# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Valdivieso v. Atlas Air, Inc

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0709%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 1158

## Text

\ FiLé O
(y

“go 728NOV 8 2002

OFFICE OF THE CLER«
No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

BRANDON VALDIVIESO and DAVID KICKZALES, on
behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,
vs.
ATLAS AIR, INC.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM R. AMLONG
Counsel of Record

AMLONG & AMLONG, P.A.
Attorneys for Petitioner

500 Northeast Fourth Street

Second Floor

Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33301

(954) 462-1983

1
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Are wage-and-hour actions brought in state
courts pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act, which
provides that such actions"may be maintained in any
court of competent jurisdiction," non-removable?

II. | Doesthelegislative history of the Fair Labor
Standards Act — which Congress amended to exempt
transportation workers (seamen, railread employees,
over-the-road truck drivers and air-carrier «mployees)
whose maximum hours were regulated by other federal
‘laws — show an intention not to exempt from overtime
protection those non-pilot air-carrier employees whose
overtime is rot otherwise regulated?

ii
LIST OF PARTIES ©

The parties to the proceedings in the court whose
judgment is sought to be reviewed here include only those
who appear in the caption of the case.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
II his o 06s bbb SCAbSa sacesoweds i
I eis CO Oks Jude va sess codecs ii
i Sve eve b ewevdd vave eevee ili
Table of Cited Authorities ...........ccccceeccees Vv
eG EN cid sb Wik seals ba ve ee aedeeee 2
Statement OF PUTISGICHON ...... 06. cccccccccccncs 2
s.r eeneacesns 2
nec sb vhasaeveeseuenes 5
Reasons for Granting the Writ ................... 6

S The United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit has entered
a decision that is in conflict with the
decision of another United States
Court of Appeals on the issue of
whether actions brought in state
courts pursuant to the Fair Labor
Standards Act are subject to removal

II. The United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit has decided
an important question of federal law
concerning an exemption to the Fair

iv

Labor Standards Act, one which
should be, but has not been, decided
by this Court, i.e.: does the "air-
carrier" exemption remove
maximum-hour protection from all
air-carrier employees, regardless of
whether any federal agency polices
ey ID, os code sc ucees keeasde 15

GIN vp.ndinns 5 03806k kes ae 19

Vv
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES
Cases Cited: Page

A. H. Phillips, Inc. v. Walling,
SEA UD. GOO CIGD occ ccscccceces erab an 19

Baldwin v. Sears, Roebuck & Co.,
667 F.2d 458, 459-461 (5th Cir. 1982)..... 9,13

Breuer v. Jim's Concrete of Brevard, Inc.,
292 F.3d 1308 (11th Cir. 2002), petition
for cert. filed, 71 U.S.L.W. 3169
(U.S. Sept. 3, 2002) (No. 02-337) ..... passim

Carter v. Hill & Hill Truck Line, Inc.,
259 F.Supp. 428 (S.D. Tex. 1966) .......... 12

Castillo v. Texans Can!,
Slip Copy, No. CIV.A.3:02-CV-0587-R,
2002 U.S.Dist. LEXIS 13555, 2002
WL 1733727 (N.D. Tex. July 25, 2002) ....... 8

Caterpillar, Inc. v. Lewis,
OD Si Te CE 56h ih dhs ch oda 12

Collins v. Horizon Training Centers, L.P.,
Slip Copy No. CIV 3:02-CV-1310-L, 2002
U.S. Dist. LEXIS 19493, 2002 WL 31305105
(N.D. Tex. October 10, 2002) ............... 8

Cosme Nieves v. Deshler,
786 F.2d 445 (ist Cir. 1986) .......... passim

George Moore Ice Cream Co. v. Rose,
as Oe NN is oo ooo eds cs 14

vi

Haun v. Retail Credit Co.,
420 F.Supp. 859 (W.D. Pa. 1976) ........... 12

Johnson v. Butler Bros.,
162 F.2d 87 (8th Cir. 1947)............ passim

LeMay v. Budget Rent A Car Systems, Inc.,
993 F.Supp. 1448 (M.D. Fla. 1997) .......... 9

Lisai v. Chevron Stations,
Slip Copy No. CIV 3:97-CV-1288-G,
1997 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 20841, 1997 WL
694705 (N.D. Tex. Nov. 4,1997) ............ 9

Lloyd v. Classic Chevrolet, Inc.,
Slip Copy No. CIV 4:01-CV-896-Y,
2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 1604, 2002
WL 989470 (N.D. Tex. Jan. 31, 2002) ....... 9

Maloy v. Friedman,
80 F.Supp. 290 (N.D. Ohio 1948) .......... 14

Maranto v. Ken Jenne,
Slip Copy No. 00-7463-Civ-Dimitrouleas
(B.D. FER BO. Os WOOF kins ko hick e 00 505 ac ks 9

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Jackson, |
185 F.2d 74 (8th Cir. 1950) ...............- 16 |

Pan American World Airways, Inc.
v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters
& Joiners of America,
924 F.ad 217 (otha Cle. 1968) .cccccccccccces 16

Roland v. United Airlines, Inc.,
75 F.Supp. 25 (N.D. Ill. 1947) .............. 16

.
i
1
|
1

Vii

St. Francis College v. Al-Khazraji,

481 US 604 (1987)... ccc ccc cece cece, 19
Smallwood v. Gallardo,

7B UB. BB AGG) oon cccccccccccecccecees 14
United States v. American Trucking
Association, Inc.,

310 U.S. 534 (1940) ................... 16, 19
Valdiviseo v. Atlas Air, Inc.,

305 F.3d 1283 (11th Cir. 2002)........... 2,13
Valdiviseo v. Atlas Air, Inc.,

128 F. Supp. 2d 1371 (S.D. Fla.2001) ........ 2
Verrett v. The Sabre Group, Inc.,

70 F.Supp.2d 1277 (N.D. Okla. 1999) ....... 16
Wilkins v. Renault Southwest, Inc.,

227 F.Supp. 647 (N.D. Tex. 1964) ....... 12-13
Statutes Cited: Page

Age Discrimination in Employment Act,
9D UBC. §GO1, OP 900. 0... ccc cccsccccccs 8-9

viii
Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 ............ passim
Family Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. § 2601 et seg. ... 9

| BUT TTCCT TT eT T TET TT Te 18
National Labor Relations Act .................... 16
Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 181, et seq. .... 2, 16,17
A Ee SD hb 0 cb bach pedbadciee doves 17
Op Ss EE os bw ob hie ded emke hs cuencecenace 2
6G ci bce Sle wd ee Rikske ce Cbseecs 6
0 Ue ck. chet eb raerWbee eek 10, 11
Sr ee ED 6 sw 508 ecdeeedeeséencess 5, 7, 8, 10
ge te EOE TT eT CET ET Tr eT Tere Se tT ere 10
EE Ss cb cchuaneaeshiveecéaeuea 10
Se PO G0 bs caw eeeN ei duececésbbandansen 2
eee ee ae ee 3,4
aes EE 6.00 0600nicded des debicestsead 3,4,5
STE, Se hic ackae Wii ec cde esseebek 17
SEG Se 5 6 ose SRK eee ENO eA 17

SPURL. SO aa benstsensdv ccd cies 2, 6,17

Re ee I Sh hiv Pi oa esd 0 sd les cakcieiecd 17
Sk a rr ee 3-4, 5, 7, 10
OD ae eI ok 05s Fs akc ds veicccdbcnce. 9
Federal Rules Cited: Page
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(h)(3) .......... 12
Regulations Cited: Page
14 C.F.R., Ch. I, Subch. G., Part 121, Subpart R ..... 17
Rr ED Fb 5 SbliWi bss daiioeecidcae 17-18
Decision No. 83, National Labor Board

RRS pe ee aera ee 16-17
Miscellaneous: Page
81 CONG. REC. 7875 (1937) .........ccceeese 16-17, 18
CONF. REP., 83 CONG. REC. 9249 (1938) ........ 14,17
WIIG. RG, SIGS (HOB) isi vck occ ove vwccccee 14

BUREAU OF LABOR STATISTICS, DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,
NATIONAL OCCUPATIONAL EMPLOYMENT AND

WAGE ESTIMATES (2000) ...........ccccccccccecs 15
FEDERAL JUDICIAL CASELOAD STATISTICS (2001) ..... 11
FEDERAL JUDICIAL CASELOAD STATISTICS (2002) ..... 11

H.R. 7200, 75th Cong., ist Sess. (1937) ....... 13-14, 17

H. R. Rep. No. 2182, 75th Cong., 3d Sess. (1938) ... 18

S. 2475, 75th Cong,., ist Sess. (1937) ........... 13, 17
APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, Dated September
OE DOD on koe A ee vines 1a

Appendix B — Order Denying Motion to Remand, United
States District Court for the Southern District of
Florida, Dated January 18,2001 ........... ga

Appendix C — Order Granting Defendant's Motion for
Summary Judgment, United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida, Dated
POOUIGT BI, BOGE oo oc cccccnsevecssceees 17a

Appendix D — District court cases, collected in Breuer v.
Jim's Concrete of Brevard, Inc., holding that claims
brought pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938
I io nein hndsandenmckees een eee 29a

Appendix E — District court cases, collected in Breuer v.
Jim's Concrete of Brevard, Inc., holding that claims
brought pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938
SUD DEON 6 6 io hI 32a

1

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

BRANDON VALDIVIESO and DAVID KICKZALES, on
behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,
US.
ATLAS AIR, INC.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners, Brandon Valdivieso and David
Kickzales, respectfully petition for a writ of certiorari to
review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at
Valdiviseo v. Atlas Air, Inc., 305 F.3d 1283 (11th Cir.
2002) and is reproduced in the Appendix filed herewith
(“App.”) at 1a. The opinion of the district court
concerning removal is reported at Valdiviseo v. Atlas Air,
Inc., 128 F. Supp. 2d 1371 (S.D. Fla. 2001) and is
reproduced at 9a. The opinion of the district court
granting defendant's motion for summary judgment was
not reported; it is reproduced at 172.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION
The decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit was rendered on September 20,

2002. No rehearing was sought.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

The pertinent provisions of the Fair Labor
Standards Act of 1938, as amended, (FLSA) 29 U.S.C. §
201, et seq., are set forth below:

§ 213 Exemptions

(b) Maximum hour requirements. The provisions
of section 7 shall not apply with respect to —

(3) any employee of a carrier by air subject
to the provisions of title II of the Railway
Labor Act....

