# Amicus Curiae Brief — Metropolitan Transportation Authority v. Greene

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1126%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 538 U.S. 1031

## Text

" hy Supreme Com, 6.5.
y FILE.
No. 02-1173 APR 22 88
5 “IN THE ORFICE OF TT GLEN
Supreme Court of the Hnited

—

METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY,
Petitioner,
Vv.

SEAN GREENE,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA
TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

NICHOLAS J. STAFFIERI
Counsel of Record

JOAN A. ZUBRAS

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Transportation Authority

1234 Market Street

Fifth Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19107

(215) 580-7664

—~Arrorneys for Amicus Curiae
Southeastern Pennsylvania
Transportation Authority

ST IVES BURRUPS/APPELLATE DIVISION, 1617 JFK BOULEVARD, PHILA., PA. 19103 (215) 563-9000

ae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...........c00000- ii

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE SOUTHEASTERN
PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHOR-
ITY INSUPPORT OF PETITIONER............

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS.................
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..................
UN 6 heard ois veh eee ek ee wee we

A. Certiorari Should be Granted Because the
FELA Was Not Intended to Apply to State

Government Agencies.................. 5

B. The Expansion of the FELA is Not Warranted
When There Are Worker’s Compensation
Mechanisms in Place and the Extension of
FELA Will Jeopardize the Ability of Agencies
Oy Ig oy eee Kak oe we ea 12

IIR, dba Vo Ve eee eA iey we eae ee 17

a wo -_ =

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Alabama State Docks Terminal Railway v. Lyles, 797
So. 28 433 (Ain. SRGG) 5.5 choca db es snacaees

Alden v. Maine, 527 U.S. 706 (1999)............. 7
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. Buell, 480 U.S.
657 (1667)... bss es eee 5
Board of Trustees of the University of Alabama uv.
Garrett, 631 U.S. S56 (AReR). . «nasa ou se unos 7
Brady v. Southern Ry., 320 U.S. 476 (1943)........ 11
Chittister v. Dept. of Community and Economic
Development, 226 F.3d 223 (8rd Cir. 2000)..... 7
Felton v. SEPTA, 952 F.2d 59 (3rd Cir. 1989)...... 8
Gallick v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, 372 U.S. 108
(1963) .... sees seves toe ee ee 12
Greene v. Long Island Railroad Company, 280 F.3d 229
(2nd Cir. 3008)... sss0200 54s eee eee passim
Hall v. Southern Pac. Co., 71 F. Supp. 21 (N.D. Call.
1044)... ones we ee 8
Hilton v. South Carolina Public Railways Commission,
502 US. 107 (3901) . .. «i+eus eee 8, 12
Howard v. Illinois Cent. R.R., 207 U.S. 463 (1908) . . 16
Kimmel v. Florida Bd. of Regents, 528 U.S. 62 (2000) 7 |
Ohara v. Council Bluffs Street Railway Co. v. Interstate
Commerce Commission, 230 U.S. 324 (1913)... . 8 |
Parden v. Terminal Railway of Alabama State Docks
Department, 377 U.S. 184 (1964) ............ 8
Reed v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 351 U.S. 502 (1956) .. . 8
Rogers v. Missouri Pacific Railroad, 352 U.S. 500

(1957), reh. den., 353 U.S. 943 (1958)......... 12 |
Spencer v. SEPTA, 525 Pa. 466, 581 A2d 565 (1990). 2 |

ll

|

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)
Cases: Page

United Transportation Workers v. SEPTA, Case #368 14
Welch v. Texas Department of Highways & Public

Transportation, 483 U.S. 468 (1987).......... 8
Will v. Michigan Department of State Police, 491 U.S.
Se ater et Wa oe CE aa ea Ok 8 7
Court Rules:
Rule 37.6 of the United States Supreme Court ..... 1
Federal Statutes:
Es 5 6 6G adie bene a deen eee ees passim
ee rar 2
Ee ar 2
ee | Perera rere ere eee 8
4s eye see eae 8 68: 1
eee ee Os a os hn kv eK ¥ A 9

Pennsylvania Statutes:

Constitution of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,

ES a oa
ei acs o's ak aoe oo bs 8 ee ee aoe
ee ee 3,
Eg vee eee ese ewes eees 6,
i eke sw eee eee ess eee ees 6,

