# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Medical Board of California v. Hason

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0475%3A01

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 1028

## Text

- FILED
it
my YD Og 479 SEP 2 5 2002
V3—e—————_ EOE THE OLE

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

@

MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,
vs.

MICHAEL J. HASON,
Respondent.

,
Vv

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

@
v

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

@
v

BILL LOCKYER

Attorney General

MANUEL M. MEDEIROS

State Solicitor General

JAMES M. SCHIAVENZA

Senior Assistant Attorney General

CARLOS RAMIREZ

Senior Assistant-Attorney General

JOEL A. DAvIS*

Supervising Deputy Attorney
General

BETH FABER JACOBS

Deputy Attorney General

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
JUSTICE

300 South Spring Street—

Los Angeles, California 90013

Telephone: (213) 897-2130

Attorneys for Petitioner
*Counsel of Record

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964 mi

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Michael Hason applied for licensure as a physician in
California. Pursuant to its mission to protect the public
health and safety, the Medical Board of California denied
Hason’s application. Hason claimed the Medical Board
improperly denied his application on the basis of his
mental illness, and he sued the Board in federal court,
alleging a violation of Title II of the Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), 42 U.S.C.- § 12101 et seq.
The action was dismissed by the district court on grounds
of sovereign immunity. However, reasoning that this
Court’s analysis in Board of Trustees of the University of
Alabama v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356 (2001) applied only to
Title I of the ADA and not to actions arising under Title II
of that Act, the Ninth Circuit reversed the district court’s
dismissal and held that California’s denial of a medical
license to Hason stated a cause of action for discrimination
under Title II of the ADA. The questions presented are:

1. Does the Eleventh Amendment bar suit under
Title II of the ADA against the California Medical
Board for denial of a medical license based on the
applicant’s mental illness?

2. Does Title II of the ADA limit the authority of the
California Medical Board to deny an applicant li-
censure as a physician because of the applicant’s
mental illness?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioner (Defendant and appellee in Court below):

Medical Board of California (an agency of the State of
California)

Respondent (Plaintiff and appellant in Court below):
Michael J. Hason

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED....................c.ccccceccseeseeeee i
isc scncensbosnsnsuneuinersscecanccveessooses ii
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ................ 1
I I sol veccascsewsvsavessstevsesonvenseveececsrosens 1
REE IEE a eo 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
asics cuhsscsctadessndnevepsenssencesacvenconss 3
adores cncdelshusschucuenivaxsbenesenssyaseeseosess 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................. 6
I. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE PETI-
TION TO RESOLVE A SPLIT AMONG
THE CIRCUITS OVER THE QUESTION
WHETHER THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT
BARS SUIT AGAINST STATES FOR AL-
LEGED VIOLATION OF TITLE II OF THE
NIT AIL iteahsisndehsabasissbeuscévervuisesacvensbivecsiscet> 6
A. The Ninth Circuit’s Error in Refusing to
Apply this Court’s Garrett Analysis to Ti-
tle II of the ADA Results in the Improper
Abrogation of California’s Sovereign
sods usdanecnnaensuntacwvensede 6
B. There Is a Clear Split among the Cir-
cuits over the Question Whether, in Title
II of the ADA, Congress Has Validly Ab-
rogated State Sovereign Immunity under
the Eleventh Amendment........................ 10

iN et

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

II. THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES
ACT DOES NOT LIMIT CALIFORNIA'S
AUTHORITY TO DENY A MEDICAL LI-
CENSE ON THE BASIS OF AN APPLI-

CANT’S MENTAL ILLNESG.......................44. 11
Ce iced chen sisnancecsenscnitsasisnsssdaniiegmuabtnininn 15
RE NTE iv \ciaiiisibistiiitiiepiunnwcitsbiiinnniasiabiniaaiaaaisii App. 1
A. Hason v. Medical Board of California, 279 F.3d

BF Cy Se i eatectisiessincrtnineansscnesconeniasin App. 1

B. U.S. District Court, Case No. CV 99-0426
AHM (RNB), Hason v. Medical Board of Cali-
fornia, Judgment, dated April 27, 2000............ App. 14

C. U.S. District Court, Case No. CV 99-0426
AHM (RNB), Hason v. Medical Board of Cali-
fornia, Order Adopting Findings and Conclu-
sions and Recommendations of United States
Magistrate Judge, filed March 31, 2002........... App. 15

D. U.S. District Court, Case No. CV 99-04264-
AHM (RNB), Hason v. Medical Board of Cali-
fornia, Report and Recommendation of United
States Magistrat> Judge, dated February 1,
TO Snictsnnin alice tchcikalidausgliaeniiainaitinsaiidaemanbadaansiianiinnie App. 17

E. Hason v. Medical Board of California, 294 F.3d
1166 (9th Cir. 2002) (Order Denying Rehearing
en banc; O’Scannlain, J., dissenting)................ App. 26

F. U.S. District Court, Case No. CV 99-0426 AHM
(RNB), Hason v. Medical Board of California,
Civil Complaint, filed on April 21, 1999.............. App. 37

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Alexander v. Margolis, 921 F.Supp. 482 (W.D. Mich.
1995), aff’d, 98 F.3d 1341 (6th Cir. 1996)................ 12, 13
Board of Trustees of the University of Alabama v.
Garrett, 531 U.S. 356 (2001)............... 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10
Bowen v. American Hospital Assn., 476 U.S. 610
STITT idécsctib habia elhacebialishaieisSinculelenscsadesiiiniascmmaneinagateladaenanaiatiabasal 14
Brown v. North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles,
ee Se Hy Ri trkevtnstansenecteseciventeainiosscienns 11
Clark v. State of California, 123 F.3d 1267 (9th Cir.
ST Pivtitcondhstncscnscdeauntesunntanieacomnieaveasuniakammaitagiaueagas 5, 7, 8,9
Collings v. Longview Fibre Co., 63 F.3d 828 (9th
SF UD p sinkivnsdvscccessiis pieanhisiieasicsedatialeiaukcauboeuasadeaauianlaaes 14
Dare v. California, 191 F.3d 1167 (9th Cir. 1999)........ 5, 7,8
Douglas v. Cal. Dep’t of Youth Auth., 285 F.3d 1226
NI ea IND icin cshnssip i hiaichccaihiaeecllbhiihcennaincnieds 9
Erickson v. Bd. of Governors of State Cols. and
Univs., 207 F.3d 945 (7th Cir. 2000) ...................sssseeseees 10
Garcia v. S.U.N.Y. Health Sciences Center, 280 F.3d
Ne Re ED cicicivnskd ssh Sedcssslibliaescieapiebiacciebneceeninibadataianeedes 11
Kiman v. New Hampshire Department of Correc-
CRIN, ree Bie Te Ge ID ceiccnseniitcanncsnstnaceinviicerse 11
Klingler v. Dir., Dep’t of Revenue, 281 F.3d 776 (8th
i Sr stack ticciatisbiighntphentsuincinniansanancesniidbiheisnentbonbubiaiatiocien 10
Popovich v. Cuyahoga County Court of Common
Pleas, 276 F.3d 808 (6th Cir. 2002)......................cccceeeeee 11

Reickenbacker v. Foster, 274 F.3d 974 (5th Cir.

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Theriault v. Flynn, 162 F.3d 46 (1st Cir. 1998)................. 13
Thompson v. Colorado, 278 F.3d 1020 (10th Cir.

CONSTITUTION
United States Constitution, XI Amendment...... 1,3, 6, 7, 10
United States Constitution, XIV Amendment...3, 7, 8, 10, 11

FEDERAL STATUTES
28 U.S.C
Bb PIII Hd bshassikiccdvnschcbackhaicsueehcubninbteathsabandbenetbeoailletbebubaciaiitt 2
Oe IIAT ciahacoicsnninste dak debasiibapiichaiteaibieasiistslidenndausiantiniaidae tiniest 2
42 U.S.C.
Oo I Aihikabsdiacninsiipetaiaiawris bluinecidiobidaddNadaaaeisidicedadeadaiuaaihsaniiibdaiaiam 5
BA ehsahnbicihennsetkisichincenentdlibininnnitlainttnciaaasilaiiaidicniabieiminaaiion 1
DP TUEe Sn casncskcincccobosnkcpetdtestuaabebeechahuludeciiaseemsanseaaambens 3, 11
© RIB si chicseassasss adaccecectuiendin abbdiabennnkiadiiiies 2, 4,5, 11
State STATUTES
Cal. Bus. and Prof. Code
OF PRUNE css soantsnsccasnchavienncdrsdceadercubsesrenssectetiacssebbolelioauessesbaacs 13
TE TIEIEE inchcecenaphnensnctsiingditabecnbitapnibantetadaisiiidedad eich ten talesiaieis 4
FOR, hack ciieatitaccsieeicccisacakins hat seeicancabbiabegeincdsssisdencebinsinnn 4
OF eas cnkid ey ovdhiiiidaccdlecicelcdvn iteitDismscssesninneeneesiacaniniaeadibaadeiateain 4

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
a ao alasideabichenaeaadl 13
a ll ei 4,13
ET NE ae a ON a Fee ee eM a 13
Cal. Code Civ. Proc.
ail dilighiauslaimmmanuled 13
Cal. Gov. Code
rae a ae et 2 alamiisiabuiniumaienenan 5

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, the Medical Board of California (“Medical
- Board” or “Board”) respectfully petitions this Court for a
writ of certiorari to review a judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit that con-
cluded that Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act
of 1990, 42 U.S.C. § 12101, et seq., abrogated California’s
sovereign immunity under the Eleventh Amendment, and
held that Title II of the Americans With Disabilities Act of
1990 applies to the licensing of physicians by the Califor-
nia Medical Board. In a decision made without the re-
quired abrogation analysis set forth by this Court in Board
of Trustees of the University of Alabama v. Garrett, 531
U.S. 356 (2001), the Ninth Circuit held that the Eleventh
Amendment does not bar suit against the Medical Board
by an individual who claimed he was denied State licen-
sure as a physician based upon his mental illness. The
decision permits respondent to collaterally attack the
Medical Board’s administrative decision under Title II.

Unless this Honorable Court accepts this case for a
writ review, an erroneous decision with significant na-
tional ramifications affecting the public health and safety
will become precedent and California will be improperly
subjected to suit in U.S. District Court without its consent
in abrogation of the Eleventh Amendment.

¢

OPINIONS BELOW

The original decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, dated February 12, 2002, is
set forth in the Appendix at App. 1 through App. 13, and is
published at 279 F.3d 1167. The order denying a petition

2

for rehearing en banc, with a dissenting opinion signed by
four judges of the Ninth Circuit, dated June 26, 2002,
appears in the Appendix at App. 26 through App. 36, and
is published at 294 F.3d 1166. The judgment of the United
States District Court for the Central District of California,
dated April 27, 2002, is set forth in Appendix at App. 14,
and the February 1, 2000 Report and Recommendation of
the Magistrate Judge, adopted by the judgment, is set
forth in the Appendix at App. 17 through App. 25.

&
Vv

JURISDICTION

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit, denying the petition for rehearing en
banc, was filed and entered on June 26, 2002, and is now
final.

This Court has jurisdiction to review the decision by
writ of certiorari under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Given the Eleventh Amendment question presented in
this petition, 28 U.S.C. § 2403(a) may apply. Copies of this
petition for writ of certiorari are therefore being served on
the Solicitor General of the United States. The General
Docket of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit does
not indicate whether the Ninth Circuit served the United
States Attorney for the Central District of California
notice that the appeal drew into question the constitution-
ality of 42 U.S.C. § 12132.

3

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Eleventh Amendment of the United States
Constitution states:

“The judicial power of the United States shall not
be construed to extend to any suit in law or in
equity, commenced or prosecuted against one of
the United States by citizens of another state, or
by citizens or subjects of any foreign state.”

The Fourteenth Amendment of the United States
Constitution provides in pertinent part:

“Section 1... No state shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the privileges or immu-
nities of citizens of the United States, nor shall
any state deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law, nor deny to
any person within its jurisdiction the equal pro-
tection of the laws.”

“Section 5. The Congress shall have the power to
enforce, by appropriate legislation, the provisions
of this article.”

Title II of the Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990
provides in pertinent part:

“The term ‘public entity means —
(A) any State or local government;

(B) any department, agency, special purpose
district, or other instrumentality of a State...”
42 U.S.C. § 12131.

4

“...no qualified individual with a disability shall, by
reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in
or be denied the benefits of the services, programs, or
activities of a public entity, or be subjected to discrimina-
tion by any such entity.” 42 U.S.C. § 12132.

¢

STATEMENT

In March 1995, respondent Michael J. Hason applied
for a license to practice medicine in the State of California.
In August 1996, based upon the recommendation of an
independent medical examiner who concluded that Hason
was mentally ill, suffering from a history of depression
and multiple drug dependency, the Medical Board of
California denied Hason’s application for licensure with
the State. App. 38 through App. 39, App. 43 through App.
44 J 1, 14-16.’

