# Opposition Brief — AT&T Corp. v. Ting

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1450%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 811

## Text

| aon Court, U.S.
Si Ls D
A MAY 30 2003
No. 02-1521
CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

AT&T CORP.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

DARCY TING, An Individual
And On Behalf of All Others Similarly Situated, And
CONSUMER ACTION, A Non-Profit Membership Organization,
Both as Private Attorneys General,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

F. Paul Bland, Jr. James C. Sturdevant
(Counsel of Record) Karen L. Hindin
Michael J. Quirk The Sturdevant Law Firm

Trial Lawyers for Public Justice, P.C. 475 Sansome Street, Suite 1750
1717 Massachusetts Avenue, NW San Francisco, CA 94111-3141
Suite 800 (415) 477-2410
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 797-8600 . Arthur H. Bryant

Kate Gordon

Trial Lawyers for Public Justice
One Kaiser Plaza, Suite 275
Oakland, CA 94612

(510) 622-8150

Attorneys for Respondents/Plaintiffs
DARCY TING and CONSUMER ACTION

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page(s)

RESTATEMENT OF THE QUESTION PRESENTED ... 1
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF

po ga ee ae Per erin rey me ey ae ere oe l
SRA RRMMEET ENE LEMS GABE 6 ioc cece ic coenncescsees 6
I. FACTS ABOUT THIS LAWSUIT ...-........... 6

II. THE COMMUNICATIONS ACT AND THE
DETARIFFING EFFORT UNDERLYING AT&T’S
AUGUST 2001 EFFORT TO IMPOSE THE CSA ... 9

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ............. 15

I. THERE IS NO CONFLICT WARRANTING
eS Wee Be CGE io 6 os pe Read aoe 15
A. The Significant Factual Differences Between
this Case and Boomer Weigh Heavily Against
NN as Cis eae ee Ae baa Whee ken de es 15

B. This Case Is A Poor Vehicle to Address
the Relationship Between Federal and State
Law in this Area Because of the Unique Facts
of Gus Case .....; Pe PEt Pe OEE eee e ey 20

C. Any Split That May Exist Between This
Case and Boomer is Immature .............. 22

-

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION DOES
NOT CONFLICT WITH ANY DECISION

CoP TES CRS ok nik Spey oe ee 23
A. There Is No Express or Field Preemption
SUNG os nk Nts 1a ee oe an ee ae 23
B. There Is No Implied Conflict Preemption
SUOOG i wid dia 0k Kak Gad eae eee eee seen eee 24
C. The Decision Below Will Not Harm the
Long-Distance Industry ............000e00. 29
CEPTS sc cuinvonseqnhcdeeocerunmeneey enter 29

LL

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Armendariz v. Foundation Health Psychare Services,

6 P.3d 669 (Cal. 2000) ..... EE ee cae a ee 18
AT&T v. Central Office Telephone, Inc.,

DERE. 6 oo nikov edocs ceecesers passim
Boomer v. AT&T Corp., 309 F.3d 404

I A passim
Cahnmann v. Sprint Corp., 133 F.3d 484

ae i ee oy ebb ase xo oeives 10
Crosby v. National Foreign Trade Council,

ao ria s hive a eases 23
Fax Telecommunicaciones, Inc. v. AT&T,

1 ee es, fe | ae | 27
Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 514 U.S. 280 (1995) ...... 24
Lipton v. MCI Worldcom, Inc., 135 F. Supp. 2d 182

BESTE Ne eC a ae ee ere 11
Miroyan v. U.S., 439 U.S. 1338 (1978) ............... 20

South Dakota v. Kansas City S. Indus., Inc.,
880 F.2d 40 (9" Cir. 1988), cert. denied,
es lab woe ee 18

Sprietsma v. Mercury Marine, 123 S. Ct. 518 (2002) .... 24

iii

Western Union Telegraph Co. v. Esteve Brothers,

SI TEE oc hoo tbe 10, 28
Statutes:
STA. © 1G aa pene. pale Pee 11
if 6 foe ye iientbaemaniongre teens a inrp ree spd passim
ra SE Sb 5 an SE hs apes wea re passim
OF Uae eee ba ves eee Sakae Fed eres 10-12, 24
OT WA. See 5 5 bb. do vos vniwn oto hake ee ee 21, 22,27
WTAE ee Wlwa os i eee ely ee oF
SO. WE Fis wre bes ee eee ee 21
Sh. PEs Fae ec es Sok es ces Fae 24
SUSE BOI as i cee: eas Peeper 17
Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971, 46 U.S.C. 4301 ....... 24
California’s Consumer Legal Remedies Act ............ 2
YE eer Pere Pree rere ee 2

iv

Administrative Decisions:
In the Matter of AT&T, 76 F.C.C.2d kg ty |) aeparee 17

In the Matter of Policy and Rules Concerning
the Interstate, Interexchange Marketplace,

SUE Seed OPER hos oh es ok he 15
In the Matter of Southwestern Bell Mobile

Systems, Inc., 14 F.C.C.R. 19,898 (1999) ...... 13, 26
Interstate Interexchange Marketplace,

Bl FAs OE BRR AIOOED: cio pho ine acnde. passim
Orloff v. Vodafone Airtouch Licenses,

be EA WORT AAONE) ois eke 14, 15, 22, 26
Second Report and Order, 11 FCC Red 20,730

CEPR a eas Ne eae oe phas oaece passim
Other Authorities:

Schenberg, /dentification, Tolerability, and Resolution
of Intercircuit Conflicts, 59 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 1007 . 20

RESTATEMENT OF THE QUESTION PRESENTED

Does the Federal Communications Act preempt the
application of generally applicable state contract and consumer
protection laws to the terms of a de-tariffed long distance
carrier’s proposed contracts with consumers, even when it is
proven that those contract terms would deprive consumers of
any effective remedy in the civil justice system for many illegal,
unfair or deceptive acts the carrier might commit?

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This lawsuit seeks to prevent AT&T from unilaterally
imposing on its long distance customers unconscionable
contract terms designed to eliminate their rights. Prior to
August 1, 2001, long distance carriers were not required to form
contracts with their customers, because the terms of long
distance service were governed by tariffs filed with the Federal
Communications Commission (“FCC”). When long distance
service was deregulated, however, the FCC ordered long
distance carriers to enter into contracts with their customers
effective August 1, 2001. Accordingly, AT&T drafted the
Consumer Services Agreement (the “Original CSA”), and sent
it to AT&T customers in May and June of 2001.- The evidence
at trial proved — and AT&T does not appeal this finding in its
Petition — that the company purposefully tailored the language
of both the cover letter and the CSA so that customers would
not read them.