OE EES SP Se Tree ee eee ee eee
66 Pa. C.S.A. §2001 (repealed) .................
66 Pa. C.S.A. §2004(d)(2) (repealed) .............
74 Pa. C.S.A. §1501 (a) (repealed)...............
ee ERE gg 8 a
4 ee FR eS
So re

No oF KF OO NNN OH HD I

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)
Cases: Page

oo ee BO) er ere rrr errs
oe eR eee ee ee
PO EO CRs BEF Ee hi os ee ee eee ew eee ees
Pe FO a SO 5 bah sen cawewe eben ee

oo oon

Legislative Materials:
H.R. No. 1386, 60th Cong. Ist Sess. 1908 ......... 10

Other Authorities: -
ee ae SE OOD i ce Sho ck as Ge ae eceeuoee 1l

American Association of Railroads, 1990 Report of
Claim and Litigation Expense .............. 13

Babcock and Oldfather, The Role of the Federal
Employer’s Liability Act in Railroad Safety, 19
Trans. L. J. 881 (1990-1991). ............... 12

Baker, Why Congress Should Repeal the Federal

Employer’s Liability Act of 1908, 29 Harv. J. of
E, Fe iv a hone eek ew he tee 13

John H. Blount & J. Edward Dvorak, III, Justice for the
Injured Railroad Worker (And How to Achieve It)

CR soe se Va be ee ea ea ee 14
Herde, FELA-Should It Be Abolished? 17 Forum 407,
CD Sc Ad hae eee eee Oe eee 12, 14
Legal Intelligencer, “Ex-Amtrak Worker Awarded $2.5
Million in FELA Action”, Feb. 18, 2003, pg. 1 . . 14
W.P.Keeton, D. Dobbs, and B. Keeton & D. Owen,
Posser and Keeton on the Law of Torts........ 12

Phillips, FELA Revisited, 52 Md. L. Rev. 1062 (1993) 13

E. Saphine, FELA and Rail Safety: A Response to
Babcock and Oldfather-the Role of the Federal
Employer’s Liability Act in Railroad Safety, 19
Transp. L. J. 901 (1990-1991)............... 12

1V

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIA&
SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA
TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS

Amicus Curiae Southeastern Pennsylvania Transporta-
tion Authority (hereinafter “SEPTA”) is a statutorily-
created body corporate and politic. SEPTA operates a mass
transit system in the Philadelphia metropolitan area, and
outside the metropolitan area to the extent necessary for the
operation of an integrated system. 74 Pa. C.S.A. §1701 (a),
formerly 74 Pa. C.S.A. $1501 (a) (repealed). SEPTA provides
bus, trolley, trackless trolley, subway, elevated and commu-
ter rail services. As is the case with its bus, subway and
trolley service, almost all of SEPTA’s commuter rail service
is provided within those five counties of Southeastern
Pennsylvania that comprise the Philadelphia metropolitan
area. Only three commuter lines provide links to cities out of
state: one to Wilmington, Delaware, which is operated
pursuant to a co-operative arrangement with the state of
Delaware, and the two lines to Trenton and West Trenton,
New Jersey. In the early 1980’s, SEPTA was deemed to be a
commuter authority under 45 U.S.C. §1004 and took over
operation of certain inter-city commuter rail lines that had
previously been operated by Conrail.’

SEPTA’s enabling statute provides for a board of
directors, which includes individuals appointed by the
governor of Pennsylvania, the leadership of the General
Assembly of Pennsylvania, and representatives from the five

1. Pursuant to Rule 37.6 of the United States Supreme Court, SEPTA
certifies that no counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part,
and that no person or entity other than SEPTA has made a monetary
contribution to this brief in preparation or submission. The parties have
provided letters to SEPTA granting consent or have lodged letters with
the Court expressing their blanket consent to the filing of the amicus
brief.

2

Pennsylvania counties that comprise the Philadelphia
metropolitan area. In contrast to the structure adopted for
the Long Island Railroad, SEPTA’s enabling statute did not
create two separate entities to operate the transit and
commuter rail operations; instead SEPTA’s commuter
railroad is operated as a division of SEPTA.

