# Reply Brief — Ballard v. Garrett

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0427%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 1104

## Text

No. 02-426

CFRi- ‘
*CB OF THE CL PPR

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

a
—

TERESA BALLARD, ET AL.,
Petitioners,

Vs

PHYLLIS GARRETT AND ADVANCE AMERICA,
CASH ADVANCE CENTERS OF ARKANSAS, INC.,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF ARKANSAS

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

DAVID G. NIXON RICHARD A. FISHER
Counsel of Record

THE NIXON LAW FIRM | THE FISHER LAW FIRM
2340 GREEN ACRES RD. 1510 STUART ROAD
SUITE 12 SUITE 210
FAYETTEVILLE, AR 72703 CLEVELAND, TN 37364
TEL: (479) 582-0020 TEL: (423) 479-7009

Counsel for Petitioners

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TP CA ii ins inc tici creat incninsnsiitsiniiinnsaesnnseilienbagist i
FADED OR AFIT cin secesscessssinesessiesensnnsenes ii
SFE ERNE GIP BEER I sss sissicccscsinseiscescispyeceerenseatzeneisnavonee 1
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION .............ccceseesees 2
I. The Decision of the Arkansas Supreme Court
Conflicts with Recent Precedent of this Court............. 3

II. The Appellate Rule of the Arkansas Supreme Court
Denies Equal Protection to the Petitioners and to All

Other Similarly Situated Litigants. ...... eee 4
ans RD AE GUIS II iestssnsoesinicarsosieesinsnssnnainevesenisvonens fe)
IV. The Question Presented is Important. .......0.0. eee 6

Si PN MTTES setusbuiinstniiiiinoishthieiiaipicasaibsrbeddscewenicpeskinnsvisisnkarnoncebiond 6
PETITIONERS’ SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX... eee la
PI IN hi sen icihssscecsibn scence scahetanicies cians la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Federal Cases
City News & Novelty, Inc. v. City of Waukesha, 531

U.S. 278, 121 S.Ct. 743, 148 L.Ed.2d 757 (2001)... 5
Devlin v. Scardelletti, 536 U.S. ---, 122 S.Ct. 2005, 153
1 MG UR Aa NIE steninserdisiliesebadilesiccatgn nasrncaaphictecinaiiiahieouabinnaiton 3,4

Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Environmental
Services (TOC), Inc., 528 U.S. 167, 120 S.Ct. 693,

BES Tae ee Oe Gh cece cali caie seseoneninemceshcatialinhdistnbessstenons 5
Federal Rules
Sis, BCE I. ns ciaccrcg und aac ecutnsastiss 3
State Rules
ARK... RAPP FG sinssvinisnuisconnpeniunpeaivnieasluinaunaciiiamameannmnataiien 3
ARK. K. CAV 8, Ba. cicnvcccstinesaniiiimseaseiohanadeesakailliasdabsteiviaaveliceniess 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Despite Respondent Advance America’s repeated
assertions to the contrary, the Petitioners never “refused” to
post the $ 750,000.00 bond ordered by the trial court (Opp.
Brf., pp. 2, 5, 6and never “defied” that order (Opp. Brf., p. 6),
both of which labels connote intentional acts of disobedience
by the Petitioners.1 As the record below clearly shows, the
Petitioners - former payday lending customers of Advance
America -- were unable to raise the $ 750,000.00 to
$ 825,000.00 in cash and property required to comply with
the order.

Advance America then proceeds to inform this Court
that the issue is moot because the underlying trial court
order requiring the bond was set aside on November 18,
2002 - the date their Opposition Brief was filed here. That
statement is simply and patently untrue. As of the date this
Reply Brief is being written, no trial court order to that effect
has been found of record by the Petitioners after repeated
inquiry, although an order is apparently being circulated.
Moreover, if such an order existed, why was it not included
in Advance America’s Appendix? More will be said on this
subject below.

The Petitioners were unaware of the trial court’s October
2, 2002 order denying Garrett's Motion for Contempt until
they received the Respondents’ November 12, 2002 Joint
Motion to Vacate Order Requiring Objectors to Post
Supersedeas Bond by telecopier. On Friday, November 15 -
while Petitioners’ counsel was out of town - a notice arrived
from the trial court for a telephonic hearing on the Joint
Motion to be conducted at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, November
18. Petitioners prepared a written response to the Joint
Motion and transmitted it by Telecopier to the trial court at

‘It should also be remembered that this so-called “supersedeas” bond
was ordered in the absence any supersedeas order whatsoever.