§ 216 Penalties

(b) Damages; right of action; attorney's fees and
costs; termination of right of action

Any employer who violates the provisions of
section 206 or section 207 of this title shall be
liable to the employee or employees affected in the
amount of their unpaid minimum wages, or their
unpaid overtime compensation, as the case may be,
and in an additional equal amount as liquidated
damages. Any employer who violates the
provisions of section 215(a)(3) of this title shall be
liable for such legal or equitable relief as may be
appropriate to effectuate the purposes of section
215(a)(3) of this title, including without limitation
employment, reinstatement, promotion, and the
payment of wages lost and an additional equal
amount as liquidated damages. An action to
recover the liability prescribed in either of
the preceding sentences may be
maintained against any employer
(including a public agency) in any Federal
or State court of competent jurisdiction by
any one or more employees for and in
behalf of himself or themselves and other
employees similarly situated. No employee
shall be a party plaintiff to any such action unless
he gives his consent in writing to become such a
party and such consent is filed in the court in
which such action is brought. The court in such
action shall, in addition to any judgment awarded
to the plaintiff or plaintiffs, allow a reasonable
attorney's fee to be paid by the defendant, and
costs of the action. The right provided by this

4

subsection to bring an action by or on behalf of any
employee, and the right of any employee to become
a party plaintiff to any such action, shall terminate
upon the filing of a complaint by the Secretary of
Labor in an action under section 217 of this title in
which

(1) restraint is sought of any further delay in
the payment of unpaid minimum wages, or
the amount of unpaid overtime
compensation, as the case may be, owing to
such employee under section 206 or section
207 of ‘this title by an employer liable
therefor under the provisions of this
subsection or

(2) legal or equitable relief is sought as a
result of alleged violations of section
215(a)(3) of this title.

(Emphasis supplied.)

The pertinent provision of the removal statute, 28
U.S.C. § 1441, is set forth below:

§ 1441 Actions Removable Generally

(a) Except as otherwise expressly provided by Act
of Congress, any civil action brought in a State
court of which the district courts of the United
States have original jurisdiction, may be removed
by the defendant or the defendants, to the district
court of the United States for the district and
division embracing the place where such action is
pending. For purposes of removal under this

bs)

chapter, the citizenship of defendants sued under
fictitious names shall be disregarded.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Brandon Valdivieso and David Kickzales worked
for Atlas Air, Inc. as in-flight load masters (both) and a
ramp supervisor (Valdivieso). Their jobs were to oversee
the loading of cargo planes and (as load masters) to
accompany cargo on flights for Atlas Air's clients, which
generally were airlines to whom Atlas Air outsourced
planes and crews. Both Valdivieso and Kickzales worked
in excess of 40 hours a week without being paid overtime.
They were not subject to any regulation by the Federal
Aviation Administration.

Valdivieso and Kickzales filed suit pursuant to the
overtime provisions of the FLSA, 29 U.S.C. § 207, in the
Circuit Court of the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit, in and
for Broward County, Florida. Atlas Air removed the case
to the United States District Court for the Southern
District of Florida. The district court, Hon. Adalberto
Jordan, J., denied Valdivieso and Kickzales' motion to
remand. The district court held that the 1948 amendment
to the removal statute provided that federal-claim cases
may be removed from state court "[e]xcept as otherwise
expressly provided by Act of Congress..." 28 U.S.C. §
1441(a). That amendment, according the district court,
trumps the language of 29 U.S.C. § 216(b) that provides
that an action brought by an employee pursuant to the
FLSA "may be maintained against any employer ... in any
Federal or State court of competent jurisdiction."

The district court, Hon. Ted E. Bandstra, United
States Magistrate Judge, held on December 21, 2002, that
Valdivieso and Kickzales, even though their maximum

6

hours were regulated by no federal agency, were exempted
from the overtime protections of the Act by the "air-
carrier" exemption, 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(3).

The Circuit Court of Appeals had jurisdiction
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291 to review the district court’s
final decision.

A panel of the circuit court affirmed the denial of
the motion to remand based upon another panel's
decision in Breuer v. Jim's Concrete of Brevard, Inc., 292
F.3d 1308, 1309 (11th Cir. 2002), petition for cert. filed,
71 U.S.L.W. 3169 (U.S. Sept. 3, 2002) (No. 02-337), which
was handed down subsequent to Valdiviseo and Kickzales'
initial brief. The panel also affirmed the grant of
summary judgment concerning the scope of the air-carrier
exemption.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.
I.

The United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit has entered a decision that is in
conflict with the decision of another United States
Courts of Appeals on the issue of whether actions
brought in state courts pursuant to the Fair Labor
Standards Act are subject to removal.

The Court should grant the petition for a writ of
certiorari to establish uniformity amongst the circuits on
the issue of whether actions brought in state courts
pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 are
removable. The conflict is whether the Act's provision
that an action brought pursuant to it "may be maintained
against any employer ... in any Federal or State court of

7

competent jurisdiction," 29 U.S.C. § 216(b), constitutes an
express provision against removal, as envisioned by the
1948 amendment to the removal statute, 28 U.S.C. §
1441(a). The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, in a
case decided one year prior to the removal statute's
amendment, Johnson v. Butler Bros., Inc., 162 F.2d 87
(8th Cir. 1947), held that such cases are not removable.’
The Court of Appeals for the First Circuit held in Cosme
Nieves v. Deshler, 786 F.2d 445, 451. (ist Cir.), cert
denied, 479 U.S. 824 (1986), held that the 1948
amendment trumped Johnson The Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit this year followed Cosme Nieves in

'The Johnson court reasoned thus:

“{T]o maintain an action or suit may mean to commence or
institute it; the term imports the existence of a cause of action. *
* * Maintain, however, is applied to actions already brought, but
not yet reduced to judgment * * * . In this connection it means to
continue or preserve (persévere) in or with; to carry on. * * *”
BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY, 3rd Ed., 1143. The usual dictionary
definition of the word “maintain” is: “To keep up or carry on (as,
to maintain an action or undertaking); persevere in; prosecute; also,
to keep in existence or continuance * * * .”

* x *

[It is our opinion that Congress, in providing that an “action to
recover such liability may be maintained in any court of competent
jurisdiction * * * “ and that “The court in such action shall, in
addition to any judgment awarded to the plaintiff * * * , allow a
reasonable attorney’s fee * * * and costs * * * ,” intended not only
that the action might be commenced in any court of competent
jurisdiction, but that it could be prosecuted to final judgment in the
court in which it was commenced. If that was not the intention of
Congress, the words “may be maintained in any court of competent
jurisdiction” merely state a truism and are surplusage.

162 F.2d at 88-89.

8

Breuer v. Jim's Concrete of Brevard, Inc., 292 F.3d 1308
(11th Cir. 2002), which it in turn followed in the case at
bar.

The depth and currency of the conflict

Although the source of the conflict is more than 50
years old — i.e., the 1948 amendment of the removal
statute, 28 U.S.C. 1441(a), one year after the Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit decided in Johnson that
actions brought in state court pursuant to the FLSA are
not removable — its impact is as current as last month.
That is when one district court in the Northern District of
Texas followed Breuer and Cosme Nieves in denying a
motion to remand a claim brought pursuant to the FLSA.
Collins v. Horizon Training Centers, L.P., Slip Copy No.
CIV 3:02-CV-1310-L, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 19493, 2002
WL 31305105 (N.D. Tex. October 10, 2002). Another
Northern District ef Texas court, less than four months
earlier, had followed Johnson in remanding to state court
a similar complaint. Castillo v. Texans Can!, Slip Copy,
No. CIV.A.3:02-CV-0587-R, 2002 U.S.Dist. LEXIS 13555,
2002 WL 1733727 (N.D. Tex. July 25, 2002).

Cases interpreting the differences in language of
the two statutes stretch over several decades up to the
moment. The Breuer court collected 30 cases between
1946 and 2002 holding actions brought pursuant to the
FLSA to be removable, 292 F.3d at 1309, n. 1,” and 12
cases between 1948 and 2000 holding to the contrary. Id.
at n. 2.3 Cases offering the differing interpretations
include not only wage-and-hour suits, but also actions

*See App. D, at 29a.

3See App. E, at 32a.

9

brought in the relatively recent past pursuant to statutes
adopting the FLSA's enforcement mechanism, i.e., the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. § 621, et
seq.,* and the Equal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d),5 and
even the Family Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. § 2601, et
seq.,° which adopted its "may be maintained" language.
See 29 U.S.C. § 2617(a)(2) ("Right of action").

The division, thus, clearly is wide and on-going,
giving to the conflict between the 1948 Johnson case and
the 1986 Cosme Nieves case a longer-lasting ripple effect
than one might expect. These are waves that only this
Court can calm through the grant of certiorari. As the
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit stated in Breuer:

“Compare, e.g., Baldwin v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 667 F.2d 458,
459-461 (Sth Cir. 1982) (upholding removability of a claim under the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. § 621, et seg., and
specifically stating that it was not addressing claims brought under the
FLSA), and LeMay v. Budget Rent A Car Systems, Inc., 993 F.Supp. 1448,
1450, n. 3 (M.D. Fla. 1997), (denying remand of ADEA claim because
“instead of ‘maintained,’ Congress could have chosen to use the word
‘brought’ which has a decidedly different meaning.”.

“Compare, e.g., Lisai v. Chevron Stations, Slip Copy No. CIV
3:97-CV-1288-G, 1997 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 20841, 1997 WL 694705 (N.D.
Tex. Nov. 4, 1997) (denying remand of claim brought pursuant to Equal Pay
Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d)), and Christine Maranto vs. Ken Jenne, in his
official capacity as Sheriff of Broward County, Slip Copy No. 00-7463-Civ-
Dimitrouleas (S.D. Fla. Nov. 29, 2000 ) (remanding Equal Pay Act claim on
authority of Johnson).

“See Lloyd v. Classic Chevrolet, Inc., Slip Copy No. CIV 4:01-CV-
896-Y, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 1604, 2002 WL 989470 (N.D. Tex. Jan. 31,
2002) (granting motion to remand claim brought pursuant to Family Medical
Leave Act because of the Johnson interpretation of "may be maintained.").

10

Because of the long-standing difference
among the district courts and the apparent conflict
between the Eighth Circuit in Johnson v. Butler
Bros. and the First Circuit in Cosme Nieves, and
now with this Circuit, it would appear to be
important for either Congress or the United States
Supreme Court to resolve this issue and bring
uniformity to the federal courts in this regard.
Litigants should not be treated with such disparity
in our federal system.

