercut
Williamson County's "ripening" process.

The mechanism for keeping property owners out of
federal court has been the combination of Williamson
County's requirement of state court litigation with res
judicata and collateral estoppel. The law is used as a
diabolical trap. Once a property owner sues in state court,
any attempt to follow Williamson County's directive to then
litigate the "ripened" Sth Amendment case in federal court
is met by one or more of the preclusion doctrines and the
case is summarily dismissed.

Federal cases dismissing property owners' "ripened"
efforts at federal court litigation abound. (E.g., Dodd v.
Hood River County, 136 F.3d 1219 [9th Cir. 1998]; Peduto
v. City of North Wildwood, 878 F.2d 725, 726-729 [3d Cir.
1989]; Palomar Mobilehome Park Assn. v. City of San
Marcos, 989 F.2d 362, 364-365 [9th Cir. 1993]; Wilkinson
v. Pitkin County Bd. of Comm'rs, 142 F.3d 1319 [10th Cir.
1998]; Rainey Brothers Constr. Co., Inc. v. Memphis &
Shelby County Bd. of Adjustment, 967 F. Supp. 998, 1002
(W.D. Tenn. 1997], affd 178 F.3d 1295 [6th Cir.
1999][table][unpublished Sixth Circuit opinion at 1999
U.S. App. LEXIS 6396].)

Thus, according to these cases, "the very act of
‘ripening’ a case also ends it." (Robert H. Freilich, The
Public Interest Is Vindicated: City of Monterey v. Del
Monte Dunes, 31 Urb. Law. 371, 387 [1999].) In Prof.
Roberts’ colorful words:

"Ironically, an unripe suit is barred at the moment it
comes into existence. L ike a tomato that suffers vine

18

rot, it goes from being green to mushy red overnight. It
is never able to be eaten." (Thomas E. Roberts, supra,
11 J. Land Use & Envtl. L. at 72.)

As seems evident from the language of Williamson
County and its underlying theory of "ripening" matters for
federal court litigation, this Court intended no such thing.
Rather, it granted property owners an opportunity to litigate
their Sth Amendment cases in federal court. It is therefore
apparent that the lower courts are undermining this Court's
intent.29 Plainly, the preclusion doctrines being used to bar
federal court litigation were known to this Court when it
decided Williamson County. Just as plainly, Williamson
County established a system that permitted dual court
litigation: first in state court, to exhaust the state
compensation remedy and thereby "ripen" the case,
followed by an action in federal court, to litigate the merits
of the underlying Sth Amendment claims. If the lower
courts are correct, then the Williamson County ripening"
procedure was stillborn, and this Court wasted its time in
formulating it. As the 10th Circuit put it, "It is difficult to
reconcile the ripeness requirements of Williamson with the
laws of res judicata and collateral estoppel." (Wilkinson,
146 F.3d at 1325, fn. 4.) It is time for this Court to review
the way in which its Williamson County decision has been
treated by the lower courts. Either the requirement of state
court litigation should be eliminated, or it should have no
preclusive impact on subsequent federal court litigation.

20 This Court made it crystal clear in England, 375 U.S. at 416-
417 that limiting a litigant to certiorari review from a State
supreme court was not an acceptable substitute for full federal
court litigation. (Compare App., p. 7, where the court below
disagreed.) Besides, state courts often dispose of these cases on
the basis of state law, so that seeking certiorari may not even be
possible.

Lo —

19

C. With Respect, There Is A Flaw At The Core Of
Williamson County That Explains The Lower
Court Confusion: Its Assumption That A 5th
Amendment Taking Without Just Compensation
Is Not Complete Until A State Court Certifies
That The Local Agency Really Won't Pay.

The 5th Amendment's Just Compensation Clause
(the first element of the Bill of Rights to be incorporated
into the 14th Amendment's Due Process Clause)?! prohibits
government from taking private property for public use
unless it pays just compensation. Logically, a violation of
that provision occurs as soon as government actions take
private property and the municipality refuses to pay. There
is nothing in either logic or the Sth Amendment to require
that refusal to be certified by a state court before it is
complete.

Therein lies Williamson County's flaw. The opinion
quite properly begins its analysis with the words of the 5th
Amendment, noting that the constitutional provision "does
not proscribe the taking of property; it proscribes taking
without just compensation." (473 U.S. at 194.) The
problem arises because the Court then blends or blurs the
distinction between acts of the agency that has actually
committed the taking and the State that may or may not
have provided a litigational process for seeking
compensation. (473 U.S. at 195-196.)

But the State is not involved ir 42 U.S.C. § 1983
cases like this one. States and their officials cannot be sued
under section 1983 (Will v. Michigan Dept. of Police, 491
U.S. 58 [1989]), nor (with very narrow exceptions [Nevada
Dept. of Human Resources v. Hibbs, 123 S.Ct. 1972

21 Chicago B.&Q.R. Co. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226, 241 (1897).

20

[2003]) can they be brought into federal court at all against
their will (U.S. Const., 11th Amendment). The real issue is
whether the local entity — like the City of Rochester at
bench — is alleged to have taken private property for
public use and failed to pay for it. If so, the question
whether the city can be compelled to pay lies at the heart of
both state and federal court litigation. Thus, the aggrieved
property owners’ adversaries ask: how can the plaintiff get a
"second bite of the apple" by simply re-filing for the same
relief on the same facts in the other court system?

The answer lies in the fact that, under Williamson
County, the aggrieved property owners have no choice
whatever — they must sue first in state court, even though
they desire only one "bite" — and they want that one in the
federal courts, the historical guardians of the federal
Constitution — the same as other plaintiffs complaining of
federal law violations.

The crux of the problem is blurring the State legal
system with the local agency defendant and disregarding the
plain words of the Constitution. Nothing in the Sth
Amendment requires that. It does notsay". . . nor shail
private property be taken for public use without just
compensation as finally determined by suing the municipal
defendant in state court."