Hason sought administrative review of the Board’s
decision, and the denial was affirmed after hearing. App.
38, App 45, {7 1, 24. Hason did not seek state court review
of the administrative decision, although such review was

" The Medical Board is an agency within the California Depart-
ment of Consumers Affairs charged with administering the provisions
of California’s Medical Practice Act. Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2000, et
seq. The Board consists of a Division of Licensing and a Division of
Medical Quality. Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2003. The Board’s Division of
Licensing is responsible for the issuance of medical licenses. Cal. Bus.
& Prof. Code § 2005. The Division of Medical Quality is charged with
disciplining licensed physicians who violate the Medical Practice Act.
Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2004. The Board’s primary purpose is protec-
tion of the public and ensuring the safe practice of medicine in the
State. Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2229.

5

available. See Cal. Govt. Code § 11504, Cal. Code Civ. Proc.
§ 1094.5. Instead, on April 21, 1999, Hason filed the
present action in district court.

In district court, Hason alleged for the first time that
the Board’s denial of his application for licensure violated
the United States Constitution; 42 U.S.C. § 1983; and Title
II of the ADA, 42 U.S.C. § 12132. The complaint also
alleged state tort claims, none of which are at issue in this
proceeding. Hason named as defendants the Medical
Board, and all of its members individually and as officers.
The individual defendants were never served, did not
appear in the district court, and are not parties to this
petition.

On April 27, 2000, the district court issued a judgment
dismissing the federal civil rights claims, the ADA claim,
and the State tort law claims — all without leave to amend
as to the Medical Board. App. 14. The order incorporated a
February 1, 2000 report and recommendation of the
Magistrate Judge, App. 17 through App. 25, concluding
that the claims against the Medical Board and its officers
for damages and injunctive relief were barred by the
Eleventh Amendment. The report also concluded that
Hason did not have a cause of action under Title II of the
ADA with respect to alleged discrimination in the Board’s
decision to deny him a medical license on the basis of a
mental illness.

Hason filed a timely notice of appeal. On February 12,
2002 the Ninth Circuit reversed. App. 3. The court held
that (1) this Court’s Garrett decision, Board of Trustees of
the University of Alabama v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356 (2001),
did not overrule prior Ninth Circuit decisions, Clark v.
State of California, 123 F.3d 1267 (9th Cir. 1997) and Dare

6

v. California, 191 F.3d 1167 (9th Cir. 1999), which held
that the State is subject to suit under the ADA despite the
Eleventh Amendment; and (2) that Title II of the ADA
applies to licensing activities of the Medical Board. App. 5
through App. 6, App. 10.’

The Board filed a petition for rehearing en banc,
which was denied on June 26, 2002. Four circuit judges
filed a strongly worded dissenting opinion, authored by
Judge Diarmuid O’Scannlain, which invited a grant of
certiorari and reversal by this Court. App. 26 through App.
36.

Sf

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE PETI-
TION TO RESOLVE A SPLIT AMONG THE
CIRCUITS OVER THE QUESTION WHETHER
THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT BARS SUIT
AGAINST STATES FOR ALLEGED VIOLA-
TION OF TITLE If OF THE ADA

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Error in Refusing to
Apply this Court’s Garrett Analysis to Ti-
tle II of the ADA Results in the Improper
Abrogation of California’s Sovereign Im-
munity

As the dissent from the denial of rehearing en banc
emphasized, the Hason opinion does not deal in any

* The court upheld the dismissal of the individual defendants in
their personal capacities, but held that they could be sued in their
official capacities for future injunctive relief.

7

meaningful way with the Eleventh Amendment abrogation
analysis required by Board of Trustees of the University of
Alabama v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356 (2001) (Garrett). In
Garrett, this Court analyzed the Eleventh Amendment
immunity with respect to Title I of the ADA, and articu-
lated a framework for analyzing whether the sovereign
immunity granted to the States under the Eleventh
Amendment is abrogated by the enactment. In upholding
Alabama’s sovereign immunity against suit by a university
employee, the Court emphasized that in order to abrogate
state immunity, there must be an unambiguous expression
of Congressional intent to do so, and a valid exercise of
power under §5 of the Fourteenth Amendment. This
Court also explained that in order to invoke §5 (and
abrogate a State’s immunity), the enactment must have
been supported by Congressional findings of a history and
pattern of state violations of the Fourteenth Amendment
and, in addition, that the reach of the statute must be
congruent and proportional to the constitutional wrong it
seeks to remedy. Garrett, 531 U.S. at 365, 368.

The Ninth Circuit virtually ignored this Court's
Eleventh Amendment analysis, relying instead on its own
pre-Garrett decisions, Clark v. State of California, 123 F.3d
1267 (9th Cir. 1997) and Dare v. California, 191 F.3d 1167
(9th Cir. 1999), and holding that, in Title II of the ADA,
Congress validly abrogated Eleventh Amendment immu-
nity. Neither of the circuit’s pre-Garrett decisions included
the type of meaningful analysis that Garrett made clear is
required for determining whether the State retains its
Eleventh Amendment immunities under the ADA. For
example, in Clark, the Ninth Circuit concluded that since
the purpose of the ADA was “to prohibit discrimination

8

against the disabled,” 121 F.3d at 1270, and that “Con-
gress explicitly found that persons with disabilities have
suffered discrimination,” the ADA was therefore “within
the scope of appropriate legislation” under §5 of the
Fourteenth Amendment.’ Jd. Clark also contains no
_ analysis of the legislative history of the ADA nor any
substantive consideration of “congruence and proportional-
ity.” Nowhere does it address whether there was a history
of discrimination by the States which the federal govern-
ment sought to remedy, an important criterion under
Garrett. See Garrett, 531 U.S. at 368. The analysis is
completely inadequate under Garrett. Similarly, the Dare
Court’s reasoning was circular, acknowledging the “great
deference” to be given to Congress’ findings concerning
protection of the disabled, but failing to reference state
agencies as a target source of that discrimination. None-
theless, the Ninth Circuit considered these cases defini-
tive.

In holding that Title II reflected a valid abrogation of
Eleventh Amendment immunity, the Ninth Circuit distin-
guished Garrett on the sole basis that Garrett dealt with
Title I. But while the holding of Garrett did not squarely
address Title II, this Court’s reasoning most certainly
applies. That is what the other circuits and the Hason
dissent make most clear:

* As noted by the Hason dissent, the claims at issue in Clark were |
brought under Title II, but the Court treated the ADA as a whole, which
casts further doubt on the continued validity of the opinion because in
Garrett, the Court expressly refused to conflate the separate, detailed
inquiries required for each of Title I and Title II. App. 30 through App.
31, n.2. (O’Scannlain, J., dissenting, citing Garrett, 531 U.S. at 360 n.1.)

9

This sort of blanket generalization, coupled this
time with a generous helping of deference to Con-
gress, stands in stark contrast to the provision-by-
provision comparison with the constitutional
baseline that Garrett requires. App. 30. (emphasis
added).

The very foundation of the Hason decision is thus built on
precedents of sand. Hason, like Dare and Clark before it,
fails to analyze (1) whether Title II was properly enacted
based upon an “identified history and pattern” of unconsti-
tutional discrimination by the States against the disabled
and (2) whether the remedial provisions of Title II are
“congruent and proportional to any constitutional viola-
tion.”

The four judges criticizing the denial of rehearing en
banc recognized the manifest inadequacy of the court’s
opinion and essentially invited the Board to seek review
by this Court:

[TJoday’s opinion blithely ignores recent Supreme
Court precedent and follows superseded cases of
our court instead. It bears repeating: This deci-
sion cannot possibly be right. See Vinson v. Tho-
mas, 288 F.3d 1145, 1157-58 (9th Cir. 2002)
(O’Scannlain, J., dissenting); see also Douglas uv.
Cal. Dep’t of Youth Auth., 285 F.3d 1226, 1226-27
(9th Cir. 2002) (O’Scannlain, J., dissenting from
denial of rehearing en banc). Because Hason all
but invites a grant of certiorari and reversal for
putting us out of step with the Supreme Court
and creating a split with every other circuit to
have considered the issue, I must dissent from
the order denying en banc rehearing.” App. 27
through App. 28. (O’Scannlain, J., dissenting;
emphasis added).

10

B. There Is a Clear Split among the Circuits
- over the Question Whether, in Title II of
the ADA, Congress Has Validly Abrogated
State Sovereign Immunity under the
Eleventh Amendment

The Ninth Circuit is the only circuit to have unequivo-
cally refused to apply Garrett to a Title II ADA claim
against a State agency. In fact, two Circuits have recently
overruled their own pre-Garrett decisions: Reickenbacker
v. Foster, 274 F.3d 974, 981 (5th Cir. 2001) (concluding
that Garrett “effectively overruled” prior circuit precedent
holding that Title II validly abrogated State sovereign
immunity) and Thompson v. Colorado, 278 F.3d 1020, 1034
(10th Cir. 2001), cert. denied, 122 S.Ct. 1961, 152 L.Ed.2d
1031 (2002) (holding that the circuit’s prior decision on
Title I was effectively overruled by Garrett and that, under
the Garrett analysis, Title II was also not a valid abroga-
tion of the Eleventh Amendment).

Every other circuit considering the issue has either
held that in Title II Congress did not validly abrogate
Eleventh Amendment immunity, or that such immunity is
still available under certain conditions, all of which are
applicable here. See, e.g., Klingler v. Dir., Dep’t of Revenue,
281 F.3d 776, 777 (8th Cir. 2002) (affirming pre-Garrett
decision holding that in Title II Congress did not validly
abrogate state sovereign immunity); Ericksor v. Bd. of
Governors of State Cols. and Univs., 207 F.3d 945, 948,
951-52 (7th Cir. 2000) (a pre-Garrett decision concluding
that “the ADA does not enforce the Fourteenth Amend-
ment,” as “the legislative findings in [the ADA] contain not
a word about state governments,” and that “nothing” in
the ADA legislative findings or debates “shows or even
asserts” that state governments engaged in irrational

11

discrimination that would invoke the Fourteenth Amend-
ment); Kiman v. New Hampshire Department of Correc-
tions, 301 F.3d 13 (1st Cir. 2002) (holding Title II is
constitutional to the extent “that Title is applied to cases
in which a court identifies a constitutional violation by the
state,” e.g. Eighth Amendment prohibition of “cruel and
unusual punishment”); Popovich v. Cuyahoga County
Court of Common Pleas, 276 F.3d 808, 812, 815-16 (6th
Cir. 2002) (en banc) (agreeing that Title II is not a valid
abrogation of sovereign immunity when Congress is
enforcing the Equal Protection Clause, but holding that it
is permissible when enforcing the Due Process Clause);
Garcia v. S.U.N.Y. Health Sciences. Center, 280 F.3d 98,
110-12 (2d Cir. 2001) (holding that Title II actions may
only be brought against States if the plaintiff can establish
that the “violation was motivated by discriminatory
animus or ill will based on the plaintiff’s disability”); and
Brown v. North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, 166
F.3d 698, 707 (4th Cir. 1999) (holding that a regulation
enacted pursuant to Title II did not validly abrogate state
sovereign immunity.)

Il. THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT
DOES NOT LIMIT CALIFORNIA’S AUTHOR-
ITY TO DENY A MEDICAL LICENSE ON THE
BASIS OF AN APPLICANT’S MENTAL ILL-
NESS

The Ninth Circuit held that issuance of license to
practice medicine is a “service, program or activity” within
the meaning of Title II of the ADA, 42 U.S.C. §§ 12131(2),
12132. App. 9 through App. 10. The decision is unprece-
dented among the circuits and, the Board contends, is
wrong as a matter of law. Indeed, in a case remarkably

12

similar to this one, a district court in the Sixth Circuit
came to precisely the opposite conclusion. The Michigan
district court held that the ADA did not apply to the state
medical board’s decision to revoke the medical license of a
physician with a bipolar disorder. Alexander v. Margolis,
921 F.Supp. 482 (W.D. Mich. 1995), aff’d, 98 F.3d 1341
(6th Cir. 1996). The district court reasoned that:

Considering the text of section 12132(2), it is
questionable whether the Board’s duty to license
physicians can be characterized as a “service” being
denied to plaintiff or whether the Board’s refusal to
reinstate his license denies him participation in
“programs or activities provided” by a state en-
tity. The Board of Medicine is, if anything, a ser-
vice, program or activity provided for the public’s
benefit and safety, not for the benefit of any given
individual who does not meet the state’s require-
ments for practicing medicine.

