# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Weaver v. Hinshaw

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0909%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 538 U.S. 922

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
(1) FILED
02 944 0C1 9 2002

No.
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

Jacqueline Weaver, Substitute Administrator of
The Estate of EvaMae H. Hearn, Deceased,

Petitioner,
Vv.

Michael A. Hinshaw, M.D., General Surgeons, Inc.
and Reid Hospital & Health Care Services,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The Indiana Supreme Court

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Karen Baxter Neiswinger
Attorney At Law

6100 N. Keystone Avenue
Suite #235

Indianapolis, IN 46220
Telephone: (317) 251-2250

Attorney For Petitioner

A. Question Presented For Review

Whether the equal protection and due process rights
of Petitioner, an African-American, and Ellen Mabry,
the only available African-American venire person,
were violated when the trial judge removed Ms. Mabry
from the preassigned numerical queue and replaced
her with a Caucasian juror, because she was late for
jury duty, arriving during the trial court’s general voir
dire examination, but prior to the parties’ voir dire
examination.

Parties To the Proceeding in the Court
Whose Judgment is Sought to be Reviewed:

Jacqueline Weaver, Substitute Administrator of
the Estate of EvaMae Helouise Hearn, Deceased

Michael A. Hinshaw, M.D.

General Surgeons, Inc.

Reid Hospital & Health Care Services, Inc.

Cc. Table of Contents
Page(s)

Citations of the Official and Unofficial

Reports of the Opinions and Orders

Entered in the Case by Courts or
Administrative Agencies............. 1

Statement of the Basis for
Jurisdiction in This Court............ 1-2

Constitutional Provisions, Treaties,
Statutes, Ordinances, and Regulations
Involved in the Case................ 2

Argument

The trial court’s removal of the

only available African American
potential juror, on the grounds

that she missed a portion of the

court’s general voir dire, was

arbitrary and resulted in a denial

of the equal protection and due

process rights of both Petitioner

and the potential juror......... 19

Appendix

Separately bound, with table of contents.

Table of Cited Authorities

Cases

Alexander v. Louisiana, 405 U.S. 625 (1972)...

Ashabraner v. Bowers 753 N.E.2d 662
Re re rrr er ores see

Avery v. Georgia 342 U.S. 559 (1953) ........

Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S.79, 106 S.Ct. 1712,
90 L.Ed2d 69 (1986)............ aap fe

Castaneda v. Partida, 430 U.S. 482 (1977) .....

Edmonson v. Leesville Concrete Co., 500 U.S.

a) Be Pee err er
ExParte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339 (1880).........
Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475 (1954) .......
Hill v. Texas, 316 U.S. 400 (1942) ............
McCants v. State, 686 N.E.2d 1281 (Ind., 1997) . .

McCray v. New York, 461 U.S. 961 (1983)......

iv

Page(s)
21, 22,
27, 29
17

21, 23
16,17,
19, 20,

21, 22,
23, 27,

21, 28

16-17

Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 | ear. 19
Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 | ee 22
Whitus v. Georgia, 385 U.S. 545 a, Spee 22

D. Citations of the Official and Unofficial
Reports of the Opinions and Orders Entered
In the Case by Courts Or Administrative

Agencies.
Appendix Pages
Order Regarding
Trial by Jury and
Judgment ......... 1-10

Memorandum Decision of
the Indiana Court of Appeals 10-22

Order Denying Petitioner’s
Motion to Correct Errors... 33-35

Order of the Indiana Supreme

Court denying Petitioner’s

Petition To Transfer to the

Indiana Supreme Court, dated

Suet 24, SO Sec ciswets es 65-66

~

E. Concise Statement of the Basis For
Jurisdiction in the United States Supreme
Court.

(I) Date the Judgment or Order Sought To
Be Reviewed Was Entered

July 11, 2002 Order of the Indiana
Supreme Court
Denying Appellant’s
Petition To Transfer
of Jurisdiction.

saad

(ii) Date of Any Order Respecting Rehearing,
or Extension of Time to File the Petition
For A Writ of Certiorari:

Not Applicable.

(iii) | Cross-Petition for a writ of Certiorari:
Not applicable.

(iv) | Statutory Provision Believed to Confer on
this Court Jurisdiction to Review on a
Writ of Certiorari the Judgment or Order
in Question:

28 U.S.C. Sect. 1257.

Supreme Court Rule 10: The Indiana
Court of Appeals has decided an
important question of federal law that
has not been, but should be, settled by
this Court. The Indiana Court of
Appeals has decided an important
question of federal law that conflicts with
relevant decisions of this Court.