The supposed goai of the Original CSA was to require
AT&T’s custome:s « submit all claims too large for small
claims court to binding arbitration. Instead of creating a
contract that vould have legally achieved that goal under
California laws applicable to all contracts, however, AT&T
drafted the Dispute Resolution Provisions of thé Original CSA
to (a) sharply limit the remedies available to consumers even in

cases of intentional wrongdoing by, among other things,
banning punitive damages and remedies provided by state
consumer protection statutes; (b) force its customers to obey
draconian secrecy provisions; (c) impose prohibitive costs upon
many consumers pursuing arbitration; and (d) prohibit its
customers from participating in class actions against it.

Plaintiffs maintained throughout this case that these
provisions were procedurally and substantively unconscionable,
and that they violated several state consumer protection statutes.
Following a full trial, the district court agreed and enjoined
their enforcement. Based upon an extensive evidentiary record,
the district court issued detailed findings and concluded that the
Original CSA would have denied AT&T’s customers any
meaningful means of redress for many valid claims that they
might have under the state’s consumer protection laws. On
appeal, the Ninth Circuit affirmed the declaration that these four
provisions were unconscionable, although that Court reversed
the trial court with respect to one of the two statutory claims,
finding that California’s Consumer Legal Remedies Act was
preempted by the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”).'

A few weeks after the issuance of the comprehensive
trial court decision below, AT&T significantly re-wrote the
CSA (“the Revised CSA”). Under the Revised CSA,

' Although it had waived ti:is argument in the trial court, AT&T argued
to the Ninth Circuit that California’s contract law of unconscionability was
also preempted by the FAA. The Ninth Circuit disagreed, and AT&T has
not appealed the decision on this issue in its Petition to this Court. AT&T
also argued unsuccessfully below that the Original CSA was not
unconscionable under California law because it would not deny its customers
the ability effectively to vindicate their rights. AT&T has also failed to
present this issue in its petition.

consumers are able to obtain punitive damages and other
statutory remedies for any intentional wrongdoing, consumers
are not bound by any secrecy provisions unless they choose to
be so bound after a dispute arises, and AT&T will bear nearly
all the costs of arbitration for all consumer claims below
$75,000. Also, within a few weeks of the trial court’s decision,
the American Arbitration Association significantly re-wrote its
rules to shift far more of the costs of arbitration from consumers
to businesses.

AT&T argued in the trial court and in the Ninth Circuit
that the Federal Communications Act (“FCA”) preempts all of
the plaintiffs’ claims in this case. Both courts rejected this
argument. In its Petition, AT&T argues that this Court should
grant certiorari because the Ninth Circuit’s decision on the
question of FCA preemption in this case conflicts with the
decision in Boomer v. AT&T Corp., 309 F.3d 404 (7" Cir.
2002). As this opposition will show, the distinctions between
Boomer and this case do not justify a grant of certiorari.

First, the divergences between these cases is not
sufficient to justify this Court’s jurisdiction because the cases
involved very different contracts. While this case involved the
Original CSA, Boomer involved a challenge to the Revised
CSA. This difference is extremely important for several
reasons. While plaintiffs only raised claims under California
state law, at least two provisions of the Original CSA that were
significantly altered in the Revised CSA violated not only state
law, but the FCA as well. Since federal and state law on these
points are in accord, there can be no implied conflict between
state law and federal law — and thus no implied conflict
preemption of state law — on those issues. Moreover, under
applicable state law, a finding that these two provisions were
unconscionable would justify striking the entire Dispute

3

Resolution Provisions of the Original CSA. Accordingly, even
if the Ninth Circuit erred in its ruling that the FCA does not
preempt California state law with respect to the Original CSA’s
ban on class actions, that error would not change the outcome
in this case.

Second, the supposed conflict between Boomer and this
case is greatly exaggerated by AT&T because the appeals courts
in these two cases shared many precepts, and only disagreed
about fairly narrow aspects of how these applied in the two
cases. In addition, several of the differences in the outcomes of
the two cases may be traced to differences in the factual records
upon which the respective courts premised their reasoning.

Third, facts that are unique to this case render it a poor
vehicle upon which to make broad pronouncements of law. As
noted above, the district court made findings of fact that the
Original CSA would undermine and eviscerate the ability of
AT&T’s customers to effectively vindicate their rights under
the state consumer protection statutes. This is extremely
significant, because several provisions of the FCA, as amended
in 1996, explicitly save and rely upon state consumer protection
statutes. Accordingly, the unusual facts of this case — certain
terms in the Original CSA would have undermined the ability
of consumers to obtain remedies under any and all state contract
and consumer protection laws — raise legal issues unlikely to
surface in many other cases.

Fourth, it is premature for this Court to address any
fissure that may exist between these cases. This case and
Boomer are the only Court of Appeals opinions addressing the
extent of FCA preemption of state law since the FCC
deregulated long distance service. There is significant value in
letting the law on this question further develop and percolate.

4

|
4

PME AONE ITY on alte” Mh *
2

Boomer demonstrates that rushing to decide this issue before
the underlying regulatory scheme has stabilized can lead to
errors and confusion. In Boomer, the Seventh Circuit decided
the case on an unusually expedited basis. The court failed to
consider an extremely important FCC decision issued only a
few weeks prior to that decision that flatly contradicts many of
the premises underlying the court’s opinion.

On the merits, AT&T argues that, even if its conduci
and the contract provisions in the Original CSA were illegal
under California law, AT&T cannot be prevented from
stripping consumers of their statutory rights and remedies
because California’s contract formation and consumer
protection laws (and all other states’ similar contract and
consumer protection laws) are preempted by the FCA. AT&T’s
argument is wrong.

AT&T ignores the historic sea-change brought about by
the recognition of both Congress and the FCC that long-
distance service is no longer a monopoly and that the proper
response to an era of widespread competition was to eliminate
the reliance upon uniform tariffs that carried the weight of law
and instead rely upon market forces (which include the normal
backdrop of state commercial laws that apply to all competitive
markets). AT&T’s interpretation requires a tortured reading of
all of the decisions interpreting and applying the filed rate
doctrine as if they could have been decided just as easily under
other provisions of the FCA.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. FACTS ABOUT THIS LAWSUI7T

The district court’s 74 page opinion exhaustively
describes the facts of this case. Petitioner’s Appendix (“App.”)
44a-109a. Plaintiffs will not replicate that discussion here.
Nonetheless, some of the key facts need to be highlighted.