Alexander v. Margolis, 921 F.Supp. at 488 (emphasis
added). The court in Alexander added:

The very nature of the police powers exercised by
state boards of medicine require the state to dis-
criminate on the basis of, among other considera-
tions, a mental condition harmful to the public’s
safety. By the very nature of the practice of medi-
cine, given the physician’s necessary independ-
ence to “practice” his art ... [t]he Board cannot
exercise its duty without the discretion to con-
sider the impact of a mental disability upon one’s
ability to practice with reasonable skill and
safety. The danger of irreparable harm to the

13

public is too great to deny the Board such discre-
tion. To require otherwise is unreasonable.

Id. (emphasis added).

Alexander correctly states the law, recognizing inher-
ent state power to regulate the practice of medicine for the
public health and safety. Alexander is also consistent with
the First Circuit’s reasoning that, “[iJn determining whether
‘essential eligibility requirements’ are met [for purposes of
42 U.S.C. § 12131(2)], a public entity properly may con-
sider whether an applicant with a disability poses a direct
threat to the health and safety of others.” Theriault v.
Flynn, 162 F.3d 46, 48 (1st Cir. 1998).

The very purpose of California’s Medical Board is to
protect the public, not to provide a “service” for the benefit
of applicants. The California Legislature has repeatedly
emphasized that the purpose of the Board is to “protect
the health, safety, and welfare of the people of California
against incompetent or impaired physicians.” Cal. Bus. &
Prof. Code § 2220. “Protection of the public shall be the
highest priority.” Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2229. California
law includes a comprehensive statutory scheme for ad-
dressing physicians who are mentally ill or whose physical
illness affects their competency, Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code
§ 820, et. seq., and California provides full judicial review
of licensing decisions, Cal. Code of Civil Proc. § 1094.5,
Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2337. As a matter of state policy,
when physician rehabilitation and public protection are
inconsistent, public protection is paramount. Cal. Bus. &
Prof. Code § 2229(c).

Nothing in the statutory scheme of the ADA suggests
that, by enacting Title II, Congress intended to intrude
upon licensing of physicians pursuant to inherent state

14

police powers. Nor does it show an intent to permit cir-
cumvention of the state’s judicial review process available
to challenge medical board licensing decisions. In Bowen v.
American Hospital Assn., 476 U.S. 610 (1986), this Court
held that anti-discrimination laws were not meant to
intrude upon medically related decisions. The Court
concluded that the regulations governing the care to be
provided to severely disabled infants were not authorized
by the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and observed that
“Congress has failed to indicate, either in the statute or in
the legislative history, that it envisioned federal superin-
tendence of treatment decisions traditionally entrusted to
state governance.” Jd. at 643. Insofar as the ADA is con-
strued in the same manner as the Rehabilitation Act of
1973, see Collings v. Longview Fibre Co., 63 F.3d 828, 832,
n.3. (9th Cir. 1995), the rationale articulated in Bowen —-
that anti-discrimination laws should not intrude on
medically related decisions — equally applies herein. The
ADA was not intended to be used as a vehicle for “federal
superintendence” of decisions determining the fitness of
individuals for licensure as physicians.

¢

15

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Medical Board of Califor-
nia respectfully requests that its petition for writ of
certiorari be granted.

Dated: September 23, 2002

Respectfully submitted,

BILL LOCKYER,

Attorney General

MANUEL M. MEDEIROS

State Solicitor General

JAMES M. SCHIAVENZA

Senior Assistant Attorney General

CARLOS RAMIREZ

Senior Assistant Attorney General

JOEL A. Davis*

Supervising Deputy Attorney
General

BETH FABER JACOBS

Deputy Attorney General

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
JUSTICE

Attorneys for Petitioner

App. 1

APPENDIX A

FOR PUBLICATION
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MICHAEL J. HASON, M.D., ) No. 00-55784

“or ) DC No.
Plaintiff-Appellant, CV-99-04264-AHM
V.

)
)
MEDICAL BOARD OF CALI-_?
FORNIA; DEPARTMENT OF __ ?
CONSUMER AFFAIRS, STATE ?
OF CALIFORNIA; ARLENE __?
ADAMS, the Director of the )
Department of Consumer Affairs )
of the State of California; NEIL )
FIPPIN, individually, & as the
Manager, Licensing Program of ?
the Medical Board of the State of )
California; MELINDA ACOSTA, ?)
individually & as an official of
the Medical Board of the State of )
D.C. No. California; RON JO-
SEPH, individually & as Execu- )
tive Director of the Medical )
Board of the State of California )
& as Director of the Department )
of Consumer Affairs of the State )
of California; BRUCE HA- )
SENKAMP, individually & as_)
President of the Division of )
Licensing of the Medical Board )
of the State of California; IRA )
LUBELL, M.D., individually & )
as President of the Division of )
Medical Quality of the Medical )

App. 2

Board of the State of California;
CAROLE H. HURVITZ; ANA-
BEL A. IMBERT; RAQUEL D.
ARIAS, Dr.; KLEA D. BER-
TAKIS, Dr.; JACK BRUNER,
DR.; DANIEL LIVINGSTON;
KAREN MCELLIOT; ALAN E.
SHUMACHER, Dr.; KIP S.
SKIDMORE, individually & as
Member of the Medical Board of )
the State of California’s Division )
of Medical Quality; THOMAS A. )
JOAS, Dr.; KAREN MCELLI- __s)
OTT, individually & as Officer of )
the Medical Board of the State of )
California & its Division of )
Licensing; BERNARD ALPERT, )
individually & as Officer of the
Medical Board of the State of )
California & its Division of )
Licensing; MICHAEL I. SIDLEY,
individually & as Executive of
the Medical Board of the State of
California’s Division of Licens-
ing; RAJA TOKE, Dr., individu-
ally & as Executive of the
Medical Board of the State of
California’s Division of Licens-
ing; THE STATE OF CALIFOR-
NIA & SENIOR
INVESTIGATOR,

Defendants-Appellees.

i a a a a a a oa

Appeal from the United States District Court
For the Central District of California
A. Howard Matz, District Judge, Presiding

App. 3

Argued and Submitted November 6, 2001 —
Pasadena, California

Filed Feb. 12, 2002

Before: Alfred T. Goodwin, J. Clifford Wallace and
Sidney R. Thomas, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Goodwin

COUNSEL ~—

Erwin Chemerinsky, University of Southern California
Law School, Los Angeles, California, for the plaintiff-
appellant. Joel A. Davis, Supervising Deputy Attorney
General, Los Angeles, California, for the defendants-
appellees. .

OPINION

GOODWIN, Circuit Judge:

e—

Dr. Michael J. Hason appeals the dismissal of his pro
se complaint alleging discrimination based on disability in
violation of the United States Constitution and Title II of
the Americans with Disabilities Act [“ADA”]. We have
jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291. For the reasons
that follow we reverse and remand.

BACKGROUND

In March of 1995, Michael J. Hason, M.D., applied for
a license to practice medicine in the state of California. In
April of 1998, the California Medical Board denied, for
reasons of mental illness, Dr. Hason’s application for a
medical license. Dr. Hason subsequently filed a pro se

-

App. 4

complaint in federal district court alleging violations of his
rightg under the United States Constitution (brought
pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983) and Title II of the ADA, 42
U.S.C. § 12132. The complaint also alleged state law tort
claims which are not at issue on this appeal.

Dr. Hason’s complaint named as defendants The
Medical Board of the State of California (“The Medical
Board”], the Department of Consumer Affairs of the State
of California and its director, and various other individuals
that were either members of or otherwise affiliated with
the Medical Board (in both their official and personal
capacities). Dr. Hason sought both damages and injunctive
relief.

On April 25, 2000, the District Court dismissed Dr.
Hason’s complaint without prejudice as to the individual
defendants in their personal capacities, and with prejudice
as to the two named state agencies and the individual
defendants in their official capacities. The Report and
Recommendation of the United States Magistrate Judge,
which was affirmed in its entirety by the District Court,
stated three reasons for dismissing Dr. Hason’s complaint.
First, the Report concluded that Dr. Hason’s claims were
barred by the Eleventh Amendment. Second, the Report
concluded that Dr. Hason failed to state a claim upon
which relief could be granted under Title II of the ADA.
Third, the Report concluded that Dr. Hason’s claims
against the individual defendants in their personal capaci-
ties should be dismissed for failure to prosecute.

We review de novo the District Court’s dismissal of a
complaint for failure to state a claim upon which relief can
be granted. See NL Indus. v. Kaplan, 792 F.2d 896, 898
(9th Cir. 1986).

-

App. 5

DISCUSSION
I. Sovereign Immunity

We begin by considering whether the District Court
erred in holding that Dr. Hason’s claims were barred by
the Eleventh Amendment. The Eleventh Amendment
prohibits a private party from suing a nonconsenting state
or its agencies in federal court.’ See Board of Trustees of
Univ. of Alabama v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356, 363 (2001);
Kimel v. Florida Bd. of Regents, 528 U.S. 62, 72-73 (2000);
Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 54
(1996); Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1, 15 (1890). The
Eleventh Amendment does not, however, prevent a private
litigant from suing a state or its agencies in federal court
where Congress has abrogated state sovereign immunity
acting pursuant to section 5 of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. We have previously held that in enacting Title II of
the ADA Congress validly abrogated state sovereign immu-
nity, and thus states and their agencies may be sued pursu-
ant to Title II. See Dare v. California, 191 F.3d 1167, 1175
(9th Cir. 1999); Clark v. California, 123 F.3d 1267, 1270-71
(9th Cir. 1997); see also Patricia v. Lemahieu, 141 F.Supp.2d
1243, 1248 (D. Haw. 2001) (observing that the Ninth Circuit
has twice rejected the argument that Congress exceeded its
constitutional authority in abrogating state sovereign
immunity pursuant to Title II of the ADA).

* The Eleventh Amendment provides: “The Judicial power of the
United States shall not be construed to extend to any suit in law or
equity, commenced or prosecuted against one of the United States by
Citizens of another State, or by Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign
State.”

App. 6

Appellees contend, however, that the Supreme Court’s
recent decision in Garrett overrules both Clark and Dare.
In Garrett, the Court held that Congress did not validly
abrogate state sovereign immunity in enacting Title I of
the ADA. See Garrett, 531 U.S. at 360. The Garrett Court
expressly declined to decide whether Congress validly
abrogated state sovereign immunity in enacting Title II of
the ADA. See id. at 360 n. 1. We therefore conclude that
Garrett does not overrule either Clark or Dare, and that
the Eleventh Amendment does not bar Dr. Hason’s Title II
claims.

The District Court also erred in its treatment of Dr.
Hason’s federal civil rights claims, brought pursuant to 42
U.S.C. § 1983, against the various individual state offi-
cials. The District Court held that Dr. Hason’s section 1983
claims were barred by the Eleventh Amendment. In so
holding, the District Court failed to recognize the long-
established exception to Eleventh Amendment immunity
carved out by Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908). The Ex
Parte Young doctrine provides that the Eleventh Amend-
ment does not bar suits for prospective injunctive relief
brought against state officers “in their official capacities,
to enjoin an alleged ongoing violation of federal law.” Agua
Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians v. Hardin, 223 F.3d
1041, 1045 (9th Cir. 2000); see also Idaho v. Coeur d’Alene
Tribe of Idaho, 521 U.S. 261, 269 (1997); Seminole Tribe of
Florida, 517 U.S. at 73; Children’s Hosp. and Health Ctr. v.
Belshe, 188 F.3d 1090, 1095 (9th Cir. 1999); Armstrong v.
Wilson, 124 F.3d 1019, 1025 (9th Cir. 1997). Dr. Hason’s
complaint clearly seeks prospective injunctive relief to
enjoin the individual defendants’ refusal to issue Dr.
Hason a medical license. Thus, under the doctrine of Ex
Parte Young, Dr. Hason’s section 1983 claims seeking

App. 7

prospective injunctive relief from the individual defen-
dants are not barred by the Eleventh Amendment. The
District Court erred in concluding otherwise.

II. Title Il of the ADA

We next consider the District Court’s dismissal of Dr.
Hason’s complaint for failure to state a claim for which
relief can be granted under Title II of the ADA. Title II of
the ADA provides that “no qualified individual with a
disability shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded
from participation in or be denied the benefits of the
services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be
subjected to discrimination by any such entity.” 42 U.S.C.
§ 12132. The District Court dismissed Dr. Hason’s com-
plaint based on the magistrate judge’s two-fold conclusion
that (1) the denial of a medical license cannot be chal-
lenged under Title II of the ADA because a medical license
does not constitute “services, programs, or activities of a
public entity” and (2) Dr. Hason is not a “qualified individ-
ual with a disability” within the meaning of Title II of the
ADA.

With respect to the first of the two above grounds for
dismissal, Dr. Hason contends that his complaint properly
states a claim because a medical license constitutes
“services, programs, or activities of a public entity” under
Title II. Dr. Hason argues that the magistrate judge’s
interpretation of the phrase “services, programs, or activi-
ties” to exclude medical licensing is at odds with both the
plain language and remedial goals of Title II.