The SEPTA workforce is comprised of approximately
9,100 employees. While most are subject to state workers’
compensation provisions, approximately 1,200 employees
are directly involved in railroad operations and are subject
to the Federal Employers’ Liability Act (hereinafter
“FELA”), 45 U.S.C. §51 et seg. These railroad division
employees are provided pension benefits subject to stan-
dards imposed by the Railroad Retirement Act, 45 U.S.C.
§231, et seq.; SEPTA’s non-railroad employees, on the other
hand, receive standard Social Security coverage. The
railroad hourly employees and the hourly employees in the
non-railroad operations are subject to different collective
bargaining agreements, are represented by different unions,
and are subject to different labor laws. Non-railroad
employees are subject to the Pennsylvania Public Employe
Relations Act, 43 P.S. 1101 et seq., and railroad employees
are subject to the Federal Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §151
et seq.

Under its enabling act, SEPTA is deemed to be
exercising the public powers of the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania as an agency and instrumentality thereof.
The Pennsyivania Supreme Court has held that SEPTA is a
Commonwealth Agency for purposes of determining when
the agency can be sued. Accordingly, under Pennsylvania
law, negligence claims brought against SEPTA are limited
to the exceptions set forth in Pennsylvania’s Sovereign
Immunity Statute. 42 Pa. C.S.A. §8501, et seg. See Spencer v.
SEPTA, 525 Pa. 466, 581 A2d 565 (1990). That statute
imposes a cap on the payment of damages for tort actions.

3

SEPTA is currently operating at a deficit. It has never
operated at a profit. Its revenue is derived from the farebox,
transit advertising and real estate rentals. SEPTA’s
operations and capital needs, however, are largely funded
through monies received from the federal government and
the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and from the various
counties in which SEPTA operates on a proportionate basis.
In the past ten years, SEPTA has had to initiate two
reduction in force plans and various hiring freezes,
particularly with reference to management and adminis-
trative staff.

Based on SEPTA’s status as a Commonwealth Agency
and recent litigation instituted asserting a FELA cause of
action against it, SEPTA has an interest in this case. SEPTA
has been sued by a salaried employee who does not work for
SEPTA’s Railroad Division. While inspecting a contractor’s
work at a railroad location, the plaintiff allegedly slipped
and fell in a commuter parking lot. The station is on a line
that does not operate interstate and at which no interstate
trains stop. This accident occurred over two years ago and
the employee collected worker’s compensation benefits.
SEPTA has always treated the employee as subject to Social
Security and not as if he were eligible for Railroad
Retirement Benefits. After the Second Circuit opinion in
this case, however, the employee sued SEPTA under the
FELA. His lawyer has readily admitted that the suit was
brought based on the recent holding in Greene v. Long
Island Railroad Company, 280 F.3d 229 (2nd Cir. 2002).

Litigation of this kind will significantly increase SEPTA’s
exposure to damage claims brought by its employees.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amicus SEPTA respectfully suggests that the opinion
by the Court of Appeais for the Second Circuit impermis-
sibly expands the scope of FELA coverage. The Court of
Appeals’ expansive holding applying intra-corporate princi-
ples based on a parent-subsidiary analysis has no place in

4

determining the liability of a government agency. In
contrast to the attempts by the District Court in Greene to
define who is and is not a railroad employee, the Court of
Appeals has provided no guidance as to which employees are
in fact covered by the FELA and the result it has reached
will necessarily increase litigation on this subject. In fact,
SEPTA has already been sued in one case attempting to
advance the theory set forth in the Greene decision.

Under the Court of Appeals’ reasoning, whenever a
state transit authority operates a railroad, the entire transit
authority becomes subject to FELA and every employee
becomes, in effect, a railroad worker, irrespective of the
duties he/she performs. This is not in keeping with the
original purposes of the FELA. Moreover, such a holding
would be financially ruinous. Any holding that extends
FELA coverage to all public transit agency employees will
expose already fiscally strapped public transit agencies to
increased litigation costs associated with defending FELA
claims and to unpredictable jury results. Indeed, to avoid
this result, agencies such as SEPTA may be forced to
reconsider whether they can continue to provide railroad
commuter service.

This new rule enunciated by the Court of Appeals will
also interfere with employees’ rights to be covered by Social
Security retirement plans and will impact on their collective
bargaining agreements. The increased costs associated with
permitting every employee to litigate and collect for pain
and suffering for work related injuries will be very
damaging to state agencies that operate with limited
budgets and continuing capital needs. SEPTA therefore
urges this Court to intervene and make it clear that state
agencies are not subject to the FELA or at least limit FELA
to its originally intended scope: those employees who are
directly involved in interstate railroad activities or directly
and substantially affect such commerce.

