# Amicus Curiae Brief — Millcraft-SMS Services, L. L. C. v. Underwood

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0274%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 974

## Text

No. 02-260 ~~ | |
—__=—__ es 6 2007 |
IN THE |

Supreme Court of the Anited States © |

MILLCRAFT-SMS SERVICES, L.L.C. and
ARIZONA CHEMICAL COMPANY,
Petitioners,
V.

CYNTHIA UNDERWOOD, in her official capacity as
Commissioner of the State of Alabama

Department of Revenue,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
COUNCIL ON STATE TAXATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DOUGLAS L. LINDHOLM *
President/Executive Director
DIANN L. SMITH, General Counsel
STEPHEN P.B. KRANZ, Tax Counsel
WILLIAM D. PELTZ, Chair
BOBBY L. BURGNER, Vice-Chair
J. HUGH MCKINNON, Counsel
Lawyers’ Coordinating Subcommittee
COUNCIL ON STATE TAXATION
122 C St., N.W., Suite 330
Washington, D.C. 20001

* Counsel of Record (202) 484-5215

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — = (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. Alabama’s Retroactive With-drawal Of A
Procedure To Obtain a Remedy For An
Illegally Collected Tax Violates The Due
I isi esceestivenbenbinnios

B. Aggrieved State Taxpayers Face Limited
Forums For Challenging Parochial State
CUE IOI. ciscinccccsicssuktsccudscctvesisicexiécbines

C. The States’ Continued Failure To Provide
Constitutionally Adequate Remedies Results
In a Real Loss of Money and Time by
MOI Sit iigid sass seins pase ceicipinbensnccicaicta

Under The Due Process Clause Of The United
States Constitution, The Alabama Supreme Court
Unconstitutionally Deprived The Petitioners Of
Their Property By Retroactively Removing
Previously Established Procedures On Which The
Petitioners Had Relied To Remedy An
RE I oa asics rudonirincgecsntouecaniertaspiciwinss

I. DUE PROCESS REMEDY RULES IN
crerccass...

Il. ALABAMA’S REMEDY DESIGN AND
PUR RASS ARIE cas calcicstcecisrncasesissterssnsiseqoedssnseaees

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page
Ill. ALABAMA’S RETROACTIVE WITH-
DRAWAL OF A PROCEDURAL REMEDY
FOR AN ILLEGALLY COLLECTED

TAX VIOLATES THE DUE PROCESS
CLA UE, .«:cicosanucianuessitunineieunniiciieiedsndignempleieenis 13

CONC LUE III oxcencsesstitgeinalansiieaaapiiaiesunceiissiie’s dailies 15

lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Atchison, T. & S.F.R. Co. v. O’Conner, 223 U.S.
NALD seiiliciabeecealeadsssysssibichonestthidbnconstekess 9
California v. Grace Brethren Church, 457 U.S.
oe ig gt Ee TCEOLON SORT CET DOPE COE EE 7
Ford Motor Co. v. Dep’t of Treasury of Indiana,
PE Wis Me CIRO)» cessserviassenisbesnssspsastnesadeniossis 7

Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 516 U.S. 325 (1996) .. 8
Graves v. McDonough, 88 So. 2d 371 (Ala.

I din cad tliideriebtindeunishuunaaniasmseeimnasrtininane 11
Harper v. Virginia Dep’t of Taxation, 509 U.S.

