# Reply Brief — Grine v. Coombs

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0234%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 1028

## Text

No. 02-218

THE CLERK

esi

Robert W. Grine II, Joanne D. Grine, Estate of Margaret M. Grine,
Petitioners

¥.

William R. Coombs; et al.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
To the Third Circuit Court of Appeals

REPLY BRIEF

Janice Haagensen
Counsel of Record
349 New Road
Enon Valley, PA 161120
__ Tel: (724) 336-5962
Attorney for Petitioners,
Robert W. Grine II, Joanne D. Grine, Estate of Margaret M. Grine

QUESTION PRESENTED

I.

Whether the Third Circuit Court of Appeals
infringed upon Petitioners’ fundamental rights to
due process and rights of access to the courts when it
summarily granted the United States’ Rule 27 Motion
to dismiss the Petitioners’ appeal as of right from a
final order certified pursuant to Rule 54(b), on
grounds that the appellate court lacked jurisdiction
over the subject matter of the appeal, and without
disturbing the Propriety of the district court's
execution of certification?

Pe Siti Gentes Bi ict te Sahay sii tle ss antl errs
MZ,
‘a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

DUNO IIR istics eh Dhechincacaasctb dasebihdcbetiniallenscn beanies 1

PRON i setiicosiscinersnsdcsececeasmstce cite a a ee es 2

ren CE CW iii icciisis cick esti cee 2

PRON so iiecicicnsicinciicigl ise etapa eget isis aay 3

i AMMEN Se Tat A ETE AS ENTE EE Oe NAT RE 9
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases d

Cold Metal Process Co. v. United Engineering

& Foundry Coz, 76S. Ct: SOR IGG ci. esccsssnssnssssvorsorsceresesconse 4

Curtiss-Wright Corp. v. General Electric Co.,

BOG DD. Fy sevciuninteadnesaticnns cucibabanatekcanc wt tae

Delaware Valley Citizens Council for Clean Air v.

Lavin, S52 FD SOG CO Ce, BY i cssinticshiiicccssinleossicecsnes 4

Ebrahimi v. City of Huntsville Bd of Education,

DRG BSk BRR CEC, Be pis sceicerdppnciesecepdliedaiciedaavinodsioctnion 4

National Union Fire Ins. Co. v. City Sav., F.S.B.,

BD ER SE St iiiasissciisgetouibaslenudtdadnes xa dacistudiaxssnlocas 4

Statutes and rules

SOO is SID os cinied didi tloncctield ce tie ae aul 2

SD Eaves, HR esi ices dikcle bai a sh ne Nd Be 5

pS 5 aie: HERD meN mR Pree SoBe PRET eC Pe na NTE Be 2

Comprehensive Environmental Response,
Compensation, and Liability Act of

TIOD, Go LEIA. Fae I sctesnnsitsepniicntenitnadaaicsnaciees 2
Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. 552 wo..c.cccccscssesesseseeees 2
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act

COR BSA, Gr UT Re RR iiacescesncivsnnecspincanancchbntdiiensoatveiss 2
Fed R. Civ. P.:

TON IID enicsiescncrscnicccrmensinalsianiapsacdiiaiads mamta. 3, 4, 6,8
BRAIN TIILOID «sins resuescosininabtinniigehinbicapnabnite eibaphagmielitens aaaatiees 3,8

ti

ET LN IN FE LL LOGE BLS © SEER NTMI

IN THE
SUPREME COURT of the UNITED STATES

No. 02-218

Robert D. Grine, Joanne D. Grine, and Estate of
Margaret M. Grine, Petitioners

VS.

William R. Coombs, et al.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Third Circuit

Petitioners’ Reply Brief

OPINIONS BELOW

The summary decision of the Third Circuit Court of
Appeals which granted the United States’ Rule 27 Motion to
dismiss the Petitioners’ Appeal as docketed at No. 01-4118
and as taken from the district court order certified in
accordance with Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules of
Procedure and entered on September 19, 2001, was filed on

February 27, 2002.