The issue is not whether a state has countenanced
the constitutional violation; the suit is not against the state.
Rather, the issue is whether the particular defendant has
committed it. 42 U.S.C. § 1983 forbids any person acting
under color of state law from violating rights secured by
federal law. When a city council — like Rochester's —
prohibits viable economic use of property without any
pretext of compensation, it has violated Section 1983. The
presence or absence of a state remedy has no bearing on
whether the malefactor has done the deed.

Nor are other constitutional rights treated that

21

way.22 Just as the Constitution forbids taking property, but
only without just compensation, so the Constitution forbids
the deprivation of life and liberty — but only if done
without due process of law. The constitutional provision is
the same 14th Amendment stricture: ". . . nor shall any
State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law... ." And yet, plaintiffs
complaining about deprivations of life or liberty without
due process of law are not told they must first sue in state
courts to determine whether relief can be had there, as a
precondition to seeking redress in federal court. Quite the
contrary. Their suits take place in federal court; the validity
of the defendant's actions under state law, and the
availability of state remedies is irrelevant. (See Monroe v.
Pape, 365 U.S. 167 [1961] [police brutality case not
required to be preceded by state tort suit for assault and
battery]; Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131, 148 [1988] [section
1983 suits are enforceable in federal court "in the first
instance" [emphasis added]; cf. Screws v. Uniied States,
325 U.S. 91, 108 [1945].)

If, as Williamson County said, the federal violation
is not ripe until a state court verifies that state law provides
no remedy, then all Section 1983 litigation would have to
begin in state courts. In the words of the leading treatise,
"If there is a reason why free speech cases are heard by

22 Williamson County's analogy to the Tucker Act's provisions
for suing the United States for a taking (473 U.S. at 194), while
superficially plausible, seems inapt. All that the Tucker Act
cases say is that, before a property owner can sue to invalidate a
federal law as a taking, the owner must first sue in a federal
court for compensation under the federal Constitution. That is
all Mr. Kottschade and others want: the ability to sue the
offending municipality immediately in a federal court for
compensation for violating the federal Constitution.

22

federal judges with alacrity and property rights cases
receive the treatment indicated above [i.e., diversion to state
courts], it is not readily discernible from the Constitution."
(Eagle, supra at 1070.)?3

There is no need to sue in state court merely to
confirm the non-payment. The non-payment is obvious; it
is the reason for the suit. This can be seen in any regulatory
taking case. In City of Monterey, 526 U.S. 687, for
example, the taking occurred in 1986, the case was
furiously litigated, through two appeals to the 9th Circuit
and one trip to this Court. That process did not end for
another 13 years. At no time — even afier a compensatory
judgment had been entered after trial — did the city offer to
pay anything. Suit was not necessary to determine the lack
of compensation.

Nor is a state court suit needed to inform the
defendant of the problem. Given the complexity of today's
land use procedures — usually requiring years of effort and
endless hearings before action is taken — any agency that
is not comatose is well aware by the end of the process that
the property owner claims the city action violates the Sth
Amendment. Here, for example, Mr. Kottschade directly
told the city that its actions had taken his property and
demanded that the city begin proceedings to condemn the
land and compensate him. The city denied it. Must he now
impose on the time of a state court seeking to have it say
the obvious? To what end?

23 See also Peter A. Buchsbaum, Should Land Use Be
Different? Reflections on Williamson County Regional Planning
Board v. Hamilton Bank, in Taking Sides on Takings
Issues: Public and Private Perspectives, (A.B.A. 2002;
Thomas E. Roberts ed.) (contrasting the treatment of land use
cases with police brutality and parade permit cases).

23

There is no need to require the victim to approach a
third party (the state courts) in order to establish that she
has a federal claim at all. That is a job for the federal
courts. Worse, deferring to state courts is tantamount to
granting state courts a veto over citizens' access to federal
court, making them de facto federal court gatekeepers. On
the contrary, this Court has repeatedly concluded that
"Congress surely did not intend to assign to state courts and
legislatures a conclusive role in the formative function of
defining and characterizing the essential elements of a
federal cause of action." (Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131,
144 [1988], quoting Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 269
[1985].)

D. Commentators Have Vied With Each Other
Devising Ways To Disparage The Quagmire The
Lower Courts Have Created In Their

Applications Of Williamson County.

Even before City of Chicago, lower court
applications of Williamson County were described by
courts and commentators as "odd,"24 “unpleasant,"?°
"unfortunate,"26 "ironic,"27 “unclear and inexact,"28

24 Fields v. Sarasota-Manatee Airport Auth., 953 F.2d 1299,
1307, fn. 8 (11th Cir. 1992).

25 Roberts, supra, 24 Urb. Law. at 480.

26 Fields v. Sarasota-Manatee Airport Auth., 953 F.2d 1299,
1306, fn. 5 (11th Cir. 1992); Jan Laitos, Law of Property Rights
Protection § 10.05[A][5], p. 10-25 (Aspen Pullishers 1999).

27 Kathryn E. Kovacs, supra, 26 Ecology L.Q. at 20.

28 Robert Meltz, Dwight H. Merriam & Richard M. Frank, The
Takings Issue 67 (Island Press 1999).

24

“surprising,"22 "worse than mere chaos,"39 "dramatic,"3!
"misleading,"32 an "“anomaly,"33 "“paradoxical,"34 "most
confusing,">5 a "source of intense confusion,"2° "inherently

nonsensical," "shocking,"38 "absurd,"39 "self-
stultifying,"4° "revolutionary,"4! "nonsense,"42
"draconian,"43 "riddled with obfuscation and

inconsistency,"44 and thereby creating "a procedural

29 Roberts, supra, 11 J. Land Use & Envtl. L. at 67.

30 Freilich, supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 387.

31 Gregory Overstreet, Update on the Continuing and Dramatic
Effect of the Ripeness Doctrine on Federal Land Use Litigation,
20 Zoning & Plan. L. Rep. 17 (1997).