Re EP vaciensesticih vachvonaritsicchiveniiicsaaiacwsbiahiiwsennsin 9
McKesson Corp. v. Division of Alcoholic Bever-

ages and Tobacco, 496 U.S. 18 (1990)........ 4,9, 10, 13

McKesson Corp. v. Division of Alcoholic
Beverages and Tobacco, 524 So. 2d 1000
RN tall cuakciihicdicia kde treks tovsnvieneosntdesoroeewsdocese 10

Milwaukee Safeguard Ins. Co. v. Selcke, 754
N.E.2d 349 (Ill. App. 2001), cert. denied, U.S.,
eee EE crc stvecccbnsanpntssednsonenssmerenee 4

Monroe v. Valhalla Cemetery Co., 749 So. 2d
470 (Ala. Civ. App. 1999), cert. denied, (Ala.

au ics ic iiconannsceoscssnsesspoessnsssaseiscoceein 6, 11
Newsweek, Inc. v. Department of Rev. of the

State of Florida, 522 U.S. 442 (1998) ........... 4,5, 7, 10
In the matter of Panhandle Eastern Pipeline Co.,

et al., Kan. Supreme Ct., No. 86,277 (2002)..... 14
Patterson v. Gladwin Corp., et al., AL Sup. Ct.,

SOUR RN E FF CTE TIGA) ivsesicevnsnennerisveccsessessessecces 5
Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S. 106 (1994) ........... 5, 10, 13, 14

Sharper Image. v. Department of Revenue, 704
So. 2d 657 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1997), cert.
denied, 526 U.S. 1016 (1999) .........sessessesseeees 4

iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Sizermore v. Rinehart, 611 So. 2d 1064 (Ala.

Civ. App. 1992), writ quashed as impro-

vidently granted, 611 So. 2d 1069 (Ala. 1993).. 6
South Central Bell Telephone Co. v. Alabama,

S26 GS. EGO CA 9OD) covisciniicaccevctivevevansovnies 4,35% 11, 12
White v. Reynolds Metals Co., 558 So. 2d 373

(Ala. 1989), cert. denied, Reynolds Metals Co.

v. Sizemore, 496 U.S. 912 (1990) ..........ceseeeeeeee 2
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
U.S. Comat. Amend, ATV, © 1 ...ccccresesesasssvssceiecusie 9
UB CR ARIE, TEE iid con se csnechichscnaincibieaittsinncins 6, 7
STATUTES
ye wii Clg & hb | Rue eyecare Qeremere es esrers PAh SN CE 6

Ala. Code 1975 §§ 40-14-40, and — 4, repealed
by Act No. 665, 1999 Ala. Acts 131, Second
SOSH THON oii cscsscbiiiceecerdscohasncblnttiockae y
Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights and Uniform Revenue
Procedures Act, Ala. Code 1975, § 40-2A-1
0 BU: * srosncssnsuctactinatbabsinsesiontencaremiaaaicbeien 11

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 02-260

MILLCRAFT-SMS SERVICES, L.L.C. and
ARIZONA CHEMICAL COMPANY,
Petitioners,
Vv.

CYNTHIA UNDERWOOD, in her official capacity as
Commissioner of the State of Alabama
Department of Revenue,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE '
COUNCIL ON STATE TAXATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SUMMARY OF THE ISSUE

A state’s refusal to timely fix an unconstitutional tax
and its subsequent failure to provide the constitutionally

' No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no
person or entity, other than amicus curiae, has made a monetary
contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief. Written
consents for the filing of this brief have been obtained from the Petitioner
and Respondent and filed with the Clerk of the Court.

2

mandated remedies to its aggrieved taxpayers serves neither
the individual taxpayers involved nor the greater populace to
which the state is ultimately responsible. Once a mistake has
been made, a state needs to fix it promptly and not allow it to
fester and spread. Alabama failed to fix its mistake and now
fails to remedy the mistake it made.