Under California law, contract terms will be found to be
unconscionable and therefore unenforceable if they are both
formed in a manner that is “procedurally unconscionable” and
if they contain terms sufficiently one-sided, unfair and
unreasonable to be “substantively unconscionable.” App. 35a-
38a, 84a-86a. The district court found that the Original CSA
was p.ocedurally unconscionable because it was a contract of
adhesion and it was communicated to AT&T’s customers in a
manner that ensured that most of them would be “surprised” to
learn of its terms. App. 86a-89a. The trial included extensive
testimony and documentary evidence demonstrating that AT&T
intentionally informed its customers about the Original CSA in
a manner that guaranteed that few of them would notice the
challenged terms. “AT&T characterized the [creation of the
Original CSA] as a non-event,” for example, “thereby
imposing on its customers the artificial notion that they would
be unaffected by the changes resulting from [the Original
CSA].” App. 89a. In one in-house document, an AT&T
official said that the mailing containing the Original CSA
should be crafted so that it was not a “call to action” for
customers. App. 55a. AT&T “downplayed” the Original CSA.
Id. AT&F¥ designed the envelope that contained the Original
CSA so that it would look like “junk mail,” App. 57a, and its
marketing studies showed that many class members would not
even open the mailing. App. 56a. The cover letter for the

6

ee en ©

Original CSA contained a single bolded message telling
consumers that they did not need to do anything, and AT&T’s
own studies revealed that after reading that sentence most
people would stop reading the mailing and throw it out without
learning of the Original CSA’s terms. App. 55a.

The district court found, and the Ninth Circuit agreed,
that four features of the Original CSA were substantively
unconscionable.’ First, by its terms, section 4 of the Original
CSA barred consumers from receiving punitive and other
statutorily-provided damages even if AT&T committed
intentional wrongful acts. AT&T asserts in its Petition that it
had intended that this provision“carry forward” the liability
limitations of its tariff, and that these limitations applied only
to negligence claims but not claims for intentional wrongdoing.
Pet. at 11. As the district court below found, however, in a
lengthy discussion based upon the actual language of this
provision, and in a conclusion that AT&7 does not appeal in its -
Petition, the provision in the Original CSA went far beyond the
earlier tariff. Under the plain language of the provision, the
liability limitations applied not merely to claims for
negligence, but also to “any other claim,” and applied “whether
the claim is based on contract, tort, statute, fraud,
misrepresentation, or any other legal or equitable theory.” App.
77a-83a, 90a. The Ninth Circuit did not need to address this
holding, as AT&T only appealed the district court’s refusal to
rewrite that section. App. 30a, n.13.

Second, the Original CSA included a sweeping
confidentiality provision making secret and requiring secrecy

2 AT&T challenged this determination below, but did not renew that

challenge in its Petition to this Court.

7

about all facts concerning any dispute in arbitration. App. 92a.
The district court concluded that this provision was “one-sided,
oppressive, and devoid of justification ....”. App. 94a. The
court noted (and AT&T does not appeal this finding) that the
secrecy provision would put AT&T “in a vastly superior legal
posture” in litigation with its customers “since as a party to
every arbitration it will know every result and be able to guide
itself accordingly, while each class member will have to operate
in isolation and largely in the dark.” App. 93a. The Ninth
Circuit affirmed the holding that this provision was
unconscionable. App. 42a.

Third, after reviewing extensive evidence about the
magnitude of the costs that consumers would bear under the
Original CSA, App. 62a-66a, 95a-99a, the district court
concluded that “in a number of situations, large arbitration costs
will preclude class members from effectively vindicating their
legal rights.” App. 96a-97a. Again, the Court of Appeals
affirmed the holding that the provisions of the Original CSA
- imposing prohibitive costs upon AT&T’s customers were
unconscionable. App. 40a-41a.

Fourth, the Original CSA prohibited AT&T’ s customers
from bringing or taking part in class actions against the
company. Prior to the Original CSA taking effect, consumers
had successfully prosecuted a number of class actions against
long distance phone carriers. App. 66a-67a. In one case,
AT&T paid 100% of the class members’ damages, App. 67a,
and in another case a class recovered $88 million from another
long distance carrier. App. 67a. The parties here stipulated in
thie district court that none of the lawyers in these earlier cases
could have brought those cases on an individual basis, whether
in court or arbitration. App. 67a-68a. Based on this and other
substantial evidence in the record, the district court found that

“the prohibition on -class action litigation [in the CSA]
functions as an effective deterrent to litigating many types of
claims involving rates, services or billing practices and,
ultimately, would serve to shield AT&T from liability even in
cases where it has violated the law.” App. 68a. The Ninth
Circuit affirmed this finding as well. App. 39a.

Based on the foregoing, the district court concluded that
“AT&T sought to shield itself from liability .... AT&T wants
to make it very difficult for anyone to effectively vindicate her
rights, even in [the arbitral] forum.” App. 105a-106a.
Accordingly, the district court found the challenged provisions
of the Original CSA to be unconscionable and illegal, and
enjoined .nem. Following California’s normal rules for
contract provisions containing “multiple defects,” the district
court struck all of the Original CSA’s “Legal Remedies
Provisions.” App. 100a. The Ninth Circuit also affirmed on
this point. App. 38a, n.13.

Il. THE COMMUNICATIONS ACT AND THE
DETARIFFING EFFORT UNDERLYING AT&T’S
AUGUST 2001 EFFORT TO IMPOSE THE CSA.

Understanding the preemption issues posed by AT&T
requires discussion of the principal terms of the FCA bearing
upon preemption, and an awareness of how the law of FCA
preemption has radically changed as a consequence of the
growth of competition and deregulation.

