# Amicus Curiae Brief — Krilich v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0881%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 538 U.S. 977

## Text

OPERGY
No. 02-915 meme ee

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

ROBERT R. KRILICH, KRILICH COMPANIES, INC.,
RIVERWOODS DEVELOPMENT CorpP., ET AL.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF OF DEFENDERS OF PROPERTY RIGHTS AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Nancie G. Marzulla*

DEFENDERS OF PROPERTY RIGHTS
1350 Connecticut Ave., NW
Suite 410

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 822-6770

January 15,2003 *Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae

ieee teinmsiihccatan chalitietitesddign Ee neeeee eed

ee ee

QUESTION PRESENTED
Amicus curiae will address the following issue
presented for review:
Does the federal government have the constitutional
and statutory authority to regulate isolated wetlands that lack

a surface connection to the nearest stream or nearest

navigable body of water?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(QUEST RIN PRE BORE 6 iscusnsvestternonncenncemamesedand 1
TABLE OP Cee ncninsiasnmcnssanmiatimnninider ean ll
TABLE OF ALTER: oricicensaosackeinieevnieneniadts ill

STATEMENT OF ‘THEE CAGB.....6.sssscvessseensnesecesesenessessn 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....:0s:ccsesscmescsscsevesesssenens 4
REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION................. 9

Guidance Is Needed By This Court To Ensure That
the States’ Role in Environmental Protection Is
PIONIIIE oavnvicnituniviateaeeee ee 9

OCONCLATIION . ..0+is0s00.cn0esbekennng nies anaes 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission v. Mississippi, 456
viii sclcensvnsckwanpetawsvbeseateasbadsiecssteense 9

Headwaters, Inc., v. Talent Irrigation District, 243 F.3d 526
oh Calc bea ryssscenienbibindatedieisiensiveesseces 7

Idaho Rural Council v. Bosma, 143 F. Supp. 2d 1169 (D.
slo as sii Sicegcaduapucean aedsibinaveseucende 7

Rice v. Harken Exploration Co., 250 F.3d 264 (Sth Cir.

Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v. United
States Army Corps of Engineers, 531 U.S. 159
er ie a ances ennindenupetesseanesbhaense> >...passim

United States v. Interstate General Co., 39 Fed. Appx. 870
I I: ol sida unckecewnisncadeveeseurnonnsneved 6

United States v. Krilich, 303 F.3d 784 (7" Cir. 2002)......... 5

United States v. Lamplight Equestrian Center, 2002 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 3694 (N.D. Ill. Mar. 8, 2002)..............:... ec eee 7

United States v Rapanos, 190 F. Supp. 2d 1011 (E.D. Mich.

lil

United States v. Rueth Developers, 189 F. Supp. 2d 874
CEs EE Ak vchen .....10, 11

Debra Alise Spungin, Note, Troubled Waters: Florida's
Isolated Wetlands in the Aftermath of Solid Waste Agency of
Northern Cook County v. United States Army Corps of
Engineers, 26 NOVA L. REV. 371 (2001).................005. 1]

eee

0 EN OR ws ERT,

Defenders of Property Rights, amicus curiae, submits
this brief in support of petitioner.’ See Rule 37.3 of the Rules
of this Court. Both parties have consented to the filing of
this brief.

IDENTITY AND INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Defenders of Property Rights is a non-profit, public
interest legal foundation dedicated to the preservation of
constitutionally protected property rights. Defenders’
mission is to protect those rights considered essential by the
framers of the Constitution and to promote the exercise of
governmental power consistent with the constitutional
limitations upon the exercise of that power. Defenders’ goal
of the vigorous protection of property rights recognizes the
special role of federal courts in protecting those rights. Since
its founding in 1991, Defenders has participated in every
significant property rights case in this Court including Solid

Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v. United States

'No counsel for either party authored this brief amicus curiae, either in
whole or in part. Furthermore, no one other than amicus curiae