The history of this case could be classified as a “comedy of
errors” if not for the fact that the results are painfully serious.
Alabama imposed an unconstitutional franchise tax on out-of-
state corporations for decades. Ala. Code 1975 §§ 40-14-40,
and —4, repealed by Act No. 665, 1999 Ala. Acts 131, Second
Special Session. The Alabama Supreme Court let this tax
stand, not once, but twice. White v. Reynolds Metals Co., 558
So. 2d 373 (Ala. 1989), cert. denied, Reynolds Metals Co. v.
Sizemore, 496 U.S. 912 (1990); South Central Bell Telephone
Co. v. Alabama, 526 U.S. 160 (1999) (overruling Alabama
Supreme Court upholding constitutionality of Alabama
foreign franchise tax). When this Court finally reviewed the
tax, after denying review in Alabama’s first decision
upholding the tax, the tax was struck down 9-0. South
Central Bell, 526 U.S. 160. Alabama knew the problems
with its tax and never even argued to this Court that its tax
was constitutional! Alabama continued to collect the tax long
after it recognized its inconstitutionality and denied the
taxpayers’ request to hoid the contested funds in escrow by
promising that all of the taxpayers’ remedies at law would
remain available. Now, after having lost on the con-
stitutionality, Alabama claims for the first time that a 45 year
precedent relied upon by Alabama taxpayers and lower courts
is not the appropriate procedure for taxpayers to obtain a
remedy for the illegally collected tax. Alabama, after having
already reaped the rewards of this Court’s decision not to
review the tax the first time around, now continues to avoid
the consequences by imposing unconstitutional procedural
blockades to relief. COST hopes that this Court will not let
Alabama get away with this.

3
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Council On State Taxation (COST) submits this brief
as amicus curiae in support of Petitioners in the above
captioned matter. COST is a non-profit trade association
organized in 1969 as an advisory committee to the Council of
State Chambers of Commerce.’ COST, which was separately
incorporated on January 1, 1992, has a membership of over
540 multistate corporations involved in interstate and
international commerce. COST’s objective is to preserve and
promote equitable and nondiscriminatory state and local
taxation of its members and all multi-jurisdictional business
entities.

The present case involves Alabama’s retroactive
withdrawal of a previously available procedural remedy for
taxpayers seeking refunds of a franchise tax declared
unconstitutional by this Court. Alabama’s former franchise
tax? was imposed on a different base for out-of-state
taxpayers than for in-state taxpayers. The result was that out-
of-state taxpayers frequently bore a heavier tax burden than
they would have if they had been incorporated in Alabama.
In 1999, this Court determined that Alabama’s franchise tax
was unconstitutional. South Central Bell, 526 U.S. 160."

? COST was previously the Committee On State Taxation but changed
its name to the Council On State Taxation by vote of its membership
November 6, 2001.

> In 1999 the Alabama legislature repealed the unconstitutional tax and
adopted a new business privilege tax on all corporations doing business in
the State. Act No. 665, 1999 Ala. Acts 131, Second Special Session.

* South Central Bell is the predecessor to the case at issue here. The
taxpayers in South Central Beil settled their claims individually with the
state following this Court’s ruling and their case was dismissed. This case
then took the lead regarding the establishment of the remedy for the
unconstitutional tax.

4

Three later,” the State continues to add insult to injury by
refusing to review Petitioners’ claims for a remedy. This case
raises the issue of what is the constitutional standard by
which states are judged in providing procedural remedies for
their discriminatory tax schemes and as such is at the core of
COST’s mission.

Many of COST’s members are engaged in business in the
State of Alabama and many have paid the unconstitutional
franchise tax. Thus, these members have a particular interest
in the remedial landscape in the State. Further, ail of COST’s
members are subject to a variety of potentially invalid state
taxes. These members have a continuing interest in the
availability of clear and certain procedural and substantive
remedies to such illegal taxes. COST and its members have
seen first hand the financial loss and confusion that results
when taxpayers are denied their constitutional remedies for an
invalid tax. As a result of this continuing interest in the
problems of remedies for invalid taxes, COST has performed
in-depth studies of the law of state tax remedies and continues
to monitor the problem. In furtherance of this study and
monitoring, COST has filed amicus curiae briefs with this
Court in numerous other cases concerning the scope of the
Due Process Clause requirements related to remedying
unconstitutionally collected taxes. McKesson Corp. v. Divi-
sion of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco, 496 U.S. 18
(1990); Newsweek, Inc. v. Department of Rev. of the State of
Florida, 522 U.S. 442 (1998); Sharper Image. v. Department
of Revenue, 704 So. 2d 657 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1997), cert.
denied, 526 U.S. 1016 (1999); and Milwaukee Safeguard Ins.