[2] In response, Appellees argue that Title II was not
intended to apply to professional licensing. Appellees rely
primarily on Zimmerman v. Oregon Department of Justice,

App. 8

170 F.3d 1169 (9th Cir. 1999). In Zimmerman, the plain-
tiff brought an action against his employer alleging that
the employer’s practices discriminated against him in
violation of Title II of the ADA. This Court affirmed the
district court’s holding that Title II of the ADA does not
apply to employment. See id. at 1184. In doing so, we
conducted a thorough examination of both the wording of
Title II and the structure of the ADA, concluding that
Congress intended for Title II to apply only to the “out-
puts” of a public agency, not to “inputs” such as employ-
ment. See id. at 1173-79.”

Relying on Zimmerman, Appellees contend that
medical licensing does not fall within the scope of Title I
because medical licensing is not an “output” of a public
agency. According to Appellees, medical licensing is not an
“output” because it is a service provided for the benefit of
the public at large, not for the benefit of applicants seek-
ing to obtain medical licenses. See Alexander v. Margolis,
921 F.Supp. 482, 488 (W.D. Mich. 1995) (observing that
“(t]he Board of Medicine is, if anything, a service, program
or activity provided for the public’s benefit and safety, not

* The Zimmerman court illuminated the “input”/output” distinc-
tion with the following example: “[Clonsider how a member of the
public would answer the question, ‘What are the services, programs,
and activities of the Parks Department in which you want to partici-
pate, or whose benefits you seek to receive?’ The individual might
answer, ‘I want to participate in the Wednesday night basketball
league, or find out about the free children’s programs for the summer
months.’ The individual would not logically answer, ‘I want to go to
work for the Parks Department.’” Zimmerman, 170 F.3d at 1174. The
Zimmerman court considered both the basketball league and the
children’s programs to be “outputs,” and it considered an individual
going to work for the Parks Department to be an “input.”

oes dati

App. 9

for the benefit of any given individual who does not meet
the state’s requirements for practicing medicine”).

[3] We are not persuaded by Appellees’ argument.
Viewed in the light of the Zimmerman framework, medical
licensing is an output of a public agency, not an input such
as employment. The act of licensing involves the Medical
Board (i.e. a “public agency”) providing a license (i.e. provid-
ing a “service”) to an applicant for a medical license.
Although medical licensing does occur within the employ-
ment context, medical licensing is not equivalent to employ-
ment. The Medical Board does not make employment
decisions, and the Board’s grant of a license is not tanta-
mount to a promise or guarantee of employment as a
physician.

Furthermore, the magistrate judge’s narrow construc-
tion of the phrase “services, programs, or activities” is at
odds with the remedial goals underlying the ADA. See
Arnold v. United Parcel Serv., Inc., 1386 F.3d 854, 861 (1st
Cir. 1998) (observing that the ADA is a remedial statute
which should be construed broadly); Kornblau v. Dade
County, 86 F.3d 193, 194 (11th Cir. 1996) (same); see also
Tcherepnin v. Knight, 389 U.S. 332, 336 (1967) (recogniz-
ing the “familiar canon of statutory construction that reme-
dial legislation should be construed broadly to effectuate
its purposes”). Courts must construe the language of the
ADA broadly in order to effectively implement the ADA’s
fundamental purpose of “provid[ing] a clear and compre-
hensive national mandate for the elimination of discrimi-
nation against individuals with disabilities.” Arnold, 136
F.3d at 861 (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 12101(b)(1) (1994)). In fact,
this court has already capitalized upon the opportunity to
construe broadly the language of Title II. In Lee v. City of
Los Angeles we stated in the Title II context that “the

App. 10

ADA’s broad language brings within its scope anything a
public entity does.” Lee v. City of Los Angeles, 250 F.3d
668, 691 (9th Cir. 2001) (citation and internal quotations
omitted). Medical licensing is without a doubt something
that the Medical Board “does.” As such, we conclude that
medical licensing clearly falls within the scope of Title II.°

The second major reason given by the magistrate
judge for dismissing Dr. Hason’s Title II claims was that
Dr. Hason was not a “qualified individual with a disabil-
ity” within the meaning of Title II of the ADA. Title II
defines this requirement as follows:

The term “qualified individual with a disability”

means an individual with a disability: who, with

or without reasonable modifications to rules,

policies, or practices, the removal of architec-
tural, communication, or transportation barriers,

* Dr. Hason also argues that, regardless of whether a medical
license constitutes a service, program, or activity of a public entity, his
complaint states a claim under Title II of the ADA. As noted above, Title
II provides that “no qualified individual with a disability shall, by
reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in or be denied
the benefits of the services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or
be subjected to discrimination by any such entity.” 42 U.S.C. § 12132
(emphasis added). Dr. Hason construes the second clause of Title II (i.e.
“or be subjected to discrimination by any such entity”) as providing a
blanket cause of action for any type of discrimination by a public entity,
including discrimination not related to the services, programs or
activities of a public entity. Because we conclude that medical licensing
is a service, program, or activity of a public entity within the meaning
of Title II, we need not reach the merits of Dr. Hason’s argument. For
the sake of clarity, however, we note that in Zimmerman we ruled out
Dr. Hason’s proposed construction of the second clause of Title II. See
Zimmerman, 170 F.3d at 1176 (concluding that the second clause of
Title II, like the first, prohibits discrimination only in a public entity’s
outputs).

App. 11

or the provision of auxiliary aids and services,
meets the essential eligibility requirements for
the receipt of services or the participation in pro-
grams or activities provided by a public entity.

42 U.S.C. § 12131(2).

Dr. Hason argues that the District Court erred in
accepting the magistrate judge’s conclusion because the
question of whether Dr. Hason is a qualified individual
with a disability is a factual question that should not be
resolved on a 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss. In response,
Appellees contend that Dr. Hason is not a “qualified
individual with a disability” because Dr. Hason admits in
his pleadings that he suffers from a mental disability.

Although at a later stage in the proceedings Appellees
might demonstrate that Dr. Hason is not a qualified
individual with a disability, they have not yet done so.
Appellees are correct that Dr. Hason states in his com-
plaint that he suffers from a mental disability. Dr. Hason’s
complaint also alleges, however, that by the time of the
Medical Board’s decision he had received treatment for his
disability and was capable of practicing medicine. Accept-
ing these allegations as true and construing them in the
light most favorable to Dr. Hason, we conclude that Dr.
Hason adequately alleges that he is a qualified individual
with a disability. See Love v. United States, 915 F.2d 1242,
1245 (9th Cir. 1989) (stating that, in reviewing district
court’s dismissal for failure to state a claim pursuant to
Rule 12(b\(6), appellate court accepts plaintiff’s allega-
tions as true and construes complaint in light most favor-
able to plaintiff).

For the foregoing reasons, we conclude that Dr. Hason
states claims for which relief can be granted under Title II

App. 12

of the ADA. The District Court erred in dismissing his
complaint pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6).

III. Failure to Prosecute

Dr. Hason next argues that the District Court abused
its discretion in dismissing his claims, for failure to prose-
cute, against the individual defendants in their personal
capacities. In recommending that Appellant’s suit be
dismissed for failure to prosecute, the magistrate judge
relied on Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 4(m). Rule 4(m)
provides that, if process is not served within 120 days
after the filing of the complaint, and the plaintiff cannot
show good cause why service was not made within that
time, the action is subject to dismissal without prejudice
upon the court’s own initiative with notice to the plaintiff.
The magistrate judge noted that Dr. Hason failed to
effectuate service of process on the named individual
defendants within 120 days after the filing of his com-
plaint. Dr. Hason also failed to respond to an order to show
cause why service had not been made within the 120 day
period.

Dr. Hason does not dispute these facts. Rather, he
argues that he had determined that the individual defen-
dants were not liable and that he wanted them to be
dismissed as defendants. He assumed that he was further-
ing this goal and helping the court by not responding to
the order to show cause. However, when it became clear
that the state agencies were going to be dismissed as
defendants, Dr. Hason decided that he no longer wanted
the individual defendants to be dismissed. Dr. Hason’s
argument lacks merit, and we conclude that the District
Court did not abuse its discretion in dismissing, for failure

Se nee na

. eronEe

App. 13

to prosecute, Dr. Hason’s claims against the individual
defendants in their personal capacities.

IV. Conclusion

In conclusion, we hold that (1) Dr. Hason’s Title II
claims are not barred by the Eleventh Amendment; (2) Dr.
Hason’s section 1983 claims seeking prospective injunctive
relief against the individual defendants in their official
capacities are not barred by the Eleventh Amendment; (3)
Dr. Hason states valid claims under Title II of the ADA;
and (4) the District Court did not abuse its discretion in
dismissing for failure to prosecute Dr. Hason’s claims
against the individual defendants in their personal capaci-
ties.

We accordingly remand to the District Court for
consideration of the merits of Dr. Hason’s ADA claims. The
District Court did not rule on the merits of Dr. Hason’s
section 1983 claims, so they too must be remanded.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

App. 14

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

MICHAEL J. HASON, M_D., __ ) Case No.:
ate ) CV 99-04264-AHM
Plaintiff, (RNB)
™ ) ‘JUDGMENT

THE MEDICAL BOARD OF?
THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, ) ‘Entered April 27, 2000)
et al.,

Defendants. )

Pursuant to the Order Adopting Findings, Conclu-
sions and Recommendations of United States Magistrate
Judge,

IT IS ADJUDGED that this action is dismissed
without prejudice as to the individual defendants in
their individual capacities, and with prejudice as to the
two named state agencies and the individual defendants
in their official capacities.

DATED: April 25, 2000

/s/ A. Howard Matz
A. HOWARD MATZ
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 15

APPENDIX C
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

MICHAEL J. HASON, ) Case No.:
M_D., ) CV 99-04264-AHM
Plaintiff, ) (RNB)
; ORDER ADOPTING
FINDINGS,
THE MEDICAL BOARD ) CONCLUSIONS AND
OF THE STATE OF ) RECOMMENDATIONS
CALIFORNIA, et al., ) OF UNITED STATES
slice ) MAGISTRATE JUDGE
) (Filed Mar. 31, 2000)

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636, the Court has con-
ducted a review of all the records and files of this case,
including the Report and Recommendation of the United
States Magistrate Judge. Objections to the Report and
Recommendation have been filed herein. Having made a
de novo determination of those portions of the Report
and recommendation to which objection has been made,
the Court concurs with and adopts the findings, conclu-
sions and recommendations of the Magistrate Judge.

IT IS ORDERED that: (1) plaintiffs federal civil
rights claims against the two named state agencies and
the individual defendants in their official capacities are
dismissed without leave to amend; (2) plaintiffs ADA
claim is dismissed without leave to amend; and (3)
plaintiffs state law tort claims are dismissed without
leave to amend.

App. 16

March 31, 2000

/s/ A. Howard Matz
A. HOWARD MATZ
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 17

APPENDIX D
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

MICHAEL J. HASON, ) Case No. CV 99-04264-
M.D., ) AHM (RNB)
Plaintiff, REPORT AND
ee | RECOMMENDATION OF
UNITED STATES
THE MEDICAL BOARD MAGISTRATE JUDGE
OF THE STATE OF Be
CALIFORNIA, et al., ‘
Defendants. )

This Report and Recommendation is submitted to
the Honorable A. Howard Matz, United States District
Judge, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636 and General Order
194 of the United States District Court or [sic] the
Central District of California.

PROCEEDINGS

Plaintiff filed this action pro per on April 21, 1999,
purporting to allege federal claims for violations of his
federal constitutional rights and the Americans with
Disabilities Act (“ADA”), as well as state law tort claims.
Named as defendants are The Medical Board of the
State of California (the “Medical Board”), the Depart-
ment of Consumer Affairs of the State of California (the
“Consumer Affairs Department”) and its director, and
various other individuals who are alleged to be either
members of or otherwise affiliated with the Medical
Board (in both their official and individual capacities).

App. 18

Like two other actions filed by plaintiff in this Court,
this action arises out of the Medical Board’s denial of
plaintiffs application for a medical license.

On December 23, 1999, the matter was transferred
from the calendar of Magistrate Judge Nagle to the
calendar of Magistrate Judge Block.

Now pending before the Court and ready for deci-
sion is a Motion to Dismiss brought by the State of
California on behalf of the Medical Board and the
Consumer Affairs Department. For the reasons dis-
cussed hereafter, the Court recommends that plaintiffs
federal civil rights claims against the two named state
agencies and the individual defendants in their official
capacities be dismissed without leave to amend, that
plaintiffs ADA claim be dismissed without leave to
amend, and that plaintiffs state law tort claims be
dismissed without leave to amend.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

A complaint may be dismissed as a matter of law for
failure to state a claim for two reasons: (1) lack of a
cognizable legal theory; or (2) insufficient facts alleged
under a cognizable legai theory. Balistreri v. Pacifica
Police Dep’t, 901 F.2d 696, 699 (9th Cir. 1988). Plain-
tiffs allegations of material fact must be taken as true
and construed in the light most favorable to plaintiff.
See Love v. United States, 915 F.2d 1242, 1245 (9th Cir.
1989). Since plaintiff is appearing pro se, the Court must
construe the allegations of the complaint liberally and
must afford plaintiff the benefit of any doubt. See
Karim-Panahi v. Los Angeles Police Dep’t, 839 F.2d 621,
623 (9th Cir. 1988).