(v) Rule 29.4 notifications: Not Applicable.
Constitutional Provisions, Treaties,
Statutes, Ordinances, and Regulations
Involved in the Case:

Sixth Amendment to the Constitution of the ~
United States. Appendix p. 55.

Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of
the United States of America Appendix p. 55.

2

G. Concise Statement of the Case Setting Out
the Facts Material to Consideration of the
Questions Presented:

(I) Review of State Court Judgment

This is a medical malpractice wrongful death
case originally brought by Robert Daniel Hearn,
Administrator of the Estate of his wife, EvaMae
Helouise Hearn, Deceased, in the Wayne County,
Indiana, Superior Court 1. Jacqueline Weaver, the
Decedent’s only child, was substituted as
Administratrix upon the death of Robert Daniel Hearn
during the pendency of this appeal in Indiana.
Petitioner and his wife were African-American.
Persons summoned for jury duty were assembled in
the courtroom and asked whether there were any
hardship or other grounds that would prevent service
as ajuror. An African-American woman approached
the bench and indicated that she was responsible for
the care of her invalid mother and that she needed to
be excused. She was excused. This event does not
appear in the record. After excusing jurors due to
hardship, the trial court commenced general voir dire
questioning of the remaining persons who had been
summoned for jury duty, all of whom were Caucasian.

At a point into the trial court’s general voir dire
of potential venire persons, (time involved is disputed
by the parties) Ellen Rochelle Mabry, an African-
American woman who had been summoned for jury
duty, entered the courtroom and sat in the back of the
room. The trial judge observed her arrival, but
ignored her and continued asking general voir dire
questions of the Caucasians who had been
summoned for jury duty for an additional period of

3

‘

time, when the bailiff interrupted and advised him
that Ms. Mabry was present. The following is from the
record of the proceedings commencing at the point
when the bailiff interrupted the court’s voir dire:

COURT BAILIFF:
THE COURT:
COURT BAILIFF:
COURT:

COURT BAILIFF:
THE COURT:
COURT BAILIFF:
COURT BAILIFF:

THE COURT:

COURT BAILIFF:

THE COURT:

JUROR MABREY:

THE COURT:

Judge?

Um?

Ellen Mabrey (sic) is here.
Okay.

She hasn’t been sworn yet.
Is she still outside you say?
No. (inaudible).

Juror 395.

And at what point did Miss
Mabrey come in?

She just came in a few
minutes ago.

I take it, ma’am, you've not
been here for all my
questions then.

(inaudible).

Okay. Let me ask you if
you could just sort of stand
by for us and if you’re

needed, why, we'll get to
you, if not, maybe then you
won’t have to serve.

(Voir dire continues)

MS. NEISWINGER: Judge, may we approach
the bench. (Unintelligible)
Mabrey she was supposed
to - she came ahead of
Criscinda Elsrod. She’s
still not coming in.

THE COURT: That’s the thing we need to
make a bench conference
or a bench comment on
after we get the jury
selected.

MS. NEISWINGER: Well, is she eliminated?
Ms. Mabrey?

THE COURT: She was moved to the last -—
I told her that when she left
the courtroom.

™~™

MS. NEISWINGER: She was what?

THE COURT: I excused - she was moved
to the end of the panel. I’ve
excused everything -
everybody from the first
eight on, which included

MS. NEISWINGER:

THE COURT:

her, so - in other words, I
indicated to you I was not
willing to bring her in and
go through everything we
had to go through with all
the other jurors so that she
would be a part of the
panel.

(Unintelligible).

I know. We will.

(voir dire continues.)

THE COURT:

MS. NEISWINGER:

THE COURT:

Okay. I think, so we don’t
forget it, at 2:15, there was
a bench conference at
which plaintiff's counsel
asked about Miss Mabrey.
I've got to find her number
here.

She’s number 395.

Okay. The question was
why Ms. Elsrod was put
into the jury box to replace,
I think, it was Mr. Steele,
who, at that time was
excused and not Ms.
Mabrey. Ms. Mabrey was
not here when we started

voir dire examination, was
not sworn with the other
jurors and a portion, at
least, of the Court’s voir
dire examination had
already occurred at the
time she entered the
courtroom. Then, .it was
sometime before I was told
who she was. I saw an
individual enter, but I
really didn’t know who that
person was. So when I was
asked do we replace juror
Steele with juror Elsrod
(sic, should read “Mabry”,
my response was no. To do
that we would have had to
stop all proceedings, go
back, deal with juror |
Elsrod (sic) individually to
get her up to the point
where all the other jurors
were in order to accomplish
that. Since we’re dealing
with this many people’s
lives in selecting a jury, I
elected not to do that. So,
not whether you agree with

‘ my decision there or not,
but is that a fair statement
of what occurred during the
bench conference?