32 Roberts, supra, 11 J. Land Use & Envtl. L. at 71.

33 Buchsbaum, supra, in ABA, Taking Sides on Takings Issues
at 479; Roberts, supra, 11 J. Land Use & Envtl. L. at 68.

34 Roberts, supra, 11 J. Land Use & Envtl. L. at 71; Stein,
supra, 48 Vand. L. Rev. at 93.

35 Laitos, supra, p. 10-20.

36 Freilich, supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 387.

37 Freilich, supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 387.

38 Overstreet, supra, 20 Zoning & Plan. L. Rep. at 27.

39 Overstreet, supra, 20 Zoning & Plan. L. Rep. at 27.

40 Freilich, supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 387.

41 Dodd v. Hood River County, 59 F.3d 852, 861 (9th Cir.
1995); see Kovacs, supra, 26 Ecology L.Q. at 20.

42 Buchsbaum, supra, in ABA, Taking Sides on Takings Issues
at 480.

43 Dodd v. Hood River County, 59 F.3d 852, 861 (9th Cir.
1995); see Kovacs, supra, 26 Ecology L.Q. at 20.

44 T estimony of Prof. Daniel R. Mandelker before the H ouse
Judiciary Committee, reproduced at 31 Urb. Law. 234, 236
(1999).

25

morass,"45 "conflict of decision,"4® a "result [that] makes
no sense,"47 "doctrinal confusion,"48 a "mess,"49 a "trap,"59
a "quagmire,"5! a "Kafkaesque maze,">2 and "a fraud or
hoax on landowners."53

It is worth noting that many of these commentators
are avowedly government-oriented in their views, yet they
agree with landowners’ criticisms and they clearly are
troubled by the chaotic and unjust nature of the rule in
question.

Enough time hus passed and enough experience has
been had in lower courts for this Court to examine the
operation of the Williamson County rule and re-evaluate its
conclusion that de facto denies land owners any opportunity
whatever to try their federal constitutional claims in federal

45 Buchsbaum, supra, in ABA, Taking Sides on Takings Issues
at 482.

46 F reilich, supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 388; Meacham, supra, 32
Urb. Law. at 240 ("The circuits have been divided on whether
there is a way to avoid the Williamson trap, and the Supreme
Court has sent conflicting messages.")

47 Buchsbaum, supra, in ABA, Taking Sides on Takings Issues
at 478.

48 Freilich, supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 388.

49 Delaney & Desiderio, supra, 31 Urb. Law. 195.

50 David A. Dana & Thomas W. Merrill, Property Takings 264
(2002); Freilich, Wyker & Harris, supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 716;
Daniel R. Mandelker, Jules B. Gerard & E. Thomas Sullivan,
Federal Land Use Law § 4A.02[6] at p. 4A-21 (Clark,
Boardman, Callaghan 1998); Meacham, supra, 32 Urb. Law.
239; Meltz, Merriam, & Frank, supra at 67.

5! Kassouni, supra, 29 Cal. West. L. Rev. at 44.

52 Kassouni, supra, 29 Cal. West. L. Rev. at 51.

53 Roberts, supra, 11 J. Land Use & Envtl. L. at 71.

ae att. ee OY ree
reer Eee

26

courts. As Professor Mandelker put it:
"In my opinion, federal judges have distorted the
Supreme Court's ripeness precedents to achieve an
undeserved and unwarranted result: they avoid the vast
majority of takings cases on their merits." (Mandelker,
supra, 31 Urb. Law. at 236.)
Only this Court can end that distortion and bring
some rationality to the jurisdictional aspects of regulatory
takings law.

IV. AS A DIRECT RESULT OF LOWER COURT
MISUSE OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, AND
NOW THEIR DISREGARD OF CITY OF
CHICAGO, PROPERTY OWNERS IN 5TH
AMENDMENT TAKING CASES HAVE NOT
ONLY BEEN DENIED ACCESS TO FEDERAL
COURTS TO PURSUE FEDERAL REMEDIES
UNDER 42 U.S.C. § 1983, BUT ALSO DENIED
THE 7TH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO A JURY
GUARANTEED BY THIS COURT'S CITY OF
MONTEREY DECISION.

Lower court actions barring property owners from
federal court (except, when defendants invoke City of
Chicago and remove state court litigation) have serious
consequences: they deny aggrieved parties the ability to

- invoke civil rights jurisdiction under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 to
have federal courts guard against local government
incursions into constitutionally protected realms, and they
deny property owners the 7th Amendment right to a jury
trial that is provided in federal court, but generally denied
in state courts in land use cases, in deciding governmental
liability under section 1983. (City of Monterey v. Del
Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. 687, 719 [1999].)

27

A. The Williamson County Rule, As Applied By The
Lower Courts, Denies Property Owners The
Protection Intended By 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

A Section 1983 case is a "species of tort liability,"54
a statutorily created "constitutional tort"55 that sweeps
within its ambit all governmental actions that impair Bill of
Rights protections. Section 1983 was intended to provide
"a uniquely federal remedy">© with "broad and sweeping
protection">’ "to secure private rights a gainst g overnment
encroachment">8 "read against the background of tort
liability that makes a man responsible for the natural
consequences of his actions"°? so that individuals in a wide
variety of factual situations are able to obtain a federal
remedy when their federally protected rights are abridged.
While read against the general common law _ tort
background, "[t]he coverage of the statute [§ 1983] is...
broader" than tort law,6! and must be broadly and liberaily

54 City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. 687, 709
(1999); Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477, 483 (1994).

>> Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, 522 U.S. 75, 78-79 (1997):
Monell v. Department of Social Servs., 436 U.S. 658, 691
(1978).

°6 Mitchum v. Foster, 407 U.S. 225, 239 (1972); emphasis
added.

°7 Lynch v. Household F in. C orp., 405 U.S. 538,543 (1972)
[quoting with approval].

58 Inyo County v. Paiute-Shoshone Indians, 123 S.Ct. 1887,
1894 (2003).

59 Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 187 (1961), overruled in part,
to expand government liability, in Monell, 436 U.S. 658.