App. 19

DISCUSSION

A. Plaintiff is unable to state a claim against the

State of California (or the two named state
agencies) or any of the individual defendants

in their official capacities for violation of his
federal civil rights.

In Will v. Michigan Dep’t of State Police, 491 U.S.
58, 109 S. Ct. 2304, 105 L. Ed. 2d 45 (1989), the Su-
preme Court held that states, state agencies, and state
officials sued in their official capacities’ are not persons
subject to civil rights suits under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. See
491 U.S. at 64-66. Further, the Eleventh Amendment
bars federal jurisdiction over suits by individuals
against a State and its instrumentalities, unless either
the State consents to waive its sovereign immunity or
Congress abrogates it. Pennhurst State School & Hosp.
v. Halderman, 465 U.S. 89, 99-100, 104 S. Ct. 900, 79 L.
Ed. 2d 67 (1984). To overcome this Eleventh Amend-
ment bar, the State’s consent or Congress’ intent must
be “unequivocally expressed.” Pennhurst, 465 U.S. at 99.
While California has consented to be sued in its own
courts pursuant to the California Tort Claims act, such
consent does not constitute consent to suit in federal
court. See BV Engineering v. Univ. of Cal., Los Angeles,
858 F.2d 1394, 1396 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 489

* The Supreme Court has held that an “official-capacity suit is, in
ali respects other than name, to be treated as a suit against the entity.”
Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 166, 105 S. Ct. 3099, 87 L. Ed. 2d
114 (1985); see also Brandon v. Holt, 469 U.S. 464, 471-72, 105 S. Ct.
873, 83 L. Ed. 2d 878 (1985); Larez v. City of Los Angeles, 946 F.2d 630,
646 (9th Cir. 1991). Such a suit “is not a suit against the official
personally, for the real party in interest is the entity.” Graham, supra.

App. 20

U.S. 1090 (1989); see also Atascadero State Hosp. uv.
Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234, 241, 105 S. Ct. 3142, 87 L. Ed. 2d
171 (1985) (holding that Art. III, § 5 of the California
Constitution did not constitute a waiver of California’s
Eleventh Amendment immunity). Furthermore, Con-
gress has not abrogated State sovereign immunity
against suits under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

The Eleventh Amendment not only bars plaintiff's
federal civil rights claims against the State of Califor-
nia/Medical Board/Consumer Affairs Department and
the named individuals in their official capacities to the
extent that plaintiff is seeking monetary damages from
them, but also plaintiffs federal civil rights claims
against those defendants to the extent that plaintiff is
seeking injunctive relief. Pennhurst, 465 U.S. at 100
(“This jurisdictional bar applies regardless of the nature
of the relief sought.”); see also Alabama v. Pugh, 438
U.S. 781, 782, 98 S. Ct. 3057, 57 L. Ed. 2d 1114 (1978)
(per curiam) (Eleventh Amendment bars claim for
injunctive relief against Alabama and its Board of
Corrections).

Moreover, plaintiffs failure to allege facts sufficient
to state a federal civil rights claim against the State of
California/Medical Board/Consumer Affairs Department
and the named individuals in their official capacities is
not a pleading deficiency capable of being remedied in
an amended pleading.

B. lai i to state a claim against

violation of th A.

The ADA provides that “no qualified individual with a
disability shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded

£56 By Re HERDS RN ROR SAARI ye Saas Se 1 ORES ony J BAe ee wae peers ; eR Sa iain Peer sia Se Ne eS ET Sy ‘. .

Ee PSS RY AME NEE SAPO AE RN EN IR PORE CS MERRIER NE RAT PONE AP LER EMOTE RRND :

App. 21

from participation in or be denied the benefits of the
services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be
subjected to discrimination by any such entity.” See 42
U.S.C. § 12132(2); Weinreich v. Los Angeles County
Metropolitan Transportation Authority, 114 F.3d 976,
978 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 423 (1997);
Crowder v. Kitagawa, 81 F.3d 1480, 1483 (9th Cir.
1996). 42 U.S.C. § 12131(2) defines “qualified individual
with a disability” in pertinent part as “an individual
with a disability who, with or without reasonable modi-
fications to rules, policies or practices ... meets the
essential eligibility requirements for the receipt of
services or the participation in programs or activities
provided by a public entity.”

The gravamen of plaintiffs ADA claim is that the
State of California violated the ADA when it denied his
medical license application on account of his mental
disability. (Plaintiff acknowledges in his opposition that
he “has suffered recurring depressions that have at
times significantly impaired his ability to function in
major activities of life.”).

Plaintiff contends in his opposition that the Elev-
enth Amendment is not a bar to an action under the
ADA. However, even assuming arguendo that plaintiff is
correct,’ plaintiff still has failed to cite any authority for
the proposition that a medical license even qualifies as
“services, programs, or activities of a public entity’
within the meaning of the ADA. As the district court

* It appears that, by the end of the current term, the United States
Supreme Court may hold otherwise.

App. 22

observed in Alexander v. Margolis, 921 F. Supp. 482
(W.D. Mich. 1995), where the plaintiffs medical license
had been revoked on account of plaintiffs mental condi-
tion:

“Considering the test of section 12132(2), it
is questionable whether the Board’s duty to li-
cense physicians can be characterized as a ‘ser-
vice’ being denied to plaintiff or whether the
Board’s refusa! to reinstate his license denies
him participation in ‘programs or activities
provided’ by a state entity. The Board of Medi-
cine is, if anything, a service, program or activ-
ity provided for the public’s benefit and safety,
not for the benefit of any given individual who
does not meet the state’s requirements for
practicing medicine.” 921 F. Supp. at 488.

In any event, even if a medical license qualifies as
“services, programs, or activities of a public entity’
within the meaning of the ADA, the Court concurs with
the conclusion of the Alexander court that a medical
license applicant who suffers from a mental disability is

not a “qualified individual with a disability” under the
ADA:

“The very nature of the police powers exer-
cised by state boards of medicine require the
state to discriminate on: the basis of, among
other considerations, a mental condition harm-
ful to the public’s safety. By the very nature of
the practice of medicine, given the physician’s
necessary independence to ‘practice’ his art, no
reasonable modification can be made to a policy
of restricting medical practice to those without
evidence of mental disabilities.... The Board
cannot exercise its duty without the discretion

OR NP abla CHC NR AHO! ot

I GLE pe PEE OE OID ODI

RAE sash icsa cca eccrine coed shtick aati dice hd ip ecto kadai ipa ee

LER SR AL OSA REPEL ROR St

APES AIO GOLA DELO LAE A

ici Reais ce sndchanardteaihas sci e Menicnd ins eeeackiel dass

App. 23

to consider the impact of a mental disability
upon one’s ability to practice with reasonable
skill and safety. The danger of irreparable
harm to the public is too great to deny the
Board such discretion. To require otherwise is
unreasonable.” 921 F. Supp. at 488.

Moreover, it does not appear to the Court that
plaintiffs failure to allege facts sufficient to state an
ADA claim is a pleading deficiency capable of being
remedied in an amended pleading.

C. Plaintiff's state law tort claims are barred by
plaintiffs failure to comply with the claims

presentation requirements.

To the extent that plaintiff purports to be alleging
state law tort claims, his claims are subject to the
provisions of the California Tort Claims Act (the “Act”).
See Cal. Govt. Code §§ 900.6 (defining “State” to include
“any office, officer, department, division, bureau, board,
commission or agency of the State”), 905.2 (requiring
tort claims for money or damages against the State to be
presented in accordance with the provisions of the Act).
Under Cal. Govt. Code § 911.2, it was incumbent on
plaintiff to present his state tort claims against the
state agencies and the individual defendants to the
State Board of Control (see Cal. Govt. Code § 900.2) not
later than six months after the accrual of his causes of
action. In neither the Complaint nor his opposition to
the Motion to Dismiss does plaintiff allege timely pres-
entation of his state tort claims in accordance with Cal.

Govt. Code § 911.2.

App. 24

Since it appears from the face of the Complaint that
plaintiffs state tort claims accrued no later than April
24, 1998, when plaintiff alleges that the Order affirming
the denial of his license application took effect, not only
is it now too late for plaintiff to present his claim, but it
also is too late for him to seek leave to present a late
claim. See Cal. Govt. Code § 911.4 (written application
to present a late claim must be presented within a
reasonable period of time not to exceed one year after
the accrual of the cause of action). Therefore, under
California law, plaintiffs state tort claims against
defendants are now barred. See, e.g., Boxall v. Sequoia
Union High School Dist., 464 F. Supp. 1104, 1113 (N.D.
Cal. 1979); Fisher v. Pickens, 225 Cal. App. 3d 708, 718,
275 Cal. Rptr. 487 (1990). Thus, plaintiffs failure to
allege facts sufficient [to] state any state tort claims also
is a pleading deficiency incapable of being remedies in
an amended complaint.

RECOMMENDATION

For ali of the foregoing reasons, IT IS RECOM-
MENDED that the District Court issue an Order: (1)
approving and adopting this Report and Recommenda-
tion; (2) dismissing plaintiffs federal civil rights claims
against the two named state agencies and the individual
defendants in their official capacities without leave to
amend; (3) dismissing plaintiffs ADA claim without
leave to amend; and (4) dismissing plaintiffs state law
tort claims without leave to amend. ’

'
i
:
'
:
'

App. 25

DATED: February 1, 2000

/s/ Robert N. Block
ROBERT N. BLOCK
UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

App. 26

APPENDIX E

FOR PUBLICATION
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MICHAEL J. HASON, M.D.,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
v.

MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA; DEPARTMENT OF
CONSUMER AFFAIRS, STATE OF CALIFORNIA;
ARLENE ADAMS, the Director of the Department of
Consumer Affairs of the State of California; NEIL FIPPIN,
individually, & as the Manager, Licensing Program of the
Medical Board of the State of California; MELINDA
ACOSTA, individually & as an official of the Medical
Board of the State of California; RON JOSEPH,
individually & as Executive Director of the Medical Board
of the State of California & as Director of the Department
of Consumer Affairs of the State of California; BRUCE
HASENKAMP, individually & as President of the Division
of Licensing of the Medical Board of the State of
California; IRA LUBELL, M.D., individually & as
President of the Division of Medical Quality of the Medical
Board of the State of California; CAROLE H. HURVITZ;
ANABEL A. IMBERT; RAQUEL D. ARIAS, Dr.; KLEA D.
BERTAKIS, Dr.; JACK BRUNER, DR.; DANIEL
LIVINGSTON; KAREN MCELLIOT; ALAN E.
SCHUMACHER, Dr.; KIP S. SKIDMORE, individually
& as Member of the Medical Board of the State of
California’s Division of Medical Quality; THOMAS A.
JOAS, Dr.; KAREN MCELLIOTT, individually & as
Officer of the Medical Board of the State of California
& its Division of Licensing; BERNARD ALPERT,
individually & as Officer of the Medical Board of the
State of California & its Division of Licensing;
MICHAEL I. SIDLEY, individually & as Executive of the

Medical Board of the State of California’s Division of

App. 27

Licensing; RAJA TOKE, Dr., individually & as Executive
of the Medical Board of the State of California’s Division
of Licensing; THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
& SENIOR INVESTIGATOR,
Defendants-Appellees.

No. 00-55980.

Filed June 26, 2002
Before: Alfred T. Goodwin, J. Clifford Wallace and
Sidney R. Thomas, Circuit Judges.

Dissent by Judge O’Scannlain

ORDER

Judge Thomas has voted to deny the petition for
rehearing en banc, and Judges Goodwin and Wallace
recommended denial.

The full court has been advised of the petition for
rehearing en banc. An active judge requested a vote on
whether to rehear the matter en banc. The matter failed to
receive a majority of the votes of the nonrecused active
judges in favor of en banc consideration. Fed. R. App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing en banc is DENIED.

O’SCANNLAIN, Circuit Judge, with whom Circuit
Judges KOZINSKI, T.G. NELSON, and KLEINFELD join,
dissenting from denial of rehearing en banc.