MS. NEISWINGER: We agree - we agree that

Ms. Mabrey was over - was
passed over, but she was
not dismissed from these
proceedings. Our objection
is on the grounds that Ms.
Mabrey is an African-
American, my client is an
African-American and the
equal protection and due
process clauses of the
United States Constitution
give him the right to have a
jury that is fairly selected
and to the maximum extent
possible, representative of
the community. She was
present, we didn’t believe
that she missed much of
the Court’s voir dire that
she could be brought up to
speed rather quickly. She
was passed over both in
terms of replacing Mr.
Steele, who was the
employee of one of the
defendants here, and also
was passed up for the
purposes of sitting as an
alternate juror. And it is
our contention that it
would not have taken that
much time to have asked
her the voir dire questions
and she only missed
approximately, we - in my

THE COURT:

MS. NEISWINGER:

estimation ten minutes or

_ so of what the Court’s

questions were.

I totally disagree with that
time estimate, but that’s up
to you, I guess.

Well, but what the result is
is that the jury, both in
terms of the jurors and
alternates, are now all
white and this was an
opportunity, at least, for us
to have an opportunity to
have an African-American
juror on this jury, and for
that reason, we objected at
the time when Ms. Elsrod
replaced Brian Steele. Ms.
Elsrod was juror number
396. She replaced juror
number 384. The next
person in the queue and ‘as
I understand in our
preparation for this trial
was that the jurors were to
be taken in the order in
which their juror
questionnaires are
numbered and she was
excluded from that list and
we don’t believe that the
grounds comply with the
Constitution’s requirements

THE COURT:

MS. WATTS:

MR. WHALEY:

MS. NEISWINGER:

for his equal protection and
due process rights and on
that ground we objected,
and we did object promptly
when Ms. Elsrod was
seated and also at the time
when the alternate jurors
were brought in and we
believe that - that he was
entitled to at least have the
opportunity to have a
representative of his own
race sit on the jury or at
least as an alternate.

I'll ask the defendants, was
my statement a fair
statement of the bench
conference that occurred
here?

Yes, Your Honor.

The only - the only thing
that I noticed, Your Honor,
is that I think you used Ms.
Elsrod’s name once when
you meant Ms. Mabrey’s
name.

No, he said Ms. Elsrod is

the one he put in place of
Mister - Mr. Steele, that’s
what he said.

10

MR. WHALEY: Well, I think he said that at
first and I just thought that
the names got messed up
later, but maybe I’m wrong.

THE COURT: Okay. I - it was Ms.
Mabrey who came.in late.

MR. WHALEY: Right.

THE COURT: Was not sworn and Ms.

Neiswinger’s right, I
indicated that she should
go out with the other jurors
who were outside the
courtroom. If we needed
her services at the end, we
would call upon her,
otherwise we went ahead
and I used Ms. Elsrod to
replace Mr. Steele and
that’s - those are the
names involved.

MR. SHUBAT: Judge, I would just like to
put on the record that my -
I wrote down that you
started questioning the
jurors at 1:20 and based
upon her statement that
she was here for 20
minutes or so, that means
that she would have had to
miss about 35 minutes
rather than the ten at least

1]

—————————————————————ee—V3o__

THE COURT:

MS. NEISWINGER:

THE COURT:

MS. NEISWINGER:

THE COURT:

MS. NEISWINGER:

by my estimation.
Okay.

To be honest, I wasn’t
watching the clock either
time, but it didn’t seem to
be like she missed a
massive amount of what
had gone forward and I -
we believe that she could
have been given thé oath
and brought up to speed
rather quickly considering
that it’s an important
constitutional right and one
that has been recognized
by the United States
Constitution - or the United
States Supreme Court.
And since it is a
fundamental right, we felt
that it was important to at
least the opportunity be
presented.

Anything further?

I don’t think so. Clyde, do
you have anything further?
Yes or no?

No, your Honor. I think
we've already stated our
objections. We did - I don’t

12

think there is a dispute

though, in case it should

come to this later on, that

we did make a timely

objection at the time that

Ms. Elsrod replaced Mr.

Steele. ‘

THE COURT: Your objection was at 2:15.
I noted the clock and that’s "
when we had the bench
conference.