292 F.3d at 1310.

While the Johnson/Cosme Nieves conflict has been
around since 1986, and has spawned dozens of conflicting
district court rulings, see notes 2 & 3, supra, its resolution
has been hampered because of the difficulty in obtaining
appellate review of the issue. Except in select civil rights
cases, a defendant whose case is remanded to state court
has no federal appellate remedy. See 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d).’
A remanded plaintiff, meanwhile, has no appellate
remedy other than through the district court's issuance of
a certificate of interlocutory appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1292(b),® see, e.g., Breuer, 292 F.3d at 1308,° or

"That section provides:

An order remanding a case to the State court from which
it was removed is not reviewable on appeal or otherwise, except
that an order remanding a case to the State court from which it was
removed pursuant to section 1443 of this title shall be reviewable
by appeal or otherwise.

*That section provides as follows:

(continued...)

11

following an adverse decision on the merits. Thus, the
universe of potential appellants concerning the removal
and/or remand of a FLSA case is substantially narrowed.
How else, then, would one explain the relative dearth of
appellate-level case law over a span of 50-plus years on a
subject that has engendered as many conflicting district
court opinions?

Private plaintiffs brought, during the 12 month
period ending March 31, 2002, 1,886 actions that either
were initiated in or removed to United States-district
courts, up from 1,791 the year before.*° For those cases
that were removed, as opposed to being initiated in
federal court, a denial of remand raises two undesirable
alternatives: either, One, continuing absence of

*...continued)

When a district judge, in making in a civil action an order
not otherwise appealable under this section, shall be of the opinion
that such order involves a controlling question of law as to which
there is substantial ground for difference of opinion and that an
immediate appeal from the order may materially advance the
ultimate termination of the litigation, he shall so state in writing in
such order. The Court of Appeals may thereupon, in its discretion,
permit an appeal to be taken from such order, if application is
made to it within ten days after the entry of the order: Provided,
however, That application for an appeal hereunder shall not stay
proceedings in the district court unless the district judge or the
Court of Appeals or a judge thereof shall so order.

*Breuer appears to be the only FLSA case, among all of those in
which remand was denied over the past 50-plus years, in which a 1292(b)
certification was granted.

"See, FEDERAL JUDICIAL CASELOAD STATISTICS, Table C-2, Cases
Commenced, by Basis of Jurisdiction and Nature of Suit, March 31, 2001
and March 31, 2002.

12

jurisdiction, see Caterpillar, Inc. v. Lewis, 519 U.S. 61, 76-
77 (1996),” resulting in the possibility of wasted judicial
labor, or, Two, (assuming Congress intended that state
court actions brought pursuant to the FLSA to be
nonremovable) the nullification of Congressional intent.
In addition, there is the difficult-to-quantify impact that
the district courts' trend towards favoring removal,
compare App. D and App. E, has on plaintiffs who view
any attempt to bring an FLSA action in state court as
being futile.

The majority rule in the district courts, which is
now precedent in the First and Eleventh Circuits, chills
what several district court have found to be important
Congressional policy considerations in having made FLSA
actions easier for working men and women to prosecute
by having made those actions nonremovable. See, e.g.,
Haun v. Retail Credit Co., 420 F.Supp. 859, 862-863
(W.D. Pa. 1976)("in FLSA cases that the amount in
controversy may be small and some plaintiffs in rural
areas may be 'removed' out of a suit if they are forced to
suffer the expense and inconvenience of maintaining their
suit in a federal court many miles away"); Carter v. Hill &
Hill Truck Line, Inc., 259 F.Supp. 428, 430 (S.D. Tex.
1966)(setting out in an appendix the American Law
Institute commentary noting that “[tJhese cases are
typically for a very small sum and would invite the use of
removal as a harassing tactic”); Wilkins v. Renault

"'The Caterpillar, Inc. court stated:

[D]espite a federai trial court's threshold denial of a motion to
remand, if, at the end of the day and case, a jurisdictional defect
remains uncured, the judgment must be vacated. See, Fed. Rule
Civ. Proc. 12(h\(3) ("Whenever it appears by suggestion of the
parties or otherwise that the court lacks jurisdiction of the subject
matter, the court shall dismiss the action.”)

13

Southwest, Inc., 227 F.Supp. 647, 648 (N.D. Tex.
1964)(Congress recognized in enacting the 1948 and 1958
amendments to the removal statute that "removal was an
obvious tactic by which the defendant could delay,
increase the costs of litigation and harass the plaintiff").

Effectuation of those policy reasons, especially
considering the ongoing tension between the lower courts
and the difficulty in obtaining appellate review,”
militates for this Court's intervention through the
issuance of a writ of certitoari.

The legislative history of the FLSA — which
curiously has never been addressed in any of the decisions
concerning removal — shows that Congress intended for
wage-and-hour actions brought in state courts to stay
there. Congress replaced a provision in the initial version
of the bill that called for concurrent jurisdiction with
state and territorial courts,* with language providing that

"The only appellate treatment of the issue over the past 50-plus
years has been in Valdiviseo, Breuer, Baldwin (ADEA), Cosme-Nieves and
Johnson.

- ?§ection 22(b) of Senate Bill 2475, as it passed the Senate Juiy 22,
1937, stated that

The district courts of the United States shall have
jurisdiction of violations of this act or the regulations or orders
thereunder, and, concurrently with State and Territorial Courts, of
all suits in equity and actions at law brought to enforce any liability
or duty created by, or to enjoin any violation of, this act or the
regulations or orders thereunder...

(Emphasis added.) As introduced May 24, 1937, both S. 2475 and its House
(continued...)

14

"an action to recover such liability may be maintained in
any court of competent jurisdiction..." See, e.g., CONF.
REP., § 16 (b), 83 CONG. REC. 9249 (1938). As one of the
House conference committee managers explained
immediately before the final vote: "[I]f there shall occur
violations of either the wages or hours, the employees can
themselves, or by designated agent or representatives,
maintain an action in any court to recover the wages due
them..." 83 CONG. REC. 9264 (1938) (remarks of Rep.
Keller) (emphasis added).

The conference committee's changing of the
language is particularly compelling considering that prior
to the enactment of the FLSA, as noted in Maloy v.
Friedman, 80 F.Supp. 290 (N.D. Ohio 1948), “[t]he
Supreme Court of the United States [had] twice held in
construing the word ‘maintained’ in a Federal statute that
‘to maintain a suit is to uphold, continue on foot and keep
from collapse a suit already begun.” 80 F.Supp. at 292,
citing Smallwood v. Gallardo, 275 U.S. 56 (1927) and
George Moore Ice Cream Co. v. Rose, 289 U.S. 373

(1933).

In summary, certiorari is necessitated by, One, the
divergence of the two lines of appellate authority,
Valdivieso/ Breuer/Cosme-Nieves on the one hand, and
Johnson on the other, concerning whether actions
brought pursuant to the FLSA are removable; Two, the
repeated and on-going controversy in the lower courts
which has eluded appellate review in all but three circuits
for more than 50 years; and, Three, the failure by any of

'3(__ continued)
companion, H.R. 7200, contained the concurrent-jurisdiction provision at
§ 26.

15

the numerous courts addressing the issue to consider the
legislative history.

II.

The United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit has decided an important
question of federal law concerning an exemption
to the Fair Labor Standards Act, one which
should be, but has not been, decided by this
Court, i.e.: does the "air-carrier" exemption
remove maximum-hour protection from all air-
carrier employees, regardless of whether any
federal agency polices their overtime.

The Court should grant the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari to clarify whether Congress intended, in
enacting the air-carrier exemption to the FLSA, to create
an air-carrier workplace free of any federal overtime
regulation for the more than two-thirds of the industry's
employees who are neither pilots, co-pilots nor flight
engineers. This impacts more than 250,000 air-carrier
employees.“

The legislative history shows clearly that Congress
did not so intend. Such a totally unregulated air-carrier

"The Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics identifies
in its 2000 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates the
following numbers of persons as having been employed in the following
Standard Occupational Classifications: Aircraft Mechanics and Service
Technicians, SOC 49-3011, 135,730; Flight Attendants, SOC 39-6031,
126,380; Avionics Technicians, SOC 49-2091, 15,360; Aircraft Cargo
Handling Supervisors, SOC 53-1011, 9,960. By contrast, the BLS identified
94,820 persons as Airline Pilots, Co-Pilots and Flight Engineers, SOC 53-
2011, and 18,040 as Commercial Pilots, SOC 53-2012.

16

workplace, however, is precisely what the Eleventh
Circuit's holding sanctions.

While several circuits, as well as some district
courts, have addressed the air-carrier exemption in terms
of non-pilot employees,’> none have reviewed its
legislative history. That legislative history displays an
intent not to have an air-carrier industry that was
unregulated, but merely one that was not over-regulated.
The air-carrier exemption was amended onto the Act on
the Senate floor merely to ensure that the maximum
hours of air-carrier employees, just like those of over-the-
road truck drivers, not be regulated by two different
agencies.’° See Remarks of Sen. Black, 81 CONG. REC.

'SSee, e.g., Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Jackson, 185 F.2d 74, 77
(8th Cir. 1950) (employees involved in the modification of military aircraft
were not exempted because they were not "engaged in the defendant's
transportation activities"); Roland v. United Airlines, Inc., 75 F.Supp. 25
(N.D. Ill. 1947) (modification-center case in which court adopted the logic
of United States v. American Trucking Association, Inc., 310 U.S. 534
(1940), which rejected a literal interpretation of § 204(a) of the Motor
Carrier Act to deny overtime to all trucking-company employees); Verrett
v. The Sabre Group, Inc., 70 F.Supp.2d 1277 (N.D. Okla. 1999) (applying
exemption to computer-reservation employees); cf. Pan American World
Airways, Inc. v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America,
324 F.2d 217 (9th Cir. 1963) (caricaturing a hypothetical shoe factory
owned by an airline to illustrate that the Railway Labor Act, upon which the
air-carrier exemption is based, is not so all-inclusive as to deny employees
at nuclear research development facility the right to organize under the
National Labor Relations Act).

"Section 13 of the Air Mail Act of 1934 required "the rate of
compensation and the working conditions and relations for all pilots,
mechanics, and laborers employed by the holder of [any air-mail] contract
shall conform to decisions of the National Labor Board...." Section
401(k)(1) of the Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938, meanwhile, required
"[e]very air carrier [to] maintain rates of compensation, maximum hours,

(continued...)