When long distance telephone service first became
widespread in this nation, it was a natural monopoly. Congress
recognized that if this monopoly was not regulated, the long
distance company would have enormous power that could be
used to give some parties or geographical areas a great

9

advantage over others. A central feature of the Interstate
Commerce Act, which was the forerunner to the FCA, was to
protect the nation from possible abuses of this monopoly power
by ensuring that all phone service was provided to all people on
the same terms. Accordingly, from the early 1900s on, the
terms of phone service were not governed by contract principles
as an agreement between two parties, but by the principle that
the terms themselves became a species of law. See Western
Union Telegraph Co. v. Esteve Brothers, 256 U.S. 566, 571
(1921) (“The Act of 1920 introduced a new principle into the
legal relations of the telegraph companies with their patrons....
The rate became, not as before a matter of contract by which a
legal liability could be modified, but a matter of law by which
a uniform liability was imposed.”).

While no language in the Interstate Commerce Act itself
gave rise to a hard rule of uniformity, that gap was soon filled.
When the FCA was first enacted, tie legal mechanism that was
developed to ensure uniformity was incorporated into § 203.
This section provides that common carriers shall file schedules
with the FCC setting out their rates, as well as “classifications,
practices, and regulations affecting such charges.” 47 U.S.C. §
203. These schedules became known as tariffs. For many
decades, long distance telephone service was governed by these
tariffs, which were filed with and approved by the FCC. The
preemptive force of § 203 was absolute in its scope. “If
approved, the tariff exclusively controlled the rights and
liabilities of the-parties as a matter of law.” App. 46a. The
reason for the absolute preemptive force of these tariffs was
simple: “A tariff filed with a federal agency is the equivalent
of a federal regulation.” Cahnmann v. Sprint Corp., 133 F.3d
484, 488 (7th Cir. 1998).

10

The absolute preemptive scope of § 203 was embodied
in “the filed rate doctrine,” which was the “central principle of
the regulatory scheme for interstate telecommunications
carriers.” Lipton v. MCI Worldcom, Inc., 135 F. Supp. 2d 182,
187 (D.D.C. 2001) (citation omitted). The entire focus of this
Court’s most recent decision dealing with FCA preemption
revo'ves around § 203 and the filed rate doctrine. See AT&T v.
Central Office Telephone, Inc., 524 U.S. 214 (1998).

In 1996, Congress deregulated long distance service. It
did this by amending the FCA to permit the FCC to forbear
from enforcing § 203, and thus to eliminate the filed rate
doctrine. As the Court of Appeals below noted, Congress
envisioned the 1996 Amendments as “a dramatic break with the
past that would revolutionize long-distance service by greatly
decreasing the scope of the FCC’s role.” App. at 26a.
Accordingly, acting pursuant to the 1996 Amendments, 47
U.S.C. § 160(a), the FCC ended the system of tariffs. 11 F.C.C.
Red. 20,730 (1996). In the place of tariffs, the FCC required
that the same backdrop of laws, “incentives and rewards” that

Zovern companies in other fields would apply to carriers. 11
FCC Red. 20,730 at ¥ 4.

AT&T fiercely fought the detariffing movement that
ended that doctrine.’ In this case, however, AT&T argues that
) 203 and the filed rate doctrine were always mere procedural
levices, and that they were superfluous to the Act’s actual
yreemptive force. AT&T now asserts that an absolute
equirement of uniformity, and a sweeping preemptive force,

> AT&T had unsuccessfully opposed complete detarriffing, hoping it

ould continue to “limit [its] liability through tariff provisions.” Interstate
nterexchange Marketplace, 12 FCC Rcd. 15,014 at J 8 (1997).

11

arises from two different provisions of the FCA — 47 U.S.C. §
201 and § 202.

FCA § 201 provides that the terms of long-distance
service must be “just and reasonable.” 47 U.S.C. § 201. AT&T
argues that this section means that state laws of contract
formation and breach, and consumer protection laws generally,
may never render any term of a long distance carrier’s contract
unconscionable.

Section 202 of the FCA provides that long-distance
carriers may not “give any undue or unreasonable preference”
to any particular set of customers. 47 U.S.C. § 202. AT&T
contends that plaintiffs’ claims are preempted by § 202 because
application of California iaw to AT&T’s conduct in California
constitutes “unjust or unreasonable discrimination” that gives
California customers an “undue or unreasonable preference or
advantage.” :

Unlike the absolute language of § 203, §§ 201 and 202
use heavily qualified language. The terms of these provisions
do not speak of complete uniformity, but only bar

" “unreasonable” preferences and “unreasonable” terms. In the
wake of deregulation, these terms cannot be read in the absolute
manner in which § 203 was consistently interpreted for decades.

The withdrawal of FCC regulation was not meant to
herald an era of lawlessness in the telecommunications industry.
Instead, the framers of the 1996 Amendments intended that
state law would play an important role in preserving consumer
protections. See App. 48a (citing comments in legislative
history about the crucial role of state consumer protection”
laws). The FCC concurred. In its statements relating to
detariffing, the FCC said that it would henceforth rely upon the

12

marketplace to ensure that §§ 201 and 202 were enforced. E.g.,
Second Report and Order, 11 F.C.C.R. 20,730, § 4. When the
FCC has used the term “marketplace” in similar contexts, it has
always contemplated that term as including state contract and
consumer protection laws. In Jn the Matter of Southwestern
Bell Mobile Systems, Inc., 14 F.C.C.R. 19,898 (1999), for
example, the FCC agreed with several carriers that the 1996 Act
established a preference for “the competitive forces of the
marketplace, rather than governmental regulation,” but
cautioned that it did not agree with the Petitioner’s arguments
“to the extent that they imply such preference for competition
over regulation results in a general exemption for the [mobile
phone] industry fromthe neutral application of state contractual
or consumer fraud laws.” 14 F.C.C.R. at 19,903. Accordingly,
the FCC’s statements on detariffing spoke of the centrality of
state consumer protection and contract laws. See, e.g., Second
Report and Order, 11 FCC Red 20,730 at 20,753 (1996).

AT&T reacted with alarm to the FCC’s position that, in
the detariffed environment, long distance carriers would be
subject to state consumer protection laws. It filed a petition
requesting that the FCC announce that it was going to continue
to enforce § 201 and § 202 as they related to the terms of long
distance service. AT&T also requested that the FCC make an
express statement that this continued enforcement would
“exclusively” govern the terms of service. AT&T did not get
what it wanted. In its substance, as the district court found, the
FCC “granted in part and denied in part AT&T’s petition. . . .”
App. 50a. The FCC’s Order on Reconsideration provided in
relevant part:

{T]he [FCA] continues to govern determinations
as to whether rates, terms, and conditions for
interstate, domestic, interexchange services are

13

just and reasonable, and are not unjustly or
unreasonably discriminatory. [However,] we
note that the Communications Act does not
govern other issues, such as contract formation
and breach of contract, that arise ina detariffed
environment. As stated in the Second Report
and Order, consumers may have remedies under
state consumer protection and contract laws as
to issues regarding the legal relationship
between the carrier and customer ina detariffed
regime.