Stubbornly extending enforcement of Title II of the
Americans with Disabilities Act (“ADA”) against the Nine
Western States, today’s opinion blithely ignores recent
Supreme Court precedent and follows superseded cases of
our court instead. It bears repeating: This decision cannot
possibly be-right. See Vinson v. Thomas, 288 F.3d 1145,
1157-58 (9th Cir. 2002) (O’Scannlain, J., dissenting); see

App. 28

also Douglas v. Cal. Dep’t of Youth Auth., 285 F.3d 1226,
1226-27 (9th Cir. 2002) (O’Scannlain, J., dissenting from
denial of rehearing en banc). Because Hason all but invites
a grant of certiorari and reversal for putting us out of step
with the Supreme Court and creating a split with every
other circuit to have considered the issue, I must dissent
from the order denying en banc rehearing.

I

This opinion reaffirms two prior decisions of this court
— Dare v. California, 191 F.3d 1167 (9th Cir. 1999), and
Clark v. California, 123 F.3d 1267 (9th Cir. 1997) — which
concluded that Title II validly abrogated the sovereign
immunity of the several States. See Hason v. Med. Bd.,
279 F.3d 1167, 1170-71 (9th Cir. 2002). In so doing, how-
ever, it refuses to deal in a meaningful way with interven-
ing Supreme Court precedent, specifically Board of
Trustees of the University of Alabama v. Garrett, 531 U.S.
356 (2001). This, in a nutshell, is where Hason goes astray.

A bit of history is required to see clearly the misstep
that this opinion takes.

A

It is beyond dispute that recent decisions of the
Supreme Court, including Garrett, have fundamentally
changed the landscape of Eleventh Amendment jurispru-
dence. See, eg., William A. Fletcher, The Eleventh
Amendment: Unfinished Business, 75 Notre Dame L. Rev.
843, 843-44 (2000). Garrett in particular clarified, in
extensive detail, the approach that a court must take
when addressing a claim that the ADA validly abrogated
State sovereign immunity pursuant to section 5 of the

aleiad bere,

Fike 5 eee teks) PAPA tae MRA OE Re Ve oyady eta

App. 29

Fourteenth Amendment.’ Garrett drew on City of Boerne v.
Flores, 521 U.S. 507 (1997), which made clear that it was
up to the courts to “define the substance of [the] constitu-
tional guarantee[ ]” that Congress purported to enforce,
Garrett, 531 U.S. at 365 (citing Boerne, 521 U.S. at 519-
24), and that “§ 5 legislation reaching beyond the scope of
§ 1’s actual guarantees must exhibit ‘congruence and
proportionality between the injury to be prevented or
remedied and the means adopted to that end,’” id. (citing
Boerne, 521 U.S. at 520). But Garrett also elaborated on
the Boerne analysis. For instance, Garrett made clear that
once a court has “determined the metes and bounds of the
constitutional right in question,” it must examine
“whether Congress identified a history and pattern of
unconstitutional ... discrimination by the States against
the disabled.” Garrett, 531 U.S. at 368 (emphasis added). A
showing of discrimination against the disabled in general,
or discrimination by local governments rather than the
States themselves, will not do. Jd. at 368 (“Just as § 1 of
the Fourteenth Amendment applies only to actions com-
mitted ‘under color of state law,’ Congress’ § 5 authority is
appropriately exercised only in response to state trans-
gressions.”); id. at 368-69 (explaining that “[i]Jt would
make no sense to consider constitutional violations on” the

* To be more precise, in Garrett the Court explicitly addressed only
the question of whether Title I of the ADA, 42 U.S.C. § 12111 et seq.,
which prohibits discrimination against the disabled with regard to
employment, validly abrogated the States’ sovereign immunity. It did
not address whether Title II, 42 U.S.C. § 12131 et seg., which prohibits
discrimination against the disabled by public entities, did so. Garrett,
531 U.S. at 360 n.1. As I will explain in due course, however, it is the
approach set forth in Garrett, rather than any specific teachings about
Title I or Title II, which is crucial for purposes of my analysis.

App. 30

part of local governments “when only the States are the
beneficiaries of the Eleventh Amendment”).

Moreover, Garrett makes clear that generalizations
about disability discrimination and how the ADA is de-
signed to remedy it are inadequate; instead, a court must
“dissect[ ] the statutory regime in question and carefully
compare[] it to the baseline definition of constitutional
action under the Fourteenth Amendment.” Reickenbacker
v. Foster, 274 F.3d 974, 981 (5th Cir. 2001). Indeed,
“Garrett specifically focused on the burdens of proof,
exceptions, and defenses available in Title I of the ADA in
order to find that ‘the rights and remedies created by the
ADA against the States raise the same sort of concerns as
to congruence and proportionality as were found in
[Boerne].’” Id.

B

Garrett, then, refined the abrogation inquiry set out in
Boerne. Regrettably, however, both cases on which Hason
relies — Clark and Dare — were handed down before
Garrett was decided. Accordingly, they do not undertake
the searching inquiry that Garrett requires.

1

In Clark, we concluded that the ADA, as a whole,
validly abrogated the States’ sovereign immunity.’ We first

* The claims at issue in Clark were brought under Title II, but we
treated the ADA as a whole. This casts further doubt on the continued
validity of the opinion because in Garrett, the Court expressly refused

(Continued on following page)

Did? kia Re a GNS RED a ak LLL Deets

ay Ai Sot eR poor 5:

LOB BIRT

App. 31

recognized, correctly, that in Cleburne v. Cleburne Living
Center, Inc., 473 U.S. 432 (1985), the Supreme Court “held
that the disabled are protected against discrimination by
the Equal Protection Clause.” Clark, 123 F.3d at 1270. But
from there the analysis went astray, at least as seen in
hindsight through the lens of Garrett. Reading the ADA at
its most general level, we next observed that the purpose
of the ADA was “to prohibit discrimination against the
disabled,” id., and that “Congress explicitly found that
persons with disabilities have suffered discrimination,” id.
Consequently, we decided that the ADA was “within the
scope of appropriate legislation under the Equal Protection
Clause as defined by the Supreme Court,” id., and added
as a general afterthought that the Act does not “provide ]
remedies so sweeping that they exceed the harms that
they are designed to redress.” Jd. We therefore concluded
that the ADA was “validly enacted under the Fourteenth
Amendment.” Jd.

This minimalist analysis is a far cry from the detailed
approach mandated by Garrett; its infirmities are mani-
fest. It is devoid of any discussion whatsoever of legislative
findings of discrimination by States — and specifically, by
States rather than by local governments. Nor does it
analyze any of the specific provisions of Title II to arrive at
its sweeping conclusion that Title II does not provide
remedies so sweeping that they exceed the harms that
they are designed to redress — let alone does it “lay them
next to the baseline of what defines constitutional state
action under the Fourteenth Amendment,” Reickenbacker,

to conflate the separate, detailed inquiries required for each of Title I
and Title II. See Garrett, 531 U.S. at 360 n.1.

App. 32

274 F.3d at 981, or “dissect[] the statutory regime in
question and carefully compare[ ] it to the baseline defini-
tion of constitutional action under the Fourteenth
Amendment,” id., as Garrett requires.”

2

In Dare, we attempted to square Clark’s result with
the Supreme Court’s intervening decision in Florida
Prepaid Postsecondary Education Expense Board v. College
Savings Bank, 527 U.S. 627 (1999). But Dare’s approach is
no more sound than Clark’s. Like Clark’s, Dare’s congru-
ence analysis deals with legislative findings only of dis-
crimination generally — not of discrimination by States.
See Dare, 191 F.3d at 1174 (“When it enacted the ADA,
Congress made specific factual findings of arbitrary and
invidious discrimination against the disabled. On the basis
of these findings, Congress concluded that the ADA was a
necessary legislative response to a long history of arbi-
trary and irrational discrimination against people with
disabilities.”) (citation omitted). Dare’s proportionality

* For a recent example of how a court might perform this detailed
analysis in light of Garrett, parsing the legislative history of Title II and
measuring its provisions against identified instances of discrimination
against the disabled by States, see Panzardi-Santiago v. University of
Puerto Rico, __ F. Supp. 2d __, No. Civ. 95-2316, 2002 WL 638533
(D.P.R. Mar. 19, 2002) (Delgado-Colon, Magistrate J.). This careful
analysis led Magistrate Judge Delgado-Colon to conclude that “[tjhe
legislative history of the statute, particularly as to Title II, suffers from
the same deficiencies identified by the Supreme Court in Kimel [v.
Florida Board of Regents, 528 U.S. 62 (2000)] and Garrett.” Id. at *10;
see also id. at *11 (concluding that “Congress exceeded its authority in
abrogating the States’ Eleventh Amendment immunity in suits brought
pursuant to Title II of the ADA”).

App. 33

: analysis is even less tenable, if one can call it an analysis
: at all:
: Having established the ADA’s congruence with
Congress’s power to enforce the Equal Protection
: Clause, we turn to proportionality. In so doing,
i we reiterate the importance of deference to Con-
: gress in this analysis. The Supreme Court has
: specifically found protections for people with dis-
abilities to be an area in which Congressional
judgment should be given great deference. See
[Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 442-43]. The ADA is thus
an appropriate exercise of § 5 powers if Congress
enacted it in response to a widespread problem of
unconstitutional discrimination that includes
state programs and services and if the ADA’s
provisions are proportional to the scope of that
discrimination.

As noted above, Congress made extensive factual
findings regarding the widespread arbitrary and
invidious discrimination which disabled people
face. See 42 U.S.C. §12101(a). The ADA’s par-
ticular provisions for each sector then indicate
specifically the discrimination which is forbidden
and the conduct needed to remedy the discrimi-
nation. See 42 U.S.C. § 12101 et seg. Although Ti-
tle II’s provisions may prohibit some State
conduct which would pass muster under rational
basis review, the Title’s focus is on eliminating
the discrimination outlined in the factual find-
ings.

Id. at 1175 (footnotes omitted). Again, this sort of blanket
generalization, coupled this time with a generous helping
of deference to Congress, stands in stark contrast to the
provision-by-provision comparison with the constitutional
baseline that Garrett requires.

App. 34

Il.

In light of Garrett, then, it is clear that our pre-
Garrett Title II precedents are outdated. Yet Hason refuses
to acknowledge this. The discussion in the opinion dealing
with abrogation is short; indeed, it comprises all of two
paragraphs. See Hason, 279 F.3d at 1170-71. It can be
summarized as follows: (1) Clark and Dare held Title II
validly abrogated sovereign immunity; (2) Garrett did not
expressly deal with Title II; it dealt only with Title I, and
reserved judgment on Title II; ergo (3) Clark and Dare are
good law.

This logic breaks down between steps (2) and (3). To
be sure, in Garrett the Court expressly declined to decide
whether Congress validly abrogated state sovereign
immunity in enacting Title II of the ADA. See Garrett, 531
U.S. at 360 n.1. But it does not follow that because Garrett
did not invalidate Title II, our prior case law upholding it
remains relevant. For it is not just the holding of Garrett
that matters; we must also be mindful of the approach the
Court set forth there. As the foregoing analysis makes
clear, the blunt approach taken in Clark and Dare has now
been supplanted with a new, more nuanced inquiry. If we
are to follow Garrett faithfully, we must re-analyze our
prior precedents accordingly.

Two of our sister circuits have already recognized as
much, and have re-analyzed their pre-Garrett precedents
holding that Title II validly abrogated States’ sovereign
immunity. Each has concluded that Title II did not abro-
gate sovereign immunity — old circuit precedents to the
contrary notwithstanding. See Reickenbacker, 274 F.3d at
981 (concluding that Garrett “effectively overruled” prior
circuit precedent holding that Title II validly abrogated

App. 35

State sovereign immunity); Thompson v. Colorado, 278
F.3d 1020, 1034 (10th Cir. 2001), cert. denied, __ S. Ct.
___, 2002 WL 83622 (U.S. May 20, 2002).

Indeed, Hason’s holding, that Title II validly abro-
gated States’ sovereign immunity, period, splits us from
seven of our peers that have considered the issue in the
post-Garrett world. Every one, besides us, has gotten the
message that something more nuanced is required; we
now stand alone. See Klingler v. Dir., Dep't of Revenue, 281
F.3d 776, 777 (8th Cir. 2002) (affirming pre-Garrett deci-
sion holding that Title II did not validly abrogate State
sovereign immunity); Reickenbacker, 274 F.3d at 983;
Thompson, 278 F.3d at 1034; Erickson v. Bd. of Governors
of State Colls. and Univs., 207 F.3d 945, 948 (7th Cir.
2000) (questioning the continued authority of Crawford v.
Indiana Department of Corrections, 115 F.3d 481, 487 (7th
Cir. 1997), which upheld Title II as a valid abrogation of
State sovereign immunity), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1190
(2001); see also Popovich v. Cuyahoga County Court of
Common Pleas, 276 F.3d 808, 812, 815-16 (6th Cir. 2002)
(en banc) (agreeing that Title II is not a valid abrogation of
sovereign immunity when Congress is enforcing the Equal
Protection Clause, but holding that it is permissible when
enforcing the Due Process Clause); Garcia v. S.U.N.Y.
Health Scis. Center, 280 F.3d 98, 110-12 (2d Cir. 2001)
(holding that Title II actions may only be brought against
States if the plaintiff can establish that the “violation was
motivated by discriminatory animus or ill will based on
the plaintiff’s disability”); cf’ Brown v. N.C. Div. of Motor
Vehicles, 166 F.3d 698, 707 (4th Cir. 1999) (holding that a
regulation enacted pursuant to Title II did not validly
abrogate State sovereign immunity).