5
ARGUMENT

A. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE
THE FELA WAS NOT INTENDED TO APPLY TO
STATE GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

The holding in this case is not consistent with the
original purpose of the FELA. In Atchison, Topeka & Santa
Fe Ry. Co. v. Buell, 480 U.S. 557, 568 (1987), the courts were
directed to consider both the “nature of the injury and the
character of the tortious activity” when deciding whether
the FELA could be invoked. In the present case, the alleged
tortious activity was the failure to provide a “safer car” for
an employee who was injured in a routine traffic accident on
the way to a railroad station — surely a purely local activity
that has no impact on interstate rail service or commerce.
The application of the FELA to this run-of-the-mill local
traffic accident contravenes the purpose of the FELA, the
principles of federalism, and infringes on a state’s sovereign
immunity.

SEPTA’s status as an instrumentality of the Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania is undeniable. SEPTA was created
when the General Assembly enacted “The Metropolitan
Transportation Authorities Act of 1963”. 66 Pa. C.S.A.
$2001 (repealed). In that statute, SEPTA was given the
right to sue and be sued. 66 Pa. C.S.A. §2004(d)(2) (repealed)
now — 74 Pa. C.S.A. §1701, et seg. Nevertheless, SEPTA is
immune from suit unless a plaintiff has a cause of action
that falls within an exception to Pennsylvania’s Sovereign
Immunity Act. See The Metropolitan Transportation Act of
1994,” 74 Pa. C.S.A. §1741(a)(2). In fact, 74 Pa.C.S.A.
§1711(3) specifically states:

2. SEPTA, pursuant to statutory authority, can exercise powers of
condemnation and eminent domain. 74 Pa. C.S.A. §1741 (12) and 74 Pa.
C.S.A. §1742(6).

6

It is hereby declared to be the intent of the General
Assembly that an authority created or existing under
this chapter . . . shall continue to enjoy sovereign and
official immunity, as provided reaffirmed; (specific
waiver), and shall remain immune from suit except as
provided by and subject to the provisions of 42 Pa. C.S.
§8501 (relating to definitions) through §8528 (relating
to limitations on damages)”.

To understand the scope of SEPTA’s immunity, it is
necessary to review the legislative scheme.

1 Pa. C.S. §2310 states:

§2310. Sovereign Immunity Reaffirmed Specific
Waiver

Pursuant to section 11 of Article I of the
Constitution of Pennsylvania, it is hereby declared to
be the intent of the General Assembly that the
Commonwealth, and its officials and employees acting
within the scope of their duties, shall continue to enjoy
sovereign and official immunity and remain immune
from suit except as the General Assembly shall
specifically waive the immunity. When the General
Assembly specifically waives sovereign immunity, a
claim against the Commonwealth and its officials and
employees shall be brought only in such manner and in
such courts and in such cases as directed by the
provisions of title 42 (relating to judiciary and judicial
procedure) unless otherwise specifically authorized by
statute.

42 Pa. C.S.A. $8521 (a) states:
§8521. Sovereign immunity generally

(a) General rule — Except as otherwise provided -
in this subchapter, no provision of this title
shall constitute a waiver of sovereign immunity
for the purpose of 1 Pa. C.S. §2310 (relating to

7

sovereign immunity reaffirmed; specific waiver)
or otherwise.

Section 8522 sets forth the exceptions to sovereign
immunity applicable to Commonwealth agencies such as
SEPTA.® Consequently, SEPTA is immune from liability
unless the claim is based on one of the exceptions to
sovereign immunity found in 42 Pa. C.S. $8522.

There is an abundance of case law that SEPTA - an
agency and instrumentality of the Commonwealth — cannot
be sued for monetary damages unless sovereign immunity
has been explicitly waived. This longstanding principle of
sovereign immunity is written into the Constitution of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Article 11 provides that
“suits may be brought against the Commonwealth in such
manner, in such courts, and in such cases as the legislature
may by law direct.” See, e.g., Chittister v. Dept. of
Community and Economic Development, 226 F.3d 223 (8rd
Cir. 2000) (Pennsylvania state agency had not consented to
suit under the FMLA.)