60 Burnett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 42, 50, 55 (1984).

61 Kalina vy. Fletcher, 522 U.S. 118, 124-125 (1997).

28

construed to achieve its goals.62 Its "goals" are
straightforward: "to provide compensatory relief to
those deprived of their federal rights by state actors'"®3
by "interpos[ing] the federal courts between the States
and the people, as guardians of the people's federal
rights."4 To effectuate those goals, Congress intended to
"throw open the doors of the United States courts" to those
who had been deprived of constitutional rights "and to
provide these individuals immediate access to the federal
courts... ."65

But in cases like the one at bench, property owners
find this Court's holdings obverted. Instead of interposing
the federal courts as the citizen's protector against local
government, the system interposes state law as a barrier
between the citizen and the federal courts.

Contrary to this Court's section 1983 holdings,
property owners — and they alone — find the doors of the
United S tates c ourts n ot merely hard to open, but barred.
(See Buchsbaum, supra, in ABA, Taking Sides on Takings
Issues at 477; Brian Blaesser, Closing The Federal
Courthouse Door On Property Owners: The Ripeness and
Abstention Doctrines in Section 1983 Land Use Cases, 2
Hofstra Property L.J. 73 [1988].)

62 Golden State Transit Corp. v. City of Los Angeles, 493 U.S.
103, 105 (1989); Lake Country Estates v. Tahoe Reg. Plan.
Agency, 440 U.S. 391, 399-400 (1979).

63 Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131, 141 (1988); emphasis added.
64 Mitchum, 407 U.S. at 243; emphasis added.

65 Patsy v. Florida Board of Regents, 457 U.S. 496, 504 (1982);
emphasis added.

os -

29

B. The Lower Courts' Application Of Williamson
County Denies Property Owners Their 7th
Amendment Right To A Jury Trial Under City
Of Monterey.

City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. 687
(1999) made another major post-Williamson County change
in regulatory taking law.

In City of Monterey, this Court held as a matter of
first impression that plaintiffs in section 1983 litigation —
specifically, property owners like the ones involved there
and here — have a 7th Amendment right to a jury trial on
the issue of liability. That, as this Court recognized in City
of Monterey, 526 U.S. at 719, is in stark contrast to the
practice in state courts generally, which don't submit
regulatory t aking liability issues to j uries.6© B ut the trial
court in City of Monterey did, and this Court affirmed.

Others have recognized the potentially significant
change this means for regulatory taking litigation. (E-.g.,
Meacham, supra, 32 Urb. Law. at 240, 242-243.)

By denying Mr. Kottschade federal court access, the
courts below denied his 7th Amendment right to obtain a
jury determination of the city's liability. This Court could
not have considered that issue when it decided Williamson
County 17 years earlier. It merits consideration now.

CONCLUSION
American property owners have become the

proverbial pea in a jurisdictional shell game. Unlike all
other victims of federal constitutional violations, their

66 For a recent example of such refusal, see Cumberland Farms
v. Town of Groton, 808 A.2d 1107 (Conn. 2002).

30

attempts to seek justice in federal court are rebuffed. They
are told to sue in state court. When they do so, their
adversaries can unilaterally remove the cases to federal
court. Once removed, the plaintiffs find their removed
cases dismissed (on motion of the removing defendants!) ~
and are told to litigate in state court — where they filed in
the first place. With the utmost respect, that isn't law; it is a
-parody usually found only in the legal humor sections of
libraries. (See, e.g., Arthur Train, Mr. Tutt Plays It Both
Ways, in Mr. Tutt's Case Book 413 [Charles Scribner's Sons
1948].) In the process, lower federal courts have
abandoned their traditional roles as guardians of the
constitutional rights of American citizens, leaving them to
wander through a procedural maze that has no federai exit.

Petitioner prays that certiorari be granted so that this
"anomalous. . . gapin Supreme C ourt j urisprudence," as
the court below gently called it, can be rectified.

Respectfully submitted,

George O. Ludcke Duane J. Desiderio
KELLY & BERENS NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
3720 IDS Center OF HOME BUILDERS

80 South Eighth Street 1201 15" Street, NW
Minneapolis, MN 55402 Washington, D.C. 20005
(612) 349-6171 (202) 266-8146

Michael M. Berger*
Gideon Kanner

BERGER & NORTON
*Counsel of Record
12121 Wilshire Blvd.
Suite 1300

Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 979-2500

App. l

APPENDIX A
United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-1504MN

Franklin P. Kottschade,
Appellant
V.

City of Rochester

Am. Forest & Paper Ass’n;
Bldg. Indus. Legal Defense
Fund of Southern Cal.; Cal.
Bldg. Indus. Ass’n; Int’l
Council of Shopping
Centers; Nat’! Ass’n of
Indus. & Office Properties;
Nat’! Ass’n of Real Estate
Investment Trusts; National
Ass’n of Real Estate
Investment Trusts; Nat’!
Ass’n of Realtors; Real
Estate Roundtable; and
Rochester (Minnesota) Area
Builders,

Amici on Behalf of
Appellant League of
Minnesota Cities; Nat’! .
League of Cities; and Int’!
Municipal

On Appeal from the
United States District
Court for the District of
Minnesota.

ee *& ee eee KE Ee HEH HE HH HH HE HH HR OF

*

Lawyers Association,
Amici on Behalf of
Appellee.

*

App. 2

Submitted: October 10, 2002
Filed: February 13, 2003

Before RILEY, RICHARD S. ARNOLD, and SMITH, Circuit
Judges.

RICHARD S. ARNOLD, Circuit Judge.

Franklin P. Kottschade, a developer, brought this
claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against the City of Rochester,
charging that the City had taken his property for public use
without just compensation, in violation of the Fifth
Amendment. He now appeals from a District Court’ dismissal
for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted.
Because Mr. Kottschade has not exhausted his state court
remedies, as required by current takings jurisprudence, we
affirm the District Court’s dismissal of his complaint.