12 FCC Rcd 15,014 at | 77 (emphasis added).

Thus, while the FCC clarified that it would continue to
regulate the “rates, terms and conditions” of service, it made
equally clear that issues of contract formation and breach
would now be governed by state law and that consumers would
now have remedies under state consumer protection and
contract laws as to issues regarding the legal relations between
the carrier and customer. The order did not state that any body
of state law was preempted. The FCC subsequently stated
unequivocally that consumers “are protected by the full range
of state laws, including those governing . . . consumer
protection, and deceptive practices.” App. 5la.

In the detariffed environment, the FCC has made clear
that carriers no longer must offer uniform contract terms to all
consumers. Indeed, the FCC has made clear that carriers are
now free under §§ 201 and 202 to offer different terms to
different consumers, and the agency relies upon the marketplace
to ensure that these distinctions are not unreasonable or unjust.
In Orloff v. Vodafone Airtouch Licenses, 17 F.C.C.R. 8987
(2002), for example, the FCC permitted a carrier to negotiate

14

AERIS SEARS

separate and different agreements with each of its consumers.
The FCC held that these contract variations did not violate
section 202(a) of the FCA because market forces would not
permit unreasonable discrimination. 17 F.C.C.R. at 8996-97.
The agency also treated §§ 201 and 202 in the same manner.
See Orloff, 17 F.C.C.R. at 8999 (rejecting Orloff’s § 201(b)
claim simply for “the reasons discussed above [in the dismissal
of his § 202(a) and (b) claims]’”).4

Through this Petition, AT&T asks this Court to adopt
positions that it was unable to convince the FCC to adopt.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

i. THERE IS NO CONFLICT WARRANTING
REVIEW BY THIS COURT.

A. The Significant Factual Differences Between
this Case and Boomer Weigh Heavily Against
Review.

AT&T's principal argument that this Court should grant
certiorari relies upon the differing perspectives of the Ninth

4 The Orloff case arose in the cellular phone context. While it is true that

the cellular phone companies were never subject to any tariff, the FCC’s
statements relating to §§ 201 and 202 in that context apply with equal force
in the long-distance context. In its decisions to detariff long-distance
service, the FCC made clear that its goal was to create a system that would
rely upon the same market policing forces for long-distance service as
governed cellular phones. See Jn the Matter of Policy and Rules Concerning
the Interstate, Interexchange Marketplace, 11 F.C.C.R. 7141, 7158 (1996).
In other words, the cellular phone context is the model for the world of
detariffed long distance service, and the FCC’s interpretations of §§ 201 and
202 in cases involving cellular companies are completely applicable here.

15

Circuit in this case and the Seventh Circuit in the Boomer case.
In fact, much of the difference between these decisions may
reflect the great differences in the contracts that the two courts

considered.

As set forth above, the Ninth Circuit affirmed the order
enjoining the Dispute Resolution Provisions of the Original
CSA based upon the unconscionability of four provisions of the
Original CSA: (1) the limitation on liability even for
intentional wrongdoing; (2) the broad secrecy provision; (3) the
prohibitive costs of arbitration; and (4) the prohibition on class
actions. As set forth on the Statement of the Case, however,
AT&T re-wrote the first three of these provisions immediately
after the trial in this case. The Seventh Circuit noted that it was
addressing only the Revised CSA. See Boomer, 309 F.3d at
410 (“AT&T later amended the CSA to further reduce the
potential arbitration expense. . . .”)’ Accordingly, the version
of the CSA that was before the Seventh Circuit in Boomer was
very different from the version at issue here.

The differences between the contracts at issue in this
case and Boomer are particularly significant for two reasons.
First, two of the contract provisions at issue in this case were
illegal under the FCA. As noted above, the courts below found
(and AT&T does not challenge this determination in its
Petition) that the Original CSA would bar consumers from
receiving any consequential or punitive damages, even in the
case of intentional wrongdoing. Under authorities
_ acknowledged by AT&T, however, any provision that would

> The Seventh Circuit did not address the limitations on liability in cases
of intentional wrongdoing that had been contained in § 4 of the Original
CSA, or the secrecy provision of the Original CSA, further demonstrating
that Boomer involved a different set of issues.

16

immunize AT&T from intentional wrongdoing has been
conclusively determined to violate the FCA. See, e.g., In the
Matter of AT&T, 76 F.C.C.2d 195, 197 n. 5 (1980) (“liability
for willful misconduct is borne by the shareholder [of
AT&T]”). In addition, the CSA contained a swceping secrecy
provision. That provision greatly exceeded the limited and
discrete confidentiality provision of the FCA, which provides
limited confidentiality only with the consent of the consumer,
5 U.S.C. § 574(b), and AT&T effectively recognized this fact
when it re-wrote the provision in the Revised CSA to track that
statutory language.

The point here is not that plaintiffs are advancing or
have previously advanced in this case any cause of action under
the FCA — they consistently disclaimed such an intention, and
this case was brought solely on state law grounds.® Instead, the
point is that AT&T cannot claim that state laws applied to these
provisions of the Original CSA are preempted by the FCA,
when those same provisions that were held to violate state law
also violate the FCA. Where both bodies of law would reach
the same result (invalidating the provision), there is no conflict
between them.

The differences between the contracts are also
particularly significant for a second reason. Under California’s

° AT&T states in its Petition that it is “undisputed” that the Original CSA

complies with the FCA. Pet. at 1. This is simply not true. It is true that
plaintiffs did not bring their case under the FCA, but they never agreed that
the Original CSA complied with the FCA. Indeed, plaintiffs pointed to the
plain language of AT&T’s provision to disprove AT&T’s claims that the
limitation on liability provision was not “intended” to restrict damages for
wrongful misconduct (and therefore supposedly complied with the FCA),
and the courts below agreed with plaintiffs on this point.