While the Eleventh Amendment governs the jurisdic-
tion of federal courts over the states and immunities from
certain state actions, it is not the source of a state’s
immunity from actions in a state’s own courts. See Alden
v. Maine, 527 U.S. 706 (1999). A state’s immunity from suit
in its own courts is derived from common law and the state
immunity derived from its constitution. A state agency
cannot be deemed to have consented to suit in federal or
state court simply because it operates a railroad. Indeed, the
doctrine of constructive waiver has effectively been
repudiated by recent precedent. Will v. Michigan Depart-

3. There are nine exceptions: negligence claims based on operation of
motor vehicles; injuries due to a medical professional; liability that is
derived from a defect of the real estate; injuries caused by personal
property; potholes and dangerous conditions of highways; custody or
control of animals; liquor state sales; acts of members of national guard;
vaccines and toxoids.

8

ment of State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 65 (1988) (if Congress
intended to alter the usual constitutional balance between
the states and the federal government the intention must be
made clear); Kimmel v. Florida Bd. of Regents, 528 U.S. 62
(2000) (Congress must demonstrate a clear intent to have
ADEA apply to the state); Board of Trustees of the
University of Alabama v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356 (2001)
(Congress must demonstrate a clear intent to have the ADA
apply to the states.)* It follows that there is no basis for
permitting a FELA action to proceed against a state created
railroad in either state or federal court. See, e.g., Alabama
State Docks Terminal Railway v. Lyles, 797 So. 2d 432 (Ala.
2001).

When the Northeastern Regional Rail Reorganization
Act went into effect, SEPTA - an agency of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania — could have contracted
with Amtrak Commuter, another entity, or operate the
railroad itself. SEPTA decided to operate its rail division as
exactly that: a division of SEPTA’s mass transit operations.

4. In Parden v. Terminal Railway of Alabama State Docks Department,
377 U.S. 184 (1964), a five to four majority held that by operating a
railroad in interstate commerce Alabama had waived its immunity to suit.
Emphasis was placed on the fact that Alabama had entered the rail
busiriess twenty years after the FELA had been enacted. The dissenting
Justices did not believe that the requisite intent of Congress to extend the
FELA to the states or that a state could waive immunity by operating a
railroad. Subsequently, a majority of the Supreme Court agreed with the
reasoning of the dissenters. In Welch v. Texas Department of Highways &
Public Transportation, 483 U.S. 468 (1987), the Court expressly overruled
the reasoning of Parden in an action brought under the Jones Act. Id. at
478. The Court held “to the extent that Parden v. Terminal Railway .. . is
inconsistent with the requirement that an abrogation of Eleventh
Amendment immunity by Congress must be expressed in unmistakably
clear language, it is overruled.” Id. In Hilton v. South Carolina Public
Railways Commission, 502 U.S. 197 (1991) an FELA action filed in state
court was found to be maintainable notwithstanding the overruling of
Parden in Welch. Id. at 199, 204-05. The court found that the government
entity had consented to jurisdiction in state court by voluntarily
operating a railroad. In this instance, SEPTA did not choose to
voluntarily operate interstate rail service.

oman *

9

It is true that courts have held that the employees of the
railroad division are subject to the FELA, but that is no
reason to make all of SEPTA’s other operations subject to
the FELA. See, e.g., Felton v. SEPTA, 952 F.2d 59 (8rd Cir.
1989). This was never intended by anyone. After all, the act
that provided for SEPTA to incorporate inter-state lines did
not mention the FELA as an applicable statute. See 45
U.S.C. $591 (repealed). Indeed, the successor statute refers
to the rail operations as being governed by safety provisions
- and the FELA does not contain any safety provisions. See
49 U.S.C. §20101. To expand the FELA to all divisions of
SEPTA would be inconsistent with the intent of the Act.

The Second Circuit holding in Greene taken to its
logical conclusion is that if an entity operates a railroad then
all employees are railroad employees. This holding greatly
expands the FELA and fails to consider whether the services
provided by the employee further or affect interstate
transportation. See, e.g., Reed v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 351
U.S. 502, 507 (1956); Hall v. Southern Pac. Co., 71 F. Supp.
21, 24-25 (N.D. Cal. 1944) (does employee do an act which
laid the foundation for and was an act of another or
subsequent act of interstate commerce or a step towards it).
Further, the Second Circuit would completely abandon the
long recognized distinction between interstate railroads and
urban railroads, such as trolleys and subways. Urban
railroads have long been recognized as outside the scope of
the FELA. See Ohara v. Council Bluffs Street Railway Co. v.
Interstate Commerce Commission, 230 U.S. 324 (1913).
Under the Greene holding, every operational component
will now be deemed part of the railroad operations and this
ignores the language of the statute that a covered employee
of a carrier includes any employee whose duties “shall be in
furtherance of interstate or foreign commerce, or shall in
any way directly or closely and substantially affect such
commerce.” 45 U.S.C. §51 The intent behind the passage of
the FELA was the concern over injuries to employees

10

engaged in the business of interstate railroads and the
holding in Greene abandons that analysis.”