In the mid-1990's Mr. Kottschade sought a conditional
use permit from the City of Rochester to build a townhouse
project on a 16.4 acre parcel of property which he had
acquired in 1992. In June of 2000, the City granted him a
permit for a townhouse project on part of his property, subject
however to nine specific conditions. These conditions
included requirements that provisions be made for increased
vehicular and pedestrian traffic, storm water management, and
dedicated parkland. Mr. Kottschade alleges that the nine
conditions, taken together, which were placed on his proposal
to build townhouses on the land, were out of proportion to the
impact this development of the property would have had on
the City of Rochester, and that they rendered the project an

' The Hon. Ann D. Montgomery, United States District Judge for the
District of Minnesota.

App. 3

economic impossibility, thus in effect taking his property
without just compensation.

Mr. Kottschade unsuccessfully appealed both to the
city’s zoning Board of Appeal and to the city’s Common
Council to eliminate all of the conditions. He then filed this
action challenging the constitutionality of the conditions
attached to the permit, and requesting just compensation under
the Fifth Amendment. The City of Rochester moved to
dismiss, arguing that, under Williamson County Regional
Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank of Johnson City, 473
U.S. 172 (1985), Mr. Kottschade could not bring a
constitutional takings claim in federal court before obtaining a
final decision from the city, and that the suit was wrongly
brought in federal court in the first instance since it was not
yet ripe, given that state court procedures remained available
to the plaintiff.

The District Court dismissed the action, concluding
that until Mr. Kottschade sought relief in a state-court inverse-
condemnation action and had relief denied, the claim of taking
without just compensation was not ripe for decision in a
federal court. In this appeal Mr. Kottschade argues that the
Supreme Court decisions in Williamson and City of Chicago
v. International College of Surgeons, 522 U.S. 156 (1997),
when read together, permit him to bring a claim for relief
under the Fifth Amendment Just Compensation Clause in
federal court in these circumstances.

I.

We review a District Court’s grant of dismissal under
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) for failure to state a
claim de novo. All facts alleged in the complaint are taken as
true and construed in the light most favorable to the plaintiff.
Coleman v. Watt, 40 F.3d 255, 258 (8th Cir. 1994). A motion
to dismiss should not be granted unless the plaintiff can prove
no set of facts entitling him to relief. Such is the case here,

|
{
|
|
}

App. 4

and so we affirm the District Court’s dismissal of the claim.
Until Mr. Kottschade has exhausted his state court remedies,
his claim may not be brought in federal court.

Mr. Kottschade’s constitutional claim is brought under
the Just Compensation Clause of.the Fifth Amendment, which
provides, “[N]or shall private property be taken for public use,
without just compensation.” Mr. Kottschade argues that
dismissal of his claim by the District Court was improper
because, despite the Supreme Court’s holding in Williamson,
the 1997 City of Chicago decision modifies the earlier case in
such a way as to permit him to seek a remedy initially in
federal court. He asks us to reconcile these two Supreme
Court holdings. The plaintiff requests that this Court
acknowledge that City of Chicago has modified the
requirements laid out in Williamson with respect to
procedures plaintiffs must follow in seeking just
compensation for takings of property. Under Williamson, a
property owner “has not suffered a violation of the Just
Compensation Clause until the owner has unsuccessfully
attempted to obtain just compensation through the procedures
provided by the State for obtaining such compensation.” 473
U.S. at 195. City of Chicago is said to have modified this
holding by permitting plaintiffs in takings cases to file claims
in federal court first as a matter of course. We have held that
these procedures include the filing and prosecution of an
action for inverse condemnation in the state courts. McKenzie
v. City of White Hall, 112 F.3d 313, 317 (8th Cir. 1997);
Collier v. City of Springdale, 733 F.2d 1311, 1317 (8th Cir.
1984).

What the plaintiff actually asks is that this Court find
that the Supreme Court’s decision in City of Chicago
overrules Williamson in part, specifically its holding that “[I]f
a State provides an adequate procedure for seeking just
compensation, the property owner cannot claim a violation of
the Just Compensation Clause until it has used the procedure

App. 5

and been denied just compensation.” 473 U.S. at 195. But as
the District Court noted, City of Chicago’s holding addresses
only the question of federal-question jurisdiction over a ripe
takings claim. It does not explicitly answer the question of
what is necessary to render a takings claim ripe. The Supreme
Court has not explicitly overruled or modified the ripeness
requirements laid out in Williamson in the context of takings
cases. The requirement that all state remedies be exhausted,
and the barriers to federal jurisdiction presented by res
judicata and collateral estoppel that may follow from this
requirement, may be anomalous. Nonetheless Williamson
controls the instant case. Compare this perceived gap in
Supreme Court jurisprudence with this Court’s observations
in Commonwealth of Puerto Rico v. Branstad, 787 F.2d 423
(8th Cir. 1986). There this Court declined to declare that a
Civil War case, Com. of Kentucky v. Dennison, 24 How. 66
(1861), had been implicitly overruled, while registering its
view that the holding of the case had been substantially
eroded. Within a year the Supreme Court had overruled
Dennison. Puerto Rico v. Branstad, 483 U.S. 219 (1987).
Whether something similar should occur here is for the
Supreme Court to say, not us.

The Supreme Court in Williamson defined the
exhaustion requirement to inciude judicial as well as
administrative remedies: “the exhaustion requirement
generally refers to administrative and judicial procedures by
which an injured party may seek review of an adverse
decision and obtain a remedy if the decision is found to be
unlawful or otherwise inappropriate.” 473 U.S. at 193. Unlike
the appellee in Williamson, who had not sought variances

from a planning commission’s imposition of requirements for
development, Mr. Kottschade has already sought variances,
which have been denied. However, he has not yet pursued a
postdeprivation remedy in state court, as is required by
Williamson and subsequent jurisprudence.