17

7875 (1937). Thus, § 13(a)(4) of the Fair Labor Standards
Act of 1938, Conf. REP., §§ 13(a)(4), 83 CONG. REC. 9249,
provided that the maximum-hour provisions of the Act
would not apply to "any employee of a carrier by air
subject to the provisions of title II of the Railway Labor
Act."” Similarly exempted were seamen, § 13(a)(3), and
a large number of railroad and motor-carrier employees."®
See § 13(b); see also 29 C.F.R. 783.29(a) ("Adoption of
the exemption in the original 1938 Act").’? As Sen. Black

'6(_. continued)

and other working conditions and relations of all of its pilots and co-pilots
who are engaged in interstate air transportation...so as to conform with
decision numbered 83 of the national labor Board on May 10, 1934...,”
Those »rovisions continue in effect today, including the limitation to pilots
and co- »ilots of the Federal Aviation Administration's jurisdiction to control
maximum hours and compensation. See 49 U.S.C. § 42112(a)-(c). Indeed,
the only federal regulation of maximum hours in the airline industry appear
to be directed at pilots, co-pilots, navigators and flight engineers. See 14
C.F.R., Ch. I, Subch. G., Part 121, Subpart R.

"That exemption currently is codified at 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(3).

"These exemptions currently are codified at 29 U.S.C. §§
213(b)(6), (1) and (2), respectively.

'°The Department of Labor's explanation of the exemptions is as
follows:

[T]he original bill considered by the congressional committees
contained no exemption for seamen or other transportation
workers. At the joint hearings before the Senate and House
Committees on Labor, representatives of the principa! labor
organizations representing seamen and other transportation
workers testified orally and by writing that the peculiar needs of
their industry and the fact that they were already under special
governmental regulation made it unwise to bring them within the
scope of the proposed legislation (see Joint Hearings before
Senate Committee on Education and Labor and House Committee

(continued...)

18

explained concerning the amendment to exempt over-the-
road truck drivers and air-carrier employees:

[I]t was the policy of the committee, in cases where
regulation of hours and wages are given to other
governmental agencies, to write the bill in such a
way as not to conflict with such regulation. That
action was taken with reference to maritime
workers. It was taken with reference to railroad
workers insofar as they were governed by the
Hours of Service Act.... So far as the pending
amendment is concerned, and so far as the
amendment to be submitted by the Senator from
New York [Mr. Copeland] with reference to certain
employees in the aviation service who are now
under the Railroad Labor Act, it is my own belief
that both of the amendments should be adopted.

81 CONG. REC. 7875 (1937).7°

In the context of such legislative history, the "plain
language" analysis used by the circuit court fails: courts

'9(_. continued) :

on Labor on S. 2475 and H.R. 7200, 75th Cong., Ist sess., pp. 545,
546, 547, 549, 1216, 1217). The committees evidently acquiesced
in this view and amendments were accepted (81 CONG. REC. 7875)
and subsequently adopted in the law, exempting employees
employed as seamen (sec. 13(a)(3)), certain employees of motor
carriers (sec. 13(b)(1)), railroad employees (sec. 13(b)(2)), and
employees of carriers by air (sec. 13(a)(4), now sec. 13(b)(3)).

20 When the bill went to the House, the Committee on Labor
moved the exclusion of these workers into the exemption portion of the bill
rather than leave them in the definition section, lest excluding any workers
from the definition of “employees” could complicate enforcement of the
bill's child-labor provisions. H.R., Rep. No. 2182, at 13 (1938).

19

must look at what the words used meant when Congress
originally used them, not what they might mean now.
See, e.g. St. Francis College v. Al-Khazraji, 481 US 604,
613 (1987) (tracing meaning of the word "race" and using
the contemporary, 19th Century understanding of that
word to examine the legislative history of the Civil Rights
Act of 1870, 42 U.S.C. § 1981); United States v. American
Trucking Association, Inc., 310 U.S. 534, 541-544 (1940)
(rejecting literal interpretation of exemption for trucking-
company employees and stating that courts reviewing
such legislation cannot look at words as stand-alone
strays, but rather must comprehend the context in which
the legislature used them).

Under the court of appeal's interpretation of the
air-carrier exemption, Atlas Air's load-master and ramp-
supervisor employees are not protected concerning
maximum hours by any federal agency, regulation or law.
That is at odds both with Congress’ intent and with this
Court's teachings about the expansive, remedial purpose
of the FLSA. See, e.g. A. H. Phillips, Inc. v. Walling, 324
U.S. 490, 493 (1945) ("Any exemption from such
humanitarian and remedial legislation must therefore be
narrowly construed, giving due regard to the plain
meaning of statutory language and the intent of
Congress.") Certiorari is necessary to correctly decide this
important question of federal law.

CONCLUSION

Based on the authorities cited and the argument
presented, petitioners request the Court to grant the
petition for a writ of certiorari as to each question
presented.

20

Additionally, because the Department of Labor
does not appear to have taken a position on either of the
issues raised in this petition, petitioners request the Court
to invite the Solicitor General to explain the view of the
United States.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM R. AMLONG
Counsel of Record

AMLONG & AMLONG, P.A.
Attorneys for Petitioner

500 Northeast Fourth Street

Second Floor

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33301

(954) 462-1983

APPENDIX

wes)

hat at
, ¥

RFS:

1a

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT, DATED SEPTEMBER 20,
2002

United States Court of Appeals
Eleventh Circuit

No. 02-11185

BRANDON VALDIVIESO, DAVID KICKZALES, on
behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v.
ATLAS AIR, INC.,
Defendant-Appellee.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida. D. C. Docket No. 00-07426-
CV-AJ. Ted E. Bandstra, Judge.

Before BARKETT, WILSON and KRAVITCH, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Plaintiffs-appellants Brandon Valdivieso and David
Kickzales ("Appellants"), former employees of defendant-
appellee Atlas Air, Inc. ("Atlas Air"), brought an action on
behalf of themselves and all other similarly situated
loadmasters employed by Atlas Air alleging they were

2a

denied the premium overtime compensation required by
the Fair Labor Standards Act ("FLSA"), 29 U.S.C. § 201,
et seq.’ The magistrate judge granted Atlas Air's motion
for summary judgment on the ground that the air carrier
exemption to the FLSA, 29 U.S.C. § 213{b)(3), does not
require Atlas Air to pay Appellants overtime

compensation.’ Appellants appeal.
I. STANDARD OF REVIEW

"Because the question is purely one of law, this
court reviews de novo the district court's denial of a
motion to remand.” Lockard v. Equifax, Inc., 163 F.3d
1259, 1269 (11th Cir. 1998). "We review a summary
judgment ruling de novo, applying the same legal
standards used by the district court." Johnson v. Bd. of
Regents of Univ. of Ga., 263 F.3d 1234, 1242 (11th Cir.
2001). In reviewing a motion for summary judgment, this
court views the materials presented and all factual
inferences in the light most favorable to the non-moving
party. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 157, 26
L. Ed. 2d 142, 90 S. Ct. 1598 (1970). The non-rmoving
party, however, "may not rest on mere allegations or
denials of the adverse party's pleading" when a motion for
summary judgment is made and supported by affidavits
or the other methods provided in Rule 56; "specific facts
showing there is a genuine issue for trial" must be
supported "by affidavits or as otherwise provided in this

'The Appellants initially filed suit in a Florida circuit court and
Atlas Air removed the case to federal court. The district court denied the
Appellants’ motion to remand to state court. See Valdivieso v. Atlas Air,
Inc., 128 F. Supp. 2d 1371 (S.D. Fla. 2001).

*The parties consented to the jurisdiction of the magistrate judge
for all proceedings in the case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(c).

3a

rule" and provided by the non-moving party to avoid
summary judgment. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e).

I. BACKGROUND

Atlas Air is a commercial air carrier that owns,
operates, and maintains a fleet of freighter aircraft that it
uses to transport cargo. Specializing in long-term
outsourcing of its aircraft under "Aircraft, Crew,
Maintenance, and Insurance" ("ACMI") contracts, Atlas
Air provides ACMI for flights it operates on behalf of its
customers. The customers bear all other operating
expenses, including fuel, landing fees, and cargo and
ground handling. Atlas Air provides its services primarily
to other major international airlines and does so
indiscriminately.’ Atlas Air solicits other entities that may

*Atlas Air first filed an affidavit from Edmond Archer, director of
Atlas Air's Miami facility, in support of its motion for summary judgment.
In its reply brief, Atlas Air submitted an affidavit from Bruce Gillette, Atlas
Air's vice president of products and services. On appeal, the Appellants
claim that the magistrate judge erred by relying on the Gillette affidavit,
which they assert is inconsistent with the Archer affidavit. Because the
affidavits are not inconsistent, we reject this argument.

Atlas Air could have made this process less complex by presenting
both affidavits with its initial motion for summary judgment instead of
presenting the Gillette affidavit with its reply brief. The Appellants made a
motion before the magistrate judge to strike the Gillette affidavit on the
grounds that submitting it with a reply brief violated Local Rule 7.5 of the
Southern District of Florida. The magistrate judge did not rule on this before
issuing his order granting summary judgment and noted in his order that the
facts were taken from the class action complaint and the Archer affidavit.
However, in his conclusions of law, the magistrate judge relied on facts from
the Gillette affidavit; for example, he states that Atlas Air “regularly accepts
work from businesses that are not commercial airlines." The motion to strike
the Gillette affidavit was denied by the magistrate judge's order closing the
case. Appellants did not appeal this denial, and have not raised the alleged

(continued...)

4a

need cargo transportation and accepts work from
businesses that are not commercial airlines; there is no
allegation that any member of the public that agrees to
Atlas Air's terms and prices will not be served, subject to
available resources. Customers contract with Atlas Air for
dedicated aircraft(s); in the case of airlines, this allows
them to expand their ability to meet cargo transportation
responsibilities without investing in additional equipment
and personnel.

The customers of Atlas Air are responsible for the
ground transportation of the cargo shipped by Atlas Air,
and they provide the agents who load and unload the
cargo. Atlas Air oversees the cargo loading process to
ensure that all cargo is secured within the aircraft for safe
flight. Loadmasters-trained professionals who specialize
in air cargo transportation - ensure that each cargo load
complies with the size and weight parameters for the

3(...continued)
Local Rule 7.5 violation on appeal; therefore, we do not consider it.