* * * *

After these lines were taken over from Amtrak, SEPTA
treated all of these lines, which were originally part of
Amtrak, as part of the Rail Division. The operation of
SEPTA has been structured in a manner consistent with
this need to distinguish between railroad employees and all
of its other employees. There is no “interstate” aspect to the
job of a porter who cleans a subway station in SEPTA’s City
Transit Division. Nevertheless, under the reasoning of the
Court of Appeals, an individual who was injured because his
chair collapsed in an office remote from a railroad location,
while he was preparing bus schedules, will now be subject to
the FELA merely because SEPTA operates a commuter rail
line as one of its public transit operations. That employee
could now bring a claim under the FELA even though his
activities do not involve and have no significant impact upon
interstate commerce. Moreover, this is plainly not the type
of dangerous work that the FELA was meant to address.
The Court of Appeals and the District Court holdings in
Greene have completely abandoned the statutory mandate
to determine whether the employee is, in fact, furthering
interstate activities.

5. At the time the FELA was enacted to meet the concerns that private
companies were not addressing the needs of railroad employees, a state-
owned railroad could not have been sued without its consent. State-
owned railroads did not have to depend -— as did privately owned railroads
— on common law defenses, such as contributory negligence or the fellow-
servant rule in order to escape liability for injuries to its employees. All
state owned railroads would have had to do would be to invoke the
defense of sovereign immunity. There is no reason to conclude that
Congress intended by its enactment of the FELA to strip the states of this
jealously guarded right of defense, when not even a hint of such an intent
can be gleaned from the legislative history of the act. H.R. Rep. No. 1386,
60th Cong. 1st Sess. 1908.

——
een

nenememennarenten mematenentees

1]

Finally, there is no good reason to apply the parent-
subsidiary or joint venture concept to a government agency
simply to expand the coverage of the FELA. It makes no
sense to adhere to corporate formalities imposed for private/
profit corporations on a state agency. To impose such
requirements on how a state chooses to carry out
government functions interferes with the state’s sovereign
rights. Likewise, a “piercing” or “alter-ego” argument
cannot result in a finding that the state transit agency
should be deemed a railroad for all purposes. A common law
“piercing” or “alter ego” test generally involves two
components - (1) a disregard for corporate formalities and
(2) a use of the corporation in a manner that promotes fraud
or injustice. 38 A.L.R.3d 1102, §15. Assuming that one finds
that corporate formalities were not adhered to, then counsel
for the amicus suggests that no liability could ever be
imposed as the second prong of a piercing test cannot be
met. Piercing is an equitable remedy employed to prevent
fraud or injustice. Fraud or injustice could never be
established when assessing claims against a state agency.
It would be absurd to hold that a sovereign state — which
must consent to suit in the first instance — would have to
engage in a fraud to shield its treasury from claims or that a
state agency funded by the taxpayers was designed to
promote fraud or injustice.

Under the reasoning of the Court of Appeals, any state
agency that operates or provides support to a rail operation
would be subject to the FELA. Indeed, taking the parent-
subsidiary argument to its logical conclusion —- all state
employees would be subject to the FELA because it is the
state itself that operates the railroad. This holding infringes
on the state’s sovereignty and improperly tells the state how
it should operate its mass transit operations. By construing
the FELA to cover all operations of a transit agency, the
Court of Appeals has directly infringed on the right of the
state to organize its agency in the most cost efficient use of
resources and funding.

12

B. THE EXPANSION OF THE FELA IS NOT WAR-
RANTED WHEN THERE ARE WORKER’S COM-
PENSATION MECHANISMS IN PLACE AND THE
EXTENSION OF THE FELA WILL JEOPARDIZE
THE ABILITY OF AGENCIES TO FUNCTION

The FELA is a federal negligence statute. 45 U.S.C. §51
et seq. Liability is not absolute. Brady v. Southern Ry., 320
US. 476, 483-84 (1943). The basis of a recovery is that the
railroad was negligent, that is “whether the employer’s
negligence had played any role in the harm and this
standard of responsibility is based on foreseeability.” See,
e.g., Gallick v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, 372 U.S. 108
(1963).°

At the time that the FELA was enacted, the railroad
industry was very different than it is today. The private
railroads were collectively the largest employer in the
country. See Herde, FELA-Should It Be Abolished? 17
Forum 407, 410 (1981). There was an abundance of labor,
unions were virtually unknown, and few states had any type
of worker’s compensation or state disability provisions. See
W.P.Keeton, D. Dobbs, and B. Keeton & D. Owen, Posser
and Keeton on the Law of Torts, at 572-73 (5th Ed. 1984).’