MS. NEISWINGER: Plus we also approached
the bench at the time that
the panel of potential
alternates was brought in
as well.

THE COURT: That’s true.

MS. NEISWINGER: So we objected on both
3 occasions. '

THE COURT: Okay. All right. Can we go
on then?

MS. NEISWINGER: Yes.

(End of hearing as it relates to Juror
Mabrey).Transcript, pp. 29-34.

The all-Caucasian jury returned a verdict in
favor of the Defendants in all respects on December i
18, 2000, which was reduced to Judgment.

13

(Appendix, pp. 1-10). In the “Order Regarding Trial
by Jury and Judgment,” Jd, the trial court judge
stated the following: “The Court estimated that it had
questioned prospective jurors for approximately 35
minutes at the time Ms. Mabry entered the
courtroom” (Appendix, p.2, emphasis added).
However, based upon the transcript, Petitioner
contends that while Ms. Mabry may have missed 35
minutes of the court’s general voir dire, she was not 35
minutes late in appearing for jury duty:
MR. SHUBAT: Judge, I would just like to
put on the record that my -
I wrote down that you
started questioning the
jurors at 1:20 and based
upon her statement that
she was here for 20
minutes or so, that means
that she would have had to
miss about 35 minutes
rather than the ten at least
* by my estimation.

THE COURT: Okay.

Transcript p. 33, lines 20-26.

The foregoing exchange from the transcript
indicates that Ms. Mabry may have been
approximately 15 minutes late in arriving, and sat in
the back of the courtroom for about 20 minutes more

until the Bailiff interrupted the proceedings

While the parties dispute exactly how late Ms.

i4

Mabry was, there is no dispute that the voir dire
which she missed was a portion of the trial court’s
general voir dire. There is no dispute that the parties
had not yet commenced their voir dire questioning of
the venire panel when the above exchange occurred.

Petitioner filed a timely motion to correct errors
on December 22, 2000, (Appendix, pp. 22-33) in
which Petitioner argued that the removal of Ms. Mabry
from consideration as a juror violated Petitioner’s
equal protection rights.(Appendix, pp. 30-31). The
trial court denied Petitioner’s motion to correct errors
on January 11, 2001, without specifically addressing
the merits of the issues raised. (Appendix, pp. 33-35).
Petitioner filed notices of Appeal on February 9, and
February 10, 2001.FN 1

Petitioner’s brief and appendix were filed before
the Indiana Court of Appeals on June 11, 2001.
(Relevant excerpt, Appendix pp. 41-49). In
Petitioner’s brief, he argued that the trial court’s
exclusion of Ellen Mabry violated his Sixth and
Fourteenth Amendment rights to equal protection and
due process. (Appendix, pp. 42-49). The Indiana
Court of Appeals issued a memorandum decision, not
for publication, affirming the trial court in all respects
on December 31, 2001. (Appendix, pp. 10-22).

FN 1 (Appendix, pp. 35-41). Note-this case was tried before the
regular Judge of the Henry County, Indiana Circuit Court, sitting
as Special Judge for Wayne County, Indiana Superior Court 1; in
the interests of expediency, and by agreement, papers for this
cause were filed in Henry County, under a Henry County cause
number; however, the case was actually tried in Wayne County,
Indiana; because of this two separate notices of appeal were filed
in Henry and Wayne counties.

15

~ j
|

—<—<'-.-.- Ss

In the memorandum decision, the Indiana
Court of Appeals repeated the trial judge’s statement
in the Order Regarding Trial by Jury and Judgment
(Appendix, p. 2) that Ellen Mabry was 35 minutes late
in appearing for jury duty, and stated that Petitioner’s
claim that she was 15 minutes late in arriving was an
invitation to re-weigh the evidence, which it declined
to do. (Appendix, p. 18, footnote 3; Memorandum
Opinion, pp. 7-8, footnote 3). The Memorandum
Opinion also stated, however, that “a determination of
the exact amount of time that the juror was late is not
essential to our determination of this issue...”
(Appendix, p. 18; Memorandum Opinion, p. 8,
footnote 3).

In support of its ruling, the Indiana Court of
Appeals stated that a trial judge has a duty to
conduct business expeditiously and consistent with
the orderly procedure and administration of justice.
(Appendix, p. 18; Memorandum Opinion, p. 7). The
Indiana Court of Appeals held that the standard of
review for a trial court’s decisions regarding the
orderly conduct of a trial was abuse of discretion.
(Appendix, p. 18; Memorandum Opinion, p. 7). The
court then discussed the Fourteenth Amendment right
to equal protection, and stated that Petitioner had the
burden to prove the existence of purposeful
discrimination, citing Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S.
79, 106 S.Ct. 1712 (1986). (Appendix, pp. 19-20;
Memorandum Opinion, pp. 8-9).