17

law of unconscionability, where an arbitration clause contains
multiple illegal provisions, that is grounds for a court to strike
the entire arbitration clause. Armendariz v. Foundation Health
Psychare Services, 6 P.3d 669, 775 (Cal. 2000) (presence of
“multiple defects” is grounds for refusing to sever individual
unconscionable provisions, but instead strike the entire
arbitration provision). In this case, AT&T argued below that
under California law, the court should merely strike any
unconscionable terms but leave the remainder of the Original
CSA’s Legal Remedies Provisions in place. The district court
below rejected AT&T’s argument, however, and held that the
permeation of multiple unconscionable provisions required
excising all of the Original CSA’s Legal Remedies Provisions.
App. 99a-100a. The Court of Appeals affirmed. App. 43a.
Accordingly, the presence of the two unconscionable provisions
that also violate the FCA would be sufficient to justify the
entire decision below, even with respect to the other contract
terms which AT&T claims are permitted under the FCA. When
an alternate, exclusively state-law ground exists for affirming
the court of appeals, this Court should deny certiorari. E.g.,
South Dakota v. Kansas City S. Indus., Inc., 880 F.2d 40 (9"
Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1023 (1990).

The significance of any legal split between the decision
below and Boomer is also muted in light of the vastly different
factual records before the courts. One of the central holdings of
Boomer was that the FCA preempted any state law that might
apply to the Revised CSA because the application of state law
would increase AT&T’s costs. Boomer, 309 F.3d at 419 This
is, self-evidently, an empirical question of fact, not a legal
issue. The Boomer court does not indicate what admissible
evidence, if any, existed in the record to support its conclusion
on the point. /d. Instead, the Boomer court appears to imagine
that this factual question is one upon which a court might

18

speculate as to the answer. In this case, by contrast, after the
same issue was raised by AT&T, and after evidence was
introduced by each side and the witnesses were cross-examined,
the district court specifically found that AT&T had not
demonstrated that the Original CSA would reduce its costs.
App. 9la. The district court’s factual finding was not
surprising, in light of the extensive evidence of the substantial
transaction costs that would be created by the mechanisms
employed in the Original CSA. E.g., App. 65a (the average
arbitrator in Northern California charges $1,899 for a day of
hearings). As the district court below noted, App. 91a, the FCC
also has explicitly announced a finding of fact that requiring
compliance with state contract and consumer protection laws
will not increase the costs of long distance carriers.
“[{R]equiring nondominant interexchange carriers to conduct
their businesses as do other businesses in unregulated markets
will not substantially increase their costs.” 12 FCC Red. 15,014
at § 15.’ The expert agency’s determination on this point
deserves substantial deference. A divergence among the Courts
of Appeals that is rooted in differing factual conclusions drawn
from different factual records does not justify the exercise of
this Court’s jurisdiction.

AT&T also exaggerates the alleged conflict between the
opinion below and Boomer. In fact, the appeals courts in both

As set forth in the Statement of the Case, the trial court below also
found that the unconscionable terms of Original CSA (such as the provision ~
stripping remedies even for intentional wrongdoing) would prevent many
consumers with valid claims under the state’s consumer protection statutes
from vindicating their rights. The Seventh Circuit, by contrast, did not
consider this factual issue with respect to the Revised-‘CSA. This factual
difference is significant with respect to both FCA preemption and the
supposed split between this case and Boomer, as this Opposition will
establish below in the discussion of the prematurity issue.

19

cases sharé many core precepts. Like the Ninth Circuit, the
Boomer court found no express or field preemption. Boomer,
309 F.3d at 417, 424. Like the Ninth Circuit, the Boomer court
agreed that “state law may determine whether a contract has
been formed,” id. at 423, although it disagreed with the Ninth
Circuit’s view that this rule extends to the contract law doctrine —
of unconscionability. Like the Ninth Circuit, the Boomer court
also agreed that “following detariffing, there appears to be some
role for state law.” Id. at 424. While the courts disagreed upon
the precise contours of the role for state law, and some of the
implications to be drawn from these principles, there is also
much in common in their approaches. In this blurred setting, a
grant of certiorari is not appropriate. See Miroyan v. U.S., 439
U.S. 1338, 1339 (1978) (“[w]hile there is undoubtedly a
difference of approach between the Circuits on [the application
of the Fourth Amendment to tracking beepers], | am not sure
that there is a square conflict . . . .”); Michael S. Schenberg,
Identification, Tolerability, and Resolution of Intercircuit
Conflicts, 59 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 1007, 1013-14 (“when two courts
apply the same legal rule to similar facts and reach different
conclusions, the presumption is that there is no conflict.”).

B. This Case Is A Poor Vehicle to Address the
Relationship Between Federal and State Law
in this Area Because of the Unique Facts of
this Case.

Another factor that argues for allowing this issue to
percolate further in the lower courts is that this case is a very
poor vehicle to address the broad question that AT&T wishes |
this Court to answer. AT&T asks this Court to determine if any
—state laws may ever be applied to any term in a long-distance '
contract, but in fact the state laws at issue here fall within a ©
narrow and unusual category — laws that are necessary toensure |

20

that consumers are not stripped of their ability to effectively
vindicate their rights under any and all state consumer
protection laws. Even AT&T has not claimed that it is exempt
from all state consumer protection laws; it has only claimed that
those laws may not be applied to the terms of their contracts.
With respect to other behavior, however, throughout this
litigation AT&T has acknowledged, as it must, that state
consumer protection laws are not preempted as they apply to
deceptive or false statements about the terms of a contract. In
this case, however, applying state consumer protection and
contract laws to the terms of the Original was necessary to
ensure that those laws are not vitiated with respect to all issues.

As set forth above, after a full trial on the matter, the
trial court below made a finding of fact that the Original CSA
would bar many of AT&T’s customers from effectively
vindicating even valid claims under state consumer protection
acts. This finding, which is entitled to great deference, is not
challenged in AT&T’s Petition. This finding makes the state
laws at issue in this case uniquely consistent with the FCA,
because several provisions of the Act explicitly rely upon state
consumer protection acts to achieve its purposes. See 47 U.S.C.
§ 253 (preserving “consumer protection” laws relating to new
carriers entering the long distance field); 47 U.S.C. § 254
(preserving a role for states in ensuring that universal service is
available at rates that are just, reasonable and affordable); 47
U.S.C. § 261(c) (preserving state laws that further competition
in the provision of phone exchange services). Thus, the state
laws at issue in this case are uniquely essential to the effective
operation in any case of any state laws. Unlike most settings
where the relationship of federal and state law might be
explored, AT&T’s Petition raises the unusual spectre that its
interpretation of §§ 201 and 202 would enable the company to

21

to promulgate contract terms that would vitiate §§ 253, 254 and
261.