The appellate order summarily denying the Petitioners’
timely-filed Petition for Rehearing was entered on April 23,

2002.

|
|
|
|

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 US.C.
§1254(1). The summary decision of the United States Court
of Appeals granting the United States’ Rule 27 Motion for
Dismissal of the appeal at No. 01-4118 was entered on
February 27, 2002. The Court of Appeals denied Petitioners’
timely-filed Petition for Rehearing on April 23, 2002.

The question presented did not arise until Petitioners
received the appellate court’s order of February 27, 2002
granting the United States’ Rule 27 Motion to dismiss the
appeal docketed at No. 01-418 by the Court of Appeals on
November 14, 2001. Petitioners thereupon sought rehearing
arguing that the Court of Appeals had erred in prohibiting a
timely appeal as of right from a final order and that its
decision resulted in fundamental unfairness and a violation
of the due process clause of the federal constitution.

The jurisdiction of the United States District Court for
the Western District of Pennsylvania was invoked pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. §1331.

STATEMENT

Petitioners will not reiterate here the bulk of their
statement of the case as detailed in their J uly-filed petition
for certiorari, but do wish to reemphasize that in their
Amended Complaint they brought suit against the U.S. EPA
for violations of the Resource Conservation and Recovery
Act of 1976 (“RCRA”), 42 U.S.C. §6901 et seg. and for
violations of the Comprehensive Environmental Response
and Liability Act of 1980, 42 U.S.C.A. §9601 et seq., as
amended by the Superfund Amendments and
Reauthorization Act of 1986. Petitioners also sued the US.
EPA for its violation of the Freedom of Information Act, 5
U.S.C. §552.

ARGUMENT

The federal appellees have made a startling concession in
their brief in opposition as to the correctness of their prior
argument presented in their Rule 27 Motion. Since such a
confession is fresh, it needs to be discussed at the first
opportunity. To begin with, the summary order of the Third
Circuit Court of Appeals dismissing the petitioners’ appeal
from a certified order for lack of subject-matter jurisdiction
is constitutionally defective and has resulted in the
deprivation of the petitioners’ substantive and procedural
rights to due process of law. Review by this court is thus
warranted.

The federal appellees argued strenuously in their Rule 27
Motion, as submitted to the Third Circuit, that the appellate
court should dismiss petitioners’ appeal for lack of subject-
matter jurisdiction because the district court judge could
prohibit an immediate appeal as of right from a certified
order in reliance on Rule 62(h). The federal appellees knew
that this argument was specious when they made it. As they
have accurately reflected in their brief in Opposition to the
petition for certiorari, “. . . a stay under rule 62(h)
subsequent to Rule 54(b) certification does not interfere with
the appealability of that judgement.” Fed. Brief at 6
(citations omitted).

The federal appellees should have completed their legal
research before and not after they submitted their Rule 27
motion to the Court of Appeals.

A fatally flawed argument was both presented and
embraced in bad faith (and in bad taste) by the federal
appellees. The Third Circuit did nothing to signify its
awareness of the impropriety of this argument; instead it
ruled in favor of the federal appellees.

The Court of Appeals summarily (ie., without
explanation) granted the federal appellees’ Rule 27 motion
to dismiss the appeal for lack of subject-mater jurisdiction.
The Court of Appeals never made the slightest attempt to
assess the validity of the certification executed by the district
court judge, and never acknowledged that prohibition of an

3

appeal subsequent to certification was truly unprecedented;
i.e., unheard of. As petitioners have said before, the rule of
finality is not subject to a judicially created exception at the
district court level though the district court's improper
reliance on Rule 62(h), in conjunction with a Rule 54(b)
certificate of finality.