The court then proceeded to discuss Indiana
case law which set forth the requirements for a prima
facie case of racial discrimination in the process of
jury selection, citing the Indiana case of McCants v.

16

State, 686 N.E.2d 1281 (Ind., 1997), in which the
following must be established [following Batson]: (1)
the excused juror is a member of a cognizable racial
group; (2) the prosecutor has exercised peremptory
challenges to remove that group’s members from the
jury; and (3) the facts and circumstances of the case
raise an inference that the exclusion was based on
race. (Appendix, p. 20; Memorandum Opinion, p. 9).

The court then stated that once a prima facie
case is established, the burden shifts to the State to
provide a race-neutral explanation for the challenge,
and that “[i]f the explanation, on its face, is based on
something other than race, the explanation will be
deemed race-neutral.” citing McCants, supra;
(Appendix, p. 20, Memorandum Opinion, p. 9).

Applying this analysis, the Indiana Court of
Appeals held that “...the Estate fails to demonstrate
that the facts and circumstances of the case raise an
inference that the placement of Mabry at the end of
the venire panel was based on race. Rather, the trial
court’s placement of Mabry at the end of the venire
panel was based upon her late arrival and the desire
to conduct voir dire in an expeditious and orderly
manner.” (Appendix, pp. 20-21; Memorandum
Opinion, p. 9).

Next, the court noted that under the recent
Indiana Supreme Court case of Ashabraner v. Bowers,
753 N.E.2d 662 (Ind., 2001), a prima facie case of
racial discrimination is established when a party
removes the only African-American member of the
venire. The court then stated it could not determine
whether Ashabraner was applicable, because the

17

record does not state why the first African-American
woman was dismissed prior to voir dire, an issue
raised by Defendant, Reid Hospital, which argued that
Ms Mabry was not the only potential African-American
juror. (Appendix, p. 19, footnote 4; also p. 21;
Memorandum Opinion, p.8, footnote 4, also, p. 10).

Nevertheless, the court stated that even if,
arguendo, a prima facie case of racial discrimination
had been established, the trial court’s race-neutral
explanation for bumping Ms. Mabry was sufficient,
and therefore, the trial court did not abuse its
discretion. (Appendix, pp. 21-22; Memorandum
Opinion, pp. 10-11).

Petitioner filed a petition for rehearing on
January 30, 2001, again raising equal protection and
due process arguments, arguing that the mere quest
for the orderly, expeditious conduct of a trial should
be an insufficient ground to overcome the inference of
racial discrimination, and that it was an abuse of
discretion to deny Petitioner the opportunity to have a
juror of his race serve on the jury just because she
arrived late for jury duty. (Appendix, pp. 57-61). The
Petition For Rehearing was denied by the Indiana
Court of Appeals on February 27, 2002, without
analysis. Petitioner filed his petition for transfer to
the Indiana Supreme Court on April 1, 2002,
(Appendix, pp. 61-65), reiterating his Fourteenth
Amendment arguments (Appendix, pp.63-65), which
was denied by Order dated July 11, 2002 that did not
address the issues raised. (Appendix, pp. 65-66).

18

H. Argument

The trial court’s removal of the only
available African American potential juror,
on the grounds that she missed a portion of
the court’s general voir dire, was arbitrary
and denied the equal protection and due
process rights of both Petitioner and the
potential juror.

In Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965), this
Court recognized that a “State’s purposeful or
deliberate denial to Negroes on account of race of
participation as jurors in the administration of justice
violates the Equal Protection Clause.” Swair, supra,
380 U.S. at 203-204.

That principle was reaffirmed by this Court in
Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79, 106 S.Ct. 17 12, 90
L.Ed2d 69 (1986), when it held that the Equal
Protection Clause guarantees the defendant that the
State will not exclude members of his race from the
jury venire on account of race or on the false
assumption that members of his race as a group are
not qualified to serve as jurors. Batson additionally
established that the State unconstitutionally
discriminates against the excluded person by denying
him or her participation in jury service. Batson
principles were applied to civil actions as a result of
this Court’s holding in Edmonson v. Leesville Concrete
Co, 500 U.S. 614 (1991).