App. 36

Ill

Clark and Dare have gone the way of the dodo bird
and the wooly mammoth, overtaken and relegated to
extinction by the course of events. “Clark is now outdated
— and Douglas wrong — for failing to recognize the change
in the legal landscape of sovereign immunity.” Douglas,
285 F.3d at 1226-27 (O’Scannlain, J., dissenting from
denial of rehearing en banc). As every circuit to have
analyzed the issue now agrees (except, of course, ours), in
light of Garrett, Title II did not abrogate the Eleventh
Amendment immunity of the several States.

We should have taken Hason en banc to reconsider,
and to overrule, Clark and Dare. I respectfully dissent.

App. 37

APPENDIX F
Michael J. Hason, M.D.
Plaintiff in pro per
1710 NW 87 Ave.
Plantation, FL 3322 [sic]
(954) 424-4082

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA
WESTERN DIVISION
Michael J. Hason, M.D.,

Plaintiff, in pro per,

v.
The Medical Board of the State of COMPLAINT
California; Dept. of Consumer and Jury Demand

Affairs of the State of California;
Arlene Adams, the Director of the
Dept. of Consumer Affairs of the
State of California; Neil Fippin,
Individually and as the Manager,
Licensing Program of the Medical
Board of the State of California;
Melinda Acosta, Individually and
as an official of the Medical Board
of the State of California; Ron
Joseph, Individually and as Execu-
tive Director of the Medical Board
of the State of California and as
Director of the Dept. of Consumer
Affairs of the State of California;
Bruce Hasenkamp, Individually
and as President of the Division of

App. 38

Licensing of the Medical Board of
the State of California; Dr. Ira
Lubell, Individually and as Pres. of
the Division of Medical Quality of
the Medical Board of the State of
California; Dr. Carole H. Hurvitz,
Dr. Anabel A. Imbert, Dr. Raquel
D. Arias, Dr. Klea D. Bertakis, Dr.
Jack Bruner, Daniel Livingston,
Karen McElliott, Dr. Alan E
Schumacher and Kip S. Skidmore,
Individually and as Members of
the Medical Board of the State of
California’s Division of Medical
Quality; Dr. Thomas A. Joas,
Karen McElliott and Bernard
Alpert, Individually and as Offi-
cers of the Medical Board of the
State of California and its Div. of
Licensing Michael I. Sidley and Dr.
Raja Toke, Individually and as
Executives of the Medical Board of
the State of California’s Division of
Licensing; the State of California;
and Senior Investigator, Medical
Board of California,

Defendants

Background

1. The Plaintiff, Dr. Michael J. Hason, applied for a
license to practice medicine in the State of California
in the Spring of 1995. In August of 1996, the Medical
Board of the State of California (MBSC) denied Dr.
Hason’s application, citing mental illness and an act that
would require the suspension or revocation of a licensed

App. 39

physician’s license to practice medicine in the State of
California. After appeal, the service of a Statement of
Issues and a hearing the MBSC affirmed its decision in
1998. It’s Order was stayed for approximately one month
for consideration of Plaintiff's Petition for Reconsidera-
tion, which was denied. The Order took effect on about
April 24, 1998.

2. This Court has jurisdiction over the within case due to
diversity of citizenship and because the suit is based upon
federal statutes, including but not limited to the Civil
Rights Statutes 42 U.S.C. 1980-88, the Americans with
Disabilities Act, the Rehabilitation Act, if applicable, the
Constitution of the United States of America, including
but not limited to the due process clause and the equal
protection clauses of the 14th Amendment, the privileges
and immunities clauses and the 13th Amendment, if
applicable, and the statutes and Constitution of the State
of California, as applicable.

As and for a First Cause of Action

3. The Defendants proceeded under statutes which were
violative of the Constitution of the United States and that
of the State of California, including, but not limited to
their use and application of a vague and overbroad State
statute that targeted applicants and physician licensees
who were described in the licensing statute as mentally ill,
where this group also included physicians who had a
history of mental illness and who were not actively men-
tally ill, or who were actively mentally ill, but able to
practice medicine safely anyway.

4. All or many of these individuals and/or Dr. Hason
were targeted for increased scrutiny and investigation

App. 40

which promoted the exclusion of these physicians from the
practice of medicine in the State of California, regardless
of their ability to practice medicine safely or the fact that
they were otherwise qualified.

5. The statutes on their face and as applied are unconsti-
tutional, should be declared void and all decisions had
under them should be declared void and of no effect,
including and particularly, decisions regarding the license
application of Dr. Hason, such as decisions made by
Defendants August 1996 and April 1998 denying Dr.
Hason’s application for a medical license.

6. The statutes referred to include, but are not limited to
the statute that states that a license to practice medicine
may be denied for the reason of mental illness.

As and for a Second Cause of Action

7. The Plaintiff repeats the allegations numbered 1-3, as
if more fully set forth here. The Defendants violated the
Plaintiff's rights under the Americans with Disabilities
Act by illegally and invasively requesting that he provide
to them all medical records concerning his history of
treatment for depression which extended back to the year
1970.

8. The Defendants further violated Plaintiff's rights
under the ADA by not properly applying the “direct
threat” standard enunciated by the EEOC and Justice
Dept. as the proper standard to find that a license appli-
cant is a danger to his prospective patients or others. The
Defendants did this throughout the application proceed-
ings, including, but not limited to, their initial decision in
Aug. 1996, their behavior after getting input from Dr.

App. 41

David Glaser, their behavior after getting input from
Florida from Dr. Robert Perovich and Mr. David Molko,
M.S.W., and did so by adopting the administrative Judge’s
decision which did not properly apply this standard. The
Defendants did not properly apply the standard in consid-
ering the Plaintiff's Petition for Reconsideration as that
Petition established Plaintiff's readiness to practice
medicine safely and identified many irregularities in the
proceedings had against Dr. Hason by the MBSC and its
agents.

9. The Defendants violated the ADA by not accommodat-
ing Plaintiff by offering him a probationary medical
license, conditioned on his agreement and actual coopera-
tion with some supervising physician and/or psychiatrist
and/or psychotherapist for psychotherapy, guidance and/or
other supervision, as needed, reasonable and legal.

As for a Third Cause of Action

10. The Plaintiff repeats allegations numbered 1-9, as if
more fully set forth here. Apparently, after receipt of
Plaintiff's medical record from 1992 hospitalization in
Philadelphia, an executive of the Medical Board recklessly
determined and stated in writing that the Plaintiff was a
“narcissistic jerk,” and stated that the Medical Board of
the State of California (MBSC) should seek a psychiatric
evaluation of Plaintiff in order to block his application’s
viability, thus biasing all further proceedings and destroy-
ing their objectivity. On information and belief, this
document was also published to Dr. Michael Meek, preju-
dicing that consultant’s initial mindset and biasing his
ultimate opinions later expressed in his report to the

App. 42

MBSC about the summer of 1996 and in his testimony
during Sept. and Oct. 1997.

As for a Fourth Cause of Action

11. The Plaintiff repeats allegations numbered 1-5, as if
more fully set forth here. Plaintiff was directed to pay
MBSC $2000.00 as a charge for the evaluation by their
psychiatric consultant, Dr. Michael Meek (Meek), which
fee was calculated to illegally exclude the Plaintiff from
the practice of medicine in California.

As for a Fifth Cause of Action

12. The MBSC and Defendants intentionally and/or
recklessly hired an unqualified and biased psychiatrist to
evaluate the Plaintiff.

13. Further, the MBSC specifically encouraged the bias
of the psychiatrist Meek, conspiring with him, by showing
him the written statement of the MBSC official who had
stated that the Plaintiff was a “narcissistic jerk.” Further,
they controlled and biased the psychiatrist’s perceptions
and conclusions by paying him only in cases where he filed
a negative report. Thus, they made it perfectly clear to
Meek that they sought negative reports on physicians
referred to him for evaluation and/or on Dr. Hason and not
fair and objective evaluations. These actions and the
conspiracy among the Defendants impaired Plaintiff's
rights to a fair psychiatric evaluation and prejudiced
beyond repair the objective consideration of Plaintiff's
application for a medical license.

App. 43

As for a Sixth Cause of Action

14. The Plaintiff repeats allegations 1-13, as if more fully
set forth here. Despite the unqualified Psychiatrist’s
finding that the Plaintiff's mental status was essentially
normal, and despite the Plaintiff's score of normal on the
highly respected MMPI psychological test, the MBSC and
other Defendants accepted the Psychiatrist’s trumped up
conclusions and false recitation of facts regarding Plaintiff.
These facts included, but were not limited to 1) the psy-
chiatrist Meek’s claim that the Plaintiff abandoned his
patients when he was a resident at the State University of
New York at Stony Brook during 1993-94 and 2) was
absent without leave for an extended period of time from
his residency post at Stony Brook in about May of 1994
and just inexplicably turned up at a hotel in New Orleans,
were patently false, calculated to obstruct justice and
could have easily been checked out by Meek or the MBSC,
or the Defendants. They intentionally and recklessly did
not do so, even after Plaintiff's refutation, pleadings,
explanations and denials under oath in Sept. 1997. The
Defendants recklessly continued to use these bogus facts
in an attempt to paint the Plaintiff as a dangerous physi-
cian and confuse and mislead the Administrative Judge
assigned to Plaintiff’s case.

15. The Defendants also accepted their psychiatrist
Meek’s bogus diagnosis for Plaintiff of narcissistic person-
ality disorder on the basis of totally inadequate evidence
and were reckless in their use of this bogus diagnosis to
trump up a case against Plaintiff.

16. Similarly, they adopted and promoted a bogus diag-
nosis of multiple drug dependency authored by Dr. Meek,

App. 44

despite clear evidence of the incorrectness of this diagno-
sis.

17. The Defendants also acted improperly by adopting
the results of the inappropriately administered personality
test named for its creator Dr. Millon and countenanced the
exaggerated used [sic] of this unreliable data, by adopting
Meek’s stretch of narcissistic trait score on the test into a
diagnosis of a full blown personality disorder.

18. The Defendants also countenanced Meek’s numerous
exaggerations, fabrications, wild illogical conclusions and
accusations, including, but not limited to, those presented
as evidence of “bias” in the Closing Statement of Plaintiff's
attorney, Ms. Kollar, incorporated here as if more fully set
forth, and those presented by Plaintiff in his Petition for
Reconsideration, incorporated here, as if more fully set
forth.

As for a Sixth [sic] Cause of Action

19. The Plaintiff repeats allegations numbered 1-18, as if
more fully set forth here. After receiving Plaintiff's notice
of appeal MBSC and Defendants drew up a Statement of
Issues that included a bogus charge relating to the claim
that the Plaintiff was mentally ill.

20. They did not serve it upon the Plaintiff until months
after the proper time for service.

21. Further, they included a second charge based on
Plaintiff's failure to include his attendance at a residency
at the Graduate Hospital in Aug.-Oct. 1992. They did this,
after Plaintiff fully cooperated with them, giving them
information about his attendance at the Hospital, which
included positive statements by one Elliot Nierman,

App. 45

Program Director, which showed that Plaintiff had not
failed to present information that was material to the
question of whether he was entitled to a license to practice
medicine in California.

22. Further, they rejected positive evaluations and
certifications that Dr. Hason was safe, from two Board
Certified psychiatrists, Dr. David Glaser and later Dr.
Robert Perovich, both of whom, had enjoyed an extended
opportunity to evaluate Dr. Hason for his ability to prac-
tice medicine safely.

As for a Seventh Cause of Action

23. The Defendants also delayed the scheduling of the
administrative hearing on appeal well beyond the 90 day
limit of the relevant statute, did not apply to the Adminis-
trative Hearings Division or Judge for statutorily permit-
ted extensions of time for good reasons shown and
scheduled the hearing beyond the date permitted even by
the maximum number of permitted extensions.

As for a [sic] Eighth Cause of Action

24. At Plaintiff's hearing on the appeal in the Fall of
1997, Defendants made many false and misleading asser-
tions against the Plaintiff, in bad faith, regarding facts
that were false and that could easily have been verified
and found to be false and which also included many
trumped up exaggerations obstructing justice. Thus, they
provided the Administrative Law Judge with a confused
and spurious database and a difficult decision concerning
the safety of granting a license to Dr. Hason.

App. 46

25. To repeat, they failed to properly investigate the facts
that they relied upon and took no proper action to re-
evaluate their data, once they were pointedly alerted to
the falsity of their data by Dr. Hason’s sworn testimony at
the hearing, by the questions of Ms. Kollar, Dr. Hason’s
attorney and by other more obvious inconsistencies and
patent absurdities, promoted for them by Meek.