approximately 8:30 a.m. the morning of November 18.
(Supp. App. 1a.) Petitioners did not appear by telephone for
the hearing because counsel mistakenly believed the trial
court was initiating the call and, when counsel discovered
otherwise and called the trial court, the hearing was
concluded. As stated above, Petitioners have made repeated
inquiries of the trial court, its staff, the trial court clerk’s
office and counsel for Advance America for a copy of any
order resulting from that hearing and have been made aware
of no such order being signed or entered by the trial court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The weakness of the Respondents’ argument is evident
from the form of their response... Garrett has waived her
right to respond and Advance America has ignored the
equal protection violation sharply focused before us by the
Arkansas Supreme Court's denial of standing. Instead - as
has been typical in these proceedings - procedural
manipulation is being substituted for merit: If the
Respondents can’t win on the merits, they will blatantly
attempt to deprive this Court of jurisdiction to hear the
matter, even if they have to bend the facts and law a little to
get it done.

The timeline of their attempt to moot this issue is evident
as is their misrepresentation of fact concerning the trial
court’s order. Their presumption in being able to secure the
order they sought through their Joint Motion to Vacate
should also be noted, however: If their Opposition Brief was
due to be filed on November 18 (the same day for which
they obtained a hearing on their Joint Motion), their Brief
must have gone to the printer containing the presumed fact
that the requested order was obtained and entered.

The “fly in the ointment,” however, was that the relief
they sought from the trial court - once again - was clearly
beyond what the trial court had authority to grant. The

tO

- - Re

Petitioners in their Response to the Joint Motion
demonstrated this. Where in the past, they were able to
obtain a supersedeas bond in the absence of a supersedeas
order, or obtain approval of a settlement agreement without
putting on any real evidence to show its fairness (other than
some financial information submitted under seal and not
subject to cross-examination), this time the trial court
apparently thought better of it.

I. The Decision of the Arkansas Supreme Court Conflicts
with Recent Precedent of this Court.

Advance America implies that Petitioners were untimely
in raising the constitutional issues of standing and equal
protection below. (Opp. Brf., pp. 4, 7.) It must be
remembered that those issues were not presented until the
Arkansas Supreme Court dismissed their appeal and denied
the Petitioners an opportunity to be heard. They then timely
raised those issues in their Petition for Rehearing to the
Arkansas Supreme Court, which rejected those arguments.

Advance America also incorrectly suggests that this
Court's decision in Devlin v. Scardelletti, 536 U.S. ---, 122 S.Ct.
2005, 153 L.Ed.2d 27 (2002), does not apply because we are
dealing here with the question of appellate standing arising
under ARK. R. App. P. 8. (Opp. Brf., p. 5.) The Arkansas
Supreme Court, however, distinguished Devlin because it
dealt with FED. R. Clv. P. 23, while the instant case dealt
with ARK. R. Clv. P. 23. (App. A, pp. 12a-13a.)

Advance America then attempts to justify the Arkansas
Supreme Court's rejection of Devlin on the grounds that the
appellant in Devlin did not have the ability to opt out of the
settlement. Advance America implies that the Petitioners
deserve to be denied their right of appeal below because
they “attempt[ed] to intervene at the last minute, rather than

opt out of a settlement to which they objected.”2 (Opp. Brf.,
p. 9.) In the first place, this Court only committed one
sentence in Devlin to the fact that the appellant did not have
the ability to opt out of the settlement class. All of the
remainder of the Devlin opinion went to the fundamental
constitutional policies requiring that absent class members
be given a right to be heard if they timely preserve their
objections. This Court has never stated that non-intervening
class members’ only real option is to “take it or leave it.”
Indeed, such a position would be manifestly contrary to the
history of class action practice, which was designed to
permit persons with small individual claims to join together
and seek an economically viable remedy. To prohibit them
from appealing an unfair and inadequate class settlement if
they have the right to opt out and pursue their small
individual claim leaves them with no real remedy at all.
Those who step forward and appeal are - in effect - doing so
as representatives for the remainder of the class who will all
benefit if the appeal is successful. This analysis is also
consistent with this Court’s reversal of the U.S. Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit's decision to dismiss an
appeal for lack of standing? pursuant to Devlin that
concerned an opt-out class.‘

II. The Appellate Rule of the Arkansas Supreme Court
Denies Equal Protection to the Petitioners and to All
Other Similarly Situated Litigants.

Advance America completely ignores this aspect of the
Petition for Certiorari. Perhaps it did so (and opted for
attempting to moot the Petition, instead) because the
Petitioners’ position is so manifestly correct. Even if Devlin

2 Petitioners moved to intervene as soon as the trial court certified the
class and notice of certification and settlement was given.