* One of the many truly galling things about this case is that the State
basically agreed that its franchise tax was unconstitutional before even
arguing its case to this Court by failing to present any argument
supporting its constitutionality. In its argument in South Central Bell, like
in the case sub judice, the State tried to hide behind sovereign immunity
to shield it from its constitutionally mandated obligations.

5

Co. v. Selcke, 754 N.E.2d 349 (Ill. App. 2001), cert. denied,
U.S., No. 01-1311, (2002). In fact this Court endorsed the
“bait and switch” language first proposed by COST in its
amicus brief in Reich v. Collins. Today, COST and its mem-
bers remain concerned about the states’ continuing reluc-
tance, as evidenced by the Alabama Supreme Court’s opinion
in this case, to provide remedies that comport with Due
Process. Therefore, COST and all of its members have an
interest in this case and their knowledge can add to the
discussion of the issue.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. Alabama’s Retroactive Withdrawal Of A Pro-
cedural Remedy For An Illegally Collected Tax
Violates The Due Process Clause.

This Court is asked once again to overturn a state court’s
decision to ignore Due Process requirements for remedies
associated with illegally collected state taxés. As in the past,
a state is attempting to avoid the consequences of imposing
an unconstitutional tax by retroactively limiting the pro-
cedural remedies available to injured taxpayers seeking
recovery of the taxes paid. This Court has specifically
forbidden such “bait and switch” tactics in Reich v. Collins,
513 U.S. 106 (1994) and applied the prohibition again in a
summary reversal in Newsweek, 522 U.S. 442. Thus, this
Court has shown a strong predilection for limiting states’
disobedience in this area.

Notwithstanding this Court’s explicit, recent, and repeated
prohibition on retroactively changing the available procedural
remedies with the effect of denying a taxpayer meaningful
backward looking relief for an unconstitutionally collected
tax, the Alabama court in this case managed to conclude that
Reich does not apply here because a “reasonable taxpayer
would have thought that [the administrative remedies]
represented . . . the exclusive remedy for unlawful franchise

6

taxes.” Patterson v. Gladwin Corp., et al., AL Sup. Ct., No.
1001747 (5/17/02) (emphasis in original)(quoting Reich v.
Collins). The implausibility of this analysis is evidenced by
the fact that two Alabama appellate courts had held pre-
viously that the procedural remedy chosen by the Petitioners
is available. Monroe v. Valhalla Cemetery Co., 749 So. 2d
470, 473 (Ala. Civ. App. 1999), cert. denied, (Ala. Nov. 5,
1999), and cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1022 (2000); Sizermore v.
Rinehart, 611 So. 2d 1064, 1067-68 (Ala. Civ. App. 1992),
writ quashed as improvidently granted, 611 So. 2d 1069 (Ala.
1993). Thus, it is not just the Petitioners or their advisors or
all of the taxpayers over the past 45 years that have used the
procedure, now retroactively withdrawn by the Alabama
Supreme Court, who thought the procedural remedy rejected
by the Alabama Court was available. The judges of Ala-
bama’s intermediate appellate court system came to the same
conclusion. Unable to distinguish these appellate court cases,
the Alabama Supreme Court resorted to overruling them. By
doing so, the Alabama Supreme Court basically held that the
judges on those courts did not represent “reasonable tax-
payers”. The folly of such a conclusion is strong evidence
that the Alabama Supreme Court reached its result first—no
refunds—and then sought a theory by which to accomplish
the result—procedural path chosen by Petitioners invalid.
COST requests this Court not to allow this growing
practice.