Batson also overruled that portion of Swain v.
Alabama concerning the evidentiary burden placed on
a defendant who claims that he has been denied
equal protection through the State’s discriminatory

19

use of peremptory challenges, and held that a
defendant may make a prima facie showing of
purposeful racial discrimination in selection of the
venire by relying solely on the facts concerning its
selection in his case. Batson, 476 U.S. at 89-96.

In Batson, the prosecutor used peremptory
challenges to strike all four of the black persons on
the venire, with the result that the jury was composed
solely of white persons, who voted to convict Batson.
Before the jury was sworn, Batson’s counsel moved to
strike the panel, arguing that Batson’s Sixth
Amendment right to a jury drawn from a cross section
of the community and Fourteenth Amendment right to
equal protection had been violated. Although this
case does not involve a party or a prosecutor using
peremptory challenges to remove black venire
persons, the reasoning and principles of Batson are
applicable, since it was the actions of the trial judge
who removed Ms. Mabry from consideration as a
juror. As the following statement from the transcript
demonstrates, the trial judge knew that removing Ms.
Mabry from the pre-assigned queue would have the
effect of eliminating her as a juror:

I excused - she was moved to the end of the
panel. I’ve excused everything - everybody
from the first eight on, which included her, so -
in other words, I indicated to you I was not
willing to bring her in and go through
everything we had to go through with all the
other jurors so that she would be a part of the
panel.

Transcript, p. 30, lines 8-13

20

In Batson, this Court acknowledged that the
Constitution requires the Court to “look beyond the
face of the statute defining juror qualifications and
also consider challenged selection practices to afford
‘protection against action of the State through its
administrative officers in effecting the prohibited
discrimination.’ Norris v. Alabama, supra, at 589;
[*19) see Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475, 478-479
(1954); Ex parte Virginia, supra, at 346-347:

Thus, the Court has found a denial of equal
protection where the procedures implementing
a neutral statute operated to exclude persons
from the venire on racial grounds, n 10 and
has made clear that the Constitution prohibits
all forms of purposeful racial discrimination in
selection of jurors. N 11 While decisions of this
Court have been concerned ' largely with
discrimination during selection of the venire,
the principles announced there also forbid
discrimination on account of race in selection
of the petit jury. Since the Fourteenth
Amendment protects an accused throughout
the proceedings bringing him to justice Hill v.
Texas, 316 U.S. 400, 406 (1942), the State may
not draw up its jury lists pursuant to neutral
procedures but then resort to discrimination at
‘other stages in the selection process,’ Avery v.
Georgia, 345 U.S. 559, 562 (1953); see McCray
v. New York, supra, at 965, 968 (MARSHALL,
J., dissenting from denial of certiorari); see also
Alexander v. Louisiana, 405 U.S. 625, 632
(1972).

Accordingly, the component of the jury

21

selection process at issue here, the State’s
privilege to strike individual jurors through
peremptory challenges, is subject to the
commands of the Equal Protection Clause.
Batson, supra, 476 U.S., at 88-89

In Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S., at 242, this
Court noted that “total or seriously disproportionate
exclusion of Negroes from jury venires, may for all
practical purposes demonstrate unconstitutionality
because in various circumstances the discrimination
is very difficult to explain on non-racial grounds.”

In Batson, this Court observed that prima facie
discrimination was found on proof that members of
the defendant's race were substantially
underrepresented on the venire from which his jury
was drawn, and that the venire was selected under a
practice providing “the opportunity for
discrimination.” Batson, supra, 476 U.S., at 95, citing
Whitus v. Georgia, 385 U.S. at 552, Castaneda v.
Partida,430 U.S. at 494, Washington v. Davis, 426
U.S. at 241 , Alexander v. Louisiana, 405 U.S. at 629-
631.

To establish a prima facie case of purposeful
discrimination in selection of the petit jury, the
defendant first must show that he is a member of a
cognizable racial group. Castaneda v. Partida, 430
U.S. at 494, “..and that the prosecutor has exercised
peremptory challenges to remove from the venire
members of the defendant’s race. Second, the
defendant is entitled to rely on the fact, as to which
there can be no dispute, that peremptory challenges
constitute a jury selection practice that permits ‘those

22

to discriminate who are of a mind to discriminate.’
Avery v. Georgia, 345 U.S. at 562. Finally, the
defendant must show that these facts and any other
relevant circumstances raise an inference that the
prosecutor used that practice to exclude the
veniremen from the petit jury on account of their race.
This combination of factors in the empaneling of the
petit jury, as in the selection of the venire, raises the
necessary inference of purposeful discrimination.”
Batson, supra, 476 U.S., at 96.