This case is also a poor vehicle in light of the fact that
AT&T has re-written three of the contract provisions at issue.
While AT&T surely has a technical right to appeal a judgment
declaring these provisions illegal, in case it might some day
wish to resurrect them, it is a poor use of this Court’s resources
to adjudicate the legality of contract terms that have been
abandoned for more than a year.

c. Any Split That May Exist Between This Case
and Boomer is Immature.

It would also be premature for this Court to review the
alleged conflict at issue here. The FCC only de-tariffed long
distance service on August 1, 2001, and only two courts have
considered this issue since that date. The novelty of this issue
increases the value of allowing the law to develop further in the
lower courts. The Boomer decision was issued only a few
weeks after the FCC handed down its decision in Orloff, for
example, and the Boomer court did not cite to or mention
Orloff. In Boomer, the Seventh Circuit declared that §§ 201
and 202 require service to be uniform to all customers. In
Orloff, however, the FCC made clear that carriers are free to
charge different rates to different customers based on individual
negotiations. This demonstrates the value in allowing the law
to develop here. In its great haste (the Seventh Circuit issued
its decision only about ten weeks after the appeal was filed), the
Seventh Circuit missed the FCC’s clear statement that it would
rely upon competition to enforce §§ 201 and 202, and that
uniformity was no longer required in the detariffed regulatory
scheme. This Court should not repeat the mistake of rushing to

22

resolve the issue even as the FCC’s brand new regulatory
scheme settles in.

II. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION DOES NOT
CONFLICT WITH ANY DECISION OF THIS
COURT.

A. There Is No Express or Field Preemption
Here.

This Court has recognized three situations where federal
law preempts state law: where a Congressional Act has “an
express provision for preemption;” where Congress. intends
federal law to “occupy the field,” and “to the extent of any
conflict with a federal statute.” Crosby v. National Foreign
Trade Council, 530 U.S. 353, 372 (2000). None of these
situations applies here.

The FCA does not expressly preempt the plaintiffs’
claims. AT&T relies upon § 201 of the Act, which requires that _
the terms of service be just and reasonable, and § 202, which
forbids unjust or unreasonable preferences in long distance
service. Neither of these provisions purports to preempt any
state laws. Neither provision uses the term preemption, or
speaks of foreclosing state laws of contract formation or
consumer protection statutes.

In addition, the FCA contains a general Saving Clause
(as well as other provisions saving state consumer protection
laws, as noted above). The FCA states that “nothing in this Act
... Shall in any way abridge or alter the remedies now existing
at common law or by statute, but the provisions of this Act...

23

are in addition to such remedies.” 47 U.S.C. § 414.° This
Court has interpreted express preemption provisions narrowly
in statutes where there are Savings Clauses. See Sprietsma v.
Mercury Marine, 123 S. Ct. 518, 526 (2002) (reading express
preemption provision of Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971, 46
U.S.C. 4301 narrowly not to reach common law claims in light
of Act’s savings clause). Accordingly, it is clear that the FCA
does not expressly preempt plaintiffs’ claims.

Nor can it be said that the FCA preempts the entire field
of long distance telephone service. As noted above, the FCA’s
savings clauses carve out important roles for state law. Where
a statute expressly preserves an extensive role for states, any
claim of field preemption is foreclosed.

B. There Is No Implied Conflict Preemption
Here. |

Implied preemption arises only when there is an “actual
conflict” between federal and state law, either because it would
be “impossible for a private party to comply” with both or
because the state law “stands as an obstacle to the
accomplishment and execution of the full purposes of
Congress.” Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 514 U.S. 280, 287
(1995). There is no such conflict here.

First, the Ninth Circuit’s decision is entirely consistent
with the FCC’s repeated public statements about the effect of

In Central Office, this Court held that § 414 could not be used to put
the FCA at odds with itself by undermining the uniformity necessarily
required by § 203. In the wake of detariffing, however, and the FCA’s
explicit reliance upon state consumer protection acts in several different
provisions, nothing in §§ 201 or 202 overrides § 414.

24

'
‘

detariffing and the relationship of state and federal law. As
noted in the Statement of the Case, when the FCC announced
its decision to detariff, it declared that consumers would not
only have remedies under the FCA, but would “also be able to
pursue remedies under state consumer protection and contract
laws.” Second Report and Order, 11 FCC Red 20730, 20753 -
(1996). As set forth in some detail above, when AT&T
complained and asked the FCC to reconsider, the FCC’s
response was to agree that it would continue to enforce the
FCA. It did not state that any state laws were preempted or
excluded by the FCA, however, and it did not retract the
Statement that consumers would continue to have remedies
under state contract laws.

AT&T’s argument that state laws of contract formation
and consumer protection are preempted if they would limit the
terms of long distance service contracts is flatly contrary to the
FCC’s statements on this issue. In its Order on
Reconsideration, the FCC stated explicitly that state laws of
contract formation apply to long distance contracts, and that
consumers would have remedies under state laws of contract
and consumer protection regarding the “legal relationship”
between the carrier and consumers. 12 FCC Red 15,014 at
§ 77. Plaintiffs’ claims here are based on precisely these state
laws.

In short, AT&T’s repeated reliance upon the word
“agreed” in the Order on Reconsideration overstates the import
of the ruling. In substance, the FCC agreed with AT&T’s
petition only in part. The FCC agreed with AT&T only to the
extent that it acknowledged that it was not wholly abandoning
its authority under § 20land § 202. But the FCC declined to
take the second and more important step requested by AT&T,
and never claimed to exert exclusive federal authority over long

25

distance contracts. To the contrary, it firmly reasserted the
important role to be played by state law effective August 1,
2001. 3

The FCC’s detariffing orders also state that carriers are
to be treated like all other businesses in unregulated markets, | 1
FCC Red. 20,730 at J 4, further disproving AT&T’s position.
All other unregulated businesses in the U.S. are subject to state
contract law and state consumer protection laws. The FCC
states that AT&T is also subject to these laws.’ As established
in the Statement of the Case, when the FCC states that it is
counting upon “market forces” to ensure that § 20land § 202
are enforced, it has repeatedly stated that those forces include
state contract and consumer protection laws. Indeed, when a
carrier suggested that the FCC’s reliance upon market forces
implied an exemption from “the neutral application of state
contractual or consumer fraud laws,” the FCC -flatly and
explicitly rejected that claim. Matter of Southwestern Bell, 14
F.C.C.R. at 19,903.