In his affidavit, Archer states that "Atlas Air's customers are other
major international airlines that focus principally on their passenger
operations" and that "each Atlas flight is dedicated to transporting cargo for
a single customer." The Gillette affidavit is clearly meant to be
supplementary to the Archer affidavit. Gillette sought to clarify that "most
of our work is performed for other commercial airlines because our services
hold the greatest appeal for that segment of the public. However, we provide
our services indiscriminately within that group, and we are available to
transport cargo for entities that are not commercial airlines." He further
stated that Atlas Air does not limit the customers for whom Atlas Air is
willing to work, subject to the obvious constraints of available resources and
the customer's agreement to Atlas Air's terms and prices. We note that in
neither their motion to strike the Gillette affidavit nor their appellate brief
do the Appellants contend, let alone provide support for the claim, that Atlas
Air is not willing to provides its services to anyone willing to accept its
business terms.

i
bs
y ,
é
|
4
e
‘
’
z
:
t
i

5a

aircraft, that the distribution of the load's weight meets
balance requirements, that any hazardous materials are
transported in compliance with regulations, and that the
load is properly secure. The essential services provided are
the same whether the loadmaster travels with the cargo or
is stationed on the ground at a particular airport.

Plaintiff Brandon Valdivieso performed loadmaster
services for Atlas Air from March 1999 until April 2000.4
At times he was responsible for and traveled with
individual flights; at other times he provided loadmaster
services exclusively on the ground in Miami, Florida.
Plaintiff David Kickzales provided loadmaster services to
Atlas Air from August 1998 to May 2000, andhe generally
traveled with the loads for which he was responsible.
Neither plaintiff performed any services for Atlas Air that
were not directly related to its air transportation activities.

III. DISCUSSION

Before us are two claims: that the district court
erred by denying Appellants' motion to remand to state
court, and that the magistrate judge erred by granting
Atlas Air's motion for summary judgment as to the
Appellant's FLSA overtime claim. Each will be considered
in turn.

A. Motion to Remand

The Appellants claim that the district court's denial
of their motion to remand to state court was error.
According to the Appellants, claims brought under the

“For purposes of the motion for summary judgment alone, Atlas Air
conceded that Appellants are "employees" of Atlas Air and reserved the
right to challenge this classification at a later stage if necessary.

6a

FLSA in state court may not be removed to federal court.
Any civil action brought in state court, in which
jurisdiction would be proper in federal court, may be
removed "except as otherwise expressly provided by Act
of Congress.” 28 U.S.C. § 1441. At the time Appellants
filed their brief, whether or not § 216 of the FLSA
provides an express prohibition on removal was an open
question. Since the time the brief was filed, however, a
panel of this court held that § 216 was not an express
statutory prohibition against removal. See Breuer v. Jim's
Concrete of Brevard, Inc., 292 F.3d 1308, 1309 (11th Cir.
2002). Therefore, the district court did not err by denying
the motion to remand.

B. Air Carrier Exemption to the FLSA

The FLSA generally requires employers to pay
premium overtime provisions to employees who work in
excess of 40 hours per week. 29 U.S.C. § 207. There are
specific exceptions, however, to the overtime
requirements, including an exemption for "any employee
of a carrier by air subject to the provisions of title II of the
Railway Labor Act." Id. § 213(b)(3). Those subject to the
RLA include "every common carrier by air engaged in
interstate or foreign commerce ..." 45 U.S.C. § 181.

The Supreme Court has ruled that "one who
undertakes for hire to transport from place to place the
property of others who may choose to employ him is a
common carrier." Washington ex rel. Stimson Lumber
Co. v. Kuykendall, 275 U.S. 207, 211, 72 L. Ed. 241, 48 S.
Ct. 41 (1927). "The dominant factor in fixing common
carrier status at common law is the presence of a ‘holding
out' to transport the property or person of any member of
the public who might choose to employ the proffered

TR RE Rt oo ep ROR OK ole ENN Sa aa ok ee meee Ey NRE ONE LOA ep OEE PONT re ae

WR AT EE E NT TAGE RR Ig BE Ce Pea i ph

7a

service." Las Vegas Hacienda, Inc. v. Civil Aeronautics
Board, 298 F.2d 430, 434 (oth Cir. 1962).

The plaintiffs argue that Atlas Air is merely an out-
source lessor of aircraft and flight crews to airlines; the
airlines that Atlas Air services are common carriers, but
Atlas Air itself is not. Appellants’ argument seems to
assume that because the public at large does not utilize
the services of Atlas Air, the company thereby loses
common carrier status. This is an inaccurate view of the
law. The Supreme Court has stated that "no carrier serves
all the public. His customers are limited by place,
requirements, ability to pay and other facts." Terminal
Taxi Cab Co. v. Kutz, 241 U.S. 252, 254, 60 L. Ed. 984, 36
S. Ct. 583 (1916); see also Las Vegas Hacienda, 298 F.2d
at 434 ("So long as the air carrier is competing
commercially in the market for the patronage of the
general public ... it is immaterial that the service offered
will be attractive only to a limited group[.]"). Status as a
common carrier is contingent on the carrier holding itself
out to the public and offering its services indiscriminately
to those interested in its services. See Woolsey v. Nat'l
Transp. Bd., 993 F.2d 516, 523 (5th Cir. 1993) (stating
that "the crucial determination in assessing the status of
a carrier is whether the carrier has held itself out to the
public or a definable segment of the public as being
willing to transport for hire, indiscriminately" (emphasis
in original)). Because Atlas Air offers its services
indiscriminately to anyone willing to accept its terms and
prices, we hold that it is a common carrier. We also note
that Atlas Air is licensed by the U.S. Department of
Transportation as a common carrier; furthermore, other
courts have considered Atlas Air a common carrier under
the RLA. See Atlas Air, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Ass'n, 344
U.S. App. D.C. 1, 232 F.3d 218 (D.C. Cir. 2000); Beckett
v. Atlas Air, Inc., 968 F. Supp. 814 (E.D.N.Y. 1997).

8a

The Appellants also claim that the air carrier exemption
should not apply to their positions with Atlas Air because
such a reading of the statute would leave these positions
with no maximum hour protection under federal law.
Based on the legislative history, the Appellants claim that
the congressional intent of the exemption was to prevent
the Department of Labor and the Civil Aeronautics Board
from having overlapping jurisdiction. Courts cannot,
however, consider legislative history when the statutory
language is unambiguous. See Conn. Nat. Bank uv.
Germain, 503 U.S. 249, 253-254, 117 L. Ed. 2d 391, 112 S.
Ct. 1146 (1992) (Stating that the "cardinal canon" of
statutory interpretation is that courts "must presume that
a legislature says in a statute what it means and means in
a statute what it says there. ... When the words of a statute
are unambiguous, then, this first canon is also.the last:
‘judicial inquiry is complete.” (citation omitted)). Here,
the statutory language is certainly unambiguous. The RLA
states that its provisions are extended to "every common
carrier by air ... and every pilot or other person who
performs any work as an employee or subordinate official
of such carrier ...." 45 U.S.C. § 181. Appellants do not
dispute that their positions as loadmasters are integral to
the transportation of cargo; therefore, these positions are
included in the air carrier exemption to the FLSA. See
Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Jackson, 185 F.2d 74, 75 (8th
Cir. 1950).

IV. CONCLUSION

We AFFIRM the district court's denial of
Appellant's motion to remand and the decision of the
magistrate judge to grant Atlas Air's motion for summary
judgment on the Appellant's FLSA overtime claim.

AFFIRMED.

9a

APPENDIX B — ORDER DENYING MOTION TO
REMAND, UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA,
DATED JANUARY 18, 2001

United States District Court for the Southern District of
Florida, Miami Division
No. 00-7426-Civ-Jordan

BRANDON VALDIVIESO and DAVID KICKZALES, on
behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,
v.
ATLAS AIR, INC.,
Defendant
Adalberto Jordan, United States District J udge.
ORDER DENYING MOTION TO REMAND

Brandon Valdivieso and David Kickzales filed this
case in Florida circuit court alleging violations of the Fair
Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq. Atlas Air, Inc.
timely removed the case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441,
alleging that federal jurisdiction is proper under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1331. The plaintiffs have moved to remand the case to
state court, arguing that the FLSA forbids the removal of
cases to federal court. For the following reasons, the
motion to remand [D.E. 8] is DENIED.

10a

The plaintiffs argue that the language of the FLSA
prohibits defendants from removing cases filed in state
court. The FLSA provides that an action brought to
enforce its provisions "may be maintained against any
employer ... in any Federal or State court of competent
jurisdiction." 29 U.S.C. § 216(b). The plaintiffs place great
importance on the use of the word "maintained," and
argue that because the statute uses the word
"maintained," as opposed to "brought," FLSA suits filed in
state court are not removable. Atlas argues that the FLSA,
when read in conjunction with 28 U.S.C. § 1441, does not
prohibit removal. In relevant part, § 1441 states that any
civil action brought in state court, over which jurisdiction
would be proper in federal court, can be removed "except
as otherwise expressly provided by Act of Congress.” Atlas
contends that the FLSA is not an express prohibition
within the meaning of § 1441.

The authority on this point is currently divided,
and of the only two circuit courts to squarely consider the
question, one prohibited removal and one allowed it.
Compare Johnson v. Butler Bros., 162 F.2d 87, 88-90
(8th Cir. 1947) (prohibiting removal) with Cosme Nieves
v. Deshler, 786 F.2d 445, 450-51 (1st Cir. 1986) (allowing
removal). See also Emrich v. Touche-Ross & Co., 846 F.2d
1190, 1196 (9th Cir. 1988) (discussing removability
generally, and stating that the FLSA is an example of a
statute that allows cases to be brought in any court of
competent jurisdiction and "contain[s] no limitation on
removal, express or otherwise, to bar removal as required
under § 1441(a)"); Baldwin v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 667
F.2d 458, 460-61(5th Cir. 1982) (holding that ADEA
actions, which are enforced under the FLSA, are
removable, but recognizing the split of authority on the
removability of FLSA actions and reserving ruling on that
question). In Johnson, which was decided over fifty years

11a

ago, the Eighth Circuit held that Congress’ use of the
phrase "may be maintained in any court of competent
jurisdiction" in § 216(b) indicated an intent to allow
plaintiffs asserting FLSA claims to prosecute them to final
judgment in whichever court they chose. 162 F.2d at 89.
The Johnson panel concluded that cases under the FLSA
were excepted from the effect of § 1441, which, at that
time, did not contain the requirement that such statutory
exception be express. Id. at 89-90. On the other hand, the
First Circuit, in the only appellate opinion to address this
issue after the 1948 amendment to § 1441, decided that
cases brought under the FLSA in state court were
removable to federal court. See Cosme Nieves, 786 F.2d at
451. The First Circuit reasoned that the FLSA "lacked an
explicit statutory directive" which would prohibit removal,
and that the phrase “may be maintained" was
“ambiguous; at best [it is] suggestive." Id.