6. As it happens, the case law under the FELA has evolved to be
virtually a strict liability statute resulting in increased litigation costs
because it is virtually impossible to have a case dismissed prior to trial.
Because the FELA only requires the slight evidence of negligence, thereby
requiring less proof, only the slightest degree of evidence results in a
question being raised for the trier of fact. See Rogers v. Missouri Pacific
Railroad, 352 U.S. 500 (1957), reh. den., 353 U.S. 943 (1958).

7. Pennsylvania worker’s compensation provisions do not exempt
railroad workers and cover “all employees”. If, in fact, a state has
exempted railroad workers - which Pennsylvania has not - then FELA
coverage could remain in place or it would be up to the state legislatures
to amend or modify said statutes to address the needs of railroad
employees. In Hilton v. South Carolina Public Railways Commission,
supra, this Court stated that certain states had exempted railroad
workers from coverage and it was concerned over changing long-standing
employee relationships. This rationale, however, should not be
controlling as it disregards the rights of individual states.

13

Railroad work was also considered to be very dangerous,
with one of the highest accident rates in history, including
fatalities. In fact, one railroad employee out of eight was
injured and one out of every 125 was killed.®

Today, there is a debate on whether or not the railroad
industry remains as dangerous as when the FELA was first
enacted. See Babcock and Oldfather, The Role of the Federal
Employer’s Liability Act in Railroad Safety, 19 Trans. L. J.
881 (1990-1991). There is no debate that railroad employ-
ment has decreased continuously. In the time period from
1980 to 1989, railroad employment decreased by 40% and
reportable injuries decreased by 60%. Nevertheless, the
FELA payout during the same time period increased over
130% ($343 million to $789 million). See Baker, Why
Congress Should Repeal the Federal Employer’s Liability
Act of 1908, 29 Harv. J. of Legis, 79, 104 (1992). In 1990, the
average payout of a litigated FELA case was $166,000 as
opposed to $42,000 in 1980. See 1990 Report of Claim and
Litigation Expense-Association of American Railroads;
Phillips, FELA Revisited, 52 Md. L. Rev. 1062 (1993)
(lawsuits, which account for less than 11% of FELA claims
represented 35% of the total FELA payout). This figure
illustrates the catastrophic effect of lawsuit claims on total
payouts. The reason for this increase is not due to
catastrophic injuries but rather to the availability in

8. Notably, in 1988, 50% of the injuries under the FELA were sprains
and strains. In 1988 there were 64 amputations and 1,289 fractures. The
fractures presumably included fingers and toes. The construction,
mining, and manufacturing industries had higher amputation rates and
the mining and construction industries had a higher fracture rate. See E.
Saphine, FELA and Rail Safety: A Response to Babcock and Oldfather-the
Role of the Federal Employer’s Liability Act in Railroad Safety, 19
Transp. L. J. 901 (1990-1991).

14

addition to lost wages — of an award for lost future earnings,
and pain and suffering.?

FELA cases also expose the state agency operating a
commuter railroad to unpredictable awards, even if the
employee is contributorily negligent, because of the
component of pain and suffering and claims of perma-
nency.’° It is also worth noting that FELA claims are
frequently built up by the employees staying out on the
advice of counsel to bolster their claim for damages before a
jury. The same employee who has claimed in litigation that
he is unable ever to return to work and has claimed

9. In a litigated case against SEPTA, an employee claimed that he
slipped due to ballast. Despite the fact that there is no federal standard
for ballast, the employee claimed that the ballast in the rail yard was
harder to walk on than the ballast on mainline track. The employee
returned to work and was earning close to the same amount of money;
nevertheless, he claimed that his opportunities for overtime were limited,
he had experienced pain and suffering, and was unable to play ball with
his child. The employee was awarded over $660,000. Recently reported in
the Legal Intelligencer, “Ex-Amtrak Worker Awarded $2.5 Million in
FELA Action”, Feb. 18, 2003, pg. 1, was an FELA jury verdict. An Amtrak
trackman, age 52, claimed to have two herniated discs. There was no
surgery, his wage loss was estimated to be $350,000 and he was awarded
$2.5 million.