26. They intentionally and recklessly ignored the facts
that Dr. Hason had worked as a physician caring for
approximately 500 patients, without suffering any sub-
stantiated charge of negligence, or suffering any accusa-
tion of depression, narcissism or hypomania by his
supervising physicians at St. Vincent’s Hospital, Bridge-
port, CT, 1991-92, SUNY at Stony Brook, 1993-94 or at the
VA Medical Center, W. Los Angeles, 1994-95. They further
ignored the fact that on the occasions when Dr. Hason did
work as a physician, while actually depressed, no supervi-
sor accused him of any act of negligence.

27. By not weighing these facts, the Defendants did not
obey the dictates of the ADA which required that they find
and prove that Dr. Hason posed a “direct threat” to the
health and safety of his prospective patients or others. If
the Defendants still were justifiably concerned, they failed
to accommodate Plaintiff as required by the ADA

As for and [sic] Ninth Cause of Action

28. The Plaintiff repeats allegations numbered 1-27, as if
set forth here more fully. The Defendants, further, abused
their discretion by failing to properly evaluate, investigate
and articulate a written or reasonable decision, with
regard to the information advanced by Dr. Hason in his
Petition for Reconsideration, including but not limited to

App. 47

the information that Dr. Hason had not abandoned any
patients while at Stony brook, was well and ready to
practice medicine in California safely and that he was
agreeable to and felt that an accommodation, such as a
probationary license, was appropriate.

29. MBSC and Defendants refused to seriously consider
psychiatric updates from Dr. Perovich, a board certified
psychiatrist and David Molko, M.S.W., both of whom had
treated and observed Dr. Hason for more than six months
by the time that the Petition was being reviewed by MBSC
and Defendants. Further, the statements by these health
professionals made it clear that Dr. Hason was following
the health maintenance suggestions of the Defendants and
was stable and highly likely to remain in treatment, as
long as necessary (and continue to benefit from the ther-
apy) all in accord with what the Defendants had indicated
was good and necessary for the safe practice of medicine
by Dr. Hason.

30. Those two professionals, Dr. Perovich and Mr. Mc'ko,
were continuing to treat Dr. Hason again in line with the
Defendants expressed suggestions and original reserva-
tions to licensing. The mental health experts, both filed
very positive reports, certifying again Dr. Hason’s safety to
practice medicine based on an even longer period of
examination. They also made statements evidencing their
serious reservations about the conclusions of the MBSC’s
psychiatrist Dr. Meek, which apparently the Defendants
did not consider appropriately and which did not prompt
any further serious consideration of the situation fostered
by the acts of Defendants. Once again, the two health
professionals recertified to the Defendants that Dr. Hason
was stable and safe to practice medicine. All of this was
ignored intentionally, because of the MBSC’s bias and

App. 48

invidious discriminatory inclinations regarding Dr. Hason,
whom they accused of mental illness and being unsafe to
practice medicine in the State of California to cover their
invidious subjective discriminatory biases against him for
having had a history of depression and other factors like
his leaving out the Graduate Hospital from his application
and their receipt of certain phony accusations by Dr. Davis
of SUNY at Stony Brook and because of the false and
deceptive acts and behavior of Meek, i.e., they used this
accusation of mental illness as a trumped up mechanism
to block Dr. Hason’s application when, in reality, they
chose to deny the license on illegal and hidden bases,
denying Dr. Hason the equal protection of the laws.

As and for a Ninth Cause of Action

31. The Plaintiff repeats the allegations numbered 1-30,
as if more fully set forth here. The Defendants violated
Plaintiff's right to a fair and speedy hearing under the
relevant statutory 90 day period within which they must
hold a [sic] such a hearing to decide Plaintiff’s appeal.
This period began to run after Plaintiff's appeal from
Defendants’ initial decision of August, 1996 denying
Plaintiff's application for a medical license.

As and for a Tenth Cause of Action

32. The Plaintiff repeats the allegations numbered 1-33,
as if more fully set forth here. The Defendants informed
Dr. Hason that his license had been denied for two rea-
sons, mental illness and his doing of an act that would
cause the MBSC to suspend or revoke the license of a
physician already licensed in California. They failed to
explain to the Plaintiff how he was mentally ill. They

App. 49

failed to tell Dr. Hason what act he had done that they
were relying upon. They thus severely intruded on Dr.
Hason’s due process rights and ability to decide upon
whether to appeal and how he could defend himself.

As for an Eleventh Cause of Action

33. The Plaintiff repeats allegations numbered 1-32, as if
more fully set forth here. The bare bones denial of license
- served in August, 1996 was also calculated to intentionally
inflict emotional distress, was outrageous and did cause
Plaintiff to suffer severe emotional and ultimately conse-
quential emotion or stress induced and other physical

injury.

As for a Twelfth Cause of Action

34. The Plaintiff repeats allegations numbered 1-33, as if
more fully set forth here. The Defendants proceeded on a
Statement of Issues that included charges relating to
mental illness that were bogus and unworthy of serious
legal consideration. The Defendants failed to state an
actionable cause for license denial in the acceptable
domain of mental illness reasons for denial. They trumped
up some tale about how Plaintiff had a narcissistic per-
sonality disorder, had been depressed in the past and
would not seek treatment if he got depressed, because the
narcissistic personality disorder would prevent him from
understanding that he needed treatment to hide illegal or
no proper bases to deny Dr. Hason a license.

35. They also relied on a second charge based on the
failure of the Plaintiff to include some data about the
Graduate Hospital, that was essentially collateral to the
necessary determination of Plaintiff’s fitness to practice

App. 50

medicine safely in California, after Plaintiff had cooper-
ated fully with them in the production of information
relating to his training at the Graduate Hospital.

As for a Thirteenth Cause of Action

36. The Plaintiff repeats the allegations numbered 1-35,
as if more fully set forth here. The Defendants acted in
violations of 42 U.S. Code 1981-88, et seq., by acting under
the color of state law and doing the many acts referred to
in this Complaint which were intended to deprive the
Plaintiff of his rights protected under the Constitution and
the Statutes of the United States of America as well as the
Constitution and Statutes of the State of California. The
actions of the Defendants violated the Plaintiff's liberty
rights by preventing him from choosing and working in
the profession of his choice, obtaining the proper license
and living and working in the State of his choice after
recent entry into the State of California.

37. They also violated his due process rights by making
an adversarial game and using lies and distortions instead
of a fair and proper evaluation of Plaintiff's skills, abili-
ties, mental condition and shortcomings.

38. They violated his equal protection rights by treating
Plaintiff unlike others similarly situated with a history of
mental illness and no recent active illness and/or those
with mental illness who were still safe to practice medi-
cine, by doing all of the acts mentioned herein calculated
to make anyone with a history of mental illness and/or Dr.
Hason particularly, or with mental illness but safe to
practice medicine, despite the illness, look as if they were
unsafe and that no reasonable accommodation or agree-
ment or adjustment could make them safe.

App. 51

As for a Thirteenth Cause of Action

39. The Plaintiff repeats each allegations [sic] numbered
1-38, as if more fully set forth here. The Defendants
violated Plaintiff’s rights under the Privileges and Immu-
nities Clause of of [sic] the United States Constitution that
protects the right of citizens to travel between States and
to live in any State with the same rights as its other
citizens including, but not limited to, living and working in
one’s chosen profession, obtaining necessary licenses from
the government, having a family and supporting it
through paid work as a physician, licensed or otherwise
and thus the Defendants also violated Dr. Hason’s rights
and/or violated similar rights of others similarly situated
with Dr. Hason with regards to his recent entry into the
State and/or that factor in combination of Dr. Hason’s
memberships in the class of those with a history of mental
illness. They violated the Privileges and Immunities
Clause of the United States Constitution by treating
Plaintiff differently than other residents of the State of
California, by preventing him from working in the State of
California as a physician, the profession which he had
chosen and in which he was qualified legally, and by
harming him in further ways as elaborated in this Com-
plaint and by constructively or literally driving him out of
the State of California. They did this for the reasons
already mentioned concerning their biases about mental
illness and their hidden agenda other than a valid belief in
Dr. Hason’s actual mental illness or proper evidence
thereof and painted Dr. Hason as mentally ill and unsafe
because Plaintiff was an “outsider,” an individual recently
arrived from New York State and a person whom they
wished to drive from their State and following the lead of
Meek, from medicine entirely.

App. 52

As and for a Fourteenth Cause of Action

40. The Plaintiff repeats each allegation numbered 1-39,
as if more fully set forth here. The Defendants violated
Plaintiff's rights by violating his rights under the 13th
Amendment of the constitution of the United States of
America by attempting to create a class of slaves including
the mentally ill who were able to function safely in profes-
sional positions and those with a history of mental illness.
The Plaintiff was a member of this class. This class of
slaves, including Dr. Hason, was deemed unable to work
as a freeman [sic] who could chose their profession and
seek business among the populace. Dr. Hason was treated
as someone who would not be allowed to provide for
himself, not be allowed to have a family which he could
support and would be told how he was to care for his own
health and was told not to contribute to decisions that
others would make about how he should care for his
health, which were a further violation of Plaintiff’s liberty.

As and for a Fifteenth Cause of Action

41. The Plaintiff repeats each allegation numbered 1
through 40, as if more fully set forth here. The Defendants
violated Plaintiff's rights under the State of California’s
Constitution and statutes, including but not limited to
those clauses protecting the Plaintiff’s right to pursue and
obtain happiness, work, reputation, possessions with free
enjoyment thereof, and to do so under conditions of liberty,
due process and the equal protection of the laws. They also
violated California’s statutory declaration of the right to
equal protection in employment for all individuals “other-
wise qualified.”

App. 53

As and for an [sic] Sixteenth Cause of Action

42. The Plaintiff repeats each allegation numbered 1
through 41, as if more fully set forth here. The Defendants
violated the Plaintiff's rights by invading his privacy as
prohibited by the due process clause of the Constitution of
the United States, 14th Amendment, substantively, by
acts including, but not limited to, requesting all of Plain-
tiff’s medical records relating to psychotherapeutic treat-
ment and treatment for depression, by directing him to
appear for an examination by a psychiatrist, by choosing a
biased and unqualified psychiatrist, by encouraging that
psychiatrist to falsify the facts and his conclusions about
Dr. Hason, thus further forcing Dr. Hason to produce
documents and testify on his own behalf concerning °
private matters and to testify under cross-examination
about private matters and to generate arguments, state-
ments and documents revealing private matters, all
necessary to try and overturn, oppose and influence the
decisions of the Defendants. The Defendants acted in this
manner, despite constant warnings to Defendants of the
illegality of their acts.

As for a Seventeenth Cause of Action

43. The Plaintiff repeats allegations numbered 1-42, as if
more fully set forth here. The Defendants conspired among
themselves, while considering and doing the acts com-
plained of in this Complaint, thus further violating the
Plaintiff's rights under the federal and State laws already
mentioned, including, but not limited to, 42 U.S.C. 1985
and the ADA.

App. 54

Damages

44. With respect to each cause of action, the Defendants
have severely injured Dr. Hason’s reputation, irreparably
and permanently, and damaged Dr. Hason emotionally,
physically, and financially. Further, the consequences of
the Defendants’ acts mentioned herein have been to
seriously impair Plaintiff's ability to proceed in an unim-
paired fashion with his life and medical career. The
Defendants, further, acted intentionally, recklessly and/or
in violation of established law and therefore are liable to
the Plaintiff for punitive damages in addition to compen-
satory damages, including all consequential and/or fore-
seeable damages.

45. The facts described in the entire Complaint are all
alleged by the Plaintiff to be actionable under each and
every theory stated in the Complaint.

WHEREFORE, the Plaintiff, Michael J. Hason,
Requests that this Court decide and adjudge before or
after a jury trial that the Defendants are liable for dam-
ages to the Plaintiff in the amount of $20,000,000 on each
cause of action and an additional $20,000,000 for punitive
damages on each cause of action, plus attorneys fees,
expenses and costs, and requests that this Court direct the
MBSC to issue to Dr. Hason a license to practice medicine
in California, and find that the statute permitting the
Medical Board of the State of California to find individu-
als, or Dr. Hason, unfit to practice medicine due to mental
illness to be unconstitutional, void for reasons of its
vagueness, overbreadth, violative of the Americans with
Disabilities Act, violation of other federal civil rights
statutes and the 14th Amendment of the Constitution of
the United States, or to hold similarly as applied in the

App. 55

case of Dr. Hason’s application for a medical license, and
grant other and further relief to the Plaintiff that is fair
and just in the premises.

Dated: April 16, 1999 /s/ Michael J. Hason

Michael J. Hason, M.D.
Plaintiff, in pro per

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0475%3A01. Public record. Not legal advice.