3In re ral i i . Co. Sales Practi itigation, 268 F.3d
627 (8th Cir.(Mo.) 2001)

4 Henderson v. General American Life Ins. Co., 122 S.Ct. 2584 (Mem),
153 L.Ed.2d 773 (Jun 17, 2002).

ea en EN mENN T rman

did not apply to this situation, the fact that other parties in
Arkansas are allowed to appeal similar orders while the
Petitioners (and all who follow them) are not establishes a
regime for the arbitrary denial of equal protection now and
in the future, especially since the Arkansas Supreme Court

published its opinion and intends for trial courts and-

litigants to rely on it hereafter.

III. This Issue is not Moot.

Not only is there no evidence that the trial court has set
aside its original order requiring the bond (which would be
objectionable in itself under Arkansas law), the precedent
created by the Arkansas Supreme Court will continue to
bind future litigants and trial courts.

Moreover, dismissal of this Petition would not
necessarily leave Advance America and Garrett free to
perform the settlement agreement since - as alluded to in the
Petition herein (p. 7, fn. 2) - the Petitioners intend to bring
that issue before this Court via a Petition for Certiorari5 The
fact that Advance America and Garrett have voluntarily
attempted to deprive this Court of jurisdiction by
improperly (and only allegedly) vacating the initial order
does not necessarily render the issue moot where it is
capable of repetition. See, e.g., Friends of the Earth, Inc. v.
Laidlaw Environmental Services (TOC), Inc., 528 U.S. 167, 191-
92, 120 S.Ct. 693, 709-10, 145 L.Ed.2d 610 (2000); City News &
Novelty, Inc. v. City of Waukesha, 531 U.S. 278, 283-84, 121
S.Ct. 743, 746-47, 148 L.Ed.2d 757 (2001).

* This Petition, the anticipated Petition on the denial of their right to
appeal from approval of the settlement agreement, and the Petition in
Ballard v. Martin, No. 02-542, al! deal with the recent adoption in Arkansas
of procedural rules dealing with class action settlements.

————
aa aa aN

IV. The Question Presented is Important.

This issue presented is fundamental and important: Will
class members who object and are ordered to post bonds on
pain of contempt be allowed appellate review in Arkansas
Courts? Do they have standing to do so? Are they denied
equal protection and due process if appeal is denied them?

The Petitioners believe this questions - while
fundamental - are essential to the developing law of class
action practice in Arkansas and that it is important to “get it
right” from the outset. This Court, with only a light hand on
the tiller, can significantly influence the rights of absent class
members here. 7

CONCLUSION

The Petitioners respectfully request this Court to enter its
order reversing and remanding these proceedings to the
Arkansas Supreme Court for proceedings in conformity with
this Court's ruling.

Respectfully Submitted:

David G. Nixon

THE NIXON LAW FIRM

2340 Green Acres Road, Ste 12
Fayetteville, AR 72703

Tel: 479-582-0020

Fax: 479-582-0030

Richard A. Fisher, Esq.
THE FISHER LAW FIRM
1510 Stuart Road, Ste 210
Cleveland, TN 37364-0191
Tel: 423-479-7009

Attorneys for Petitioners
Teresa Ballard, Kenisha Bryant,
and Cheryl King

s:\check cashing cases\state actions\garrett v. advance america, no. ca 01-1182
(appeal-bond)\ certiorari, reply brief.doc

PETITIONERS’ SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX

Appendix A

THE NIXON LAW FIRM

ATTORNEYS & COUNSELORS
SUITE 12
2340 GREEN ACRES ROAD
FAYETTEVILLE, ARKANSAS 72703

TELEPHONE: (501) 582-0020
FACSIMILE: (501) 582-0030

DAVID G. NIXON, J.D., C.P.A.t RALPH T. HUDSON, PARALEGAL
PAIGE E. YOUNG, J.D., LL.M. (TAXATION) KELLY MCNEAL, PARALEGAL
THERESA L. POCKRUS, J.D.

t Admitted in Arkansas and Oklahoma

November 28, 2002

Via Facsimile Only: (870) 246-9378

Honorable John A. Thomas

CLARK COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT
P.O. Box 966

Arkadelphia, Arkansas 71923-0966

Re: Garrett v. Advance America, Cash Advance
Centers of Arkansas, Inc., CIV 99-152 (Clark
County, Ark. Circuit)

la

Dear Judge Thomas:

We write with respect to the Joint Motion to Vacate
Order currently set for telephonic hearing this morning at
9:00 a.m. Thank you for allowing us to appear by telephone.
We received this Motion by telecopier the morning of
November 12 and were out of the office Friday for CLE
when your call came in setting today’s hearing. We did not
have time to formally respond and ask the Court's
indulgence in doing so through this letter. We were also not
sent a copy of the Court’s October 2 Order, but did acquire a
copy of it after receiving this Motion. We also want to make
sure a record is being made of today’s hearing. ~

1. The Background

This is not the first time the Movants have asked you
to do something not permitted by Arkansas law. For
example, they tried to have this Court dismiss this the [sic]
Objectors’ appeal while it was pending in the Arkansas
Supreme Court. They also tried to have this Court hold the
Objectors in contempt while jurisdiction was still in the
Arkansas Supreme Court. As we suggest below, you are
now being asked to perform an act outside of your authority.