As the appellate court unambiguously stated in
Delaware Valley, (Delaware Valley Citizens Council for
Clean Air v. Davis, 932 F.2d 256 (34 Cir. 1991)), if the district
court properly certified its orders as final judgements for
purposes of appeal, the Court must then exercise its
jurisdiction over an appeal as of right.

Although it is late in the day, the federal appellees in
their brief have recognized the wisdom of this position: See
Fed. Brief at 6, 7: . . .”[I]f the district court properly made
[the Rule 54(b)] certification, we must then exercise
jurisdiction over this appeal.” Delaware Valley, at 263.
And, as this Court has held, “[I]f the District Court certifies a
final order on a claim which arises out of the same
transaction and occurrence as pending claims, and the Court
of Appeals is satisfied that there has been no abuse of
discretion, the order is appealable.” Cold Metal Process Co.
v. United Engineering & Foundry Co., 76 S. Ct. 904, 100
L.Ed. 1311 (1956).

The Court of Appeals must consider the propriety of
Rule 54(b) certification because such certifications implicate
the scope of the court's appellate jurisdiction. See Ebrahimi
v. City of Huntsville Bd of Educ., 114 F.3d. 162 (11% Cir.
1997); Delaware Valley Citizens Council for Clean Air v.
Davis, 932 F.2d 256 (34 Cir. 1991): National Union Fire
Insurance Company v. City Sav., F.S.B., 28 F.3d 376 (3"4 Cir.
1994) as amended.

The appellate court made no inquiry whatsoever of
record to determine if certification was proper, and let the
entry of certification pursuant to Rule 54(b) stand
undisturbed. The Court of Appeals never made any finding
that the district court’s decision to certify was erroneous. It
never even considered the propriety of the Rule 54(b)
certification as executed by the district court. Such a review

4

was mandatory to establish the scope of appellate
jurisdiction. See Curtiss-Wright. Thus there is no
disposition made of record to indicate that the Court of
Appeals ever noticed or found that the district court orders
as certified pursuant to Rule 54(b) were not final orders
within the meaning of §1291.

The district court’s adjudication became final when it
executed its certificate. Without intervention by this court,
petitioners will be denied an immediate appeal as of right
from a standing final order, nor can petitioners ask for
review or reconsideration of an order that has lost its
interlocutory status, before an end-of-case judgement is
effected at some future date.

Petitioners have been stripped of both their right to take
an immediate appeal from a final order and their right to
challenge the order on an interlocutory basis prior to
judgement. The federal appellees are absolutely right when
they note there is no other case on the books in which the
district court judge certified an order prior to making the
decision to prevent an immediate appeal. (To this we say:
there is now.)

The Court of Appeals apparently dismissed for lack of
subject-matter jurisdiction because it approved of the federal
argument that the judge who executed the certification could
decide to block an appeal of the certified order. This is the
only possible explanation in view of the fact that the Court
did not challenge the propriety of the certification executed
in the district court. Petitioners are certainly not “in the
same position that they would have been in had the district
court refused to certify.” (Fed. Brief at 8; Ftn. 4.) Petitioners
have been denied due process because given the current
posture of this case, they are confronted with an inviolate
order which cannot be immediately appealed. Nor can it,
prior to judgement day, be challenged or its revision sought
because its true interlocutory character has never been
restored by the appellate court. The Court of Appeals has
not and does not intend to make the finding that it was error
for the district court to certify, or to determine that
immediate appeal could be precluded after certification.

5

The text of Rule 54(b) states the following:
(b) Judgement Upon Multiple Claims or Involving
Multiple Parties. When more than one claim for relief is
presented in an action, whether as a claim, counter-claim,
cross-claim, or third-party claim, or when multiple parties
are involved, the court may direct the entry of a final
judgement as to one or more but fewer than all of the claims
or parties only upon an express determination that there is
no just reason for delay and upon an express direction for
the entry of judgement. In the absence of such
determination and direction, any order or other form of
decision, however designated, which adjudicates fewer than

all the claims or the rights and liabilities of fewer than all the
parties shall not terminate the action as to any of the claims

or parties, and the order or other form of decision is subject

to_revision at any time before the entry of judgement
adjudicating all the claims and the rights and liabilities of all

the parties. (Emphasis supplied.)