B. Aggrieved State Taxpayers Face Limited Forums
For Challenging Parochial State Court Decisions.

This Court’s continued vigilance in assuring an
unequivocal definition of the requirements of a constitutional
remedy for an unconstitutional tax and mandating that the
states provide this relief is also necessary because of the
limited forums available to taxpayers to pursue the available
remedies. A taxpayer generally cannot challenge the consti-
tutionality of a state or local tax in the lower federal courts.

7

U.S. Const. Amend. XI; 28 U.S.C. § 1341. The Eleventh
Amendment ° prohibits suits for monetary damages against a
state in federal court and thus prevents all suits for state tax
refunds. Ford Motor Co. v. Dep't of Treasury of Indiana,
323 U.S. 459, 462 (1945). The Tax Injunction Act, as
interpreted, prohibits taxpayers from bringing any action in
federal court if there is a “plain, speedy, or efficient” remedy
at state law. Newsweek, 522 U.S. at 444. Most of the cases
interpreting the Tax Injunction Act have determined that state
refund or protest systems are plain, speedy, and efficient and
thus jurisdiction in the federal courts is generally prohibited.
See, e.g., id.; California v. Grace Brethren Church, 457 U.S.
- 393 (1982). While this Court has accepted several state tax
remedy cases in the past, review by this Court is anything but
guaranteed. Thus, taxpayers are usually limited to a state
court as the final arbiter of what is an adequate remedy. In
order to remind state courts what constitutes a constitutionally
sufficient remedy and that their compliance with this rule is
being monitored, COST respectfully requests this Court to
accept this case for review.

C. Fairness: The States’ Continued Failure To Pro-
vide Constitutionally Adequate Remedies Results
In a Real Loss of Money and Time by Taxpayers.

Finally, we note why this case has captured the attention of
the state tax community. It is not surprising to state that the
issue of remedies for unconstitutional taxes is one of the most
important issues’ in state and local tax today. Time and
again over the past several years, taxpayers have been denied
a constitutional remedy by state courts. This is real money

° “The Judicial power of the United States shall not be construed to
extend to any suit . .. commenced or prosecuted against one of the United
States by citizens of another state... .” U.S. amend. XI.

’ The other pressing issues being nexus concerns and discriminatory
taxes.

8

being lost by real taxpayers. With the loss of this money, a
certain amount of faith in the system is also lost. Taxpayers’
only recourse is to appeal to this Court. States continue to
impose unconstitutional taxes, but when a court ultimately
invalidates these taxes, many states nevertheless refuse to
provide the taxpayer with constitutionally sufficient relief.
This situation is a source of significant frustration® to
taxpayers, and this Court is unfortunately the only forum in
which a solution is available. In fact, over the past year the
issue of remedies has reached such significance in the state
and local tax community that the topic has been a feature of at
least three of the major state tax conferences.” Perhaps, if the
states are forced to confront the true costs of providing a
constitutionally adequate remedy, the legislatures will be
more mindful in crafting their tax statutes to begin with and
will be quicker to address a constitutional problem when it
comes to light. If this Court clearly exhibits its intent to
enforce the Constitution’s remedy rules on the states, states
like Alabama (unconstitutional franchise tax) and California
(unconstitutional dividends received deduction) '° may decide

® The lack of adequate remedies has become a frequent topic of
discussion at taxpayer gatherings. Some taxpayers, after years of ulti-
mately successful litigation challenging a tax have taken to cynically
waving a dollar bill in the air and commenting that they have not received
even one dollar in refunds from the suit. This is a sad commentary on the
current system.

* Paul J. Hartman (Vanderbilt University Law School) State & Local
Tax Forum 2001, New York University State and Local Tax Institute
2001, Georgetown University Advanced SALT Institute 2002.