App. 6

The plaintiff points out, and justly so, that if he is
required to seek a postdeprivation remedy in a state-court
inverse-condemnation action, he may end up being altogether
denied a federal forum for what is undoubtedly a federal right.
Such a federal forum, he urges, is guaranteed by 42 U.S.C. §
1983 and its jurisdictional counterpart, and a plaintiff has a
right to bring a § 1983 claim in a federal trial court, at his
option. If plaintiff must go to the state courts, he would
presumably need to show, in order to prevail in an inverse-
condemnation action, that a taking had occurred, and that just
compensation had not been paid. If the state courts hold for
the plaintiff, then all is well, from his point of view, and there
would be no need for recourse to a federal forum. But if they
hold against him, for example, on the ground that no taking
has occurred, doctrines of former adjudication may be a bar to
a new action under § 1983 in a federal trial court. The
difficulty is not unlike that which arises when a federal court
decides to abstain from the exercise of jurisdiction, remitting
the plaintiff, in the first instance, to his state remedies. See
Note, Consequences of Abstention by a Federal Court, 73
Harv. L. Rev. 1358, 1365-68 (1960). In the abstention context,
the Supreme Court has held that a plaintiff required to resort
first to the state courts may reserve his federal claims,
submitting to the state courts only claims arising under state
law. In this way, if the plaintiff loses in the state courts, his
way to the federal forum will not be barred by doctrines of
former adjudication. See England v. Louisiana State Bd. of
Medical Examiners, 375 U.S. 411 (1964). Plaintiff suggests
that a similar framework would be at least a partial solution to
his problem. If he must go to the state courts first, he says, we
should hold now that whatever those courts do adverse to the
plaintiff will not bar him from later filing a federal case on his
Takings Clause claim.

The suggestion has the virtue of logic and is tempting,
but we think the part of prudence is to decline it at this stage
of the case. We do not know what the result of any state-court

App. 7

action may be. Perhaps plaintiff will win in the state courts.
Perhaps he will lose there, but then obtain Supreme Court
review on the merits, a review that would at least afford him
an appellate federal forum and would be unquestionably
conclusive on the lower federal courts. Plaintiff may seek to
reserve his federal claims when he files his state-court
complaint, and the state courts, by analogy to England, might
honor this reservation. Other possibilities suggest themselves.
The point is this: it is simply too early to say now exactly
what res judicata or collateral-estoppel argument might be
appropriate in the future, and exactly what the answers to any
such argument might be. We understand that deferring a
decision on this point is frustrating to the plaintiff, but the
federal courts do not sit to decide questions in the abstract. If
the plaintiff goes to the state courts and loses, and then files a
42 U.S.C. § 1983 action in a federal court, that court, subject
to appropriate appellate review, will be in a much better
position to determine the effect of the prior state-court
adjudication.

The judgment of the District Court, dismissing the
complaint for failure te state a claim on the ground that the
case is not yet ripe under the Williamson line of authority, is
affirmed. This action is without prejudice to the right of the
plaintiff, if he files a state-court case and loses, to file a new
action in a federal court and make whatever arguments he
wishes with respect to the effect of the prior state-court
adjudication.

Affirmed.
A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,
EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

App. 8

APPENDIX B
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
No. 02-1504
Franklin P. Kottschade, .
Appellant, :
Order Denying Petition
vs. * for Rehearing and for
Rehearing En Banc
City of Rochester,
Appellee -
American Forest and Paper
Association, et al. *
Amici on Behalf of
Appellant, ”

League of Minnesota Cities; *
National League of Cities; ‘
and International Municipal
Lawyers Association,

Amici on Behalf of °
Appellee. ”

The petition for rehearing en banc is denied. The petition
for rehearing by the panel is also denied.
(5128-010199)
March 21, 2003
Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

App. 9

APPENDIX C
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA
Franklin P. Kottschade
Plaintiff,
v. MEMORANDUM
OPINION
AND ORDER
The City of Rochester, Civil No. 01-898
ADM/AJB
Defendant.

George O. Ludcke, Esq., Kelly & Berens, P.A.,
Minneapolis, MN, appeared on behalf of Plaintiff.

Clifford M. Greene, Esq., and Pamela VanderWiel, Esq.,
Greene Espel, P.L.L.P, Minneapolis, MN, appeared for and
on behalf of Defendant.

I. INTRODUCTION

On November 21, 2001, the Motion on Dismiss and
for Summary Judgment [Doc. No. 7] of Defendant City of
Rochester (“Defendant”) was argued before the undersigned
United States District Judge. The City moves for dismissal
under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6) for failure to state a claim on
which relief can be granted. For the reasons set forth below,
the Motion to Dismiss [Doc. No. 7] is granted.

Il. BACKGROUND

A complete recitation of the facts in this case would be
long and complicated.' Boiled down to the occurrences

' The fact statement alone spans 16 pages of Plaintiff's Response Brief.

App. 10

bearing upon this motion, the relevant background is as
follows.

In February, 2000, Plaintiff Franklin P. Kottschade
(“Plaintiff”) sought a conditional use permit from Defendant
to build a townhouse project on his property. Defendant
panted Plaintiff's application to rezone his property to
accommodate the development, and approved Plaintiff's
General Development Plan. Amended Complaint at 979,19.
However, this approval was subject to nine specified
conditions, Id. Plaintiff alleges the conditions impose burdens
which render the project economically unfeasible. Pl. Resp. at
2. Plaintiff's compromise attempts to eliminate the conditions
have been rejected, and he was unsuccessful in pursuing
"various administrative procedures" to eliminate the
conditions. Id. Plaintiff applied for a variance, seeking a
waiver from compliance with all nine conditions. Complaint
at 20. Plaintiffs petition for a variance was denied by both
the Defendant at the zoning board and council levels. Id. at
4122-23. Defendant asserts that each of the nine conditions
reflect an application of preexisting ordinances and
regulations applicable to all development projects. Def. Mem.
in Supp. at 3; Adkins Aff., Ex. B. Plaintiff challenges the
constitutionality of the conditions attached to the permit
granted by Defendant. Plaintiff has styled his cause of action
as a federal takings claim under 42 U.S.C.§1983, rather than a
state court inverse condemnation claim.

Ill. DISCUSSION

The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provide that a party
may move to dismiss claims for lack of jurisdiction over the
subject matter under Fed. R. Civ. P.12(b)(1), and for failure to
state a claim upon which relief can he granted under Fed. R. Civ.
P.12(b)(6). In considering a motion: to dismiss, the pleadings are
construed in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party, and
the facts alleged in the Complaint must be taken as true. Hamm v.