So long as the certification is undisturbed, the appellants
when they return to the district court cannot effect
reconsideration or revision of said order.

Subsequent to the filing of Petitioners writ of certiorari
on July 19, 2002, the petitioners motioned for clarification
from the Court of Appeals as to date of issuance of the
mandate. The Clerk of Court responded by personally
denying the motion and stating that “the appeal was
decided by an order on a motion and not by the entry of
final judgement.” See Exh. A, Denial of Appellant’s Rule 27
Motion for Correction of Record and Issuance of Mandate.
The Clerk stated that the Court had nothing to convey in the
form of a directive to the district court: “The purpose of the
mandate is to return jurisdiction back to the district court
and to convey any directives of the court of appeals to the
district court. Since this Court determined that it lacked
appellate jurisdiction over the appeal, neither of these
purposes would have been served by issuance of a
mandate.” The federal appellees appear to be under the
impression that the Court of Appeals did effect a judgement:
“. . .[T]hey [the Petitioners] seek review of the judgement of

6

the Court of Appeals. That judgement ... dismissed
petitioners’ appeal for lack of jurisdiction ...” Fed. Brief at 7.

This is a further illustration of the Court of Appeals’
intent to leave untouched the certification effected in the
district court and the district court’s decision to prohibit an
appeal as of right. Petitioners can neither take an immediate
appeal from the certified order nor can they challenge the
order on the grounds that it is interlocutory and open to
revision prior to judgement. The district court, with the
assistance of the federal appellees and the encouragement of
the court of appeals, has fashioned an order inaccessible to
any challenge from Petitioners. It is not inaccurate for
petitioners to say that a sacred cow is on the horizon.
Petitioners at the present time are unarmed against this
development. It was the clear duty of the reviewing court to
follow precedent; i.e., the appellate court was duty-bound to
assess the propriety of the trial court's certification and the
propriety of its attempt to eliminate an appeal subsequent to
its own certification of the challenged order. See Curtiss-
Wright. The Court of Appeals must scrutinize the district
court's evaluation of factors resulting in certification for
immediate appeal. It must also scrutinize the district court's
desire to eliminate an immediate appeal subsequent to
certification. The Court of Appeals was never ignorant of
the fact that certification cannot be executed by a district
court judge who intends to preclude an immediate appeal of
the certified order. Thus, the Court of Appeals could not
properly defer to the district court's judgement given its
knowledge that the district court sought to eliminate the
petitioners’ right to an immediate appeal from a final-order.
If the Court of Appeals dismissed the appeal for lack of
subject-matter jurisdiction because it liked the argument that
the district court judge could execute the certification and at
the same time eliminate the petitioners’ right to take an
immediate appeal, the Court erred. See Curtiss-Wright.

If the Court of Appeals believed that the certification was
flawed, it had a duty to reach this conclusion on the record,
and certainly was not free to defer to the defective reasoning
of the district court.

The federal appellees were deadly accurate in their
statement that “the court of appeals ... did not explain why
it was dismissing for lack of jurisdiction.” Fed. Brief at 8.
They were dead wrong in suggesting that this failure does
not create a conflict with other existing authority. On the
contrary, the Court of Appeals’ ruling is at war with every
other decision in this area that is still on the books, including
its own Third Circuit precedent and every Supreme Court
opinion yet written on this subject. Of course, petitioners
have not cited a case (other than this one) in which a court of
appeals exercised jurisdiction over a certified order despite a
district judge’s decision to eliminate an appeal. No such
case is on the books. The federal appellees, however, did
just that - they improperly relied on Curtiss-Wright for the
proposition that Rule 62(h) can be utilized subsequent to a
certification to preclude an appeal. Such a proposition
cannot be derived from any reading, fair or otherwise, of
Curtiss-Wright. The federal appellees have exhibited a lack
of remorse concerning the true character of the arguments
made in their Rule 27 motion. This leads petitioners to
wonder if the federal appellees were engaged in redneck fun
outside of the library when they first made this argument.
In any event, the federal appellees argued speciously that
the district court judge could execute a certificate of finality
pursuant to Rule 54(b) and swiftly eliminate the petitioner-
appellants’ right to take an immediate appeal through mere
allusion to Rule 62(h). This is nonsense.