Applying these principles to the facts of this
case, it is clear that the first prong of the Batson |
analysis is met, since Petitioner and Ellen Mabry were
both African-American. As to the second and third
prongs, Petitioner submits that the trial court’s
arbitrary removal of the only available black
venireperson, “constitute[s] a jury selection practice
that permits ‘those to discriminate who are of a mind
to discriminate”, and “raises the necessary inference
of purposeful discrimination”, Avery, 345 U.S. at 562;
Batson, 476 U.S. at 96, for the reasons explained

infra.

The trial judge ignored Ellen Mabry when she
entered the courtroom, and would in all likelihood
have continued ignoring her if the bailiff had not
interrupted the proceedings. At the point when she
was brought to the judge’s attention, it was clear that
he had no intention of allowing her to serve:

COURT BAILIFF: Judge?

THE COURT: Um?

COURT BAILIFF:

COURT:

COURT BAILIFF:

THE COURT:

COURT BAILIFF:

COURT BAILIFF:

THE COURT:

COURT BAILIFF:

THE COURT:

JUROR MABREY:

THE COURT:

Ellen Mabrey (sic) is here.
Okay.

She hasn’t been sworn yet.
Is she still outside you say?
No. (inaudible).

Juror 395.

And at what point did Miss
Mabrey come in?

She just came in a few
minutes ago.

I take it, ma’am, you've not
been here for all my
questions then.

(inaudible).

Okay. Let me ask you if
you could just sort of stand
by for us and if you’re
needed, why, we'll get to
you, if not, maybe then you
won't have to serve.

(Voir dire continues)

24

MS. NEISWINGER:

THE COURT:

MS. NEISWINGER:

THE COURT:

MS. NEISWINGER:

THE COURT:

Judge, may we approach
the bench. (Unintelligible)
Mabrey she was supposed
to - she came ahead of
Criscinda Elsrod. She’s
still not coming in.

That’s the thing we need to
make a bench conference
or a bench comment on
after we get the jury
selected.

Well, is she eliminated?
Ms. Mabrey?

She was moved to the last -
I told her that when she left
the courtroom.

She was what?

I excused - she was moved
to the end of the panel. I’ve
excused everything -
everybody from the first
eight on, which included
her, so - in other words, I
indicated to you I was not
willing to bring her in and
go through everything we
had to go through with all
the other jurors so that she
would be a part of the
panel.

25

Transcript, p. 29, lines 5-26; p. 30,lines 1-13

In addition to immediately removing her from
her preassigned position, the transcript establishes
that the trial judge made no effort to ascertain why
Ms. Mabry was late, or whether circumstances beyond
her control prevented her from arriving sooner.
Therefore, Petitioner was summarily denied any
opportunity to have a juror of his own race, and Ms.
Mabry was denied her right to participate in the
judicial process on the arbitrary basis that she was
not physically present in the courtroom at the
appointed time, no explanations or exceptions
allowed. Further on this point, it bears mentioning
that although Ms. Mabry arrived after the start of
general voir dire, one of the reasons she missed a
portion at least of the trial court’s general voir dire is
that the trial judge ignored her, and the bailiff failed
to interrupt the proceedings until after she had sat in
the back of the courtroom for an additional period of
time after arriving. Therefore, at least part of the
cause for any delay that would have been incurred by
repeating part of the court’s general voir dire was the
fault of the trial judge and bailiff. The transcript
establishes that the trial judge gave no consideration
to this fact, and that his major concern was that the
white jurors should not be inconvenienced by waiting
while he individually questioned Ms. Mabry:

Ms. Mabrey was not here when we started voir
dire examination, was not sworn with the other
jurors and a portion, at least, of the Court’s
voir dire examination had already occurred at
the time she entered the courtroom. Then, it
was sometime before I was told who she was. I

26

saw an individual enter, but I really didn’t
know who that person was. So when I was
asked do we replace juror Steele with juror
Elsrod (sic-should read “Mabry”), my response
was no. To do that we would have had to stop
all proceedings, go back, deal with juror Elsrod
(sic-should read “Mabry”) individually to get
her up to the point where all the other jurors
were in order to accomplish that. Since we’re
dealing with this many people’s lives in
selecting a jury, I elected not to do that.

Transcript, pp. 30-31.

Petitioner submits that if you insert an
adjective listing the race of Ellen Mabry and “all the
other jurors” into the foregoing scenario,:plus the
argument supra, the totality of the facts surrounding
the elimination of Ellen Mabry as a juror are sufficient
to constitute an inference of racial discrimination
pursuant to Batson principles.