As set forth above, in the Orloff case the FCC
completely rejected AT&T’s notion that absolute federally-
imposed uniformity is the rule in the detariffed world. Far from
requiring uniformity, the FCC has permitted a carrier operating
in a deregulated environment to negotiate separate contracts
with each customer.

9 After the Order on Reconsideration, the FCC continued officially to

inform consumers that they are protected by the “full range” of state laws
relating to contracts and consumer protection. App. Sla, 105a. The FCC
also tells consumers that it is not their exclusive remedy: “If you are not
satisfied with the carrier’s response to your complaint, the Commission’s
rules allow you the opportunity to either file a formal complaint or seek
relief through civil court.” App. 27a.

ee en

26

Ee ere

The Ninth Circuit’s decision is also consistent with the
text, structure and purpose of the FCA. When Congress chose
to allow the FCC to detariff long-distance service, and to
require the carriers to form contracts with their customers, it
necessarily chose to permit state contract law to play a
significant role. The filed rate doctrine arises from federal law,
but a contract “is not the filed rate and therefore is not a simple
creature of federal law.” Fax Telecommunicaciones, Inc. v.
AT&T, 138 F.3d 479, 487 (2d Cir. 1998). Given that contracts
— unlike tariffs — are not a species of federal law, it follows that
state law must govern them.

In addition, as set forth by extensive citations in both
opinions below, AT&T’s argument is belied by the legislative
intent underlying the Act. When Congress deregulated the
long-distance market, it drastically de-emphasized the role and
power of the FCC, and frequently expressed concerns for
federalism. App. 5a, 26a-27a, 48a-49a. To treat the 1996
Amendments as having left the FCC’s exclusive authority
entirely intact is to re-write this history.

- Further, AT&T’s interpretation of § 20land § 202
places those provisions at odds with numerous other provisions
of the FCA. As set forth in the Statement of the Case, after
reviewing extensive evidence, the district court made a factual
finding (that AT&T challenged in the Ninth Circuit, but has not
challenged in its Petition) that the Original CSA would prevent
consumers from effectively vindicating their legal rights under
state consumer protection statutes. As also set forth above,
however, the 1996 Amendments added a number of other
savings clauses to the Act, evidencing a Congressional desire to
preserve a meaningful role for the states in this area. E.g. 47
U.S.C. §§ 253(b), 254(1), and 261(c). A decision adopting
AT&T’s argument that § 201 and § 202 implicitly permit it to

27

adopt contract terms that will effectively vitiate those laws
would undermine the overall purposes of the FCA."

None of the authority cited by AT&T to support its
FCA preemption argument withstands scrutiny. AT&T relies
extensively upon the Esteve case from 1922, for example. See
Petition at 2, 4, 20-21. Esteve, however, arose in the entirely
different context where long-distance service was a natural
monopoly and where the federal government could not rely
upon “market forces” (as those have been defined by the FCC).
These very different assumptions are made clear in the opinion
-- the fundamental precept of Esteve was that the terms of long
distance service were not based upon contract principles, but
were instead a matter of law. 25 U.S. at 271. The entire point of
the 1996 Amendments and the FCC’s decision to detariff, by
contrast, is to make clear that now — unlike 1922 — long
distance service is to be governed by contract principles.

AT&T also repeatedly cites Central Office, 524 U.S.
214, Petition at 2, 20, 22, but the holding in Central Office is
driven and bounded by the principles and rationale of the filed
rate doctrine, and does not apply in the detariffed environment.
For example, the Central Office Court concluded that the
plaintiffs’ claims there were barred because they related to
“privileges not included in the tariff,” 524 U.S. at 226, and
repeatedly posed as the determinative issue whether the filed

10 AT&T’s position that § 202 requires that it be allowed to gut state

consumer protection acts is inherently at odds with the language of the
statute. The language of § 202 permits “just” and “reasonable” variations in
service, and does not require absolute uniformity. There is nothing “unjust
or unreasonable” about precluding long distance carriers from stripping
consumers of their rights under state consumer protection laws, and their
ability to effectively vindicate such rights.

28

rate doctrine applied to the claims at issue. 524 U.S. at 216,
221-26. AT&T argues that Central Office could just have well
been decided on the grounds of § 201 and § 202, but as the
Ninth Circuit correctly pointed out, this interpretation of § 201
and § 202 wauld render § 203 superfluous. App. 18a.
AT&T’s claim that the decision below conflicts with this
Court’s decision in Central Office is based upon the faulty
presumption that this Court’s decision on one theory might
instead have been rendered upon a completely different theory
not actually embraced by the Court.

c. The Decision Below Will Not Harm the
Long-Distance Industry.

AT&T asserts in its Petition that the decision below will
adversely affect the entire long distance industry and subvert the
FCC’s regulation of it. Nothing could be further from the truth.
The Ninth Circuit’s decision simpty prevents AT&T from
eliminating its customers’ rights under state law — rights that the
FCC has said those customers may enforce to protect itself.
The FCC has also stated that requiring long distance carriers to
comply with the same laws that govern other competitive
industries will not increase the costs of those carriers oz
otherwise harm them. 12 FCC Red. 15,014 at ['15. In addition,
it is hard to accept AT&T’s Statement that the ruling below was
devastating to its ability to operate its business when AT&T
itself re-wrote three of the four Provisions of the Original CSA
that were struck down more than a year ago, with no apparent
harm to its business.

CONCLUSION

—

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Certiorari
should be denied.

29

Oe

Respectfully Submitted,

TRIAL LAWYERS FOR PUBLIC JUSTICE
F. Paul Bland, Jr.
Counsel of Record
Michael Quirk
1717 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Suite 800
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 797-8600

- THE STURDEVANT LAW FIRM

~~ A Professional Corporation
James C. Sturdevant
Karen Hindin
475 Sansome Street
Suite 1750
San Francisco, CA 94111-3141
(415) 477-2410

TRIAL LAWYERS FOR PUBLIC JUSTICE
Arthur H. Bryant
Kate Gordon
One Kaiser Plaza, Suite 275
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 622-8150

Attorneys for Respondents/Plaintiffs
Darcy Ting and Consumer Action

DATED: May 30, 2003 ;

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1450%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