Unlike the circuit courts, district courts have not
been so evenly split on whether to permit removal of
FLSA cases that originate in state court. Some district
courts have followed Johnson, holding that Congress’ use
of the word "maintained" is an express exception to the
removal statute. See, e.g., Lopez uv. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.,
111 F. Supp. 2d 865, 867 (S.D. Tex. 2000); Esquivel v. St.
Andrews Constr., 999 F. Supp. 863, 865 (N.D. Tex.
1998); LeMay v. Budget Rent A Car Sys., Inc., 993 F.
Supp. 1448, 1451 (M.D. Fla. 1997); Pauly v. Eagle Point
Software Co., 958 F. Supp. 437, 438-39 (N.D. Iowa 1997);
Courtwright v. Board of Regents, 1991 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
17238, No. 91-0846- CV-W-3, 1991 WL 255594, at *1
(W.D. Mo. Nov. 22, 1991); Wilkins v. Renault Southwest,
Inc., 227 F. Supp. 647, 647 (N.D. Tex. 1964). Several of
these courts have also based their holding on legislative
history, citing to a 1958 Senate Report which they
characterize as evidence of the congressional intent that

12a

FLSA actions not be removed. See Esquivel, 999 F. Supp.
at 865; Wilkins, 227 F. Supp. at 648. That Senate Report
states:

Congress itself has recognized the inadvisability of
permitting removal of cases arising under its own
laws which are similar to the workmen's
compensation acts of the states. In the Jones Act,
the Fair Labor Standards Act, and the Railway
Employers’ Liability Act, all of which are in the
nature of workmen's compensation cases, the
Congress has given the workman the option of
filing his case in either the state court or the
federal court. If filed in the state courts the law
prohibits removal to the Federal court.

S. Rep. No. 85-1830 (1958), reprinted in 1958
U.S.C.C.A.N. 3099, 3106. The courts relying on this
excerpt have concluded that the report is clear evidence of
congressional intent on the nonremovability of FLSA
claims after the amendment of § 1441. See Esquivel, 999
F. Supp. at 865 ("The report is a direct statement that
Congress clearly believed — even after it had amended §
1441 in 1948 — that 'the law prohibits removal (of FLSA
actions) to the Federal court.""); Wilkins, 227 F. Supp. at
648 ("The Senate report leaves no room for doubt that the
Congress, which creates and delineates the jurisdiction of
federal district courts, thought that the Johnson case
correctly stated the law.").

The developing majority view, however, is that
FLSA actions are removable. See, e.g., Bingham uv.
Newport News Shipbuilding & Drydock Co., 3 F. Supp.
2d 691, 692-94 (E.D. Va. 1998); Chapman v. 8th Judicial
Juvenile Probation Bd., 22 F. Supp. 2d 583, 584-86 (E.D.
Tex. 1998); H&R Block, Ltd. v. Housden, 24 F. Supp. 2d

13a

703, 705 (E.D. Tex. 1998); Troutt v. Stavola Bros., Inc.,
1994 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 19819, No. 4:94 CV00417, 1994 WL
773148, at *1-2 (M.D.N.C. Dec. 27, 1994); Winebarger v.
Logan Aluminum, Inc., 839 F. Supp. 17, 18 (W.D. Ky.
1993); Loutfy v. R.R. Donnelley & Sons Co., 1992 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 6142, No. 92 C 01660, 1992 WL 97761, at *2
(N.D. Ill. May 4, 1992); Nesbitt v. Bun Basket, Inc., 780 F.
Supp. 1151, 1152 (W.D. Mich. 1991); Waldermeyer v. ITT
Consumer Fin. Corp., 767 F. Supp. 989, 990 (E.D. Mo.
1991). These district courts have found that the FLSA's
“may be maintained" language is not sufficiently explicit
in light of Congress' amendment to § 1441. These courts
have concluded, like Cosme Nieves, that the phrase "may
be maintained" is ambiguous at best, and is consequently
the very opposite of an express directive, as § 1441 now
requires. See, e.g., Bingham, 3 F. Supp. 2d at 693 (noting
that Congress failed to clearly and accurately express its
intent that FLSA claims were nonremovable) (citations
omitted); Winebarger, 839 F. Supp. at 18 (allowing
removal, and noting that "plaintiff's interpretation asks
too much of the word maintain"). A close consideration of
these issues compels me to agree with this conclusion.

The words "may be maintained" are not, in
common or legal parlance, an express exemption from the
general scope of the removal statute. I agree with the First
Circuit that "the words ‘expressly provided' [in § 1441]
must be construed to mean exactly that." Cosme Nieves,
786 F.2d at 451 (citing Pueblo Int'l, Inc. v. DeCardona,
725 F.2d 823, 827 (ist Cir. 1984)). For instance, Congress
has "expressly provided" in 28 U.S.C. § 1445, captioned
"Nonremovable cases," that cases arising under the
Federal Employers' Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. § § 51-60, may
not be removed to federal court. Additionally, Congress
has proven itself capable of imposing limits, rather than
absolute bars, on removal. See 28 U.S.C. § 1445(b)

14a

(providing that cases arising under 49 U.S.C. § 11707
cannot be removed unless the amount in controversy
exceeds $ 10,000).

Although the 1958 Senate Report appears
instructive at first blush, I do not find the reasoning of
those courts relying on it persuasive for a number of
reasons. As an initial matter, the context of the Senate
hearing was the amount in controversy for federal
diversity jurisdiction, not a discussion of either the FLSA
or § 1441. Moreover, Congress did not include the FLSA in
28 U.S.C. § 1445(c), which provides that actions brought
under state workmen's compensation laws are not
removable. Additionally, I agree with the observation of
the district court in Chapman that "the act of referring to
tangential legislative history merely underscores the fact
that the statute at issue is not explicit on its face." 22 F.
Supp. 2d at 586. And, as the Supreme Court has reminded
us recently, the best evidence of a statute's meaning is the
text itself. See Geier v. American Honda Motor Co., 529
U.S. 861, 120 S. Ct. 1913, 1932, 146 L. Ed. 2d 914 (2000)
(quoting CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood, 507 U.S. 658,
664, 123 L. Ed. 2d 387, 113 S. Ct. 1732 (1993)).

The Eleventh Circuit has not yet weighed in on this
debate. The plaintiffs, however, argue that the Eleventh
Circuit has implicitly adopted the view that FLSA claims
are not removable in its discussion of the removability of
claims under the Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 U.S.C. §
1681. See Lockard v. Equifax, Inc., 163 F.3d 1259 (11th Cir.
1998). Lockard holds that FCRA actions are removable,
and that the statute does no more than give state courts
concurrent jurisdiction. Jd. at 1264-65. In reaching that
decision, Lockard discussed the split of authority
surrounding removal in FLSA actions. See id. The

15a

plaintiffs place particular emphasis on the Eleventh
Circuit's observation that

it is arguable that allowing a plaintiff to ‘maintain’
an FLSA suit in state court is logically inconsistent
with allowing the defendant to remove the action
to federal court, and that when Congress chose the
word 'maintain,' it intended to create an exception
to the removal statute. ... The FLSA wording is
arguable.

Id. at 1264. Several points convince me that I need not
grant the motion to remand based on this excerpt from
Lockard. First, the Eleventh Circuit's discussion is dicta,
and no firm conclusion, much less a holding, was reached
about the removal of FLSA actions. See McDonald 's Corp.
vu. Robertson, 147 F.3d 1301, 1315 (11th Cir. 1998) (Carnes,
J., concurring) (offering several rationales for the rule
that "dicta in our opinions is not binding on anyone for
any purpose"). Second, § 1441 requires an express
provision to prohibit removal. The fact that the meaning
of a statute is arguable is enough to cast aspersion on the
contention that it is express. If the FLSA's phrasing were
truly an express prohibition, there would likely be no split
of authority, and the Eleventh Circuit could have pointed
out that the language was clear. Third, I read Lockard's
observation that the FLSA's language is arguably a
prohibition on removal as intended merely to highlight
the fact that the FCRA's text is not even arguable.

The plaintiffs also argue that two policy
considerations support the nonremovability of FLSA
clairas. First, the plaintiffs argue that workers attempting
to enforce wage and hour laws are better equipped to
bring such claims in state court. Second, the plaintiffs
argue that remanding such cases "unclogs" the federal

16a

courts. Although both of these matters may implicate
important policy considerations, they are reserved to
Congress for resolution, and the language of § 216(b)
simply cannot be stretched to meet the requirement in §
1441 that any exceptions to the general right of removal
must be express. I simply do not believe that Congress is
unable to be more express than the word "maintained,"
and I cannot disregard my interpretation of the statutory
language in favor of policy considerations, regardless of
how important or compelling the plaintiffs believe them
to be. See Cosme Nieves, 786 F.2d at 451 (finding that the
"express" requirement in § 1441 trumps the policy
arguments both for and against removal)

In sum, I conclude that § 1441 and the FLSA, read
together, permit the removal of FLSA actions. Although §
216(b) is certainly not a model of clarity, the rampant
disagreement and ambiguity regarding its text make a
convincing case that the FLSA was not intended to be an
express exception to § 1441. Accordingly, the motion to
remand [D.E. 8] is DENIED.

DONE and ORDERED in chambers in Miami,
Florida, this 18th day of January, 2001.

17a

APPENDIX C — ORDER GRANTING
DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY
JUDGMENT, UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHER DISTRICT OF FLORIDA,
DATED DECEMBER 18, 2001

United States District Court
Southern District of Florida

No. 00-7426-Civ-Jordan/Bandstra

BRANDO VALDIVIESO and DAVID KICKZALES, on
behalf of themselves and all other similarly situated,

Plaintiff,
v.
ATLAS AIR, INC.,

Defendant.

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT’S MOTION
FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

THIS CAUSE is before the Court on Defendant
Atlas Air, Inc.’s Motion for Summary Judgment (D.E. 38)
filed on June 5, 2001. On June 18, 2001, the parties
consented to the jurisdiction of the undersigned United
States Magistrate Judge for all proceedings in this case
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §636(c). Accordingly, the
undersigned conducted a hearing on this motion on
October 9, 2001. Having reviewed the pleadings, and in
consideration of applicable law and oral argument of the
parties, the Court hereby GRANTS Defendant’s Motion

18a

for Summary Judgment and dismisses this action for
reasons stated below.