App. 11

Groose, 15 F.3d 110,112 (8th Cir. 1994); Ossman v. Diana Corp. ,
825 F.Supp. 870, 879-80(D. Minn. 1993). Any ambiguities
concerning the sufficiency of the claims must be resolved in favor
of the non-moving party. Ossman, 825 F.Supp. at 880.

The parties agree that the threshold issue in this case is
whether Plaintiff can bring a constitutional takings claim in federal
court in federal court in the first instance, or whether Plaintiff must
first seek compensation through state procedures. Defendant
argues that Williamson county Reg’! Planning Comm'n v.
Hamilton Bank of Johnson City, 473 U.S. 172 (1985), prevents
Plaintiff from bringing his takings claim in federal court without
first exhausting the state law mechanisms available for seeking
just compensation. Defendant relies on the Supreme Court’s
holding that “the State’s action is not ‘complete’ in the sense of
causing a constitutional injury ‘unless or until the State fails to
provide an adequate postdeprivation remedy for the property
loss.”” Williamson, 473 U.S. at 195 (quoting Hudson v. Palmer,
468 U.S. 517, 532 n.12 (1984)).

Plaintiff responds that City of Chicago v. International
College of Surgeons, 522 U.S. 156 (1997), overrules Williamson
and allows a takings claim to be brought directly in a federal
venue. Plaintiff relies on the conclusion in College of Surgeons
that “the District Court properly exercises federal question
jurisdiction over the federal claims in [Respondent’s] complaints .
..” College of Surgeons, 522 U.S. at 166. Plaintiff reasons that
because (1) claims can only be removed to federal court under 28
U.S.C. § 1441(a) if the district court has original jurisdiction, and
(2) the claims removed in College of Surgeons were Due Process,
Equal Protection, and takings claims, therefore it necessarily
follows that (3) the district courts of the United States must have
original jurisdiction over takings claims. PI. Resp. at 22.

As both parties candidly concede, the dispositive

App. 12

determination in this case is whether or not College of Surgeons
overrules the Williamson precedent. It does not.

A. Williamson

In Williamson, the Court granted certiorari to address the
question whether federal, state, and local governments must pay
money damages to a landowner whose property allegedly has been
temporarily "taken" by the application of government regulations,
Williamson, 473 U.S. at 185. The Court did not reach that
question, however, finding instead that the takings claim, inter
alia’ was premature because respondent had not utilized state
procedures provided for obtaining just compensation. Id at 186.

Because the Fifth Amendment does not proscribe takings,
without just compensation, no constitutional violation occurs until
just compensation has been denied, Id. at 145 n.13. "The nature of
the constitutional right therefore requires that a property owner
utilize procedures for obtaining compensation before bringing a §
1983 action." Id. Therefore, a property owner simply has not
suffered a violation of the Just Compensation Clause until the
owner has unsuccessfully attempted to obtain just compensation
through the procedures provided by the State for obtaining such
compensation. Id. at 195.

In discussing the procedure for bringing a takings claim,
the Court stated that "[i]f the government has provided an
adequate process for obtaining compensation, and if resort to that
process 'yield[s] just compensation,' then the property owner ‘has

? The Williamson Court also held that Respondent had not obtaineda_
final decision regarding the application of the challenged zoning
ordinance and subdivision regulations. Id. at 187. Both the absence of a
final decision and the failure to exhaust state procedures were
independent reasons why Respondent's claim was not ripe. Id. at 187,
194, 200.

App. 13

no claim against the Government’ for a taking." Id. at 194-195
(quoting Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S., 986, 1013, 1018
n.21 (1984)). Under this exhaustion requirement, takings claims
are premature until the property owner has availed itself of the
State process provided for seeking redress.’ See Id. at 195.

The State of Minnesota provides a process by which
plaintiffs may be compensated for any takings of property.
Pursuant to the Minnesota Constitution, Article I, section 13,
private property may not be taken, destroyed or damaged for a
public purpose without just compensation. To enforce this
provision, a plaintiff may bring an inverse condemnation action by
petition for writ of mandamus. Wilson v. Ramscher, 352 N.W. 2d
389, 394 (Minn. 1984). Plaintiff has not shown that the existing
state procedures are either unavailable or inadequate, and until he
has utilized those procedures, a federal takings claim is not ripe for
adjudication. See id. at 197.

B. College of Surgeons

Plaintiff contends that College of Surgeons overrules
the Williamson exhaustion requirement. In College of
Surgeons, the Supreme Court was asked to consider whether a
lawsuit filed in state court seeking judicial review of decisions
of a state agency, the Chicago Landmarks Commission, may
be removed to federal district court, where the case contains
both federal constitutional and state administrative challenges.
College of Surgeons, 522 U.S. at 169. While the claims in
College of Surgeons were raised through a cause of action
created by state law, the state court complaint raised a number
of issues of federal law in the form of various federal

* Similarly, if a State provides an adequate procedure for seeking just
compensation, the property owner cannot claim a violation of the Just
Compensation Clause until it has used the procedure and been denied
just compensation.” Id. at 195.

App. 14

constitutional challenges.’ Id. at 164. The case was removed
on the basis of federal question jurisdiction, and the District
Court exercised supplemental jurisdiction over the state law
claims to grant summary judgment in favor of the Defendant.
On review, the Seventh Circuit concluded that the District
Court was without jurisdiction, holding that deferential review
of state agency action was an appellate function not consistent
with the character of a court of original jurisdiction. Id. at
161-162. The Seventh Circuit elaborated that the “facial
constitutional challenges [were] independent of the record and
so would be removable to federal court if brought alone.” Id.
at 162. The crux of the court’s decision was that, because
some of the supplemental state law claims involved
deferential review, the removed case as a whole could not be
termed a “civil action” of which the district courts have
original jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.§1441. Id.