Army Corps of Engineers, 531 U.S. 159 (2001); City of
Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes at Monterey, Ltd.,
526 U.S. 687 (1999); Phillips v. Washington Legal Found.,
524 U.S. 156 (1998); Suitum v. Tahoe Regional Planning
Agency, 520 U.S. 725 (1997); Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154
(1997); Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter of Communities for a
Great Oregon, 515 U.S. 687 (1995); Dolan v. City of Tigard,
512 U.S. 374 (1994); Keene Corp. v. United States, 508 U.S.
200 (1993); and Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council,
505 U.S. 1003 (1992).
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1992, Petitioners Robert Krilich et al. and the
Respondent United States Environmental Protection Agency
entered into a Consent Decree to settle an enforcement action

that respondent had brought against petitioners alleging an

unlawful discharge of fill material without a permit into an
isolated wetland. As part of this settlement, petitioners

agreed to perform certain mitigation activities, including

contributed financially to the preparation of this brief.

2

i netaeainiiiidiiiitimaiaaiaain

removal of spoil piles, installation of flood control structures,
and creation of an off-site replacement wetland. In 1995,
respondent alleged that petitioners failed to create this
replacement wetland by the deadline established in the
Consent Decree. The district court imposed civil penalties on
Krilich for his failure to perform this remediation, see United
States v. Krilich, 948 F. Supp. 719, 728 (N.D. Ill. 1996).
Petitioners moved to vacate the district court’s
original judgment in 1998, arguing that the district court

lacked subject matter jurisdiction because the wetlands were

“isolated intrastate wetlands” beyond the limits of the
government’s commerce power to regulate. The district
court and the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals rejected
Krilich’s argument. See United States v. Krilich, 1999 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 4191 (N.D. Ill. Mar. 24, 1999), aff'd, 209 F.3d
968 (7th Cir. 2000).

In 2001, this Court issued the decision in Solid Waste

Agency of Northern Cook County v. United States Army

Corps of Engineers (“SWANCC’”), 531 U.S. 159 (2001),

holding that the Congressional intent of the Clean Water Act
(CWA) forbade the Corps from asserting regulatory
jurisdiction under Section 404(a) of the Act (13 U.S.C. §
1344 (a)) over intrastate, isolated wetlands based upon the
Migratory Bird Rule. See SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 174.
Petitioners moved to vacate the Consent Decree in light of
SWANCC, arguing that the waters affected by the Consent
Decree were not subject to the EPA’s authority under the
CWA. The district court and the Seventh Circuit both denied
petitioners’ motion. See United States v. Krilich, 152 F.
Supp. 2d 983 (N.D. Ill. 2001), aff’d, 303 F.3d 784 (7 Cir.

2002). Petitioners now seek review from this Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In SWANCC, this Court struck down the Corps’

assertion of CWA jurisdiction over isolated, intrastate, non-
navigable wetlands, finding “nothing approaching a clear
statement from Congress that it intended Section 404(a) [of

the CWA] to reach” such wetlands. See SWANCC, 531 U.S.

4

ne Oa

at 174. The Corps had based its jurisdiction on the fact that
the wetlands at issue served as a habitat for migratory birds.
This Court held that “permitting [the Corps] to claim...
jurisdiction over [such wetlands] falling within the
‘Migratory Bird Rule’ would result in a significant
impingement of the States' traditional and primary power

over land and water use.” See id. This Court explicitly

avoided the “significant constitutional and federalism
questions raised by [the Corps’] interpretation [of its own
authority under the CWA].” See id.