'° California is another perfect illustration of the pervasiveness of this
problem. California has known since at least this Court’s decision in
Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 516 U.S. 325, 346- 47 (1996), that its dividend
received deduction was unconstitutional because it discriminated against
interstate commerce. However, in those at least six years, California has
done nothing, except to resist taxpayer’s challenges to the DRD, to fix the
offending provision. Continuing such an illegal tax is not just
inconvenient to the taxpayers. It fails to provide good fiscal management

9

in the future not to keep their clearly unconstitutional taxes on
their books for a lengthy and ultimately costly fight. Such a
result will save the states, taxpayers, and ultimately this Court
unnecessary and repetitive litigation. COST and its mem-
bers hope that this Court will again add light to this
important issue.

ARGUMENT

Under the Due Process Clause of the United States
Constitution, the Alabama Supreme’ Court
unconstitutionally deprived the Petitioners of their
property by _ retroactively removing previously
established procedures on which the Petitioners had
relied to remedy an unconstitutional tax.

I. DUE PROCESS REMEDY RULES IN STATE
TAX CASES

A remedy for a state tax declared unconstitutional must
comply with the requirements of the Due Process Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution." Harper v. Virginia Dep’t of Taxation, 509
U.S. 86, 100 (1992). Under the Due Process Clause, a remedy
is constitutional only if it meets two tests: 1) the remedy must
provide either a predeprivation remedy or “meaningful
backward looking relief,” id.; and 2) the remedy must be
“clear and certain,” Atchison, T. & S.F.R. Co. v. O’Conner,
223 U.S. 280, 285 (1912); McKesson Corp., 496 U.S.
at 39 n. 22.

In McKesson, the Florida Supreme Court found that a
Florida tax unconstitutionally discriminated against interstate
commerce but provided prospective only relief. The court

to the general populace of the state. The bill for the unconstitutionally
collected tax just keeps getting bigger and bigger.

'! “tNjor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law . . . .” U.S. Const. Amend. XIV, § 1.

10

premised its denial of meaningful backward looking relief on
its determination that the state relied in good faith on a
presumptively valid statute, and the taxpayer would receive a
windfall if it received a refund of a tax likely passed on to
its customers. McKesson Corp. v. Division of Alcoholic
Beverages and Tobacco, 524 So. 2d 1000, 1010 (1988). This
Court framed the issue before it as “whether prospective
relief, by itself, exhausts the requirements of federal law. The
answer is no.” McKesson, 496 U.S. at 31. In reversing the
Florida Supreme Court, the McKesson Court held that the
state must provide “an opportunity to contest the validity of
the tax and a ‘clear and certain remedy’ designed to
render the opportunity meaningful by preventing any
permanent unlawful deprivation of property.” Jd. at 36-37
(emphasis added).

In Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S. 106 (1994) the taxpayer
challenged the constitutionality of a state tax under a statutory
refund provision. /d. The state tax code provided for both
predeprivation challenges (protests) and post-deprivation
challenges (refund suits). After the tax was ruled
unconstitutional, the state tried to avoid paying the refund by
arguing that since the taxpayer could have challenged the tax
before paying the tax, the taxpayer had paid the tax
voluntarily and no refund was due. /d. at 110. This Court
soundly rejected that argument. /d. at 111.

In a follow-up to Reich, the taxpayer in Newsweek sought
a refund of an unconstitutional tax imposed on certain
publications. In reversing the state court, this Court once
again noted that under Reich v. Collins, the state must not
employ a “bait and switch” approach to the availability of
remedies. Newsweek, 522 U.S. 442.

Thus, the rule is clear: a state has flexibility in the type of
relief it provides, but once that relief is available and relied on
by injured taxpayers, the state cannot retroactively withdraw
it as a choice. This is true even if the state also provided

11

other procedural remedies in excess of those constitutionally
required.