INTRODUCTION

This is an action for unpaid overtime compensation
brought pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938,
as amended [29 U.S.C. §201, et seqg.] (hereinafter, the
FLSA or the “Act”). Count I is brought by plaintiffs,
Brandon Valdivieso and David Kickzales, pursuant to
§16(b) of the Act, on behalf of themselves and all others
similarly situated in-flight loadmasters employed by
defendant Atlas Air, Inc. (“Atlas” or “Atlas Air”), who were
not paid overtime to which they were entitled between
1997 and 2000. Count II is brought by Valdivieso on
behalf of himself and all other ramp supervisors at Atlas
who were also denied overtime to which they were
entitled for hours worked over 40 hours per week.

Defendant Atlas Air has moved for summary
judgment on both claims on the ground that the FLSA
does not require Atlas Air to pay overtime compensation
to plaintiff because of the “air carrier exemption” to the
Act. Specifically, Atlas argues that under this exemption
employees’ such as plaintiffs who perform services related
to the transportation activities of a common carrier such
as Atlas Air are not entitled to overtime compensation.

Plaintiffs oppose summary judgment arguing, first,
that Atlas Air is not a “common carrier” as envisioned by
the FLSA; and, second, that they, as ramp supervisors and
loadmasters, are not among the narrow class of employees

‘Atlas Air concedes, for purposes of this motion only, that plaintiffs
are “employees” of Atlas Air, while reserving the right to challenge the
classification, if necessary, at a later stage of this case.

19a

to which the “air carrier excemption [sic]” was directed to
apply.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

The court in reviewing a motion for summary
judgment is guided by the standards set forth in Rule
56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure which
provides as follow

- The judgment sought shall be rendered
forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on file, together
with the affidavits, if any show that there is no
genuine issue as to any material fact and that the
moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter
of law....

The moving party bears the burden of meeting this
exacting standard. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S.

144, 157, 90 S.Ct. 1598, 1608 (1970). Further, in
addressing whether the moving party has satisfied this
burden, the court is required to view the evidence and all
factual inferences arising therefrom in the light most
favorable to the non-moving party. Clemons v. Doughtery
County, FA., 684 F.2d 1365, 1368 (11th Cir. 1982), citing,
Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. at 157, 90 S.Ct. at
1608; Augusta Iron & Steel Works v. Employers
Insurance of Wausau, 835 F.2d 855, 856 (11th Cir. 1988).
If the record presents issues of material fact, the court
must deny the motion. Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398
U.S. at 157, 90 S.Ct. at 1608. The non-moving party,
however, cannot rest upon mere allegations, but must
rebut any facts properly presented by the moving party
through affidavits or other evidence demonstrating the
existence of a genuine and material issue of fact for trial.

20a

Id. at 398 U.S. 155, 90 S.Ct. at 1607. Moreover, summary
judgment is mandated if the non-moving party fails to
make a showing sufficient to establish the existence of an
element essential to that party’s case and on which that
party will bear the burden of proof at trial. Celotex Corp.
v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552-53
(1986).

UNDISPUTED FACTS’

Atlas Air is a commercial air carrier that owns,
operates and maintains a fleet of Boeing 747 freighter
aircraft that it uses to transport cargo to over 100 cities
worldwide. Atlas Air specializes in long-term outsourcing
of its aircraft under contracts known in the industry as
“ACMI” contracts. “ACM I” is an abbreviation for
“Aircraft, Crew, Maintenance and Insurance.” Atlas Air
provides the ACMI for flights it operates on behalf of its
customers, while its customers bear all other operating
expenses, including fuel, landing fees, and cargo and
ground handling expenses.

Atlas Air provides its outsourcing services to other
major international airlines to facilitate their cargo needs.
Each customer airline contracts with Atlas Air for one or
more dedicated aircraft, allowing those airlines to expand
their ability to meet their cargo transportation
responsibilities without investing in additional equipment
and personnel. Atlas Air is not a freight forwarder, which

? This statement of undisputed facts is taken from the Class Action
Complaint, and from the Affidavit of Edmond D. Archer, Director of Atlas
Air’s facilities at the Miami International Airport. Plaintiffs do not contest
this statement of facts for purposes of this motion — and defendant Atlas
Air accepts the allegations of the complaint stated above with the exception
noted in footnote 1 above.

21a

is a shipping company that collects shipments of goods for
multiple customers, consolidates them, and then reships
them in bulk.

Atlas Air operates its own aircraft. Atlas Air’s
customers are responsible for all ground transportation of
the cargo shipped by Atlas Air, and they provide the
handling agents who perform the physical work of loading
and unloading the cargo on the aircraft. However, Atlas
overseas the cargo loading process to ensure that all cargo
is situated and secured within the aircraft’s parameters
for safe flight.

Loadmasters are trained professionals who
specialize in air cargo transportation, and Atlas Air
employs or contracts with them to coordinate and
document all cargo-related functions on each of Atlas
Air’s flights. The safety of each flight depends on a
number of the services provided by the loadmaster
responsible for it. Specifically, the loadmaster ensures
that each cargo load transported by Atlas Air complies
with the size and weight parameters for the aircraft and
flight. The loadmaster also ensures that the load’s
distribution on the aircraft meets the aircraft’s balance
requirements, and that any hazardous materials are
packaged and transported in compliance with all
applicable regulations. Finally, the loadmaster ensures
that each load is properly secured to prevent it from
shifting during flight.

Before each flight, the loadmaster prepares ihe
flight’s load plan. First, the loadmaster determines the
appropriate distribution of the expected cargo on the
aircraft in order to safely transport it within the aircraft’s
weight restrictions and balance requirements. Once the
cargo distribution is calculated, the loadmaster completes

22a

the load plan by determining the sequence of the loading
process required to achieve the desired weight
distribution. The completed load plan is delivered to the
loading crew, and the loadmaster oversees compliance
with the plan during the crew’s process of organizing the
cargo on the ramp and loading it onto the aircraft. The
loadmaster is also responsible for ensuring that the load
is properly restrained, and for making any corrections to
the load plan to accommodate changes in the load.
Finally, before the flight can depart, loadmasters must
coordinate the preparations of flight-related documents
required by the flight crew.

The loadmaster’s duties do not end when the cargo
is loaded and the flight departs. If a loaded aircraft stops
en route to the cargo’s ultimate destination, whether or
not cargo has been on or offloaded during the stop, a
loadmaster inspects the cargo load and restraint systems
and corrects any deficiencies or deviations from the load
plan that may interfere with the flight’s safe operation.
When the load reaches it’s final airport destination, a
loadmaster overseas its safe offloading.

Many Atlas Air flights are assigned to a loadmaster
who travels with cargo and performs all of the loadmaster
functions related to the flight. In some cities, however,
loadmasters remain on the ground, where they perform
loadmaster duties for Atlas flights arriving and departing
from a particular airport. The essential services provided
by a Loadmaster are the same whether the loadmaster is
responsible for a particular flight or stationed on the
ground at a particular airport.

Plaintiff, Brandon Valdivieso performed
loadmaster services for Atlas Air from March 12, 1999
until April 10, 2000. During some of that period, he was

23a

responsible for and traveled with individual flights. At
other times, however, he provided load master services
only on the ground in Miami, Florida. Plaintiff David
Kickzales provided loadmaster services to Atlas Air from
approximately August 1 998 until May 2000. Kickzales
generally traveled with the loads for which he was
responsible. Neither plaintiff performed any services for
Atlas Air that were not directly related to its air
transportation activities.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The sole issue raised by Defendant’s Motion for
Summary Judgment is whether loadmasters and ramp-
supervisors, such as Brandon Valdivieso and David
Kickzales, and the class they purportedly represent, are
excepted from the overtime provisions of the FLSA by the
“air carrier exemption” of the Act. Generally, Section 207
of the FLSA requires covered employers to pay premium
overtime provisions to covered employees who work in
excess of forty hours a week. However, the FLSA contains
specific exceptions to Section 207’s overtime
requirements, including an exemption for “any employee
of a carrier by air subject to the provisions of Title II of the
Railway Labor Act.” 29 U.S.C. § 217(b)(3).

Title II of the Railway Labor Act (“RLA”) governs:

every common carrier by air engaged in interstate
or foreign commerce... and every pilot or other
person who performs any work as an employee or
subordinate official of such carrier..., subject to its
-continuing authority to supervise and inspect the
manner of rendition of this service.

24a

45 U.S.C. § 181. Federal courts have uniformly applied the
FLSA “air carrier” exemption to employees of air carriers
whose work “bears more than a tenuous, negligible and
remote relationship to the transportation activities” of the
air carrier. See e.g. Northwest Airlines v. Jackson, 185
F.2d 74, 75 (8th Cir. 1950).

A. ir is a “ ier” f
Purposes

Applying the aircraft carrier exemption here, the
court first finds that Atlas Air is a common carrier as
envisioned by the Railway Labor Act. As found above,
Atlas Air is a commercial air carrier that owns, operates
and maintains a fleet of freight aircraft that it leases
(“outsources”) to other air carriers for the transportation
of cargo to over 100 cities worldwide. Atlas Air outsources
its aircraft under long-term “ACMI” contracts whereby
Atlas Air provides the aircraft, crew, maintenance and
insurance for flight operations of its customers. Thus,
Atlas Air is a company “that undertakes for hire to
transport to place to place the property of others who may
choose to employ [Atlas Air]” so that Atlas Air is a
common carrier for RLA purposes. See Washington v.
Kuykendall, 275 U.S. 207, 211 (1927). The fact that Atlas
Air performs most of its transportation services under
long-term ACMI contracts does not strip it of its common
carrier status. See Las Vegas Hacienda, Inc. v. Civil
Aeronautics Bd., 298 F.2d at 430 434 (9th Cir. 1962)
(holding that “it is immaterial that services offered may be
performed pursuant to special contract”); Woolsev v.
National Transportation Safety Bd., 993 F.2d 516 (5th
Cir. 1993) (holding that airline which operated according
to its customer’s schedule and desired flight destinations
was nevertheless entitled to common carrier status).

25a

Furthermore, Atlas Air’s common carrier status is
not affected by the specialization of its services to meet
the needs of and attract a particular segment of the
general public — commercial airlines that focus primarily
on passenger services.