10. Employees sometimes stay out so as to increase an FELA recovery.
A report filed by Amtrak indicated that two years after one accident only
one employee out of eleven had returned to work and that in a minor
derailment in which no passengers were injured all fifteen employees
claimed injury and had not returned to work. See Baker, supra, at 103.
Indeed the trend was toward employees staying out to build up their
claim of permanency. In one litigated SEPTA case, an employee claimed a
permanent back injury and his doctor testified he would not be able to do
his job. As part of the settlement on the record, the employee agreed (1)
not to return to the railroad and (2) to take a sedentary job. After
receiving his settlement, the employee then filed a grievance with the
Railroad Retirement Board to obtain his position back, and claimed he
had recovered. United Transportation Workers’ v. SEPTA, Case #368.
SEPTA then sought repayment of the award paid only two months
earlier. Nevertheless, the court and the Railroad Retirement Board
condoned this behavior and accepted the employee’s claim that he was
miraculously “cured”.

ile iin Laat at,

15

“permanent damage” can then miraculously return to his
former employment after receiving an award or a
settlement. Additionally, since many FELA claimants
immediately retain counsel, the cost of even a settlement
is driven up because an attorney generally obtains a fee of 30
to 40%. See, e.g., Herde, supra.'!

Finally, this opinion will cause havoc with respect to
existing labor negotiations and pension rights. If we are to
treat all employees as if they are now railroad employees
then existing contracts with the non-railroad unions will
have to be renegotiated. Does this mean that all employees
who were previously subject to bargaining with the unions
that represent bus, trolley, and subway operators are now
covered by another union? What about the pensions of
employees in the City Division, a pension that is based on a
formula under the benefits accorded through Social
Security? Moreover, what happens to an employee in his
fifties, who has just joined SEPTA? Under provisions of the
Railroad Retirement Program an employee is required to
work for forty quarters before vesting. Under the reasoning
of Greene, would an employee deemed to be a railroad
employee for purposes of FELA have to start contributing to
the Railroad Retirement System and then be removed from
the Social Security System? If the same employee ceased
next year being involved with railroad projects would he
then go back to Social Security? Since SEPTA’s pension for
non-railroad employees is based on contributions to Social
Security this opinion implicates pension rights of its entire
workforce.

11. A book informing railroad workers of their rights suggests that they
answer as little as possible about an accident. See, John H. Blount & J.
Edward Dvorak, III, Justice for the Injured Railroad Worker (And How to
Achieve It) 3-5 (1987). Obviously, after consulting with an attorney or
union representative the accident report can be phrased in a way to
establish the railroad’s negligence. From the outset of the injury, the
claim is immediately geared towards litigation and to build up the
damages.

16

The Second Circuit opinion invites litigation, will
deplete limited resources and impact on the retirement
benefits and collective bargaining rights of numerous
employees and should be overturned.

17
CONCLUSION

Initially, the first FELA statute was found unconstitu-
tional because it attempted to regulate purely intrastate
activities. See Howard v. Illinois Cent. R.R., 207 U.S. 463
(1908). Subsequently, the statute was reenacted in its
present form to regulate only interstate railroad activities.
See 45 U.S.C. §51 et seg. (1982). The Court of Appeals’
holding in this case jeopardizes any state entity that
operates commuter rail lines and its logical result is for a
state to curtail any such service. Now, instead of 1,200
public employees of SEPTA who are covered by the FELA,
the logical extension of the Court of Appeals’ opinion is that
the remaining 7,900 employees of SEPTA can also now sue
under the FELA. Such an extension to every employee of the
agency — no matter how remotely connected with the
operation of the interstate railroad - was never the intent
of the Act and offends principles of sovereign immunity.
This holding will result in operating deficiencies and may
result in the withdrawal of rail service run by state agencies.

Certiorari should be granted to provide guidance on an
expedited basis before agencies across the country are
exposed to suits and increased costs while the resolution of
who is covered by this Federal statute is further delayed and
subject to litigation in each Circuit.

NICHOLAS J. STAFFIERI
Counsel of Record

JOAN A. ZUBRAS

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Transportation Authority

1234 Market Street

Fifth Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19107

(215) 580-7664

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_1126%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