Il. ALABAMA’S REMEDY DESIGN AND
APPLICATION

Alabama, like many states, provided both administrative
and judicial remedies to taxpayers seeking to recover a tax
incorrectly collected by the State. In most cases, the admin-
istrative procedures must be completed before the taxpayer
had a right to proceed to court. Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights and
Uniform Revenue Procedures Act, Ala. Code 1975, § 40-2A-
1 et seg. However, as is also common in other states, because
the State administrative body does not have authority to rule a
tax unconstitutional or illegal, it was considered futile to
exhaust the administrative procedures when the only issue
raised by the taxpayer was the validity of the tax statute itself.
Graves v. McDonough, 88 So. 2d 371, 373 (Ala. 1956). Thus,
in those circumstances, Alabama courts have for 45 years
allowed suits to be brought directly in the court for a refund
of an unconstitutional or otherwise illegal tax without first
exhausting the fruitless administrative procedures. See cases
cited at pages 7- 9, Petitioner’s Brief. The taxpayer’s right to
pursue a challenge to the legality of a tax statute directly in
court is so well established that it was recently specifically
upheld in two Alabama appellate court cases. Monroe, 749
So. 2d at 473; Sizermore, 611 So. 2d at 1067-68. Thus, there
is little doubt that the procedure of challenging the legality of
a state tax directly in Alabama courts has a long and solid
history in the State.

This case, however, changed everything. This case is a
class action brought by Petitioners on behalf of foreign
corporations who paid franchise taxes to the State of Alabama
under the tax scheme ruled unconstitutional in South Central
Bell Telephone. The Petitioners’ complaint sought, among
other items, a refund of the previously collected taxes. The
Petitioners initially requested an injunction placing the

12

franchise taxes collected by the State into escrow pending a
final determination as to the constitutionality of the tax. Pet.
App. 68a-69a. The Alabama Supreme Court denied the
escrow because the Petitioners had “an adequate remedy at
law.”'? Pet. App. 70a-72a. After this Court ruled the
disputed tax unconstitutional, the Commissioner requested
dismissal of the Petitioners’ case on the theory that the
Petitioners had failed to exhaust their administrative remedies
and, thus, the Alabama courts lacked jurisdiction. Pet. App.
39a-40a. The Alabama Supreme Court ultimately dismissed
the case, finding that because the Petitioners had not
exhausted their administrative remedies, which according to
the Alabama Supreme Court was the sole procedure for
aggrieved taxpayers to obtain a refund, the State had not
waived its sovereign immunity from suit in state court and
the Alabama courts lacked jurisdiction over the case. Pet.
App. 34a. The Alabama Supreme Court determined that
exhaustion of the administrative remedies was required
notwithstanding a 45-year history and recent state appellate
court precedent upholding a direct court action when the only

"2 This is another example of the frustrations encountered by the
Petitioners in this case. While the constitutionality of Alabama’s
franchise tax was pending, Alabama continued to collect the tax. It
threatened companies that failed to pay with a withdrawal of their
privilege to do business in the State. Even though it became clear to the
State at some point prior to this Court’s decision in South Central Beil that
the tax was likely invalid (as evidenced by the State’s failure to support its
constitutionality before this Court) the State still continued to collect the
tax. When the Petitioners asked that this tax at issue be put into escrow,
the State promised that the Petitioners were not at risk of losing any
remedies to which they were entitled so no escrow was necessary. Now
that it has come time for Alabama to pay the piper, the State has pulled
out every trick in the book—sovereign immunity, latches, exhaustion of
remedies, Chevron prospectively, equitable need, and several more in a
last ditch effort to avoid paying an illegally collected tax. It is
embarrassing that a state government would behave like a three year old
caught with her hand in the cookie jar.

13

issue involved the constitutionality of a state statute. App.
29a-33a

Thus, Alabama applied a game enjoyed by small children
at play and people teasing pets—dangle a treat in front of
your target and snatch it away just as they reach for it. The
Alabama Supreme Court’s justifications do not support the
retroactive withdrawal of a procedural remedy, and therefore
the Alabama Supreme Court should be summarily reversed.