This matter is currently the subject of a Petition for
Certiorari pending in the U. S. Supreme Court. In addition,
the Objectors fully intend and are in the process of filing a
Petition for Certiorari with regard to the dismissal of their
appeal on the settlement agreement itself.

The justifications advanced by the Movants revolve
around allegations that granting their Motion is in the best
interests of the class in order to set aside the existing
superseadas [sic]. However, as you already know, you have
never entered a superseadas [sic] and the parties obligations
under the settlement agreement are not ripe until all appeals
are concluded. Despite allegations of willful misconduct by

the Objectors, their failure to post a $ 750,000.00 was clearly
not willful (i.e., was not a “refusal” to comply)... They
simply lacked the ability to do so, as anyone could see.

So why, after all their effort to subject the Objectors
to contempt (i.e., to punish them for daring to contest these
proceedings), do the Movants now ask you to simply set
aside your original Order? What they tell you is that the
purpose of the supersedeas bond was to protect the class, yet
it was obvious to all that the only party able to provide such
security was Advance America, who was never asked to do
so. The real reason is that now that you have declined to
hold the Objectors in contempt, the Movants simply don’t
want to go to the trouble of responding to the Objectors’
Petition for Certiorari... Or perhaps they’re concerned that
the Objectors are right. In either event, they want you to act
outside the purview of Rule 60 to attempt to deprive the
U.S. Supreme Court of jurisdiction. They created this
situation, but now they want to avoid its consequences when
it has become. [sic]

2. The Law

The Movants’ citation to Davis v. Davis, 291 Ark. 473,
725 S.W.2d 845 (1987) is disingenuous. That case involved a
situation where the prevailing party had practiced a fraud
upon the trial court in preparing a judgment in excess of that
ordered by the trial court. Even though the judgment was
upheld on appeal, the trial court set the judgment aside after
the mandate issued in order to correct the fraud. The
Arkansas Supreme Court approved that action pursuant to
ARK. R. Civ. P. 60(c)(4) (grounds for setting aside judgment
after 90 days). Surely the Movants do not contend that they
practiced a fraud upon this Court in obtaining their own
judgment!

To the contrary, ARK. R. Civ. P. 60(b) clearly controls
this situation (court has plenary control over its orders for a

3a

period of 90 days). Under that Rule, this Court is simply
without jurisdiction to perform the act now requested of it.
See, e.g., City of Little Rock v. Ragan, 297 Ark. 525, 763
S.W.2d 87 (1989):

To correct any error or mistake or to prevent the
miscarriage of justice [emphasis in original], a decree
or order of a circuit, chancery or probate court may
be modified or set aside on motion of the court or
any party, with or without notice to any party,
within ninety days of its having been filed with the
clerk. [Our emphasis. ]

We do not reach the merits of the argument
because we have held frequently that the trial court
.oses the power to act under Rule 60(b) after ninety
days from the filing of the judgment, decree or order
with the clerk. Diebold and First National Bank of
Wynne v. Myers General Agency, Inc., 292 Ark. 456,
731 S.W.2d 183 (1987); Mullen v. Couch, 288 Ark.
231, 703 S.W.2d 866 (1986); Burgess v. Burgess, 286
Ark. 497, 696 S.W.2d 312 (1985); McGibbony_v.
McGibbony, 12 Ark.App. 141, 671 S.W.2d 212 (1984);
Harrison v. Bradford, 9 Ark.App. 156, 655 S.W.2d 466
(1983); Southern Farm Bur. Cas. Ins. Co. v. Robinson
238 Ark. 159, 379 S.W.2d 8 (1964); Fitzjarrald_v.
Fitzjarrald, 233 Ark. 328, 344 S.W.2d 584 (1961); King
& Houston v. State Bank, 9 Ark. 185 (1848). Here,
while appellant's motion was filed on the 89th day
and thus was timely, any power by the court to act
on the motion lapsed with the expiration of the
ninety days.

(Emphasis added.)

It has been more than 90 days since this Court
entered its supersedeas Order. The Objectors pray the Court
to overrule this Motion.

4a

Thank you for your consideration.
Sincerely,

S/ David G. Nixon

David G. Nixon,

For the Firm
DGN/dgn
pec: All counsel of record
Clients
Co-counsel

5a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0427%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