Lower courts are uncertain as to what SWANCC
means for the CWA authority of the federal government over
isolated wetlands. The court below and other lower courts
interpreted SWANCC narrowly, permitting the federal
government to assert regulatory authority over non-
navigable, isolated wetlands with no surface connection to
“waters of the United States” as long as it does not explicitly

ground its authority in the Migratory Bird Rule. See United

States v. Krilich, 303 F.3d 784, 791 (7" Cir. 2002) (“[Krilich]

argues that, in SWANCC, the Supreme Court removed from
the Corps' regulatory authority all waters that are not adjacent
to bodies of open water . . . But the precise holding of
SWANCC was not so broad”); see also United States v.
Interstate General Co., 39 Fed. Appx. 870 (4" Cir. July 2,
2002). Such a narrow construction of SWANCC leaves the
federal government ample room to assert jurisdiction over
isolated wetlands, ignoring this Court’s concern for the
traditional role of states in land and water use regulation.

The Fifth Circuit and some district courts, in keeping
with SWANCC’s proper regard for state authority over land
and water use, have interpreted the decision to create a
bright-line rule limiting federal CWA authority to waters that
“are actually navigable or . . . adjacent to an open body of
navigable water.” Rice v. Harken Exploration Co., 250 F.3d
264, 265, 268-271 (Sth Cir. 2001). See also United States v
Rapanos, 190 F. Supp. 2d 1011, 1012 (E.D. Mich. 2002)
(excluding wetlands “not directly adjacent to navigable

waters” from the scope of the federal government’s CWA

jurisdiction); United States v. RMG Corp., 222 F. Supp. 2d
780, 788-89 (E.D. Va. 2002) (wetlands not adjacent to
closest navigable waterway lay outside federal government’s
jurisdictional reach under CWA).

The Ninth Circuit and various district courts chart a
course distinct from these two approaches, relying instead on
a vague “effects” test that asks whether the wetland in
question has a significant connection to, or effect upon, a
navigable body of water. See Headwaters, Inc., v. Talent
Irrigation District, 243 F.3d 526 (9th Cir. 2001) (certain
irrigation canals were not “isolated” under SWANCC because
introduction of pollutants into canals had adverse effect on
waters of the United States). See also United States v.
Lamplight Equestrian Center, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 3694,
at *6 (N.D. Ill. Mar. 8, 2002) (there must be “a significant
nexus” between the isolated wetlands and a navigable water
to sustain federal CWA jurisdiction over the former); United
States v. Rueth Developers, 189 F. Supp. 2d 874, 877-78

(N.D. Ind. 2002) (same); Idaho Rural Council v. Bosma, 143

F. Supp. 2d 1169, 1179 (D. Idaho 2001) (“sufficient
[connection]” between isolated wetland and navigable water
rendered the isolated wetland subject to federal CWA
jurisdiction). This interpretation of SWANCC, like that of the
court below, also leaves the federal government ample room
to assert CWA jurisdiction over isolated wetlands,
disregarding the role of the states in regulating land and
water use.

The uncertain bounds of federal jurisdiction over
isolated, intrastate wetlands impose a burden on state and
local governments, who retain primary authority over land
and water use. State and local governments cannot pick up
the slack for wetlands protection without knowing the limits
of what the EPA and Corps can do. Property owners would
also benefit from a clearer division of regulatory authority
over isolated wetlands so they do not face redundant or
inconsistent restrictions on private economic activity they

conduct on their property.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Guidance Is Needed By This Court To Ensure That the
States’ Role in Environmental Protection Is Protected.

This Court has declared that land use regulation,
including wetland regulation, is traditionally a function of
state and local governments. See Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742, 768 n. 30 (1980)
(“regulation of land use is perhaps the quintessential state
activity”); see also SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 174 (“Regulation
of land use [is] a function traditionally performed by local
governments") (quoting Hess v. Port Authority Trans-
Hudson Corporation, 513 U.S. 30, 44 (1994)). The court
below read no meaningful limits on the federal government’s
CWA authority over isolated wetlands, ignoring the primary
role that states and local governments play in regulating land
and water use.