When the inference of discrimination has been
established, “the burden shifts to the State to come
forward with a neutral explanation for challenging
black jurors.” Batson, supra, 476 U.S., at 97. The
prosecutor may not rely upon a claim of his
“assumption - or his intuitive judgment” that a black
venireperson would be partial to a black defendant on
account of race. Id. Likewise inadequate is the mere
denial by the prosecutor of a discriminatory motive, or
the affirmation of his good faith in making individual
selections. Id; Alexander v. Louisiana, 405 U.S., at
632. “If these general assertions were accepted as
rebutting a defendant’s prima facie case, the Equal

27

Protection Clause ‘would be but a vain and illusory
requirement.’ Norris v. Alabama, supra, at 598.”
Batson, supra, at 476 U.S., p. 98.

The result here “bespeaks discrimination’, (See
Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. at 482), since the tral
judge arbitrarily eliminated any chance for Petitioner
to have a member of his race serve on the jury on the
grounds that it would be inconvenient to make the
white venire persons wait while he repeated some of
his preliminary voir dire questions for one black venire
person. Petitioner submits that requiring the
remaining venire to wait, sometimes in another room,
while one potential juror is questioned is not an
unusual occurrence. This can happen, for example,
when there are sensitive issues regarding the potential
juror, such as being the victim of a sex crime, prior
knowledge of one of the parties, attorneys or a key
witness, and for a variety of other reasons. Asa
generality, persons called for jury duty are frequently
required to wait, sometimes for hours, for many
different reasons, some of which are under the court’s
control, and some of which are not. For example,
venire persons must check in when they appear for
jury duty and wait until they are instructed to go to a
particular courtroom. Prospective jurors frequently
must wait while a list of those appearing for jury duty
is compiled and compared with the list of those
summoned to appear, so that the order of the actual
venire can be ascertained. Waiting also frequently
happens while juror questionnaires are filled out,
assembled, copied, collated, distributed to and
reviewed by attorneys, and when jurors excused from
one court are held to see if they are needed in
another. Waiting also can occur when an insufficient

28

number of prospective jurors appear for jury duty and
other persons must be immediately summoned to
appear. It is also not unusual for prospective jurors
to wait while preliminary motions are argued to the
court, while parties to the proceeding suddenly get
serious about settlement, and for numerous other
reasons.

Petitioner submits that the argument that
keeping the other jurors waiting while some of the
preliminary questions were repeated to Ms. Mabry is
an insufficient reason to deny her and Petitioner at
least the opportunity for her to be selected as a juror
in this case. This is especially true considering that
part of the reason she missed at least pt of the court’s
general voir dire was the fault of the trial judge and
bailiff. !

The Indiana Court of Appeals therefore erred
when it held that Petitioner failed to meet his burden
of demonstrating purposeful discrimination required
to violate the Fourteenth Amendment because the trial
judge had a “race neutral explanation for placing
Mabry at the end of the venire panel”. (Memorandum
Opinion, p. 10; Appendix, p. 21). This Court has
repeatedly found that mere denials of a discriminatory
intent and allegations of good faith are insufficient to
overcome a prima facie inference of racial
discrimination. Alexander, supra; Norris, supra;
Batson, supra.

Likewise erroneous was the reasoning of the
Indiana Court of Appeals that “...a trial judge has
control over the proceedings in his court, and his duty
is to conduct business expeditiously and consistent

29

with the orderly procedure and administration of
justice. Id at 847. We will review the trial court’s
decisions regarding the orderly conduct of a trial for
an abuse of discretion.” (Memorandum Opinion at p.
7; Appendix, p. 18). A trial judge simply does not have
the discretion to deny an African American litigant or
venire pérson their rights to equal protection and due
process under the rubric of “[m]atters which relate to
the orderly conduct of trial [that] are generally within
the trial court’s discretion.” (Memorandum opinion, p.
7; Appendix, pp. 17-18). If such were the law, then
the Equal Protection and Due Process rights
guaranteed by the Constitution would be
meaningless. Virtually any discriminatory or
unlawful denial of a black person’s rights could
arguably be justified under the rationale that the trial
judge was merely exercising his discretion to cor.duct
court business “expeditiously” and in an “orderly”
fashion.

Petitioner respectfully requests this Court to
grant her petition for a writ of certiorari.

Respe¢tfully Submitt

Karen B. Neiswinger 4
Counsel for Jacqueline Weaver,
Substitute Administrator of the
Estate of EvaMae H. Hearn.

30

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0909%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