Il, ALABAMA’S RETROACTIVE WITHDRAWAL
OF A .PROCEDURAL REMEDY FOR AN
ILLEGALLY COLLECTED TAX VIOLATES
THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE.

Alabama, at the very least, had never discouraged the
practice of bringing a state tax challenge directly in state
court when exhausting the administrative remedies would be
futile due to the administrative agency’s inability to declare a
statute invalid. What does this precedent mean? It means
that the judiciary itself accepted the Petitioners’ procedural
remedy as a valid course in Alabama. Amicus understands,
and in fact supports, a state’s needed flexibility in designing
the procedural remedies available to its taxpayers. However,
what amicus cannot support is the complete withdrawal
by the Alabama Supreme Court of an explicit, judicially
accepted procedure, retroactivly. “Under McKesson, [the
State] has the flexibility to maintain [a] . . . remedial scheme,
so long as that scheme is ‘clear and certain.”” Reich v.
Collins, 513 U.S. at 110-11 (emphasis added). Alabama’s
insistence on enforcing its unconstitutional tax on the
Petitioners, despite the Petitioners’ use of a procedure
accepted by 45 years of precedent and the Alabama appellate
courts, does not amount to a “clear and certain” remedy as
required by the Due Process Clause.

As the Petitioners point out, the remedy provided by
Alabama Supreme Court violates one of the clear standards
already articulated by this Court—a state may not “bait and

14

switch” in applying a remedy. Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S.
106. This is just what Alabama did here: it offered the judicial
remedy of a direct to court suit, but when the Petitioners came
to court to obtain the advertised remedy, the state basically
said—you made a mistake; you trusted us.

This Court is asked once again to specifically direct a state,
in this case Alabama, to comply with, and not flout, the Due
Process Clause contained in the Fourteenth Amendment to
the United States Constitution. Alabama, like several other
states,'? has found itself in the predicament of deciding how
to remedy an unconstitutionally imposed tax. Instead of
crafting a remedy to correct the discrimination found in its tax
through refunds, credits, or some other substantive relief, the
State denies the Petitioners a day in court by asserting that the
Petitioners pursued the “wrong” procedure. We have seen
this before—Florida tried to claim that taxpayers that filed a
refund claim rather than protest a tax before payment
followed the wrong procedure and thus were precluded from
recovery—and this Court has rejected such an action. If this
court does not do the same here, it will send a message that
incentivizes other state courts, legislatures, and tax agencies
to follow Alabama’s lead.

'? Some states do understand their obligation under the Due Process
Clause to remedy unconstitutionally imposed taxes. Recently, following
the finding in Jn the Matter of Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. et al.,
Kan. Supreme Ct., No. 86,277 (2002), that a tax benefit was illegally
withheld, the state of Kansas announced plans to refund $25 million to the
affected taxpayers. One of Kansas’ state representatives recognized a fact
that Alabama (and Massachusetts and Illinois before it) seems to have
failed to internalize. Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley (D-
Topeka) commented that: “I’m not sure we have any other option at this
point ... . We lost the suit.” Alabama, like Kansas, lost the suit and
therefore has no other option—it needs to pay up in one form or fashion.
Alabama should not be allowed to shirk its obligations while Kansas
shoulders its. Obviously, the disparity in the results in these cases
demonstrates a need for guidance, and the role of providing such guidance
falls squarely on this Court.

15
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, COST respectfully requests
the Court to grant the Petition for Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

DOUGLAS L. LINDHOLM *
President/Executive Director
DIANN L. SMITH, General Counsel
STEPHEN P.B. KRANZ, Tax Counsel
WILLIAM D. PELTZ, Chair
BOBBY L. BURGNER, Vice-Chair
J. HUGH MCKINNON, Counsel
Lawyers’ Coordinating Subcommittee
COUNCIL ON STATE TAXATION
122 C St., N.W., Suite 330
Washington, D.C. 20001

* Counsel of Record (202) 484-5215

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0274%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