As the Supreme Court noted in Terminal Taxi Cab
Co. v. Kutz, 241 U.S. 252, 254 (1916), “[n]Jo carrier serves
all the public. His customers are limited by the ‘place,
requirements, ability to pay and other facts.”’ Further,
“[s]o long as the air carrier is competing commercially in
the market for the patronage of the general public ... it is
immaterial that the service offered will be attractive only
toa limited group.” Las Vegas Hacienda, 298 F.2d at 434.

Moreover, to be a common carrier, Atlas Air is not
required to hold itself out to every member of the public.
Instead, it may hold itself out to “a definable segment of
the public as being willing to transport for hire,
indiscriminately.” Woolsey, 993 F.2d at 523. Here, it is
undisputed that Atlas Air is willing to transport air cargo
for any customer choosing to employ it. Although Atlas
Air primarily solicits and does business with other
commercial airlines, Atlas provides that service
indiscriminately within that group. Moreover, Atlas
solicits other entities that are likely to need air cargo
transportation and regularly accepts work from
businesses that are not commercial airlines. Thus, Atlas
Air meets the “holding out” requirement for common
carrier status.

Plaintiffs’ argument that Atlas Air is not acommon
air carrier contradicts both settled law and common
sense. Atlas owns and operates a fleet of aircraft that it
uses to transport cargo for as many customers as it can
attract and serve. Although its primary customers are

26a

other commercial airlines, Atlas Air is willing to and, does,
in fact, serve other entities. Finally, Atlas Air is licensed by
the United States Department of Transportation as a
common carrier, and other courts have found that Atlas
Air is subject to the RLA. See, e.g. Atlas Air Inc. v. Air
Line Pilots Ass n, 232 F.3d 218 (D.C. Cir. 2000); Beckett
v. Atlas Air. Inc., 968 F.Supp. 814 (E.D.N.Y. 1997).
Clearly, under the undisputed facts of this case, Atlas Air
operates as acommon air carrier and is, therefore, exempt
from the overtime provisions of the FLSA.

B. e “Ai ler”

Plaintiff

Plaintiffs next attempt to avoid application of the
air carrier exemption to their particular positions with
Atlas Air by arguing that the scope of the exemption
should be limited to pilots who are subject to maximum
hours of service limitations by the FAA. However, this
argument contradicts the plain language of the statute.
The FLSA exempts “any employee of a carrier by air
subject to the provisions of Title II of the Railway Labor
Act.” 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(3) (emphasis added). Moreover,
the RLA expressly extends its coverage beyond pilots,
subjecting “every pilot or other person who performs any
work as an employee” to its provisions. 45 U.S.C. § 181
(emphasis added). Clearly, Congress did not intend to
limit the RLA or the corresponding air carrier exemption
to pilots or it would not have included such additional
broad-reaching language.

Federal courts that have analyzed the applicability
of the air carrier exemption have done so on the basis of
the employee’s relationship to the employer's
transportation activities, not on the existence of hours-of-
work regulations that overlap with the FLSA overtime

27a

provision. See e.g., Verrett v. The Sabre Group. Inc., 70
F.Supp.2d 1277 (N.D. Okla. 1999); Northwest Airlines v.
Jackson, 185 F.2d 74 (8th Cir. 1950); Roland v. United
Airlines, Inc., 75 F.Supp. 25 (N.D. III. 1947).

Here, plaintiffs are loadmasters and/or ramp
supervisors who perform services for Atlas Air that “bear
more than a tenous [sic], negligible and remote
relationship to the transportation activities” of Atlas Air.
Plaintiffs, as loadmasters, were responsible for assuring
that cargo transported by Atlas Air met the aircraft’s
parameters for safe flight. Ramp supervisors, as the job
title implies, acted in a supervisory capacity overseeing
ramp operations.* As a result, their work as both
loadmasters and ramp supervisors was integral to the
transportation activities of Atlas Air, and plaintiffs are
properly subject to the air carrier exemption to the
overtime provisions of the FLSA.

CONCLUSION

Atlas Air is entitled to summary judgment on
plaintiffs’ claims for overtime compensation under the
FLSA. As plaintiffs’ concede, there are no material
disputes of fact in this case; and, as the undisputed facts
demonstrate, Atlas Air is a common carrier by air subject
to the RLA. The undisputed facts also demonstrate that
the work performed by plaintiffs as loadmasters and ramp
supervisors was intimately related to Atlas Air’s
transportation activities so that the air carrier exemption
applies to them. As a result, plaintiffs are subject to that

* The parties make no distinction between loadmasters and ramp
supervisors in discussing the application of the air carrier exemption to this

case.

28a

exemption and cannot prevail on their claims for overtime
compensation in this case.

Accordingly, the Court hereby GRANTS
Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment as to both
counts of the Complaint.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers, at Miami,
Florida this 21st day of December, 2001.

TED E. BANDSTRA
United States Magistrate Judge

29a

APPENDIX D — DISTRICT COURT CASES,
COLLECTED IN BREUER uv. JIM'S CONCRETE OF
BREVARD, INC., HOLDING THAT CLAIMS BROUGHT
PURSUANT TO THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT OF
1938 ARE REMOVABLE.

. Ehle v. Williams & Boshea, L.L.C., 2002 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS 4142, Slip Copy, 2002 WL 373271 (E.D. La. 2002);

2. Hesni v. Williams & Boshea, L.L.C., 2002 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 4138, Slip Copy, 2002 WL 373273 (E.D. La.
2002);

. Shaw v. CF Data Corp., 2001 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
16651, Slip Copy, 2001 WL 1326528 (N.D. Tex. 2001);

4. Roseman v. Best Buy Co., Inc., 140 F. Supp. 2d
1332 (S.D. Ga. 2001);

5. Valdivieso v. Atlas Air, Inc., 128 F. Supp. 2d 1371
(S.D. Fla. 2001);

6. Brown v. Sasser, 128 F. Supp. 2d 1345 (M.D. Ala.

2000);

7. Mincy v. Staff Leasing, L.P., 100 F. Supp. 2d 1050
(D. Ariz. 2000);

8. Chapman v. 8th Judicial Juvenile Prob. Bd., 22 F.
Supp. 2d 583 (E.D. Tex. 1998);

9. H & R Block, Ltd. v. Housden, 24 F. Supp. 2d 703
(E.D. Tex. 1998);

10. Lisai v. Chevron Stations, Inc., 1997 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS 20841, 1997 WL 694705 (N.D. Tex. 1997);

30a

11. + Barroisv. Hilton Title, 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 8172,
1996 WL 312063 (E.D. La. 1996);

12. Brown v. Luk, Inc., 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 7173,
1996 WL 280831 (N.D.N.Y. 1996);

13. Trouttv.StavolaBros.,Inc.,1994 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
19819, 1994 WL 773148 (M.D.N.C. 1994);

14. Loutfy v. R.R. Donnelley & Sons Co., 1992 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 6142, 1992 WL 97761 (N.D. Il. 1992);

15. | Waldermeyer v. ITT Consumer Fin. Corp., 767 F.
Supp. 989 (E.D. Mo. 1991);

16. Nesbitt v. Bun Basket, Inc., 780 F. Supp. 1151
(W.D. Mich. 1991);

17. Isaacv. Wm. H. Pflaumer & Sons, Inc., 1990 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 8892, 1990 WL 102808 (E.D. Pa. 1990);

18. Fraternal Order of Police, Red Rose Lodge No. 16
by Gainer v. City of Lancaster, 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
6341, 1989 WL 60440 (E.D. Pa. 1989);

19. Spiethv. R & B Appliance Parts, 1989 WL 56486
(D. Ariz. 1989);

20. Jacobson v. Holiday Travel, Inc., 110 F.R.D. 424
(E.D. Wis. 1986);

21. Ramosv.H.E. Butt Grocery Co., 632 F. Supp. 342
(S.D. Tex. 1986);

31a

22. Taylor v. Brown, 461 F. Supp. 559 (E.D. Tenn.
1978);

23. Barrett v. McDonald's of Okla. City, 419 F. Supp.
792 (W.D. Okla. 1976);

24. Anthonyv. West Coast Drug Co., 331F. Supp. 1279
(W.D. Wash. 1971);

25. Hill v. Moss-Am., Inc., 309 F. Supp. 1175 (N.D.
Miss. 1970);

26. Goettel v. Glenn Berry Mfrs., Inc., 236 F. Supp.
884 (N.D. Okla. 1964);

27. Niswander v. Paul Hardeman, Inc., 223 F. Supp.
74 (E.D. Ark. 1963);

28. Buckles v. Morristown Kayo Co., 132 F. Supp. 555
(E.D. Tenn. 1955);

29. Rossiv. Singer Sewing Mach. Co., 127 F. Supp. 53
(D. Conn. 1953); and

30. Swettman v. Remington Rand, Inc., 65 F. Supp.
940 {S.D. Ill. 1946).

32a

APPENDIX E — DISTRICT COURT CASES,
COLLECTED IN BREUER v. JIM'S CONCRETE OF
BREVARD, INC., HOLDING THAT CLAIMS BROUGHT
PURSUANT TO THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT OF
1938 ARE NOT REMOVABLE.

4 Lopezv. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 111 F.Supp. 2d 865
(S.D. Tex. 2000);

2. Esquivel v. St. Andrews Constr., 999 F. Supp. 863
(N.D. Tex. 1998);

3. Pauly v. Eagle Point Software Co., Inc., 958 F.
Supp. 437 (N.D. Iowa 1997);

4. Courtwright v. Bd. of Regents of Cent. Mo. State
Univ., 1991 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 17238, 1991 WL 255594
(W.D. Mo. 1991);

5. Bintrim v. Bruce-Merilees Elec. Co., 520 F. Supp.
1026 (W.D. Pa. 1981);

6. Haun v. Retail Credit Co., 420 F. Supp. 859 (W.D.
Pa. 1976);

7. Carter v. Hill & Hill Truck Line, Inc., 259 F. Supp.
429 (S.D. Tex. 1966);

8. Wilkins v. Renault Southwest, Inc., 227 F. Supp.
647 (N.D. Tex. 1964);

9. Zorilla v. Puerto Rican Cement Co., 227 F. Supp.
159 (D.P.R. 1964);

334

10. Rolon v. Flexicore Co., 216 F. Supp. 954 (D.P.R.
1963);

11. Dando v. Stonhard Co., 93 F. Supp. 270 (W.D. Mo.
1950); and

12. Maloy v. Friedman, 80 F. Supp. 290 (N.D. Ohio
1948).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0709%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