No court in the land has held that a district court judge
can execute a certificate of finality and subsequently prohibit
an immediate appeal of the certified order. The Court of
Appeals accepted this flawed argument when it granted the
appellees Rule 27 motion to dismiss for lack of jurisdiction
over the appeal on grounds that the district court judge
could legitimately block an immediate appeal of his own
self-certified order.

The Court of Appeals in view of existing precedent knew
or should have known that this reasoning was dark and in
error.

In order to lose its statutory jurisdiction over an appeal
as of right from a final order, the appellate court had to
assess and disturb the district court certification. The Court
of Appeals did not and does not intend to challenge the
propriety of the district court certification and its clearly
unreasonable decision to prevent the petitioners from taking
an immediate appeal from a final order.

Unless and until this Court reviews the work of the court
of appeals, petitioners don’t have a horse in this race.
Without review of their writ by this Court, Petitioners have
as much hope of obtaining due process of law as they do of
summoning a unicorn out of the woods.

Petitioners are being beaten to death, in a legal sense,
while the appellate court is cold sober. The Third Circuit
Court of Appeals apparently does believe that it never had
jurisdiction over the appeal, even though the district court
executed a certificate of finality, which the Third Circuit
never disturbed. The conduct of the district court judge has
not been scrutinized by the Third Circuit; it has been
endorsed, as has the self-serving conduct of the federal
appellees.

The federal attitude is that the truth is not for everyone.
By no means is this a constitutional regime.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Jdnice Haagergen
Attorney for Petitioners
349 New Road

October 24th, 2002 Enon Valley, PA 16120

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A Clerk’s denial of
Petitioner-Appellants’
Rule 27 Motion for
Correction of Record
and Issuance of
Mandate

10

wie € PateTe past PRT ee Se ee

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THETHIRD CIRCUIT

No. 01-4118

Grine v. Coombs
To: Clerk

1) Appellant's Rule 27 Motion for Correction of Record
and Issuance of Mandate

The foregoing Motion is denied. The appeal was
decided by an order on a motion and not by the entry of a
formal judgment. Rule 41, Federal Rules of Appellate
Procedure, requires the issuance of a mandate only when a
formal judgment is entered. The purpose of the mandate is
to return jurisdiction back to the district court and to convey
any directives of the court of appeals to district court. Since
this Court determined that it lacked appellate jurisdiction
over the appeal, neither of those purposes would have been
served by issuance of a mandate.

The February 27, 2002 order dismissing the appeal was
certified to the district court on the date that it was issued.
Since this Court never had jurisdiction over the matter,
jurisdiction would not have been lost through the
certification of that order to the district court.

It is further noted that the issuance of a mandate has no
effect on the time deadlines for filing a petition for a writ of
certiorari. Rule 13.2, Supreme Court Rules.

Accordingly, no mandate has, or will, issue in the appeal
nor was one required.

For the Court,
/s/Marcia M. Waldron
Dated: August 29, 2002 Clerk
DMM/cc: Janice Haagensen, Esq. Received and Filed
Bonnie R. Schlueter, Esq. 8-29-02 DM

Russell F. Smith III, Esq. Marcia M. Waldon,
Clerk

APPENDIX A

ee... ii

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0234%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