Although many critics express concerns about the
competency of states to protect wetlands, many

commentators argue that states are in fact better suited to this

EE EE SS

task than the federal government. See Jonathan H. Adler,
Wetlands, Waterfowl, and the Menace of Mr. Wilson:
Commerce Clause Jurisprudence and the Limits of Federal
Wetland Regulation, 29 ENVTL. L. 1, 23-24 (1999) (“The
ecological value of a wetland is largely a function of its
characteristics and its location. This is... why it can be
argued that state governments are better situated to conserve
wetlands than federal agencies”). A clearer delineation of the
limits of the federal government’s CWA authority over
wetlands will encourage states to further develop this
competency.

Fifteen states have already enacted comprehensive
wetland protection legislative schemes in order to fill the
jurisdictional gap left by SWANCC. See, e.g., Adler, supra,
at 49; Jon Kusler, The SWANCC Decision and State
Regulation of Wetlands (Association of State Wetland
Managers, Berne, NY) (May 31, 2001),
. Some

state wetland programs are broad in reach, regulating

10

virtually all wetlands within the state (New Hampshire, New
Jersey, Maine, and Pennsylvania). See Kusler, supra.

For example, Florida has enacted substantial
legislation to protect isolated wetlands. See Debra Alise
Spungin, Note, Troubled Waters: F lorida’s Isolated
Wetlands in the Aftermath of Solid Waste Agency of Northern
Cook County v. United States Army Corps of Engineers, 26
Nova L. REV. 371, 383-84 (2001) (“Florida affords
considerable protection to its isolated wetlands. . . [T]he
statutory definition [of ‘wetland’ ] is thus unique to Florida’s
local characteristics and inclusive of isolated wetlands”).

State efforts to protect wetlands have borne fruit,
demonstrating their competitive advantage in protecting
wetlands. Under Virginia’s wetland protection program
begun in 1972, “alteration of wetlands dropped dramatically .
__ from over 600 to 20 acres per year.” See Adler, supra, at
51 (quoting Norman E. Larsen, Wetlands Protection in
Virginia—The Local Option Approach, in WETLAND

PROTECTION: STRENGTHENING THE ROLE OF THE STATES 251

11

(1985)). Maryland has had similar success with its wetland
regulatory scheme, having reduced its annual wetlands losses
significantly and “prevented far more wetland destruction
than would occur under Section 404 alone.” See id. (quoting
Stephen R. Rubin, Note, An Analysis of Nontidal Wetland
Regulation in Maryland, 16 VA. ENVTL. L.J. 459, 495-96
(1997)).

States like Maryland and Virginia cannot further
improve their already successful wetland protection programs
without knowing the limits of the federal government’s
authority to regulate wetlands. Only by knowing where the
federal government’s job ends can states know where their
own jobs begin in the realm of wetland regulation. Once
clear limits are established, more and better wetland
protection regulatory schemes can be expected from the
states.

Property owners would also benefit from this Court’s
guidance on these issues. Isolated wetlands account for

almost two million acres out of the 100 million acres of

12

ee

wetlands in the United States. See Adler, supra, at 40. Most
wetland regulations, both state and federal, restrict land use,
increasing the costs of corporations of siting and modifying
facilities. See id. at 41. Without a clear demarcation of
jurisdiction, state and federal authorities can cripple private
economic activity on isolated wetlands by simultaneously
imposing overlapping and redundant regulations. A clear
dividing line would allow state and federal authorities to
better divide regulatory responsibilities over isolated
wetlands, while also reducing the costs of property use to
property owners.

Accordingly, amicus curiae urges this Court to grant
review of this case to determine if the court below erred in
concluding that SWANCC did not affect the Corps’

jurisdictional boundaries.

13

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amicus curiae urges this

Court to grant the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancie G. Marzulla*

DEFENDERS OF PROPERTY RIGHTS
1350 Connecticut Ave., NW
Suite 410

Washington, DC 20036
202-822-6770

January 15,2003 *Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae

14

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0881%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