The Supreme Court granted certiorari to address
“whether a case containing claims that local administrative
action violates federal law, but also containing state law
claims for on-the-record review of the administrative findings,
is within the jurisdiction of the federal district courts.” Id. at
163. In analyzing this questions, Justice O’Connor, writing for
the Court, concluded that the federal constitutional challenges
raised in the state court complaint established federal question
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.§1331 because a “ ‘right or
immunity created by the Constitution or laws of the United
States [is] an element, and an essential one, of the plaintiff's
cause of action.”” Id. at 163-164 (quoting Gully v. First Nat.

‘ The multiple federal constitutional claims in College of Surgeons

included claims that the challenged ordinances, both on their face and as
applied, violated the Due Process and Equal Protection Clauses and
effected a taking of property without just compensation under the Fifth
and Fourteenth Amendments, and the manner in which the state agency
conducted its administrative proceedings violated Respondent’s rights to
due process and equal protection. Id. at 160.

App. 15

Bank in Meridian, 299 U.S. 109, 112 (1936)). The holding
emphasizes that a cause of action created under state law
might still “arise under” the laws of the United States if the
right to relief under state law requires resolution of a
substantial question of federal law. Id. at 164. The Court
concluded that “the District Court properly exercised federal
question jurisdiction over the federal claims in [Respondent’s
complaint] . . . “ Id. at 165. Important to the instant case, the
tenor of the College of Surgeons decision is that a ripe takings
claim, coupled with multiple other constitutional claims, is
properly the basis for removal on federal question jurisdiction.
The decision does not speak to the underlying qualifications
for ripeness of such a claim.

The Court then proceeded to address the precise issue
on which it had granted certiorari. To that end, the Court
clarified the propriety of exercising supplemental jurisdiction
in particular instances. Specifically, the Court held that
because the accompanying state law claims in College of
Surgeons formed part of the “same case or controversy” as the
federal claims under 28 U.S.C.§1367(a), the exercise of
supplemental jurisdiction over those claims was proper. Id. at
165-166. The Court explained that the District Court’s
original jurisdiction derived from the federal claims, not the
state law claims, and thus the action was properly a “civil
action” within the original jurisdiction of the district courts for
purposes of removal. Id. at 166.

College of Surgeons does not discuss, elucidate or
alter the established standards for determining federal
question jurisdiction. The Court simply “explained” that “the
facial and as-applied federal constitutional claims raised by
[Respondent] ‘arise under’ federal law for purposes of federal
question jurisdiction.” Id. at 167-168. The Court never
specified which of the various federal claims was sufficient
for jurisdiction, but merely noted that they were, in sum
sufficient to establish federal question jurisdiction for removal

App. 16

purposes. No language in the College of Surgeons case
operates to alter prior law regarding federal question
jurisdiction in federal courts, or the exhaustion requirement
for takings claims. The Court’s conclusion in College of
Surgeons is directly responsive to the question on which the
Court granted certiorari: “(t]he District Court properly
recognized that it could exercise supplemental jurisdiction
over [Respondent’s] state law claims, including the claims for
on-the-record administrative review of [state agency]
decisions.” Id. at 174.

College of Surgeons addresses the issue of
supplemental jurisdiction; it is not a case purporting to
overturn the Williams exhaustion requirement for the ripeness
of a constitutional takings claim. In discussing the
significance of College of Surgeons, the Fourth Circuit noted
that: “(College of Surgeons] merely holds that district courts
can exercise supplemental jurisdiction over state claims that
call for deferential on-the-record review of state
administrative findings when the district court already
possesses original jurisdiction over another claim.”
Kirkpatrick v. Lenoir County Bd. Of Educ., 216 F.3d 380, 387
n.6 (4" Cir. 2000) (emphasis added). As a matter of law,
College of Surgeons simply does not overrule Williams.
Therefore, the exhaustion requirement for ripeness of a
constitutional takings claims is unaffected and remains good

* In dissent, Justice Ginsburg reiterated the nature and scope of the
Court’s ruling by characterizing Justice O’Connor’s opinion as an
“authorization of cross-system appeals” for “on-the-record review of
state and local agency actions.” Id. at 175-176. That the function of the
College of Surgeons case was to clarify the law of supplemental

jurisdiction, not to alter the law of federal question jurisdiction, is further
supported by Justice Ginsberg’s description of the majority’s opinion:
“all this Court is willing to say is that ‘the District Court properly
exercised federal question jurisdiction over the federal claims... .”” Id.
at 188. “The Court’s opinion expresses ‘no [further] view.’” Id.

App. 17

6
law.

Therefore, until Plaintiff seeks relief in a state court
inverse condemnation action and relief is denied, the claim of
taking without just compensation is not ripe for decision by a
federal court. Accordingly, this Court does not have
jurisdiction, and no claim upon which relief can be granted
has been stated. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss is granted.

IV. CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing, and all the files, records and
proceedings herein, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the City
of Rochester’s Motion to Dismiss [Doc. No. 7] is GRANTED.

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY,

BY THE COURT
ANN D. MONTGOMERY
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE:

Date: January 22, 2002

° The Supreme Court reaffirmed the Williamson exhaustion requirement
in City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes at Monterey, Ltd., 526 U.S.
687, 710, 714-715, 721 (1999) (no constitutional injury from a taking
alone, therefore “[a] federal court . . . cannot entertain a takings claims
under §1983 unless or until the complaining landowner has been denied
an adequate postdeprivation remedy”). The Williamson exhaustion
requirement has also been recently relied upon by the Eighth Circuit. In
Carpenter Outdoor Advertising Co. v. City of Fenton, et. al., No. 00-
1869 3" Cir. June 1, 2001), the court upheld the dismissal of a claim
based on the Just Compensation Clause of the Fifth Amendment where
the appellant had not followed state procedures because “ ‘[t]he general
rules is that a plaintiff must seek compensation through state procedures
before filing a federal takings claim.” Carpenter, slip op. at 6 (citing Von
Kerssenbrock-Praschma v. Saunders, 121 F.3d 373, 379 (3" Cir. 1997);

Williamson, 473 U.S. at 194-195.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1733%3A01. Public record. Not legal advice.
